Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Smith - Midtown

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (135)
Casual (122)
Great for Lunch (98)
See All
Good for Groups (97)
Comfort Food (89)
Sunday Lunch (84)
Good for a Date (84)
Fun (82)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Hot Spot (69)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Bar Seating (52)
People Watching (52)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Special Occasion (42)
Modern Decor (42)
Happy Hour (33)
Kid-friendly (30)
Business Meals (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Cozy (23)
Late-night Find (21)
Healthy (20)
Romantic (17)
Great Beer (16)
Family Style (16)
Quick Bite (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Seasonal (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Organic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great Food, very good service. I would definitely go back here if I'm in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lobster roll had a strange taste to it. Avocado toast was incredible though. Highly recommend it along with the brussel sprouts which are flash fried with an orange zest

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Casual, People Watching, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

For a truly exceptional burger -- and I know you've heard this before, but I mean it -- don't pass up the Burger Royale! Smoky bacon and gooey American cheese offset by the tang of homemade pickles and slaw, all on top of two perfectly cooked, un-messed-around-with burger patties and a soft bun. Divine!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot! It's a well-oiled machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Michael & Rich were the star of the bar on Sunday for Brunch. We were visiting from Florida and a friend recommended the Smith (specifically Midtown location) and we weren't disappointed!!! So much fun - ambiance & service just spectacular! Can't wait to visit again soon!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Smith is pretty reliable. Always packed on the weekends for brunch and sometimes they squeeze a lot of people into small tables. But the food is good, as well as the drinks. It's also pretty casual so it's good for kids

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations for Saturday brunch with my family. All 3 of us had the Benedict Johnny which was amazing. Cheddar cornbread with chicken sausage was awesome. We all shared the jalepano grits which I have to say were the best grits I've ever had. Have lived in the south I had never had anything like these before. They have a really god specialty drink selection. They both had the passion punch which was too sweet for my taste and I had the Gatspy which was good but had a kick to it. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

WORST BRUNCH EXPERIENCE.
Despite making a res in advance, on arrival we were given a table immediately by the door on a frigid day. It seemed like a makeshift area that normally wouldn't have a table and it was put there because of how busy they were. When we asked for an alternative table, we were told it would be >45 min wait. We reluctantly stayed and ended up eating our brunch in our coats while people waiting for tables were essentially sitting on top of us and waiters constantly moved our chairs walking by because of the location. The plates were dirty and chipped and had to be changed and our order was wrong when it arrived requiring more time freezing and our party eating separately. There were no apologies or any care whatsoever about any of the above from the restaurant staff. NEVER GOING BACK. There are 1000 great brunch spots around that don't treat customers this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Omar was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Too loud, good service, food is so so, got sick from the fish sandwich, tasted stale. The plate cane with a large bag of fries covering the food, poor presentation. Good american,ny beer selection, dont expect a wide range of bier.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a nice lunch, good service, good food. Beer selection was good but not extensive with 8 craft beers on tap. Would have been nice if there was Guinness on St. Patrick's day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was outstanding. Service was wonderful. Music was a bit loud. I was expecting a bit more ambiance and a bit less "fast food" feeling. If you want ambience, go somewhere else... but for excellent food, this is the place!!! I had the salmon and my daughter had the mussels... not a bite left. Even the fries were yummy!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great venue, friendly staff amazing food.well done ...we will definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Perfect for the snow day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Tables on the banquette too close together. I don't expect privacy but nor do I expect to feel like I am part of the next table. Felt rushed to order. Crab cake tots probably had some crab but the contrived "Alabama Tartar Sauce" overwhelmed any trace. Not bad, but NY has too many other great options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good, but we waited for 25 minutes to be seated. While our server gave us complimentary snacks, we did not receive any attention from the manager regarding the wait. When asked, the hostess only said that they were doing something. As the table was in eyesight, we knew that what she said was not the case.

