About The Smith- Lincoln Square

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Private Party Contact:
May Cohen events@thesmithnyc.com: 2129663250x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vanilla Bean French Toast, Maple Butter, Carmelized Banans
Smores In A Jar
Poached Egg And Avocado On Toast
Brussels Sprout Flatbread
Pancakes With Ricotta, Pecans And Salted Caramel
Cavatelli
Burrata
Tagliatelle With Shrimp
Flounder
Mushroom Tortelloni
Pork Chop
Jersey Tomatoes With Grilled Peaches
s'mores
Warm Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chicken Pot Pie
Seafood Paella
Mushroom Omelette
Mimosas
Cheeseburger Deluxe
B.L.T.A.E.
Mac and Cheese
Pumpkin Ale
French Fries
Don Pedro Cocktail
Vanilla Shake
Caramel Latte With Rum
Apple Smash Cocktail
Brooklyn Blackout Cake
Sir Kensington's Ketchup
House Baked Pretzel With Spicy Honey Mustard
Pork Chop With Creamed Kale
Brick Pressed Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Roasted Garlic Jus
Egg White, Mushroom, Tomato, Mozzarella And Pesto Frittata
Cauliflour Pizza
Arugula Salad With Chicken
Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita
Prosecco
shrimp and grits!
Cauliflour
Deviled Eggs: Dijon, Paprika
crabcake
Tuna Tartare
Chicken Fried Chicken Skins
Charred Shishito Peppers With Flaked Sea Salt And Rose
Bipimbap
Matzah Brie
Raw Clams
Country Breakfast
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Vegetable Bibimbap
 Dolsot Bibim Bab Assorted Vegetables And Egg Over Rice In Hot Stone
Potato Waffle Benedict With Spinach Hollandaise
Steak Frites
Homemade Potato Chips With Blue Cheese
Smoores Cookie
Ranchero Scramble
Oyster Sliders
One Yolk Omelette
Seafood Newburg
Red Velvet: Whoopie Pie, Strawberry Ice Cream, Whipped Cream
Atlantic Cod
B.L.T. & E On A Croissant
Huevos Rancheros Scramble
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Bread Pudding
Oysters
Hungry Teacher
15 Hour Pork
Sticky Toffee Pudding
pancakes
Baby Arugula Salad
Eggs Benedict
Steak Salpicao
Paella
Beer Battered Green Beans
Mushroom Egg White Omelette
Corned Beef Hash with Eggs

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Square ›

great for brunch (252)
great for outdoor dining (239)
great for lunch (238)
See All
good for groups (218)
neighborhood gem (202)
fit for foodies (186)
hot spot (140)
kid-friendly (107)
vibrant bar scene (96)
late-night find (82)
special occasion (77)
scenic view (36)
romantic (17)
notable wine list (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The burger is amazing

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined a day ago

The burger is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is really my favorite "go to" place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is really my favorite "go to" place in the Lincoln Center area. Food is very good and consistent and the service is friendly and attentive. At peak times, reservations are almost essential, but you can get in at more off times. But beware, the room is live and VERY LOUD. If you insist and intimate private dining this is not the place, but is great for casual meals and get togethers. It has a very French brasserie like feel.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful da ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful day. Normal service which is good, they are attentive. However this time the food was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The location is perfect for attending a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The location is perfect for attending a performance at Lincoln Center. I love the lobster salad, they do not skimp on the lobster or the avocado, although I would prefer baby lettuce over the field greens.

