About The Smith - East Village

55 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

The Smith is a casual American Brasserie with four upbeat locations in New York City: The Smith East Village, The Smith Midtown The Smith Lincoln Square, and The Smith NoMad. Utilizing local products and purveyors, the breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner menus feature a selection of familiar bistro dishes. The Smith attracts colleagues for a drink after work, business dinners, a quick bite or drink before a show, late night revelers, families for Sunday brunch and more. Offering private rooms at all locations, guests can stop by for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
M-W: 8 a.m. – midnight
Th & Fri: 8 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. – 1 a.m.
Sun: 9:30 a.m. – midnight

Cross Street:
Between 10th and 11th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 420-9800

Website:
http://www.thesmithrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please inquire for details.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R,4,5,6 to Union Square ; R & W trains to 8th Street and 6 train to Astor Place ; L Train to 3rd Avenue

Executive Chef:
Brian Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please inquire for details

Restaurant Photos

Hot Potato Chips With Blue Cheese Fondue
Mac and Cheese
Beer Battered String Beans
Burger Deluxe
Ahi Tuna Salad
Chicken Pot Pie
Ricotta Gnocchi
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Mediterranean Salad With Shrimp
Bibimbap
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Cheddar Biscuit
Mushroom Omelette
Vegetable Bibimbap
Pot Of Mussels
Ranchero Scramble
Avocado Sandwich
Vanilla Bean French Toast
Mussels
Filet Mignon
Salmon
Vegetable Bibimbop
The Rest Of The Bounty!
Assorted Fried And Cheesy Goodies
Deviled Eggs
Roasted Chicken Salad
Salade Niçoise
Mediterranean Salad
Shishito Peppers
Roasted Fish Sandwich
Brick Pressed Chicken
Grilled Shrimp
fried chicken
Potato Waffle Benedict
Portobello Fries
Rosato Syrah
pancakes
Birthday cake
Maple Chicken Sausage
Quarter Pounders
Cheese Grits
Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke Flatbread
Sicilian Baked Eggs
Glazed Donuts
Candy Bacon
Lobster Eggs Benedict
Blood Orange Mimosa
BLT
Espresso
The Original Old Fashioned
Fruit
Pork Chop
Croaker
Jalapeno & Cheddar Grits
Allegash White
Huevos rancheros
Rose Wine
Maine Lobster Salad
Bacon
Smores Cake In A Jar
Fried Calamari
Trout Milanese
Buttermilk Waffle
Lobster Benedict
Lobster Eggs Benidict
Tuna Tartare
Cheeseburger And Fries
Steak Salad
Eggs Benedict With Lobster Hollandaise
Steak Au Poivre
Chicken and Waffles
Macaroni and Cheese
Eggs Benedict
Giant Pretzel
Waffles Eggs Benedict
Hungry Teacher
The Croaker
Hamburger
Roasted Tomato Soup- Cheddar Melt
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Mussels Pot
Avocado Salad
Arugula & Fennel Salad
BLT & E
Old Fashioned
Chicken Sausage (plus) Eggs
Country Breakfast
French Toast
Ham And Egg Buttermilk Biscuit
Chicken Sausage & Eggs on Cornbread
Caramel & Nuts Sundae
Baked Pretzel
lobster tostada
shrimp salad
Bread Pudding Sundae
Burrata
Strawberry Rhubarb Soda
Chicken Pie
Shrimp Roll

Private Dining

The downstairs dining area can be booked for private sit-down dinners for up to 60 guests and cocktail parties for approximately 75 guests.

The Smith - East Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (139)
good for groups (117)
fit for foodies (108)
See All
neighborhood gem (87)
great for lunch (80)
hot spot (75)
vibrant bar scene (56)
special occasion (39)
late-night find (29)
kid-friendly (28)
romantic (27)
great for outdoor dining (19)
notable wine list (7)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

You can always get a dependable meal at ...

Dined 6 days ago

You can always get a dependable meal at the Smith. It is typical all American food with great quality!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone that worked with us that day wa ...

