HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 2/21
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

The Roof Restaurant

4.5
1946 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries (54)
  • Special Occasion (52)
  • Scenic View (47)
The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

PRICING: Adults $42.00, Vegetarian $30.00, Youth (7-11) $18.00, Child (4-6) $9.00

HOLIDAY PRICING (Valentine's Day): Adults $49.95, Youth (7-11) $24.95, Child (4-6) $14.95
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 539-1911
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pedro Mauricio
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.
Additional
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Private dining rooms to compliment The Roof Restaurant are also located in the historic downtown Joseph Smith Memorial Building. The location, elegant atmosphere and neo-gothic architecture make the Joseph Smith Memorial Building a premier location for any event.

View Private Dining Details
What 1946 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
LorenaL 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Excellent ambient and the service was great excellent people too

Report
Helpful
BaryG 
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

The salad bar et al was very good. The prime rib was above average but disappointed they could not/would not give me a med-well slice. The steak slices, pork and chicken were dry and over cooked. The deserts were excellent. The servers were excellent. Based on the quality of the hot items the cost was overpriced. A better value at $30.

Report
Helpful
The2polas 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

it was mine & my husbands first time there. such a beautiful spot! & to top it off, SEEING THE VIEW of the beautiful temple & the rest of SLC! I HIGHLY recommend this place to people who are dating, engaged or even JUST married. it’s so worth it! SUPER BEAUTIFUL :)

Report
Helpful
BennionS 
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

Overall, I thought that the experience was amazing. The view was breathtaking, and we loved the live music. Only thing was that we weren't really impressed with the buffet quality given the pricing. However, the desserts were indeed amazing. Just wish the entrees were more impressive, or perhaps at least more varied than the large selection of meats.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Loved it. Great food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Took my fiancée here for Valentines Day. Everything was perfect. The food, the music, THE DESSERT... the only thing is that I feel like it’s a little too pricey. But I understand you are mainly paying for the view which is spectacular. The service was great. :)

Report
Helpful
Jazzfan96 (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was amazing. Berkeley our waitress was amazing. The food was so good, and environment was just beautiful.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We loved coming here for our Valentine's celebration. The food is always amazing and it is such a romatic setting. The view is so breathtaking. Our server Derek was awesome. He was super nice and helpful and we enjoyed it more because of him. Derek took good care of us and we really appreciated that!! We love coming here for special occasions and eating the delicious food! Also the live piano music really sets the mood! Loved it!

Report
Helpful
Roof (Salt Lake City)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

The first time we tried to get to the restaurant was on a December weekend and although we had reservations 5 months in advance, it was impossible to find a parking place within 5 blocks of the building. We were in SLC 45 minutes before our reservation time and didn't even come close to making it to the Roof on time. To their credit, they didn't charge us the no show fee due to all the events going on downtown that evening. Plan ahead, especially on weekends in December.
We did make it in to the restaurant the evening before Valentines Day and had a very nice table next to the window overlooking temple square and downtown. Great views and enough spacing between the tables that we didn't feel we were sitting in on other peoples conversations. The entire staff were friendly and very helpful with recommendations and service. The prime rib, fish and shrimp were delicious. The other items tasted like food that had been sitting out in a buffet and not so fresh. Take small samples of things that look good the first round and get a feel for what tingles the taste buds and then gorge on the good stuff after that. To me, it seems the price tag is a bit steep for the food but I figure it makes up for it in service, location and all you can eat. Having a great date to share it with certainly makes the experience so much more enjoyable. Bon appetite.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Went to this restaurant as it was labelled on of the best culinary experiences in SLC. The best way to describe the dinning experience would be a cruise ship on the 10th floor. There is nothing gourmet about a buffet.

Report
Helpful
JennyF (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The ambiance and views are incredible. The food was nothing special.

Report
Helpful
ZachD (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The roof is a great choice for any date night! It has a great view, friendly hosts, servers and waiters/waitresses. Food quality is amazing! You can’t go wrong with this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
MIOR (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The restaurant is beautiful and the ambiance is perfect. The view is gorgeous.
The price is a little high for the food arrangement in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
Kath1968 (Salt Lake City)
1.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

We were so disappointed. We used to go to the Roof 2 to 3x a year and we haven't been for about 2 years until last Saturday. The hostess looked like she just woke up. We asked our waitress to take our photo and she told us that she's so busy at the moment and she'll find someone else. The food was average. We will never go back nor recommend the Roof.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

I liked The Roof restaurant tonight and it was a great evening. The piano was a little too loud and my date couldn’t hear from me for a while. Sometimes I felt like I had to shout to talk to her which was frustrating. The food was great but I wouldn’t say it’s worth $50 a plate. I’d rather have an entree I liked and an unlimited salad bar. The salad was super fresh and one of my favorite parts of the meal. Prime rib was meh, but I’m not a prime rib fan so don’t base you trying it on my opinion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
130