About The Shore Club - Ottawa

11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
View Larger Map

The Shore Club Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge features the freshest seafood and tender steaks served in surroundings of understated luxury. Soaring ceilings, stunning original artwork and cool blue and green hues contribute to an elegant atmosphere that is second to none in Ottawa. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in our signature lounge, or descend to our dining room to experience all our signature menu has to offer. The Shore Club is perfect for a casual, drop-in visit, or a long-planned special occasion. Allow our professional team to cater to your every wish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar 2:30pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Rideau Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 569-5050

Website:
http://www.theshoreclub.ca/

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking for both lunch and dinner. Street parking and pay parking lots are also available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Groulx

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Tue 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Shore Club has a beautifully appointed private dining room available for all types of business and social entertaining. The intimate Rideau Room, highlighted with stunning original art, accommodates a maximum of 18 guests and features state of the art stereo and audio visual capabilities.

The Shore Club - Ottawa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Business Meals (21)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We come here every year during Winterlud ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We come here every year during Winterlude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Conveniently located off the Westin lobb ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Conveniently located off the Westin lobby and attached to the Rideau Centre, this is a great place to meet friends or colleagues working downtown. Food is high quality, servers are professional and friendly. I'm a regular customer and will come back again.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine list with above average p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent wine list with above average prices. The calamari appetizer was quite good but not extraordinary. The half seafood tower was average for the price but the tuna main course was very good. The baked alaska dessert was fun with the flaming of the Grand Marnier topping. Our waiter and other staff were attentive at all times. Although the noise level is somewhat moderate, the Shore Club is clearly popular and seems to have a regular clientele.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was awesome. They treated us to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was awesome. They treated us to a little treat for my husband's birthday. Thoughtful. The food was good but not exceptional. My husband had a steak, it was supposed to be 10oz but it came to the table and was about 1/2" thick and slightly over cooked. That was a little disappointing for my husband. We can overlook that as we've been to the resto before. Thanks

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We find the price way too high .When you ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

We find the price way too high .When you buy a steak at $46.00 and you have to pay an extra to have something else in your plate there is a big problem! $12.00 for 3 pieces of brocoli + taxes and service, HELLO!!! Potatoes cost nothing, why charge for fries? Drinks and wine by the glass are way to expensive..No way we are going back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyed our 50th Valentine dinner with y ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed our 50th Valentine dinner with you. The ambiance and food were excellent. What made the night was our server Bob. He was very friendly and efficient and described the menu well. We look forward to our next visit

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in Ottawa, great staff, minim ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak in Ottawa, great staff, minimal wait times, not too loud

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, , Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Shire Club, this t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at Shire Club, this time for Valentines!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good service and ambiance. A ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Good service and ambiance. Always a nice treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. My steak was over cooked they ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food.

My steak was over cooked they took care of that.

My wifes loved thw sea bass but they took it off the menu

She ordered the halibut found it over cooked and not as flavorful.

Server Milka was Amazing.

I Wouldn't order steak medium rare Chicago style it gets over cooked like mine did. I would maybe as for it rare Chicago style so that when I get it it a true medium rare steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This will be my go-to place, but I've le ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This will be my go-to place, but I've learned after the last visit to ask for a more experienced server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I took my wife out for our wedding anniv ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I took my wife out for our wedding anniversary.. Food was very modest the least to say.. I expected better from the reputation of the place. The staff were very friendly. I am a little disappointed. I will think twice before coming again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

La cuisine pourrait être plus créative. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

La cuisine pourrait être plus créative.

Le pain est très bon.

Le service est très agréable et empressé.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Shore Club is becoming one of Ottawa's p ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Shore Club is becoming one of Ottawa's places to be and be seen. The bar scene is bustling after work and you'll want to make sure you have dinner reservations for the evening. The food is excellent and great variety. A top notch steak and seafood house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food with great service. This ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fantastic food with great service. This is probably Ottawas best business Steak and Seafood place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good overall experience. Although, the r ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good overall experience. Although, the restaurant was empty. From a service standpoint, Good but could have been faster. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Another great Shore Club. Amazing servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another great Shore Club. Amazing service. Excellent food. Elegant atmosphere. All in all a great place for higher end dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steakhouse au sens classique. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent steakhouse au sens classique. Bonnes coupes de viandes et excellents fruits de mer .

Ambiance feutrée mais somme toute moderne.

Prix adéquat pour ce genre d'établissement.

