About The Stand

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am - 4pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Parking Details:
Valet Parking located on Peabody St. - $4. per car -Best in Town

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings.
Roasted Quail With Foie Gras, Shiitakes, Quail Egg. Celery Root Purée, Haricot Verts, Grapefruit Shavings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (32)
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
good for groups (17)
romantic (12)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All our food was done to perfection

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 18 hours ago

All our food was done to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

there was only one other party there and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

there was only one other party there and we heard them complain about their food and send it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Somewhat disappointing Menu items not a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Somewhat disappointing Menu items not available including special of the day Soups were lukewarm at best but flavorful Pricey steak entree served with no sides Salad dressing was heavy handed Tasty food with somewhat flawed issues

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food. The veal and filet specials ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food. The veal and filet specials were amazing, the parsnip puree with the filet was a great balance to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very cheap with their sides! T ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

They were very cheap with their sides! They should be embarrassed with what they served when charging those prices! Their fish was over cooked and dry. The Filet was good. The service was mediocre at best. Will not be returning....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Outstanding preparations in a very spaci ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding preparations in a very spacious space. Conducive to conversations. Great!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch at The Stand

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was good but our service was quite slow. I think it was due to a large party happening at the same time but it seemed to take forever for our entrees to arrive. Will try again but just wanted to let all know.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Another FANTASTIC Lunch!!!!!!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

OMG. We had another fantastic lunch at The Stand. The food and the service were very good as always. Free two hour parking at the garage down the street makes it very easy. We highly recommend hands down to say the least. Mr. Kelly runs a fine restaurant!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner but found the piec ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner but found the pieces for the specials too high. We were sorry we did not ask before ordering.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The Stand accommodated our group of 10 v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The Stand accommodated our group of 10 very well. Service was solid, without flourish. Food was excellent in preparation and presentation. Worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was not informed that our Sunday reserva ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was not informed that our Sunday reservation at 7 was just before the kitchen closed...we were pressured to order very quickly. Drinks were above average, but food was below average quality. This may have been because it was the end of the day, but was generally unhappy with the experience. Beyond the kitchen closing aspect, our service was fantastic and our waiter was very helpful and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We came for brunch and the experience wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for brunch and the experience was alright. I had higher expectations due to location. I am planning to try Stand again, hopefully it was just a singular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing vegetarian dish

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

-Cauliflower and black bean: The cauliflower was cooked to perfection, so were the beans. Topped with caramelized onion, this dish was beyond words. Best vegetarian dish in the locality.

-Scallops: This dish was moderate. Since this dish was priced at $30, we expected finesse. It was an average dish and not worth the money.

-Strawberry Shortcake: Fresh, light, and perfectly done. The dessert was light and had the perfect sweetness. It's a must have for all those who love good quality dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

RNF

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the short ribs and oxtail hash. Not very tasty and not much of it. Oxtail was very greasy. Came with no vegetables to add variety. Overpriced. Would not return. $200 for two for an ordinary experience a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent all around.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The service is excellent. Our food selections were excellent. Hard to choose! Try the duck, Halibut. Leave room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun evening with family

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We had dinner on the weekend of a family graduation. Our party of seven was seated immediately and welcomed by out server. She was very attentive and joined in the conversation through the evening. The dishes were varied, tasty and enjoyed by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Tuna tartare and soft shell crab appetizers were both outstanding. Fried chicken, grilled veal chop, halibut and filet entrees were very good/excellent. Service was attentive and professional. Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and drinks! Excellent staff !

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and drinks! Excellent staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was excellent! We appreci ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our experience was excellent! We appreciated the extensive bourbon list, the good wine choices and the delicious meal. We enjoyed the Tuna Tartare and Octopus appetizers, and the halibut and fried chicken entrees. We also loved the chop-chop salad. The server was friendly and competent and the table was comfortable and not right on top of the one next to it, like so many restaurants these days. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely fabulous EVERY time I go!!! ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Absolutely fabulous EVERY time I go!!!