Good food and fun ambiance, but the wait was not ideal.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food, bigger portions, loud and cramped though - no where for winter coats or big bags to be placed and a table for 4 should really be a table for 3 at the most but this is common in New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I ate at The Smith Midtown for Sunday Brunch after mass at St. Patrick's Cathedral with two midwestern friends in town. We were promptly seated at our reservation time, our waitress was very polite and funny, and responded readily to requests. Our food came in great portions - and a free breakfast cocktail or juice! We had the Ranchero Scramble, BLT + E Sandwich, and Breakfast Pot Pie. They were all delicious and beautiful!! We had modifications to the scrambler, and they were all done correctly. The ambiance of the Midtown location is great - bustling yet not too loud, and was very clean and classy. Would definitely recommend for an all-american classy brunch! Thank you very much for your service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took 3 of my girlfriends from out of town to The Smith. It was recommended to me by someone I work with for a good Brunch spot. It was probably the best recommendation I have received. All 4 of us tried something different and each of us were beyond pleased with our meals. The food was absolutely amazing as was our server. I only wish I remembered her name. She was so helpful recommending to us some gems on the menu, but even told us she'd recommend anything on the menu because it was all incredible. The food, coffee, juice, Bellini's, it was all unbelievable. If you are looking for a great place to have brunch and incredible service, look no further. Thank you The Smith for an incredible experience. I will absolutely be recommending this place to everyone I know in New York and visiting New York!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and a place I visit very often. Would recommend this to anyone who wants an expansive menu with quality options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I rarely write reviews, but I must say that my dinner at The Smith - Midtown was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had in NYC (and I'm there for at least one night almost every week). The table was ready and we were seated right away; the waitress was prompt and super friendly, they accommodated my 6-year-old daughter with a great cheeseburger just the way she likes it, and as for my wife and my meals...wow! The pricing is so reasonable that I didn't expect such excellence: the ingredients were clearly fresh, the seasoning was perfect (as was the cooking), and the flavor was so sublime that I felt like licking the plate! I should also mention that the cocktails that my wife and I had were both among the best we've had at a restaurant (on a par, really, with a good dedicated cocktail bar). Overall, it was an amazing experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love the smith- always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, great service and a great location. Highly recommended for weekend brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The place is big and perfect to go with your family. Can be a little bit noise when it is crowded.
A good spot to have brunch and dinner. The service is quickly and efficient.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Smith is one of my favorite spots in NYC! Always great food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server was phenomenal. The food and drinks were a bit expensive for my taste, but the cocktails we tried we did love. Great for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was in the neighborhood at an imaging lab so it was perfect. Very convenient to be able to change reservation 3 times because of delays at the lab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I did not enjoy this restaurant. The food was overpriced and not worth it! Great service despite the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The Smith is always a great choice! My boyfriend and both I have food allergies and The Smith is always very accommodating . Though it gets a bit noisy, it does not take away from the level of service, food and their specialty cocktails. Always a 10/10 in our book!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is a good, solid neighbor selection to eat out. Service was good, food was good, large seating capacity, fair pricing for the quality and portion size. The tiled interior just reverberates the noise and the background roar makes it difficult to carry on a conversation unless you are seated in an out of the way corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Been here so many times and always great and always have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of my favorite places ever because the menu is so varied and every single item is exceptional! The cocktails are terrific, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great as usual. Food very good, but the house wines are no good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Service was slow and disorganized. Food was OK, portions way too large. Good bang for the buck

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I hold most of my breakfast meetings in the restaurant. I really appreciate prompt and friendly service and the consistency in food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have had two experiences at The Smith restaurants in the city and have been happy both times. The wait staff are efficient, friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waited 25 min for a table with a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hadn't been here in quite a while and surprised to see how young the clientele was - maybe because we went for brunch. Food was delicious and well prepared, as always. Accommodated food allergies. When we first sat we had staff all around. Once we ordered, they became very scarce. (Had to ask a manager for coffee because we hadn't seen our server since ordering). I'll chalk it up to an exceptionally busy Sunday because all past visits were always great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding! Great service, price and value. Food and drinks were wonderful!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch with girlfriends... excellent food good light fast service !!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.