Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Smith- Lincoln Square

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (207)
Pre/post Theatre (194)
Great for Brunch (170)
See All
Great for Lunch (140)
Comfort Food (131)
Neighborhood Gem (115)
Sunday Lunch (113)
Fun (110)
People Watching (104)
Good for Groups (104)
Hot Spot (81)
Good for a Date (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Bar Seating (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Special Occasion (55)
Quick Bite (54)
Modern Decor (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
Kid-friendly (46)
Business Meals (43)
Late-night Find (42)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Happy Hour (27)
Authentic (27)
Healthy (25)
Great Beer (23)
Family Style (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Cozy (18)
Scenic View (16)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Romantic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Seasonal (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Spicy (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Great pre-matinee brunch across the street from Lincoln Center. Lively, upbeat, large portions, delicious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and charming professional service,very reliable,crowded,and noisy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always reliable food (we had kale salad and tuna soba noodle salad), the Smith is my go to when in the Lincoln Center area. Service was meh this time but generally it is solid. Not the place for quiet conversation as it is very loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great . Especially their fried calamari was delicious... definitely recommend their steak as well soft and juicy. Their burger was also juicy and tasty must visit this place again

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner for my girlfriends and I 1st anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent but louddddx. Can't hear yourself think. Food is very nice. Staff friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We ate a selection of appetizers for dinner. The bread was much improved. The service was excellent. I have two big complaints. 1. The chairs are very uncomfortable 2. The restaurant is way too noisy! I like the energy but it would be nice to be able to have a normal conversation. It's so noisy that the people around you need to shout to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined 4 days ago

The black pasta and mussels pot were awesome, highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lunch with my cousin, we had a great time ... server was awesome... food was great....
I liked the overall atmosphere.... I'd go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The Smith is one of my favorite places to take friends. Great food, great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great looking restaurant (to me) with terrific ambiance. The service was quite good. We had reservations so were seated quickly. And when we explained that we had tickets to a show the waiter took our orders right away. Rather that risk having drinks and falling asleep at the show all four of us had sodas and they were great. Homemade cucumber-ginger ale is something everyone should have. It had a nice fresh ginger burn!
My wife had grilled cod and thought it was OK. Her daughter had the pork chop which was phenomenal ! I had the special of the day - fish and chips - not so great. Way too greasy.
Overall the place was pretty good. I wish I had ordered something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I was disappointed in the quality of the food. This restaurant was recommended to me but it was noisy and the food just ok. Our waitress was fine- attentive, friendly, and enthusiastic. Sorry I wasn't more impressed by the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Really great and fluffy pancakes. Fresh orange juice was also great. Love the photobooth downstairs!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Smith is a truly exceptional restaurant! The absolute best place to come for weekend brunch with friends! Everything from the wide array of menu options for both food and drinks, I am never disappointed. The ambiance is also exceptional, I would give The Smith-Lincoln Square five stars and will come back again and again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice food. Noisy!!! Went for brunch on the way to Lincoln Center Show. Very convenient 😊😊

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We chose The Smith because it is across the street from Lincoln Center, where we had tickets. It was fine for Sunday brunch, and the four of us had variations on eggs -- Benedict, with spicy grits, baked with meats, and I forget what the fourth had. What we ate was very tasty. With coffee all around and one prosecco, the bill came to about $25-30 a head with tip. A nice touch is they include sparkling water at no additional charge. The atmosphere is very loud and busy, with a fair number of kids, as you might expect on a Sunday afternoon. If I go again, I will ask for the back room, which looked quieter. Placement of the restrooms down a flight of stairs is a negative for the physically impaired. Reservations are a must; those who didn't have them faced an hour's wait or more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Too cramped inside. Keep getting hit! The table was too tiny for three people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We very much enjoyed our brunch at the Smith. The avocado toast with poached eggs was excellent, and the serving size was very generous. In fact it was very shareable. The service was excellent. Reservations are highly recommended. The major downside was that it was very, very noisy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had brunch and it was very good food with fast service.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Smith has the best brunch, with excellent service. The servers don't hover but are still attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I always love coming to the Smith when I go to Lincoln Center. I love to people watch and I really like the food. I especially love the kale and quinoa salad. I always get the pasta and my family loves the steak. I highly recommend it for a fun, lively place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great location for pre ballet meal. Food was good but it was very cramped. Seating was very close together and it was very noisy making it difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Literally have never had a bad experience here. It's always a top choice for celebrating. Food is always incredible and service is friendly and fast.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very courteous and attentive staff. The Tuna Poke bowl was fabulous. Good wine list and expansive, inspiring menu. Lobster roll was good but not remarkable. Everyone seemed to be very happy, although it was waaaaaaaaaaaaay too loud, we could barely hear each other at a small table for two. Need some acoustic solutions to absorb all the noise bouncing off all those surfaces.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went there yesterday for brunch. To be honest it wasn't our first choice but Norma's was full and we couldn't get in.... and I sure am glad it was!! The Smith was a great experience in every which way. Great food in a great setting. Service was attentive but not pushy, Made a couple of great food suggestions which were a hit with table. His follow thru and follow up was spit on. Chris is an asset to your restaurant. Food note... no matter what, order the grits, you will glad you did!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went for breakfast at opening time. Food was good, as usual. Noise level was much lower than late morning and beyond. They got off to a bit of a slow start though, so next time I'd go at 9:15 or 9:30 rather than 9:00am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great experience at Smith Lincoln Square. Food was great and our servers were exceptional and a lot of fun!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always fun with the best mussels fritte in the city. The Smith lincoln center is great for outside dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I always love the smith! And this is the one place where they changed the menu and I have no complaints. I loved the addition of the shrimp entree and fried green tomatoes. I tried the strawberry shortcake which didn't do much for me, but the s'mores in a jar is still as amazing as ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Interior was deafening so we migrated outside onto pavement on an extremely hot evening. Tiled floor and wall construction would make dining inside impossible. Food was good. Wine on offer was by glass, small carafe or large carafe (5 glasses). The large carafe was equivalent to a bottle so for bulk wine the prices were high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall good. Food was very good and quick. Mac and dheese is excellent!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food, great ambiance. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A broad selection of reliably good food and drink at reasonable prices, served in a semi-European-café environment. Friendly waitstaff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Restaurant VERY noisy but food very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Reeeeaaaallllllly really fun! I loved the food and everything else too! So great.. thanks.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very lively and open eatery. This place is great for drinks and playful desserts. The calamari was crispy and fresh. The burger was flavorful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, vibrant atmosphere xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Too noisy and pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Each item ordered had excessive salt and my Bibb salad was drenched in vinegar
I was surprised because I ate there several times on Wednesday before the opera and the fried chicken special was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very accommodating to my gluten free needs. Mussels best in town. Servers were very efficient.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.