About The Smith- Lincoln Square

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (163)
Pre/post Theatre (160)
Comfort Food (129)
See All
Great for Brunch (124)
Great for Lunch (111)
Fun (92)
Good for a Date (90)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Sunday Lunch (82)
Good for Groups (73)
Hot Spot (67)
Fit for Foodies (67)
People Watching (61)
Vibrant Bar Scene (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Bar Seating (50)
Modern Decor (44)
Kid-friendly (42)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Quick Bite (41)
Late-night Find (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Happy Hour (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Business Meals (29)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Family Style (27)
Healthy (23)
Great Beer (21)
Outstanding Value (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Seasonal (17)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Romantic (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The fried chicken and waffle special on Wednesday is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Another great meal at the Smith. Friendly and efficient service. Delicious food; something for everyone and got us out for an early thatre curtain!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this place. Great food, very consistent. Management takes good care of regulars.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Way too loud to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Always ready to stay on top of requests. I have foods allergies and they take them very seriously. I always feel at ease when dining at The Smith.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It's our go to neighborhood place. My 5 year old LOVES the steak & French fries. I usually get their fish, salad or appetizers and they are consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great, the Lobster Roll is amazing, chunks of lobster and not over dressed. The Short Rib Hash is outstanding and very filling. Our only objection is that the room tends to be very noisy.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and so was the service. I loved my truffle mushroom toast and salad. I felt taken care of. The coffee however was not very good and not hot. It's a happening place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great ambiance, and a really fun time! Food is incredible - try the short rib hash for brunch. Or the Sicilian eggs. Or the pot pie. Really - eat all of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We walked in, gave our names and were seated immediately. We were greeted shortly after by our waitress Danielle. She checked in with us frequently. The food was absolutely amazing! Try the monkey bread! The orange juice tastes like if it was picked from a florida orange tree that was planted in heaven and squeezed in hell (that's a good thing). Best orange juice in the multiuniverses. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I ate here three years ago while in the City for work and had to come back just for the tomato soup! It's amazing!! My husband had the aged burger and thought it was the best burger he has ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food wasn't great , dry not tasty at all. Dessert was good at least. Waiters are attentive only plus really

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is good and service was fine the noise level is very high and the restaurant is very crowded. We had a reservation and had to wait a half hour for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I made a reservation at The Smith before an event at Lincoln Center. Although it was packed, we were shown immediately to our table. The service was very good. Our waiter was attentive and not over bearing. My husband had a chicken dish which he thoroughly enjoyed and I had a delicious steak salad.

Tables are very close together so there is no privacy. It is also very loud. We had read earlier reviews so this didn't surprise or disappoint us.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm from out of town, and I had eaten here for lunch before with some friends, so I decided to try dinner. Made a reservation, and the staff called me the night before to confirm which was awesome. Dinner did not disappoint, and the service was pretty good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Arrived at 4pm and was surprised to have the brunch menu. I had steak, eggs and potatoe waffles which was superb! Cooked to perfection. Will definitely return. My friends enjoyed their meals as well.

