About The Smith - Midtown

956 2nd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
51st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(212) 644-2700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant for all catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage located at 251 East 51st Street between 2nd Avenue and 3rd Avenue.

Public Transit:
The closest subway stops are the 4 & 6 train at 51st and Lexington Avenue or the E & M train at 53rd & Lexington Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for further details

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ahi Tuna Spinach Salad - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Negroni - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Salmon Tartare Tacos - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Mac and Cheese - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Roasted Tomato Soup - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Chocolate S'mores Pudding - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Rock Shanty - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Mediterranean - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
yogurt parfait - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Pork Chops - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Trout Milanese - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Short Rib Hash - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Bacon-Wrapped Apricots - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY
Shrimp and Grits - The Smith - Midtown, New York, NY

Private Dining

The private dining room can be booked for private buffet dinners, seating up to 50 guests, sit-down dinners for up to 35 guests and cocktail parties for up to 75 guests.

The Smith - Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (99)
Casual (98)
Good for Groups (74)
See All
Comfort Food (74)
Great for Lunch (70)
Fun (64)
Good for a Date (58)
Hot Spot (55)
Sunday Lunch (49)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Modern Decor (30)
People Watching (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Business Meals (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Cozy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Authentic (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Healthy (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Family Style (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Seasonal (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food, but seating is way too tight ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

great food, but seating is way too tight, worth giving up a few tables to make your guest more compfortable......

make a reservation as well, got right in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always love the smith. Solid and consist ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Always love the smith. Solid and consistent food and service. Everything I've had I've always enjoyed from the burgers to the pasta. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good brunch. Definitely get a reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good brunch. Definitely get a reservation even with one took us 15 min to get sit. To much noise..... very loud. Don't go there hung over like We did .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our reservation was honored and service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our reservation was honored and service was excellent. Brunch was great and included a cocktail. Have been there for dinner as well. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing pancakes

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing pancakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a sunday brunch, it was so ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Went here for a sunday brunch, it was so delicious we got there around 9am and by 10:30 it was packed. The food and the service was great though we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mac n Cheese was delicious as were t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The Mac n Cheese was delicious as were the Brussel sprouts. Salmon was cooked well but nothing too exciting. Girlfriend's loved the burger and the steak with garlic butter. The S'Mores dessert was really good! It is fairly loud in the restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great place to eat!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great place to eat!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best breakfast I've ever had! Great atmo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Best breakfast I've ever had! Great atmosphere and food, but crowded (people and tables) and loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good appetizers. Homemade potato chips ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Good appetizers. Homemade potato chips with blue cheese sauce yummy as was the mac and cheese. I wouldn't recommend the Burger Royal bc it was disappointing as it resembled fast food versus a bistro burger. Also wouldn't recommended the Brussels sprout salad that had a mediocre flavor. Reviews of salmon and steak were average fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place, great food. Gets noisy if y ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, great food. Gets noisy if you are wanting to have a quiet place for conversation. Would recommend as an upbeat place with great food. Ordered coffee at the end of dinner and it was not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent as always. Very busy but they ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always. Very busy but they honoured the res.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here a few times. The food is pheno ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Been here a few times. The food is phenomenal. Had the Smith steak so tender and perfectly cooked almost melted in my mouth. Our server was extremely pleasant efficient and super friendly. Overall great experience from the moment we stepped foot inside being greeted hello and upon leaving with a thank you have a good evening. Staff is on point thank you Smith for doing it right!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicd food. Nice atmosphere. We had space ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nicd food. Nice atmosphere. We had space enough. There was some light. The good was good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again it was an absolutely deliciou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Once again it was an absolutely delicious brunch at the Smith:) definitely one of my favorite places to eat!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived 15 min before it reservation ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We arrived 15 min before it reservation and ultimately had to wait 30 minutes past our reservation to be seated. This isn't the first time I've experienced this at The Smith and they should take fewer reservations in order to accommodate people close to their reserved time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Impeccable service! Great ambiance! Exq ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Impeccable service! Great ambiance! Exquisite specials!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Tis was my first experience here. The n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tis was my first experience here. The noise level is a little loud . I ordered the grilled shrimp entree. It was plated very well and had lots of flavor. My Husband ordered burger Royale and enjoyed it. The fries were done perfectly and not greasy. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. Over all we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, Good food, this location ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great service, Good food, this location is perfect for work groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the Smiths are essentially American Bras ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

the Smiths are essentially American Brasseries - handsome, relaxed, cool.

