Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About The Roof Restaurant

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 24 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2018
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Private dining rooms to compliment The Roof Restaurant are also located in the historic downtown Joseph Smith Memorial Building. The location, elegant atmosphere and neo-gothic architecture make the Joseph Smith Memorial Building a premier location for any event.

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (65)
Romantic (65)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Scenic View (59)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (22)
Live Music (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The wait was long. Staff messed up the check, and parking impossible. Food and view enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The people (our server, hostess, meat handlers etc.) were all very kind. We were placed by the window, which was wonderful since we were celebrating our anniversary. The piano music was calming. The temple view was magnificent. It was a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The servers, hostess, and waitress were all awesome. Friendly and fun. Made our anniversary wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the roof! Variety and taste of each food item was wonderful! Peicey but worth it for the ambiance. Beautiful views and peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We love The Roof. This occasion the piano was nice but played very loud. We had a hard time having conversation. Also, we did have to wait too long to have our drinks refilled. Lastly, I personally would enjoy more hot vegetables. Cold artichoke salad is not that appealing to me.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

You go there for the view and ambiance. The rather good food is a bonus. And, if you have a good appetite, this might be one of the best bargains in Salt Lake City. No alcohol, tea or coffee doesn't really detract from the experience. This was a worthy choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 14, 2017

As always, the Roof does not disappoint. Food is fantastic, ambiance is lovely. Dessert bar is amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful view and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I were in town for a conference. We took a city tour and the guide recommended sunset dinner at the Rooftop. We had a great time and a wonderful view. The food was good, nice variety. My wife appreciated the GF signs on the food. (She didn't see any signs on the desserts though, minor deduction since all looked delicious).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The. best view in the city of the temple and sunset is at this restaurant. It was simply amazing. The food on the other hand was the worst by far I've ever had. It was terrible. Especially for $40 per person. At that price, I expected something that would at least be decent. The rolls tasted like they just bought a bunch of prebaked rolls and just warmed them up. The chicken florentine seemed as if they bought it from Walmart from the frozen food section. And don't get me started on the "mashed potatoes". How the heck do you mess up mashed potatoes. They had the consistency of grits, which I've never seen before. I beg you, please don't go here if you're hungry. But if you're new to town and would love to see the temple and sunset with the best view, it's the perfect place to be. I ended up spending $140 on that terrible food for my birthday girl and I.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Super romantic and spetacular view. We fell in love with everything.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Thourghly enjoyed our evening! The upscale buffet was delicious, the pianist played beautifully, service was excellant and can't forget to mention the amazing view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

A great spread with many wonderful options from the salad bar, main course, to the dessert bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was our second time to eat there, we enjoyed it both, times, the flank steak was a bit chewy...but everything else was fabulous..."Pina Colada Fish" was the best, the Prime Rib was perfect, & the BBQ Ribs were Smokin'...We just were married and it was a Great Honeymoon Dinner...The service was 5 Star, we will be making it a return visit on All Special Events...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

I loved the feel of the restaurant. Everything is beautiful and well thought-out. The view, of course, is amazing, and the servers are friendly. The food tastes like good, homemade, real food. The Oreo white chocolate mousse cake was my favorite. It is a buffet, not what I had expected when I first heard of the Roof. But the best part is the live piano music-it's familiar, beautifully arranged and excellently played.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Overall I would come here again but not really for the food. I wasn't really impressed, the food was not bad, but it wasn't amazing. The restaurant ambience and the views ARE AMAZING!!! I would say the price is worth the views and the service. The service was incredible, my friends and I had a table on the second tier and our waiter came and offered us a window table as soon as one opened up! They have a piano player and he was great. He even took song requests. It was a great experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is one place the desserts are actually as good as they look! Friendly staff. Berkeley was a great server! Live piano music was beautiful as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I really enjoyed the Roof, the temple was a beautiful scene, and the creme brûlée was to die for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

