Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Smith - Midtown

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (156)
Casual (135)
Good for Groups (125)
See All
Great for Lunch (114)
Sunday Lunch (110)
Comfort Food (102)
Fun (97)
Good for a Date (90)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Bar Seating (72)
Hot Spot (70)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Vibrant Bar Scene (68)
People Watching (63)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Modern Decor (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Special Occasion (47)
Happy Hour (42)
Business Meals (39)
Kid-friendly (33)
Late-night Find (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Quick Bite (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Great Beer (18)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (17)
Family Style (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (15)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Organic (5)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
3065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

After having a fantastic breakfast last weekend, I returned on a weekday with a business associate--raving about the previous experience. I could hardly believe it was the same restaurant. The waffle was completely soggy; my colleague's egg benedict was overcooked, with a lackluster(and skimpy) hollandaise and barely warm potatoes. What a disappointment. Batting 50/50 here, not sure if I will return.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I was disappointed to find out that the Blackout Cake was no longer available, and that I was not notified in advance. I would have preferred to have known ahead of time so I could choose another dessert if I wanted, even if the cake we received instead was "very similar to the blackout cake." The dessert we had instead was not great. Also, we noticed we were the only table that did not receive complimentary bread.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Sussex)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Service was excellent. 7pm for a packed restaurant- there were plenty of waiting staff serving and starters arrived promptly. Mains also arrived in a timely manner

I can see why people complain about the noise. Walls and ceiling reverberate the noise and it was difficult to hear what waiting staff were saying. Hopefully they can think about ways to dampen the sound. I'm guessing employees may be submitting work related injury claims due to deafness!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was good. The service was very good. The drinks were strong Overall we had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the complimentary Bellini. Thanks for a delightful and delish Sunday brunch!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Very very noisy---we couldn't hear each other during a birthday lunch and two menu items that were delivered were wrong , so we think the waitress couldn't hear us! Servers tried hard to please but the din was deafening-- food was tasty and delicious as were drinks and desserts// do something about those tiles snd acoustics please!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Has been and I went here for Sunday brunch. We had a reservation and restated shortly after arrival. I had a Sicilian eggs and he had the mushroom toast. Both came with a free cocktail which made our branch an excellent value! So good we wanted to come back the next day.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Great brunch with dear friends! Everything was delicious The noise level mak s it very hard d to carry on a conversation among four people, especially if you sit in the back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice and trendy place! Superb food! One small inconvenient: it is very noisy! So if you want to have a quiet dinner : not the right place....but everything else is great!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent so was the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Really nice place, however a little overpriced. I love that each table gets still and sparkling water and the service was very, very nice.
It's a little noisy, so a large group won't be able to hold a conversation, however for less than 5 people dining together it works.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was very nice and always made sure we had enough water. I really appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The restaurant is too loud. But the food and service was great. Once it started clearing out of people around 8:30-9, the noise got better

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great bar to have some snacks in the middle of the day, amazing prices and great food. Although if you sit at bar it can be a little loud if you're trying to have a conversation (door was open so lots of street noise). Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Needed to be somewhere close to Grand Central so chose the midtown location. Food was ok. Space is big and very, very, very, loud. I could not hear a word my friend was saying.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I made a reservation on line. Had to even give a credit card. When we got to the restaurant we were told that the table wasn't ready. Meanwhile the restaurant was not busy at all. There were several empty tables. After waiting 15 minutes we were seated beside a young family. It is a large restaurant so I was surprised that they seated 5 adults beside the only table with young children. After 10 minutes we asked to move. A couple of the plates and cutlery on our table was dirty (at both of the tables we sat at).

The waitress was friendly and personable. But I wouldn't rush back. There are too many other great breakfast restaurants in NYC.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Very noisy but fun. Nice bartender. Food very good. Service is OK. Ordering is fine but once you get what you need you have to look around for waitstaff/manager since they don't walk the room as often as they should. Food cooked well. Would recommend highly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunches at Smith are always good, but this time our server surprised me (not in a good way) by dropping the check without asking if we would like anything else or offering us desert menus; it would have been ok, but our guest (who was visiting from another country) actually wanted some desert and another drink.
Simple things like these should be on a "to-do" list of every server.
I hope my next visit will be better.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I always love the food and drinks at The Smith on 2nd Ave, but I have to say the noise level was intrusive!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Noise level was extremely high thus making the dining experience less than relaxing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a fabulous time! The food and service were top-notch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Slow service, below average food, poor ambiace, completely over rated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food, vibrant atmosphere and very good service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Arrived at opening hour for Saturday breakfast. Appreciated that diners were spread out, not all crushed into a single section while the rest of the restaurant was empty

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Enjoyed it far more than the Lincoln center o e. Food was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Extremely loud at lunch. Conversation nearly impossible without yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food. They went out of their way to make our experience great!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I had eaten brunch at The Smith a few months ago and it was good. But dinner was another story altogether. The food -- fish and chips, a special -- verged on inedible. I still don't know what half of the breaded fried items were. The room was so loud, I couldn't hear the waitress standing 2 feet away, and had no chance of hearing my dining companion. At the end of the evening, the bill for 2 came to $140, which was about twice its actual value. Avoid at all costs for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Other than not being able to hear a thing - it was a busy lunchtime, we loved the place and would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Smith is good, just way too expensive for what it is

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Really enjoyed the food, unique restaurant and big menu! Only problem we had was that it was extremely loud due to the tile flooring and close proximity of the tables to each other. Very noisy! And the servers were busy but very nice. They have a ton of great food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

One of our favorites whenever we visit NYC. Had a fantastic filet mignon. The hummus appetizer was so good. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Really good friendly attentive but not overbearing staff. Excellent food and drink. Wee bit too noisy but that didn't effect our experience

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We went on a family vacation to New York City with our two teenage daughters. We wanted a nice meal, but not over the top, and not just burgers and fries. The Smith was our best meal of the entire week!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It never fails for good quality food for catch conversation with a girlfriend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Made reservations morning of brunch for table of four. Great food and ambiance! Waitress forgot our monkey bread, but we were too full to point it out. Def coming back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food but pretty small table for 3 with reservation. A bit noisy but again amazing food will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went here for brunch on a Sunday. Overall it was pretty good and I would go back. I was dining with one other person and we each had coffee. We ordered two brunch entrees: eggs benedict and smoked salmon toast. Both were really good; the home fries that were served with the eggs benedict were amazing. One of the great things about brunch is that you get a free brunch cocktail with your meal, so we also both had mimosas. Pretty good value for the area. It's a large space but you're squeezed in pretty tightly to people next to you- typical for NYC but just something to keep in mind. The service was alright but nothing to write home about.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waitress was new. Very nice but not yet a great multi-tasker. Otherwise, an outstanding meal and evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dinner place to meet up with friends in NYC. Reasonably priced but on the louder side.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.