About The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience

Entice Your Senses While You Dine in our Fine Art Gallery. Innovative International Cuisine featuring Wild Game & Grassfed Beef as well as Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten Free Menu Options. Also offering Live Musical Entertainment, Artists Creating at the Easel, Patio Seating, Tapas Tuesdays & Weekly Wine Tastings


Private Dining Room Available for up to 35 People

Wine Spectator Award of Excellence

20 Executive Park Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pope Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6000

Website:
http://www.studiodining.com/

Entertainment:
Please call for details

Executive Chef:
Paul Colella

Private Party Facilities:
The Studio is able to accommodate Private Events on-premise for up to 40 people. Please contact us to discuss off-premise options. Chef Paul will gladly customize your party to meet your every need. Wine Dinners/Lectures are always available, and are a great way to entice clients to join an event! Our artists and musicians are available for events if desired.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Colella: (843) 785-6000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Studio, An Artistic Dining Experience Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Live Music (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Vegan (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The Studio serves delicious food, and has a variety of options for everyone. The staff is very friendly, and there was not a long wait for our food. The vegan German chocolate torte was the best dessert I've ever had. Also, the live music was wonderful. Definitely would recommend The Studio!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The food was good, but the dining room needs to be updated. I sat in a chair with an arm being held together with electrical tape.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great place. Small and intimate. Will certainly go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

THE STUDIO was wonderful as usual. Everything about this restaurant is top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Escargot was incredible! It was unique in taste and presentation. Salad was incredible! Even my husband who usually eats salads because he knows he should raved about the salad. Food was yummy! I thought my filet of beef and lamb chops could have been a bit more tender but everything else was superb. Interesting and unique atmosphere. Live entertainment was incredible! Guitar player was very gifted! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Went here for a lovely birthday dinner. Lots of vegan choices which I love. Interesting food ad atmosphere with live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Although the guitarist was playing soft music it was still a distraction for a diner wearing hearing aides in the small space. We asked to be seated in an adjacent room. Extra work for the servers as we were the only ones in the 2nd room but they graciously agreed and moved us without delay. Excellent, attentive, service. Well prepared and well presented food. Many dining options in the area but we would not hesitate to return. A fine experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2017

This was our Christmas Party and wanted to start early, they accomodated us immediately. The service was great. The food impeccable. The ambience is great. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2017

This is a charming , quiet , restaurant, with a very romantic ambience, and, most certainly some of the best prepared, presented and tasty food. Not inexpensive, but well worth the modest splurge.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Dining on Tuesdays when musical entertainment is offered is a huge draw for us. We have always raved about our meals until recently. Neither of our entrees were seasoned much and the cobia in the seafood paella was quite dry. We will return to The Studio but order other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Entertainment was very nice, and atmosphere was very good. The artwork is also very nice to explore. Would definitely go again if in area.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2017

wonderful food and experience. having Armand on the guitar softly singing was a bonus

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 13, 2017

The best dining experience we have had since we moved to Hilton Head

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Always try to visit The Studio whenever on Hilton Head. Eclectic menu selections are the order of the day. Was a rather busy night on a Friday. We were initially seated at a table next to the live entertainment for the night. A talented one-man-band who was a little loud for relaxed conversation to occur. We asked for a different table and were accommodated immediately and pleasantly. Janice chose the salmon entree with a topping of butternut squash and chopped pecans. It was a very interesting preparation but the very sweet syrupy glazing overpowered the fish which usually can hold its own with savory treatments. Was good but could have been a bit more balanced. I chose the paella of the day made with clams, shrimp, and fish over couscous. A really nice preparation I thoroughly enjoyed. That said we were not disappointed and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our first visit and it was excellent. We had filet and grouper. Both were great. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It has been a few years since we have eaten here and what a wonderful surprise that it has not changed.. The ambiance is still there along with great food, service, excellent and quiet entertainment and the ever present artist working on a painting. This little restaurant is a hidden gem in the Lowcountry...It is refreshiningly quiet and relaxing. The guitar player played our favorite songs. It was a delightful evening.. We will return. 💕

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at The Studio the Friday night after Thanksgiving. Our absolute favorite dish was the fantastic buffalo cauliflower appetizer, but we also thoroughly enjoyed the creative, delicious vegetarian entrees. We loved the art studio setting and the terrific live music. The performer played our special requests at the perfect volume for us to enjoy our family dinner. And, the staff was warm and welcoming. This was our first of what we are sure will be many future visits!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Very good ambiance, unusual art emphasis of one owner, the other is the chef! and the food was well detailed. good value for upper end cuisine without whimsical but comfortable setting. Enjoyed all aspects of our dinner. Reasonable and/or top end wines. Absolutely will return each time on Hilton Head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2017

The Studio is an excellent choice for a special night out. When we dined there on a Friday, we enjoyed live music. My wife and I both had their special which included lamb chops, filet and halibut. Everything was delicious. When we are in Hilton Head we routinely dine there and we haven’t been disappointed yet.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent as always. We have been coming to hh for a number of years and always make this one of our stops and have never been disappointed. Between the food and the paintings it is a grate evening,

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Must try. Food is anything but ordinary and always delicious. Service is consistently impeccable. Atmosphere allows for conversation about the whole amazing experience, including the art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Salads were surprisingly large as were entrees and desserts. Vegan chocolate torte with raspberry sorbet was amazing! Only downside- it is very dark and the menu is difficult to read. They did offer some guests flashlights to read the menu. Overall a wonderful experience and will definitely revisit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

As usual, the cuisine was outstanding. The chef is unusually creative and presentations reflect his creativity. His food experience ranks in our top five ever!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We like The Studio, but will remember to ask to be seated in the back room. Having a singer, though he was very good, makes it very hard to have a dinner conversation with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fabulous -- we follow a primal/paleo lifestyle and had no problem getting a delicious meal right off the menu. Appreciate the grass fed beef, etc. We had the artist's palette. Perfect! We would go back and just may this weekend with friends! Enchanting space, great music at the right listening level.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2017

On a pleasantly warm November evening we dined on the patio which was quiet enough to have a good conversation. The service was very attentaive but not overwhelming and the food was generally good. The paella, a house specialty, was quite flavorful but quite different from traditional preparations. The filet had good flavor despite being overcooked (requested rare and got medium). Overall, it was a good evening though not outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Never disappointed, great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Every course was perfection! The food here is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Good music at a level that was good for listening and talking

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Not to be missed if visiting the area! A real gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food, great service. Second time there. Will be a third!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We always enjoy The Studio and the early dining is a fantastic opportunity to enjoy this great food. We ate in the back room since we had a group of 6 and wanted conversation. It was very quiet, even though we missed the live music in the main area (on Tues, Fri, Sat). Great food, includes one of the best crab bisque and best petite filets anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We opted for the vegetarian options and they were both original and deliciously prepared. Service was also very fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Live music created a nice background to our evening.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This place is over-rated. One person served as bartender, waiter, busboy for entire restaurant. Very nice, welcoming guy but come on. I found the ambiance dark and musty. The food was okay. Won't return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The lamb chops (5) were fabulous, done perfectly, generous sides of risotto and asparagus, plus reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good dinner and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We come to the Studio a couple times a year, especially for special occasions. The live entertainment is great. Armand had the whole room singing happy birthday to my husband. We love the intimacy of the small dining room, and the food is always delicious. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Some of the best, most innovative cuisine we have enjoyed in a long time! Who knew that topping a petit filet with goat cheese souffle would so oh so good! The crab bisque with vidalia onions was terrific! You won't regret dining at The Studio....the food and original artwork (created by the owner) are the perfect combination!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.