Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Historic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time here and I will defiantly be back. The location is nice and the antebellum house is a remarkable atmosphere to be in.
The service was great from the valet to the greeter to the waiters.
We both ordered The Standard steak and it was a great choice! Best steak I have had, very tender!
Grey place to go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our Meal was very good. The steak was good but not in the top five in Nashville as Open Table had them rated (except for price). The Standard Steak sauce is very good. We did get the Fried Green Tomatoes which came with a spicy sauce and crab meat. I would not mix a spicy sauce with crab meat. I will go back there again sometime, so its worth a try. With all the steak houses opening up in Nashville, its easy to get into the high prices one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fantastic dinner! We were celebrating my mom's birthday and this was the perfect spot. We loved the history of the house and the elegant setting for our dinner. It was a very quiet and so nice for us to talk and be able to hear. From the time we arrived at the valet until we had a tour of the house we felt like royalty. The food was absolutely fabulous. The steak was perfect and the Brussel sprouts were outstanding. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who had been there in March and it did not disappoint. We will be back when we are back in Nashville. Highly recommend to all!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant in a lovely historic townhouse. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. My husband had a filet and I had lamb chops, both were perfectly prepared and presented. We enjoyed a charred salad and fried green tomatoes to start and a side of mac and cheese. Both were excellent. We finished with a skillet cookie topped with ice cream. This was a truly memorable birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Standard was amazing! The service was phenomenal and so accommodating. I'm a vegan and the chef was more than happy to create a vegan entree for me. The food was incredible and the atmosphere was perfect for a date night. The historical aspect of the building is what makes the experience so special! 10/10 would recommend!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I had a amazing experience here while on a girl's trip. The food and the service were incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have not eaten at the restaurant in many years. The food was excellent, but the service was not good! The waiter was not attentive. He brought bread, but no butter. He took 25 minutes to get an ice bucket for my champagne and then no glass. Appetizer of friend green tomatoes and crab was very good, Food came and he didn't bring us steak knives for my steak and my husbands lamb. My husband had to pour my champagne and they never asked if he wanted another drink. My steak was good and the mac and cheese was great. Too bad the service make me not want to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous atmosphere, food, and service! Very welcoming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

From the time we got out of the car and interacted with the valet until we paid our bill every person that provided service was absolutely wonderful. This was a very pleasant experience with dining in this old house, reading about the history of it, looking at the extensive wine list and having fabulous dinner options. This was a birthday celebration for my husband, yet a quiet dinner for the two of us. We had the shrimp and grits for an appetizer and both had the Standard Steak as our entree. Looking forward to going back to try something else just as delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

When we arrived, they were expecting us. Called us by name, etc. Was very nice place and everyone very friendly. We placed drink, appetizer, and dinner order. Our waiter was very nice, but we rarely saw him again, said he had to take care of large table in basement. Throughout our dinner, we were constantly trying to get another drink, get some Tabasco, etc. We had to keep flagging down a waiter from another table. Who would then state, your waiter is busy downstairs. We had to ask for someone to take a second drink order. Then that drink stayed at the bar forever. We had to ask someone to find our waiter to bring the check (sat at least ten minutes before asking). By the time we left, we were ready to just get out of there because we seemed to sit and wait all night or try to track down someone to help us. The food was very good, but our service ruined our visit and The Standard experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Quiet and first class in every way. The Standard is a rare find in that you can actually have a private dinner conversation without having to raise your voice over other patrons and the place was full. Numerous rooms and I saw only 4 tables to the room, however a large dining room is also available. Very unique OLD house with probably 14 foot ceilings. Great food and service. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best hospitality I have ever experienced at a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was our anniversary. The staff went above and beyond to make our evening enjoyable. Our server bought us a glass of champagne for the occasion! We had a private tour! We will definitely go back! Wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have been to practically every upscale steakhouse in downtown Nashville and opted tot try this one this time.
Overall it was a really good experience. The Smith house is very unique and was a nice touch.
We had calamari for appetizer and have to say it was very bland and tasteless. As a matter of fact we asked for extra sauce to help eat the stuff.
My wife had the 8oz filet which was very good and she enjoyed.
I had the Waygu ribeye and it was pretty good but not excellent as I would expect from a $100 steak. It comes nowhere close to the Waygu in other downtown establishments.
Our server was very nice and friendly and service was good. Knowledge of meat choices was not good.
So....go and enjoy once but this will not be a regular stop for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lovely experience from the curb through dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A fantastic experience - you'll enjoy superb dining and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The service was good, not great. A few misses like bread late with no butter. Starters were very tasty with the charred Caesar salad. I ordered their sea bass which was prepared with a nice corn and mashed potatoe. The big issue was the steak for my date. Ordered a 6 oz filet well done. Came out medium. They re-fired it..came back out medium well..they were going to fire it a third time!!.. I said please do not fire it a third time. They did!! So, the made up for this by providing us with a free desert which was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