Dined 7 days ago

Everyone that worked with us that day was on their A game for sure! We asked the host when we arrived if we could wait for a table that was sitting at the open windows (it was clear they were finishing up). At first he said that it was reserved already, which we totally understood, however right after we sat down, he let us know we could move over there! That was a nice Father's Day surprise! Food was excellent. Drinks were excellent. Everything was out in was seemed minutes and our server was polite and attentive!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE dri ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service amazing MAC & CHEESE drinks everything would definitely come back again

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Noisy , vibrant , energetic place ... Fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Noisy , vibrant , energetic place ... Food sounded great and was ok but not fantastic ... Service was fantastic , friendly attentive and precise ... It's noisy and sort of a place to be seen .. The down stairs bar looks incredible and the restaurant is modern trendy and a little on the eclectic but good fun if you can stand the noise ...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing amazing food. Best home fries I ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing amazing food. Best home fries I have ever had by far. Luckily they come with almost every breakfast entree!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service and accommodation, food wa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and accommodation, food was good as well. Great date night.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot for a bite with friends, rese ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great spot for a bite with friends, reservations are highly recommended as it gets quite crowded during dinner and weekend brunch hours. Battered string beans is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere for brunch. E ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and atmosphere for brunch. Even though they couldn't serve alcohol before noon, our waiter brought us our cocktails promptly at noon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Smith Friday night

Dined on June 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I came before a show at Irving Plaza. We had two drinks across the street and then proceeded over to the Smith where I had a resi for 6pm. We were seated immediately which was great. The Smith is an energetic, canteen like environment which was fine for the vibe we were going for that night - we wanted a casual meal before heading up the street to the show. The oysters were OK. Not great, but not bad. Not sure they were worth the 4$ an oyster we paid, but the brussel sprouts were amazing and made up for it. My Moscow Mule wasn't anything spectacular but it did the job. Dinner for me was grilled shrimp which was basic if not for the jalepeno mashed potatoes and lobster brandy which made the dish. Boyfriend had the branzinno which was again, OK, but not worth the $26. Overall, once you hit the $150 for a dinner for two we feel like we should have gone for a better, more private and quiet dining experience, but it was good and we left satisfied.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service in a lively atmosphere!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were there before a show at Webster Hall and were treated by a very efficient staff. A wide variety of food in a lively atmosphere. Even returned after the show for a late-night dessert (sub-par) and coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service2

Horrible horrible dinner. I ordered the ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Horrible horrible dinner. I ordered the Branzino and it was barely a 2 oz fillet grilled to cardboard consistency over a mish mosh of unidentifiable vegetables. This food wasn't fit for a hospital tray. And, our cocktails weren't even made correctly. There are far better dining choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It Never Gets Old

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

I've lost track of how many times of come here. It's hard to right anything new at this point: great food, nice service, scenic layout, lively atmosphere -- it's hard to ask for more given what you're paying.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for brunch!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wanted to sit by the front and our server relocated us when a spot opened up. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place. Interesting food drink ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent place. Interesting food drink choices. We had a small issue with our order. It was quickly and professionally corrected. Completely enjoyed our choices from the menu . Tasty drinks. Excellent service. A definite go back to.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great egg white omelet! Hard to find th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great egg white omelet! Hard to find things that are wrong with The Smith because it is always good but I wish there were more vegetarian choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best brunch I have tried in East Vil ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The best brunch I have tried in East Village! Quick service and even better food. Although I would definitely recommend that you make a reservation on the weekend as the place fills up very fast. The complimentary fresh squeezed juice that came with our meal was a nice addition. I would recommend the Smoked Salmon Benedict and the Breakfast Pot Pie!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roomy. Full bar, full menu, excellent food.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Surprised at excellent quality of this restaurant in highly trafficked area. It's getting harder to find restaurants with a full bar, and we wanted to try something new in the neighborhood. Loved the big size. Although crowded there were lots of tables, no need to reserve even on a Saturday night. Very friendly service. Strong, tasty drinks. My husband who is extra picky loved his porkchops. I had the best swordfish I can remember ever having. Returned next night. Enjoyed diner-style table. Yummy hot chips & calamari. My lobster salad not as good as the swordfish but good and filling. Steak not as good as porkchop but that's OK--we'll stick with what we love!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

Just too loud. We couldn't take it -- w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Just too loud. We couldn't take it -- we were yelling, the neighboring table was yelling. It was so uncomfortable and unpleasant that we left before we even ordered dinner.

food4
ambience2
service2

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice place. They stop serving breakfast at 10:30.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was ver ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. The food was very good. Must try the home made potato chips with blue cheese fondue, indulge with a house made Bloody Mary, you will not be disappointed. Save room for dessert and order the Sticky Toffee Pudding, ridiculousness...

