About The Suburban Bourbon

S76W17745 Janesville Rd
Muskego, WI 53150
View Larger Map

Welcome to The Suburban Bourbon, Muskego's premier eatery, bourbon bar, and craft beer stop. We specialize in comfort plates such as bacon wrapped meatloaf with a honey-bourbon glaze or scallops and shrimp over linguine with a creamy white wine sauce. Our bourbon bar features a wide bourbons and scotch selection. Feel free to try several bourbons by ordering one of our many flights. You'll also find many specialty drinks ranging from the classic Moscow Mule to our very own pineapple mint bourbon sour. Thinking of beer? Our wide selection of craft beer has something to please everyone. After dinner, we suggest one of our dessert beers, maybe a Southern Tier Creme Brulee? We invite you to visit us and explore our food and drink menus. We'd love to serve you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Kristin Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 682-4406

Website:
http://www.thesuburbanbourbon.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz every Tuesday.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Suburban Bourbon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (4)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrating my mother's 91st Birthday wi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Celebrating my mother's 91st Birthday with great Old Fashions, excellent meatloaf and big band music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were here again for my son's birthday ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were here again for my son's birthday. It was his first choice of restaurants. Good food , nice atmosphere and as the name implies, a long selection of quality bourbons.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service. Food was average. Mashed ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good service. Food was average. Mashed potatoes lacked any flavor or reason to be on the plate. Might go back. Might not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

This was a last minute choice but a good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was a last minute choice but a good one. The interior is inviting, the atmosphere quiet, and the food choices and tastes were very good. The service staff in total made you feel like a valued customer. The prices were very reasonable. And if you hurry you can enjoy their pumpkin cheese cake!

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. I loved my salad ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was great. I loved my salad and my cosmo. Was a bit noisy, though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As the name suggests, this is a bourbon ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

As the name suggests, this is a bourbon place and they've got a nice selection. Knowledgeable staff too. They made some good recommendations. The good was good and the bourbon was great!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We went specifically for a fish fry. It ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went specifically for a fish fry. It was good. I liked the breaded better than the beer battered. The tarter sauce was good, however it was the kind with sweet pickles and Ilike traditional none sweet tarter. The potato pancakes tasted great however they thick while I prefer thin. That said I'm just giving a foodie critic. The food was good. The place was definitely remodeled inside and was nice. It was clean and service great. Bourbon list great as well as the beer list. Wine list left me satisfied. Good reasonable house wines too if your watching your dollars. We will go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I came in for date night with my husband ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I came in for date night with my husband. We love the Suburban Bourbon and try to make it here at least every other week for some time to ourselves. We are never disappointed! We are both loose pescatarians and craft cocktail snobs and love what the Bourbon has to offer. This visit, we started with crab cakes, I had the baked mac and cheese with soy chorizo and veggies and my husband had the pecan crusted salmon. It was all so so so good. Even for meat eaters, soy chorizo is amazing. You get all the flavor and none of the grease. Cocktail wise, we went old school. I had (a few) Singapore Slings and my husband enjoyed the Old Fashioned's. The server overheard me comment on how delicious the cherries were in my husband's drink (they were like real cherries, not the bright red ones) and she brought me over a few extras without even saying anything. Service was great, food was great, we brought home leftovers, overall it was really just a great night. Thank you to everyone there for giving my husband and I a great place to call our favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Friday Fish Fry. Great f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went for the Friday Fish Fry. Great food, friendly service, nice atmosphere. We would definitely go there again on a Friday or another time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I may recommend this if they correct a f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I may recommend this if they correct a few things....food was ok, but they are asking for a lawsuit making everyone carry hot coffee up the stairs while holding their plates/purses. They came around to ask if we wanted drinks from the bar - they could have easily filled coffee cups when they did that. The selection wasn't great but then we didn't pay a whole lot either so I'm ok with that. We were seated upstairs where the atmosphere was ok but the people seated downstairs were in a big hall with no ambiance. It was the luck of the draw where they sat you as far as I could tell. This was our second time here-once when they first opened and again for Father's Day. I wasn't too impressed the first time we were there or I'm sure we would have visited again without waiting so long in between. I hope they make it as Muskego really needs eating establishments and we like doing business with neighborhood businesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Need to clean the bathroom, it was dusty ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Need to clean the bathroom, it was dusty and messy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Upscale dinner with mom

