Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 311 times today

The Smith- Lincoln Square

4.5
5163 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 496-5700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brian Ellis
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
63rd Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

View Private Dining Details
What 5163 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Great service and excellent food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was acceptable but the steak was under seasoned and not served medium rare as requested! . Service was adequate but nothing special! Worst espresso martini I have ever had...☹️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is great. It is in a great location, especially for dining after or before a movie or catching a show at Lincoln Center.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Overall experience unpleasant. Had to wait about 20 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation. Thought the food was very overpriced and the noise level ridiculous. Why do restaurant designers think think tile on the floor and walls is a good design choice!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Reliable choice for casual meals in a neighborhood which still has few options

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

First of all,our waiter was awesome. Very attentive We had the monkey bread, mac and cheese, Ranchero Scramble, Benedict Johnny,Vanilla Bean French Toast, Grilled Chicken Sandwich and the Chicken Paillard Salad. Every dish was delicious and creative. The food is definitely taken to the next level. And the cocktails were amazing. We had a peach bellini, the barnstormer and the Gatsby. So delicious. We have been going to the Smith for many years and dining is always a great experience. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic choice for vibrant atmosphere, exceptional menu, and great service. Sunday brunch one of the best in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We were actually able to be seated before our original reservation time! The food was amazing! Very busy high energy environment! Loved the set up of the restaurant seating. The oysters were very fresh! The pot of mussels was literally a pot of mussels, at least 30 of them. The ricotta gnocchi was to die for! Will definitely come again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Dependable really good comfort-style food. Outstanding mac and cheese appetizer, great mussels, salads and burgers. A bit noisy, but always fun and satisfying experience. It's on of our "regular" stops. I recommend it to all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Our first time here. We had an awesome waitress. Shrimp cocktail was very good. My husband had the skirt steak and it was delicious. I had the paella pretty good but a little on the salty side. Will definitely return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

It was a bit loud for a business mtg. Food is always good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

All in our party of five enjoyed their meals. Service was prompt and courteous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great choice for Lincoln Center dining. The food is really good and just know that the noise level is a bit high - now called energetic. Our server was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Fun energy. A little loud and a tad expensive but fun and perfect pre theater. Would definitely go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great value
Good menu

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Normally like this restuarant- but something was really off this time. $23 for watered down rum and coke and small fries.
Then when meal came burnt chicken pot pie that was super salty. New chef? Manager? Not sure what went wrong

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Had early dinner before play at Lincoln Center. Nice atmosphere, good food, not rushed. Lemon cake/pannecotta the best!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Really loud and overpriced, but food was well made and staff was very nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

the burger with the bacon shallot marmalade was delicious and correctly cooked to order and the fries were delicious and exceptionally generous in serving size!

the only issue as usual was the noise level and the music being played - between the two , hard to hear oneself think but the staff is always pleasant

would go back and have another burger maybe even next Monday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very accommodating with the type of table we wanted. Brought food out fast and never left us unnoticed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The service and good is excellent. We were seated close to the door and with the constant people in and out left us freezing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

A very convenient place in UWS. Food is fine. Service is great. Noisy!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great neighborhood feel. Extremely busy but the staff and kitchen managed the crowd well. Delicious food with terrific selections. Loved our wait staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great food!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

They were overwhelmed and not dealing with reservations made in advance. Service was inadequate and food not as described in menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a great time! Delish drinks and dinner before a Broadway show. The Hot Potato Chips with blue cheese fondue are a must-have. Checking in with the hosts was hectic though; give yourself at least 15 extra minutes for seating if you're dining before a concert or the theater. Cheers!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were there on a Sat night for dinner and, although we had a reservation, had to wait more than 30 minutes in a large crowd of other delayed diners, standing by the door and freezing. It was too hectic, too noisy for conversation and the wait was just too long. The hamburgers were great, as was the waiter, but I would not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

They may have THE best flavored flat bread.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Restaurant was incredibly loud and dirty. Our table had mac and cheese all over the floor underneath. It was gross. Like to speak to the people I eat with. Never again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Make a reservation to avoid the wait! Noisy but the food makes up for that - best Mac n Cheese I have ever had. Server was friendly and did not rush us at all, which is common in NYC. We were able to enjoy our meal without many disruptions. Great for lunch/date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We live in the neighborhood and this is reliably the best place for family (we have a toddler) brunches or dinners. Try to get a reservation as wait during the weekends will be 20-30 mins. French fries and chicken breast (it’s spiced so make sure to ask for no salt or pepper for small kids) from the kids menu is very generously sized. Phenomenal roasted cauliflower with sesame seeds.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was delicious. Service meh. Food came out in a timely manner but waiter had zero personality. Also, basic items completely overpriced - $17 for a plain waffle, $7 dollars for one slice of ciabatta toast. ridiculous even for NY. Hubby had the avocado toast and that was definitely a great meal and worth the price. Same with my short-rib hash.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The service was very good, as was the food, despite the restaurant being quite crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great place for after Lincoln Center!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went to The Smith after a Jazz at Lincoln Center performance. It is a lively, fun hot spot! although it was fairly chilly the outdoor tables were full and the indoor ones were as well. Service was friendly and efficient. I had the Smith burger which was delicious and I heard the pork chop was excellent. Need reservations for sure since it is so popular. Would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great go to after Lincoln Center events. Food and service is always very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I always enjoy The Smith. Excellent food, great service, nice atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We were greeted in a friendly way, and we were promptly seated at our requested table outside (where, in spite of street noise, was quieter). Waitress was accommodating and efficient and the food very good. I liked that they served two bottles of water -- one of which is carbonated.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Our server, manager and kitchen Took great care to make certain that my friend's food allergies were noted and addressed. she was served a delicious meal. It was a fun enjoyable dinner before our Broadway show.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
130