Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding over all !
Great value for time and experience.
Plan on returning on a regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a very delicious meal. Would have rather stayed in the bar for ambiance, where we dined was very bright and almost too quiet, could hear all the conversations around me. The service was decent, but nothing to write home about. He was courteous and quick, but didn't do anything off his script. The food and drinks were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

2nd visit. First time truly special-charred salad great-this visit-salad not prepared well-waiter not attentive-impacted meal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Very unique dining experience. Top of the line service. Chilean seabass was perfect. Loved the tour.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2018

First time at the Standard. It was a lovely experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2018

The decor, service, and food were all great. Our server, Billy, was outstanding. I highly recommend The Standard filet, asparagus, and macaroni & cheese. The filet was prepared to perfection and tasted delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Very nice. Excellent steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Sometimes you need a break from the latest trendy restaurant for a traditional and delicious meal in a quiet setting among beautiful decor, crisp white table linens, and impeccable service. The staff was friendly but unobtrusive and always available. The food was hearty and tasty. I recommend the crab bisque. It was FULL of crab meat and very good. Everything about the evening was spot on including the setting inside such an amazing historic building.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We have a fantastic dinner at The Standard. Our waiter, Wesley, took great care of us and make some really good food recommendations. The food was exceptional. I recommend the Signature Filet and the Fried Green Tomatoes with Lump Crab. The house is beautiful and very insulated from street noise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Did not live up to the standard they presented nor ours. Failing to meet our expectations of such an establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Evening started out bad as the plan was to meet customers at bar for drinks and discussion. Unfortunately, my customers called me in transit stating"Bad News" the bar is closed. Apparently, the entire bar was rented out for a party. Ended up having drinks at Morton's across street. We walked back to the Standard for our meal. Service was extremely slow entire night. Didn't have enough staff for large party and other diners. When good finally arrived it was so so. We were glad we finally got bill and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The Standard was excellent in all facets. From the moment we stepped out of our car and the valet ( Kevin) greeted me by my first name. Service was personable, relaxed, but extremely attentive and accommodating. Food was delicious, appetizer to dessert. Ambiance was perfect for our anniversary dinner. We felt pampered. Will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 19, 2018

The food was decent but nothin special. I felt that the service did not reflect the price point and ambience they were trying to create

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Our dining experience at The Standard was absolutely amazing. From the second we walked up to the entrance, the restaurant exuded class. The food was incredible and the atmosphere was top notch. We'll be returning as frequently as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2018

I was very impressed with The Standard! We were greeted at the door by name and seated promptly. The food was delicious and service was superb. I can’t wait to return!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on January 15, 2018

The Standard was amazing! The "Standard Filet" ranks up there in my "what would be my last meal" list. The ambiance is beautiful and quiet. The tour after dinner of the house and its history was so neat. Definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Very special place with good old Southern charm. From the moment we stepped out of the car and were greeted by name, to the outstanding service with great recommendations, to the night cap in the "outside" bar, this place did not disappoint. Leave some time at the end of dinner to take a tour of the house, it is so interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Arguably one of the best dining experiences you can ever had! Impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Very loud private party was there, but really wasn't bad. There was a lot of Men in jeans. Kind of made the evening cheap feeling for the people that dressed for an elegant evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 9, 2018

I had the most interesting meal ever, kangaroo! Epic dining experience for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Amazing service and setting. Food just so so. If i went back I would go for wine and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2018

This was such a fabulous experience again! We got a tour of the house after a remarkable meal. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Wedding day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2017

In town for New Year's and wanted some Old Nashville culture. Wonderful venue. Service was top notch from the valet greeting, to the host, to our server Gordon. The history of the location is worth perusing on the menu or reading in advance. Don't forget to ask for the tour! Loved seeing the building and wine cellar, it is enormous compared to what the street facade conveys. Our meal and wine was excellent. Gordon took care of our every need from early drinks to dessert. Attentive yet unobtrusive, knowledgeable yet not snobbish; food makes the meal, but service makes the evening. Do not overlook the Chef's table opportunity. We did not learn of it until our tour. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We stumbled on this gem by chance but we are so glad we did. The historic building was beautiful and he service was over the top. We felt like we were their only guests based on how attentive they were to us. They even arranged a tour of the place after dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2017

A special way to end our trip to Nashville! And Jack's tour of the historic home was the icing on the cake. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2017

A fabulous evening with great food, great ambiance, and impeccable service. This was our first visit but certainly not the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2017

first time to restaurant and was very surprised. Very much enjoyed the ambiance service and selections.

I tried Kangaroo for the first time based on all of the holiday food i had consumed for something different and was underwhelmed. This was not a issue with restaurant it was just not my cup of tea.

Would highly recommend the restaurant and plan on going back often

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Just an amazing place!! A bucket list reataurant in Nashville. Be sure to take a tour if its available. Drinks, food, servers, and more are beyond reproach! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Food was amazing! I chose the exotic game option (which happened to be kangaroo loin), and my fiancé had the Chilean Sea Bass....both were exceptional! The event coordinator (Jacey) was absolutely amazing in assisting with our special night out. She, along with the rest of the staff from the management down went above and beyond lending ample hands to make our evening special. Very well worth the price, and I look forward to returning. 5 stars don’t do this establishment justice! Very highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2017

From the complimentary valet parking and each of the smiling greeting faces - a first class dining experience. Historical, quiet, excellent drink selections, outstanding menu options, reasonably priced; all with an interior atmosphere of old town New Orleans. Very unique for one-of-kind Nashville dining experience. Definitely not your typical franchise cookie cutter urban steakhouse. Our evening was capped off by a private tour of the historic building by our outstanding waitress, Jordan; she was super all night. P.S. Don't forget the dessert menu !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2017

If you want an awesome experience then you need to spend an evening here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Excellent drinks, wine, food, and staff. Quiet, comfortable, excellent bone-in ribeye. Interesting after dinner tour.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. We are planning to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were all first rate. A bit pricey but worth it for a quiet special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The best part of the night was the fact that it was quiet and easy to communicate with each other. the food was wonderful and the service was a perfect mix of leaving us alone and paying attention to us. Nice staff.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Special historical fine dining spot
Highly recommend the steaks, high quality prime, one of the best you will have. Very friendly staff and professional service, took time to give us a tour. One of our best experiences in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience this was! This building has so many stories to tell that I simply must go back to hear more. The steaks were some of the best I have had including all of the local top steakhouses. The service was perfect and the ambiance was intriguing. This is a must on your Nashville restaurant to try list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Fun dining experience. Be sure to ask for the tour when finished with your meal. Great ambience with delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2017

I’ve lived in the Nashville area since 1998 and I have friends who are natives of Nashville and no one had ever heard of The Standard. These are people who are always out and about in Nashville going to dinner and always always looking for a new place to take people to. If you have found The Standard and are trying to decide if it’s where you want to take a special someone or celebrate a special occasion, LUCKY YOU! Don’t hesitate. Book it. You will not regret it. I am so happy to have this wonderful restaurant and all it’s fascinsting history to enjoy. Thank you Smith family for having the vision and the determination to make this place a wonderful place for us to enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.