About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Highway - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Cuban - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Kumamoto oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
My Way - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Belle - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Mimosa - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Rubarb Shortcake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Braised Brisket - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dominican Pork - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Devil of an Egg - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dry Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Chicken - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
fish tacos - The Southern, Nashville, TN
beausoleil oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bread - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sautéed Butternut Squash - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Shigoku Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Happy Hour Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
White Cheddar Mac & Cheese - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Vodka Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Prime Sirloin - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Naked Roy's Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bluepoint Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hermitage Peach Cobbler - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Mayday Boro Blonde - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Yuengling Lager - The Southern, Nashville, TN
2009 Bluebird Chardonnay - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Tom's Dirty Sock - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hummingbird Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken and Waffles - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dominican Pork Appetizer - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Steak Sampler - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Chip Pancakes - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Whiskey Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Brown Butter Linguini With Eggs - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Eggs And Jalapeño Bacon - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fish -N- Grits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Ribeye Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Coffee - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappuccino With Almond Biscotti - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Beer On Tap...Wicked Cool - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Chicken And Waffels With Bacon Infused Maple Syrup - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Green Tomato Benedict - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Red Grits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Dessert - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Old South Cheeseburger  - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Southern Burger - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fish Special - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Salmon - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Potatos - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappuccino With Pecan Biscotti - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Portabella Mushroom Sandwich - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Breaux Bros Gumbo  - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Apalachicola Bay Oysters - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Royal Red Shrimp Risotto - The Southern, Nashville, TN
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sides Corn Brulé, Brussels Sprouts - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Tunatare - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Pulled Pork Bbq Sandwich With Fries - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oyster Mash - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Hot Chicken Salad - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Griddled Potatoes W/ Frizzled Onions - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Steak And Biscuit Benedict - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters and Blood Orange Mimosa - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Southern Fried Egg Sandwich (Avocado, Bacon, Tomato, Aioli) - The Southern, Nashville, TN
T For Tennessee (Steak & Fried Eggs) - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Cappucino - The Southern, Nashville, TN
BBQ Shrimp - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Sweet & Salty Carmel Apple Martini - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Saffire Steak Biscuits - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Leipers Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Burboun Cake - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Steak - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Fried Oysters & Mashed Potatoes - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Prime Rib and Sides - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Oysters Southern - The Southern, Nashville, TN
White Cheddar Mac N Cheese With Caesar Salad - The Southern, Nashville, TN
Pork Belly - The Southern, Nashville, TN
The Southern Burger - The Southern, Nashville, TN

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

This Valentine's Day, The Southern is featuring a special prix fixe menu by Executive Chef Matt Farley and Chef de Cuisine, Paul Brantley.

$65 per person, before tax and gratuity.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (127)
Hot Spot (121)
Special Occasion (118)
See All
Casual (110)
Comfort Food (96)
Fun (96)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Bar Seating (93)
Fit for Foodies (92)
Business Meals (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (89)
Good for Birthdays (85)
Good for Groups (82)
Great for Brunch (77)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Pre/post Theatre (71)
Great for Lunch (71)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
People Watching (64)
Happy Hour (63)
Local Ingredients (61)
Worth the Drive (60)
Authentic (56)
Modern Decor (54)
Sunday Lunch (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Open Kitchen (40)
Private Room (31)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (25)
Live Sports (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Great Beer (24)
Outstanding Value (22)
Live Music (22)
Late-night Find (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Family Style (17)
Seasonal (17)
Historic (13)
Quick Bite (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Spicy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While visiting Nashville, we looked for ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

While visiting Nashville, we looked for a good Open Table spot. This one caught our eye so we tried it out. Had a great lunch. The food was terrific and the service was super. I would go there again and again if I was local. Since I'm not, I'll head there next time I'm in town. Perhaps for dinner next time...

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

nice place for a special lunch with sout ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

nice place for a special lunch with southern choices for all to enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Compared to their sister restaurant Finn ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Compared to their sister restaurant Finn and Pearl the Southern was very underwhelming. Our server did not help things either. When we ordered a bottle of wine for the table she informed us that they were out of that bottle. Instead of suggesting something else she left our table. After hearing us complain she did return with one suggestion which we took her up on.

