Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.65mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About The Royal Cut Restaurant

Let Us Treat You Like Royalty!
The Royal Cut Restaurant has been serving the Ontario area since 1989. We pride ourselves on the excellence of our food and service. All our beef is aged, hand cut and trimmed on our premises. Enjoy our homemade soups, sauces and dressings because "homemade is where the goodness lies." Our restaurant offers a full service lounge with weekday happy hour, a casual fine dining area and banquet facilities that can accommodate corporate functions and is also perfect for catering to private parties.

2345 S Grove Ave
Ontario, CA 91761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Mon - Fri 11am - 4pm
Dinner Mon - Thurs 4:30pm - 9pm
Fri & Sat 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Just North of the 60 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(909) 947-3322

Website:
http://www.royalcutrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We also offer catering services to your home or business.

Private Party Facilities:
At the Royal Cut we offer banquet facilities that can accommodate from 20 to 120. Our banquet rooms provide the perfect setting for corporate breakfast, lunch/dinner meetings; as well as birthday or anniversary parties and wedding receptions. We will gladly customize a menu for your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Management: (909) 947-3322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Dinner for Two

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Dinner for Two

Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Starting with an appetizer, see menu for selections. Comes with four choices for your main course and enjoy a dessert to share. Price per person is $28.99. Excludes Tax and Tip. **Please no discounts in partnership with this meal special. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

The Royal Cut Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
97 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Darlene was amazing ♡ she helped me surprise my Husband ! Anniversary dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Ambiance and service were great. The food was ok. Half of my rib-eye steak was fat. Other than that, had an enjoyable time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Restaurant is outdated... majority of the menu is from the 80's. Which is not necessarily a bad thing if the food lives up to it. Which it does not... the $37 filet was sub par in quality for the price. The mashed potatoes were gluey and stiff, possibly out of box. The shrimp scampi was way over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My girlfriend was craving filet and I did a search on net. The food was excellent, the cuts quite generous and the service great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and reminded me of HOME. The wait was a little long even with a reservation, however that is my only complaint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was looking for a nice place to take my wife for Valentine's day so I looked the royal cut up. I saw that it had good reviews so I made a reservation for 730. We arrived at 720 only to find out that they were over an hour behind. I was told it would be a 45 min wait which I understand because of the holiday. 45 min turned into 2 hours. We finally were seated and I had hoped that the service would make up for it. I was wrong... it took 20 min just to get water then my wifes drink was forgotten. My wife ordered a medium well filet and I ordered medium. My wife ordered garlic potatoes and I ordered a baked potato. We were starving and a little upset but were happy just to have food coming. We were brought our food mine looked fine but my wifes came with a baked potato because the waitress said they ran out. At this point i just wanted a steak. My wife cut into hers and it was practically raw in the middle. We go to a lot of steak houses so we know what a steak is supposed to look like. We had to send hers back. I cut into mine and it was fine on the outside but it the middle was extremely rare. I could of paid the extra 10 bucks a person and gone to a mortons or ruths but this place was close to home. To me it seemed that greedy owners overbooked and understaffed. We will never be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a reservation and checked in early and I was told by the Hostess that they were running late. After some time (about half an hour), I checked in again to see the wait time for my "reservation". The Hostess then informs me that they were roughly about an hour and a half behind.

No apologies or anything about their apparent overbooking. Poor customer service and I'd definitely NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I decided to try out the Royal Cut because my other half loves Lamb and they offered it on their menu. You don't find many restaurants that offer it in the area. We had a 7:15 reservation on Valentine's day. I expected a delay to be seated due to it being Valentine's day; however, I was not expecting it to be an hour long.

