The Roof Restaurant

4.4
2028 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

PRICING: Adults $42.00, Vegetarian $30.00, Youth (7-11) $18.00, Child (4-6) $9.00

HOLIDAY PRICING (Valentine's Day): Adults $49.95, Youth (7-11) $24.95, Child (4-6) $14.95
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 539-1911
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pedro Mauricio
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.
Additional
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Private dining rooms to compliment The Roof Restaurant are also located in the historic downtown Joseph Smith Memorial Building. The location, elegant atmosphere and neo-gothic architecture make the Joseph Smith Memorial Building a premier location for any event.

View Private Dining Details
What 2028 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.7
service
4.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Loved it! Very good food, great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Service was outstanding. Everyone was super friendly. View was amazing. Lots of food choices. Salad was not as fresh as expected and didn't see many fresh vegetables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our waitress was the best part. Very prompt and always had our plates cleared by the time we got back to the table. Drinks were always taken care of.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and it felt very special to indulge in good food with more variety than we’d get elsewhere. Everything was beautiful and upscale, friendly waiter and staff, romantic piano live music in the background. It would have been magical if everyone had been there for a special event, however some just came to eat in shirts or jeans. The larger groups could be loud and hold conversations against the railing right by our table. Can’t fault the staff or restaurant for the behavior and dress of those coming to dine. We enjoyed our evening and a stroll on Temple Square and City Creek Mall. We are very appreciative of our dining experience and the free parking validation that allowed 3 hours of city exploring.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We enjoyed our time there, but I think it was over-hyped. The food was decent, but we didn't have anything that really blew our minds. Nice view, nice place, but the food was not as good as we were expecting. Perhaps a really nice version of Sizzler.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It was lovely. We brought our granddaughter for her graduation. She loved it! Kept saying she had never been to such a nice restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I had requested a window seat as I was celebrating my parents' anniversary with them. We were seated at the premier window seat with a fabulous northern view. There was a lovely card on the table wishing my folks a happy anniversary, which was very touching for all of us. The service was excellent (amazing, attentive wait staff!) and the pianist played love songs which was perfect. The food was a disappointment (just okay, many dishes were nearly empty and picked over) but dessert bar was great. Overall, a very special evening. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food is so good and the view is even better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The food was really good, especially for a buffet style. And the views were awesome to look out over the Salt Lake Valley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Food was nice and a beautiful view to go with it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Perfect evening. The visit was spectacular, service was stunning, food stellar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Went for our 2 year anniversary and loved it! The attention to detail was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was definitely better than what I was expecting from a buffet, but maybe not worth a near 100 dollar bill for two people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Excellent romantic restaurant with a fantastic view of Temple Square.

Food was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Just a wonderful experience. the view is spectacular and as always the service was excellent thanks for making a special birthday even more memorable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great place for a special occasion, in our case it was our 40th anniversary. The breathtaking view is outstanding. Very good food selection and the live piano playing adds to the great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Good for special occasion. Cost was too much for quality of food. Hot food was barely warm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We loved the Ambiance with the Temple view. The food was spectacular. The Server was REALLY GOOD! Great for a special night out with a special person or Family

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome as always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is ok, over priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We loved our experience at the Roof. The service was great and the food was amazing(The Lion House Rolls) great selection of food. Our server was great help and did a wonderful job. I would highly recommend The Roof to anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

THE ROOF NEVER DISAPPOINTS!! The view, the service, the food, it’s always a great night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch. It was fabulous! We’ve been going every year for the last four years

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I invited my two daughters that live locally to brunch the day before Mother's Day. It was so wonderful to be seated near the window where we could overlook the temple and talk about what a blessing it is to watch them be loving mothers to their families. The food was so good and there was such a great variety. Our server was helpful for suggestions and checked on us frequently. Thank you for providing such an inspiring, wholesome and delightful setting to eat, laugh and love.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The main course food were good, not great. I think because it was late, there wasn't as much turnover with the food. The desserts were amazing though. Our server, Nick, was fantastic and made our experience even better. I would definitely go back, and I would recommend it to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This was our first time at the Roof and we enjoyed it. The food tasted good and the view was great. We went for our anniversary and were surprised it wasn't as fancy as we thought. We dressed up thinking it was more formal and then noticed a lot more casual people so we felt a little silly but overall it was nice. The food was good and the service was excellent. Next time we'll plan better for a night view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The food and table setting was excellent. The main complaint was the piano playing was so loud my wife and I could not carry on a conversation which detracted from our celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

