Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About The Roof Restaurant

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 25 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2017
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas and New Years Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: (801) 539-1911

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (118)
Good for a Date (111)
Special Occasion (110)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Scenic View (94)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Worth the Drive (52)
Live Music (47)
Historic (38)
Cozy (32)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (19)
Authentic (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Fun (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Modern Decor (11)
Family Style (11)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (9)
Private Room (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a fabulous time and wonderful food and choices! Service is impeccable and very worth the money and View, and the ambience of the piano music is so relaxing and enjoyable! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrating our 39th anniversary. Beautiful view of the Salt Lake temple where we were married. The food was delicious with a wide variety to choose from. The pianist was talented, tasteful and entertaining. Our server was friendly and attentive. A fabulous experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I love the Roof for special occasions both as a couple and with friends. The ambiance is always wonderful as is the food. We've never been disappointed in the many years we've been going there.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

The Roof restaurant is a great place for Anniversary, special occasions. I call it Gourmet buffe! especially the choice in dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Very happy with your visit. Would definitely go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

I liked it! Awesome view, the food didn't blow me away and it wasn't anything I couldn't find at Tucano's or, frankly, Chuck-A-Rama (apart from a couple of specialty dishes - soups, and creme brule for desserts).
You pay $100 at least, when you add up a couple of drinks, tax, and tip. Go in knowing that.
Definitely worth doing once though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not good. The beef and the prime rib were all well done. The lettuce was iceberg versus romaine. Food wasn't with the price you paid for the buffet.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I have'nt been to the Roof in a couple years and this trip was just as good as I remembered. The variety of choices was excellent and they all tasted great. The service was on point and friendly and the piano player was wonderful and takes requests! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Roof Restaurant totally exceeded our expectations! Great food, great service, wonderful atmosphere, and spectacular view! We LOVED it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was a wonderful way to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food, service, view were all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was fantastic. The buffet had a very nice selection. The atmosphere was great. Live music from a lovely piano player. The staff were friendly and attentive.
You can not beat the view from the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My wife and I weren't extremely impressed with the food, especially for the cost per plate. The dessert tray made up for it significantly, but the main and side dishes were less than impressive. The atmosphere and view were, of course, very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great! The music was the best. The young man who played the piano was very talented! The service was outstanding! They catered to us so well. We made a reservation for two and ended up with three the last minute and when we arrived they made room for us without showing us that it had inconvenienced them at all. We will come again and encourage anyone looking for a nice evening to try it out!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was great and the music was amazing and I would like to say a big thank you for whoever paid for mine and my dates dinner it really meant a lot and we both appreciate it (we were the couple in there for senior prom in the royal blue)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The overall experience was alright. The food was not worth the price you pay. We paid about $115 with the 20% tip and felt it WS way overpriced. The view is amazing, and the service is excellent. The waiters are very professional and the live pianist is a nice addition to the experience but the food wasn't amazing. I wouldn't go back if I had to pay for it myself, nor would I recommend a friend for this price. If it was half the cost I would probably go back but definitely not for $100.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The piano music, though very good, was a little too loud. It was a little difficult to hear conversation. The food was fantastic, lots of good things to choose from, especially the desserts! (Was there really coffee in the tiramisu??☺☺)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was ok ,deserts was old it didn't taste fresh, the service was the highlight of the night!we have been to the roof before and the food was really good,maybe because it was not the weekend? The place is really nice and clean always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was great! The ambience was amazing. My wife and I were on our first anniversary date, and the experience at the Restraunt was amazing. We will def visit again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was good, the view was wonderful, but the price of the meal was too high

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Roof is a beautiful restaurant, with a phenomenal view. The ambiance is lovely with a live pianist. That being said, the food options were not plentiful. I don't eat meat other than poultry. There was one option, which was gone both times I went to get it. The salad was a basic salad, though it looked like it was a salad bar. The options for dressing were ranch and blue cheese, neither of which my husband likes. If you were a meat eater this would be perfect, for someone that doesn't each much meat, not so much. I don't regret going, it was lovely, but I will probably go across the hall to the garden in the future. It was a little pricey for what I actually ate.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Go every year on our anniversary. 'Nuf said. Will be there next year. Salads are the best part along with the shrimp cocktails.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We came for my daughter's birthday. We enjoyed the view and were able to enjoy our groups conversation. We enjoyed the buffet and went back and sampled most everything. We all loved the Prime Rib with the horseradish sauce. Both were prepared just the way we like it. We thought most all the food was delicious! The pianist played Happy Birthday as they served birthday ice cream to her. We will be going back, the Roof is a family favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

To eat at the Rooftop you pay about $50 a plate, what do you get for that much? Fabulous service, beautiful vistas, and elegant piano music but that's it. In all honesty the food wasn't THAT great. Yes it's a buffet and you can eat all you want but it wasn't fabulous. The mashed potatoes are made from flakes, and all the sauces and soups taste prepackaged. Is it too harsh of me to say glorified cafeteria food? But everything else was great!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had heard for years, the Rooftop was a wonderful restaurant for a romantic dinner. Unfortunately, it did not live up to its reputation.

At $42 a person, you pay mostly for the view and ambiance. The food was just ok. It is a buffet not any better than a typical salad bar. For example, the ham at the carving station was horribly salty, the sweet and sour meatballs tasted like they were frozen and the desserts tasted store bought. Definitely not worth the cost. The best part of the entire dinner were the rolls.

Although the service was excellent and the view was beautiful, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. The food just does not taste of quality.

Tags: Disabled Access, Live Music, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This was our second time back and it was as good as the first! Great food, great views, and there's always a pianist playing throughout your entire meal which is wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was everything you could have hoped for from a gourmet restaurant. From the excellent food to the breathtaking view and superb service, nothing disappointed in the slightest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They don't know how to cook prime rib, they slice it very thin and it is usually over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, great view, fantastic food. Good service. A bit on the pricey side but for an occasional romantic date, this is the best place to go in Salt Lake. Park underneath building - validation for 3 hours.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was high quality, but a bit lacking in selection. Go to the salad wall, and there was no regular salad. Just pastas and such. Dessert bar was great. Rolls are awesome. The view is spectacular. The price is a bit high for the food, but it is what it is. You're paying for the overall. I wouldn't do it every week. But once a year seems alright.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Roof was a great place to spend a nice date night for my Husband's birthday! They made him feel super special and went over the top for his birthday but not embarrassing about it either! Love it will go back for sure!

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

While the food, view and service are great, unless one has a large appetite, the cost is out of proportion. As usual, the desserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This was a great meal with great service. I especially liked the leg of lamb

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The live piano was amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We booked the reservation based on the high number of gluten free options on the menu. We were disappointed to learn upon arrival that only the buffet was available.

For a restaurant that obviously caters to gluten free dining I was very disappointed that GF bread was not available. Also there is no reason that the clam chowder could not be GF. Finally, the GF desserts were terrible! With the 30 regular desserts-- a chocolate flourless cake would have been nice. Carrot cake with GF flour? To just have mousse or creme brûlée is disappointing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food, great views and atmosphere, great service. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was very good but I expected it to be outstanding at 42 dollars per person but we had a lot of fun and our waitress was so nice and the view is incredible. Very romantic. Went for our anniversary so it was a good place for that :)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It has a spectacular view and the staff was wonderful. I have nothing good to say about the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everybody was so nice. They would be passing through everyone making sure we were getting the service we needed😊 I would totally tell all my friends and family to come over. Really great experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our third time dining at The Roof and as before the food, service and atmosphere were all amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent food and very nice atmosphere. Perfect for a romantic date. Loved having the live music on the baby grand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.