About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Restaurant Photos

The Southern
The Highway
Kumamoto oysters
My Way
The Cuban
The Belle
Mimosa
Rubarb Shortcake
Braised Brisket
Dominican Pork
Southern Burger
Devil of an Egg
Dry Martini
Chicken Fried Chicken
Oysters
fish tacos
beausoleil oysters
Bread
Sautéed Butternut Squash
Shigoku Oysters
Happy Hour Oysters
White Cheddar Mac & Cheese
Vodka Martini
Prime Sirloin
Naked Roy's Oysters
Bluepoint Oysters
Hermitage Peach Cobbler
Mayday Boro Blonde
Yuengling Lager
2009 Bluebird Chardonnay
Tom's Dirty Sock
Hummingbird Cake
Chicken and Waffles
Dominican Pork Appetizer
Steak Sampler
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Brown Butter Linguini With Eggs
Fried Eggs And Jalapeño Bacon
Fish -N- Grits
Ribeye Steak
Coffee
Cappuccino With Almond Biscotti
Beer On Tap...Wicked Cool
Fried Chicken And Waffels With Bacon Infused Maple Syrup
Green Tomato Benedict
Red Grits
Dessert
Old South Cheeseburger
Fish Special
Salmon
Potatos
Cappuccino With Pecan Biscotti
Portabella Mushroom Sandwich
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese
Breaux Bros Gumbo
Apalachicola Bay Oysters
Royal Red Shrimp Risotto
House Made Bacon With Maple Cotton Candy & Peppercorns
Sides Corn Brulé, Brussels Sprouts
Tunatare
Pulled Pork Bbq Sandwich With Fries
Oyster Mash
Hot Chicken Salad
Griddled Potatoes W/ Frizzled Onions
Steak And Biscuit Benedict
Oysters and Blood Orange Mimosa
Southern Fried Egg Sandwich (Avocado, Bacon, Tomato, Aioli)
T For Tennessee (Steak & Fried Eggs)
Cappucino
BBQ Shrimp
Sweet & Salty Carmel Apple Martini
Saffire Steak Biscuits
Leipers Steak
Chocolate Burboun Cake
Chicken Fried Steak
Fried Oysters & Mashed Potatoes
Prime Rib and Sides
Oysters Southern
White Cheddar Mac N Cheese With Caesar Salad
Pork Belly
The Southern Burger

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (327)
Hot Spot (320)
Good for Groups (308)
See All
Special Occasion (291)
Vibrant Bar Scene (247)
Great for Brunch (216)
Great for Lunch (211)
Neighborhood Gem (163)
Great for Outdoor Dining (129)
Notable Wine List (77)
Romantic (76)
Late-night Find (58)
Kid-friendly (39)
Scenic View (25)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious brunch. Good service. Attracti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious brunch. Good service. Attractive space.

Check out the "sink" in the restrooms!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really love the food at Southern Steak a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Really love the food at Southern Steak and Oyster!!! Especially the Shrimp & Grits!!!

Wish the noise lever was lower...sometimes conversations are difficult.

Love the atmosphere, beautifully decorated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We (bachelor party of 7 in late 20s) got ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We (bachelor party of 7 in late 20s) got seated in a dining room between a bachelorette party and large group of what seemed to be locals on a Saturday night. You'd think we would be the loud and rowdy group but we could barely hear ourselves as the two other groups competed over each other. Seemed like the main dining room where they sat parties of 2-6 was not as bad.

Good was great though. All guys said it was the best meal of the weekend. Service was good as it was a Saturday night and they were busy. Would come back and hopefully not get sandwiched between two loud groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

We love Southern a lot. Service is alway ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love Southern a lot. Service is always good and the food has a local flavor that we love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at The Souther ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience at The Southern! A great place to take out of town guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my meal at The Southern; then ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed my meal at The Southern; then I walked across the street to the Lyle Lovett concert!

