Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, James Lucas, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
James Lucas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (17)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Comfort Food (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (7)
Historic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

I know their focus is on the bourbon selection but two of us ordered wine and it was served in weird little 4 oz. dime store juice glasses?? Certainly not worth the $8.00 per glass price so we ordered a bottle which was brought to us with no ice so we had to pour our ice water in the bucket to keep it chilled. There were four of us and our food came out in three shifts, my husbands being last and it was just a pulled pork sandwich. I will say, the brisket was delicious, the hash browns were grey and soggy, can't believe they would serve something that looked like that.

Just very disappointed, for the $175.00 I have certainly had better food and service, especially since it was early on a Tuesday evening and they were not busy. Atmosphere is quite wonderful, we sat outside on the patio, and our server was pleasant, but it didn't live up to the hundreds of 4 star reviews on Yelp, the four of us have no desire to go back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Seated quickly. Food was great. Love the outdoor patio

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere was very comfortable we chose to sit outside really enjoyed it. The service was very friendly, and the food Was unique and very good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have lived in the Clifton area for over 20 years and love The Silver Dollar. Always take friends and family from out of town because it is so not your cookie cutter place to eat and drink. Staff is always welcoming and very knowledgeable of the menu and the libations!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome cocktails! Food was delicious. Service a little slow but it was busy and we were having fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing place, the food was great. Very large portion sizes!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food is marginal at best and service is poor. Don't waste your money or time.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great meal and service! But a little noisy for 4 people to talk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family & I enjoyed Sunday Brunch eating the biggest pancakes I've even seen!!! Nick was attentive, patient, & friendly! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and the ambiance at the restaurant was great. But I went for brunch and it was crazy crowded and loud and it took awhile for our servers to get back to us.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server was in training, but he did a wonderful job of explaining the specials for the night and reading our body language to know when we were ready to request anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

always great for breakfast, menu is broad and all options great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were great. Our food was delicious and our server was very good. However, the drinks were overpriced and small. My mimosa was 2 sips and $6. I also asked for Baileys in my coffee. They did not have Baileys only a Buffalo Trace equivalent. Which was perfect but again overpriced.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My first time there. We used OpenTable to make reservation - highly recommend for Sunday brunch. Food was good and arrived quickly. Lively atmosphere and nice staff.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is the second time in a row now that I've gone to Silver Dollar for dinner and left without eating. Last time the service at the bar was so slow we were 45 minutes in before we had our drinks (counting delay to order and then the delay to get the drink), and it was really slow that night.
Last week, we went in with priority seating. I understand it's different than a reservation, and we chose to wait at the bar where there were 6 open seats. After waiting 15 minutes and no one asking if they could help us with a drink we decided to find another place to eat that evening. It was busy, but not crowded. They must do something about their bar service before I could recommend going here to a friend.
This place used to be one of the first places I'd recommend when we wanted a good bite or friends were coming into town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fried pickles, chicken and waffles, brisket, all outstanding. Place is busy for good reason, plan to wait a few minutes. Totally worth it. Brisket is limited supply, don't show up late and plan to get any. Food comes out quickly and staffers are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great spot for first night in Louisville. Love the ambience and welcoming staff. Food was very good and we had delicious cocktails. Fantastic first impression of this charming city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Louisville. The Goldrush is always delicious. You can't go wrong with any meal however I might like brunch just as much as dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is always delicious. Brisket is amazing. We have been here several times and food and service never disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner was very nice here. They could have used a few more servers though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fun, lively atmosphere after U of L basketball game. The brisket is the best. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great!!! Love the booths and service is usually awesome. Best old fashioned in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent spot for great southern food and cocktails. Bourbons galore and an exceptional cocktail list. Would highly recommend for a date night or brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent brunch on Sunday. The Flank & Email and the Corncrake were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cool place to hang. My husband loved the whiskey cocktail. I got chicken and waffles which is normally my favorite thing anywhere but it was a very strong maple syrup. Not my cup of tea. Fries and fried pickle were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

HOORAY

So pleased to find a great restaurant with lovely service and good food...I can bring out of town guests and not be disappointed. I was suspicious of the priority seating but it has worked well twice...even with a long line, so I am impressed and highly recommend using this reservation service....and great bar list, so I will have to come back some evening....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A great experience! Wonderful service by Alexis and hand crafted drinks were outstanding. A little loud but a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. Service was great. Actually we were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. I would highly recommend The Silver Dollar especially if you enjoy barbecue.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We visited for the first time for my husband's birthday and found our experience relaxing, satisfying, and fun. The service was great, the food was fantastic, and the ambience was casual and warm. We recommend the chicken livers if you like that sort of thing - my husband does and claimed they were Very Tasty. I got an iceberg wedge that was topped with house-made croutons, bleu cheese and lardons - it was delicious. The smoked brisket is amazing and the fried oyster sandwich is delicious. They make their own sauces that are just fresh and fabulous. We were traveling so my husband didn't take them up on the free Birthday Shot, but that sounded like a fun tradition. We will visit again the next time we are in Louisville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I found the priority seating very efficient and very good… The service was quite good for a crowded brunch crowd… And the food was absolutely perfect and served with great enthusiasm… All round a very lovely experience and I'm booking again!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Catfish was excellent, would hardly recommend it. We had priority seating for 6:15 and arrived on time. As of 6:40 we still did not have a table so we ordered from the Bar. We were attending a Play and could not wait any longer, we were called at 6:55 for a table. This was our first time there and will only return if we have the whole night to spend there. If this is typical for priority seating then I feel it should be abolished.

Tags: Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. My husband ordered the catfish. I had a special of trout over cheese grits with a homemade slaw. It was fantastic. Being that it was my first time dining in Louisville I had a Mint Julep. It was very good. They have many types of bourbon and other liquors. They have an extensive beer and wine list also.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The cornmeal pancakes are a must!! Had an amazing brunch and will certainly be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent New Year's Eve there for the past three years! Great food, great drink, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Try some bourbon, order some food (chicken and waffles or ultimate burger highly recommended) and relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great spot, great food. Poor acoustics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time dining, (second time drinking), at the Silver Dollar Saloon. Very fun and great, friendly service. Food was delicious and moderately priced.

Building is historic, try to figure out what the building was before it was a restaurant before asking the bartender.

Beautiful, historic décor upstairs for private parties.

We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had an incredible experience at the silver dollar! We had the most awesome waiter named Titus! All of the food that we got was delicious! I know that most people would not order chicken livers, but I am a lover of them and these were the best I have ever had! We also got a side of fries and macaroni and cheese that were the best ever ! The fried oysters were incredible and cooked to perfection! I would highly recommend the Silverdollar to anyone… Great atmosphere food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I found the seating somewhat uncomfortable (small, metal chairs) and the atmosphere (dark, loud music) was not exactly what I had in mind for catching up with friends. It's difficult to hold a conversation. However, the food and service were good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

no wait. seated immediately. great wait staff. great drinks. good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.