About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: 843-785-6000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
11 More
Romantic
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

fit for foodies (50)
romantic (48)
special occasion (46)
See All
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for outdoor dining (16)
late-night find (4)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service, salads, entrees and ...

Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service, salads, entrees and cocktails. Our sixth or seventh trip here. You won't be disappointed. Grouper was prepared perfectly and the paella was spot on. Put the Studio on your list of "musts" when visiting Hilton Head

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant is pretty and comfortable ...

Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is pretty and comfortable. We chose the pleasant patio. Our servers were very pleasant and appeared to be proud of the restaurant. I thought the menu very interesting, with many imaginative sounding dishes for a vegetarian like me, as well as varied dishes for a carnivor like my husband. I had a glass of a very nice wine and really enjoyed the "Buffalo cauliflower" appetizer that our waiter recommended, but the pad thai varient lacked depth of flavor for me, although the ingredients were very honest, and the waiter had not solution to offer.My husband was disappointed with his expensive but tough filet mignon (he did not complain to me, and the waiter until the meal was over. I am sure they would have tried to fix that if they had been informed in a timely manner)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Had duck and fil ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. Had duck and filet mignonette, cooked to perfection. Our waiter, Dominic, was excellent. Very attentive .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, superb food and prese ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent service, superb food and presentation, wait staff and hostess extremely attentive but not obtrusive, highly recommend dining here if visiting Hilton Head

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Classy evening spot ; excellent menu and wine list

Dined on May 19, 2016

Loved our evening at this charming restaurant. We were a couple visiting HH-I for a few days and enjoyed our Thursday night dinner here. Wine s selection was imaginative and extensive. Loved being able to choose between Chablis, Sancerre, Kabinett Riesling and many other excellent whites. The food was modern and well prepared, specifically notable for many Vegan and Vegetarian options which is unusual. I had the Paella which was delicious. Service was attentive but not rushed. We felt at home and would definitely repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Sadly, this the second disappointing exp ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Sadly, this the second disappointing experience at The Studio........overlooked fish, less than fresh crabmeat, & generally disappointing meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great early seating 5 nights of the week

Dined on May 15, 2016

Dining experience was so positive we returned one week later and had another fine meal! Must have told at least 10 people about the great food and experience we had at The Studio. We returned with friends and another out of town relative. Very diverse early seating menu options, several options that everyone will find something they like. Very nice desserts and great service, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our second visit after a long absence. T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our second visit after a long absence. The food and service were excellent and the very talented musician played nostalgic songs just right for the evening. Glad we tried it again and back on our favourite list for the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unique dining

Dined on May 12, 2016

The Studio is owned by a husband and wife. He is the chef; she is an artist, and the restaurant is filled with her artwork, as well as that of others. Very unique menu and wine list. Everything was prepared well and the service was friendly and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great quality and value early seating dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time experience and the food was delicious including the dessert. Although you may have to ask to see the early menu, (only complaint I had) the three course meal included a choice of a gourmet salad or bowl of delicious soup. Nice selection of entrees, about 7, including 2 nice fish entrees. Three dessert entrees with 2 being a la mode. Even a vegan option on the early menu and many others on the regular menu. Excellent and reasonable wine list. Small quaint setting in an authentic artist gallery that will be fondly remembered by the artist in you...or your party!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love all the menu options -- including f ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Love all the menu options -- including fabulous vegetarian entrees -- whether you are vegetarian or not. Lovely patio. Loved the art as well. Great wine list and prices.

food3
ambience3
service5

Server exceptional. Very patient, knows ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Server exceptional. Very patient, knows menu very well, very helpful! Menu eclectic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening with Good Music

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was fantastic, everyone was very attentive. The guitarist and music was perfect for the size of the room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Stufio is worth a second chance.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Crab cakes prepared by the Marylander chef were a huge disappointment. Otherwise, the menu is diverse and the ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Was disappointed that when we presented ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Was disappointed that when we presented our coupon, 20% was added to the check for service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly Good

Dined on April 22, 2016

Yummy! Everything here is beyond delicious. I am a "local" and so appreciate that we have a restaurant of this quality on Hilton Head. Don't miss the opportunity for a memorable dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best dining experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

Dining at The Studio was one of the best dining experiences. My boyfriend and I were out celebrating my birthday and The Studio provided us with not only the most delicious meal, but also great service and a beautiful atmosphere. The vegan plantain gnocchi was incredibly rich and delicious and my boyfriend loved his lobster and steak. The dark chocolate vegan cheesecake with raspberry sorbet was the best vegan dessert either of us has ever had. Wonderful experience, would definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu and service. Definitely a re ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great menu and service. Definitely a repeat

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden gem

Dined on April 12, 2016

Dinner has been absolutely delicious each time we have dined at The Studio. Our server recommended fine wine which we were given a taste prior to ordering. Hot and nice presentation of food. Not rushed and lovely, warm atmosphere surrounded by antique furnishings and artwork.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW!! Don't be fooled by the exterior. ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

