Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

George Martin's Strip SteakGeorge Martin's Strip Steak
(1054)
Steakhouse | East Islip, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
ViewView
(801)
Contemporary American | Oakdale, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
The LakehouseThe Lakehouse
(103)
Contemporary American | Bay Shore, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Verace: True ItalianVerace: True Italian
(1043)
Italian | Islip, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Verde Kitchen & CocktailsVerde Kitchen & Cocktails
(97)
Mexican | Bay Shore, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Shandon CourtShandon Court
(242)
Continental | East Islip, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
La Tavola - SayvilleLa Tavola - Sayville
(335)
Italian | Sayville, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Tellers: An American ChophouseTellers: An American Chophouse
(1585)
Steak | Islip, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Butera's Restaurant of SayvilleButera's Restaurant of Sayville
(425)
Italian | Sayville, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Aria Melanie on the LakeAria Melanie on the Lake
(46)
Mediterranean | Bay Shore, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Tullulah'sTullulah's
(90)
Tapas / Small Plates | Bay Shore, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Le DockLe Dock
(65)
Seafood | Fire Island, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Grey Horse TavernGrey Horse Tavern
(293)
American | Bayport, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Karvers GrilleKarvers Grille
(116)
American | Patchogue, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now
Captain Bill'sCaptain Bill's
(322)
Seafood | Bay Shore, Long Island / Hamptons
Reserve Now

About The Snapper Inn Waterfront Restaurant

500 Shore Dr
Oakdale, NY 11769
View Larger Map

The Snapper Inn offers seating overlooking the Connetquot river either waterside or under a gazebo. Sunday brunch features unlimited mimosas and champagne to accompany brunch items, such as eggs benedict, smoked Atlantic salmon, Alaskan crab legs or fresh fruit. Enjoy a peaceful evening at The Snapper Inn with a starter of lobster crab cake, Manhattan style baked clams, mini French dip sliders or chicken quesadillas. Dine on an entrée of pan seared sea scallops, shrimp pasta or blackened codfish. The menu also consists of black Angus filet mignon, sautéed chicken scallopini and a vegetarian option of grilled vegetable platter. The extensive wine list at The Snapper Inn offers international white and sparkling wines, as well a red and blush wines. Drinks are available both by the glass and by the bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Closed Mondays all year,Closed Tuesdays Labor Day - April
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
Vanderbilt Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(631) 589-0248

Website:
http://www.thesnapperinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on the lawn friday and sunday evenings in the summer.
Live music in the bar friday evenings in the winter.
Sailboat races during sunday brunch in the winter.

Catering:
Numerous Special Occasion Menus including Cocktail Parties, Brunch,
Buffets, Sit Down and Weddings.

Parking Details:
Boat slips available for guests arriving by water.

Public Transit:
Long Island Railroad. The Oakdale Station is two miles away. Taxi available.Local attractions include the NYS Bayard Cutting Arboretum, Connetquot River State Park Preserve, Heckshire State Park, Long Island Maritime Museum, Timber Point County Golf Course and West Sayville County Golf Course.
Ferries to Fire Island available in Sayville.

Executive Chef:
Maureen Denning

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call or check website for current event.

Sort By:
Newest
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Make a reservation during the summer, es ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Make a reservation during the summer, especially on the weekend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Food was excellent but service was slow and employees seemed confused as to when to clear tables. Very good and nice atmosphere

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Wonderful Place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

This is our new favorite restaurant. Food, service and ambiance are top shelf! Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

We recently had two good lunches at the Snapper Inn, but lunch three was dreadful. The service was poor. The mussel appetizer was good. He bread (that we had to beg for) was terrible. The main course, weak fish, was a minuscule portion of dried out tasteless fish. The view was lovely, but you can't eat the view. the food & service were POOR.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Has everything

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2014

Great view, great ambience, gourmet cooking, cool indoors or sunny outdoors on the water, great service. It is a special treat far beyond just dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Waterfront Find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of returning to a restaurant I had frequented a while back. The occasion was a birthday celebration this past Tuesday afternoon. The dining experience was a pleasure from beginning to end. It was a beautiful summer day and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the incredible view of the Connetquot River while we ate. We all started with the Bisque soup, which was as delicious as I remembered it. The entrees we enjoyed were the Seafood Platter, Scampi and Mussels Fra Diablo, all superb. Definitely looking forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friend staff, good food, fun night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2014

Staff were pleasant, asked and received crunchy Calamari , blacken Grouper and Salmon were very good. Staff surprised my friend with a free dessert with birthday candle . Country band very good . Beautiful night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good, bartender was great but s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2014

Food was good, bartender was great but service overall was very slooooow. Waiter manger didn't have a clue

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Very pleasant service with good food. Th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

Very pleasant service with good food. The manager was right on the ball going from table to table. Beautiful view of the harbor. Staff was very accommodating. Highly recommended for an overall enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views, Food was so so

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2014

Great view but food was not good. We all had different dinners and neither of us were satisfied. Ordered a bottle of wine and was given papercups. Said they were out of glasses? I went inside to the bar and got some. ...Waiter was a nice kid and very polite

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Wanted it to be better

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2014

Unfortunately the waiter though very nice was not attentive enough. Took a long time to order then when food came out one of ours was incorrect. He said it was his fault since he pushed the wrong place on the computer. Missing dish didn't come out until the rest of us were done.

Manager and waiter did the correct thing by not charging us but it is what it is. The lobster was very good but the grouper was over cooked.

