Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:45, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: (570) 226-2993

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Cozy (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Historic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Live Music (12)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (8)
Great Beer (8)
Organic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fireplace (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 hours ago

We say on the back patio overlooking the beautiful gardens. The smoked trout, fried cheese curds, portobello ravioli, and lamb were delicious. Portions were generous without being over large. The vegetables were farm fresh and perfectly cooked. There were a few missteps: the yogurt mint sauce that came with the lamb was sweet and the sauce for the ravioli was delicious, but too rich. Our server was attentive, although he forgot to bring 2 requested items. Definitely would go back to try other dishes and enjoy the beautiful gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the charm of the old hotel and dark wood. Great cozy bar, outside dining if wanted, and classic fireplace lobby. Love that it has been kept renovated close to original standards.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I was a little disappointed. Everything seemed flavorless and unseasoned. Both my husband and I found ourselves adding salt and pepper to our food. I looked around and noticed other tables doing the same. The ricotta appetizer was good, but the crackers they were served with were stale and tasteless. The bread was stale. My chicken over pasta was just ok. The wine list is impressive, but the price point was way off. I used to get excited about eating at the Settler's Inn, but will not be rushing back any time soon. It is still very romantic and quaint and if you are not a real foodie you will be impressed. :(

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Truly wish it were better. Very nice place in a very small town. Well intentioned people. Unfortunately, I think the kitchen tries too hard. Couple of strange dishes, including a tuna tartare on a fried chip that had 3 sauces and a bunch of fruit on it. The crab meat benedict didn't taste bad, as long as you ate each ingredient separately, other than the English muffin that should be let be.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful venue. Sat on the back patio overlooking gardens. Tasty and pretty food. Our food took an unacceptably long time to come after ordering which we were not that impressed by. It was overall a nice experience though.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for brunch at 11:00. Our order was taken about 20 minutes in, appetizers (apple slices and cheese and crackers) came out another 20 minutes later and food about 40 minutes after that. We only ordered a burger, grilled cheese, waffles and chicken fingers. It wasn't very busy so I don't know why it took almost an hour and a half to make our food. When it did finally get to our table, it was not hot. The cheese on the grilled cheese had started to harden and the fries were actually a bit cold. All in all it was a 2 1/2 hour brunch. Way too long.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed our Valentine's Day meal much more. I liked that the summer menu included lots of vegetable, but I feel they tried to hard. 2 of us ordered the same thing in February, which was deliciously, but not so much this time.
The restaurant is gorgeous but the ambiance could have better. This time it was too loud in there. Perhaps people talking over the piano player? We loved the piano player, but the noise level definitely interfered with dinner conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The Settlers is known for farm to Table and local ingredients. It shines for that. All of the foods were well prepared and adequate portions. The bread is very good. They do not rush you and at times a=i might say the food coming to the table was slow,although, it was a Saturday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful place to eat. Locally sourced food. Been here multiple times. A must in Hawley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and Service were great, however we ordered the Prime Rib and Lobster special and were a bit disappointed when our server arrived with Prime Rib and Shrimp, apologizing, explaining that they had run out of lobster. OK, fine, it happens, but we paid for Lobster, it would have been nice if some concession were made; discount, pay for our coffee, etc. but nothing was offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant! The Genzlinger's do everything well, such a friendly place, everyone is happy to see you. They source as much locally as they can. Great atmosphere, and a creative menu. The food is superb. All presented and done with class. Love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Never a mistake to eat at Settlers. It is always lovely

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been coming here for 20 years, always know we will have a great meal and enjoy the beautiful bar and sitting areas before dinner . Loved that they use local ingredients from nearby farms as well ...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food , the service and the ambiance were very good. I would recommend going. Lovelly place to visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I've been wanting to dine at the Settlers Inn for a long time. The food was delicious and worth the drive! The cheerful staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely want to return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Unique setting, great food and drink; however, lousy service - 45 minutes waiting for ordered meal, annoying and lack of manners waitress, gave us a wrong check at the end; spoke to restaurant manager and she blamed it to the holiday busy time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Picked The Settler's Inn for our first dinner out during our trip to the Poconos. It was so much grander and special than we expected! Beautiful flowers and landscaping outside, very Tudor looking, with dark wood, Oriental carpets, and beautiful paned windows inside, with a view of a little courtyard with a fountain.

The food was very special- we shared a"lamb two ways entree", that was nicely done. We also had a tomato burrata salad and a tuna tartare appetizer. The tomato salad was boring, but the tuna was fabulous and bursting with flavor. Service was efficient and not overbearing, and the whole experience was very pleasant. Recommend this for very fine dining and atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were sadly disappointed this visit. The Inn has been a favorite spot for special occasions. This time..Sunday night of the July 4th weekend...not up to par. Both food and service were lacking. The zucchini basil soup: boring, the lamb: delicious though oddly paired chops and shank. Dessert: stale biscuits in the strawberry shortcake...no candles for the birthday we requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We always have a great experience dining here. We usually come to enjoy brunch. This time we had lunch and ordered burgers. I am not a big hamburger person but I have to admit, this burger was absolutely delicious. My husband and a friend had ordered burgers as well and we all agreed, they were outstanding! I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and service is great. Way overpriced. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always a pleasure. Impressive place to bring, guests. Piano player is a highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding! Beautiful place, great cocktails and food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Tuesday Burger & Brew in the bar/ outside patio is awesome! Best burgers ever! Fine dining inside for special occasions

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was very poor. Waitress did not follow-up much -- Did not properly serve the Snapper to the two patrons. Worst experience after many times being there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 26, 2017

While this was certainly not our first trip to Settlers Inn, it was most memorable. For the first time ever we dined on the outdoor patio and it was spectacular. A beautiful view of the gardens just added to the great meal we enjoyed. If you have the opportunity in the warmer months we highly recommend booking table in advance!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Beautiful setting, great service, wonderful food....one of my favorite places to eat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was our 51st anniversary, service was Very good and the food was wonderful .

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Settlers Inn never disappoints. Delicious food and specials served by friendly, attentive and professional wait staff in a very comfortable atmosphere....everything is outstanding.
We've been loyal customers for over 20 years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and very attentive service.
Room noise level was a little loud but a larger group was seated on one side of the room

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I was disappointed with my meal. Soup was served cold, had to send back to heat up. Chicken was bland and rubbery. Most disappointing was when I saw the bill for a glass of HOUSE Chardonay $18.00!!! We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our server was fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious. I have been there before & do plan on going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful grounds and gardens. In the style of Arts and Crafts. Lovely breakfast with local ingredients. Welcoming atmosphere, a place we dine at frequently.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant is great and a favorite in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant in beautiful old Inn. Indoor or outdoor dining. One of my favorites.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Settlers Inn is my go-to brunch spot when I've got friends in town visiting the Poconos. The bloodies are a meal in themselves and food never disappoints. Fantastic selection of craft beers, solid wine & cocktails. Ask to sit out on the back porch if the weather is nice and leave plenty of time to explore the grounds after you eat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful setting with pianist in the background. Generous portions. Great bread. Very romantic

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful. As always. Terrific cuisine. Great ambience. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful ambience!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Elegant food with great service in a romantic setting. The rooms in the inn are very nice also.

Tags: Scenic View, Spicy, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We've been going to the Settlers Inn for many years and it never disappoints. It was worth the 30 minute drive each way for dinner. Not a lot of choices in the larger Pike County/Lake area but this is one of the best. Also a nice place to stay for couples.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.