About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

The Southern
The Highway
Kumamoto oysters
My Way
The Belle
The Cuban
Mimosa
Rubarb Shortcake
Braised Brisket
Dominican Pork
Southern Burger
beausoleil oysters
Royal Red Shrimp Risotto
Devil of an Egg
Dry Martini
Chicken Fried Chicken
Oysters
fish tacos
Shigoku Oysters
Bread
Sautéed Butternut Squash
Happy Hour Oysters
White Cheddar Mac & Cheese
Vodka Martini
Prime Sirloin
Naked Roy's Oysters
Hermitage Peach Cobbler
Bluepoint Oysters
Mayday Boro Blonde
Yuengling Lager
2009 Bluebird Chardonnay
Tom's Dirty Sock
Hummingbird Cake
Chicken and Waffles
Dominican Pork Appetizer
Steak Sampler
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Fried Eggs And Jalapeño Bacon
Brown Butter Linguini With Eggs
Fish -N- Grits
Ribeye Steak
Coffee
Cappuccino With Almond Biscotti
Beer On Tap...Wicked Cool
Fried Chicken And Waffels With Bacon Infused Maple Syrup
Green Tomato Benedict
Red Grits
Dessert
Old South Cheeseburger
Fish Special
Salmon
Potatos
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese
Portabella Mushroom Sandwich
Cappuccino With Pecan Biscotti
Apalachicola Bay Oysters
Breaux Bros Gumbo
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Sides Corn Brulé, Brussels Sprouts
Tunatare
Pulled Pork Bbq Sandwich With Fries
Hot Chicken Salad
Oyster Mash
Griddled Potatoes W/ Frizzled Onions
Steak And Biscuit Benedict
Oysters and Blood Orange Mimosa
T For Tennessee (Steak & Fried Eggs)
Cappucino
Southern Fried Egg Sandwich (Avocado, Bacon, Tomato, Aioli)
BBQ Shrimp
Sweet & Salty Carmel Apple Martini
Saffire Steak Biscuits
Chocolate Burboun Cake
Leipers Steak
Chicken Fried Steak
Prime Rib and Sides
Fried Oysters & Mashed Potatoes
The Southern Burger
Oysters Southern
Pork Belly
White Cheddar Mac N Cheese With Caesar Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (376)
hot spot (327)
good for groups (319)
See All
special occasion (271)
great for brunch (248)
vibrant bar scene (248)
great for lunch (206)
neighborhood gem (159)
great for outdoor dining (148)
notable wine list (80)
romantic (73)
late-night find (58)
kid-friendly (26)
scenic view (23)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here a ton of times & the food ...

Dined a day ago

I've been here a ton of times & the food/drinks never disappoints! The live jazz music just makes it that much better!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the vibe of this place! ...

Dined a day ago

Absolutely loved the vibe of this place! Food was amazing. So delicious. We went for brunch and then returned a few hours later the same day for happy hour to get the oysters. Soooo yummy! Great drinks too! This Is a must go to spot in Nashville!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is great and food is good. ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The service is great and food is good. Pretty pricey and noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The general open seating area where we w ...

Dined 5 days ago

The general open seating area where we were seated was way too loud to carry a normal conversation without shouting.

food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our lunch and dinner experience ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We loved our lunch and dinner experience!!! Phillip runs a great restaurant! We love the sweet potato grits at dinner and the whoopie cookie pie dessert!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, cocktails, and service were st ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food, cocktails, and service were stellar. There were no issues with special request items for our food. Everything was great! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had heard good things about The Southe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I had heard good things about The Southern for a while now, but this was my first opportunity to experience it for myself. Sunday Brunch was great. The food, service, ambiance and especially the Bloody Marys, were really fine. Hope to get there again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, out waiter was ve ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was great, out waiter was very personable and gave us really good suggestions. We got the crab cakes and hash and the steak and biscuits benedict , both are out of this world! The coffee was a great brew and the blood orange mimosas really hit the spot! I would make a reservation, this is a hot spot and fills up quick!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fathers Day brunch. Excellent choice, re ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch. Excellent choice, reasonably priced brunch menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was delicious and the service impeccable. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I ordered the filet and I ha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I ordered the filet and I had the cream of mushroom soup as well. They were all delicious. Wonderful dinner and great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and not overrated at all. We t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious and not overrated at all. We thoroughly enjoyed the andouille sausage & oyster appetizer, the belle (filet mignon) and smoked pork chops! Comprehensive bourbon list, my husband couldn't resist!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This atmosphere was amazing, the food wa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This atmosphere was amazing, the food was delicious and the server was great!! Would recommend this place to anyone. Try the lamb it was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The pork app was great and their filet m ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The pork app was great and their filet mignon was perfectly tender. Their ribs were fall off the bone.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening dinner at the Southern. Se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great evening dinner at the Southern. Service was wonderful, food was great. Recommend

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 20th yea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 20th year anniversary by starting out at the Southern. The food was fabulous!! Loved the fish and sweet potato grits. Will definitely be making reservations again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

