Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Smith - East Village

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (55)
Casual (43)
Fun (37)
See All
Comfort Food (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
People Watching (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very accommodating for our party of 7. Service was amazing, food delivered quickly, drinks were tasty!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome atmosphere, great service, food was amazing

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I love going to the Smith! The food is fantastic, the service is always on par and the menu is very creative. Jenny was at the host stand and was eager to greet us complete with a warm smile and pleasant demeanor. Hayley was our server tonight and she was fabulous! She quickly recognized my boyfriend and I were on a date and made sure to make us feel warm and welcomed. The manager Kevin was amazing! He gave us complimentary prosecco at the end of our dining experience to celebrate the occasion. I would 100% return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I love the food at The Smith but it is SO LOUD. The acoustics are just TERRIBLE. It's really unpleasant if you go at a busy hour. If you go at off-hours or when it's not too crowded, it's great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good for groups, ample menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was another amazing experience! The service was incredible with several waitresses attending to our every need, and they even threw in a monkey bread on the house! This place is the best; even though it may be a small chain, the outstanding service and high food quality make each location feel like one of a kind

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We loved the combination of unique menu items and excellent versions of classics, both for food and drinks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great place. The smith is always a winner in my book. Note - this location doesn't serve gluten free pasta but has gluten free options available . Our server was AMAZING - I believe that she trains other servers at other smith locations too. She made our night fantastic and explained the options that my boyfriend has, due to his celiac. The smith is also very careful about food allergies and takes extra precaution when preparing your food!
Ordered the scallops (Friday special) and my boyfriend got the steak - both were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I came for the mac n cheese and it was very good- not as decadent and cheesy as we thought but still very satisfying. The steak was cooked perfectly and our drinks were alright, overall a mildly pleasant experience. However...the staff made this experience less pleasant than it could have been. Our hostess originally sat us in a weird table at the edge of a corner even though there is AMPLE seating and the place was only about 20% full! We instantly moved ourselves over one table. Then, 15 minutes later, this hostess sits another couple right next to us! In an almost empty restaurant with tons of seating this was just awkward and rude. The couple obviously agreed as they instantly moved themselves over one table as well. This happened AGAIN until this weird back corner was completely full. It was so bizarre, we could hear everyones conversations and barely have a dialogue. In a restaurant with so much seating, it is unacceptable to shove the only 5 couples that walk in ALL in the same back corner. We weren't the only ones who thought this... As we could CLEARLY hear everyone around us sitting inches away, many others were aggravated by this. Not sure what that hostess was thinking but she made what could of been an exceptional evening, mediocre.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved it. We all had a great meal. Nice varied menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very accommodating of the allergies we had st the table. Which was very nice and appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Second time here. Had the Prime Burger again and it was good...not as good as last time. A bit overcooked and the bun was a touch dry. Cocktails were good and service was good this time (we sat in the dining room).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a lovely dinner with various family members joining at alternative times. Our waitress was extremely accommodating and great about managing drinks and meals for everyone. Food was great from burgers to steaks to our personal request for well done french fries. We will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was my first time at The Smith East. The food was really good, as was the food at the one in Lincoln Center where I'd been before. Great for comfort food! I had their eggs Benedict dish with roasted tomato hollendaise sauce. It was the best egg dish I've had in a really long time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Brunch exceeded expectations. The vanilla bean French toast is out of this world. Steak and eggs & eggs Benedict perfect. Will definitely be back. Exceptional service as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went for brunch on a Sunday Am. Good thing we had reservations. The food and service was great. My only complaint was the noise level! Other than that, it was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Best of The Smith restaurants we've been to so far.
It's relaxing with the front opened to the sidewalk.
Great spot to eat!!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My favorite spot for Sunday brunch. The entree with a free drink is a lovely idea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very good food, but very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great beer and cocktails, delicious burger and food. The service is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have been here many times but left very disappointed on this occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Continuously reminded that they have one of the best burgers in NYC. Always great and cooked to perfection. Terrific setting and always great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a great time. Service was great. We loved the busser Jose!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I came to The Smith (East Village) location for brunch with my friend. I had the traditional Eggs Benedict and he had the Benedict Johnny. Both were delicious! The only downside is that our waitress forgot to order my friend's cocktail, but she apologized. Overall, I would recommend for brunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Unique brunch items, good neighborhood restaurant. Would love to give it a try for lunch or dinner. Great ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went with extended family
Kids and adults
everyone was happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Meh, Bland , boring food. but really nice servers and nice seating near sidewalk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good vibes and amazing food!! Try the brick pressed chicken, you will not regret it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Terrible all of our meals we so salty and just awful
Two of us were sick all night after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

VERY load inside. Other than that, fun high energy hip spot.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were on our way to a concert and booked this last minute. This place was loud. The concrete walls and hard floors made every sounds reverberate to make it next to impossible to hold a conversation. If you want to have a nice meal without being able to talk to your fellow diner, this is the place to go.

The service was great, very fast and very attentive. The food was excellent. It's just a shame it was so damn loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I am torn on this restaurant. I was dining there solo before a show and sat at the bar. It was obvious the bartender was not able to handle the full bar that was in front of her. The first drink order was delivered and the whiskey pour (for the price) was below average. I ordered dinner (Prime Burger) with an empty glass in front of me and was not asked at that point if I wanted another. About five minutes later I was asked and ordered a drink off of their specialty drinks menu. I didn't see that drink for about ten minutes and that is only after I asked the second bartender who was on if he would please make it as I had been waiting (which he kindly did). The burger was excellent and I may go back for that as it really was one of the better burgers I have had, but I won't go in a rush or if I am feeling like boozing it up as there are much better places for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We made reservations at The Smith before seeing a show at Webster Hall. The menu was extensive...something for everyone. The waitstaff was very friendly and super respectful of our time restraints before the show. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food and good service. The prices were a little high, but great atmosphere. Good for groups or date. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall a food experience. I bring the whole family here for brunch and dinner and have never had a bad review to give.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was a great place! Good food and great ambiance!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food - good atmosphere -
Excellent waiter!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

food is ok very overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Nice selection of food ranging from steak to seafood. Speciality drinks were very good and a fair price for NYC.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.