About The Settlers Inn

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for eleven years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm,Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: 5702262993x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Hawley ›

special occasion (42)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (8)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch is fantastic. We will be back soo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch is fantastic. We will be back soon for seconds

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Small menu, but the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Small menu, but the food was done well: fresh and tasty. We appreciate the freshness; as we are avid organic gardeners. Unfortunately, in terms of ambiance, we could feel the floor under our feet vibrating from the VERY LOUD music downstairs. We will not return on a Saturday night- it was a detractor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The soup special with the quinoa was goo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The soup special with the quinoa was good except for the very tough chicken there could have been more quinoa in the soup also. My main meal was good chicken was super tender the risotto on the other hand tasted like paste and I'm Italian was very disappointed

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Settler's Inn never disappoints!

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the first course to the dessert everything at the Settler's Inn is served with style and elegance. We always go for Mother's Day or Easter Sunday and the food choices delight. We chose the Salmon and it was amazing. The presentation was the best and the flavor better still! This will continue to be our go to place for occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

It was all about that bass

Dined on May 7, 2016

We usually LOVE this restaurant. The food and service is typically excellent. Great wine and cocktails. However, there apparently was a wedding downstairs. And we were seated just outside the kitchen. The music was so loud we had trouble conversing. The bass from the music actually made my chair vibrate. Our waitress said that several staff members had gone downstairs and asked to turn down the volume. It didn't happen. I certainly hope the management will prevent this from occurring in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was top level! We went for breakfast. Their breakfast sausage was really good and my son kept eating everyones homefries so the waiter brought him out his own dish full of them. The mini pumpkin muffins and blueberry sauce they bring out with your drinks is so yummy! I can't wait to go back their on our next trip.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We love having brunch at the Settlers Inn. Consistently great food, great service and, during warm months, we could dine outside and have a great view of the beautiful garden.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner as Usual

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I had dinner recently to celebrate our anniversary . It has become kind of a tradition to have our anniversary dinner at The Settlers Inn if we are in the area. As always the food, service and ambiance was amazing. We have never had anything that we did not liked there. The food is always fresh and local and the servers are always friendly and knowledgeable. Outstanding place!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way.

Dined on April 4, 2016

Seldom do I compliment, but in this case, I simply must. Great EVERYTHING ! ! ! Moist chicken......unheard of, but two of us had chicken dishes and we both were surprised at how well the cook had prepared them. I cannot think of a thing that disappointed us and that sentiment was shared by the three of us who came for dinner. Many thanks and you can expect us back the next time I am in town. Wish you had one in New York ! ! !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining in a mountain lake region

Dined on April 2, 2016

Entered into a well kept historic Inn and at the dining room we immediately heard the live piano music setting the tone for our evening. The woodwork of the dining room set up the ambiance with good service to match. Strawberries, oranges and nuts with the spinach salad covered in raspberry vinaigrette was a good start. My wife found the chicken breast tender & moist served with a pea & mushroom risotto to her liking. I tried the pork tenderloin and enjoyed the slightly spicy burgundy glaze. The wine list is nice and we went with trying a couple of varieties by the glass. Choice of a 5 or 8 ounce pour is good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enchanted

Dined on March 27, 2016

Settlers Inn is outstanding. The food is always prepared perfectly and the grounds are beautiful. Service is always top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Special

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our favorite place for special days (ie: holidays,birthdays,anniversary) or when we just want a nice pace to dine in a friendly atmosphere. We are treated as if we are there only customers!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Did breakfast & dinner here. Really nice ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Did breakfast & dinner here. Really nice classic look to the place & the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 5, 2016

Always have the best meal here, they always have something different and special. Great food and great staff

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food came up short

Dined on February 28, 2016

First off, I would go back. I wouldn't order the chicken again but the staff is great, decor is homely and rustic and the food is decent. my only knock was the chicken (there is only one on the menu). The he description was a Chardonnay butter sauce. What was on the plate was a cool, gelatinous white sauce lacking in flavor with challenging texture. Otherwise, apps were good, my wife's filet was cooked well and the staff was great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

lovely evening

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our friends have wanted to dine at the Settler's Inn for over 20 years, so we finally made it happen and they were not disappointed, in fact-the evening exceeded expectations! Excellent food, charming setting and fun to have live music!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were greeted by the host, who graciously showed us to the last table in the room (we were embarrassed that we were late for our reservation! - not to worry - we were not made to feel badly). There was a piano player that night that was amazing. Our waitress was attentive (we were also there for brunch that morning and service was fantastic then as well!) Food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food selections

Dined on February 26, 2016

Although the food was very good, I think a bigger selection is needed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to the Settlers Inn for dinner or brunch many times. It is always a great experience. We went for a Valentine's Day brunch and it did not disappoint! There was a three piece group playing who were very good and added to a delightful meal. The food, as always, was fantastic. They try to use as much local suppliers as they can. The menu is always changing and the toughest part is deciding what to try. I have never had a bad meal here and I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The regional place to be.

