Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:30, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: (570) 226-2993

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (25)
See All
Worth the Drive (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fireplace (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Music (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Organic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great Beer (7)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our first visit to celebrate a birthday, drove 45 minutes each way, extremely well worth the trip!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a Mother's Day dinner. Pre fix menu and everything was great. Waiters where busy but still took good care of us. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife sent back her lasagna due to the fact is was over cooked, dry and spicy. Staff was very accommodating and immediately replaced her meal with a different dish. Nice staff and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our choice for a Mother's Day dinner and it did not disappoint. Each course was better than the one before, topped off by one of the best sirloins I have ever had and a perfect dessert. And as busy as they were, and they were busy, the service was excellent and we never felt rushed. The Settlers Inn is an extraordinary place with a menu to match.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have usually brunch at Settlers Inn when in PA. It's such a great dining experience every time! We love it even more when it gets warm and you could sit outside on the covered patio overlooking the beautiful garden. The food is excellent and great value; always very fresh, perfectly seasoned and prepared. The service is always great as well. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:30. We were seated after 7:30. We were not served until 9PM. The server was never available so drinks were not refilled for over 2 hours. Four of the five meals were very good but the chicken was dry and salty. It was a beautiful place but that was as far as it went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Settlers Inn is a quaint restaurant in the small town of Hawley, Pennsylvania. It is decorated in the Arts and Crafts style. The dining room is spacious and each diner enjoys an air of privacy because of the spacing of the tables; no one is seated so close to their dining companions that they could eavesdrop on their conversations. The menu offers local, farm to table selections. There is one choice for land, sea, wind, and for vegetarians, earth. The selections are well prepared and innovative. All of the waitstaff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. A pianist provided a lovely mood to the dining experience. Although the restaurant has an extensive wine list, it is to their credit that they offer a flight of three diverse wines to accompany your meal, which not only allows you to sample their collection, but for those driving allows sharper eyes for the winding roads and abundant wildlife at night. The grounds are lovely and the Inn is an excellent choice for a special occasion or a romantic evening.

Tags: Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Inn is a very special place for evening meals. The chef seems to always have a surprise dish or preparation style. I try food here that I normally avoid at other places and have never had the opinion it wasn't worth the try. Go when you have time to listen to piano players who sometimes invite other musicians to join them in entertaining the diners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The maitre d indicated he was giving me the most of frequently asked for table in the dining room. Having dine there several times a year over the past 20 years it was actually the worst table the noisiest and the closest to the kitchen. staff congregated by the table. If it wasn't Mother's Day I would have walked out. I would have preferred a more accurate description of the table buy a the maitre d. He was full of it. I must also tell you I wonder if my booking through open table I got the back end of the table selection. I've dine there many times before and I've never been stuck at this table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As expected everything was wonderful. Each time we have been here it has been a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My Wife and took the opportunity to visit Inn for an early Mothers Day Brunch before the traditional crowds. The atmosphere and experience were both very positive and we will definitely plan a return for a full dinner meal in the evening this summer.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Settlers Inn has an ambiance, second to none. The food is great, the staff extremely courteous, and the atmosphere very hospitable. We cant wait to stay there on December 2, 2017, for the Christmas event weekend.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Settlers was recommended to us by my brother who has been there several times. We were in from out of town with our son and could not have been happier to have chosen it for our Saturday night dinner spot. The food was delicious, the service was great and the room was so warm and inviting. Best part: the piano player who took requests from our 10 year old, had an amazing range (from Sinatra to The Doors to broadway) and just totally made the evening.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome food and service as always!!! Love the piano

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Locally sourced food with a sophisticated taste. Service was excellent. My partner had the salmon and I like it better the shellfish dish I ordered.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have eaten at the Settler's Inn for many years. Every meal has been wonderful and the service is excellent. It is a beautiful bed and breakfast and the restaurant is top notch. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys good food and good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I just had our 13th wedding anniversary dinner here. It kind has become a tradition to have our anniversary dinner at The Settlers. As always, our latest experienced at The Settlers Inn was fantastic. They never disappoint. The food is delicious and fresh, the service is excellent and that atmosphere is lovely. We always recommend it for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. Fantastic place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Always first-rate. The food, service, and settIng always makes this a good choice.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food!! We had 3 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the Settlers Inn. They were all some of the best meals we had ever eaten! Beautiful rooms that just give you a sense of peace. Attentive and extremely accommodating staff all around!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bar was nice; JD is cool.
Food was 'out of sight' 10+++.
Wait service was very good to excellent.
We had a reservation. Seated 20 minutes late [and had time sensitive taks to do].

