Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About The Roof Restaurant

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 25 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2017
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas and New Years Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: (801) 539-1911

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (142)
Special Occasion (130)
Scenic View (127)
See All
Romantic (126)
Good for a Date (109)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Worth the Drive (65)
Historic (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Live Music (54)
Cozy (42)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Seasonal (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Business Meals (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (19)
Authentic (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Family Style (15)
Healthy (14)
Private Room (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (0)
Sort By:
S
1681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

The view is priceless and the live piano music was wonderful

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Great atmosphere! Great veiw! Worth every penny! Thank you.😀

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

We love The Roof! Great food, great atmosphere, great views!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Highly priced
Minimum food choice . I would rather go to Golden Corral then to go here again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great view and service. Food is good but not spectacular for the price. Would still recommend due to the view!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came to The Roof to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We had a fabulous table that overlooked the Salt Lake Temple. The food was good and the ambiance was great. Our server was so-so. The only thing we couldn't figure out is why the pianist played, "Happy Birthday" at least seven or eight times during the 90 minutes that we were dining.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was my wife's birthday. All my children exist of their spouses were there. Everything was perfect.

Too pricy for regular visits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The waitress was fantastic, as was the staff as a whole. The music was great as was the view. A terrific restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thanks for the special treatment we received at the Roof! We were celebrating a birthday and graduation. We felt important and our waitress was awesome! The piano adds so much to the ambiance. And the view!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It was a perfect meal for our 3rd anniversary! Allie was our waitress and did a wonderful job! We requested a table with a great view of the temple and that's exactly what we got! Such a great night with wonderful piano music and good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband and I love to go to The Roof for our special occasions! The wait staff and the environment are perfect for the great escape from the kids and work. Thank you for a great experience

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was difficult to get beyond the appetizer tables. I was headed for a salad to start, but began on the appetizer of the large table. Half way around I had a plate full of tempting, and delicious appetizers. I never made it back to the salad. The entrees were very good. There were so many desserts to choose from I wound up sampling four. From an eating perspective everything ranged from excellent to good. Of course a mid-week table overlooking Temple Square at night from the 10th floor was an excellent choice regardless of your religious affiliation. Of course there is a price to be paid. It is not cheap, but I felt I received good value for the price. Dinner for 2 around $100 + tip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was our first experience eating at The Roof. We went to celebrate my dad's birthday. They had the most amazing food, and dessert. Our waiter went above and beyond to make sure our first experience was superb. We never had to ask for another roll, or any refill of drinks because he gave us exceptional service. The view was absolutely breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this place for any special occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at the Roof. The food was warm and we were pleased with the variety of salads, tapas, entrees, and desserts. Beware of being too close to the piano as it is difficult to converse with others. the piano is a little loud.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome service & view!! A variety of food to choose from. Ambiance was wonderful. We really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I was very impressed with the staff. And I love the view and the

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waiter was absolutely amazing! He made the entire experience so much better. This was such an amazing night thanks to The Roof staff and the amazing food. Can't get a better view!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at The Roof. The view was unbeatable. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Second time at the Roof and it did not disappoint. The food and service is great and the views are even better. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I celebrate our anniversary at The Roof almost every year and are NEVER disappointed. It is spendy, which reserves it for special occasions, but we can't beat the view with the fantastic service, beautiful live piano music, and delicious assortment of food. There is something for everyone here, 2 somethings in the desserts! :)

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were quite surprised that neither coffee, not alcohol was served. Not a show stopper, but we think the information should be listed on the website. Many visitors to your beautiful city and beautiful restaurant are respectful of, but unfamiliar with the church's policies. i.e. Coca Cola products with caffeine are served, but not black tea or coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We have been working on the "top 10" list of restaurants in Park City and Salt Lake City . Most have been world class incredible . This one was very disappointing and ordinary , no surprises and the food resembled a national chain quality which was expensive at $45!!!

*also please note : NO liquor served and a 90 minute limit on your table ( as in eat and go!)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My wife loved it! I will come back for sure. This dumb review is making me type 50 characters when all I wanted to say was that we loved you. @opentable, you should change that requirement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Was a very good night for my wife and I celebrating both our anniversary and her birthday. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the view. They even brought out a small dessert for my wife while the pianist played a fancy version of happy birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Very good food and selection. view of the city great. staff was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Overall not worth the approximately 100 dollars. All of the entrees were all very average, I tried all of them and had no desire to go back for more. A few of the food containers would burn your hand from the steam that would come out when opened. All of the deserts were average, looked like a few were just purchased at Costco. I've always heard the Roof to be classy, but there were a ton of people wearing jeans, hats, sandals, etc. The piano player was great, though. Table was pretty small, the view was great from our perfectly placed table, but that put us next to two bigger tables that each had young kids making a ton of noise. I wouldn't suggest this for anything other than the "experience" of eating at The Roof. If you're looking for a complete experience of a two person meal that's worth 100 dollars, id suggest going elsewhere. It was my Wife's birthday and they were nice enough to bring her a dessert with a candle in it, but the dessert was completely gross. The waitress was very kind, though.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Roof restaurant is a Salt Lake City classic. The view of the LDS Temple is spectacular and the food is delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The server was excellent and the food was deluxe

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went there for our Anniversary. Everything was great. The only recommendation I have is not to go late because you will not be able to sleep because of how full you are lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was way too expensive and not even that good. Don't waste your time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love this restaurant. I wish i could bring 5 stomachs. The young man cutting the meat the Friday we attended was professional and courteous. Way to go! we will hopefully remember to call in sooner in attempt to get maybe a table that's not put back in the corner, but all the same, worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The buffet menu is not out of the extraordinary. The menu doesn't match the location and price, very limited. Still a good place to celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The view is great. You pay for the ambience. The wait staff was awesome, and the food is good. We enjoyed the piano and would go back on a special occasion. Otherwise it's a little pricey to visit often.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love it trttythgvnghkjhukgyhcfhgyyrdgfthybxfdrhgyjkuhiu6fbfghtftrdg

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutley incredible! The service was wonderful and the food was to die for. Perfect date night. Like a scene from a movie. Very romantic. Loved every bit of it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was our first time.... I had called a few times to add another person.. Janae ( I think that was her name was) She was very helpful n accommodating . When we arrived it was for my daughters 12th bday. They had a special sign for her table.. It was a very sweet gesture.. We enjoyed the food n the view was breath taking.... We will for sure be returning.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was very impressed with the roof. The food was great, the view was awesome and the service was exceptional. I highly recommend to those searching for a nice bite to eat. 5 star review

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food will underwhelm you. The view will impress you. Decide accordingly

Fantastic view of the city (Temple Square and west of it), especially after sunset. Go about 15 min before sunset.
Food was pretty good, selection was ok, but not nearly enough to justify the price. You pay for the view. It is a buffet but it is definitely no great value. Two people plus an average tip will put you above $100. That's a very pricey date. You go here maybe once for some special occasion but that's only if you place a high value on the view. Only a handful of food items are above average.

The food will underwhelm you. The view will impress you. Decide accordingly

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We are frequent diners and as usual, it was great. Crab legs, Wow! The tenderloin was awesome as well as the lobster mac and cheese. We were not disappointed and like every time, we ate too much. It was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dylan did a great job. Our overall dining experience was fantastic

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.