Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About The Restaurant at Ponte

Recognized by OpenTable as one of the top 50 restaurants in the US for outdoor dining, The Restaurant at Ponte prepares wine country cuisine in a casual outdoor atmosphere. We are leading the way toward a community of wineries and restaurants dedicated to promoting local, sustainable farmers and ranchers. Our dishes feature top quality seasonal and regional ingredients prepared in our kitchen and enhanced when paired with our wines. The Restaurant is open daily, although hours do vary.

The Restaurant at Ponte is open in inclement weather. Heaters and blankets are available in the winter, and misters and fans are used in the summer.

Guests Arriving By Limo or Private Bus: A separate limo reservation is required for the weekends. To submit a limo request, please go to the "VISIT" tab at www.pontewinery.com.

35053 Rancho California Rd
Temecula, CA 92591
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday - 11am to 4pm
Tuesday - 11am to 4pm
Wednesday - 11am to 4pm
Thursday - 11am to 4pm
Friday - 11am to 8pm
Saturday - 11am to 8pm
Sunday - 11am to 5pm

On Saturdays & Sundays, guests arriving by limo or bus MUST have a separate Limo confirmation. To submit a limo request, please go to the "VISIT" tab at www.pontewinery.com.

Cross Street:
Anza

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(951) 252-1770

Website:
http://www.pontewinery.com/

Entertainment:
Live music is always on the menu Friday and Saturday evenings beginning at 6pm.

Please visit our website at pontewinery.com/restaurant to view our live music calendar.

Parking Details:
On the weekends (Saturday & Sundays) only Limos and Buses with a prior Limo Reservation will be allowed to enter the winery between 10am-12noon. To make a reservation, please visit the "VISIT" page at www.pontewinery.com or call us at (951) 694-8855.



Guests without a Limo Reservation, as well as those arriving after 12pm on Saturdays and Sundays, will not be admitted regardless of having a restaurant reservation.

Executive Chef:
Christy Moore

Private Party Facilities:
Special occasion, special location. For a wine country experience like none other, Ponte Family Estate Winery is the perfect setting for a business meeting, your birthday, anniversary or engagement party, wedding or rehearsal dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Karon Cartwright: (866) 945-7314

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special occasion, special location. For a wine country experience like none other, Ponte Family Estate Winery is the perfect setting for your wedding, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or birthday party. We offer a full range of catering menus, beverage options and professional planning assistance to ensure that your event is a memorable success. Please visit pontewinery.com or call us directly at 951-694-8855 to plan your special event.

The Restaurant at Ponte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Scenic View (27)
Great for Lunch (23)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Healthy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Live Music (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was okay. Not bad, not great. Wife ordered a 4 ounce filet medium and it came out well done. Most unfortunate as that was the special and nearly a $50 meal as it was a surf (scallops) and turf choice.

The soup was amazing, but really, the bowl was massively sized and good enough for two people to share and just about be enough for a light meal between the two of them. I suggest they make the bowls a bit smaller. So if ordering soup for one, be sure to order the cup or small bowl as it is likely more than enough for an appetizer.

The chocolate soufflé desert was just okay and not awesome. I probably wouldn’t order the soufflé again but try something else. It was just sort of bland.

In all with a bottle of wine, two meals, shared desert and shared soup the meal was all in at $170 plus. For that price I would expect an improved atmosphere and food that was out of this world.

Been to Ponte many times for lunch and would highly recommend it for lunch as the prices and atmosphere for lunch are more in line with the expected value. Dinner on the other hand, I think is overpriced.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

You eat in a patio surrounding by people (some of them drunk) doing wine tastings. The complementary bread is served cold with some kind of sauce that doesn't pair with it at all. Is like putting chimichurri on a cold pizza. The food was extremely bland and also cold. And the chocolate souffle I had for desert was dry and overcooked. Considering all this, the place is way overpriced for what it delivers. The only positive point goes to the service staff who did a great job since the moment with were seated until the end of the meal. I had very high expectation with this place that obviously were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing from the soup and salad for starters, to the entrees. The surf and turf were cooked perfectly, seared scallops and filet mignon. The service was great!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Outdoor seating. We were sitting where there were no heaters and was very cold.
Food - excellent.
Service- excellent.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

After a very long wait our food arrived cold. The burger and sweet potato fries were unremarkable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Food items kept coming out cold. Service was extremely slow, even though they weren't too full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect setting for a romantic dinner. The service was spot on and friendly. The atmosphere was dreamy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Service, Great Food and a great overall experience. Staff were welcoming and very friendly.

