Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About The Royal Cut Restaurant

Let Us Treat You Like Royalty!
The Royal Cut Restaurant has been serving the Ontario area since 1989. We pride ourselves on the excellence of our food and service. All our beef is aged, hand cut and trimmed on our premises. Enjoy our homemade soups, sauces and dressings because "homemade is where the goodness lies." Our restaurant offers a full service lounge with weekday happy hour, a casual fine dining area and banquet facilities that can accommodate corporate functions and is also perfect for catering to private parties.

2345 S Grove Ave
Ontario, CA 91761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Mon - Fri 11am - 4pm
Dinner Mon - Thurs 4:30pm - 9pm
Fri & Sat 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Just North of the 60 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(909) 947-3322

Website:
http://www.royalcutrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We also offer catering services to your home or business.

Private Party Facilities:
At the Royal Cut we offer banquet facilities that can accommodate from 20 to 120. Our banquet rooms provide the perfect setting for corporate breakfast, lunch/dinner meetings; as well as birthday or anniversary parties and wedding receptions. We will gladly customize a menu for your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Management: (909) 947-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

The Royal Cut Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

65% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoyed our dinner there. We had our brothers and sisters celebrating christmas. Food was excellent and our waitress was so GOOD great service from her.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

All I saw was old white people. ancient interior design.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was slow and server was missing most of the evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

My wife had the Prime Rib. I had the New York Strip. Good food reasonably priced. The service was prompt and the food servers were friendly and knowledgeable.
It was a most enjoyable experience. We plan to return in a few weeks.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The steak was tender service was pleasant drinks I had a martini was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The crab cakes were not cooked. No crust and was too wet. Manager removed it from the bill.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Royal Cut is a traditional "chop house". Although the menu is somewhat limited, the offerings are all well prepared. Beef is tender, seafood is fresh, and their Chicken Cordon Bleu is amazing, as is their kale soup. The wine list is well-rounded for a restaurant of this size. Service is always prompt and friendly. Their loyalty program adds to the good reasons to come back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2017

It was better then I expected. Food was cooked to perfection and the place was clean. I plan to visit again. Just make sure you check your bill. Their math is so good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

