About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Live Music (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vegan (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service, my wife is a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service, my wife is a vegetarian and I'm a meat eater. Had a great menu for both of us, great rack of lamb. Will definitely be back for our date nights. Worth the drive from Savannah.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful night with great food and se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful night with great food and service! We visited because a Groupon was offered advertising this interesting restaurant! The only negative is that we were told gratuity was being added to the bill because of using the Groupon. Being generous tippers, this left a negative impression as no other fine dining venue has ever dine this practice but overall a very nice night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to studio twice wh ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to studio twice while down in Hilton Head on vacation - we both loved it! I had the tuna au poivre and my husband had the pallets with lamb,filet and grouper. Victor, our server, did an outstanding job being attentive to our needs but not in our face- perfect! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. The owner ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service. The owners greeted and seated us plus assisted in the service. Amanda was our server with just the right amount of checking on our table, making recommendations, and assuring that our dinners were prepared to our liking. I had the salad with gorgonzola cheese followed by petite filet and lobster. My wife had a fabulous bisque soup followed by a trio of items including the petite filet, fish & scallops. We shared a delicious chocolate torte topped with a berry sorbet & chocolate sauce. Intimate dining in an artistic setting. There was no musician performing but I understand that that is the case on the weekends. Since this was our first time at the restaurant the owner presented us with a certificate for BOGO entree' if we were to dine again within 30 days. We were leaving Hilton Head Island to return home the next day so we were unable to utilize the offer. When we return we will definitely be back to the Studio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed.... the decor was uncomfort ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed.... the decor was uncomfortable, menu choices were limited, and prices were very high.

The service was very good. Probably won't go back. Too many good choices in HHI to make this expensive mistake again.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The Studio is a small, intimate setting ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Studio is a small, intimate setting for a wonderful dining experience. Menu is very creative and varied. The Lobster Spring Rolls were delicious although portion size for the price was a bit small. Mahi Mahi Paella was delicious as was the Wild Salmon entree bathed in a maple glaze. Dessert, a chocolate torte with raspberry sorbet, was to die for. Our server, Kyle, was attentive but not overly so....just what you would want. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at The Studio and will return. Gallery of art available for viewing at your leisure a very unique and enjoyable concept.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday celebration

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant after I research ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I chose this restaurant after I researched local small businesses online, then to find out they had a Groupon, we definitely hit the JACKPOT! This is a unique dining experience where you can enjoy a delicious meal and gaze upon fine art at the same time. The husband and wife team have created a fabulous dining experience with an excellent wait staff. We were visiting Hilton Head and we chose this restaurant after looking at some of the others offered in the area and we were extrememly happy with our choice. It comes highly recommended from Florida residents that enjoy fine dining. We both had the Filet, it was cooked to perfection and the presentation was impeccable. We give the restaurant 5 stars and next time we visit Hilton Head we will dine at The Studio once again. Thank you for the fabulous dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vegan, Modern Decor, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! My wife ordered off the Vega ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great meal! My wife ordered off the Vegan menu, and I had the Au poivre tuna, which was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time eating there and it won't ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My first time eating there and it won't be my last! Food and service was amazing. Loved the artwork.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for "restaurant week" so there w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went for "restaurant week" so there were specials as well as the regular menu. Three of us loved our meals: "studio" salad, crab bisque, lamb curry, beef tenderloin were our choices. One person, despite being well advised by the server, chose a dish that he found too spicy. But, the service was perfect, the music was pleasant without being obtrusive and we will all certainly go back. The restaurant was full but never seemed crowed or noisy. It's name comes from the art on display which along the owners, adds to the welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Only n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Only negative is the music being too loud in such a small place. It was difficult to carry on a conversation. I would suggest no microphone is necessary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been eating here for many years ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We have been eating here for many years ever since a native told us it was one of the best kept secrets on the island. That is a true statement--food is superb, wine list is great, service is terrific and ambiance is wonderful. Unequivocally, this is our favorite restaurant on the island. We have taken many friends who have added this to their "favorite list"

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, , Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot despite proximity to road. S ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lovely spot despite proximity to road. Staff very attentive and food quite good.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice to find a good menu from the normal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Nice to find a good menu from the normal Italian/American cuisine. Will be going back again with our vegan/vegetarian due to the better than average menu options.

Amazing quality of food - friendly helpful service.

Would go again and recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dinners at the Studi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always enjoy our dinners at the Studio. Never disappoints. Great wait staff. Amanda is a Gem. Food is wonderful,and we also enjoy Armand who sings and plays guitar. Perfect night out. Looking forward to going back very soon. Jim & Millie Skarkas

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food and a nice upscale meal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always good food and a nice upscale meal. Weekend entertains adds that speacial touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

6 of us went here on New Years Eve. The ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

6 of us went here on New Years Eve. The food, service, and ambiance was excellent.