WOW!! Don't be fooled by the exterior. This is truly a situation of not judging a book by its cover. The outside looks plain but the food was fabulous. We loved everything we ate. Truly fantastic food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Food couldn't have been more perfect. Servers are very attentive. This is second visit and each time guitar player is too loud! Could hardly visit with friends. Will return only if no entertainment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious pre-birthday celebration for m ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Delicious pre-birthday celebration for my husband was spent here and I couldn't have been more pleased. The service was excellent and the food was superb. I opted for 2 starters as my entree because I wanted something on the lighter end and they were gracious enough to accommodate me. My husband had the boar and it was cooked perfectly. Highly recommend this gem of a restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent, setting in art st ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was excellent, setting in art studio was unique, food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful boutique style restaurant. Unique style combining art, music and romance with wonderful food and service

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious pad Thai!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Delicious pad Thai!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Great spot

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, wonderful servixe

Dined on March 13, 2016

Was visiting Hilton Head for the weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. we decided to try Studio for the dinner, and what a good decision that was. Food was delicious, serving size for entrees is quite large. So build up an appetite, quite a lot of vegan options that were delicious too! Service was great. Do not miss this place if you are at HH

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An Amazing Find

Dined on March 9, 2016

After making a few U-turns we finally found the Studio tucked between buildings along Pope Avenue. The effort was well worth it. All items we ordered were fresh and well prepared. The fillet is grass feed and supplied by local source. The taste and consistency of the meat was like nothing I have ever had. My wife had the grouper which was also a good choice. Ambiance is nice with art work decorating the walls. We will definitely go again and highly recommend a visit for an excellent dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Romance in Hilton Head

Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant has original paintings all over the walls done by the owner/wife artist. Sometimes an artist paints so there is an easel set up. Sometimes they have music. On the night we went, there was no artist and no music, but it didn't matter. Our food was delicious presented in an artistic manner and even though there were only 2 servers (both of whom were great), we were happy with the timing of our meal. I had the jalapeno black bean hummus and my husband had the escargot which he savored. My salmon was good - I would have been happier if it was more rare, which I asked for, but still the fruit salsa and accompanying potatoes and brocolini were delicious. Hubby had the duck and he kept saying how good it was. Our dessert of bread pudding was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food and ambiance.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very tasty and portions were decent. Both appetizers and entrees were great. The dessert was somehow a disappointment, we ordered the chocolate mousse, in our opinion it would be much better with dark chocolate , it was too milky and too sweet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on February 25, 2016

Everything was excellent. We always visit at least two to three times when we are at Hilton Head.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We have been visiting The Studio over the years on our trips to Hilton Head. Now that we are residents we can visit it often and regularly. The food is a as good today as it was the first time multiple years ago. And the food has always been top notch. Keep it up!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Memorable Valentine's Day

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

I would highly recommend The Studio for a romantic night out or special occasion. It is particularly difficult for vegans to dine out with carnivore friends, but everyone leaves The Studio feeling satisfied! Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner/hostess and she recommended a fantastic wine that was featured for Valentine's Day. Somehow, they are able to create an intimate and interesting venue in an office park location. My ahi tuna carpaccio was absolutely amazing. We just returned from Hawaii and we didn't have fish prepared as well. The chef/owner is vegan, but from the flavorful meat and fish we had, you would never be able to tell his preference. It's clear that he is passionate about every dish that comes out of the kitchen. We also enjoyed the live music because it was muted and didn't overpower the small dining room. One thing that was nice to see is that they offer organic and sustainable wines and local produce. Also, the owner's paintings made a statement about animals in captivity. It's nice to patronize a business owned by people who care about the world around them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal on the Island. Great for special dinners

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is the third time I've eaten at The Studio and every time has been fabulous. This last time was for Valentine's Day and it fully lived up to the expectations of both my Valentine and me. The ambiance was very romantic, the singer did soft, romantic songs and the food was out of this world good. Being whole food, plant-based, we really appreciated the effort that the owners go to in order to bring good, fresh whole plant-based foods to the menu as well as a full lineup of traditional upscale dinners. Service was outstanding. The dessert was to die for. And the food is, in my opinion, some of the best on the Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Dinner Home Run

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

What a very nice experience for Valentine's Day!!! Everything was perfect!!! Great service!!! Outstanding food!!! Quality Musician!!! The rose was a very nice touch!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice find

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food ,service and friendly staff. Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artsy

Dined on February 13, 2016

In addition to an interesting conscept of an art studio and restaurant, The Studio stands out for fine food and wine and out last experiance was just that. The menu has varied offerings accompanied by some really fine wine choices. The food is excellent and service just perfect. The great meal was further enhanced by a wonderful one-man band and if you didn't look he sounded just like the many artists he covered. All in all The Studio is a great experience in dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

wonderful

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a great time! Too expensive but it was my boyfriends birthday and it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very intimate and quiet

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed everything, only hit was waiter did not tell us of a desert special that we would have ordered, as we saw it come to table next to us after we finished our desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very unique dining experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Loved everything about The Studio. Good service, excellent food, fascinating art gallery concept - loved the owners art in particular! The added perk of a guitarist/singer who was so subtle and yet very entertaining and talented was a plus too. Would love to take all my visiting friends here!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.