About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (112)
Casual (108)
Great for Lunch (94)
See All
Comfort Food (88)
Good for Groups (85)
Fun (77)
Sunday Lunch (68)
Good for a Date (67)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Hot Spot (60)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Bar Seating (42)
People Watching (37)
Modern Decor (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Business Meals (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Authentic (23)
Cozy (22)
Quick Bite (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Healthy (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Outstanding Value (14)
Romantic (13)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Family Style (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great Beer (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Open Kitchen (6)
Organic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

GOOD FOOD NICE PLACE SERVIVE COULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE FASTER

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was on the salty side, which it usually is not. Back room was crowded and too warm due to lack of windows, warm night, and how many people were in the back. Will still go back, and hope this was just a fluke in the many times I've been to The Smith.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely perfect location for a business lunch, or meal with friends. The kale quinoa salad is incredible!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere. Delicious food. Great menu.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The Smith never disappoints! The food, service and atmosphere is great and ALWAYS a good choice!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Been here a few times unfortunately this time was disappointing. Service was very slow and food was mediocre, that being said I have had a few good meals here

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great find. We have been to NYC several times, but have never eaten here. The food was really good, but not fast. I would definitely go again. FYI - If you have a large group that needs tickets separated, our waiter said that they couldn't do it.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Friends visiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and great drinks. The atmosphere is lively however it was very loud. Not a place for a romantic date as conversation is difficult. Good service and tasty food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite brunch spots in the city. The toughest decision is choosing sweet or savory because everything I've tried so far is great!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was great. Nice guy who really improved our dining experience. The food was excellent. Fun place !

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I loved this place! The food was awesome, the ambiance energetic and delicious cocktails.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The Smith came highly recommended and didn't disappoint! Great food, great service, great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a decent meal at a good value for lunch. It was extraordinarily noisy, so do not pick for a meal when you really want to speak to your companion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Colleen our server was stellar! Sweet and on top of everything! Jonathan the manager went out of his way to make sure the photo booth was working for us. All around impressed with the staff and the food and the vibe of the place! I'll be back!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Smith is a very solid "go to" restaurant for business or just friends getting together. Should be something for everyone on the menu, and the service is always prompt and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time to this restaurant in Manhattan. Excellent food. Something for everyone. If your coming to NYC for the first time, this is a great spot before you go out and find more adventurous food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was really good. I thought it might be something like mid-quatlity restaurant, but it was something special. 10/10 to food,whole restaurant and especially service. Thank you again.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Smith is my girlfriend's favorite restaurant. While I'm not as high on it, I do still really enjoy it. The desserts are all great. Dinner was good, but nothing special.

Personally I enjoy the brunch menu more, but you really can't go wrong visiting any of the Smith's locations for brunch, a sit down lunch, or dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good and solid resto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had business guests from the UK - first visit to NYC and we chose The Smith for lunch given the menu options. Everyone chose different dishes and everyone raved about their selection - high praise to the kitchen staff for the consistency in delivering great meals from beef to seafood to Italian. Our waiter was wonderful - he was so attentive and gracious to every table. He treated the food allergy we had shared via Open Table with the utmost concern and care. We would go back to The Smith and I will look at the receipt for the waiter's name to ask for his section.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was mediocre, fried green beans were not good at all. The tomatoe soup was my absolute favorite.

I had a shrimp pasta dish with black noodles, the noodles were overwhelming and I did not care for them.

The porkchop was so strong in rosemary it was not as enjoyable.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Adriana our server and Jayce the manager were both fantastic. The food was outstanding. I've eaten in all 4 NYC locations and the quality and service are top notch in all locations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Smith has alway been a favorite for me. Its my go to for an easy date night dinner or a great meet up with friends.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A nice restaurant clearly very popular with the locals -- a reservation is recommended during busy times. My omelette was good but not great. But the side of brussel sprouts and the coffee were fantastic. I would give it a second chance and order a different entree.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food.

Food came out before our drinks, and without asking, our hostess put our drinks on the house.

Really enjoyed the venue too.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place. Place was busy at 8pm on a Friday. Luckily, we reserved thru OpenTable and was seated immediately. Had the calamari (fantastic!) and then had the steak (also fantastic)! Our waitress was awesome - very attentive even with it being quite busy. Would go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Much as we have a national bird, the chicken pot pie should be our National Pot Pie. If you order it, sit at the end of the table to keep prying fingers away from that cheddar biscuit topping.......

And sticky toffee pudding, where have you been all my life?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

They didn't have the table we requested ready for us and so that was disappointing other than that service and food were on point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Emily, our lovely server, was friendly, professional and patient with us. The food was very good and there was something for everyone on the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very satisfied! Celebrate my anniversary with the boyfriend, both ordered the burger royale... yum! I ordered mine without cheese (lactose intolerant) as well as the "50/50" sauce on the side. Boyfriend got the works. I don't know why people say the fries aren't good... i polished those bad boys off! Overall a great experience and will definitely be back, maybe for brunch?!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great spot, but we had a reservation and still had to wait 20 minutes for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place for brunch on the weekends. Very creative menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fanatastic food and service! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Family Style, People Watching, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The staff is fantastic. They really go out of their way to make you feel special

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of our party order Filet Mignon. It came out too rare. After sending it back it still wasn't cooked properly. They took it off the bill and gave him a new steak to take Home.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I asked for a nice table to celebrate my friends promotion and got nothing of the sort. Service was slow. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I'm torn with my review because while the service was outstanding and food was delicious, the restaurant is very cramped and loud. It was hard to hear my friend who sat just across the table from me. I'm sure there really isn't any time when this restaurant is extremely crowded. I don't think I'd go back to this restaurant due to the how loud it was, but we did have a nice meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As usually the smith never fails to satisfy. It is always a go to spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

food was very good, service friendly and prompt., over-all very good dining experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

As usual, great. Very nice black pasta, pot of mussels (lot of mussels), chips and fries and delicious desserts. Impeccable service. The reasons that always bring me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Highly recommend the Avocado Toast and Shishito Peppers. Cocktails are great all around.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Smith, at its various locations, is our go-to spot for Brunch when in NYC. The 2nd avenue location is noisy but the food and the drinks are great and the service was also good. It's definitely for a younger crowd but they don't mind us boomers showing up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This place was PACKED at 11 am on a Sunday when we arrived for our reservation. One person from our party wasn't there yet, so we had to wait in the bustling bar with the walk-ins until she arrived before we could be seated. When I got a text that she was going to be an additional 20 minutes late, I talked to the hostess asking what we should do - should we move on to another spot because we'd lose our reservation? Or keep waiting? They sat the 3 out of 4 of us right away instead of letting us lose our reservation. Service like that makes all the difference in the world to me! They could have easily sat any of the walk-in parties and made up for the money they'd lose by letting us walk out the door, but they chose to honor our reservation instead. From there, we went on to have some of the best avocado toast and other brunch plates I've had anywhere. A quintessential New York spot, also great for fashionable people watching (though, we were dressed down casual and felt 100% comfortable, too).

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waitress (Alexia) was wonderful. The food was good and the restaurant itself is decorated nicely. It was a good place to go for a brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food, but very loud! Excellent flavors that you might not think would go together but do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. A little noisy and unisex bathroom were downsides. Overall, a nice find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of our favorites in our neighborhood and come back time and time again for the great service and food.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food all sounded amazing and we got a burger and some oysters.. tasted so good. Must come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our food was delicious. 2 inch thick French toast, great twist on eggs Benedict, strong coffee. They accommodated our food allergies. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.