About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Negroni - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Salmon Tartare Tacos - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Mac and Cheese - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Roasted Tomato Soup - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Chocolate S'mores Pudding - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Rock Shanty - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Mediterranean - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
yogurt parfait - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Pork Chops - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Trout Milanese - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Short Rib Hash - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Shrimp and Grits - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Great for Brunch (103)
Casual (98)
Good for Groups (86)
See All
Great for Lunch (73)
Fun (66)
Comfort Food (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (57)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Sunday Lunch (52)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Modern Decor (30)
People Watching (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Kid-friendly (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Business Meals (25)
Outstanding Value (18)
Cozy (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Healthy (12)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Family Style (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Romantic (8)
Great Beer (7)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best place for food !!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 8 hours ago

Best place for food !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mac and cheese was amazing. The roas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 12 hours ago

The mac and cheese was amazing. The roasted tomato soup was also great but our entrees included grilled chicken sandwiches and they were average, if that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Perfect for breakfast or brunch. After 1 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 17 hours ago

Perfect for breakfast or brunch. After 10 am it gets packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is good but we felt rushed! Busboy ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is good but we felt rushed! Busboys were taking our plates even when there's some more food in it. It was annoying. I had to chase one busboy to tell him we were not done with pur brussel sprouts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It is very loud inside, so if you want t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

It is very loud inside, so if you want to dine you need to speak loudly to have a conversation. Also, the tables are so close together that you can literally rub elbows with the person next to you. The table had to be completely pulled out to get the person in the booth. There's tight seating and then this. I didn't plan to dine with strangers at my table. With all the options in NYC. I would not go here again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food esp. Mac and cheese, pressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food esp. Mac and cheese, pressed chicken and Brussels Sprouts. Awesome service too

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have walked by the Smith before, great v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Have walked by the Smith before, great vibe, but noise level always too high, needed a late dinner Sunday night, still jamming, but crowd included parents and children, noise level moderate, food was terrific! Will be returning soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good classic brunch! Free cocktail on Su ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Good classic brunch! Free cocktail on Sundays when you order a brunch dish. It is really loud (so many people) and there is a long wait (if you don't have a reservation). Overall, a good place to meet friends for a bite to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Food! We were visiting from Kansas ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Food! We were visiting from Kansas City and loved the vibe, the local food and the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal but it was quite noisy so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good meal but it was quite noisy so I wouldn't expect to have intimate conversations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place was highly recommended; howev ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This place was highly recommended; however if you are trying to catch up with friends this may not be the place to go.....very noisy and hard to here. Food was good but again it was really loud.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mostly 30-something crowd with excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Mostly 30-something crowd with excellent food and service. Noise level near bar is high but a table near the back enabled us to hear each other. Will return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place! Has become our "go to" ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love this place! Has become our "go to" regular eatery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, but no view out to the street, all ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Nice, but no view out to the street, all windows frosted.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Breakfast. Delicious. The Jalapeño Grits ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Breakfast. Delicious. The Jalapeño Grits were outstanding. Our server was extremely accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud, but also very good. We only h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very loud, but also very good. We only had apps & salads, but we enjoyed them. The tuna tartare was delish and the calamari, really spicy. I had the chopped salad for my meal and it was also good. We glanced around at other plates and everything looked great. Will def go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fun place to meet a friend for dinner an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Fun place to meet a friend for dinner and drinks! Got the crab cake tater tots to start - delicious snack! Burger and tuna steak salad were both very good. We enjoy the vibe of the many Smith locations - recommend for small groups as it can be loud so hard to have conversation with too many people at your table.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food---mac n cheese, burger, pot ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Amazing food---mac n cheese, burger, potato chips with blue chees and French fries. All were delicious. A bit loud but a large open venue.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

More than average quality food. Very att ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2016

More than average quality food. Very attentive staff. Fair value for money relationship. Went twicw in a week. Recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a great experience for our 11 ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was a great experience for our 11 person family holiday get together meal. Everyone loved their meal, which is unusual. The food was absolutely delicious, and the attitude of the manager toward our large party was enthusiastic and wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The portion sizes are really good, food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The portion sizes are really good, food is well presented but the eggs dont really come warm. The place is huge, so don't expect a cozy and romantic environment. Also, the ratio of waiters-customers is pretty low. Overall, price/value relationship is good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Had brunch at the Smith today for my dau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had brunch at the Smith today for my daughters birthday. Server was very friendly and professional.

