About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (417)
hot spot (347)
good for groups (332)
See All
special occasion (280)
vibrant bar scene (274)
great for brunch (251)
great for lunch (216)
neighborhood gem (159)
great for outdoor dining (124)
notable wine list (89)
romantic (80)
late-night find (79)
kid-friendly (27)
scenic view (22)
Sort By:
Newest
2850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Live music was extremely loud in an alre ...

Dined 3 days ago

Live music was extremely loud in an already loud environment. Food was very good but a little pricey. First time there for brunch. Will try dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great service, really r ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, great service, really really loud, though!

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

it was very crowded and very noisy. the ...

Dined 4 days ago

it was very crowded and very noisy. the tables were too close together.

food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Excellent food. Excellent Hosting staff ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Excellent Hosting staff. Very loud atmosphere. Server paid more attention to selling bar brews to male guests than to the allergies of one in our party. She even served her the very plate our dinner guest inquired about, but opted for another dish due to their allergies. Our dinner guest shared it with others in our party instead of making a fuss. She did however, LOVE the Tomato Bisque soup du jour. So much, she ordered it twice. This is not a venue for a quiet, late supper. It is instead, an up-scale sports bar. Loud. Busy. Expensive. No wings or beer buckets, but EXCELLENT BEEF!!!!!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service. Loud envir ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service. Loud environment but fun with a buzz!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service we had in 5 days i ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Best food and service we had in 5 days in Nashville. If you're visiting Nashville this is a must. The steak and biscuit appetizer is over the top, ribs are excellent, and the salad with catch of the day is excellent as well. The atmosphere is very lively and busy, but the wait staff and kitchen are fast, thorough and helpful with special requests.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Popular place. Had reservation and arriv ...

Dined 7 days ago

Popular place. Had reservation and arrived a few minutes early. Had to wait 15/20 mins before we were seated. Gumbo and Oysters were great. Ordered scallops which were under cooked. Other than that, it was nice ambience but I can't overlook under cooking my entree. Won't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Oysters are amazing.

Dined 7 days ago

Oysters are amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Looking fo ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Looking forward to next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to The Southern for my daughter's 2 ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went to The Southern for my daughter's 22nd birthday. We had 7 people and all were taken great care of. Food was delicious. About 5 bites into my son's filet, he accidentally knocked is water glass over. Thankfully it was empty, but the glass broke. Our waiter immediately took his plate, had a new steak prepared and brought him a whole new meal. Great place. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Another Good Dining Experience

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The Southern is an excellent, convenient place to have good food, service and fun before an evening at the symphony or another nearby venue. The Southern Burger is more than a meal and is reasonably priced for those who want an ample casual meal without spending a lot of money. The Bless Your Heart salad is an attractive presentation but may have too much vinegar for your taste, as it does for ours. Service is friendly and attentive without hovering. We don't care for oysters but, if you do, this is the place--famous for their offering of many favors of oysters.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quick Lunch

Dined on May 17, 2016

Enjoyed the "Meat and 3" special. Pork loin, potatoes, black eyed peas and the BEST GREENS EVER! Nice spin on the wedge salad with fried green tomatoes and cracklings.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Ordered Thundercap oysters from Malbeque ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Ordered Thundercap oysters from Malbeque PEI, never seen them before. Server brings us a plate of oysters, very large, extremely tasty. Excellent! Except a few minutes later another server comes by with our Thundercaps--but we had our order, so we send them away. Turns out we ate Hootenanny oysters from VA, wrong order but we're OK. Server returns with our Thundercaps, very small, insists we enjoy them. Delicious, and no charge to us for the mixup. The rest of the dinner was fantastic

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The goal at the Southern is to get you i ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The goal at the Southern is to get you in and out as quickly as possible. Our entrees arrived about 5 minutes after we ordered... before the appetizer. We were told they would refire when we were ready, but judging by how cold our food was, I seriously doubt they did. Don't waste your time here, there are many many other wonderful places to have an enjoyable and well executed meal in Nashville.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic birthday dinner

Dined on May 16, 2016

Above and beyond service, delicious food and for my birthday, a complimentary dessert. I tried the bananas foster bread pudding - amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

evening out

Dined on May 16, 2016

The Belle steak dinner was fabulous; the smoked pork chop okay. The oyster bar is a treat. The drink Zydeco is the perfect blend of flavors. I was confused by the wait staff wearing sweatshirt jackets in association with the menu and otherwise nice atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. The meal was timed right and very nicely presented. The wait staff was great to watch and ran very well!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I've been to the Southern a hand full of ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I've been to the Southern a hand full of times and always felt it is consistent good quality food. Though most of my visits have been for lunch, I decided to take my wife and kids for this past mother's day. What the kids and I ordered were great. We had the Southern Burger, Ribs, and fries. My wife got the filet (bella). The one time I did visit for dinner I also ordered the steak given the fact that it's a steak house. The steak at the Southern was bland, my wife wasn't happy with it. We started off with raw oysters which are one some of the best you can get in town. Now for the service it self, the waitress we had was nice and attentive. We had reservations and when we arrived there was an awkward exchange between the two hostess on where they wanted to seat us. After nearly 10 mins of bickering back and forth they finally sat us. It wasn't like they were extremely busy on this Sunday evening. Overall, the food is really good excluding the steak (I've now tasted the bella and I've had their strip). The quality of meat was nice and tender, but lacked taste even the slightest of salt and pepper. I'd definitely go back for their happy hour and burger any day of the week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently awesome food and service! ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Consistently awesome food and service! Will always take friends there when they are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 15, 2016

