About The Stone Cellar

71 Gore Street East
Perth, ON K7H 1H8
View Larger Map

The perfect place to enjoy friends and family over great food and wine and excellent service in a setting of warmth, style and good taste in an Heritage setting. The Stone Cellar offers a memorable dining experience for visitors and discerning Perth residents alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm. Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 8:30pm. Saturday & Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(613) 267-0200

Website:
http://www.thestonecellar.com/

The Stone Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Great for Lunch
Ottawa
4 More
Neighborhood Gem
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Eastern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Perth ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated my husband's birthday at the ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated my husband's birthday at the Stone Cellar. It was a perfect night! Lovely intimate atmosphere. We shared a delicious app of melted brie with berry compote and crustinis. For dinner, my husband chose the Duck a L'orange and I chose the fish special of grilled salmon. Both dishes were served beautifully on slate slabs. The duck melted in your mouth and the salmon was perfect! I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was fabulous----Rack of lamb t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The steak was fabulous----Rack of lamb the worst that I have ever seen. They should be sourcing this product at Costco. The amount of meat MIGHT equal 1 small lamb chop!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steaks, Would travel miles for ano ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great steaks, Would travel miles for another meal at th Stone C llar

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went early on a week night, so place was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went early on a week night, so place was not crowded. Service was efficient and cordial.

Appetizers of scallops and crab cakes were delicious. Torpedo chicken quite good. Meat loaf was good but lacked spice and could have been more flavorful. Overall, very good.

The on-line reservation system though was a challenge. Very tedious to learn when there might be available seating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our visit to the Stone Cellar was outsta ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our visit to the Stone Cellar was outstanding as usual! The food was fabulous and the service was great. The friendly atmosphere is characteristic of the Perth area in general. They offered a good choice of top notch wines, both red and white as well as a good variety of locally brewed craft beer. We would highly recommend the Stone Cellar for lunch, dinner or just a quick snack. If you are looking for a great spot for dinner outside of Kanata/Ottawa, it's worth the drive!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was delicious, the waitress was friendly, the atmosphere was cosy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Though it was busy our server, Shira was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Though it was busy our server, Shira was on top of everything. Food came in a timely manner. A handy bottle of water was on the table and she re-filled it for us. The food was delectable. Shira gave us a different table upon request when we arrived. A sub-chef came to talk to us after our meal. People at the next table took our photos and we took theirs, too! The ambience was perfect, and the food was superior.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm gluten intolerant and the staff were ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I'm gluten intolerant and the staff were very good at recommending items and the chef was able to substitute some foods for others. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not a good experience. Mediocre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was not a good experience. Mediocre food, service at a high (relative) price.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were particularly impressed and pleas ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were particularly impressed and pleased with the help we received in selecting a wine to go with our meals. the owner was on site and he was able to provide us with excellent guidance and he offered us a sample of the wines we were considering which was very helpful. As a result, we were confident in buying the whole bottle to enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Some of our entrees were very good. Chi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Some of our entrees were very good. Chicken was dry, $23 meatloaf was okay, but not exceptional, coffee was cold. Appetizers came relatively quickly then a very long wait for main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A lovely evening of very fine dining and ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A lovely evening of very fine dining and warm, hospitable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i have enjoyed meals at The Stone Cellar ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

i have enjoyed meals at The Stone Cellar several times in the past few years, but may not return. Although I had made a reservation for 6, the 1 server was unable to cope -- we waited 10 minutes or MORE each for our orders to be taken, for the beer to arrive, for the food, for the bill, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The Stone Cellar is well situated in the ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Stone Cellar is well situated in the lovely town of Perth; the building and decor is very inviting and includes an outdoor patio at the back. Service was welcoming, friendly and professional. Everything on the lunch menu sounded good but in the end I had the quiche of the day which came with sweet potato frites (best I have had anywhere) and a small salad. My husband had the fish and frites but substituted the frites with salad ( does not care for sweet potatoes). Both meals were excellent; I would have liked the quiche to be a bit hotter ( temperature, not spices) but I still enjoyed every mouthful! We will definitely be back, it is only an hour from home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first wedding anniversary tha ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was our first wedding anniversary that we were celebrating. We were very pleased with the service and food . Thank you for being a part of our special day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have eaten at this rest ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at this restaurant many times, and have always found it to be very good. Unfortunately, however, this last visit was not up to par. The steak was overcooked and the chocolate cake was stale. As well, the menu has remained unchanged for several years, and could do with an overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very nice Sunday dinner on a relatively ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice Sunday dinner on a relatively quiet evening. Can highly recommend our dinner choices - the Ceasar salad, pear and blue cheese salad, crab cakes, Chicken Torpedo and the chocolate cake. This was our third time at Stone Cellar - always enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, good food, wines quite e ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambience, good food, wines quite expensive, after a good start only mediocre service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Meal was outstanding and the service was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Meal was outstanding and the service was reflective of the town, warm and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambience. We all had the veggie b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great ambience. We all had the veggie burgers. Needed more spice or flavour. The Sweet Potato fries were cold. Our waitress was friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were in for Saturday lunch for a repe ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were in for Saturday lunch for a repeat visit from a previous year (and, in retrospect , glad we could make a reservation using Open Table).

Love the decor and the three of us found our entrees to be excellent, particulary with their reasonable portion size. It was just right. Service was good with two servers to handle the lower floor (inside) and the patio outside in the rear. We would definitely return if visiting Perth again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gastronomic Excellence!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We came to Perth Ontario to celebrate our anniversary, and decided to try The Stone Cellar. I'm so glad we did!

This was one of my top dining experiences! From start to finish, it was an excellent experience. The server brought out complimentary champagne served in glass flower stem flutes. A really beautiful presentation!

