About The SteakHouse

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (8)
Family Style (7)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and our anniversary. The Seafood Bisque was real good. My Butter Filet was delicious. It was so tender it almost melted in my mouth and had a great flavor, like it usually does, but my husband's Cherry Bomb pork chop (the Special of the day) was pretty tough, and he could hardly eat it. Otherwise everything was great. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here 10 times. It was in my ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have eaten here 10 times. It was in my top 5 for best prime rib. But the last two times was not good my prime rib was like rubber on new years day. I'm very sad about this place. I'm sure the cook left. You dont go from the best to the worst like that. And a sad thing for me was taking my family there in mid aug. and not only was it not to good but they could't even make the drink my sister asked for, they said the bartender was out or off or something...sad...that bill was over 200 bucks....i wont go back..now where can i go for a GOOD prime rib?..so sad..it was only 20 min. from me to.....sad....sad....sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was the best part about the exp ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was the best part about the experience. I had the seafood platter Plus lobster tail my friend had the king prime rib. I ordered their special classic martini for $8 it was nothing special. The room is quiet with very subdued lighting felt a bit dingy honestly. The fried seafood was tasty the baked potato I ordered had several large black spots in it and was mostly an . The prime rib was very delicious only complaint would be that it did not come with horseradish sauce it came with shaved horseradish which was extremely hot and spicy. We did not have dessert but I ordered a rusty nail as an after-dinner drink and it was very good. The dress is extremely casual I would say half the people there were in some sort of sweat suit sweat suit. Since our tab was $110 plus tip I did not feel that we got our money's worth even though the main meals were quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

This is 2nd time we have eaten here. Ver ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is 2nd time we have eaten here. Very good food, great service, nice atmosphere. Only issue was make sure you get reservations plenty early online.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service could not h ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent. Service could not have been better. Will return again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kasey is one of the best waitresses in t ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Kasey is one of the best waitresses in the Steakhouse. She is always very kind and friendly. She is very experienced and knows how to treat customers. We ask for her when we dine there. Give her a pay raise.

.

We love eating in the Steakhouse. It's the only reason I like coming to Cripple Creek. The food is always great tasting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, , Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We appreciate everything you did to make ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We appreciate everything you did to make our 44th anniversary a very memorable occasion. Making the reservations and your followup msgs to keep us informed made us feel important. We especially want to thank Heather for her outstanding service, enthusiastic personality and beautiful smile as she ensured we had a super celebration. We will definitely recommend the Steak House to all our friends! Sandy & Chris Large

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Porterhouse and Cowboy Ribeye ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had the Porterhouse and Cowboy Ribeye. Excellent Steak

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their food is always outstanding from st ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Their food is always outstanding from steaks to seafood to chicken and the staff there are always friendly, professional and super nice! Whenever we have company from out of town we always bring them there & have never been disappointed. We eat there whenever we get the opportunity!

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Family Style, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good and the food w ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service was very good and the food was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bacon dressing was cold, prime rib was a ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Bacon dressing was cold, prime rib was a little overdone and calamari was not cooked long enough. It was Christmas day so probably short staffed in kitchen. Usually an excellent dining experience, not so great this time, but will not keep us from returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We come to Bronco Billys alot with frien ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We come to Bronco Billys alot with friends and family and have always had a great experience I definitely recommend it for any body that wants a great get together, family experience, or a romantic date.

Marsha and Kayo

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food prepared perfectly and ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really good food prepared perfectly and great waitress service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster tail tasted funny and had to be ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lobster tail tasted funny and had to be sent back. Mashed potatoes had chunks in them...not sure what it was. Cheesy broccoli side that came with both meals had WAY TOO MUCH pepper seasoning...not even edible. Please pass along to the chef to ease off on the pepper. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was wonderful and presentation ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Waitress was wonderful and presentation was great. I think her name was Julie

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their Steaks are the best! Great atmosp ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Their Steaks are the best! Great atmosphere, also!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Porterhouse was a small 18 ounces for $4 ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Porterhouse was a small 18 ounces for $40-----I could have eaten two of them--

---waitress needs to use a tray versus carrying four plates with thumb in the salad---although, she was really cool

nice pour on the wine----

my wife's filet with Oscar sauce was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ribeye steak was not cooked the way I o ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Ribeye steak was not cooked the way I ordered it took a long time to get a new steak! Need a sign up that says silence your cell phones .

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very very good and plentifu ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was very very good and plentiful! #1 was our waitress....Kasie - she was absolutely delightful and made our dining experience extra special and fun! Good waitress and top notch personality!! She is a keeper!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julie was a great server and really enjo ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Julie was a great server and really enjoyed talking with her. Very professional and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our anniversary, had prime rib, s ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was our anniversary, had prime rib, shrimp and crab legs. Everything was delicious, server was attentive. Over all we had a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

the food was excellent our steaks were ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

the food was excellent our steaks were cooked perfectly the bread was very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, we had steak, salmon and ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very good food, we had steak, salmon and shrimp scampi. Everything was excellent. The service was outstanding. Great destination for a nice drive in the mountains. We will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Butter Filet is always delicious! F ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Butter Filet is always delicious! Friendly staff!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate at The Steakhouse on Thanksgiving ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

We ate at The Steakhouse on Thanksgiving. It was a very nice buffet, with some unique and delicious Thanksgiving foods. We have eaten at this restaurant in the past and have been very pleased with the food and service at that time also.

