About The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel

111 W Main Street
Midland, MI 48640
View Larger Map

Upscale American classics with added flavors from around the world combined with gracious, informed and inviting service. This bright, elegant and comfortably appointed dining room is excellent for entertaining business clients, a special evening out or just a sumptuous meal. All complemented by an extensive domestic and international wine list and hand crafted beers handpicked from Michigan’s best breweries

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:30 to 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(989) 633-6099

Website:
http://www.thetable.com/index.php

Catering:
Private dining room available accomidating up to 12.

Parking Details:
Underground parking as well as street parking

Executive Chef:
Peter Maiers

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine and spirits tastings.

Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Creme Brulee
  • Waygu Beef
  • Scallops With Short Ribs
  • Scallops With Corn And Tomato Rissotto
  • Lamb Chops With Gruyere Mac And Cheese
Lemon Creme Brulee
Waygu Beef
Scallops With Short Ribs
Scallops With Corn And Tomato Rissotto
Lamb Chops With Gruyere Mac And Cheese

The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (14)
romantic (9)
notable wine list (9)
See All
fit for foodies (4)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Top notch service. Outstanding steaks. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Top notch service. Outstanding steaks. Wine list is fabulous. Great ambiance. Exceeded my high expectations. Perfect for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you like calamari don't order it here ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

If you like calamari don't order it here! Heavily breaded and over fried. Worst calamari I ever had. Other entrees were good, but steak was over priced.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A group of four of us went to the Table ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A group of four of us went to the Table Restaurant for our prom dinner and it was AMAZING! We were all extremely pleased with the service, food and overall experience. I'm sure that we will be coming back in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to The Table on ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I have been to The Table on average of three or four times a year for the last 5 years. We usually save a visit there for a special occasion like date night or our wedding anniversary. The Table used to have some unique and very tasty appetizers and soups. The entree was always good, too. Recently, The Table has changed their menu to more of a steakhouse menu. They no longer have the unique appetizers. The prices has not changed much so you pay top dollar for something that I feel you can get at a Bennigan's or Applebee's for less cost. However, the service at The Table was still outstanding as usual. Until the menu changes and they add some of the items that they had "back in the day", we will probably not be back nor will we be recommending the Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

New Menu has changed everything.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We always enjoyed the Table due to the creative taste. The new menu has made the food experience just so, so. I got the chicken (It was good) but there were no decent sides to go with it. Baked potato or fries were my only choices… Same sides for my Wife’s Swordfish Not what you would expect for the money anymore. We will not return until we hear of more menu options.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

the food was great. being in the mid wes ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

the food was great. being in the mid west i feel the veal & beef would have better then my swordfish. dont get me wrong the fish was good. but boy the veal & beef looked great

wine yummy & the cake you made special for us was the fab. moist and the choc on the cake, extra yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Table

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very attentive and professional staff! The venue was perfect for the occasion and the staff was more than accommodating. One the best dining experiences to date! Food was exemplary and the ambiance was perfect. I will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem in Midland!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Being from Toronto finding a fine dining restaurant that is quiet on a Saturday evening is impossible .

The ambiance here is perfect for a quite evening dinner either be with your loved ones or with your friends.

The service was impeccable and our meals were 5 star quality.

A gem in Midland indeed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Table Restaurant

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Exceptional food and great service. Eaten there twice and completely delighted both times. Cannot over-recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, food was just "okay"

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere of the restaurant was magnificent...However, the food was "mediocre" at best. It was not awful, but at almost $200 for two people to dine, I expected a meal that was a little better than just average. Not sure if I would eat there again.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A perfect birthday celebration!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The ambiance sets the stage for an intimate, romantic birthday celebration. From the complementary champagne, appetizer, bread/butter, salad, entrée, and dessert, everything was perfect! Our server Thomas provided excellent suggestions and established a relaxing pace for our special occasion. It was even more enjoyable than last year's celebration. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Food was OK but not outstanding, certainly overprice for quality. Last time we were there same comment. Can not recommend based on food and price. Service was excellent and ambiance were excellent

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

We dined at the Table to celebrate a special occasion and had a wonderful time! The sea bass with truffles was exquisite. Everything was delicious and the service was relaxed and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This may have been the best meal we have ever had at The Table. Everything we ordered was perfectly executed. We started with the pâté de campagne which had foie gras running through it and was served with a horseradish butter. Amazing! The sea bass with the truffled potato risotto was worthy of any of the top tables in Europe. We had a lovely frozen dessert with chocolate, hazelnut, and orange. It looked like it was straight out of a Parisian pastry shop.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of ten and wonderful comm ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a table of ten and wonderful comments regarding the service and food were expressed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great service. Good very. Very impressive wine list. Perfect location to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. Very good deserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best experience at a fine dining restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Best experience at a fine dining restaurant. Food options were all great especially for a smaller menu and everything was cooked perfectly. There was also enough food per serving that I didn't leave barely satisfied like most comparable restaurants. If that wasn't enough, it was VERY fairly priced which makes me reluctant to spend my money at my other favorite fine dining locations in Chicago ever again. For instance, my normal drink (Godfather: Glenfiddich 12yr & Amaretto) is typically priced around $10 or so a drink almost anywhere I go. I ordered 2 drinks at The Table and they only carried the Glenfiddich 15yr scotch or older, so I upgraded and my 2 drinks totaled $16. Very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

