About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Live Music (22)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Vegan (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Organic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The lamb chops (5) were fabulous, done perfectly, generous sides of risotto and asparagus, plus reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good dinner and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We come to the Studio a couple times a year, especially for special occasions. The live entertainment is great. Armand had the whole room singing happy birthday to my husband. We love the intimacy of the small dining room, and the food is always delicious. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Some of the best, most innovative cuisine we have enjoyed in a long time! Who knew that topping a petit filet with goat cheese souffle would so oh so good! The crab bisque with vidalia onions was terrific! You won't regret dining at The Studio....the food and original artwork (created by the owner) are the perfect combination!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We've been to the Studio several times. They have a solo singer/guitarist performing easy listening covers which is quite nice. Nonetheless, even with the music, the atmosphere is still conducive to conversation. The service and settings are on-spot, but not intrusive; and the menu, while not extensive, is well done and provides a variety of choices. The smaller menu allows the chef the opportunity to successfully execute all the items we have tasted.

Overall, we've never been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Used a Groupon and enjoyed the experience. Food was tasty but over sauced for my palate. Would also have preferred the escargot to be prepared in a more traditional manner. Service was very professional and friendly. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We came for an early family dinner. I had heard there was an early dining menu, but we were only offered it after we asked. I'm glad we did. The early dining menu is the best value/meal on the island. Yes, the entree portions are small, but with the salad and dessert, definitely enough and the quality is outstanding. Down side is there is no kids menu, and the regular menu is expensive. That said, they have great vegan/vegetarian options, and everything is superb.

We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We went here for our wedding anniversary. The food was excellent and we also enjoyed the acoustic guitar music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We try to cone to this restaurant every year when at HHI for vacation. The food and service was excellent. I was disappointed that my first selection, by a long shot, was unavailable. When the server had to tell me after my selection it was tough to select something else.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Incredible seafood and pasta, one of the best/tastiest meals I've eaten from start to finish. Service was a little slow but there was only one server and he was doing his best to check on all the guests. We had a table of 4 and spent about two hours at the restaurant. I would highly recommend The Studio, we'll certainly be back next time we're in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I am from New Orleans and thus have eaten many truly superb meals, but my meal Friday night August 11 ranks among the five or so best dining experiences of my life. The ambience is quirky, in a very good way, with eclectic original artwork;, deliberately and cozily dim lighting; a very nice musician playing soft standards from Simon and Garfunkel, the Beatles, and others; and a surprisingly nice view out the window onto a patio overhung by stately trees. The service was very courteous, very prompt, and very attentive, with excellent knowledge of the options and good recommendations. The wine recommendation was right on target. And the food was spectacular. The salad was out-of-this-world good; my wife had a filet mignon with a goat cheese and wine reduction sauce that she loved; and I had wild boar chops (!) with another excellent glaze. It was truly a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I was thrilled to have a vegan option in HIlton Head. This restaurant was a mix which was good for my husband who isn't vegan. His meal was excellent, according to him. He had the duck with cherry sauce. My daughter and I chose vegan options. We all started with very tasty salads. My daughter had the Hippie Loaf and mac n cheese and I had the Plantain Gnocchi's. I cannot say that any of our meal was tasteful. The plantain dish had too much going on but nothing that was a distinguishable flavor. You didn't taste the plantains, the sauce was bland and the vegetables while cooked well were under seasoned. The Hippie Loaf had an odd taste that I cannot define. There was perhaps some spice used but not a good choice and the Mac n Cheese was similar. You knew it was mac n chees in appearance but not in flavor. The desserts were tasteful. For the price I would have definitely hoped for a much better tasting set of entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I love The Studio and this is my second time visiting and my parents fifth time. Amazing food, amazing service, plus a great atmosphere. I love their vegan menu but I ordered off of their early bird menu and had the duck (plus tried the filet and grouper!). Their vegan options looked amazing and I love trying vegan options but their carnivore options are hard to pass up. The artist that works in that space is ridiculously talented and her work is displayed throughout. I highly recommend visiting this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Based on the reviews I purchased this voucher. When we first walked in we were a little put out by the art work displayed and the feel of the place and I was glad I didn't have my kids with me. Overall the experience was fine, but not quite as good as I was expecting based on the reviews.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a wonderful addition for vegan options on the island. Several options to choose from including a vegan dessert. Service was great. There was live music and it's a small restaurant, but the level was still great. Interesting concept of restaurant and art gallery. We would definitely go back. If the vegan chocolate torte is available, get it even if you are an omnivore! Delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

