About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

yogurt parfait - The Smith - Midtown
Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad - The Smith - Midtown
Negroni - The Smith - Midtown
Salmon Tartare Tacos - The Smith - Midtown
Mac and Cheese - The Smith - Midtown
Roasted Tomato Soup - The Smith - Midtown
Chocolate S'mores Pudding - The Smith - Midtown
Rock Shanty - The Smith - Midtown
Mediterranean - The Smith - Midtown
Pork Chops - The Smith - Midtown
Trout Milanese - The Smith - Midtown
Short Rib Hash - The Smith - Midtown
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots - The Smith - Midtown
Shrimp and Grits - The Smith - Midtown

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Energetic

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Great for Brunch (153)
Good for Groups (144)
Great for Lunch (114)
See All
Hot Spot (109)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Vibrant Bar Scene (99)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Kid-friendly (48)
Special Occasion (42)
Casual (38)
Late-night Find (30)
Fun (27)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Cozy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chose the restaurant for location and wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Chose the restaurant for location and was pleasantly surprised. Started with roasted tomato soups that was delicious. It was topped by melted cheese a la French onion soup and the soup was thick and yummy, great for dipping chunks of bread. For entree, I had the Avocado Toast that was tasty, huge and filling especially after the soup. Right after noon time, the restaurant filled up quickly and the lunch crowd was lively, making he place energetic and no longer spacious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great vibe! Fun atmosphere! Our food w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great vibe! Fun atmosphere! Our food was terrific. I rated a 4 only because the steak salad didn't have quite enough steak. Not a huge selection of wines but lots of other drink choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was great, very noisy but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was great, very noisy but it was a good atmosphere and the food was amazing. My only complaint is that we had a reservation and wasn't seated until 15-minutes past our reservation time. Other than that, great restaurant, would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

You can't beat the brunch at The Smith. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

You can't beat the brunch at The Smith. Their bloody Mary's are spicy, and the food is delicious. Try the cheddar jalapeño grits. Fabulous! Be sure to make a reservation or you'll be waiting a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Smith was an absolute score for us! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Smith was an absolute score for us! We wanted a brunch close to our hotel and we got way beyond that! We got there for our reservation - didn't wait any time and the brunch food was some of the best brunch I have ever had! The pot pie, Sicilian egg bake, and johnny Benedict were phenomenal! And to make it even better (bet you didn't think it could get better) you get a complimentary cocktail with your entree! These weren't just ordinary free cocktails.... the mojito and the bourbon cocktail were some of the best I have ever had! Hands down would definitely go back here and recommend! Also---- the place was packed although you would never have guessed it because the service was on point and our waitress was so attentive!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable Sunday brunch.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very enjoyable Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a perfect First date.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was a perfect First date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was REALLY busy, but they took us as ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was REALLY busy, but they took us as soon as we got there. It was REALLY noisy, and tables were crushed together. Great lively atmosphere for people in their 20s and 30s. Food was good, but not great. Service was good. I'd go back under the right circumstances.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Service started a bit slow but then pick ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service started a bit slow but then picked up. Food was ok. I had the French toast and side of bacon. The French toast lacked a bit of flavor. Bacon was done to perfection. A bit pricy as my food plus a cup of coffee came out to $40 with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Smith never disappoints. Consistent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Smith never disappoints. Consistent casual fare. Great drinks, specials and service. Chips with blue cheese fondue dip and jalapeño cheddar grits are my favorites. They do a seasonal menu. So try the chicken pot pie in the fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun place and great food. Nice menu and ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fun place and great food. Nice menu and excellent service. Loud, with high energy. Young crowd on a Friday night. Everyone's food looked great. Place is also well managed. Everything was very efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere was great. My on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great. My only complaint was our waitress was an idiot and couldnt figure out how to sort out our bill. She looked like a deer in the headlights anytime we asked her a question. It did suck the fun out a little at the end when trying to pay our bill.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I met to catch up with friends I hadn't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I met to catch up with friends I hadn't seen in a while and it was SO LOUD we could hardly hear each other (even with only three of us) and had to yell and repeat ourselves. It really put a damper in the evening. Music was BLASTING and the acoustics of the place make all the talking noise also very loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Waited until 8PM to be seated for our 7: ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Waited until 8PM to be seated for our 7:30PM reservation and took until 8:30PM for our food to come out. We were a family of six, and needless to say, the kids were too hungry and tired by then to eat. Too noisy, took too long to get seated or served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great neighborhood place for a great mea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great neighborhood place for a great meal and vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is LOUD. Ceramic tile bounces ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This place is LOUD. Ceramic tile bounces sound all around. Food is decent and reasonable prices pack the house.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Always a nice experience, delicious food ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a nice experience, delicious food and very good service. Reservation is a must during the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very enjoyable brunch, knowledgeable wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very enjoyable brunch, knowledgeable wait staff, good value, delicious Bellini!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Smith overall, great food, a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I love the Smith overall, great food, a bit pricey but nice atmosphere too. My only issue with the midtown Smith is the noise level. It was incredibly loud where I sat, made it challenging to keep up a conversation. Just something to consider if you're making a reservation. I actually think its better for big tables where you're sitting next to people to engage with, rather than a table for 2 where we were shouting across the table

