About The Shore Club - Ottawa

11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
View Larger Map

The Shore Club Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge features the freshest seafood and tender steaks served in surroundings of understated luxury. Soaring ceilings, stunning original artwork and cool blue and green hues contribute to an elegant atmosphere that is second to none in Ottawa. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in our signature lounge, or descend to our dining room to experience all our signature menu has to offer. The Shore Club is perfect for a casual, drop-in visit, or a long-planned special occasion. Allow our professional team to cater to your every wish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar 2:30pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Rideau Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 569-5050

Website:
http://www.theshoreclub.ca/

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking for both lunch and dinner. Street parking and pay parking lots are also available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Groulx

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa

Private Dining

The Shore Club has a beautifully appointed private dining room available for all types of business and social entertaining. The intimate Rideau Room, highlighted with stunning original art, accommodates a maximum of 18 guests and features state of the art stereo and audio visual capabilities.

The Shore Club - Ottawa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
4 More
Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Shore Club is our favorite dining sp ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Shore Club is our favorite dining spot - we've been celebrating our wedding anniversary for the last 5-years at the Ottawa location because the staff give you room to breathe and offer exceptional service. The intimate setting gives you a feeling of privacy. Hats off to the SC for making our anniversary celebration personal and satisfying.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent all the way. Food, service, wi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent all the way. Food, service, wine etc. Very good choice on the menu. The server was great. A syrian man who made all the possible efforts to serve us in French. He was wonderful. Sorry, I forgot his name. What an example! Ottawa should have more bilingual employees in their restaurants. Bilingual menus would be much appreciated too and it would show respects to most of the customers. Thank you for your attention.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 37th ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 37th anniversary and as we were staying in the Weston we decided we would book the Shoreline to have our celebration meal .

At the time of booking we were asked by the reservation operator if we were celebrating any special occasions and of course we mentioned our anniversary.

When we arrived at the restaurant the greeter welcomed us and said that he had a great table for us by the window ( which was looking out at the driveway LOL) . We were surprised that the table did not have a tablecloth, it was not until we were leaving that w noticed the area behind the bar had tables with tablecloths which I feel would have also been much quieter as we were in front of the bar. Part way thru our meal the greeter came to us apologizing that he had forgot to give us an anniversary card from the restaurant which leads me to believe he had lost track of our occasion ( I must point out that the reservation office asked us about special occasions we did not offer it up initially but the attempt to celebrate our anniversary was totally missed, they would of been better off not asking.) When my wife ordered the larger lobster meal she was informed they were not available...when the first bottle of wine was brought to our table the waitress, as she went to open it realized it had already been opened ( she did catch it and exchanged the bottle prior to pouring) . Saying this the waitress and the food was very good, but the overall experience was not worth the approx. $250.00 we spent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

My wife and I visited this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I visited this restaurant for our 14th wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was electric and romantic. The service was great. My drinks and side order wasn't much so. . Ordered a the martini because I wanted something equivalent to a daiquiri but it tasted more like beer . Had order take it back and get me a TSC Bellini and that wasn't exactly tasty . For looking for something with rum. Had the cauliflower but it was dry and hard.

Both or our main courses and desserts were great. We had no complaints. Our main purpose for going was for the main course meal but we wouldn't had like a better experience for our other dishes. That was the 2nd time we visited the restaurant. The first time was superb.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great to see Rad again -- especia ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was great to see Rad again -- especially after Hy's closed. The choice of seafood selections was great and the wild mushroom appetizer was excellent. Also appreciated the amuse- bouche for starters and the smoked salmon with dill was wonderful. You could carry on a conversation without worrying that you would be overheard or straining to hear the other person. We're not into having happy birthday sung by the servers so appreciated that they did not but the birthday card was a thoughtful touch. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My only complaints: the length of time i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My only complaints: the length of time it took to receive our drinks, not alcoholics but business owners who recognized a lack of income generation and a far too casual attitude about punctual service, further we requested condiments when we placed our food order - our food sat on the table for 10 minutes before they were delivered (and this is after a 2nd request). Not the end of the world. Having said that, the entire staff could not have been more courteous or friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Warmly greeted by maître d' and staff. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Warmly greeted by maître d' and staff.