The only thing that was a little a little disappointing was that we did not know it was buffet only.

We made the reservations thru OpenTable, and we are not blaming them for the oversight. The Steakhouse should make it known to all the web sites like OpenTable when they are doing a buffet only, so customers can be informed before arriving to a long awaited meal at The Steakhouse that we would have liked to order off the regular menu.

This will not deter us from returning to eat here when we are in Cripple Creek again.

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy our food here and the Th ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy our food here and the Thanksgiving buffet was no exception. It was very well done and the food was kept hot and replenished. They even had a person to tell you what everything was. Yummy!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "pressed turkey roll" was a huge dis ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

The "pressed turkey roll" was a huge disappointment for a thanksgiving meal--tasteless and artificial...Seating by the kitchen doorway poor and distracting! Over priced for the mediocre buffet that it was! A $ 27.50 per person and you charge extra for iced tea? Wow! How cheap can you get!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

It was ok. Had to wait until 1pm for the ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was ok. Had to wait until 1pm for them to open for lunch, but then online would only let me get a 1:30 sitting. Creamy onion soup was recommended but it was just ok. The king prime rib was large but not much flavor. It's not gourmet food, it was cold when it came out. This wasn't our first visit and probably not our last, but it's not up to the standards it set upon opening years ago when Bronco Billys had fabulous customer service. When your waitress sits in a booth chatting with another guest and you are waiting on refills and your salad the customer service goes out the window. Still having it onsite is a benefit. Very very upset that the tbone in the cafe and the appetizer combos are off the menu. We've eaten 100s of tbones there always took friends and family there when visiting, but now we are seeking better dining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were delighted with our food, waitres ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were delighted with our food, waitress and value. It was much better than we had expected in a small town. The icing on the cake was the snow in the picturesque western town. Certainly a must do for dinner on our next trip to Cripple Creek, CO !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, , Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Steakhouse restaurant was casual in ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Steakhouse restaurant was casual in all aspects including staff appearance, food presentation, and overall seating choices. The food and service was slow and the ribeye steak was served on a plate with all vegetables, potato, toppings packed on a plate that couldn't hold all of it. If you do not like your food smashed together you need to tell them. For the price which was not inexpensive, they need to try harder to present food better and staff should look like "steakhouse" employees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Went for my husband's birthday. We had b ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. We had been to this restaurant many years ago and loved it. This time my husband couldn't even eat his steak as he felt that it was boiled and covered in a seasoning that tasted like ginger. I ordered the crab legs and they were ice cold, literally some parts were still frozen. $100 spent and I was not at all satisfied.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We have dinner at least twice a month th ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have dinner at least twice a month there and the last 2 times the Cowboy has not been cooked right. The waitress was amazing but the cook made me loose my appetite. This is our favor place so looking forward I hope it doesn't happen again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value5

We always get the filet mignon. It's co ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always get the filet mignon. It's consistently good flavorful. My had salmon and was a large portion and tasty well. Our server, Sandy, is always amazing. Great place go. It's our favorite Cripple Creek restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was cold an took a long time to rec ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

food was cold an took a long time to receive it !! Fish did not taste well . Shrimp were a lot smaller than normal !! The service Staff was confused over who was waiting on tables !!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Lately the food has not been cooked to r ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lately the food has not been cooked to request desire. Brought the other half for his birthday in July & was his first time here. His steak was sent back 3 times cause wasn't cooked to his askings. In the end his meal was comped. So he wanted to try again this past Fri & loved all of it except it was my turn for my meat to b rare when asked for medium. I've been told by 2 of your waitresses & not the one I always get now, that employee's are treated different. By the outcome of our 2 visits lately it appears that way. It'll b another while b4 I try eating there, since not having any luck. The waitress Sandy is FANTASTIC & I can see why she's requested alot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks are always so great!! The prices ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Steaks are always so great!! The prices are reasonable for the quality!! Cajun butter filet is the bomb!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been coming for over twenty year ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

We have been coming for over twenty years still the best ever

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks and seafood are all very good and ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Steaks and seafood are all very good and well prepared. Love the cheesy potatoes. The only real knock was the vegetable of choice on the eve we dined. It was said to be brussel sprouts, but none of us could choke it down. I would give 5 stars overall if there were a better choice for side vegetable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I both ordered the fillet ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I both ordered the fillet medium rare and they both came out almost well done. The waitress took them back and we waited to have them replaced while the other members at our table ate and had their food finished by the time our steaks were replaced. We have eaten here many times and never had this problem. We will not be going back for awhile. It was a real disappointment this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

The SteakHouse is an amazing dinning gem ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

The SteakHouse is an amazing dinning gem hidden in Cripple Creek! The service was amazing from the time we checked in with our reservation to the time we were ready to leave. The servers know you are there to enjoy the meal, they wait for you to finish the appetizers before bringing on the main course. They are not in a rush to get you in and out, truly a customer service kind of restaurant!

The food, oh the food, everything was cooked perfect and just how we ordered it. We did skip on the desert and went across the street and got some famous fudge, still working on it too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.