Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The SteakHouse

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

NY steat was tough , had too much fat gristle, not a good value

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Steakhouse was amazing! The service was friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. We'll definitely be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our service was great, friendly and easy to ask questions about the menu and the food items. Our rib eye steak was cooked as we requested. The baked potato was nice and white inside, no brown. We enjoyed our meal very much.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My wife and I are newly married and she had never been to the steakhouse. I have. Excellent food, appetizers and service. A very nice place to eat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Reservation suggested. But not needed. We love it and will go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Our server was attentive even though she missed part of my order. Still, it did not detract from the experience. The restaurant is nice and makes a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, friends and service. We had steak, prime rib and crab legs. It was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a great meal, enjoyed the waitress, very nice & good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The last couple of times I have gone to The Steakhouse the food has not been that good. Not sure if they have a new cook. Previously I have raved about the food there. The service was slow, unlike previous visits.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We just ate here for the first time 2 weeks ago, and had to make a point of coming back. Lovely.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was excellent. Atmosphere was exceptional. We will be back you can be sure. Had to cancel the original reservation but the hostess was very understanding and we made the make up reservation as soon as we got back in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding and friendly. Fast seating with a reservation. Thought it was a little pricey though. Two of us with an appetizer, no drinks, and no desert was $100.00.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dinner was great, Friendly staff. Great place for a date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A great surprise!! Very good food and great service!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent ribeye steak, at a reasonable price, with good side items. The calamari appetizer is also very good--lightly breaded and tender. The dining room is small, but the booths are nicely arranged for privacy and a quiet meal, and the service is quick and efficient. I've eaten here many times, and it has always been well worth the drive (which, by the way, is very scenic).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was good!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

You will be amazed at everything this restaurant has to offer! Fantastic service, soups and salads that are out of this world and main dishes Iike prime rib, steaks, chicken and sea food that are simply unbelievable! You'd be expecting to pay much more for the meal somewhere else. TIP: The Steakhouse is only open Thursday through Sunday and reservations are STRONGLY suggested! My wife and I have been coming here since it opened and have NEVER been disappointed in anything!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful meal and great service. Will keep coming back. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great waitress and great good, seating for our reservation was right as scheduled, highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very happy with the food and service, food is a bit too pricey.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Staff is great and food superb, love going for a meal there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Another wonderful experience! I would recommend your fine restaurant to anyone, in fact I often to friends and family. I take new people there as often as I can to let them experience the wonderful food and the great staff! Everyone there are always so pleasant! Thanks again for a wonderful meal!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Dancing, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This is the best place in Cripple Creek to eat! They never disappoint. I would recommend anything on the menu, especially a steak.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I requested a reservation for 8:00 PM was turned down, and had one for 7:30. When 8:00 rolled around there were plenty of tables. Not quite sure why my request was rejected.

I would also like to see the surf and turf return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I ordered my steak medium well, which in my past experience has a hint of pink. The steak came out well done. I expressed my concern to the wait staff and was told that I should have ordered medium plus. i am not familiar with "medium plus" and it was the first time I have heard the term. Needless to say the wait staff did not offer to send it back so I had 4 bites of my steak and was not happy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We've been trying to get in for a long time, but always think of it too late to get a reservation. It was worth the wait. Had their special, which was Beef Tips with Fresh Blackberries - delicious. Service was great - got in right at reservation time - server was super nice. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sandy, Jessica & Heather are fantastic! All will take care of your party.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waitress was amazing and friendly. Food was tasty. Steak was cooked perfect.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Butter Filet was fantastic, service was great. They gave me a Birthday cake! Awesome :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We have been around the world and back , but There is no place like the Bronco Billy
Steakhouse for food,service, friendly employees and friendly atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Enjoyed celebrating my Husband's birthday. I love the food and atmosphere at the Steakhouse. I always recommend it to people heading up to Cripple Creek.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is the best food by far in Cripple Creek, the food is a great value for the money. It is even a better value if you play enough to earn comp points to make your meal free. The food is the closest to a five star dining experience you will find in Cripple Creek. It was delightful to be able to enjoy the dinning experience without having to feel like one must speak in a loud voice or yell to the person across from you. I would recommend the Steak House to anyone looking for fine dining but would recommend that you make your reservation at least a week or more in advance to hold the time one would like to dine as this speaks to the popularity of the Steak House.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We all had the lobster dinner. The some of the lobster on all of our plates were COLD.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The lamb chops were great. Our waitress was fantastic. The wine was good. The music playing was nice and volume set just right to have a conversation. You get a birthday cake for your birthday which is wonderful. A very enjoyable experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

consistently good food, super steaks, good service, best to make reservations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We always ENJOY eating at The SteakHouse and frequently take visiting family members, out of state visitors and friends, as guests.
They offer a nice variety on their menu and their Crème Brule is awesome, as is the Kona Coffee! Reservations are strongly recommended, especially for Friday or Saturday dining. The entire staff is friendly and efficient. Thank You

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a great experience here. I had the NY Strip and my wife had the butter filet, both were cooked as asked for and very flavorful. We came up to Cripple Creek for my wife's birthday, and since she belongs to Bronco Billy's players club The Steakhouse gave her a free small birthday cake to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sandy was a great server ! Food was great. Will for sure go again !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is not the normal food and service I expect from the Steakhouse, the waitress was barely around ( at one point I had to ask the busboy to go find her because we hadn't seen her in 30 minutes!) They pride themselves on their Steaks, however, mine was way overcooked, shoe leather. For a $40 steak, I got the Porterhouse it was a huge disappointment .My wifes Salmon was burnt on the botto as well. We went there for my wifes birthday, had to wait even though we had reservations. It seemed as though they did not plan enough staff. The fact that it was during the Ice Festival, I thought they would be better prepared. Truly disappointed this time with the Steakhouse. I am having reservations about going back now. The café downstairs would of been a better choice.
GaryM

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have eaten here several times and the food has been very good every single time. Julie is a waitress there and she is outstanding!! Great food and great service keeps us coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.