About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, Tyler Powell, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brisket
Chilaquiles Verdes
Onion Rings
Crab Cakes
House-Made Potato Chips
Long Train Blues
Fried Oyster Sandwich
North Coast Brewing Pranqster Ale
Sauces
Cornbread Pancakes
fried oysters
Banana Pudding
Pork Chops
Shrimp and Grits
Texas Chili Hashbrown
Sprite
Arbol, Verde And Ancho Sauces
Coffee
Huevos rancheros
Flank And Eggs
Chicken and Waffles
Fried Liver
Shrimp Ceviche
The Ultimate
Old Fashioned
Short Rib
David Nicholson 1843 7Yrs
Texas Toast Stack
Beer Can Chicken
Sweet potato fries
Tomato  Salad
Smoked Chicken Enfrijoladas

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Hot Spot (34)
Great for Brunch (27)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We actually went to Silver Dollar twice ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We actually went to Silver Dollar twice during our vacation because the first experience was so good!! I would go back in a heartbeat. The service was great and the food was fantastic - and the atmosphere was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making a reservation was pointless. We w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Making a reservation was pointless. We were standing there and they gave away our booth, after waiting an additional 20 minutes after the reservation. We never got a booth and settled on a table instead. Once seated, we waited another 10-15 minutes for service. Once we got a waiter, the night went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Music was great but a tad too loud, musi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Music was great but a tad too loud, music selection was very very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, cool old fire ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, great service, cool old firehouse setting, and lots of whiskeys, what's not to love!?! Also, the people that eat there are among the coolest ever.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Dollar is a fun place for drinks ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Silver Dollar is a fun place for drinks or dinner. The food is always tasty and the bar is always well stocked with some of the best bourbons around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at the Silver Dollar is alwa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service at the Silver Dollar is always top notch. Super friendly servers who love to help and when possible will get the chef to do something off menu. As an example, I wanted a refreshing cocktail given it was over 90 degrees but don't drink bourbon. Our awesome server Matthew suggested a drink they no long had on the menu. It was perfect. We had a great time, as always.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the brunch! The servers are nice.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love the brunch! The servers are nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service! Be prepared fo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome food and service! Be prepared for loud music and flies because the garage door might be open :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and cocktails, though a bit l ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and cocktails, though a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great good, creative cocktails, attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great good, creative cocktails, attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dislike they don't serve fountain drinks ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Dislike they don't serve fountain drinks. No ability to serve frozen drinks, as in a margarita.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really not that good. Food was bland. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really not that good. Food was bland. Service sucked. Will not return. Ya'll Louisville peeps need to get out more if you think this is a decent place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Way too noisy to carry on a conversation ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Way too noisy to carry on a conversation. The food was good and the service attentive. Maybe we'll try another day/time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the sandwiches and the best bourbon ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love the sandwiches and the best bourbon selection

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience with the Priority seati ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience with the Priority seating! We were seated as soon as we arrived. Staff was personable and efficient. Meal was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique venue, awesome bar, great food... ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unique venue, awesome bar, great food......it's my go to place....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate a late brunch here on a very hot ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We ate a late brunch here on a very hot steamy June day. My huevos rancheros were authentic and delicious and the rest of the gang enjoyed their food; one had the verde nacho dish, two had burgers, and our younger one was served a grilled cheese that they cheerfully made for her as a special order on Texas toast.

Great ambiance and fun atmosphere. Music was a little loud for brunch time.

This would be a great place to try at night and it reminds me of the Bakersfield restaurant in OTR in Cincinnati.

For whisky drinkers, the selection could not be beat, though we did not have any whisky during our visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Execellent service from our server, Mich ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Execellent service from our server, Michael. The brisket was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice spot

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was amazing and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend the chicken and waffles any time of day. We were looking for a unique local spot for our anniversary dinner after moving to town and the Silver Dollar did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yum!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We brought friends from out of town here. They are well traveled folks who have eaten at many fine places over the years. They really enjoyed their food.

