Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Smith- Lincoln Square

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (210)
Casual (196)
Great for Brunch (176)
See All
Great for Lunch (159)
Great for Outdoor Dining (130)
Neighborhood Gem (128)
People Watching (125)
Comfort Food (115)
Sunday Lunch (113)
Fun (103)
Good for Groups (100)
Good for a Date (75)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Hot Spot (72)
Special Occasion (68)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Bar Seating (58)
Kid-friendly (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Quick Bite (49)
Business Meals (48)
Late-night Find (43)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Happy Hour (30)
Healthy (28)
Authentic (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Great Beer (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Scenic View (21)
Afternoon Coffee (20)
Seasonal (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (15)
Romantic (15)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Disabled Access (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (3)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
4297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Good for younger crowd. A small table, noisy atmosphere, so-so food and service, especially in the back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

This was my first time visiting this restaurant and the experience was beyond expectations! The staff made us feel like we belonged and were family! The menu was very diverse - cannot wait to go back so I can try other items on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great, but the food was just 'meh'. Not much flavor, but the fish was of good quality. Mostly, I thought it was trying to be a bit more high-end (reflected in the pricing), but couldn't back it up with the quality of the recipes and preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at the Smith is very good. It is a bit pricy, very crowded, and very, very noisy. We were there for a birthday. There were little children screaming. Acoustics in there are not good for noise as it is all subway tile. The Lincoln Sqare restaurant was extremely crowded. Again, service and food were very good

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I like this place a lot for pre-Lincoln Center meals. The food is terrific and the ambience is dynamic. The staff is very friendly than ugh not so attentive as they should be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food overall was very good. My salmon was amazing. Sister had mussels. She loved them. Daughter had Shrimp and grits. Also loved them. Two others had the med salad with chicken. The chicken was pulled apart from a piece of roasted chicken and they thought it would be more typical of grilled chicken slices. The chicken pieces were less than appealing in some cases. Overall, good food, nice place, but very noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was fantastic - attentive without being obtrusive. Food was perfect for a business meal and the noise level allowed for easy conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the food so much the first time that I had to return! Would definitely recommend for breakfast or brunch. My only issue is with the noise level. The service is great, the food is fantastic, and the bathrooms are clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was so noisy we had to leave. We never even sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Hip and casual. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Just the best, treated like family every time we are there. This is by far my favorite restaurant because of how friendly the staff is, how consistently delicious the food is and how fast they turn around tables without putting pressure on the diner. THE BEST, hands down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the seared tuna salad. It was a very inventive dish with pasta, mushrooms and a delightful picante sauce. It was excellent. The other guest had the vegetable bibimbap, another creative dish with a bit of "bite" in the sauce. We both enjoyed out meal. We sat outside...it is noisy inside...and the service was spot on. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Even though it was pretty noisy we really enjoyed it. I had the Sicilian eggs and they were fantastic! My fiend had the chicken sandwich and loved it. Service was very pleasant too.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great tasting food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Seared Tuna Salad is amazing.The service is very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great, dependable food served by friendly waitstaff. Good variety and good locations.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

great meal, sat outside very fast service! the only criticism would be for them to invest in an awning for the sun!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was very disappointed after hearing rave reviews! The food is average, the service fair to poor and the ambiance is nothing special. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and appreciate that the stuff was not rushing us and let us enjoy multiple hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went after my daughter's show for dinner one night. I got the rib eye steak and it was EXCELLENT. Cooked to perfection! Also sampled the Mac and cheese which was delish. The calamari is incredible. Everyone said their dishes were good too. Service was great and we had no complaints. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Rarely are we ever disappointed with The Smith; it's our go-to when in NYC. But our server, Rashele, was just excellent; friendly, efficient, and considerate. She (& The Smith) got the day / our trip off to a great start. Thanks for that!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

All the meals we ordered were delicious and very good. The place was very noisy though.
Service was fast and good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great restaurant. Will visit again when I'm in the city. But, definitely not a good choice if you want quiet conversation. Our waiter was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Nice and loud, which is great for if you have a small child with you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Crab tots were delicious, the chicken was very good, and the lobster roll was quite tasty. Service was attentive without being annoying.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food; so-so service. Waiter came only to check to be sure our food was right- no coffee refills, etc.
This was a jam-packed place, so glad we had reservations.
Super noisy; not the place to go for intimate convo.
Great place for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful service but the restaurant was WAY TOO NOISY. Hard to hear each other or the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food & service were excellent but hostess ignored my husband when he arrived to meet me, forcing me to yell when I saw him walking away.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I've been to The Smith several times because it's convenient to Lincoln Ctr. I guess I keep hoping they'll do something about the noise level. Alas, it is not to be. I know The Smith won't miss my patronage, but I've dined there for the last time. It's absolutely ridiculous to have the shout to have a dinner conversation. Ah well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Pricy, but incredible quality food. I had one of the best cheeseburgers of my life, and I don't say that lightly. Would definitely go back, just be prepared to spend a lot of money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our waitress Elise was lovely and the food was all excellent. Very fun place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Firstly, the food was great. I had the eggs any style option, best decision ever. Next time Ill try the pancakes. Downside was that they don't sing happy birthday.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is our favorite spot in NYC!! Food is always amazing and services is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were meeting our granddaughter for dinner and this was her suggestion. We were seated in the back room which wasn't as noisy as the front of the restaurant so we were able to have a nice conversation without yelling. She suggested ordering the mac and cheese as an appetizer. It was ample for the three of us to share. We enjoyed our entrees and for dessert we shared a yummy hot fudge sundae. Everyone left quite contented and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was good, service was pleasant and we were out in time for the ballet performance at Lincoln Center.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Brunch with kids. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place, great food, amazing service! I sat on the patio and loved it,great people watching tables are away from heavy pedestrian traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food and service was terrific. However, it was very noisy. We were seated in the back room, and it was very noisy. My wife and I could hardly hear each other talking. Unless you get seated outside, I would not recommend this for a romantic evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Super nice waitstaff. Special needs friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Eaten here as well as their other restaurants as well. Nice neighborhood place, however, after my selection of food, this time, I'm beginning to think a tourist trap. Whatever you do, stay away from ordering the mussels. The chef should be ashamed of himself for serving mussels whose meat was smaller than a thumbnail and French fries are cut so thin you can't even taste the potato. And if a chef wants to make the dish spicy, wouldn't it be a good idea to state that on the menu?
Not worth the price and shouldn't be on the entree list. You think patrons are that stupid?
Serve an amazing mussel dish and people will come back. Serve what you did and patrons hesitate do return and that's how restaurant go out of business.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.