If you want quiet, either sit outside or in the back room. The front is so noisy you can not carry on a conversation without screaming at one another; but i will still go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The service and the location itself were ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and the location itself were good. But the food was simply ok. not great but also not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was able to enjoy my 25th birthday bru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was able to enjoy my 25th birthday brunching at this beautiful restaurant with friends. Service was outstanding. Employees were so sweet, professional, and beyond accommodating. Drinks were a bit pricey but this IS NYC! At any rate, I'd recommend The Smith-Lincoln Square to anyone for virtually any occasion. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a lovely time here. The se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I always have a lovely time here. The service is top notch and the food is consistently good. Nick the Manager is attentive and kind, and the service is very friendly and on point. Thank you to all at The Smith.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the back room there, with a wood ceiling ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

the back room there, with a wood ceiling may be the noisiest place i have ever been in my life. it made all conversation completely impossible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Sunday brunch was great--noise level mad ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sunday brunch was great--noise level made hearing across table very challenging. Service pleasant but waited over 15 minutes for first cup of coffee after ordering it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Drinks not served before 12 citing blue ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Drinks not served before 12 citing blue laws? All dishes plopped down at once to get cold. Big portions. Low quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

When our orders came out, mine was the o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

When our orders came out, mine was the only one that got messed up. I asked the server if the first dish was the tagliatelle and he said yes. But I knew it wasn't, so I told another server that I got served the wrong order. He took it to his manager, then manager personally assured me hat my correct meal would be out soon. So i think overalls the service was pretty good. It may have taken some escalation but everyone was really nice. Only thing is, when the true meal that I ordered came out, it was salty. Not willing to give up on this restaurant though because I've eaten here before, I know it's great, and the Mac and cheese is to die for. I guess this was just an off night at least for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love their avocado toast!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love their avocado toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I met a friend of mine for brunch/lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I met a friend of mine for brunch/lunch there on a Saturday, so that could account for the noise level. I'd been there a couple of years ago and it was a nice meal, but on this occasion I didn't enjoy it near as much. I ordered the Avocado Toast, but the bread was so stale I couldn't even cut it. I had to send it back and just got a simpler meal which was fine -- eggs, potatoes, bacon. However, I can't help but feel I could have gotten the same thing at a quieter, much less expensive place. Part of what you go there for is the "scene" apparently, so if that's important to you, this is for you. As I said, when I went before I don't remember any problems, and the bartender was very nice about concocting an "on request" cocktail for me. So if the "hot spot" and "vibrant bar scene" are key for you, you'll love The Smith.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A very fab brunch..with the best 'bloody ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A very fab brunch..with the best 'bloody Mary' for a Sunday brunch..good service ..didn't feel rushed...

Tags: brunch, group bookings, lunch, late night find, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The dinner was deli, loved the caesar sa ...

 
 (Guadalajara)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The dinner was deli, loved the caesar salad, and the S'mores dessert

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

While we love The Smith for late night d ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

While we love The Smith for late night dining and after Lincoln Center events. We went last week and got a table inside. The volume level was so high that it was painful to sit there. I don't know if was because our table was by the window or if every seat is so loud that you cannot have a normal conversation. If you go, sit outside, it is much much better. But when we went it was so hot and muggy outside we wanted to be in the AC. Service was excellent but would only go back and sit outside.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food, great service. Waaaayyyyyyy t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good food, great service. Waaaayyyyyyy too loud. It's roaring in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Always solid. Excellent service, diverse ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always solid. Excellent service, diverse menu, extensive wine list and bar. Don't just fine when you have tickets to Lincoln Center...The Smith is a destination itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As much as we loved the food, when we ar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As much as we loved the food, when we arrived at the Smith (with a reservation, mind you) the hostess took us to the way back of the restaurant, passing a series of open tables and tried to seat us in what seemed like where the put the rejects behind the kitchen. I'm not being dramatic either, we literally had to dodge waitresses with piles of food and bus boys swinging dish rags. When we politely asked for a table in the front with more light we were ushered to a tiny table squished between a wall and another couple who didn't seem happy of the hostesses' choice either. Again, we politely asked for one of the MANY open tables in the front and were responded to with this gem; "those are usually reserved ". We then reminded her that we did have a reservation and there was next to no one sitting there. She finally gave in with a panic in her eye. We assured the waiter that we were just there to grab a quick bite before our movie. We probably spent maybe a half hour there and left. The whole experience made us feel like trolls that had just rolled from under a bridge.