A great dining experience. Wonderfully relaxing environment. Amazing buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Took my girlfriend to celebrate our first anniversary, enjoyed everything about it, very romantic environment, has a great view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were very excited to have a nice evening with delicious food and a great atmosphere. We were shocked and very disappointed to find that the food didn't have flavo, none of the food was homemade (it tasted processed, like food in a cafeteria), the rolls were stale, and the service was slow. We waited for our check for 30 minutes after our waiter said he would bring it right out. He must have forgotten because we still had to remind him to bring it to us.
The only thing we enjoyed was the view. Half way through the meal they closed the shades and the view was gone, and everyone was upset about it.
They are plenty of options for delicious food in Salt Lake City. We will not be returning.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is a must do if you are visiting Salt Lake City. Beautiful views and great food pair together nicely. Walk around Temple Square and City Creek afterwards to help ease some of the extra weight you have gained. Well worth the admission price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The buffet runs $42 a person. There were two types of salmon that were tasty, prime rim cooked perfectly, all you can eat on everything, jumbo shrimp, many fun desserts and if you want drinks other than water you pay for those on top of the buffet price. The atmosphere is nice with a pretty view. I, however, do not feel it is worth the price. For the same price I could go to Texas Roadhouse, Spaghetti Factory, or Outback Steakhouse three times and be just as satisfied by the time I left. So if you want all you can eat Salmon and Shrimp and want the peaceful atmosphere then and have money to burn then this is a great place. If you like going out but saving money then you'll want to look elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was our 25th anniversary and it was well spent here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Last minute anniversary reservation. Hostess greeted with 'jappy anniversary " seated at the best table in the house. Impressed my wife. This restaurant jyst became one of our traditions. Prime rib was incredible and this is coment is from a butcher with 25 yrs exp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Surprisingly good food for a buffet. Food was outstanding, so was the view. The desserts were especially good. We enjoyed the piano. and the atmosphere. Went for our anniversary and would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This Roof is wonderful! My wife and I come here often for special date nights. The food is good and the view and ambiance are absolutely top notch. 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

this restaurant probably has the best view in all of Salt Lake! It is a buffet so there are lots of options, which is nice. Being run by the Mormons, there is no alcohol or coffee served here, so if you can go without that for an evening I feel it was worth the visit to get the full Salt Lake City experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I've heard a lot about the Roof restaraunt and was expecting something a little more upscale. It was good and the atmosphere was nice. The food was good but the dessert line has room for alot of improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Beautiful view of temple square, although they had the shades down because of the setting sun, so you could see a bit of a silhouette while eating, but if you wanted a clear view, you had to go to the observation deck area outside the restaurant. Great live piano player. Good selection of food--buffet style. The food was decent, but nothin extremely special. I recommend the restaurant for the views and ambience. Good for celebrating something. If you're looking for something more casual, I'd recommend the Garden restaurant across the hallway from here.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I think it cost too much for what you get. I can go to other restaurants with the same types of things and more for a lot less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was not my first time visiting The Roof; my husband really enjoys coming here. For me it's pretty good but I'm not in love I ended up having a pit left in my olive and it was one of my first bites of the evening. It caused such pain to a tooth that I didn't eat anything else but a chocolate custard the rest of the meal while my husband enjoyed visit after visit back to the buffet.

Upon reaching out to the hospitality office they have been helpful in resolution of the experience. Hopefully the next time will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The pianist was excellent service was responsive, and food presentation and taste rivaled perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great place to celebrate a special occasion. The food and the incredible view are more than worth the price paid and the ambiance makes it a great place to enjoy a refreshing and positive evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing assortment of an all you can eat buffet. Come hungry and just enjoy, plate after plate from salads to the amazing deserts. Such a friendly wait staff as well and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Nice restaurant, good service, good food, good buffet, great view. We went to celebrate a wedding anniversary and birthday and they didn't do anything special for us. We also did not realize it was a dry restaurant and they didn't even serve coffee with dessert. We were in town visiting and wanted to see the temple and memorial building. Just didn't think it through as to what that would entail.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Wonderful birthday experience for our large party of various ages-also saw smaller dates and groups. Very versatile for everyone and tons of options without being too overwhelming, professional waitstaff, delicious food

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Overall, the food was good. Not many options for vegetarians, but didn't leave hungry. Was not aware that this restaurant did not serve alcohol, coffee or regular tea (from out of town and not Mormon), so that was a little disappointing. Obviously not the restaurant's fault, just a good to know for anyone or of town. Service was outstanding, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was awsome, incedible, fantastic, wonderful. From now on one of the most beautiful restaurants I've ever been...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Fantastic experience! The food was very good, the service was excellent and the view was breathtaking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.