Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Piatanzi - Juan TaboPiatanzi - Juan Tabo
(55)
Italian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Savoy Bar and Grill AlbuquerqueSavoy Bar and Grill Albuquerque
(365)
Californian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Black Angus Steakhouse - AlbuquerqueBlack Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque
(309)
Steakhouse | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Albuquerque - UptownBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Albuquerque - Uptown
(151)
Italian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - AlbuquerqueRuth's Chris Steak House - Albuquerque
(65)
Steakhouse | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
The Melting Pot - AlbuquerqueThe Melting Pot - Albuquerque
(1764)
Fondue | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Marcello's ChophouseMarcello's Chophouse
(222)
Steakhouse | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Elephant Bar Restaurant - AlbuquerqueElephant Bar Restaurant - Albuquerque
(25)
Global, International | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Trombino's Bistro ItalianoTrombino's Bistro Italiano
(604)
Italian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Buca di Beppo - AlbuquerqueBuca di Beppo - Albuquerque
(417)
Italian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Crown RoomCrown Room
(75)
Contemporary American | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Vintage 423Vintage 423
(215)
American | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Pars CuisinePars Cuisine
(148)
Persian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
Elaine'sElaine's
(346)
American | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now
ScaloScalo
(1241)
Italian | Albuquerque, Albuquerque
Reserve Now

About The Saucy Italian Bistro

2912 Juan Tabo Blvd., NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
View Larger Map

The Saucy Italian Bistro is Albuquerque's newest Northern Italian restaurant, exhibiting authentic recipes that illustrate longstanding traditional tastes.
At the Saucy Italian Bistro, we grew up around food and family. We are very proud to be a family owned and operated business. Pioneered by culinary connoisseur, former owner and creator of Mykonos Café & Taverna, Maria Constantine brings her extensive restaurant expertise to The Saucy Italian Bistro. With the immense success and longevity of the Greek cuisine and overall operations at Mykonos, Maria and her family are now revealing their longstanding love for Northern Italian Cuisine. The first area of restaurant cooking introduced to Maria's family was actually Italian cuisine. Much like the Grecian culinary traditions, Northern Italian cuisine is known to preserve and beckon the time honored joys of food and celebration, best experienced with friends and family. We prepare our food as we would for our extended family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 1:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30p to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30p -10:00pm

Cross Street:
Candelaria

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(505) 294-2990

Website:
http://www.thesaucyitalian.com/

Entertainment:
The Saucy Italian Bistro presents live entertainment four nights a week Wednesday through Saturday starting at 6:30pm.
Wednesday Nights John Martinez Guitarist extraordinaire.
Thursday and Friday Nights Piano Music with Sid Fendley,
Saturday night Susan Clark a pianist extraordinaire.

Catering:
Catering is something we love to offer at The Saucy Italian Bistro we bring the wonderful cuisine and expertise in catering to you.
In addition to our Italian venue we can offer any type of cuisine for your special event.

Parking Details:
We have private parking up to 80 cars.

Executive Chef:
Maria Constantine

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private room for dining. Our private room holds up to 45 guests.
A great room for meetings, special occasions or family gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Maria Constantine: 5052942990x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Saucy Italian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.3

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Saucy has been permanently closed for so ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Reviewed 2 days ago

Saucy has been permanently closed for some time now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

This restaurant just sold to someone new ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Reviewed on July 17, 2016

This restaurant just sold to someone new, a group of people, apparently, so from here forward we will need to evaluate the place on a new basis. The previous owners had run another successful restaurant in town, Mediterranean/Greek, so it was not surprising that this place was so good. I hope the new owners continue with the tradition, but also expand the menu so that its not just northern Italian and heavy sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

We enjoyed great service and good food. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed great service and good food. The piano was an added surprise; it was very enjoyable. Natasha worked hard to make our experience a really good one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The waitress (Jessica) was not very good ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The waitress (Jessica) was not very good. We were not presented with the specials, She forgot to order the appetizer, and one of the meals was served cold with overcooked pasta. The over all service was slow considering we were dining at 6 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Always delicious and great service!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Always delicious and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

ok but .......

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was good but my portion of chicken picatta was much smaller than I've had in the past.

Probably won't be back for awhile.

Whole time we were eating dinner the owner, her daughter and granddaughter were sitting next booth over and the few employees that were there that evening all hung around the table talking. Made us kind of uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Good food and attentive service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved the live music (piano), prompt greeting and good service by both our server and the manager. Only thing that wasn't on point was the steak: ordered it medium but most of it was well done. Fellow diner commented that the name doesn't give it enough credit for how classy it is. Patio looked nice so I plan on returning during warmer weather.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the veal Marsala and my husban ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I ordered the veal Marsala and my husband had the veal picatta. Both cuts of veal were quite tough and had little of the flavor of the respective dishes--a disappointment for my husband's birthday dinner. Service was very good and the wine was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience from the moment we ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent experience from the moment we walked through the door. Staff was outstanding and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

just ok

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

the customer service was awesome but aside from that, the brunch menu was not too great, they had things on their menu that they did not offer such as the scalloped potatos, they arent consistent with bringing out bread to the table, which is crazy but if one person orders off the lunch menu, they will bring it?!?! food took WAAAAYYY too long and we were one of the only people there. red chile was REALLY too salty! food was pretty bland.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The the waitress Tasha she was great she ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The the waitress Tasha she was great she was outstanding she did a wonderful job always checking up on us making sure that everything was okay from the food tasting well to our drinks really like the place excellent place to eat great service will most definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The piano music was most enjoyable--not ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The piano music was most enjoyable--not too loud. The food was excellent--lamb shank so tender the meat fell off the bone and a good veal piccata. We visit Montalcino every year so we splurged on the Rosso de Montalcino, an excellent wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Italian NOT

