About The Stone Cellar

71 Gore Street East
Perth, ON K7H 1H8
View Larger Map

The perfect place to enjoy friends and family over great food and wine and excellent service in a setting of warmth, style and good taste in an Heritage setting. The Stone Cellar offers a memorable dining experience for visitors and discerning Perth residents alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm. Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 8:30pm. Saturday & Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(613) 267-0200

Website:
http://www.thestonecellar.com/

The Stone Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
8 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Great for Lunch
Ottawa
Neighborhood Gem
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Eastern Ontario
Best Restaurants in Perth ›

special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing find in Perth

Dined on May 18, 2016

What a fantastic evening with amazing food and service. Some of the wines on the wine list are rather pricey but that apart we could not fault the venue and will definitely be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I were in town for the weeke ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and ended up coming here for supper. We have eaten here before and have enjoyed the food and atmosphere. On this occasion my wife had the rack of lamb while I had duck. Both were outstanding. The waitress was very nice and the whole experience very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favourite restaurant.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Stone Cellar was recommended to us and we were not dissappointed. Cozy decor within a heritage building. The staff throughout our visit were the friendliest we have encountered anywhere. We enjoyed the crab cakes. fish and chips, chicken pot pie and a cesar salad that is so fresh and flavourful. Every item showed great attention to detail. The chocolate cake is incredible. All in all The Stone Cellar made for a memorable mother's day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambia ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambiance. The menu is small. The wine selection is good.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing & we had an amazing waitress

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had lovely seating and were given our choice of wherever we wanted. We had amazing samples. The waitress was absolutely lovely and so nice. I had the Duck a L'orange it was amazing. the starch of the day was mashed potatoes and they were the best I'd ever had. My date has the 6 oz steak and said it was amazing. I would definitely come here again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first visit to The Stone Cellar and we loved everything about it. From the friendly greeting when we walked in the door to the goodbyes when we left, we felt like cherished guests. The menu has something for everyone and our choices were delicious. I especially recommend the pear and blue cheese salad! The atmosphere is cozy, yet classy too, so a perfect spot for a special celebration, a romantic date or an outing with friends. Our only complaint was the woman at the next table who never shut up, except when eating her Creme Brulee! It must have been really tasty!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful service. Highl ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful service. Highly recommend .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Okay

Dined on February 20, 2016

My first time eating at the Stone Cellar. I was looking for something made with local fresh ingredients. The food was good - not incredible. My soup was luke-warm (I like it hot). The quiche was lovely, but could have been hotter. Would I go back - the jury is out! The server was amazing and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must go ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Plan on two plus hours to enjoy this restaurant. We have been there many times and the meal never fails to please. We particularly enjoy when they have wine pairings ... that brings exceptional value to the evening. A knowledgable staff will guide you through your choices. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were there for dinner on Valentine's Day. Our table was ready, our server was very attentive and professional. The ordering was easy, the server helpful and the delivery time excellent. The food was amazing!!! Highly recommend this restaurant and we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite Spot

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I have been to the Stone Cellar a number of times since moving to the area. It is a gem and a favourite spot to go to for a special event. Or if we just want to treat ourselves it's our go to place. This visit was our second Valentines day and the food continues to be delicious. The customer service is excellent and the ambiance superb. Keep up the great work.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, perfect in every way.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to The Stone Cellar for a romantic Valentine's Dinner and it was perfect in every way. We both chose the special Festival of Hearts menu with 4 courses and wine pairings for $70 per person. This was a exceptional deal as the food was superb (we both chose oyster croquettes, hearts of palm salad, veal cheeks in herb and chocolate sauce, finished up with chocolate mousse with lava sauce) and the wine pairings were exquisitely chosen. The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful. The room has beautiful stone walls and a fireplace, and for Valentine's Day all of of the tables had fresh flowers (orchids!) and heart confetti. Our server was attentive and the sommelier was knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to discuss the wines with. I have food allergies and the restaurant was exceedingly accommodating and vigilant about ensuring my safety. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines and Fireworks

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Perth for the weekend and met up with local friends for a Valentine's double date (what old, married people will do, just to get some conversation). They were a bit busy, but service was thoughtful and the food... excellent! Everything was fresh and tasty. The portion sizes were a little uneven, but we shared the large ones. As a bonus, we saw the fireworks through the restaurant's windows instead of having to go out into the -30 C evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing dining experience!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We celebrated Valentines Day a few days early due to work schedules. This was our second time dining at Stone Cellar. Once again we were completely satisfied and happy with our choice! Our dinner was delicious , our waitress Dayna was top notch! We spent an enjoyable evening soaking up the atmosphere while the wind and snow blew outside. Thank you again, we will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cosy Stone Cellar

