About The Roof Restaurant

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: 8015391911x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
7 More
Special Occasion
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Scenic View (143)
Special Occasion (136)
Romantic (122)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful restaurant and gorgeous view! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful restaurant and gorgeous view! The buffet is full of delicious foods and desserts.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first plate I grabbed for the "gourm ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The first plate I grabbed for the "gourmet" buffet was dirty, cups were not much better. The piano was too loud. The food tasted like regular boring buffet food. It was decent, but it didn't have any wow factor. The restaurant itself looks a little old and worn out. The experience was not worth $45 a person. I would consider coming back here if there were major changes made.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is without one of the most high end ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is without one of the most high end restaurants I frequent .

It is just one of those places that you want to treat yourself to, and be pampered.

Some of those may state that it is pricey, but you need to truly consider what you are paying for, as it is very reliable for what you are experiencing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have gone there a couple of times for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have gone there a couple of times for our anniversary. Excellent food and atmosphere!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. View was great but we sho ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. View was great but we should have gone when it was dark so the view of the temple would be better. One of the spoons on our table had food stuck to the bottom when we got there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to the Roof for our anniversary ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to the Roof for our anniversary and it was perfect! The food was delicious and the staff was super friendly. They even offered to take a picture of us :). I really

Enjoyed the privacy you have with your partner. There weren't any kids running around or babies crying which I think it's good if you're looking for something romantic. We'll definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Roof is the perfect location to cele ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Roof is the perfect location to celebrate a special occasion! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there a few days ago. The ambiance is wonderful, and the food was delicious and trendy yet comforting at the same time. The view of the Salt Lake Temple was impressive. Just a warning: at sunset, the blinds have to be lowered. I suggest going before or after sunset. It was packed on a Monday night. I'd recommend a reservation. We will dine here again!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent--food, service, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was excellent--food, service, selection, ambiance. The price is high, but that's just how it goes with the demand.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were dissatisfied on the price and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were dissatisfied on the price and the fact there was a buffet dinner big big big big big disappointment I went to ask my girlfriend's parents for her hand and I went for a disappointment no wine only sodas and tea

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat right next to the window facing the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Sat right next to the window facing the gorgeous sunset and Temple Square. Piano playing, ambiance , and lighting was fantastic which really set the mood. $42 buffet is a little on the pricey side, would lower to $30 instead. The food and desserts were good, but the prime rib was hands down the best. Exceptional service from Allie the waitress. Would highly recommend to anyone taking a special someone for a very special evening. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding, thanks to D ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was outstanding, thanks to Dylan Cook!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and there was way ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was excellent and there was way more than what we could eat. We left very full. It was an awesome view and the music was nice to have in the background. We're excited to go back

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Roof was awesome! We went for our th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Roof was awesome! We went for our third anniversary and were very pleased with the quality and variety of the food. We were also surprised by the wonderful service we were provided. This restaurant is a buffet, but our server was available to help us at all times. She was absolutely wonderful. This was the best service we have ever received, and our server didn't even really "serve" us. It was great. We would absolutely recommend this restaurant to others and certainly plan to come back (in a few years...this place is pricey, man!).

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must if passing through Salt Lake or p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A must if passing through Salt Lake or planning for a special event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views to watch the sunset and view ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great views to watch the sunset and view the amazing salt lake temple.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We scheduled the Roof Restuarant to cele ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We scheduled the Roof Restuarant to celebrate our anniversary. It provides a wonderful view of the Salt Lake Temple and valley to the west and north. The food is OK but nothing to write home about and the highlight of the meal is dessert with 20 or so options. I would suggest that if you make a reservation online that you call ahead anyway if it's a special occasion we requested a window seat and told them in the comments that it was our anniversary, but were seated in the back away from the window so the view while still OK could have been much better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always love the Roof - great quality foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always love the Roof - great quality food and the atmosphere is wonderful. Would like a few more selections on the buffet.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was taken back by the sign that greete ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I was taken back by the sign that greeted us, saying we had a 90 minute table limit. Who does that? I did not feel welcome. The piano was loud, but good. The food was ok. The menu outside, said they were serving lamb. But when asked where the lamb was, they told me they didn't have it that night and that at the last minute it was substituted for ribs... (Ribs were also shown on the menu) Overall, the view made up for a lot, but everything else was just very average...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Was very disappointed with the food and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Was very disappointed with the food and atmosphere. I was planning on proposing to my wife at a fancy restaurant and half way through a huge tourist group came in that was poorly dressed and very loud. I couldn't find a good time to propose between us complaining about the food, kids running around or the loud tourist blowing there nose and raising their voices to talk. A horrible atmosphere and not the best food they will never have my business again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

