About The Royal Cut Restaurant

2345 S Grove Ave
Ontario, CA 91761
View Larger Map

Let Us Treat You Like Royalty!
The Royal Cut Restaurant has been serving the Ontario area since 1989. We pride ourselves on the excellence of our food and service. All our beef is aged, hand cut and trimmed on our premises. Enjoy our homemade soups, sauces and dressings because "homemade is where the goodness lies." Our restaurant offers a full service lounge with weekday happy hour, a casual fine dining area and banquet facilities that can accommodate corporate functions and is also perfect for catering to private parties.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Mon - Fri 11am - 4pm
Dinner Mon - Thurs 4:30pm - 9pm
Fri & Sat 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Just North of the 60 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(909) 947-3322

Website:
http://www.royalcutrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We also offer catering services to your home or business.

Private Party Facilities:
At the Royal Cut we offer banquet facilities that can accommodate from 20 to 120. Our banquet rooms provide the perfect setting for corporate breakfast, lunch/dinner meetings; as well as birthday or anniversary parties and wedding receptions. We will gladly customize a menu for your upcoming event.

Private Party Contact:
Banquet Management: 9099473322

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

The Royal Cut Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Inland Empire
Best Restaurants in Ontario ›

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had made a reservation for a party of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had made a reservation for a party of 10 a month in advance. Upon our arrival our table was not ready. With three hostess standing at the front talking about their pumpkin spice drinks from Starbucks while my table was supposedly getting put together. After 15 minutes we were taken upstairs to the banquet side of the restaurant. We were seated at two round tables which made conversation impossible for everyone. My daughter and I ordered prime rib. When it was brought out it was cold. We sent it back and it still wasn't warm. Our waitress took it back again and then it was hot but very tough. By this time the rest of the table had finished eating which made me extremely upset. We sent it back for a third time but making it to go. The waitress was very apologic and brought us a free slice of pumpkin pie. This was my Thanksgiving dinner experience and the bill was $180 for a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

The service and food is always good here ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service and food is always good here at Royal Cut. We have a favorite table we like to sit at and when we make reservations and arrive, the gal at the front always holds that table for us. We couldn't be happier since this appears to be the only restaurant in Ontario that knows how to hold a table and knows their repeat customers well. The only thing we were disappointed in was Royal Cut no longer serves a salad bar. But that will not stop us from returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place truly is a hidden gem with fa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place truly is a hidden gem with fantastic and friendly service. The food was great for the local family owned establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the rib eye was tender which was ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall the rib eye was tender which was a plus and cooked medium rare the way I ordered it. It needed more salt and I wish it was grilled in clarified butter, the lobster tail was really good and seasoned well.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fresh food, pleasant ambiance, great ser ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fresh food, pleasant ambiance, great service for reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

loved the PRIME RIB , 3 out of four at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

loved the PRIME RIB , 3 out of four at our table enjoyed it , chicken was ok

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grilled fish with double veggies....real ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Grilled fish with double veggies....really delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Server was great, the food was good ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our Server was great, the food was good but the decor was very dated and the wood blinds behind our table were VERY dusty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

I ordered the Chicken Masala...tough/ove ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I ordered the Chicken Masala...tough/overcooked and salty. Came with, what tasted like, canned gravy on top, an ice cream scoop shaped mashed potato. Edible, but didn't enjoy.

Calamari was different. Tossed with a sweet and sour chicken like sauce.

I tasted the steak salad, steak was salty and a bit tough.

No atmosphere. Our waiters first day, she was great. Gave her a 30% tip!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

WE went on a weekday evening date. It w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

WE went on a weekday evening date. It was exactly how I remembered it. The last time we were there was 20 years ago. I kind of wanted it alittle more updated. I was using a groupon certificate and it was set to expire. The waitress was very kind, and attentive. The food was good. I really wish i would have tried their martinis!!

We both had prime rib, and it was done exactly as ordered. We will probably come back with my mom. She loves these places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the NY Sirloin and it was one of ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had the NY Sirloin and it was one of the best I've had! and the shrimp pasta was great too!

