Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:30, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: (570) 226-2993

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Worth the Drive (22)
Historic (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Fireplace (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Live Music (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Seasonal (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at the Settler's Inn for many years. Every meal has been wonderful and the service is excellent. It is a beautiful bed and breakfast and the restaurant is top notch. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food and good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I just had our 13th wedding anniversary dinner here. It kind has become a tradition to have our anniversary dinner at The Settlers. As always, our latest experienced at The Settlers Inn was fantastic. They never disappoint. The food is delicious and fresh, the service is excellent and that atmosphere is lovely. We always recommend it for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. Fantastic place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Always first-rate. The food, service, and settIng always makes this a good choice.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food!! We had 3 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the Settlers Inn. They were all some of the best meals we had ever eaten! Beautiful rooms that just give you a sense of peace. Attentive and extremely accommodating staff all around!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bar was nice; JD is cool.
Food was 'out of sight' 10+++.
Wait service was very good to excellent.
We had a reservation. Seated 20 minutes late [and had time sensitive taks to do].

Maitre D was arrogant, unfriendly, aloof and not concerned with the lateness.
We've tried your place once or twice before and walked away with the same
negative feelings about the attitude.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My very favorite place!! We have come to Settlers for a quiet dinner, a fun time and for holiday meals. Love it!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service. Terrific food. Excellent time had by me and my girlfriend. We both agreed it was possibly the greatest dining experience we've both had. We will be back! Thank you again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been going to the Settler's Inn for over two decades now and could not believe we had come to the same Settler's Inn we knew and liked. We went in for the burger and brew special only to be told that the beer tap was broken, so we ordered bottled beer which took 20 minutes to arrive.
The burgers were very good as usual. One of us ordered the vegetarian meatballs which were almost inedible; the meatballs themselves were ok; the chard was leathery and the polenta was the consistency of soup. Needless to say we did not eat it all or take any home - the dish priced at $22 is not worth $2.
The staff must have been run off their feet because it took extraordinarily long to get any service; the first beer took 20 minutes and the second was another 20 minutes coming ... all in all a most disappointing evening.
The only redeeming feature of the evening was the fact that the burger and brew only cost $10 each, and so the bill at this usually expensive restaurant turned out to be very reasonable - we did tip our standard 15%, but it was done from habit and did not reflect the service at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were new to the area and read about the Inn. Food was good. Service was great. Bar was nice prior to dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband, mother & I met family from out of state. It was our first time. Lovely place but I thought the Brunch entrees were average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Took a close friend of mine for brunch and to catch up a after a few years. Walking into the Inn the place has that charm that you do not find today. The person seating use was extremely friendly and we were seated right away. The service was fantastic only out done by the food. We were not rushed and had a very relaxing brunch. One of the best things I found was that you could actually have a conversation with out all the noise and TV's like so many restaurants are like today.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went to Settler's for Sunday Brunch with out of town friends. We had a great meal but the atmosphere really set the stage for a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lovely breakfast and wonderful atmosphere. Food and service is always wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I ordered the French Onion Soup with Swiss Cheese and the Lobster Ravioli with Limoncello Sauce and Winter Veggies; hubby had the Swordfish. Both of us enjoyed our meals. I also ordered a small pot of the French Press Electric City Velvet Blend coffee, which was excellent and ice cream for dessert. I asked for a table by the fire and the restaurant specially set a table for two in the bar area, right in front of the fire. Couldn't ask for better than that :)

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A lovely, unique environment reminiscent of the late 1920s and the food was incredible. I can't wait to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Chef Ben was wonderful, we went to the Settlers Inn for my fiance's birthday dinner as a part of his getaway birthday surprise. The food was delicious, well seasoned and flavorful. We will definitely go back in the summer when it's warmer to explore the town a lot more.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place!! The staff is extremely courteous and nurturing so that you truly relax. The food is outstanding with organic and local produce/meats. The cocktails are delicious and there are plenty of craft beer selections and a huge range of wines to choose from. Complete with a beautiful ambiance of historic architecture, mission-style furnishings and a stone fireplace. Could not recommend more enthusiastically!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is by far our most favorite restaurant! Perfect for a date night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We loved the atmosphere, the food, and the service- beautiful place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spent the day at Woodloch Spa and the evening at Settlers Inn - Great combination !
Very accommodating staff and we love the piano on Saturday nights