Food was delicious but on the expensive side. I would personally rather go to their other restaurant Finn and Pearl where the service, food and ambiance were all excellent. When you are spending 100 plus on dinner I expect better service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Our waiter was wonderful! He was wearin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was wonderful! He was wearing a shirt that had donuts all over it! Such a good conversation piece....was always paying attention to our needs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place! Set reservations it is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent place! Set reservations it is rather crowded on the weekends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, , Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress had an attitude from the mo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress had an attitude from the moment she came to our table. Ruined our entire mood and made it hard to enjoy the yummy food because she was so rude.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Outstanding waiter with expert advice on ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding waiter with expert advice on the area, great regional food, amazing design and atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was was not good, server was ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was was not good, server was not very attentive our dirty plates were never busses until the next dish came. The food was ok the best things were the brisket entree and the cookie dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Went here after I got engaged. It was gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here after I got engaged. It was great! It was perfect for the occasion and the food was great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here several times before conc ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here several times before concerts at the Shermerhorn and always have a good meal and good service. Excellent menu...highly recommend the fish tocos. Can't go wrong with oysters on the half shell. Make a reservation if going during meal time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good and drink choices are grea ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good and drink choices are great but way overpriced! Way too loud to have anything near a conversation. Service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch was perfect. The hot chicken sala ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Brunch was perfect. The hot chicken salad I had and the burger my husband had were both outstanding. The Bloody Mary's were so good. Then dessert, irish coffee - amazing. We tried the blueberry crumble and the banana's foster bread pudding. The service was really wonderful, very friendly and very fast, but not as though we were being rushed, we enjoyed relaxing here for quite a while. There was live music and although the room was pretty noisy you could still enjoy a conversation. Really fun, I'd definitely like to eat here again.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the crab cakes hash and my husband ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

I had the crab cakes hash and my husband had the steak and eggs Benedict. We sat at the bar, even though we had reservations. Awesome service, food and ambiance! We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful! May have been the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was wonderful! May have been the best steak I've ever had! Atmosphere was fun and service was great! Definitely on my list of favorite Nashville resturants when I'm in town!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. It was a bit noisy b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent. It was a bit noisy but also was a Friday night and very busy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious "up scale" southern food fun a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Delicious "up scale" southern food fun ambiance and an overall great every day dinner and cocktail type of place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We go here quite frequently for oysters ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We go here quite frequently for oysters and we have never been disappointed. We usually order other items after the oysters and that food has been great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a dependable favorite. Good oyste ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always a dependable favorite. Good oyster value preempting my salmon. Other entrees at my table included fish tacos and filets, with no complaints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was very attentive and offer ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our server was very attentive and offered suggestions. Our filets were perfection! Truly tender and cooked as requested. We were dining prior to going to the symphony so we arrived early, which was ideal. We never felt rushed; by the time we left, every table was occupied. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed. Even when full, the noise level was fine. We will definitely be back.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to celebrate my birthday with my ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went to celebrate my birthday with my family and our server was more than attentive and very pleasant all evening! They even brought me out a birthday dessert with a candle. It is one of our favorite places to dine downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved it! The food is "Southern with a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Loved it! The food is "Southern with a flair!" We went prior to a Nashville Predators game so it was full. The crowd consisted of hockey fans, happy hour folks and business people. The attire is very eclectic as a result. Our server was friendly, prompt and read that we were going to the game so got us in an out in under an hour even though it was 6pm. Reservations are not required but I highly recommend them as the events going on downtown can dictate the size of the crowd.

The food was fantastic! I'm a Son of the South so I know what is good and what is not good when it comes to upscale southern food. Traditional food, with their own signature. Portions were very good.

Tags: Live Sports, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great brunch spot!!

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a great brunch spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very consistent restaurant that we vis ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A very consistent restaurant that we visit quite often. The service and food is always outstanding and absolutely the very best raw oysters in the city. On this visit, the band at the front doors completely eliminated any chance of conversation or a relaxing meal. Yes, we should have asked to be moved but it was during the busy Sunday brunch and we felt stuck with the table we got. This mistake will not happen again, don't sit in the main dining room when there's a band.