The first day we went was for lunch. Th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The first day we went was for lunch. The service was not horrible. In our servers defense, he was also serving a table of 12 guys who all required separate checks. All fine and good, but it resulted in not getting enough attention formandecemt lunch. The fries were cold by the time we got them, we wanted ketchup but the waiter never checked on us, our glasses were empty and never refilled, and the check took forever. The tacos, however, were amazing. We came back for dinner two nights later since we had heard so many good things about the restaurant. This time was much better. The server was amazing and on top of his game. The food was even better, and the drinks were smooth.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food once again. The S ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and food once again. The Southern continues one of my favorite Lunch spots in Nashville. It is an outstanding choice for business meal especially with out of town clients. Look forward to my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Back to Nashville with friends. On a fo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Back to Nashville with friends. On a former trip, I was at restaurant for breakfast. It was good - this time - dinner was FANTASTIC. We were a group of five high school friends of fifty years. We had a great meal and a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent ribs and steak. Friendly staff ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent ribs and steak. Friendly staff. Great service (even though it was PACKED.)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with the fried green tomatoes ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We started with the fried green tomatoes that were on the happy hour menu - they were served on a bed of spicy pimiento cheese and were absolutely yummy. I had The Belle filet (my go to at this restaurant) and my coworker had a full rack of ribs. We each ended with banana bread pudding which was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing brunch definitely worth the stop ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing brunch definitely worth the stop. Awesome bloody Mary's

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

The fried green tomato wedge is disappoi ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The fried green tomato wedge is disappointing - it has three bites of fried green tomato. Second time getting it thinking the first time was a one off. Very sad. Oysters were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4

The barbacuban sandwich was delightful, ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The barbacuban sandwich was delightful, a nice smoky flavor with a piquant finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the chicken and waffles for bru ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved the chicken and waffles for brunch. Great place with great food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The wait was an hour and a half for 2 p ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The wait was an hour and a half for 2 people...ended up making a reservation for 9 pm........a little late for us, but since in Nashville figured it would be fine. Don't plan on having any type of conversation as it is extremely loud. Had to ask for bread, never brought to us. Food was good, but I wouldn't say exceptional. Not sure I would try again. If you're in no rush, you'll be ok.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Noise level very loud. Food, service, pr ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Noise level very loud. Food, service, presentation, menu are all excellent. Enjoyed overall and find location perfect for a night on Nashville.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Seated o ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Seated on time. Happy Hour was nice.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a reservation (definitely) on a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We made a reservation (definitely) on a Tuesday night to eat at The Southern before a symphony performance. It is located directly across from The Schermerhorn in downtown Nashville. At 5:30 it was nearly full and completely full by 6:00. With people waiting. We had a happy hour special half price oysters as a starter. Each of us ordered the 8oz filet and it was perfect. I gave the server 4'stars because even though he was very nice, and attentive, he totally forgot to bring us each the after dinner coffee we ordered and instead presented the check. Not sure if it was a message to move on or just an oversight, but we didn't complain. It's a noisy , busy restaurant with lots of groups as well as smaller booths. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was good- pricey. Specifically as ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Dinner was good- pricey. Specifically asked for a little pink in the steak and it cam to the table very well done and dry.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had heard about The Southern and my so ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I had heard about The Southern and my son wanted to go there for his birthday. The food did not disappoint us at all. The "Nudie Suit" which is a huge steak was incredible as were the japapeno grits that came with it. We also had the "Devil of an Egg" (smoked deviled eggs) and the were incredible! The only downside was our waiter was not the best we have had and frankly had a hygiene issue that bothered all of us. No details to share but it certainly detracted from the experience.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

I like the atmosphere of the Southern, s ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

I like the atmosphere of the Southern, so have gone back after several mediocre experiences, and had the same issues with service and food quality for this dinner for 6. Waiter was distracted and seldom scene, we waited long periods of time for drink rounds, and 1 of our 6 entrée orders was forgotten, so one of our ladies didn't have a meal for 15 minutes after everyone else. 2 of the 4 dry aged steaks ordered were way off and not close to temp ordered. too many great options with good service to go back to the Southern for anything but a drink at the bar.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed dinner at the Southern before ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at the Southern before a concert at the Ryman Auditorium. I have had brunch there a couple of times, but this was my first time to have dinner. I had the Belle, an 8 oz filet topped with onion strings and a portabella red-wine balsamic glaze. It was a great steak, that cut like butter. I also sampled one of the scallops and it was divine. We will be having dinner again at the Southern, soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food, cool atmosphere, friendl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic food, cool atmosphere, friendly service. But even with taking advantage of Happy Hour prices our final bill was quite large. We'll be back, but not as often as we'd like since it's a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The best chicken

Dined on June 13, 2016

The best chicken

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Went in with limited expectations based ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went in with limited expectations based on reviews I read. The oysters were the main delight of the whole meal. Steak was not what I expected for the price. Completely overrated for the price. I would not entertain going back for any occasion. Would rate this no higher than a 2 star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

While the food was pretty good, particul ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

While the food was pretty good, particularly the appetizers we chose, we chose the wrong ambience for our needs. Still, The Southern is energetic, and has a wonderfully large back-wall bar, and the service was really good, even excellent: not a thing wrong on this front. I think we wanted a little calmer and perhaps a smaller dining area, as The Southern was a big room and a bit noisy. Still, we had never been to The Southern, so this was simply a mismatch for this evening. I'll bet we would have loved a lunch here. Also, when I made a reservation, I asked for a booth, and to be on the edge of "the action," and that's exactly where The Southern put us! So, bravo! In the booth, we were able to talk, even if the overall ambience was a bit on the noisy side.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here for the first time and loved ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We ate here for the first time and loved it! It was a date night before a concert we were seeing in town. The food, atmosphere and staff were all wonderful. We split 2 entrees - the filet and the vegetable plate. Delicious. The gumbo was also amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The service is great! They have do peopl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The service is great! They have do people moving constantly to clear tables, refill water glasses and they make sure you food is delivered fresh and hot to the table!

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Our expectations were different. Limited ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our expectations were different. Limited brunch menu. Would have liked other egg options. NOt sure why omelets weren't available. they were VERY busy, CMAfest and all. The manager did stop by to welcome us. At one point he was bussing tables. The noise level was so high we couldn't talk comfortable. I had the hot chicken salad, very good.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.