Dined on February 12, 2016

We ventured out on a very cold night to the Stone Cellar. It was nice to see and feel the warmth of the fireplace on such a miserable night. We were greeted by a very friendly server who looked after us well. The restaurant started filling up and the 2 servers were kept very busy. For our appetizers my wife had Oysters Rockefeller and a Caeser salad for me. My wife opted for a filet mignon and I had the 'special', a beef bourguignon that was delicious. Both dishes were very filling, so we didn't have room for dessert. The Stone Cellar is an excellent restaurant in Perth.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suberb Dining Experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary with a meal at The Stone Cellar on the Tay Basin in Perth ON, a play at Studio Theatre and an overnight stay at a Perth B & B. It was a memorable evening starting with a flawless dininner experience at he Stone Cellar: exquisite meal, service and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was visiting from SC, USA. Good was fant ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

Was visiting from SC, USA. Good was fantastic, and the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. These folks are good people and the restaurant is top notch...please go support them!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire and Ice

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had the Fire and Ice wine pairing menu and the food was amazing. I am already thinking about going back this time next year! Great staff, great food, attentive owner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Lunch

Dined on January 22, 2016

The best place in Perth for lunch, good menu, outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Suggestions

Dined on January 14, 2016

A coat room would be nice. Having a bulky winter coat hanging off the back of your chair sort of takes away from the experience. It was also very cold in the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect

Dined on January 9, 2016

My husband and I often visit Perth for an evening out. We stayed at the Drummond House this time, where we received a coupon for a complimentary appetizer at the Stone Cellars. Making reservations on line was so convenient . The food was the best, the salmon was cooked perfectly and the mixed grains and veggies were delicious. We ordered the appetizer which was plenty for two people. The whole evening was perfect, we would certainly eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitstaff excellent and professional, ev ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

Waitstaff excellent and professional, even though the restaurant was fairly busy. Food good! We had three pots of tea after our meal. We each received a separate tea pot with enough tea for two and a half cups of tea each. This is noteworthy because establishments generally don't do tea right and frankly tea is probably a bit of a pain for restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

ok

Dined on December 20, 2015

Nice restaurant in terms of ambiance, decor etc. Service was good - but 2 of 4 dinners were just ok - at the price should be better than just ok. Not sure I would recommend to others.

food5
ambience5
service5

Most Enjoyable Evening

Dined on November 29, 2015

In a lovely dining room beautifully decorated for the Christmas Season, we enjoyed a delicious dinner in a delightful atmosphere. Our service was excellent, our table positioned so we could enjoy the bright fireplace on a chilly night. Sharing appetizers was not an issue and the salad was very fresh, prettily garnished and lightly dressed. Scallops shared by our friends were properly caramelized and, they claimed, delicious. A main course of lamb rack was outstanding and the frenched chicken breast truly moist and very nicely presented. We had no time for dessert that evening as we were off to the CP Holiday Train but we shall be back and soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Three Friends Gathered Happily

Dined on November 2, 2015

Three old friends from Ottawa and Kingston, we gathered in Perth to celebrate a birthday. We liked your space very much, our server was really kind and friendly, and your menu choices suited a vegetarian, a low-cholesterol diner, and a foodie. The place was quiet, with a warm ambiance, and easy to find. We'll be back, and may make a habit of this! With daylight savings in effect, we wanted a lunch that left us with lots of daylight for the drives home. Your lunch hours met that need very well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, tasty food, nice wine, atmosphere.

Dined on October 31, 2015

Very clean, nice music, warm atmosphere. Very pleasant server, tasteful pumpkin soup crisp salad. Salmon nicely done, but would have preferred a baked potato over mashed potatoes. The Merlot was smooth . All in all a very enjoyable meal and evening for our 47th aniversary. We both love old buildings and the exposed stone walls and warm fire made for a special evening to celebrate our 47 th aniversary. Thanks again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambience that belies its name

Dined on October 4, 2015

The name — the Stone Cellar — conjured up visions of damp and dark. However, the ambience was anything but and we loved it! Double-sided fireplace and stone and wood textures and warm red colours. Service was respectful but friendly and very attentive. Menu was interesting, as was the wine list. Found my favourite —Oyster Bay sauvignon blanc — and I liked that. Had pear and blue cheese salad which was generously sprinkled with a lovely blue and crisp pears. My companion had a chicken sandwich quite out of the ordinary in presentation and ingredients. Tender chicken piled high with fresh chunks of eggplant, zuccine and more with sweet potato fries — a casual dish served very elegantly on a white platter with three kinds of chutneys and sauces. (Cranberry chutney amazing.) Amaretto crème brûlée was perfect and served in a most delightful way with the outline of a fork (that wasn't there) sprinkled in cocoa dust. Lovely place I will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and atmosphere, but a little pricey

