About The Stand

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am - 4pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Parking Details:
Valet Parking located on Peabody St. - $4. per car -Best in Town

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings.
Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was not as good as previous visit. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was not as good as previous visit. Restaurant empty on aThursday night, not fun, asked server if fried chicken came with potatoes, she said no,ordered fries, when she brought food it came with mashed. annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu is very intriguing and diverse, ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The menu is very intriguing and diverse, and fulfills its promise by being very tasty. We had great service. We are definitely going to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I ordered Bronzino and ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My friend and I ordered Bronzino and halibut. It was tasty but the portions were very small for the price and bread wasn't even offered. Even though it was a Tuesday night there were only 2 additional tables of patrons. We won't be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

My wife and I enjoy going to the Stand b ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoy going to the Stand because the food is pretty reliable, the service is usually very good and you can actually talk to your friends without having to shout over all the noise so often experienced in many of the new chic restaurants around town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed another great meal at The Sta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed another great meal at The Stand. Both the food and the service were excellent. We highly recommend. We're looking forward to returning in the near future. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stand was excellent, as always. We ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Stand was excellent, as always. We dine here often and have always had great food and service. We took my in-laws here to celebrate a special occasion. We are foodies but they aren't and we were all easily able to find something we love on the menu. There are many selections that are approachable to people not wanting overly fussy food and many options that are unique and creative. I have difficult food allergies (dairy and gluten) and they are always able to accommodate and give me something amazing (rather than the bland, sauceless and minimal choices I typically have elsewhere). The service is spot on, never having you wanting for more but always having everything you need. They are friendly but not invasive. Never have we looked for someone to attend to us (they were always just there) and never have we had a conversation interrupted by service. The atmosphere is casual enough that you could wear jeans and formal enough to go dressed to the nines. I wouldn't recommend taking young kids (toddler's) there but it would be a great fit for a family meal. The prices are reasonable (in line with most mid range restaurants), Most entres average less than $30 and are a full meal (no need for sides but they are great). You'd be hard pressed to find this quality of food and service with this price tag anywhere. The location is great and we particularly love to go in August when we can watch the classic cars on Woodward through the floor to ceiling windows. It always feels like you're in a busy, beautiful city. They have valet parking so no worries there. All around excellent experience!!! Did I mention that the chef / owner generously donate their time, talents and product to many local charities? Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided last minute to visit early on a ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decided last minute to visit early on a friday night. Great decision! My halibut was phenomenal and my husband's branzino was out of this world! We will be back. Thank you for the great meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Stand ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Stand. Food was very good, service was great.....will definitely return. I had the Veal chop special and it was very flavorful and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found lots of entries on the menu that w ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Found lots of entries on the menu that would have been good. I had the halibut and it was excellent. A friend had the smoked diver scallops and those were also excellent. Flavors were exceptional. Service was great as well. Wine list was not extensive but had an excellent chardonnay from CA. Prices overall were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mondays may be slow in most restaurants, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Mondays may be slow in most restaurants, but they can make for a pleasant, quiet, low-key meal. This was our experience at The Stand. Outstanding food, a wonderful wine discovery, and efficient, friendly, knowledgeable service by waiter Brian. A bit pricey, but worth it for such an experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Soup was salty.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Soup was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Poor experience starting with an inexper ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Poor experience starting with an inexperienced waiter and pitiful bread basket.

Lousy food, inattentive staff.

Restaurant is a large attractive space-it needs help!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My server was really awesome. Efficient, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My server was really awesome. Efficient, friendly, courteous, knowledgeable. It was an important dinner meeting and his service made it go really well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for birthday or anniversary. Very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great for birthday or anniversary. Very upscale dining environment. Loved the decoration and complimentary dessert for the birthday celebration. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a last minute reservation on a Satu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made a last minute reservation on a Saturday for an early dinner. Really enjoyed our first time dining here. Food was different from the usual fare. Great octopus appetizer! The pick three sides were very tasty too. Service was exceptional. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a delight and pleasure!!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a delight and pleasure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Stand serves truly outstanding and m ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Stand serves truly outstanding and memorable food - Chef Paul is a true master, and the care and flair he imparts on each and every entree provides for a dining experience that is top notch. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good steak, very well pres ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Exceptionally good steak, very well presented. It was not busy and that may have helped service too...but we loved it.My wife was vegetarian that day...she had a very good entree too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All our food was done to perfection