Tags: Spicy, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT brunch and amazing service. Food came out perfectly and we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The seared Tuna salad, which is usually delicious, was swimming in salad dressing. If I wasn't rushing off to the ballet I would have sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Every single person said good bye to us on the way out! Place was roomy for NYC standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A fun, lively atmosphere with good bistro style food. I had the cod which was very good and my friend had the daily special which was fried chicken. It was delicious and it came with a potato waffle but it would have been nice to also come with a healthier vegetable side as well. I've been here for lunch and brunch as well and the food is consistently yummy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Smith-Lincoln Square never disappoints......the food, the atmosphere, the location....it's a win-win!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Jameelah is everything you'd want in a server. Charismatic and friendly, her smile was genuine and she truly seemed to be having fun. The food was good but the portion sizes were very large - which some people may like - but I like to clean my plate and this was almost a challenge for me. I really liked how quickly we had menus in our hands and water not even twenty seconds after sitting down. Things moved quickly and efficiently. I like the energy in the dining room. Very chaotic, yet very organized. One small complaint: the lights were too bright. The space reminds me of a train station with the long wooden booths curving along portions of the dining room. Communal sinks in the bathroom and classic subway tiles are a nice touch. The Photo Booth is playful and fun. I saw a guy acting creepy looking through a peep hole in the bathroom wall. I was curious (and a little creepy too I suppose), but I discovered a vintage burlesque film playing. Interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We've been to the Smith at a few of their different locations and the experience is consistently pleasant. My only issue this occasion was for my first time trying their fish and chips, which to note is a special on Tuesdays only. The meal was a bit too salty and not what you would consider 'traditional' style. Otherwise, great meal all-around. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to the Met, so we ate first. The server was professional ,alert and very kind. The food was the correct helping size and very good. I had the cod...Fish and vegetables, no carbs which I appreciated. My wife had the seared tuna salad...This was excellent, nice big pieces of tuna and a great assortment of vegetables, potato salad, develed egg and very nice tasting dressing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is always consistent and good...sad to see that lobster salad is no longer on the menu. Our server was on top of things, wine brought with meal and not before as per request. We didn't feel rushed even though place was packed. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere, good food, tables are TOOOOO small and packed together too tightly. Waiter kept bumping into our chairs-super annoying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there early and they seated us immediately. They had excellent food and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter was really great. Very nice and observant. The table was in the middle of an aisle, and we were really cramped. We went for brunch and the place was very busy. People kept walking by and bumping my chair. The table shouldn't have been there. I made a reservation in advance and was disappointed with the table we were given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Super loud. Tables tight and hard to have a conversation. Menu looked promising but food did not live up to expectation. Eggs were greasy and salmon toast was good but nothing special. Does well because of location (across Lincoln Center) and limited reasonable dining in area. Otherwise see no reason to go. Sure better experience if go in large group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is one of our absolute favorites to go for breakfast on the weekend. We love having this place in our neighborhood. Delicious food, fun environment, and amazing service make this a place we always return to. They also take food allergies seriously and have made it easy to know you are safely eating gluten free options. Some of the best servers in the city!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food for an affordable price (by NYC standards). Got the Skirt Steak and it was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I visited here after seeing a video of the mac and cheese skillet. Everything was delicious. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another great brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always love coming to The Smith. Lively crowd - makes it great for any occasion. We went for brunch and I got the avocado toast. IT WAS AMAZING. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall, the Smith was very good. I ordered the french toast and my mom ordered steak and eggs. The steak and eggs included a potato waffle that was probably the best part of our meal. People around us ordered their avocado toast which looked VERY good, I plan on trying it next time. I also look forward to trying their fries which looked AMAZING.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The place was great, a little bit crowded but full of young people, we really enjoyed it. Food was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

High volume restaurant attempting to fool you with a modern ambiance but food is uninspired and mediocre.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Smith is ALWAYS on point! Service was great, our meal was delicious...the mussels are incredible and the side of skinny fries to dip in the sauce was a perfect touch!! Went before going to the Opera and it was the perfect start to our night!!! Thanks for a great time, we'll always come back here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food at The Smith is consistently very good. If only The Smith could solve the problem of being really noisy, especially during lunch. Even my students (who are in their 20's) have pointed out that it's difficult to have a conversation due to the noise level.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I went to dinner at the Smith on 2 different occasions: once with my girlfriends for a bday dinner and once with my family. The 2 locations were very similar, except the location at Lincoln Square was much bigger in size.

The first time I ordered the mussels and fries. The mussels come in a huge pot and the side of fries is gigantic - definitely can split between 2 people. We also ordered with chips with blue cheese fondue which was very good even though I'm not a huge cheese person.

The second time I ordered the brick chicken and Atlantic cod to share. They were both just okay - I wish I had gotten the mussels again. They were also a little overpriced for the quality of the food. They just lacked flavor- wasn't impressed. The green beans and ranch appetizer was great though. I prefer those over the chips + fondue. Got a glass of Malbec but it was in a normal water glass, not a wine glass.

It's good for groups and it's more on the casual side which is nice. Don't come here if you're looking for a quiet dinner though- it's usually very busy and loud at night (i've never been for lunch).

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It's a great restaurant to go to before a show, it's not too expensive, and the food was great. I would go here again to go in and eat before the show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent food! Their apple pie dessert was a total hit!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

An uninspired and tasteless burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Overpriced - filet was not a filet - they served half of a filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Calamari was ordinary. Should have been thinner sliced and crisper. Sauce had good spice level. My chopped salad was a little too chopped, but tasty. The chicken pot pie was not good. My husband picked out the chicken and some carrots and left the crusts. Not so good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was wonderful and service friendly and prompt. A bit on the noisy side but I will be returning. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love the Smith. I go there before the ballet. I was sad this time though. They took my favorite time off the menu. The potato waffles with poached eggs and spinach Bernese sauce. Now I will have to find a new favorite there is a lot to choose from.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waiter taking our order was pretty distracted and seemed detached. Otherwise food was great.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

They were 30 minutes behind in seating us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.