About The Smith - East Village

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Report a photo problem

The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY
The Smith - East Village, New York, NY

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (51)
Great for Brunch (48)
Comfort Food (42)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Great for Lunch (34)
Fun (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Modern Decor (15)
People Watching (14)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Family Style (10)
Business Meals (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Romantic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot for dinner when you're in the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for dinner when you're in the mood for American fare. The tomato soup was a big hit at our table, so I would recommend that. The brick pressed chicken was also good, and I loved the tuna carpaccio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to The Smith (East Village) for t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I went to The Smith (East Village) for the second time on 1/15/17. I ordered the BLT+E sandwich, which is a croissant with tomato, bacon, fried egg, and lettuce. The tomato was moldy and I showed the waiter and he didn't care. I didn't ask for my money back. All I wanted for was this to be communicated to the kitchen staff. I am pregnant and am very sensitive to bacteria. I will never go here again and recommend anyone who wants to be sure they are eating fresh and clean food to not come here either. Also, we paid FULL price. There was no apology or anything. For an $18 sandwich, I deserved a fresh tomato and not the worry that I may have eaten contaminated food that could harm my unborn baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The restaurant was extremely loud, dark, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was extremely loud, dark, and crowded. We were seated at a terrible cafe table near the door. The menu was pretty bland. All of the food needed some flavor, very average taste. Wine was insanely overpriced ($15 for a 'cup' - not even served in a glass) and the moscow mule was TERRIBLE and still cost $13. Didn't bother with dessert. We had the meatballs, which tasted frozen. Calamari, which was so drab I didn't want to eat it, and the mac and cheese which was pretty uninspired. The tuna poke was delicious though! Very good flavor, nice touch adding the nuts to the dish. Overall, I would only go back to this place for brunch/lunch. Definitely not worth it for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We went to The Smith prior to attending ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to The Smith prior to attending a show at Joe's Pub. We made reservations and were seated right away. The Smith has a wide selection of cocktails and great atmosphere. I'm a vegetarian so I ordered the vegetarian bibimbap. It was delicious. My sister ordered the fish.

We couldn't resist the dessert. Let's just say the sticky toffee pudding is amazing. On a previous visit I had the ice cream sundae and that was very good too.

It can get a little loud but I live the vibe. The wait staff is attentive. They serve their own purified seltzer and water in two bottles at the table which I appreciated.

I wish there were more vegetarian options but the bibimbap was really good so I'd order it again.

The drinks are tasty and have a good kick to them.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated in the basement, which ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated in the basement, which had a cozy feel. The menu was pretty diverse. I had the brick flattened chicken and my wife had the beef short rib. Both were very good, but not 5 star quality. Ambience was nice. They did a great job decorating around the unique quality of the building.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and I love the re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was excellent and I love the restaurants vibe. One of my favorite in the city.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We go here every year when we are attend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We go here every year when we are attending the Globalfest at Webster Haall. Service is outstanding and the food is very good. I had the spaghetti and meatballs.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Between the weekend brunch menu (ends at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Between the weekend brunch menu (ends at 4), the abbreviated after-brunch menu (4-5pm), and the dinner menu (5pm), a very different set of options unspools as the day goes on. Just don't miss the hot fudge sundae.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Excellent coffee an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding service! Excellent coffee and food. Would recommend for a group brunch

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious but the restaurant wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious but the restaurant was extremely loud. In addition, my table of two was seated in between two parties of eight and it was very hard to hear each other and enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We had a group of six and went to The Sm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a group of six and went to The Smith at an off-peak time. It was great - the service was great, the food was great, the ambience was great. This place always delivers!

