About The Smith- Lincoln Square

1900 Broadway
New York, NY 10023
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
63rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 496-5700

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com

Public Transit:
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vanilla Bean French Toast, Maple Butter, Carmelized Banans
Smores In A Jar
Oysters
Poached Egg And Avocado On Toast
Cavatelli With Short Rib Ragu
Brussels Sprout Flatbread
Pancakes With Ricotta, Pecans And Salted Caramel
Cavatelli
Tagliatelle With Shrimp
Flounder
Burrata
Pork Chop
Jersey Tomatoes With Grilled Peaches
Mushroom Tortelloni
s'mores
Seafood Paella
Warm Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chicken Pot Pie
Mushroom Omelette
Mimosas
Cheeseburger Deluxe
B.L.T.A.E.
Mac and Cheese
Pumpkin Ale
French Fries
Don Pedro Cocktail
House Baked Pretzel With Spicy Honey Mustard
Sir Kensington's Ketchup
Apple Smash Cocktail
Caramel Latte With Rum
Brooklyn Blackout Cake
Vanilla Shake
Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita
Prosecco
shrimp and grits!
Cauliflour
Deviled Eggs: Dijon, Paprika
crabcake
Tuna Tartare
Chicken Fried Chicken Skins
Charred Shishito Peppers With Flaked Sea Salt And Rose
Egg White, Mushroom, Tomato, Mozzarella And Pesto Frittata
Brick Pressed Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Roasted Garlic Jus
Bipimbap
Matzah Brie
Raw Clams
Country Breakfast
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Vegetable Bibimbap
 Dolsot Bibim Bab Assorted Vegetables And Egg Over Rice In Hot Stone
Potato Waffle Benedict With Spinach Hollandaise
Smoores Cookie
Homemade Potato Chips With Blue Cheese
Steak Frites
Ranchero Scramble
Oyster Sliders
One Yolk Omelette
Red Velvet: Whoopie Pie, Strawberry Ice Cream, Whipped Cream
Seafood Newburg
Atlantic Cod
Huevos Rancheros Scramble
B.L.T. & E On A Croissant
Cauliflour Pizza
Arugula Salad With Chicken
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Pork Chop With Creamed Kale
Bread Pudding
Hungry Teacher
15 Hour Pork
Baby Arugula Salad
Eggs Benedict
Sticky Toffee Pudding
pancakes
Steak Salpicao
Paella
Mushroom Egg White Omelette
Beer Battered Green Beans
Corned Beef Hash with Eggs

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

The Smith- Lincoln Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Square ›

Great for Brunch (171)
Great for Outdoor Dining (159)
Great for Lunch (151)
See All
Good for Groups (139)
Neighborhood Gem (135)
Hot Spot (95)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Kid-friendly (81)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Late-night Find (56)
Special Occasion (49)
Casual (31)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Scenic View (25)
Fun (25)
People Watching (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Both my wife and I both ordered beef rib ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Both my wife and I both ordered beef ribs over pasta.

Much too highly seasoned. The chef has heavy hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very okay food.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very okay food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I don't know why I keep coming back. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

I don't know why I keep coming back. The servers barely come to the table, never ask if you need anything or if you are ok. They are always so frazzled and short with you. My meal was baked eggs in tomato sauce. The chef forgot to put the tomato sauce in and when I told my waiter he asked if I "just wanted a side" instead of re-make my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant is usually good for any ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant is usually good for any time , food is fine but services have been never good! . I don't know why they can't provide that simple thing ' good service'? At the restaurant!!!!This time I got the worst waiter . We were so angry .. We all get stomach ache.. After.

Worst service in NYC !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Everything was good plus, BUT the noise ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was good plus, BUT the noise level was a serious drawback. We will not return at any of the' busy' hours which I suspect is always. Service, food both good but communicating without shouting not possible. I do not recommend this for anyone who expects to converse civilly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The avocado toast was really really good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The avocado toast was really really good, also the home fries were pretty delicious

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved the gnocchi with truffle cream! Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the gnocchi with truffle cream! They were great with adding or removing things from certain dishes and the food was wonderfully made, like soul food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite eateries . Always a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of my favorite eateries . Always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Consistantly Good and True To The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always Consistantly Good and True To The Smith Brand!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Healthy, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The $25 dollar burger was tasteless, ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The $25 dollar burger was tasteless, served on a slightly stale bun topped with breaded fried onions instead of grilled or even a fresh slice of a Bermuda onion. Very disappointing

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Loved eating outdoors! A very enjoyable ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Loved eating outdoors! A very enjoyable eating experience. Food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time here. Lovely atmo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my first time here. Lovely atmosphere. Enjoyed the food a great deal. It's a little noisy, but it's Manhattan. I only wish that the waiters would have left us alone a little. Every few minutes, they were trying to take our plates away. It's so disruptive when you are trying to have a conversation with your dining companion. I must have said, "Please wait until we are both finished" about 15 times. It was aggravating.

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had appetizers before a show at Linco ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had appetizers before a show at Lincoln Center and were very happy with the service and food. Great to sit outside, weather permitting.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service with Chester was lovely and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service with Chester was lovely and the food is always very good. It's a very noisy restaurant. We got there very early, so it was quiet, but later on, noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Eat outside always weather permitting ! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Eat outside always weather permitting ! Inside, you will lose your hearing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love the Smith!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always love the Smith!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is pretty good but the noise le ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is pretty good but the noise level is way too high and so one has to shout to be heard. Conversations from other tables travel all over the place and it is possible to leave with a vibrant headache. Would be very simple to put noise proofing on the ceiling so that dining is more pleasurable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

While the restaurant was busy, and loud, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

While the restaurant was busy, and loud, we were given a table in a quieter corner, and enjoyed a fantastic brunch!

