About The Standard at the Smith House

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining rooms available upon request, based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Kelsey Eller: 6157758717x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
9 More
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Food
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (26)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We'd never been to The Standard before, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We'd never been to The Standard before, and I have to say that it completely lived up to its great reputation. The food and service were both superb. I had informed the restaurant in advance that it was our 30th anniversary, and our server brought us complimentary champagne and dessert. Really a first-class experience all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the history of the Smith House - ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love the history of the Smith House - this is a very unique restaurant that has a lot of character! You immediately feel like you're in a different decade when you walk through the doors. The menu is solid and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Nashvi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Nashville. They are so friendly and the food is fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superior restaurant with excellent foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A superior restaurant with excellent food and outstanding, attentive service! A wonderful dinner celebrating our 44th anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a 'fine dining' experience. I ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely a 'fine dining' experience. It made our 35th wedding anniversary a memorable time. We will definitely go back to The Standard for future special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and atmosphere were all ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. The historical building was fascinating as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 59th anniversary ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 59th anniversary with our daughter. The evening was wonderful from the beginning with champagne. Hally took very good care of us throughout the evening. Valet parking greatly helps in that area on a busy night. Did not have an opportunity to tour but hope to at a future time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Multiple visits made here - never disapp ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Multiple visits made here - never disappointed. VERY friendly staff and terrific menu, with quiet ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just the best you can find if you want t ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Just the best you can find if you want to talk without a noisy environment. Great food Knowledgeable personnel. Great valet parking service. You feel respected and well treated. Love this place. Aston Msrtin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always superior at the stand ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is always superior at the standard at the smith house. Always look forward to see what the special of the evening is going to be. Excellent service & great food , ambiance also! What else could you ask for!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic. Very southern ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Very southern and the portions reflected that. Felt that there was good value for what we wanted and expected. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and attention from e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Exceptional service and attention from entrance to exit. Staff focus on personalized service and attention to detail. Shrimp and grits, salmon, and chicken dishes were very good. Ambience was very romantic and intimate. Definitely needs to be on your dinner list.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time hear and really enjoyed it. T ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

First time hear and really enjoyed it. The food and service were exceptional

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience from beginning to e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful experience from beginning to end. Staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and cordial. Excellent wine list complimented the meal. Loved the historical house charm and the quietness of the dinning room. My wife and I could actually hear ourselves speak to each other!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There are few restaurants which catapult ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

There are few restaurants which catapult into my top 5 list, and none had done so in a first visit before The Standard at the Smith House. The fact that we were greeted by name outside as we walked up the sidewalk from our hotel began the evening in rare style. The maitre D' was immediately attentive and friendly as he showed us to our table, and we even shared a quick story about a movie we both liked about which I have a special connection. Our server was incredibly friendly, willing to share her opinions on the choices and anything we wanted to know about the history of the Snith House. The two separate meals we selected were exquisitely prepared, the wine list superb, and our selection perfect. I have rarely enjoyed every single element of a restaurant dinner and the staff's service, from entrance through departure. If I lived in Nashville, it would be a monthly visit. I will put this American restaurant on a par with Fouquettes in Paris, Simpsons in London, and others of my experience at which the cooking represents the finest example of their nation's cuisine. Thank you for one of the most enjoyable and memorable restaurant experiences I have had in many years, the moredo because it was here, in Nashville (just named the Unites States friendliest city), in my country, the United States.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were on vacation in Nashvi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation in Nashville this past weekend and this is where we went for a romantic dinner. The ambience is amazing as the building is rich in history. They can actually fit a lot more tables in each room but they elected to protect the intimate feeling, which is great. The phone was very very good. The steak quality was just slightly below the high-end chain steakhouses (Ruth Chris, Mortons, Del Friscos, etc.). The sides and sauces has a southern-cooking feel to them was makes the place distinguishable. We had a four course meal with a bottle of wine for $250 with tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

1st visit. Ribeye was fair. Lamb chops ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

