Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Smith- Lincoln Square

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (183)
Pre/post Theatre (175)
Comfort Food (144)
See All
Great for Brunch (130)
Great for Lunch (110)
Fun (105)
Neighborhood Gem (99)
Good for a Date (87)
Sunday Lunch (86)
Good for Groups (85)
Hot Spot (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
People Watching (66)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Bar Seating (55)
Quick Bite (49)
Modern Decor (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Late-night Find (43)
Kid-friendly (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Happy Hour (36)
Authentic (33)
Business Meals (30)
Great Beer (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Healthy (24)
Family Style (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Local Ingredients (16)
Romantic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 9 hours ago

Overpriced food that lacks real quality. Definitely exists only as a trap for the Lincoln Center crowd.

We went for a Sunday brunch - the eggs Benedict were cookie cutter and over cooked, and the French toast was incredibly dry. Won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Seating way too close to others guest crammed in way too loud couldn't hear my friend or the waiter talk food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We found this restaurant on OpenTable. Perfect end to a long day and week. Great food and drinks made to order friendly courteous service.
You have to try the hot chips and blue cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Simple and great tasting food. Good for out of towners

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The Smith is a lunchtime destination every time we are in New York! Weather permitting we sit outside, where the combination of great food, great service and people watching make it a wonderful NYC experience. Weather put us inside this time but the Grilled Chicken Paillard was amazing! Fresh greens, a delicious combination of flavors and well prepared chicken put this dish in the "why would I not get this every time" category!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The noise was intolerable. It was impossible to have a conversation without yelling across the table. The food is good, but I will never go there again pre-theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The Smith is good enough for what it is. Always busy, crowded and boisterous. Good food and drink. Good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Noise level was not energetic. It was noisy. Overall atmosphere is great but acoustics are off that it is hard to hear the person across from you talk.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Was crowded for dinner on a Wednesday night, but having a reservation helped! A variety of options to please almost anyone on the menu, and everything we ordered was great. Despite it being crowded, we weren't rushed out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent time with 3 of my buddies. Cocktails were on point - my Manhattan was well executed. Our waiter was very friendly and good at answering questions. He explained step by step how the daily special fried chicken was made. By the way, this entree was very delicious, although prices high at $27. My only complaint is on the prices - I think higher here vs. other Smith locations. If you don't want to blow the bank, the burgers and Mac and cheese are really good too.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The smith was great I had a business meal with colleagues and we had a great time. The food was great service was great outstanding place I recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Continue to love this restaurant and still my favorite Upper West Side go-to! Had the grilled chicken and burrata sandwich and it was delicious. Great place to meet and hang with friends. Just saw they opened one in DC---congrats!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great, we were lucky to promptly be seated. Efficient staff, food came as quick as it possibly could. The food was pretty flavourful, a tad expensive but with the location being so close to Lincoln center and Central Park, can't really complain.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Berlin)·Dined 5 days ago

wonderful in every respect except the noise. hard to have a serious conversation but if you want that i suppose you just go somewhere else.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly staff even though we were just there for dessert. Food was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very busy. Food fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Good choice for breakfast meeting
Our waiter was efficient however anxious to collect our plates and produce the bill while we were still in full conversation.
This was a Monday morning at 9 am an the restaurant was by no means full.
Having paid our bill and including a generous tip two of us would have liked a coffee refill.
It was impossible to attract his attention even when he was at a nearby table.
So one of us resorted to getting up and going to where he was standing and begging for a refill.
He then did not offer to bring us fresh cups but just topped up our cold coffee.
Not impressive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent staff and food. Just a wonderful evening:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This place was packed on a Sunday night. Waited 10 minutes after our reservation time to get table. Server said it was always busy so no big deal. So then the slow and inattentive service was not excusable. We big had bourbon drinks. Very small glasses and weak on the bourbon. Kids had $6 sodas. Wine list is very over priced. Had a half carafe of Pinot noir for $46. Bread is served in individual bags. Very cute. But it had been re heated and was cold, crunchy and stale. If you are going to make a big deal with presentation, serve fresh bread ...Special was spaghetti and meatballs. For $23. It was good. Not great. Fried string beans with home made ranch dressing are amazing. Fried calamari was covered in tomato sauce and no lemon. Not good. Short rib pasta was tasty but not enough actual pasta! Shrimp pasta was tasty. Didn't bother with dessert. Not sure what the hype is. Won't return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Disappointing at best. Service was awful-our waitress was clearly annoyed to have to wait on our table. She rarely checked on us or cleared appetizer plates when we were done. When the kitchen brought out or food, our table was already full of plates and appetizer dishes that should have already been cleared-but she couldn't be bothered. We had to flag down another waiter when we needed things like ketchup for our fries-because our waitress couldn't care less. We were never served bread that every table got, and the food was just ok. For the price I expected way better-food and service. We had tons of other meals in NYC that were much better (and cheaper at the same time). Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening with great drinks, great food, and great service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great place, full of people, very on top of the way they cook their food and the burger I had was delicious!!

