About The SteakHouse

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Cripple Creek ›

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (11)
Historic (11)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very very good and plentifu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very very good and plentiful! #1 was our waitress....Kasie - she was absolutely delightful and made our dining experience extra special and fun! Good waitress and top notch personality!! She is a keeper!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julie was a great server and really enjo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Julie was a great server and really enjoyed talking with her. Very professional and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our anniversary, had prime rib, s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our anniversary, had prime rib, shrimp and crab legs. Everything was delicious, server was attentive. Over all we had a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

the food was excellent our steaks were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

the food was excellent our steaks were cooked perfectly the bread was very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, we had steak, salmon and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very good food, we had steak, salmon and shrimp scampi. Everything was excellent. The service was outstanding. Great destination for a nice drive in the mountains. We will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Butter Filet is always delicious! F ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Butter Filet is always delicious! Friendly staff!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our food here and the Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy our food here and the Thanksgiving buffet was no exception. It was very well done and the food was kept hot and replenished. They even had a person to tell you what everything was. Yummy!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "pressed turkey roll" was a huge dis ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The "pressed turkey roll" was a huge disappointment for a thanksgiving meal--tasteless and artificial...Seating by the kitchen doorway poor and distracting! Over priced for the mediocre buffet that it was! A $ 27.50 per person and you charge extra for iced tea? Wow! How cheap can you get!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

It was ok. Had to wait until 1pm for the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was ok. Had to wait until 1pm for them to open for lunch, but then online would only let me get a 1:30 sitting. Creamy onion soup was recommended but it was just ok. The king prime rib was large but not much flavor. It's not gourmet food, it was cold when it came out. This wasn't our first visit and probably not our last, but it's not up to the standards it set upon opening years ago when Bronco Billys had fabulous customer service. When your waitress sits in a booth chatting with another guest and you are waiting on refills and your salad the customer service goes out the window. Still having it onsite is a benefit. Very very upset that the tbone in the cafe and the appetizer combos are off the menu. We've eaten 100s of tbones there always took friends and family there when visiting, but now we are seeking better dining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were delighted with our food, waitres ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were delighted with our food, waitress and value. It was much better than we had expected in a small town. The icing on the cake was the snow in the picturesque western town. Certainly a must do for dinner on our next trip to Cripple Creek, CO !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Steakhouse restaurant was casual in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Steakhouse restaurant was casual in all aspects including staff appearance, food presentation, and overall seating choices. The food and service was slow and the ribeye steak was served on a plate with all vegetables, potato, toppings packed on a plate that couldn't hold all of it. If you do not like your food smashed together you need to tell them. For the price which was not inexpensive, they need to try harder to present food better and staff should look like "steakhouse" employees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Went for my husband's birthday. We had b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. We had been to this restaurant many years ago and loved it. This time my husband couldn't even eat his steak as he felt that it was boiled and covered in a seasoning that tasted like ginger. I ordered the crab legs and they were ice cold, literally some parts were still frozen. $100 spent and I was not at all satisfied.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We have dinner at least twice a month th ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have dinner at least twice a month there and the last 2 times the Cowboy has not been cooked right. The waitress was amazing but the cook made me loose my appetite. This is our favor place so looking forward I hope it doesn't happen again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value5

We always get the filet mignon. It's co ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always get the filet mignon. It's consistently good flavorful. My had salmon and was a large portion and tasty well. Our server, Sandy, is always amazing. Great place go. It's our favorite Cripple Creek restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was cold an took a long time to rec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

food was cold an took a long time to receive it !! Fish did not taste well . Shrimp were a lot smaller than normal !! The service Staff was confused over who was waiting on tables !!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Lately the food has not been cooked to r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lately the food has not been cooked to request desire. Brought the other half for his birthday in July & was his first time here. His steak was sent back 3 times cause wasn't cooked to his askings. In the end his meal was comped. So he wanted to try again this past Fri & loved all of it except it was my turn for my meat to b rare when asked for medium. I've been told by 2 of your waitresses & not the one I always get now, that employee's are treated different. By the outcome of our 2 visits lately it appears that way. It'll b another while b4 I try eating there, since not having any luck. The waitress Sandy is FANTASTIC & I can see why she's requested alot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks are always so great!! The prices ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Steaks are always so great!! The prices are reasonable for the quality!! Cajun butter filet is the bomb!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been coming for over twenty year ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We have been coming for over twenty years still the best ever

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks and seafood are all very good and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Steaks and seafood are all very good and well prepared. Love the cheesy potatoes. The only real knock was the vegetable of choice on the eve we dined. It was said to be brussel sprouts, but none of us could choke it down. I would give 5 stars overall if there were a better choice for side vegetable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I both ordered the fillet ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I both ordered the fillet medium rare and they both came out almost well done. The waitress took them back and we waited to have them replaced while the other members at our table ate and had their food finished by the time our steaks were replaced. We have eaten here many times and never had this problem. We will not be going back for awhile. It was a real disappointment this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

The SteakHouse is an amazing dinning gem ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The SteakHouse is an amazing dinning gem hidden in Cripple Creek! The service was amazing from the time we checked in with our reservation to the time we were ready to leave. The servers know you are there to enjoy the meal, they wait for you to finish the appetizers before bringing on the main course. They are not in a rush to get you in and out, truly a customer service kind of restaurant!

