About The Smoke Ring

309 Nelson Street
Atlanta, GA 30313
View Larger Map

This Bar-B-Que haven is the brainchild of Chef Jordan Wakefield. Jordan and wife Erin Wakefield opened the doors in October 2013. This "Gastroque" concept is very chef driven, with a focus on the meat itself, as well as an infusion of unique southern cuisine. However unlike most Bar-B-Que restaurants, the sides are not an afterthought. The creamy mac-n-cheese is topped with bread crumbs and baked to order. Our crispy brussel sprouts are flash fried, then drizzled with sweet maple syrup. Just as Jordan put his touch on all of these classic items, his wife Erin created an award winning cocktail list that pairs perfectly with the delectable food. The Restaurant is located at 309 Nelson Street, in the eclectic Castleberry Hill neighborhood. We are just a short walk from many downtown attractions, such as CNN Center, Phillips Arena, Centennial Olympic Park, and The Georgia Dome.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm)

Cross Street:
Chapel St. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 228-6377

Website:
http://www.smokeringatlanta.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on Friday nights.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Wakefield

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Smoke Ring Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
65 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service! Bartender ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and great service! Bartender was very informative and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good and eclectic, a good ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good and eclectic, a good twist on bbq.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here before. The food is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have eaten here before. The food is great but this time the service was horrible. It took almost 10 minutes for someone to make contact with us and take drink orders once we were seated. When we did order we waiting 45-50 mins before we were told that a larger group was given our order of ribs and they no longer had any. I get that places run out, but don't wait an hour to break the news. It was a ridiculously long wait. They were severely understaffed. Good BBQ just bad dining experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

SErvice was slow. food was ok. value do ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

SErvice was slow. food was ok. value dosen't match price.

Advertised burbon and cigar for $10 and it was never offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great BBQ

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great restaurant. Everything from the pig sty nachos to the pork belly was absolutely delicious. Had one of their listed cocktails and was also very good.

Would definitely go back or recommend it to others if you love BBQ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ribs were AWESOME. All the other food we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Ribs were AWESOME. All the other food we had was good too. The only thing we didn't like was the BBQ sauce. If they had some traditional sauce, this would get 5 stars all around. Call ahead to make sure they have ribs. We got the last rack on a Sunday afternoon. Not sure why they don't keep them in stock. But overall, really good food & a nice casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Easy to find even for those from out of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Easy to find even for those from out of town. Close to airport for those who land and immediately crave BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good and reasonably priced ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was good and reasonably priced for what it was. Our server was great, and even let us sample some of the sides that were not made in your typical fashion. It is definitely a place that we will visit again and I hope it stays around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and overall ambience for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic food and overall ambience for upscale BBQ. Tim was a great server. And Suzy was great to ensure that we were still coming even though we were late for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super casual- but fun place to eat. The ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Super casual- but fun place to eat. The fried bologna slider should be a good indication of what kind of night to expect. (It was awesome.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was fabulous. Service left a lot to ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Deviled eggs , beef brisket , Brussel sp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Deviled eggs , beef brisket , Brussel sprouts , German sausage , pulled pork , pork belly , 3 cheese Mac n cheese, baked beans were all amazing. Timothy was an excellent waiter. Very knowledgeable. Oh and I can't forget the strawberry cake !!!! EXCELLENT

Great drinks too. Not weak. Good beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We chose The Smoke Ring because of the o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We chose The Smoke Ring because of the offering of ribs which we saw on the menu and the pics, as well as for the location and ambiance. Unfortunately, they were out of ribs and our second option. However, my Kale salad was delicious, even the left overs (2nd eat).

