Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Smith - East Village

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (76)
Casual (72)
Great for Lunch (52)
See All
Good for Groups (51)
Fun (49)
Comfort Food (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
People Watching (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great Beer (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Healthy (8)
Romantic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Family Style (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 hours ago

It was my boyfriend birthday. The waiter I believe her name was Emily was amazing. She was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

You can't go wrong with just about any dish. All made with a very delicious, home-made flavor.

Manja

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations for Sunday brunch while visiting NYC. We were seated immediately upon arrival. Staff was very friendly and the food was good. It was just so noisy we couldn't have a conversation. That spoiled our experience. We chose The Smith based on a friend's recommendation. Had we known we wouldn't be able to chat in a conversational tone, we would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always consistent and great.

Linda our server was super professional, friendly and knew her stuff. Sadly that's not the norm these days in restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Had the pork chop - it was juicy, but pink so I didn't eat it. The first bite was fine when the waitress asked, but didn't see her again until after the plates were cleared. Would try it again, but not the same dish.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I loved the atmosphere and the fact that you get a complimentary beverage with lunch. The avocado toast was a winner ( we had it w/out egg). My egg white omelette was just okay but my son's French toast was very tasty. Service wasn't quite as attentive as i like but okay overall

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was great! Only thing is that the seafood paella was too salty

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very fresh and good service was excellent and so were the drinks

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We came in for a casual Saturday brunch. Food was delicious and drinks were good! Great spot if you want a chill meal and good standard brunch options. I ordered the BLT+E which exactly hit my expectations and had a taste of the breakfast pot pie which was super rich, but very tasty.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Smith is one of my go-to restaurants. Being vegan, I am always looking for restaurants that are happy to cater to the veggie-friendly and omnivores alike. Menu highlights from The Smith include the Bibimbap (no egg for me) and the Seared Tuna Salad (substitute mango for tuna). I also love their Shishito Peppers and Hummus appetizers and the local dry rose cider they carry, perfect summertime beverage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent food with a variety for all palates (carnivores, vegetariana) and sustainable approach to food selection. Waitstaff were very attentive. Food was truly delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I really enjoyed The Smith. They have a very approachable menu, which is good when you have guests from out of town. Their food is very photogenic :)

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Outstanding brunch and the server was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I've been a regular at The Smith where the service is always superb! The noise level was a bit high however not unusual for a Saturday brunch. In either case it's always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing Mac and cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Came here for a company celebration, really enjoyed the cocktails and food... the salmon and the creme brûlée cheesecake were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We were going to Webster Hall to see Imelda May and decided to have dinner at The Smith because of the atmosphere and food. We lucked out and sat next to the Imelda's band! It was a great evening all around. And our server was so lovely too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was great as always and the service was very quick. Will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Ate brunch with a large party. Food was great, as were the Bloody Mary drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything is fine. Food is good. Nice service. Waitress was very nice and helpful. Restaurant was clean and decor was old NYC bar. But boy that Noise! The other reviewers pointed out the noise. Was going with some young people so I thought it wouldnt be a big deal, but even they thought it was too loud. Its not that the crowd out of control. I think it is just how the walls are covered in tile and the must reflex the sound.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great meal, great vibes! Always a fun time at The Smith

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Fried chicken was bomb!! Mac n cheese so gooey!! Fish had so much flavor!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had a tasty breakfast and the service was wonderful!!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day! Fantastic service! Our waitress made the time the family spent together much more valued. She was attentive and personable. The food always good, and for me the level of interaction by the customers with each made the atmosphere more " homey" , not for everyone, but fine for me! Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ive been to the Smith in midtown east and loved that place. So decided to check place out with a friend. They have decent Sunday brunch menu. I liked the food; the drinks are reasonablly priced as well. I highly recommend this place -- great service; classy and unpretentious.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Once again this place was delightful. The service was great, the waitress was very welcoming and attentive to making sure we were satisfied with our meal. The food was great and top notch. The mac and cheese dish is a must when coming here! I had the prime time burger which was very unique and tasted so good. My girlfriend had the porkchop dish, she enjoyed it very much. I absolutely recommend this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Tasty food, good drinks, cool neighborhood and exceptional service

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I know what chipotle pepper tastes like. The egg dish described as having chipotle has an ordinary tasting sauce, with little or no smokiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I had. The. Best. Time.

I wish I could remember the name of our waitress. She was wonderful. She was training another server and doing an excellent job. Her patience with us was truly appreciated. We were so indecorous and loud because we were having such a good time. It was supposed to be just dinner but then we lingered for another drink and then another and so....

The drinks were superb. My tagliatelle... wasn't tagliatelle but the flavors were spot on and I ate the whole thing. I couldn't regret it.

I would definitely go back. I would definitely take friends. I was so relieved to have two friends' groups meet and get along so well I just might have to make this place a regular occurrence despite my general dislike for food chains.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This place is still going strong. Service and food are good. It's a really lively spot for friends to get together and have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Smith is a classic! I always enjoy my time here.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant! Consistent food and service. Appetizers are terrific and comforting. We both had the burger and it was fantastic. Will come back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were a table of four. This restaurant has very good food, the noise level was absolutely unbearable however. Impossible to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Sunday special of Spaghetti & Meatballs was delicious and the drink options were varied and unique. Relaxed but upbeat atmosphere and the service was great. Will definitely come here again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great for brunch. I would recommend making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Awesome place! Definitely worth visiting. Best mac & cheese ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent service. The noise level is high but it contributes to the energy of the place. Good food selection with options that are twists on the more traditional brunch menu items. This place offers something for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Outstanding.... Perfect in every way. Food is delicious and varied. Staff is friendly and professional. Ambiance ... Great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Smith was a great brunch place! Great service and menu. I just wish they still were making the bacon scones on the menu.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wow this was a disappointment. The goat cheese empanadas were dry and the goat cheese undetectable. The waitress was great and removed them from our bill. My daughter ordered the "snack" -- chips and blue cheese -- which was a huge bowl that could feed a table, but who knew? The pinot grigio was cool but not cold. The main course food was extremely average and the noise level almost impossible. I cannot imagine how this place got so many stars -- we picked it for the reviews and the proximity to the theatre we were going to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.