Food is superb each and every visit. It is a favorite of mine...especially a great place to meet up with friends after work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The veal chop special with morel mushroo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The veal chop special with morel mushrooms was one of the best meals we've ever had! Great recommendations from our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A la carte menu was pretty exciting, the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

A la carte menu was pretty exciting, the problem was the desserts. It taste not too bad, but the presentation was poor and lack of flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always good

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Soft shell crabs have a limited season, but The Stand certainly did a great job making the most of it. I picked a Birmingham restaurant to accommodate out of town vendors, who each stuck with steak, but the menu has so much more to offer. The asparagus with morels in a morel cream sauce was excellent. I hate typing these, but will leave things by saying that I will be back. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Food, Not great service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The hostess was wonderful and very nice. They were not busy but our waitress was very inattentive, we would ask for something (new napkin or a condiment) and we would have to remind her multiple times. After asking exactly what came on our meal she failed to mention several items, the meal had to be sent back because of allergies to the unmentioned items. The food was good and very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Always a great dining experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We had a birthday to celebrate and counted on The Stand to make the experience perfect in every way. Our server was awesome. He anticipated our every need. The food and wine were the usual fantastic. The taste and the presentation were spectacular. We have never had a bad experience at The Stand. It will continue to be one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely a great first impression! Ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Absolutely a great first impression! Service, food and atmosphere were Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy valet parking. Awesome food, fabul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Easy valet parking. Awesome food, fabulous service and beautiful setting. I had the special of the day, lamb chops, mouth watering perfection. Il. Be back soon!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. The owne ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service was great. The owner stopped by and was extremely nice. Is our new restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The people were nice. Drinks were over p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The people were nice. Drinks were over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Brian, our server, was very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brian, our server, was very knowledgeable about the wine list and attentive throughout the meal. Food was delicious and creatively presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The Stand is a HIT!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We stopped in on a whim for lunch a couple weeks back. Very impressive menu and service. We met the owner and knew we'd want to come back and bring friends.

Made our reservations for Valentine's Saturday - busy night, but still had just the right amount of attention. Although we knew it was busy, the layout gives it a more intimate feel. The food is local whenever possible. Grass fed/grazed meats, organic chicken, etc, all lovingly prepared.

If you enjoy eating healthy and delicious, try the Kale/Beet/Arugula salad - it's perfect.

One in our party truly enjoyed the lamb shank. Two of us had roasted Bronzino and had our choice of whole or filet - how nice is that? OMG! melt-in-the-mouth delicious. My wife said the smoked diver scallops were amazing (she didn't save any for me) - and the plate was brought out by the owner, who is very "hands-on".

There was a special menu for Valentine's weekend which included appetizers, soup/salad, entree and dessert. We were also celebrating a friend's birthday, so we did not opt for the special menu - knew we had a special dessert at home - otherwise we would have tried it (but $$$$).

Very good wine selection in all price ranges - even an exclusive wine list for those so inclined. We tried "Educated Guess" - a very nice Napa Cab, so nice we got a second bottle :)

It's a new favorite restaurant for us. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very enjoyable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Burger Day Lunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We get together as a group of 8 and visit a different spot each week and try out their burgers and soup. Burgers here were great, as was the bisque. Some confusion as to check prices at bill time but corrected promptly. Very nice place and burgers reasonable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun place! The Tuna tartar was outstandi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Fun place! The Tuna tartar was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the ambiance and enjoyed the men ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We love the ambiance and enjoyed the menu choices. Our favorites were the tuna tartare, short rib appetizer and fried chicken. Unfortunately, the bronzino was a disappointment, but it wouldn't stop us from returning. There are enough other appetizing options to try. We appreciated the extensive liquor list and good wine choices and our server was very helpful. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Special occasion

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

This is a restaurant for special occasions. The cocktails are perfect. Service was excellent. Food well prepared. Nice decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were spectacular.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Food and service were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.