Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Smith- Lincoln Square

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (124)
Great for Brunch (120)
Casual (117)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (102)
Great for Lunch (100)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
People Watching (88)
Comfort Food (86)
Good for Groups (71)
Fun (68)
Sunday Lunch (67)
Hot Spot (52)
Good for a Date (50)
Quick Bite (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Late-night Find (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Business Meals (27)
Authentic (25)
Afternoon Coffee (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Scenic View (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great Beer (14)
Cozy (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Seasonal (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Went with my wife for a wedding anniversary dinner. Food and drinks were very good. Service was good. We sat outside and the only thing we didn`t like was that tables were way to close to each other. There is no way to have a private conversation. We heard conversations of other couples from both tables on our sides ( which was annoying )

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

O.K., we were there on a Saturday night - worst night, I'll give you that. Although crowded, we were seated close to our reservation time. That's a plus but it was down hill from there. We had to ask 4x for bread. We all ordered drinks - 3 came and 5 minutes later the 4th. DON'T SERVE UNTIL ALL ROUNDS ARE COMPLETE. Same with dinners - 3 came and the 4th 5 minutes later (see previous comment). The place was roaring, everybody shouting over everybody else. Final insult was the bill - charged for 1 extra drink and the wrong price for 1 that we had. The manager had to handle that one. Oh, the food - the burgers were good and my wife's chicken dish fair. All in all, you would do better to go somewhere else. We will.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Sat outside and enjoyed the food as we did some "people watching."

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great! I have been here many times and have had a great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and Service were wonderful. Both inside and outside were extremely noisy due mostly to location. It made conversing difficult. I would visit again at a quieter time of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very noisy both inside and out. We were there for dinner, seated outside and the fumes from the bus, and the noise didn't make it pleasant. Service was slow and the food was not that special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is very good for breakfast/lunch. We had burgers and omelets. Great food. Noisy in and out
Liked this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great menu with lots of delicious choices. Service was fast, upbeat and professional. Well-run restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and wonderful lunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointing... Food was nearly inedible. I ordered the BLT with egg, which was good the previous time I'd been there but this time, it was extremely runny with loads of mayonnaise . I asked the waiter if he could ask have it made without the egg being so runny and without the mayo. Well, it was just as bad, if not worse. I couldn't eat it. The waiter never came back to ask me if it was better and pretty much ignored us. The only things we liked were the mimosas and coffee. The food was horrible. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had a reservation . My partner showed up late and they still kept my reservation . Love that customer service . Brunch is amazing and they give big servings. Great staff ! Mac and cheese is delicious !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fun, energetic place for a great brunch! Made reservations in advance and we were
seated promptly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As we showed up for our 8:45 reservation, we informed the host that we were not going to eat there. She had trouble hearing us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Noisy fun restaurant. Good food. Although the Saturday special, paella was underwhelming, the appetizers and chicken paillard salad were excellent. Service is good, friendly. Prices are reasonable. Something for everyone

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was excellent considering how busy the restaurant was. We were not rushed at all.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Although the food was very good (we had the Smith burgers) and the price for that area was acceptable, the tables were much too close together and the noise level was overwhelming. It was very difficult to have a comfortable conservation .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My overcooked cod sandwich was dry and tasteless. The description on the menu said it was accompanied by a kale salaď.....that must have been the mush under the bun....and chips that overwhelmed my plate....covered more than half .

Indoors was too noisy so we sat outside. Only a bit quieter.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always the go to place after a concert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Smith is a bustling place convenient for all Lincoln Center events. The food is excellent, although the tomato soup can use a little more broth, it's more like sauce than soup. The burgers, steaks and pastas are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food. My dining companion really loved his cavatelli with rib ragu. I had a hamburger that was nice. I thought the restaurant was overpriced and extremely loud. Only heard about 1/3 of what was being said to me from the person across the table. Our server was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The Smith is consistent, something that cannot be said about many restaurants. I tried their bar steak and had salad instead of fries. Who cant stop eating great fries? Their's are great and that is why I avoid them - too fattening. The bar steak is abut 8-10 ounces, cooked perfectly. Not the most tender piece of meat, but for $26 or was it $29 dollars, it is great. We sat outside because the only downside to the Smith is that it is not designed to reduce noise. Interior noise can be so loud, it becomes a turn-off. The place is always packed, because it is a great place. Coming back, but need more people to order the mac and cheese - awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We have been here a few times over the years and have always had a great meal. Can be a bit noisy, but we had no issue with that. Everyone around us was having a great time.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loud, small tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Didn't enjoy the experience! Too much noise! Service too rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent low carb breakfast option: Sicilian baked eggs with tomato sauce, burrata, spinach and toasted ciabatta (which I eschewed).

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

There is a lack of initimacy as all tables are packed together. Service is okay but food is either too salty or bland. Prefer other locations for the smith, would not return here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

So loud. So very, very loud. What was that? I can't hear you. Because it is so loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The table and small chairs was a bit of a problem for 4 adults. We made the best of it Don't let this stop you from going there - the food and service was EXCELLENT! We will definitely go back again....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved our brunch at smith! Def coming back! Best service and awesome food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Reviews were spot on, we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I would recommend and would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall the experience was ok. What was most disappointing was the hostess coming to check back with us and asking how I was enjoying HIS salmon. I explained that I couldn't eat what I ordered due to the dish including red peppers, which I am allergic to and were not listed in the menu as in the dish, so we swapped meals. The response was Oh...so would you like to order dessert? I do see what people say about the noise...thankfylly we ate outside where it was quieter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food and service were great. Restaurant is on the lively side (noise level pretty high). Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I know brunch is their busy time, but it literally felt like the staff was lurking trying to take our food and check so they could turn over the table. It was a most unpleasant experience even tho the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Staff was friendly and food came in a reasonable time and was quite tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Smith never disappoints! It's tasty, casual, vital, energetic and affordable.
The menus are very diverse, can please everyone. Service is very friendly and quick.
This is not a special occasion place, but it's perfect for hundreds other occasions.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food is fine, our waitress was wonderful, but the noise was insane both inside and outside. It is very hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The Smith is a favorite go-to of ours. There is something for everyone on the menu and any choice is a good one. The wait staff are friendly as well as knowledgeable about the offerings. We have eaten in a few of the locations, most recently the Lincoln Center site, and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Sit outside if you need quiet . Very noisy inside. But overall a very good place to meet up.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant is excellent for people watching. Good food interesting menu

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have always enjoyed the Smith. This time we had the breakfast potpie and the Huevos Rancheros - both delicious. In the past the eggs benedict has also been great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.