About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

yogurt parfait
Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad
Negroni
Salmon Tartare Tacos
Mac and Cheese
Roasted Tomato Soup
Rock Shanty
Chocolate S'mores Pudding
Mediterranean
Pork Chops
Trout Milanese
Short Rib Hash
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots
Shrimp and Grits

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

good for groups (247)
great for brunch (235)
fit for foodies (204)
See All
great for lunch (172)
hot spot (157)
neighborhood gem (135)
vibrant bar scene (124)
kid-friendly (64)
special occasion (57)
late-night find (40)
great for outdoor dining (28)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (7)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, locally sourced restaurant with a v ...

Dined 3 days ago

Fun, locally sourced restaurant with a very high energy level. The subway theme is interesting but it gives rise to a very loud dining experience. Main dishes and sides all quite solid. Smores in a jar is a wonderful dessert to share.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grilled Shrimp with Jalapeño Grits i ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Grilled Shrimp with Jalapeño Grits is phenomenal and the service was great! Can't wait to go back :)

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place to get together with friends ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great place to get together with friends on a Friday night. Energetic vibe there.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for families! Open air in s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place for families! Open air in summer.. Good menu for kids and adults

food5
ambience3
service4

Great crowd but really too much noise to ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great crowd but really too much noise to enjoy a meal with family.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I read reviews before choosing this rest ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I read reviews before choosing this restaurant, so I was properly warned about the noise level, but honestly, it was deafening in there. I have never been in any restaurant anywhere that was even close to this noise level. I could not wait to leave. However, we stayed because my grandson is a very picky eater and this menu had things that he would enjoy. The service was awful...we waited at least 15 minutes before someone took our drink order. Food was very slow to arrive, and various wait staff would come and go. It was hard to know who our server was. The food was decent, but nothing special at all. I will never visit one of these restaurants again.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

For some reason I always find this resta ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

For some reason I always find this restaurant way too loud for me.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food, with even bet ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, with even better service. Our server, Meredith, was fantastic - I recognized her from previous trips to The Smith from behind the bar, and she was just as pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful as a server, if not even more. Didn't think that was possible! All three of our entrees were fantastic, and had us dreaming of a return trip the next day. Definitely recommend the brussel sprouts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable meal. The hostes ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal. The hostess allowed our party to be seated before everyone arrived and that was a huge plus.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience2
service4

The tuna poke appetizer was mediocre, bu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The tuna poke appetizer was mediocre, but other than that everything was great.

food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome joint

Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome joint

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to this location for the first time ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Came to this location for the first time. I ordered the burger - it was delicious and so were the fries. It was very filling - I couldn't even finish everything. The desserts looked great as well but I was too fill for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The large steak for 2 will feed 3 easily ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The large steak for 2 will feed 3 easily & ask to sit at the front of the restaurant as the back dinning area is cramped. A fun place to eat with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, cool environment, wide sel ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good service, cool environment, wide selection of food, tasty food fit to impress a foodie

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, energetic, good food, good service, ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Fun, energetic, good food, good service, great location. A bit loud, but we all loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We have had brunch and dinner at both lo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have had brunch and dinner at both locations. The food and service is always spot on.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is a big restaurant and very busy w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a big restaurant and very busy with a lot of customers. The walls are tiled with nothing soft to absorb the noise so it is very noisy. My wife had salad and was disappointed with the amount of steak and a salad full of stalks. I had the Smith Steak and it was gorgeous. Next time in NY I would go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were in NYC for the weekend with the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were in NYC for the weekend with the kids (ages 11 and 13). This place was not far from where we were staying and we were looking for easy place to grab dinner. Food was above average. Prices were fair. Big place with lots of seating. Waitress was very attentive. Open doors on front of restaurant made for nice "outside" seating. Looked like a pretty happening after work hangout.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my 3rd time to The Smith. the f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is my 3rd time to The Smith. the food is always excellent as well as the service. I love the ambiance there also. I have brought family and friends as I always know everything will be perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Always reliably good food, friendly host ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Always reliably good food, friendly hostesses and good service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the avocado toast. So much food you ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Get the avocado toast. So much food you won't know what to do with it! Brussels sprouts are also delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Well you call the noise level 'energetic ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Well you call the noise level 'energetic', we call it positively cacophonous. But, the place has a great vibe. The service is always friendly and efficient. The food is tasty and abundant. We love the dishes, they all have a personal kind of flair. It's insanely busy and noisy, but the vibe is so positive and upbeat. We go all the time.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it! Got the vanilla bean French toa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Love it! Got the vanilla bean French toast and it was delicious!

