About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

yogurt parfait
Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad
Negroni
Salmon Tartare Tacos
Mac and Cheese
Roasted Tomato Soup
Chocolate S'mores Pudding
Rock Shanty
Mediterranean
Pork Chops
Trout Milanese
Short Rib Hash
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots
Shrimp and Grits

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown East ›

Great for Brunch (195)
Good for Groups (195)
Fit for Foodies (158)
See All
Hot Spot (148)
Great for Lunch (140)
Neighborhood Gem (120)
Vibrant Bar Scene (117)
Kid-friendly (63)
Special Occasion (55)
Late-night Find (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (9)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was really nice, but she disa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was really nice, but she disappeared after taking our drink order. We kept looking for someone to try and order from, but no one came by. Our potato chips had been long gone by the time we finally ordered. And, we have never gotten past half the bowl when it's just been two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Everything was great! Food was excellen ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great! Food was excellent (even better than some of those chef name-dropping restaurants we visited! We had the pork chop and the mahi - both were fantastic), our server Maggie was amazing and gave us great menu recommendations, and the restaurant looked really cool.

I read that it was very loud, but we had a table in the corner and could hear each other just fine.

A great night and would totally recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to go with the fami ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great place to go with the family or with for friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive. Lobster roll very small i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Too expensive. Lobster roll very small in terms of lobster. Much too loud. Overall, the food is well done, but overpriced considering the ambiance. More of a drink, snack scene than dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server was very nice, the mac & chee ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was very nice, the mac & cheese is huge and ohh so delicious. Tuna salad is yum! And Beef salad is really good too. Some how my 7 Y.O. didn't like the burger, I suspect was the tomato sauce.

Ahh Pasion punch is a great drink (absolutely love it)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

I was a diner in 2 Smith restaurants in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was a diner in 2 Smith restaurants in a 5-day period last week. The staff is excellent in both locations, as were the servers. (Who are also usually good-looking at the various Smiths, as well as friendly and attentive!). I think the price for experience a bit on high side, but that's all good if they are paying these kids well, because the employees are the place's best asset.

The food both times was richer than I expected, even for fish and veggie dishes. I often find the fare on the heavier, "kid menu" side, summer or winter. Appeals to the demographic they attract, which is the loud, large-table "bro and their friends" gang-at-work type of young drinkers (or maybe diners). Emphasize the pervasive loud factor. Conversations cannot be had at a normal volume, and the tile surfaces that are above, below, and next to diners just amplify the loud loud loud ambience. Oh, and add in superfluous music to the mix. Also set on loud volume.

They call this "energetic". Be warned.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

I was looking for a place to go to brunc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was looking for a place to go to brunch on a weekday because I was spending Monday through Friday with a friend in the area. I was pleasantly surprised to find a restaurant with a good rating that would serve breakfast items until 11:30 on a Friday morning. The egg blt-e croissant sandwich was delicious. The cheddar biscuit was a nice touch. It was comfortable, the bathroom is cool and we had a good time. The coffee kept coming and our waitress was attentive and smiley. All good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to love this place, but this time, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Used to love this place, but this time, although the service was great, the food wasn't great. Fried String Beans were greasy with the coating falling off. The hamburger wasn't bad, but, those tomatoes on the bottom was kind of messy and not very good. And, that horrible mealy stale crusted berry tart had to be one of the worst desserts I've ever had in my life. Just awful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Way to loud for anyone to have any conve ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined 7 days ago

Way to loud for anyone to have any conversation without shouting... Which simply made noise level worse

Food was okay, Mac n cheese was great start but chicken mains were very very over seasoned and salad had way to much dressing... Couldn't really taste the food as result

The waitress was friendly but the servers were rude and dumped the food down in front of us lacking service