The food is uneven - the table had a brunch toast with eggs and bacon which was excellent, a burger which was decent and a chicken sandwich which was not quite the right side of mediocre.

But as a go-to place for for a casual meal they are an attractive choice

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The team at The Smith was great, paying ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The team at The Smith was great, paying special attention to the people with allergies in our group. We each got very different dishes and every one was delicious. The sticky toffee pudding was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Authentic Midtown haunt for foodies look ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Midtown haunt for foodies looking for a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Went for a Sunday brunch and so glad we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a Sunday brunch and so glad we did - great food (I got the classic eggs benedict), great drinks (LOVED the barnstormer) and great atmosphere! Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ate here for brunch on New Years date. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ate here for brunch on New Years date. We had a 12:15pm reservation and were seated promptly. Place was packed yet they handled everything seamlessly. Our service, Brittney, was terrific. Did a great job on what had to be one of their busiest brunch days of the year.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great weekend brunch in a lively, popula ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great weekend brunch in a lively, popular place. Book in advance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Eve early seating was festive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve early seating was festive and well-staffed. Things moved smoothly and the food was very good. Big nights really show what kind of operation exists! Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here 6 times and this is the o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've been here 6 times and this is the only time service was slow. It took over 30 minutes to get coffee and about an hour to get our food. I left an overall good review because it is a good establishment but the service could be improved.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

El sitio y la comida son buenos, aunque ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

El sitio y la comida son buenos, aunque el servicio muy lento

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome place. Great food, excellent ser ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome place. Great food, excellent service, great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a fantastic experience, great food, ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was a fantastic experience, great food, great service. Felt away from the crowds but great energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

賑やかで盛り上がっているお店

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

賑やかで盛り上がっているお店

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service! Very interes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great service! Very interesting and creative menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

waitress preoccupied with chatting with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

waitress preoccupied with chatting with co workers, rather unattentive

could not get her attention to tell her the steak was rare rather than medium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The Smith is an energetic Midtown restau ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Smith is an energetic Midtown restaurant with the benefit of solid culinary options. We were there recently and received prompt, efficient service and good food. There was a fried chicken special that evening that several of the group enjoyed, truly innovative and flavorful,; while a few of us went with the always reliable steaks, properly cooked. I usually make the Smith a stop when in the City, and would recommend to others, with the one note that it is a busy, bustling location and not for those looking for a quiet corner table experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great food and service. Had two t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Really great food and service. Had two tired kids with us and that was completely fine with the rest of the clientele and atmosphere. It was pretty loud, so I wouldn't consider this a romantic place or a good place for a business dinner if you want quality conversation. Overall, really awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tomato soup was expensive and disappoint ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Tomato soup was expensive and disappointing but otherwise we had a very solid meal at the Smith.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great & really fast.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was great & really fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We made reservations for 4 so that we co ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We made reservations for 4 so that we could stick to our schedule for our 1 day/night in the city. I would definitely wait for a table here if I had a week in NYC and time to kill.

Regardless of the reservation we still were not sat until 15 minutes later. However food and service were great once seated. Maybe you can't predict how long guests will sit for breakfast but the restaurant should not have that many openings available on open table if there is going to be a wait... on open table they appeared to be wide open while we stood there with 5 other groups waiting to be sat.

BLT+E was amazing without the Aoli. The ranchero dish was amazing, all the best ingredients went into creating the meals. Coffee was good and server was attentive.

Will definitely recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.