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One word explains it all. "Exceptional ". Been going for years and never disappoints. This time was exceptional because we celebrated our 29th anniversary and had our private table by the fireplace. Staff always has extremely great customer service. All severs are great. Peggy was exceptionally accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very nice place with good food, service is very slow, wine by the glass is way over priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been going to this rest. for at least five years now and the food here is always outstanding. Our evening this past Sunday at the Settlers' Inn was nothing short of amazing! I ordered the pork belly as an appetizer and the lobster ravioli. My husband had the lobster bisque and lobster ravioli. As usual it was prepared with both a sense of upscale creativity with a keeping of the traditional home style comfort food mentality! Compared to most restaurants the ingredients used are very clean and we always feel great after eating a meal there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding meal and service we thoroughly enjoyed every minute

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Historic, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We really appreciated the discounted prix fix President's weekend brunch menu price since we do not drink alcohol. As usual, the food was extremely fresh and was deliciously prepared. The value was tremendous and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been here before, for dinner and for brunch two weeks ago. This time we decided to have brunch once again, and we weren't disappointed. It was just wonderful...the food was excellent, service outstanding, beautiful surroundings and lovely piano music...all making for a wonderful dining experience. It is absolutely one of our favorite restaurants and we will return!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent dining, they never disappointment. Always excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!!! They had a special Valentines menu that was just wonderful!!! Beautiful dining room, great service, live piano music was perfect!! Couldn't ask for a better evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Celebrated Valentine's with my lovely wife of 33 years. Perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was very good we went for Valentine's Day we had a small menu but a lot of choices the only thing I can say bad is the desert I picked I did not like but the desert my date picked she loved I just made a bad choice

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal. Great portion size great food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

As always food is great and service is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have dined at Settlers many times over the past 28 years and each time we are impressed. The setting is peaceful and soothing, the staff is friendly and accommodating yet professional and the food is superb. We love to arrive early and have a cocktail in the sitting room by the fireplace . On our most recent visit we arrived much earlier than our reservation and asked to be seated almost 1 1/2 hours before our reservation. We were seated without issue. The chef uses local produce, fish and game and everything is beautifully prepared and presented. I can not imagine a more enjoyable setting for truly magnificent dining. Living in NYC we are fortunate to have access to many fine restaurants. Settlers holds their own to anything we have experienced in NYC. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch , offered Saturday and Sunday, is the best value offered by Settlers Inn.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made a res for New Year's lunchtime meal, didn't know it was a prix fixe brunch. I guess we could have asked for the usual lunch menu but it didn't occur to me. Amuse bouche plus appy, entree, dessert, coffee, bottomless mimosas. We didn't have any extras, got out of there for $100. Nice live piano music, coffee by the fire, very nice Christmas decorations, very good service. A very pleasant experience.

Wish people still dressed somewhat appropriately for a high-class venue - too many sweaters w/o shirts (hate that look), t-shirts, jeans. Yes, you're on vacation but at least try to look nice as befits the building, the decor, the meal. Folks, this is the best place in town, not just a burger or pizza joint!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had such a lovely brunch. The atmosphere is gorgeous and the service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back again soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great... dessert selection disappointing... restaurant was very loud

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and service were outstanding as always however several loud parties were quite obnoxious regarding noise level to the point where my husband and I could not converse easily and it negatively impacted our ability to enjoy the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Beautiful venue. Their menu is creative, elegant and still down to earth. They have something for all tastes. Their beer & wine list is versatile and has varying price points. Desserts are phenomenal .

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.