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Every once in awhile my husband goes out of town for the weekend. I take this occasion to treat the kids and myself to a dinner that is local(not a chain). This selection did not disappoint. The food was on par with the price. Kids got wraps,sometimes they can the point of this is to have an adventure. I had the chicken pesto with gluten free noodles. We should've asked if we could order half wraps. My pasta was good. Gluten free noodles can get screwed up pretty easily these were perfect. The service was friendly and efficient. My only real complaint or let's call it a suggestion. The menu could be more descriptive. When I got my pesto I was surprised to see it was a creamy pesto. And coasters. It was quite humid and we had to use up 6 napkins to keep the table dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for the Mother's Day brunc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for the Mother's Day brunch. We we're very disappointed in the food selection. The food wasn't bad, but nothing stood out. The buffet was rather slim and standard fair. A salad bar would have been nice. The dessert table left much to be desired. Even donuts and pastries would have made this better. Service was below what I would expect. They didn't have tables assigned for reserved guests, and just seated people where ever a table was open. We ended up at a tall bar table, which certainly didn't fit my vision of a Mother's Day brunch. No salt and pepper at the table, couldn't keep the water glasses filled, and plates stacked several high before they were removed. Two soups were offered but the carrot ginger soup had such a strong ginger flavor that no one in our party could eat it.

We have had dinner here and loved it. Both service and food were great. However, we definitely will not be back for any buffet offerings.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Johnny Cash Tribute night

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

As usual the cuisine was superb! We had a reservation and were seated immediately given a couple of choices where we would like to sit. The restaurant was very busy so the service suffered somewhat. Although we were seating immediately it took awhile for our server to bring our drinks & food. Also, the server offered a "splash" of soda to try with our bourbon but it never showed up. No big deal really, but it was a missed opportunity.

Overall our server was upbeat and cordial and I would not give her a "bad" mark for this. Rather I attribute it to the how busy it was and from what I heard the restaurant was short some help.

Great experience! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good Friday Fish Fry

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Went for the first time on Good Friday. Actually wasn't busy. Sat in lower level banquet hall as the Badger game was on. Never got water (did eventually ask for it towards the end of our meal when our other beverages were gone), didn't get plates for our 2 appetizers. 4 people eating off 2 platters with no plates wasn't ideal. Slow service. The place wasn't packed so was surprised at how slow it was. Server forgot to bring out soup. Server gave us someone elses's bill. Son's spaghetti wasn't good. The crab cakes were great and the fish fry was great (big portion and very tasty). Just not impressed and don't think I'd ever go back or recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Always great food, great hospitality and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always great food, great hospitality and good cheer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food prep is slipping

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Not sure if was just the larger crowd do in part to Lent but the initial service at the table was lacking. I had to ask who our server was after we had been seated for 10 min. The fish was good however mine was served not as warm/hot as I would have liked. We've been to the Suburban Bourbon numerous times, this was the 1st sub par experience that I've had.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

4 star restaurant

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Our server was very attentive to our needs. We had two small children with us and she made sure they were taken care of. Please give her our thanks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2016

The staff made it a special night for me. The apps, entrees, and desserts were all great and the staff took extra time to make sure my birthday dinner went well. Oh, the specialty drinks (Rye Knot Apple Cider and Singapore Sling) were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Hopes for Suburban Bourbon

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great selection of bourbon and bourbon drinks. However, it is irritating to see the bartender so "carefully" measure that one ounce! Makes the establishment look stingy. Hub had the meatloaf and liked it. I had the salmon and was assured by the server that she would instruct the kitchen not to overcook it. It was served quite overcooked and when she returned (20 minutes later) I had eaten most of it (I was hungry) but let her know that is was, in fact, overcooked to which she responded cheerfully that the kitchen was known for that! Mashed potatoes were tasteless, but lettuce greens were good.

Homemade chips were good but odd that they were served with marinara sauce.

Service was slow and timid -- do not seem very experienced.

