Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Standard at the Smith House

The Standard at The Smith House may very well be the best example of local Nashville flavor and service. The Standard Restaurant has been in operation since 2006 serving upscale Southern specialties complete with a full-service bar. Our townhouse was built in the 1840's and we are honored to be the current stewards of this fascinating work of architecture. We are happy to offer tours to our guests before or after their dining experience with us. We are located in the heart of Downtown Nashville, just blocks from the new Music City Convention Center and the famous Lower Broadway entertainment district. We are proud to offer some of the best steaks in town as well as fresh seafood and other items.

167 Rosa L. Parks Blvd (8th Ave N)
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Thursday evenings 5-9pm
Friday and Saturday evenings 5-10pm
Closed Sunday's and closed for lunch

Cross Street:
between Commerce and Church Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 254-1277

Website:
http://www.smithhousenashville.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is announced in advance and varies weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available, with occasional exceptions.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jared Hammond. Mt Vernon, Illinois

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in downtown Nashville, this 1840s townhouse is a unique experience for your next private dining event. As an award winning steakhouse, we have several private dining spaces that can accommodate your next event, whether it is a small dinner with close friends or a large corporate function.

The Standard at the Smith House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Historic (21)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (8)
Fireplace (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Phenomenal dining experience. Visiting from Las Vegas and have a high standard for service and quality. The Standard exceeded our expectations with flying colors. Actually the service was one of the best I ever had in a fine dining atmosphere. Job well done. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised with a delicious meal. I'm always nervous about trying new things but this was awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was in town for the weekend and establishment was recommended by hotel. Great food, great service, loved the atmosphere. I have dietary restrictions and there was no issue in the kitchen working around my requirements. My friend that I had dinner with ordered straight off the menu and their food was delicious also. I ordered the petite filet, basically plain. You know its a great restaurant when the steak is perfectly seasoned, cooked exactly the way you ordered and does not even need a sauce of any kind. Wait staff was very engaging and attentive. I personally really appreciate wait staff that engages the customer. Great Job, Standard!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Being an out-of- town visitor , I looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor. This was one that caught my eye. The setting is a charming, historical building located within walking distance from the downtown area. Food and wine selection was excellent as well as the service. Enjoyable evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The standard is always standard, and that is good. Consistent quality, service, and ambiance. Best deal for close to theartre (TPAC) dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The you guys for a wonderful evening and great food-see you soon!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Outstanding, the personal attention was fantastic from Kevin valet to Halle waiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food and great place will be going back. Everybody is really nice even after diner got a tour of the place this place is really unbelievable. We got a filet and salmon that was awesome

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Their business is by word of mouth, not advertising. High class restaurant with perfection, in my view, for food, drinks and service. Everyone is very friendly. Located in an old home in Nashville with a history to it. This was our second visit, will be back in the near future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

From the minute you hit the valet stand upon arrival until the minute your vehicle is delivered upon dining the service and food are exceptional. Not a single employee we encountered was anything but overly pleasant. All possessed a 100% positive attitude about wanting to be there doing their job.