You can be sure to find things not he menu that you won't find anywhere else. As a vegetarian, that is such a fantastic privilege. There's only so many salads you can order at most places before you loose your mind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First visit to the Studio. Not easy to find and in a business park but once you walk inside, it's a different experience. Live music, creative seating and decorations and amazing service. Loved the sampler dinner. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Nice local place that we visited on vacation. A bit pricey. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

AS USUAL GREAT FOOD, WINE AND SERVICE. WORTH THE PRICE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Atmosphere was romantic, staff was attentive, musician good, and food worth trying. We went specifically for the vegan options, but the menu had some very interesting regular options. As far as vegan food, it was great! The perfect way to spend our anniversary evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Enjoyed everything about our experience! We were there early in the evening and it was very relaxing atmosphere. The food and service were excellent. Highly recommend for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

always a pleasure to dine here on the Island...Food is always excellent. We come here about half a dozen times a year...wonderful experience.......

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Visiting Hilton head island, saw the restaurant advertising early bird dining and decided to try it. The service was good. The food not so much. Salmon over cooked and tough, broccoli rabe limp and over cooked. I asked for salad dressing on the side and the salad came drenched with dressing. Dessert was nothing special. The early bird portions are very small. I want to add that my husband did like his stuffed grouper. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The cook and artist / owners are so nice and talented. The food was the best food I have ever had. The chef made plantain gnocchi by hand and the artist had her work displayed through the restaurant. Live music, a great atmosphere and delicious chocolate cake at the end. So many vegetarian options! Amazing experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is one of my top 3 favorite dining spots in Hilton Head.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I loved this place! Food was amazing and we loved the concept of having the owner's gallery/studio in the restaurant. Best date night option in Hilton Head if you're looking for great food and a unique experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We returned to this restaurant after being away for awhile. The food was exceptional once again. The menu is varied and unique, and the wine list is extensive. My favorites - the she crab and onion chowder and the tuna steak with mushrooms.
The artwork and soft, live music makes for a great atmosphere. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent cuisine - the food was outstanding. Good service. Eclectic decor. Outdated romance music. That and an undertone of patchouli were a little off-putting to me; but I do have a keen sense of smell. Maybe good for a date if you like eclectic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have been to The Studio many times - it is one of our favorite restaurants in Hilton Head.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Studio is wonderful, consistently superior food, service and atmosphere. We always take our special visitors here for a treat. Simply the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Odd to see an artsy themed restaurant choose the first floor of an office building as a location, but once inside the space looks completely different (although I'd suggest a drape or something to block the view from the dining room to the parking lot. Food preferences are well respected, huge plus for us. Service is professional. Food is solid although could use a bit of refinement (i.e. Go easy on the over powering bell peppers in the lobster spring roll and paella). Cocktails were great. Nice unexpected find in a beach town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food tasted good, but presentation and options are a bit dated, as is the restaurant's decor. Service was attentive. Live music was also dated, which added to the feeling that the preferred clientele are 65+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Have visited several times. This time took friends for their first visit. They definitely became fans of this small, intimate restaurant. There is a very good live musician playing off to one corner, but he plays very softly so conversation can continue throughout. We have always enjoyed everything we've ever ordered from The Studio. A particular favorite is their crab and onion bisque and their paella special. Would highly recommend. It's worth the effort to find this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Found the restaurant on Open Table and we were very impressed with food & service. We would unquestionably look forward to a return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Love it. Nice vegan and omnivore choices. Quiet. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything from the service to the food was impeccable. The ambience was romantic and our meal was not rushed. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As a long-term customer I love The Studio's food. It is delicious. The wait staff is attentive and the owner is congenial. However, the decor is not eclectic but rather dreadful. A real dump. It overshadowed the pleasure of my dining experience. The owners desperately need to refurbish the dining rooms and bathrooms. Also the live musician was awful. He sang depressing love ballads throughout our meal. I left feeling really depressed. I'm not going back until the owners update the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Quiet and intimate. A wonderful restaurant, meal and experience. Excellent service and one of the dinners we have had. Chose 2 of their nightly specials. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Service was very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent. I had the paella which was unique and delicious. My wife had the ahi tuna appetizer and the crab soup. She wanted both to be served as her entree and they plated it perfectly. The soup was amazing and the tuna very good. The live music added nicely to the evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.