About The Shore Club - Ottawa

11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
View Larger Map

The Shore Club Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge features the freshest seafood and tender steaks served in surroundings of understated luxury. Soaring ceilings, stunning original artwork and cool blue and green hues contribute to an elegant atmosphere that is second to none in Ottawa. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in our signature lounge, or descend to our dining room to experience all our signature menu has to offer. The Shore Club is perfect for a casual, drop-in visit, or a long-planned special occasion. Allow our professional team to cater to your every wish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar 2:30pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Rideau Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 569-5050

Website:
http://www.theshoreclub.ca/

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking for both lunch and dinner. Street parking and pay parking lots are also available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Groulx

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Shore Club - Ottawa, Ottawa, ON
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa, Ottawa, ON
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa, Ottawa, ON

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Shore Club has a beautifully appointed private dining room available for all types of business and social entertaining. The intimate Rideau Room, highlighted with stunning original art, accommodates a maximum of 18 guests and features state of the art stereo and audio visual capabilities.

The Shore Club - Ottawa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (16)
See All
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place never disappoints. Amazing fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

This place never disappoints. Amazing food and service every time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice wine list. Found that the menu was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice wine list. Found that the menu was a little overpriced as I found the fare average

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. Jessica was excellent

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Jessica was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, the Shore Club delivers a gre ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

As always, the Shore Club delivers a great meal with great service. We were a reasonably large group of seven but everything was perfect. It was the first time several of my friends had been to the Shore Club and they were not disappointed. Please give Gabrielle my thanks for her stellar service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was variable. Green beans in such ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was variable. Green beans in such a spicy sauce we could not taste the Arctic char. The desserts were pedestrian and lacked any sense of innovation or style one would expect in a high end restaurant. The beet salad was OK but had much better at Wilfred's in the Chateau and at Trattoria Vittoria in the market. For the price it was underwhelming.

It was noisy with seating designed that those opposite were facing our table and the sound carried and also bounced off the wall behind us.

Server was attentive but forgot to let the kitchen know when we were done our appetizers so there was a long wait for dinner.

All-in-all not a bad experience but for the price definitely not worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Booked this amazing looking restaurant f ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Booked this amazing looking restaurant for 5ppl

Beautiful restaurant, professional looking with the dining room looking quite full

Menu has a wide variety of steak and seafood which looked ok

So everyone at the table ordered with sides as well as some main dishes did not come w starch or greens

I ordered the buttermilk fried chicken; 2 thigh fillets, 1 drumstick, 1 small chicken breast w gravy

Everyone at the table enjoyed and finished their meal but I was terribly disappointed at the tasteless, dry meal I received

Service was ok not attentive but ok

For a restaurant that's located within the Westin I would expect a lot better for the $28 I paid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Tuna on Salad Nicoise melted in your mou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tuna on Salad Nicoise melted in your mouth. Excellent service and terrific food made for a lovely late lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the device and food was amazin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always the device and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This would be my second visit, and I wou ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This would be my second visit, and I would say the whole experience was much better than the previous. No waiter with attitude, no mixup in the food, very pleasant overall a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were long time clients of Hy's and th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were long time clients of Hy's and this was our first time to visit the Shore Club for lunch. The service was excellent, I had asked for Rad, and his service was superb as usual. The food however, was a disappointment and two of the day's specials were not recommended which was quite surprising. The ambience was lovely and the noise level was moderate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Fish/seafood is always great but order n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fish/seafood is always great but order nothing with legs. The beef bourguinon (a lunch special)) was lacking seasoning, broth was watery and temperature cool.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Rad was a wonderful and attentive server ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Rad was a wonderful and attentive server. The steak was cooked to perfection and the shrimp were plump and delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a GREAT experience. Hosted a s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a GREAT experience. Hosted a small Christmas luncheon and would have scored the restaurant higher except for the fire alarm part way through the meal. I would definitely go back for lunch or dinner - service was excellent food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great wine! A ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food, great service, great wine! A classic! Had a great business dinner!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Ottawa for a short period of ti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was in Ottawa for a short period of time for business and was looking for a good place to eat.

This is in the Westin hotel and the steaks are excellent. We were also recommended the scallop potatoes and Brussels which were also a good combination with the steaks.

I'll dine at Shore Club again when I'm in Ottawa!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed with the service as ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was not impressed with the service as we had to wait 1.5 hrs to get meal, our waitress forgot to order breads and I had to ask for it a second time. The meal itself was good but service was unorganized and I watched other tables get exceptional service. I felt obligated to tip even though she didn't deserve it.

I should have spoke to management at the time but for this level of restaurant you shouldn't have too and it would have just spoiled the evening even more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This was my first time eating at the Sho ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was my first time eating at the Shore Club, loved everything about it! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slightly overpriced but the food was ama ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Slightly overpriced but the food was amazing. It's in a key location and has a really cool atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have always enjoyed dinner and invited ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I have always enjoyed dinner and invited friends for lunch and was disappointed. We arrived on time at 12.30 and were served at 2pm. 2people had lobster bisque - comment was tasteless! They also were dissapointed with the Caesar salad. I enjoyed the fish tacos and the walleye lunch was enjoyed.

Our servers were pleasant but service was so slow.

The biggest disappointment was the tasteless soup and the slow service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service is always fantastic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food and service is always fantastic at Shore Club.

Worth every penny, we keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Shore Club is a very good place for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The Shore Club is a very good place for dinner in Ottawa. Consistently good food, nice wine list. A service is always good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was decent, everything was tast ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was decent, everything was tasty, but it is not worth the excessive prices - especially when sides are not included.

