About The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel

111 W Main Street
Midland, MI 48640
View Larger Map

Upscale American classics with added flavors from around the world combined with gracious, informed and inviting service. This bright, elegant and comfortably appointed dining room is excellent for entertaining business clients, a special evening out or just a sumptuous meal. All complemented by an extensive domestic and international wine list and hand crafted beers handpicked from Michigan’s best breweries

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:30 to 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday 5:30 PM to 10:00 PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(989) 633-6099

Website:
http://www.thetable.com/index.php

Catering:
Private dining room available accommodating up to 12.

Parking Details:
Underground parking as well as street parking

Executive Chef:
Peter Maiers

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine and spirits tastings.

Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Creme Brulee - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
  • Waygu Beef - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
  • Scallops With Short Ribs - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
  • Scallops With Corn And Tomato Rissotto - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
  • Lamb Chops With Gruyere Mac And Cheese - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
Lemon Creme Brulee - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
Waygu Beef - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
Scallops With Short Ribs - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
Scallops With Corn And Tomato Rissotto - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI
Lamb Chops With Gruyere Mac And Cheese - The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel, Midland, MI

The Table Restaurant at the H Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Midland ›

Special Occasion (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Private Room (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really like the Menu change. It's int ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I really like the Menu change. It's interesting to see the shift from French to more "American." Keep in mind this does not change the fantastic creativity and decadence the food encompasses. As a heads up, this restaurant has always been a wonderful choice for treating myself and friends. With the new direction in food, maybe this will blossom into more creativity. I hope to see a tasting menu in the near future and plan to visit more often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary, the service was ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was our anniversary, the service was great, the food was fantastic and my wife loved the background music. We come here every year now for our anniversary celebration and we love the ambiance. The staff is always courteous, professional and very helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice service, beautiful place. Food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very nice service, beautiful place. Food was a 8 out of 10. Value the same. My favorite is still the Chop House in Grand Rapids. It is still worth the drive. I live in Sanford so in comparison for the price it would not be my favorite based on food and the value alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was perfect again! We went with 11 f ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was perfect again! We went with 11 friends, and the service was perfect. Compliments for the wine choices really good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a long day of travel and meetings, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

After a long day of travel and meetings, it's a pleasure to relax with a good meal at The Table H. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything on the menu is ala carte. Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything on the menu is ala carte. Food was very good except tenderloin was ordered rare and did not come that way. Returned it and it still did not come back rare. Considering that this restaurant is now considered a steakhouse, they need to work on the doneness of their steak. A lot of money spent for a meal that wasn't quite right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a party of fifteen on 10/8/16 for a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a party of fifteen on 10/8/16 for a very special day. Dan from Table and the entire staff are impeccable for service and hospitality . Truly a first class and top notch resturant. Tom our waiter is so amazing! Can't wait to return and throw another dinner party. The Table is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our wedding day 5 years ago and have been back on our anniversary every year since. We have enjoyed ourselves immensely each year with the exception of this year. Service was substandard with empty plates left on the table and drink glasses left empty. We mentioned that it was our anniversary when we made the reservation but the only person to acknowledge it was the host when we arrived. We are not sure we will be back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent service. They were able to als ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent service. They were able to also make accommodations for my wife birthday. Great wine selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting!! Fantastic menu. Bes ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Beautiful setting!! Fantastic menu. Best bread basket!! The steak tartar presentation was clever and delish!! Loved the surprise sliders as an appertif. Heirloom tomato salad was simple perfection. Main course was flawless: Delmonico special with mashed potato and peas&pancetta was trimmed perfectly, 9oz of perfect medium rare prime beef! Carrot cake was the best ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were a party of 8 that likes to indul ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were a party of 8 that likes to indulge and celebrate eachother every month. We reserved the private room that had a front row seat to the wine cellar. Great for a group that likes to get loud and still feel the ambiance.

The food was just ok. The starters were nothing to brag about- actually the cheese board was something that anyone who had a taste for cheese could have done a better job with. Any cheese board with a cheddar slice on it is not something to write home about.

I didn't have a steak, but everyone else did, and they said it was fantastic. The wine list was extensive, and the service was excellent. A little slow at the beginning, but maybe after having a few drinks we didn't notice the timing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

excellent food, service and atmosphere. Perfect. We look forward to next time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good server, excellent food,lamb wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good server, excellent food,lamb was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Midland's BEST fine dining experience... ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Midland's BEST fine dining experience....

Serving staff was knowledgeable and attentive.......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most restaurants today are too noisy! W ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Most restaurants today are too noisy! We enjoyed the quiet. The service was great too. Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is, by far, the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is, by far, the best restaurant in the State of Michigan. I dined at Table twice this week. The entire experience will bring me back again and again. Do not miss the lamb chops or the asparagus salad. Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service. Outstanding steaks. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Top notch service. Outstanding steaks. Wine list is fabulous. Great ambiance. Exceeded my high expectations. Perfect for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you like calamari don't order it here ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 11, 2016

If you like calamari don't order it here! Heavily breaded and over fried. Worst calamari I ever had. Other entrees were good, but steak was over priced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A group of four of us went to the Table ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 14, 2016

A group of four of us went to the Table Restaurant for our prom dinner and it was AMAZING! We were all extremely pleased with the service, food and overall experience. I'm sure that we will be coming back in the future.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to The Table on ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I have been to The Table on average of three or four times a year for the last 5 years. We usually save a visit there for a special occasion like date night or our wedding anniversary. The Table used to have some unique and very tasty appetizers and soups. The entree was always good, too. Recently, The Table has changed their menu to more of a steakhouse menu. They no longer have the unique appetizers. The prices has not changed much so you pay top dollar for something that I feel you can get at a Bennigan's or Applebee's for less cost. However, the service at The Table was still outstanding as usual. Until the menu changes and they add some of the items that they had "back in the day", we will probably not be back nor will we be recommending the Table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

New Menu has changed everything.

