About The Roof Restaurant

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: 8015391911x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
6 More
Special Occasion
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Scenic View (123)
Special Occasion (122)
Romantic (115)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Historic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Live Music (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was fantastic. My daughter and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was fantastic. My daughter and I enjoyed our time there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The view is amazing and the food is grea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The view is amazing and the food is great too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is without question amazing. Th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The view is without question amazing. The food is good but the ambiance really is what seals the deal.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I've dined at many outstanding restauran ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've dined at many outstanding restaurants in cities like New York City, San Francisco, Los Angeles, London, Tampa, Napa Valley and Phoenix, and The Roof holds it own with the best of them. We especially enjoyed the prime rib, honey baked ham, the artichoke hearts and pork lion. As for desert, everything was very good, but the creme burlee is simply the best anywhere. The food is served buffet style with selections varying each night but everything we tried was excellent and flavorful. We enjoyed being able to try a little bit of everything and go back for more.

The service was excellent, we were greeted and seated immediately. Our server, Berkeley, was at our table in less than a minute, always friendly and attentive, but not overly so. The atmosphere was nice, not too loud and the pianist played a wide repertoire. We enjoyed the view of Temple Square, downtown Salt Lake and the sunset.

Reservations are a must and book early. In summary, The Roof is one of the finest restaurants I have eaten at, including some with 3 Michelin Stars. There may be a better restaurant in northern Utah, but I have yet to find it.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My group really enjoyed this dining expe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My group really enjoyed this dining experience. I took some friends out to thank them for their help with a special project. We loved trying all the different foods and especially the desserts. The food was very good and the presentation was lovely. Our server could not have been any more helpful or cheerful. All in all, this was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my first time there with my wife. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was my first time there with my wife. We loved everything about it from the food, the scenery, and service. Great place to dine.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paid 50 bucks a person for the buffet. E ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Paid 50 bucks a person for the buffet. Easily one the most expensive in Salt Lake. However, the food wasnt worth that money. The best part of the restaurant was the view of the temple and the valley. Try going during sunset hours. The view of the sunset over the Great Salt Lake is amazing. I would go back to this place if it is cheaper than it is now. 50 bucks is way too much for that food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

This is a great place for our anniversar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a great place for our anniversary. We go here every year. The view is great, and so is the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Roof had some great food and a wonde ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Roof had some great food and a wonderful atmosphere. The view of the temple grounds is spectacular. The wait staff was friendly, and they were dressed cleanly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We tried The Roof for our anniversary di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We tried The Roof for our anniversary dinner as we thought it was a nicer "romantic" atmosphere. The food was alright, however, several things seemed to take away from the special restaurant we thought The Roof was. It was quite loud, the fake butter on the tables, basically being "forced" to leave at 90 minutes, not having large deserts (cheesecakes etc) being precut, seeing people come in very casual attire, and having large bus groups come in all took away from the special experience we thought it would be.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

My wife and I chose the roof restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I chose the roof restaurant for our first anniversary 11 years ago. We have never picked another restaurant for our most important day each year. The service is great, the food is good, and the environment is perfect for intimate conversation. I recommend The Roof in SLC to everyone.

Make sure and ask them to place a bouquet of roses (at a little extra cost) at your table for your special someone if going for a date/anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view especially at sunset. Fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic view especially at sunset. Food not as good as it should be for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The Roof is always an amazing restaurant ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Roof is always an amazing restaurant for that special occasion. It was a wonderful setting and fabulous food. The service was excellent as well. Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food and our server was exc ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We loved the food and our server was excellent. She was friendly and checked on us often, refilled our drinks without being asked and she was just great!

We come every year to the Roof for our anniversary. This was our 50th.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I liked it. My wife is allergic to Bell ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I liked it. My wife is allergic to Bell Peppers and the chef Pedro told us that they usually garnish the dishes with peppers for looks. So my wife couldn't really eat all that she wanted. My only recommendation is that this is somehow portrayed to customers on the menu and also online. I would not have booked it had I known this.

We still had a good time and it was a great night. I just wish that my wife was able to eat the food and justify the cost of the bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great. Neither myself nor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was great. Neither myself nor my date are heavy eaters, we could have gone to a much nicer restaurant for the price we paid here. It was a good one time thing - just to say I have been. I would not go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Visiting The roof has become a tradion t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Visiting The roof has become a tradion to us. WE come to Salt Lake only once a year, and ALWAYS schedule The Roof.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was just awesome while eating t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The view was just awesome while eating the very delicately handcrafted food. Presentation was perfect, so was the music and the service. Katy was my server and she was very attentive to detail and kind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need a nice place to take my wife for he ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Need a nice place to take my wife for her birthday. It was great food, service, and a terrific view of the Avenues. Only problem it was difficult not eating too much desert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at the roof many times. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have eaten at the roof many times. They changed the menu and price last year which was a great improvement. They changed the menu (and perhaps the chef) again this year - seems like they are trying to cheap everything.

They prime rib was carved paper thin because it was so tough - the flank stake was more tender. The chilled salmon tasted old and slimy. The salads were fine, the soups were very salty. They used to have very good clam chowder, but not any more. The dessert bar seemed to have fewer choices. Some of the dessert items were still frozen.