Just go and you'll be impressed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great Beer, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite brunch spot in Nashville! Re ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My favorite brunch spot in Nashville! Relaxed environment and great value for the price. The chicken and waffles are always my go-to!

Tags: , Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Southern is fantastic! I've been th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Southern is fantastic! I've been there a few times (always for Brunch) and am always blown away by the service and taste of the food. This time I ordered the Hot Chicken and Waffles, and not only did it come out extremely quickly, but it was also cooked to perfection. Not to mention our server had an awesome, fun attitude. I wish I had taken note of his name, so I could give him a personal shoutout. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Nashville, and I'm always excited when I have the chance to visit.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch. We had the Shrimp & Grits ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sunday Brunch. We had the Shrimp & Grits and the Crabcake Hash. Both were OUTSTANDING!!! Our sever Jared was an excellent host and representative.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at The Sout ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my first experience at The Southern, and I absolutely loved it. From the delicious oysters and crab cakes to the perfectly presented scallops, I had such a pleasant experience. Our waiter was also fantastic. He knew a lot about the menu and gave wonderful recommendations. I cannot wait to go back in the future and try the steak!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Fun atmosphere. Oysters wer ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food. Fun atmosphere. Oysters were great. Pork chop was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had lunch and dinner, our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I had lunch and dinner, our first time at The Southern! Driving in from Lexington, we had great expectations and we were not disappointed. I had the gumbo for lunch and the fried chicken for dinner, YUM! Mary had an excellent salad for lunch and the special for dinner; she thoroughly enjoyed her meals! The Southern is quite a lively place, so we requested a quieter booth for dinner, and were able to be seated at one and have a wonderful time with a Nashville friend of Mary's over dinner! The Southern is definitely a must the next time we're in town!! By the way, the wait-staff are exceptional!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love The Southern for its consistency ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love The Southern for its consistency of serving excellent food. While the taste of our orders was delicious, the temperature of them left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We always enjoy Southern. This evening w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always enjoy Southern. This evening was no exception. The food was great. The service was friendly and prompt.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Love the happy oyst ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always a great meal. Love the happy oysters and fried green tomatoes. Good beer selection. Fun to sit at the bar

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed! The Belle, their sig ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very disappointed! The Belle, their signature filet, was terrible this time around. My cut was so fatty and stringy that I could only dissect about 1/3 of the actual meat from the waste. My wife was disappointed as well. The shrimp appetizer was way over cooked and seemed like it was dried to a crisp in an unpleasant way. Service was great. Super loud though. I don't think I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

No surprises here. The Southern's oyster ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

No surprises here. The Southern's oysters, steaks, biscuits, hot sauces, and desserts are always top notch! I finally tried the Double-cut Pork Chop... MAN, OH MAN... I dare you to find a better pork chop in town. The service really shined this time around, too. Get you some BBQ Shrimp or Crab Cakes to start out... delicious. The craft brew selection isn't bad either. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my favorite place to eat in Nash ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is my favorite place to eat in Nashville. Great menu options, especially the aged steaks and fresh East/West coast Oysters. Wonderful service too. Bananas foster bread pudding is yummy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here on the recommendation of my ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Came here on the recommendation of my hotel concierge. I was disappointed. My main was cold and arrived at my table even before I'd finished my appetiser. Very much got the sense as if the restaurant wanted me in and out as quickly as possible. The food itself was OK. I'm sure they did a good job but it wasn't to my liking. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Although a wonderful place....it was jus ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Although a wonderful place....it was just too loud and rowdy for a romantic anniversary dinner. Not the perfect "date" scene for us. Food was very good though. It was more casual than we anticipated. Service was friendly and solid.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We always enjoy dining at The Southern. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always enjoy dining at The Southern. It is a perfect place to eat before Predator's games.

You can't beat the Nudie Suit! One of the best steaks in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great business dinner...service was grea ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great business dinner...service was great and food was excellent with a definite Southern flair...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southern was one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Southern was one of our favorite restaurants while visiting Nashville. The food was excellent and offered interesting combinations that excited the palate. I particularly enjoyed the Bless Your Heart Salad and Scallops. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made our dining experience pleasant. My boyfriend is a scotch drinker and he brought two samples to assure he would be satisfied with his selection. He ordered the filet and it was cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend this as a must visit restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.