About The Shore Club - Ottawa

11 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1N 9H4
View Larger Map

The Shore Club Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge features the freshest seafood and tender steaks served in surroundings of understated luxury. Soaring ceilings, stunning original artwork and cool blue and green hues contribute to an elegant atmosphere that is second to none in Ottawa. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in our signature lounge, or descend to our dining room to experience all our signature menu has to offer. The Shore Club is perfect for a casual, drop-in visit, or a long-planned special occasion. Allow our professional team to cater to your every wish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar 2:30pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Rideau Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 569-5050

Website:
http://www.theshoreclub.ca/

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking for both lunch and dinner. Street parking and pay parking lots are also available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Groulx

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
  • The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa
The Shore Club - Ottawa

Private Dining

The Shore Club has a beautifully appointed private dining room available for all types of business and social entertaining. The intimate Rideau Room, highlighted with stunning original art, accommodates a maximum of 18 guests and features state of the art stereo and audio visual capabilities.

The Shore Club - Ottawa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (33)
fit for foodies (23)
notable wine list (20)
See All
good for groups (19)
romantic (18)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the food and the service was great. We will be back.....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely loved our meal at The Shore C ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal at The Shore Club. Our waiter was helpful and catered to our every need. The steaks were done to perfection. The green beans were delicious and the mushrooms were unbelievable . The key lime pie was out of this world! Definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Excellent food!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Ok but not great.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went here for our anniversary looking to splurge on a great meal. The food was good, but not great. I was a little disappointed, as overall we found it mediocre and pricy for what you got. I have no issues spending allot of money on a great meal, as I am a bit of a foodie, but I doubt I will be back again. Also, the fist thing the waiter said to us as we sat down was list off all of the food items on the menu that were sold out. Not the most promising start.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great time was had by us

Dined on May 22, 2016

Two of us had dinner on Sunday night. It was a lovely time. The place is elegant and indeed reminds you of ocean liners. Best to sit at the far end of the room from the entrance under the lighted panel. Also request one of the middle tables as the ones by each wall are attached to the wall and therefore without table cloths. One minor complaint is that as the tables are for four, when two people are sitting you feel miles away from the person facing you. We had beet salad and deep fried squid to start. They were both very good. The salad had many lovely contrasts. For main course we both had salmon Wellington. The fish was cooked with carrots and greens, very moist and with good flavours. But the pastry was the show stopper. It was light, flaky, crisp and stayed that way all the way to the last bite. The string beans and the mashed potatoes to accompany were very nice. Had a half portion of the mash and should have had the same for the beans as well as it was a lot of food. After all that we did not have and room for desert. I am sure it would have been equally enjoyable. The service was attentive, yet not overbearing and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ottawa or Bust!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Vacation for us ended in Ottawa after stops in Quebec City and Montreal. Our dinner at the Shore Club was terrific from start to finish. Our waiter was brilliant as well as the other wait staff and the cuisine is truly fit for 'foodies.'

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was outstanding. The atmosp ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere and decor was nice. The food was mediocre and expensive.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. Well prepared an ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was very good. Well prepared and presented. The service was exceptional. We will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought our family of 6 (children age ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We brought our family of 6 (children ages 8, 5, 3 and infant) to the restaurant on a Tuesday evening. We arrived at 7:45, tired and hungry. The service was fantastic from start to finish. We ordered the calamari as a starter and then grilled cheese for the children and lobster tail for our mini adult (8 y o). I had the maple salmon, my husband had the raw oysters and rib eye and we shared sides of onion rings, salt & vinegar fries, mushrooms & broccoli. We each had dessert (icecream & brownies for the children, coconut pie & baked Alaska for the adults). The main courses and the service were the best part of the entire meal...simple, perfectly cooked, delicious food and attentive service. Our server Alex offered to cut our daughter's lobster and was quick to help adjust the food and drink on the table when I thought it might be spilled. One of our best dining experiences to date. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at The Shore C ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great experience at The Shore Club!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and we were treat ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious and we were treated so well.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening puting for dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

the food was great and the service was prompt. Our server was knowledgeable and the Kitchen met our request for special consideration on preparing one of our meals.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was okay, service was decent, b ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was okay, service was decent, but at the same place point there are plenty of better restaurants within walking distance. I wouldn't go to Shore Club Ottawa again for that reason.