Food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my daughter on her 16th birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Brought my daughter on her 16th birthday for breakfast. Perfect before our big day began. Food was fantastic!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The night did not start off great- water ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The night did not start off great- water glasses on our table had lipstick stains on them and our server was run off her feet-apps were good-barely had time to eat them- then our meal was served. Entrees were disappointing-chicken pot pie had no chicken in it and top was not cooked. Cod was too fishy and left a bad taste in our mouth. Was really looking forward to this meal but was disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Upon arrival, they sat my party of three ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Upon arrival, they sat my party of three at what felt like a child size table that couldn't fit two plates on it, if that. I asked to be moved, which they obliged.

The noise level was ridiculous and the restaurant was cold.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

We had lunch before going to see the Roc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had lunch before going to see the Rockettes. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was wonderful! Our server ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our experience was wonderful! Our server Stacey did an exceptional job and all the staff from food runners to hosts were very friendly and attentive.

The food was delicious. Our table shared the Monkey Bread, Mac & Cheese and the Potato Chips with Blue cheese fondu, all of which we loved. My personal favorite brunch entree was the Short Rib Hash, but the BLT&E was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The home fries were delicious and flavor ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The home fries were delicious and flavorful. The cheesey grits in the short ribs hash was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Candied bacon was glorious. Delicious fr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Candied bacon was glorious. Delicious french toast, eggs and even our finucky preschooler liked the kids plain waffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress took 20 min to approach and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The waitress took 20 min to approach and give menus although she saw us sitting. She was rude and inattentive, it was a Friday morning and it wasn't busy. The food was excellent and so healthy. I had blt croissant and it was awesome, the French toast is huge and delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We had our Thanksgiving dinner at The Sm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had our Thanksgiving dinner at The Smith this year. In the past we've had sub-par experiences with pre-fixe holiday meals, so had relatively low expectations, but I'm pleased to say The Smith wowed on all accounts.

We were seated promptly at our reserved time, our waitress was friendly and attentive, and the food was excellent.

Thanks so much - we'll be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staying in town for the Thanksgiving wee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staying in town for the Thanksgiving weekend, we were looking for a restaurant for a holiday dinner. The courses were excellent! A good choice with good value. I be happy to come again! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. Every ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. Everything we had was prepared perfectly. Our waiter Chris was outstanding. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good American style meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went with 2 girlfriends for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went with 2 girlfriends for Thanksgiving dinner. The appetizers were great, but it was all downhill from there. The mains were flavourless, tired and disappointing. The best thing was the mac & cheese, but even then it wasn't anything to write home about. The desserts were boring and not well executed. Will not be returning here!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Thanksgiving Dinner was amazing!

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent dinner on a special occasion. ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent dinner on a special occasion. Lots of families having a great time. Delicious sides and entrées. Impressive service with team bringing the whole dinner at one time. Teamwork! Will return on a future NYC visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Thanksgiving menu. Food amazing!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Awesome Thanksgiving menu. Food amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for Thanksgiving with family a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving with family and loved absolutely every single dish. From the cornbread to the kale salad, grilled shrimp and all the Thanksgiving fixings--I cannot wait to come here again! Simply divine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for thanksgiving meal with a reserv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came for thanksgiving meal with a reservation and was seated quickly but then the waiting began. Food came out cold with a lot of time in between and we were never never brought stuffing for the table. Additionally we came as the day turned to night and the lighting was being adjusted constantly. Ambiance seemed better suited for a large group of friends or just a regular meal.

Food was okay but I've had better prix fix thanksgiving meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The Smith was recommended by a good frie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Smith was recommended by a good friend who works in Manhattan. We thoroughly enjoyed the fixed Thanksgiving day menu. It was full of seasonal, organic and regional sourced ingredients. It was simply and perfectly prepared and was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails. The special '1621' cocktail was fantastic. Our service was impeccable and friendly and the environment was warm, casual and comfortable. The entire meal and experience was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.