Service was a bit slow, they were obviously way too busy for the number of waitstaff. But the service we did receive was good.

Don't think I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was our first visit to the Shore Cl ...

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first visit to the Shore Club and overall it was very nice. We were going to a show at the NAC afterwards so the location was perfect for that. We shared 2 appies and 2 side dishes for a light meal, with wine by the glass (the list was quite nice). The tuna appetizer was phenomenal, the crab cake more on the "ok" side. Scalloped potatoes to die for, and the broccoli was nice, if a little underdone. Our server was gracious, but seemed very new and so was a bit slow and somewhat nervous. Nothing that won't improve with practice. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a pleasure to dine at the Shore C ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at the Shore Club. Great venue for a business meal, dining out with friends, or an opportunity to spoil your significant other with a night out for a fine meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This upscale fine dinning restaurant was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This upscale fine dinning restaurant was right in the lobby of our hotel, at the Westin. We walked by it daily, and had booked other restaurants elsewhere which were all disappointing... then one day my husband said "why don't we go here"? So I went upstairs to our hotel room & googled the restaurant, which had glowing reviews, then I made an online reservation for our final night... and I'm so glad we cancelled on the original place & switched to this one, it was great!

It's got a huge seafood menu... as well as steaks, & it was all superb, except for their calimari- which my husband didn't like the batter of... but other than then all the food was great. My husband had the jumbo lobster tail w/ king crab legs + onion rings, & I had the jumbo shrimp cocktail to start, then the steak and lobster for my main, w/ mac & cheese + asparagus as my sides. The sides were big, & meant for sharing... Finished our meal off with a baked Alaska & tea, it was delishous. This is definitely a special occasion fine dining restaurant. $$$

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Simply said....amazing food, amazing ser ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Simply said....amazing food, amazing service and an all around awesome place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unfortunate dinner. Wine was delici ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very unfortunate dinner. Wine was delicious however appetizers were bland and the beefsteak tomato app is horrible with absolutely no flavour. Entrees are the protein only (no veg/potato/anything) and not worth the 2.5 hour wait or the cost. Beef Wellington was good however very small portion. Filet mignon was chewy and bland. Risotto (added as a side dish, family style, also small) was under cooked and crunchy. When it was fixed, it came back as paste. Management did take our meals off of our bill, however we hardly ate and at this time, service was so long that it was too late to eat anywhere else. We went purposely to this hotel for the restaurant and it was such a disappointment. Our waiter mentioned that he hadn't had a complaint all night, which I find hard to believe considering almost everything we had was poorly cooked. But also ruined our night by blaming us for being picky over uncooked rice. Even with our main entrees removed from our bill, we had coffee and desserts and our bill was still over $200 therefore, Yes I did expect to be wowed and I was extremely disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

They service and food was amazing. Its ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They service and food was amazing. Its the first and not the last time i come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went along with a group of 6 celebrating ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went along with a group of 6 celebrating a graduation. Several members of the party were Muslims although only one was recognizable as such. However the waiter was clearly up on customs and after the alcoholic beverages at the beginning of the meal had been declined unobtrusively picked up the wine list. He asked about dietary restrictions and ensured they were not included in the dishes. Service throughout was very good and attentive without being intrusive. We were very impressed by his professionalism. Food was excellent. Great place for a celebration or just a good evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birji was absolutely amazing and so hap ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Birji was absolutely amazing and so happy to see him at shoreclub! Thank you for such a lovely evening with a delicious meal and excellent service! Thank you

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fun, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood platter was a dream come tru ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The seafood platter was a dream come true. They made an accommodation by replacing things I don't eat ( clams, oyster) with things I like. Fun sauces came with it.

The waitress was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely phenomenal! I go for lunch qu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal! I go for lunch quite often and that's always delicious and this was my first time for dinner celebrating my birthday and the food was amazing! Steaks were delicious! It can be a bit pricey because it is a la Carte so all of the sides are priced individually - but 1 side is large enough to share emong 2 people. The service was great! An amazing ambiance and very cozy but still classy. Would definitely go back for dinner, and of course for lunch like I usually do.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Room is beautiful. Server ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Disappointing. Room is beautiful. Servers are friendly and try hard. But on two visits this week my food order was delivered incorrectly, requests for condiments to the runners went unanswered, water and ice tea glasses were left unfillef, etc. When these issues were raised, nothing was done.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Never disappoints. Try the double cut la ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Never disappoints. Try the double cut lamb chos and the brownie. Yummy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy dining at The Shore Club ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We always enjoy dining at The Shore Club. Excellent food and service. It's a must visit whenever we are in Ottawa.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did a good job. Very nice food. Y ...

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They did a good job. Very nice food. Yummy Lobster Bisque, Seared Prawn & Scallop, Fillet Mignon and the lovely Baked Alaska. The side broccoli smartly comes with raisin and the brussel sprout is very tasty. Our waiter is very efficient and cheerful. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had such a great night. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had such a great night. Highly recommend. Hope to go bask soon

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason, Ottawa appears to have ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

For some reason, Ottawa appears to have lost it share of restaurants where service and culinary level are both high. Shore definitely meets the standard.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time and won't be the last as it w ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

First time and won't be the last as it was a very enjoyable experience and we will be back for the mussels and sea bass which were not only tasty but cooked to perfection

Bravo to the chef waiters and hostesses

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy loud Resturant. Great service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very busy loud Resturant. Great service and fresh hot food. Great place to catch up with friends

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.