Tags: , Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, although they brought out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was good, although they brought out the appetizers as same time they brought out the main course which made us feel rushed. A bit pricey for what you got.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

food took forever to come out and portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

food took forever to come out and portions were small. had to practically beg for a coffee refill.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Food was off the hook good. Worth it all ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was off the hook good. Worth it all the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid dining experience. My fathers dish ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Solid dining experience. My fathers dish arrived cold but they fixed this quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not much stood out. My seared tuna salad ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not much stood out. My seared tuna salad was tasteless, general low level complaints about the food all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Enjoyed our time at The Smith. Great hou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Enjoyed our time at The Smith. Great housemade sodas for the teens, and a delicious cocktail for mom. Fish and Chips were the special of the day. Good! The salmon entree was delicious, as were the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I wanted to celebrate my friends graduat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I wanted to celebrate my friends graduation with him and it was the perfect spot to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious and reliable with optio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always delicious and reliable with options for everyone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual atmosphere with Great service, ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Casual atmosphere with Great service, outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The wait staff is the best!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The wait staff is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time out with family in from out of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fun time out with family in from out of town. Food and service were great but the noise level was way up high. A little too hard to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed that the restaurant was sol ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Disappointed that the restaurant was sold out of the Burger Royale and it was only 1:00pm. They no longer make gluten free French fries. 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience. Great food, great serv ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great experience. Great food, great service, awesome people. A little loud, but it's manageable because you're so close together. Also fantastic drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a nice breakfast pla ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were looking for a nice breakfast place to start out our day trip to the city. Really nice, great coffee. All breakfasts were enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for a Family nite out with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect place for a Family nite out with teenagers. Lively crowd and cheery attentive waitstaff made dinner and event. Best of all, the kitchen takes great care with allergies.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love the food. Kale-quinoa salad ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always love the food. Kale-quinoa salad is the best. Jalapeño cheese grits should not be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting New York and wanted somewhere c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Visiting New York and wanted somewhere close to our apartment on our last night. The starters here were all way to spicy but the mains were delicious and good value for price. The venue has nice decor but the noise level was off the chart and on a Monday, ha ha. Not somewhere for a quiet meal or a first date, you wouldnt hear each other.

Id recommend though, the cod supper was very good!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, just really large portion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was good, just really large portions. They didn't update their menu and had items on there that they didn't have, which was disappointing. Bathrooms weren't clearly marked, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun atmosphere. Good, creative food. Gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Good, creative food. Great for lunch and brunch. Anticipate a high noise level.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic service, very impre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Absolutely fantastic service, very impressed. Great brunch menu, lovely Bloody Marys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at the bar. Great servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very nice brunch at the bar. Great service and good food. Very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall brunch at The Smith was a good e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall brunch at The Smith was a good experience. The only cons were that the tables were a bit too close together so it made it difficult to get up and that my food arrives warm and not hot. I did like what I ordered and I would still return, but I definitely see room for improvement. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We popped in here for brunch, after maki ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We popped in here for brunch, after making a reso on OT. We were glad to be seated in the downstairs dining room, because upstairs was insanely loud. The food, though, was tasty, the service was quick and we enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you need a good place for a meal, it' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

If you need a good place for a meal, it's practically guaranteed that The Smith will deliver. I've been there many times and the food and service is always on point. One complaint I have is that I find it a little too loud, but when you have a restaurant that is this popular, I guess it's to be expected. I could eat there several times a week - it's that good! I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious lunch, attentive staff. Look f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Delicious lunch, attentive staff. Look forward to another lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me here for brunch for m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My husband took me here for brunch for my birthday. We brought along our 6 month old daughter. The food was outstanding, the waitress was super nice. We did not have to wait with our reservation. I loved it, cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, , Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch with the girls. Hostess ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Saturday brunch with the girls. Hostess sat us in a nice table in the corner so we could chat. Waitress was informative and helpful, gave us recommendations on most popular food and drink. We all enjoyed our meals and generally had a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service and very energ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, great service and very energetic. I love The Smith. I've never had a bad meal there. It's not where you want to go for a quiet evening but it's a fun date place. The bar snacks and starters are amazing - great for sharing. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I chose this restaurant & location based ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I chose this restaurant & location based on the reviews I had read. This restaurant was absolutely amazing. The seating is spacious and the noise level is quiet. The food was delicious and our server, Paul P was the best! I highly recommend!

What we ordered:

Fruit & Berries

Granola Parfait

Avocado Toast w/ Egg

Vanilla Bean French Toast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.