Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Historic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fireplace (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

From the minute you hit the valet stand upon arrival until the minute your vehicle is delivered upon dining the service and food are exceptional. Not a single employee we encountered was anything but overly pleasant. All possessed a 100% positive attitude about wanting to be there doing their job.

Everything we ate was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

I came here to celebrate my friend's birthday and we had a wonderful time. The service is outstanding and they went above and beyond to make my friend feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal and service. This place is a gem and the staff is extremely friendly. Would go there again and recommend to a friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best experiences we've had in Nashville, we've already recommended several of our friends!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great steaks. Very much enjoyed the atmosphere. Plan on being back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner was outstanding. We were in town for a special occasion celebration. Everyone was so thoughtful and accommodating, especially the valet attendant. We were able to keep our car in the valet lot while we went to the Ryman for a concert. Perfect evening. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Greeted at door and our table for four was ready. Had fried green tomatoes for appetizer which were delicious. We all had different entrees including the standard filet, salmon, pork chop and my fav the sea bass. All prepared to perfection. Will go back and will recommend to our friends!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a truly authentic, classy restaurant. Food is totally awesome every time we dine here! Waiters are knowledgeable and very professional yet very friendly. All menu items that we've tried were great but the truffle hash is to die for! Don't miss this historic gem in Nashville!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday recently and we enjoyed every bite of our meal. We will return as regulars!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Joseph was amazing. He was hospitable, he had great recommendations, the place was great, and the overall experience was awesome.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Awesome greeting from everyone. So hospitable and the Food was Epic. Totally will go again if I am ever in town to visit!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very high quality place. Spacious table placement .
Lightning ok. Could be a little more intimate.
Food, ambience is great. Service is perfect.
The music is way too old and does not fit the guests or environment
No guests were alive when the music played was popular
Happy jazz would make guests a lot more happy and relaxed. Very important. Sound quality and distribution good. No echo effect. Fantastic valet parking -Kevin is a skilled car guy.
Lots of welcome staff. Very personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My second time at the standard since January. The food and cocktails were just as good as my last visit. On arrival the valet greeted us and walked us in and let us know someone would be out to check us in. 8 minutes later someone finally showed up and took us to our table. So far not a big deal. Our waiter was less then enthusiastic which was a let down because my guest was a first timer. He tried to rush us on ordering our food when we were trying to start with cocktails and when asked about a couple of wine bottles we were trying to choose between, he offered no suggestions. After our main course we wanted to finish our bottle of wine and then order dessert. He kept coming back to see if we were ready for the check even though we said we were going to get dessert. The topper was he delivered the check right as we received our cheesecake. Which was spectacular but feeling like we were being rushed out of an quart full dining room was really disappointing. When we did get up to leave nothing was said to us. Although the food was really lovely the service was a real let down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food, a great start to a night at the Nashville Symphony.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Melt in your mouth steak-truly the best. Interesting sides, wonderful setting. The chocolate chip dessert was absolute got to have for everyone. the next night we ate at the capitol grille and what a disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional. Great wine list, incredible staff, and the steaks were unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Nashville. Actually, it goes beyond Nashville. We have thoroughly enjoyed everything we have ever ordered here. It is the perfect "special occasion" restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and our first time coming to this restaurant. We had the best service from the valet to the hostess and to our servers. Just from putting one note on our reservation letting them know it was his birthday they made sure to acknowledge his day. They even gave us a glass of champagne to do a birthday toast. They made his birthday feel so special and that's the type of service I love. I hope Haley knows how great she was and we really appreciated her and Chris going above and beyond my expectations. This is a memory that we won't forget and we will be back soon. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

One of the best kept secrets in Mashville. Everything was first class and we will be returning soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have a lot of client dinners and most higher end restaurants are typically solid, though they miss somewhere. This dining experience was - in every sense of the word - flawless. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Neat place. The history of the house is very interesting. Unfortunately, the renovation process did not finish in time so was not able to tour the home/restaurant. Call and check if reno is done before reserving if that is a large part of your wanting to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food, and Wes provided outstanding service! I have already recommended the restaurant to several people. Great for special occasions! We will return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant
Great quiet atmosphere
Food was wonderful steak done perfect
Nice wine list

