About The Standard at the Smith House

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
11 More
Best Value
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Overall
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Historic (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just wanted to take the time here to mak ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Just wanted to take the time here to make sure the restaurant and the entire staff know how much I appreciate you making my wife's birthday a special one. From the glass of champagne to the birthday cake and the service and food in between, everything was amazing!!

Thanks again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our server was ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was amazing and our server was fantastic!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised! If you're looking ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! If you're looking for great food at a very cool place.....this is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tops my list for a special evening out. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tops my list for a special evening out. I have been to many other similar places and this is second to none of them. Great food, service, atmosphere and all around fantastic. Thanks for making our evening. Definitely plan to return so we can try other menu items which I know we will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having the valet know our name upon arri ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Having the valet know our name upon arrival was nice. Sitting on the patio fireplace hearth was comfy, our server as bar tender was good because I could give special instructions regarding my handcrafted cocktail.

Fried Green Tomato appetizer A+

Lump Crab Bisque A+

Rack of Lamb on corn marmalade A+ (medium rare to rare A+)

Red Velvet Cake Cookie A+

               and Ice Cream C

Ambience was glorious

Have already recommended it to 6 others and will return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Is a great pl ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food, great service. Is a great place for a quiet dinner for two or dining with friends. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for 4 in the wine cellar. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a table for 4 in the wine cellar. It was absolutely amazing! Our waiter was great with tons of personality and a great sense of humor. The food was excellent. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Standard is a great place to dine wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Standard is a great place to dine with an amazing atmosphere. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The service, food and character of the house make each visit a pleasure. Great staff of personnel starting with the valet parking gentleman. None better than Billy Corr the Operations Manager to make you feel welome. Halley, our Server knew all menu items offered plus all of the special chef offers of the day. I recommend this place all of the time. Go once and it will become one of your favorites also.

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location for downtown especially wh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Good location for downtown especially when pArking is considered . Great food w/nice Southern touch on side dishes & deserts .

Service was excellent & staff was very sincere in taking care of your requests . Well done to The Standard .

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place for a special occassion. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent place for a special occassion. I had the rack of lamb and my wife had the Standard filet. Everything was cooked perfectly and was outstanding. It is a bit pricey, but for a special occasion was well worth the cost. Dinner for 2 with bottle of wine figure on $250.00.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to The Standard for a special ni ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to The Standard for a special night and it was well worth it.

The ambience was excellent. We used the valet service which was quick and then were shown to our table by the maître d. We were lucky enough to get the bartender as our waiter and he made something up for my date that she loved. They had a good selection of liquors and aren't shy about the portions.

I had the New York Strip and Mashed Potatoes and both were excellent. The steak wasn't over seasoned and it nearly melted in my mouth. My date had the Standard Filet and was quite pleased with it.

Afterwards we had a skillet cookie with white chocolate and berries and it was delicious.

From beginning to end it was a lovely experience. I would note that (and this is not the fault of The Standard) it is near a popular street and so occasionally people with their bass blasting would cruise by and it could be heard, so take note if you expect a completely silent atmosphere. Aside from that small issue it was a great experience that I would recommend and plan to go again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent choice with atmosphere and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An excellent choice with atmosphere and outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, private environment. The food ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice, private environment. The food was excellent. The staff were very personable and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to dinner when in town with some co ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Went to dinner when in town with some colleagues. Chose this place because of the rotating "Exotic Game" on the menu. The game of the day was Kangaroo, and it was great! One of my coworkers had "The Standard" steak and thought it was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely love it sooooo welcoming eleg ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Absolutely love it sooooo welcoming elegant Wes our server and all the servers made our night. Definitely go back definitely refer this restaurant

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Standard has become our Special plac ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The Standard has become our Special place, with the closing of the Stock Yard we where in a desperate need for a very Special place for dinner and we have found it in the Beautiful Standard Restraunt.

From the valet, manager Billy, servers and the cook we where made so very special and the food was great. I had a very nice NY strip steak, my Husband had Chilean Sea Bass. The steak was cooked excitedly the way I asked (medium). Chilean Sea Bass with caramelized corn was cooked to my Husbands taste.

We will be a regular customers, THAT IS FOR SURE!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great until dinner came o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Everything was great until dinner came out. It was too small a serving of poor food. The steak was overdone and the side dish was basically burned Ore-Ida hash browns. The blackening on the blackened sea bass had little spice and a horrendous excess of salt. The side dish was very run-of-the-mill mashed potatoes. Each meal probably could have fit in a one-cup measure. The great ambiance of this restaurant does not justify how it has skimped on its chef and its food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Truly excellent

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance, service, food and drinks w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The ambiance, service, food and drinks were exceptional! We were celebrating our anniversary and we received 2 free glasses of champagne and a free dessert. Now on to the food! Appetizers - lump crab bisque was rich and the fried green tomatoes packed with flavor due to the horseradish crust. Entrees - the standard filet was to die for, the steak was like butter and the grilled rack of lamb was perfect. Dessert - the red velvet cookie was decadent and the right size for two people after a large meal. Our waiter was very attentive and the maitre d was so much fun. It was our first time in Nashville and we picked the right place!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our steaks were badly overcooked. We sen ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our steaks were badly overcooked. We sent them back and when they returned they were still overcooked. The staff were very nice and the service was good but the poor quality of the food can't be overlooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We went to The Standard while visiting N ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to The Standard while visiting Nashville since I had seen a top ten steakhouse list that included this restaurant. Notable Pluses Included:

--best valet service ever experienced

--best grits and mac 'n cheese ever eaten

--quality after-dinner drinks

--availability of a non-endangered exotic meat/elk

However, a steakhouse must be defined by its steaks and on this account I was disappointed. There are six steaks listed on the menu. I understand restaurants running out of specials. They should never run out of their printed menu items served each day. They had. Additionally, the waitress did not apprise me of this fact prior to my ordering as is standard practice in a pub or a fine dining establishment. I settled for a 14 ounce bone-in rib eye, which was fine but not exceptional.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything about the Standard was very n ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything about the Standard was very nice. However, the food was not memorable.

I had the Rabbit (first time); just no flavor. The Sea bass was not memorable.

The service was very good and the atmosphere very romantic; a little jazz combo would have been nice. Got in the car and asked my date how she liked the food. She replied very good; I said NOT!. Both of us really want to like this restaurant because of its ambiance and very good service. We are going to keep watching reviews and see if there is improvement.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I've been to The Standard a couple times ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been to The Standard a couple times. The food has been absolutely fabulous. The steak was cooked perfectly. The caesar salad had a wonderful smoky flavor. The service was timely and friendly. I highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From Billy the maitre d who stayed on th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

From Billy the maitre d who stayed on the phone to guide us to the restaurant, to the warm greeting of the parking valet, Kevin, to the service, the ambiance and the food, we give The Standard 5 stars. It was a special evening in a little jewel of a restaurant we just discovered.

We recommend it highly and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I booked this restaurant for a pre-theat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I booked this restaurant for a pre-theater anniversary dinner. The service and hospitality were impeccable. I had mentioned in my reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary. After being greeted outside the door by name (!), we were taken straight to our table, which was quiet, as requested, though a bit small. We were brought complimentary champagne for our anniversary. I got the elk (special) with the truffle hash - both were delicious. He got the steak and it was also good. Both meats were cooked as requested. For dessert, we go the red velvet cookie with ice cream - unique and tasty. Overall, a wonderful experience - I would consider making this my Standard anniversary place ;)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Rarely has a restaurant impressed from t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Rarely has a restaurant impressed from the momemt I walk in. Exceptional greeting with complimentary champagne and perfectly pleasant host. The building takes you in and I couldn't wait to see one room after the next. Our server was on point with conversation levels and just knew when to approach the table. All 4 of our meals were above expectations and we talked about them all weekend. Each of us impressed and pleased. Lamb, salmon, tenderloin all exceptional. The grilled Caesar salad was such a surprising addition as we're the Brussels sprouts. The most surprising part of our dining experience was when we asked what was the quickest way to get to the arena. The valet went and got his car keys and drove us himself. Top notch service from beginning to end. Highly recommended.. I rarely writ reviews however this dining experience was by far one of my most memorable. Thank you standard smith house your staff are gems.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'd never been to The Standard before, ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We'd never been to The Standard before, and I have to say that it completely lived up to its great reputation. The food and service were both superb. I had informed the restaurant in advance that it was our 30th anniversary, and our server brought us complimentary champagne and dessert. Really a first-class experience all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Standard at the Smith House was a fa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Standard at the Smith House was a fabulous meal. The ambiance and setting in the old historic home was very unique. It was a beautiful place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the history of the Smith House - ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love the history of the Smith House - this is a very unique restaurant that has a lot of character! You immediately feel like you're in a different decade when you walk through the doors. The menu is solid and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Nashvi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Nashville. They are so friendly and the food is fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superior restaurant with excellent foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

A superior restaurant with excellent food and outstanding, attentive service! A wonderful dinner celebrating our 44th anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a 'fine dining' experience. I ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely a 'fine dining' experience. It made our 35th wedding anniversary a memorable time. We will definitely go back to The Standard for future special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and atmosphere were all ex ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. The historical building was fascinating as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 59th anniversary ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 59th anniversary with our daughter. The evening was wonderful from the beginning with champagne. Hally took very good care of us throughout the evening. Valet parking greatly helps in that area on a busy night. Did not have an opportunity to tour but hope to at a future time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Multiple visits made here - never disapp ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Multiple visits made here - never disappointed. VERY friendly staff and terrific menu, with quiet ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just the best you can find if you want t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Just the best you can find if you want to talk without a noisy environment. Great food Knowledgeable personnel. Great valet parking service. You feel respected and well treated. Love this place. Aston Msrtin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always superior at the stand ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is always superior at the standard at the smith house. Always look forward to see what the special of the evening is going to be. Excellent service & great food , ambiance also! What else could you ask for!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic. Very southern ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic. Very southern and the portions reflected that. Felt that there was good value for what we wanted and expected. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.