Will not be returning to The Smith, GREAT sweet potato onion rings though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I like the downtown locations better. F ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I like the downtown locations better. Food is great, but it was SO loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Crowded and tightly packed with uncomfor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Crowded and tightly packed with uncomfortable seating, slow service and average tasting food and drinks. Not worth the price or the experience particularly given the other options in the neighborhood. My entire group of 6 was disappointed, starting from the below-average service we received when we checked in to the slow order and wait time for drinks and food. We requested outdoor seats when we made the reservation and instead were seated in the back of the restaurant. I was turned off by the unfriendliness of the hostesses. I will not be returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent service throughout. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service throughout.

The food was satisfying and well prepared. I wouldn't say they do anything out of the ordinary but what they did have they did well.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as usual. Sometime the noise c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent as usual. Sometime the noise can get to our guests. Love the place !!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Breakfast blt+e & breakfast pot pie.... ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Breakfast blt+e & breakfast pot pie.... So delicious. We shared the candied bacon scones too. The food, drinks and service were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server unpleasant. Generally seemed like ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Server unpleasant. Generally seemed like she didnt want to be there. Put a sour taste in our experience.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

eclectic but varied menu; dishes well-pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

eclectic but varied menu; dishes well-prepared and well-presented; service is attentive but not at all overbearing; noisy but appropriate in this atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Met an old friend for brunch this past w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met an old friend for brunch this past weekend. The food was excellent (as always), and the server was attentive, but not disruptive...which was definitely welcome, since we had a lot to catch up on. I really appreciated how our Open Table reservation special request was handled, and would definitely recommend The Smith to others. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite reservation, and obviously open ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Despite reservation, and obviously open tables could not be seated for 15 minutes. We left. Other ratings are for previous times

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

On a family vacation and picked this res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

On a family vacation and picked this restaurant from OpenTable reviews. Was not disappointed. Food was great, but very busy and very noisy. The Hot Potato chips blew my mind. Would have licked the bowl. My jalapeno grits with slivers of chorizo that comes with the Grilled shrimp was so good. The mac and cheese was very good too. Can rave enough about this restaurant. Service was very good too. Check it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is good spot to have dinner in the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is good spot to have dinner in the East midtown a bit noisy good food but pricy, the decoration is really nice and confotable.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I specified that our dining was a birthd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I specified that our dining was a birthday celebration and we were still given a very small square table for 4 adults. We were very cramped in a large noisy dining room. Would not recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really great customer service & such a n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really great customer service & such a nice breakfast experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently a great meal with outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Consistently a great meal with outstanding service. Courteous and accomodating

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Their tradit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. Their traditional eggs benedict is awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went for breakfast. I ordered orange j ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I went for breakfast. I ordered orange juice and the smoked salmon eggs Benedict. My meal was delicious, especially the home fries that came with my meal...yumm!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and we were so pleased ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent service and we were so pleased with our outdoor table! We would have been fine inside, but outside on a Saturday night was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a nice meal here. Comfor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always have a nice meal here. Comfort food with upscale touches. Careful attention to food allergies. Perfect for a performance night at Lincoln Center.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great atmosphere! Go hu ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food and great atmosphere! Go hungry and order anything you see that catches your eye. Candied bacon scones were soft, flaky, and the perfect brunch starter. Mac and Cheese was heavenly; the Steak frites, divine. Homemade sodas are light and refreshing without being cloyingly sweet. A nice departure from the usual brunch items with just enough originality to make them special without being pretentious. Will definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice restaurant. The location was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant. The location was perfect since it was close to The Met. Food was excellent but kind of pricey. Service was outstanding. I will definitely eat here again next time we are in Lincoln Center.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Smith at all locations offers good to gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Smith at all locations offers good to great traditional food sometimes with a twist. All locations also suffer from so-so service. Not sure if it's a slow kitchen or too few servers .

Still

Worth a trip and the time.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.