Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 3.82mi

About The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn is a place to gather. The arts & crafts decor reflects our emphasis on simplicity & artistry. This commitment is also emphasized through our use of local organic farmers & producers. In the chef owned farm-to-table restaurant, our menu, breads & desserts are all hand-crafted to take advantage of the freshest fruits, vegetables, & herbs of the season. We believe our use of local products helps to continue the tradition of small farming in our community. Our bluestone fireplace entices guests to bask in the warmth of a crackling fire after a day of cross-country skiing, while Summer offers dining alfresco on the terrace.
The Chestnut Tavern offers guests a more casual atmosphere. The wine program is an integral part of the dining experience. Our wine list has received an award of excellence by Wine Spectator for thirteen years.

4 Main Avenue
Hawley, PA 18428
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:15pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:45, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Hudson Street (Route 590E)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 226-2993

Website:
http://www.thesettlersinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every Saturday evening beginning around 6:00pm.

Catering:
The Settlers Inn offers a wide range of catering services. Our goal is to make planning a special occasion as simple & stress-free for you as possible. We can provide anything from one or two items, such as an elegant celebration cake or hors d'oeuvres, to a full menu from starters through entrees & desserts. We have suggested menus for brunch, lunch, tea & dinner, or we can work with you to individualize your own special menu. We can reserve one of our private rooms; we can cater off-site at a location of your choosing; or we can even have things ready for pick up.

Parking Details:
Onsite paved parking is located directly in front of our building. Additional parking for larger vehicles, busses & events is available to the back of the building.

Public Transit:
Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.

Executive Chef:
Grant Genzlinger

Private Party Facilities:
The Undercroft, our large private dining room, adjoins a wide stone patio circled by trees, offering a combination of outdoor & indoor settings for private events. With its warm cherry woodwork, fireplace & inglenooks, the Undercroft provides an ideal setting for all types of gatherings including weddings, showers, family reunions & family celebrations.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanne Genzlinger: (570) 226-2993

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:15PM

The Settlers Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Authentic (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Business Meals (14)
Scenic View (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Seasonal (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (9)
Organic (9)
Great Beer (9)
Casual (7)
Live Music (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the gems of the area. Everytime I eat here it's a new experience for my taste buds.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lovely place, our first time and the ambiance was wonderful. The service wasn't top notch, waitress didn't welcome us nor did she even provide her name. Great place, just need happier help

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The staff and servers were outstanding and the food superb. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have never been disappointed in my Dining experiences @Settlers. I have been dining there for 30 years. I have also stayed there over the past 30 years at times. Always a great experience. The staff there is well trained. Personable, & Professional.
Even though I have recently moved over 600 miles away, I always make a point of goING to The Settlers, when I am in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It always wonderful at Settlers Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Terrific service, delicious food and a warm sophisticated ambience

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Love the ambience and food--especially the sticky toffee pudding! Service was a bit slow on our most recent visit, but we didn't have anywhere to be after so it wasn't a real problem. Highly recommend for a date night or special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Settler's Inn is a perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion. Great Food, a staff that goes the extra step, but are not intrusive on your special night. Our children have enjoyed the
ambiance for their Anniversary celebrations, also. My daughter made our reservation for us, because she said "that is the only restaurant you want to go to in the Poconos!"

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Truly lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

As usual the summers fly by, and we made it for the last night of Jazz on the Deck. We were not disappointed ! We love going to Settlers,have never been disappointed . The jazz ensemble were very good ,we had a perfect evening! Thanks again, The Barry's

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The Settler's Inn was recommended to me by a friend who has a lake house in the area. My boyfriend and I had a phenomenal experience from the moment we walked in the establishment. We loved the overall ambiance, enjoyed excellent and friendly service, and found the entire meal to be extremely delicious! I would love to go again, and I will recommend this gem to family and friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Healthy, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Have been going to this restaurant for about twenty years. It continues to be a staple in the poconos. Whether in NJ, NYC, or PA, this is at the top of my list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outdated settings of restaurant with no impressive food. The service was very good yet appetisers were not of the first freshness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food served very creatively...very attentive staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Been going here 25+ years for a short time menu was non traditional Pa. NY foodie. Now blended for all tastes. Aside from being a bit noisy with a party of 12 dead center in room veryeadnt upscale dining

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Beautiful setting and service was spectacular! Go enjoy a drink and the beautiful gardens outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Every year my wife and I celebrate our anniversary at Settlers Inn for dinner and drinks. It is always a wonderful evening of good food, drink and service. Our favorite is sitting outside viewing the gardens. Staff is professional, pleasant and very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful as always. However, I made the reservation through OpenTable and when we arrived at 10:15, we were told that the kitchen closes at 10. We were greatly taken back and explained that we had traveled from New York and New Jersey for this meal. The chef graciously allowed us to stay for the meal, the wait staff was understanding and we were not in the least bit rushed by the staff, but we did feel we were imposing if we stayed too long.

You need to correct the times for seating for breakfast for this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great atmosphere Beautiful gardens viewable from outdoor dining area

Tags: Seasonal, Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Been coming here for 40 years and rarely disappointed! The duck for 2 was wonderful

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Settlers Inn and we were looking forward to our meal based upon recommendations from friends. Sometimes that is not ideal since your expectations are high and you could be disappointed. However, everything about our experience that night exceeded our expectations and was amazing. Lovely ambiance, friendly and prompt service, delightful meals, excellent wine choices and now we want to book an overnight stay to enjoy more time and meals at Settlers Inn in the future. Simply superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

An excellent dining choice. The wine list and wine service were very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Exceptional service and fantastic locally sourced ... great gf and vegan options

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Once again, The Settlers Inn, turned in a great performance. The duck was the best we have had and the sauce!! Others at the table enjoyed the pork and ravioli.

