About The Restaurant at Ponte

35053 Rancho California Rd
Temecula, CA 92591
View Larger Map

Recognized by OpenTable as one of the top 50 restaurants in the US for outdoor dining, the Restaurant at Ponte prepares wine country cuisine in a casual outdoor atmosphere. We are leading the way toward a community of wineries and restaurants dedicated to promoting local, sustainable farmers and ranchers. Our dishes feature top quality seasonal and regional ingredients prepared in our kitchen and enhanced when paired with our wines. The Restaurant is open daily, although hours do vary.



The Restaurant at Ponte is open in inclement weather. Heaters and blankets are available in the winter, and misters and fans are used in the summer.




Guests Arriving By Limo or Private Bus: A separate limo reservation is required for the weekends. To submit a limo request, please go to the "Plan A Visit" tab at www.pontewinery.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - 11am to 4pm



Tuesday - 11am to 4pm



Wednesday - 11am to 4pm



Thursday - 11am to 4pm



Friday - 11am to 8pm



Saturday - 11am to 8pm



Sunday - 11am to 5pm





On Saturdays & Sundays, guests arriving by limo or bus MUST have a separate Limo confirmation. To submit a limo request, please go to the "Plan A Visit" tab at www.pontewinery.com.

Cross Street:
Anza

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(951) 252-1770

Website:
http://www.pontewinery.com/

Entertainment:
Live music is always on the menu Friday and Saturday evenings beginning at 6pm.

Friday January 3
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Brian Stodart - Alternative Contemporary

Saturday January 4
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Ron Freshman - Flamenco Guitar

Friday January 10
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Michael LeClerc- Guitar + Vocals

Saturday January 11
5:30pm - 8:30pm
The Lookouts- Classic Acoustic Rock

Friday January 17
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Brian Stodart - Alternative Contemporary

Saturday January 18
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Ron Freshman - Flamenco Guitar

Friday January 24
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Michael LeClerc- Guitar + Vocals

Saturday January 25
5:30pm - 8:30pm
The Lookouts- Classic Acoustic Rock

Friday January 31
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Brian Stodart - Alternative Contemporary

Saturday February 1
5:30pm - 8:30pm
Ron Freshman - Flamenco Guitar

Parking Details:
On the weekends (Saturday & Sundays) only Limos and Buses with a prior Limo Reservation will be allowed to enter the winery between 10am-12noon. To make a reservation, please visit the "Plan A Visit" page at www.pontewinery.com or call us at (951) 694-8855.



Guests without a Limo Reservation, as well as those arriving after 12pm on Saturdays and Sundays, will not be admitted regardless of having a restaurant reservation.

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Giuliano

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special occasion, special location. For a wine country experience like none other, Ponte Family Estate Winery is the perfect setting for your wedding, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or birthday party. We offer a full range of catering menus, beverage options and professional planning assistance to ensure that your event is a memorable success.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Special occasion, special location. For a wine country experience like none other, Ponte Family Estate Winery is the perfect setting for a business meeting, your birthday, anniversary or engagement party, wedding or rehearsal dinner.

The Restaurant at Ponte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Diego
Great for Lunch
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
3 More
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Californian
San Diego
Most Booked
Temecula / Wine County
Best Restaurants in Temecula ›

great for outdoor dining (97)
great for lunch (79)
scenic view (60)
See All
notable wine list (55)
special occasion (51)
romantic (49)
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (26)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Service Great, food not so great

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I visited Ponte for a nice quite dinner. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the winery ambiance. We began our meal with the calamari appetizer which was a disappointment. Calamari was stuck together making it difficult to separate and enjoy. In addition the calamari seemed to be of a lower quality. We ordered steaks cooked at a medium temperature with a side of potatoes and greens. Both steaks were overcooked, tough and lacked flavor. The potatoes were heavy and something we would find at a chain restaurant. As stated previously, the service was great but the food was just average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful time at Ponte; great food & service ; on-time seating. Always a good time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Ambiance is Fabulous, Food is OK

Dined on May 14, 2016

The wine and the ambiance are what make for a great experience at this restaurant. The food was only OK and over priced. The service was pretty good, but not outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A little chilly when it is windy but heat helps!

Dined on May 7, 2016

They were able to move us to a warmer table which made all the difference. Service was great! Food was excellent but a little bit richer than what I like with my fish. Dessert was yummy. My Son had a delicious Pizza. We enjoyed the Calamari too. They were better when I went before(chickpea flour...yummy). The bread is too much and not crusty enough for my taste. Salmon was fantastic and grain underneath was tasty but rich.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We almost canceled our lunch because it ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We almost canceled our lunch because it was raining but client decided to meet up anyway. They had heaters because it was a bit cold and a fantastic lunch experience.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Underwhelmed

