Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Shore Club - Ottawa

The Shore Club Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge features the freshest seafood and tender steaks served in surroundings of understated luxury. Soaring ceilings, stunning original artwork and cool blue and green hues contribute to an elegant atmosphere that is second to none in Ottawa. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in our signature lounge, or descend to our dining room to experience all our signature menu has to offer. The Shore Club is perfect for a casual, drop-in visit, or a long-planned special occasion. Allow our professional team to cater to your every wish.

11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar 2:30pm - 1:00am

Happy Hour in the Lounge (Walk-ins only) 4:00pm-7:00pm

Cross Street:
Rideau Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 569-5050

Website:
http://www.theshoreclub.ca/

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking for both lunch and dinner. Street parking and pay parking lots are also available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Groulx

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Shore Club has a beautifully appointed private dining room available for all types of business and social entertaining. The intimate Rideau Room, highlighted with stunning original art, accommodates a maximum of 18 guests and features state of the art stereo and audio visual capabilities.

The Shore Club - Ottawa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (24)
Business Meals (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

the restaurant itself is nicely set up and comfortable. we were there on a Friday night at 8pm. service was very slow and waiter seemed distracted. it took a long time for him to take our order. I started with the beef tartare, which was tasty but the accompanying crostini were just plain, charred pieces of bread. dry and tasteless. I ordered the prawns and scallops. while tasty, the scallops had absolutely no colour or sear on them. I had heard the salt and vinegar fries were great but found there was barely a taste of vinegar. the cocktail I had - country caribana - was very tasty. all in all, the food was not bad but it lacked originality and execution.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had a great experience. The wait staff was amazing and went over and beyond to make out night pleasant. Would go back in a heart beat!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Each dish was prepared perfectly with delicate flavours and fresh ingredients. The service was absolutely fabulous- Rad was very attentive without hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food, seafood plater was amazing!
Great service!

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I had the fish Taco and while I didn't have high expectations from a hotel restaurant, it was surprisingly tasty and fresh! Cooked perfectly and well seasoned. The garden salad was also delicious and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Thank you, service was perfect, food and ambiance were really good. I had the salmon. Only negative, the parking was expensive ($ 26).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a marvelous time for my wife's birthday with friends. The attention of the hostess, bar staff and table service personnel was quite remarkable. From the Happy Birthday card to the willingness of the staff to accommodate our special request to the special desert, we had a fabulous time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Featured halibut dish was exquisite! Service was impeccable and ambiance was relaxing. Very nice dinner with family and will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Had a great experience. My girlfriend was very happy and they made her a card for her birthday. Food was incredible and cooked to perfection. Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Found the food to be somewhat mediocre for the pricing. Also found the server to be somewhat casual and passive. I'd go again, but wasn't blown away, which I'd like too atleast leave impressed for the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very bad experience , we have to wait 20 min for our table ,took 45 min to have the appetizers, then 20 min, for the main course. The meat was over cook and dry, and finally the waiter took half and hour to bring us the dessert menu, so we decided not to have anything else and ask for the bill and leave the place.
I will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The room was dimly lit, very cosy and inviting for evening dinner. I love that every dish was served fresh and piping hot! I hate when my food is lukewarm or cold. I liked that I did not feel rushed through each course and the waiter advised that our dishes would take some time to prepare so to enjoy an appetizer or drink. All in all we had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It is a fine steak house with some good dishes - the New York Strip could be a bit more marbled and although medium rare was suggested it was a little on the medium side. The Tomato steak salad was huge and (apparently) really good and the tuna tartare was an excellent size (and really tasty). The spring risotto (fresh peas) seemed a bit gummy but regardless tasted like spring! Great atmosphere but a lot of out of control children that disturbed a number of dates that were also happening at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

22nd wedding anniversary with Canada 150xth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very good on all counts. Angie, the hostess was particularly welcoming and responsive. I had to change my table and she was way ahead of me. She is a secret weapon!

