About The Smith- Lincoln Square

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vanilla Bean French Toast, Maple Butter, Carmelized Banans
Smores In A Jar
Poached Egg And Avocado On Toast
Brussels Sprout Flatbread
Cavatelli
Pancakes With Ricotta, Pecans And Salted Caramel
Flounder
Tagliatelle With Shrimp
Burrata
Pork Chop
Jersey Tomatoes With Grilled Peaches
Mushroom Tortelloni
s'mores
Seafood Paella
Warm Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chicken Pot Pie
Mushroom Omelette
Mimosas
Cheeseburger Deluxe
B.L.T.A.E.
Mac and Cheese
Pumpkin Ale
French Fries
Don Pedro Cocktail
House Baked Pretzel With Spicy Honey Mustard
Sir Kensington's Ketchup
Apple Smash Cocktail
Caramel Latte With Rum
Brooklyn Blackout Cake
Vanilla Shake
Pork Chop With Creamed Kale
Brick Pressed Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Roasted Garlic Jus
Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita
Prosecco
shrimp and grits!
Cauliflour
Deviled Eggs: Dijon, Paprika
crabcake
Tuna Tartare
Chicken Fried Chicken Skins
Charred Shishito Peppers With Flaked Sea Salt And Rose
Egg White, Mushroom, Tomato, Mozzarella And Pesto Frittata
Bipimbap
Matzah Brie
Raw Clams
Country Breakfast
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Vegetable Bibimbap
 Dolsot Bibim Bab Assorted Vegetables And Egg Over Rice In Hot Stone
Potato Waffle Benedict With Spinach Hollandaise
Smoores Cookie
Homemade Potato Chips With Blue Cheese
Steak Frites
Ranchero Scramble
Oyster Sliders
One Yolk Omelette
Red Velvet: Whoopie Pie, Strawberry Ice Cream, Whipped Cream
Seafood Newburg
Atlantic Cod
Huevos Rancheros Scramble
B.L.T. & E On A Croissant
Cauliflour Pizza
Arugula Salad With Chicken
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Bread Pudding
Oysters
Hungry Teacher
15 Hour Pork
Baby Arugula Salad
Eggs Benedict
Sticky Toffee Pudding
pancakes
Steak Salpicao
Paella
Mushroom Egg White Omelette
Beer Battered Green Beans
Corned Beef Hash with Eggs

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Square ›

Great for Brunch (210)
Great for Lunch (189)
Great for Outdoor Dining (189)
See All
Good for Groups (187)
Neighborhood Gem (156)
Fit for Foodies (132)
Hot Spot (117)
Kid-friendly (98)
Vibrant Bar Scene (79)
Special Occasion (62)
Late-night Find (62)
Scenic View (30)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (11)
Sort By:
Newest
3137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and daughter had reservations fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and daughter had reservations for breakfast. We asked to be seated outside and were accommodated but due to the demand, we had to sit near the building instead of out near the street where the views were better.

The service was great and the food very tasty. I would definitely go back again but would try to get a better outside seat.

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

delicious as always. staff is the friend ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

delicious as always. staff is the friendliest restaurant staff in NYC. The restaurant gets a little loud so I usually sit at the bar or outside.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We asked for a quiet table...sat in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We asked for a quiet table...sat in the back near the service area. Not a great atmosphere at all. Kid at the next table screaming her head off. Food was good. Mussels in broth were very salty, but tasty. The kale and quinoa salad was great. Service was very good and our waiter was attentive. Not the kind of place for a conversation unless you're outdoors, which was very humid.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

I'm not a fan of restaurants that make s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm not a fan of restaurants that make sandwiches on hard bread and fill the remainder of the plate with French fries. It was good but not good enough to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

If you're going out for a romantic dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you're going out for a romantic dinner,this is not the place to go. Our ears were ringing like coming from the rock concert,very laud .food was okay,service was good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

It has a very energetic ambiance which I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It has a very energetic ambiance which I like but it was so loud in the back room I could barely hear my friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service enabled us to enjoy ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent service enabled us to enjoy our pre-Lincoln Center dinner. Excellent lobster salad entree and shrimp with black rice and curry entree. The hot fudge sundae was a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Pork Chop that I had was the best th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Pork Chop that I had was the best that I have ever tasted. A little noisy, but not over the top. A nice dining experience, although service could be improved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Convenient location; extremely noisy, ev ...

vip
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Convenient location; extremely noisy, even on a Monday with no Lincoln Center performances; attentive service; very good entrees: salmon, steak; less than flavorful entrees: lamb and pork special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Delicious place for brunch!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch here never disappoint me! I was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch here never disappoint me!

I was just a bit nervous because I brought two friends of mine with me,their first time here..

The loved all ,from the food to the ambiance

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

It was great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We arrived earlier than our scheduled re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We arrived earlier than our scheduled reservation. We were greeted immediately. The hostess seated us early, which was greatly appreciated. Our waiter was cordial, attentive, and did not rush us. Our meals were very good.