Dined on May 1, 2016

I must say, the grounds at Ponte are beautiful. The hostess was friendly and our waitress Laura was great and attentive. The food, however, was not what we were expecting for the price. Maybe it was what we ordered. I had the chicken pasta special and it was greasy, colorless, and tasteless. My husband had the meatloaf, which was okay, but his green beans were cold and crunchy. Of all of the beautiful wineries and eateries in Temecula, this was definitely not our favorite. We will not return for the food, that's for sure.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food, Fantastic Service

Dined on April 29, 2016

While visiting Temecula wine country, we decided Ponte was worth a stop for dinner. We arrived early for our reservation and were immediately seated without concerns. The menu has options for everyone and of course, a wonderful wine list. We had a ravioli dish, a veggie wrap, the chocolate peanut butter creme brulee and the coconut pineapple cake, along with a bottle of wine. It was pleasant outside dining (they have heaters available if chilly) and Cassandra treated us like family. She took the time to explain things to us, was very friendly and took time to chat about other local sites. Next time we are in Temecula, Ponte is a must-visit again! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful find while traveling on vacati ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful find while traveling on vacation

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

OUR GO-TO LUNCH SPOT

Dined on April 24, 2016

Whenever we go to Temecula, we try to start our getaway with lunch at Ponte. It just sets the mood for a relaxing, low-key weekend. The outdoor eating venue is lovely, the food is delicious, the wine delightful, and we love the gift shop and tasting room. I understand they have an inn available, too! Hmmmmmm.....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine and food al fresco

Dined on April 23, 2016

The service was outstanding. Really the enjoyed the wine sampler and the charcuterie plate . The pizza was awesome as well. Great venue and fun atmosphere!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon in the vines

Dined on April 23, 2016

3 of us who had not been out for awhile had decided to go to Ponte for lunch and were not disappointed. The waiter lets you talk before ordering and no pressure. The food was excellent as usual. Fresh and seasoned just right. I had the prawns and was not disappointed. My friend had a steak and the other friencd head a refreshing salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Love the cheese plate and sangria!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Love the cheese plate and sangria!

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting and Sarah was great se ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Beautiful setting and Sarah was great setting us up in private room given the stormy weather.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Place for Easter Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was our second visit to Ponte for lunch. The food has been spectacular both times and we love that we can taste their wines by ordering a flight rather than standing inside the tasting room. The live music on Sunday was very enjoyable and the landscaping around the seating area is beautiful. We brought friends this time and they too were impressed with menu selections and food quality and great service. Ruby was our server and she was knowledgeable, friendly and took great care of us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful serene view, fab wines, foodie delights

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had what we think was the best Easter lunch of our lives here. Wines we tried were wonderful and the menu is innovative, creative and fresh. Still dreaming about their bread and jams. Live music in a garden setting...what more could you want?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many group/event luncheons going on whil ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Many group/event luncheons going on while there. Lovely ambiance, especially being so close to the vineyards. Wonderful menu, delicious dishes, and so enjoyable. A bit pricey, but well worth the $.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely fabulous in every way

Dined on March 18, 2016

Superb wines, friendly service, food beautifully presented & delicious, setting lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Beautful spring day!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was good (charcuterie, chicken pizza, lobster stuffed mushrooms, mussels). Service was pleasant but slow and inattentive. We would have ordered more wine and water (and probably dessert) but gave up on our server. Restaurant was busy but not full and there seemed to be sufficient staff.....maybe poorly organized/managed? Note: the thick greasy pita chips supplied for the wine tasting have been replaced with tasty, crisp, thin pita chips. A huge and welcome improvement!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Pointe was highly recommended to us for a nice place to have lunch on their Patio while touring the wineries in Temecula. We had an very nice expience. There was four of us and we shared two small pizzas, two salads, and two wine flights. Everything was very nice. We'll be back. Make reservations as it got very busy. Enjoy

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice location-bit pricey

Dined on February 21, 2016

Have been to Ponte Restaurant a couple of time in the past. While I don't recall that it was by an means inexpensive, it appears that they have raised their prices significantly. Won't return unless its for a very special occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating here is a must!

Dined on February 21, 2016

If you stay at the Inn or not, this is the best place to stop and eat while in the Temecula Wine country. Food and service were impeccable. If you are a wine club member you get a nice discount and amuse-bouche too. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We were seated very quickly on a busy Sat., and had a lovely luncheon. Good fresh food brought quickly by pleasant servers. Would definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful, delicious, great music.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, great wine, great music, great service. Definitely worth repeating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

The longest dining experience of our trip....