I recommend The Smoke Ring to anyone, small party, chill, ladies or guys evening out and even to grab something quick. Really enjoyed the feel and atmosphere. Go early evening to better guarantee getting your order of ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wow!!! Beautiful restaurant, great food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Wow!!! Beautiful restaurant, great food and super service . Get the Fried Green Tomato appetizer. Pig Stye Nachos are awesome . Erschel, our waiter was terrific. Everyone in my party of 8 really enjoyed what they ordered. We are coming back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

All the staff, especially our server, we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

All the staff, especially our server, we're so friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I literally ate until I couldn't eat anymore! I started with the deviled eggs and fried pickles. They were a great starter since the smell of the smoked meat in the place immediately makes you hungry when you enter!! I had the giant beef short rib which was amazing. The meat didn't require any sauce because the flavor was so rich. The creamed corn was divine. I finished it off with a blueberry cobbler that I was supposed to share but forgot to. Overall the experience was wonderful and I can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid BBQ Spot

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Great spot which had great sides in which I like the cream corn and mac and cheese which was good. My wife had smoke wings which was good also

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BBQ

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very good pulled pork. Amazing fried green tomatoes - very different with goat cheese and interesting flavors. Good beer list, not so much for wine

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food here is absolutely yummy!!! Ou ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food here is absolutely yummy!!! Our server was adorable but a little slow. I can't wait to return to Atlanta and the Smoke Ring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always a pleasure

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

This is my 3rd time coming here for my birthday lunch with my friends. It's always a pleasure and the food/service is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good but....

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Have been here before and loved it. This time food was ok but not great. Service was great but we werethe only 3d couple in the place (9 p.m.)

Will give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food near Dome

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Our party of 11 made reservations here for dinner after the SEC Championship game. We arrived early but they were able to seat us right away. The setting is casual yet upscale. The other championship games were on various TV's but no sound which was fine with us. The food is very good with normal size portions that is reasonably priced. Our server was fantastic

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

LOVE EVERY BIT OF IT. The food was Good, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

LOVE EVERY BIT OF IT. The food was

Good, the server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heard about The Smoke Ring on Atlanta Ea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Heard about The Smoke Ring on Atlanta Eats. Quiet on Sunday afternoon. My friend and I ordered the fried green tomatoes-to die for; best I've had in the city! The brisket was fork tender and melted in our mouths. Unfortunately, the ribs were dry and lacked flavor. The sides were hit or miss-corn was luke warm; greens were ok; mac-n-cheese was flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was very good, creative. It was too noisy for us at first, but they turned down the music. Very much enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Lunch and Dinner before the Dome

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

I have visited this restaurant twice lately. Once for lunch and once for dinner. Great Food. Great Atmosphere. Amazing Sides! A good Find!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunchalicious

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Eighteen of us went for my husbands birthday. They were able to seat us all together. The food was very good, even the breakfast items (which I was hesitant about in a barbeque place) but nicely surprised. Service was good, fast and friendly. All in All a good time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good even on a slow weekday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

The food was good even on a slow weekday evening. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. Was a great find for a visitor staying at airport. Quick drive but recommend to let rush hour traffic go by before departing from hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Venue- Food Might Be Great

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Saw this place featured on the TV show Atlanta Eats, it looked so good I booked a reservation for late lunch that day. I had never been there I didn't know that by Sunday they are out of their most popular food items. We tried to order the beef rib- out, the pulled pork-out, then we settled on the Pork Ribs and Brisket only to then be told they only had one half rack of ribs left so one of us would have to order something different. So my husband ordered the bbq chicken. But he really wanted the ribs. Luckily when they brought our food They found another 1/2 rack of ribs! Where did they find it? anyway as far as the flavor of the ribs, their dry rub was Really good and I tried my ribs both without sauce and with sauce. The ribs I got were juicy and tender and tasty. I then added the sweet bbq sauce and it was tasty. Now for the beef brisket- I was not impressed. sadly it had way too much fat left on it. one slice had a big glob of fat along the edge and it was sorta marbled with fat throughout. I love a good slice of brisket and understand some fat is left to keep the meat juicy. but it really was too much fat for my taste. It got in the way of the meat, which was cut very thin. my side were just ok, I had the mac and cheese and baked beans. nothing to brag on. their fries are very tasty and fresh cut. Oh also they have pecan pie and peach cobbler and peach ice cream. Which sadly we didn't get to try because it was Sold Out! That is why I am writing a review. This place must serve good food because it's all Sold Out? or is it a case the kitchen manager isn't ordering enough food? I don't agree with having on your menu when it's gone its gone, especially When you start the day with nothing in stock. They should have all their specials in house at the beginning of each day and then when they run out that day they are out. It's unfair to that days patrons. I really wanted to like this place and taste their good food.I would go back but will they the goods in stock?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Smoked meats

