About The Royal Cut Restaurant

2345 S Grove Ave
Ontario, CA 91761
View Larger Map

Let Us Treat You Like Royalty!
The Royal Cut Restaurant has been serving the Ontario area since 1989. We pride ourselves on the excellence of our food and service. All our beef is aged, hand cut and trimmed on our premises. Enjoy our homemade soups, sauces and dressings because "homemade is where the goodness lies." Our restaurant offers a full service lounge with weekday happy hour, a casual fine dining area and banquet facilities that can accommodate corporate functions and is also perfect for catering to private parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Mon - Fri 11am - 4pm
Dinner Mon - Thurs 4:30pm - 9pm
Fri & Sat 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Just North of the 60 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(909) 947-3322

Website:
http://www.royalcutrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We also offer catering services to your home or business.

Private Party Facilities:
At the Royal Cut we offer banquet facilities that can accommodate from 20 to 120. Our banquet rooms provide the perfect setting for corporate breakfast, lunch/dinner meetings; as well as birthday or anniversary parties and wedding receptions. We will gladly customize a menu for your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Management: 9099473322

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

The Royal Cut Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Inland Empire
Best Service
Inland Empire
Fit for Foodies
Inland Empire
Best Restaurants in Ontario ›

special occasion (12)
romantic (8)
great for lunch (7)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (5)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed!! Our server was very polit ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Disappointed!! Our server was very polite and helpful. The food was good, but not great, especially for the price. The problem is that this place seems to be making the attempts to be a classy upscale restaurant with its pricing structure, but the atmosphere and food fall short of that attempt. The cloth table linens were a good start, but the rest of the restaurant and food do not warrant the prices. We will not return and I cannot with a good conscience recommend this place. If they were to lower their prices by 25-30%, then it would be a decent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Waitress was super ! Food was very good ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waitress was super ! Food was very good, as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always enjoyed our meals here---di ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have always enjoyed our meals here---dinners and lunches. Friendly, efficient staff, good food, pleasant, relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family have been coming since the res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My family have been coming since the restaurant opened. Our daughters rehearsal dinner and birthday parties. Great as always.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was great, food was good and we e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Server was great, food was good and we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been numerous times, normally a gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been numerous times, normally a great meal. It's interesting because some people dress up & some are in shorts & t-shirts, but the general feel is more upscale. This visit had huge bone in prime rib for Father's Day & I had fillet bacon wrapped. They don't season their meats much, but the tenderness & quality is there. I've also had the lamb in the past & it's very good as well.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cook need to learn what chicken noodle soup is!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Steak and potatoes were excellent. Cooked med. rare as ordered. The Chicken noodle soup was terrible. The man behind us sent it back . Soup was in an orange colored vegetable broth. Carrot, onions and things that I did not know what they were. 3 very long noodles and thick . Had a bite, to it as it went down. Maybe some hot sauce in it? NOT good. We both set it aside! Service was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Steaks tasted really good and were tende ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Steaks tasted really good and were tender. The service was excellent, fast and polite. Interior of the restaurant could do with a face lift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful service, great food and wine, fantastic waitress and busboy... Definitely worth the price!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't really happy with the overall exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't really happy with the overall experience. Mothers Day brunch was very poor. Food options poor. Service was fair. I wrote the. A letter to their website but have recovered no feedback.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH WAS EXCELLENT!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a large party with half adults & half kids and it worked out great! Food was nicely presented & tasted great, and the selection was exceptional! Service was right on & everyone was very nice and accommodating. Brunch is not on their regular menu and it appears to be only on special Sunday Occasions/Holidays but call the restaurant to confirm. We can't wait to go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This place has amazing food and the service is always awesome. They are quick and polite and nothing tastes bad. The filet mignon is excellent quality and I can never finish it so I always have leftovers. The leftovers reheat just as tender as the night before. It is pricey so be prepared to spend 80-100 bucks but so worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and quiet and food was good.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Had the Shrimp fettuccine and was very good. The salad was nice and fresh it was very good. Great service and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place For Very Good Food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Have been to the Royal Cut many times for different occasions. Food and service is very good. Very casual dining with a great selection of items to choose from.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Never a disappointment

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

The ambiance and setting is great. Our server Jesica was outstanding in her service. Her creative birthday treat was outstanding. We love this place!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service. Close to home.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We enjoy the fine menu, great service and quiet atmosphere. It's also close to home. And n ew rewards program that encourages patrons to come back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

first time visit

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Menu is good, though for a fine dining restaurant the choice of side with the meal is more like a typical family restaurant. Meal was good. Overall the restaurant experience was lower due to dusty blinds, light fixtures, etc. For the price it is not as good a value as Flemings

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Quiet night out

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

We had a great evening. The food was excellent and service was awesome. I would have loved the lights a little lower for ambiance. White table linens and yummy wine were appreciated but it was as bright at a McDonalds....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Always Excellent!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