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love the Smith and go often, but today ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I love the Smith and go often, but today was a very off day. The AC unit was dripping onto myself and my food, and the waiter did nothing about it. The menu is also far superior for Sunday Breakfast/Brunch than Saturday. I would think twice about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We love The Smith. The food and drinks a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love The Smith. The food and drinks are always fabulous so we try to visit here at least once when we can get in to the city. I guess my love for the place was somewhat diminished when my friend ordered a simpler breakfast than what was on the menu- eggs, bacon and toast. He was charged $20-- more than the specialty breakfasts on the menu. After bringing it to the attention of the waiter, the manager lowered the price to a whopping $17. Big deal! That's the average cost of all the "better" breakfast dishes. Lesson learned: go to the diner across 2nd Ave for simple and cheap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great but much too loud. Di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was great but much too loud. Did not enjoy having to wait 15 mins for my table even though we had reservations and was not offered a seat at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was excellent but the noise lev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent but the noise level was very high. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was an average breakfast. You could v ...

 
 (Istanbul)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was an average breakfast. You could visit when you can't fond anywhere else to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food is consistently good at The Smi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food is consistently good at The Smith Midtown, however our server (Molly) was a delight and made the dining experience wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice server, good food, youthful lively ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Nice server, good food, youthful lively environment, but CRAZY NOISEY. Met a friend in from out of town and had to SHOUT to hear each other. They need to do something about acoustics.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I mistakenly selected the Smiths for a b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I mistakenly selected the Smiths for a business dinner. It was SO loud no one could hear each other. It totally defeated the purpose of the dinner. I can't tell you if the food was good or not because it was so loud that's all the group could focus on. Totally killed our night.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food and service were great. The oys ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food and service were great. The oysters were fresh and the steak was cooked perfect. My only complaint was it was very loud in the restaurant. Fun load is fine. But we were screaming to hear each other during our meal to the point I lost my voice by the end of the night. Overall it was a great way to celebrate a birthday and the food was worth the trip.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Have been to smith a number of times - t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Have been to smith a number of times - the menu is varied - with healthy options as well - but too much salt is used- especially the Mac n cheese and the fried green beans - this time the server got my husbands order wrong - but my friends salmon was perfect - - the big drawback is the noise level - I was sitting almost on top of my friend and could barely hear here- sad because the food really is good but so hard to converse -

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice place, bright and cozy, food its re ...

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice place, bright and cozy, food its really good, Coffe not that much but ok,

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, always busy, super loud, har ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, always busy, super loud, hard to hear

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great place but just too noisy. Fine if ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place but just too noisy. Fine if you don't mind shouting at each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Despite reservation, had to wait 25 minu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Despite reservation, had to wait 25 minutes for a table. Not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I'm always skeptical when trying new pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I'm always skeptical when trying new places because I usually end up disappointed.

This restaurant made my birthday night a success story! Food- I order the vegetable bibimpap my girlfriends ordered the steak salad, fondue and potato chips, and the burger royale. Each dish (although simple sounding) far exceeded all of our expectations. Our waitress was super friendly and service was on point. She noticed I didn't make much progress on my drink and immediately offered me something in exchange and encouraged me to let her know right away if the next drink wasn't my style as well. The easy rider cocktail wasn't bad it was just WAY to strong for me. I will most definitely be returning with my husband soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, poor servi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

This is a very nice brunch spot in New Y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is a very nice brunch spot in New York that is fit for a gathering with both family and friends. The service is great - and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurant in the city! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best restaurant in the city! The smith is my go to restaurant being that I live in the neighborhood! Thanks to open table we got a last minute reservation which is very rare! 11/10 experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great but it is so loud, we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is great but it is so loud, we were yelling trying to talk to each other . Parking is awful, street parking is next to impossible we had to garage park 3 blocks away. Overall a good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing pancakes

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing pancakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.