Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Smith - Midtown

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (153)
Casual (128)
Good for Groups (111)
See All
Sunday Lunch (103)
Great for Lunch (99)
Fun (91)
Comfort Food (90)
Good for a Date (86)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Hot Spot (73)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Bar Seating (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
People Watching (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Modern Decor (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Happy Hour (39)
Kid-friendly (33)
Business Meals (33)
Late-night Find (23)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (22)
Family Style (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Healthy (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Great Beer (19)
Quick Bite (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Romantic (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (10)
Organic (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 11 hours ago

It's not what you would call creative, though it satisfies. Sunday brunch is popular, and noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Brought an out-of-town friend here for lunch, and it was a great place to sit and catch-up. Our waitress was really great; she looked in on us every so often without being intrusive and let us sit long after we had finished our lunch (there were empty tables in case other guests came to be seated, though). She also refilled our coffee multiple times, which was nice. Food was pretty good for the price. Reservations definitely recommended as there is usually a wait.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Come here for breakfast and always enjoy. It's a relaxed atmosphere, not too loud so conversation is possible. Always a great option and worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. Was really nice to have all doors opened as well. Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Made a reservation for lunch with friends from out of town. They loved the local NY vibe. We asked to be near the open windows, since it was a beautiful day. LOVE the homemade sodas! The steak salad never disappoints. The chicken pot pie was amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Smith offers a nice variety of food, all well prepared., with a bit of flair. I got the Mediterranean salad with grilled chicken. It was a little short on chicken, but the salad was fresh, and very big. My friend got the mussels which came in a huge pot and were delicious and plentiful. I bit pricey, but it is NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The Smith is a go-to for business lunches. Nice menu variety, but honestly a bit pricey for what it is. Food is good, salads are huge, and I haven't found a side dish I didn't like.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Really great food and excellent service. Great value for food in surrounding area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and service. I made reservation exactly 45 minutes before we arrived we got tjeee early and waited briefly and had a great meal. I'll definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went for brunch on Sunday afternoon. Be sure to make a reservation. We arrived a little early and were seated immediately. Short rib hash with jalapeno and cheddar grits was fantastic. Sunday brunch includes a cocktail from a special list. Server Lisa did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Prospective guests should understand that, for Sunday brunch at least, this restaurant is very loud. I SAID, THIS RESTAURANT IS VERY LOUD. Everything else was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great place for brunch! A little loud, but good food and cocktails. Definitely make a reservation though

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was very good. We were kinda crammed in there though. It was packed and the tables were almost stacked on each other. Pretty noisy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was a tad salty

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

they were good to accommodate us on our late arrival but food was just so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've been to The Smith downtown and it was great. This one in midtown was so crowded and loud. We had to wait about 20 minutes for our reservation to be honored. We couldn't hear ourselves talk between the millennials yelling, babies crying and everyone their phones. I'll go back to the downtown restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great brunch choice! Some of the most unique dishes you will find anywhere. I had the short rib hash and it did not disappoint. My date had the Jonny Benedict - tomato hollandaise over egg on a corm meal cake - unbelievable!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My mom and I went here for an early Saturday brunch before going to a show and absolutely loved it. The food was delicious and there were great menu options. I'll definitely be back and will recommend this to friends!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I was meeting up with a friend I had not seen for a long while and was pleased that we were seated in a quiet corner so we could hear each other without having to scream. Thx!
Later int he evening the noise level went way too high again even for this corner far in the back...
The food was delicious and we particularly were impressed with the taste and texture of the sorbets.
The waiter was very patient with us since our conversation made us delay in making our choice; he kept up his friendly checking in on us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food is good but noise level is way too much. You can't talk to your friends without yelling at each other. I wouldn't go back there , it's Unbearable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great experience service tad slow but great otherwise. Always enjoy coming for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We met some friends at The Smith Midtown. Nice menu -- we went around brunch time but everyone had more of a "lunch" mood. My burger was fine. Wife's lobster roll looked very nice. They did accommodate our friend's request to have just avocado slices rather than the avocado "spread" on her sandwich. Fourth guest didn't think he would order the pasta with shortrib again. We didn't have any alcoholic drinks. Service was very attentive. We would go back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

we had to wait for 30min even when we had the reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went with our children and partners (15 in all) for a fabulous meal in celebration of being in New York. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday trip to NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and astounding service. Looking forward to coming back here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food, drinks, service, and atmosphere are amazing here. We will be coming back for the Bloody Mary and the burger(s).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is always very good and decent ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Breakfast Pot Pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was quick but not rushed. Server was helpful in discussing and offering options for our children. Was not condescending, her suggestions were spot on. The mac n cheese is as good as all the reviews claim. The gnocchi was excellent. Their seafood (mussels and paella) were delicious. Definitely would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great for large groups, very NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the Ranchero Scramble so much! Hoping to go back for brunch soon to order it again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Booked for friends visiting from London. Easy to reserve and confirm. Attentive welcoming staff. Had to wait a few minutes for our table. I had the tomato soup and salmon which were both excellent. Friends enjoyed the pot of mussels which was huge. Other friends had the marinated shrimp but were not impressed with the spaghetti squash or chickpea griddle cake. Dessert consisted of sherbet and a lemon tart that was devoured by friends.

The place attracts a younger crowd and tends to be on the energetic and louder noise level side. I wouldn't suggest for a quiet conversation dinner. The tables are mostly separated so you are not sitting on top of each other. Wait staff very attentive and friendly.

A bit on the pricey side, but this is the East Side Midtown, so worth it.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nice time!! We came two days in a row!
Good job ... good variety & nice service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Felt rushed out by another server and still had half a glass of champagne to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Greeted by friendly hostess who accommodated our preference for seating location with a smile. Server was super helpful with some appy items and cocktails. Food was amazing...great comfort food finds as well as healthy, flavorful lite fare...will be back again!!
It made a simple business luncheon feel like a special occasion - my guest was very pleased!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.