About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (34)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Cozy (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Live Music (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Vegan (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Organic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We were married there 9yrs ago & the owners have taken care of us at The Studio every time we go in. The food is consistently delicious & the ambiance is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time trying this place, and its on Easter Sunday. The food (grouper with crab meat & 3 samplers petite filet, lamb chop & grouper) was delicious but the sides mash potatoes & asparagus were same for all our entrees. For desert we had blue berry crumb cake & lava cake were wonderfully good ending to our dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived early and were the only ones in the restaurant. Despite this, Victor told us the tables were very limited due to Easter and the Heritage. We generally eat here once a month and always get a nice bottle of wine. Victor's attitude turned us off so we succussefully saved the $100 we normally spend on wine. The haiibut was wonderful but the mushroom stuffed crepes were poor. We will take a break from this restaurant for awhile.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Strange place... seating was uncomfortable,music was average at best

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Second time we've dined at The Studio when traveling to Hilton Head, first time over six years ago. Says something when a restaurant stays in business for more that long. Delightful atmosphere, attentive service and great food in generous portions. Worth checking out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent choice for visiting vegans! Need more vegan desserts. Food was delicious and as described. Good proportions. Decor
was depressing - so we ate outside. Lovely.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

as soon as i entered this artsy, small, intimate restaurant i knew i had found a restaurant that suited me and my guests very well ... quiet guitar music, quiet chatter, friendly smiles and one of a kind decor ... the waitstaff was phenomenal and well trained in the fine dining art: tables were dressed with sparkling glassware, shining flatware and black over white table cloths...smart, modern and inviting ... the artists in residence in adjacent small rooms gave added interest during cocktails ... there are outdoor and private dining areas as well ... i will return in a nano second ... the food quality was outstanding and taste sensations abounded ... great for a foodie who likes attention ... ps: it was an hour plus drive so next time we'll stay overnite in a local motel on hilton head island...

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We had a discount and decided to try this restaurant. We enjoyed the food and its presentation. The service was attentive but not too overwhelming. It was pricy for a weeknight dinner but the food was well prepared and tasty. The art was interesting to see but not of my genre. The ages of the diners were relatively senior and seemed like locals, not tourists. Perhaps a true neighborhood gem????

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding ambiance excellent food and service. A regular stop when in HHI

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love the ambience food is good and we enjoy the music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head Island. The food & service is always excellent. The entertainment, singer/guitar, is always wonderful. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always delightful! Great dinner, nice wines and cocktails. Terrific service. From start to finish, personal service. Options for everyone, gluten free, vegan or carnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Studio was a great selection. It's an 'artistic' experience from the moment you enter the restaurant until you complete dessert. There is a variety of art to enjoy throughout the restaurant, an excellent wine list, great service and outstanding food! We dined on a Saturday night and were able to enjoy the live music while dining. We started with a bottle of Dr. Loosen German Riesling...oh my! Hubby had the Studio Palette Combination - served on a china paint palette! I enjoyed the Local Seafood Paella, both were delicious. For dessert we shared the Amaretto Creme Carmel, another great choice. Be sure to add this spot to your must try locations when in Hilton Head.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As always the Studio was great. It is our favorite dining place on Hilton Head for many years. It is always consistent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have been here a number of times and we love the food, service, ambiance and of course the artwork by the owner. Hence, the name, The Studio. Our daughter and son-in-law are both Vegans and whenever they come down from New York this is a must. Great Vegan dishes.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Date Night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Interesting environment with different art work decorating the walls. It is an adult environment. The service is very personal you feel like you are the only customer. The food was outstanding with very large portions. Will go again next year when we return to HH.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Eclectic menu with limited choices in food/wines. Very dark atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a true "hole in the wall" one of a kind place. Great service, fantastic food and live entertainment lead to a perfect dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and a great overall experience. The food was cooked perfectly and we had live music to help us enjoy our evening.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely in love with this restaurant. Everyone who works there was very personable and helpful. Not to mention the delicious food and vegan options exclamation point it is so hard to find an upscale date night restaurant for vegans! we will definitely be going back here again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vegan, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Pleasant evening. Good service and nice overall ambiance. Crab salad was good and martini cold and crisp. Shrimp cocktail was large and bread pudding awesome.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Studio remains one of our favorite restaurants. The atmosphere is cozy with interesting artwork, and the food and service is always excellent. Don't miss the crab and vidalia onion bisque. Excellent early dining option.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We have visited this restaurant several times and have always had exceptional food and service.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was exceptional and the live music was just delightful. It was a lovely experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always the food is outstanding. Little taken aback by the owner being concerned about a folded menu and the fact that she brought a drink not ordered. Environment is pleasant. Could ramp up the service interaction with customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a wonderful meal, outstanding service and in a very nice ambience. We now feel this is one of the "must" places to visit.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great restaurant. Off the main drag. Art on the wall from owner painting. Food is great and artistically presented. Great service. Nice dining music on the weekends. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Never miss The Studio when we winter in HH. YOU WOULD NEVER GO WRONG dining there. Food, service and ambiance are all outstanding!! Just the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

