About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Hot Potato Chips With Blue Cheese Fondue - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mac and Cheese - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Beer Battered String Beans - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Burger Deluxe - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Ahi Tuna Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Chicken Pot Pie - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Portobello Mushroom Fries - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Cheddar Biscuit - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mediterranean Salad With Shrimp - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Bibimbap - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Ricotta Gnocchi - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Ranchero Scramble - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Vegetable Bibimbap - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mushroom Omelette - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Avocado Sandwich - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Pot Of Mussels - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Filet Mignon - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Salmon - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Vegetable Bibimbop - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Rest Of The Bounty! - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Assorted Fried And Cheesy Goodies - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Deviled Eggs - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Roasted Chicken Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Salade Niçoise - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mediterranean Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Shishito Peppers - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Roasted Fish Sandwich - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Brick Pressed Chicken - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Grilled Shrimp - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
fried chicken - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Potato Waffle Benedict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Portobello Fries - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Rosato Syrah - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
pancakes - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Birthday cake - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Vanilla Bean French Toast - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Quarter Pounders - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Maple Chicken Sausage - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Cheese Grits - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Brussels Sprouts - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Artichoke Flatbread - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Candy Bacon - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Glazed Donuts - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Sicilian Baked Eggs - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Lobster Eggs Benedict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Blood Orange Mimosa - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
BLT - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Espresso - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Original Old Fashioned - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Fruit - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Pork Chop - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Croaker - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Jalapeno & Cheddar Grits - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Allegash White - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Huevos rancheros - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Rose Wine - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Maine Lobster Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Bacon - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Smores Cake In A Jar - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Fried Calamari - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Trout Milanese - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Buttermilk Waffle - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Lobster Benedict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Lobster Eggs Benidict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Cheeseburger And Fries - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Steak Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict With Lobster Hollandaise - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Steak Au Poivre - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Macaroni and Cheese - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Chicken and Waffles - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Eggs Benedict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Waffles Eggs Benedict - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Giant Pretzel - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Hungry Teacher - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Croaker - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Hamburger - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mussels Pot - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Avocado Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Arugula & Fennel Salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
BLT & E - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Old Fashioned - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Chicken Sausage (plus) Eggs - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Country Breakfast - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
French Toast - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Ham And Egg Buttermilk Biscuit - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Chicken Sausage & Eggs on Cornbread - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Caramel & Nuts Sundae - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Baked Pretzel - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
lobster tostada - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
shrimp salad - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Bread Pudding Sundae - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Burrata - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Strawberry Rhubarb Soda - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Chicken Pie - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Shrimp Roll - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
Mussels - The Smith - East Village, New York, NY

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (48)
Great for Brunch (47)
Comfort Food (40)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (32)
Fun (30)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Hot Spot (20)
People Watching (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Family Style (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband took me here for brunch for m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband took me here for brunch for my birthday. We brought along our 6 month old daughter. The food was outstanding, the waitress was super nice. We did not have to wait with our reservation. I loved it, cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch with the girls. Hostess ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Saturday brunch with the girls. Hostess sat us in a nice table in the corner so we could chat. Waitress was informative and helpful, gave us recommendations on most popular food and drink. We all enjoyed our meals and generally had a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service and very energ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great service and very energetic. I love The Smith. I've never had a bad meal there. It's not where you want to go for a quiet evening but it's a fun date place. The bar snacks and starters are amazing - great for sharing. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I chose this restaurant & location based ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I chose this restaurant & location based on the reviews I had read. This restaurant was absolutely amazing. The seating is spacious and the noise level is quiet. The food was delicious and our server, Paul P was the best! I highly recommend!

What we ordered:

Fruit & Berries

Granola Parfait

Avocado Toast w/ Egg

Vanilla Bean French Toast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Thanksgiving meal, price fixed men ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great Thanksgiving meal, price fixed menu was very good value. Always enjoy eating at Smith no matter the location...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food and service, would defini ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful food and service, would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose The Smith for Thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We chose The Smith for Thanksgiving dinner as we liked the menu for both the regular offering and the special dinner. While we waited for 20 minutes (although we were told our table was being readied when we came in...), we were pleased to have a booth that seemed to dull some of the noise. Our server Kirsten was lovely, with a capital L. She made us feel right at home from the moment she greeted us. The food was better than we could have imagined, all four of us were pleased with our meal, and the dessert was fantastic. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good tasty brunch options. I enjoyed the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good tasty brunch options. I enjoyed the Benedict Johnny. The dessert menu looked great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time but super loud in there.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great time but super loud in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was okay. The noise level made it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was okay. The noise level made it impossible to converse without shouting to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Best part of my boyfriend's 40th b-day w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Best part of my boyfriend's 40th b-day was how great our server, Hannah C, took care of us.

