Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, James Lucas, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
James Lucas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (16)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Great Beer (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great meal and service! But a little noisy for 4 people to talk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

My family & I enjoyed Sunday Brunch eating the biggest pancakes I've even seen!!! Nick was attentive, patient, & friendly! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and the ambiance at the restaurant was great. But I went for brunch and it was crazy crowded and loud and it took awhile for our servers to get back to us.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server was in training, but he did a wonderful job of explaining the specials for the night and reading our body language to know when we were ready to request anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were great. Our food was delicious and our server was very good. However, the drinks were overpriced and small. My mimosa was 2 sips and $6. I also asked for Baileys in my coffee. They did not have Baileys only a Buffalo Trace equivalent. Which was perfect but again overpriced.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My first time there. We used OpenTable to make reservation - highly recommend for Sunday brunch. Food was good and arrived quickly. Lively atmosphere and nice staff.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is the second time in a row now that I've gone to Silver Dollar for dinner and left without eating. Last time the service at the bar was so slow we were 45 minutes in before we had our drinks (counting delay to order and then the delay to get the drink), and it was really slow that night.
Last week, we went in with priority seating. I understand it's different than a reservation, and we chose to wait at the bar where there were 6 open seats. After waiting 15 minutes and no one asking if they could help us with a drink we decided to find another place to eat that evening. It was busy, but not crowded. They must do something about their bar service before I could recommend going here to a friend.
This place used to be one of the first places I'd recommend when we wanted a good bite or friends were coming into town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fried pickles, chicken and waffles, brisket, all outstanding. Place is busy for good reason, plan to wait a few minutes. Totally worth it. Brisket is limited supply, don't show up late and plan to get any. Food comes out quickly and staffers are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great spot for first night in Louisville. Love the ambience and welcoming staff. Food was very good and we had delicious cocktails. Fantastic first impression of this charming city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Louisville. The Goldrush is always delicious. You can't go wrong with any meal however I might like brunch just as much as dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is always delicious. Brisket is amazing. We have been here several times and food and service never disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner was very nice here. They could have used a few more servers though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fun, lively atmosphere after U of L basketball game. The brisket is the best. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great!!! Love the booths and service is usually awesome. Best old fashioned in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent spot for great southern food and cocktails. Bourbons galore and an exceptional cocktail list. Would highly recommend for a date night or brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent brunch on Sunday. The Flank & Email and the Corncrake were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cool place to hang. My husband loved the whiskey cocktail. I got chicken and waffles which is normally my favorite thing anywhere but it was a very strong maple syrup. Not my cup of tea. Fries and fried pickle were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

HOORAY

So pleased to find a great restaurant with lovely service and good food...I can bring out of town guests and not be disappointed. I was suspicious of the priority seating but it has worked well twice...even with a long line, so I am impressed and highly recommend using this reservation service....and great bar list, so I will have to come back some evening....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A great experience! Wonderful service by Alexis and hand crafted drinks were outstanding. A little loud but a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. Service was great. Actually we were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. I would highly recommend The Silver Dollar especially if you enjoy barbecue.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We visited for the first time for my husband's birthday and found our experience relaxing, satisfying, and fun. The service was great, the food was fantastic, and the ambience was casual and warm. We recommend the chicken livers if you like that sort of thing - my husband does and claimed they were Very Tasty. I got an iceberg wedge that was topped with house-made croutons, bleu cheese and lardons - it was delicious. The smoked brisket is amazing and the fried oyster sandwich is delicious. They make their own sauces that are just fresh and fabulous. We were traveling so my husband didn't take them up on the free Birthday Shot, but that sounded like a fun tradition. We will visit again the next time we are in Louisville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I found the priority seating very efficient and very good… The service was quite good for a crowded brunch crowd… And the food was absolutely perfect and served with great enthusiasm… All round a very lovely experience and I'm booking again!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Catfish was excellent, would hardly recommend it. We had priority seating for 6:15 and arrived on time. As of 6:40 we still did not have a table so we ordered from the Bar. We were attending a Play and could not wait any longer, we were called at 6:55 for a table. This was our first time there and will only return if we have the whole night to spend there. If this is typical for priority seating then I feel it should be abolished.

Tags: Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. My husband ordered the catfish. I had a special of trout over cheese grits with a homemade slaw. It was fantastic. Being that it was my first time dining in Louisville I had a Mint Julep. It was very good. They have many types of bourbon and other liquors. They have an extensive beer and wine list also.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The cornmeal pancakes are a must!! Had an amazing brunch and will certainly be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent New Year's Eve there for the past three years! Great food, great drink, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Try some bourbon, order some food (chicken and waffles or ultimate burger highly recommended) and relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great spot, great food. Poor acoustics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time dining, (second time drinking), at the Silver Dollar Saloon. Very fun and great, friendly service. Food was delicious and moderately priced.

Building is historic, try to figure out what the building was before it was a restaurant before asking the bartender.

Beautiful, historic décor upstairs for private parties.

We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had an incredible experience at the silver dollar! We had the most awesome waiter named Titus! All of the food that we got was delicious! I know that most people would not order chicken livers, but I am a lover of them and these were the best I have ever had! We also got a side of fries and macaroni and cheese that were the best ever ! The fried oysters were incredible and cooked to perfection! I would highly recommend the Silverdollar to anyone… Great atmosphere food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I found the seating somewhat uncomfortable (small, metal chairs) and the atmosphere (dark, loud music) was not exactly what I had in mind for catching up with friends. It's difficult to hold a conversation. However, the food and service were good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

no wait. seated immediately. great wait staff. great drinks. good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We ate at the bar and we're treated to incredible service by everyone. The food was delicious as well! The fried oysters were a major standout, as was the fried okra. Old school country was the soundtrack the night we were there, which fit the scene perfectly. Can't wait to come back....this place rocks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great shrimp & grits for brunch! Could turn the music down a notch to make it more enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First time dining here. The food and overall experience was really good. I plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome bourbon list! Fun place for a date. The menu is outstanding and service as fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We won't be back for several reasons. It's too loud to enjoy any type of conversation. We were literally shouting at each other. The food and drinks are overpriced for the quality. Overall, not enjoyable at all and sadly we were celebrating a birthday. Wish we had gone elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was recommended as a great place to sample Bourbon in Louisville. The waitresses were extremely knowledgeable about Bourbon. The ribs were Excellent!

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fun experience with great table service from Ibrahim and outstanding food.
Only complaint is the sound level but the energy was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Happy environment and great waiter. Good cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.