Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

The Standard at the Smith House

4.7
493 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 254-1277
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
between Commerce and Church Sts.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

View Private Dining Details
What 493 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was good. However, I feel I could not appreciate the character and charm I was hoping for primarily because you could not see. Literally were given little flashlights just to tead our menu! The table was so small, we were knocking glasses and things on it most of the evening. The food was good, but the small details like lighting and tiny tables being crammed in a room so close that you can easily hear the conversation at you neighbors table need improvement for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

It was a really neat venue with lots of History. Definitely something different. A nice and quite atmosphere allowed us to conduct business conversations without having to yell into each others ears.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We had an amazing experience at The Standard - starting from them meeting us outside the restaurant to giving us recommendations for our next adventure upon departure. Amazing food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This is a very special not expected restaurant in Nashville. I loved the ambiance and would recommend this to anyone that wanted a special evening. Will go back for sure!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was good, not great. At these prices, I expect great. The hostess and valet were great but our server was just OK. My wife ordered a drink that we had to remind our server about before we got it. The history of the Smith House and the decor were interesting.
There was nothing wrong with the food it was just a little underwhelming. Lacked seasoning and no seasoning available on the table. There's too many excellent restaurants in the Nashville area to pay that much for underwhelming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Best mashed potatoes and lamb you've ever had! Bread and butter also amazing. Topped off with amazing staff and environment

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have been to a number of steakhouses throughout the country. This is one of the top places in our opinion. Between the food and the history of the house, it is worth a visit. One thing to note on the menu, absolutely the best calamari we have ever had. Between the supplier and the cooking style, it just melts in your mouth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

was greeted at the door with a laugh about the res name. taken to the bar and served amazing cocktails while waiting for our table to be ready. service, food, drinks and ambiance was above reproach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Getting a tour of the house made the dining experience all the more memorable. It was a great overall experience with friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Wonderful in every way. Mrs. Smith is an attentive and knowledgeable sweet hostess. The house is amazing and a true 175 year old historic gem. Staff was superb from valet to serving. Good was perfectly cooked and the exact size. First class all the way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Outstanding food, ambiance and service! We were celebrating our engagement and were given complimentary glasses of champagne and a dessert. We were also offered a tour of the entire place, which we were very glad that we did not pass up! They really helped make the occasion special . We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Amazing filet, sides, and super dessert! The tour after was the most special addition.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great service and ambiance. Noise level is very low so good place to be able to have a conversation over dinner. Dessert menu is limited.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Dinner and service was great. Resturant was beautiful. Food was one of the best meals I ever ate at a restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Amazing place and a fine gem in the downtown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Nice time, good friendly service, good food
Joe & Linda Miller

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Superb service and amazing history of the building. Our meals were superb as were cocktails and dessert. I am so thrilled the Smith family was able to save and preserve this unique and historical building and deliver such high quality food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My only issue was that the music was a bit loud, as we were seated right under a speaker.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We had an outstanding anniversary dinner. The service was exceptional and the ambience was perfect for a romantic anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

This was an absolute wonderful place to eat.The service is great from the time you walk in till you leave. Food was awesome and the desert was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great experience! The service was exceptional from the valet, hostess and server. Food was excellent. Didn’t feel rushed like at trendy busy spots. The history of the home is quite interesting and we were offered a tour. Perfect high end dinner with historic charm!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Our meal was fabulous! We had the Crab Bisque and the Standard Filet. Both dishes were phenomenal. All of the staff were wonderful and super attentive. The house was the star as it was a break from all the modern architecture downtown. It was like stepping back in time. We received a complimentary tour of the Smith House and was told it’s wonderful history. We were here for a business trip and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Overall a very pleasant experience. Food, service and ambience were all excellent. The tour of the home with a historical interpreter was a bonus. My wife's new favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

What a gem! This place is absolutely amazing. I've lived in this city most of my life and for some reason I am just now finding out about this place. Food was amazing, drinks were very good (we spent some time in the bar first). Wine list was short but decent. Overall service was great. But the best part of the evening was the tour with Jack. This place has so much history of Nashville and the City Club is so fascinating. Take the time to tour the facility. You won't be disappointed. If you can, have dinner in one of the private areas. They were AMAZING! Can't say enough about this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The experience is always personable and inviting. Relaxed, not hurried.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Having lived in the Greater Nashville Area my entire life, finding the last former residence left in Downtown turned restaurant was a great find. Very simple menu and wine list. I'll be back! Ask for a tour of the house!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Disappointing overall. Our waiter disappeared for most of the meal. When he resurfaced with the check he bragged that he had a 10 top with wealthy people from California. Not impressed.
The steak was over salted and served warm. This is not a fine dining establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful romantic atmosphere that's perfect for a date night. Beautifully restored historic home, really nice bar area, fireplaces throughout, menu is fantastic and foodies will love it. Great wine list and desserts and French press coffee!! The lovely owner was very personable and she offered a tour on our next visit. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent all the way across the board. We were guests of a friend at the private dinner club upstairs. We were greeted and welcomed with warm smiles and perfect bourbon cocktails! It was a relaxed atmosphere due to the decor and the attentive servers. Crab Bisque is an all-time favorite and The Standard's bisque is a TOP 2 of all times. (1. The Cloister 2. The Standard 3.Greenbriar 4. 82 Queen) Hubby ordered the ribeye which was cooked to perfection. I highly recommend the lamb which was prepared with a grilled corn with smoked peach preserves. Highly recommend including a reservation to The Standard on your next night out in Nashville. We look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We originally came for our anniversary and returned for a birthday. The dining experience and the staff and service is excellent. The dinner time stories was an amazing experience! Eating anywhere at The Standards at the Smith's House will be a Great Experience for any reason.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Outstanding over all !
Great value for time and experience.
Plan on returning on a regular basis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

This was a very delicious meal. Would have rather stayed in the bar for ambiance, where we dined was very bright and almost too quiet, could hear all the conversations around me. The service was decent, but nothing to write home about. He was courteous and quick, but didn't do anything off his script. The food and drinks were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2018

2nd visit. First time truly special-charred salad great-this visit-salad not prepared well-waiter not attentive-impacted meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Very unique dining experience. Top of the line service. Chilean seabass was perfect. Loved the tour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

First time at the Standard. It was a lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

The decor, service, and food were all great. Our server, Billy, was outstanding. I highly recommend The Standard filet, asparagus, and macaroni & cheese. The filet was prepared to perfection and tasted delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Very nice. Excellent steaks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Sometimes you need a break from the latest trendy restaurant for a traditional and delicious meal in a quiet setting among beautiful decor, crisp white table linens, and impeccable service. The staff was friendly but unobtrusive and always available. The food was hearty and tasty. I recommend the crab bisque. It was FULL of crab meat and very good. Everything about the evening was spot on including the setting inside such an amazing historic building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We have a fantastic dinner at The Standard. Our waiter, Wesley, took great care of us and make some really good food recommendations. The food was exceptional. I recommend the Signature Filet and the Fried Green Tomatoes with Lump Crab. The house is beautiful and very insulated from street noise.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Did not live up to the standard they presented nor ours. Failing to meet our expectations of such an establishment.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13