About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Hot Potato Chips With Blue Cheese Fondue
Mac and Cheese
Burger Deluxe
Ahi Tuna Salad
Beer Battered String Beans
Chicken Pot Pie
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Ricotta Gnocchi
Mediterranean Salad With Shrimp
Bibimbap
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Cheddar Biscuit
Vegetable Bibimbap
Mushroom Omelette
Ranchero Scramble
Avocado Sandwich
Pot Of Mussels
Filet Mignon
Salmon
Vegetable Bibimbop
The Rest Of The Bounty!
Assorted Fried And Cheesy Goodies
Deviled Eggs
Roasted Chicken Salad
Salade Niçoise
Mediterranean Salad
Shishito Peppers
Roasted Fish Sandwich
Brick Pressed Chicken
Grilled Shrimp
fried chicken
Potato Waffle Benedict
Portobello Fries
Rosato Syrah
pancakes
Birthday cake
Vanilla Bean French Toast
Quarter Pounders
Maple Chicken Sausage
Cheese Grits
Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke Flatbread
Candy Bacon
Glazed Donuts
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Lobster Eggs Benedict
Blood Orange Mimosa
BLT
Espresso
The Original Old Fashioned
Fruit
Pork Chop
Croaker
Jalapeno & Cheddar Grits
Allegash White
Huevos rancheros
Rose Wine
Maine Lobster Salad
Bacon
Smores Cake In A Jar
Fried Calamari
Trout Milanese
Buttermilk Waffle
Lobster Benedict
Lobster Eggs Benidict
Tuna Tartare
Cheeseburger And Fries
Steak Salad
Eggs Benedict With Lobster Hollandaise
Steak Au Poivre
Macaroni and Cheese
Chicken and Waffles
Eggs Benedict
Waffles Eggs Benedict
Giant Pretzel
Hungry Teacher
The Croaker
Hamburger
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Mussels Pot
Avocado Salad
Arugula & Fennel Salad
BLT & E
Old Fashioned
Chicken Sausage (plus) Eggs
Country Breakfast
French Toast
Ham And Egg Buttermilk Biscuit
Chicken Sausage & Eggs on Cornbread
Caramel & Nuts Sundae
Baked Pretzel
lobster tostada
shrimp salad
Bread Pudding Sundae
Burrata
Strawberry Rhubarb Soda
Chicken Pie
Shrimp Roll
Mussels

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (78)
Good for Groups (66)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Great for Lunch (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Hot Spot (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Kid-friendly (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Casual (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Romantic (10)
People Watching (9)
Family Style (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was very worth every pe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was very worth every penny. Dishes we ordered for 5 people were all delicious. I had the shrimp with a black rice and and it was by far the best meal i had in my 6 week vacation. If i was a local i would definitely dine there regularly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it so much we went two weekends ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved it so much we went two weekends in a row!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the best time at the Smith!!!! Delic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had the best time at the Smith!!!! Delicious food (brunch comes with a free alcoholic drink, which is amazing!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible brunch at The Smith ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an incredible brunch at The Smith! Hannah was fabulous, an absolute gem. She took such good care of us; made us feel right at home. We'll definitely be back soon for more candied bacon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I liked the restaurant and the food. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I liked the restaurant and the food. The service was good as well. But the waiters are so ready to give you the check that you almost feel that you are being kicked out and place wasnt even crowded.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A nice neighborhood restaurant. Good fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A nice neighborhood restaurant. Good for a casual lunch with a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I don't understand how this place has so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I don't understand how this place has so many positive reviews. The food is some of the worst that I've had since moving to New York a year ago. I guess if you're not venturing far from typical barfood like a burger or macaroni and cheese, then it wouldn't be so bad. I went with three other people and we all ordered various things (bibimbop, truffle gnocchi, brick pressed chicken, ny strip) all were terrible with the exception of the french fries that came with the steak.

Drinks are NASTY. We sent two back (cool cat, manhattan). Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a great time with friends at The ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a great time with friends at The Smith! The food was delicious and the atmosphere while professional makes you feel at home. Our server was enjoyable, accommodating, and very pleasant. It is a bit noisy, but was great for friends getting together over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Best service and Mac and cheese ever !

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Best service and Mac and cheese ever !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall fantastic. We had some very spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Overall fantastic. We had some very specific diet restrictions, and our server was very helpful and understanding. Food and ambiance was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We will be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. We will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is pretty good. One expects good fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food is pretty good. One expects good food in NYC. There are thousands of good food restaurants in New York. The BIG problem at this restaurant is the service. Dizzy, scattered, a tad surly and uncaring. Our wait person oozed annoyance from the moment we sat down.

They should be able to do a lot better better or I suggest going elsewhere, get good food and be treated like an appreciated guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Do not waste your time and money if you ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Do not waste your time and money if you want to enjoy your meals, low quality food and super noisy place, would not recommend this place if you want to enjoy your meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious brunch, creative cooking, good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious brunch, creative cooking, good service, but SO LOUD YOU CAN'T HAVE A CONVERSATION WITHOUT SCREAMING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The Smith is our go-to brunch place ever ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Smith is our go-to brunch place every time we are in NYC. Food is always great, the service is solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

An irritating waiter and a table near an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

An irritating waiter and a table near an open door made it literally a very cool evening.

