Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Smith - Midtown

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (128)
Great for Brunch (122)
Good for Groups (105)
See All
Comfort Food (103)
Great for Lunch (103)
Fun (90)
Sunday Lunch (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (73)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Hot Spot (64)
Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Bar Seating (60)
People Watching (53)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Business Meals (49)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Happy Hour (39)
Special Occasion (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Modern Decor (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Quick Bite (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Authentic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great Beer (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved it. I'm a server myself, and one of my diners recommended this place. I've gotta say it was worth it, and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

From the hostess to the waiter and everyone in between the service and attention was superb. The restaurant is normally very active at the time we chose to dine but the hostess could not be more accommodating to find a quieter part of the restaurant . As I was having dinner with my son it allowed us to catch up and not be overwhelmed by noise at that time of evening. We had a wonderful meal and finished off with desert . Thank you to all for making it a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Smith is always reliable and an easy breakfast and lunch spot in the culinary desert that is Midtown East. Only downside is the subway tile that line the walls makes the entire venue overly noisy when crowded.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I met my cousin and his kids there. I made a reservation and we got a lovely seat at the window, which was open. The staff were friendly and efficient and my lobster roll was delicious! Everyone else was happy with their meals as well. I come here on occasion and I love it!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Would not recommend for those with severe gluten allergies. They were not on top of the cross contamination.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very busy Sunday but food was great and nice to have a reservation so you don't wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We love The Smith, especially for a quiet breakfast on a weekday, the food is outstanding and we order delivery from them all the time. This visit was a long over due date night with my wife. I ordered the paella which I love, but had never had at The Smith. It was subpar and the first time I have ever ordered anything that I didn't enjoy fully. The staff was amazing and the manager came right over after he told the server that I was unhappy. He immediately said he would take it off the bill and if there was anything I would like to please order, which I did the shrimp scampi with jalapeño grits is a slam dunk. This is how you handle a customer. Especially since the woman next to me ordered the same and ate it all. They were only concerned with my experience and that I was happy. Well done guys. We are customers for life and recommend any of The Smiths to friends and family. See y'all soon! Brandy & Laura

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really did enjoy the food , wanted to try something new for my birthday and this was just the place.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Resting on its reputation. Indifferent service. Flavorless lukewarm waffle served without butter. Many many better options for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

You can always have a great meal at The Smith! The daily specials are great (fried chicken) and the quinoa salad is amazing.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always great! Have been many times, the menu is hard to beat, reasonable prices, is buzzing with energy!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I mistakenly made my reservation for 6:00 when it should have been 6:30 and never checked the confirm email . The staff was kind and did not give me a hard time at all. The food and service were excellent and I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is not the place for fine dining. However, for casual brunch, lunch or dinner it is a go to. The food is consistent, service is generally friendly and reliable. Beware of the tiled floor and walls! Sound levels at busy times can approach a 747 taking off.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Complainers about noise are just complainers. Food was brought out quickly, but we were not rushed during the meal. I even got a refill on my coffee. Energetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Busy, busy, very busy in fact. Had a reservation for Sunday Brunch, good job I did, people 'flocked in' immediately after 10.00 a.m. the locals know, no alcohol before 10 in NYC not even in your Bloody Mary with breakfast. Some nice inventive Breakfast/Brunch dishes but sadly delivered in a rush, 2nd course came before it could be possible to eat a granola. But then it seems New Yorkers like to do everything fast, us Brits prefer to 'savour the moment'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and impeccable service. First ate in the DC branch before finding this one. Would highly recommend for evening meals (leave room for dessert and coffee!!). Only negative is that they are LOUD restaurants and this branch seems to only have one restroom/toilet so you do sometimes have to queue which is a bit odd.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food is absolutely amazing as usual. It is our regular spot everytimewhen we visit the city! Services are great! Food comes fast and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Poor service. Kept rushing us to leave. Would recommend other places around the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good spot. Great ambiance. Waitress was a bit slow and never really checked back. We ended up flagging another who was very helpful. Otherwise food was very good. Desserts should be passed by. They are worth neither the time nor the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The Smith, midtown and Lincoln Center may be the noisiest restaurants in Manhattan. And that is saying lot. The food and service are fine, but the steady din makes eating a real effort, no less conversation. It is as if the speakers were designed to produce a constant hum that varies with the size of the crowd, from led to louder and quickly to too loud. Menu offers wide range of interesting casual food. Salads in particular are terrific. But at about the time your food arrives your stomach is shaking from the sound and you just want to eat fast and leave. I keep trying. Same at lunch or dinner, midtown or Lincoln Center. Nice to sit quietly and write this review.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I asked for no bread extra greens - but I think my client got the extra greens. I didn't want to make a big deal abt it but I really wanted to the greens. Otherwise, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

