Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:15, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: (570) 226-2993

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Romantic (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (16)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Healthy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Scenic View (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Live Music (5)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the seasonal choices. The Settler's Inn never fails to impress.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We took friends from New York City for Sunday Brunch. The meal was exceptional and our NY friends commented on the quality and style of the restaurant being better than almost any they had frequented in the city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent, as was the very interesting menu. The character of the facility was very country mission style, casual but very homey. The kind of place you can relax and enjoy your meal without being too stuffy or overdone. Also, not overpriced meals, very family affordable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Edith, made our visit exceptional.
We will request her on our next visit.
The food wasn't bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Settlers Inn is our "go-to place" for all our special occasions! There is just something so inviting about this quaint inn. I feel relaxed the minute I walk in the door, as I know we're going to have a wonderful meal and time! We had brunch on Sunday in celebration of my husband's birthday! We had a lovely window seat, as I had requested when I made the reservation, and the staff and server were attentive and informative about the menu choices. The food was excellent, as always! My husband had the mushroom, sausage, and cheddar omelet and raved about it! I had the wild mushroom ravioli, which was outstanding as well! To top it off, they surprised my husband with one of their signature desserts, English toffee pudding! My husband who isn't usually a desert eater, truly enjoyed it .. with my help, of course! We never go wrong choosing to go to Settlers! It's a must if you're in the Hawley area and is certainly worth the drive if not !!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service was excellent again.
This has become one of our favorites places for dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Consistently great dining experience. Gourmet food, reasonably priced . We’ve been coming for years!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A wonderful evening and my sister and I felt very well treated by all dining staff. Our waitress accommodated our request for appetizers on the porch, and we liked her so well, we asked for her again as our server for dinner. Great meal by the chef from the CIA...I had the salmon. Delicious signature dessert seated by the fire place inside. A recommendation from a friend that lived up to the hype. Breakfast took a LONG time, but our waiter was very prompt with coffee and raspberry muffins. Relaxing and beautifully decorated.
Overall, only ONE negative, and that had nothing to do with the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Only issue we had was my father in law ordered a vegetarian meal. They brought out a fabulous dish with great tasting pork. Of course that was not right. They did immeadiatley replace it and apologize, but still. Good thing I was there to verify it was meat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was good but not good enough that it makes me want to return to this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of the gems of the area. Everytime I eat here it's a new experience for my taste buds.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lovely place, our first time and the ambiance was wonderful. The service wasn't top notch, waitress didn't welcome us nor did she even provide her name. Great place, just need happier help

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The staff and servers were outstanding and the food superb. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have never been disappointed in my Dining experiences @Settlers. I have been dining there for 30 years. I have also stayed there over the past 30 years at times. Always a great experience. The staff there is well trained. Personable, & Professional.
Even though I have recently moved over 600 miles away, I always make a point of goING to The Settlers, when I am in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It always wonderful at Settlers Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Terrific service, delicious food and a warm sophisticated ambience

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Love the ambience and food--especially the sticky toffee pudding! Service was a bit slow on our most recent visit, but we didn't have anywhere to be after so it wasn't a real problem. Highly recommend for a date night or special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Settler's Inn is a perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion. Great Food, a staff that goes the extra step, but are not intrusive on your special night. Our children have enjoyed the
ambiance for their Anniversary celebrations, also. My daughter made our reservation for us, because she said "that is the only restaurant you want to go to in the Poconos!"

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Truly lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

As usual the summers fly by, and we made it for the last night of Jazz on the Deck. We were not disappointed ! We love going to Settlers,have never been disappointed . The jazz ensemble were very good ,we had a perfect evening! Thanks again, The Barry's

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

My wife and I stayed at a local hotel for our wedding anniversary and went to the Settlers Inn for dinner. Honestly I was blown away by the quality and ambiance of this place. On par with upscale restaurants you'd find in large cities like New York City. The food was excellent! The fish of the day was Mahi Mahi and it was cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this spot if you're looking to celebrate something special in the Poconos!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The Settler's Inn was recommended to me by a friend who has a lake house in the area. My boyfriend and I had a phenomenal experience from the moment we walked in the establishment. We loved the overall ambiance, enjoyed excellent and friendly service, and found the entire meal to be extremely delicious! I would love to go again, and I will recommend this gem to family and friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Healthy, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have been going to this restaurant for about twenty years. It continues to be a staple in the poconos. Whether in NJ, NYC, or PA, this is at the top of my list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outdated settings of restaurant with no impressive food. The service was very good yet appetisers were not of the first freshness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food served very creatively...very attentive staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Been going here 25+ years for a short time menu was non traditional Pa. NY foodie. Now blended for all tastes. Aside from being a bit noisy with a party of 12 dead center in room veryeadnt upscale dining