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We couldn't get a reservation anywhere else before a show. We looked at the menu and thought his would be ok. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't particularly good. I had to send an item back that just wasn't tasty. The tables and chairs were close to one another and the noise level was unbearable. The service was decent and friendly but between the combination of the so-so food, the unbearable noise level and the not particularly comfortable set up I can't imagine going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our first visit and I cannot wait to go back. The Smith is right across the street from Lincoln Center - so convenient for a pre-theater meal. We split the shaved brussel sprouts salad and agreed it's the best salad we've had in at least three years. Entrees were also very tasty. The wine by the carafe is a good deal and they have Veltliner by the glass - a favorite of mine and not at all easy to find by the glass! We shared the ice cream for dessert and agreed all the flavors were yummy, but the vanilla was especially good. Service was attentive and cordial. Glad to see they are opening a branch in D.C. so we can visit them there, too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not good at all, they lost our ticket , so food took over an hour, when it arrived it was super salty!! Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good vibes, food and drinks! The Smith is always a fun time. The crowds do swell, so plan ahead!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The good at this location is consistently cold. I don't understand why, as most of the dining room was still empty at the time I ate and there were plenty of staffers...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing time, great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was very good. 10/10 would recommend. I like to go here.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Interesting menu, food well prepared. Efficient pre-theater service. The only negatives: the bread was not quite fresh and the coffee was lukewarm.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was not our first trip to a Smith. We've been to the one midtown, but not this location. My disappointment was that 2 of the 3 of us had the large salads, they were so drenched in dressing that they were inedible except for the top layer. When I told our server his response was "oh, sorry" and walked away. I would have made a bigger deal about this but we were on our way to a concert and I didn't want to be late.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Smith Lincoln Square is a reliable bet for a pre-Lincoln Center meal. The menu has something for everyone, and the quality of the food is good. They could do with removing a couple tables to give diners a bit more breathing space – we were crammed in pretty tight with the tables on either side of us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

As an avid SMITH-goer, this location is by far my favorite. The staff is always friendly and attentive, the quality and variety of food is great, delicious cocktails, and open late! Convenient to Lincoln Center and all of its fantastic programming too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was Kay. Pricey for the quality. Service was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My husband ordered the steak and eggs. He wanted the steak cooked medium well. It was bloody. Our waitress was socializing behind our booth for quite a while before we could say something. It was brought back to the kitchen and when it returned it was a piece half the size of the original. He had cut off several pieces preparing to eat before I had a chance to say anything. They cooked probably the only peice he hadn't cut up. They comped his meal telling us this at the end. But it was his birthday. I felt awful. I had asked for a slice of cake for him when I made the reservation. No one mentioned it and I didn't ask. Just wanted to leave. I had the eggs Benedict. It was very mundane and stingy with the hollendaise. I did get a side salad w it instead of home fries but the dressing was too salty and had no other flavor. The only thing I liked was the gassy water they put on the table. There were two little cheese biscuits with no butter with the water. Overall I felt really bad about picking this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Extremely convenient if you're headed to Lincoln Center. Loved it! The photo booth and peep hole with old-time video in the bathroom downstairs was an unexpected surprise! See if you can find it...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A valuable neighbourhood find where the food is delicious and the ambience is very comfy. The burger is excellent but there are also very good options that make me want to come back and work through the menu. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

great spot in a great neighborhood. have eaten here a few times and it is always good. the service is excellent

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

our server was great. the cocktails were interesting and delicious. good solid food. we bought 3 gift certificates for people to share the excellent experience

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.