Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating

The Silver Dollar is a re-imagining of the honky tonks of Bakersfield, CA, circa 1950s, when Southerners transplanted by the Dust Bowl to Southern California created one of the great American musical styles. This music, much of it on original vinyl, spins around the clock at the Silver Dollar, and is served along side craft cocktails and Chef Tyler Powell's made from scratch, Southern-meets-Southern-California cuisine 7 nights a week and for the city's most exciting brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. The restored 1890s firehouse that is home to the Silver Dollar features a 70 seat covered patio.



* This restaurant uses a Priority Seating style of reservation. Priority Seating means that your party will go to the top of any wait list when you arrive at the restaurant, and you will be seated at the first available table that will accommodate your party when your full party is present. To make a traditional reservation for a party 8 +, please call us directly.

1761 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:pm - 2:00am (Kitchen closes at 12:00am, Bar open until 2:00am)

Cross Street:
Pope Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 259-9540

Website:
http://www.whiskeybythedrink.com/

Catering:
Putting the "Southern" in Southern California cuisine with catering options from the Silver Dollar menu, Executive Chef, James Lucas, can prepare a special menu to fit any event.

Executive Chef:
James Lucas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Silver Dollar - Priority Seating Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Bar Seating (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great Beer (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (8)
Historic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

It is one of our go to places in Louisville! Great food, drinks, people, and dog friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

first off, they never checked me in even though we went so i never got the points.

to the actual review: the food was good. really solid stuff. would definitely go back *if* we never got the same waiter. the service was terrible. the hostess wasn't rude, but had a bit of an attitude with us since we didn't notice the (empty) hostess stand and went looking for someone to help us. once we got seated, we didn't see our waiter for at least 15 minutes. he was extremely difficult to hear as he was soft spoken for and the restaurant was loud. we told him we needed more time to pick some beverages and didn't see him for another 20 minutes. he came back and got our food ordered and again disappeared for another 20 minutes without bringing any of our drinks. we didn't even see him again until our food was already delivered. we had to ask a bus boy to refill our waters. i actually thought at one point maybe out server's shift ended and he left having forgotten us, but then we saw him taking selfies with another table.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

seated quickly, tasty food, and friendly service
went for Mother's Day brunch
drinks weren't my favorite but not terrible either

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great drinks. Awesome bourbon selection. Fantastic food

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Even though we had a reservation we still were told there was a wait and that they would call us when it was ready. Requested outdoor seating and was told that they had several tables available but in a hour from now they were having a large group and wanted to save those tables for that group. Seated by the garbage and clearing area. Stacks of plates were on the floor next to our table and was noisy from the staff clearing things. Not an ideal spot. Overheard that if you didn't have a reservation to seat the people at the bar. We had a reservation and waited a long time for the table and maybe would have been better off sitting at the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very eclectic setting. Booze menu is ginormous! Nice outdoor on street seating.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

In town for t he Derby! Food and drinks were amazing!!! Great last meal to end our fantastic weekend!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

we love Silver Dollar and came with some friends from out of town. We were excited about priority seating as Saturdays are always a wait. Unfortunately, we got there and waited for the same amount of time as everyone on the wait list. We still had a great experience but I won't bother with priority seating again

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Open table "reservation" worked out perfectly on a busy Saturday night. Good food. Great beer selection.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Steak was tough as whit leather. You grilled us a hair with a hamburger around it. Waitress apparently was doing us a favor by waiting on our table. The ONLY thing I could find good about the place was the bourbon list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Waiter knew his stuff.Great drink menu.Loved the simple decor.Loved the old country music and record player.Easy to get too.We were in town for a wedding and a girl at Bulleit Distillery suggested you guys.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Family brunch. They accommodated us well - including several children. They do not have kids cups, bring a sippy for little ones. Menu was diverse enough to appeal to everyone. Great service and fun drink options!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My brother and his fiancé came to town from NYC. They loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I know their focus is on the bourbon selection but two of us ordered wine and it was served in weird little 4 oz. dime store juice glasses?? Certainly not worth the $8.00 per glass price so we ordered a bottle which was brought to us with no ice so we had to pour our ice water in the bucket to keep it chilled. There were four of us and our food came out in three shifts, my husbands being last and it was just a pulled pork sandwich. I will say, the brisket was delicious, the hash browns were grey and soggy, can't believe they would serve something that looked like that.