And the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Noise level was terrible. Service very s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Noise level was terrible. Service very slow. Pasta mushy and had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

Liked the restaurant very much except no ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Liked the restaurant very much except noise level. Tile walls and floor magnify sound.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant, enjoyed it very much. V ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice restaurant, enjoyed it very much. Visited before the Theatre.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mac N Cheese is amazing and make sure to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Mac N Cheese is amazing and make sure to go downstairs to the photo booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my second time visiting The Smi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was my second time visiting The Smith. The first was for brunch which was not disappointing (see my review on the 15th of August 2016). This time at 10:45am for breakfast which was not disappointing at all. Breakfast consisted of vanilla bean french toast, apple smoked bacon, egg white omelette with kale, cheddar biscuits(free) waffle potato and steak, one hot chocolate and two pineapple juices. Everything was absolutely delicious. The server, Scott J was phenomenal. Bathrooms were clean. They even have a photo booth if you want to take pictures, a couple of dollars though. The cost of the meals a bit pricey, but worth it. I can highly recommend The Smith and I will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The summer berry pie is outstanding. I w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The summer berry pie is outstanding. I wish it could be on the menu all year long

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The place is informal and welcoming. You ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The place is informal and welcoming. You breathe NY air

Food is good and portions big. Chicken tasty and juicy. Great cakes!

Service kind and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fried sting beans not very crispy (oily) ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

fried sting beans not very crispy (oily)

crispy pork overwlemed with spices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first time going to the smit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my first time going to the smith and it won't be my last. I came during the week in the morning so it wasn't crowded. The food was excellent! Egg white omelette with french fries and steak salad were delicious. For dessert the hot fudge sundae, absolutely sweet and delicious! My server, Bradley was awesome!. My only criticism is I came for breakfast around 11:21am. They said they stop serving breakfast at 11:30am which is not advertised on their website. I would suggest they give the times they serve certain meals on their website and extend the breakfast time longer. Overall, it was a great experience and I'll be back, especially for breakfast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I must say the tomato soup was absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I must say the tomato soup was absolutely delicious! Other dishes were okay.

But mostly I have to say that the service was great! I wish I knew the name of the waitress we had. Im not sure if all the help is as friendly and helpful and fun as she was!

It was evening. I'd go back and try the brunch for sure!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I made a 9pm reservation, called to push ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I made a 9pm reservation, called to push it back. The hostess was wonderful and accommodating. When we ended up not running late after all, the hostesses helped get us seated as quickly as possible. They gave me a perfect time estimate. Then, when we sat and reviewed the menu, the one item my sister wanted was 86'ed. But when our food came out, the kitchen had one last order of the tacos, and the kitchen sent them out with their complements. Amazing surprise! Thank you for making our dining experience a wonderful one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and staff was awesome. We got t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and staff was awesome. We got there and only had to wait a minute or two before being seated. We were downstairs in between two tables so it was a very tight fit and it was noisy but we forgot about the noise after awhile. The food was excellent. It's a bit pricey but if you have the money and want to hang out with some friends or have a casual date, this is a great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quickly seated by nice staff and got foo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Quickly seated by nice staff and got food quickly. Delicious and good portion size

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. Excellent service. Be ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent dinner. Excellent service. Beautiful space. I like the inclusive service charge which, at The Smith, was worth every penny. The restaurant is very well managed and staff very well trained to provide the right amount of great service without being overbearing. Perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing breakfast/brunch. Place wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Disappointing breakfast/brunch. Place was quite empty. Waitress was not super interested. Menu choices were basic with no innovated dish except perhaps the avocado toast. First round of coffee was luke warm. Eggs benedict were average. Avocado toast also was underwhelming. The experience overall was not one that I would come back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I made a reservation for my dad's birthd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I made a reservation for my dad's birthday and I am glad I did because this is the type of place that you need a reservation.

We ended up running 20 minutes late (traffic from CT) and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table (definitely understandable). The manager apologized and delivered their newest app to our table: those Chocolate Bombs - which are GREAT by the way!

The staff was very friendly and delightful. The food was all fantastic and came out of the kitchen quickly.

The place was very loud, but that's because it was full of other people - the sign of a successful place.

I would definitely come back to The Smith again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch with my 10 year old daug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch with my 10 year old daughter. Interesting menu, fresh ingredients, friendly service, youthful vibrancy but not too noisy. Recommend it

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, but by 7:30, busy, hot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant, but by 7:30, busy, hot and EXTREMELY loud. I'd still recommend it, the food and service were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was yummy, service was great! We ha ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was yummy, service was great! We had a table in the back, which was nice and quiet before a party of 10 sat down. I brought family visiting from out of town, and once we could no longer hear each other, we knew the setup wasn't going to work. We asked to be moved and they accommodated us immediately. We ended up closer to outside with a lovely breeze and NYC vibes for my out of town guests. They loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for lunch. Service was good. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Went there for lunch. Service was good. Seems like they didn't have some items on the menu, but overall everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every part of this meal was spectacular. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every part of this meal was spectacular. We started with the calamari, cheesy chips, and donuts. Everything was top notch quality (especially the chips). Then I had the lobster roll which was so much lobster. Such a great problem to have. Topped if off with the smores mason jar and berry pie dessert. Not only was it the best tasting brunch iv been to thus far in NYC, but also the best environment with friendly and enthusiastic service and clientele. I highly recommend going (make a reservation), and will def be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst service I have ever experienced. R ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced. Rudest waiter

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.