Perhaps this establishment should stick to burgers and sandwiches that looked good coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good but...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The service was good. The food was good, but a bit over-priced (I had a half rack of ribs that came with potatoes and spring mix lettuces that had nothing but balsamic vinegar on it and nothing else...no tomato, no onion, nothing). My husband had a ribeye that was good, but very thin and also pricey. I don't think we'll be back due to the prices, lack of dinner menu selection and the value for the cost. Can't see paying $16 for a half rack of ribs and lettuce and a few roasted, dry potatoes. Had egg noggin creme Brule for dessert, the sugar was burnt. Sorry. Great ambience and love the music. Perhaps good for the Bourbon and whiskey connoisseurs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Never disappointed at the Suburban Bourbon!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The menu offers a diverse selection, far different than most local restaurants. The specials are always delicious - I can never resist! They have a great selection of tap beers which changes seasonally. They're the only place around that offers the Heineken Brew Lock method - I'm not a Heineken drinker, yet I loved it served in this manner; all of the normal bitterness was gone. If you haven't been here - try it, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty darn wonderful

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2015

We ventured to suburban Bourbon for the first time in a year and found it to be as on point as it was the last time. We started with the calamari appetizer which was delicious and creative. Our entrees were the pecan crusted salmon and the full rack of ribs. Both entrees were served hot and to perfection. The ribs were maybe the best we have ever had.

Service was attentive and they have some unique specialty drinks like the Rye Knot Apple Cider. We didn't try the bourbons, but their wall of bourbon is impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great bourbon and food

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2015

They have the best bourbon selection, maybe in the State of Wisconsin and it is fairly priced - even the top shelf stuff. Add to that a very respectable craft beer selection, and it makes for a great experience. I've never been disappointed with the food and the service (I usually sit at the bar) is welcoming. Nice place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a great time

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2015

The restaurant was extremely busy and very loud. They appeared to be short staffed but I might be wrong. We had to wait 10 minutes to order drinks. Then we ordered an appetizer and our dinners. An entire HOUR later, we hadn't received any food. Then they brought our dinners out. I mentioned the appetizer to a server and she said she would take it off the bill (it never came!) and didn't apologize once. I am very understanding if you just let us know it is busy, you are short staffed, etc. but we were ignored and received no apologies which is unacceptable. Good was ok. We will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

2nd time not a charm

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2015

First visit the food was great! Second time mediocre to fair. So disappointed in the service. From time we sat down till we got food 1 1/2 hours. Little pricey for the neighborhood. Will say that their Mac & Cheese on first visit was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

First Time Dining here - Family Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2015

There were 9 of us for a Family Dinner. Had Drinks at the bar first and then dinner. Bar Service was great and so was table service for dinner. Some very tasty craft beers on tap and many bourban choices. (Some a little expensive) Food was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Find

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 30, 2015

We were lucky to find you and will be back! The bacon wrapped meatloaf was amazing and our service was outstanding!! Pete the owner was really hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Promising, but needs a bit of polish

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2015

This restaurant has real promise, but needs a little tweaking. The ambiance reminds me of a family's rec room. Our waitress delivered our food, forgot the silverware and then on her way to get them, engaged in a conversation (she stopped and was chatting -- not a dining request) with the next table. We had to remind her that we still needed these utensils. Our food was good, although my garlic potatoes were very lumpy and the plating left something to be desired. There are a lot of drink specials but we ordered our standard drinks -- maybe next time we will try a bourbon creation. We will give this restaurant another chance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

PLEASED

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Really enjoyed the food. Had the fish fry and the portion of fish was good but would have liked a little more cole slaw and the chips seems a little overdone. Potato pancakes were a find. It is hard to find a really good potato pancake these days. A really nice dining experience. I was also there for the Bigband on Thursday with some friends and we so much enjoyed the band. Our service was very good however our server did have to cover alot of tables and while he tried so hard to take care of everyone in such a pleasant way I think he would have been able to provide more personal attention to each table if he had some help. Overall enjoyed this restaurant and will be back to try more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food but need to improve service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Made reservation for 7 and arrived about 5 minutes late but there were only 3-4 tables occupied and 4-5 people at the bar so did not have to wait for table. We were greeted and seated immediately upon arrival. Waitress brought menus and said would return for drink order. Was a bit of delay to return to take our order. Seemed to be taking a long time to return with the drinks when the bartender(owner/manager?) came to the table with our drinks. Apologized for the delay and said he doesn't normally do this but the waitress was only one on staff. Again, the restaurant was not full so unclear why such a delay, even if only one waitstaff. (The other tables were not large groups.)

Food order was taken and the time to receive was reasonable. Do not waste extra money on the gluten-free bun. It was horrible! Perhaps they should grill so that it doesn't crumble? The regular buns are delicious and lightly grilled. Burgers were excellent, wings not very large or meaty. The fried green beans were excellent!