The meals: Well, let me just say my 6 oz filet was THE BEST STEAK I've EVER eaten in a restaurant! Done to perfection and served with their own steak butter and steamed and roasted seasonal vegetables. My wife chose two apps; the Caesar salad, presented on a board and according to her, one of the best she's ever eaten. She also had the sea scallops and said they were amazing!

The ambiance, food presentation, food taste and service were all A-1, and I will definitely be going back to The Stone Cellar! Well worth the drive, even from Ottawa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find in Perth

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a fantastic evening with amazing food and service. Some of the wines on the wine list are rather pricey but that apart we could not fault the venue and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were in town for the weeke ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and ended up coming here for supper. We have eaten here before and have enjoyed the food and atmosphere. On this occasion my wife had the rack of lamb while I had duck. Both were outstanding. The waitress was very nice and the whole experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our new favourite restaurant.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Stone Cellar was recommended to us and we were not dissappointed. Cozy decor within a heritage building. The staff throughout our visit were the friendliest we have encountered anywhere. We enjoyed the crab cakes. fish and chips, chicken pot pie and a cesar salad that is so fresh and flavourful. Every item showed great attention to detail. The chocolate cake is incredible. All in all The Stone Cellar made for a memorable mother's day brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambia ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambiance. The menu is small. The wine selection is good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing & we had an amazing waitress

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We had lovely seating and were given our choice of wherever we wanted. We had amazing samples. The waitress was absolutely lovely and so nice. I had the Duck a L'orange it was amazing. the starch of the day was mashed potatoes and they were the best I'd ever had. My date has the 6 oz steak and said it was amazing. I would definitely come here again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first visit to The Stone Cellar and we loved everything about it. From the friendly greeting when we walked in the door to the goodbyes when we left, we felt like cherished guests. The menu has something for everyone and our choices were delicious. I especially recommend the pear and blue cheese salad! The atmosphere is cozy, yet classy too, so a perfect spot for a special celebration, a romantic date or an outing with friends. Our only complaint was the woman at the next table who never shut up, except when eating her Creme Brulee! It must have been really tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful service. Highl ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful service. Highly recommend .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My first time eating at the Stone Cellar. I was looking for something made with local fresh ingredients. The food was good - not incredible. My soup was luke-warm (I like it hot). The quiche was lovely, but could have been hotter. Would I go back - the jury is out! The server was amazing and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

A must go ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Plan on two plus hours to enjoy this restaurant. We have been there many times and the meal never fails to please. We particularly enjoy when they have wine pairings ... that brings exceptional value to the evening. A knowledgable staff will guide you through your choices. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were there for dinner on Valentine's Day. Our table was ready, our server was very attentive and professional. The ordering was easy, the server helpful and the delivery time excellent. The food was amazing!!! Highly recommend this restaurant and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite Spot

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I have been to the Stone Cellar a number of times since moving to the area. It is a gem and a favourite spot to go to for a special event. Or if we just want to treat ourselves it's our go to place. This visit was our second Valentines day and the food continues to be delicious. The customer service is excellent and the ambiance superb. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, perfect in every way.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to The Stone Cellar for a romantic Valentine's Dinner and it was perfect in every way. We both chose the special Festival of Hearts menu with 4 courses and wine pairings for $70 per person. This was a exceptional deal as the food was superb (we both chose oyster croquettes, hearts of palm salad, veal cheeks in herb and chocolate sauce, finished up with chocolate mousse with lava sauce) and the wine pairings were exquisitely chosen. The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful. The room has beautiful stone walls and a fireplace, and for Valentine's Day all of of the tables had fresh flowers (orchids!) and heart confetti. Our server was attentive and the sommelier was knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to discuss the wines with. I have food allergies and the restaurant was exceedingly accommodating and vigilant about ensuring my safety. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines and Fireworks

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Perth for the weekend and met up with local friends for a Valentine's double date (what old, married people will do, just to get some conversation). They were a bit busy, but service was thoughtful and the food... excellent! Everything was fresh and tasty. The portion sizes were a little uneven, but we shared the large ones.

As a bonus, we saw the fireworks through the restaurant's windows instead of having to go out into the -30 C evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing dining experience!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We celebrated Valentines Day a few days early due to work schedules. This was our second time dining at Stone Cellar. Once again we were completely satisfied and happy with our choice! Our dinner was delicious , our waitress Dayna was top notch! We spent an enjoyable evening soaking up the atmosphere while the wind and snow blew outside. Thank you again, we will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cosy Stone Cellar

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We ventured out on a very cold night to the Stone Cellar. It was nice to see and feel the warmth of the fireplace on such a miserable night. We were greeted by a very friendly server who looked after us well. The restaurant started filling up and the 2 servers were kept very busy.

For our appetizers my wife had Oysters Rockefeller and a Caeser salad for me. My wife opted for a filet mignon and I had the 'special', a beef bourguignon that was delicious. Both dishes were very filling, so we didn't have room for dessert.

The Stone Cellar is an excellent restaurant in Perth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Suberb Dining Experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary with a meal at The Stone Cellar on the Tay Basin in Perth ON, a play at Studio Theatre and an overnight stay at a Perth B & B. It was a memorable evening starting with a flawless dininner experience at he Stone Cellar: exquisite meal, service and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting from SC, USA. Good was fant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Was visiting from SC, USA. Good was fantastic, and the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. These folks are good people and the restaurant is top notch...please go support them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fire and Ice

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had the Fire and Ice wine pairing menu and the food was amazing. I am already thinking about going back this time next year!

Great staff, great food, attentive owner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.