She went above and beyond our expectations!

On a busy Thursday night, she kept a smile on her face, checked on our table regularly but not annoyingly, coursed the meal just right and never allowed our attention to become distracted by any needs.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was great, as usual, with the k ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was great, as usual, with the kitchen even helping my vegan friend with ensuring their brussels sprouts were cooked separately from other potential meet items. Service was friendly and always handy with fresh bottles of water (I've always loved sparkling comes included). Unfortunately, two of my beer requests were unavailable but the bartender was helpful in getting me something tasty.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Decent brunch spot in a sea of mediocre. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Decent brunch spot in a sea of mediocre. Many options. Very nice server. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It took a while for the drinks and food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It took a while for the drinks and food to come out, but overall everything was delicious and the service was good. Their bloody mary was really good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great and Linda our waitress wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great and Linda our waitress was attentive and friendly

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud. Babies. Great food!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loud. Babies. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Prime Burger was dry and not very fl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Prime Burger was dry and not very flavorful. Not worth the price at all.

but the cocktail with rye and habenaro lime was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, wonderful service.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the loudest restaurant I' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is one of the loudest restaurant I've ever been. You know when you have an annoying loud table next to you? Take that and multiply it by 40x. People seemed happy with the noise--some people like that... but I had to scream for my friends to hear me and that's not nice.

The food was good and the service nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food and service were great, but the noi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service were great, but the noise level was bordering unbearable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

We had a great family meal at the Smith ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great family meal at the Smith - East Village. It was consistent with another location we once went to in Lincoln Center. Ambiance was great, prices were moderate, service was top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined in here for a Sunday brunch with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I dined in here for a Sunday brunch with my friend. Fried Calamari was on point, however, Short Rib Hash that I had for my entreé was too oily and I couldn't even finish the half of it. I went there at 14:30pm but the restaurant was still crazily busy and loud. I was expecting more tasty food and better experience there since it has many good reviews. I don't think I am going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fantastic neighbourhood restaurant. Lov ...

 
 (Kent)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic neighbourhood restaurant. Loved it. Still daydream about their Short ribs, eggs and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went for Sunday Funda ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for Sunday Funday Brunch it was bussling, great atmosphere and the food was delicious! I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really really good buzzing brunch spot.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really really good buzzing brunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered a few appetizers and all were de ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Ordered a few appetizers and all were delicious. Variety of drink options as well!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and excellent service. This was our first time eating here and it won't be the last. Do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, casual fun place. Great for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food, casual fun place. Great for pre Webster Hall show.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love The Smith - Great atmosphere and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love The Smith - Great atmosphere and food is always good - it is my Go to restaurant - up town, down town...

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious, I wish they would gi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was delicious, I wish they would give more side portion to the main dish. The wines are overpriced

The service was excellent

The noise level was so high we could barely hear each other talk.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Decent food and a fun atmosphere, althou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decent food and a fun atmosphere, although it was super loud, so not the best choice if you want to have a conversation. Good desserts.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waiter! Great drinks! Great food! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great waiter! Great drinks! Great food! Very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the waitress was awesome. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and the waitress was awesome. Amazing ambience. Great location

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal! A little loud for a busi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious meal! A little loud for a business meal but we are friends too so it worked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and awesome ambiance! Mac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service and awesome ambiance! Mac and cheese and Friesland string beans were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere with simple yet very cl ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great atmosphere with simple yet very clever flavours. The staff were excellent and the bartenders were skilled cocktail makers 😛I would definitely recommend The Smith to anyone wanting a genuine New York dining experience as enjoyed by real New Yorkers rather than the tourist trap restaurants.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the rib eye steak sharing ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Really enjoyed the rib eye steak sharing it with my husband! Also had the Mac and cheese for entree :) prices were also good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Smith was amazing!! The food was inc ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Smith was amazing!! The food was incredibly rich in flavor- we all loved the mac & cheese ordered as an appitizer for the table- and brunch food- the drinks were great too- had reservations for brunch on sunday and got seated right away. Great service- cant wait to go back and try the rest of the menu!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait about 20 minutes for our tab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had to wait about 20 minutes for our table, but the food was excellent and ambiance was fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The Smith East Village is as advertised. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The Smith East Village is as advertised. Good food, energetic crowd, lots of activity. Tables are a little close, but it is not intended to be a quiet lounge. On balance, a reliable choice for a better meal, but make reservations well in advance - prime times fill up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.