About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, Tyler Powell, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (64)
fit for foodies (51)
vibrant bar scene (50)
See All
hot spot (45)
good for groups (43)
great for outdoor dining (39)
great for brunch (28)
great for lunch (20)
late-night find (18)
special occasion (11)
kid-friendly (9)
romantic (5)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find, great food

Dined 5 days ago

We came here for brunch and we loved it so much that we came back for supper on our last night in the area. Great comfort food, super service (the bartender came to the table and talked about bourbon with us for about 15 minutes) and just a fun place to eat. Go for brunch - the biscuits and gravy with eggs is amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I totally LOOVED this place, EXCEPT for ...

Dined 5 days ago

I totally LOOVED this place, EXCEPT for the extremely loud music!!! I would have ate inside, but we absolutely could not hear a conversation if we wanted to!!! I'm SURE of it that you would have way more dinner customers if it weren't that loud. We also had a 4yr old and a new born with us. Outside was VERY enjoyable!!! Servers were fabulous! I'm a vegetarian and had the delicious veggie burger! Great staff! THANK YOU! Annette Sweeney

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food but drink service was slow

Dined on May 16, 2016

I met a group of five friends here on a Monday night. When we got there, not many people were around, but it seemed to take entirely too long to get cocktails and beer. The food was really good and came out in a timely fashion, but the service overall just seem to be a little lackluster.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The perfect dinner rendezvous

Dined on May 15, 2016

Some friends were in experiencing the Bourbon Trail and we wanted a local place to meet after their journey. The Silver Dollar was perfect - from the selection of bourbon to the delicious entrees to the friendly staff - it was a perfect night. We used the priority seating and had our table right On time. We tried the Chicken and Waffles, Pork Chop and a Burger - all were delicious and served beautifully appointed. We will definitely return.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed brunch before my son's graduatio ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed brunch before my son's graduation from graduate school. This was his recommendation and the food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Experience. Love the chicken and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome Experience. Love the chicken and waffles!!!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Cracker Barrel for Hipsters

Dined on May 13, 2016

I'd recommend the fried oysters and kale, not so much the barbecue and salad. Somewhat overpriced but very popular.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

So good!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience!! Took a little bit to get food, but was well worth the wait.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Eclectic Local Favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

Silver Dollar is a staple in the Clifton area. Delicious cocktails, excellent food and a lively hipster scene. The brunch is top notch and the service is commendable. I recommend this spot to anyone who visits town and I'll continue to do so.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Brunch for Mothers Day was great.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch for Mothers Day was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Not only were the food great and the dec ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Not only were the food great and the decor awesome, but the service was amazing as well. I was running late for my reservation and they were very understanding and helpful in helping me keep my table, especially at a time as busy as Derby weekend! Thank you, The Silver Dollar! Would recommend 10/10

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice atmosphere, good food

Dined on May 7, 2016

I went to the Silver Dollar on the Friday night before the KY derby (called the Oaks Day). This is the busiest weekend of the year for restaurants in L'ville. I initially reserved this spot in March and the restaurant called to confirm and had to take a credit card to reserve which I was hesitant to provide. The food was inventive, not too expensive and well prepared. Service was attentive despite the large booking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dining During Derby Weekend

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We are regulars...but will likely not come back on Derby weekend. We were seated timely, but the changed to limited menu and increase in prices was not what we had in mind. You need more appetizers added to limited menu...we would have stayed longer and probably had more drinks. Chicken and waffles was a hit as usual with us and our out of town guests.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not impressed

Dined on May 6, 2016

I chose this place due to its high ranking on trip advisor. We drove in for Derby weekend from Milwaukee, WI and I wanted a fun place to get drinks and dinner when we got into town relatively late. The drinks were great, service was good, but the food was not very high quality or impressive (for the price or even in general.) I wish we would have gone somewhere else. If you want a neighborhood place for drinks its great, but not for much else in my opinion. Skip the food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks are excellent.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and drinks are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS A GREAT TIME!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The Silver Dollar is definitely one of my favorite go-to spots! The atmosphere is definitely unique and it's situated in an old fire station. They place great music and the place and servers just have a great vibe going on. The food is ALWAYS ON POINT!! I have never been disappointed! I highly recommend The Silver Dollar!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with great service!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Fried pickles a must as well as the chicken livers! The black bean sandwich was a great option for vegetarians as well as the tomato soup. Will do this again and again. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The BLT salad and the chicken and waffle ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The BLT salad and the chicken and waffles - you CANNOT go wrong!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place brunch, lunch or dinner!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We love the Silver Dollar! They have a great menu that has great entrees for any meal. Their smoked meats are delicious and their sides cannot be beat especially the collard greens and mac and cheese. We love going there for late night gatherings as well with friends and you can't been the atmosphere on the patio or even in the bar area. The staff is knowledgeable about the food and the cocktails and they have great attitudes. You can't beat the Kentucky Mule or the Silver 75 to wind down after a long day at work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place with great food. Chili is go ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great place with great food. Chili is good, large portion, enough for a whole meal. Brisket was good as well. Will be going back again.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Silver Dollar

Dined on April 20, 2016

This hipster haven lived up to its billing, with funky cocktails and apps, and a delicious menu of Southern comfort food delicacies.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed our brunch on the back patio. M ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed our brunch on the back patio. My husband thought the fried oysters were really good, and I had the SD dog, like a cornbread pancake dog with sausage inside. Delish!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Silver dollar/50 cents

