Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The SteakHouse

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (17)
Casual (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful steak. great service, very friendly staff. Steve always has a snile......We also enjoy the Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Consistently delicious food and excellent service. A bit pricey but it remains the finest restaurant in the area and reservations are necessary especially during tourist season. For the price and food quality the place could use some updating, at least to bring it up to quality fine dining. However, it is always busy so how it looks is not so critical, especially here in the mountains.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Steakhouse is always a 10 out of 10! We always try for reservations there when go to Cripple Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall, very disappointed with the food. Prime rib and vegetables were not good. Waitress seemed overwhelmed, service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

They know how to cook a steak. Perfection! The shrimp is great too.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had the best waitress ever. She was amazing. Hard worker--personal, and caring. She was the best part of dinner. I will take the time tell her hello the next time we are in the casino.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

WE ENJOYED a GREAT STEAK dinner and EXCELLENT service! THANK YOU!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always know what we'll order at the Steakhouse: the butter filet! We've never had a bad one, and if we're careful, there are plenty of leftovers for a satisfying meal the next day. We also like their table side guacamole, which is great when there are at least four people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food great service great wine. Never had a bad meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We have never had a bad meal. We eat there every year we visit. We are returning in September & I already have booked my reservations foe any available nights we are there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waitress Sandy was terrific even after considering she had to "apologize" to me twice... First, she had to advise myself and two of our guests that the onion soup was not available as the kitchen had "scorched" it! Next she apologized to me that the rice I had ordered with my meal was not available (this was at 5:00pm) and asked me to choose an alternate. When the food arrived my one guest that ordered the $40.00 crab legs was told they would bring a bowl out to dispose of the shells. That bowl arrived at the "end of the meal"! Finally, in the many times in the past I have used this restaurant they offered a free drink prior to dinner with reservations from the bar out front. This time we were told that policy no longer applies and we had to pay $28.00 for 4 drinks because we were "not" gambling at the bar....

In closing, I again compliment the effort of Sandy to make things as pleasant as she could, but would give the bar price value and the "lack" of menu options advertised that were actually available very low marks. At this point I am not certain I'll return OR recommend the Steakhouse to friends or family!


Robert

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Filet was my favorite and the mashed potatoes too!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our friends enjoyed the meal overall. The lamb was cooked to ordered doneness and the sauce was tasty,but a side order of bernaise sauce was bland with no tarragon at all,really just egg yolk and butter.This was disappointing as the bernaise sauce had been a favorite for years.The vegetables were more raw than al dente and the baked potato I had was not completely done.The busser knocked a martini over into a plate of food,but did replace the drink.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Waited the longest time for service. Took a super long time to get drinks out and then the salads took over 30 minutes.Meals were forever. I received 1 cup of coffee and was never refilled. Waitress disappeared. Food was just slightly warm. Worst experience ever. Should have complained but not my style. I know you won't care but I won't be back. Too bad, normally great time and food and wait staff

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Kitchen lost our order. Wait staff excellent but lost order was inexcusable. Over 1 hr just sitting.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Menu could be a little more diversified. Husband's rare steak was served medium.
Service was excellent though. Would I recommend this to a friend? Sure, but thank the good Lord for the elevator. We're from Pa. and the elevation is a killer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent food and service 100% of the time. Never been let down. Fine dining at it's best

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service is incredible!!! It's always a pleasure to eat there!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Such a wonderful restaurant with tasty food, nicest atmosphere, kind people, felt nice and comfy. Portions were huge, and delicious guacamole!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Not as good as it used to be, but still very good. Been going there since they first opened years and years ago. The steaks are still awesome! Used to order oscar style, but their grade of crab meat has gotten pretty bad. The filet is sooo good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good experience, but my ribeye was undercooked and tough.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding service and dinning.

The stuffed lobster was superb and would highly recommend it. This was our second time at the Steakhouse and will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food & service. Seated right on time! Enjoyed the waitress's food suggestions!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food and atmosphere was great. The waitstaff fouled up on the meal delivery so our meal was delayed for about on hour. The "Birthday Girl" meal was wrong but the staff said they did not want to delay the dinner any further The management did adjust the cost but this was the worst experience we have had at this restaurant. Other than the wait and one meal delivered not as ordered , the food is great. Steaks were cut with a fork. I still believe this is the best steak house in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The stuffed lobster was certainly worth the drive and the waitress was outstanding. The waitress was a true customer service professional. A reservation is a must though; we saw several customers who could not get in due to a lack of a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

NY steat was tough , had too much fat gristle, not a good value, baked potato was dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I never write reviews but our experience at this place was TERRIBLE. We ate there 6/17/2017 in the evening and the both my wife's dinner and mine did not include all the ingredients that were supposed to come with the meal according to what the menu said (we had to ask for them). The steaks were tuff and over cooked, they charged us incorrectly, and when I asked about the charges the manager came out and was very rude and then walked away before hearing what the problem was. For the price of the food you can DEFINITELY find, better food, better service, for less at other places in cripple creek.

I believe in writing detailed reviews so here is EXACTLY what happened:

When we were there they had a father's day special that said on the special that it was a Buffalo prime rib with choice of two sides for $35 dollars. When placing my order I asked the waitress very clearly if there would be an additional charge for the sides I ordered, she said no. Both my wife and I ordered steaks and we both asked for them to be cooked medium. The steaks came back well done not medium, my wifes steak was supposed to have blue cheese on top it did not we had to ask for it. And my steak was supposed to have caramalized onions and mushrooms on it and it did not have those as well.

They then charged me an extra for the sides I ordered after the waitress told me I would not be. When I asked about the charges the waitress said that she would see what she could do. I don't know what the waitress told the manager but the manger then came out pointed out the text on the menu that I guess I should have believed over the waitress and walked away without hearing what the problem was.

We will never ever be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Steakhouse was amazing! The service was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our service was great, friendly and easy to ask questions about the menu and the food items. Our rib eye steak was cooked as we requested. The baked potato was nice and white inside, no brown. We enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My wife and I are newly married and she had never been to the steakhouse. I have. Excellent food, appetizers and service. A very nice place to eat!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Reservation suggested. But not needed. We love it and will go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Our server was attentive even though she missed part of my order. Still, it did not detract from the experience. The restaurant is nice and makes a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, friends and service. We had steak, prime rib and crab legs. It was delicious!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a great meal, enjoyed the waitress, very nice & good service.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The last couple of times I have gone to The Steakhouse the food has not been that good. Not sure if they have a new cook. Previously I have raved about the food there. The service was slow, unlike previous visits.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We just ate here for the first time 2 weeks ago, and had to make a point of coming back. Lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I could not attend but my son, his wife and my granddaughter did. They were ignored, forgotten and then ignored again. Totally unacceptable for such a great steakhouse. Probably a new server but the other servers should have helped her.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent. Atmosphere was exceptional. We will be back you can be sure. Had to cancel the original reservation but the hostess was very understanding and we made the make up reservation as soon as we got back in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding and friendly. Fast seating with a reservation. Thought it was a little pricey though. Two of us with an appetizer, no drinks, and no desert was $100.00.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dinner was great, Friendly staff. Great place for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.