About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Live Music (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Vegan (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Organic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

AS USUAL GREAT FOOD, WINE AND SERVICE. WORTH THE PRICE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Atmosphere was romantic, staff was attentive, musician good, and food worth trying. We went specifically for the vegan options, but the menu had some very interesting regular options. As far as vegan food, it was great! The perfect way to spend our anniversary evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Enjoyed everything about our experience! We were there early in the evening and it was very relaxing atmosphere. The food and service were excellent. Highly recommend for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

always a pleasure to dine here on the Island...Food is always excellent. We come here about half a dozen times a year...wonderful experience.......

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Visiting Hilton head island, saw the restaurant advertising early bird dining and decided to try it. The service was good. The food not so much. Salmon over cooked and tough, broccoli rabe limp and over cooked. I asked for salad dressing on the side and the salad came drenched with dressing. Dessert was nothing special. The early bird portions are very small. I want to add that my husband did like his stuffed grouper. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The cook and artist / owners are so nice and talented. The food was the best food I have ever had. The chef made plantain gnocchi by hand and the artist had her work displayed through the restaurant. Live music, a great atmosphere and delicious chocolate cake at the end. So many vegetarian options! Amazing experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is one of my top 3 favorite dining spots in Hilton Head.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I loved this place! Food was amazing and we loved the concept of having the owner's gallery/studio in the restaurant. Best date night option in Hilton Head if you're looking for great food and a unique experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We returned to this restaurant after being away for awhile. The food was exceptional once again. The menu is varied and unique, and the wine list is extensive. My favorites - the she crab and onion chowder and the tuna steak with mushrooms.
The artwork and soft, live music makes for a great atmosphere. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent cuisine - the food was outstanding. Good service. Eclectic decor. Outdated romance music. That and an undertone of patchouli were a little off-putting to me; but I do have a keen sense of smell. Maybe good for a date if you like eclectic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have been to The Studio many times - it is one of our favorite restaurants in Hilton Head.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Studio is wonderful, consistently superior food, service and atmosphere. We always take our special visitors here for a treat. Simply the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Odd to see an artsy themed restaurant choose the first floor of an office building as a location, but once inside the space looks completely different (although I'd suggest a drape or something to block the view from the dining room to the parking lot. Food preferences are well respected, huge plus for us. Service is professional. Food is solid although could use a bit of refinement (i.e. Go easy on the over powering bell peppers in the lobster spring roll and paella). Cocktails were great. Nice unexpected find in a beach town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food tasted good, but presentation and options are a bit dated, as is the restaurant's decor. Service was attentive. Live music was also dated, which added to the feeling that the preferred clientele are 65+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Have visited several times. This time took friends for their first visit. They definitely became fans of this small, intimate restaurant. There is a very good live musician playing off to one corner, but he plays very softly so conversation can continue throughout. We have always enjoyed everything we've ever ordered from The Studio. A particular favorite is their crab and onion bisque and their paella special. Would highly recommend. It's worth the effort to find this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Found the restaurant on Open Table and we were very impressed with food & service. We would unquestionably look forward to a return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything from the service to the food was impeccable. The ambience was romantic and our meal was not rushed. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As a long-term customer I love The Studio's food. It is delicious. The wait staff is attentive and the owner is congenial. However, the decor is not eclectic but rather dreadful. A real dump. It overshadowed the pleasure of my dining experience. The owners desperately need to refurbish the dining rooms and bathrooms. Also the live musician was awful. He sang depressing love ballads throughout our meal. I left feeling really depressed. I'm not going back until the owners update the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Quiet and intimate. A wonderful restaurant, meal and experience. Excellent service and one of the dinners we have had. Chose 2 of their nightly specials. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Service was very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent. I had the paella which was unique and delicious. My wife had the ahi tuna appetizer and the crab soup. She wanted both to be served as her entree and they plated it perfectly. The soup was amazing and the tuna very good. The live music added nicely to the evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food and atmosphere for date night. Service attentive but not overbearing. Recommend the 3 entree grouper, filet lamb chops.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love the Studio, and try to eat there each time we visit Hilton Head. The food is superb, but the ambience is the best. It is intimate and you can actually hear to talk. It never fails to provide us a lovely evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Enjoyed dinner.. and very entertaining. looking forward to return when back in town!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

this was our second dining experience within a month at the Studio ... it's just perfect and even though we drove through torrential rains and thunderstorms in our 1 hour +++ trip each way we'd do it again and again ...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great Vegan find in an area where there isn't much of a choice for Vegans

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Since the last time we were there, a few years ago, the food quality and choices has deteriorated. There was not any music that evening. I bought the $25 coupon for $10, for each couple, but was only able to use one of them! We will not be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Vacation
Food was very good
Service slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We throughly enjoyed our dining experience. I had the paella which was a delightful blend of flavors which included a hint of fennel--an untraditional paella but very tasty and beautifully presented. My wife and I had the crab bisque as a starter. It was served hot to the table in a light creamy broth and with plentiful crab meat. My wife enjoyed the ahi tuna and lobster spring roll. This evening out to dinner was a treat which we would recommend to anyone looking for a quality meal in a quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was great, food was decent. I was very excited to try a restaurant with so many vegan options. Overall I was let down, very amateurish drink menu, the food was way over priced. It was a place I wanted to try but would not go back. Too many great places in Hilton head to eat somewhere so overly priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First visit to The Studio. We will go back. While the menu was not extensive, it offered a good choice of beef, fish, pasta, vegetarian and vegan. Choose a night when there is music. The owner, an artist, is at the venue and makes sure her guests are enjoying their experience.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very pleasant...Very quite...Very artistic...Very good service and food ...Very expensive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We found this gem several years and always include an evening on our trips to Hilton Head. It is our favorite place on the Island. The musician is wonderful, the food always well prepared, and the waiters classy. We heartily recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant from Hilton Head to Bluffton. The service and food are unbeatable!

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Comfort Food, Vegan, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We loved our food, our server, and the ambiance of The Studio. People use the word "unique" a lot, but this place really is one of a kind. The rack of lamb was the best I've ever had, and my companion loved his paella. Our blueberry dessert was scrumptious. We enjoyed touring the artwork too. We recommend this place highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a wonderful visits. Wonderful food. Great atmosphere. Fabulous wait staff. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We chose the early dining menu after a matinee. Food was very good and service was both professional and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Vacation dining.
Returned to this wonderful restaurant. Since we loved it last year!!! Love the ambiance, relaxing atmosphere, great cocktails, and food delicious!!!
It's a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, nice live music, and fantastic food! I look forward to going back, and definitely would recommend this restaurant to friends and family. It's a hidden gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We shared a delicious shrimp spring roll. My husband had lamb and saffron risotto. I had plantain gnocchi. Both outstanding. We shared the vegan German torte with black berry and cabernat sorbet. OMG...heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Surprisingly excellent food and service. One member of our party is vegetarian. She was very pleased with the excellent choices fitting her dietary needs. The unique art added to the ambiance of a couples dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.