The bright spot was the service, mostly. We always go to this restaurant for our anniversary and they send us a coupon each year. I made reservations a week in advance and requested a window table. They called the day before to confirm the reservation and said they could not get us a window, but if we would like to come in 40 minutes earlier they would accommodate us - that was nice of them to do. After the meal we presented our server with our coupon when he brought the check. He took the coupon and said he would revise the check. He returned and said they could not find my email to which they had sent the coupon and would need approval from management for the coupon. That finally came, and the revised check was given to us. I was a little surprised to see that they had included an 18% tip in the check (there was just 2 of us) and the 18% was on the original amount. The original check had no tip included in the price. I always tip well, and our server earned it. But let me be the judge of how much I should tip. $18 on a $70 check actually is more like 25%. I paid the tip without comment at the time and thanked everyone on our way out.

All in all, not near the value for the money as before. At $42 plus drinks, it just isn't that good any more. It used to be, but now it really is more on par with Chuck-A-Rama except for the view. I bet you are thinking I won't go back; and you are right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I loved loved loved it. Granted it was m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I loved loved loved it. Granted it was my first time there, and I am way to into fine dining.. haha But the experience and the service was incredible without a doubt. If I had the money I was going a lot more often! Keep up the good work!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak strips were tough but overall ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The steak strips were tough but overall the food was good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meats dishes did not meet expectations. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Meats dishes did not meet expectations. The flank steak in peanut sauce was so dry that parts could not be eaten.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I do have to say I was a little disappoi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I do have to say I was a little disappointed with my overall dining experience at The Roof. While dining, two HUGE bus tour groups arrived to dine. The groups were VERY noisy and loud and really took away the feeling I was anticipating. The piano playing, although very nice, was VERY loud. I wondered if the tour groups and the pianist were competing for attention. Finally, the food was not very good. I enjoy prime rib and the meat was very tough and not what I have enjoyed before with prime rib. Mash potatoes were not thick, they were a little runny. And the creme brulee was very poor. I most likely will not dine here in the future, which is sad, because I have such fond memories of past experiences. I would only recommend dining here for the views and historic meaning of the building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

awesome. The roof is great. I love it. O ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

awesome. The roof is great. I love it. Once a year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very expensive but a beautiful place to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very expensive but a beautiful place to dine. I can't believe my review isn't good enough. That you need more words.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I would recommend the Roof for a one tim ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I would recommend the Roof for a one time experience, primarily for the view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was fantastic! We didn't appreci ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was fantastic! We didn't appreciate the gratuity being added automatically, since we usually tip more, but realize many restaurants do this now. Always the best place to go for a special evening out. The variety of food cannot be beat. Very high end. The live piano music is lovely too. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go for the view and not the food. Also t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Go for the view and not the food. Also the staff plays shenanigans with the tables. They also walk around and time how long you have been at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Wonderful restaurant and gorgeous view! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and gorgeous view! The buffet is full of delicious foods and desserts.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first plate I grabbed for the "gourm ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The first plate I grabbed for the "gourmet" buffet was dirty, cups were not much better. The piano was too loud. The food tasted like regular boring buffet food. It was decent, but it didn't have any wow factor. The restaurant itself looks a little old and worn out. The experience was not worth $45 a person. I would consider coming back here if there were major changes made.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A beautiful room with a great view of th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A beautiful room with a great view of the Temple. At sunset the towers are illuminated, which is lovely. The buffet supper was excellent - Fresh salmon and sweet, tender shrimp and fine prime rib. Yummy desserts! I loved the chocolate cake with mint layers. Just wish we could have had champagne with it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is without one of the most high end ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is without one of the most high end restaurants I frequent .

It is just one of those places that you want to treat yourself to, and be pampered.

Some of those may state that it is pricey, but you need to truly consider what you are paying for, as it is very reliable for what you are experiencing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone there a couple of times for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have gone there a couple of times for our anniversary. Excellent food and atmosphere!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. View was great but we sho ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good. View was great but we should have gone when it was dark so the view of the temple would be better. One of the spoons on our table had food stuck to the bottom when we got there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The service and food was fantastic. My w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service and food was fantastic. My wife and I felt like royalty.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Roof for our anniversary ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to the Roof for our anniversary and it was perfect! The food was delicious and the staff was super friendly. They even offered to take a picture of us :). I really

Enjoyed the privacy you have with your partner. There weren't any kids running around or babies crying which I think it's good if you're looking for something romantic. We'll definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Roof is the perfect location to cele ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Roof is the perfect location to celebrate a special occasion! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there a few days ago. The ambiance is wonderful, and the food was delicious and trendy yet comforting at the same time. The view of the Salt Lake Temple was impressive. Just a warning: at sunset, the blinds have to be lowered. I suggest going before or after sunset. It was packed on a Monday night. I'd recommend a reservation. We will dine here again!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent--food, service, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was excellent--food, service, selection, ambiance. The price is high, but that's just how it goes with the demand.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were dissatisfied on the price and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were dissatisfied on the price and the fact there was a buffet dinner big big big big big disappointment I went to ask my girlfriend's parents for her hand and I went for a disappointment no wine only sodas and tea

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.