Dined on April 16, 2016

Got there at appointed time and were seated. Good. Found menu to be limited. Went for the Cheese burgers which were OK, not great, but OK. There was no dessert menu, therefore the waiter had to recite one, witch was quit limited, nothing chocolate except chocolate chip cookies. The coconut cream pie we got was tasteless but the whole milk was good. Just an average neighborhood bar and grill with average food. The place is in an old Fire House and is open to both front and back. Music playing and street noise plus conversations, shouting, made for an unpleasant atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The priority seating was helpful. We lov ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The priority seating was helpful. We loved the food & the atmosphere! Would definitely recommend! The chicken & waffle was yummy & my husband loved the smoked brisket!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We used call ahead eating before the Saturday Garth Brooks show. The bartenders were great the hostess catered to our picky seating preferences, and the chicken and waffle was the best I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner Spot is Louisville

Dined on April 4, 2016

The last dinner spot on our vacation in Louisville, and I wished we found it sooner. Staff was awesome and the food was great. I had the meatloaf sammy and was very pleased with my choice. We also had the deep fried pickles and try all the house sauces. Music was fun, but a little loud at times. Other than the noise, I think most people will enjoy the vibe

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant surprise

Dined on April 3, 2016

The chicken and waffle was a pleasant and tasty surprise, but pricy for a piece of fried chicken and a waffle! As with most places these days, the beer is over priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Arrived early, did not get seated for at ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Arrived early, did not get seated for at least 25 minutes after "Priority Seating " time. Seems pointless.

food5
ambience4
service5

Family brunch with mostly adult children ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Family brunch with mostly adult children. Attentive service, great variety of food. Enjoyed the hash browns (had to order extra because they were such a hit!), pancakes with blueberry butter, syrup & whipped butter, huevos rancheros & the steak & eggs (steak perfect! Not overdone.) Silver Dollar is always very noisy so it can be hard to enjoy the company you're with but today it was manageable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the vibe at this place! The food i ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Love the vibe at this place! The food is PERFECT - From preparation to presentation, it doesn't get better! The staff is super friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Will be back and will recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

In Touch With It's Own Soul

Dined on March 11, 2016

This is a great neighborhood gem in the Frankfurt Ave area. The brunch menu is terrific as well as their normal fare. My wife and I have been here numerous times, and this visit was great as usual. She got the cheese burger with sweet potato fries, and I got the signature brisket with fried okra. Everything was delicious! The beer was great and the ambiance of classic bluegrass/country made it even better. You will not be disappointed. (But come early!)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food, fun atmosphere but almost too loud

Dined on March 6, 2016

Went to Silver Dollar with my wife on Saturday March 5, 2016. We were promptly seated even though the place was packed. The service was attentive and helpful, and the food was really good. The place was a bit too noisy but it's expected given it's a popular place

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Normally great

Dined on March 6, 2016

It was extremely loud and the food was mediocre. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We have had a wonderful experience before but this time was not the same.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fun :)

Dined on March 5, 2016

Loved the vibe of local restaurant - menu is small but everything sounded good! Fried oysters were amazing! Our cocktails were also good - awesome bourbon menu! Great place to hang out with friends!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brisket Ever!!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Best Brisket I've ever had, ever! Sides were great. Great Local Beer List. Table was ready when we got there. Server was nice and had great menu knowledge. I can't stress enough how great the brisket was. I live six hours from Louisville, and will be tempted to make the drive just for the Silver Dollar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Silver Dollar Priority Seating

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went to The Silver Dollar to celebrate a friend's birthday/ girls night. The overall environment of the restaurant was great. There was music and festive lighting, and a friendly knowledgeable staff. The bourbon list is very inclusive, and they also provide various other beverage varieties. Our waitress was able to breakdown all of our cocktail questions and recommend drinks for our different tastes. The food was phenomenal. I, along with two other friends, ordered the barbeque pork sandwich which comes with their house made coleslaw ( the best I've ever had) and a side of home-made sweet potatoes. Not only did the food have great flavor on its own, but they even make their own sauces and ketchup. This is an awesome place to enjoy a night of quality food and drink with friends or family

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Don't Waste Your Time

Dined on February 21, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The reservation could not be filled when we arrived and had to wait 40 minutes past our reserved time for a table. The host indicated they were running behind and gave no indication of apology. Once we were seated, our server was unable to answer questions about the bar menu despite the bar menu indicating to ask the server. When she did answer, she told my husband a beer was a local double IPA. Upon receiving the beer, he realized it was not even an IPA, much less a double IPA. We asked for straws for the six of us and received two. We had to ask two additional times to even get six straws. We ordered an appetizer (fried pickles) that never came. The server indicated she forgot to put them in, but they would be coming out. She let us know this when we were getting our dinner. When our food was delivered, we had no silverware. The server delivering her food told us our server should get that for us, then rolled her eyes said she would go ahead and get it and went to go get it. At no time during the experience did anyone from management come check on our dining experience or ensure the quality of the experience. The food was lackluster at best, and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drink but a little pricey ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and drink but a little pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

A must go to for out of town guest or visitors. The brunch is amazing for those in the mood for something other than the traditional bacon and eggs. The dinner is southern comfort food with some extra spice. The fried okra is my favorite combined with the gold rush cocktail.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.