About The Roof Restaurant

15 East South Temple
10th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84150
View Larger Map

The Roof Restaurant is Utah’s premier gourmet dining buffet. With breathtaking views of Temple Square and Downtown Salt Lake City, The Roof is a fusion of inspiring views and extravagant food. Chef Pedro Mauricio prepares international cuisine with daily regulars for a dynamic menu. Additionally, we offer a world-renowned dessert buffet with an abundance of delicious choices. Note: no alcohol or coffee is served.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 539-1911

Website:
http://www.templesquare.com/dining/the-roof-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live piano music every night and during select daytime special event openings.

Parking Details:
The Joseph Smith Memorial Building Underground Parking has a in-street entrance is on South Temple street. Please enter west-bound on South Temple. As you turn onto South Temple, the entrance is on the left. At the bottom of the ramp, turn right to enter the Joseph Smith Memorial Building garage.

Executive Chef:
Pedro Mauricio

Private Party Facilities:
Consider holding your business dinner or family gathering in "The Library," a private room on the North end of the restaurant with a view of Temple Square, The Conference Center, The Utah State Capitol Building, The Church Office Building, and Downtown Salt Lake City. One large round table creates a comfortable atmosphere for all guests. This unique table accommodates large parties of 10-16 people.

Private Party Contact:
Reservation Desk: 8015391911x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

The Roof Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
6 More
Special Occasion
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

Special Occasion (107)
Scenic View (106)
Romantic (88)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Live Music (37)
Worth the Drive (29)
Historic (27)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (19)
Business Meals (15)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (8)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Atmosphere and service were great. I di ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Atmosphere and service were great. I did not feel the food was worth the holiday adjusted price of $49. I think I would have preferred the food at tucanos more. Not sure we will be back

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was good as usual. The selection at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good as usual. The selection at the warm area was as good as I've had. (Although the seafood cakes were really fishy)

The selection of deserts was way down. It wasn't super busy so I'm guessing that might have been the reason. They had the most popular ones. And they were all delicious.

In the end the food was good and the view was the best you can have during the holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, great place... it's a gre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, great place... it's a great place to celebrate special occasions...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was Great but the service was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was Great but the service was okay. I woukd say that it is great for date night though.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have come several years to celebrate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have come several years to celebrate our anniversary. This year the food was very disappointing. Rolls were cold, shrimp was waterlogged, crab was dry, bacon wrapped medallions were raw and cold, soup was cold, fish was very strong fishy odor. Better food at Chuck a Rama and for much less. About the only thing that was good were the desserts. There were plenty of seats in front of windows and we were seated away from windows and no one ever filled those seats while we were there for 90 mins. Waiter was delightful.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Although we had reservations for 5pm we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Although we had reservations for 5pm we were not seated until nearly 5:30 which was a little frustrating. The aisles were a little narrow but people were courteous so it wasn't too big of a problem. I was disappointed we could get neither cocktails nor coffee, yes we understand the city and it's location, but depending on our guests, we may choose another restaurant over this one for that reason. With that said, this was still a great restaurant, the view, the service, and, of course the food, were all excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime Rib is never rare enough. Many fr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Prime Rib is never rare enough. Many friends have told me that is their biggest reason they do not go. IF you enjoy rare Prime Rib this is not the place. Enjoyed the crab legs though. Desserts are lacking in flavor. All of the women in our group (7) said the same thing. Chocolates were not chocolate tasting except for the mousse. Cheesecake was not tasty. Disappointed overall in the desserts.

Tags: Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Food and Service were outstanding! I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Food and Service were outstanding! I would highly recommend the Roof Restaurant to anyone. We happen to go to celebrate a special birthday and it was well worth it. Everyone had a lovely evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We told the servers that all the meat wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We told the servers that all the meat was all over cooked to the point of being to hard to cut.

They just laughed.

We told the servers that the carrot cake was dry like a biscuit.

The servers all laughed.

We told the servers we need to leave and take the food to our dog.

The servers stopped laughing.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food is very good. It is pricey especia ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food is very good. It is pricey especially considering it's a buffet. we go because if ambiance mainly. I found a hair in mt articoke and showed my server. While I understand it wasn't anyone's "fault" I would think there shoukd have been an adjustment. Obviosly I didn't enjoy "eating" after that happened.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I was so disappointed in our dinner; fir ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I was so disappointed in our dinner; first of all the entrée choices as I prefer white meat and the only options were beef, beef, fish and stuffed peppers. The veggies were cold and so were the potatoes. That's not the issue I had a tray for empty dishes behind my head and it was annoying to see it filling up with dirty plates and silverware. My worst part was almost immediately after dinner I had to rush to ladies restroom; I had extreme cramps and chills which lasted for about 4 hours following dinner; my husband experienced the same but not to same extent as me. I thought the seasonal bouquet was OK but could have been a little nicer, most of my flowers are already dead.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We shared our anniversary with 2 other c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We shared our anniversary with 2 other couples. Simply the BEST.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed that we were told ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was very disappointed that we were told to be there at 6:45 for a 7pm reservation. Our entire party of 12 was there as told, but we were not seated until 7:30!

