About The Roof Restaurant

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 25 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2017
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas and New Years Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: (801) 539-1911

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (135)
Good for Anniversaries (134)
Scenic View (129)
See All
Romantic (112)
Good for a Date (108)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Worth the Drive (59)
Historic (58)
Live Music (56)
Cozy (41)
Seasonal (34)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Outstanding Value (21)
Fun (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Private Room (16)
Healthy (16)
Family Style (16)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (0)
Sort By:
S
1651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there for our Anniversary. Every ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We went there for our Anniversary. Everything was great. The only recommendation I have is not to go late because you will not be able to sleep because of how full you are lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is great. You pay for the ambi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

The view is great. You pay for the ambience. The wait staff was awesome, and the food is good. We enjoyed the piano and would go back on a special occasion. Otherwise it's a little pricey to visit often.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it trttythgvnghkjhukgyhcfhgyyrdgfth ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Love it trttythgvnghkjhukgyhcfhgyyrdgfthybxfdrhgyjkuhiu6fbfghtftrdg

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutley incredible! The service was w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutley incredible! The service was wonderful and the food was to die for. Perfect date night. Like a scene from a movie. Very romantic. Loved every bit of it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, , Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time.... I had called ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time.... I had called a few times to add another person.. Janae ( I think that was her name was) She was very helpful n accommodating . When we arrived it was for my daughters 12th bday. They had a special sign for her table.. It was a very sweet gesture.. We enjoyed the food n the view was breath taking.... We will for sure be returning.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with the roof. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

I was very impressed with the roof. The food was great, the view was awesome and the service was exceptional. I highly recommend to those searching for a nice bite to eat. 5 star review

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food will underwhelm you. The view w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food will underwhelm you. The view will impress you. Decide accordingly

Fantastic view of the city (Temple Square and west of it), especially after sunset. Go about 15 min before sunset.

Food was pretty good, selection was ok, but not nearly enough to justify the price. You pay for the view. It is a buffet but it is definitely no great value. Two people plus an average tip will put you above $100. That's a very pricey date. You go here maybe once for some special occasion but that's only if you place a high value on the view. Only a handful of food items are above average.

The food will underwhelm you. The view will impress you. Decide accordingly

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We are frequent diners and as usual, it ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

We are frequent diners and as usual, it was great. Crab legs, Wow! The tenderloin was awesome as well as the lobster mac and cheese. We were not disappointed and like every time, we ate too much. It was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dylan did a great job. Our overall dinin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Dylan did a great job. Our overall dining experience was fantastic

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here many, many times I love t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been here many, many times I love this place. This last time the live piano was a little louder than I would have liked. But, it wasn't loud enough for me to make a big deal or, even ask for the pianist to quiet it down, at all.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, my wife was very happ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I love this place, my wife was very happy, so I was happy for that reason, food delicious, all you can eat, love salmon, shrimps, meet etc

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Late-night Find, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, , Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love every thing about The Roof!! The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

I love every thing about The Roof!! The food is great & the ambiance is even better-- & you can't beat that view!!!

Tags: Romantic, , Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, feeling of not bein ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service, feeling of not being rushed and a tasty range of food options. Recommended without reservation.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed ... Veggies looked old...we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointed ... Veggies looked old...were moldy...too many cream based dishes...not impressive...too expensive for the lacking quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Jordan was our server and was fantastic, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Jordan was our server and was fantastic, very attentive and friendly. He went above and beyond for us. Thanks.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

jordan was our server took great care of ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

jordan was our server took great care of us and explained everything since it was our first time took pictures and etc very accomadating

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening, everything perfect, had a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great evening, everything perfect, had a great time with spouse and family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very attentive and profes ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was very attentive and professional. The restaurant was very well staffed and the food was absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for the occasion and very good f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect for the occasion and very good food, we have come several times