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The food was interesting and tasty! We w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was interesting and tasty! We went on a Wednesday, and I ordered the fried chicken. It was so delicious, the whole table wanted a bite! I appreciated the gender-neutral bathrooms; a step in the right direction. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because it was quite loud, but everything else was so great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were glad we had the first reservatio ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were glad we had the first reservation on Sunday because it got very busy very quickly. The food was delicious, except for the salad, which was too salty. Loved getting still and sparkling water. Service was a little slow towards the end of the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic little restaurant with an exce ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic little restaurant with an excellent and varied menu including daily specials. A really lively place with great food and at a reasonable cost.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food, the service was ok but i ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food, the service was ok but it was very crowded so I understand the service being a bit slow. The only issue was that it's so noisy so it's a bit hard to have conversations

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to the Smith for brunch on a Saturd ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to the Smith for brunch on a Saturday after spending the evening at their bar on Friday night - both experiences were lovely. Service was great, atmosphere was fun and vibrant, and the food and cocktails were both delicious! Would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Decent Brunch Option

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I went for brunch on a Saturday. Food was good, but not great. Service was excellent. I had a croissant sandwich and the top was burnt, but otherwise was fine. Another person had the pot pie and it was very good, but rich. Atmosphere is great. Restrooms are co-ed... weird at first, but not a problem.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Not bad, but there's probably better.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Like the title says, I'm not mad about the visit, but I'll pass it by next time. The restaurant is loud and crowded. Servers were constantly asking me to move in order to serve neighboring tables. I loved the pork chop, but the chips and fondue were just melted blue cheese. Drinks were ok and the flatbread was good, but not original.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was delicious. it was just incr ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

the food was delicious. it was just incredibly loud when we wree there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

It is beautiful to have breakfast early ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

It is beautiful to have breakfast early in the morning

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Why and why not

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Come here if you like to be in a lively, loud room, but don't come here with the intention of having a nice conversation with your companions. Enjoyed the food, though

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place for Breakfast!

Dined on June 7, 2016

I was meeting friends for breakfast -- THE SMITH was an inspired choice. There is plenty to choose from, portions are huge (at least the avocado toast could have been shared) and the tables spaced far enough apart that you can easily talk. It's not inexpensive (price was about $30 pp all in, with tip) but definitely worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food - Poor service

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our server was very rude. Her first words to us were "what do you want?" This kind of set the tone for the rest of the evening. She never bothered check back on us and I had to ask the guy filling out water glasses for anything we needed. She magically appeared at the end of our meal to hand us the check. Food was good - nothing amazing. I'd go back, but hope for a better server.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid brunch spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

The Smith was packed when my friends and I arrived. Granted, it was brunch/lunch time on a Sunday. We had a reservation for 12:45, but due to some issues with traffic and a parade preventing my friends and I from crossing almost anywhere near 5th Ave, we were late by 45 minutes. With a couple of calls to The Smith, however, we were able to push back the reservation time (even so last minute) and we were seated immediately! The server was attentive and made sure to check up on us every so often and refilled our coffees when we needed it. Food was great and came out really fast. The avocado toast was on point, and I really enjoyed the pancakes too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for brunch! Big portions and y ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Came here for brunch! Big portions and yummy food. Our server was a tad slow but overall had a great experience! Wanted one of everything on the menu but ended up with the corn beef hash and jalapeño cheddar grits! Wishing I had tried the cheddar biscuits as I saw them on the next table and they looked great!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the Mac and cheese! The service is great as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Turtle bay's swankiest

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Went there last Sunday for a late brunch..This was probably the 10th time having brunch there. Service always pleasant, food very decent and consistent, good ambiance and great energy for this area.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service4

Yummy brunch, but so loud with other pat ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Yummy brunch, but so loud with other patrons, music, and the noise from the kitchen/bar that we had to text each other to carry on a conversation.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.