About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: 843-785-6000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Live Music (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Vegan (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always good food and a nice upscale meal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Always good food and a nice upscale meal. Weekend entertains adds that speacial touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

6 of us went here on New Years Eve. The ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

6 of us went here on New Years Eve. The food, service, and ambiance was excellent.

One room is quieter and elegant. The other has mounted artwork and live music suitable for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here on a Friday night where the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here on a Friday night where they have a

Live misician who is very very good.

The food is fabulous, creative and very large servings. Great wine and cocktails. Pricey but very good. A definite must when on Hilton Head.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Healthy, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and ambiance. One of best ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. One of best on the Island

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THis was the third or fourth time we hav ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

THis was the third or fourth time we have eaten at The Studio and we have never been disappointed. The food, service and ambience has always been superb. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to spent an enjoyable evening with great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Studio never disappoints. My family ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Studio never disappoints. My family has been coming here for years and we always enjoy ourselves. It is consistently good. Good service, & great food. This time we had the tuna and grouper entrees, desert was the always amazing bread pudding. Thank you for an excellent Christmas Eve Eve.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant, the food, the owne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love this restaurant, the food, the owners, and the message!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with party of four, three of which ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Went with party of four, three of which were vegetarians. The vegetarian options were broad, tasty and well presented. The service was friendly highly competent.

The place is intimate in size, there was an excellent guitar/harmonica player who is very entertaining and witty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have visited The Studio on several occas ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Have visited The Studio on several occasions, always a favorite. Eclectic mix of entrees often from local sources. Ambience enhanced by artworks by local painters. Service is attentive and personal. You leave satisfied.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a Vegan, I often have difficulty find ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

As a Vegan, I often have difficulty finding a "real" meal; i.e., not just a salad. The Vegan offerings were delicious. I recommend the Buffalo Cauliflower! Our server was great. The décor is very artistic and beautiful, yet comfortable and cozy. with the Owner's artwork everywhere. I even bought one of her beautiful prints. A very nice dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was quiet romantic and peaceful. The food and service was outstanding . I had the seafood Piaia with Mai Mai it was perfect. The crab & Vidiala onion soup was hot & awesome .

There was even a buffalo style califlower dish and it was spicy & tasty as well.My wife had a cherry lifesaver cocktail it was really good . We had a bottle of Savion Blanc from California and it was moderately priced and very nice as well. The people there make you feel like family. Very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique intimate dining experience. Excel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Unique intimate dining experience. Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant in the lo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in the low country because it doesn't serve "shrimp and grits." The food is wonderful and the atmosphere perfect, with a very good guitarist to set the mood. One of our favourites on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our second visit to the Studio a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to the Studio and we looked forward to it. As usual, the ambiance was awesome, and the evening's singer was very entertaining without being intrusive. Cocktails were delicious, and were served in very unique glassware. We ordered the buffalo cauliflower as a shared appetizer. It was presented nicely on a bed of lettuce with the appropriate carrots, celery, and dip. However, it was so spicy I could not enjoy it. Then I ordered the Pad Thai, which was also so spicy that I gave it to my husband in exchange for his pallette, which was beautifully presented on a pallette shaped plate. It consisted of lamb, steak, and fish. The lamb and steak were deliciously cooked and tender; however, the fish was dry and flavorless, and topped with crab which had the taste and consistency of wet bread cubes. That was a bit disappointing. We will return, of course, but I'll know to stay away from anything with a spicy context the next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to The Studio. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to The Studio. Our service was wonderful. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent. The presentation of the appetizer, entree, and dessert was spectacular. We'll be back on our next visit to Hilton Head.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality . Food was very impressive , creative and well portioned. Loved this restaurant and atmospher.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be. We have come to ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Not what it used to be. We have come to the studio many times over the years. It is a beautiful setting. This time we were very disappointed with the food. The menu is stale and hasn't changed in years. There were no dinner specials to add on to this menu. So even though the place is serene and beautiful we won't be back for awhile. It needs a big refresh of its menu.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

there was great food for vegans and meat ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

there was great food for vegans and meat lovers all......

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, we will be ba ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, great service, we will be back again and again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Rea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, alwa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, always feel welcome

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening! Service and food w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

An enjoyable evening! Service and food were fantastic. A very unexpected gem - located in an office building, however once inside you forget where you are. We were lucky enough to have live entertainment - and he was magnificent! Have already recommended to others and am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at The Studio an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our first time at The Studio and we enjoyed it very much. It was a special occasion for us, an anniversary, so the cost was not a critical issue. I can see going back for another special occasion.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstan ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstanding and they were able to acccomodate our food allergies. Server was very kind and knowledgeable. Will make sure to go here every time we're in town!

Tags: , Gluten Free Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very different dining experience.Took ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very different dining experience.Took our glass of wine and browned the looking at the all the art on the walls.. The singer was very entertaining playing oldies..Food was excellent as was the service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, standard menu, appetizers ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was good, standard menu, appetizers were the real treat. I loved the ahi tuna. Also the music was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I actually found this place a little und ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I actually found this place a little underwhelming. The menu was different and seemed to be popular based on the other reviews, so maybe I'd set my expectations a little high. The food itself though wasn't of sufficient quality to match the prices, I'd have expected a lot more finesse and subtlety. I don't mind spending money on good quality food, but this was not it. Also, the entertainment was only appropriate to the over 60s generation too, it was somewhat cheesy to say the least.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Our absolute favorite date night place o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our absolute favorite date night place on all of Hilton Head. Armand is wonderful and food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at The Studio on two occasion ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've eaten at The Studio on two occasions and I think the ambiance, the food and the service are all terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My spouse and I really enjoyed this plac ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My spouse and I really enjoyed this place and will visit again when in Hilton Head. The food is excellent and provides several choices of vegetarian or meat based dishes. I had the special paella which was awesome with some unique flavors. My spouse enjoyed the grouper fillet. The staff welcomed us like old friends. There was a gentlemen playing a guitar at the appropriate sound level for an intimate indoor restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit and once again ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second visit and once again, we had a fantastic experience. The staff is extremely friendly and the food, as always, was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Studio is an awesome find. The steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Studio is an awesome find. The steak, paella, and the palette (lamb, steak and seafood combo) were all very tasty and filling. The buffalo flavored cauliflower is a must to try and the sear Ahi appetizer is very fresh and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, wonderful food, sweet waitst ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great spot, wonderful food, sweet waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was searching for a restaurant with li ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was searching for a restaurant with live music and came across The Studio. Reservations were confirmed immediately, great atmosphere and the food was great. The buffalo cauliflower were awesome! The music was good as well.

Tags: Organic, Live Music, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great again. Friendly staff (Amanda and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great again. Friendly staff (Amanda and Victor) and great food. Had the grouper with crab meat and my wife had the vegetarian crepe. Yummy! One of our HHI favorites. Visit every 6-7 weeks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, as always. Red ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service, as always. Red Fish Paella, Crab Cakes and Chicken were ordered by our group of three. Delish!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious best ever crab soup! Paella wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious best ever crab soup! Paella was perfectly seasoned and quite large. Grouper special was very good. Decor was eccentric but inoffensive. Victor was a great waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu selection is well varied. The s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu selection is well varied. The service is comfortable and the food was wonderful. The entertainment was pleasing and not overbearing.

Very enjoyable dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a frequent diner at The Studio, I hav ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2016

As a frequent diner at The Studio, I have never been disappointed with any aspect of the service, food and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't really think it's worth the money. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Don't really think it's worth the money. But maybe if we don't bring the kids, we'd like it better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.