Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 1.20mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

About The Suburban Bourbon

Welcome to The Suburban Bourbon, Muskego's premier eatery, bourbon bar, and craft beer stop. We specialize in comfort plates such as bacon wrapped meatloaf with a honey-bourbon glaze or scallops and shrimp over linguine with a creamy white wine sauce. Our bourbon bar features a wide bourbons and scotch selection. Feel free to try several bourbons by ordering one of our many flights. You'll also find many specialty drinks ranging from the classic Moscow Mule to our very own pineapple mint bourbon sour. Thinking of beer? Our wide selection of craft beer has something to please everyone. After dinner, we suggest one of our dessert beers, maybe a Southern Tier Creme Brulee? We invite you to visit us and explore our food and drink menus. We'd love to serve you!

S76W17745 Janesville Rd
Muskego, WI 53150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Kristin Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 682-4406

Website:
http://www.thesuburbanbourbon.com/

Entertainment:
18-piece big band every third Tuesday.

Catering:
Full banquet services

Parking Details:
Feel free to park in our large lot, on the street, or in the bank lot accross the street.

Public Transit:
None - Uber available

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Suburban Bourbon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (7)
See All
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great Beer (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went with our family for Mother's Day brunch. The food selection was minimal, lines were constant long, food was out often when we finally made it to the line, food quality was minimal and for the price of $24/adult it was not worth it. The waitstaff was kind and efficient but the set up and good was poor. I would not go back to try their regular fare based on this negative experience. I am a mother and did not feel satisfied with my special day there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day Brunch and food was abundant and delicious. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The Suburban Bourbon is about a 25 minute drive from home, but was well worth the drive. Our party had their vegetarian lasagna (top 5 lasagnas I've tasted and easily the largest portion), the pecan crusted salmon (expensive for the portion, but delicious), and the meatloaf (didn't get to try, but looked awesome). The owner had excellent food and drink recommendations and was very friendly and accommodating! We will DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great as usual. Te only restaurant I'll go to in Muskego. This time we had an extremely good server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very child friendly staff, they were very accommodating and the food was delicious. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had reservations for 6:30 and were not seated until 7. I tried asking when our table would be ready and was not given a good response. The table was reserved and no one was sitting there so not sure why we were not seated at our reservation time. A server never came to take our orders so the assistant manager ended up waiting on us. We finally received our meals finally at 8. The food was good but dinner should have not taken 2 hours.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I'll admit they were a little busy but it was a Friday evening. My fish fry and my wife's Chicken pot pie were superb. The waitresses were super-friendly and accommodating. If ever in Muskego, I highly recommend this establishment!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I've never seen a server work so hard and do such a good job serving .. alone... about 5 or 6 tables by himself and not miss a beat. Food was average. But the service means a return visit. Good job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went for dinner on Wednesday evening. There were four of us. Walked in at 5:30 and there was nobody at all in the dining area. Just three people at the bar. When we left around 7:15, just one other table for two had just been filled for dinner and the same three people at the bar. Hard to pay the bills with that level of activity.

The food was all just average at best but fairly expensive across the board. Especially for Muskego. A couple side dishes were cold too.

Service was terrific. Although with no other tables to serve, I guess it should be right? Beer list was good offering some unusual selections for the area. Although I did not partake, the list of available bourbons and other wiskeys was amazing.

Decor was very dull and plain. Nothing distinctive at all. Just a quiet, dull, unexciting place all around.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I can't believe this place isn't busier. Great food. Lovely people. Excellent craft beer selection and bourbon! We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Celebrating my mother's 91st Birthday with great Old Fashions, excellent meatloaf and big band music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were here again for my son's birthday. It was his first choice of restaurants. Good food , nice atmosphere and as the name implies, a long selection of quality bourbons.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good service. Food was average. Mashed potatoes lacked any flavor or reason to be on the plate. Might go back. Might not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was a last minute choice but a good one. The interior is inviting, the atmosphere quiet, and the food choices and tastes were very good. The service staff in total made you feel like a valued customer. The prices were very reasonable. And if you hurry you can enjoy their pumpkin cheese cake!