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We always enjoyed the Table due to the creative taste. The new menu has made the food experience just so, so. I got the chicken (It was good) but there were no decent sides to go with it. Baked potato or fries were my only choices… Same sides for my Wife’s Swordfish Not what you would expect for the money anymore. We will not return until we hear of more menu options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

the food was great. being in the mid wes ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2016

the food was great. being in the mid west i feel the veal & beef would have better then my swordfish. dont get me wrong the fish was good. but boy the veal & beef looked great

wine yummy & the cake you made special for us was the fab. moist and the choc on the cake, extra yummy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Table

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very attentive and professional staff! The venue was perfect for the occasion and the staff was more than accommodating. One the best dining experiences to date! Food was exemplary and the ambiance was perfect. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem in Midland!

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Being from Toronto finding a fine dining restaurant that is quiet on a Saturday evening is impossible .

The ambiance here is perfect for a quite evening dinner either be with your loved ones or with your friends.

The service was impeccable and our meals were 5 star quality.

A gem in Midland indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Table Restaurant

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Exceptional food and great service. Eaten there twice and completely delighted both times. Cannot over-recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, food was just "okay"

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere of the restaurant was magnificent...However, the food was "mediocre" at best. It was not awful, but at almost $200 for two people to dine, I expected a meal that was a little better than just average. Not sure if I would eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A perfect birthday celebration!

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 21, 2016

The ambiance sets the stage for an intimate, romantic birthday celebration. From the complementary champagne, appetizer, bread/butter, salad, entrée, and dessert, everything was perfect! Our server Thomas provided excellent suggestions and established a relaxing pace for our special occasion. It was even more enjoyable than last year's celebration. We will definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Food was OK but not outstanding, certainly overprice for quality. Last time we were there same comment. Can not recommend based on food and price. Service was excellent and ambiance were excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2016

We dined at the Table to celebrate a special occasion and had a wonderful time! The sea bass with truffles was exquisite. Everything was delicious and the service was relaxed and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2016

This may have been the best meal we have ever had at The Table. Everything we ordered was perfectly executed. We started with the pâté de campagne which had foie gras running through it and was served with a horseradish butter. Amazing! The sea bass with the truffled potato risotto was worthy of any of the top tables in Europe. We had a lovely frozen dessert with chocolate, hazelnut, and orange. It looked like it was straight out of a Parisian pastry shop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of ten and wonderful comm ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a table of ten and wonderful comments regarding the service and food were expressed by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great service. Good very. Very impressive wine list. Perfect location to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. Very good deserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best experience at a fine dining restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Best experience at a fine dining restaurant. Food options were all great especially for a smaller menu and everything was cooked perfectly. There was also enough food per serving that I didn't leave barely satisfied like most comparable restaurants. If that wasn't enough, it was VERY fairly priced which makes me reluctant to spend my money at my other favorite fine dining locations in Chicago ever again. For instance, my normal drink (Godfather: Glenfiddich 12yr & Amaretto) is typically priced around $10 or so a drink almost anywhere I go. I ordered 2 drinks at The Table and they only carried the Glenfiddich 15yr scotch or older, so I upgraded and my 2 drinks totaled $16. Very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2015

We hadn't been to The Table for a while and it was even better than we remembered. They serve world-class cuisine in an elegant setting with a comfortable and relaxed ambience. The service is friendly and warm and the food is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions and to entertain

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 17, 2015

We have spent our anniversaries here and have always had a great meal and a memorable occasion. It would be nice to have a few more entrée` selections if possible. Staff has always been pleasant and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience this time was disappointi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 14, 2015

The experience this time was disappointing. It was my daughter's 18th birthday and I was expecting something special. Unfortunately the entrees were poor. I had the veal and it was tasteless and fatty.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant. Overall good experience

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was very good. Not excellent but very good. Nice upscale restaurant for the area. Very quiet for a Saturday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Empty restaurant.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Great food and service, but only 3 other tables occupied the Sat. night we were there. Makes you wonder why? Do not think I will be returning. And I believe they turned away a couple that walked in, because they didn't have reservations. What? Lots of empty tables as I said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 20, 2015

We went to the Table for our 1st wedding anniversary. The staff was welcoming and accommodating. Big thank you to Tom and Kelsey for taking care of us. The food was exceptional. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 28, 2015

We had dinner at The Table for our anniversary . We can't say enough about how we were treated ! Our food was excellent from the bread to the starters, salads, entrees , and dessert. The wine list is impressive. A+++

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.