We thought the atmosphere was terrific, too, and the wait staff helpful, friendly, and relaxed. Most enjoyable outing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait for our food was way too long, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The wait for our food was way too long, but a neighboring table said that was unusual for this place. Food was good, drinks were good. We will give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Foodie Road Trip Highlight

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A group of friends and I traveled to Louisville for our friend's wedding. We are all foodies and planned several stops along the way. The food was amazing on the trip, but this place was by far the best! We wanted to stay and go back the next day! The Texas hash browns were a crowd favorite. The service was wonderful. Cute, eclectic, almost hole in the wall. This place is down to earth, but sassy cute. Loved it! I will definitely find a way to work this in on my next road trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated right away! Excellent bourbon lis ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Seated right away! Excellent bourbon list, best I've ever seen. Yummy food. Very hip and active vibe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent location, vibe and service. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent location, vibe and service. A very social atmosphere with good food and drinks . Unlike any other restaurant in Louisville - hard to not have a good time here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find, great food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We came here for brunch and we loved it so much that we came back for supper on our last night in the area. Great comfort food, super service (the bartender came to the table and talked about bourbon with us for about 15 minutes) and just a fun place to eat. Go for brunch - the biscuits and gravy with eggs is amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I totally LOOVED this place, EXCEPT for ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I totally LOOVED this place, EXCEPT for the extremely loud music!!! I would have ate inside, but we absolutely could not hear a conversation if we wanted to!!! I'm SURE of it that you would have way more dinner customers if it weren't that loud. We also had a 4yr old and a new born with us. Outside was VERY enjoyable!!! Servers were fabulous! I'm a vegetarian and had the delicious veggie burger! Great staff!

THANK YOU!

Annette Sweeney

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Good food but drink service was slow

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I met a group of five friends here on a Monday night. When we got there, not many people were around, but it seemed to take entirely too long to get cocktails and beer. The food was really good and came out in a timely fashion, but the service overall just seem to be a little lackluster.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The perfect dinner rendezvous

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Some friends were in experiencing the Bourbon Trail and we wanted a local place to meet after their journey. The Silver Dollar was perfect - from the selection of bourbon to the delicious entrees to the friendly staff - it was a perfect night. We used the priority seating and had our table right On time. We tried the Chicken and Waffles, Pork Chop and a Burger - all were delicious and served beautifully appointed. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed brunch before my son's graduatio ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed brunch before my son's graduation from graduate school. This was his recommendation and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Experience. Love the chicken and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome Experience. Love the chicken and waffles!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cracker Barrel for Hipsters

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I'd recommend the fried oysters and kale, not so much the barbecue and salad. Somewhat overpriced but very popular.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

So good!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience!! Took a little bit to get food, but was well worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An Eclectic Local Favorite

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Silver Dollar is a staple in the Clifton area. Delicious cocktails, excellent food and a lively hipster scene. The brunch is top notch and the service is commendable. I recommend this spot to anyone who visits town and I'll continue to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch for Mothers Day was great.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch for Mothers Day was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not only were the food great and the dec ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Not only were the food great and the decor awesome, but the service was amazing as well. I was running late for my reservation and they were very understanding and helpful in helping me keep my table, especially at a time as busy as Derby weekend! Thank you, The Silver Dollar! Would recommend 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere, good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I went to the Silver Dollar on the Friday night before the KY derby (called the Oaks Day). This is the busiest weekend of the year for restaurants in L'ville. I initially reserved this spot in March and the restaurant called to confirm and had to take a credit card to reserve which I was hesitant to provide.

The food was inventive, not too expensive and well prepared. Service was attentive despite the large booking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dining During Derby Weekend

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We are regulars...but will likely not come back on Derby weekend. We were seated timely, but the changed to limited menu and increase in prices was not what we had in mind. You need more appetizers added to limited menu...we would have stayed longer and probably had more drinks. Chicken and waffles was a hit as usual with us and our out of town guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not impressed

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I chose this place due to its high ranking on trip advisor. We drove in for Derby weekend from Milwaukee, WI and I wanted a fun place to get drinks and dinner when we got into town relatively late. The drinks were great, service was good, but the food was not very high quality or impressive (for the price or even in general.) I wish we would have gone somewhere else. If you want a neighborhood place for drinks its great, but not for much else in my opinion. Skip the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Food and drinks are excellent.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and drinks are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.