About The Settlers Inn

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Beginning July 6th enjoy live jazz on the deck every Wednesday thru August 31. Please specify when reserving if you will be attending the Jazz performance.

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: 5702262993x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Frittata
  • Pumpkin Waffles
  • Smoked Salmon On Potato Pancakes
  • Red And Green Salad
  • Peach Sorbet
Frittata
Pumpkin Waffles
Smoked Salmon On Potato Pancakes
Red And Green Salad
Peach Sorbet

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Hawley ›

special occasion (46)
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (34)
See All
great for outdoor dining (24)
notable wine list (23)
great for brunch (23)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (16)
scenic view (12)
good for groups (11)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was so impressed by the wonderful serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

I was so impressed by the wonderful service and the food. My wife had a halibut special which flaked to perfect doneness, and I had the pork chop special with a touch of pistachio cream sauce. They were incredible!!! I really thought also the Settlers Inn chef did a great job of hitting everything on our dishes with perfect temperature (we had the heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad appetizer grilled and served at room temp with balsamic and croutons that melted in your mouth). Touched off with chilled pino grigio, it was a great experience all around. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful ambiance, great service. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful ambiance, great service. The food was very good but would have liked a larger menu with more variety. I wouldn't go back for dinner soon because I've already eaten the dishes I'd eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The Settlers Inn is a charming historic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Settlers Inn is a charming historic hotel Hawley, if you are vacationing in the Lake Wallenpaupack area, make sure to stop at this gem for a romantic dinner. The menu is amazing with foods prepared exquisitely. The gardens and grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful. Take a walk down to the river behind the hotel.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Settlers Inn is our "go to" for special ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Settlers Inn is our "go to" for special occasions. From locally sourced, gourmet food, to impeccable service, to an incredible atmosphere both indoors and out, you can't go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Settler's Inn several t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have eaten at Settler's Inn several times before. The food as always was excellent. I was very disappointed that they were unable to honor my 8:00 reservation. It was only at 8:15 that they offered outdoor seating, or I would be looking at another 15 minute wait. Fully realizing that Saturday night can be the busiest night, I will still have to factor this experience when planning dinner again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Being from out of town, we were looking ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Being from out of town, we were looking for a place to celebrate our daughter's/sister's 30th birthday. We chose to eat on the veranda overlooking a beautiful garden. The waiter was personable and attentive. The food was delicious and well presented. We all agreed it surpassed our expectations and will definitely return while in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! It was creative, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was excellent! It was creative, fresh and flavorful. The piano player was very talented with a wide array of songs and the interior is beautiful. Our waiter was just ok, it was hard to hear him speak and hospitality was not his strong suit. But he was efficient. The temperature of the room was uncomfortable, I left my table to wipe the sweat from my brow in the ladies room and found a small spot of cool air by the bar. This is an easy fix and one that an establishment of this caliber should correct.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ambience and service is excellent. Fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Ambience and service is excellent. Food quality fair at best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent food and service. We always ca ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. We always can expect something new on the menu. Our favorite place

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Settlers Inn is our 'go to' place wh ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Settlers Inn is our 'go to' place when we want to have a special dinner. We love the ride to get there & are never disappointed with or visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service couldn't be better. They wer ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service couldn't be better. They were gracious and pleasant. It was our anniversary and they brought us complimentary champagne. It is our favorite restaurant In the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had another excellent meal here. Del ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had another excellent meal here. Delicious mussels, fabulous salad, great steak and short rib combo. The salmon was good but nothing to write home about...a touch overcooked. Chocolate torte dessert with coffee icecream....yum!

My only complaint, the bar drinks are meh....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been to the Settlers Inn several ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had been to the Settlers Inn several times. It is far from our house at 130 miles but when we go to the Poconos we try to drop in. Our last visit was for our anniversary. It was a Friday night and service was perfect. Our waiter, Brandon, was attentive but not overly so. The French onion soup which we have had every time we visited has never been equaled. We went though open table for the reservations and had flowers sent to the restaurant. They were at our table when we were seated. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. And I made a number of brownie points with my wife.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was terrific....great place.. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was terrific....great place...we'll be back. Ambience, server, food, and lighting all contributed to a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale place, food was outstanding. You ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Upscale place, food was outstanding. You can tell it was made by a great chef, using the finest ingredients. A little pricey but the food was worth it for sure. Smaller courses but I left full. Will visit again. Baked onion soup and the Steak was UNREAL!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fine.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Settlers Inn is always a reliably go ...

vip
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Settlers Inn is always a reliably good place to relax and enjoy good food in a country ambiance.