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Beautiful setting and service was spectacular! Go enjoy a drink and the beautiful gardens outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Every year my wife and I celebrate our anniversary at Settlers Inn for dinner and drinks. It is always a wonderful evening of good food, drink and service. Our favorite is sitting outside viewing the gardens. Staff is professional, pleasant and very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful as always. However, I made the reservation through OpenTable and when we arrived at 10:15, we were told that the kitchen closes at 10. We were greatly taken back and explained that we had traveled from New York and New Jersey for this meal. The chef graciously allowed us to stay for the meal, the wait staff was understanding and we were not in the least bit rushed by the staff, but we did feel we were imposing if we stayed too long.

You need to correct the times for seating for breakfast for this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great atmosphere Beautiful gardens viewable from outdoor dining area

Tags: Seasonal, Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Been coming here for 40 years and rarely disappointed! The duck for 2 was wonderful

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Settlers Inn and we were looking forward to our meal based upon recommendations from friends. Sometimes that is not ideal since your expectations are high and you could be disappointed. However, everything about our experience that night exceeded our expectations and was amazing. Lovely ambiance, friendly and prompt service, delightful meals, excellent wine choices and now we want to book an overnight stay to enjoy more time and meals at Settlers Inn in the future. Simply superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

An excellent dining choice. The wine list and wine service were very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Exceptional service and fantastic locally sourced ... great gf and vegan options

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Once again, The Settlers Inn, turned in a great performance. The duck was the best we have had and the sauce!! Others at the table enjoyed the pork and ravioli.

Our waitress was helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff attentive. Too expensive to come every week but worth the $$.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent in every way The waitress Peggy was spectacular Made the night so special Will definitely bring us back Food and ambiance very good Her knowledge professionalism and warmth were over the top great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My spouse and I dined here on a Sunday evening, which is, during the summer, whole-roasted, local pig day: the evening's specials feature the roasted meat in various, creative dishes. There are other locally-sourced ingredient themes during the week- contact the restaurant to find out more, because the Settlers Inn webpage does not seem to be updated too frequently. I dined on a grilled romaine caesar salad that was presented deconstructed- the parmesan mousse and the perfectly toasted croutons were especially savory- and opted for the pulled pork served over local garlic mashed potatoes and local sautéed green beans. Everything was excellent, though the pork was over-sauced with a concoction that reminded me of Swedish meatball sauce. That was a disappointment and explains the four star rating. My spouse, who is a "clean" eater, started with a superb local zucchini soup, followed by a house salad with a roasted chicken breast (all locally sourced and adjusted to meet her dietary requests). She said the chicken was tender and juicy, the greens clearly fresh and deliciously dressed. The portions were enormous, perhaps because we were seated just before the kitchen closed. The service was attentive, friendly, and not overbearing. The extensive wine list was a pleasant surprise, though the selections by glass were more limited. Finally, the following morning we enjoyed a fantastic, very reasonably priced breakfast, again featuring locally-sourced ingredients and house-made baked goods (the carrot chocolate chip muffins were truly incredible). The ambience was also very nice- the decor is warm, Arts and Crafts and palpably historic. Overall a good value for a fine dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Organic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was a real find. Superb dining @ reasonable prices. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meal. Everything was delicious! Best crab cakes I have ever
tasted. We would definitely go back if we ever are in the area.
We went to the town of Hawley to visit our granddaughter at camp.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I went to Settler's Inn to celebrate our 39th Wedding Anniversary. The food was superb as always, the ambiance exactly what we wanted and the service incredible. We had a wonderful meal, in a romantic setting. We couldn't ask for a nicer evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had a celebration with friends and everything about the experience was great. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient, the ambience was warm and comfortable, and the food was excellent. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.