About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with three upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown and The Smith Lincoln Square. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. Diners at The Smith Midtown can also choose from our hand-picked wine list and full raw seafood bar. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite before a movie, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

great for brunch (281)
good for groups (274)
fit for foodies (226)
See All
great for lunch (193)
hot spot (176)
neighborhood gem (151)
vibrant bar scene (141)
special occasion (66)
kid-friendly (65)
late-night find (43)
romantic (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
notable wine list (9)
scenic view (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The server was a little aloof but was no ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The server was a little aloof but was not rude. The brunch items had generous portions and tasted good. I had the breakfast pot pie and also tried my friend's French toast, which was tasty enough not to require syrup. All in all, this is a dependably good restaurant. Enjoy the free sparkling and still bottles of water!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places in NYC.

Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite places in NYC.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Hands Down Favorite! Often in NYC for bu ...

Dined 6 days ago

Hands Down Favorite! Often in NYC for business, The Smith is by far my favorite restaurant. I always make AT LEAST one stop each visit. You MUST try the Angry Apple and the Jalapeño Grits.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had dinner here after graduation with 11 ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Had dinner here after graduation with 11 people. The group before us was late getting out, so our table wasn't ready until ~25 minutes after our reservation. We were able to grab some drinks at the bar while waiting, and we were brought some complimentary snacks by the staff. The food was EXCELLENT! Definitely expensive, but you also surely get what you pay for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall good...service a little slow! I ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall good...service a little slow! I asked for no onion and my plate had onions!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had a 12:15 reservation and checked in ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a 12:15 reservation and checked in at 12. I checked in again at 12:15 and was told that a table was just paying the bill. At 12:41, I finally got a text to say the table was ready. Why take a reservation that you refuse to honor? Why have hateful hostesses represent the restaurant?

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

The brunch menu was appealing--"candied ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The brunch menu was appealing--"candied bacon scones" were a real standout--and the food was tasty, but unfortunately the deafening noise level of this all-too-popular spot made it an uncomfortable place to be for any length of time. I wouldn't refuse to go another time, but I would bring ear plugs.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A must for brunch...

Dined on May 22, 2016

First time at The Smith and I was not dissapointed. Eggs Benedict and Avacado Toast were delicious. The best home fried potatoes I've had. Looking forward to brunch at The Smith again! (P.S. noise level a bit high, but the food and service make up for it.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to The Smith for Sunday Brunch and I recommend going with a huge appetite. I ordered the pancakes and my mom ordered the breakfast pot pie. Both proportions were huge and delicious. Our waiter, Brandon, was excellent and he was always at the ready with more coffee or water. Definitely make reservations if you go for Sunday Brunch. Our reservations were at 9:30 am and by the time we left, the place was buzzing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

So FUCKING tasty

Dined on May 22, 2016

So FUCKING tasty

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food wise nothing special, very noisy on ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food wise nothing special, very noisy on weekends. I feel totally uncomfortable as the waiter expected a 20% tipping automatically since she never leave me a choice to pay more tips or less for the service. Took $40 for a $32.66 bill. I understand the tipping culture but she should at least bring back the change and let me decide what to give depending on service, isnt it? I have been waited for 15mins after settling the bill and she never return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Varied menu - with a little something fo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Varied menu - with a little something for everyone. Large portions. Trendy atmosphere.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the bone-in ribeye. Over seasoned. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had the bone-in ribeye. Over seasoned. Service was excellent. Ambiance was nice. Too loud to hold a regular conversation. Tables crammed too close together.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love for the smith. Great food. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I always love for the smith. Great food. Great presentation. Good service. Wonderful energy in the room.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Possibly the loudest restaurant I've eve ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Possibly the loudest restaurant I've ever been to - couldn't hear the person across the table and the wait person couldn't hear the order. Inattentive service - never came to take a drinks order -- but bus people swarm constantly trying to pick up your plates. Food was good - but not a pleasant environment for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Loud but fun! The potato chip bar snack ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Loud but fun! The potato chip bar snack was excellent as was the prime rib. Our server Charlotte was professional and efficient. The Smith is one of our go to restaurants in Manhattan when we want a fun and enjoyable dining experience in a relaxed and loud atmosphere !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had my sisters graduation lunch at Th ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had my sisters graduation lunch at The Smith and it was probably one of the best decisions my family made. We had two servings of appetizers (sweet potato fries are AMAZING).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent, attentive staff. Breakfast me ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent, attentive staff. Breakfast menu a little limited but the food was pretty good. Would go back.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The noise drowns out the food