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was spectacular. The service wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The view was spectacular. The service was excellent and fun. The selection of main dishes was minimal. It looked like they were trying to squeeze in as many tables as possible then added the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good prime rib. A little pricey for the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good prime rib. A little pricey for the amount of food I could eat.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is an amazing restaurant especially ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant especially for those special occasions. Fantastic food, phenomenal view, and fabulous ambiance! Made our anniversary all that more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classy clean place for special occasio ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A classy clean place for special occasions or a special night out on the town. The waiter was very cool. We didn't have a table next to the window but when the one next to us opened up he let us move for a better view. Staff was very accommodating on our first time visiting. I do wish they would serve alcohol but given where this restaurant is located I will respect that they don't. All in all a very tasty meal. Definitely show up with an appetite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was just what be and my husband nee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was just what be and my husband needed after not being on a date in over a year , we was able to talk and look at the beautiful view and really enjoy ourselves without being rushed, our waitress was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We spoiled ourselves at our father's 90t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We spoiled ourselves at our father's 90th birthday dinner. He loved it, too! We reserved the private room for 15 (the private room could hold up to 18 comfprtably-20 in squeeze) of us. It was perfect to sit around a large round table. The parabolic ceiling allowed everyone to hear each other even across the table. The waitress (Berkeley) was charming, personable and totally awesome. It was a perfect evening. We all loved it tremendously!! Thank you, thank you.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, , Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Roof is all about the view of the LD ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Roof is all about the view of the LDS Temple and the State Capital Building. The lighting so dim enough so that you can see very well outside from the 10th floor restaurant.

Food-wise, it's ok. It's a buffet that's a notch above your bargain buffets but below some the Wynn Buffet at Las Vegas. Food selection is fairly limited:

  • A salad bar

  • A cheese/cracker bar

  • 3 soups

  • 5-6 main courses

  • Numerous desserts

I do appreciate that they recognize their Mormon roots of not having any alcohol at the restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Just a fun romantic place if you want a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Just a fun romantic place if you want a fancy dinner with a special date.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice quiet relaxed place. There a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

What a nice quiet relaxed place. There a pianist in the background playing nice contemporary and gospel music.

The view is amazing and it feels almost as if you are in an award dinner yourself.

Love the service from the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow. Food was go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was incredibly slow. Food was good and so was ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our waiter was attentive and very helpfu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and very helpful. The food was excellent. The music fit the mood of the room and the pianist played to the different occasions. The view is always incredible and it was quiet and private enough to wish others a happy anniversary but to have our own table conversation. We were pleased and will return again soon.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great the atmosphere was go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great the atmosphere was good. The seevice was excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The roof is a smaller, cozy dining exper ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The roof is a smaller, cozy dining experience on the top floor of the Joseph Smith building. There is good music played on the piano as you eat from a large choice of food, including a huge desert selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was really good but t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I thought the food was really good but to costly. Loved the view!!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I really enjoyed the piano music, the vi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the piano music, the view, the service was impeccable (Jordan, well done!) and the food and desserts were most excellent. It was pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the best time. The view was breat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had the best time. The view was breath taking. The service was run so smoothly. Thank you for a wonderful evening, we will be sure to recommend The Roof to our friends.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, , Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Good place to eat. We are h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very nice. Good place to eat. We are happy we decided on this restaurant. Great service and great food

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't know we need to ask days on adv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I didn't know we need to ask days on advace to get a table by the window..I asked the server she said they were all booked but stay there for about an hour and some tables were available.. Why they didn't put us on a table by wimdow??that was my only concern..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambiance of The Roof is elegant. It ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambiance of The Roof is elegant. It was so classy to have a live pianist there, and also our server was very prompt, and removed our dishes in a timely manner. It was a very worthwhile experience!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, wonderful food, very per ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Beautiful view, wonderful food, very personal attention by our server as it was our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was yummy other then the chic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Everything was yummy other then the chicken was a little dry. My hubby just loved the prime rib. We just loved it.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.