food5
ambience5
service5

Well designed interior , warm and comfor ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Well designed interior , warm and comfortable. The menu selection was very good without being too big. I don't trust very large menus. I had the stuffed trout, comes a la cart, with a large selection of sides. Wine list was very good. Service was spot on. On the way out I saw the bar area where the game was on a few tv's and ample seating. Great for business traveler eating alone.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Over-priced business lunch

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

They don't offer an extensive lunchtime menu so we were stuck ordering from the dinner menu. It was overpriced and nothing special. The room is too dark. The service is amateur. Other than location I can't imagine how they get ANY business.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Professional and warm service

Dined on April 19, 2016

I had a great time last time I came to TSC. All the staff members were warm and very professional. Our server was patient and knowledgeable of all the details on TSC's menu. Although, the overall experience was excellent, the chef's mussel selection was odd and incomplete for such a classic dish. Again, I was impressed by the staff and by their genuine quest to please us. I look forward to returning there! Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great night at the shore club

Dined on April 10, 2016

Dinner at the shore club saturday night was terrific.. great waiter (Rad), wine, food and ambiance ... a little expensive but loved the vibe and my lady and i had a great evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our Experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food and service very good! Very pricey ,expense account oriented .This price point demands a ambience that is quieter than a roadhouse. A dress code other than T shirt and jeans would be nice . Disappointed that the restaurant layout did not manage to equal the good food and service. Picky points, to be rated a true 4 star, all levels of a high quality experience should be managed equally !

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. To say anymore would not do the place justice. Excellent dining experience.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wallie:should indicate on the menue in season only

Dined on March 21, 2016

The atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for. Private, quiet celebration of senior managers who just completed a certificate training program. Service was attentive and non-disruptive to the conversation. Having 3 staff bring out the hot food plates all at once was a good service. I would return an host another similar group. Your private room for up to 15 looks like a place I could bring a senior management group for informal gatherings. Thanks

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely amazing. The staff was ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

It was absolutely amazing. The staff was beyond helpfull and accomodating. The food was flavorful and delicious. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone. The atmosphere wasn't too busy and the tables are well placed. Even with people around and talking you were still able to easily have a conversation. The food came out in a timely manner and we weren't kept waiting for anything. Anytime we may have needed something there was always someone around and willing to help. Thank you again for an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An evening to remember

Dined on March 6, 2016

Have been several times at different times of the day and as always Had a great time. Fantastic food and excellent service. Worth every penny. Not a place for people who are looking for an inexpensive meal or quick service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Shore Club - Outstanding service

Dined on March 3, 2016

It was a romantic birthday dinner which was done to perfection by the staff at Shore Club. Sat down at a impressively dressed table with a presentation card wishing me a happy birthday, nice touch. My husband had the Sautéed Prawns & Scallops, absolutely a pleasure for the palate. I had the King crab legs. I ordered a pound (2, 1/2 pound sides) as the king crab entrée has been removed from the menu. I felt a bit short changed on that part. I have ordered a pound in many restaurants and had a heftier portion. The crab was a bit dry, but still enjoyable. I ordered a baked potatoe which contained nice fresh green onions, sour cream and real bacon, what a treat. Now the service. My water and wine glass were never empty. The amount of servers around our table gave us a feeling of importance....this is rare today! The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and a pure delight. A complimentary birthday brownie was sent to our table with Happy birthday written on the plate in chocolate syrup. Again a nice touch.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

Food (steak) and service not great consi ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Food (steak) and service not great considering the level that the place is supposed to be. The ambience is good. A bit disappointed. Toronto location is much better.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food too bad about the service

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was wonderful but unfortunately the service did not meet with our expectations. We had to wait almost 30 minutes for our desert and when it finally came we were ready to leave

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch at the Shore Club

Dined on January 15, 2016

This was my first experience at the Shore Club and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Our server, Paul, was excellent and the food was very good. I've already recommended it to one person and I'm sure I will return with a different group of friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Filet mignon was fantastic. Cooked to pe ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