Our waitress was helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff attentive. Too expensive to come every week but worth the $$.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent in every way The waitress Peggy was spectacular Made the night so special Will definitely bring us back Food and ambiance very good Her knowledge professionalism and warmth were over the top great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My spouse and I dined here on a Sunday evening, which is, during the summer, whole-roasted, local pig day: the evening's specials feature the roasted meat in various, creative dishes. There are other locally-sourced ingredient themes during the week- contact the restaurant to find out more, because the Settlers Inn webpage does not seem to be updated too frequently. I dined on a grilled romaine caesar salad that was presented deconstructed- the parmesan mousse and the perfectly toasted croutons were especially savory- and opted for the pulled pork served over local garlic mashed potatoes and local sautéed green beans. Everything was excellent, though the pork was over-sauced with a concoction that reminded me of Swedish meatball sauce. That was a disappointment and explains the four star rating. My spouse, who is a "clean" eater, started with a superb local zucchini soup, followed by a house salad with a roasted chicken breast (all locally sourced and adjusted to meet her dietary requests). She said the chicken was tender and juicy, the greens clearly fresh and deliciously dressed. The portions were enormous, perhaps because we were seated just before the kitchen closed. The service was attentive, friendly, and not overbearing. The extensive wine list was a pleasant surprise, though the selections by glass were more limited. Finally, the following morning we enjoyed a fantastic, very reasonably priced breakfast, again featuring locally-sourced ingredients and house-made baked goods (the carrot chocolate chip muffins were truly incredible). The ambience was also very nice- the decor is warm, Arts and Crafts and palpably historic. Overall a good value for a fine dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Organic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was a real find. Superb dining @ reasonable prices. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meal. Everything was delicious! Best crab cakes I have ever
tasted. We would definitely go back if we ever are in the area.
We went to the town of Hawley to visit our granddaughter at camp.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I went to Settler's Inn to celebrate our 39th Wedding Anniversary. The food was superb as always, the ambiance exactly what we wanted and the service incredible. We had a wonderful meal, in a romantic setting. We couldn't ask for a nicer evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had a celebration with friends and everything about the experience was great. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient, the ambience was warm and comfortable, and the food was excellent. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 29, 2017

From the moment we arrived the attention to detail was apparent, I had including in my reservation a note that this was a special dinner as my new husband was back from a deployment & this was our first date night out since getting married. The staff thanked him for his service, asked where he was deployed to & welcomed him home. We got to sit outside on the beautiful shaded back porch with a gorgeous view of the garden. They brought us champagne to toast the special occasion! The food was divine & the staff very attentive, the beer list was an unexpected gold mine of obscure beers with a spot on taste profile. We cannot wait to head back for date night more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Had a great dinner at settlers , everything was phenomenal from the service to the food ! We will be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We say on the back patio overlooking the beautiful gardens. The smoked trout, fried cheese curds, portobello ravioli, and lamb were delicious. Portions were generous without being over large. The vegetables were farm fresh and perfectly cooked. There were a few missteps: the yogurt mint sauce that came with the lamb was sweet and the sauce for the ravioli was delicious, but too rich. Our server was attentive, although he forgot to bring 2 requested items. Definitely would go back to try other dishes and enjoy the beautiful gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Love the charm of the old hotel and dark wood. Great cozy bar, outside dining if wanted, and classic fireplace lobby. Love that it has been kept renovated close to original standards.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was a little disappointed. Everything seemed flavorless and unseasoned. Both my husband and I found ourselves adding salt and pepper to our food. I looked around and noticed other tables doing the same. The ricotta appetizer was good, but the crackers they were served with were stale and tasteless. The bread was stale. My chicken over pasta was just ok. The wine list is impressive, but the price point was way off. I used to get excited about eating at the Settler's Inn, but will not be rushing back any time soon. It is still very romantic and quaint and if you are not a real foodie you will be impressed. :(

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Truly wish it were better. Very nice place in a very small town. Well intentioned people. Unfortunately, I think the kitchen tries too hard. Couple of strange dishes, including a tuna tartare on a fried chip that had 3 sauces and a bunch of fruit on it. The crab meat benedict didn't taste bad, as long as you ate each ingredient separately, other than the English muffin that should be let be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful venue. Sat on the back patio overlooking gardens. Tasty and pretty food. Our food took an unacceptably long time to come after ordering which we were not that impressed by. It was overall a nice experience though.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went for brunch at 11:00. Our order was taken about 20 minutes in, appetizers (apple slices and cheese and crackers) came out another 20 minutes later and food about 40 minutes after that. We only ordered a burger, grilled cheese, waffles and chicken fingers. It wasn't very busy so I don't know why it took almost an hour and a half to make our food. When it did finally get to our table, it was not hot. The cheese on the grilled cheese had started to harden and the fries were actually a bit cold. All in all it was a 2 1/2 hour brunch. Way too long.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I enjoyed our Valentine's Day meal much more. I liked that the summer menu included lots of vegetable, but I feel they tried to hard. 2 of us ordered the same thing in February, which was deliciously, but not so much this time.
The restaurant is gorgeous but the ambiance could have better. This time it was too loud in there. Perhaps people talking over the piano player? We loved the piano player, but the noise level definitely interfered with dinner conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Settlers is known for farm to Table and local ingredients. It shines for that. All of the foods were well prepared and adequate portions. The bread is very good. They do not rush you and at times a=i might say the food coming to the table was slow,although, it was a Saturday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful place to eat. Locally sourced food. Been here multiple times. A must in Hawley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.