Unfortunately the booths have high sides which is claustrophobic and those tables do not have tablecloths. Those tables that do have tablecloths are meticulously set, I witnessed a waiter order junior staff to strip the table and start again as the corners were not even. Perhaps a measuring stick might be a valuable tool. I like that attention to detail !

The sommelier is one of the best I have ever encountered. I was also lucky enough to have Geoffrey as my white coated waiter that evening. The martini was exquisite, the wine delicious. The meal was good but did not live up to expectations. The carpaccio, although beautifully plated, was overwhelmed by the mustard sauce. I had the seafood tower; the scallop ceviche, well I have no idea as it was buried in far too much cilantro. The lobster and shrimp lacked flavour, I am assuming because it is from frozen not fresh. The tuna was definitely the hit of the plate, perfect !

I don't know about desserts as I chose not to partake in one but instead, had a lovely 20 year old port.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Girlfriend and I had a wonderful time he ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here. The food and service was excellent. Very good restaurant. More of a special occasion restaurant then a spot to go on a Friday night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jumbo shrimp the size of small bananas! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Jumbo shrimp the size of small bananas! Superb beet salad and scallop potatoes. Main fish was cooked perfectly. Wait staff very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A regular patron of The Shore Club, I cl ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A regular patron of The Shore Club, I clearly like the restaurant. This time around the food was as excellent as always. Good-sized portions, high-quality fresh ingredients in a tasteful upscale decor. The best seafood restaurant in Ottawa by my account. Though did find the service dropped slightly from previous times I've been here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food with a wide range of choi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent food with a wide range of choices. Attentive service. On the expensive side but overall good value for money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service at the shore club is always impr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service at the shore club is always impressive. We had a fantastic meal from beginning to end. The Arctic char special was especially tasty, as was the mushroom appetizer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They don't know how to make a manhattan ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

They don't know how to make a manhattan cocktail nor bernaise sauce.

They insisted that the sauce be cold, with steak, yuck.

Over priced for what you get.

However the scalloped potatoes were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

superb! the server was attentive, knowle ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

superb!

the server was attentive, knowledgeable, polite

thank you to all the staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get RAD to serve you. He is outstanding. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Get RAD to serve you. He is outstanding. Bbbbbvv vbvvv vvvv c

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beet salad mediocre, seafood chowder was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beet salad mediocre, seafood chowder was bland and lacking in seafood, mashed potatoes were flavorless and in need of some type of sauce/gravy/seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We went to the Shore Club to celebrate o ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went to the Shore Club to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Our waiter was very helpful in suggesting menu items for us. We started with the Single Tier Seafood Platter. It was exceptional. The oysters and the ceviche were out of this world! For mains we had the Rib steak and the Arctic Char, both sensational and we shared the Scalloped potatoes and a side of Asparagus. The potatoes were by far the best we've ever had!

Thank you for making our night so enjoyable. We will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place perfect. Server was very know ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The place perfect.

Server was very knowledgeable about the wine selections available, and gave great advice on the menu selections.

Ambience was very intimate, a wonderful place for a romantic night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though the lounge was half full at ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Even though the lounge was half full at lunchtime it was still quiet enough to have a normal conversation without distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and superb service. A bit ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. A bit loud for my taste (we were seated near to the bar area). In future, would specifically request a "quiet table" to ensure better location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Shore ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Shore Club and out server, Rad, was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we walked in, the servic ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

From the moment we walked in, the service was excellent! Had a great evening and look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Shore Club is one of Ottawa's better ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Shore Club is one of Ottawa's better fine dining restaurants although it resides within the Westin Hotel. The ambiance and service were very good and the food was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Shore Club in Ottawa was our star fi ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Shore Club in Ottawa was our star find on our recent visit to Canada. Everything about the experience from the front desk greeting, to the restaurant, food and our waiter was very good. The arctic char and halibut dishes were very tasty and well presented and our entrees of mixed mushroom served in a lovely sauce and jumbo shrimps started the evening well.

