About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, James Lucas, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
James Lucas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brisket - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Chilaquiles Verdes - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Onion Rings - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Crab Cakes - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
House-Made Potato Chips - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Long Train Blues - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Fried Oyster Sandwich - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
North Coast Brewing Pranqster Ale - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Sauces - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Shrimp and Grits - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Texas Chili Hashbrown - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Sprite - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Arbol, Verde And Ancho Sauces - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Coffee - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Cornbread Pancakes - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Huevos rancheros - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Flank And Eggs - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Chicken and Waffles - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Fried Liver - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
fried oysters - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Banana Pudding - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Pork Chops - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Shrimp Ceviche - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
The Ultimate - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Old Fashioned - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Short Rib - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
David Nicholson 1843 7Yrs - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Texas Toast Stack - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Beer Can Chicken - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Sweet potato fries - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Tomato  Salad  - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY
Smoked Chicken Enfrijoladas - The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating, Louisville, KY

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (14)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fun (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Historic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an incredible experience at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had an incredible experience at the silver dollar! We had the most awesome waiter named Titus! All of the food that we got was delicious! I know that most people would not order chicken livers, but I am a lover of them and these were the best I have ever had! We also got a side of fries and macaroni and cheese that were the best ever ! The fried oysters were incredible and cooked to perfection! I would highly recommend the Silverdollar to anyone… Great atmosphere food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the seating somewhat uncomfortab ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I found the seating somewhat uncomfortable (small, metal chairs) and the atmosphere (dark, loud music) was not exactly what I had in mind for catching up with friends. It's difficult to hold a conversation. However, the food and service were good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

no wait. seated immediately. great wai ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

no wait. seated immediately. great wait staff. great drinks. good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We ate at the bar and we're treated to i ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We ate at the bar and we're treated to incredible service by everyone. The food was delicious as well! The fried oysters were a major standout, as was the fried okra. Old school country was the soundtrack the night we were there, which fit the scene perfectly. Can't wait to come back....this place rocks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great shrimp & grits for brunch! Could t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great shrimp & grits for brunch! Could turn the music down a notch to make it more enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here. The food and ove ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First time dining here. The food and overall experience was really good. I plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Awesome bourbon list! Fun place for a da ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome bourbon list! Fun place for a date. The menu is outstanding and service as fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We won't be back for several reasons. It ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We won't be back for several reasons. It's too loud to enjoy any type of conversation. We were literally shouting at each other. The food and drinks are overpriced for the quality. Overall, not enjoyable at all and sadly we were celebrating a birthday. Wish we had gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This was recommended as a great place to ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was recommended as a great place to sample Bourbon in Louisville. The waitresses were extremely knowledgeable about Bourbon. The ribs were Excellent!

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun experience with great table service ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fun experience with great table service from Ibrahim and outstanding food.

Only complaint is the sound level but the energy was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy environment and great waiter. Good ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Happy environment and great waiter. Good cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good bourbon selection. Lots of s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Pretty good bourbon selection. Lots of seating. Great food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Priority seating works very well all the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Priority seating works very well all the time , brunch is great, never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice enough restaurant with lots of bour ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice enough restaurant with lots of bourbon if that is your thing. The food was excellent, no complaints at all. The service was very spotty. We would go long stretches without seeing our waiter or waitress(didn't really know who was helping us). We ordered coffee three times and never got it and then the bill came and they charged us for two coffees. We used the priority seating system and arrived 10 minutes early, one hour later we were finally seated.

In conclusion, great food, fun atmosphere, questionable service at best.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and drinks were good, but a gro ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and drinks were good, but a group of 6 was a little difficult to get seated even with call ahead seating. Brunch order took over an hour to recieve food.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Spicy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good except for the ba ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was very good except for the barbecue which was not liked by 2 in our crowd.

It was so noisy it made it hard to hear anyone talking in our group but I'm a senior and probably not very groovy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We loved the atmosphere and the sides, b ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the sides, but some of the meals were not AS amazing. Still great though. The resaraunt was very busy so we didn't feel like the service was as good, but that's to be expected on a busy evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing, would go back for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing, would go back for brunch anytime.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place for both dinner and brun ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love this place for both dinner and brunch. Historic place. Southern feel. Great bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server who was willing to be flexi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great server who was willing to be flexible in delivering a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I personal thought their bourbon prices ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I personal thought their bourbon prices were on the high side and their pours were average at best. Kind of strange for a place that advertises "Whiskey by the Drink". Their food was very good even though our server didn't bring one of the meals we ordered.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Trendy, but not great

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Trendy, but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Restaurant -- Food and service great. Be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Restaurant -- Food and service great. Best chili I've ever had, and I was a fireman for 27 years. Everyone else enjoyed the meat loaf and the grilled cheese cheese burger monstrosity. Fun place.

Priority seating online deal -- There's a glitch. I typed in my name twice, but the confirmation email had a different name for me. Then the hostess looked confused when I told her. I am not JimR.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always love eating here. Great food, coc ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always love eating here. Great food, cocktails, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ended up splitting chicken and waffles ( ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ended up splitting chicken and waffles (it was amazing) and had a side of fried okra (delicious). Sat in the back patio, and the atmosphere was really nice; classy lights hanging from above, and lots of character from the walls/tables/chairs. Very neat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was ok. I personall ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service was ok. I personally didn't like it. Mainly because the tables are very close together. Too close to have a conversation without the next table hearing every word. I felt very uncomfortable the whole time and it wasn't crowed at all. If you don't mind sitting close to strangers it's fine. It's just not a place for me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We actually went to Silver Dollar twice ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We actually went to Silver Dollar twice during our vacation because the first experience was so good!! I would go back in a heartbeat. The service was great and the food was fantastic - and the atmosphere was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making a reservation was pointless. We w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Making a reservation was pointless. We were standing there and they gave away our booth, after waiting an additional 20 minutes after the reservation. We never got a booth and settled on a table instead. Once seated, we waited another 10-15 minutes for service. Once we got a waiter, the night went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Music was great but a tad too loud, musi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Music was great but a tad too loud, music selection was very very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, cool old fire ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, great service, cool old firehouse setting, and lots of whiskeys, what's not to love!?! Also, the people that eat there are among the coolest ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Dollar is a fun place for drinks ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Silver Dollar is a fun place for drinks or dinner. The food is always tasty and the bar is always well stocked with some of the best bourbons around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at the Silver Dollar is alwa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service at the Silver Dollar is always top notch. Super friendly servers who love to help and when possible will get the chef to do something off menu. As an example, I wanted a refreshing cocktail given it was over 90 degrees but don't drink bourbon. Our awesome server Matthew suggested a drink they no long had on the menu. It was perfect. We had a great time, as always.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the brunch! The servers are nice.

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love the brunch! The servers are nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service! Be prepared fo ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome food and service! Be prepared for loud music and flies because the garage door might be open :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and cocktails, though a bit l ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and cocktails, though a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great good, creative cocktails, attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great good, creative cocktails, attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dislike they don't serve fountain drinks ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dislike they don't serve fountain drinks. No ability to serve frozen drinks, as in a margarita.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really not that good. Food was bland. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really not that good. Food was bland. Service sucked. Will not return. Ya'll Louisville peeps need to get out more if you think this is a decent place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.