During the wait we sat at the bar where we did have a great bartender. We were finally seated and our waiter was prompt but she messed up our order. My other half ordered the Rack of Lamb while I ordered the Filet Mignon but instead she brought me out the prime rib. Of course, I had already waited an hour just to be seated and then had to wait 30 min. to get my entree, I was very upset but I did not want to wait another 20-30 minutes to receive my correct order, so I kept what was brought to me. The prime rib was good, however it was cold and it wasn't what I had a taste for so it ended up being pretty disappointing. The good thing is that the rack of lamb that my hubby wanted ended up being excellent, as well as the Carrot cake.

I will try The Royal Cut again perhaps on a regular day, in the middle of the week... Lol...to see what they really offer in service but as of right now... I feel that it was good but not great, so maybe they can redeem themselves when we revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant was WAY under prepared for Valentine's Day. I originally made an Open Table reservation for 6:00. Late in the afternoon I had to change it to 7:15, which was kmownproblem.on Open Table ..simply done. When I arrived at 7:05, I realized by the amount of people there that there was no way I was going to get a seat anywhere close to 7:15. After making my way to the hostess stand, I was told that they are currently sitting the 6:30 reservations. Which meant that with a table turn over on Valentine's Day as close to an hour and a half those tables again would not be available till close to 8 o'clock. This makes no sense if the front of your room is managed correctly. They are failure started at 5 o'clock when they all started to bring you in and allow people and who did not have a reservation. They fit people in all night who did not have a reservation that's when it came time for people who did of which it was probably less than 10%. I simply presented myself and they said well right now we're just starting to see the 6:30 people I sent the left there was not room the stand. Bottom line is I respect walk in traffic but I also know that in my world as much as I travel OpenTable is important for me to have dinner. One more thing that needs to be looked at. When I make a reservation for one my options are less than a third of what they would be if I want to make it option for 2. So I simply say to when I show up at the restaurant they got reservations for two some time ago I simply tell them that the other person couldn't make it sorry. And that they sit me at a table for two or four for so I don't think I'm taking me more room from somebody else. It's just that your system needs to be improved in that area.... very frustrating last night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been here many time, but we cancelled on Valentines days as my wife had a health issue. We're going again, soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I can not recommend this place for Valentines Day as even with a reservation we waited for an hour and forty five minutes to be seated. They need to be better prepared and organized with reservations. The prim rib was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a reservation for 7pm got a table at 8:15pm. Waited another hour for my food. My chicken was blend and will not come back again #GrindFace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place,great food and great value...A can't miss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had been a customer for years but after this last visit I will never spend another dollar there. The owner tried to make as much money on valentines day with the smallest amount of servers and one bartender for a lounge and the entire restaurant. That poor serving crew as well as the cooks worked their buttstoc off to try and make up for it, but they fell three hours behind in reservations. Your greed killed everyone's valentine's dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a 645 reservation didn't get seated until 750. I get it, it was Valentine's Day but more then an hour for a RESERVATION!?!? Great food and friendly staff saved it from being a disaster. Get the Groupon so it's worth it otherwise it is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had made reservations two days in advance to take my wife for Valentine's Day dinner. We got to this place 30 minutes earlier, and the restaurant was packed. I went to register us with the hostess and she said that the wait time was about an hour!!!!
We waited there among the crowd for two hours until I decided to leave.
Worst experience ever!!!
I do not recommend this restaurant at all!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I booked this restaurant because everything else in Valentine's Day was booked. I see why this was still available. I made a reservation and it took me more than 30 min to get seated. Food was mediocre. I prefer Outback Steakhouse over this any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good. The service was super slow. The staff was not equipped to service the amount of patrons they received for valentine's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They had a special menu which was not mentiined when i made the reservation. Rhe took away the salad bar which is quite upsetting its still my go to place just disappointed in how they do certain rhings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance was suitable to our special occasion and our waitress, whose name slips my mind, gave us Excellent Service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great little place that's been there for ever. I've never seen it overly crowded or loud. The prime rib is very good. You don't see too many prime rib restaurants any more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First time here. Great reviews so for our anniversary and Valentines Day, we went a few days early, we booked at the Royal Cut. We ordered the ribeye with bone in. I can still taste it. SOOO tender and juicy. A little pricey, but upper quality does cost more. The service was top notch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good service. Ordered bone-in rib eye and was over cooked and probably have had better for the price. Good overall, but middle-of-the-road food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had the prime rib. Nothing special. Glad I didn't pay full price. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I brought my family here and used a Groupon. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service we received. The restaurant itself is outdated but the food made up for it. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Comfortable setting and booth. Very quiet for a Fri night. The primary noise came from a banquet. Good variety on the menu. Our servors were very attentive. Enjoyed the ambience and iconic atmosphere of restaurant. It has been around for a long time.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Awesome food Awesome service very attentive waitress relaxed atmosphere. Easy to find good hours it was just all around FRICKN AWESOME!!!! Really no more to be said Thank You for an Excellent. EXPERIENCE. And will be going back ASAP