We hadn't been to The Table for a while and it was even better than we remembered. They serve world-class cuisine in an elegant setting with a comfortable and relaxed ambience. The service is friendly and warm and the food is delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions and to entertain

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

We have spent our anniversaries here and have always had a great meal and a memorable occasion. It would be nice to have a few more entrée` selections if possible. Staff has always been pleasant and helpful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience this time was disappointi ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The experience this time was disappointing. It was my daughter's 18th birthday and I was expecting something special. Unfortunately the entrees were poor. I had the veal and it was tasteless and fatty.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant. Overall good experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was very good. Not excellent but very good. Nice upscale restaurant for the area. Very quiet for a Saturday night.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Empty restaurant.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Great food and service, but only 3 other tables occupied the Sat. night we were there. Makes you wonder why? Do not think I will be returning. And I believe they turned away a couple that walked in, because they didn't have reservations. What? Lots of empty tables as I said.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We went to the Table for our 1st wedding anniversary. The staff was welcoming and accommodating. Big thank you to Tom and Kelsey for taking care of us. The food was exceptional. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

We had dinner at The Table for our anniversary . We can't say enough about how we were treated ! Our food was excellent from the bread to the starters, salads, entrees , and dessert. The wine list is impressive. A+++

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful menu and a great place to spoil yourself

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

My Wife and I had a wonderful time at the Table. It was a great place to celebrate her birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome place and food was gre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

It was an awesome place and food was great. Service was excelet. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Dining Experience

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

The Table Restaurant was great from soup to nuts! I would highly recommend you take a special someone there for a romantic dinner. Great staff, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Excellent experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

We go to The Table for special occasions and have had excellent meals there. The ambiance is very pleasant and the service has always been superb. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Experience

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

This was my first dining experience at the restaurant and it was very pleasant; all aspects of fine dining are taken care of and you sense a personal touch in all that happens around you. The best part is that you can enjoy privacy be it a romantic setting &/or business setting. Great Experience

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends and Food

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

This is the third time our group of four couples have met at the Table and each time we have all raved about the food and service. Each time we were seated in a private room which made our social outing all that much nicer as we do not have the chance to see one another as frequently these days.

The Table has become our "go to" place when we crave especially fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While still a first class venue the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

While still a first class venue the food was disappointing and off from past performances with fewer menu choices . The chicken entree was dry and the ahi tuna with avocado and lettuce spring rolls appitizer needed more spice and/or a more nuanced sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Incredible food and fabulous ambience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

I have been meaning to review this terrific restaurant ever since my husband and I spent our anniversary dinner there at the end of May. As others have attested, the furnishings are lovely--from the waiting area to the spacious, elegant dining room. Contemporary and inviting, The Table is the perfect place for a romantic dinner for two!

The food is also excellent. I had the Ahi Tuna appetizer, my husband had the Brick Shrimp, and we shared the Carrot Salad. The tuna was good, if a bit unremarkable. The others were wonderful. I then had perfectly done salmon, and my husband had the Petite Filet, which he enjoyed tremendously. The wines--both selection and quality--were also excellent. We were on the way to a concert nearby, so did not order dessert.

We have enjoyed Cafe Zinc, also at the H Hotel, several times for lunch (less so for dinner), appreciating their bistro decor and innovative offerings. But for a high end dinner in Midland, this is the best we've had. The Table is pricey, but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was presented very nicely and it wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2015

Food was presented very nicely and it was good. Were flexible in changing side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Delicious salad

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

The grilled carrot and avocado salad had great character and was served with an unctuous burrata cheese. The salmon with fresh peas and horseradish cream could have been more carefully prepared but it was a lovely dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

If you want to impress, you found the place.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

If in Midland, this is the only place to go for a special occasion meal. Very high end. Short menu, 4 or five choices each of apps, salads, and entrees. We did college graduation meal, with 8 people, eating and drinking through the menu we hit about $500. Nobody complained about anything, every item ordered was excellent. Service was superb, at times 3 people working our table. Nothing to complain about here at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an awesome time coming here to end t ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on April 28, 2015

Had an awesome time coming here to end the semester with some fellow co-op students! Waiters were very helpful and friendly. Great way to end out a work rotation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BEST of Midland

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 4, 2015

I'm from out of town and stayed at H hotel. I hosted my clients there and the dinner was top class. the service the food the ambiance.. Must go to for Midland/Saginaw area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I live in Midland and fre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

My husband and I live in Midland and frequent Café Zinc often but had never eaten at The Table. We decided to stay at the H Hotel and have dinner at The Table to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We were very happy with the entire experience. The décor and furnishings and ambience of The Table were exquisite. The food was outstanding and so was our waiter. We felt like royalty and felt like we were in Paris! My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the portion size. We don't have big appetites and normally split a meal but were wondering if one meal would be enough for both of us. It was enough and more! We both left pleasantly full. We had the striped sea bass which was mild and had a wonderful sauce, with vegetables and mashed potatoes. The bread was delicious, as usual. We loved the ambience and furnishings and felt comfortable there. We'll definitely be back for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Select menu card with exquisite choice - ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Select menu card with exquisite choice - solid wine card. Quiet and warm atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not just a meal

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on November 13, 2014

From the very start walking in the door it was an experience. We were greeted warmly and led to our table right away. The service was excellent and the food was just incredible. For a special occasion it was wonderful. It was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.