About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (54)
Casual (46)
Good for Groups (38)
See All
Great for Lunch (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Comfort Food (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Fun (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Late-night Find (9)
People Watching (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Business Meals (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Went here before the Adam Ant concert at Webster Hall. This is an excellent bistro. The food was great! Tthe waiter was excellent about bringing the food out quickly so we weren't late for the door opening.

Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We made the reservation easily, got there and enjoyed every minute and the food was great! Perfect night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful interior and service however, food was overly salted but bland on other flavors and prices are too high.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Rushed service, food ok, friend hated the cod, decent burger and fries, shrimp dish ok, Gnocchi not what was expected. Was still eating, litetally, took plate out from under with burger in hand.

Been to Nomad location for brunch. Brunch was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Average brunch experience. Food and service were not as good as in the past. Avocado toast was burnt. I think food sat out too long before coming to our table so the food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience again - this is my go to place when my BFF is in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

food is amazing and service was great - wouldnt recommend for any serious meeting - the restaurant is very popular and usually packed making it louder than a usual lunch spot. Brunch deals are great - first drink is free when you order off of the brunch menu !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great American brunch. Noisy and packed place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

There were 5 of us and 4 people had special instructions. The waiter did not flinch and he got everything correct. The food was very good. The noise level was extremely high - the restaurant is very popular.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This location is always a go to. I've never gone with a large group. And the service was impeccable. We did not wait more then maybe 2 minutes for a lovely table.

From the hostess to our server Doug everyone was helpful and kind.

The food doesn't need much words. Everything was delicious. The group talked about dinner for the rest of the weekend.

I love this smith so much that we had our engagement party at Porta Asbury. Not only is this location great all of them are.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The table was very small but everything else was fine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food, great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was our first time at this restaurant. It was lovely, food was tasty. But I would definitely not recommend it if you are on a date and want to converse with your better half. More gals/boys night out!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to spend Valentine's Day with a friends. The food was delicious and our server was lovely.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a fantastic place for brunch. We definitely visit again when in NY.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We came here for brunch when we're in town, to catch up with friends we hadn't seen in a while. The atmosphere is nice, but it was a little too noisy - sometimes it's hard to hear what our friends were saying. Service was good, although I felt rushed to order. But they were attentive and kept refilling my coffee. Food was not too impressive. I ordered steak and eggs, medium rare. The steak was cold when it arrived, so was the hash brown. It felt like it had been sitting out before being brought to the table. I tasted my husband's French toast and it was good. He also enjoyed the cocktail he had. All in all, it was a good time, and the location can't be beat. But I would probably pick a different restaurant the next time we're in East Village.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not bad, not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food! We appreciated getting seated right at the time of our reservation despite it being very busy. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place in the village! typical sunday brunch atmosphere and great staff!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We headed to The Smith just before heading out of town after spending our Saturday on Broadway and culinary experiences for lunch and dinner. My meal at The Smith was just about as enjoyable as those on Saturday! I had the Sicilian Baked Eggs and my wife had the BLT+E Sandwich. The Bloody Mary was really good, too! Service was just as good as the food. I'd definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very loud and noisy but in a fun way. Definitely need a reservation for brunch, the place was packed. A little hard to navigate to your seat as the tables are quite close together. Food and service was excellent. Great coffee. Accommodated a friend's gluten free needs very graciously.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

HORRIBLE they dont let drink FORGEINERS only US citizens and Canadiens. OPEN MIND people PLEASE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My pasta dish with the mushrooms was so overwhelmingly salty I couldn't eat it and sent it back. The waitress was very apologetic and took it off the bill immediately.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Smith has pared its menu nicely and adjusted prices accordingly. The service is attentive and friendly--good team coverage at noon. The Pot of Mussels arrive in a large pot with lots of fresh, tastey broth and served with ample, hot shoestring fries. Very attractive dessert selection, but way too sweet for this diner.

The neighborhood has become competitive, but, The Smith has withstood the tests of time and clientele and remains outstanding for lunch, brunch and late dining

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The noise level is so high my ear ached. our waitress was pleasant and friendly which made my dining experience that night palatable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always a pleasure and tonight even moreso! Our amazing server gave the seven of us incredible service including the anniversary dessert for our friends and a replacement bibimbop for my leftovers since mine was accidentally thrown out. Thank you again. The Smith is our favourite restaurant for a reason. Thanks again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Perfect date night spot. Good food, big variety, trendy and hip decor and plenty of seating options