1st visit. Ribeye was fair. Lamb chops lacked flavor. Appetizers were excellent (lobster bisque & shrimp and grits). Service was excellent. Will return at some point for a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I went to The Standard at th ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I went to The Standard at the Smith House for our anniversary and we had a great experience. The service, ambiance, and food were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place to take my wi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the perfect place to take my wife for her birthday while in Nashville! We loved the historic building, the excellent service (Wes was great!), and the old world charm. The atmosphere was great for a romantic dinner. Both the green tomato and shrimp & grits appetizers were great. We chose the Standard filet and the rack of lamb for entrees and we were not disappointed! Excellent food and a "to die for" chocolate mouse cake to end the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was exceptional from the mom ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

the service was exceptional from the moment we drove into valet. The tomato crab bisque was wonderful, and my bacon bacon pork chop was delicious. The waiter and the host were so gracious, it is truly a rare treat. I will come back on my next trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere. The music ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. The music and ambiance of the restaurant really adds to the dining experience. Outstanding service, never waited for anything. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for romantic, special occasion or ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great for romantic, special occasion or good for small group gathering in wine cellar or back room. The ballroom is useful for a larger group although it will be pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food phenomenal, highly reco ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service and food phenomenal, highly recommend. Great location and ambiance

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was amazing. Grea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great experience. Food was amazing. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Standard to celebrate our an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went to the Standard to celebrate our anniversary. Dined in the wine cellar which was a true delight. Everything we tasted was outstanding, especially the local southern favorites such as the fried green tomatoes. The service was impeccable and we were treated as special on a special occasion. Cannot say enough about the meal and how everyone we encountered was so pleasant and attentive. One of a kind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it...from the moment we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Absolutely loved it...from the moment we were met by the valet to when we exited to find our car waiting for us. As to the reason we went, the dinner was excellent. The steak was done as requested and delicious, the sides were very good, and the green tomato appetizer was memorable in itself. Wine selections were more than adequate and the wait staff couldn't have been better. For the birthday boy, the black lava cookie with vanilla ice cream, was on the house. All this in a residence dating to the 1840's with some notable history. For that special occasion, one can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff Very focused on delivering a great ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Staff Very focused on delivering a great experience from car drop off to end of the evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, valet was incredib ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, valet was incredibly helpful and friendly. Staff were all attentive(unfortunately our food server). Overall good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

always a delight

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

get the standard special, it is the best! it always feels like a special occasion when we eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Standard Filet is my go-to steak in ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The Standard Filet is my go-to steak in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An unforgetable treat !

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

An unforgetable treat !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, excellent food, and t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful service, excellent food, and the setting was one of a kind. We were celebrating our anniversary there and we couldn't have picked a better place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great spot for a special occas ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a great spot for a special occasion or a date. The service is impeccable and the food is delicious. I loved the ambiance and the decor. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the food at The Standard ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service and the food at The Standard was fabulous. The Standard filet was cooked perfectly. The chocolate mousse cake for our birthday celebration was a perfect touch to a lovely special evening out. Billy and his crew do a really fine job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food overall was amazing. Everyone ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food overall was amazing. Everyone loved their food. The wine list was well rounded and the fact that you can taste / glass any bottle on this list was a great. More local / southern dishes might have been nice, but the size of the menu is just perfect. The bar / cocktail list and ingredients were very disappointing. Given the great experience with food and wine, this part of the dining experience - the bar - seemed to be significantly lower priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Historic and very friendly staff, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Historic and very friendly staff, great meal, also toured the basement that has catacombs and secret doors, great place for group donong

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Nashville gem.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great crab bisque and sea bass. Butter tender filet mignon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, romantic setting with excepti ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Very nice, romantic setting with exceptional service. Food was excellent as well, but just shy of outstanding. My wife's steak was truly great, the rack of lamb was good but could have benefited from being seared more on the outside. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The fried green tomatoes with lump crab ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The fried green tomatoes with lump crab meat were an incredible taste. And the white chocolate & berries skillet cookie (also called half baked on the menu but like a brownie in consistency) with ice cream finished the meal perfectly. The restaurant is beautiful inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent staff. Great valet service. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent staff. Great valet service. The meal was wonderful and not over priced as you might expect in a restaurant of this quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.