Overall not best experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service and food were great. The acoust ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service and food were great. The acoustics in the restaurant are poor, making for a pretty noisy experience. It was hard to hear people in my party and I felt like I had to yell to talk with them. Likely won't go back for this very reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service, and decor. Noise le ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, service, and decor. Noise level was debilitating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our reservation was at 7:30, but the tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our reservation was at 7:30, but the table wasn't ready. We waited at the bar for 30 minutes and didn't eat until 9:15. It is nice, but I wouldn't go back to eat, maybe appetizers and a drink.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fun atmosphere, good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fun atmosphere, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Even though I felt very old among the th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Even though I felt very old among the throngs of young people (along with those at our table) at the restaurant, the wait staff was genuinely charming and attentive. Their best attribute is the people that work there, which my husband commented to the manager when we had brunch there a week ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a casual working lunch there -- grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had a casual working lunch there -- great atmosphere that doesn't break the bank. The Mediterranean salad with chicken was great -- a refreshing meal for a hot summer day. Enjoyed a well prepared latte after finishing lunch. Highly recommend going the few extra blocks if you're normally eating in the Park/Lex zone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We drove in from new Jersey for this spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We drove in from new Jersey for this special occassion for the 5 of us. At first, I was unhappy becasue my table was not ready and there was confusion of the amount of people. I reserved for 5 people, and the restaurant said we made reservation for 4 people and I reserved for 11:45 and they said it was for 12 and table was not ready for a while.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not a great experience. Food was cold, t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not a great experience. Food was cold, they got my friend's daughter's order wrong, and they sat 3 of us at table really only big enough for two (even though I had a reservation). Not impressed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The service was excellent! When our larg ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was excellent! When our large group came in they seated us right away. My friends and I were celebrating my birthday and with only mentioning the occasion for a brief moment in the beginning the waitress remembered and brought out a dessert for with a candle. The food came out quickly and everyone was extremely friendly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for brunch. Awesome service, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place for brunch. Awesome service, terrific food - a trendy & hip spot to hang!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Huge seating areas to accommodate many p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Huge seating areas to accommodate many patrons. Food is solid for breakfast. Coffee was good. Service was quick. Overall, a good place to eat breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our dinner at the Smith was made so spec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our dinner at the Smith was made so special by our wonderfully sweet server, Maggie, and of the managers that stopped by to say hi and ask how we were doing. We were treated like friends and the food was absolutely outstanding. I have never had such delicious crabcakes. My boyfriend is a burger connoisseur and he loved his so much, after the first bite he had to put it down just to look at it. Thank you for a wonderful date night. We will most certainly be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husbands birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were celebrating my husbands birthday and although the food was good, the noise level was extremely loud. My husband and I had to talk strain to hear each other over the vibrant atmosphere. The food was ok. The service was great and it was packed! I heard that the brunch was amazing. Will have to go back and check that out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Our waitress was excellent. She took the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our waitress was excellent. She took the time to discuss food and drink options. She brought us a taste of wine so that we could make a decision. She was attentive without being a pest. I would go back there in a heartbeat. The food was fabulous as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The smith midtown is a favorite of mine ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The smith midtown is a favorite of mine as its only a few blocks from my apartment. The food is always great and they have added some new things to the menu which are delicious. The chicken paillard is so good and comes with a generous sized salad on the side. The new addition of tuna poke to the menu is amazing and addictive. The service here is ok and it's quite loud, so I wouldn't come here for a romantic occasion. However the food is great for brunch, lunch, and dinner and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I admit to a bias against restaurants th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I admit to a bias against restaurants that refuse to seat parties until every last member has arrived. In this case probably 20 sweaty, rain-soaked guests were crowded into the narrow, humid entryway when I arrived. Off to a bad start. The noise level is deafening. My companion and I had to yell the entire time. Service was ok, reasonably prompt and friendly, but the food was of mediocre quality serve in huge portions. The hot potato chip starter was about the size of a full bag of chips. Somehow they were bland tasting. This unfortunate choice was representative of the items that followed. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food, prompt and attentive ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food, prompt and attentive service, incredibly noisy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great, as always.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the spaciousness and the food. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I loved the spaciousness and the food. I did not get the drink I asked for but what I got was good. The waitress was also attentive and asked frequently if we needed anything. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic at The Smith - wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was fantastic at The Smith - what most of us consider basics or staples of American cuizine but done right. I've been numerous times but this evening we shared a calamari appetizer, then one of us had the lobster roll and I had the salmon. We also split the brussels sprouts which were cooked and seasoned perfectly! The salmon is also always cooked to perfection. The service was great. It's always very loud there for dinner so I wouldn't go when you need to have an important conversation during your meal, but always an enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was recommended the Prime Rib Thursday S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Was recommended the Prime Rib Thursday Special by the waitress and boy it didn't disappoint. Fantastic flavour and really filled the spot, one of the best meals I have ever tasted. The steak was exceptional and would recommend to anyone whether a steak lover or not!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Fantastic food. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful place. Fantastic food. Great service. Just a tad noisy. However, I'd return and recommend to all I know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always great and there is no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is always great and there is nothing bad about the place except it gets louder each time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Can be loud once the after w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food! Can be loud once the after work crowd rolls in but as long as you're not looking for a quiet, secluded romantic spot, it's tolerable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner with co-worker ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner with co-workers. We had a table of five, next to the open wall to the sidewalk. Great people watching as the world walked by, superior service with a smile and helpful recommendations, loved the drink menu. We had from fish to hamburgers and both exceeded expectations. The signature smores dessert was equally matched by the rest (we almost exhausted the dessert menu and passed plates around the table, one better than the last). Delightful all around and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not that familiar with the restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I'm not that familiar with the restaurants in midtown and selected The Smith based on the reviews from my fellow Open Table diners. The food was indeed delicious and they easily accommodated our dietary needs. Our server was attentive although he seemed new. We don't know whether this is why our main courses arrived three bites into our salads or if the kitchen simply fired our dishes too soon. Whichever, we resisted the impulse to feel rushed and enjoyed every bite.

As mentioned in several write-ups, the noise level is ridiculously high. I hope they are able to address the issue since I really can't imagine eating there with a group larger than two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I've been here about 4 times, and this i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've been here about 4 times, and this is a fun place for brunch with your friends or date.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I always choose the Smith as a brunch ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I always choose the Smith as a brunch venue when meeting friends. The place is POPULAR - so expect to wait! But it's an awesome menu, the service is first class, and love ambience. What more could you ask for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their recently changed menu is more expe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Their recently changed menu is more expensive and less good. Their new burger is legit a fancy Big Mac. Bring back the old special sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

I thought the food was great. Nice sele ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought the food was great. Nice selection on the menu and service was fast.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional customer service here. Our t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional customer service here. Our table wasn't ready but they were way ahead of that, providing cocktails and sending apps when table was available. Food always great at The Smith and always a fun night out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.