Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 255 times today

The Smith - Midtown

4.6
3836 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Great for Brunch
  • Comfort Food
The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 644-2700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brian Ellis
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
51st Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please inquire for further details
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 3836 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 18 hours ago

Great overall brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined a day ago

Seated in the back next to a large table. The men were so loud we couldn’t converse. Made for terrible ambience but service and food were great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 2 days ago

The place is so loud you cant even hear our conversation. The food has gone downhill. I guess they can only do brunch well. The only way I would recommend this place is if you could sit in the bar area next to an open window/ door so you could hear your conversations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The Smith is a great business lunch restaurant. Has a Power lunch feel with a neighborhood vibe. Staff is excellent and the menu offers something for everyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

very good food, very cute place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

We had to wait over 15 minutes to just get seated even though we had a reservation for 8pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I’ve wanted to check this place out for a while, and I’m so glad I did. I took my dad here for dinner, and he loved it too. We really enjoyed the salmon, shrimp tagliatelle, and hot fudge sundae, and I really appreciated the unisex restroom.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I have celiac and dining out can be a challenge. Greatly appreciate the effort that the server and manager took to ensure my meal was safe and free from cross-contamination.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The food is always great at the Smith but the noise level is ridiculous. We tried a Monday night thinking it might be a bit better but no such luck. Doesn’t seem to hurt their business but be warned—not a place for intimate conversation. Those Brussels sprouts rock though!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Fun place with great service. Very loud but excellent cocktails made up for the noise.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Went for brunch.Were seated right away which is important to me.Took awhile to get the drink order,but after that,everything went smoothly.Everyone enjoyed their meal.The French toast looked awesome.I had the burger,which was ok,but it certainly wasn’t memorable.I would definitely go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Amazing and delicious!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I am not sure if it was because of their mushroom dish, but after the meal, my friend got sick and I got a serious allergy at night. We barely ate anything after that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great breakfast!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food: organic / locally-sourced "when possible" - the steak I had was definitely corn-fed beef.

Food Temp: one was cooked right (medium) the other was medium-well, but actually turned out charcoaled/well-well-done.

Portions: my friend and I got the same steak (Ribeye) his was about half the size of mine.

Service: water was filled often, but the server was hardly around and was only enthusiastic about serving us when the check came.

Service: didn't get drinks until about 20 minutes into sitting.

Ambiance: very beautiful place, no complains! A+

Value: disproportionate plates, improperly cooked food, long service times

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great meal. Drinks were good but a little bit pricey. The acoustics and the crowd made it difficult to hear others in our party. All in all we enjoyed it and will happily return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

One of the best burgers I have had in NYC. A tad bit loud though.

We were given a table that I felt was in the section that was too loud so I requested to be moved to another spot and the staff kindly accommodated us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food was delicious, but the noise level was loud during a Friday lunch. Good wine selection and decent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Service was a bit slow and it was a little loud for my liking but overall it was a cool space and the food was yummy and creative! Fun for a group dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Very good every time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 17, 2018

The noise level was too loud to hear my guests or to enjoy the meal. It ruined the experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Nice place, good food but the noise level is impossible

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Food was good and service was excellent. The restaurant was pretty noisy but that is how it always is there

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

They make an effort to honor reservations, so a star for that. Servers can seek a bit overwhelmed at times, but they try. Food can be surprisingly good. The one criticism I have is the noise level can be disturbing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I have been several times and i like the atmosphere, albeit very noisy, it's a pretty "happening" and lively place. Appreciate the fact that my request of a quieter/cozier table was met, thank you very much for accommodating us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The stuffs where so nice .
The food was great .
Great customer service.
Wonderful place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great venue, always a go to for dinner due to my many allergies. The manager always comes over after placing an order and let’s me know they are aware of my allergies and not to worry, something I always appreciate since I need to walk with an EpiPen. The Smith Nomad gave me the opposite experience in which I ended up keeling over in pain due to an allergen in my food. Would recommend this Midtown location and the lincoln square location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Smith is a fabulous and reliable place for brunch, with good value for the quality. This was my first visit to the midtown location, and it is still the same high food quality, service, and ambience. My favorites include the french toast with carmelized bananas, although everything is amazing. Save room for dessert, as the chocolate s'mores is one of my favorite desserts anywhere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was outstanding but we felt very rushed and asked not to be served so quickly but server did not listen.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother’s Day brunch and we were 15 minutes late. It took them all of about two seconds to rework us in the system and get ya seated. Servers were friendly. Food was good. Would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was Mother's Day and the restaurant was well prepared for the occasion. The food was really great - tasty, prompt and hot. Waiters are very friendly, but quite professional and efficient. I strongly recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was great, service was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Very filling& great portion sizes!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Waited forever to get our table even though I had a reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The restaurant was lovely up front but we moved to the back and it got very noisy. Child’s meal was great. Rest of the food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Really enjoyable lunch experience for a colleagues' retirement lunch. Nice menu. Looking forward to coming back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The Smith was amazing! Food was delicious, service was top notch, and when we overstayed our welcome they offered to move us to the communal table and buy us dessert. The desserts were incredible! I will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Had the slow roasted pork that is only served on Monday night and it was Fabulous! I nearly licked my plate!! I love the Smith! Great food! Note that the ambiance is LOUD so if you want an intimate dinner or date night make sure to ask for a quiet table in the corner!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
96

Tweets by The Smith - Midtown