It was a bit expensive but well worth the money. I wouldn’t mind going again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Not So Royal. Disappointed. Poor value for the cost, even with the $20 off Groupon. Price point should be closer to $15 for the food quality, location, & overall appeal. Located in a motel parking lot. Dated design... looks like an old Sizzler with the salad bar converted into a planter/display. Neon signs, old furniture, bright lighting, and being walked past the kitchen totally kills the atmosphere.Not sure why, but they had 2 different types of music playing at the same time. My teenage kids were even unimpressed and thought the food looked/tasted like a frozen dinner with the rice out of a box. The crab cakes were undercooked and runny. The steak and lamb were cooked as requested (medium rare); however, didn't have much flavor. The waitress was friendly and the only real positive thing going for it. We enjoyed laughing at our unexpected dining adventure and my family has now banned me from selecting any restaurants in the near future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We have been patronizing this establishment for over 13 years...about 2-3 times yearly. It now seems that the restaurant food has now fallen to the level of mediocre compared to the price (value) in the last 2 visits and the interior has not been remodeled for many years. We can overlook the interior if the food is good or better but will likely not patronize this restaurant until changes are made.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This restaurant is very good with food allergies (peanut/tree nut in our case). The Crème Brule was even safe for my wife to enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Enjoy coming to Royal Cut every time I am on this side of town. Great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We visited the Royal Cut to celebrate a recent retirement. The food and service were very good.
The steak and salmon were standouts. Chicken Marsala was also good. Would recommend for special events or gathering with friends when quiet conversation is desirable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food and atmosphere are always great. We will be returning again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Me and my fiance went there for dinner the other night, and it was exquisite. We started off with some scallops,(that were cooked to perfection), then got salads which were just as good, and our main course which was exceptionally divine, my fiance said, it was the best chicken marsala she ever had, my rack of lamb was to die for.All and all I think it was the best restraunt we've eaten at to this day. Thanks again for the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I took my wife out for our 16 year anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day Champagne brunch was very good, but a bit pricey! Service was excellent, & we're looking forward to visiting your cozy bar soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Needed a restaurant in Ontario, found in online, trusted the reviews, and made a reservation to celebrate a college graduation. It was a wonderful dinner in every way. We enjoyed our time there, the food was ALL fantastic, and the service was amazing. We have a new favorite restaurant which is 50 miles from our house, but we will return because it was so good. There are a number of outstanding restaurants around me, but the people and the service made it very special. Love this restaurant!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The place is located next to a hotel that had Tranny Hookers walking around. Despite that, it was a nice old style place to eat at. The food was way over priced for the quality of food however. I ordered their special which had a decent size 6oz over cooked fillet, tiny partially raw cooked one side seared scallops, almost raw bacon, and badly seasoned shrimp for $35. It was great for $18 but not at all $35... and I've paid $55 for a similar meal in Honolulu that was worth that cost. But overall everyone else liked their food, they didn't love it, but it was satisfying enough not to complain about the food to the waitress... so I probably won't be going back due to the cost and quality not matching the cost but if you don't mind just paying high fees for average food then have at it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Price points are moderately high. With that in mind, the server should know the menu. She told us the "specials" one being a NY strip steak. When asked it's size she said she thought it was 12oz. Turns out it's the steak on the menu (14 oz) & the special part was a $1 off. Server didn't know much about any of the items we asked about. Service was good but there were only 3 tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pricy but food was good. Didn't have salad bar anymore but still listed in menu. Waitress was good. Steak was very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great ambience for a romantic dinner.
I had the rack of lamb and filet mignon, and both were tender and cooked just right.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

What an amazing , incredible restaurant with outstanding service. The menu has a nice selection of amazing entrees, including some nice fish and beef items. Salads nicely prepared and our scampi and sole dishes were fresh with wonderful, thoughtful sauces. The service by Jamie was top notch - she offered us the specials and suggested items and she was very much engaged, friendly and professional. I highly recommed this perfect gem with outstanding food, great service with a major 'can do' attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My friend and I had a great Sunday dinner. I had Joe's Special and it was deliscious. The scallops, shrimp and chicken were cooked just right. The server Myra was pleasant and attentive. I used an expired Groupon which made the dinner affordable for two.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ladies night out and celebrating a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Unpretentious local steak house with nice menu and reasonable prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Took a special friend of mine to this place to try something different as far as steakhouses in the area. The waitress at the bar area where we waited was extremely friendly and helpful with a huge smile and good energy, unfortunately, once we were seated and placed our order, 30 mins later it came out wrong. It was late and we were starving and just left out of pure irritation. My take on this place is its a Mom and Pop masquerading as an upscale restaurant. They need to spend a little more, hire a better chef and pay more attention to detail. Everything from the appetizers to the drinks were just ok they need to step it up a notch to compete with the elite steakhouses. The Royal Cut should not be the name of this establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Darlene was amazing ♡ she helped me surprise my Husband ! Anniversary dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ambiance and service were great. The food was ok. Half of my rib-eye steak was fat. Other than that, had an enjoyable time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Restaurant is outdated... majority of the menu is from the 80's. Which is not necessarily a bad thing if the food lives up to it. Which it does not... the $37 filet was sub par in quality for the price. The mashed potatoes were gluey and stiff, possibly out of box. The shrimp scampi was way over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My girlfriend was craving filet and I did a search on net. The food was excellent, the cuts quite generous and the service great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and reminded me of HOME. The wait was a little long even with a reservation, however that is my only complaint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was looking for a nice place to take my wife for Valentine's day so I looked the royal cut up. I saw that it had good reviews so I made a reservation for 730. We arrived at 720 only to find out that they were over an hour behind. I was told it would be a 45 min wait which I understand because of the holiday. 45 min turned into 2 hours. We finally were seated and I had hoped that the service would make up for it. I was wrong... it took 20 min just to get water then my wifes drink was forgotten. My wife ordered a medium well filet and I ordered medium. My wife ordered garlic potatoes and I ordered a baked potato. We were starving and a little upset but were happy just to have food coming. We were brought our food mine looked fine but my wifes came with a baked potato because the waitress said they ran out. At this point i just wanted a steak. My wife cut into hers and it was practically raw in the middle. We go to a lot of steak houses so we know what a steak is supposed to look like. We had to send hers back. I cut into mine and it was fine on the outside but it the middle was extremely rare. I could of paid the extra 10 bucks a person and gone to a mortons or ruths but this place was close to home. To me it seemed that greedy owners overbooked and understaffed. We will never be coming back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a reservation and checked in early and I was told by the Hostess that they were running late. After some time (about half an hour), I checked in again to see the wait time for my "reservation". The Hostess then informs me that they were roughly about an hour and a half behind.