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

All our food was done to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

there was only one other party there and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

there was only one other party there and we heard them complain about their food and send it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

The chicken was undercooked and had to b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The chicken was undercooked and had to be sent back. Once it came back it was tough. Duck was also undercooked and chewy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Somewhat disappointing Menu items not a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Somewhat disappointing Menu items not available including special of the day Soups were lukewarm at best but flavorful Pricey steak entree served with no sides Salad dressing was heavy handed Tasty food with somewhat flawed issues

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food. The veal and filet specials ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food. The veal and filet specials were amazing, the parsnip puree with the filet was a great balance to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very cheap with their sides! T ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

They were very cheap with their sides! They should be embarrassed with what they served when charging those prices! Their fish was over cooked and dry. The Filet was good. The service was mediocre at best. Will not be returning....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Outstanding preparations in a very spaci ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding preparations in a very spacious space. Conducive to conversations. Great!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch at The Stand

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was good but our service was quite slow. I think it was due to a large party happening at the same time but it seemed to take forever for our entrees to arrive. Will try again but just wanted to let all know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Another FANTASTIC Lunch!!!!!!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

OMG. We had another fantastic lunch at The Stand. The food and the service were very good as always. Free two hour parking at the garage down the street makes it very easy. We highly recommend hands down to say the least. Mr. Kelly runs a fine restaurant!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner but found the piec ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner but found the pieces for the specials too high. We were sorry we did not ask before ordering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The Stand accommodated our group of 10 v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The Stand accommodated our group of 10 very well. Service was solid, without flourish. Food was excellent in preparation and presentation. Worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not informed that our Sunday reserva ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was not informed that our Sunday reservation at 7 was just before the kitchen closed...we were pressured to order very quickly. Drinks were above average, but food was below average quality. This may have been because it was the end of the day, but was generally unhappy with the experience. Beyond the kitchen closing aspect, our service was fantastic and our waiter was very helpful and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We came for brunch and the experience wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for brunch and the experience was alright. I had higher expectations due to location. I am planning to try Stand again, hopefully it was just a singular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing vegetarian dish

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

-Cauliflower and black bean: The cauliflower was cooked to perfection, so were the beans. Topped with caramelized onion, this dish was beyond words. Best vegetarian dish in the locality.

-Scallops: This dish was moderate. Since this dish was priced at $30, we expected finesse. It was an average dish and not worth the money.

-Strawberry Shortcake: Fresh, light, and perfectly done. The dessert was light and had the perfect sweetness. It's a must have for all those who love good quality dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

RNF

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the short ribs and oxtail hash. Not very tasty and not much of it. Oxtail was very greasy. Came with no vegetables to add variety. Overpriced. Would not return. $200 for two for an ordinary experience a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent all around.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The service is excellent. Our food selections were excellent. Hard to choose! Try the duck, Halibut. Leave room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun evening with family

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We had dinner on the weekend of a family graduation. Our party of seven was seated immediately and welcomed by out server. She was very attentive and joined in the conversation through the evening. The dishes were varied, tasty and enjoyed by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Tuna tartare and soft shell crab appetizers were both outstanding. Fried chicken, grilled veal chop, halibut and filet entrees were very good/excellent. Service was attentive and professional. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and drinks! Excellent staff !

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and drinks! Excellent staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was excellent! We appreci ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our experience was excellent! We appreciated the extensive bourbon list, the good wine choices and the delicious meal. We enjoyed the Tuna Tartare and Octopus appetizers, and the halibut and fried chicken entrees. We also loved the chop-chop salad. The server was friendly and competent and the table was comfortable and not right on top of the one next to it, like so many restaurants these days. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely fabulous EVERY time I go!!! ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Absolutely fabulous EVERY time I go!!!

Food is superb each and every visit. It is a favorite of mine...especially a great place to meet up with friends after work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.