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for our anniversary. Loved t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went there for our anniversary. Loved the prime rib - wish you got a thicker slice but you can always go back for seconds or thirds or more. Good selection of proteins and also carbs. French Onion soup was a bit salty - had reduced down sitting in the warming tray. The desserts were to die for - they were some of the best desserts I have tasted. The bread pudding was especially good and the little dishes of creme brulee were really good. There was a piano player who played the songs I requested including a Metallica song (Nothing Else Matters). She also played a Journey song for us. It was a mopst memorable evening. Oh, and I forgot to mention, if you are LDS the view is unforgettable - if you are not LDS the view is really interesting.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a generally good time at dinner. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a generally good time at dinner. While I'd continue to recommend The Roof for a pleasant dinning experience, I would add the caviat that the food was just average. Our reservation was for 8pm and by the time we got there most all of the buffet items had been thoroughly picked through. The kitchen staff we also slow to refresh the various trays, if at all. We were informed by our waitress that there was a fresh cheese selection newly added to the menu but when we went up to the buffet there was little if any cheese selection left. All in all it was an ok dining experience, quite honestly the desert selection was probably the best part of the menu. But for a special occasion or for fine dining i would have expected more.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was another great, romantic and lovel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was another great, romantic and lovely time! Food, desserts and the view was just spectacular

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lindsi was our waitress and was kind and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lindsi was our waitress and was kind and very professional. WE had taken my mother out for her 84th birthday and from assistance with photographs to the hug she gave Lindsi after we finished dining, dinner was picture perfect. Food was awesome as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is fantastic. Attentive servers ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The view is fantastic. Attentive servers let you forget you are at a buffet restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The view was amazing, depending on where ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The view was amazing, depending on where you sit and the live piano music was nice although a touch loud depending on where you were at in the restaurant. My only concern was the price for what you get is a little steep. 42 bucks a person was not worth the amount/type of food served. Called gourmet buffet, but I've seen the same selections at a Chuck o' Rama. Very nice for a date though if you are looking to go somewhere for an anniversary dinner or a date night with a nice view and that upscale scene. I only gave it a 3 overall because of the food because it is a restaurant after all and I am there to eat. The device and view don't fill my stomach.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the reasons you go to the Roof Re ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of the reasons you go to the Roof Restaurant is for the view of the Salt Lake Temple. We were given a table in a corner, with no view at all. We were told that we should have made the reservation 4 to 6 months ago to ensure that we would have a good table location. When you pay that kind of money for an evening out, you expect a lot more.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Great view of temple square and Salt Lak ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great view of temple square and Salt Lake City. Great food and service. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual. Food is superb, ele ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent as usual. Food is superb, elegant atmosphere. One of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was above average, service was sub ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was above average, service was sub par. View was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We really enjoyed ourselves at the Roof. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves at the Roof. WE were celebrating our anniversary, and we may make this a tradition every year. It was delicious and the options were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to the roof to celebrate our 16t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We went to the roof to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. The food was excellent and there was a wide variety to choose from. Waiters and staff were friendly. It wasn't crowded (probably because we came on election night). The piano music was very nice, although if you are sitting too close to it, you have a hard time communicating with the people in your party. Cost of the meal prohibits this from being more of a regular experience, but something that has to be reserved for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening. Great food. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Great food. Good view. Would love to go again

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good indeed. We didn' ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good indeed. We didn't go there just for the food though, oh no. We went there because it seemed to be the best and most memorable place we could take our mother for her 80th birthday in Utah. The whole experience of just being there at such a accommodating restaurant was a wonderful moment to cherish for ever. Thank you The Roof Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We liked the view and the food was very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We liked the view and the food was very nicely done and tasted really good.

The people who greet you though, were not very friendly. I saw another couple come out muttering that they were "so uppity." I can see why the comment.

Loved the view too! We really loved the pianist, but it was too loud to talk easily.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I think it is a great location and a bea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I think it is a great location and a beautiful view of Temple Square. It was a great evening to spend for my wife's birthday. I feel it is a little overpriced for some people that are not big eaters. I guess if you eat a lot of food then it pays off but not for those of us that are not large eaters.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While attending a genealogy conference t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

While attending a genealogy conference two friends and I greatly enjoyed a special dinner at The Roof. The service was impeccable! And, the food was excellently prepared and presented. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our experience and would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought business associates from out ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We brought business associates from out of town for a uniquely Utah experience. The view was fabulous and the buffet setting was ideal to cater to each individual's tastes and food requirements. The food was delicious and well prepared and presented and the dessert bar was out of this world!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must do in Salt Lake City! Stunning v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

A must do in Salt Lake City! Stunning views, wonderful surroundings and the food is exceptional. Save room for dessert as there are many!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks to everyone at the roof restauran ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Thanks to everyone at the roof restaurant it was a great night

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hubby and I were in town for a romantic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Hubby and I were in town for a romantic getaway. We have always wanted to eat here, but always have a gaggle of kids with us. This was our turn!! It didn't disappoint!

Fabulous food.

Gorgeous views.

Best evening in a long time.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved our table with the view of the tem ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Loved our table with the view of the temple!

Our waitress was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server was fantastic.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and fun atmosphere. Great for ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Beautiful and fun atmosphere. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

not to convenient or easy to get a reser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

not to convenient or easy to get a reservation. Called twice left messages nobody called me in 24 hours.

Finally I went on line and made a reservation. After the reservation is made you are oblige to provide CC information. Only after that they tell you the cancellation rules and other rules that apply. Really? Have you ever been to NY, Paris, Santiago Chile, or Buenos Aires? It is quite different.

The food is abundant, well presented until you get to the meat choices. Portions are ridiculous.

View was amazing, probably the best view of the city from a restaurant.

I would give it another try. I promise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We use this restaurant all the time when ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We use this restaurant all the time when we have customers in town. They are fantastic. food atmosphere and service all the best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I requested but with good view of the te ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I requested but with good view of the temple but the table was not good view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.