About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Hot Potato Chips With Blue Cheese Fondue
Mac and Cheese
Beer Battered String Beans
Burger Deluxe
Ahi Tuna Salad
Chicken Pot Pie
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Ricotta Gnocchi
Mediterranean Salad With Shrimp
Bibimbap
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Cheddar Biscuit
Vegetable Bibimbap
Mushroom Omelette
Ranchero Scramble
Pot Of Mussels
Avocado Sandwich
Vanilla Bean French Toast
Filet Mignon
Salmon
Vegetable Bibimbop
The Rest Of The Bounty!
Assorted Fried And Cheesy Goodies
Deviled Eggs
Roasted Chicken Salad
Salade Niçoise
Mediterranean Salad
Shishito Peppers
Roasted Fish Sandwich
Brick Pressed Chicken
Grilled Shrimp
fried chicken
Potato Waffle Benedict
Portobello Fries
Rosato Syrah
pancakes
Birthday cake
Quarter Pounders
Maple Chicken Sausage
Cheese Grits
Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke Flatbread
Candy Bacon
Glazed Donuts
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Lobster Eggs Benedict
Blood Orange Mimosa
BLT
Espresso
The Original Old Fashioned
Fruit
Pork Chop
Croaker
Jalapeno & Cheddar Grits
Allegash White
Huevos rancheros
Rose Wine
Maine Lobster Salad
Bacon
Smores Cake In A Jar
Fried Calamari
Trout Milanese
Buttermilk Waffle
Lobster Benedict
Lobster Eggs Benidict
Tuna Tartare
Cheeseburger And Fries
Steak Salad
Eggs Benedict With Lobster Hollandaise
Steak Au Poivre
Macaroni and Cheese
Chicken and Waffles
Eggs Benedict
Waffles Eggs Benedict
Giant Pretzel
Hungry Teacher
The Croaker
Hamburger
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Mussels Pot
Avocado Salad
Arugula & Fennel Salad
BLT & E
Old Fashioned
Chicken Sausage (plus) Eggs
Country Breakfast
French Toast
Ham And Egg Buttermilk Biscuit
Chicken Sausage & Eggs on Cornbread
Caramel & Nuts Sundae
Baked Pretzel
lobster tostada
shrimp salad
Bread Pudding Sundae
Burrata
Strawberry Rhubarb Soda
Chicken Pie
Shrimp Roll
Mussels

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (99)
Good for Groups (91)
Fit for Foodies (73)
See All
Great for Lunch (61)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Hot Spot (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Special Occasion (36)
Kid-friendly (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Romantic (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place is informal and welcoming. You ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The place is informal and welcoming. You breathe NY air

Food is good and portions big. Chicken tasty and juicy. Great cakes!

Service kind and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fried sting beans not very crispy (oily) ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

fried sting beans not very crispy (oily)

crispy pork overwlemed with spices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first time going to the smit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was my first time going to the smith and it won't be my last. I came during the week in the morning so it wasn't crowded. The food was excellent! Egg white omelette with french fries and steak salad were delicious. For dessert the hot fudge sundae, absolutely sweet and delicious! My server, Bradley was awesome!. My only criticism is I came for breakfast around 11:21am. They said they stop serving breakfast at 11:30am which is not advertised on their website. I would suggest they give the times they serve certain meals on their website and extend the breakfast time longer. Overall, it was a great experience and I'll be back, especially for breakfast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I must say the tomato soup was absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I must say the tomato soup was absolutely delicious! Other dishes were okay.

But mostly I have to say that the service was great! I wish I knew the name of the waitress we had. Im not sure if all the help is as friendly and helpful and fun as she was!

It was evening. I'd go back and try the brunch for sure!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I made a 9pm reservation, called to push ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I made a 9pm reservation, called to push it back. The hostess was wonderful and accommodating. When we ended up not running late after all, the hostesses helped get us seated as quickly as possible. They gave me a perfect time estimate. Then, when we sat and reviewed the menu, the one item my sister wanted was 86'ed. But when our food came out, the kitchen had one last order of the tacos, and the kitchen sent them out with their complements. Amazing surprise! Thank you for making our dining experience a wonderful one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and staff was awesome. We got t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and staff was awesome. We got there and only had to wait a minute or two before being seated. We were downstairs in between two tables so it was a very tight fit and it was noisy but we forgot about the noise after awhile. The food was excellent. It's a bit pricey but if you have the money and want to hang out with some friends or have a casual date, this is a great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Excellent service. Be ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent dinner. Excellent service. Beautiful space. I like the inclusive service charge which, at The Smith, was worth every penny. The restaurant is very well managed and staff very well trained to provide the right amount of great service without being overbearing. Perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing breakfast/brunch. Place wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Disappointing breakfast/brunch. Place was quite empty. Waitress was not super interested. Menu choices were basic with no innovated dish except perhaps the avocado toast. First round of coffee was luke warm. Eggs benedict were average. Avocado toast also was underwhelming. The experience overall was not one that I would come back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I made a reservation for my dad's birthd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I made a reservation for my dad's birthday and I am glad I did because this is the type of place that you need a reservation.

We ended up running 20 minutes late (traffic from CT) and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table (definitely understandable). The manager apologized and delivered their newest app to our table: those Chocolate Bombs - which are GREAT by the way!

The staff was very friendly and delightful. The food was all fantastic and came out of the kitchen quickly.

The place was very loud, but that's because it was full of other people - the sign of a successful place.

I would definitely come back to The Smith again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch with my 10 year old daug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch with my 10 year old daughter. Interesting menu, fresh ingredients, friendly service, youthful vibrancy but not too noisy. Recommend it

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, but by 7:30, busy, hot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant, but by 7:30, busy, hot and EXTREMELY loud. I'd still recommend it, the food and service were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was yummy, service was great! We ha ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was yummy, service was great! We had a table in the back, which was nice and quiet before a party of 10 sat down. I brought family visiting from out of town, and once we could no longer hear each other, we knew the setup wasn't going to work. We asked to be moved and they accommodated us immediately. We ended up closer to outside with a lovely breeze and NYC vibes for my out of town guests. They loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for lunch. Service was good. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Went there for lunch. Service was good. Seems like they didn't have some items on the menu, but overall everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every part of this meal was spectacular. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every part of this meal was spectacular. We started with the calamari, cheesy chips, and donuts. Everything was top notch quality (especially the chips). Then I had the lobster roll which was so much lobster. Such a great problem to have. Topped if off with the smores mason jar and berry pie dessert. Not only was it the best tasting brunch iv been to thus far in NYC, but also the best environment with friendly and enthusiastic service and clientele. I highly recommend going (make a reservation), and will def be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst service I have ever experienced. R ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced. Rudest waiter

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

It is very loud but otherwise great

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It is very loud but otherwise great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great side dishes...the best veggies any ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great side dishes...the best veggies anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Really good food - menu was different ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really good food - menu was different yet very good for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice waiter and delicious food. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice waiter and delicious food. We had the Sicilian baked eggs, steak and eggs + the pancakes. OMG the pancakes where the highlight even though everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say • Brussels sprouts, Lobst ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What can I say • Brussels sprouts, Lobster roll, donuts, & chocolate cake !! Our brunch was the tastiest ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went on a Wednesday night and the servic ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went on a Wednesday night and the service was awful. Food was great, I got ricotta gnocchi but bad service. The waiter was nice just expected for the price of the food that he would've paid attention to us. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Waitress was amazing! Perfect suggestion ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waitress was amazing! Perfect suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress could have been more attent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The waitress could have been more attentive especially towards the end of our meal. Besides that, I enjoyed the food and the environment.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very pleasant casual meal - is now one o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very pleasant casual meal - is now one of our casual standbyS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, excellent service. Restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food, excellent service.

Restaurant is high energy, so could be a bit noisy for some.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Always a good meal and a good time! Att ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a good meal and a good time! Attentive service and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A nice, casual menu that reflects a lot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A nice, casual menu that reflects a lot of care and thought. Everything we've had there has been excellent. The decor is very au courant (vintage New York meets eclectic modernism), and the service has always been good. Sometimes it can be too crowded and loud, but generally it's spirited rather than deafening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Way too loud. Could even hear the person ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Way too loud. Could even hear the person speaking next to me. If you are looking to have a conversation or catch up with an old friend, this is not the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

The restaurant was missing a server the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The restaurant was missing a server the day I was there with a friend and the service was terrible. I felt bad for our waiter but a lot of these problems had nothing to do with the waitstaff. It was just after 'peak' brunch and while busy, there were plenty of empty tables. Our waiter basically never came to check in on us which exacerbated all the problems. We ordered drinks and had to ask for them multiple times before they came. Food that was supposed to come with fries and avocado had neither; then the waiter offered to comp these when they were brought later. You shouldn't comp something that you were going to include anyway, comp the whole meal. We got coffee but no one brought sugar; we got biscuits and no one brought butter; we asked for to go bags and half the items didn't make it into the bag. The food was good but not amazing and I would not go back. It was also very loud and difficult to talk to my friend 2 feet away.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Food is always good but expect casual se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always good but expect casual service and a LOUD room. I recommend the Shrimp Tagliatelle or Grilled Pork Chop. Easy neighborhood go to spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a group with a variety o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place for a group with a variety of cocktails! The food is great toO!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here for brunch before, and ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've been here for brunch before, and every time it is a pleasure. Definitely take advantage of the free cocktail with your entree - the Bloody Marys are quite good. It was bustling on Sunday morning, but with our reservation we were seated no-problem. The service was good despite how busy it was, and I received plentiful coffee refills. We split the vanilla french toast and the simple scramble, and both were divine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was not really that impressed with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I was not really that impressed with the Smith putting us in a far back corner of the restaurant, despite us having reservations, where there was really bad air flow and for a party of our size, just didn't really do much for the ambiance and why we came to the smith.

If a larger party comes in early, on a reservation, on a beautiful weather night, I would hope in the future you try to seat them in a relatively closer location so they can take advantage of the summer breeze in NYC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

It was so loud that it was hard to have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was so loud that it was hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent dinner. My friend's steak was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent dinner. My friend's steak was very undercooked (the Skirt Steak) but they quickly fixed the problem and could not have been nicer. Would recommend this place highly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Smith--always reliable, always open ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Smith--always reliable, always open when I'm hungry, something for everyone, good quality food for the price, good cocktails/wine list, good service. ONLY problem--OMG, SO noisy. We sat in a booth, which helps, but still. Outside on the sidewalk on the UWS branch is the only one where you can hear yourself think and your companions speak. And I'll be back, again and again, because of its other find qualities, above.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I took my friend out for her birthday an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I took my friend out for her birthday and chose The Smith primarily for its close proximity to Webster Hall (here's a plug for Gregory Alan Isakov who was doing a show there). My friend remarked the lamb appetizer was the best lamb she ever had! My starter was a very tasty salad. I had the salmon as an entre which was wonderful, and my friend had the chicken -- very large portion and delicious. The service was great, if you can, eat downstairs as the place is very loud. Overall, terrific and not overly priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

You can always get a dependable meal at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

You can always get a dependable meal at the Smith. It is typical all American food with great quality!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone that worked with us that day wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everyone that worked with us that day was on their A game for sure!

We asked the host when we arrived if we could wait for a table that was sitting at the open windows (it was clear they were finishing up). At first he said that it was reserved already, which we totally understood, however right after we sat down, he let us know we could move over there! That was a nice Father's Day surprise!

Food was excellent. Drinks were excellent. Everything was out in was seemed minutes and our server was polite and attentive!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE dri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE drinks everything would definitely come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.