Overall, it was a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best part of the Smith is its locati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The best part of the Smith is its location, right across the street from Lincoln Center. It seems pricey for what you get, even though the location is great and the food is acceptable. Oddly, the place did not have any COFFEE that morning, but they were still charging for the caffeine drinks they could offer (cappuccino, latte, etc.) It seems to me they should have offered those drinks either for free or at coffee-prices.

Seating in the banquette is not very comfortable, and the restrooms are truly weird. As you make your way down a long flight of stairs, in front of you there's a carnival photo booth, and hand-washing troughs. Certainly unique but also strange.

A Saturday summer brunch got pretty crowded and noisy. So, not the best place to meet if you want to sit and chat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great to come with friends , the service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great to come with friends , the service is perfect. I love the place with a lot of charm and very close to the Lincoln Center .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great local place for consistently good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great local place for consistently good food. A bit difficult to hear our friends tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent, service was help ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was excellent, service was helpful and efficient. However the noise level is high, so much so that we really couldn't have a conversation. The ceiling is like an old fashioned tin ceiling; the walls are tile, and the floor is wood. Nothing to absorb sound.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Seated quickly, service was prompt and f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seated quickly, service was prompt and food was really good. Nice place for a group because of the options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Very noisy inside, s ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was very good. Very noisy inside, so we ate outside. Service and ambiance also very good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and service in a prime locatio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food and service in a prime location. Would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, good knowledge of gluten fre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food, good knowledge of gluten free options, appreciated manger stopping by to say they take food allergies seriously and as a celiac this made me very comfortable eating here. Husband loved the Fried Chicken special. Only complaint, very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Noise level made it impossible for us to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Noise level made it impossible for us to enjoy dinner. It's true anywhere in the restaurant except for off hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We were so happy with our experience! Br ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were so happy with our experience! Brought our 12 year old son and he loved it! Nice place for a family dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was really slow. It took a long ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Service was really slow. It took a long while before we even got water on the table. The food was decent, very large portions but I felt the food was a bit bland tasting. I had their signature burger and it was just okay. My friend had the mahimahi which was fresh but plain, nothing special. The arugula and toast these flatbread was tasty. It's a great spot to eat on the patio, they have a lot of patio seating. I will head back and give some other dishes a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Service Food and Staff

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great Service Food and Staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced menu items and particularly f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Overpriced menu items and particularly for wine by the glass. Disappointing service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was fine. The manager, Nick, wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was fine. The manager, Nick, was sarcastic and rude. I don't care if he had a long day-if I am going to spend $100 on dinner, I'd appreciate a little more respect and a little less flippant behavior. It isn't cute or fun for your guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Nosiest place ever. Could hardly hear m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nosiest place ever. Could hardly hear my friend across the table. There was also a table of young ladies who were so loud it made it more difficult to converse. I do think that when a table is extremely loud, someone should let them know they are disturbing other patrons.

Food was good, not great, all in all it was OK, I won't go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The BLT-E is delicious!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The BLT-E is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were great, I would def ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service were great, I would definitely go back ...except on a very hot day as their air conditioning wasn't very effective.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome!!! Love this place. So loud so d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome!!! Love this place. So loud so don't go with a friend you haven't seen in years like I did - but honestly it doesn't matter, cool vibes incredible food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Always a fan of the smith!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a fan of the smith!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork chops were fabulous! Best ever! Mac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Pork chops were fabulous! Best ever! Mac and cheese was just creamy perfection. Must book a table in advance. No more chicken pot pie on the menu! Sooo sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nicole F. provided excellent service, sh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nicole F. provided excellent service, she was attentive and friendly!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was extremely rude and trie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our waitress was extremely rude and tried to hurry us even though we spent over $300!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

make a reservation. cool location within ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

make a reservation. cool location within walking distance to Central Park and (longer) walk to Times Square. clean place with cool people. we would go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Kale salad, skillet Mac and cheese, salm ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Kale salad, skillet Mac and cheese, salmon, gazpacho and Avacado toast were all great. Sitting outside at lunch was nice. Service was great. First visit there, we'll definitely return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to The Smith at Lincoln Squ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have been to The Smith at Lincoln Square a couple of times now. It serves a purpose for our family as it is child friendly and close to Central Park. The two problems I have had with it on both occasions is the size of the tables (small - everyone is cramped) and the noise level. Our most recent visit was to catch up with a friend who we hadn't seen for ages but it was almost impossible to talk.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Great double hamburger and French fries ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great double hamburger and French fries plus delicious chocolate cake for dessert. Sitting outside on a beautiful summer evening - perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Smith was pretty poppin' as usual. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Smith was pretty poppin' as usual. The energy was high and covetable outdoor seating was hard to come by (also as usual). We were seated very quickly inside though. The waiter was especially sweet and friendly and every single thing we ordered was absolutely delicious. We wanted a place quintessentially American as my friend had been sworn in as a citizen that morning and this did the trick. He loved it. This place never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.