About The Rex Restaurant

2401 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

The Rex Restaurant serves Certified Angus Beef, Fresh Seafood flown in twice a week, Pasta, Chicken, Great BBQ foods smoked in house daily, burgers, sandwiches and salads. Many appetizers made with fresh ingredients for starters. We have a full service bar with an extensive Wine list. We are in walking distance of the nicest hotels in the downtown area. Located in the Downtown Historical District of Billings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
24th St N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 245-7477

Website:
http://www.therexbillings.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday and Saturday Evenings

Catering:
Bar and Food catering service. Buffet Style or Full Service.

Parking Details:
We have 2 parking lots one directly West and one North of The Rex Building.

Executive Chef:
David Maplethorpe

Private Party Facilities:
Private room for 30 to 100 people. Full bar and Dinner Service.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Listoe: 4062457477

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Rex Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.1

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Billings
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
See All
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Romantic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place has gone hill fast. Badfood, ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place has gone hill fast. Badfood, OKservice, expectmuch better at$70aperson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We were traveling cross country and want ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were traveling cross country and wanted a good steak dinner after a long day on the road. The Rex fit the bill! Our steaks, salads and sides were excellent. Our server was darling and took good care of us. When they were out of a chosen dessert, she delivered a huge piece of @mud pie" on the house. The restaurant also houses quite a bit of history, which added to the experience. You can find that online, or ask your server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This front of house service was very str ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This front of house service was very strange. We walked in at 8:00 pm for an 8:00 pm reservation. The maitre d was sitting at the bar talking to two of the waitresses, watching the basketball game. We had to go find him. The entrance and maitre'd station were empty, there was no one there. Our waiter was more interested in the basketball game than our dinner.

The food was good but not spectacular, the service was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Thought I made dinner reservations for t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Thought I made dinner reservations for the dining room for Father's Day, only to discover that the dining room was closed. Ate in the bar, which did not have the full menu of the dining room. Plus, the kitchen was backed up, so our order was not even taken for about a half hour. Staff was friendly and food was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Supper at the Rex

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Good service and food. We took our grown children for birthday supper. Great venue.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointing. We loved eating at The Re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Disappointing. We loved eating at The Rex when we used to live here. This is our second visit since moving back to Billings. Last August we made a reservation for our 33rd anniversary. We were unaware that the main dining room is closed on Sunday. We had to eat in the bar! Then last night we tried The Rex again. The calamari was average. Spinach salad was poor. Prime rib was tough and dry. The waitress was very nice but we didn't see her very often. It appeared they were understaffed. Lastly the lights were way too bright. More suited to lunchtime than dinner. When we eat at a place this expensive we expect nice ambiance, excellent service and great food. That's what The Rex used to offer. Now we will think twice before trying it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Experience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent food as always, and was great service too. Went there before a Daddy Daughter dance with our 8 year olds and they were very accommodating for the kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice Valentines dinner

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We go to the Rex a few times a year.. Its always very good. In this visit I had the smoked meats platter.. Very good! My wife had the sirloin.. Outstanding! ( for what I stole..lol ) I forget our servers name, but almost rated her Outstanding as well. ( Will remember next time ).

Never have had a bad experience in all the times I have been here, so I never have any qualms going here if someone else suggests it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Can't say enough about the service. The ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Can't say enough about the service. The waitress was kind and was always there to fill up a glass without being intruding. Food was excellent and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very long wait - Steak not cooked correctly

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here with family to celebrate a bit. Was a 2 hour dinner from sit down to paying. The waitress was extremely good. The cooks seemed lost. Ordered the special porterhouse - this steak was extremely dry, no taste and did not come with listed AuJus. the break that was set out on the table must have been from day or two before - extremely dry - seemed frozen? The wings and crab cakes were good. The salads were good. The blackened salmon was extremely dry and well beyond "blackened" into the burnt realm. Overall for the money I could have got the same tasting salmon and porterhouse as the golden corral. Very disappointing for such a premier restaurant in Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Blackened Prime Rib

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The blackened prime rib is absolutely, hands down, the best we have ever had. It is melt in you mouth delicious. I think this is the 3rd time we have had it and it is outstanding every time. They have a large selection of wine to go with anything along with a full bar if a cocktail is desired.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seating about 1/2 hour late and ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were seating about 1/2 hour late and while I know they were busy for the holiday they could've at least been nice about it. We ending up getting sat at a table right next to the bar and that killed the date mood for sure. Wasn't worth the time and money we spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

The Rex

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Wonderful dining experience! Our steaks were delicious and cooked to perfection. A lovely place to dine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, mediocre food.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The service was excellent but the food was just okay. A bit over-priced for the quality. It started to get pretty loud as the night progressed. Good drink menu, though.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our dining experience was good. As usua ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Our dining experience was good. As usual The Rex was what you expect it to be. However, one of the steaks ordered was to be med. well and it was so well done you could hardly cut it with a knife. The waitress didn't seem to be concerned about it. this made us wonder if that was a typical problem.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Excellent Service

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We had a large party (8) people. The table was ready and waiting for us when we arrived. The waitress was very attentive but nit hovering. The food was a little slow coming out but it was hot and very favorable. You never felt rushed and there was no mandatory gratuity because of the large group.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Special Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Service was great. Each course came out just as we finished the previous one. Attendant was always present in the background. The downsides were the restaurant was out of Buffalo steaks (the deciding factor to go to the restaurant) and while the steak ordered was prepared properly and well-seasoned, was served tepid and had to be sent back to warm up.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Top Ten Steakhouse Holds True

