Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, Erica Goins, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
Erica Goins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
People Watching (10)
Great Beer (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious brunch, hip atmosphere, and friendly staff!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.
Intend to bring out of town guest next time :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our night started out by the host/hostess telling me and my family that this place might not be the place for us!! We have been there before:/ It made me so mad. Then we got our table outside, took the server 15 minutes to greet us, food was not great tasting for the price you all charge. Then the server almost dropped plates on my son's head and I protected him and the server blamed me in a joking way that it was my fault. Not cool. We have so many amazing restaurants in Louisville and I could have chosen any, we decided to come to you all and we regret our decision and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great fried chicken livers and catfish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service,food & atmosphere. We met for a family birthday brunch. We made the preferred seating reservation online on Saturday, received a call on Sunday morning to confirm and to give us choice of indoor or outdoor seating. We really appreciated the call as we were all coming from different parts of the state...great to know they were expecting us. We had an EXCEPTIONAL SERVER, did not get her name but it was also her birthday.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Went with family. Fun atmosphere, great food, they provided us with gluten free menus when we arrived because I noted allergy in our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I loved the service. Also appreciated that fact they called me hours before to confirm my reservation. I will be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

18th birthday for my daughter. Best Chicken and waffles ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice casual spot. Staff very friendly. Other guests easy going and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

They have an awesome KY bourbon selection and their chili con frijoles is great!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It's a great whiskey bar that serves a fairly limited menu of good food. Loud and fun. Doesn't try to do too much. A necessary stop for anyone touring Louisville's Bourbon infrastructure, a fun place to go with loud friends, more for the experience than the food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat. It's always a pleasure to have dinner here and a great place to bring your date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Very nice and attentive staff. Much too loud initially, but we were listened to and the music was turned down a good bit. The food is ample and as expected for good, old-fashioned, greasy & messy bar food. Many item are served in plastic baskets on flimsy wax paper (which proved a problem for me when I tried to eat an overflowing sandwich with a knife and fork: the paper got soggy and cut up by the knife and I probably ate pieces of paper with the bun -- I would much prefer a plain plate!) But, seriously, how can any place with fried chicken livers be bad? With a great selection of beers and bourbons and more, the bar is notable. And it is open late which is a real plus in Louisville where they roll the restaurant streets up much too early.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Super friendly servers! Taste sensations and great combinations of flavorings!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Priority seating wasn't very priority. We were early and then got seated late at a table that was open the entire time, about 55 minutes total. That set the mood. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was our first visit and we will be back soon! Food was delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for Brunch. A little to noisy inside, so we sat outside. It was a beautiful day. Food was amazing. Mimosas a little pricy and they had orange seeds.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Too loud to hear the person sitting next to me. Then they turned the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Seated on time. Good service. Had an issue with a spill and was handled very professionally and quickly! And good food

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We reserved a table and was sat as soon as we came in. Server was friendly and knowledge. The service was fast, and the drinks and food were delicious! Definitely will be back again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We love the food & friendly environment at Silver Dollar! You can't go wrong with any of the cocktails either :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Cornbread pancakes were extra delicious but we enjoyed everything we ordered (steak and eggs, bacon)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. Super cool place! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food here is excellent! The atmosphere is cool for a bar and the service is always great. Top-notch drinks that are definitely worth the price. I've been to brunch twice and had many different items, and they've all been fantastic. The only thing on this visit that I would recommend is a new sauce to dip the sweet potato fries in. Whatever sauce they give you with the sweet potato fries is really not good. It doesn't complement them at all because it's not sweet and quite frankly just isn't good. But I'm telling you everything else they serve that I've ever had there has been fantastic from shrimp and grits, flank steak and eggs, biscuits and gravy, and even their toast.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

When I walked up to the Silver Dollar there was a crowd around the door and the bar area was also crowded. I expected a bit of a wait, but when I said I had the Priority Seating, we were seated right away. A guy standing next to me even asked how to 'get in on the priority seating' gig because he had been waiting a while for a table. I told him to use Open Table.

I met a group of old friends. We were in no hurry during our dinner. Our waiter kept apologizing for our wait for our food. We never noticed that our food was taking a long time, but the manager gave us a discount when we got our bills because evidently the kitchen was behind all night. As I said, we didn't notice and they didn't need to do it, we even said so, but they did it anyway. I thought that was great service. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came for brunch service was great a little disappointed in food

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Been here several times and it's one of my favorites but I was extremely disappointed in the food this time. I ordered the shrimp and grits with no bacon (what I get every time I come for brunch). The first time they brought it to me with bacon, I sent it back. They were quick to get out another order but it was about 1/4 of what I actually should have gotten! I was hungry again 45 mins later! I'm paying full price, I should get the full meal. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were a party of 6 and everyone's food was good from burger to catfish. The place was small so they utilize outdoor seating in the rear patio and front sidewalk via a large garage door they open which causes the inside to be warm. Think the wait time would be much longer on cooler days. I'd recommend the BBQ chicken thighs if you like spicy food. Don't sit inside if you want to have a conversation as it is a bit too loud. Gluten free meals available.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best drinks in town and staff always so friendly. Love the fact they play records still

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Limited menu, but great flavor and a good atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always a must when I'm traveling down 71. It gets busy here! So this guaranteed me a spot when I knew I'd be passing through.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great experience. First visit and I will go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great southern dining spot, lots of cool different seating options indoors and outdoors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best fried catfish I have ever had!!! Fried okra should have been fried a bit longer since some pieces had strings. Love the fried pickles that have a perfect sauce!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We ate at the Silver Dollar for the first time this past Sunday at 1:00. We used the Priority Seating literally just a few minutes after we decided on the restaurant. When we arrived the place was very busy but we were seated within moments. Both hosts were very attentive to us and they seated us in a great booth while we awaited our friends. We started with fried green tomatoes and then had the briscuit sandwich and chili cheese hash browns and fries and it was delicious. All of the food we watched being served made us want to go back. Loved all of the Mexican dishes on the menu. Our waitress was stellar as well. We left with nothing but great things to say. We'll be back!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Love Silver Dollar, always have to visit when I am in the Ville

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were in town for a tournament and all the places in downtown were completely packed, so we're glad we made the journey out here. The service was fantastic; we felt like we got served in plenty of time but the staff apologized that some of our food took longer than they wanted it to, and they took those items off our bill, which was an unnecessary but very generous gesture. All the food was fantastic and we loved the space and the vibe. I'll be back for more pickled pig's feet and other delights.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Met friends here for dinner, great all around! Seated quickly, outstanding service and fun atmosphere, we will visit The Silver Dollar again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved the atmosphere! Waiter was terrific. Fried pickles were great as an appetizer. Hamburgers were juicy and delicious. Just a few little things....the fries tasted like they had been sitting for a while and the lettuce wedge tasted lukewarm. Not a deterrent though. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

First visit. Friend recommended. We were very happy with the service, drink recommendations and food. We had a lot of questions with a party of 5 and the staff was great. Definitely would return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.