About The Roof Restaurant

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.
HOLIDAY PRICING NOVEMBER 25 THROUGH JANUARY 1, 2017
HOLIDAY PRICING - Adult $49.95, Vegetarian $35.00, Children 7-11 $20.00 Children 4-6 $10.00
Christmas and New Years Eve - Adult $59.95, Vegetarian $49.95, Children 7-11 $34.95, Children $24.95

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: 8015391911x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (122)
Special Occasion (120)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
See All
Romantic (101)
Good for a Date (87)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Live Music (53)
Historic (52)
Worth the Drive (46)
Cozy (33)
Seasonal (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Business Meals (21)
Fun (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Healthy (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Family Style (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Private Room (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Waterfront (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent deserts, outstanding views, re ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent deserts, outstanding views, reserve far in advance for the best views (can reserve up to 18 months in advance)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Roof is THE restaurant for that spec ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

The Roof is THE restaurant for that special occasion. We went, again, for our anniversary. The food was excellent, as always. Everything we ate was delicious, fresh, and flavorful. The ham is like eating candy. Wow!! I could go on and on about the food, soup, salad, desserts, all of it. Fabulous. Our server, Ryland, was extremely professional and took care of our every need and was very attentive to our needs without being overbearing or nosy. He was excellent. The pianist was incredible. The variety of music she played helped create the perfect ambiance for our special occasion. We will be going back...just not soon enough!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Service was top notch ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing!! Service was top notch! Ryland was a great server and was amazing the whole night.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED the whole experience. The live mus ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

LOVED the whole experience. The live music was fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I knew little about the restaurant befor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I knew little about the restaurant before going in, and I've never been to a place that requires a reservation before. My date and I were surprised to hear the live pianist, mostly playing Disney tunes. The buffet had a wide selection of different styles of foods and many different desserts, and there was someone who personally sliced prime rib and ham. Most of the food was not much better to me in taste than Chuck-A-Rama, but this place is not entirely about the food anyway. My favorite food was the scallops and the meatballs.

They offer Lion House rolls which are passed out by the people who bus the tables and get drinks, and those rolls are always nice. I ordered a drink that was pomegranite-cranberry with sprite. The usual garnish is mint, but I requested a cranberry garnish instead. My date had the mango smoothie. Both drinks were delicious, though non-refillable. But you can order all the regular soda you want.

The ambiance and the view are the main reasons for this place, I think. Dimmed lighting, electric candles, and personal tables for two make for a romantic atmosphere which is highlighted with the scenery overlooking the LDS temple and capitol building. Beautiful in the dark of night, but going earlier in the day during Summer may be problematic since the sun would be shining directly on you regardless of your table.

Most everyone working there seemed very nice. Our busser hardly seemed cheerful, though. She was not rude, but it was apparent that she was just as pleased for us to not be there. Also keep in mind that generic gift cards like AMEX or VISA are not the most reliable here. I was told this when I handed the cards I had saved up to pay. My $20 card was fine, but my $50 card only went for $30 which was unfortunate; perhaps only $30 for any gift cards like these will work.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The view was beautiful. The food was OK. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The view was beautiful. The food was OK. I really wanted filet mignon and it was not on the menu that day. The pianist was OK. The service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, decor, view, music but th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service, decor, view, music but the food is very average. Not bad, just average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought the food was great. Beautifu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We thought the food was great. Beautiful scenery, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The famous Lion House rolls were dry and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The famous Lion House rolls were dry and microwaved to warm them. A disappointment. Every thing else was great.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Roof was great. The price is definit ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Roof was great. The price is definitely for the view. The food wasn't bad at all, but like I said, the price was for the view. Our waitress was fantastic. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Top of the line ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great food and service. Top of the line dining experience. We will definitely be eating at The Roof again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a little pricey, but I knew goin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It was a little pricey, but I knew going into it what I was paying. I didnt feel like I ate 45.00 dollars worth but it was good none the less.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good was alright, but wouldn't go for th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good was alright, but wouldn't go for the food. Ambiance is what you pay for