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there for NYE and it was a great date night location! Restaurant was so pretty inside and deceptively huge! Food , wine and service were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual -- from car valet, server and Billie Corr's Manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Found this place doing a search, while trying to avoid the downtown Nashville crowds pre-New Year. The location is nice, when I made reservation I was almost immediately contacted by host, letting me know about closed road due to construction. He helped me navigate through, and as we approached the closed street, and were stopped by security, the valet ran up with an umbrella to help us. The device was the one single aspect that was absolutely amazing. The food was good, but service again was the memorable piece.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unforgettable first anniversary dinner. From the moment we walked in until the moment we walked out, we felt so special. We will definitely spend more special occasions in the future here. Thank you so much to everyone at The Standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Steak was way over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Staff works very hard to make guests welcome. Relatively limited menu means kitchen can focus on quality and not variety. This a good idea!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a Christmas tradition for our family. The bone in ribeye was cooked perfectly! Our 12 year old daughter has never had an issue and they have been very accommodating to the needs of a young adult! While buttered noodles are not on the menu they were more than happy to make them for her. It is a beautiful place for family or friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Menu gave good choice and allowed us to try some Southern food like grits. The caramelised corn was particularly good with the blackened sea bass. The spacious dining room meant noise levels were low and nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall we enjoyed the The Standard. It's a beautiful restaurant with a really cool history. The food was good but nothing we said we had to come back for. The service was mediocre. It took 10 mins before we saw our server after being seated. He only checked on us one time after we got our meal, and we had to ask other servers for more drinks, to order desert, and for the check. He did apologize stating he was spread too thin and comped our desert. Glad we went once but don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Unfortunately they got it all wrong this time around. I have eaten here before and was blown away by the food and ambience, and decided to take my boyfriend there on our date night to impress him. They cooked his "medium well" steak medium rare, as was my "medium" lamb chops. They offered to "throw it (steak) back on the grill", which they did and that took a while which was a big deal because we were on a time crunch to get to the symphony which we were 30mins late for due to this place. They really couldn't salvage my lamb chops, so they just took my meal off the tab. Their signature mac and cheese was all cheese and no noodles, it was gross, and I've eaten it before, and it was just cooked poorly this time. They tried to offer us free dessert, but because we were already late for our event due to their service we didn't partake. The bill was still over $100, and we ended up at a drive thru restaurant later because of this poor inedible meal. I think a renowned steak house should never cook any meat wrong, and with high end cuts of steak ($40-$160) they need to make sure they have competent chefs, not sure who was working that night, but it was bad enough and wasted my time and money, and I personally think he/she should be sent to work at Ponderosa not The Standard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Just wanted to take the time here to make sure the restaurant and the entire staff know how much I appreciate you making my wife's birthday a special one. From the glass of champagne to the birthday cake and the service and food in between, everything was amazing!!

Thanks again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was amazing and our server was fantastic!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! If you're looking for great food at a very cool place.....this is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tops my list for a special evening out. I have been to many other similar places and this is second to none of them. Great food, service, atmosphere and all around fantastic. Thanks for making our evening. Definitely plan to return so we can try other menu items which I know we will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Having the valet know our name upon arrival was nice. Sitting on the patio fireplace hearth was comfy, our server as bar tender was good because I could give special instructions regarding my handcrafted cocktail.

Fried Green Tomato appetizer A+
Lump Crab Bisque A+
Rack of Lamb on corn marmalade A+ (medium rare to rare A+)

Red Velvet Cake Cookie A+
and Ice Cream C

Ambience was glorious

Have already recommended it to 6 others and will return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food, great service. Is a great place for a quiet dinner for two or dining with friends. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.