Staff was great and always checking to see if we needed anything!

highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We have been going to the Royal Cut sinc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been going to the Royal Cut since they opened. It is always our go to place for special occasions or just a great meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the service and how the restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love the service and how the restaurant would hold a requested table for its return customers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great prime rib! Got the calamari and s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great prime rib! Got the calamari and seared ahi tuna for appetizers, both were really good.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service always very, very good. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food and service always very, very good. One of our favorite dining locations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service are always excellent. W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service are always excellent. We will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service the servers and staff were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service the servers and staff were very attentive. Our food courses came out well spaced, the food was delicious. The had a good wine selection and had some great wine specials of non menu wines. We ordered the calamari appetizer and it had a great taste with the sweet chilli sauce they put in it. We tried both of the soup dujour they were great. I ordered the prime rib and my friend the salmon. Everything was cooked great. Definitely would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have eaten here on numerous occasions ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have eaten here on numerous occasions, food is always first class as is the service. This time was for wife's birthday, very good meal and very great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the folks and food were great. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 30, 2016

As usual, the folks and food were great. Very accommodating. Everyone always has a smile.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice! Quiet environment, service was a t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice! Quiet environment, service was a tad slow, but overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed!! Our server was very polit ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Disappointed!! Our server was very polite and helpful. The food was good, but not great, especially for the price. The problem is that this place seems to be making the attempts to be a classy upscale restaurant with its pricing structure, but the atmosphere and food fall short of that attempt. The cloth table linens were a good start, but the rest of the restaurant and food do not warrant the prices. We will not return and I cannot with a good conscience recommend this place. If they were to lower their prices by 25-30%, then it would be a decent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Waitress was super ! Food was very good ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waitress was super ! Food was very good, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always enjoyed our meals here---di ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have always enjoyed our meals here---dinners and lunches. Friendly, efficient staff, good food, pleasant, relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family have been coming since the res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My family have been coming since the restaurant opened. Our daughters rehearsal dinner and birthday parties. Great as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was great, food was good and we e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Server was great, food was good and we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been numerous times, normally a gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been numerous times, normally a great meal. It's interesting because some people dress up & some are in shorts & t-shirts, but the general feel is more upscale. This visit had huge bone in prime rib for Father's Day & I had fillet bacon wrapped. They don't season their meats much, but the tenderness & quality is there. I've also had the lamb in the past & it's very good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cook need to learn what chicken noodle soup is!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Steak and potatoes were excellent. Cooked med. rare as ordered. The Chicken noodle soup was terrible. The man behind us sent it back . Soup was in an orange colored vegetable broth. Carrot, onions and things that I did not know what they were. 3 very long noodles and thick . Had a bite, to it as it went down. Maybe some hot sauce in it? NOT good. We both set it aside! Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Steaks tasted really good and were tende ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Steaks tasted really good and were tender. The service was excellent, fast and polite. Interior of the restaurant could do with a face lift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful service, great food and wine, fantastic waitress and busboy... Definitely worth the price!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't really happy with the overall exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't really happy with the overall experience. Mothers Day brunch was very poor. Food options poor. Service was fair. I wrote the. A letter to their website but have recovered no feedback.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH WAS EXCELLENT!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a large party with half adults & half kids and it worked out great! Food was nicely presented & tasted great, and the selection was exceptional! Service was right on & everyone was very nice and accommodating. Brunch is not on their regular menu and it appears to be only on special Sunday Occasions/Holidays but call the restaurant to confirm. We can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2016

This place has amazing food and the service is always awesome. They are quick and polite and nothing tastes bad. The filet mignon is excellent quality and I can never finish it so I always have leftovers. The leftovers reheat just as tender as the night before. It is pricey so be prepared to spend 80-100 bucks but so worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and quiet and food was good.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Had the Shrimp fettuccine and was very good. The salad was nice and fresh it was very good. Great service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place For Very Good Food

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Have been to the Royal Cut many times for different occasions. Food and service is very good. Very casual dining with a great selection of items to choose from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Never a disappointment

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2015

The ambiance and setting is great. Our server Jesica was outstanding in her service. Her creative birthday treat was outstanding. We love this place!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service. Close to home.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We enjoy the fine menu, great service and quiet atmosphere. It's also close to home. And n ew rewards program that encourages patrons to come back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

first time visit

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Menu is good, though for a fine dining restaurant the choice of side with the meal is more like a typical family restaurant. Meal was good. Overall the restaurant experience was lower due to dusty blinds, light fixtures, etc. For the price it is not as good a value as Flemings

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Quiet night out

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2015

We had a great evening. The food was excellent and service was awesome. I would have loved the lights a little lower for ambiance. White table linens and yummy wine were appreciated but it was as bright at a McDonalds....

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Always Excellent!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2015

One can always count on Royal Cut to have a consistently wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2015

The food was very Good. We had the potato skins and they awesome, the best I have ever had. They were loaded potatoes forsure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.