Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The SteakHouse

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Casual (22)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Music (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Ours server was outstanding. Steaks were a bit overdone, but still delicious. Birthday cake was a nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent! The food was cook very well and was served promptly. The restaurant was very clean. I wish I could remember our server name because she was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

As close to a perfect dining experience as you could get.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As a long time patron of The Steakhouse we find it to be a prime example of getting how to greet and serve everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Julie our waitress was excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Been going for many years and have never had a bad moment. Love the servers, Julie, Sandy and several others; no marginal people here!! Thanks for giving back .

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We both ordered steaks and they were very tender and delicious. We will eat there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My husband and I go to The Steakhouse for special occasions. The food is delicious, staff is always friendly and attentive and the atmosphere is romantic and quiet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a great time, celebrated my Birthday and our friends Anniversary. Going again next month to celebrate our 56th Anniversary with our same friends. Our waitress was very pleasant, helpful and added to our enjoyable meal. I did remember her first name it was Sandy, I WILL ask for her again if she is on when we go next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Had a nice evening out with my husband. I don't know why you have to have 50 characters.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, a menu that covers everyone's tastes, even the most finicky. Very substantial portions.
Even though we were very casually dressed, we were treated as royalty.
We were a group of 6 given enough space for 10, during peak dinner hours. Not rushed or harried.
We will be back. ASAP
All the way from Central Texas...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Have eaten at the Steakhouse many times. Typically the service is great & the food is exceptional. This visit was much different. The service was poor. Don't know if they were understaffed or just poorly trained server. Bus staff never cleaned the table or offered to refill water glasses. Had to ask for a refill of water while two co-diner glasses were ignored. Alomst one hour before dinner was served. Food was cold when served. We will return because of the great prior experineces. Won't be back if the experience was as bad as this visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love this steakhouse and go, at least, twice a yr for our birthdays. Service is excellent. Love the little cake given to us on our birthdays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Top 5 meal I ever had. Beef filet best! Oscar best, subtle tarragon. Chef knows his stuff. Thanks from another chef.

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very good food, enjoy everytime we go there. Waitress' are great and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Superb food. Really enjoyed the experience. Great waitstaff, good menu options, well-prepared food. Hard to beat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The quality of the steaks was choice. Not what you expect from a steakhouse. The wait staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food is always well made and fresh. The service as always outstandingly friendly and cordial. The staff is attentive and does everything they can to tend to your requests. We have been here for the past 5 years and have always found this to be true. We would always recommend their steaks especially, they are primo.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have been coming for years and have never had a bad experience. The waitstaff is friendly and attentive and would not think twice about returning your food to the kitchen in case it wasn't cooked to your satisfaction. Absolutely the best restaurant in Cripple Creek.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent meal!! One of the best filet's ever and great service. We highly recommend this steakhouse to everyone and we will return. Wonderful night out.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My filet was tender & delicious. My husband had the ribs and the meat just fell off the bone! The salads were good, but the side dishes are mediocre (typical baked potato; mashed with dark gravy; fries; dull veggies). It would be nice to have a better choice of sides (ex: fresh seasonal vegs).

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We came to celebrate our 6 year anniversary and it was perfect! The food was delicious and the service was great. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was great-we had the seafood buffet. Service was more than outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

the host was blazaa and seemed to have favorite customers, we waited a long time even though we had reservations.
The waitress was great but we could tell she was afraid we were not going to tip her cause we had comp tickets for our meal. We tipped her well by the way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Friendly staff, attentive, welcoming, tasty food, comfortable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always enjoy The Steakhouse. Food is goo, and staff always helpful and personable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The atmosphere was quiet and cozy. Very good meal selection. Service was excellent and food was delicious. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Normally excellent food, but I changed my order this time and got the boneless ribeye with mushrooms, ordered medium. they forgot the mushrooms when my steak was presented, and I had to send it back twice as it was medium rare...way too red for medium. Service was great, as usual. Must have been a new cook.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful steak. great service, very friendly staff. Steve always has a snile......We also enjoy the Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Consistently delicious food and excellent service. A bit pricey but it remains the finest restaurant in the area and reservations are necessary especially during tourist season. For the price and food quality the place could use some updating, at least to bring it up to quality fine dining. However, it is always busy so how it looks is not so critical, especially here in the mountains.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Steakhouse is always a 10 out of 10! We always try for reservations there when go to Cripple Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall, very disappointed with the food. Prime rib and vegetables were not good. Waitress seemed overwhelmed, service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

They know how to cook a steak. Perfection! The shrimp is great too.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had the best waitress ever. She was amazing. Hard worker--personal, and caring. She was the best part of dinner. I will take the time tell her hello the next time we are in the casino.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

WE ENJOYED a GREAT STEAK dinner and EXCELLENT service! THANK YOU!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always know what we'll order at the Steakhouse: the butter filet! We've never had a bad one, and if we're careful, there are plenty of leftovers for a satisfying meal the next day. We also like their table side guacamole, which is great when there are at least four people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food great service great wine. Never had a bad meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We have never had a bad meal. We eat there every year we visit. We are returning in September & I already have booked my reservations foe any available nights we are there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waitress Sandy was terrific even after considering she had to "apologize" to me twice... First, she had to advise myself and two of our guests that the onion soup was not available as the kitchen had "scorched" it! Next she apologized to me that the rice I had ordered with my meal was not available (this was at 5:00pm) and asked me to choose an alternate. When the food arrived my one guest that ordered the $40.00 crab legs was told they would bring a bowl out to dispose of the shells. That bowl arrived at the "end of the meal"! Finally, in the many times in the past I have used this restaurant they offered a free drink prior to dinner with reservations from the bar out front. This time we were told that policy no longer applies and we had to pay $28.00 for 4 drinks because we were "not" gambling at the bar....

In closing, I again compliment the effort of Sandy to make things as pleasant as she could, but would give the bar price value and the "lack" of menu options advertised that were actually available very low marks. At this point I am not certain I'll return OR recommend the Steakhouse to friends or family!


Robert

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Filet was my favorite and the mashed potatoes too!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.