The steamers were very good but the gumbo lacked body and there were no chunks of fish or chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great for Lunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2014

The priced fixed lunch (two courses for $16) is exceptional. The mussels are sweet and delicious served in a fabulous broth. The bread is OK...nothing special. The main courses, perfectly cooked fish, are excellent. This is a great place for a summer lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Memorable Family Celebration Dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

The entire family enjoyed the Snapper Inn - from Appetizers to Deserts! Service very attentive and helpful with selection choices. Several of the notable dishes we had - stuffed mushrooms, calamari, Fra Diavolo, Salmon special, Tuna, Tilipia - And definitely save room for the creme brûlée!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Better Than Ever!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2014

My family has gone to The Snapper Inn for years and always enjoyed its fabulous location right on the water, the warm atmosphere, and large selection of seafood. So we were sad when we learned that it suffered major damage from Superstorm Sandy. But that misfortune has reaped great benefits for its customers today. If you haven't been in a while, it's time to return. It's been beautifully renovated, retaining the nautical charm, but opened up and upgraded. You feel as if you're on a luxurious but comfortable, bright and airy yacht. The service was exceptionally friendly and the menu has some creative and delicious additions to the usual first rate preparation of just-off-the-boat seafood. We can't wait to head back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Waterfront Dining

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2014

Excellent lunch specials, very lovely room. Waiter needed some help.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love this place!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2014

We really love this restaurant. It is right in our neighborhood. The food is always great. Chef Maureen is tops!!! Wait staff and management are very professional. We recommend the Snapper Inn to everyone

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Rediscovering a gem!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2014

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary with friends once again at the Snapper Inn with its ambiance, friendly service,beautiful view, and wonderful food! Look forward tour next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Classy. Made for

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

Fantastic. Classy. Made for a perfect anniversary dinner

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality vs Quantity

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

I chose Special Occasion because of the price in regards to the portion size. It is a beautiful place, with views of the water but if you are looking for quantity - it's not here. I had, bread with butter, appetizers, my entree and dessert and finished everything. For the kind of money spent, I'm used to bringing a little something home to pick on the next day. The same can be said by 3 other people in my party.

So, for that once in a while Special Occasion, it's a very nice place and the quality of food was 5 stars, but you're probably not going to leave there with any leftovers considering the amount of money it will cost you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2014

It was my turn to pick the restaurant for our girls' luncheon and I chose the Snapper Inn as it was always a go-to restaurant for parties and holiday family dinners for my family. It had a special homey feel and a beautiful view of the water. It ended up being a perfect choice!

I hadn't been there since Hurricane Sandy and was very pleasantly surprised at the renovations. It retains its comfortable atmosphere but has a new classy look. The food was outstanding! In talking with others when I returned home, they told me that they heard the same praises. The good word about the Snapper Inn is getting out! I look forward to returning in the near future with our dining friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good wait staff,

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 6, 2014

Good food, good wait staff, beautiful dining room, great location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2014

Lively spot for Sunday brunch....food and service were top drawer.....a bit noisy but tolerable....can't wait for warmer weather to dine outdoors!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 16, 2014

I really like this place! In fact we booked my son's graduation party after our last visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fish dinners we had of

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2014

The fish dinners we had of Black Bass was excellent. Our only complaint was the fried Calamari was cooked to much.

Other than that the food was outstanding,and our waitress was friendly ,pleasant and paid attention to our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great night

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2014

We had a great night food was fantastic service was great as it always is will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I did enjoy the meal and the

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

I did enjoy the meal and the overall experience. We were a little put off when we had to pay extra for a vegetable dish to substitute for the unappealing side that came with the fish special. Though the food was very good, I do think that the restaurant is a bit overpriced. We had a nice table, but behind the divider was a very large party with many young children. The children were allowed to run throughout the entire dining room. Though this is not the fault of the Snapper Inn, we were told there was nothing that cold be done when we asked if the parents could be asked not to have their children wildly running and disrupting our dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Sunday Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

The food was good. Nothing spectacular, but good. The issue was there was often a lack of food at the buffet. Trays were frequently missing food. In addition, there was no rotation of items. The buffet had limited options. We had specifically chosen a buffet so there would be variety and it was lacking.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Had lunch with two friends...Even

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2014

Had lunch with two friends...Even though it was a miserable day outside, it was a beautiful experience inside. Everything was perfect, from the service to the food to the atmosphere! Will definitely be back soon with my husband!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2014 first visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Always enjoy Snapper Inn. Wonderful Happy Hour, very friendly staff and good food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Me and my husband came here for a valentine dinner and it was fenomenal! I enjoyed the food, staff was great and the view of the restaurant it's beautiful. Will recommend if to anyone and we'll be coming back :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for a special dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We were there for Valentines Day. There were many choices for dinner, specials and price-fix. The atmosphere was beautiful with live music. Every women received a long stemmed rose. The food was fabulous. The service was great. The couple we were with are very fussy but they just kept saying, "This is really good". It made Valentines Day extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

Food was great - service was excellent. Our server made us feel as though she was our personal server. She was always there to respond to our needs and was extremely gracious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a date!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

Very romantic setting, the lighting/ambience was incredible. We were not rushed as we're accustomed to from most restaurants, especially on such a busy night as Valentine's Day. Highly reccomend the Seafood Bisque!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

hutch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

Excellent service, great view of the water and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 9, 2014

I really liked the restaurant. Food was good, ambiance was great, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.