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was great. I loved my salad and my cosmo. Was a bit noisy, though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

As the name suggests, this is a bourbon place and they've got a nice selection. Knowledgeable staff too. They made some good recommendations. The good was good and the bourbon was great!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went specifically for a fish fry. It was good. I liked the breaded better than the beer battered. The tarter sauce was good, however it was the kind with sweet pickles and Ilike traditional none sweet tarter. The potato pancakes tasted great however they thick while I prefer thin. That said I'm just giving a foodie critic. The food was good. The place was definitely remodeled inside and was nice. It was clean and service great. Bourbon list great as well as the beer list. Wine list left me satisfied. Good reasonable house wines too if your watching your dollars. We will go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I came in for date night with my husband. We love the Suburban Bourbon and try to make it here at least every other week for some time to ourselves. We are never disappointed! We are both loose pescatarians and craft cocktail snobs and love what the Bourbon has to offer. This visit, we started with crab cakes, I had the baked mac and cheese with soy chorizo and veggies and my husband had the pecan crusted salmon. It was all so so so good. Even for meat eaters, soy chorizo is amazing. You get all the flavor and none of the grease. Cocktail wise, we went old school. I had (a few) Singapore Slings and my husband enjoyed the Old Fashioned's. The server overheard me comment on how delicious the cherries were in my husband's drink (they were like real cherries, not the bright red ones) and she brought me over a few extras without even saying anything. Service was great, food was great, we brought home leftovers, overall it was really just a great night. Thank you to everyone there for giving my husband and I a great place to call our favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went for the Friday Fish Fry. Great food, friendly service, nice atmosphere. We would definitely go there again on a Friday or another time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I may recommend this if they correct a few things....food was ok, but they are asking for a lawsuit making everyone carry hot coffee up the stairs while holding their plates/purses. They came around to ask if we wanted drinks from the bar - they could have easily filled coffee cups when they did that. The selection wasn't great but then we didn't pay a whole lot either so I'm ok with that. We were seated upstairs where the atmosphere was ok but the people seated downstairs were in a big hall with no ambiance. It was the luck of the draw where they sat you as far as I could tell. This was our second time here-once when they first opened and again for Father's Day. I wasn't too impressed the first time we were there or I'm sure we would have visited again without waiting so long in between. I hope they make it as Muskego really needs eating establishments and we like doing business with neighborhood businesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Need to clean the bathroom, it was dusty and messy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Every once in awhile my husband goes out of town for the weekend. I take this occasion to treat the kids and myself to a dinner that is local(not a chain). This selection did not disappoint. The food was on par with the price. Kids got wraps,sometimes they can the point of this is to have an adventure. I had the chicken pesto with gluten free noodles. We should've asked if we could order half wraps. My pasta was good. Gluten free noodles can get screwed up pretty easily these were perfect. The service was friendly and efficient. My only real complaint or let's call it a suggestion. The menu could be more descriptive. When I got my pesto I was surprised to see it was a creamy pesto. And coasters. It was quite humid and we had to use up 6 napkins to keep the table dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for the Mother's Day brunch. We we're very disappointed in the food selection. The food wasn't bad, but nothing stood out. The buffet was rather slim and standard fair. A salad bar would have been nice. The dessert table left much to be desired. Even donuts and pastries would have made this better. Service was below what I would expect. They didn't have tables assigned for reserved guests, and just seated people where ever a table was open. We ended up at a tall bar table, which certainly didn't fit my vision of a Mother's Day brunch. No salt and pepper at the table, couldn't keep the water glasses filled, and plates stacked several high before they were removed. Two soups were offered but the carrot ginger soup had such a strong ginger flavor that no one in our party could eat it.
We have had dinner here and loved it. Both service and food were great. However, we definitely will not be back for any buffet offerings.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

As usual the cuisine was superb! We had a reservation and were seated immediately given a couple of choices where we would like to sit. The restaurant was very busy so the service suffered somewhat. Although we were seating immediately it took awhile for our server to bring our drinks & food. Also, the server offered a "splash" of soda to try with our bourbon but it never showed up. No big deal really, but it was a missed opportunity.

Overall our server was upbeat and cordial and I would not give her a "bad" mark for this. Rather I attribute it to the how busy it was and from what I heard the restaurant was short some help.

Great experience! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Went for the first time on Good Friday. Actually wasn't busy. Sat in lower level banquet hall as the Badger game was on. Never got water (did eventually ask for it towards the end of our meal when our other beverages were gone), didn't get plates for our 2 appetizers. 4 people eating off 2 platters with no plates wasn't ideal. Slow service. The place wasn't packed so was surprised at how slow it was. Server forgot to bring out soup. Server gave us someone elses's bill. Son's spaghetti wasn't good. The crab cakes were great and the fish fry was great (big portion and very tasty). Just not impressed and don't think I'd ever go back or recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always great food, great hospitality and good cheer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Not sure if was just the larger crowd do in part to Lent but the initial service at the table was lacking. I had to ask who our server was after we had been seated for 10 min. The fish was good however mine was served not as warm/hot as I would have liked. We've been to the Suburban Bourbon numerous times, this was the 1st sub par experience that I've had.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Our server was very attentive to our needs. We had two small children with us and she made sure they were taken care of. Please give her our thanks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2016