One can always count on Royal Cut to have a consistently wonderful dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 12, 2015

The food was very Good. We had the potato skins and they awesome, the best I have ever had. They were loaded potatoes forsure.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little dissapointed

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

She got my order wrong and my wife's Prime Rib was a little overcooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 9, 2015

Went here for a group lunch and everyone liked the food. The service was good too. The restaurant's decor and furnishings are a little outdated and may need updating. It does not have a great appearance but the food was good would like to try sometime for dinner

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great Prime Rib

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

Carnivores will love the prime rib; it's always cooked to your specifications and comes with soup or salad, fresh vegetables, and choice of potato. Also available are various tasty poultry and fish choices. We've never had a bad meal at Prime Cut. It's also clean and quiet, and the wait staff is always pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a 730pm reservation and wasn't seate ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Had a 730pm reservation and wasn't seated until 820pm. Waitress recommended salad bar and it was a hot mess and below average. Shrimp Cocktail appetizer was excellent. For a establishment know for its steaks the Prime Rib was nothing special. Prices were reasonable but I was hoping for a better experience and meal. Again, this is my opinion based on eating out regularly. Try for yourself it might be for you:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

A ruined New Year's Eve

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Never again! We picked the Royal Cut for our New Year's eve dinner because of many positive reviews online. We made a booking through Open Table for a reservation at 7:30 PM. We arrived a few minutes early and the hostess told us that our reservation was "noted". We knew we were in trouble when other people told us they had been waiting over an hour! Despite making a reservation, we were kept waiting for over an hour as well. The restaurant was not the least bit apologetic about the extended wait time. Once we were seated, the service was good. Unfortunately my

wife's fillet mignon was overcooked to a point that she could not enjoy it. Because of the hour wait time, we had to rush through dinner and we were still late meeting friends for another event. All in all, a bad experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Always excellent in all respects.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions and have never been disappointed. the food was excellent, the server attentive but not intrusive, handling with ease our every need.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent restaraunt for any occasion

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 8, 2014

I went there for my 7 year anniversary. .The aged steaks were the best.I loved the France/Italy type atmosphere and the soft jazz music that was playing. The watress brought us a delicious chocolate cake and wrote happy anniversary in chocolate syrup around the plate..I Will definitely be going to this place often and inviting several family and friends

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

The food was not very good. I order the kings cut of prime rib. I ordered it medium rare, it was more medium to medium well. My wife ordered the filet minion medium rare and that was more on the rare side and rather chinsy in size. The service and appitisor was good. I had gone there many years ago and now I know why I haven't been back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Always a Great Place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

Always a great place to dine. Recommend to all. Great food, service and great setting when asking for a special table. Could use some more comfortable table setting. Some of the booths could use new padding in the seats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

royal cut experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

The dinner was excellent, the service was outstanding. It was a quiet Sunday evening and the place was almost empty.

It made our anniversary dinner more romantic than I had anticipated. The prime rib is one of the best I have ever had.

Perhaps the large appetizer was not needed as it filled me up.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Steak over slice of bread??

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

I ordered steak medium cooked and received over well done.... Their menu photos on line show a nice thick steak, they served us a thin over cooked tasteless piece of meat over a slice of bread.... Veggies came from frozen pack... Not a good experience

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great P R

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

We returned to the Royal Cut again with good friends and (first timers) a relative and friend. Four prime ribs all served to satisfaction and two fish dish specials which were also well prepared. An enjoyable meal and the first timers would return when back in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Find!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

There was no one in the restaurant when we ate dinner there! So sad because we had a great server and the food was amazing!

Highly recommend!!!!

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

This is a place for a very good lunch with a step up from a regular sit down restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bland.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2014

This place was alright. When we got there, we stood in front waiting for like 5 minutes before we were greeted which was annoying since it wasn't busy. I ordered a pomegranate martini but it tasted like a watered down store brand vodka & cranberry. For the price, I was unmoved by the food. The sourdough bread was amazing though! I preferred that over the seafood pasta I had. It reminded me of an off the strip downtown Vegas casino restaurant. But more expensive. I really loved the bread. Our server was nice too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

good dining experience

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 26, 2014

Thanks to our server and her assistant in providing a good customer service. food is very good and price is affordable. ambience is very romantic.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Place

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

I have been here a few times and every time has been great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Very friendly service Good selection of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 5, 2014

Very friendly service Good selection of food and portions were good. Nice place to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 14, 2014

Server could perhaps determine if customer is in a hurry or a diner. I felt a little rushed, btl wine service was below par, and small details were missed, i.e. offering cracked pepper with salad and entrée. Food was excellent and consistent as I remember from my last visit (years ago). Perhaps, I can recommend a little more training for table side service. All in all, I enjoyed my visit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My wife and I dined there

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 11, 2014

My wife and I dined there last nite, we both had the rib eye steak, OMG fantastic! Service was great and food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.