Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (30)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I are in our 60’s and have had dinner or lunch at most every restaurant in Nashville including most new ones and many older long established ones-we are foodies and can be rather critical-we eat 95% of our meals out and $ is not really an issue-my wife actually said her dinner was the best she has ever had in Nashville-cudios to you guys!-we were with are 20’s something son and wife and they can’t wait to come back again soon-thanks and looking forward many revisits

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

From the second you walk in until you leave the whole experience is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Outstanding ambiance, service and history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This was my first time visiting Nashville and this restaurant was referred to us by friends. I have Celiac disease (gluten) and a shellfish allergy. Our server was helpful with guiding me through the menu, wonderful Job! It has a great wine list and the filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare... yummy! The building is very unique a must see ,ask your server for the tour !

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food was terrific, and the private tour of the building was incredible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

One of Nashville best kept secrets!! The food the service was all awesome!!! Will be back again! Loved the tour!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

This is a great place. The staff is amazing. Food is great and the location is beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

My wife and I vacationed in Nashville for the first time and celebrated an anniversary at The Standard at the Smith House. This will be our new "Go to' restaurant for all future trips to Nashville. Our dining experience was impeccable in every way. We would not have changed a single thing.
Thanks again

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I do not remember a more perfect restaurant experience than what I had on my inaugural meal. The service/food presentation was impeccable and the ambiance memorable. This restaurant is without doubt a Nashville gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Had an impromptu dinner at The Standard this week, we are foodies and super picky. This place knocked it out of the park on food quality, wine list, and SERVICE. We had a fabulous server (Cory), and General Manager (Robert) was just wonderful. Will be back soon for sure!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Consistent menu with delicious food, prepared with care and served with a touch of flair. Professional, attentive service personnel. A bit pricey, but a wonderful special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

The Standard is a hidden gem. I found it somewhat by accident while looking for a good place for a small celebration. The food was excellent, the service outstanding and the ambiance unique and inviting. There's a lot of good food in Nashville and the Standard has that covered. But one thing that sets an establishment apart is the service. From a friendly and attentive valet, to Billy showing us to a table, the first impressions were good. Gordon, our server, was excellent - knowledgeable and attentive, but never interrupting. That's good service. The tour of this fascinating venue at the end of the evening was a real treat. We'll spread the word and will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant! Gordon, our server was excellent. He went over every menu item with us and also answered our questions about the restaurant and its history. We would definitely go back to The Standard at the Smith house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything about our experience at The Standard was superb. We've been there several times since moving to the area and EVERY time, the food, service, and atmosphere is exceptional. Whenever we want a superlative dining experience, we make reservations at The Standard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Restaurant in Historic townhouse building in downtown Nashville. The hospitality is welcoming as you are greeted, then escorted to your table in a dining room with grand chandeliers, fireplaces, big mirrors and old photos. The wine list has plenty to choose from and many cocktails and martinis as well. The menu is limited Standard specialties and i chose the Standard steak which was cooked a prefect medium. The service was great and we had a great dinner in this historic restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

An amazing and special place! We will be back!! Food and service were incredible
Such a special place to celebrate our anniversary and birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were out to celebrate a birthday and when I went to mention it to the staff they had already picked up on it. The most delicious chocolate cake was brought out with a candle and made our night. Every person we came into contact with was so helpful and welcoming! We will definitely be sharing our experience with friends and family!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The experience and food were both well above expectations. Would certainly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We love this place, Billy the greater is wonderful makes one feel right at home. The home is beautiful and very relaxing. We enjoy the food very much, waiters are very good too. We hope to go their at least once a month this year 2017 to 2018if our health holds up.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. Quiet, cozy, comfortable, with an antebellum feel. All around excellence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very nice experience with excellent service, great cocktails and a tour of the beautiful club in the building. Food was good, wedge salad only ok and steak tasty but just a tad inferior to specialty steakhouses. Kayne Prime and Peter Luger a step up in taste and quality. I would eat here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service was the only reason we gave this a less than a perfect score. The food was great, and the ambience was wonderful. Our server didn't seem that attentive to us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

