About The Standard at the Smith House

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Historic (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambiance, excellent food, and Wes ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food, and Wes provided outstanding service! I have already recommended the restaurant to several people. Great for special occasions! We will return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant Great quiet atmosp ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant

Great quiet atmosphere

Food was wonderful steak done perfect

Nice wine list

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for NYE and it was a great da ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there for NYE and it was a great date night location! Restaurant was so pretty inside and deceptively huge! Food , wine and service were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual -- f ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual -- from car valet, server and Billie Corr's Manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this place doing a search, while t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Found this place doing a search, while trying to avoid the downtown Nashville crowds pre-New Year. The location is nice, when I made reservation I was almost immediately contacted by host, letting me know about closed road due to construction. He helped me navigate through, and as we approached the closed street, and were stopped by security, the valet ran up with an umbrella to help us. The device was the one single aspect that was absolutely amazing. The food was good, but service again was the memorable piece.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unforgettable first anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unforgettable first anniversary dinner. From the moment we walked in until the moment we walked out, we felt so special. We will definitely spend more special occasions in the future here. Thank you so much to everyone at The Standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was way over cooked

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Steak was way over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Staff works very hard to make guests wel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Staff works very hard to make guests welcome. Relatively limited menu means kitchen can focus on quality and not variety. This a good idea!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a Christmas tradition for our fa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a Christmas tradition for our family. The bone in ribeye was cooked perfectly! Our 12 year old daughter has never had an issue and they have been very accommodating to the needs of a young adult! While buttered noodles are not on the menu they were more than happy to make them for her. It is a beautiful place for family or friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Menu gav ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Menu gave good choice and allowed us to try some Southern food like grits. The caramelised corn was particularly good with the blackened sea bass. The spacious dining room meant noise levels were low and nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall we enjoyed the The Standard. It' ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall we enjoyed the The Standard. It's a beautiful restaurant with a really cool history. The food was good but nothing we said we had to come back for. The service was mediocre. It took 10 mins before we saw our server after being seated. He only checked on us one time after we got our meal, and we had to ask other servers for more drinks, to order desert, and for the check. He did apologize stating he was spread too thin and comped our desert. Glad we went once but don't think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Unfortunately they got it all wrong this ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Unfortunately they got it all wrong this time around. I have eaten here before and was blown away by the food and ambience, and decided to take my boyfriend there on our date night to impress him. They cooked his "medium well" steak medium rare, as was my "medium" lamb chops. They offered to "throw it (steak) back on the grill", which they did and that took a while which was a big deal because we were on a time crunch to get to the symphony which we were 30mins late for due to this place. They really couldn't salvage my lamb chops, so they just took my meal off the tab. Their signature mac and cheese was all cheese and no noodles, it was gross, and I've eaten it before, and it was just cooked poorly this time. They tried to offer us free dessert, but because we were already late for our event due to their service we didn't partake. The bill was still over $100, and we ended up at a drive thru restaurant later because of this poor inedible meal. I think a renowned steak house should never cook any meat wrong, and with high end cuts of steak ($40-$160) they need to make sure they have competent chefs, not sure who was working that night, but it was bad enough and wasted my time and money, and I personally think he/she should be sent to work at Ponderosa not The Standard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Just wanted to take the time here to mak ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Just wanted to take the time here to make sure the restaurant and the entire staff know how much I appreciate you making my wife's birthday a special one. From the glass of champagne to the birthday cake and the service and food in between, everything was amazing!!

Thanks again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and our server was ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was amazing and our server was fantastic!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised! If you're looking ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! If you're looking for great food at a very cool place.....this is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tops my list for a special evening out. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tops my list for a special evening out. I have been to many other similar places and this is second to none of them. Great food, service, atmosphere and all around fantastic. Thanks for making our evening. Definitely plan to return so we can try other menu items which I know we will not be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having the valet know our name upon arri ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Having the valet know our name upon arrival was nice. Sitting on the patio fireplace hearth was comfy, our server as bar tender was good because I could give special instructions regarding my handcrafted cocktail.

Fried Green Tomato appetizer A+

Lump Crab Bisque A+

Rack of Lamb on corn marmalade A+ (medium rare to rare A+)

Red Velvet Cake Cookie A+

and Ice Cream C

Ambience was glorious

Have already recommended it to 6 others and will return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Is a great pl ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food, great service. Is a great place for a quiet dinner for two or dining with friends. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for 4 in the wine cellar. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a table for 4 in the wine cellar. It was absolutely amazing! Our waiter was great with tons of personality and a great sense of humor. The food was excellent. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Standard is a great place to dine wi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Standard is a great place to dine with an amazing atmosphere. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The service, food and character of the house make each visit a pleasure. Great staff of personnel starting with the valet parking gentleman. None better than Billy Corr the Operations Manager to make you feel welome. Halley, our Server knew all menu items offered plus all of the special chef offers of the day. I recommend this place all of the time. Go once and it will become one of your favorites also.

Tags: , People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location for downtown especially wh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Good location for downtown especially when pArking is considered . Great food w/nice Southern touch on side dishes & deserts .

Service was excellent & staff was very sincere in taking care of your requests . Well done to The Standard .