The ambience was great and no sense of rushing or mistakes being made. We'd certainly return here on our next visit

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We found the experience very rewarding. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We found the experience very rewarding. The service was excellent (Rad) and everyone paid attention to every detail. I must say the food was outstanding. Both my wife and I could not have experienced anything better in the city than the Shore Club

for our special occasion. I have already recommended the Shore Club to my friends and co-workers. 5* rating for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our second visit. We went back ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our second visit. We went back because the food, the service and the atmosphere are all fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place. Great food!!!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent place. Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fish nicely prepared quiet Sun ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent fish nicely prepared quiet Sunday night restaurant not crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Shore Club is consistently good and wher ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Shore Club is consistently good and where I go for a good steak dinner. I enjoy the ambience and the service. I typically get red wine, martinis, a wedge salad, baked potato, a veg, and a steak. their bread and butter is delicious as well and their seafood platter, oysters, shrimp, fish and chips. on this occasion, I actually had lamb, broccoli, red wine, wedge salad, my 4 year old and fish and chips, my guests, oysters, fish tartare, and steaks. Their desserts are all good as well but we didnt have any this time. service is always attentive and this time, our fabulous server even entertained my son so I could spend time with my guests visiting from England. That is real service! Shore Club will not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for special occasion. W ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great restaurant for special occasion. We had 7 people in our party and everyone loved their meals. The service was very good but not over the top which allowed us to feel relaxed and not rushed. Overall we really liked the atmosphere and our experience and will visit again when we return to Ottawa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best meal I've had in Ottawa. Also t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The best meal I've had in Ottawa. Also the service was fantastic and whenever I'm back in Ottawa I will definitely go again to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was great. We will be back.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, great food, great service, an ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As always, great food, great service, and great quality.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved our meal at The Shore C ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal at The Shore Club. Our waiter was helpful and catered to our every need. The steaks were done to perfection. The green beans were delicious and the mushrooms were unbelievable .

The key lime pie was out of this world!

Definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok but not great.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went here for our anniversary looking to splurge on a great meal. The food was good, but not great. I was a little disappointed, as overall we found it mediocre and pricy for what you got. I have no issues spending allot of money on a great meal, as I am a bit of a foodie, but I doubt I will be back again. Also, the fist thing the waiter said to us as we sat down was list off all of the food items on the menu that were sold out. Not the most promising start.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A great time was had by us

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Two of us had dinner on Sunday night. It was a lovely time. The place is elegant and indeed reminds you of ocean liners. Best to sit at the far end of the room from the entrance under the lighted panel. Also request one of the middle tables as the ones by each wall are attached to the wall and therefore without table cloths. One minor complaint is that as the tables are for four, when two people are sitting you feel miles away from the person facing you.

We had beet salad and deep fried squid to start. They were both very good. The salad had many lovely contrasts. For main course we both had salmon Wellington. The fish was cooked with carrots and greens, very moist and with good flavours. But the pastry was the show stopper. It was light, flaky, crisp and stayed that way all the way to the last bite. The string beans and the mashed potatoes to accompany were very nice. Had a half portion of the mash and should have had the same for the beans as well as it was a lot of food.

After all that we did not have and room for desert. I am sure it would have been equally enjoyable.

The service was attentive, yet not overbearing and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ottawa or Bust!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Vacation for us ended in Ottawa after stops in Quebec City and Montreal. Our dinner at the Shore Club was terrific from start to finish. Our waiter was brilliant as well as the other wait staff and the cuisine is truly fit for 'foodies.'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. The atmosp ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere and decor was nice. The food was mediocre and expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was very good. Well prepared an ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was very good. Well prepared and presented. The service was exceptional. We will certainly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.