My husband and I were married in the Sal ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I were married in the Salt Lake Temple a year ago. We wanted to go to the Roof to celebrate our anniversary and we asked before hand if we could sit right next to the window to look at the beautiful temple. Not only did they fulfill our request, but they even gave us a happy anniversary sign that we had displayed on our table. The food is to die for; we ate so much! Perfect romantic setting! Love it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place to eat. The view is o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Such a great place to eat. The view is outstanding and food and service is amazing !!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the roof! I was a bit disappo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I love the roof! I was a bit disappointed in the food though. The mashed potatoes were a little dry and not very creamy like they have been in the past . Also the rolls were really dry, I was really hoping for a soft roll. I hope these things can change!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I celebrated my 60th birthday and receiv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I celebrated my 60th birthday and received a lot of attention, a nice candle and a happy birthday play on the piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Every time we have been to the Roof it h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Every time we have been to the Roof it has been a wonderful experience. The live piano music is most delightful and the service is wonderful. The food is very well done with plenty to eat. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Roof is one of our favorite places t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Roof is one of our favorite places to dine, although we can only afford to dine there once in a great while and for a special occasion. The service and food are outstanding and the view of the temple and surrounding area cannot be beat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. It was a beautiful v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I was disappointed. It was a beautiful view and the food was prepared beautifully. The music was nice. The service was very good. However, I just thought it was REALLY expensive for what you actually got. The food was good, but not great. I doubt I will go back. Especially not for that price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The Roof Restaurant is fantastic! I took ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Roof Restaurant is fantastic! I took my wife their for our wedding anniversary. You cannot beat the view of Temple Square, the incredible tasting food, and the extraordinary piano accompaniment throughout your meal. I don't always go to fancy restaurants, but this one has high class, reasonable pricing, and an extraordinary environment. A must go!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved our dinning experience at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I really loved our dinning experience at the Roof Restaurant. The food was awesome. They helped me provide AWESOME Red Roses for my wife, and gave us a very nice table with a view of the Temple. It is worth the price for the food and the environment. The service was great, kept our drinks full, and the staff was very nice!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally worth the money spent. The best ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Totally worth the money spent. The best food I've ever had from a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best and most upscale buffet in the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The best and most upscale buffet in the Salt Lake City area. The food is fresh with a good variety of choices and tastes. The food is prepared and seasoned well. Slightly pricey but is good for the special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a beautiful place, but the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It's a beautiful place, but the food wasn't as good as I was expecting and the $25 flower vase arrangement weren't nearly attractive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location perfect view but the food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great location perfect view but the food was subpar and the price was not worth it. Should have gone to Ruth Chris in Park City.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent services and food accompanying ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent services and food accompanying with Devine music and majestic view of the LDS Temple. Definitely a must go! My family go there every chance we stop by SLC. Cheers

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed a very special place to take a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We needed a very special place to take a couple visiting from Norway to show them the town and to give them the best meal that we could find. They were always very kind to us when we visited them in their country. They were very impressed, to say the least. The atmosphere was perfect, and the servers were wonderful, especially Jordan.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price I paid, I'd rather eat at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

For the price I paid, I'd rather eat at Rodizio for double the number of people, great ambiance, and lots of food choices. The salad bar needs to be improved. The dessert bar was great but needs to be relocated somewhere else away from the walkway. The main menu was delicious. The view to the Temple was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We went to the restaurant for our 20 yea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went to the restaurant for our 20 year anniversary. We don't have a lot of money and are stretched so tight we feel like we'll burst at any minute. But to celebrate 20 years we thought it would be worth it to splurge and revisit what used to be our favorite romantic spot. It is still a very romantic and enjoyable atmosphere. The ambiance was great and the piano player was excellent. The server was attentive and quick to serve and clear as needed. Our problem was the food. Almost five years ago, we made a change to NON-GMO / Organic sourced foods. We didn't change what we ate really, just how we sourced our food. I don't know if that played into it, but the food was a huge disappointment. The shrimp was good, the prime rib enjoyable. However the Chicken Cordon Bleu was bland and dry, the beef medallions overcooked and tasteless and that was the case for most of the entrees we tried. The desserts were the biggest disappointment of all. They tasted artificial, like they came out of a box or were made with cream or egg substitute. The lone reprieve was the bread pudding. Not great, but enjoyable. It is the first time in our twenty years of marriage that we truly felt like we had thrown our money away for our anniversary. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Amazing! The perfect night to spend with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing! The perfect night to spend with my parents and wife. My server Allison was the greatest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre except for the p ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was mediocre except for the prime rib. Most of the food was lukewarm.

Cody, the server, was excellent.

Would not recommend this restaurant for this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The pepperpcorn steak did not have any p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The pepperpcorn steak did not have any peppercorns and tasted like typical beef.

I have a much better recipe for bread pudding...straight from the New Orleans School of Cooking.

The crème brulée was caramel when it should have been vanilla. Yuck. My lemon crème brulée from Bon Apetit magazine is ten times better!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been coming here for years for o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been coming here for years for our anniversary. This time was a very special anniversary as it was our 40th! We were both very surprised at the decline in the quality of the food this year! It made our time there very non-memorable!! We will not be back again! It makes us very sad as it was our "go to place" for this special occasion! The Temple was so very beautiful but the piano player was way to loud and the food..well let's just say it was terrible!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.