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place for a special occassion. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent place for a special occassion. I had the rack of lamb and my wife had the Standard filet. Everything was cooked perfectly and was outstanding. It is a bit pricey, but for a special occasion was well worth the cost. Dinner for 2 with bottle of wine figure on $250.00.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to The Standard for a special ni ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to The Standard for a special night and it was well worth it.

The ambience was excellent. We used the valet service which was quick and then were shown to our table by the maître d. We were lucky enough to get the bartender as our waiter and he made something up for my date that she loved. They had a good selection of liquors and aren't shy about the portions.

I had the New York Strip and Mashed Potatoes and both were excellent. The steak wasn't over seasoned and it nearly melted in my mouth. My date had the Standard Filet and was quite pleased with it.

Afterwards we had a skillet cookie with white chocolate and berries and it was delicious.

From beginning to end it was a lovely experience. I would note that (and this is not the fault of The Standard) it is near a popular street and so occasionally people with their bass blasting would cruise by and it could be heard, so take note if you expect a completely silent atmosphere. Aside from that small issue it was a great experience that I would recommend and plan to go again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent choice with atmosphere and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An excellent choice with atmosphere and outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, private environment. The food ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice, private environment. The food was excellent. The staff were very personable and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to dinner when in town with some co ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Went to dinner when in town with some colleagues. Chose this place because of the rotating "Exotic Game" on the menu. The game of the day was Kangaroo, and it was great! One of my coworkers had "The Standard" steak and thought it was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely love it sooooo welcoming eleg ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Absolutely love it sooooo welcoming elegant Wes our server and all the servers made our night. Definitely go back definitely refer this restaurant

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Standard has become our Special plac ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The Standard has become our Special place, with the closing of the Stock Yard we where in a desperate need for a very Special place for dinner and we have found it in the Beautiful Standard Restraunt.

From the valet, manager Billy, servers and the cook we where made so very special and the food was great. I had a very nice NY strip steak, my Husband had Chilean Sea Bass. The steak was cooked excitedly the way I asked (medium). Chilean Sea Bass with caramelized corn was cooked to my Husbands taste.

We will be a regular customers, THAT IS FOR SURE!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great until dinner came o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Everything was great until dinner came out. It was too small a serving of poor food. The steak was overdone and the side dish was basically burned Ore-Ida hash browns. The blackening on the blackened sea bass had little spice and a horrendous excess of salt. The side dish was very run-of-the-mill mashed potatoes. Each meal probably could have fit in a one-cup measure. The great ambiance of this restaurant does not justify how it has skimped on its chef and its food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Truly excellent

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance, service, food and drinks w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The ambiance, service, food and drinks were exceptional! We were celebrating our anniversary and we received 2 free glasses of champagne and a free dessert. Now on to the food! Appetizers - lump crab bisque was rich and the fried green tomatoes packed with flavor due to the horseradish crust. Entrees - the standard filet was to die for, the steak was like butter and the grilled rack of lamb was perfect. Dessert - the red velvet cookie was decadent and the right size for two people after a large meal. Our waiter was very attentive and the maitre d was so much fun. It was our first time in Nashville and we picked the right place!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our steaks were badly overcooked. We sen ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our steaks were badly overcooked. We sent them back and when they returned they were still overcooked. The staff were very nice and the service was good but the poor quality of the food can't be overlooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We went to The Standard while visiting N ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to The Standard while visiting Nashville since I had seen a top ten steakhouse list that included this restaurant. Notable Pluses Included:

--best valet service ever experienced

--best grits and mac 'n cheese ever eaten

--quality after-dinner drinks

--availability of a non-endangered exotic meat/elk

However, a steakhouse must be defined by its steaks and on this account I was disappointed. There are six steaks listed on the menu. I understand restaurants running out of specials. They should never run out of their printed menu items served each day. They had. Additionally, the waitress did not apprise me of this fact prior to my ordering as is standard practice in a pub or a fine dining establishment. I settled for a 14 ounce bone-in rib eye, which was fine but not exceptional.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything about the Standard was very n ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything about the Standard was very nice. However, the food was not memorable.

I had the Rabbit (first time); just no flavor. The Sea bass was not memorable.

The service was very good and the atmosphere very romantic; a little jazz combo would have been nice. Got in the car and asked my date how she liked the food. She replied very good; I said NOT!. Both of us really want to like this restaurant because of its ambiance and very good service. We are going to keep watching reviews and see if there is improvement.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I've been to The Standard a couple times ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been to The Standard a couple times. The food has been absolutely fabulous. The steak was cooked perfectly. The caesar salad had a wonderful smoky flavor. The service was timely and friendly. I highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From Billy the maitre d who stayed on th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

From Billy the maitre d who stayed on the phone to guide us to the restaurant, to the warm greeting of the parking valet, Kevin, to the service, the ambiance and the food, we give The Standard 5 stars. It was a special evening in a little jewel of a restaurant we just discovered.

We recommend it highly and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I booked this restaurant for a pre-theat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I booked this restaurant for a pre-theater anniversary dinner. The service and hospitality were impeccable. I had mentioned in my reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary. After being greeted outside the door by name (!), we were taken straight to our table, which was quiet, as requested, though a bit small. We were brought complimentary champagne for our anniversary. I got the elk (special) with the truffle hash - both were delicious. He got the steak and it was also good. Both meats were cooked as requested. For dessert, we go the red velvet cookie with ice cream - unique and tasty. Overall, a wonderful experience - I would consider making this my Standard anniversary place ;)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.