A great evening!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fresh oysters! Consistently good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best fresh oysters! Consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We thought we were going for brunch but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We thought we were going for brunch but brunch is only served on the weekend. Our server, Kevin, noticed how disappointed we were and gave us recommendations (including ordering an egg on a burger). Every recommendation (including drinks) he gave was incredible!

We went back for brunch on the weekend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at The Southern on August 17, 20 ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were at The Southern on August 17, 2016. It was just the two of us. Most tables were larger groups but we didn't mind. The atmosphere is casual but interesting. I have been to there before and both times had the filet. It is exceptional. There is plenty to choose from, though, on the menu. Very fun to be there and right around the corner from Broadway. If you are looking for a great casual and vibrant restaurant and plan to follow with a cruise down Broadway, this is a great selection. I will be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was just OK, nothing that Wow'd me. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was just OK, nothing that Wow'd me. Waitress was great. It was too loud too, could not hear very well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was outstanding!The best meal I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was outstanding!The best meal I had in the city!And the waiter from A

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service, great food, great overall ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

great service, great food, great overall experience!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The short ribs w/ jalapeño cheddar chees ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The short ribs w/ jalapeño cheddar cheese grits were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Bone In Ribeye selection was outstan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Bone In Ribeye selection was outstanding. Got to love the ability to pick your own cut and then have it served perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here before a concert at the Ryman.. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Ate here before a concert at the Ryman... Filet was perfect! Robbie (our waiter) was very knowledgable and friendly! Definitely returning to this gem

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will be missing out if you do not ea ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

You will be missing out if you do not eat here! This is our second visit. The food is outstanding and the service is 5-star. The oysters are wonderful. trust your waiter. We had several dishes which were all wonderful. Top it off with the bread pudding and you will leave happy:-)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're looking for a good steak, this ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you're looking for a good steak, this is the spot. If you're looking for a great bourbon selection too, then look no further. It has a very upscale feel and EXCELLENT service, with prices to match. Truly a case of you get what you pay for, which is quality in every respect. I recommend making a reservation because it can get very busy, even on more chill nights of the week. It has a dimly lit, bourgeois atmosphere, so can be good for a business dinner, date, or other special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well the valet and hostess was indiffere ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Well the valet and hostess was indifferent to our arrival. The noise level is more like a cafeteria than an upscale restaurant. The food was good but a bit overpriced. I will probably go elsewhere next time we go to Nashville.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Recommended to us for our anniversary di ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Recommended to us for our anniversary dinner. Went on a Sunday night. Very loud and full of tourists. Our server was slammed and not very attentive. They have a good selection of whiskeys/bourbons. He did bring over a more knowledgeable person for a recommendation. However, it took that person 20 minutes to return to tell us the bar was out of his recommendation. The meat we ordered was good and flavorful. However, the sides left something to be desired.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Lovely experience, great atmosphere and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lovely experience, great atmosphere and a nice menu. Moderately priced and very tasty. Great service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the live music but the restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the live music but the restaurant got quite loud, more so from the patrons. I wonder if it's just the acoustics? The food was great, as always, and our server was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm from Boston and thought you couldn't ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I'm from Boston and thought you couldn't find oysters here, but boy was I wrong! The seafood is amazing and the oysters outstanding. I went 2 times within a few days just to get my oyster fix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed our first trip to the S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We truly enjoyed our first trip to the Southern. Fun atmosphere and great food. The service was impeccable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service, and setting/decor was bey ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food, service, and setting/decor was beyond wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David was our server and I appreciate a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