From the personal and warm reception by the valet attendant on arrival, to the knowledgeable and professional wait and service staff, the experience at The Standard is unbeatable. The food itself is enough to make you come back, the service and experience make each trip a memorable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

EXCELLENT restaurant! We were celebrating our 38th Wedding Anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place for dinner that evening. From being greeted by the valet to leaving the restaurant after dinner, EVERYONE on the staff was outstanding. Food was FANTASTIC, service was exceptional. Highly recommend The Standard for a comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We dined for our anniversary. The staff were very attentive. The crab bisque was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

You are greeted with a warm & friendly welcome by Kevin who then walks you into the Host Billy who is just as friendly & warm! You feel like you've run into old friends who are genuinely happy to see you! The wait staff introduce themselves & offer to assist in food & wine pairings as well as answer any questions regarding the wine list. The menu is not overwhelming but offers choices that should hit on most dining preferences. Appetizers did not disappoint, portion size was most satisfying! Entree was equally apportioned & delicious! The dessert choices were most tempting & different from what you usually see, but in the end I passed simply out of not wanting to over do it. If I lived in Nashville I would make The Standard an essential date night must!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Another great time at the Standard House, this time bringing new friends/neighbors. Our new friends were from Cincinnati and Detroit until retiring to Murfreesboro. We were all talking one time and they said that they enjoy excellent service, outstanding food and ambiance, which they can't find in the 'Boro. So as guides we brought them to the Standard. They loved the decor, the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. They took cards because they will be back with other friends and family. We knew where to start with a great dining impression in an authentic local restaurant that isn't a chain. Thank you to the staff and management at the Standard.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Highly recommend for Special occasion, service from curb side to curb side was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our evening at The Standard was absolutely phenomenal!!!! My wife and I took the recommendations of our server Joseph and we did not leave disappointed one bit. The food tasted fresh and everything had its own unique flavor and the combinations of the flavors were beyond excellent. This is a gorgeous old home, with a wonderful staff and absolutely amazing food. Will be recommending to anyone we know headed for Nashville.

Caleb B
IL

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I visited for our five-year anniversary based on a recommendation from a friend. It was a spectacular experience! Best brussel sprouts we have ever had. We both loved our steaks! We started with the fried green tomatoes which were also amazing.
And our waiter was also a somlier (Joseph) and he paired the most unbelievable wines with our dinner. We enjoyed drinks in the courtyard before our dinner...the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We truly enjoyed every moment of our experience and hope we have a reason to visit in the future. It was by far the best dining experience my husband and I have ever had. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My wife and I had a really great time. The food was delicious, and the service was impeccable. I only wish I knew about the valet service before I arrived. I'll know it for next time. I really appreciated how everyone expected us because of the reservation. Normally, only the Host seems to expect the patron, but here it seemed like everyone on staff was waiting to serve us. It made us feel very special. Even on the way out, the valet called us by name asking about our experience. Very top notch. I also really loved the music. It was a great place to celebrate our 16th anniversary.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Older house that was very well done. Service was great. Food was very good. Very quite rooms. Easy to talk.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We wanted to try this restaurant because of its history and architecture. The service was excellent, with a very attentive and knowledgable staff. . My wife didnt care for her food, the fish special, yet my" Standard Special", a filet with a truffle cream sauce, was excellent. The wine list was good. With uncovered hard wood floors, our room was noisy, and all conversations at other tables we audible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Such an amazing restaurant! The food was mouth watering! The restaurant is full of rich history! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

What a spectacular dining venue! Great atmosphere for special occasion dinner. Service and food were great. Make room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Another fantastic evening at The Standard. As usual, the food was beautifully prepared and our server, Joseph, was a treat. They made my mother-in-law's birthday very special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were visiting Nashville on business but decided to dine there for our anniversary! Exquisite!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Phenomenal dining experience. Visiting from Las Vegas and have a high standard for service and quality. The Standard exceeded our expectations with flying colors. Actually the service was one of the best I ever had in a fine dining atmosphere. Job well done. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was outstanding as was the service. A very special place to have a wonderful meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with a delicious meal. I'm always nervous about trying new things but this was awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was in town for the weekend and establishment was recommended by hotel. Great food, great service, loved the atmosphere. I have dietary restrictions and there was no issue in the kitchen working around my requirements. My friend that I had dinner with ordered straight off the menu and their food was delicious also. I ordered the petite filet, basically plain. You know its a great restaurant when the steak is perfectly seasoned, cooked exactly the way you ordered and does not even need a sauce of any kind. Wait staff was very engaging and attentive. I personally really appreciate wait staff that engages the customer. Great Job, Standard!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Being an out-of- town visitor , I looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor. This was one that caught my eye. The setting is a charming, historical building located within walking distance from the downtown area. Food and wine selection was excellent as well as the service. Enjoyable evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The standard is always standard, and that is good. Consistent quality, service, and ambiance. Best deal for close to theartre (TPAC) dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The you guys for a wonderful evening and great food-see you soon!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.