No apologies or anything about their apparent overbooking. Poor customer service and I'd definitely NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had made reservations two days in advance to take my wife for Valentine's Day dinner. We got to this place 30 minutes earlier, and the restaurant was packed. I went to register us with the hostess and she said that the wait time was about an hour!!!!
We waited there among the crowd for two hours until I decided to leave.
Worst experience ever!!!
I do not recommend this restaurant at all!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I decided to try out the Royal Cut because my other half loves Lamb and they offered it on their menu. You don't find many restaurants that offer it in the area. We had a 7:15 reservation on Valentine's day. I expected a delay to be seated due to it being Valentine's day; however, I was not expecting it to be an hour long.

During the wait we sat at the bar where we did have a great bartender. We were finally seated and our waiter was prompt but she messed up our order. My other half ordered the Rack of Lamb while I ordered the Filet Mignon but instead she brought me out the prime rib. Of course, I had already waited an hour just to be seated and then had to wait 30 min. to get my entree, I was very upset but I did not want to wait another 20-30 minutes to receive my correct order, so I kept what was brought to me. The prime rib was good, however it was cold and it wasn't what I had a taste for so it ended up being pretty disappointing. The good thing is that the rack of lamb that my hubby wanted ended up being excellent, as well as the Carrot cake.

I will try The Royal Cut again perhaps on a regular day, in the middle of the week... Lol...to see what they really offer in service but as of right now... I feel that it was good but not great, so maybe they can redeem themselves when we revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant was WAY under prepared for Valentine's Day. I originally made an Open Table reservation for 6:00. Late in the afternoon I had to change it to 7:15, which was kmownproblem.on Open Table ..simply done. When I arrived at 7:05, I realized by the amount of people there that there was no way I was going to get a seat anywhere close to 7:15. After making my way to the hostess stand, I was told that they are currently sitting the 6:30 reservations. Which meant that with a table turn over on Valentine's Day as close to an hour and a half those tables again would not be available till close to 8 o'clock. This makes no sense if the front of your room is managed correctly. They are failure started at 5 o'clock when they all started to bring you in and allow people and who did not have a reservation. They fit people in all night who did not have a reservation that's when it came time for people who did of which it was probably less than 10%. I simply presented myself and they said well right now we're just starting to see the 6:30 people I sent the left there was not room the stand. Bottom line is I respect walk in traffic but I also know that in my world as much as I travel OpenTable is important for me to have dinner. One more thing that needs to be looked at. When I make a reservation for one my options are less than a third of what they would be if I want to make it option for 2. So I simply say to when I show up at the restaurant they got reservations for two some time ago I simply tell them that the other person couldn't make it sorry. And that they sit me at a table for two or four for so I don't think I'm taking me more room from somebody else. It's just that your system needs to be improved in that area.... very frustrating last night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been here many time, but we cancelled on Valentines days as my wife had a health issue. We're going again, soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.