Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About The Roof Restaurant

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 25 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2017
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas and New Years Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Private dining rooms to compliment The Roof Restaurant are also located in the historic downtown Joseph Smith Memorial Building. The location, elegant atmosphere and neo-gothic architecture make the Joseph Smith Memorial Building a premier location for any event.

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (111)
Good for a Date (103)
Special Occasion (102)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Scenic View (83)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Live Music (47)
Worth the Drive (45)
Cozy (32)
Business Meals (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Historic (20)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Healthy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience! The food was very good, the service was excellent and the view was breathtaking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The atmosphere was very pleasant. For that level of dinner, the food could have been better, more on a gourmet level. The service was great and attentive. Our family enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

For our special occasion, it was beyond perfect! The food was outstanding. Price was good. Our server was very hospitable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful service from beginning to end. Made the whole evening very special. Amazing food, ambience pianist, beautiful view!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The Roof is amazing! The food is wonderful, from the prime rib to the soups, sides, salads and desserts. It is a gourmet buffet! My wife and I were in Salt Lake visiting family and made a point of visiting The Roof - it is our all time favorite restaurant! We loved the live piano music too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The environment and service was great but the food was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Loved the live piano music! Great seating and great food!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very nice inside, great view. Expectation of the food experience was high and did not come close to meeting up. "Good" buffet . With a better expectation, would have appreciated more. We'd pick the more casual restaurant next door next time. (Not a surprise in SLC, but no wine)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I love coming to The Roof for special occasions. I have a dining card so we get $25 off for birthdays. The food is wonderful although I usually don't get the special dishes but only the prime rib. My daughter loves everything , however. I was not happy about being charged extra for the gratuity. I know why you do this but I always tip on the full amount before the discount. I put part of my meal on a gift card and part on a visa. I was charged 18% on my full meal and then charged again on the $25 that I put on the card which came to $19 on two meals at $42 a piece. I also bought flowers and don't see why a tip was charged on those. The service was good but not that good. Thanks.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It was fantastic for our anniversary. The view was breath taking and the service was friendly and catering. I never had an empty drink. The live pianist played beautifully. The food taste great too

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Interesting setting- operated by Mormon Church. Staff couldn't be nicer. Food was good and plentiful and varied and served buffet style. Very good but uninspired. Prefix price was reasonable. Given setting, no alcohol or coffee available. It's what you would expect from a high-end Mormon establishment. Views at sunset were magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The atmosphere and service were impeccable! I wish more restaurants had this level of service and beautiful atmosphere. But that being said, the food was just okay. It looked really yummy and very professionally plated but the taste itself was nothing to write home about. I'd be willing to try it again in a few years but for the high price $$$$$$$ I wish the food was worth it. You're definitely paying for the fine dining experience and the view of the temple, but again food was not worth that kind of money.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I was excited to make a reservation at The Roof. I didn't check prices before going, not realizing it would be $40/person. It was definitely not worth it. The food was good, but not THAT good. The waiter we had was wonderful, though. The live piano music was a nice touch, too. We probably won't be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Chuck-a-rama has better food. The food was so disappointingly mediocre my daughter skipped the entrees altogether and I didn't finish mine. The desserts were nice but certainly don't deserve the title best dessert bar in Salt Lake. You're billed extra for the view. Not worth it. I've wanted to eat there for so long and was really disappointed in the food. I wouldn't recommend this as fine dining, ever and there have to be better buffets in Salt Lake. If you want a nice view, be prepared to shell out a lot of dough for that view. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We came for my husband's birthday as we have done in the past. It is a wonderful dining experience although we were a little disappointed that the prices had gone up again since his last birthday! Good food and great atmosphere, but a little pricey. Don't know if we can do it again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We held our 40th anniversary dinner with our five children and their spouses in the library room. Jan and Forrest served us and went beyond anything we could have expected. It was a special dinner with delicious food, great environment, and a night we will always remember. We gave our daughters each an heirloom ring and the families a special book. Thank you for such a great establishment. I highly recommend the Roof.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food and service were excellent but the buffet styled dining was cumbersome in it's layout and overpriced