It took a bit to get our table but they quickly made up for it with great drinks, food and service. We will definitely comeback when we return to NYC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Extremely busy when we went (Sunday brunch). Luckily we had a reservation, otherwise it would have been an hour wait to be seated. We got there a little early, so we had a round of drinks at the bar. My friends said it was the best Bloody Mary they’d ever had. The food was delicious and plentiful. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I enjoyed the food on both occasions when we have eaten brunch here. However, the food comes way too fast for my liking - as if they want to turn tables very quickly. Also, the noise level is off the charts - no "soft furnishings" to absorb sound.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The restaurant is only .5 mile from St. Patrick's Cathedral, so we walked straight over after Mass on Sunday. I didn't know that The Smith was a chain; we dined at the Mid-town location. So happy to have made a reservation -- this place was packed for brunch! It gave my friends and I more time to enjoy each others company over a leisurely meal together.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great location and ambiance . Service ok but not great . Egg white omelette properly prepared but gruyere , which replaced the menu goat cheese , was not melted . Yogurt parfait ok .

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our reservations were for midtown location. Upon arrival we were told no one was being seated due to " flooding" in the kitchen. I Louisiana trained chef and that means 1 of 2 things. Either they have a broken water pipe that they can't turn off ( unlikely) or the design backed up into the kitchen. It happens in New Orleans fairly often( French quarter is below river level) but not a good thing. So they gave us phone number of the closest location to us. They said no problem come on down, which we did and were seated immediately and had a great Sunday brunch in manhattan. Happy Man

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Do not take your kids or family here. Food about average. Noise level is off the charts. Could not even talk to person next to me at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Ordered the grilled chicken sandwich and it was like rubber. There were flies buzzing around my table. The service is pretty good, although it can get rather loud so it is hard to hear them when they are talking. Great for people watching, and catching up with friends. Would I go there again, sure but I would eat somewhere else first.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The salmon tartar is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Love all the smith locations in NYC! Great service, solid food, a little pricey but worth it. It was a little loud during lunch but I guess that just means its a bumpin' spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Best brunch in NYC? YOU GOT IT! Phenomenal plates. Weightless, socially collective atmosphere. A must come to!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. What more does one need?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I've been to the Smith Midtown a few times and have been happy with my experience there each time. I went with a friend for a Wednesday brunch around 11 yesterday and we ordered the avocado toast, one of the omelettes, the BLT+E, a side of sausage, a coffee, cappuccino and an orange juice. Everything was fresh and flavorful. I have no complaints about the service except that maybe the wait between ordering drinks and receiving them was just a hair too long. Otherwise, the staff was attentive and considerate.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great dinner at this hopping spot! My 12 year old loved the mussels, if you can believe that! Friendly, attentive staff. Only negative is how loud it was--but that's because it's a popular spot and very crowded.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Solid menu but service was awful . Our table (of two!) was completely forgotten about. It took 40 minutes to be put check --and this was for breakfast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The place to go when in need of comfort food fix. The prime burger was outstanding and generous side of perfectly cooked fries, crunchy outside soft insides!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Too noisy, could not hear

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our waitress took off after her shift without letting us know; nobody came till we asked a waitress to come by - she didn't seem too happy about being called over for help but then lightened up.

Brought over the wrong wine.

Food was not as good as has been in the past.

A strange experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loud at brunch time and definitely make a reservation!!! However, AMAZING food. Great staff. Awesome ambiance. I saw families, friends, dates all enjoying their meals. We started with brunch drinks and monkey bread, I had the lobster roll and could not get enough. My date had the breakfast pot pie and we are attempting to recreate it next week. Have already recommended it to multiple New Yorkers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.