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to The Roof several times. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to The Roof several times. Every time we go we are so impressed with the great quality of food. The experience is always so elegant. I absolutely LOVE this restaurant!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was pretty good but probably no ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was pretty good but probably not quite worth the price. What you pay for is the view and the location. Worth going if you can sit by the window.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The roof and its location is always enjo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The roof and its location is always enjoyable. The food I found to be good but not great. The piano player was excellent. Service was professional but not a lot of interaction with our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went there for my girl's bday, which hap ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for my girl's bday, which happens to be New Year's Eve. We immediately felt overdressed when we were seated, even though they made sure we understood "no jeans or casual attire allowed" when I made the reservation. The place was loaded with tweens wearing beanies and skinny jeans. No order whatsoever...people cutting in line, yelling, etc. Had I known it was a buffet style, I wouldn't have bothered. I guess we should've known something wasn't right when we were reading over the menu outside in the lobby..."Filet Minion". Yes people, grammar actually does matter. All in all, it wasn't too bad if you're looking to go out for a buffet style meal. The view was really good, but it definitely wasn't worth my $130.00.....yes, 130.00. Wayyyyyyy too pricey for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We have gone to The Roof Restaurant 4 ye ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have gone to The Roof Restaurant 4 years in a row now for Our New Year's Eve celebration and dinner. Everything was perfect, except for the crab. The two crab bowls were empty when we arrived and then we needed to ask for more crab and finally it was placed out but then almost immediately it was gone again. Other patrons ate the crab so fast that the crab bowls were empty again. As you can guess I love crab and not much crab was consumed by our party because of the sparseness of the crab. Also, I think the portions of prime rib were cut too small. Other than that the night was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Roof is a spectacular buffet overloo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Roof is a spectacular buffet overlooking Temple Square that cannot disappoint. The food is great, the desserts are done of the best I've ever had. Quality, not just some sugared-up concoctions but crafted. The main dishes are always the best, freshest cuts cooked right. The atmosphere and view speak for themselves. Celebrating at the Roof is always a great idea.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Ro ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Roof restaurant at the top of Hotel Utah. The buffet was fantastic from the salads and appetizers, to the prime rib and king crab legs, to the delicious desserts. Servers were friendly and helpful, even taking pictures with the Mormon Temple in the background. We will return for this experience if we have future visits to SLC.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great night. Great food, service ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a great night. Great food, service and view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Amazing ambiance , fun time, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Food, Amazing ambiance , fun time, amazing service. will be back for sure!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely atmosphere-the seating i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was a lovely atmosphere-the seating is close. We came for a holiday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been to the Roof Restaurant sever ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been to the Roof Restaurant several times and each time I find the experience to be wonderful. It is very nice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As other reviewers have mentioned, the p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As other reviewers have mentioned, the price is quite high for the quality of food. It was very delicious, though. $20 was an awful lot for a 7-year old who only ate a plate of pasta, a few shrimp and a dessert. The view is incredible, so that was worth a portion of the price tag. I would have expected it to be less crowded and hectic-feeling at the buffet, but there were a lot of people. I almost lost a bowl of hot soup to a child running under my arm. The service was great. All in all a good experience, but I think I'll go elsewhere next time if I plan to spend $350 on a night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great experience as always. However, th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience as always. However, the food wasn't as good this year. The Prime Rib was lacking, the medallions were not tender, the salads were so so.

The scampi was excellent along with the pork. Desserts were excellent as always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect night out. The king crab additio ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Perfect night out. The king crab addition was the icing on the cake.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Brunch, , Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for any occasion, service ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing place for any occasion, service was outstanding, the food was so delicious. The ambiance makes the visit complete. I would highly recommend The Roof to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time dinning at The R ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first time dinning at The Roof and we had a great time. Our waitress was extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was so fun and perfect for our special occasion. We loved the live piano music and the view. My only complaint was I got full too quick and wish I could have tasted more of the beautiful food. There was such a wide selection at the buffet, it was incredibly difficult to choose what to sample. We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Enjoyed dinner, however, the portion siz ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed dinner, however, the portion sizes from the buffet (meats) were WAY to big for us. We felt like we were wasting food. Would have preferred smaller portions so we could enjoy everything. Crab was excellent (everyone else thought the same since we had to wait forever for a fresh plate to be brought out) worth it though. Live piano was nice but a bit loud so as to hear over all of the talking. You know trying to out do each other.

A bit pricey but good. We dressed nice but there were many guests wearing jeans and t shirts ( in the middle of winter?). All in all a fun experience though

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing view, for not a bad price. Food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing view, for not a bad price. Food is ok but not great. Worth it for the location..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

The bacon wrapped beef medallions were s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The bacon wrapped beef medallions were so over cooked I could hardly cut through them. Had to wait too long for some items and when I went to the dessert bar there was hardly anything left. Shrimp scampie was very tasty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When we arrived for our reservation the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation the Matre-de' would not seat us because he said we only had a reservation for 2 people. After about 15 minutes he came up with a table for 4 but it was not in view of the Temple grounds which we had requested. Also, he was rather snippy about the whole situation (wanted a tip???).

The food was only marginal...very fatty prime rib...it was recommended by our waiter to try the mini-steaks wrapped in bacon, but the serving bowl was always empty when I tried to get some.

In general the service and food at The Roof has deteriorated over the past 3 t0 4 years we have been attending. We will search for another place in SLC for dining...The experience is not worth the money or trouble.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful Family Christmas Dinner Venue. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful Family Christmas Dinner Venue. Food and service was very good. Love the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have made this a tradition for years. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have made this a tradition for years. There was not much food in the buffet and once it was gone.....the food wasn't replenished.

Our servers were busy with a big party so we didn't see them much however they were nice.

Overpriced food we felt and will be looking for a new tradition unfortunately....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We had an excellent view of the capital ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had an excellent view of the capital and temple square. The food was very good, the piano music was excellent, the deserts were decadent. The service was pretty good. The holiday buffet included shrimp and crab legs.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great dinner for our anniversar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great dinner for our anniversary. The food and service was excellent. Unfortunately we were seated in the corner with a poor view. There were empty seats with better views while we ate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to The Roof a number of time ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have been to The Roof a number of times over the past 15 years (at least annually). With rare exception, the food is always of exceptional quality (my last visit Dec '16, the beef medallions were rather tough). The service staff has always been very good to usually superior.

This last time, we were seated next to the piano (didn't know this until we were shown to our table). If you are dining alone, it would be wonderful. However, it is loud enough, that table conversation is a nuisance to share, without being loud.

My only complaint about The Roof, is the cost. I fully recognize that high-end dining will have a higher price tag, due to quality of the food and the experience of the staff. It does however feel like it is overpriced.

I would love to see the discounted price, Saturday lunch buffet return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful. More about the experience th ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful. More about the experience than the food. It is a nice buffet though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very beautiful ambience with attentive s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very beautiful ambience with attentive service. Food is delicious, salad super fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.