With over 300 restaurants on Hilton Head Island why do we choose to dine at The Studio? We feel Armand DeMille who travels and plays concerts part time with the Vogues delivers the music we like to listen to, takes our requests, and he is simply an amazing artist. Talking about artists there is usually one working at an easel working on an original oil painting. The Studio of course features fine dining with a wide assortment of perfectly prepared entrees locally sourced from the sea and land. Fine wines are featured by the glass or bottle and of course the service is always top notch. For a great date night it's hard to beat "The Studio"

Tags: Business Meals, Dancing, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our evening at The Studio was outstanding. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was attentive yet not overbearing. He had an excellent knowledge of the menu. The menu is very creative with wonderful combinations of local ingredients. Food was hot, very fresh, and just done really really well....Although a little pricey, we are islanders and this was not our first time here, we will definitely frequent The Studio more often.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and service, my wife is a vegetarian and I'm a meat eater. Had a great menu for both of us, great rack of lamb. Will definitely be back for our date nights. Worth the drive from Savannah.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A wonderful night with great food and service! We visited because a Groupon was offered advertising this interesting restaurant! The only negative is that we were told gratuity was being added to the bill because of using the Groupon. Being generous tippers, this left a negative impression as no other fine dining venue has ever dine this practice but overall a very nice night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My husband and I went to studio twice while down in Hilton Head on vacation - we both loved it! I had the tuna au poivre and my husband had the pallets with lamb,filet and grouper. Victor, our server, did an outstanding job being attentive to our needs but not in our face- perfect! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The owners greeted and seated us plus assisted in the service. Amanda was our server with just the right amount of checking on our table, making recommendations, and assuring that our dinners were prepared to our liking. I had the salad with gorgonzola cheese followed by petite filet and lobster. My wife had a fabulous bisque soup followed by a trio of items including the petite filet, fish & scallops. We shared a delicious chocolate torte topped with a berry sorbet & chocolate sauce. Intimate dining in an artistic setting. There was no musician performing but I understand that that is the case on the weekends. Since this was our first time at the restaurant the owner presented us with a certificate for BOGO entree' if we were to dine again within 30 days. We were leaving Hilton Head Island to return home the next day so we were unable to utilize the offer. When we return we will definitely be back to the Studio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed.... the decor was uncomfortable, menu choices were limited, and prices were very high.
The service was very good. Probably won't go back. Too many good choices in HHI to make this expensive mistake again.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Studio is a small, intimate setting for a wonderful dining experience. Menu is very creative and varied. The Lobster Spring Rolls were delicious although portion size for the price was a bit small. Mahi Mahi Paella was delicious as was the Wild Salmon entree bathed in a maple glaze. Dessert, a chocolate torte with raspberry sorbet, was to die for. Our server, Kyle, was attentive but not overly so....just what you would want. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at The Studio and will return. Gallery of art available for viewing at your leisure a very unique and enjoyable concept.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I chose this restaurant after I researched local small businesses online, then to find out they had a Groupon, we definitely hit the JACKPOT! This is a unique dining experience where you can enjoy a delicious meal and gaze upon fine art at the same time. The husband and wife team have created a fabulous dining experience with an excellent wait staff. We were visiting Hilton Head and we chose this restaurant after looking at some of the others offered in the area and we were extrememly happy with our choice. It comes highly recommended from Florida residents that enjoy fine dining. We both had the Filet, it was cooked to perfection and the presentation was impeccable. We give the restaurant 5 stars and next time we visit Hilton Head we will dine at The Studio once again. Thank you for the fabulous dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vegan, Modern Decor, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great meal! My wife ordered off the Vegan menu, and I had the Au poivre tuna, which was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.