About The Stand

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am - 4pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Parking Details:
Valet Parking located on Peabody St. - $4. per car -Best in Town

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings. - The Stand, Birmingham, MI

Report a photo problem

Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings. - The Stand, Birmingham, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The portions, particularly for appetizer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The portions, particularly for appetizers, were fugal. The food was good not the food relative to the cost was poor to fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We really enjoy the Stand, as the menu a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We really enjoy the Stand, as the menu always evolves, offering delightful surprises. Who else has mashed parsnips? Ever have Duck Pastrami? The soups are always amazing. The wine selections tasty at reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stand is one of our favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Stand is one of our favorite restaurants. Food is amazing, wine selection has something for everyone, including very nice wines available by the glass. We started with oysters from Maine (originally from French stock) - outstanding! One of the evening specialties was a beautiful tenderloin with asparagus and whipped parsnip potatoes. So many choices for sides! We tried a trio: ramekin each of mushrooms, carrots and cauliflower. My wife said she could have enjoyed that alone for lunch. (We got an extra order to-go). Food is plentiful. We took leftovers home for the following night. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an excellent choice for New Yea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was an excellent choice for New Year's. The food was great and Iris waitstaff Sarah was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant....excellent Valet servi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice restaurant....excellent Valet service. Would recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, service and even though it w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service and even though it was NYE we were not rushed... Excellent drink menu too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overpriced for quality of food. Decent ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overpriced for quality of food. Decent quality but not very creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was probably the best I've had ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was probably the best I've had in a long time and the service was excellent as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Racheal and our private room made our la ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Racheal and our private room made our last minute party a beyond expectation event😀. Thank you STAND!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife & I went for her Birthday. It wa ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My wife & I went for her Birthday. It was pretty empty on a Wednesday evening and we had a great experience. We started off with a cheese board which was delicious. I had a chop chop salad which was good and for our entrees, my wife had a waygu steak while I had the halibut both prepared perfectly. For dessert they brought my wife a hot chocolate cake on the house which was fantastic. I'd highly recommend the Stand and we'll be back for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time having dinner at The Stand an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time having dinner at The Stand and the experience was great! Awesome food and it came right on time. The atmosphere was cozy and beautiful. Our waitress Sarah was super sweet and checked on us all the time. The only is that the portion sizes are small. Otherwise, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We heard the menu was changed at The Sta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We heard the menu was changed at The Stand so, we wanted to give it a try. Everything was delicious....Crispy Shrimp, Chop Chop salad, Halibut, Trout and Cioppini. We can't wait to go back and trying some of the other dishes. Very attentive server, Michael.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once food and drinks were prepared well. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Once food and drinks were prepared well. Excellent waiter, attentive, but not intrusive. Will dine there again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I don't live in town and selected The St ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I don't live in town and selected The Stand based on other reviews. I surprised my husband with reservations for dinner before a movie and it was perfect! The service was terrific - Michael, our server, was friendly, helpful and just the right amount of engaging. We had the artisanal cheese platter to start and it was delightful. Our entrees were delicious - fried chicken and short rib pasta. I wouldn't change a thing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I personally didn't find the menu very i ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I personally didn't find the menu very interesting. Most of the food was excellent though. A few things were not good at all. Our server was very friendly and professional. I just didn't see anything that special in the food that makes it recommendable. But that might just ne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Bottom line, this place was a huge disap ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bottom line, this place was a huge disappointment. The service from the beginning was not great. As we were escorted to our table, there were more than a handful of tables that hadn't been bused yet. The menu price was similar to one of a fine dining establishment, but ALL things ordered were not close to the price level they charge. Both our main dishes were piping hot, yet appeared to have been sitting under the heat lamps for quite awhile. Both were extremely over salted. We rarely write reviews, but the caliber they're trying to sell this place is far lower. Don't waste your money. This is a rundown establishment that charges a pretty penny for good ratings they must have gotten in the past. You can't charge 50 for a steak, have uncleared tables, poor service, over salted food that's practically inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Fish was very heavy in butter - appetize ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fish was very heavy in butter - appetizer ok, Brussels sprouts - one of their recommended favorites was just ok. The place was quiet on a Monday evening - not unexpected, the waiter was very energetic and pleasant. The drinks were moderate size and price. Thought it was just ok

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to the Stand to use an OpenTable gi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to the Stand to use an OpenTable gift card. Made a reservation, hostess never checked us in. Seated in a nice booth - but were the only party there at 6:30. Very quiet, awkward ambiance. Food and drinks were all good - but nothing amazing. Portions were very strange. For example, ordered Short Rib appetizer which was enough for a main course, while the Shrimp appetizer was just four Shrimp on a plate. Was told the Brussels Sprouts were amazing - very average. Best thing we had was the Lobster Bisque. When we went to redeem our OpenTable gift card (which has never been an issue) nobody knew how to do it. Our server quickly abandoned us when he found out we were using a gift card. Ultimately had to get the Manager to help which took several attempts. Very lackluster experience - would not have an interest in returning when there are so many better options in Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I'd try it again but not the f

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I'd try it again but not the f

