About The Standard at the Smith House

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining rooms available upon request, based on availability.

Private Party Contact:
Kelsey Eller: 6157758717x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
7 More
Romantic
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (32)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (11)
good for groups (8)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, excellent food, and t ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful service, excellent food, and the setting was one of a kind. We were celebrating our anniversary there and we couldn't have picked a better place.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great spot for a special occas ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This is a great spot for a special occasion or a date. The service is impeccable and the food is delicious. I loved the ambiance and the decor. I will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the food at The Standard ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service and the food at The Standard was fabulous. The Standard filet was cooked perfectly. The chocolate mousse cake for our birthday celebration was a perfect touch to a lovely special evening out. Billy and his crew do a really fine job.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food overall was amazing. Everyone ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food overall was amazing. Everyone loved their food. The wine list was well rounded and the fact that you can taste / glass any bottle on this list was a great. More local / southern dishes might have been nice, but the size of the menu is just perfect. The bar / cocktail list and ingredients were very disappointing. Given the great experience with food and wine, this part of the dining experience - the bar - seemed to be significantly lower priority.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Historic and very friendly staff, great ...

Dined 6 days ago

Historic and very friendly staff, great meal, also toured the basement that has catacombs and secret doors, great place for group donong

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Nashville gem.

Dined 6 days ago

Great crab bisque and sea bass. Butter tender filet mignon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice, romantic setting with excepti ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very nice, romantic setting with exceptional service. Food was excellent as well, but just shy of outstanding. My wife's steak was truly great, the rack of lamb was good but could have benefited from being seared more on the outside. Overall a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

The fried green tomatoes with lump crab ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The fried green tomatoes with lump crab meat were an incredible taste. And the white chocolate & berries skillet cookie (also called half baked on the menu but like a brownie in consistency) with ice cream finished the meal perfectly. The restaurant is beautiful inside.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent staff. Great valet service. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent staff. Great valet service. The meal was wonderful and not over priced as you might expect in a restaurant of this quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is outstanding! We were made ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The staff is outstanding! We were made to feel like old friends even though we were first timers. The restaurant is so pretty and classy but it's not stuffy at all. The food was very good. I highly recommend The Standard and will go back on my next trip to Nashville!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and ambiance.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We received wonderful service from the time we arrived until our departure. Very romantic setting and the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. We were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary and they placed us at a beautiful and secluded table adorn with candles and champagne. The food was excellent and I would recommend this place for special occasions. We are very thankful to Billy the Maitre d' as he was very accommodating and made sure our evening was memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary, and I had c ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went for our anniversary, and I had called ahead to try and make it a little more romantic. They couldn't meet my request, instead gave us complementary glasses of the "bubbly". I will for sure go back. Steak was amazing. asparagus was great. and the loaded mashed potatoes was worth the price. Only down fall, our table was by a A/C vent and it got kind of chilly. no fault to the restaurant, we could have moved if we had just asked. .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome ambience; history of building was great!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was the best; meal was a tad expensive, salmon was not too tasty. My husband liked his steak.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible service, excellent food. The ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible service, excellent food. The sea bass and filet were both delicious. Would definitely go again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short weekend trip to Nashville

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I were in town to see Mumford & Son's. We enjoyed the Standard so much on Friday, that we ate their on Saturday night as well. It reminds us of what once was and should be again. A time of good manners, soulful mellow music and quiet elegance. I highly recommend the Standard macaroni & cheese and the Standard filet. The tobacco fried onions and the potato hash underneath are so good. The only critique that I could give is that the sauce needs more blue cheese. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than I imagined!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Better than I imagined!

food3
ambience3
service4

There was nothing special about this mea ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

There was nothing special about this meal. In a town with great restaurants, The Standard was over priced and a disappointment. The few people that were there when we ate only proved this even further.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful meal

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was excellent - the steaks were like butter, perfect. The asparagus was tender from tip to stem, prepared simply with oil, salt & pepper allowing the flavor of the asparagus to dominate. The server was very apologetic, but did forget my date's baked potato so needed to downgrade a bit for that. While the restaurant itself its wonderfully historic, the view out the window is onto a major street with a parking lot across the street - nothing to write home about.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Definitely check out the "secret" cellar

