About The Roof Restaurant

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: 8015391911x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
7 More
Special Occasion
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

scenic view (157)
special occasion (153)
romantic (132)
See All
good for groups (43)
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (10)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really loved our dinning experience at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

I really loved our dinning experience at the Roof Restaurant. The food was awesome. They helped me provide AWESOME Red Roses for my wife, and gave us a very nice table with a view of the Temple. It is worth the price for the food and the environment. The service was great, kept our drinks full, and the staff was very nice!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally worth the money spent. The best ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Totally worth the money spent. The best food I've ever had from a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best and most upscale buffet in the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best and most upscale buffet in the Salt Lake City area. The food is fresh with a good variety of choices and tastes. The food is prepared and seasoned well. Slightly pricey but is good for the special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a beautiful place, but the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's a beautiful place, but the food wasn't as good as I was expecting and the $25 flower vase arrangement weren't nearly attractive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location perfect view but the food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great location perfect view but the food was subpar and the price was not worth it. Should have gone to Ruth Chris in Park City.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent services and food accompanying ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent services and food accompanying with Devine music and majestic view of the LDS Temple. Definitely a must go! My family go there every chance we stop by SLC. Cheers

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed a very special place to take a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We needed a very special place to take a couple visiting from Norway to show them the town and to give them the best meal that we could find. They were always very kind to us when we visited them in their country. They were very impressed, to say the least. The atmosphere was perfect, and the servers were wonderful, especially Jordan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! The perfect night to spend with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing! The perfect night to spend with my parents and wife. My server Allison was the greatest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre except for the p ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was mediocre except for the prime rib. Most of the food was lukewarm.

Cody, the server, was excellent.

Would not recommend this restaurant for this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The pepperpcorn steak did not have any p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The pepperpcorn steak did not have any peppercorns and tasted like typical beef.

I have a much better recipe for bread pudding...straight from the New Orleans School of Cooking.

The crème brulée was caramel when it should have been vanilla. Yuck. My lemon crème brulée from Bon Apetit magazine is ten times better!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been coming here for years for o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have been coming here for years for our anniversary. This time was a very special anniversary as it was our 40th! We were both very surprised at the decline in the quality of the food this year! It made our time there very non-memorable!! We will not be back again! It makes us very sad as it was our "go to place" for this special occasion! The Temple was so very beautiful but the piano player was way to loud and the food..well let's just say it was terrible!!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was good, but not the best. To ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was good, but not the best. To best get your money's worth, stick with the desserts. The main entrees were better quality than a regular all-you-can-eat buffet, but it did have similar tastes and quality to those of Tucanos. Overall good experience. The in-house piano player helped create a more atmospheric dining experience. I would rather go to Tucanos and receive same/better quality of food for half the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, great pianist and excellent ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, great pianist and excellent music. At night time the impressive scene of Temple Square

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a bit disappointed when we arriv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The girl who was seating people disappeared and we waited longer than we ever have. Service at our table seemed slow, but the servers were pleasant.

Piano music really needs to be toned down a little. We were sitting 2 tables away and found it hard to carry on a normal conversation with the two of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have always loved eating at the Roof R ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have always loved eating at the Roof Restaurant. The view of the Temple and downtown Salt Lake City is amazing. Great photo-op for those who love sunsets. The music from the pianist was beautiful and I knew every number she played! The staff are friendly and very professional. My only complaint was that the waitresses kept taking our plates away before we were finished eating. It happened several times. I have noticed this in other restaurants. I find it very annoying. I think they should ask if we are done before taking out plate. But, I still give the restaurant a 10!

Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has such potential. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This restaurant has such potential. The view is fantastic and the piano playing was nice. The desserts were delicious. I wish the food was better quality. I didn't find myself saying "wow, that was good" or even wanting seconds on any particular item. The salmon and shrimp had no flavor, seemed bland. This restaurant is location, location, location, and desserts. I really hope they will improve the food. I would really like to return some time and have the food improved upon. I'd even be happy to come back and critique. There is such potential and I hope The Rood takes the time and money to improve it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We have dined at The Roof many times and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have dined at The Roof many times and, sadly, feel the quality of the food is not what it used to be. The stock for the French Onion soup was incredibly salty, there were fewer salad bar items, the chicken dish was bland and the desserts were mediocre (flan was bland and the lemon bars tasted more of almond than lemon). Our favorite was the caramel bread pudding. For such a high price, it's difficult to not expect excellent food. We love the location, the service and the atmosphere, but wish the food was better. This is such a lovely restaurant, capable of top notch food. Please keep it somewhere we can count on for excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitress and staff were great. The f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The waitress and staff were great. The food was fabulous. We really enjoyed ourselves and will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for our 45th wedding anniver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place for our 45th wedding anniversary. The view is gorgeous, the lady playing the piano played very beautiful music. My husband and I both enjoyed the food. We will return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat at table number one, great view ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We sat at table number one, great view but behind us is where the host was talking to the staff loud. Next time I will ask for a table far away from .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The buffet was very good. The prime rib ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The buffet was very good. The prime rib and ham were excellent. Nice variety of salads plus fruit and veggies. Pay attention when it says it's hot as it will be spicy. Really like the cocktail sauce for the shrimp.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was nice and service great. The ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The view was nice and service great. The prime rib, potatoes and raw vegetables were tastey. Everything else okay.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I am from NC and come to Utah every year ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I am from NC and come to Utah every year. During that visit some of my family and I come to the Roof. This has been going on for around 8 years.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to the Rooftop Restaur ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been going to the Rooftop Restaurant for the past 25 years. The last occasion was 1 years ago and dinner was around $30 each. It was a special occasion, and the view of the Temple/Capitol was nice; however, it was at the top of my budget. I made a reservation again just a week ago; a college chum was visiting from the Netherlands. The food this time was good, but nothing really special like I remembered. My sticker shock came with the $96 bill. I realized we were paying for the view, because the meal did not reflect the dinner's cost.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful views and delicious food. We c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful views and delicious food. We came with my disabled mother and they were so sweet and willing to help out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view and ambience. The food was ju ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great view and ambience. The food was just another so so buffet. I think if they did away from the bland buffet and had a nice table order restaurant this place would be amazing.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The view was absolutely stunning, and a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The view was absolutely stunning, and a perfect way to celebrate our wedding. That being said, the food was good but the number of choices seemed to lack a little bit considering the price. Our server was great when she came around which was far in few between. Overall the experience was awesome and memorable but definitely one of those restaurants that is a once a year, very special occasion type of scenarios.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Roof was a one of a kind experience. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Roof was a one of a kind experience. The food was wonderful and the view was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly a nice spot. Beware, if you are tr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Truly a nice spot. Beware, if you are trying to watch what you eat, however, as even the vegetables are cooked in a pound of butter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've read many reviews from different w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I've read many reviews from different websites about the Roof. They all talked about how the service was great but the food did not live to its name, price or objective of the "fine dine" experience. I wanted to try it out for myself... Honestly speaking after experiencing it myself, I love the service, place, view, but not the food. I would consider hiring another chef with a different menu. I honeslty felt like I just paid for the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a lovely time at The Roof. The se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a lovely time at The Roof. The service was fantastic and friendly. The food was delicious and the views, of course, spectacular. We'll definitely eat here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambiance and view but the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice ambiance and view but the food was sub-par. Way below expectations for a $40 per person dinner.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food tasted cheap and not worth the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food tasted cheap and not worth the price I paid. Great view but not worth going back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

For the price of the food I expected it ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

For the price of the food I expected it to be above par but felt it was mediocre at best. The service and view was good.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great food and view. Pricey

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

really great food. awesome view. way too pricey. This is a once every few years deal. The food is top quality and served buffet style so you can try everything. If price scares you don't go here. the food is worth it though

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The environment and Temple view were spe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The environment and Temple view were spectacular and all of the staff we had contact with were very friendly. However the majority of the food was mediocre at best, with the exception of the ham which was excellent. I do not think the food quality is worth the price paid per plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful venue

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Roof has been a tradition for my wife and I. We make an effort to eat here on our anniversary and have never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for a restaurant with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

If you're looking for a restaurant with a view, this is your place. It was all about the ambiance. Great service, very attentive staff. Went for an anniversary dinner date and wouldn't mind going back for a special occasion. The food was just fine, but pretty pricey. Great selection of desserts to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I would have liked wine with my meal. Wi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I would have liked wine with my meal. With the tremendous location I think buffett isn't the best choice.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We went as a family to celebrate a special occasion. We make it a point to go to The Roof when we have special occasions such as birthdays, graduations, etc. In the past the food and service has been wonderful, making it a very special place to celebrate. This visit the service was excellent as usual, but the food has gone downhill. The taste just wasn't there as in the past. Some of the food was blah, the meat in two out of four meat dishes was tough and hard to cut with the knife. The spicy peanut sauce was not spicy. We love their crème brulee, but the sugar topping was inconsistent, some not toasted, some just right and some burned. Desserts look great but flavor was missing on some. Several members of our party stated that they were very disappointed compared to previous visits.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.