Everything we ate was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I came here to celebrate my friend's birthday and we had a wonderful time. The service is outstanding and they went above and beyond to make my friend feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal and service. This place is a gem and the staff is extremely friendly. Would go there again and recommend to a friend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best experiences we've had in Nashville, we've already recommended several of our friends!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great steaks. Very much enjoyed the atmosphere. Plan on being back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner was outstanding. We were in town for a special occasion celebration. Everyone was so thoughtful and accommodating, especially the valet attendant. We were able to keep our car in the valet lot while we went to the Ryman for a concert. Perfect evening. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Greeted at door and our table for four was ready. Had fried green tomatoes for appetizer which were delicious. We all had different entrees including the standard filet, salmon, pork chop and my fav the sea bass. All prepared to perfection. Will go back and will recommend to our friends!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a truly authentic, classy restaurant. Food is totally awesome every time we dine here! Waiters are knowledgeable and very professional yet very friendly. All menu items that we've tried were great but the truffle hash is to die for! Don't miss this historic gem in Nashville!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday recently and we enjoyed every bite of our meal. We will return as regulars!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Joseph was amazing. He was hospitable, he had great recommendations, the place was great, and the overall experience was awesome.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Awesome greeting from everyone. So hospitable and the Food was Epic. Totally will go again if I am ever in town to visit!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very high quality place. Spacious table placement .
Lightning ok. Could be a little more intimate.
Food, ambience is great. Service is perfect.
The music is way too old and does not fit the guests or environment
No guests were alive when the music played was popular
Happy jazz would make guests a lot more happy and relaxed. Very important. Sound quality and distribution good. No echo effect. Fantastic valet parking -Kevin is a skilled car guy.
Lots of welcome staff. Very personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My second time at the standard since January. The food and cocktails were just as good as my last visit. On arrival the valet greeted us and walked us in and let us know someone would be out to check us in. 8 minutes later someone finally showed up and took us to our table. So far not a big deal. Our waiter was less then enthusiastic which was a let down because my guest was a first timer. He tried to rush us on ordering our food when we were trying to start with cocktails and when asked about a couple of wine bottles we were trying to choose between, he offered no suggestions. After our main course we wanted to finish our bottle of wine and then order dessert. He kept coming back to see if we were ready for the check even though we said we were going to get dessert. The topper was he delivered the check right as we received our cheesecake. Which was spectacular but feeling like we were being rushed out of an quart full dining room was really disappointing. When we did get up to leave nothing was said to us. Although the food was really lovely the service was a real let down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of Nashville's best steaks... We will be returning !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food, a great start to a night at the Nashville Symphony.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Melt in your mouth steak-truly the best. Interesting sides, wonderful setting. The chocolate chip dessert was absolute got to have for everyone. the next night we ate at the capitol grille and what a disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional. Great wine list, incredible staff, and the steaks were unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Nashville. Actually, it goes beyond Nashville. We have thoroughly enjoyed everything we have ever ordered here. It is the perfect "special occasion" restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and our first time coming to this restaurant. We had the best service from the valet to the hostess and to our servers. Just from putting one note on our reservation letting them know it was his birthday they made sure to acknowledge his day. They even gave us a glass of champagne to do a birthday toast. They made his birthday feel so special and that's the type of service I love. I hope Haley knows how great she was and we really appreciated her and Chris going above and beyond my expectations. This is a memory that we won't forget and we will be back soon. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

One of the best kept secrets in Mashville. Everything was first class and we will be returning soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have a lot of client dinners and most higher end restaurants are typically solid, though they miss somewhere. This dining experience was - in every sense of the word - flawless. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Neat place. The history of the house is very interesting. Unfortunately, the renovation process did not finish in time so was not able to tour the home/restaurant. Call and check if reno is done before reserving if that is a large part of your wanting to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent food, and Wes provided outstanding service! I have already recommended the restaurant to several people. Great for special occasions! We will return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant
Great quiet atmosphere
Food was wonderful steak done perfect
Nice wine list

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there for NYE and it was a great date night location! Restaurant was so pretty inside and deceptively huge! Food , wine and service were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual -- from car valet, server and Billie Corr's Manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Found this place doing a search, while trying to avoid the downtown Nashville crowds pre-New Year. The location is nice, when I made reservation I was almost immediately contacted by host, letting me know about closed road due to construction. He helped me navigate through, and as we approached the closed street, and were stopped by security, the valet ran up with an umbrella to help us. The device was the one single aspect that was absolutely amazing. The food was good, but service again was the memorable piece.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unforgettable first anniversary dinner. From the moment we walked in until the moment we walked out, we felt so special. We will definitely spend more special occasions in the future here. Thank you so much to everyone at The Standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Steak was way over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Staff works very hard to make guests welcome. Relatively limited menu means kitchen can focus on quality and not variety. This a good idea!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.