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

Dined on May 20, 2016

The Brussels sprouts are amazing !

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food which exceeded expectations. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food which exceeded expectations. Excellent cocktails. Great service. Very loud on main floor, would request quieter table downstairs now that we know it exists.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and service!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and the service was top notch. They were exceptional about handling the food allergies on our table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasse ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Salads and burgers Great... But 2 glasses of Chardonnay $30.00.... WHAT.....???? Go for the food nor drinks!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Everyone treats you so nice! The waitres ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everyone treats you so nice! The waitress was very thoughtful and helpful, always wanting to make sure everything was good! We tried the the smith bar steak and it was delicious!! I can't stop thinking about it omg the chimichurri AMAZING and the French fries were sooo good! I also order the mac & cheese it was TO DIE FOR! Definitely coming back!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The place was packed since it was mother ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The place was packed since it was mother's day but we were seated right away. We got the menus and water quickly, but our server took at least 20 minutes before he came to take our order. A minus for the restaurant. After we ordered, the food arrived in a timely manner. I had the avocado toast which was tasty but the toast itself was slightly soggy therefore difficult to cut. I think the restaurant can upgrade their coffee beans. It is not up to par. Otherwise we had a marvelous afternoon at The Smith.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

This is a go to place and without fail y ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a go to place and without fail you will enjoy the food and friendly, unrushed and accommodating service. Nothing inexpensive but nothing disappointing either. You most certainly get what you pay for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reserved a table for Mother's Day brunch without ever having visited and was so pleasantly surprised. Atmosphere was adorable yet sophisticated, menu was huge, and every single thing my party of 6 ordered was so incredible that we all just shared everything. We will definitely be coming back

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch menu and cocktails!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great brunch menu and cocktails!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Smith was enjoyable for dinner- The ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Smith was enjoyable for dinner- The lighting was a little too bright, but the food was pretty good- good value

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was very good. Starter ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service was very good. Starter doughnuts were not great but everything else was really good. Prices were as you would expect for NYC. Would definitely go back.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A Solid Dining Option

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our party of five enjoyed our recent dinner at The Smith - East Village while visiting New York. We now know why we were able to reserve a table at The Smith when finding a table at other East Village restaurants was a challenge: the get ''em in, get 'em out approach. Despite a very fast-paced meal, the food, as reviews on Open Table and other sources indicate, was well-executed and, well, good. All of us enjoyed our meals and walked away with a sense that we wouldn't have gone wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Tasty, satisfying brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

The avocado toast and home fries were divine. I was very pleased with my brunch, as well as the décor of the restaurant - it was modern and trendy, and looked like it could have been designed by Joanna Gaines of Fixer Upper. Noise levels were quite high, so this might be a difficult place to meet up with a large group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MUST, MUST, MUST!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This place is awesome! We were given the best seat in the house, (lower level, corner) a table for two. We ordered a large carafe of wine, the Friday Night Special ,(back by popular demand) the lobster roll, the pork chop, the bone in rib eye, the jalapeno cheddar grits (OH MY!) , the charred asparagus and the smashed garlic potatoes. EVERYTHING was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Recommendation: REPEAT! REPEAT! REPEAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent experience. Great food and ple ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent experience. Great food and plenty of choices

food5
ambience5
service5

The Mac and cheese was great!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Mac and cheese was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fabulous location for gro ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and fabulous location for groups!

food4
ambience5
service5

Staff was excellent. Very warm & attenti ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Staff was excellent. Very warm & attentive which I do not expect in NYC. The food was good, not exceptional but good. Nothing to complain about but nothing I can't wait to go back for. The location was great & ambiance was vibrant. Love the decor too. Overall a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always welcoming

Dined on April 18, 2016

Everything was great, from being seating to our meal. Food was great, server was kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

We like the restaurant for a local after-theater dinner. At 5:30 pm, the noise level is low enough to be able to hear everyone clearly. The food is very good, but certain items are not nearly hot enough and it may be due to less than optimal management of the food delivery. For example, the fried calamari appetizer wasn't hot enough. The broiled pork chopped was perfectly cooked medium rare, hot when delivered, but served on luke-warm mashed potatoes. They need to get all the aspects right. Enjoyed the roasted brussel sprouts side order, prepared with capers, currants and garlic with a vinaigrette.

Tags: late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.