Dined on October 3, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by the really cozy feel of the restaurant. The menu had a good selection, but items were a little pricey. Having said that, my steak was outstanding - just not almost $40 worth. The disappointment of the evening was when my wife (who can the chicken torpedo) chewed into a large piece of saran wrap in her food. It was obviously used to wrap the item when they were made, and it had obviously been microwaved. The waitress said the chef would come out (he never did) but they did take her meal and the desserts off the bill. We ordered coffee that never came at the end of the meal. We had a young waitress who was pleasant enough, and seemed to know the menu, but the endless stream of "Like, it's like a piece of, like chicken, that like...." You get the idea. I don't mind a young waitress, but please don't talk to me like your girlfriend. I would go back, but it seemed like an off night. If I didn't have the one meal and desserts free it would have easily been over $120 which seemed a little steep.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our third visit. !!!

Dined on October 3, 2015

We were very pleased with our server and her service was great. We enjoyed our meals and the wine selection was adequate. The atmosphere was wonderful as usual . It is a bit pricey for frequent visits as we are retired but a great restaurant for special occasions. We will certainly be returning for our next special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fine dining experience

Dined on August 14, 2015

Even though This restaurant has a limited menu, the dishes that are offered are varied, delicious, of high quality, (did I say delicious?) and presented in an enticing way! There is a good selection of wines, both red and white. We were especially pleased with the complimentary sparkling wine in honour of our wedding anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A GEM to be discovered

Dined on August 9, 2015

Fine cuisine with superb presentation in a trendy, tasteful atmosphere. Service was friendly and professional. We were unhurried and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend this restaurant. We were surprised there were not more people on a weekend, though the back terrace seemed quite full (and we were inside).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Perth gem

Dined on August 2, 2015

With restaurant-sophisticated family visiting, the Stone Cellar hit the spot. The food was delicious, service friendly and attentive and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. The high note began with the amazing warm, fresh & crusty bread (re-ordered as it was so good). The wine list is adequate. Main courses were flavourful and excellent. The only hint of a need for improvement was somewhat weak after-dinner coffee served with tiny single serve creamers that was at odds with the restaurants seeming intention to reflect class and fine dining in the heart of historic Perth. A small criticism, however, considering the value and good food that made the evening eventful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Quality Restaurant

Dined on July 16, 2015

Really nice restaurant in Perth. Excellent food, great desserts, nice staff, quiet ambiance. Nice outdoor patio to eat on as well. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed a lovely lunch at The Stone C ...

Dined on July 16, 2015

We enjoyed a lovely lunch at The Stone Cellar. The food was incredible and the staff were very friendly. All around great experience. Highly recommend it for anyone visiting Perth.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Very enjoyable evening

Dined on July 15, 2015

We always eat here when going to the Classic Theatre (we live in Ottawa), as it's an easy walk to the theatre. The service is always good, and the servers friendly and attentive. We love the atmosphere as well.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Friendly accommodation

Dined on May 10, 2015

Reasonable menu, professional waitstaff , helpful, courteous, would recommend

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than expected

Dined on May 6, 2015

First time visit. The server Catherine was very good at her job, everything came on time and no waiting for a request to be fulfilled. The food was perfect. I had Duck L'Orange and it was as good as I've had anywhere, maybe even the best. The beer selection could use an upgrade. Mostly the same bland tasteless mainstream with only 2 execeptions. Beau's Lug Tread and Perth Brewery on tap. Could add at least say St. Ambroise Pale Ale, and Mad Tom IPA to give beer lovers 4 real beers to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved It!

Dined on April 19, 2015

Hubby and I celebrated our anniversary on a Sun evening so it was quiet and there was one other table being served. We loved the cheese platter, and soup for starters. Mains were tasty and nicely paired with the wine. We did top off with the amaretto cheesecake - yum! Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great location and charming decor but a bit pricey

Dined on April 3, 2015

Service and food were very good, but a bit on the expensive side. Four for lunch and we had quiche with salad and sweet potatoe fries...all very good but the bill came to over 100.00. Nice old stone building with lots of charm and a great wine room and fireplace.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great wait staff, accommodating menu

Dined on March 14, 2015

This is a very nice restaurant with stone decor, as the name would suggest. Great for a special or romantic dinner or small group get-together. The serving staff are really friendly and helpful. We would note that this restaurant has no vegan options and only a couple of vegetarian side dishes. We really wanted to dine there though so contacted the chef ahead of time about making us a vegan main dish (and gluten-free!), and we were pretty impressed with what we got, and at a surprisingly considerable price. Other mains are about $30 each. Let's hope this restaurant shows that it'll only get better from here in terms of Perth's good food options!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.