About The Stone Cellar

71 Gore Street East
Perth, ON K7H 1H8
View Larger Map

The perfect place to enjoy friends and family over great food and wine and excellent service in a setting of warmth, style and good taste in an Heritage setting. The Stone Cellar offers a memorable dining experience for visitors and discerning Perth residents alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm. Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 8:30pm. Saturday & Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(613) 267-0200

Website:
http://www.thestonecellar.com/

The Stone Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
2 More
Best Value
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Restaurants in Perth ›

Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
See All
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fireplace (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our din ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and Meagan was a charm!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good , nice ambiance. Wor ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was very good , nice ambiance. Worth checking out when in Perth

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A very enjoyable evening with good food, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A very enjoyable evening with good food, friendly and attentive service. Staff were engaging and knowledgeable

Would recommend without any reservation

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice, quiet evening out with my husban ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A nice, quiet evening out with my husband. Comfortable surroundings, delicious food and excellent service. Can't wait to go back again.

(And the election special was a fun twist!!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal with friends a lot. ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We enjoyed our meal with friends a lot. It was busy and we had to wait longer than expected for the food but is was well prepared and tasty. Becasue of service delays paying and getting out was rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We found the entrees good but not creati ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We found the entrees good but not creative and the dessert mousse was unfortunately terrible but creme brule good

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere was perfect for a rainy O ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect for a rainy October anniversary dinner, fire place, beautiful wine cellar ambiance. The food was very good, mushroom soup was superb. I ordered the salmon that was their special. Rather disappointing. Over salted peppercorn crust, on a too salty to eat rice. The vegetables were perfect. My husband had the rack of lamb, the blueberry sauce was amazing, but the lamb was so fatty. For dessert they only had 3choices of pie (by the time we were ready for dessert at 8:30). Who wants pie for a special night out! The wine choices were excellent, even by the glass. Overall we felt rushed! The first course arrived before we were half finished with our cocktail. The place was full but it wasn't like there were people waiting for a table. Overall it still is the nicest place in Perth for a special dinner. I would recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was amazing, ambiance plus, service ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was amazing, ambiance plus, service was fantastic! 10+

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dishes, outstanding presentati ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious dishes, outstanding presentation, great ambiance and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great evening at the Stone Cellar. Foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2016

A great evening at the Stone Cellar. Food was excellent and not over priced. My husband had the duck and I had rack of lamb...kudos to the Chef! Fine dining atmosphere and friendly wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening. Food was wonderful, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a great evening. Food was wonderful, and service was very friendly and attentive. Restaurant is very classy and is reasonably priced. Have been a couple of times and have never been disappointed. Would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy access and parking on the street. E ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Easy access and parking on the street. Excellent ambience and outsdanting service! Food was really good, although portions were a bit small. Great list of wine.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we walked in we felt wel ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. The only thing that was better than the food (which was great) was the service. Even though the restaurant was busy we never waited for anything. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday at the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday at the Stone Cellar. It was a perfect night! Lovely intimate atmosphere. We shared a delicious app of melted brie with berry compote and crustinis. For dinner, my husband chose the Duck a L'orange and I chose the fish special of grilled salmon. Both dishes were served beautifully on slate slabs. The duck melted in your mouth and the salmon was perfect! I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was fabulous----Rack of lamb t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The steak was fabulous----Rack of lamb the worst that I have ever seen. They should be sourcing this product at Costco. The amount of meat MIGHT equal 1 small lamb chop!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steaks, Would travel miles for ano ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great steaks, Would travel miles for another meal at th Stone C llar

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went early on a week night, so place was ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went early on a week night, so place was not crowded. Service was efficient and cordial.

Appetizers of scallops and crab cakes were delicious. Torpedo chicken quite good. Meat loaf was good but lacked spice and could have been more flavorful. Overall, very good.

The on-line reservation system though was a challenge. Very tedious to learn when there might be available seating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our visit to the Stone Cellar was outsta ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our visit to the Stone Cellar was outstanding as usual! The food was fabulous and the service was great. The friendly atmosphere is characteristic of the Perth area in general. They offered a good choice of top notch wines, both red and white as well as a good variety of locally brewed craft beer. We would highly recommend the Stone Cellar for lunch, dinner or just a quick snack. If you are looking for a great spot for dinner outside of Kanata/Ottawa, it's worth the drive!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, the waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was delicious, the waitress was friendly, the atmosphere was cosy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Though it was busy our server, Shira was ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Though it was busy our server, Shira was on top of everything. Food came in a timely manner. A handy bottle of water was on the table and she re-filled it for us. The food was delectable. Shira gave us a different table upon request when we arrived. A sub-chef came to talk to us after our meal. People at the next table took our photos and we took theirs, too! The ambience was perfect, and the food was superior.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm gluten intolerant and the staff were ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I'm gluten intolerant and the staff were very good at recommending items and the chef was able to substitute some foods for others. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not a good experience. Mediocre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was not a good experience. Mediocre food, service at a high (relative) price.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were particularly impressed and pleas ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were particularly impressed and pleased with the help we received in selecting a wine to go with our meals. the owner was on site and he was able to provide us with excellent guidance and he offered us a sample of the wines we were considering which was very helpful. As a result, we were confident in buying the whole bottle to enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Some of our entrees were very good. Chi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Some of our entrees were very good. Chicken was dry, $23 meatloaf was okay, but not exceptional, coffee was cold. Appetizers came relatively quickly then a very long wait for main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A lovely evening of very fine dining and ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 26, 2016

