Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

What a unique and surprising experience. For years we have passed this establishment and always wondered what was going on inside. Now we know! The food and service were outstanding. At the end of the meal the maître d' asked if we would like a tour (I wondered if you met a tour of Nashville, as I had no idea of what historic structure we were sitting in). We said yes and then the tour began – about 1/2 an hour up every floor and down into the basement of this 1840 Nashville townhouse. I won't say more except that you've got to see this for yourself.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

I am 47 years old and have been to many, many steak restaurants in the US; but I can honestly say that dinner and our total "experience" at The Standard was THE BEST we have ever had! From the personal greeting by the valet, yes he knew who we were before we even told him as the valet reviewed the reservations in advance (how personal); to the friendly greeting by the host and walk to our table to the quick and genuine welcome from our server, Cory. Dinner was fabulous; the steaks, sides, surf and turf, wine and dessert were outstanding and we even started dinner with a complimentary glass of Champagne to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary; what a pleasant surprise. After dinner, we had an unexpected treat; Jack gave us a tour of the old Smith House and private club. The experience, learning opportunity and look into Old Nashville was priceless. We will be telling everyone we know of our top-notch experience and recommend to all our friends that they need to make The Smith House and The Standard a "must do" when in Nashville! What a fantastic time and great memories we created.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

The Standard is an iconic downtown restaurant that is impressive in service and quality of food preparation and presentation. And it's a great place for an after dinner drink and cigar. It simply has no equal in downtown Nashville. Great steaks and seafood. Limited but impressive menu. Extensive drink menu.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic meal and service
Best experience overall
Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It is a great, memorable experience. The food was wonderful ,and we felt at home with all who helped us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Terrific meal! Beautiful location and ambiance! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Nashville!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had great evening. We truely enjoyed the bar, the cocktails made us feel at home. The service, food and wine were impeccable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing dinner and wonderful service. Definitely recommend for a special dinner in a historic house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I we're excited to share a date night at The Standard. We had never been. The ambiance was great, the food and drinks were good. Unfortunately, the service was subpar. It took over 10 minutes to get our drinks (Old Fashioned and bottle of wine). Our server went over the specials and menu with the tables on either side of us but didn't with us. At one point we looked around and realized all the other tables had bread to snack on until their meal. My husband asked for bread THREE TIMES and it wasn't until AFTER he finished his meal that our server finally brought us bread. I'm not sure if this was just an off night or not but it was definitely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food and atmosphere were fantastic and exceeded my expectations. The building has an incredible history in itself that makes for a visit on its own. Looking forward to another dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Old-school steak in a former wealthy merchant's home built in the 1840s. Beef is the highlight here, though they always have chicken, seafood, and "exotic game," which was A5 Japanese Wagyu and camel on our visit.
Intimate, quiet (aside from Billy the maitre d', who is big and gregarious), with a pretty good wine list and outstanding steaks, this is one of *the* places to eat for that special occasion in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Very Disappointing. Fish was cold and under cooked. Potatoes and vegetables lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was perfect and the trouble hash is a must have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We ordered two appetizers, Crab Bisque and Fried Green Tomates with lump crabmeat. They were outstanding. For entrees, we ordered the In-Bone Chop and Pasta Carbonara. The Chop could have been more tender, but was tasty. The Carbonara was very rich and creamy. The entree portion sizes were large and filling. We were a little full to order dessert, and since there were only three (not very appealing) options, we didn't order dessert. Honestly, if I were to return, I would order everything on the appetizer menu, split it, and not order an entree.

It is a nice dining experience, but some tables are better than others. We were in a larger room and a group of four at another table were a little loud. Tables for two are extremely small in the corners. The service and our waiter were very good. I stated in the reservations that this was our 25th, but nothing special was done. We were never asked if we were celebrating anything, etc. This was a very special occasion for us, and we rarely dine out even for special occasions. For the price, it now just seemed an ok way to celebrate it. If you decide to go, make sure and tour the home as that was a very interesting way to end the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Standard is above all standards. From our greeting by Billy to the excellent server, Eric, and the chef's creative selections - all were superb! Eric even guided us through this historical home revealing its hidden secrets and gems. Not inexpensive but worth every cent. If in Nashville, this restaurant should be your special evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I expected a lot when I planned this dinner. My expectations were exceeded. Both meals were perfect. Rack of lamb was exquisite. Sea Bass melted i in the mouth. They both came with a fresh-corn/bean mix that was undescribable. The ceasar salad held its own with the main meal All portions are substantial. Save room for dessert. Chocolate mousse. If there is anything about food that I know, it's chocolate dessert. This was as good as I've ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about our evening at The Standard. It was a special occasion made even more special by the awesome staff. The food was delicious and plentiful. The ambiance was just right - not too stuffy or reserved. Great background music. But really, the staff shined the brightest. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent place. Small restaurant so food service is quick. Crab bisque is wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