Maitre D was arrogant, unfriendly, aloof and not concerned with the lateness.
We've tried your place once or twice before and walked away with the same
negative feelings about the attitude.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My very favorite place!! We have come to Settlers for a quiet dinner, a fun time and for holiday meals. Love it!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service. Terrific food. Excellent time had by me and my girlfriend. We both agreed it was possibly the greatest dining experience we've both had. We will be back! Thank you again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been going to the Settler's Inn for over two decades now and could not believe we had come to the same Settler's Inn we knew and liked. We went in for the burger and brew special only to be told that the beer tap was broken, so we ordered bottled beer which took 20 minutes to arrive.
The burgers were very good as usual. One of us ordered the vegetarian meatballs which were almost inedible; the meatballs themselves were ok; the chard was leathery and the polenta was the consistency of soup. Needless to say we did not eat it all or take any home - the dish priced at $22 is not worth $2.
The staff must have been run off their feet because it took extraordinarily long to get any service; the first beer took 20 minutes and the second was another 20 minutes coming ... all in all a most disappointing evening.
The only redeeming feature of the evening was the fact that the burger and brew only cost $10 each, and so the bill at this usually expensive restaurant turned out to be very reasonable - we did tip our standard 15%, but it was done from habit and did not reflect the service at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were new to the area and read about the Inn. Food was good. Service was great. Bar was nice prior to dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband, mother & I met family from out of state. It was our first time. Lovely place but I thought the Brunch entrees were average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Took a close friend of mine for brunch and to catch up a after a few years. Walking into the Inn the place has that charm that you do not find today. The person seating use was extremely friendly and we were seated right away. The service was fantastic only out done by the food. We were not rushed and had a very relaxing brunch. One of the best things I found was that you could actually have a conversation with out all the noise and TV's like so many restaurants are like today.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went to Settler's for Sunday Brunch with out of town friends. We had a great meal but the atmosphere really set the stage for a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lovely breakfast and wonderful atmosphere. Food and service is always wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I ordered the French Onion Soup with Swiss Cheese and the Lobster Ravioli with Limoncello Sauce and Winter Veggies; hubby had the Swordfish. Both of us enjoyed our meals. I also ordered a small pot of the French Press Electric City Velvet Blend coffee, which was excellent and ice cream for dessert. I asked for a table by the fire and the restaurant specially set a table for two in the bar area, right in front of the fire. Couldn't ask for better than that :)

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A lovely, unique environment reminiscent of the late 1920s and the food was incredible. I can't wait to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Chef Ben was wonderful, we went to the Settlers Inn for my fiance's birthday dinner as a part of his getaway birthday surprise. The food was delicious, well seasoned and flavorful. We will definitely go back in the summer when it's warmer to explore the town a lot more.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place!! The staff is extremely courteous and nurturing so that you truly relax. The food is outstanding with organic and local produce/meats. The cocktails are delicious and there are plenty of craft beer selections and a huge range of wines to choose from. Complete with a beautiful ambiance of historic architecture, mission-style furnishings and a stone fireplace. Could not recommend more enthusiastically!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is by far our most favorite restaurant! Perfect for a date night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We loved the atmosphere, the food, and the service- beautiful place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spent the day at Woodloch Spa and the evening at Settlers Inn - Great combination !
Very accommodating staff and we love the piano on Saturday nights

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

One word explains it all. "Exceptional ". Been going for years and never disappoints. This time was exceptional because we celebrated our 29th anniversary and had our private table by the fireplace. Staff always has extremely great customer service. All severs are great. Peggy was exceptionally accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very nice place with good food, service is very slow, wine by the glass is way over priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been going to this rest. for at least five years now and the food here is always outstanding. Our evening this past Sunday at the Settlers' Inn was nothing short of amazing! I ordered the pork belly as an appetizer and the lobster ravioli. My husband had the lobster bisque and lobster ravioli. As usual it was prepared with both a sense of upscale creativity with a keeping of the traditional home style comfort food mentality! Compared to most restaurants the ingredients used are very clean and we always feel great after eating a meal there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding meal and service we thoroughly enjoyed every minute

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Historic, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.