Visiting from Pa and this restaurant by far my favorite. Delicious Oysters, awesome cocktails and friendly staff. Our waiter was very pleasant. We're definitely coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had heard good things about this place f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had heard good things about this place for brunch. Seated immediately with a rez made a couple days in advance. Service was attentive. We had some slow food/drink delivery. Appetizer ordered early, came out after our entrees were served. Bacon egg sandwiches boasted avocado but it turned out to be a smear on the bread. Management was quick to bring out slices to all who ordered the sandwich for the full avocado effect - that was appreciated. Good drinks. Nice staff, the manager stopped by to see how everything was. Would go back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Finale to girls' weekend a success!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, great service. Had brunch for the grand finale of bachelorette weekend. Got steak eggs Benedict....wasn't hot when it arrived, but very tasty. I recommend the grits!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall a good experience. Expensive, but that's Nashville. Service was good, and despite being very, very crowded, we were seated within minutes of our reservation. Biggest complaint was the noise level, very high. Food was good other than the gumbo, which was very salty, a common restaurant error, but not one to expect in a place like this. I have a lot of respect for restaurants that serve a tourist trade but maintain food quality; in this it reminds me of good New Orleans restaurants. We didn't feel rushed despite the heavy crowd.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

customer

Dined on May 14, 2016

over priced sports bar. low end food for medium price .too too loud

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good music, great food, excellent service

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

My girlfriends and I came for the jazz brunch, and we just loved it. The live music created a lovely ambiance and the food was quite tasty. But, most of all, our server Daniel was AMAZING! He made our experience truly memorable. LOVED HIM! Hospitality is alive and well in Nashville.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! The southern fried eg ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience! The southern fried egg sandwich was awesome and the service was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall OK

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was our 10th Anniversary. We mentioned it, but nothing was done. Server seemed a little rushed, we had to flag him down a few times. We had reservations, when we got there, they sat us down, then moved us because someone else had requested THAT booth. Overall everything was good, but not the best experience . We asked for sauce on the side, and got the plate, but no sauce, had to flag down waiter to ask for it. Don't know that I would recommend for special occasions. But would recommend for good food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Amazing food; TERRIBLE service

Dined on May 13, 2016

It's hard to say if we will ever give this restaurant another try. We were in Nashville from out of town for the symphony. The location & menu were perfect for us & we were really looking forward to the experience. We could not believe what a bad server we had. It was like he had no training and hated his job. A bad server can really ruin a meal.

food2
ambience4
service2

The lunch menu is very limited, and they ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The lunch menu is very limited, and they won't let you order from the dinner menu during lunch hours. The bar is amazing though

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent waitress, Stephanie. Great foo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent waitress, Stephanie. Great food. But so loud.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The portion sizes are a bit small.

Dined on May 11, 2016

The portion sizes are a bit small.

food4
ambience3
service5

Country fried chicken

Dined on May 11, 2016

Country fried chicken

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was s ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was great and the service was spectacular!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The oysters were great, I would probably ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The oysters were great, I would probably return just for Happy Hour.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

SHOULD HAVE HAD THE STEAK

Dined on May 10, 2016

I liked the Hot Chicken salad for lunch but I had heard the best dish is their steak. Next time I'm in Nashville, I'll order that. Nice wine list and starters looked wonderful. Loved the ambiance also but wish the floor wasn't so slippery..be careful if you're wearing heels. Great servers.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic!! Even though the res ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was fantastic!! Even though the restaurant was very busy, the server was on top of everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Fantastic!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The 'ugly' of Nashville

Dined on May 9, 2016

Build as authentic and hard to get into, the Southern turned out to be a disappointing, extremely loud tourist trap with overpriced, below average food. The most discouraging part was it's impossible to get through to talk to a hostess by phone to adjust reservations. After many attempts, she did pick up and shortly placed me on a 30 min. hold, when I finally just gave up and hang up. Observing them at the restaurant, it was no wonder - they just don't answer the phone which remains on silent. The Southern disappointment indeed...

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The dining room was pretty loud, it was ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The dining room was pretty loud, it was difficult at times to have a conversation. We ordered a mid-rare steak and it came the to the table well done. The lamb we ordered was over cooked as well. I think we will look for somewhere else next time, there are a lot of other good looking places to eat in that area.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Will be bac ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food and service excellent. Will be back next time in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.