Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, James Lucas, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
James Lucas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fun (21)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (15)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great Beer (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Historic (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 hours ago

Cornbread pancakes were extra delicious but we enjoyed everything we ordered (steak and eggs, bacon)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came for brunch service was great a little disappointed in food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Been here several times and it's one of my favorites but I was extremely disappointed in the food this time. I ordered the shrimp and grits with no bacon (what I get every time I come for brunch). The first time they brought it to me with bacon, I sent it back. They were quick to get out another order but it was about 1/4 of what I actually should have gotten! I was hungry again 45 mins later! I'm paying full price, I should get the full meal. Disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were a party of 6 and everyone's food was good from burger to catfish. The place was small so they utilize outdoor seating in the rear patio and front sidewalk via a large garage door they open which causes the inside to be warm. Think the wait time would be much longer on cooler days. I'd recommend the BBQ chicken thighs if you like spicy food. Don't sit inside if you want to have a conversation as it is a bit too loud. Gluten free meals available.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best drinks in town and staff always so friendly. Love the fact they play records still

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a must when I'm traveling down 71. It gets busy here! So this guaranteed me a spot when I knew I'd be passing through.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great experience. First visit and I will go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great southern dining spot, lots of cool different seating options indoors and outdoors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best fried catfish I have ever had!!! Fried okra should have been fried a bit longer since some pieces had strings. Love the fried pickles that have a perfect sauce!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We ate at the Silver Dollar for the first time this past Sunday at 1:00. We used the Priority Seating literally just a few minutes after we decided on the restaurant. When we arrived the place was very busy but we were seated within moments. Both hosts were very attentive to us and they seated us in a great booth while we awaited our friends. We started with fried green tomatoes and then had the briscuit sandwich and chili cheese hash browns and fries and it was delicious. All of the food we watched being served made us want to go back. Loved all of the Mexican dishes on the menu. Our waitress was stellar as well. We left with nothing but great things to say. We'll be back!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love Silver Dollar, always have to visit when I am in the Ville

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Met friends here for dinner, great all around! Seated quickly, outstanding service and fun atmosphere, we will visit The Silver Dollar again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved the atmosphere! Waiter was terrific. Fried pickles were great as an appetizer. Hamburgers were juicy and delicious. Just a few little things....the fries tasted like they had been sitting for a while and the lettuce wedge tasted lukewarm. Not a deterrent though. We will go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First visit. Friend recommended. We were very happy with the service, drink recommendations and food. We had a lot of questions with a party of 5 and the staff was great. Definitely would return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It is one of our go to places in Louisville! Great food, drinks, people, and dog friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

first off, they never checked me in even though we went so i never got the points.

to the actual review: the food was good. really solid stuff. would definitely go back *if* we never got the same waiter. the service was terrible. the hostess wasn't rude, but had a bit of an attitude with us since we didn't notice the (empty) hostess stand and went looking for someone to help us. once we got seated, we didn't see our waiter for at least 15 minutes. he was extremely difficult to hear as he was soft spoken for and the restaurant was loud. we told him we needed more time to pick some beverages and didn't see him for another 20 minutes. he came back and got our food ordered and again disappeared for another 20 minutes without bringing any of our drinks. we didn't even see him again until our food was already delivered. we had to ask a bus boy to refill our waters. i actually thought at one point maybe out server's shift ended and he left having forgotten us, but then we saw him taking selfies with another table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

seated quickly, tasty food, and friendly service
went for Mother's Day brunch
drinks weren't my favorite but not terrible either

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great drinks. Awesome bourbon selection. Fantastic food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Even though we had a reservation we still were told there was a wait and that they would call us when it was ready. Requested outdoor seating and was told that they had several tables available but in a hour from now they were having a large group and wanted to save those tables for that group. Seated by the garbage and clearing area. Stacks of plates were on the floor next to our table and was noisy from the staff clearing things. Not an ideal spot. Overheard that if you didn't have a reservation to seat the people at the bar. We had a reservation and waited a long time for the table and maybe would have been better off sitting at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very eclectic setting. Booze menu is ginormous! Nice outdoor on street seating.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

In town for t he Derby! Food and drinks were amazing!!! Great last meal to end our fantastic weekend!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

we love Silver Dollar and came with some friends from out of town. We were excited about priority seating as Saturdays are always a wait. Unfortunately, we got there and waited for the same amount of time as everyone on the wait list. We still had a great experience but I won't bother with priority seating again

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Open table "reservation" worked out perfectly on a busy Saturday night. Good food. Great beer selection.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Steak was tough as whit leather. You grilled us a hair with a hamburger around it. Waitress apparently was doing us a favor by waiting on our table. The ONLY thing I could find good about the place was the bourbon list

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Waiter knew his stuff.Great drink menu.Loved the simple decor.Loved the old country music and record player.Easy to get too.We were in town for a wedding and a girl at Bulleit Distillery suggested you guys.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Family brunch. They accommodated us well - including several children. They do not have kids cups, bring a sippy for little ones. Menu was diverse enough to appeal to everyone. Great service and fun drink options!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My brother and his fiancé came to town from NYC. They loved it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I know their focus is on the bourbon selection but two of us ordered wine and it was served in weird little 4 oz. dime store juice glasses?? Certainly not worth the $8.00 per glass price so we ordered a bottle which was brought to us with no ice so we had to pour our ice water in the bucket to keep it chilled. There were four of us and our food came out in three shifts, my husbands being last and it was just a pulled pork sandwich. I will say, the brisket was delicious, the hash browns were grey and soggy, can't believe they would serve something that looked like that.

Just very disappointed, for the $175.00 I have certainly had better food and service, especially since it was early on a Tuesday evening and they were not busy. Atmosphere is quite wonderful, we sat outside on the patio, and our server was pleasant, but it didn't live up to the hundreds of 4 star reviews on Yelp, the four of us have no desire to go back. :(

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Seated quickly. Food was great. Love the outdoor patio

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere was very comfortable we chose to sit outside really enjoyed it. The service was very friendly, and the food Was unique and very good!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have lived in the Clifton area for over 20 years and love The Silver Dollar. Always take friends and family from out of town because it is so not your cookie cutter place to eat and drink. Staff is always welcoming and very knowledgeable of the menu and the libations!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome cocktails! Food was delicious. Service a little slow but it was busy and we were having fun.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing place, the food was great. Very large portion sizes!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food is marginal at best and service is poor. Don't waste your money or time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great meal and service! But a little noisy for 4 people to talk.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family & I enjoyed Sunday Brunch eating the biggest pancakes I've even seen!!! Nick was attentive, patient, & friendly! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and the ambiance at the restaurant was great. But I went for brunch and it was crazy crowded and loud and it took awhile for our servers to get back to us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server was in training, but he did a wonderful job of explaining the specials for the night and reading our body language to know when we were ready to request anything.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

always great for breakfast, menu is broad and all options great

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were great. Our food was delicious and our server was very good. However, the drinks were overpriced and small. My mimosa was 2 sips and $6. I also asked for Baileys in my coffee. They did not have Baileys only a Buffalo Trace equivalent. Which was perfect but again overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.