A lovely evening of very fine dining and warm, hospitable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i have enjoyed meals at The Stone Cellar ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 25, 2016

i have enjoyed meals at The Stone Cellar several times in the past few years, but may not return. Although I had made a reservation for 6, the 1 server was unable to cope -- we waited 10 minutes or MORE each for our orders to be taken, for the beer to arrive, for the food, for the bill, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The Stone Cellar is well situated in the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Stone Cellar is well situated in the lovely town of Perth; the building and decor is very inviting and includes an outdoor patio at the back. Service was welcoming, friendly and professional. Everything on the lunch menu sounded good but in the end I had the quiche of the day which came with sweet potato frites (best I have had anywhere) and a small salad. My husband had the fish and frites but substituted the frites with salad ( does not care for sweet potatoes). Both meals were excellent; I would have liked the quiche to be a bit hotter ( temperature, not spices) but I still enjoyed every mouthful! We will definitely be back, it is only an hour from home!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first wedding anniversary tha ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was our first wedding anniversary that we were celebrating. We were very pleased with the service and food . Thank you for being a part of our special day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have eaten at this rest ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at this restaurant many times, and have always found it to be very good. Unfortunately, however, this last visit was not up to par. The steak was overcooked and the chocolate cake was stale. As well, the menu has remained unchanged for several years, and could do with an overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very nice Sunday dinner on a relatively ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very nice Sunday dinner on a relatively quiet evening. Can highly recommend our dinner choices - the Ceasar salad, pear and blue cheese salad, crab cakes, Chicken Torpedo and the chocolate cake. This was our third time at Stone Cellar - always enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, good food, wines quite e ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambience, good food, wines quite expensive, after a good start only mediocre service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Meal was outstanding and the service was ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Meal was outstanding and the service was reflective of the town, warm and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambience. We all had the veggie b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great ambience. We all had the veggie burgers. Needed more spice or flavour. The Sweet Potato fries were cold. Our waitress was friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were in for Saturday lunch for a repe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were in for Saturday lunch for a repeat visit from a previous year (and, in retrospect , glad we could make a reservation using Open Table).

Love the decor and the three of us found our entrees to be excellent, particulary with their reasonable portion size. It was just right. Service was good with two servers to handle the lower floor (inside) and the patio outside in the rear. We would definitely return if visiting Perth again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gastronomic Excellence!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We came to Perth Ontario to celebrate our anniversary, and decided to try The Stone Cellar. I'm so glad we did!

This was one of my top dining experiences! From start to finish, it was an excellent experience. The server brought out complimentary champagne served in glass flower stem flutes. A really beautiful presentation!

The meals: Well, let me just say my 6 oz filet was THE BEST STEAK I've EVER eaten in a restaurant! Done to perfection and served with their own steak butter and steamed and roasted seasonal vegetables. My wife chose two apps; the Caesar salad, presented on a board and according to her, one of the best she's ever eaten. She also had the sea scallops and said they were amazing!

The ambiance, food presentation, food taste and service were all A-1, and I will definitely be going back to The Stone Cellar! Well worth the drive, even from Ottawa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find in Perth

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a fantastic evening with amazing food and service. Some of the wines on the wine list are rather pricey but that apart we could not fault the venue and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were in town for the weeke ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and ended up coming here for supper. We have eaten here before and have enjoyed the food and atmosphere. On this occasion my wife had the rack of lamb while I had duck. Both were outstanding. The waitress was very nice and the whole experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our new favourite restaurant.

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Stone Cellar was recommended to us and we were not dissappointed. Cozy decor within a heritage building. The staff throughout our visit were the friendliest we have encountered anywhere. We enjoyed the crab cakes. fish and chips, chicken pot pie and a cesar salad that is so fresh and flavourful. Every item showed great attention to detail. The chocolate cake is incredible. All in all The Stone Cellar made for a memorable mother's day brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambia ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 28, 2016

The restaurant has a nice feel and ambiance. The menu is small. The wine selection is good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing & we had an amazing waitress

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 18, 2016

We had lovely seating and were given our choice of wherever we wanted. We had amazing samples. The waitress was absolutely lovely and so nice. I had the Duck a L'orange it was amazing. the starch of the day was mashed potatoes and they were the best I'd ever had. My date has the 6 oz steak and said it was amazing. I would definitely come here again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.