About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

The Southern
The Highway
Kumamoto oysters
My Way
The Cuban
The Belle
Mimosa
Rubarb Shortcake
Braised Brisket
Dominican Pork
Southern Burger
beausoleil oysters
Royal Red Shrimp Risotto
Devil of an Egg
Dry Martini
Chicken Fried Chicken
Oysters
fish tacos
Shigoku Oysters
Bread
Sautéed Butternut Squash
Happy Hour Oysters
White Cheddar Mac & Cheese
Vodka Martini
Prime Sirloin
Naked Roy's Oysters
Hermitage Peach Cobbler
Bluepoint Oysters
Mayday Boro Blonde
Yuengling Lager
2009 Bluebird Chardonnay
Tom's Dirty Sock
Hummingbird Cake
Chicken and Waffles
Dominican Pork Appetizer
Steak Sampler
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Fried Eggs And Jalapeño Bacon
Brown Butter Linguini With Eggs
Fish -N- Grits
Ribeye Steak
Coffee
Cappuccino With Almond Biscotti
Beer On Tap...Wicked Cool
Fried Chicken And Waffels With Bacon Infused Maple Syrup
Green Tomato Benedict
Red Grits
Dessert
Old South Cheeseburger
Fish Special
Salmon
Potatos
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese
Portabella Mushroom Sandwich
Cappuccino With Pecan Biscotti
Apalachicola Bay Oysters
Breaux Bros Gumbo
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Sides Corn Brulé, Brussels Sprouts
Tunatare
Pulled Pork Bbq Sandwich With Fries
Hot Chicken Salad
Oyster Mash
Griddled Potatoes W/ Frizzled Onions
Steak And Biscuit Benedict
Oysters and Blood Orange Mimosa
T For Tennessee (Steak & Fried Eggs)
Cappucino
Southern Fried Egg Sandwich (Avocado, Bacon, Tomato, Aioli)
BBQ Shrimp
Sweet & Salty Carmel Apple Martini
Saffire Steak Biscuits
Chocolate Burboun Cake
Leipers Steak
Chicken Fried Steak
Prime Rib and Sides
Fried Oysters & Mashed Potatoes
The Southern Burger
Oysters Southern
Pork Belly
White Cheddar Mac N Cheese With Caesar Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (353)
good for groups (318)
hot spot (310)
See All
special occasion (286)
vibrant bar scene (236)
great for brunch (230)
great for lunch (212)
neighborhood gem (163)
great for outdoor dining (133)
notable wine list (75)
romantic (69)
late-night find (57)
kid-friendly (31)
scenic view (23)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. We were in a lit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. We were in a little of a rush and our server did everything in his power to expedite service. We really appreciated that and we ended up having time to spare. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place!! Great food! Awesome atmosp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place!! Great food! Awesome atmosphere!! I highly recommend if your looking for a great establishment that can be dressy or casual! Located just of music row downtown Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deviled eggs are delicious! Jalepeno ba ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Deviled eggs are delicious! Jalepeno bacon and pimento cheese made a burger extra special. Friendly, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Southern the last two times in N ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed Southern the last two times in Nashville. They have a good menu and great staff. Fun atmosphere too.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The steak ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The steak was excellent; cooked just right and very palatable. The dessert was indescribably delicious [bread pudding; best I have ever tasted].

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Streets around The Southern were closed ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Streets around The Southern were closed so was unable to us valet or even get close to the restaurant. Ended up parking several blocks away and hoofing it. Noise level was very loud. It was hard to carry on a conversation. Service was hit and miss, had to ask for everything. Food was just okay. This was our first visit to The Southern and might be our last. No big deal.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a business dinner with 6 people a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a business dinner with 6 people and the atmosphere, service, and food were all excellent! I definitely recommend The Southern and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the experience was not pleasant ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Overall, the experience was not pleasant. The server was very nice and knowledgeable of the menu. However, the food was below average and cold. I am not sure if this happened because we had a late reservation (9:00pm) but the food wasn't good and my father-in-law actually got sick from the southern burger.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

My wife and I had heard about The Southe ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I had heard about The Southern in conversations about the great restaurants in Nashville. We decided to try it as a way to celebrate our son's 25th birthday and we were not disappointed. The service, the food and atmosphere were all great. Even on a Sunday night, the place was packed, but our table was ready for us at 7:15 just as we had reserved it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oyster happy hour was a nice surpris ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The oyster happy hour was a nice surprise and the quality of oysters was very good. We had a selection from both the East and West coasts. The Fish and Grits with a Halibut filet was simple but very tasty and perfectly sized.

Our server was attentive early on but faded a bit as we got into the meal. One of our party expressly requested his white wine be delivered with the meal but it came to the table within minutes after it was ordered so the chill fell off by the time dinner arrived. A later request for another second glass could not be made because we could not get the server's attention. Minor lapses but it is a moderately high end restaurant and attention to these details is expected.