One room is quieter and elegant. The other has mounted artwork and live music suitable for fine dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here on a Friday night where the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here on a Friday night where they have a

Live misician who is very very good.

The food is fabulous, creative and very large servings. Great wine and cocktails. Pricey but very good. A definite must when on Hilton Head.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Healthy, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and ambiance. One of best ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. One of best on the Island

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THis was the third or fourth time we hav ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

THis was the third or fourth time we have eaten at The Studio and we have never been disappointed. The food, service and ambience has always been superb. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to spent an enjoyable evening with great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Studio never disappoints. My family ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Studio never disappoints. My family has been coming here for years and we always enjoy ourselves. It is consistently good. Good service, & great food. This time we had the tuna and grouper entrees, desert was the always amazing bread pudding. Thank you for an excellent Christmas Eve Eve.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant, the food, the owne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love this restaurant, the food, the owners, and the message!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with party of four, three of which ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Went with party of four, three of which were vegetarians. The vegetarian options were broad, tasty and well presented. The service was friendly highly competent.

The place is intimate in size, there was an excellent guitar/harmonica player who is very entertaining and witty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have visited The Studio on several occas ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Have visited The Studio on several occasions, always a favorite. Eclectic mix of entrees often from local sources. Ambience enhanced by artworks by local painters. Service is attentive and personal. You leave satisfied.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a Vegan, I often have difficulty find ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

As a Vegan, I often have difficulty finding a "real" meal; i.e., not just a salad. The Vegan offerings were delicious. I recommend the Buffalo Cauliflower! Our server was great. The décor is very artistic and beautiful, yet comfortable and cozy. with the Owner's artwork everywhere. I even bought one of her beautiful prints. A very nice dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a great dinner at the Studio. It was quiet romantic and peaceful. The food and service was outstanding . I had the seafood Piaia with Mai Mai it was perfect. The crab & Vidiala onion soup was hot & awesome .

There was even a buffalo style califlower dish and it was spicy & tasty as well.My wife had a cherry lifesaver cocktail it was really good . We had a bottle of Savion Blanc from California and it was moderately priced and very nice as well. The people there make you feel like family. Very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique intimate dining experience. Excel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Unique intimate dining experience. Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant in the lo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in the low country because it doesn't serve "shrimp and grits." The food is wonderful and the atmosphere perfect, with a very good guitarist to set the mood. One of our favourites on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our second visit to the Studio a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to the Studio and we looked forward to it. As usual, the ambiance was awesome, and the evening's singer was very entertaining without being intrusive. Cocktails were delicious, and were served in very unique glassware. We ordered the buffalo cauliflower as a shared appetizer. It was presented nicely on a bed of lettuce with the appropriate carrots, celery, and dip. However, it was so spicy I could not enjoy it. Then I ordered the Pad Thai, which was also so spicy that I gave it to my husband in exchange for his pallette, which was beautifully presented on a pallette shaped plate. It consisted of lamb, steak, and fish. The lamb and steak were deliciously cooked and tender; however, the fish was dry and flavorless, and topped with crab which had the taste and consistency of wet bread cubes. That was a bit disappointing. We will return, of course, but I'll know to stay away from anything with a spicy context the next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit to The Studio. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is our second visit to The Studio. Our service was wonderful. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent. The presentation of the appetizer, entree, and dessert was spectacular. We'll be back on our next visit to Hilton Head.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very impressive food, scene, hospitality . Food was very impressive , creative and well portioned. Loved this restaurant and atmospher.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be. We have come to ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Not what it used to be. We have come to the studio many times over the years. It is a beautiful setting. This time we were very disappointed with the food. The menu is stale and hasn't changed in years. There were no dinner specials to add on to this menu. So even though the place is serene and beautiful we won't be back for awhile. It needs a big refresh of its menu.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

there was great food for vegans and meat ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

there was great food for vegans and meat lovers all......

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, we will be ba ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, great service, we will be back again and again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Rea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Salmon is served with a pecan sauce. Really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, alwa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, wonderful food, always feel welcome

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening! Service and food w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

An enjoyable evening! Service and food were fantastic. A very unexpected gem - located in an office building, however once inside you forget where you are. We were lucky enough to have live entertainment - and he was magnificent! Have already recommended to others and am looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at The Studio an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our first time at The Studio and we enjoyed it very much. It was a special occasion for us, an anniversary, so the cost was not a critical issue. I can see going back for another special occasion.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstan ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had an amazing meal! Food was outstanding and they were able to acccomodate our food allergies. Server was very kind and knowledgeable. Will make sure to go here every time we're in town!

Tags: , Gluten Free Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.