Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Smith- Lincoln Square

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (197)
Pre/post Theatre (183)
Great for Brunch (148)
See All
Comfort Food (145)
Great for Lunch (125)
Fun (107)
Sunday Lunch (103)
Neighborhood Gem (103)
Good for Groups (96)
People Watching (79)
Good for a Date (75)
Hot Spot (70)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (64)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Bar Seating (56)
Special Occasion (52)
Quick Bite (50)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Modern Decor (46)
Kid-friendly (45)
Late-night Find (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Business Meals (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Authentic (33)
Great Beer (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Healthy (25)
Family Style (23)
Outstanding Value (20)
Cozy (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Romantic (15)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Tapas (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
3970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

They did a fantastic job of getting us our entrees and a cocktail in under an hour as a quick bite before a show in Lincoln center. Thank goodness as we were starving!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I went to check in at 1:15 p.m. for my 1:30 p.m. reservation and the hostess told me that getting an outside table would not be a problem. She sat us a few minutes late but we were outside. Our waitperson was helpful with the questions we had about the menu (what is poke?) and the food was delicious. I had the cod sandwich. It was a great sandwich but it had a huge number of potato chips-I told the waiter that a small side salad would make the dish perfect.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch. The noise level inside was a bit much, but excellent food. Outside is actually quieter, despite Broadway traffic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We come here every time when we visit NY. The Smith has become our tradition. Every of The Smiths is pretty nice. The waiter we had this time is definitely a highlight to our memory. We will return again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but the brunch menu is limited. There are many overly fancy choices but nothing simple for someone who is not into sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We were standing in line, and when we came up to the hostess and told her our reservation she said rudely to get back in line because "everyone has a reservation," after we already had waited in line. Then the hostess on the left kindly took care of us. The waiter was great, but forgot about our food, and we had to wait for it for 45 minutes, and it arrived cold (think about cold poached eggs)

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, very convenient for a post-Lincoln Center event late dinner.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress was lovely, but the patrons near us were obnoxious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Just much too noisy even in back room. I won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service great for pre Theater. Noise level painful!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately this Smith location is off my list. The place was uncomfortable to an extreme, table jammed together with adjacent tables jammed together. This caused the service to be difficult, access to leaving/arriving diners difficult and disruptive, and produced an uncomfortable dinner. And the noise level? Beyond bearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, exceptional service. Received food quickly, even though it was packed. Server was super courteous and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Very loud. Hip bar food meets diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Got there 25 minutes late due to heavy traffic driving into Manhattan but they graciously honored my reservation. Ordered the fried fish sandwich and it was good. It came with a mountain of homemade potato chips. No exaggeration.
However, this place is very noisy and very busy during weekend lunch time and I would not go there without a reservation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is excellent but the hostess which is the first person you contact with in the restaurant was not very friendly and welcoming. So you start your experience in the restaurant on a negative side. Also, it took a long time for the waiter to take our oder. You need to increase the staff on a busy day like Sunday brunch. Also the noise level is too loud so you can't hear each other talk.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was pretty good. Service was poor. Our server was pleasant, just not an A-Game server as there should be at such an NYC institution. There were 5 of us seated at a small, round table. OK, it's NYC, space is at a premium. We ordered white wine. My husband likes his white wine very chilled, so we asked for ice bucket. Server PLOPPED the bucket with about 3 inches of ice in it right on our tiny table! We barely had room for the 2 appetizers we were sharing and small appetizer plates. I pulled over a spare chair by the wall to put our ice bucket on. Food arrived. Two of us had the mussels. Very tasty. In fact, all the dishes were quite good---gnocchi, burger, salmon, crab cakes, house made potato chips with blue cheese sauce, and mussels. All good. However, the server was perplexed as to where to put the spare plates for our empty mussel shells since the table was so small. I suggested that we put the plates, stacked, on the chair with the wine. As we filled up one plate, we had to ask the server to take it away so that we could fill up another with more shells, then asked again and again.

ALSO NOTE: He NEVER refilled any of our wine glasses. Only 2 of us drank wine. We had to reach over and get the wine bottle and serve ourselves throughout the meal. Not once did he touch our wine bottle to serve it after the initial pour. We waited a significant amount of time after our glasses ran empty before we decided to serve ourselves.

On another note: I LOVE mussels. These were very, very good. I have to compliment the chef for designing a menu that serves mussels in a cast iron pot!! They and the yummy broth stayed piping hot throughout the meal.

In short: Good meal, great location, poor service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined 5 days ago

This, our fourth Smith experience, was surely up to expectations for a convenient lunch venue in walking distance from The Lincoln Center. Our service was timely; food quality, very good; ambience what we expect in NYC: hectic, loud (reverberant tiled walls). Would definitely reserve there next year after a MET OPERA matinee.
JPB

