Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 318 times today

The Smith- Lincoln Square

4.5
5386 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. – midnight
Fri: 7:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:00 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:00 a.m. – midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 496-5700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brian Ellis
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact our events coordinator for all of your off site catering needs. events@thesmithnyc.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
63rd Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
1 Train at 66th and Broadway. A, B, C, D at 59th Street and Columbus.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At The Smith, Lincoln Square, our private rooms can accommodate any type of occasion from corporate functions, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, holiday parties and baby showers. We are committed to making your event memorable and assisting you every step of the way.

View Private Dining Details
What 5386 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Always good. Always loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Too loud outside because of ambulances and other street traffic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing. Breakfast menu sparse and weak. Plating unappetizing and tasteless. Bacon looked and tasted like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for hours. Entire experience not pleasant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Intimate but unfussy atmosphere. Delicious meal with sizable portions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is a solid choice if you're looking for something around Lincoln Center - pre-/post-theater in particular. The menu is good. The food is good. The service is good. It's nothing outstanding or anything I would go out of my way for, but it's definitely a solid choice if you're looking for something in that particular area. Upscale American fare, oysters, nice cocktails. And it's quite loud with relatively small tables, which is fine for what it is - just not particularly romantic or intimate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Seated right away. Food and service were excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Sam was fantastic! He was very helpful and quick and friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I had brunch before the theater. The food was delicious and even though it was very crowded the service was excellent! We're already planning our next visit!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great brunch spot for Lincoln Center matinees. Varied menu with something for everyone...always enjoyable. Lively crowd, attentive service, honor their reservations to the minute!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic and considerate when it comes to food allergies

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We go here all the time and i chose to come for my birthday brunch. Our waiter could not have been less interested in us. Took ages to take our order and bring is water and enough place settings, spoke st such a low level that we could barely hear him, didn’t communicate well st all. For example when my husband asked for salad and it was almost lunch time, he said I’ll see what the kitchen says. Not accountable, not proactive in reporting back to us what the kitchen said, etc. i also told the hostess and waiter it was my birthday and i was so excited to celebrate here, and someone could have acknowledged it.

That said, this was an anomaly and we usually have good servers and always great food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 7 days ago

Very noisy place. OK food but bad wine. Low service level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food, service & atmosphere

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The Smith is a factory. Hubbub is its spécialité. The food's decent enough, though any real pleasure occurs from paying the bill and leaving.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The food here is really delicious.! Great menu, great service! As long as you know going in that it’s insanely noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We came with our family for
Our daughters graduation lunch. The Smith was accommodating and timely with seating us. Food was delicious too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

4 out-of-towners looking for a bite before seeing Misty Copeland dance Romeo and Juliette. An early dinner - 6pm, too hot and too much sun to be outside. A bit warm and very loud and crowded inside. Fried potato chips with blue cheese - to die for. Other items were not memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Always fabulous. Food is delicious and our server was attentive-especially concerning my nut allergy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our first time at The Smith. We'd heard nothing but great things and we weren't disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Always love going to the Smith. It’s super loud but it’s a testament to how popular the place is. The food is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Every Sunday we go for a brunch . We love The Smith !!! Delicious food , excellent service and lovely atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Love everything about The Smith! My go to spot in the city!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

They spilled food on me. Then they made me pay for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Like always - we had a great time and the food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This was the perfect place to eat on the lovely summer evening we sat outside and it was lovely over looking at Lincoln Center and the service was excellent and the food especially the chicken pie yard salad was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The Smith never disappoints, always impresses! Minimally-processed, whole real foods, seasonal/local and always delicious! Although they do take walk-ins, I recommend making reservations as they are always packed and across from Lincoln Center! If anyone in your dining party has eating restrictions, they will be in heaven here as The Smith provides for any and all needs ... gluten free, dairy free, nut/seed free, nightshade free, grain free, etc.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Apart from the deafening noise level, we enjoyed the food and were impressed with the service at relatively reasonable prices. But bring ear plugs!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Delicious every day food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

While the restaurant is the typical New York style with very small tables situated nearly on top of each other and very noisy, the service was excellent as was the food. Would definitely try again on another NYC visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food was quite good. But the noise level made it impossible to have a normal conversation among friends,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Had a wonderful time with loved ones celebrating a graduation! Our server Vinnie was so personal, professional, and went above and beyond, creating a dining experience you only hope for every time you go out and spend your hard-earned money! Another great night well-spent at The Smith!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great food, great server and we are looking forward to our next visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

always a good time at The Smith. definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Loud, Loud, Loud!! Tables were too close together. Food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Consistent, great for people watching and close to Lincoln Center if you have to catch the Opera, Ballet or other event in the vicinity.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Always enjoy dining at the smith. I got their burger and some calamari -- was a lot of food, but delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Our family has made it a tradition to visit The Smith every NYC trip. We love everything but especially the gnocchi.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Popular, but pedestrian.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The noise level inside can be really load, but the noise level outside is fine if you do not mind "city noise".

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
135

Tweets by The Smith- Lincoln Square