Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About The Smith - East Village

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (86)
Casual (81)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
See All
Fun (55)
Sunday Lunch (54)
Great for Lunch (53)
Comfort Food (53)
Good for Groups (50)
Good for a Date (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Special Occasion (26)
People Watching (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Quick Bite (16)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (10)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 16 hours ago

90 decibel noise level
Impossible to carry on any meaningful conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Everything about The Smith was amazing. The truffle gnocchi is out of this world. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I enjoyed coming here for brunch better than dinner. Usually the noise level is too high to converse easily but in the morning it was perfect.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Mac and cheese and mussels were very good. Impressed they called to confirm

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was.good..nice menu
..very.noisy as are all The Smith restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding on all fronts- food quaility, drinks, service and ambience

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

They are on point with the reservation, immediately seated upon arrival. Waiters are a bit hard to get but that's due to the business (brunch time). Food was really good and definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was pretty good (I was trying to eat healthy so what I ordered didn't make me want to shout from the rooftops), but the service by the staff was impeccable. Very attentive, quick, friendly, and knowledgeable. Happy customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Another great meal at The Smith!! Always solid food wth vibrant atmosphere and an attentive staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to the Smith prior to a performance at near by Classic Stage Company. The noise level was deafening. My husband and I could not speak during our meal unless we screamed. The menu and food were ok and service also ok. We will never go again due to the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. It was a birthday celebration and the restaurant handled it perfectly!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service, let us do our thing - no rush whatsoever - which some places can't or won't do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place! It's the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waitress was very accommodating and attentive. The pressed chicken was fantastic! We do plan on coming again - very family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day dinner at the Smith was great. We did have to wait about 30 mins after our reservation time to be seated, but the food was delicious and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waitress Lauren was so nice and she really knows how to recommend the best of the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had an 11:30 reservation on a very busy Mother's Day. Arrived on time and was seated immediately. Food was great, waiter was great. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went here for dinner before a show at Webster hall. Really enjoyed the food, service and for a NY restaurant, the prices were not ridiculous! Will definitely be back.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

After reading so many positive reviews, my expectations of The Smith were too high preceding my visit. The noise level required shouting for the duration of brunch with a friend, which consisted of staples that appear on most diner menus. At twice the price, however, I was hoping for a taste experience beyond "simply satisfactory." My friend ordered a drink, and I did not... So perhaps therein lies the magic...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great place for a night date with your woman , service is good and good food too, the waiters are kind and always check up on you :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was very good and delivered on time. Noise was very loud so we could barely hear each other or the waitress.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Really loved this place. Had potato chips and bleu cheese fondue as an appetizer and loved it. then really enjoyed the brick-pressed chicken. Our server was happy and helpful, really wonderful. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good, convenient to the theatre we we going to. Got us out in plenty of time. Quieter than the Lincoln Center branch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The tables are very very very small. And lots of food can't be on it... not comfortable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Caught them at the end of Sunday brunch. One of our party was late due to a held up subway and they were understanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good food, good drinks, great vibe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I love this place. It's busy and loud BUT I love their brunch! Pancakes are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

So so good!!!!! Brunch menu won't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

always a solid choice. not much else in the neighborhood as consistent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cavetelli w short rib is superb as is the Mac n Cheese side! Excellent service, noise level high for deep conversations but great for fun night out in the village!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Met family from out of town and enjoyed ourselves. Each of us ordered very different entrees, salad, salmon, cavetelli, steak and all delicious. Apps Great. Oysters fresh, peppers delightful! Dessert menu looked amazing but we were not yet ready...next time. Service impectable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fresh oysters. Solid food. Super noisy on the weekends. Very friendly staff. Right next to Webster hall a plus. Overall I really enjoy the smith as a chef.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always delicious food at the smith. Staff is accommodating to make changes to dishes for their guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great meal. We showed up about an hour early versus our reservation. The people were very nice. It was jammed for happy hour but the bartender got us a drink and an appetizer to hold us over. We waited less than 20 minutes and got a table. It is a lively and loud place. Not recommended for a first date certainly but for fun and lots of high-energy. Food was awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Love the smith. Very versatile restaurant. Wish they would seat incomplete parties though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We loved it. I've been to the other one uptown. The server was really nice, food was fresh & good, I work strange hours so I often meet friends for breakfast. The Smith is going to be my new place! Midtown or the village great!!

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My fella and I live in the area and dine her pretty frequently. I'm a vegan while he is not however they always do a great job at accommodating me. Since we both are able to enjoy our meals we keep returning. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Terrific food and amazing service. Although half empty, the restaurant was very loud. This made conversation at our table of 5 really difficult.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food and service. Enjoyed the brunch menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.