Dined on May 18, 2016

After a rough start getting seated, good service, food was good...not exceptional, but good. The noise level was as high as the LaGuardia runway. Virtually yelling across the table. Luckily we are two basketball coaches so are used to yelling, but the tables are packed too tightly together and the acoustics seem to be purposefully designed to amplify the buzz but it was so loud my taste buds were dulled. Good luck

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal with great service, gre ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had a great meal with great service, great vibe, would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was w ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The service was great and the food was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The swordfish was very okay and moist. M ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

The swordfish was very okay and moist. My dad go the mussels which were just okay. Very crowded as usual but good!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Casual ambiance. Good food. Good servi ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Casual ambiance. Good food. Good service

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice little bites Our server was wonderful. Too much spice on too many items. I get that is the trend, but it is not for all. Loved the many choices. The potato chips with hot cheese were outstanding. May sound silly, but the bottles of water on the table was appreciated. Very European.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Great deals for brunch. Only complaint would be the food runner we had (not our waitress who was very sweet) messed up and gave some of our food to the wrong table and almost messed it up again if we had not stopped him. Overall great experience.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my second time at The Smith. I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my second time at The Smith. I had recommended the brunch to my friends who I was meeting up with. Imagine my disappointment when the waiter informed us they were not serving brunch beverages when it is offered on the menu, due to the fact it was Sunday before 12. The food was good, and delivered quickly. I wasn't impressed with the waiter who could plainly see we were friends catching up, hovering. My first experience at this restaurant was much nicer that this more recent visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my fav spots in NY . Always awesome

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a great spot that is never disappointing. Coffee could be improved though.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for a Saturday morning ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant for a Saturday morning brunch. Sat near the open windows. Terrific food and ambiance. Staff was excellent!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Didn't really live up to all the reviews ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Didn't really live up to all the reviews in my opinion. Admittedly, we didn't have the most adventurous meals, so maybe we should have gone somewhere else. I would go back again though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food, but noisy.

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a little noisier than I anticipated. It was hard to hear conversation sometimes, even being seated at the side booths. That being said the space was very large with a good variety of seating options so we got to sit where we wanted. The food itself was delicious with just the right serving proportions. I would recommend for a large group where you'll be the noisy ones, rather than if you're looking for a quiet, romantic date spot.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the Smith! Great place to go for lu ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Love the Smith! Great place to go for lunch. My go-to is always the Mediterranean Salad- never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I've had amazing meals there before. I ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've had amazing meals there before. I tried the chicken pot pie, a favorite of mine for a good 'comfort food' meal. I like the chicken-filled filling but the crust was dough-ie and not cooked through. Not pleasant. I won't get that, again, as I've had really GREAT chicken pot pies at other restaurants in NY!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

One of the benefits which the city has ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the benefits which the city has to offer is its vast variety of cuisine. With that in mind, I make an effort to try as many restaurants as possible when I have the opportunity to be in the city. However, I make an exception when someone suggests going to The Smith at any of its locations. When I have occasion to head back to The Smith, I am always ensured a wonderful culinary experience........

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the place, decor, ambiance s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always love the place, decor, ambiance service and food. My wife was happy to be celebrating mother's day dinner at The Smith. Great choice she says! No occassion needed to come and eat at The Smith, one of many favorites of ours😍😍👏🏽👏🏽🙌🙌👍🏽👍🏽

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The smith

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here before for brunch. Food & drinks always excellent. Service also good.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is always good. I had the Frenc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always good. I had the French toast which was enough to fill me up and have some for take home. The CANDIED BACON scones are to die for!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Mike B

Dined on May 8, 2016

Restaurant was very crowded for Mother's Day. It took about ten minutes for the waiter to come to our table. Once he took our order, the food came out very quickly. It was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We enjoy The Smith Restaurant. Been there many times for brunch. The food is so good. I particularly love the avocado toast. There is always plenty of food. The service is great. They are always pleasant even when crowded and many people waiting for tables. I recommend getting a reservation, especially for brunch. One of the best in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

WAY too noisy - slow service - Quality o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

WAY too noisy - slow service - Quality or the Food coule be much better

food4
ambience4
service3

Brunch was delicious ! Huge portions too ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Brunch was delicious ! Huge portions too! The place is always hopping, no matter when I've been there to eat!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.