About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

yogurt parfait
Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad
Negroni
Salmon Tartare Tacos
Mac and Cheese
Roasted Tomato Soup
Rock Shanty
Chocolate S'mores Pudding
Mediterranean
Pork Chops
Trout Milanese
Short Rib Hash
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots
Shrimp and Grits

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

good for groups (216)
great for brunch (215)
fit for foodies (187)
See All
great for lunch (162)
hot spot (152)
neighborhood gem (130)
vibrant bar scene (120)
kid-friendly (59)
special occasion (55)
late-night find (43)
great for outdoor dining (30)
romantic (18)
scenic view (7)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food service etc are all good. However, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food service etc are all good. However, the noise level is very loud so not a comfortable environment to talk. They should consider acoustical materials to place on the ceiling to cancel out some of the noise.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very loud, but very good food. Not at al ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very loud, but very good food. Not at all kid friendly..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The restaurant is great the food too but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is great the food too but the place is too noisy

Great for family

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The avocado egg Benedict's were amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The avocado egg Benedict's were amazing and the berry pie outstanding will definitely go back !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time at The Smith. Relaxed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a good time at The Smith. Relaxed atmosphere with an upbeat crowd. Food is reasonable and relatively good. Good place to grab a casual dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

So loud we could barely have a conversat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

So loud we could barely have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We come here all the time for a great se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We come here all the time for a great set of comfort offerings in a pleasant setting. Always pleased with the service and have been more than happy with the correction of the occasional fax pas. Management is very smart. Even the stroller set can't keep us away for brunch. Come and enjoy the Avacado toast!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent brunch with friends. Very good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent brunch with friends. Very good service. Friendly and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food. Great scene, but very no ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food. Great scene, but very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really great mid town brunch spot. Will ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really great mid town brunch spot. Will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great potato chips with melted blue chee ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great potato chips with melted blue cheese, burrata and pork chop. All fabulous. Very loud restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, but very noisy. Not as con ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, but very noisy. Not as conducive to conversation as I had hoped, although we enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

An overall delicious meal but the stand ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

An overall delicious meal but the stand out phenomenal crab cake tots completely stole the show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food and a menu variety to ple ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

excellent food and a menu variety to please everyone.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I decided on The Smith due to my grandda ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I decided on The Smith due to my granddaughter's finicky appetite (she is 7). My granddaughter and adult niece really enjoyed our food and the lively energy of this spot. The staff was more than welcoming and accommodating. while it is not actually a "kids" restaurant, they were able to produce a menu of childrens favorites for us. Great time.

Deirdre

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

When I checked in, I was told that when ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

When I checked in, I was told that when all the parties arrived then they would seat us. When I notified them that the parties had arrived, I waited an additional 20 minutes and saw they were seating the same number of parties that had arrived after us.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very loud and too bright.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very loud and too bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Love the food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday Piaella!! Always awesome. Great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Saturday Piaella!! Always awesome. Great value and service. Will be back

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, a little expensi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very good, a little expensive. The dishes were not very large, which you would not expect for brunch, but that's healthier, right?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The braised short ribs were nice... the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The braised short ribs were nice... the follow up service from the restaurant manager was really great and the staff showed a great attitude about making sure you truly enjoy your dining experience. They really do care about having a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dishes were quite tastey, cooked perfect ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dishes were quite tastey, cooked perfectly and service very attentive. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Came here for lunch at 12pm on a Friday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came here for lunch at 12pm on a Friday and was pleasantly surprised by the food !! I ordered the seared tuna salad, which tasted delicious and a good portion. The lobster roll stole the show !! Although a bit expensive ~30 bucks .. Super delicious and came with these spiced up potato chips !! We were feeling extra fancy and decided to order dessert... Was not that great I would just stick to lunch . We had the carrot cheesecake and the cheesecake part was still frozen when served to us. It was finally the normal temperature by the time we finished. All in all a good lunch during the work week in midtown east !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The NY Strip was fantastic. The staff w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The NY Strip was fantastic. The staff was very responsive to being alerted of a food allergy in our party. The noise level was a bit too high for our taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Overpriced, too noisy to enjoy. Food is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Overpriced, too noisy to enjoy. Food is adequate.