The staff made it a special night for me. The apps, entrees, and desserts were all great and the staff took extra time to make sure my birthday dinner went well. Oh, the specialty drinks (Rye Knot Apple Cider and Singapore Sling) were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great selection of bourbon and bourbon drinks. However, it is irritating to see the bartender so "carefully" measure that one ounce! Makes the establishment look stingy. Hub had the meatloaf and liked it. I had the salmon and was assured by the server that she would instruct the kitchen not to overcook it. It was served quite overcooked and when she returned (20 minutes later) I had eaten most of it (I was hungry) but let her know that is was, in fact, overcooked to which she responded cheerfully that the kitchen was known for that! Mashed potatoes were tasteless, but lettuce greens were good.
Homemade chips were good but odd that they were served with marinara sauce.
Service was slow and timid -- do not seem very experienced.
Perhaps this establishment should stick to burgers and sandwiches that looked good coming out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The service was good. The food was good, but a bit over-priced (I had a half rack of ribs that came with potatoes and spring mix lettuces that had nothing but balsamic vinegar on it and nothing else...no tomato, no onion, nothing). My husband had a ribeye that was good, but very thin and also pricey. I don't think we'll be back due to the prices, lack of dinner menu selection and the value for the cost. Can't see paying $16 for a half rack of ribs and lettuce and a few roasted, dry potatoes. Had egg noggin creme Brule for dessert, the sugar was burnt. Sorry. Great ambience and love the music. Perhaps good for the Bourbon and whiskey connoisseurs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The menu offers a diverse selection, far different than most local restaurants. The specials are always delicious - I can never resist! They have a great selection of tap beers which changes seasonally. They're the only place around that offers the Heineken Brew Lock method - I'm not a Heineken drinker, yet I loved it served in this manner; all of the normal bitterness was gone. If you haven't been here - try it, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2015

They have the best bourbon selection, maybe in the State of Wisconsin and it is fairly priced - even the top shelf stuff. Add to that a very respectable craft beer selection, and it makes for a great experience. I've never been disappointed with the food and the service (I usually sit at the bar) is welcoming. Nice place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2015

We ventured to suburban Bourbon for the first time in a year and found it to be as on point as it was the last time. We started with the calamari appetizer which was delicious and creative. Our entrees were the pecan crusted salmon and the full rack of ribs. Both entrees were served hot and to perfection. The ribs were maybe the best we have ever had.

Service was attentive and they have some unique specialty drinks like the Rye Knot Apple Cider. We didn't try the bourbons, but their wall of bourbon is impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2015

The restaurant was extremely busy and very loud. They appeared to be short staffed but I might be wrong. We had to wait 10 minutes to order drinks. Then we ordered an appetizer and our dinners. An entire HOUR later, we hadn't received any food. Then they brought our dinners out. I mentioned the appetizer to a server and she said she would take it off the bill (it never came!) and didn't apologize once. I am very understanding if you just let us know it is busy, you are short staffed, etc. but we were ignored and received no apologies which is unacceptable. Good was ok. We will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2015

First visit the food was great! Second time mediocre to fair. So disappointed in the service. From time we sat down till we got food 1 1/2 hours. Little pricey for the neighborhood. Will say that their Mac & Cheese on first visit was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2015

There were 9 of us for a Family Dinner. Had Drinks at the bar first and then dinner. Bar Service was great and so was table service for dinner. Some very tasty craft beers on tap and many bourban choices. (Some a little expensive) Food was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 30, 2015

We were lucky to find you and will be back! The bacon wrapped meatloaf was amazing and our service was outstanding!! Pete the owner was really hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2015

This restaurant has real promise, but needs a little tweaking. The ambiance reminds me of a family's rec room. Our waitress delivered our food, forgot the silverware and then on her way to get them, engaged in a conversation (she stopped and was chatting -- not a dining request) with the next table. We had to remind her that we still needed these utensils. Our food was good, although my garlic potatoes were very lumpy and the plating left something to be desired. There are a lot of drink specials but we ordered our standard drinks -- maybe next time we will try a bourbon creation. We will give this restaurant another chance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Really enjoyed the food. Had the fish fry and the portion of fish was good but would have liked a little more cole slaw and the chips seems a little overdone. Potato pancakes were a find. It is hard to find a really good potato pancake these days. A really nice dining experience. I was also there for the Bigband on Thursday with some friends and we so much enjoyed the band. Our service was very good however our server did have to cover alot of tables and while he tried so hard to take care of everyone in such a pleasant way I think he would have been able to provide more personal attention to each table if he had some help. Overall enjoyed this restaurant and will be back to try more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.