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Friendly, attentive service but this is not Italian food. The lamb dish is

ok but the sauce its cooked in is remarkably like the Greek joints in town. The veal marsala on the night we dined was all pasta with a couple of chunks of veal. It may be a nice place for a cocktail and an appetizer but the food is far from authentic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not up to par this time

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

waiter ignored us, took forever to receive dinner, had to ask for drink refills, pasta was not made properly, took a long time to receive bill - not a good night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Terrible!!!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food quality was terrible and poorly prepared. Additionally, they were out of menu items for both food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was very kind in getting ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was very kind in getting us a table for a large party of eight when they never got the open table reservation. We really appreciated this and had a wonderful evening at the restaurant. Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classy neighborhood bistro!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed it so much we sent our four adult kids there for Valentines. They loved it💕

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

This is the second time I have had an eating experience at the Italian Bistro. Sadly, I was disappointed again. My food was served lukewarm, the potatoes were under-cooked, chewy and cold and the taste of the omelet was nothing special for the price I paid. I was sadden just as I was with my first experience~that was just about the same as this one. There is an unevenness about the food. I had brunch for the visit and will not go back for brunch. When there-the restaurant looked to have many regulars, who look to be ordering off the lunch Italian menu. If I do go back-(because I like the location and the ambiance) I will try the Italian menu. What I ate off the brunch menu was not spectacular nor worth the price. The other time we ate at the Italian Bistro was for Valentine Day. Again, it was hit or miss-Our service for brunch was sketchy at best as well. Our server seemed to be in hurry and very busy. However-I did enjoy the gentleman that seated us-I just wish the food was good consistently~with different dishes to rave about to family and friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Amazing food and amazing service. An ex ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Amazing food and amazing service. An excellent dining experience. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Nice atmosphere, great food, and incredibly friendly staff. Totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood gem

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

We are a party of 7 that have dinner together before going to a performance. We all agreed that all our choices not only had great presentation but also were delicious! The service was outstanding. Our waitress was so animated in describing the dishes...truly a delight to see someone so enthusiastic! For the first time in many years of eating together, not to mention many restaurants, we all walked out and said this is certainly a place we would return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If First it Doesn't Succeed, Try Again

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and of course the pianist who we know. Wine very good and the wait service very attentive. My main meal consisted of veal and the cutlet was very tough so I asked the server to either exchange it or the chef to prepare another one. Without any problem I was served another portion and the cutlet this time was very tender. It happens. However this will not prevent me from returning.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

Maggie, our waitress, took very good care of us. She could describe the dishes that we were not familiar with and made great remmendations. Plus, her knowledge of the extensive wine list was a boon to our dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Family Celebration

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Had a family celebration on a weekend day, and enjoyed the relative quiet, great food and superb service. Everyone enjoyed their entree, as well as the desserts. Would recommend Saucy to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

musical

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Saturday night there was a singer with a wide range of songs and engaging the diners. Not intrusive at all. Our waiter Logan was attentive and excellent. Food was average with very bland sauces on the noodles. They are trying to add a Greek night. I realize the owner owns Mykonos, but if I want Greek I will go there. Recommend they put a little more "Italian" into the sauces. Will try again in a few months.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Strongly Recommend!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Very tasty food. Friendly staff. Pleasant live music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ugh ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Service was spotty at best. Food was mediocre. Very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Nice alternative to Olive Garden and Paisano's

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

Specials are available in addition to a menu with a wide variety of options. 2-for-1 menu was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed the steak au poivre, but learned it's best to ask the temp the chef recommends, as it was cooked pink in the middle, but not throughout, so it was a bit overdone. The waiter explained the sauce continued cooking the meat, after it was removed from the grill. The vegetables were fresh and nicely portioned for the steak size. The baklava, tiramisu and gelato were all very well received. We will definitely be back to try other entrée and dessert options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for the right people.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

The parking lot and dining room were full so this restaurant clearly has an appeal for lots of people. It has a warm and friendly ambiance. I cannot judge the food on one dinner, but I can say that the restaurant does not offer "authentic" Italian or even Italian-American food. Although the boneless chicken breast of my chicken marsala was well cooked and tasty, the sauce didn't have much of a marsala taste and there weren't many mushrooms (which were advertised on the menu as part of the dish). The accompanying orzo was bland (I guess I should have had some parmigiano that was offered) and some of the vegetables were a bit too al dente and not well seasoned. I would probably come back again because my companions really liked their dish and the salad one of them ordered had a lot of visual appeal and I would like to try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great Place