They serve bottles of water and seltzer on the table that would be a nice touch if they were chilled

Overall, nothing special about the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Having been to the East Village location ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Having been to the East Village location many times, we landed at the Midtown East location of The Smith for a birthday dinner. We were a big group with reservations made a month in advance, while our table took a little while longer than anticipated, the staff more than made up for it by bringing a round of appetizers on the house which we so appreciated! Our wait staff were wonderful, the food, no matter what you pick is delicious (but make sure to get a side of mac n cheese!!!!)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I must be getting old as the place is ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I must be getting old as the place is very noisy. The "subway" style tiles on the walls are an acoustical problem, especially when seated against the wall.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My gf and I brought my mom here for birt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My gf and I brought my mom here for birthday brunch. It was hopping! We had a reservation and were seated pretty promptly. Our server was polite and attentive; we made a few special requests and she was very accommodating. Also, she was close at hand the whole time we were there, which was great. Sometimes a server brings your meal and then you never see them again, but not so at The Smith. They have a fun cocktail menu, I'd been for drinks before, but if you order from the left side of the brunch menu you get a complimentary (basic) brunch cocktail, which is a nice touch. The food itself was excellent, the portions are big and the prices are very reasonable for what you get. I tried some of everything (expressly so that I could write this review and not because I am a glutton, at all). The breakfast pot pie is enormous and delicious. The avocado toast is perfect if you don't want to go crazy with sausage and eggs, but probably used 1.5 whole avocados because it was also a good sized portion. I had the Sicilian baked eggs based on reviews, and they totally lived up to the hype. Also, I love really spicy food so when a menu item says "spicy" I'm always ready to be disappointed. I'm happy to say that the Sicilian eggs had a respectable kick! All in all I would strongly recommend The Smith, and I'll certainly be returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly with our reservat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were seated quickly with our reservation. Good food, attentive service, and the drinks were delicious! Great brunch spot!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent, yummylicious food!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent, yummylicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Big portions (lots of take home boxes we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Big portions (lots of take home boxes were observed) of very good food. If you order something with fries, get ready for the challenge to finish all of of them. Friendly and ENERGETIC environment. Be prepared to talk loudly to your companion(s) in order to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Incredible service. Seamless service fro ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Incredible service. Seamless service from the bar to the reserved table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was very sweet and helped to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was very sweet and helped to make the evening enjoyable. The appetizer crab cakes were delicious and my bibimbap was the best I've ever tasted. My husbands steak could have been more flavourful and there were too many French fries. The restaurant has a great vibe and is a lot of fun. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an enjoyable meal. Only drawback was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had an enjoyable meal. Only drawback was the noise level. Being of the older generation, we found it difficult to have a conversation.

Decided to go elsewhere for coffee and deserts.

Other than the noise level, had an enjoyable meal. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Wonderful experience. Met up with some f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful experience. Met up with some friends for dinner. Amazing salmon. Everything on the menu looked great, my friend had the burger and loved it, other friend had the pork chop and raved about the taste. The only meal that wasn't amazing was the steak salad, it was sub par for the price, but the rest was good! Would recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, fast, good food. Lobster ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great service, fast, good food. Lobster roll was good for Friday special. Biggest complaint is the noise level. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They don't know how to cook stake, they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

They don't know how to cook stake, they screwed up medium well twice. I'm not sure if they where training new people but the wait staff did not know what they where doing. However, the manager, bartender, and hostess where every accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Met a friend for lunch mid-week, and had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Met a friend for lunch mid-week, and had an excellent experience. I have food allergies and confirmed that the item I was planning to order didn't contain anything that I couldn't have. Not only did the server confirm this for me, but the manager came over personally a few min later to let me know that they had talked to the chefs and let them know my allergy. What a pleasure to have such a personalized experience - while unnecessary for the manager to come over, it really showed their dedication to service. Food was great! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great and hip neighborhood place, and al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great and hip neighborhood place, and also great as a destination for those outside of the neighborhood. Always lively, and for people of all ages. Any time I bring someone they like it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch with a free drink is always a win ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch with a free drink is always a winning combination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.