Filet mignon was fantastic. Cooked to perfection. Oysters Rockefeller yummy. Loved the California wine. Our only complaint was the crab cake. My husband is a big eater. He wanted more than one 🙂🙂🙂🙂

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful wine list, great food!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We reserved a table for New Year's Eve at the Shore Club. Food was excellent; the jumbo shrimp cocktail was amazingly fresh, filet mignon was tender and the sides were very generous. We were delighted they had our favorite wine on their list. Service was very professional. We would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic New Year's Eve Dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

My sister and I visited for New Year's Eve and I cannot sing the praises enough. Our waiter, Owen, was fantastic. The other servers were very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was unbelievable. The only criticisms I would add are that it was a little dark for my taste, and the wine was a bit pricier than I expected. To be fair, it was worth the price, just more than I expected to pay. Overall, it was one of the best experiences of my visit to Ottawa and I would recommend it for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sam

Dined on December 25, 2015

We came here for Christmas dinner. Wait staff was friendly and professional. However, their food recommendations could have been more knowledgeable, and they could have suggested better pairings. The halibut was a little over cooked. Overall, it was a good place for dinner. Far better than the Christmas buffet happening at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas eve dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

This is our5th christmas eve dinner at the Shore Club and we always look forward to being pampered by the staff. The food is excellent. Service is hors paire

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoy going to the Shore Club for lunch.

Dined on December 17, 2015

Especially great for the oysters as they always have a good selection and the personnel is quite knowledgeable about the different varieties so they can help you making a choice suited to one's taste. Ambiance sophisticated and romantic at the same time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but Expensive

Dined on December 4, 2015

2nd time in a month eating here . It is very convenient if you are at The Westin. We asked for a quiet table and were placed at the end of a hall near washroom hallway - not bad but not great . Waiter was good but somehow we expected a bit more . This is a high end KEg owned by The Keg ..food is good but doesn't warrant the prices - we may or may not go back . Overall it is good but just overpriced for what you get .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Good but very pricey

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

Everything about this restaurant was very good, but the price range listed on Open Table ($31-$50) is incorrect and misleading: the appetizers are in the $10-$18 range, and the steak cuts are *all* above $30 (more for the larger premium cuts, up to $48) and, like other high-end steakhouses, your sides are extra and in the $12-$18 range. Add at $12 dessert and a $18 glass of wine, and you are way above the listed per-person price on Open Table. That is my one comment is the misleading price on Open Table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

WACCA Silent Auction

Dined on November 12, 2015

A few years back, we missed out on a WACCA silent auction opportunity to dine at your restaurant and my wife and I have been anxious to try it ever since. The auction brought our attention to your restaurant and we are very pleased that we finally took the time to experience it. It was a great evening out with friend before a NAC event. I hope you consider providing another opportunity like this to the Walls and Ceilings Contractors Association (WACCA) as it was the ticket that brought us to your restaurant and will will come again. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A1 fantastic Service

Dined on November 6, 2015

Outstanding service from Lizz and the Manager Craig. The food was also excellent . The restaurant itself has a very nice ambiance to it . It was really wonderful .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Night of Celebration!

Dined on October 29, 2015

I chose The Shore Club to celebrate retirement with my closest friends after 40 years of military service. Our server, who was also a sommelier, did an outstanding job of quickly, yet discretely, attending to all of our needs. His champagne and wine recommendations were perfect. The food, as usual, was superb. This restaurant is a favourite in Ottawa, and highly recommended for anyone looking for a touch of class in a modern setting. I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Service and food were really good.

Dined on October 17, 2015

A special evening out. The food, wine, and service were really good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, Great Service

Dined on October 15, 2015

I booked for a business dineer with 6 guests. our Servers were great, knew when to be there to keep things moving and when to leave us to our discussion. the food was very good, everyone enjoyed their meal. overall this is a great place for an important business meeting.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

Great scene, okay food

Dined on October 13, 2015

My friend and I went to the shore club for a nice lunch and wine. The staff was very knowledgable and the environment was perfect to me. Dark lighting, quiet, relaxing. The food however, I expected a better menu from a resturant with higher pricing. If I am paying $22 for chicken id like a side dish without an extra $6-12. Other than that I did enjoy my visit at The Shore Club

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.