This was our second visit and not sure we will return. We experienced the same with service in February 2015. I am thinking they should have worked out the kinks by now but apparently not.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Awesome find in Muskego!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2015

Everything about my visit to the Suburban Bourbon was on point. The food was delicious, had the bacon wrapped meatloaf and garlic mashed potatoes because I was in the mood for comfort food. It was literally the best meatloaf I've ever had. So good. The wine list is nice and I had Coppola Claret, which I don't see very often, a nice surprise. My husband had the ribs and a bourbon cocktail and he loved every bit of it. The atmosphere is really inviting. The decor is minimalist, which I appreciate. It seemed thoughtful. We had great service from Erin and will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had Fathers Day brunch. new offering for estab

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Staff needs training in running a brunch- informing customers,& picking up used plates. Food was Good! & some- unusual offerings! Went back Monday night for Bourbon Flight,& dinner... Great meatloaf,& Cioppinni!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Might be back-MIGHT!

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2015

This was our first time at Suburban Bourbon, so I made a reservation on open table for a party of 5 for 6:15 pm, but when we got to Suburban Bourbon our table wasn't ready. Once our table was finally put together and we were seated, the owner gave us our menus and didn't say anything. Didn't tell us about any specials, didn't say a server will be right with you, nothing - not very inviting if you ask me. Then, it took about 10 minutes for someone to come over and ask if we want drinks. Our waitress was really nice, a little flaky but nice. We ordered some drinks - I had a bourbon old fashioned sweet, which was great, but they took a little long to get. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich with the bbq sauce & coleslaw on the side, when I got my sandwich, the sauce & slaw were missing and I had to ask the waitress twice to get it, by then my sandwich was already getting cold. So all in all, I might give it one more shot - but that's a big maybe, for what you pay - I expected great service, great drinks, and great food! At least the company I had was great! Not sure if I'll be back and I definitely won't recommend this place, too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Good, hints of great

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2015

We went to Mother's Day brunch, so it wasn't the average day. They had 300 reservations so food quality and service were a little flat. I would definitely try again for the normal experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Outstanding Dining Experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2015

My first visit but definitely not my last. Enjoyed the ambiance and the extensive bourbon and craft beer choices. The service was very good, but most importantly, the food was outstanding. We ordered the meatloaf - best ever and the steak kabobs - tender and flavorful. Have recommended to my vegetarian friends as the menu had many appealing choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food a spud service

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 11, 2015

We had a party of 6 recently and everyone was very pleased with the food service and exceptional variety of beverages. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Muskego Surprise

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2015

I don't think of Muskego as a place to go for anything more than a beer and a burger. This place is on par with many downtown restaurants. The menu is simple and delicious. The boubon menu is absolutely fantastic! They offer a nnumber of creative cocktails as well. The staff is also very friendly. This will become a regular stop for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice but Expensive for the area

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 4, 2015

My wife and I were recommended to this restaurant. While the food was really good, it was pricey for the area. I would see these prices at a nice downtown Milwaukee place not Muskego. My wife had the steak ca bobs and I had the blackened walleye. There were about 3 pieces of steak on each ca bob and a bowl of beans. For a 20 dollar dish there should have been a side soup or salad or more steak. My fish was very good but again for the price there should have been a included soup or salad. There drinks were very good as well. A wide variety of whiskey and scotch as well as other specialty drinks. The only way I think I would go back there is for a cocktail at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The Suburban Bourbon has a great vibe in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 4, 2015

The Suburban Bourbon has a great vibe inside. The decor is more upscale than your typical place in Muskego. The atmosphere is jazz, which goes well with the top shelf bourbon and scotch, as well as craft brews. I had a Jefferson Ocean, which is a fabulous bourbon. My wife had a nice Cab, which she said was very nice for a place with bourbon in the name. There are large TVs behind the bar if you want to catch a game, but this isn't a peanuts on the floor kind of place.

We had the cod fish fry and it was amazing. The fish was light and crispy, with 3 large pieces and we had leftovers to take home. However the real stars are the potato pancakes that come with it. They are a shredded potato pancake with onion and spices that play really well with applesauce. Finally there is the traditional cole slaw which comes with a non-traditional jalapeño kick that really rounds out the fish fry and makes it unique.

We brought our kids and they really liked the sweet barbecue sauce that came with the boneless wings. There were several other families there, so bringing our kids wasn't a problem. The kids menu had lots of options.

We'll be back for a nitecap without the kids on a future date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.