Dined on February 14, 2016

A quiet and romantic bar combined with the quiet and romantic dinner. This is the regional place to be for a couple that wants to enjoy a drink before dinner next to the fireplace with a well prepared cocktail and then enjoy a well prepared dinner in a dining room with the ambiance of the Grove Park Inn but never leaving northeast PA. We go to celebrate our marriage and fine food in a setting that respects both.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place

Dined on February 13, 2016

1st time at settlers inn, place, service was great. Didn't care for my food. My wife loved her's but mine was bland and mushy. App and amuse-bouche were very good. I will give them another shot because every member of the staff was polite and attentive. The piano player was a nice touch.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Restaurant

Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I went to The Settlers Inn for an early Valentines Day dinner, and it was everything I have come to expect from this lovely and unique restaurant. The food was delicious - fresh ingredients combined to create textures and flavors as delightful to see as to taste! Service was excellent and perfectly timed. The lovely Arts and Crafts interior is the perfect setting to relax, enjoy, and listen to the live music on a special Saturday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service

Dined on February 6, 2016

Every time we go to the Settlers Inn , we are never disappointed with anything. The Host, waitress and all the staff are very attentive and make our dining there so enjoyable. The food is always excellent, our very favorite place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

disappointed

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I wanted to have a nice quiet dinner and thought this would be a good place. There was live piano music and great atmosphere. Unfortunately a large table was playing a iPad game, waving it around, yelling and cheering. We couldn't here the piano. The tables around us were also annoyed by this, and we could see others across the dining room looking and staring at them. We complained to our server and the host who sat us, but nothing was done. I was not expecting this to happen at a restaurant of this supposed caliber. After about 30 minutes, I walked up to the head of their table and politely asked them to be quiet. They respected my request, and there wasn't a peep out of them the rest of the night. Why didn't management take care of this? It's not the type of place you would play games at the dinner table. Unfortunately I don't remember anything about the food or service. We paid a lot of money for a sports bar atmosphere. We decided to leave and never ordered a entrée.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding place... perfect in every way...

Dined on January 19, 2016

One of the finest places you will ever dine! Historic, beautiful, warm & welcoming, delicious...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Frequent diners

Dined on January 16, 2016

We usually go to the Settler's Inn for special occasions, and have been going on and off for 10+ years and usually have a lovely experience. Unfortunately, it seemed as though they were understaffed. It took over 20 minutes to try to get our check and our waitress would seemingly disappear for extended periods of time. 4 out of our 6 meals that night were good, the sea bass was bland and not at all notable. Overall, we will return, but were disappointed at our most recent visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Don't settle for less

Dined on January 16, 2016

Always a great dining experience at Settlers. We visit every time we are in the area. Even though we have a vacation home in the area, we often will stay at the Hotel just for the pleasure of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful menu of fresh, intrigui ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

What a beautiful menu of fresh, intriguing and creative flavors that earned a high rating to both my husband and myself. The chef is to commended for being able to execute a very intricate presentation and satisfaction to the palate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very pleasant evening

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We hadn't eaten here in years because we hadn't been wowed that first time and it's far from our home, but we decided to give it another try and we are glad we did. The food was excellent, as was the service. The dining room was very pleasant and we were far enough away from the piano player that we really enjoyed that too. We are adding Settlers Inn to our places we will eagerly return to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start the new year at Settler's.

Dined on January 2, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to the Settler's Inn for many years. We like to start the new year off right. The food is beyond good. The presentation is spectacular and the value is excellent. I would highly recommend the Settler's Inn.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NEW YEAR'S EVE DINNER

Dined on December 31, 2015

We love to come to Settlers Inn for dinner especially on special occasions. NYE's menu did not disappoint. We had the oyster's which was delicious followed by, I had the scallop salad which was delicious and my husband had the the lobster, which he loved. Our entrees were wonderful as well. I had the petite filets which never disappoint. My husband had the pork chop and was amazed at how thick it was and done to perfection. Desserts never disappoint, vanilla creme brûlée and we always fight over the Settlers Inn Toffee pudding. To die for!! Thank you again Settler's Inn!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Romantic Getaway in the Poconos

Dined on December 28, 2015

We have come here many times in past 12 yrs, always an amazing experience with the best gormet food both at breakfast and dinner...rooms are very cozy and well prepared. The main area is always a special environment that is seasonally decorated with a classic luxury country styling. Service always great as well..a bit upscale price wise but well worth the extra money

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Festive and elegant

Dined on December 27, 2015

Enjoyed Sunday brunch in the beautifully decorated dining room. The selections were all appealing and the food was perfectly prepared and served. Excellent friendly service and not rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incomparable Delight

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

The Settlers Inn is reliably extraordinary in every way. We enjoy being there often.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch!

Dined on December 20, 2015

Our party of four visited for brunch last Sunday. Two of us had the Crab Cakes Eggs Benedict, which were wonderful with jumbo lump crabmeat, housemade English muffin and a perfectly poached egg. It was a huge portion, with roasted vegetables and we each took half home. The other members of our party had the Grilled Cheese on Birdseed Bread with fries. There were three grilled cheese halves and a generous serving of fries , and all was enjoyed by both parties. The Inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and the service was great as always. Would highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just lovely

Dined on December 19, 2015

Always wonderful, but especially so at Christmas time. Sitting in front of the fireplace before going into the restaurant amidst beautiful decorations is special. The Settlers is always beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful

Dined on December 13, 2015

The Settlers Inn is our favorite place to dine. I enjoy breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner; the food is always terrific! Service is top-notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful holiday spirit at the Inn

Dined on December 12, 2015

Enjoy the service , the food , the comfortable atmosphere. From the host attentiveness , to the server the excellent food the ambiance , the music and the affordable cost. The experience was perfect

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,Great atmosphere, Great people

Dined on December 12, 2015

We're regulars now at The Settlers . The food is just outstanding. The mixture of flavors on the menu keep us coming back

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

Dined on December 12, 2015

I have frequented Settlers for brunch and dinner and have never been disappointed. The dining room is lovely, the noise level moderate and the food exceptional.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.