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Went for briscuit but beef rib was best, service good but it was a quiet night.

Beers were pleasant surprise, nice variety and selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent service and delicious food. Al ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Excellent service and delicious food. All the barbecue was delicious and the beer was cold. Great place to hang out before, during, and after a game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bad Brisket

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

My dad unfortunately was not happy with the brisket we both ordered. Said to me that there were too many fat sections that needed to be cut away. Hopefully this was a rare occurrence as I enjoy coming here on my way for Falcons games.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

great girls night

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

We had a reservation for 20 that they had no problem fitting us in. The food was ok my favorite was the fried green tomatoes very different but good and the drinks were good as well. The oveeall experience was nice

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Decent BBQ, horrendous service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

This place has potential, but the abysmal service is an insurmountable issue. We waited 15 mins after being seated to even place our drink order and another 30 mins to get the first round of drinks. The restaurant was not crowded, over half the tables where empty when we arrived. Food took over an hour and a half to come out, and when we inquired about the delay we were just given attitude. Pork belly was dry and under seasoned, sides tasted like they had been sitting under the salamander for hours. The ribs were solid, but nowhere near the quality of Heirloom Market BBQ or Fox Bros. there are far to many superior BBQ options in Atlanta to waste time with this place. The food doesn't even come close to justifying putting up with the awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Average

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

The restaurant decor inside and outside is very modern. Nice hardwood and brick interior. However the food and service was just okay. A bit pricey for food that was just mediocre. Came on a Sunday afternoon for Brunch with the family so we ordered a bit from the brunch and dinner menu. The pig sty nachos and the Bbq deviled eggs (appetizers) was the best thing I ate. They had it waiting on us because I called in ahead.

I also ate the biscuits and gravy and shared stuffed french toast (which came late in the meal and burnt). One person in the party did enjoy their meal which was the Smoke Ring Burrito.

Waitress and cook staff were slow in service and the place was not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Great food, great service

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

We had a group of 10 out the other night. We had a mix of pretty much everything on the menu. Everyone was raving about their food!

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A new favorite!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

My family and I have found a new favorite "to go" for BBQ. We love Smoke Ring! We love the BBQ but what made it such a "find" for us, is the amazing sides that are offered. The brussel sprouts and bleu cheese potato salad to the creamy coleslaw and warm red cabbage! The service is always top notch as well which is always a reason to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with laid-back service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

I enjoyed this restaurant with family and friends recently, and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food. The cuisine was a surprising twist on southern-style barbeque. The service was notably very slow at a time that the restaurant only had a handful of other customers. This was little frustrating since we were trying to make it to the tip off at an Atlanta Hawks game nearby. GO HAWKS!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Pack heat

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

In our quest to discover the counties best BBQ we have sampled brisket and pulled pork all over the south. The BBQ at the smoke ring was very good. The service was also good. The experience over all was memorable. We went with several teens to celebrate a birthday. The one thing we all took away from the experience was lets get out of this neighborhood alive. There were lots of street people walking around and parking was not close. I have never given a bad review on open table and would like to recommend the Smoke Ring. However, the location is just to sketcty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Stopped in on our way to Florida. Good ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Stopped in on our way to Florida. Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience - wonderful bar-b-que

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 3, 2015

While the Bar-b-que was very good, the sides were even better - you need to try the brussel sprouts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.