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice charcuterie board, great dishes w/ ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice charcuterie board, great dishes w/ imaginative accompaniments. Attentive, knowledgable service. A very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Did not know what to expect and the 3 of ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Did not know what to expect and the 3 of us thought it was wonderful. The pear salad was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot figure out why this restaurant ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I cannot figure out why this restaurant isn't talked about more. While I can say that not every meal I have eaten here has been amazing, it is consistently innovative, and good. This past weekend was a great example. Hard not to enjoy scallops topped with foie gras. My pear salad which contained an entire poached pear, blue cheese, candied pecans and pomegranate seeds, was great as well. It isn't cheap, but it is good, and in my opinion, should be considered more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well priced. Comfortable service.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well priced. Comfortable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite restaurants. Consis ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stand is a nice place but I'm not su ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The Stand is a nice place but I'm not sure who they are trying to cater to. My wife and I went there for dinner Friday night and thought the place was very nice and friendly feeling. The food was good but not great by any means. the food was not up to snuff with other area restaurants. I found the menu somewhat limited and presentation and quality of the fish we ordered was very average and overly sauced and spiced. I was paying my bill which was 200.00 and a young couple sat next to us and he was wearing a baseball cap and was not asked to remove it. I am old school when it comes to hats they are worn outside not in a restaurant. I am sorry to see that The Stand would allow that it looks cheap and tacky while others are dressed in somewhat formal casual attire. I know everything is going casual but please no baseball caps. I will probably not return based on that I think there should be a minimal standard in a restaurant like this especially in Birmingham

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was not as good as previous visit. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was not as good as previous visit. Restaurant empty on aThursday night, not fun, asked server if fried chicken came with potatoes, she said no,ordered fries, when she brought food it came with mashed. annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu is very intriguing and diverse, ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The menu is very intriguing and diverse, and fulfills its promise by being very tasty. We had great service. We are definitely going to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I ordered Bronzino and ha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

My friend and I ordered Bronzino and halibut. It was tasty but the portions were very small for the price and bread wasn't even offered. Even though it was a Tuesday night there were only 2 additional tables of patrons. We won't be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

My wife and I enjoy going to the Stand b ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoy going to the Stand because the food is pretty reliable, the service is usually very good and you can actually talk to your friends without having to shout over all the noise so often experienced in many of the new chic restaurants around town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed another great meal at The Sta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed another great meal at The Stand. Both the food and the service were excellent. We highly recommend. We're looking forward to returning in the near future. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stand was excellent, as always. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Stand was excellent, as always. We dine here often and have always had great food and service. We took my in-laws here to celebrate a special occasion. We are foodies but they aren't and we were all easily able to find something we love on the menu. There are many selections that are approachable to people not wanting overly fussy food and many options that are unique and creative. I have difficult food allergies (dairy and gluten) and they are always able to accommodate and give me something amazing (rather than the bland, sauceless and minimal choices I typically have elsewhere). The service is spot on, never having you wanting for more but always having everything you need. They are friendly but not invasive. Never have we looked for someone to attend to us (they were always just there) and never have we had a conversation interrupted by service. The atmosphere is casual enough that you could wear jeans and formal enough to go dressed to the nines. I wouldn't recommend taking young kids (toddler's) there but it would be a great fit for a family meal. The prices are reasonable (in line with most mid range restaurants), Most entres average less than $30 and are a full meal (no need for sides but they are great). You'd be hard pressed to find this quality of food and service with this price tag anywhere. The location is great and we particularly love to go in August when we can watch the classic cars on Woodward through the floor to ceiling windows. It always feels like you're in a busy, beautiful city. They have valet parking so no worries there. All around excellent experience!!! Did I mention that the chef / owner generously donate their time, talents and product to many local charities? Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided last minute to visit early on a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decided last minute to visit early on a friday night. Great decision! My halibut was phenomenal and my husband's branzino was out of this world! We will be back. Thank you for the great meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Stand ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Stand. Food was very good, service was great.....will definitely return. I had the Veal chop special and it was very flavorful and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found lots of entries on the menu that w ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Found lots of entries on the menu that would have been good. I had the halibut and it was excellent. A friend had the smoked diver scallops and those were also excellent. Flavors were exceptional. Service was great as well. Wine list was not extensive but had an excellent chardonnay from CA. Prices overall were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mondays may be slow in most restaurants, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Mondays may be slow in most restaurants, but they can make for a pleasant, quiet, low-key meal. This was our experience at The Stand. Outstanding food, a wonderful wine discovery, and efficient, friendly, knowledgeable service by waiter Brian. A bit pricey, but worth it for such an experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Soup was salty.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Soup was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Poor experience starting with an inexper ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Poor experience starting with an inexperienced waiter and pitiful bread basket.

Lousy food, inattentive staff.

Restaurant is a large attractive space-it needs help!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My server was really awesome. Efficient, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2016

My server was really awesome. Efficient, friendly, courteous, knowledgeable. It was an important dinner meeting and his service made it go really well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for birthday or anniversary. Very ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great for birthday or anniversary. Very upscale dining environment. Loved the decoration and complimentary dessert for the birthday celebration. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a last minute reservation on a Satu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made a last minute reservation on a Saturday for an early dinner. Really enjoyed our first time dining here. Food was different from the usual fare. Great octopus appetizer! The pick three sides were very tasty too. Service was exceptional. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.