My wife wanted to go someplace she nice so she could get dressed up for our anniversary. The Roof was a great choice. They have a fantastic staff, and the view was wonderful. I was a bit surprised it was buffet style, but the food was good. The piano player was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We had a lovely time, our waitress was attentive and very professional. We loved the live piano music and the great view. We were pleased with the selection of food. The prime rib was delicious and the mashed potatoes were done to perfection. Everything we ate was good and we left happy and satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

It was good as always. Pricey but you do get what you pay for. I like the music and the food was good, not exceptional for the dollars but everything else makes up for this small deficiency.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Good variety, most dishes were excellent. Kind staff, great view, very memorable!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The Roof is a beautiful space with amazing views of the Capitol, Temple, and. Salt Lake valley. But it's a Buffett. There is no way to to high quality food on a Buffett. While they turn the food quickly it just isn't an experience that's in par with the space and staff.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Almost 50$ a person for an average buffet. Not a big variety of food so it doesn’t even feel like a buffet. No alcohol served here.

The view is the only postitive thing from this experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Excellent selection with great tasting food. The atmosphere was awesome and had a live pianist. There were 8 of us in our party and service was top notch! Never a plate left behind or a drink that didn't get filled up. From start to finish it was superb!

For sure will be back for the Mother's Day brunch, as we made reservations the same day for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food, music, and the views are incredible. I'll be coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The view was amazing....the buffet was a surprise since was expecting "a La Carte "service but have to admit that the food was extremely tasty and the wide selection available was rewarding.

The family enjoyed very much this dinner experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

It was my first time at the Roof Restaurant. My review is following:
1. Parking was super easy. It was almost same as city creek parking but covers 3 hours from their validation ticket
2. Service was good. You will be curious why the service really matters when it comes to buffet. Tables are somewhat small for the two seats. You can only fit two plates and drink on the table. So each tables needs quite an attention from server to clean the table when diners are up for the next plate. Plates were always gone before I come back from next plates.
3. Amazing view. I was worried that view wouldn’t be pretty because sun was still up or that I wouldn’t be able to see the view because I would be seated far away from the window. But it was definitely worth it.
4. Food. There weren’t many different types of food considering the place is a buffet. But I can guarantee that you would get full from the food. Quality of food were pretty good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food is mediocre, at best. For nearly $50 pp, I was expecting so much more. The buffet has limited in choices and was quite small. The mashed potatoes are from a box. Everything was processed. It’s glorified cafeteria food. Chuck-a-Rama has better food than The Roof, for a fraction of the price. What saves it, is the view and the service. The dessert is okay, too. I still can’t figure out what all the fuss is about with this place. It’s a one-and-done experience for me.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I took my niece to celebrate her high school graduation. We went on a Tuesday night and I was able to make a reservation on the same day. If your purpose is to experience the view of the city, then go to the lobby outside of the restaurant and take pictures -- you'll get the exact same result. You'll just pay the parking fee. For the price, the food is marginal at best. If you're a foodie do yourself a favor, just skip it and take lobby pics. Also, it's kinda crazy that the buffet price does not include at least one overpriced lemonade/spritzer drink the restaurant offers. A better approach would be for them to offer a minimal charge for refills... The buffet is well kept and the staff does a great job of keeping it that way -- I am NOT a fan of buffets but I knew what I was signing up for, so the cleanliness made all of the difference to me. The atmosphere is definitely pleasant and relaxing -- we were seated by a window at my request. Because the Spring sun was searing on that particular day, the blinds to the view where drawn the entire dinner until about 10 minutes before we left. This seemed completely counter-intuitive to me...if the restaurant's claim to fame is the view, then invest in some state-of-the-art blinds and deliver the complete experience no matter the weather. Given the price of the buffet, I'm pretty certain the owner's can afford it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51

Tweets by The Roof Restaurant