About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Live Music (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vegan (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Healthy (10)
Organic (10)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We love the Studio, and try to eat there each time we visit Hilton Head. The food is superb, but the ambience is the best. It is intimate and you can actually hear to talk. It never fails to provide us a lovely evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

this was our second dining experience within a month at the Studio ... it's just perfect and even though we drove through torrential rains and thunderstorms in our 1 hour +++ trip each way we'd do it again and again ...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Since the last time we were there, a few years ago, the food quality and choices has deteriorated. There was not any music that evening. I bought the $25 coupon for $10, for each couple, but was only able to use one of them! We will not be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Vacation
Food was very good
Service slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We throughly enjoyed our dining experience. I had the paella which was a delightful blend of flavors which included a hint of fennel--an untraditional paella but very tasty and beautifully presented. My wife and I had the crab bisque as a starter. It was served hot to the table in a light creamy broth and with plentiful crab meat. My wife enjoyed the ahi tuna and lobster spring roll. This evening out to dinner was a treat which we would recommend to anyone looking for a quality meal in a quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was great, food was decent. I was very excited to try a restaurant with so many vegan options. Overall I was let down, very amateurish drink menu, the food was way over priced. It was a place I wanted to try but would not go back. Too many great places in Hilton head to eat somewhere so overly priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First visit to The Studio. We will go back. While the menu was not extensive, it offered a good choice of beef, fish, pasta, vegetarian and vegan. Choose a night when there is music. The owner, an artist, is at the venue and makes sure her guests are enjoying their experience.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We found this gem several years and always include an evening on our trips to Hilton Head. It is our favorite place on the Island. The musician is wonderful, the food always well prepared, and the waiters classy. We heartily recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant from Hilton Head to Bluffton. The service and food are unbeatable!

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Comfort Food, Vegan, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We loved our food, our server, and the ambiance of The Studio. People use the word "unique" a lot, but this place really is one of a kind. The rack of lamb was the best I've ever had, and my companion loved his paella. Our blueberry dessert was scrumptious. We enjoyed touring the artwork too. We recommend this place highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a wonderful visits. Wonderful food. Great atmosphere. Fabulous wait staff. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We chose the early dining menu after a matinee. Food was very good and service was both professional and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Vacation dining.
Returned to this wonderful restaurant. Since we loved it last year!!! Love the ambiance, relaxing atmosphere, great cocktails, and food delicious!!!
It's a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, nice live music, and fantastic food! I look forward to going back, and definitely would recommend this restaurant to friends and family. It's a hidden gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We shared a delicious shrimp spring roll. My husband had lamb and saffron risotto. I had plantain gnocchi. Both outstanding. We shared the vegan German torte with black berry and cabernat sorbet. OMG...heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Surprisingly excellent food and service. One member of our party is vegetarian. She was very pleased with the excellent choices fitting her dietary needs. The unique art added to the ambiance of a couples dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Romantic, small intimate restaurant. Great music! Not loud. Service was very good, food very good, wine list excellent and reasonable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service and food is always outstanding. We took some friends there for their first time, this won't be their last time, they were very impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We were married there 9yrs ago & the owners have taken care of us at The Studio every time we go in. The food is consistently delicious & the ambiance is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time trying this place, and its on Easter Sunday. The food (grouper with crab meat & 3 samplers petite filet, lamb chop & grouper) was delicious but the sides mash potatoes & asparagus were same for all our entrees. For desert we had blue berry crumb cake & lava cake were wonderfully good ending to our dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived early and were the only ones in the restaurant. Despite this, Victor told us the tables were very limited due to Easter and the Heritage. We generally eat here once a month and always get a nice bottle of wine. Victor's attitude turned us off so we succussefully saved the $100 we normally spend on wine. The haiibut was wonderful but the mushroom stuffed crepes were poor. We will take a break from this restaurant for awhile.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Strange place... seating was uncomfortable,music was average at best

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Second time we've dined at The Studio when traveling to Hilton Head, first time over six years ago. Says something when a restaurant stays in business for more that long. Delightful atmosphere, attentive service and great food in generous portions. Worth checking out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent choice for visiting vegans! Need more vegan desserts. Food was delicious and as described. Good proportions. Decor
was depressing - so we ate outside. Lovely.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

as soon as i entered this artsy, small, intimate restaurant i knew i had found a restaurant that suited me and my guests very well ... quiet guitar music, quiet chatter, friendly smiles and one of a kind decor ... the waitstaff was phenomenal and well trained in the fine dining art: tables were dressed with sparkling glassware, shining flatware and black over white table cloths...smart, modern and inviting ... the artists in residence in adjacent small rooms gave added interest during cocktails ... there are outdoor and private dining areas as well ... i will return in a nano second ... the food quality was outstanding and taste sensations abounded ... great for a foodie who likes attention ... ps: it was an hour plus drive so next time we'll stay overnite in a local motel on hilton head island...

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We had a discount and decided to try this restaurant. We enjoyed the food and its presentation. The service was attentive but not too overwhelming. It was pricy for a weeknight dinner but the food was well prepared and tasty. The art was interesting to see but not of my genre. The ages of the diners were relatively senior and seemed like locals, not tourists. Perhaps a true neighborhood gem????

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding ambiance excellent food and service. A regular stop when in HHI

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love the ambience food is good and we enjoy the music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head Island. The food & service is always excellent. The entertainment, singer/guitar, is always wonderful. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always delightful! Great dinner, nice wines and cocktails. Terrific service. From start to finish, personal service. Options for everyone, gluten free, vegan or carnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Studio was a great selection. It's an 'artistic' experience from the moment you enter the restaurant until you complete dessert. There is a variety of art to enjoy throughout the restaurant, an excellent wine list, great service and outstanding food! We dined on a Saturday night and were able to enjoy the live music while dining. We started with a bottle of Dr. Loosen German Riesling...oh my! Hubby had the Studio Palette Combination - served on a china paint palette! I enjoyed the Local Seafood Paella, both were delicious. For dessert we shared the Amaretto Creme Carmel, another great choice. Be sure to add this spot to your must try locations when in Hilton Head.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As always the Studio was great. It is our favorite dining place on Hilton Head for many years. It is always consistent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have been here a number of times and we love the food, service, ambiance and of course the artwork by the owner. Hence, the name, The Studio. Our daughter and son-in-law are both Vegans and whenever they come down from New York this is a must. Great Vegan dishes.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Date Night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Interesting environment with different art work decorating the walls. It is an adult environment. The service is very personal you feel like you are the only customer. The food was outstanding with very large portions. Will go again next year when we return to HH.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Eclectic menu with limited choices in food/wines. Very dark atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a true "hole in the wall" one of a kind place. Great service, fantastic food and live entertainment lead to a perfect dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and a great overall experience. The food was cooked perfectly and we had live music to help us enjoy our evening.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely in love with this restaurant. Everyone who works there was very personable and helpful. Not to mention the delicious food and vegan options exclamation point it is so hard to find an upscale date night restaurant for vegans! we will definitely be going back here again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vegan, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Pleasant evening. Good service and nice overall ambiance. Crab salad was good and martini cold and crisp. Shrimp cocktail was large and bread pudding awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.