HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Saucy Italian Bistro

4.0
66 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

The Saucy Italian Bistro is a culinary exhibition of North Italian dishes, with piano string notes and dim ambient lighting adding intimacy to its served dining. White linen cloths furnish the tables, pattern carpet floors the walking platforms and vintage Italian style fans aerate the black-textured-ceiling room. A comfortable relaxing outside patio adds to the dining convenience at the Saucy Italian Bistro.

The restaurant has a separate brunch, lunch and dinner menu with North Italian staples priming the choices. Bistro's specialties are Italian strip steak, Tuscan scramble, calamari fritti, pasta lugano, pizza Bianca and grilled pork chops. Decked at the Saucy Italian Bistro is an extensive range of beverages (alcoholic and non alcoholic) to enhance the overall dining experience.

m

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean, Greek
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Daily: 9:00am - 1:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30p to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30p -10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 294-2990
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Maria Constantine
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer a private room for dining. Our private room holds up to 45 guests.
A great room for meetings, special occasions or family gatherings.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Maria Constantine: (505) 294-2990
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering is something we love to offer at The Saucy Italian Bistro we bring the wonderful cuisine and expertise in catering to you.
In addition to our Italian venue we can offer any type of cuisine for your special event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Candelaria
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have private parking up to 80 cars.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The Saucy Italian Bistro presents live entertainment four nights a week Wednesday through Saturday starting at 6:30pm.
Wednesday Nights John Martinez Guitarist extraordinaire.
Thursday and Friday Nights Piano Music with Sid Fendley,
Saturday night Susan Clark a pianist extraordinaire.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 66 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (San Diego)
1.0  Dined on September 24, 2016

Saucy has been permanently closed for some time now.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tucson)
4.0  Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant just sold to someone new, a group of people, apparently, so from here forward we will need to evaluate the place on a new basis. The previous owners had run another successful restaurant in town, Mediterranean/Greek, so it was not surprising that this place was so good. I hope the new owners continue with the tradition, but also expand the menu so that its not just northern Italian and heavy sauces.

Report
Helpful
GerryM (Hawaii)
4.0  Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed great service and good food. The piano was an added surprise; it was very enjoyable. Natasha worked hard to make our experience a really good one.

Report
Helpful
TedW (Hawaii)
2.0  Dined on June 10, 2016

The waitress (Jessica) was not very good. We were not presented with the specials, She forgot to order the appetizer, and one of the meals was served cold with overcooked pasta. The over all service was slow considering we were dining at 6 pm.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

Always delicious and great service!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
4.0  Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was good but my portion of chicken picatta was much smaller than I've had in the past.
Probably won't be back for awhile.
Whole time we were eating dinner the owner, her daughter and granddaughter were sitting next booth over and the few employees that were there that evening all hung around the table talking. Made us kind of uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on April 22, 2016

Loved the live music (piano), prompt greeting and good service by both our server and the manager. Only thing that wasn't on point was the steak: ordered it medium but most of it was well done. Fellow diner commented that the name doesn't give it enough credit for how classy it is. Patio looked nice so I plan on returning during warmer weather.

Report
Helpful
vipNMtravelersvelers (New Mexico)
3.0  Dined on April 2, 2016

I ordered the veal Marsala and my husband had the veal picatta. Both cuts of veal were quite tough and had little of the flavor of the respective dishes--a disappointment for my husband's birthday dinner. Service was very good and the wine was excellent as usual.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent experience from the moment we walked through the door. Staff was outstanding and so was the food.

Report
Helpful
MelissaM (New Mexico)
3.0  Dined on March 5, 2016

the customer service was awesome but aside from that, the brunch menu was not too great, they had things on their menu that they did not offer such as the scalloped potatos, they arent consistent with bringing out bread to the table, which is crazy but if one person orders off the lunch menu, they will bring it?!?! food took WAAAAYYY too long and we were one of the only people there. red chile was REALLY too salty! food was pretty bland.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2016

The the waitress Tasha she was great she was outstanding she did a wonderful job always checking up on us making sure that everything was okay from the food tasting well to our drinks really like the place excellent place to eat great service will most definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
vipNMtravelersvelers (New Mexico)
4.0  Dined on February 20, 2016

The piano music was most enjoyable--not too loud. The food was excellent--lamb shank so tender the meat fell off the bone and a good veal piccata. We visit Montalcino every year so we splurged on the Rosso de Montalcino, an excellent wine.

Report
Helpful
ABQReview (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on February 19, 2016

Friendly, attentive service but this is not Italian food. The lamb dish is
ok but the sauce its cooked in is remarkably like the Greek joints in town. The veal marsala on the night we dined was all pasta with a couple of chunks of veal. It may be a nice place for a cocktail and an appetizer but the food is far from authentic.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
3.0  Dined on February 19, 2016

waiter ignored us, took forever to receive dinner, had to ask for drink refills, pasta was not made properly, took a long time to receive bill - not a good night

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The food quality was terrible and poorly prepared. Additionally, they were out of menu items for both food and drinks

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant was very kind in getting us a table for a large party of eight when they never got the open table reservation. We really appreciated this and had a wonderful evening at the restaurant. Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
Pate (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed it so much we sent our four adult kids there for Valentines. They loved it💕

Report
Helpful
Desertrat (New Mexico)
2.0  Dined on January 17, 2016

This is the second time I have had an eating experience at the Italian Bistro. Sadly, I was disappointed again. My food was served lukewarm, the potatoes were under-cooked, chewy and cold and the taste of the omelet was nothing special for the price I paid. I was sadden just as I was with my first experience~that was just about the same as this one. There is an unevenness about the food. I had brunch for the visit and will not go back for brunch. When there-the restaurant looked to have many regulars, who look to be ordering off the lunch Italian menu. If I do go back-(because I like the location and the ambiance) I will try the Italian menu. What I ate off the brunch menu was not spectacular nor worth the price. The other time we ate at the Italian Bistro was for Valentine Day. Again, it was hit or miss-Our service for brunch was sketchy at best as well. Our server seemed to be in hurry and very busy. However-I did enjoy the gentleman that seated us-I just wish the food was good consistently~with different dishes to rave about to family and friends.

Report
Helpful
vipDJVillan (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on November 21, 2015

Amazing food and amazing service. An excellent dining experience. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
Hector505 (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

Nice atmosphere, great food, and incredibly friendly staff. Totally enjoyed it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4