About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Highway - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Kumamoto oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Cuban - The Southern, Nashville, TN
My Way - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Belle - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Mimosa - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Rubarb Shortcake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Braised Brisket - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dominican Pork - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Devil of an Egg - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dry Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Chicken - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
fish tacos - The Southern, Nashville, TN
beausoleil oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bread - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sautéed Butternut Squash - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Shigoku Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Happy Hour Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
White Cheddar Mac & Cheese - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Vodka Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Prime Sirloin - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Naked Roy's Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bluepoint Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hermitage Peach Cobbler - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Mayday Boro Blonde - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Yuengling Lager - The Southern, Nashville, TN
2009 Bluebird Chardonnay - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Tom's Dirty Sock - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hummingbird Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken and Waffles - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dominican Pork Appetizer - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Steak Sampler - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Chip Pancakes - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Whiskey Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Brown Butter Linguini With Eggs - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Eggs And Jalapeño Bacon - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fish -N- Grits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Ribeye Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Coffee - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappuccino With Almond Biscotti - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Beer On Tap...Wicked Cool - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Chicken And Waffels With Bacon Infused Maple Syrup - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Green Tomato Benedict - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Red Grits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dessert - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Old South Cheeseburger  - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Southern Burger - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fish Special - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Salmon - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Potatos - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappuccino With Pecan Biscotti - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Portabella Mushroom Sandwich - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Breaux Bros Gumbo  - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Apalachicola Bay Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Royal Red Shrimp Risotto - The Southern, Nashville, TN
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sides Corn Brulé, Brussels Sprouts - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Tunatare - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Pulled Pork Bbq Sandwich With Fries - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oyster Mash - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hot Chicken Salad - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Griddled Potatoes W/ Frizzled Onions - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Steak And Biscuit Benedict - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters and Blood Orange Mimosa - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Southern Fried Egg Sandwich (Avocado, Bacon, Tomato, Aioli) - The Southern, Nashville, TN
T For Tennessee (Steak & Fried Eggs) - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappucino - The Southern, Nashville, TN
BBQ Shrimp - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sweet & Salty Carmel Apple Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Saffire Steak Biscuits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Leipers Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Burboun Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Oysters & Mashed Potatoes - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Prime Rib and Sides - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters Southern - The Southern, Nashville, TN
White Cheddar Mac N Cheese With Caesar Salad - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Pork Belly - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Southern Burger - The Southern, Nashville, TN

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us this New Year's Eve for a very special four-course dinner! Pricing is $65/pp from 5:00 - 6:30pm, $85/pp from 7:00 - 8:30pm, and $95/pp from 8:45pm - close. Later seatings include a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. $25/pp cancellation fee if cancelled less than 24 hours beforehand.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
1 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Hot Spot (147)
Special Occasion (141)
Good for a Date (126)
See All
Good for Groups (114)
Fit for Foodies (114)
Comfort Food (109)
Vibrant Bar Scene (106)
Casual (103)
Bar Seating (97)
Fun (96)
Creative Cuisine (91)
Great for Brunch (86)
Great for Lunch (85)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Business Meals (79)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Neighborhood Gem (75)
People Watching (62)
Pre/post Theatre (60)
Sunday Lunch (58)
Authentic (55)
Modern Decor (54)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Local Ingredients (52)
Happy Hour (52)
Worth the Drive (51)
Open Kitchen (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Live Music (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (28)
Private Room (26)
Cozy (25)
Live Sports (24)
Late-night Find (22)
Great Beer (22)
Outstanding Value (22)
Tasting Menu (15)
Seasonal (15)
Family Style (15)
Quick Bite (13)
Historic (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (7)
Organic (6)
Spicy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sort By:
S
3533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a good meal. Noisy, but appropria ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good meal. Noisy, but appropriate. A bit pricey but I never feel taken advantage of.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Make an early reservation at 11:30 to ge ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Make an early reservation at 11:30 to get a good seat. All of the waitstaff is excellent especially Barrett. He was very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.

The andouille gumbo was New Orleans spicy and sweet. The fried oyster appetizer was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food and helpful service. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and helpful service. Wonderful meal, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Our waiter was ph ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great. Our waiter was phenomonal, very friendly, and attentive. Thanks,

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my husband here for his birthday di ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Took my husband here for his birthday dinner. First time either of us had been here. We loved it from beginning to end! The service was wonderful and the food was amazing! Recommend this for everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All great food and great service. Had a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

All great food and great service. Had a reservation and got right in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience! Better than the fi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic experience! Better than the first time. Will be returning!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. I had only visit ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. I had only visited for Brunch. And although the Brunch is good, dinner is amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Family Style, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To begin with they lost our reservation. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

To begin with they lost our reservation. Also, when they contacted me to confirm my reservation when I returned their call it said that their voicemail was full and I could not leave a message. I call their take out line and the girl put me on hold and never came back to the phone so I finally hung up. I thought the portions of food did not meet the expectations of the prices that were charged. It was okay for a one time experience but I would not go back if I had to foot the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a group of 12 and the restaurant ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a group of 12 and the restaurant was great with rearranging tables and attending to our two gluten free guests -- delicious and healthy food options -- great service -- we all enjoyed it so much we ate there two days in a row --

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommend the chicken and waffles ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Highly recommend the chicken and waffles!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Start with the o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was very good. Start with the oysters then get meat. We got the brisket and filet. Both good. Even the rolls were good. Only downside was we had a reservation but didn't get seated until 15 mins after the reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our meal very much

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First time here. We were on vacation vis ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

First time here. We were on vacation visiting Nashville from Wisconsin. My boyfriend never had oysters our waitress was fantastic at helping him pick out what to try. The cook who delivered the oysters fantastic as well.

