Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Stone Cellar

The perfect place to enjoy friends and family over great food and wine and excellent service in a setting of warmth, style and good taste in an Heritage setting. The Stone Cellar offers a memorable dining experience for visitors and discerning Perth residents alike.

71 Gore Street East
Perth, ON K7H 1H8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm. Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Friday 5:00pm - 8:30pm. Saturday & Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(613) 267-0200

Website:
http://www.thestonecellar.com/

The Stone Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Nicely presented and very tasty. We will return again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was great but too warm to enjoy the meal. The temperature was in the 30's and no air conditioning. I definitely could not go there on a hot day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We were touring in Perth with an out of town guest and decided to have dinner at The Stone Cellar. The meal was delicious and the service was friendly. Will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I consider myself somewhat of a " Fish and Chips" expert because I always try to have fish and chips whenever I travel: i.e. London, England; East Coast, West Coast. The Stone Cellar's fish and chips were some of the best ever. Veggie burger was also delicious. Service was attentive, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This restaurant continues the historical small town feel of down town Perth. It's quant relaxed space adds to the warmth of this romantic dining experience. Every time we visit they consistently surprise us with another delicious meal. Their servers are friendly and professional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We have eaten there before and that is why we returned with friends who had not been there before.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was outstanding! The food was absolutely amazing. Definitely would recommend this place for anniversaries or date night.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent and tasty. We were offered a better table when we arrived. Service was great. The server was very attentive and the owner was very informative with wine selections. We went for Valentine's Day and there was a specific menu offering two great choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Made reservations for Valentines Day and was not disappointed. Excellent friendly, attentive service with relatively quiet surroundings enhanced the experience of a delicious meal. We'll be back!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had the daily special and it was worth twice what we paid for it. I will go there again the next time we are anywhere near Perth. The staff and service are superior!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

group of 6- The "Specials" were very good, but other meals seemed like they were nor freshly made.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was fantastic! We all enjoyed the experience, but we had to go and get the waitress for anything extra we needed.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary so wanted a nice place to have a romantic meal. The Stone Cellar came through and we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Nice atmosphere and very good service along with excellent food. We will go back again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Best restaurant in Perth. Elegantly decorated. Great, friendly service. Superb menu with gourmet flavor. I try to go every time I'm in Perth

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and Meagan was a charm!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was very good , nice ambiance. Worth checking out when in Perth

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A very enjoyable evening with good food, friendly and attentive service. Staff were engaging and knowledgeable
Would recommend without any reservation

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A nice, quiet evening out with my husband. Comfortable surroundings, delicious food and excellent service. Can't wait to go back again.
(And the election special was a fun twist!!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We enjoyed our meal with friends a lot. It was busy and we had to wait longer than expected for the food but is was well prepared and tasty. Becasue of service delays paying and getting out was rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We found the entrees good but not creative and the dessert mousse was unfortunately terrible but creme brule good

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect for a rainy October anniversary dinner, fire place, beautiful wine cellar ambiance. The food was very good, mushroom soup was superb. I ordered the salmon that was their special. Rather disappointing. Over salted peppercorn crust, on a too salty to eat rice. The vegetables were perfect. My husband had the rack of lamb, the blueberry sauce was amazing, but the lamb was so fatty. For dessert they only had 3choices of pie (by the time we were ready for dessert at 8:30). Who wants pie for a special night out! The wine choices were excellent, even by the glass. Overall we felt rushed! The first course arrived before we were half finished with our cocktail. The place was full but it wasn't like there were people waiting for a table. Overall it still is the nicest place in Perth for a special dinner. I would recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was amazing, ambiance plus, service was fantastic! 10+

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious dishes, outstanding presentation, great ambiance and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2016

A great evening at the Stone Cellar. Food was excellent and not over priced. My husband had the duck and I had rack of lamb...kudos to the Chef! Fine dining atmosphere and friendly wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a great evening. Food was wonderful, and service was very friendly and attentive. Restaurant is very classy and is reasonably priced. Have been a couple of times and have never been disappointed. Would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Easy access and parking on the street. Excellent ambience and outsdanting service! Food was really good, although portions were a bit small. Great list of wine.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. The only thing that was better than the food (which was great) was the service. Even though the restaurant was busy we never waited for anything. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday at the Stone Cellar. It was a perfect night! Lovely intimate atmosphere. We shared a delicious app of melted brie with berry compote and crustinis. For dinner, my husband chose the Duck a L'orange and I chose the fish special of grilled salmon. Both dishes were served beautifully on slate slabs. The duck melted in your mouth and the salmon was perfect! I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The steak was fabulous----Rack of lamb the worst that I have ever seen. They should be sourcing this product at Costco. The amount of meat MIGHT equal 1 small lamb chop!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great steaks, Would travel miles for another meal at th Stone C llar

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went early on a week night, so place was not crowded. Service was efficient and cordial.
Appetizers of scallops and crab cakes were delicious. Torpedo chicken quite good. Meat loaf was good but lacked spice and could have been more flavorful. Overall, very good.
The on-line reservation system though was a challenge. Very tedious to learn when there might be available seating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our visit to the Stone Cellar was outstanding as usual! The food was fabulous and the service was great. The friendly atmosphere is characteristic of the Perth area in general. They offered a good choice of top notch wines, both red and white as well as a good variety of locally brewed craft beer. We would highly recommend the Stone Cellar for lunch, dinner or just a quick snack. If you are looking for a great spot for dinner outside of Kanata/Ottawa, it's worth the drive!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was delicious, the waitress was friendly, the atmosphere was cosy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Though it was busy our server, Shira was on top of everything. Food came in a timely manner. A handy bottle of water was on the table and she re-filled it for us. The food was delectable. Shira gave us a different table upon request when we arrived. A sub-chef came to talk to us after our meal. People at the next table took our photos and we took theirs, too! The ambience was perfect, and the food was superior.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I'm gluten intolerant and the staff were very good at recommending items and the chef was able to substitute some foods for others. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was not a good experience. Mediocre food, service at a high (relative) price.
Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were particularly impressed and pleased with the help we received in selecting a wine to go with our meals. the owner was on site and he was able to provide us with excellent guidance and he offered us a sample of the wines we were considering which was very helpful. As a result, we were confident in buying the whole bottle to enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Some of our entrees were very good. Chicken was dry, $23 meatloaf was okay, but not exceptional, coffee was cold. Appetizers came relatively quickly then a very long wait for main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 26, 2016

A lovely evening of very fine dining and warm, hospitable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 25, 2016

i have enjoyed meals at The Stone Cellar several times in the past few years, but may not return. Although I had made a reservation for 6, the 1 server was unable to cope -- we waited 10 minutes or MORE each for our orders to be taken, for the beer to arrive, for the food, for the bill, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.