What a unique and surprising experience. For years we have passed this establishment and always wondered what was going on inside. Now we know! The food and service were outstanding. At the end of the meal the maître d' asked if we would like a tour (I wondered if you met a tour of Nashville, as I had no idea of what historic structure we were sitting in). We said yes and then the tour began – about 1/2 an hour up every floor and down into the basement of this 1840 Nashville townhouse. I won't say more except that you've got to see this for yourself.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I am 47 years old and have been to many, many steak restaurants in the US; but I can honestly say that dinner and our total "experience" at The Standard was THE BEST we have ever had! From the personal greeting by the valet, yes he knew who we were before we even told him as the valet reviewed the reservations in advance (how personal); to the friendly greeting by the host and walk to our table to the quick and genuine welcome from our server, Cory. Dinner was fabulous; the steaks, sides, surf and turf, wine and dessert were outstanding and we even started dinner with a complimentary glass of Champagne to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary; what a pleasant surprise. After dinner, we had an unexpected treat; Jack gave us a tour of the old Smith House and private club. The experience, learning opportunity and look into Old Nashville was priceless. We will be telling everyone we know of our top-notch experience and recommend to all our friends that they need to make The Smith House and The Standard a "must do" when in Nashville! What a fantastic time and great memories we created.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The Standard is an iconic downtown restaurant that is impressive in service and quality of food preparation and presentation. And it's a great place for an after dinner drink and cigar. It simply has no equal in downtown Nashville. Great steaks and seafood. Limited but impressive menu. Extensive drink menu.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic meal and service
Best experience overall
Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It is a great, memorable experience. The food was wonderful ,and we felt at home with all who helped us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Terrific meal! Beautiful location and ambiance! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Nashville!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had great evening. We truely enjoyed the bar, the cocktails made us feel at home. The service, food and wine were impeccable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing dinner and wonderful service. Definitely recommend for a special dinner in a historic house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I we're excited to share a date night at The Standard. We had never been. The ambiance was great, the food and drinks were good. Unfortunately, the service was subpar. It took over 10 minutes to get our drinks (Old Fashioned and bottle of wine). Our server went over the specials and menu with the tables on either side of us but didn't with us. At one point we looked around and realized all the other tables had bread to snack on until their meal. My husband asked for bread THREE TIMES and it wasn't until AFTER he finished his meal that our server finally brought us bread. I'm not sure if this was just an off night or not but it was definitely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food and atmosphere were fantastic and exceeded my expectations. The building has an incredible history in itself that makes for a visit on its own. Looking forward to another dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Old-school steak in a former wealthy merchant's home built in the 1840s. Beef is the highlight here, though they always have chicken, seafood, and "exotic game," which was A5 Japanese Wagyu and camel on our visit.
Intimate, quiet (aside from Billy the maitre d', who is big and gregarious), with a pretty good wine list and outstanding steaks, this is one of *the* places to eat for that special occasion in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Very Disappointing. Fish was cold and under cooked. Potatoes and vegetables lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was perfect and the trouble hash is a must have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We ordered two appetizers, Crab Bisque and Fried Green Tomates with lump crabmeat. They were outstanding. For entrees, we ordered the In-Bone Chop and Pasta Carbonara. The Chop could have been more tender, but was tasty. The Carbonara was very rich and creamy. The entree portion sizes were large and filling. We were a little full to order dessert, and since there were only three (not very appealing) options, we didn't order dessert. Honestly, if I were to return, I would order everything on the appetizer menu, split it, and not order an entree.

It is a nice dining experience, but some tables are better than others. We were in a larger room and a group of four at another table were a little loud. Tables for two are extremely small in the corners. The service and our waiter were very good. I stated in the reservations that this was our 25th, but nothing special was done. We were never asked if we were celebrating anything, etc. This was a very special occasion for us, and we rarely dine out even for special occasions. For the price, it now just seemed an ok way to celebrate it. If you decide to go, make sure and tour the home as that was a very interesting way to end the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Standard is above all standards. From our greeting by Billy to the excellent server, Eric, and the chef's creative selections - all were superb! Eric even guided us through this historical home revealing its hidden secrets and gems. Not inexpensive but worth every cent. If in Nashville, this restaurant should be your special evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I expected a lot when I planned this dinner. My expectations were exceeded. Both meals were perfect. Rack of lamb was exquisite. Sea Bass melted i in the mouth. They both came with a fresh-corn/bean mix that was undescribable. The ceasar salad held its own with the main meal All portions are substantial. Save room for dessert. Chocolate mousse. If there is anything about food that I know, it's chocolate dessert. This was as good as I've ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about our evening at The Standard. It was a special occasion made even more special by the awesome staff. The food was delicious and plentiful. The ambiance was just right - not too stuffy or reserved. Great background music. But really, the staff shined the brightest. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent place. Small restaurant so food service is quick. Crab bisque is wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.