The food, oh the food, everything was cooked perfect and just how we ordered it. We did skip on the desert and went across the street and got some famous fudge, still working on it too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food ever! My husband had ribs an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Best food ever! My husband had ribs and they were so tender and my steak was cooked perfectly .

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We used to love the Steak House while va ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We used to love the Steak House while vacationing in Cripple Creek. This visit I order the Roasted chicken. The wild rice and vegatbles we luke warm/cold. It was very disappointing to pay that much for a dinner and it wasn't hot. The waitress was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Nice place. A little pricey for what yo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Nice place. A little pricey for what you get. Food wasn't seasoned very much and tasted bland. Good overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We visit The Steakhouse at Bronco Billy' ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We visit The Steakhouse at Bronco Billy's regularly. The service is always great. The steak is excellent, but the vegetables are always over seasoned with garlic and in our opinion inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food. Did not like the extra charg ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food. Did not like the extra charge for bacon bits and cheese on the baked potato. The price of the food should have covered the extras.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service. Food was 5plus. So great for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service. Food was 5plus. So great for a celebration.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the shrimp cocktail was t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The quality of the shrimp cocktail was the BEST I've had in my life time!!! The Brownie is WOW fantastic!!! Keep up the Great work because we are coming back!!:-)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally, the food is good. However, we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Generally, the food is good. However, we were unhappy about two things. First, the spinach artichoke appetizer was very disappointing. We really enjoy this when it's served in a bowl that one can dip in. In this case, there was a layer of it below four pieces of bread. To help finish off the dip, chips were provided that were completely inappropriate.

Secondly, we were very excited about getting Bearnaise sauce on our filets. Bearnaise sauce is made of clarified butter emulsified in egg yolks and white wine vinegar and flavored with herbs. It looked like we got the butter and egg yolks but there was no hint of white wine vinegar or herbs. It was just an absolutely tasteless smear on our steaks.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Ordered the rib eye steaks. One was ver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ordered the rib eye steaks. One was very good, tender, and cooked as ordered. The other steak, although cooked to order, was hard to cut and chew. It had lots of gristle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Due to personal reasons I had not visite ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Due to personal reasons I had not visited the

steakhouse in a very long time. This past Saturday I joined friends for wine and dinner. My favorite meal had always been the butter filet and how happy I was that it was the same great steak. Super cut of meat and done perfectly. Very happy that I had suggested the Steakhouse to friends as we all enjoyed ourselves and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to Cripple Creek a couple ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We love to go to Cripple Creek a couple times a year - once for a Birthday and once because we can. There is lots to do and have been visiting for 50 years. We now make it MUST on our list to dine at The SteakHouse! They always do it right.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was exceptional as always. Have n ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Dinner was exceptional as always. Have never had a disappointing meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our 2nd time atThe Steakhouse. Fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was our 2nd time atThe Steakhouse. Food was good but the floor under our table moved when the staff would walk by. It was annoying but food was pretty good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The Lobster was not as expected.Will ne ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Lobster was not as expected.Will never eat Lobster there again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Been there several times and every time ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Been there several times and every time is as good as the last. Love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my husband and I our first visi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was my husband and I our first visit to Cripple Creek. I had made a reservation on-line. The service was good and the waitress was friendly. The steak we had was not as good as we are used getting in our own home town. However, I did like the bread and salad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We've dined here several times and this ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've dined here several times and this was the first that was less than perfect. Neither of our steaks arrived as ordered. Mine was close enough but hubby's got returned to the kitchen. It puts a damper on the whole evening when the timing is thrown off. After his meal was returned our waitress was less than attentive. She didn't check back for probably 15 minutes. Also rushed us at the end, delivering the check before even asking if we wanted dessert. All that said, my steak was excellent. This one off experience won't prevent us from returning...hopefully to the perfection we've come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Sandy & Jessica along with all of the ot ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Sandy & Jessica along with all of the other staff are GREAT!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands-down one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Hands-down one of the best restaurants in the state of Colorado worth the drive to Cripplecreek excellent food excellent service excellent environment

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.