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My daughter and I's experience at the Roof was fabulous. At the time our reservation was made, we had requested a view of the salt lake temple which was honored. The ambiance was relaxing and provided us the opportunity to strengthen our relationship. The food was delicious. Our favorite salad was the sweet potato and apple salad which we hope to try to make ourselves. I had the shrimp bisque. It was creamy, well seasoned, and ended with a slight kick. Not spicy, but a delicious finish. There were many things to choose from for the entrees. We tried most of them. We both agreed that our favorite was the chicken cordon blue in the Alfredo sauce. It was delicious. If you love desserts, make sure to visit both dessert tables. There are over twenty feet of tasty, delightful sweet treats.
The Waite staff was knowledgeable of the menu and offered personal recommendations, which were welcomed. They were helpful in identifying gluten free items on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The buffet was delicious. There was a wide variety of options and the desserts were to die for. We tried one of each. The price was a little more than just a night out, $42 an adult (soft drink included but not specialty drinks), for just me and my wife it cost us a little over $120 with tip. But the Atmosphere more than made up for the price: live piano music, absolutely amazing view, and personal touches. We'll go back. Again and again.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very nice view of temple square. Nice ambience. The night we were there a huge tourist group arrived making the lines impossible. I overheard many tourist express disappointment that their was no alcohol. Someone should have book them somewhere else. Try to go when it's not packed with old people. The piano player should practice before performing - distracting to the ambience. The Food is good with a large variety. You have to serve yourself but are required to pay 18% gratuity. I told my grandchildren they would find something to eat that would be more tasty than anything they had ever eating. That proved untrue for them and myself.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I brought a group from out of town and there wasn't one disappointed diner. They loved the food and they loved the view. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Sadly we can not give this resteraunt a good reference. Each time we have gone back to it we leave disappointed. We will not be returning to it ever again. Too many things wrong to write them all in this review!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Awesome location, service, and food. Went for our anniversary and would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was really good however I felt ignored by our waiter Spencer. He only came around 2 times during our meal and then took 40 minutes after we were done eating to bring us our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The view was great. The food selection was poor. For instance, the salad bar included lettuce, croutons, mixed vegetables, and dressing.

The other issue I had was the chaos. You can go through the line from either direction. At a price of $100 for two make it organized.

The dessert selection was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a great table with an unobstructed view of the temple. The food was quite good with ample selections though a bit pricey. The service for the most part was very good. I would not rush back but I would not be opposed to going with someone that wanted the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Amazing food, I just wish there was more vegetarian friendly options. For it being a buffet and being $50 per person I wish we wouldn't have had to just dine on salad, cheese, and one kind of pasta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

As always, wonderful selection on the buffet...to die for desserts. Waitstaff is excellent. View is fantastic. We always bring out of state guests. Perfect way to see Temple Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

With views of the Salt Lake Temple, and the sun going down, this is a place to take your significant other for a romantic evening. There were some families there with younger children, but The Roof is mainly set up for couples, or smaller group seating (4-6 people per table). If nothing else, just come for the desserts! There is no lack of them! Everything from basic strawberries with whipped cream to chocolate mint ganache torte.
There is also a live piano player that adds to the nice romantic atmosphere. Will definitely be coming back when we make it back to Salt Lake City!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My experience was similar to others that have been left. Food was OK, servers were nice, but I saw them only one time, and had to flag someone down to refill drinks. Big negative, was the windows were so dirty, we couldn't even get a good view of the temple, nor take a decent picture. Pretty expensive for what you get. Fine for a one in a few years experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We have come to The Roof for our anniversary dinner for a number of years. We were very disappointed this time. The piano music has always been a highlight, but this time the pianist played very loudly. Instead of playing classical music and some movie and Broadway tunes, he played a lot of jazz music. He is a very good pianist, but his music was not appropriate in this setting. In an expensive restaurant, we expected quiet background music, not a loud concert. We could not even speak to each other because the music was so loud. We were also disappointed in some of the food. We were given a very thin slice of prime rib, and it was not very flavorful. The chicken cordon bleu was bland, and the carrot cake was dry. The tartar sauce for the cold salmon was very plain and tasted almost like straight mayonnaise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Exquisite! It was an amazing view and great food and music, kind of expensive but it was worth it in my opinion

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The atmosphere here was absolutely perfect for a date night. The view at night was spectacular. I really enjoyed the pianist who was playing this night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

we had a great dinner; the service was perfect--the piano playing was a little too energetic for me--but it was still good.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Upscale dinner buffet in a pleasant room with a great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Jam and meat were not tasty. Some deserts were simple. Should have more options of soups, not just one. Butter for bread Should be butter not whipping cream.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food. You could not find a better buffet anywhere. Five star restaurant with all you can eat. Don't forget the desert. Best food in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A beautiful walk through the historic building to the elevator is the beginning of an elegant dining experience with views from the 10th floor, a courteous staff, and delicious buffet-style food, including a fish which we had never heard of, served in roulettes, that was exceptionally tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Always a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The only thing my husband and I were disappointed with were the desserts

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.