About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with three upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown and The Smith Lincoln Center. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite before a movie, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (152)
good for groups (132)
fit for foodies (107)
See All
neighborhood gem (92)
hot spot (88)
great for lunch (87)
vibrant bar scene (64)
special occasion (43)
late-night find (37)
romantic (25)
kid-friendly (24)
great for outdoor dining (9)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The best brunch I have tried in East Vil ...

Dined 2 days ago

The best brunch I have tried in East Village! Quick service and even better food. Although I would definitely recommend that you make a reservation on the weekend as the place fills up very fast. The complimentary fresh squeezed juice that came with our meal was a nice addition. I would recommend the Smoked Salmon Benedict and the Breakfast Pot Pie!

food4
ambience2
service2

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast ...

Dined 4 days ago

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast at 10:30.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was ver ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was very good. Must try the home made potato chips with blue cheese fondue, indulge with a house made Bloody Mary, you will not be disappointed. Save room for dessert and order the Sticky Toffee Pudding, ridiculousness...

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

Dined on May 20, 2016

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food which exceeded expectations. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food which exceeded expectations. Excellent cocktails. Great service. Very loud on main floor, would request quieter table downstairs now that we know it exists.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and service!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and the service was top notch. They were exceptional about handling the food allergies on our table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasse ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasses of Chardonnay $30.00.... WHAT.....???? Go for the food nor drinks!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Everyone treats you so nice! The waitres ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everyone treats you so nice! The waitress was very thoughtful and helpful, always wanting to make sure everything was good! We tried the the smith bar steak and it was delicious!! I can't stop thinking about it omg the chimichurri AMAZING and the French fries were sooo good! I also order the mac & cheese it was TO DIE FOR! Definitely coming back!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The place was packed since it was mother ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The place was packed since it was mother's day but we were seated right away. We got the menus and water quickly, but our server took at least 20 minutes before he came to take our order. A minus for the restaurant. After we ordered, the food arrived in a timely manner. I had the avocado toast which was tasty but the toast itself was slightly soggy therefore difficult to cut. I think the restaurant can upgrade their coffee beans. It is not up to par. Otherwise we had a marvelous afternoon at The Smith.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

This is a go to place and without fail y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a go to place and without fail you will enjoy the food and friendly, unrushed and accommodating service. Nothing inexpensive but nothing disappointing either. You most certainly get what you pay for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reserved a table for Mother's Day brunch without ever having visited and was so pleasantly surprised. Atmosphere was adorable yet sophisticated, menu was huge, and every single thing my party of 6 ordered was so incredible that we all just shared everything. We will definitely be coming back

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch menu and cocktails!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great brunch menu and cocktails!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Smith was enjoyable for dinner- The ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Smith was enjoyable for dinner- The lighting was a little too bright, but the food was pretty good- good value

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was very good. Starter ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service was very good. Starter doughnuts were not great but everything else was really good. Prices were as you would expect for NYC. Would definitely go back.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A Solid Dining Option

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our party of five enjoyed our recent dinner at The Smith - East Village while visiting New York. We now know why we were able to reserve a table at The Smith when finding a table at other East Village restaurants was a challenge: the get ''em in, get 'em out approach. Despite a very fast-paced meal, the food, as reviews on Open Table and other sources indicate, was well-executed and, well, good. All of us enjoyed our meals and walked away with a sense that we wouldn't have gone wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Tasty, satisfying brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

The avocado toast and home fries were divine. I was very pleased with my brunch, as well as the décor of the restaurant - it was modern and trendy, and looked like it could have been designed by Joanna Gaines of Fixer Upper. Noise levels were quite high, so this might be a difficult place to meet up with a large group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MUST, MUST, MUST!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This place is awesome! We were given the best seat in the house, (lower level, corner) a table for two. We ordered a large carafe of wine, the Friday Night Special ,(back by popular demand) the lobster roll, the pork chop, the bone in rib eye, the jalapeno cheddar grits (OH MY!) , the charred asparagus and the smashed garlic potatoes. EVERYTHING was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Recommendation: REPEAT! REPEAT! REPEAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent experience. Great food and ple ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent experience. Great food and plenty of choices

food5
ambience5
service5

The Mac and cheese was great!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Mac and cheese was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fabulous location for gro ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and fabulous location for groups!