David was our server and I appreciate a restaurant and a server who knows oysters! Awesome selection. Great dinner as always. Request the BBQ shrimp be made into an entree! It's divine! Ribs were plentiful! Could not believe my Fiancee at all of them! Fresh ingredients and wonderful atmosphere. Disappointed nothing was done for anniversary but we enjoyed Nashville anyways!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing service. Been here on seve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Disappointing service. Been here on several occasions now. Wine glasses remained empty. Waited 15 minutes for second bottle to arrive. I'm a local, might be time to turn this place over to the hordes of tourists, bridal parties, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had brunch at the Southern, and it co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had brunch at the Southern, and it couldn't be beat. The chicken and waffles were the best in town, and the drinks were a close second! We were told it was a can't-miss place to eat in Nashville and we weren't disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were on vacation in Nashvi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation in Nashville and were looking for a nice restaurant with good food as the previous few nights we had eaten at country and western bars where the music was great but the food was not the best. I researched on line and thought the Southern sounded like the right kind of place to get good food but not to upscale. The earliest reservation time was 9:45pm which was not a problem for us as we usually eat late. I must say that our whole experience at the southern was fantastic. Our sever was great and the food was excellent, the best we had the whole trip. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one looking for a great meal at really nice restaurant that's not crazy expensive. If ever we are back in Nashville we would not hesitate to go there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was horrible. Not a place to ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Noise level was horrible. Not a place to go if you want to visit with friends. We are seniors and not the best place for people our age

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Picking out my dry aged steak with my wa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Picking out my dry aged steak with my waiter and the head chef was a blast and just one of many enjoyable parts of the whole time there. I can count on one hand in 20 years a restaurant that is spectacular in every part of the dining experience. This is a very well-run business, they are very focused on their menu, and they are phenomenal customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the pork roll lettuce wraps! They'r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Try the pork roll lettuce wraps! They're a game changer. The service was fantastic. I'm a stickler on service and I really appreciate the efforts and teamwork the staff offered.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Southern was great and very accommod ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Southern was great and very accommodating! We had a group of 10 girls for a Bachelorette Party and each one of used LOVED our meal. Our server was fantastic. Our food was served in a timely manner and we really enjoyed it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great...but our waiter (hip ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great...but our waiter (hipster guy) wasn't the best... I ordered a bottle of the Steakhouse Cabernet. When I told him that's what I wanted, he proceeded to tell me he wouldn't recommend it if I intended to get steak. I told him that was okay, because I was planning to get a salad.

He bring out a bottle of the wrong wine, I think it was Bluebird something. I shook my head, and he said "Oh sorry, I must have grabbed the wrong table's wine. So he goes to get the correct bottle.

I ordered the hot chicken salad and my boyfriend got the cheeseburger. Food was phenomenal. The hot chicken salad was just hot enough. Loved it!

When we get the check, we found the waiter charged me for the wrong bottle, and the wrong hamburger. If I hadn't been here before and enjoyed the experience, I'm not sure I would come back...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Although a little pricy, the food was ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Although a little pricy, the food was outstanding and the service was exceptional! We will definitely return on our next visit to Nashville!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very acommodating when we needed to swit ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very acommodating when we needed to switch our reservation as we were driving in from WI

Good service-fried green tomatoes were excellent!

Known for steaks and oysters

Oysters were delicious!

My steak was undercooked for medium rare so be sure to understand how they grill their steaks.

Mgr stopped over when she saw the steak was sent back to the grill; extremely accommodating!

I would return to Southern for another great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to grab quality southern foo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to grab quality southern food-I just moved to Nashville and my guests want to try "southern" food. I appreciated there were "healthier" options than the typical fat full food! Great meal, my halibut and sweet potato grits was a perfect serving and we also enjoyed the BBQ shrimp as an app

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

fun, full of energy. food good. hard w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

fun, full of energy. food good. hard working, knowledgeable wait staff

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had taken out of town guests to the r ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had taken out of town guests to the restaurant. While I was looking for a restaurant, my husband chose The Southern. He wanted to order the pork chop because of a recommendation for a friend. He ordered the pork chop and the waiter came back to let him know there was No pork chop available. Not sure how that could happen in an upscale restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was also good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and a good atmosphere wit ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and a good atmosphere with great service

Tags: Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.