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

First visit to The Smith. Great, creative menu. Delightful outdoor dining. Excellent service. Very fair pricing for a high quality meal. Great wine list, including some excellent house wine selections. Tap and sparkling water service was included in price of meals. We'll definitely go back to The Smith next time we're in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a good location and service. A bit overpriced but in line with the area. You pay a premium for a convenient location. Outside seating area was good too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service & wonderful waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I was slightly annoyed that with a reservation we were given a miniscule table for three near the door. I was waiting for the rest of my party yet no server approached me to see if I wanted a drink. etc. I had to get a bus boy to get my server finally. I ordered for everyone as we had an event at Lincoln Center. The food was fair and practically falling off the small table. No one asked if we needed anything else.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a perfect location for lunch before attending a show at Lincoln Center. It's directly across the street! At this location, I would suggest requesting a table in the background, which is not quite as noisy.
Everything was delicious, and the service was attentive. I had the grilled chicken sandwich (sans the bread) which came with three sauces: Burrata, tomato jam, and aoli. They were happy to replace the french fries or chips with a green salad. My friend had one of the burgers and she said it was excellent. I look forward to going back again, hopefully soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I ordered the fish and chips (Tuesday special) and the entire plate was a mound of deep fried food. At first I was so excited thinking I hit the jack pot and got tons of fish and chips. I quickly realized that every bite was anything but that. It was a chunk of potato and another chunk of potato. Where was the fish? Oh there was a tiny piece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food is really quite good, and the service professional.
The problem is, simply, that the backroom space (the largest dining area)is crowded, overheated
and ultra noisy and the tables and chairs inexcusably uncomfortable.
It's just no fun squirming around trying to get comfortable in the small and
truly idiotically designed chairs. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

So -- The Smith is just a really, really good restaurant! I love it. When I go there, I know that the food will be good and consistent, well-prepared, nicely seasoned, and . . . delicious! It has a fun and bustling French bistrot kind of atmosphere. They have great cocktails! I've been in the city for 2 years and have tried lots of restaurants. I find most other restaurants painfully over-priced and the food just "meh" or actually not great -- even at some very fancy places. The Smith outshines them all, in my opinion! Most of all -- the waitstaff is thee best! They are very kind and friendly and truly unflappable. Service is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We ate early in the evening and devoured the delicious seared tuna salad before a performance at The Met. A perfect meal for pre show in the prefect location. Luckily we weren't lingering as the metal chairs in the outdoor section are very uncomfortable. By all means , go to The Smith; great food, good service, lots of menu choices, but if you plan to sit and chat after dinner, eat inside!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent food, great service, excellent location !

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great Restaurant, but a few things are questionable. Everything I ordered there was delicious. Gnocchis are awesome. Here are the questionable things: they charge soda refills, portion sizes are not consistent. We shared the gnocchis once with my wife, portion size was alright, next time the portion was significantly smaller. It was not only smaller than the one we had a year before, it was significantly smaller than another order that was given to a friend sitting on my same time. When we asked the waiter if that was the whole portion or the small plate (they also offer that option), he said it was the large and left. Awkward. I can't imagine what the small plate looks like.
On my same table every plate was big enough, just ours was smaller, and we were the only ones who were sharing. These small details can leave a bad taste, what could have been a great dining experience ends up giving an "it was alright" feeling. Advice to management: don't charge refills, or at least let patrons know before they get the check. Make portions consistent, and put some more gnocchis on the large plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The server was incredibly kind with our 3 kids. Staff gave us the option to bring the stroller or park it near the door, which is always appreciated! Very accommodating!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were extraordinary! Perfect, highly recommended !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Exceedingly loud, cramped and outrageously expensive for average brunch fare. Lovely waitress. But feel taken advantage of because of the location across from Lincoln Center

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Top ! Good burger and steaks !!
I go with my family during a new york trip !

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very much enjoyed our post-Lincoln Center early dinner this past Saturday. Started with a couple of cocktails at the bar, and our table reservation was honored perfectly on time. The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was quite good. Our request for the macaroni and cheese to be crispy on top was only marginally successful, as was our request for well-done fries, but they were good enough to not send back or stress out about. We also shared an order of mussels and a burger, and would happily return. (This wasn't a brunch visit, but just know that the avocado toast is out of this world if you are there earlier in the day!)

It is a bit noisy, but it's crowded and fun, and we were able to talk without shouting. Not the place for an intimate meal, but a great place to enjoy good food and friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is really great but the noise level is WAY, WAY, WAY TOO​ LOUD. When will restaurants stop thinking that that's attractive to diners: IT ISN'T!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wanted to sit outside. Were told that we would get a text as soon a table was free. Didnt work so had to wait an extra 40 mins

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had reservation but was seated in the room way in the back that was noisy and allowed only 6 inches between our table and the tables on either side of us. Food came out quickly and was delicious but waffles were delivered without syrup and it took close to five minutes to get the waiters attention to ask for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As with my previous visits to The Smith, it was quite crowded but nonetheless the service was quite good. Only disadvantage in that latter respect was that with the high noise level it was sometimes difficult to understand and be understood by the waiter!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Smith provides average food and mediocre service with an amazing location. Got liquid yolks in my eggs Benedict even though I was assured that they "always make a medium egg". Maybe I should've specified that I wanted the yolk not runny. Seems like a silly problem for such a common dish and request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Good food. SMALL tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Smithbis a classic place to go before shows at Lincoln Center. The food was great! I had the burger whi h was delicious. The portions are large so you get value for your money. It's nice they give complimentary sparkling water. The service was very attentive and understanding when we were rushing to the ballet. The atmosphere us very new York, busy and fast moving. I would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.