food4
ambience5
service5

Staff was excellent. Very warm & attenti ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Staff was excellent. Very warm & attentive which I do not expect in NYC. The food was good, not exceptional but good. Nothing to complain about but nothing I can't wait to go back for. The location was great & ambiance was vibrant. Love the decor too. Overall a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always welcoming

Dined on April 18, 2016

Everything was great, from being seating to our meal. Food was great, server was kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

We like the restaurant for a local after-theater dinner. At 5:30 pm, the noise level is low enough to be able to hear everyone clearly. The food is very good, but certain items are not nearly hot enough and it may be due to less than optimal management of the food delivery. For example, the fried calamari appetizer wasn't hot enough. The broiled pork chopped was perfectly cooked medium rare, hot when delivered, but served on luke-warm mashed potatoes. They need to get all the aspects right. Enjoyed the roasted brussel sprouts side order, prepared with capers, currants and garlic with a vinaigrette.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find for Sunday Brunch!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Took a nice walk from midtown to a great brunch. Doors were open exposing the front tables to the lovely day. Food was delicious. Was offered a free glass of juice. They accommodated my dietary concerns. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food is very mediocre. Noise level i ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is very mediocre. Noise level is high, but we luckily got a booth which helped. Service was fine. I see no reason to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch place. Excellent and intere ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great brunch place. Excellent and interesting options. Delicious yet expensive coffee.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

For Millenials

Dined on April 12, 2016

Good food, noisy with a busy bar scene that attracts young crowd. Nightly specials a good value Four Smiths in Manhattan now support this successful formula.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

always great

Dined on April 11, 2016

I've been to the Smith many, many times. It is always a solid option. It is rarely my first choice, just because I've been there so many times, but as a fall back there could not be a better option. You know the service will be spot on, the food will be above average to excellent, and it will always have a good vibe. Whether it is my wife and I for a quick bite, a group of 4 for brunch, or 10 guys for a weekend dinner, I've never left disappointed. I won't give 5 stars just because there are so many amazing restaurants in NYC that are truly amazing. But I love the Smith and will go there probably another 3 times this month!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent casual brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is definitely the place to go if you are looking to talk over brunch with friends. Great atmosphere, cool setting, and terrific variety on both the food and drink menu. The jalapeno cheddar grits changed my life, that is how good they are! Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, food, service, and value

Dined on April 10, 2016

The caption sums up the establishment. Brunch is incredible, it is well priced, the service is quick and friendly, and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch experience

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I ate here while visiting a family member at NYU. The food was delicious. My dining companions both had avocado toast, one with a poached egg and one without and they were delicious. One also ordered a side of home fries which were magnificent. I dined on the Ranchero Scramble and it was equally as good. The entrees for Sunday brunch come with a complimentary juice and the grapefruit juice was great. Overall, great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2

Very long wait to sit Busy waiters

Dined on April 10, 2016

Very long wait to sit Busy waiters

food3
ambience4
service5

The waiter, Scott, was so knowledgeable ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The waiter, Scott, was so knowledgeable about the menu and helped us make a decision. The food was ok. The fondue potato chips were great!

food5
ambience5
service4

Ordered the tagliatelle with shrimp, Bru ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Ordered the tagliatelle with shrimp, Brussels sprout flat bread, sides of fries ( must ask for their ranch to dip!) and the apple crisp! All were exceptional! Service was a bit slow.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food , a little different we will go back

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our fault for not knowing . It was Sunday afternoon @ 4:30 and we wanted diner. They had us wait till 5:00 before taking our order. The food was very good and we filled in the time with there hot potato chip and blue cheese and a pretzel with mustard. That was also very good All in all we where very pleased. The only negative is the acoustics. The hard surfaces make the noise level higher then I would have liked it

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Sunday Brunch!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Looked up this spot on yelp for Sunday Brunch and went for it. Make reservations like we did and got seated right away even on a busy Sunday! Had the waffles and my husband got the breakfast pot pie, both were delicious! You even get a free cocktail from the choices or a juice with a brunch order.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

No orange juice for Sunday Brunch says i ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

No orange juice for Sunday Brunch says it all.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our party grew

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our party grew from 2 to 3 and they worked quickly to accommodate us. They seemed to be in the business of being nice to their customers. We had theater tickets and they offered prompt service.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Terrific service, food was good. Tuna po ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Terrific service, food was good. Tuna poke was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an great place

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Came here on a Sat and came right back on Sunday. Pancakes are to die for.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.