Definitely would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and excellent food. Wine is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2018

The waitress was very friendly and nice. Great romantic date night location.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We've eaten at Ponte many times and have enjoyed the wine food and view. Sure wish they would change up their menu as it's been the same for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The ambiance is inviting, but the weekend crowds do detract from the feeling of getting away. The service is very attentive. The food is good, but not phenomenal. On each dish I've tried there is just a little something that is off or lacking, but overall the food is good. It's odd that they serve bread to every table, but do not provide bread plates. It was the same when our appetizer was served (cheese tray), we were not given appetizer plates.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2018

We come here weekly as we live about 2 miles away. Always on point. Great food. Beautiful scenery. Wonderful service. Really the perfect setting. We never had any issue until this visit. Apparently people think that wineries should be like a library or a spa. My kids were playing with no one around on the lawn near the little gazebo near the vines after we had lunch with family from out of town. A couple came walking down and started heckling us... “at a winery?! Really?” They were angry we brought our kids. Ridiculous. It’s a restaurant that allows kids in our neighborhood and we frequent this restaurant during daytime hours. My kids were quiet the entire lunch. It’s not like we walked them into a bar and they started screaming. Some people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2018

One of the best restaurants in wine country of Temecula. I have stopped in here often since they opened over 10 yrs ago. I have NEVER had a bad meal. Their chef knows how to make a meal sumptuous. The flavors always blend nicely

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Repeat customers at the Restaurant and while my meal was lackluster this time around, (the seafood in the Cioppino was very sandy) we love the atmosphere and the wine and the service is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Sarah, our waitress, was beyond fabulous. She made our experience one of the best ever. Playful and fun, engaging, smart, helpful...and cute as a button. The food was all delicious, too.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2018

The Restaurant at Ponte came highly recommended so we booked it to celebrate my birthday. After enjoying a white wine tasting, we were seated in the restaurant on a lovely January day. Note that all the seating is outdoors, so this could pose a problem on cool or rainy days. Service was great, but the food was mediocre. The bread and its green scallion dipping sauce tasted wonderful, but the bread was served cold like it had just come out of the refrigerator. Our appetizers (calamari and ham cheddar soup) were both so over salted the we could not finish them. Our main dishes (duck panini and cioppino) were both oddly flavored. The humboldt fog cheese was used as a sauce on the panini and spoiled what would otherwise have been a delicious dish. The cioppino was flavored with allspice which overwhelmed the dish. We will not be back until there is a new chef with a better palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Beautiful setting and great food. We would definitely go back if in the area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Truly a favorite stop worth the time & effort to visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was great as usual - my friend is vegetarian. There were quite a few dishes - tasty dishes - to choose from.
We are all going again - her choice - tomorrow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We’re from the Napa Valley and have very high standards for restaurants. That being said, this is among the best I’ve been to in the Temecula area. The prices are a bit high and the service pretty slow, but like I said, for this area it’s fairly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I’ve come here plenty of times, it’s actually our go to place when in town for wine tasting. The food is always delicious but the service is what made our experience unpleasant. We had to look for our server a couple of times to have her take our drink order, food order, and our dessert order. We would have ordered more drinks but she never touched or maintenances our table. One of the times we looked for her I wanted to order the soup of the day because the gentlemen next to me had it and it looked amazing. We asked the busser if she could please get our server and she didn’t say yes or ok she just walked away, 5 minutes later she comes to the table and I order my soup and she says “ok is that everything you need” ...we all looked at each other in shock at her snarkiness attitude. It was unfortunate and unappreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2018

It was great as usual. We always enjoy our time at Ponte. The food, ambiance, and wine are always phenomenal.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great ambiance. Delicious food elegantly presented. A marvelous place to meet up for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Lovely location, ok service, good wine and average food at best. