About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Hot Potato Chips With Blue Cheese Fondue
Mac and Cheese
Beer Battered String Beans
Burger Deluxe
Ahi Tuna Salad
Chicken Pot Pie
Ricotta Gnocchi
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Mediterranean Salad With Shrimp
Bibimbap
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Cheddar Biscuit
Mushroom Omelette
Vegetable Bibimbap
Pot Of Mussels
Ranchero Scramble
Avocado Sandwich
Vanilla Bean French Toast
Mussels
Filet Mignon
Salmon
Vegetable Bibimbop
The Rest Of The Bounty!
Assorted Fried And Cheesy Goodies
Deviled Eggs
Roasted Chicken Salad
Salade Niçoise
Mediterranean Salad
Shishito Peppers
Roasted Fish Sandwich
Brick Pressed Chicken
Grilled Shrimp
fried chicken
Potato Waffle Benedict
Portobello Fries
Rosato Syrah
pancakes
Birthday cake
Maple Chicken Sausage
Quarter Pounders
Cheese Grits
Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke Flatbread
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Glazed Donuts
Candy Bacon
Lobster Eggs Benedict
Blood Orange Mimosa
BLT
Espresso
The Original Old Fashioned
Fruit
Pork Chop
Croaker
Jalapeno & Cheddar Grits
Allegash White
Huevos rancheros
Rose Wine
Maine Lobster Salad
Bacon
Smores Cake In A Jar
Fried Calamari
Trout Milanese
Buttermilk Waffle
Lobster Benedict
Lobster Eggs Benidict
Tuna Tartare
Cheeseburger And Fries
Steak Salad
Eggs Benedict With Lobster Hollandaise
Steak Au Poivre
Chicken and Waffles
Macaroni and Cheese
Eggs Benedict
Giant Pretzel
Waffles Eggs Benedict
Hungry Teacher
The Croaker
Hamburger
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Mussels Pot
Avocado Salad
Arugula & Fennel Salad
BLT & E
Old Fashioned
Chicken Sausage (plus) Eggs
Country Breakfast
French Toast
Ham And Egg Buttermilk Biscuit
Chicken Sausage & Eggs on Cornbread
Caramel & Nuts Sundae
Baked Pretzel
lobster tostada
shrimp salad
Bread Pudding Sundae
Burrata
Strawberry Rhubarb Soda
Chicken Pie
Shrimp Roll

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (115)
good for groups (96)
fit for foodies (79)
See All
great for lunch (73)
neighborhood gem (70)
hot spot (66)
vibrant bar scene (45)
special occasion (38)
kid-friendly (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
romantic (23)
late-night find (20)
notable wine list (7)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress could have been more attent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The waitress could have been more attentive especially towards the end of our meal. Besides that, I enjoyed the food and the environment.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very pleasant casual meal - is now one o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very pleasant casual meal - is now one of our casual standbyS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, excellent service. Restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, excellent service.

Restaurant is high energy, so could be a bit noisy for some.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Always a good meal and a good time! Att ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good meal and a good time! Attentive service and fun atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A nice, casual menu that reflects a lot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A nice, casual menu that reflects a lot of care and thought. Everything we've had there has been excellent. The decor is very au courant (vintage New York meets eclectic modernism), and the service has always been good. Sometimes it can be too crowded and loud, but generally it's spirited rather than deafening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Way too loud. Could even hear the person ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Way too loud. Could even hear the person speaking next to me. If you are looking to have a conversation or catch up with an old friend, this is not the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

The restaurant was missing a server the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The restaurant was missing a server the day I was there with a friend and the service was terrible. I felt bad for our waiter but a lot of these problems had nothing to do with the waitstaff. It was just after 'peak' brunch and while busy, there were plenty of empty tables. Our waiter basically never came to check in on us which exacerbated all the problems. We ordered drinks and had to ask for them multiple times before they came. Food that was supposed to come with fries and avocado had neither; then the waiter offered to comp these when they were brought later. You shouldn't comp something that you were going to include anyway, comp the whole meal. We got coffee but no one brought sugar; we got biscuits and no one brought butter; we asked for to go bags and half the items didn't make it into the bag. The food was good but not amazing and I would not go back. It was also very loud and difficult to talk to my friend 2 feet away.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Food is always good but expect casual se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always good but expect casual service and a LOUD room. I recommend the Shrimp Tagliatelle or Grilled Pork Chop. Easy neighborhood go to spot.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a group with a variety o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place for a group with a variety of cocktails! The food is great toO!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here for brunch before, and ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I've been here for brunch before, and every time it is a pleasure. Definitely take advantage of the free cocktail with your entree - the Bloody Marys are quite good. It was bustling on Sunday morning, but with our reservation we were seated no-problem. The service was good despite how busy it was, and I received plentiful coffee refills. We split the vanilla french toast and the simple scramble, and both were divine.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was not really that impressed with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I was not really that impressed with the Smith putting us in a far back corner of the restaurant, despite us having reservations, where there was really bad air flow and for a party of our size, just didn't really do much for the ambiance and why we came to the smith.

If a larger party comes in early, on a reservation, on a beautiful weather night, I would hope in the future you try to seat them in a relatively closer location so they can take advantage of the summer breeze in NYC.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

It was so loud that it was hard to have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was so loud that it was hard to have a conversation.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent dinner. My friend's steak was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent dinner. My friend's steak was very undercooked (the Skirt Steak) but they quickly fixed the problem and could not have been nicer. Would recommend this place highly!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Smith--always reliable, always open ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Smith--always reliable, always open when I'm hungry, something for everyone, good quality food for the price, good cocktails/wine list, good service. ONLY problem--OMG, SO noisy. We sat in a booth, which helps, but still. Outside on the sidewalk on the UWS branch is the only one where you can hear yourself think and your companions speak. And I'll be back, again and again, because of its other find qualities, above.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I took my friend out for her birthday an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I took my friend out for her birthday and chose The Smith primarily for its close proximity to Webster Hall (here's a plug for Gregory Alan Isakov who was doing a show there). My friend remarked the lamb appetizer was the best lamb she ever had! My starter was a very tasty salad. I had the salmon as an entre which was wonderful, and my friend had the chicken -- very large portion and delicious. The service was great, if you can, eat downstairs as the place is very loud. Overall, terrific and not overly priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

You can always get a dependable meal at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

You can always get a dependable meal at the Smith. It is typical all American food with great quality!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone that worked with us that day wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everyone that worked with us that day was on their A game for sure!

We asked the host when we arrived if we could wait for a table that was sitting at the open windows (it was clear they were finishing up). At first he said that it was reserved already, which we totally understood, however right after we sat down, he let us know we could move over there! That was a nice Father's Day surprise!

Food was excellent. Drinks were excellent. Everything was out in was seemed minutes and our server was polite and attentive!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE dri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE drinks everything would definitely come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Noisy , vibrant , energetic place ... Fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Noisy , vibrant , energetic place ... Food sounded great and was ok but not fantastic ... Service was fantastic , friendly attentive and precise ... It's noisy and sort of a place to be seen .. The down stairs bar looks incredible and the restaurant is modern trendy and a little on the eclectic but good fun if you can stand the noise ...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing amazing food. Best home fries I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing amazing food. Best home fries I have ever had by far. Luckily they come with almost every breakfast entree!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and accommodation, food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and accommodation, food was good as well. Great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great spot for a bite with friends, rese ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great spot for a bite with friends, reservations are highly recommended as it gets quite crowded during dinner and weekend brunch hours. Battered string beans is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere for brunch. E ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and atmosphere for brunch. Even though they couldn't serve alcohol before noon, our waiter brought us our cocktails promptly at noon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Smith Friday night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I came before a show at Irving Plaza. We had two drinks across the street and then proceeded over to the Smith where I had a resi for 6pm. We were seated immediately which was great. The Smith is an energetic, canteen like environment which was fine for the vibe we were going for that night - we wanted a casual meal before heading up the street to the show. The oysters were OK. Not great, but not bad. Not sure they were worth the 4$ an oyster we paid, but the brussel sprouts were amazing and made up for it. My Moscow Mule wasn't anything spectacular but it did the job. Dinner for me was grilled shrimp which was basic if not for the jalepeno mashed potatoes and lobster brandy which made the dish. Boyfriend had the branzinno which was again, OK, but not worth the $26. Overall, once you hit the $150 for a dinner for two we feel like we should have gone for a better, more private and quiet dining experience, but it was good and we left satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great Service in a lively atmosphere!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were there before a show at Webster Hall and were treated by a very efficient staff. A wide variety of food in a lively atmosphere. Even returned after the show for a late-night dessert (sub-par) and coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible horrible dinner. I ordered the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Horrible horrible dinner. I ordered the Branzino and it was barely a 2 oz fillet grilled to cardboard consistency over a mish mosh of unidentifiable vegetables. This food wasn't fit for a hospital tray. And, our cocktails weren't even made correctly. There are far better dining choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

It Never Gets Old

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I've lost track of how many times of come here. It's hard to right anything new at this point: great food, nice service, scenic layout, lively atmosphere -- it's hard to ask for more given what you're paying.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Smith has an enormous dining area, w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Smith has an enormous dining area, with more tables in the basement, making it ideal for larger groups and easy to make a reservation, even for peak brunch hours. The brunch menu is large and has decent variety. It is a little overpriced but not terribly, especially considering the location. The food wasn't phenomenal but everyone enjoyed their food. I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot for brunch!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wanted to sit by the front and our server relocated us when a spot opened up. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place. Interesting food drink ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent place. Interesting food drink choices. We had a small issue with our order. It was quickly and professionally corrected. Completely enjoyed our choices from the menu . Tasty drinks. Excellent service. A definite go back to.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great egg white omelet! Hard to find th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great egg white omelet! Hard to find things that are wrong with The Smith because it is always good but I wish there were more vegetarian choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The best brunch I have tried in East Vil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The best brunch I have tried in East Village! Quick service and even better food. Although I would definitely recommend that you make a reservation on the weekend as the place fills up very fast. The complimentary fresh squeezed juice that came with our meal was a nice addition. I would recommend the Smoked Salmon Benedict and the Breakfast Pot Pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roomy. Full bar, full menu, excellent food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Surprised at excellent quality of this restaurant in highly trafficked area. It's getting harder to find restaurants with a full bar, and we wanted to try something new in the neighborhood. Loved the big size. Although crowded there were lots of tables, no need to reserve even on a Saturday night. Very friendly service. Strong, tasty drinks. My husband who is extra picky loved his porkchops. I had the best swordfish I can remember ever having. Returned next night. Enjoyed diner-style table. Yummy hot chips & calamari. My lobster salad not as good as the swordfish but good and filling. Steak not as good as porkchop but that's OK--we'll stick with what we love!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just too loud. We couldn't take it -- w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Just too loud. We couldn't take it -- we were yelling, the neighboring table was yelling. It was so uncomfortable and unpleasant that we left before we even ordered dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast at 10:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was very good. Must try the home made potato chips with blue cheese fondue, indulge with a house made Bloody Mary, you will not be disappointed. Save room for dessert and order the Sticky Toffee Pudding, ridiculousness...

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food which exceeded expectations. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food which exceeded expectations. Excellent cocktails. Great service. Very loud on main floor, would request quieter table downstairs now that we know it exists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, and service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and the service was top notch. They were exceptional about handling the food allergies on our table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasses of Chardonnay $30.00....

WHAT.....????

Go for the food nor drinks!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.