The Southern will definitely be on the list whenever we make plans for downtown dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very, very enjoyable pre-concert dinner ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very, very enjoyable pre-concert dinner at the Southern. The menu is interesting and has enough variety to please everyone. I had the brisket with the cippolini onions and my partner had the scallops so we could share and make surf & turf.... outstanding. The place is loud but that adds to the energy. Great bar!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service, food & atmosphere were definite ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service, food & atmosphere were definitely worth returning. But...3 scallops for $38 - REALLY? I was embarrassed in front of my out of town guest who ordered it. Bathroom sink is ludicrous! Water water everywhere!!!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Was highly recommended and it did not di ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Was highly recommended and it did not disappoint!! Oyster bar was amazing. Staff was top-knotch. Food was just delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, The staff w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent dining experience, The staff was very attentive and helpful with drink selections. The variety of fresh oysters from the east coast was exceptional for the middle of the country. The two of us eat 4 dozen and not a bad one in the bunch! The steaks were prepared perfectly. Great food, great drinks and great service, my kind of place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the chicken fried chick ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Highly recommend the chicken fried chicken with collards and Mac and cheese. Yum! Great service and friendly fun atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fabulous good in a very active en ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fabulous good in a very active environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We love love the food! Wish it would be ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love love the food! Wish it would be little more quit and little more private.

Thank you for a great night

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plates are fabulous, the benne shr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Small plates are fabulous, the benne shrimp and steak and biscuits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hands down my favorite place to dine in ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Hands down my favorite place to dine in Nashville. Yummy brunch foods and amazing supper menu. Definitely need to make reservations if you want to eat there!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drink, great server. I w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and drink, great server. I will revisit whenever I am in Nashville again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was recommended to me by seve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This place was recommended to me by several people. We live in Texas, but

visit Nashville on occasion but rarely get the chance to sample the fine restaurants.

This place went beyond expectations! Outstanding bar selections!

The oyster appetizer selections as the best I've ever seen anywhere and the quality

was outstanding. Food choices are outstanding and the food quality is the very best.

Great restaurant in a great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations were not honored. Door man ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Reservations were not honored. Door man was a snob. Would not recommend. Very over priced for sub averaged meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant and food. Our waiter D ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great restaurant and food. Our waiter David was outstanding and made the evening memorable.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to try The Sout ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband and I decided to try The Southern while visiting Nashville. Everything was just ok. We have been to much better restaurants and the noise level made it very difficult to hold a conversation. We would not return here to eat. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went at 230 on a Friday afternoon... ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went at 230 on a Friday afternoon... No wait... But the menu did not have a lot to offer.... You would have thought that since it advertises as a steak and oyster bar there would be more steak to choose from..... There was one!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service is consistently excelle ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service is consistently excellent every time we go.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was horrible have eaten there sever ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was horrible have eaten there several times before and recommend to several people but will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Fantastic food, great oysters, amazing c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic food, great oysters, amazing cocktails, nothing bad about the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Started out with happy hour drinks, then ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Started out with happy hour drinks, then splurged on a dozen oysters. Great gumbo and salad, then beautifully prepared steak and farmers plate pasta. Ask for Heather. She's great

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from Daniel. Food and drin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great service from Daniel. Food and drinks were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit will not be our last ... ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit will not be our last ... brews and cocktails were great, as were our pasta and burger dinners ... service was excellent, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was very dry for medium rare. A ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My steak was very dry for medium rare. Also had the double cut pork and it was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great meal with my daughter. We had the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great meal with my daughter. We had the brisket and chicken fried chicken. Wonderful atmosphere, good service. Will definitely return next time we're in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had Charbroiled Oysters, they were aweso ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had Charbroiled Oysters, they were awesome. The wedge salad was absolutely delicious!!! Next time I'm in Nashville I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food - the best meal I had in ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food - the best meal I had in Nashville and definitely the best steak!!! Felt a bit rushed to order and eat but otherwise a great place👍😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I want to say we went Sunday at 2 we wer ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I want to say we went Sunday at 2 we were a big group for my sisters bachelorette party. They managed to give us our own room because we have 16 people. The room was nice, our waiter was Jordan he was very patient and took good care of us. We would definitely go back when were in the area

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient parking options, friendly sta ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Convenient parking options, friendly staff, attentive service, delicious food (particularly steaks). It is very popular, so it can be a bit loud, but the atmosphere is quite pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken and waffles are mouthwaterin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chicken and waffles are mouthwateringly great, and the grits have spoiled me for eating grits anywhere else. Everything is outstanding, including the Bloody Marys. A not-to-miss brunch location in Nashville.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make a reservation. It was easy to do a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Make a reservation. It was easy to do and you do not have to wait when you arrive. We had a nice booth away from the crowd. Very big restaurant. It has a separate room for large parties. There is an outdoor front patio if you like to people watch.

Drinks were reasonable and different. The food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

BEST Fried Chicken in Nashville! The fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

BEST Fried Chicken in Nashville! The food that is consistently excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.