On ne réinvente pas la roue mais c'est très bien execute.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable dinner evening with great food ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyable dinner evening with great food and ambience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time there to celebrate our we ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our first time there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was an amazing meal! Steak and seafood were so fresh and just delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was spectacular, service was ve ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was spectacular, service was very good. Music was obnoxious as the volume was incongruent for a dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place never disappoints. Amazing fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This place never disappoints. Amazing food and service every time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice wine list. Found that the menu was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice wine list. Found that the menu was a little overpriced as I found the fare average

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. Jessica was excellent

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Jessica was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, the Shore Club delivers a gre ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

As always, the Shore Club delivers a great meal with great service. We were a reasonably large group of seven but everything was perfect. It was the first time several of my friends had been to the Shore Club and they were not disappointed. Please give Gabrielle my thanks for her stellar service.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was variable. Green beans in such ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was variable. Green beans in such a spicy sauce we could not taste the Arctic char. The desserts were pedestrian and lacked any sense of innovation or style one would expect in a high end restaurant. The beet salad was OK but had much better at Wilfred's in the Chateau and at Trattoria Vittoria in the market. For the price it was underwhelming.

It was noisy with seating designed that those opposite were facing our table and the sound carried and also bounced off the wall behind us.

Server was attentive but forgot to let the kitchen know when we were done our appetizers so there was a long wait for dinner.

All-in-all not a bad experience but for the price definitely not worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Booked this amazing looking restaurant f ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Booked this amazing looking restaurant for 5ppl

Beautiful restaurant, professional looking with the dining room looking quite full

Menu has a wide variety of steak and seafood which looked ok

So everyone at the table ordered with sides as well as some main dishes did not come w starch or greens

I ordered the buttermilk fried chicken; 2 thigh fillets, 1 drumstick, 1 small chicken breast w gravy

Everyone at the table enjoyed and finished their meal but I was terribly disappointed at the tasteless, dry meal I received

Service was ok not attentive but ok

For a restaurant that's located within the Westin I would expect a lot better for the $28 I paid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Tuna on Salad Nicoise melted in your mou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tuna on Salad Nicoise melted in your mouth. Excellent service and terrific food made for a lovely late lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the device and food was amazin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always the device and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This would be my second visit, and I wou ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This would be my second visit, and I would say the whole experience was much better than the previous. No waiter with attitude, no mixup in the food, very pleasant overall a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were long time clients of Hy's and th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were long time clients of Hy's and this was our first time to visit the Shore Club for lunch. The service was excellent, I had asked for Rad, and his service was superb as usual. The food however, was a disappointment and two of the day's specials were not recommended which was quite surprising. The ambience was lovely and the noise level was moderate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Fish/seafood is always great but order n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fish/seafood is always great but order nothing with legs. The beef bourguinon (a lunch special)) was lacking seasoning, broth was watery and temperature cool.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Rad was a wonderful and attentive server ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Rad was a wonderful and attentive server. The steak was cooked to perfection and the shrimp were plump and delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was a GREAT experience. Hosted a s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a GREAT experience. Hosted a small Christmas luncheon and would have scored the restaurant higher except for the fire alarm part way through the meal. I would definitely go back for lunch or dinner - service was excellent food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great wine! A ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food, great service, great wine! A classic! Had a great business dinner!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Ottawa for a short period of ti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I was in Ottawa for a short period of time for business and was looking for a good place to eat.

This is in the Westin hotel and the steaks are excellent. We were also recommended the scallop potatoes and Brussels which were also a good combination with the steaks.

I'll dine at Shore Club again when I'm in Ottawa!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed with the service as ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was not impressed with the service as we had to wait 1.5 hrs to get meal, our waitress forgot to order breads and I had to ask for it a second time. The meal itself was good but service was unorganized and I watched other tables get exceptional service. I felt obligated to tip even though she didn't deserve it.

I should have spoke to management at the time but for this level of restaurant you shouldn't have too and it would have just spoiled the evening even more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This was my first time eating at the Sho ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was my first time eating at the Shore Club, loved everything about it! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slightly overpriced but the food was ama ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Slightly overpriced but the food was amazing. It's in a key location and has a really cool atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have always enjoyed dinner and invited ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I have always enjoyed dinner and invited friends for lunch and was disappointed. We arrived on time at 12.30 and were served at 2pm. 2people had lobster bisque - comment was tasteless! They also were dissapointed with the Caesar salad. I enjoyed the fish tacos and the walleye lunch was enjoyed.

Our servers were pleasant but service was so slow.

The biggest disappointment was the tasteless soup and the slow service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.