Dined on February 19, 2016

We went to the Restaurant at Ponte to celebrate a birthday, but we weren't told when booking that the Restaurant is an "experience" which fosters an environment where guests languish at their table. Translation? It took the restaurant an hour to serve us our meal which ruined our wine tasting itinerary for the rest of the day. Take away? The food was delicious and the ambiance top-notch. They even us away with a complimentary bottle of Moscato for our inconvenience. But diner beware...only eat here if you value leisurely meals and don't have an itinerary to keep to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eaten here many times

Dined on February 15, 2016

I haven't had a bad meal here in the dozen or so times I have been here. Great food with a presentation to match. You eat with a view of the vineyards.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Met friends for lunch and had a wonderful experience. We dined outdoors on the patio and the view was beautiful. A wonderful setting among the vineyard and rose garden. Our server was Mary and she was great. We all enjoyed wine and a delightful lunch. Desert afterwards was dreamy. I recommend Ponte for a fun filled afternoon any time. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor experience - and the staff didnt care

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had lunch here on Valentines Day. Unfortunately, our experience nowhere near some of the other reviews I've read. The place was not crowded at all. So it was difficult for us to understand why it took 35 minutes for our entrees to come out. People who arrived long after us got their entrees well before us. My wife ordered the Filet Mignon medium rare and, when it finally came out, it was well done. We sat there for several minutes waiting for our server to come back and check up on us. It was only after the food was cold that we could send the steak back. At that point, we had enough. The food was bad, the service was awful. And the timing of our poor experience couldn't have been worse. Its unfortunate, but we would not recommend this place to anyone. And we certainly will not be going back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I fell in love!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We chose this place because they offered gluten free menu items. First off the ambiance was great! We got there at a perfect time to see the sun go down. We enjoyed great wine, delicious gf free food, exquisite service and music. Everything was perfect! Definitely plan on dining there again very soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant with excellent service ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Restaurant with excellent service and delicious food.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Over-rated restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a party of 4. The time it took from appetizers to main entrees took way too long! Super tiny Filet Mignon and Meatloaf were just ok nothing to write home about. The 2 orders of Seared Diver Scallops were excellent but there's only 3 pieces of scallops per order. For $42/order we expected between 4-6 scallops!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

An early Valentine's celebration.

Dined on February 12, 2016

I arranged for my husband and I to have an early Valentine's Day celebration, and I wanted to visit a winery that we had not been to before. The outdoor seating was perfect for the occasion. We had a table for 2, with a very nice view of the wine country. The service was good, and the waitress was casual and friendly. My husband had the burger and sweet potato fries, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had already viewed the menu and had my heart set on the butternut squash raviolis. They were better than expected, however, I would have enjoyed twice as many as I had on my plate. There were a total of 6 raviolis. The herb bread was delightful. All in all, we enjoyed our dinner, and enjoyed a walk around the Ponte grounds.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistantly Good

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

We come to the Palm Springs area for the winter and usually get to Ponte once a month. Food is consistently good and the outdoor setting is so pleasant. Our foursome had 2 burgers (delicious; couldn't eat them all), a ceasar salad (tasty and not drowning in dressing) and the meatloaf (also delicious). If I had to find something to complain about it would be to add more specials to the menu or to vary the menu....I think it's been the same for about 2 years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the wine tasting, ambiance, great staff

Dined on February 11, 2016

I love the ambiance of this place. We loved the service, the food, the wine tasting. We will definitely go back to try other dishes. The food was Excellent and the staff was spot on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Typical but still disappointed

Dined on February 10, 2016

We went specifically for the scallops and we were not disappointed in their taste, however, 3 scallops for $42 is so typical for this type of big vineyard/restaurant. We were the last reservation for lunch so needless to say we were deserted by the server after we received our food. With our appetizer, we ordered a red wine taster flight and 2 of the wines were exactly the same. When we explained that to the server she admitted pouring the same wine twice on accident. She brought another glass and yes, you guessed it, it was the same as the others!! We decided to cut our losses and get out of there. If you are looking for good scallops try Blackbird Tavern in old town or other places as they are just as good and nearly half the price!

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful treasure in Temecula Wine Country.

Dined on February 7, 2016

We love to bring our out of town/state guests to this winery/restaurant. It is lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is truly exceptional. Don't miss the mashed potatoes with smoked Gouda or the citrusy Harvest Salad! The ONLY false note was that I ordered a steak medium rare and it came to the table practically mooing. The service exceeded my expectations. Our server, Michelle, was friendly, gracious, and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Wine

Dined on February 7, 2016

It was very romantic and relaxing as well fantastic wine, great customer service and food was the best .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Saturday Lunch

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was good, flat bread appetizer was very good as was burger, my turducken sandwich was a bit dry. The biggest issue was that we waited 45 mins to get our appetizer, then the sandwiches came out before we were even half finished with the flatbread. Also the waiter got one of our wine orders wrong and said he would bring out the correct glass but he never did. I realize that it was busy but our experience did not impress me enough to return, especially when there are several other excellent winery restaurants in the area.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Marine

Dined on February 6, 2016

The appetizer platter with cheeses and dips is a must order. Thanks for making our anniversary dinner so nice!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The ride from San Diego was beautiful an ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

The ride from San Diego was beautiful and short but nothing prepared us to the beauty of Ponte's scene! The food was very good and even though it was a Wednesday lunch time and it was crowded, the attention was superb. A great gem!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.