The bloody Mary's, and Bellini's were delicious.

The eggs, short rib hash with grits was amazing....loved it served in an iron skillet, the eggs Benedict were made with perfect hollandaise, and the eggs rancheros, were perfectly done. The portions were generous.

Robert, our server was attentive, without hovering, and we found him to be absolutely charming!

It was a perfect beginning to a beautiful day in NYC!

Highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food here was delicious. Atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food here was delicious. Atmosphere very cool ! Can't wait to go back

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of food options. Water provided is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lots of food options. Water provided is both still and sparkling. Our food was great. I had the salmon and my friend had the gnocchi. Both dishes tasted great. It took a while to get a extra bottle of water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had heard good things and was recommende ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had heard good things and was recommended by a friend but was disappointed. Service inattentive, very small servings of wine in tumblers and food not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

A favorite hot spot with great food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A favorite hot spot with great food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to go to The Smith and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a pleasure to go to The Smith and sit outdoors and people watch. It is always busy and the food has good choices and specials on certain days. I am addicted to their mussels.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

This isn't my first time at The Smith... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This isn't my first time at The Smith...I always sit outside although the bar is nice too...great value, very good service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good with many dining opt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food is always good with many dining options. Very good service - Only negative is the very intense noise level.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Can't stay away! Best mac'n'cheese EVER! ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Can't stay away! Best mac'n'cheese EVER!! Thank you guys xx

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I usually love the Smith but this time w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I usually love the Smith but this time was a fail. We were a party of five and got seated at a tiny table. It was so tight at the table and the area we were in. I had requested to be seated in the back where it's quieter but was seated up front with all the noise. Our table didn't have complete place settings for everyone and it took two requests to get them. Our waiter had trouble taking our orders correctly. My pancakes were flavorless and not cooked in the middle. My friends didn't love their meals either. The whole experience was not great. Maybe it was just a bad day, I don't know ... I've had dinner there several times and enjoyed the food and service. Maybe brunch is just not what they do well. I'd go back for dinner but never again for brunch.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food great service! Love the atmos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food great service! Love the atmosphere in the restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready then the maitre d (t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our table was ready then the maitre d (the gentleman with the sports jacket) gave it to a pushy man who said "we'll take this one". The young lady told him that it was ours (we had reservations AND waited extra to get an outdoor table) but to no avail...typical male privilege. Other than that the food and cocktails were great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Loved the food, service and general ambi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Loved the food, service and general ambiance of the restaurant. My only criticism is around the high noise level. At dinner it was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation in the dining room and bar area. We visited The Smith a second time and sat outside on the street. In spite of the crowds on the street, traffic noise, etc. it was quieter outside and much more pleasant an experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food options, a little pricey ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Wonderful food options, a little pricey but not surprising based on the location. Great wines and desserts. Service was a bit slow/overworked, but overall a great spot for people watching and delicious food with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Lamb Milanese should be taken off th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Lamb Milanese should be taken off the menu. The lamb was tough and full of grizzle. I had to search for the lamb under the salad. No balance to the ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

fantastic service...delicious food!! sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

fantastic service...delicious food!!

salads and chicken under a brick were amazing

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always fun. the Smith is reliable. Su ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always fun. the Smith is reliable. Sunday reservations don't mean much expect to wait albeit less than if you don't have a reservation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a great experience - we made a 11:30 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a great experience - we made a 11:30 reservation and it was still bustling! Was quite loud, but we didn't mind - there were 5 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Smith is enormous, loud, crowded, co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Smith is enormous, loud, crowded, convenient to Lincoln Center. Rather expensive, but delicious. The noise level is a problem.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Very convenient to Lincoln Center. To av ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very convenient to Lincoln Center. To avoid long waits at lunch time book ahead with Open Table, these reservations are always honored .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been to The Smith on the east side ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've been to The Smith on the east side but this is the first time I've gone to this location. It's very similar all the way around. I'm in love with The Smith! Their mac & cheese is to die for and the beer battered green beans were also to die for. Also the hot fudge sundae for dessert!!! I will definitely be back on my next trip! The waitress we had wasn't the 'friendliest' I've ever had but she was OK.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was wonderful. We've eaten at t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was wonderful. We've eaten at the Smith many times and it was great to try some items new to us. Our servers were so great. They were both friendly, engaging, and professional. We had two little ones with us and they were both willing to engage with our 2 year old. It makes all the difference for a parent when dining out with kids that staff members don't make you feel like the presence of your children are a problem. We're looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Have eaten here many, many times and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have eaten here many, many times and the exact same problems persist. Poor management, staff meetings running late causing late opening/seating of patrons on a Saturday morning. Very inconsistent food, too much salt, too much cayenne in a hollandaise that was also cold, and food served cold even though they have servers delivering food right from the kitchen instead of the waiter having to go do pick-ups. LOUD, intrusive, pounding music. The only thing they have going for them is the location, and we have decided that it is worth walking a few extra blocks to go elsewhere. Enough is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.