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food came out cold and multiple orders were placed incorrectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I'm not one to make a fuss at restaurants, I'm a young 20-something it's not my place, but having worked in restaurants I have a few things I just don't find very courteous. It is a pet peeve of mine when restaurants have your table ready but refuse to seat you until your whole party has arrived. I made a reservation, I expect to have something put aside for me. When we were seated a half hour after our reservation, we were taken to a literally empty downstairs dining room. I could have sat this whole time. While we did wait we waited at the bar, and the bartenders never once asked if we were interested in a drink while we waited. Our service was poor as well; drinks were mixed up, I felt rushed, and our entrees came out with no replacement forks from the ones we used for our appetizer. So we sat with food until someone noticed me with a hand up. Overall bad experience and wouldn't recommend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great Mac n'cheese.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been wanting to go to the smith for years. I finally gave in and booked a reservation. It was such a let down. I wanted to like it so badly, but it just wasn't good. It started off with a bus boy throwing a bag of one piece of bread on the table. The bread was hard as a rock. And one piece for two people? We skipped it. The presentation of it was also just cheap. The water given to the table was warm. After ordering the menus were never taken from us. The mac n cheese was extremely overrated. It was the reason we went there since I travel the world in search of great mac. It left an aftertaste and I definitely didn't feel inclined to finish it. The butternut squash rings were the only redeeming element. They were surprisingly good though a bit on the done side. The pretzels came out burnt so they were sent back. The new batch was lighter, but also very hard. The restaurant was packed and it felt like everyone was sitting on top of each other. Sadly, we won't be coming back. It just didn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This place was recommended for our girls trip to NYC and it was fantastic! The food was delicious, large portions, drinks were delicious and service was great. Overall great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great spot for dinner when you're in the mood for American fare. The tomato soup was a big hit at our table, so I would recommend that. The brick pressed chicken was also good, and I loved the tuna carpaccio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I went to The Smith (East Village) for the second time on 1/15/17. I ordered the BLT+E sandwich, which is a croissant with tomato, bacon, fried egg, and lettuce. The tomato was moldy and I showed the waiter and he didn't care. I didn't ask for my money back. All I wanted for was this to be communicated to the kitchen staff. I am pregnant and am very sensitive to bacteria. I will never go here again and recommend anyone who wants to be sure they are eating fresh and clean food to not come here either. Also, we paid FULL price. There was no apology or anything. For an $18 sandwich, I deserved a fresh tomato and not the worry that I may have eaten contaminated food that could harm my unborn baby.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was extremely loud, dark, and crowded. We were seated at a terrible cafe table near the door. The menu was pretty bland. All of the food needed some flavor, very average taste. Wine was insanely overpriced ($15 for a 'cup' - not even served in a glass) and the moscow mule was TERRIBLE and still cost $13. Didn't bother with dessert. We had the meatballs, which tasted frozen. Calamari, which was so drab I didn't want to eat it, and the mac and cheese which was pretty uninspired. The tuna poke was delicious though! Very good flavor, nice touch adding the nuts to the dish. Overall, I would only go back to this place for brunch/lunch. Definitely not worth it for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to The Smith prior to attending a show at Joe's Pub. We made reservations and were seated right away. The Smith has a wide selection of cocktails and great atmosphere. I'm a vegetarian so I ordered the vegetarian bibimbap. It was delicious. My sister ordered the fish.

We couldn't resist the dessert. Let's just say the sticky toffee pudding is amazing. On a previous visit I had the ice cream sundae and that was very good too.

It can get a little loud but I live the vibe. The wait staff is attentive. They serve their own purified seltzer and water in two bottles at the table which I appreciated.

I wish there were more vegetarian options but the bibimbap was really good so I'd order it again.

The drinks are tasty and have a good kick to them.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were seated in the basement, which had a cozy feel. The menu was pretty diverse. I had the brick flattened chicken and my wife had the beef short rib. Both were very good, but not 5 star quality. Ambience was nice. They did a great job decorating around the unique quality of the building.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was excellent and I love the restaurants vibe. One of my favorite in the city.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We go here every year when we are attending the Globalfest at Webster Haall. Service is outstanding and the food is very good. I had the spaghetti and meatballs.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Between the weekend brunch menu (ends at 4), the abbreviated after-brunch menu (4-5pm), and the dinner menu (5pm), a very different set of options unspools as the day goes on. Just don't miss the hot fudge sundae.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding service! Excellent coffee and food. Would recommend for a group brunch

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious but the restaurant was extremely loud. In addition, my table of two was seated in between two parties of eight and it was very hard to hear each other and enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a group of six and went to The Smith at an off-peak time. It was great - the service was great, the food was great, the ambience was great. This place always delivers!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was good, although they brought out the appetizers as same time they brought out the main course which made us feel rushed. A bit pricey for what you got.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

food took forever to come out and portions were small. had to practically beg for a coffee refill.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a favorite no matter the meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was off the hook good. Worth it all the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place, bit crowded sometimes but hard to go wrong here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Solid dining experience. My fathers dish arrived cold but they fixed this quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.