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent place for business lunch. Quiet seating where we were located.
Food is excellent........................................................................................................
service is excellent......................................................................................................
Strongly recommend......................................................................................................
I've also had dinner here several times and again, second to none.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was our anniversary dinner. I was surprised to find that our server was very attentive even though the restaurant was busy. Excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall it was good. Expensive but it is a lounge and it is meant to be high-end. So no complaints on the price as we went for the luxurious evening.
The Manager/supervisor was very polite as were the bus boys and support staff. Our waiter, though, was snooty and impatient. For a tab of $500 I would have expected to get a little better service. He was not rude outright, but was a bit disdainful and looking down the nose. That spoilt it for us a bit - but we chose to ignore him.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

the disappointment was being seated at 12:40pm and it was a business lunch; I left at 1:45PM and never received my spinach salad w/chicken (50 minutes and no salad could be delivered? extremely disappointing

had better luck awith dinners at the same restaurant before

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was expensive but exquisite, waiting times a little too long. Main server slightly irritated when we asked for second basket of bread; also brought a Gazpacho soup (unasked for) instead of Beef Barley soup which was out. We were informed of this only when he showed up at our table.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

saumon trop cuit, trop cher pour la qualité des plats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food. Attentive server (Chad).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The shore club has been one of our favourite restaurants for years. In our recent visit, we noticed several changes on the menu. In fact, there were not very many options. Our waitress indicated that the restaurant has been having finanicial difficulties which could explain the changes on the menu. I hope they find a way to recover as I think the current menu is disappointing and might contribute to a decline in visits.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Incredible food, compassionate staff and a great atmosphere for few drinks or special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Wonderful dinner, our waiter was the best . Marko was so interesting and attentive. He made our dinning experiences even more pleasurable .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food is excellent. The steaks were cooked perfectly. The calamari appetizer was very tasty. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Seafood was (and generally has always been) very fresh. No complaints there! However, you'd think dining on a weekend they wouldn't have run out of selected appetizers as such an early time in the evening. All remaining guest dishes served (fish, filet mignon) were spot on and of the quality I've known this restaurant to deliver. The quality is always consistent which is why this place has always been a go-to for business dinners.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Since being invited by a friend to this restaurant a couple of years back we celebrate our birthdays here as the steaks are of very high standard and the wine list gives good value for those wanting "one glass" (either because they are in charge of a vehicle or want to diverge from the reds). Service is efficient and unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best meal I've ever had. Every bite was perfectly seasoned, presented and tasted heavenly. We had oysters that were fresh and tasty, poprcorn shrimp were tender, wedge salad was crispy and light, filet mignon was buttery, cheesecake was extra creamy, espressos and drinks.
Everything was
Cooked to perfection. I cannot wait to go back. Our server was pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Dinner here was the best. I had the short ribs, seasonal vegetables, and baked Alaska. The food was plentiful and delicious. Our waiter was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, thoughtful and very accommodating. I will definitely be back because everything about the Shore Club exceeded my expectations and I had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waitress Monica was amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food and service was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was wonderful; our server was very attentive and everyone was efficient and polite. The food was good, not fabulous. The restaurant was very, very noisy, even after the crowd watching a hockey game departed. As for drinks, my martini came in a half full glass. My companion had two glasses of wine - one glass was very full, the other not so - inconsistencies were confusing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a great time, great service and great food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always amazing food. Our server, Chad, was great- knowledgeable, professional, and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had dinner here on a Friday night before the NAC for a show. Meal was amazing - we had rib steak and maple glazed salmon. Both were fantastic. Mentioned it was my bf birthday when I confirmed our reservation and a card was waiting for him on our table when we arrived. Also gave him a small bite of brownie candle and happy birthday in glaze. Nice touch which was appreciated. Won't hesitate to head here again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very disappointing... Decor, service and ambiance was great but the food was way below standard. My friend had to return her food and my was barely acceptable. That was the second time I was disappointed with a visit. I would not return for another meal perhaps for a drink but not for food.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service, good wine selection and food. Need I say more...?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fantastic food and always fantastic service. Ottawa's premier steak and seafood place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The seafood was excellent. My Coral Trout stuffed with King Crab Leg was incredibly tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.