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

We were going to be in Billings for our daughters wedding and saw the review where The Rex was listed as one of the top ten steakhouses in the U.S. Booked a table for ten which ballooned to 13. They handled it without a problem. The food did not disappoint I had the ribeye. Wow was that tender. I tried to cut it with a fork and it worked. I will surely come back next time. Great time, great service, worth driving out of your way for a great dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

food and service were very good

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

the patio is a great spot to sit and relax, enjoy an appetizer or two with some wine. The server was very attentive without being over bearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We're glad to find you in Billings

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

The Rex fits our needs perfectly when we travel between Denver and Whitefish since Billings is halfway for us and we always stay over. We enjoyed the short ribs and smoked chicken and both made good leftovers for lunch the next day. The mango chili barbeque sauce was our favorite. The beans that are served as a side dish were a bit too sweet and soupy for our taste. Our server was friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere was quiet and serene, a nice change from the frantic pace on the interstate. We look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

About the same as last time.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Have eaten here before. Everything was pretty much the same. Food was good. Service started out good, but then slowed down. I'd still recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Billings MT

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Very nice staff and waitress. The onion ring app was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

Underwhelming!!!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Not impressed. Very costly and not worth the money or wasted time waiting. Customer service is lackluster and extremely slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Consistently good

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

Shrimp tacos, crab cakes, gumbo and chicken quesadilla rounded out our meal for four here. All delicious and served quickly inspire of a busy evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Montana Dining Gem

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Wonderful food offering while being surrounded by a rich blend of wood and brick. The buffalo was terrific!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a marvelous evening full of amazin ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

I had a marvelous evening full of amazingly good food! This is the only place in billings that knows how to cook fish. I had lobster and salmon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well managed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

The GM must be doing a great job. Everything on New Year's Eve seemed to run flawlessly from a patron's perspective. Our party had a great time and we will definitely return next time we travel to Billings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have been coming here f ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

My husband and I have been coming here for 25 years and have never been disappointed. The steaks and prime rib have always been excellent. Service was very good. The restaurant was extremely full and the bar/patio closed for a private Xmas party which made the kitchen slow. Food was not plated to be served together and so one plate had to be returned to heat up as the food was cold, and another plate had to be returned because the beer battered shrimp had been overcooked. We will not give up on The Rex for one off night. Both meals in question were replaced to our satisfaction. We had a group of 8, and everyone was for the most part satisfied with their meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very Disappointed

vip
·Dined on December 8, 2014

We were recommended to this restaurant by some local people. When we went there the rest the waiter recommended the prime rib. Both of us ordered it. It was terrible. It was unavailable. We both left most of it over. It didn't even look good. I'd rather eat at the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Out of menu items

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Our cocktails were very good but they were out of several menu items. Noise level was too high. Food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Always great and do so enjoy the

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 25, 2014

patio this time of the year. Love the menu for the bar also. The blacken prime rib sandwich is one of my husbands favorite meals. he usually substitutes the wedge salad. We often share the wedge as it is good sized and yummy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Had a BLAST!!! Hadn't been there (or in ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Had a BLAST!!! Hadn't been there (or in Billings) in 15+ years. Was better than I remembered. Go for the blackended prime rib. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Rex. The food was excellent as was the service. It is, and has been, one of the best restaurants in Billings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very enjoyable evening, good food, great ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

very enjoyable evening, good food, great staff, price ssatisfactory. would recommend to anyone for a great evening out on the town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Place

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

Love this restaurant! It is a great atmosphere with amazing food! The flat iron steak was really great. The server took extra time to find us a wine that we enjoyed although my dad did have a fly in his beer and they didn't comp the beer.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 24, 2014

Looked lovely when we entered, but took a while to get our drinks. Waitress never offered specials, so I asked. Onion ring appetizer probably best I've had. Salads mediocre and wedge very overdressed. Both prime rib and filet overdone, and food was barely warm. Also, three bites of prime rib went into my napkin due to grizzle. Ribs very dried out, almost inedible. Chicken looked very pink at bone. Took home meat for the dog. Beef stew, ordered by two was okay. Ordered mud pie, delicious. Godiva cake was tasty, but did not have a wet runny center as advertised. Service was a bit slow. Exec. Chef delivered our onion rings, so I know he was there. Overall, disappointing for what is touted as one of the best Billings steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Good resturant thats underrated.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 18, 2014

Been to The Rex a few times and it seems to get better every time I go back. Great food & great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Recommend

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 17, 2014

I would recommend the REX. Great food. Can get a little noisy if groups are present as they were when we arrived. Service was attentive but not suffocating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There was 1 server in our

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

There was 1 server in our whole area. Wanted to have a nice dinner and drinks before we went to a concert. Took forever to get our drinks/food. Food was poor as was our servers attitude. Asked if he could split our check after our meal and he told us he didn't have time. After we got our check he never even came back to our table. I had to walk up to the bar to pay our bill. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Good Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 19, 2014

My wife and I went before a show. We got there at 6:30pm. Service to start was good. Bread, water, wine, appetizer and salad/soup came out quickly. Now we ordered at 6:45 but our meals didn't arrive until 7:30. It was a bit of a rush to eat. I had a NY Strip Steak, it was good, but nothing special. My wife had a good meal as well. It was a good meal, but hoped for more.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.