About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: 843-785-6000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
5 More
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Cozy (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Live Music (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vegan (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was quiet romantic and peaceful. The food and service was outstanding . I had the seafood Piaia with Mai Mai it was perfect. The crab & Vidiala onion soup was hot & awesome .

There was even a buffalo style califlower dish and it was spicy & tasty as well.My wife had a cherry lifesaver cocktail it was really good . We had a bottle of Savion Blanc from California and it was moderately priced and very nice as well. The people there make you feel like family. Very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique intimate dining experience. Excel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Unique intimate dining experience. Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant in the lo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in the low country because it doesn't serve "shrimp and grits." The food is wonderful and the atmosphere perfect, with a very good guitarist to set the mood. One of our favourites on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our second visit to The Studio. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to The Studio. Our service was wonderful. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent. The presentation of the appetizer, entree, and dessert was spectacular. We'll be back on our next visit to Hilton Head.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit to the Studio a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to the Studio and we looked forward to it. As usual, the ambiance was awesome, and the evening's singer was very entertaining without being intrusive. Cocktails were delicious, and were served in very unique glassware. We ordered the buffalo cauliflower as a shared appetizer. It was presented nicely on a bed of lettuce with the appropriate carrots, celery, and dip. However, it was so spicy I could not enjoy it. Then I ordered the Pad Thai, which was also so spicy that I gave it to my husband in exchange for his pallette, which was beautifully presented on a pallette shaped plate. It consisted of lamb, steak, and fish. The lamb and steak were deliciously cooked and tender; however, the fish was dry and flavorless, and topped with crab which had the taste and consistency of wet bread cubes. That was a bit disappointing. We will return, of course, but I'll know to stay away from anything with a spicy context the next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality . Food was very impressive , creative and well portioned. Loved this restaurant and atmospher.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be. We have come to ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Not what it used to be. We have come to the studio many times over the years. It is a beautiful setting. This time we were very disappointed with the food. The menu is stale and hasn't changed in years. There were no dinner specials to add on to this menu. So even though the place is serene and beautiful we won't be back for awhile. It needs a big refresh of its menu.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

there was great food for vegans and meat ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

there was great food for vegans and meat lovers all......

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Rea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, we will be ba ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, great service, we will be back again and again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, alwa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, always feel welcome

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening! Service and food w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

An enjoyable evening! Service and food were fantastic. A very unexpected gem - located in an office building, however once inside you forget where you are. We were lucky enough to have live entertainment - and he was magnificent! Have already recommended to others and am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at The Studio an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our first time at The Studio and we enjoyed it very much. It was a special occasion for us, an anniversary, so the cost was not a critical issue. I can see going back for another special occasion.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstan ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstanding and they were able to acccomodate our food allergies. Server was very kind and knowledgeable. Will make sure to go here every time we're in town!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very different dining experience.Took ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very different dining experience.Took our glass of wine and browned the looking at the all the art on the walls.. The singer was very entertaining playing oldies..Food was excellent as was the service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, standard menu, appetizers ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was good, standard menu, appetizers were the real treat. I loved the ahi tuna. Also the music was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I actually found this place a little und ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I actually found this place a little underwhelming. The menu was different and seemed to be popular based on the other reviews, so maybe I'd set my expectations a little high. The food itself though wasn't of sufficient quality to match the prices, I'd have expected a lot more finesse and subtlety. I don't mind spending money on good quality food, but this was not it. Also, the entertainment was only appropriate to the over 60s generation too, it was somewhat cheesy to say the least.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Our absolute favorite date night place o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our absolute favorite date night place on all of Hilton Head. Armand is wonderful and food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at The Studio on two occasion ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've eaten at The Studio on two occasions and I think the ambiance, the food and the service are all terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My spouse and I really enjoyed this plac ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My spouse and I really enjoyed this place and will visit again when in Hilton Head. The food is excellent and provides several choices of vegetarian or meat based dishes. I had the special paella which was awesome with some unique flavors. My spouse enjoyed the grouper fillet. The staff welcomed us like old friends. There was a gentlemen playing a guitar at the appropriate sound level for an intimate indoor restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit and once again ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second visit and once again, we had a fantastic experience. The staff is extremely friendly and the food, as always, was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Studio is an awesome find. The steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Studio is an awesome find. The steak, paella, and the palette (lamb, steak and seafood combo) were all very tasty and filling. The buffalo flavored cauliflower is a must to try and the sear Ahi appetizer is very fresh and tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, wonderful food, sweet waitst ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great spot, wonderful food, sweet waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was searching for a restaurant with li ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was searching for a restaurant with live music and came across The Studio. Reservations were confirmed immediately, great atmosphere and the food was great. The buffalo cauliflower were awesome! The music was good as well.

Tags: Organic, Live Music, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great again. Friendly staff (Amanda and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great again. Friendly staff (Amanda and Victor) and great food. Had the grouper with crab meat and my wife had the vegetarian crepe. Yummy! One of our HHI favorites. Visit every 6-7 weeks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, as always. Red ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and service, as always. Red Fish Paella, Crab Cakes and Chicken were ordered by our group of three. Delish!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious best ever crab soup! Paella wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious best ever crab soup! Paella was perfectly seasoned and quite large. Grouper special was very good. Decor was eccentric but inoffensive. Victor was a great waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu selection is well varied. The s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu selection is well varied. The service is comfortable and the food was wonderful. The entertainment was pleasing and not overbearing.

Very enjoyable dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a frequent diner at The Studio, I hav ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2016

As a frequent diner at The Studio, I have never been disappointed with any aspect of the service, food and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't really think it's worth the money. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Don't really think it's worth the money. But maybe if we don't bring the kids, we'd like it better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We love The Studio. While they have a n ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love The Studio. While they have a nice room for a large party to gather, the main dining room is quaint & charming. At times there is live music & it is easy going & comfortable music to enjoy a lovely meal. Recently, we've had their local paella & it is EXCELLENT - fresh local seafood, flavorful - well prepared. Their homemade gnocchi is also one of our favorites. The cocktails are well made & the service is spot on.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The blueberry crumb cake was the best, I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The blueberry crumb cake was the best, I enjoyed the overall dinner was well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So good!!! And so many vegan and vegetar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

So good!!! And so many vegan and vegetarian options!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Studio is a Gem. It was perfect for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Studio is a Gem. It was perfect for our daughter and son-in-law who are Vegans. The presentation was as pleasing to the eye as it was to the palate. Service was exceptional. The ambiance was very pleasant. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as usual. This is one of my favor ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Superb as usual. This is one of my favorite restaurants on the island

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Pael ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Paella was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A blindside knockout. Why did we not kn ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A blindside knockout. Why did we not know about this place years earlier. It was outstanding. The cool artist feel of the atmosphere. The very attentive and personal but not cloying service. Topped by outrageously good food. Everything we ate was superb and we loved the experience. We would definitely recommend this place to any gourmand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food all the way around...best cra ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food all the way around...best crab cakes I think I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice menu selections as well as exc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very nice menu selections as well as excellent wine and libations selection. Ambiance was very pleasant.

Victor was extremely knowledgeable and thorough in guiding us through our menu selections.

Our food was excellently prepared. Tastes were very satisfying.

Definitely one of our better meals consumed while visiting Hilton Head.

Will return again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fabulous surprise! Exceptional o ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 19, 2016

What a fabulous surprise! Exceptional options for all tastes - vegan to meat eaters! Excellent flavor combinations and enormous servings - lots to bring home to enjoy again!

Service was flawless, live music was a bonus - simply, a delightful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.