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have been to the Royal Cut restaurant several times and have been very happy each time. Very good food. Very good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Steaks were perfectly prepared, very tasty and melt in your mouth tenderness. Server was excellent and very unobtrusive. Have dined here numerous times and never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Had the large 16oz. Prime Rib Cut. It was MARVELOUS and literally melted in my mouth. I loved it with the Au jus and orseradish. It was so big I could not finish it and took it home with a traveling pack of the the complimentary Au jus & Horseradish. I heated it up the next day and it was almost just as awesome to eat. Yum!!

One Negative - I had the Portuguese Caldo Verde Soup, allegedly with Portuguese Sausage, along with Kale, Potatoes, Celery, and Onions. There was actually more Kale stalks than leafs and very small pieces of sausage. It was also way too salty (and I generally don't complain about saltiness). I won't have that again.

That being said, The Royal Cut satisfied me completely with both the quality of the beef served to me as well as the excellent service.

I will be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Asked for honey mustard on the side - came on the salad. End-cut prime rib had way too much fat and gristle. Reason I ordered it was to avoid those very things.
Husband wanted hot chocolate - didn't have any.
Had to stick to holiday menu which did not have small plates. Not mentioned online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's eve dinner. Excellent food, ambiance, atmosphere. A little pricey, but well worth it, considering the quality of the menu. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is the first time I have ever been there. It was way to bright. With that type of food I had expected a very intimate dining experience. It reminded me of a Vegas cafe instead of a fine dining restaurant. I had the prime rib but it was not served with real horse radish which was disappointing. I did enjoy the food, I got shrinp scampi too, but I did not like the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food , great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had made a reservation for a party of 10 a month in advance. Upon our arrival our table was not ready. With three hostess standing at the front talking about their pumpkin spice drinks from Starbucks while my table was supposedly getting put together. After 15 minutes we were taken upstairs to the banquet side of the restaurant. We were seated at two round tables which made conversation impossible for everyone. My daughter and I ordered prime rib. When it was brought out it was cold. We sent it back and it still wasn't warm. Our waitress took it back again and then it was hot but very tough. By this time the rest of the table had finished eating which made me extremely upset. We sent it back for a third time but making it to go. The waitress was very apologic and brought us a free slice of pumpkin pie. This was my Thanksgiving dinner experience and the bill was $180 for a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service and food is always good here at Royal Cut. We have a favorite table we like to sit at and when we make reservations and arrive, the gal at the front always holds that table for us. We couldn't be happier since this appears to be the only restaurant in Ontario that knows how to hold a table and knows their repeat customers well. The only thing we were disappointed in was Royal Cut no longer serves a salad bar. But that will not stop us from returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place truly is a hidden gem with fantastic and friendly service. The food was great for the local family owned establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall the rib eye was tender which was a plus and cooked medium rare the way I ordered it. It needed more salt and I wish it was grilled in clarified butter, the lobster tail was really good and seasoned well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh food, pleasant ambiance, great service for reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.