JPB

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The dining room was slightly noisy due to a family with a baby and a toddler, but this was not a problem caused by the restaurant. We enjoyed the children, but it is not everyone's pleasure at an upscale restaurant. The wait staff was very gracious with the small children and we understand that the restaurant is part of an inn. So, the family may have been staying there. This was a minor concern for us. We had a marvelous evening from start to finish and being at the Settlers Inn for dinner on our 40th wedding anniversary was truly a wonderful and memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my girlfriend there, to propose to her.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I was specifically looking for a restaurant that was romantic and the ambiance was perfect. The menu is small, but, all of the ingredients are extremely fresh and we loved that everything was organic and grown locally. The chef did an amazing job pairing the proteins with a variety of fresh fruits, sauces and or vegetables. I highly recommend the Settler's Inn to anyone who wants a special experience. The food and great service was also enhanced by a piano player.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out with Family

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Started off with great drinks. Appetizers were really good! My entree was just ok. It was beef two ways. Filet was small an over cooked. The short rib as bone in. Not to much meat. Sauce was thin and clear. Not much flavor at all.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A quiet holiday

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Settlers was short of help,due to the holiday,we had to wait quite awhile for someone to acknowledge us. The waitress was working very hard (Jenna was the only wait person in the dining room.) She never lost her composure and was polite and cheerful and overworked.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great meal

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went to the Memorial Day brunch. Food was fantastic as alway. Service was a bit slow but there was only 2 girls. We return here on a regular basis. The food and service is exceptional!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food not good music

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

While eating at this restaurant, it was very difficult and distracting to talk to my company while the piano player was playing loud, fast, and inappropriate Billy Joel tunes. The songs that he decided to play would have been better at a bar scene, not for fine dining. I wasn't relaxed at all and had to strain to hear the conversation at the table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great Evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything about this place was great! Awesome beer and wine selection. Food was delicious and well presented. Service was friendly and fast. Couldn't have asked for a better evening.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have traveled here from East Central ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have traveled here from East Central New Jersey many times over the past 25+ years, and have always enjoyed the trip and the delicious dinners. We will return again, hopefully in the early fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great brunch with family

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our second visit to The Settlers Inn. Our first visit was for dinner on a Saturday night and it was WAY too loud; given the wedding downstairs. We returned for brunch with visiting family. The noise level was perfect and the food was great. We will return on non-wedding times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch is fantastic. We will be back soo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch is fantastic. We will be back soon for seconds

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Small menu, but the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Small menu, but the food was done well: fresh and tasty. We appreciate the freshness; as we are avid organic gardeners. Unfortunately, in terms of ambiance, we could feel the floor under our feet vibrating from the VERY LOUD music downstairs. We will not return on a Saturday night- it was a detractor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The soup special with the quinoa was goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The soup special with the quinoa was good except for the very tough chicken there could have been more quinoa in the soup also. My main meal was good chicken was super tender the risotto on the other hand tasted like paste and I'm Italian was very disappointed

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The Settler's Inn never disappoints!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

From the first course to the dessert everything at the Settler's Inn is served with style and elegance. We always go for Mother's Day or Easter Sunday and the food choices delight. We chose the Salmon and it was amazing. The presentation was the best and the flavor better still! This will continue to be our go to place for occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all about that bass

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We usually LOVE this restaurant. The food and service is typically excellent. Great wine and cocktails. However, there apparently was a wedding downstairs. And we were seated just outside the kitchen. The music was so loud we had trouble conversing. The bass from the music actually made my chair vibrate. Our waitress said that several staff members had gone downstairs and asked to turn down the volume. It didn't happen. I certainly hope the management will prevent this from occurring in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was top level! We went for breakfast. Their breakfast sausage was really good and my son kept eating everyones homefries so the waiter brought him out his own dish full of them. The mini pumpkin muffins and blueberry sauce they bring out with your drinks is so yummy! I can't wait to go back their on our next trip.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We love having brunch at the Settlers Inn. Consistently great food, great service and, during warm months, we could dine outside and have a great view of the beautiful garden.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner as Usual

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I had dinner recently to celebrate our anniversary . It has become kind of a tradition to have our anniversary dinner at The Settlers Inn if we are in the area. As always the food, service and ambiance was amazing. We have never had anything that we did not liked there. The food is always fresh and local and the servers are always friendly and knowledgeable. Outstanding place!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Seldom do I compliment, but in this case, I simply must. Great EVERYTHING ! ! ! Moist chicken......unheard of, but two of us had chicken dishes and we both were surprised at how well the cook had prepared them. I cannot think of a thing that disappointed us and that sentiment was shared by the three of us who came for dinner. Many thanks and you can expect us back the next time I am in town. Wish you had one in New York ! ! !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining in a mountain lake region

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Entered into a well kept historic Inn and at the dining room we immediately heard the live piano music setting the tone for our evening.

The woodwork of the dining room set up the ambiance with good service to match.

Strawberries, oranges and nuts with the spinach salad covered in raspberry vinaigrette was a good start.

My wife found the chicken breast tender & moist served with a pea & mushroom risotto to her liking.

I tried the pork tenderloin and enjoyed the slightly spicy burgundy glaze.

The wine list is nice and we went with trying a couple of varieties by the glass. Choice of a 5 or 8 ounce pour is good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanted

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Settlers Inn is outstanding. The food is always prepared perfectly and the grounds are beautiful. Service is always top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Special

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our favorite place for special days (ie: holidays,birthdays,anniversary) or when we just want a nice pace to dine in a friendly atmosphere. We are treated as if we are there only customers!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did breakfast & dinner here. Really nice ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Did breakfast & dinner here. Really nice classic look to the place & the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Always have the best meal here, they always have something different and special. Great food and great staff

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.