Dined on April 10, 2016

Definitely check out the "secret" cellar

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we've ever had. Service was ou ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Best meal we've ever had. Service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and her boyfriend chose The ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

My daughter and her boyfriend chose The Standard for prom this year. They were impressed with the service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We happened across this gem of a spot while on Yelp. It was fantastic! Great food, service, and the house is full of great history! Excellent value for the fine dining experience you'll have!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique and fabulous

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food is second to the atmosphere here. And the food is excellent. I have never had a bad meal at the Standard and would recommend anyone try it. It is especially great if you are doing a show or a game downtown. The location is fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great historic setting Attentive staff F ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great historic setting Attentive staff Food top notch

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food with good wine list

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food with good wine list

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victorain Beauty

Dined on March 22, 2016

We adore eating in historic homes and taking in the beauty of days gone past. This former home is amazing and one of the employees took us on a mini tour of the grand ballroom and private club cigar room. One of the specials of the night was pheasant and we both had it. It was so delicious and I believe this was the best meal we had on our visit to Nashville. Our waiter was very attentive and helped us select and appropriate wine to go with our entrée. Our evening was very special and we would highly recommend if you are visiting Nashville you should dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Standard has set the standard

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The Standard is a Nashville tradition that you should treat yourself to while in town. Everything is top notch. Our entrees were delectable, desserts were divine, and our nightcaps with cigars in the courtyard was the perfect end to the perfect meal. High praise for Chase and Wes, who treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a quiet meal.

Dined on March 11, 2016

We arrived and were met at the door and taken straight to our table. Nice view of the local area and a beautiful old building. We were waited on promptly and the salads were out in no time. The wife had the sea bass and I went for the steak. Both dishes were nice portions and of good flavor. We will return the next time we are in Nashville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location for quiet romantic dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Fantastic meal (we had the Sea Bass) and service. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Atmosphere

Dined on March 3, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at The Standard. I would rate the food above average and a decent wine list. The owner was present and offered a tour of their historic facility at the end of the evening. I would highly recommend The Standard for a business diner as was my case or and evening with a loved one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Gem

Dined on February 19, 2016

The Standard was a place we had never been, but was recommended by a friend. My husband and I met another couple there, and had a lovely, beautiful evening. The food was delicious, and atmosphere was romantic. We even had a tour afterwards by the owner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 18, 2016

While not inexpensive The Standard is the best dinner value in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse

Dined on February 16, 2016

Best steak I have had in a very long time. Great ambiance, friendly service and a reasonably priced wine list. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service, & atmosphere were OUTSTAN ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food, service, & atmosphere were OUTSTANDING.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place. Wanted to tour the house bu ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great place. Wanted to tour the house but they would not do that the night we went. 😔

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

food/service

Dined on January 31, 2016

the food was excellent but did not justify the high cost. the service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Lobster bisque was on pointe. Owner came ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

Lobster bisque was on pointe. Owner came by the table and she was a delight. Service was really good. Good place for a business meeting.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite and romantic

Dined on January 3, 2016

After a few fun nights out in Nashville listening to great music and late night bar hopping this was a great choice. Very historic very romantic, very enjoyable evening. Food was good not fantastic but the whole package was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere, service, ateak, bad sides

Dined on January 3, 2016

Wonderful location, ambience and superior service!! The experience in a beautiful setting, however, did not offset a bill of $260, of which half was for a good steak, surrounded by horrible sides. Brussel sprouts swimming in a vat of bacon grease, Truffle hash overwhelmed in more grease, and mashed potatoes with no seasoning or flavor. Bread and flavored butter was ok. Food was not served hot (it was a cold night and may have been the perils of an old house. Food disappointment was minimized by a wonderful and attentive staff. If was a drinks and dessert location, would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food in beautiful historic building

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was excellent, if pricey, and the owner took us on a tour of the magnificent building afterwards. Don't miss the two "secret" doors in the wine cellar -- one which opens when you twist a bottle of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.