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Food was great and service exceptional. THe Matre'D is a class act. Ask for Server Theresa . Nice quiet place to have a good Italian meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable dinner

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 17, 2015

6th visit in 5 months. Food is really good. Enterainment only played a very short time than a short recess, etc. Much better arrangement for conversation. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys good Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Quiet and Delicious

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

Second time here. Loved it again. Very quiet, romantic and delicious. Staff could not be more courteous. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was Great

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We come to this restaurant every couple of months and we always like the food and the service. We think of it as a special place and always drop over a $100 because we have a bottle of wine and deserts and coffee at the end of the meal. The only thing that I didn't like about our Valendtine's experience was that they didn't have my Open Table reservation on their reservation list. I had received two confirmations that my reservation had been received. Fortunately they had a table for us after a very short wait. But my wife and I had a great time. Thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could have been better.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Me and girlfriend went in on Valentine's day. They seated us in good time and close to our reservation which is good. The seating was terrible. We were in this corner close to an entry way to the back room and I felt like I was sitting halfway through the entrance. We are young so I feel like they also profiled us and expected low etiquette from us as well and that rubbed off on me very poorly. Our waiter was not friendly what so ever. The appitizer came in good time but our food took awhile longer but it was busy so I can let that go. Our food was mediocre at best. The chicken was dry, the pasta was oily, and the salmon was lacking flavor. The location is pretty bad and the atmosphere was appeasing to an older crowd. It seemed more casual than anything as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Little Italian Place That Almost Could

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

First, let me say the outside gives no indication of how nice the inside is going to be. Also, the dress is far more formal than the outside would make a patron expect. I was a short notice guest on a busy evening, but even so they sat me within about 20 minutes. The place was packed and the crowd was mature, so I set my expectations fairly high as I assumed this meant the food would be commensurate. The menu and pricing seemed to confirm this. I was disappointed. The pesto was bland, didn't have the rich flavor I'm accustomed to, and seemed to have been applied to the pasta very late in the preparation, rather than mixed in when the pasta was still fresh from the cooking process. Even worse, the pasta was drowning in oil. My son's burger presented well, but the bun they use isn't conducive and since it wasn't toasted was fairly soggy by the time he got it. He nibbled at it but didn't eat much. He raved about the fries... They have the makings of a good restaurant. The ambiance was very nice, if a little high, and the service was pretty good. If the prices were lower they would reflect the quality of the dishes we ordered. At the end of the experience I was very glad to have tried Saucy, and they didn't commit any hard fouls so I'll likely give them another shot, but mostly I'm just happy I didn't order anything too expensive because that would have magnified my disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

wonderful Valentine's Day dinner

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We celebrated Valentine's Day, the night before at the Saucy Italian Bistro.

Everything was perfect. We were seated right away. wonderful menu and wine list. Dinner was nice presentation and delicious. Service was just right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the Best Night

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

This was a difficult night - the maitre'd was very attentive and checked up on us often, but unfortunately the gal who waited on us was not altogether with us. We got our appetizers and drinks in fairly good time, but after that, things fell apart. The wait for our entrees was far too long - and we weren't the only table having to wait so long. A simple item like promising to return with the parmesan cheese didn't happen. My spaghettini and meatballs would have been much improved had it not been totally drenched in sauce. Once I got through the pasta and meatballs, the bowl was still full of sauce. Our affogato el caffe dessert should have arrived freshly poured and with the ice cream UNmelted - as it was we basically had cold milky espresso for dessert. It should never have been served to us that way. We have eaten here before - on a weeknight ordinarily - had good service and the same meal came with the appropriate amount of sauce; the affogato with unmelted ice cream. It seemed that both the kitchen and the wait person were having a time of it that night. I'm not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Establishment will not honor rewards check

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Let me start by saying that the food here is very good and we enjoy the atmosphere. That being said this establishment refused the OpenTable rewards check. They were polite about it and didn't make a scene but stated that they were not able to accept the check and, though we made the reservations through OpenTable, that they were not involved in that part of the program. According to OpenTable these rewards are treated as cashiers checks and can be redeemed at any OpenTable restaurant, so this was wrong on their part.

I am fairly passive but my wife was angry and embarrassed by this. It was only $20, really not a big deal, but I do take issue with the principle. The facts are that we found this restaurant through OpenTable, they owe our business to the program. This was not our first visit to the restaurant and we have really enjoyed it and had added it to our list of regular date night locations. Again, this is due to our finding them on OpenTable.

I doubt that we will return to the establishment, I take issue with any company that utilizes advertising without honoring the terms of the agreement. It's really too bad as we have enjoyed them quite a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Never judge a book by its cover

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

You'd never guess from the outside that there's a traditional Italian restaurant inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely New Year's Eve Experience!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Our food was great and the service was excellent! Restaurant was packed and lively - couples danced well into the night; and the three piece band was a delight our ears. Kudos to the entire Saucy Italian staff!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.