Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Smith - Midtown

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for the best Thanksgiving feast in town. Three courses, all the fixings, plenty of options, and we'll do the dishes!
Three courses, $65 per person
1:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (96)
Great for Brunch (91)
Comfort Food (68)
See All
Fun (67)
Great for Lunch (64)
Good for Groups (64)
Sunday Lunch (62)
Hot Spot (56)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Bar Seating (43)
People Watching (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Happy Hour (28)
Authentic (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Quick Bite (18)
Late-night Find (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Romantic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 2 days ago

There are so many great brunch restaurants in NYC it's hard to choose but the Smith is a great find. It's not hard to know why it's always packed for brunch. The menu is exceptional. There is standard brunch fare - sandwiches, burgers, pancakes but there are also some real gems like the Egg pot pie and the French toast where the bread is sliced super thick. Both delicious. The Bloody Mary's are served with green olive garnish and have just the right kick to get your lips to tingling. The atmosphere is upbeat, edgy and cool and the service is excellent, even when the place is packed. You can't go wrong at The Smith.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved our experience at The Smith! The hostess honored our reservation on time, even for a hip spot. The food was amazing, beer list was great, and the service was excellent. I'll most definitely visit this spot the next time I come to NY.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed a beautiful Saturday brunch here for our wedding anniversary following a recommendation from a friend.

Everything about the place was superb - The food was beautiful and the atmosphere was lively but not too "in your face". Most importantly, the service was exceptional. Unfortunately I didn't get the guys name but he was extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations on the menu.

With so much choice in NYC, ordinarily I'd be reluctant to go back, however this stood out as a highlight of our trip and I would certainly revisit.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Small menu done very well!! Avocado toast was best I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The place was mobbed at lunch so I don't think they will have trouble filling seats. We found the menu just okay and a bit expensive. The lobster roll had far too much mayonaise and the chips were not warm. I make homemade chips all the time and these tasted like out of the bag. My husbands tuna was sparce and not well seasoned. We have been before, but we are over the Smith

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Not like the first couple of visits to the smith. This time lacked the luster that draws myself and my wife to the smith when we are in NYC

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

While the food was delicious, I've tired of loud New Yorkers. And what's with offering bread in a paper bag? The tiled floors and walls only make it worse. Sat at a communal table with too many chairs, so the noise and lack of space along with poor temperature control (and bugs because the window doors were open) made for a lousy experience at the price. We ordered an appetizer and two entrees for around $60. Full carafe of wine shot the bill up to $152. They need to rethink pricing. Unlikely to return.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent food, and LARGE portions. The wait staff is friendly, but overworked during busy times (especially week day lunch). I made a lunch reservation for 11 AM, and was given a great table for my business lunch--although patrons should know that only breakfast is served prior to 11:30 AM. Not a problem for us; we had a glass of wine and put in our lunch order, which was served promptly at 11:30.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Perfect brunch place, classic egg benedict & pancakes are the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food and ambiance were great but our server was extremely rude and unaccomodating.... apparently it’s too much of an inconvenience to sprinkle a little cinnamon on a cappuccino for a $100+ tab

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We love The Smith. A great neighborhood restaurant. The food is delicious, the choices are many, and the service is friendly and professional. We have enjoyed brunch, lunch , and dinner here. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Delicious breakfast! Great service. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Awesome time as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Consistently exceeds expectations . The only thing better than the food is the service. We cannot honestly recall ever having a bad meal there and we've had dozens!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I have never walked out of a restaurant before but we walked out of this joke of a place because of the atrocious service. We were treated disgustingly from the second we walked in. Don't go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Had excellent fried chicken (wed special) and a great time, but quite loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Loved, loved, loved The Smith. From the moment I walked in I knew I'd like it. The hottest was lovely. The bartender friendly and good looking. Loved that the hottest suggested a drink at the bar as a booth was opening. I was meeting a dear friend for a catch up lunch and a booth to the side was the perfect setting to drink, dine, chat and laugh. The restaurant is bright and airy and the food was delicious. I also love that our waitress knew the menu back and forth and made suggestions. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always good food. LOUD! Service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very loud which made it hard to hear my date. But food was delicious and service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Was amazing - amazing food and amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was super tasty and the home fries were to die for! I really liked the complimentary flat and sparkling water—a rarity in NYC. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and bloody Mary’s. Our go to place for breakfast when staying in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for brunch, it was insanely noise but really cute restaurant. Packed full of people and their luggage. I asked for a potato substitute for the potato waffle that had flour in it and was told I could only have salad because of their concerns with cross contamination which was slightly disappointing. Steak was ok, not worth $24 anywhere but my husband loved his BLT+E sandwich.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food, efficient seating process. Server was a little slow and disinterested it seemed. Looks like the station he had was too big given the crowd size. Tomato soup was just right on a day with a slight chill in the air. We will go back and recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is definitely a lively restaurant for the young and the young at heart. It was filled with millennials and their friends and it was very noisy. There was a line outside so a reservation is recommended. The food was outstanding and our choices included a breakfast menu as well as burgers and other entrees. I had JALAPENO GRITS with eggs and chicken sausage and everything was amazing. The grits melted in my mouth. My friend had a hearty burger and she said it was outrageously good. Fun, pulsating atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Smith is a good place to go with a group because there are lots of menu options. It was a little harder for the older people in our group because the restaurant is quite loud. We lucked out and got a booth so it was a little quieter. We enjoyed the food and the service was good!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and staff. Modern twists on comfort food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Not a quiet venue for a business lunch. Wait staff were not friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was delish and just the right portion.
Get the birthday cake!!!! It is amazing!
The only bad thing is the noise level- sound just bounces off of everywhere and you almost have to shout to be heard by your dining companion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Tables are way too close. Terrible if you're looking for an intimate meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A friend and I came here for Sunday brunch. So glad I made reservations on OpenTable - the walk-in wait looked really long. Despite the restaurant being packed, service was great and food and drinks came out quickly. Got the vanilla french toast with caramelized bananas and they were fantastic. Huge portions and amazing taste. I highly recommend this restaurant for brunch - just make sure you make reservations or be prepared to wait!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Yum. The brunch here is very fun. The menu is varied. The food is really really good and the prices are fair for the area and the food quality. The staff members are super-friendly and attentive and efficient! I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Did Brunch, many choices. Food was delicious. Manhattan prices but not horrible. Brunch for 2 with a cocktail $75

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We live The Smith and make a point to stop in for brunch every time we are in New York. They did not disappoint once again. The food here is outstanding and the service is exemplary. The only draw back is it is a little loud but if you like vibrant, the Smith is an excellent brunch choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great burger (but you'd hope so for the price), and fast and friendly service. Would happily go again. Perfect kick-off to a night out with friends.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food is always enjoyable, though my friend had the salmon entree and preferred the way it was prepared before.
The noise level is high, which is uncomfortable for a date night...

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great vibe, attentive service, the only thing to be cognizant of is that as the decor is pretty much all tile, the noise level can be on the high side.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had brunch with 2 friends. Everyone's food was all very good and the service was great.
Our table was ready at the time of our reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good food, great service! Our favorite place for a weekend brunch!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food is always great there. It's a nice place to go with your family, if your family likes things to feel simultaneously casual and fancy. Sadly, this time, some of our order was greatly delayed, to the point where some guests had finished their meals by the time the others came. The staff was apologetic and, I believe, took some of it off the bill. Overall, good experience. Fun brunch items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.