Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Smith - East Village

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (75)
Casual (59)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Great for Lunch (47)
Fun (46)
Comfort Food (45)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (41)
Hot Spot (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Happy Hour (20)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quick Bite (18)
Modern Decor (17)
People Watching (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Family Style (7)
Great Beer (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 9 hours ago

Reasonably priced, nice portions, and better than average service

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Busy as always, we waited 15 minutes to be seated with a reservation. The menu has changed. I had crispy trout sandwich which was delicious with a glass of Pinot Noir. My husband had the short rib hash with eggs which he liked & a Bloody Mary which was quite spicy. The noise level is high- if you want to have a conversation, you are in the wrong place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food but be prepared to wait despite having a reservation. I am pregnant and standing around was annoying because I kept getting bumped into and couldn't obviously have a drink at the bar to make the wait more enjoyable. Otherwise, everything else was a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Good vibe, etc but know it is loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Went with my parents for my birthday and I was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Smith was very accommodating and service was great. Always an A+ experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

The steak was good and the drinks were strong. Nice looking place to dine in. The noise level from the girls next to us was super loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the Friday night special scallop dinner. The next time I am in NY on a Friday, I will be back and have this same meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Ate there for lunch with our three kids. Felt very trendy, and food had a unique twist on the favorites. Although there was no kids menu, they were very accommodating and prepared meals that my picky kids enjoyed! Food was amazing! Service a tad slow because so busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Good comfort food. Busy and noisy. Nice staff and waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was ok, but the restaurant was very loud. We were seated next to a table of drunk businessmen who got louder and louder. They were yelling, cursing, and howling during our entire meal. Management did nothing to quiet them. Our group consisted of a lady and her teenage daughter and son, clearly not party people. My cocktail tasted great, but it was served in a glass so small and filled with ice that it seemed to consist of about an ounce of liquid. The bar area was hopping and looked like a fun area for twenty-somethings.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food but dishes were not clean . Forks & knives had water stains . Sent the glass bk twice for stains on them . Disappointing .

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I really enjoyed having brunch at this restaurant. I will definitely go there again.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Private Room, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Came in after the NYC half...had a a reservation for 11:30 but they took us early (10:15). Breakfast pot pie and the Belgian waffle were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service-great poached eggs!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for brunch, loved the food & the atmosphere! They bring both filtered water & sparkling water to the table. Fresh squeezed orange juice was outstanding!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Smith was amazing. It surpassed my expectations. The food was outstanding and the workers were friendly and made the experience even better. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Organic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We are frequent customers but service tonight was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved that a drink was included in the brunch items!!!! Service was great. Will be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

In town for a birthday weekend. Great place! I'm only knocking it back to 4 stars because it was really hard to carry on a conversation. Great food, lovely cocktails and great waitstaff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My second sojourn here for Sunday brunch; my gym is down the block. Excellent service that shows; food is good, and although not applicable to me, you could have had a nice alcoholic drink with your brunch for no cost! Really appreciate the non-gender assigned bathrooms downstairs!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We received outstanding service and delicious food all around. We were even provided complimentary after-dinner drinks for having a slightly awkwardly positioned table. It was lively and active without being over-the-top crowded or noisy. An excellent dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always a reliable place for a good meal and a nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Neighbors and diners change and so does The Smith ... this is a great renaissance experience
The steamed mussels with hot shoestring potatoes cannot be beaten. Delicious, well seasoned broth and very fresh mussels (request the bread service baguette) for a broth-dipping option
Attentive, professional service at every level--every staff is heads up
Deserts are sweet but top quality and well presented
Avoid espresso-awful awful

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We enjoyed this place a lot. The golden eye cocktail was mysterious and delicious. The tomato soup melt was sparkley and the spicy chicken meatballs were tasty. My main was skirt steak, and my server let me have both the chimichuri and the garlic butter sauces, so I was in heaven. DH had the daily special lamb shank, which was a little disappointing and he was seriously eyeing my steak. I gave him some because he is a good man and also I had plenty. We had a nice carafe of red (the bordeaux blend was enjoyable.) Finished off with the sticky pudding and some sorbet, both great. Our server was a gem. We went early to make a play at the Public, and although it was energetic we didn't have to go to our noisy restaurant mode of sitting next to each other so we could converse. I already recommended this to some people.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

If you're looking for a fun, full of energy place for Sunday Brunch "The Smith" is definitely where it's at. The catchy named cocktails were so very good (my husband loved "The Gatsby") and the wine list was reasonably priced with a good selection of reds and whites. The bartenders really know how to whip up some unique and great tasting cocktails. They're very friendly and don't mind telling you what's in the delicious concoction you're enjoying.
The Manager, Antonio Addeo recognized that we were new to his establishment and went out of his way to make us feel welcomed. As a matter of fact, he was attentive to everyone and made sure his guests were pleased with their meals. I am always impressed when a manager is so hands on. Our server, Kelly was also attentive and extremely pleasant.
I had the Burger Royale which was delicious. It was so generously sized that I couldn't eat the entire thing. My husband had the Benedict Johnny - a bit of a different take on Eggs Benedict. He loved it!
Be sure to make a reservation. It was quite crowded but we were seated within minutes of our reservation time.
We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great atmosphere. Excellent location for birthday celebrations ,friends night out and any party event. Great value and good portions of food. Wonderful staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good food. Fun ambiance. Had a reservation and was promptly sat, didn't have to wait even though the restaurant was very busy.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Steak and eggs was a 3 to 4 oz piece of meat with rockhard waffle potatoes for $20. Buscuit pot pie dough was raw. Our server was non-existent for cocktial and drink reorders so we went without and had to ask for the check 3 times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and great service. One of our favorite spots in the East Village.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Nice restaurant, good food, reasonably priced. But absolute too loud. I had to cover my ears.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fun and loud. Food is delicious! Great drink selection! Had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Quick and great food

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The mac and cheese was bomb. There was a slight mishap with my food but the service was great and they took care of it. Very accommodating. I wanna go back to try more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My husband and our two small children had a great experience dining here during brunch. The service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Lovely brunch with friends. Noisy but good food,cocktails and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Floor very slippery, help a little poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waitress was very attentive and nice. The food was amazing and very filling. I had the chicken pot pie and my husband had the mussels, which were both delicious. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Much too noisy to enjoy the food, which was good. It took a great effort to hear even the person sitting next to you. Won't go back unless it's for breakfast - much less raucous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent, and the server was great. He had excellent suggestions, and seemed very knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.