About The SteakHouse

233 East Bennet Avenue
Cripple Creek, CO 80813
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse has been lauded as having the “Best Steak Dinner” in Cripple Creek and one of the best steakhouses in Southern Colorado. The Steakhouse is a hidden gem only an hour away from Colorado Springs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Thursday - Friday: 4:00pm -10:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm -9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

The SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Colorado Springs
4 More
Best Service
Colorado Springs
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Best Value
Colorado Springs
Special Occasion
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Cripple Creek ›

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Late-night Find (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been there several times and every time ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Been there several times and every time is as good as the last. Love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my husband and I our first visi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was my husband and I our first visit to Cripple Creek. I had made a reservation on-line. The service was good and the waitress was friendly. The steak we had was not as good as we are used getting in our own home town. However, I did like the bread and salad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We've dined here several times and this ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've dined here several times and this was the first that was less than perfect. Neither of our steaks arrived as ordered. Mine was close enough but hubby's got returned to the kitchen. It puts a damper on the whole evening when the timing is thrown off. After his meal was returned our waitress was less than attentive. She didn't check back for probably 15 minutes. Also rushed us at the end, delivering the check before even asking if we wanted dessert. All that said, my steak was excellent. This one off experience won't prevent us from returning...hopefully to the perfection we've come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Sandy & Jessica along with all of the ot ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Sandy & Jessica along with all of the other staff are GREAT!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands-down one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Hands-down one of the best restaurants in the state of Colorado worth the drive to Cripplecreek excellent food excellent service excellent environment

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to the steakhouse before and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had been to the steakhouse before and it was wonderful. We brought our son up for his 21st birthday and brought our daughter. We got seated fine and our first drinks and guacamole came out just fine. We waited about 20 minutes for our salads and two of the four were wrong. She replaced the wrong ones right away. My son and husband ordered another drink and we waited. And waited. It probably took another 20 minutes to get our meals. I ordered the queen size prime rib. It didn't come with any horseradish or au ju. The waitress asked and first I said yes I'd like horseradish not thinking there was no juice. She brought that and then I asked for au ju. Our drinks haven't arrived yet. I never did get the au ju and our drinks came at the end of the meal. I even had mine boxed up by the time the waitress came back. We were just ready to go by then. I think we would have ordered cake for my son because it was s special birthday but we thought we would be there another 40 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food and service always at The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service always at The Steakhouse; one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Our waitress wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was delicious. Our waitress was very personable. They messed our order up in the kitchen so as an apology for the extra wait they comped us our drinks. We will go back when in town. Fantastic steaks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was medium well when ordered mediu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Steak was medium well when ordered medium rare. We were given a $10 discount.

Husbands prime rib was rare when ordered medium. Was sent back and corrected.

Vegetables and mashed potatoes had strange flavors.

We have eaten at the steak house for years and this is the first time the food was not good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Always a quiet low key atmosphere here. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a quiet low key atmosphere here. Very friendly and attentive wait staff. Very fresh foods, steaks are always superior. Good value for a top notch dining experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great. Food quality is very high ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always great. Food quality is very high and I've had most of the menu over the years. Only bad thing is that the restaurant is closed Mon-Wed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was very ordinary and definately no ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was very ordinary and definately not worth the price. Service was adequate but impersonal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great dinner as always. Best place to e ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great dinner as always. Best place to eat in Cripple Creek

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Ambiance was goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was excellent. Ambiance was good. Steaks were overcooked the first time, undercooked the second time, finally got it right the third time, but were pretty much tasteless. Pretty sad for a $30 a piece steak.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

service was super slow.................. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

service was super slow................................................!

waitress was fantastic as always !!!! but kitchen was having trouble with new cooks

food was not good

under cooked shrimp- bad tasting soup of day-

will be back again but sorry review had to be low for that night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

We usually have a great meal in a nice a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We usually have a great meal in a nice atmosphere at The Steakhouse! The food wasn't the greatest at our last visit, but that will not stop us from visiting them again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Julie was our server and she was great! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Julie was our server and she was great! The noise level was a little more than we expected for a nice steakhouse-type restaurant but the service helped make up for that. The food was really good. We all enjoyed our meals and the dessert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Julie & Jessica, along with the rest of ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Julie & Jessica, along with the rest of the staff were outstanding!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was excellent, as good as it g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The steak was excellent, as good as it gets, and the service was 5 star.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, my steak was p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was excellent, my steak was perfectly seasoned at and cook the exact way I asked. The service was great and we are very happy with the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at the Steak house when we go to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We eat at the Steak house when we go to Cripple Creek! Normally the food excellent. This time the steak was luke warm at best and the chicken florentine was was almost burnt. It was a little disappointing for the price of the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service (friendly and caring ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding service (friendly and caring) and great food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a couple of friends that had not be ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Took a couple of friends that had not been before. We enjoyed the evening with great friends, great food and good conversation. The Steak House has not let me down yet. I have been at least 10 times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting, quiet tables and booths, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great setting, quiet tables and booths, very attentive wait staff. All menu items were cooked to perfection , our party of 4 was pleased with their meals. Our waitress, Julia, was a charm!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, the food was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was excellent, the food was great!!!! They were able to take us much so0ner than our reservations

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent as always.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food, great staff and a friendly environment. We have eaten at the Steakhouse numerous times. Would recommend for couples or small groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service excellent. The menu is varied, although rather pricey. This is not a place we would frequent often unless we had offers or coupons, which admittedly many people do, but it was worth it for our anniversary. This is a very nice place, competitive with the Colorado Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

awesome

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

of all the times I have been at Bronco Billy's did not know the steakhouse was there. Received a gift certificate and that is why I went. I now will revisit. I will recommend this restaurant to every one the food was excellent, Our waitress was wonderful It was quiet and we could hear each other talk. I would rate it a 5 out of 5

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

food great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

food great service could not have been better service was timley

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good and we enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was very good and we enjoyed our visit. Our servers were very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great Food. Nice booths. Food was spectacular. If your visiting Cripple Creek make reservations for this great restaraunt. Had steak and seafood amazing

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food & service! We had the ca ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food & service! We had the calamari, the king crab legs, the lamb chops, & the steak! All delicious! Prompt & friendly service! ! Make a reservation because very popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and we enjoyed the fr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was great and we enjoyed the fresh bread. We used some coupons and there was no problem with the server taking them and explaining how they work. The only thing was there was to much to eat and we could not try out one of the desserts. We plan to be back as some point soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was great the food was hot a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was great the food was hot and cook exactly as ordered and list waitstaff could not have been better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. This visit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding food and service. This visit was no exception. I highly recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Col food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ordered the ribs and they came cold. Our waitress sent them back and brought more that were actually warm and tasted good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent steaks!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great steaks! The mashed potatoes mixed with cheese was not the greatest:(

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

tecolote

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent, except the disgusting brussel sprouts as the vegetable. please turn the radio, or canned music down, as it was not a relaxing, classy, sound of music...be aware of this. Again,. I am commenting on the steak house at Bronco Billie's in Cripple Creek. other than the poor canned music selection, too loud, and the brussel sprouts it was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Food in Teller County

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Absolutely the best food and ambience in and around Teller County. My filet was so tender you could cut it with a knife. And perfectly cooked. We are thrilled to have such a high quality restaurant here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner date with my grandson

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was great. Service was top notch. We had seafood that was wonderful. The setting is very quiet and relaxing. Can't wait to go back for steak!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.