In Nashville for a conference. We invited a couple to dine with us the one night and made a reservation. We were seated in the separate room from the front dining area at a very large round table. The room was lovely and elegant and our server was spot on with his knowledge of wine pairings and service. The table was so large, it felt odd for only having the 4 of us at this table. I ordered the 6oz filet mignon medium. It came out almost raw. I sent it back, and when it was returned to me, it would be considered very rare. The third time was the charm and it came somewhat smaller in size, but it was medium inside. It was a good steak but by then the other 3 at the table had already enjoyed their meals. For a steak house, they seemed to be off their game that night. I would give them another try, but I think there's a lot of elegant restaurants in Nashville that I would try first if and when I return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Outstanding service and the food was amazing! I liked the personal attention we were given by the waiter. He was very familiar withe the menu and made great suggestions. It was quiet and classy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Celebrated my husband's birthday and everything (service, ambiance, food) exceeded all expectations. We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Occasion was an anniversary. Far exceeded our expectations and exceeded the recommendation we were offered when The Standard was suggested to us. A but pricey, but in todays big city world the experience was well worth the cost. Would recommend to others and will return. Courteous from the opening of the door. Attentive but not intrusive waiters. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Vintage, Historic Nashville townhouse dining elegance. Hiding in plain sight on 8th, btwn Commerce and Church. Creative twists on traditional southern fare. Attentive and gregarious waitstaff. Save room for Half Baked Cookie (berry/white chocolate) dessert! Jovial valet service, too. It's our newest fine dining "go to" option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was my first time here and I will defiantly be back. The location is nice and the antebellum house is a remarkable atmosphere to be in.
The service was great from the valet to the greeter to the waiters.
We both ordered The Standard steak and it was a great choice! Best steak I have had, very tender!
Grey place to go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our Meal was very good. The steak was good but not in the top five in Nashville as Open Table had them rated (except for price). The Standard Steak sauce is very good. We did get the Fried Green Tomatoes which came with a spicy sauce and crab meat. I would not mix a spicy sauce with crab meat. I will go back there again sometime, so its worth a try. With all the steak houses opening up in Nashville, its easy to get into the high prices one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fantastic dinner! We were celebrating my mom's birthday and this was the perfect spot. We loved the history of the house and the elegant setting for our dinner. It was a very quiet and so nice for us to talk and be able to hear. From the time we arrived at the valet until we had a tour of the house we felt like royalty. The food was absolutely fabulous. The steak was perfect and the Brussel sprouts were outstanding. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who had been there in March and it did not disappoint. We will be back when we are back in Nashville. Highly recommend to all!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant in a lovely historic townhouse. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. My husband had a filet and I had lamb chops, both were perfectly prepared and presented. We enjoyed a charred salad and fried green tomatoes to start and a side of mac and cheese. Both were excellent. We finished with a skillet cookie topped with ice cream. This was a truly memorable birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Standard was amazing! The service was phenomenal and so accommodating. I'm a vegan and the chef was more than happy to create a vegan entree for me. The food was incredible and the atmosphere was perfect for a date night. The historical aspect of the building is what makes the experience so special! 10/10 would recommend!

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I had a amazing experience here while on a girl's trip. The food and the service were incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have not eaten at the restaurant in many years. The food was excellent, but the service was not good! The waiter was not attentive. He brought bread, but no butter. He took 25 minutes to get an ice bucket for my champagne and then no glass. Appetizer of friend green tomatoes and crab was very good, Food came and he didn't bring us steak knives for my steak and my husbands lamb. My husband had to pour my champagne and they never asked if he wanted another drink. My steak was good and the mac and cheese was great. Too bad the service make me not want to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous atmosphere, food, and service! Very welcoming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

From the time we got out of the car and interacted with the valet until we paid our bill every person that provided service was absolutely wonderful. This was a very pleasant experience with dining in this old house, reading about the history of it, looking at the extensive wine list and having fabulous dinner options. This was a birthday celebration for my husband, yet a quiet dinner for the two of us. We had the shrimp and grits for an appetizer and both had the Standard Steak as our entree. Looking forward to going back to try something else just as delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

When we arrived, they were expecting us. Called us by name, etc. Was very nice place and everyone very friendly. We placed drink, appetizer, and dinner order. Our waiter was very nice, but we rarely saw him again, said he had to take care of large table in basement. Throughout our dinner, we were constantly trying to get another drink, get some Tabasco, etc. We had to keep flagging down a waiter from another table. Who would then state, your waiter is busy downstairs. We had to ask for someone to take a second drink order. Then that drink stayed at the bar forever. We had to ask someone to find our waiter to bring the check (sat at least ten minutes before asking). By the time we left, we were ready to just get out of there because we seemed to sit and wait all night or try to track down someone to help us. The food was very good, but our service ruined our visit and The Standard experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Quiet and first class in every way. The Standard is a rare find in that you can actually have a private dinner conversation without having to raise your voice over other patrons and the place was full. Numerous rooms and I saw only 4 tables to the room, however a large dining room is also available. Very unique OLD house with probably 14 foot ceilings. Great food and service. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best hospitality I have ever experienced at a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was our anniversary. The staff went above and beyond to make our evening enjoyable. Our server bought us a glass of champagne for the occasion! We had a private tour! We will definitely go back! Wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have been to practically every upscale steakhouse in downtown Nashville and opted tot try this one this time.
Overall it was a really good experience. The Smith house is very unique and was a nice touch.
We had calamari for appetizer and have to say it was very bland and tasteless. As a matter of fact we asked for extra sauce to help eat the stuff.
My wife had the 8oz filet which was very good and she enjoyed.
I had the Waygu ribeye and it was pretty good but not excellent as I would expect from a $100 steak. It comes nowhere close to the Waygu in other downtown establishments.
Our server was very nice and friendly and service was good. Knowledge of meat choices was not good.
So....go and enjoy once but this will not be a regular stop for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lovely experience from the curb through dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A fantastic experience - you'll enjoy superb dining and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.