I believe our waitress was Paige. She was amazing! Thank you for the recommendations on the oysters. Very pleased and highly recommend this restaurant! We hope to be back very soon in the future!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was packed and for a weeknigh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Restaurant was packed and for a weeknight. That is a good sign. Reservation is a must. Got seated fairly quickly. Food was very good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food and great service if you can e ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Good food and great service if you can endure an extremely noisy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Kevin was great as was the good and over ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Kevin was great as was the good and overall experience. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little disappointed in the overcooked an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Little disappointed in the overcooked andouille sausage in the gumbo. Dried out and shriveled. I've never experienced this problem with the Southern before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our group of 7 had an early dinner prior ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our group of 7 had an early dinner prior to a concert across the street. Obviously, many others were doing the same thing judging by the crowd and all the activity. We truly enjoyed the food, the service and the energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fun place to take visitors to N ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Always a fun place to take visitors to Nashville. Interesting menu, friendly wait staff, good vibe. Oysters are good enough even Yankees like them!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit Nashville about three times per ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I visit Nashville about three times per year. The Southern is always a "Must do" for me. It never disappoints. Food is fantastic as is the vibe.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was okay the waiter forgot our d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Service was okay the waiter forgot our drinks we ordered and entered my food wrong - my husband ordered the fried chicken that was amazing and I ordered the filet med well - it came rare like almost raw and he never came back to ask how everything was I love the have complimentary parking

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We love The Southern. Best oysters arou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love The Southern. Best oysters around! They use local ingredients and offer very creative dishes. True comfort food!

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was just ok. Nothing special! Servi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was just ok. Nothing special! Service was excellent! Over priced beef brisket, dried, cold, no flavors & ribs were the best! Waiter was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Fun drinks and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and service. Fun drinks and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was a great time with amazing food and l ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Was a great time with amazing food and laughter. Our waiter was great and very comical. Enjoyed the whole experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best waiters we've had in a w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best waiters we've had in a while! Great atmosphere and even better food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Live Music, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard such good things about The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had heard such good things about The Southern and unfortunately for us it did not live up to the hype. The service was wonderful and the food was good, but we were not "wowed" by anything we ordered. The best part of our dishes were the accompanying side items - jalapeño grits with the brisket, black beans and rice with the fish tacos and collards with mac and cheese with the chicken fried chicken. The main feature of each dish while cooked well didn't have the same pizazz as the side items. The restaurant itself is beautiful and the host, hostesses and waitstaff were friendly and provided a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was great as always. Service was la ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was great as always. Service was lacking. Was nice but had to wait at many different points of service. He was not busy with empty tables all around us.

Also was very disappointed that they did not run the brunch menu on the Friday after thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Another great night at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Another great night at this restaurant. Never fails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite eatery anywhere. The bbq shr ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My favorite eatery anywhere. The bbq shrimp app is great...but it's all great. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ribs! Great service and really nic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great ribs! Great service and really nice mix of drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The cocktails were fantastic, and the se ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The cocktails were fantastic, and the server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the greeting at the door to the wai ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

From the greeting at the door to the waiter introducing himself, The Southern is true hospitality at its friendly best.

The patrons who frequent here know this so plan on making a reservation or arriving at 11:30 for lunch.

Lunch can't be bad if you try a cup of Gumbo with the Chicken Freebird. I have eaten a bowl of the Gumbo alone for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An overrated and overpriced tourist trap ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

An overrated and overpriced tourist trap. Food tasted like it was microwaved (not to mention the hair I found in an oyster). Slow and non-attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our entrees arrived before we were done ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our entrees arrived before we were done with our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Frankly, the food and ambiance is not wo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Frankly, the food and ambiance is not worth the price. The interior did not look that comfortable or nice. I had ordered the fish tacos, and it was very pedestrian. For a restaurant with that kind of price should have a minimum standard, and this place sorely was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

It was so loud you couldn't have a conve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was so loud you couldn't have a conversation. Appetizer was bland with no flavor. Cost high compared to quality. Not sure why people speak of this place, I don't get it. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food with friendly service in a li ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food with friendly service in a lively atmosphere. Brisket and grits were melt in your mouth delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good to have reservations. Table was re ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good to have reservations. Table was ready and service was great. Everyone had a great meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.