Just very disappointed, for the $175.00 I have certainly had better food and service, especially since it was early on a Tuesday evening and they were not busy. Atmosphere is quite wonderful, we sat outside on the patio, and our server was pleasant, but it didn't live up to the hundreds of 4 star reviews on Yelp, the four of us have no desire to go back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Seated quickly. Food was great. Love the outdoor patio

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere was very comfortable we chose to sit outside really enjoyed it. The service was very friendly, and the food Was unique and very good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have lived in the Clifton area for over 20 years and love The Silver Dollar. Always take friends and family from out of town because it is so not your cookie cutter place to eat and drink. Staff is always welcoming and very knowledgeable of the menu and the libations!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome cocktails! Food was delicious. Service a little slow but it was busy and we were having fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing place, the food was great. Very large portion sizes!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food is marginal at best and service is poor. Don't waste your money or time.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great meal and service! But a little noisy for 4 people to talk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family & I enjoyed Sunday Brunch eating the biggest pancakes I've even seen!!! Nick was attentive, patient, & friendly! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and the ambiance at the restaurant was great. But I went for brunch and it was crazy crowded and loud and it took awhile for our servers to get back to us.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server was in training, but he did a wonderful job of explaining the specials for the night and reading our body language to know when we were ready to request anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

always great for breakfast, menu is broad and all options great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were great. Our food was delicious and our server was very good. However, the drinks were overpriced and small. My mimosa was 2 sips and $6. I also asked for Baileys in my coffee. They did not have Baileys only a Buffalo Trace equivalent. Which was perfect but again overpriced.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My first time there. We used OpenTable to make reservation - highly recommend for Sunday brunch. Food was good and arrived quickly. Lively atmosphere and nice staff.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is the second time in a row now that I've gone to Silver Dollar for dinner and left without eating. Last time the service at the bar was so slow we were 45 minutes in before we had our drinks (counting delay to order and then the delay to get the drink), and it was really slow that night.
Last week, we went in with priority seating. I understand it's different than a reservation, and we chose to wait at the bar where there were 6 open seats. After waiting 15 minutes and no one asking if they could help us with a drink we decided to find another place to eat that evening. It was busy, but not crowded. They must do something about their bar service before I could recommend going here to a friend.
This place used to be one of the first places I'd recommend when we wanted a good bite or friends were coming into town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fried pickles, chicken and waffles, brisket, all outstanding. Place is busy for good reason, plan to wait a few minutes. Totally worth it. Brisket is limited supply, don't show up late and plan to get any. Food comes out quickly and staffers are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great spot for first night in Louisville. Love the ambience and welcoming staff. Food was very good and we had delicious cocktails. Fantastic first impression of this charming city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Louisville. The Goldrush is always delicious. You can't go wrong with any meal however I might like brunch just as much as dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is always delicious. Brisket is amazing. We have been here several times and food and service never disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner was very nice here. They could have used a few more servers though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fun, lively atmosphere after U of L basketball game. The brisket is the best. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great!!! Love the booths and service is usually awesome. Best old fashioned in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent spot for great southern food and cocktails. Bourbons galore and an exceptional cocktail list. Would highly recommend for a date night or brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent brunch on Sunday. The Flank & Email and the Corncrake were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cool place to hang. My husband loved the whiskey cocktail. I got chicken and waffles which is normally my favorite thing anywhere but it was a very strong maple syrup. Not my cup of tea. Fries and fried pickle were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

HOORAY

So pleased to find a great restaurant with lovely service and good food...I can bring out of town guests and not be disappointed. I was suspicious of the priority seating but it has worked well twice...even with a long line, so I am impressed and highly recommend using this reservation service....and great bar list, so I will have to come back some evening....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A great experience! Wonderful service by Alexis and hand crafted drinks were outstanding. A little loud but a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.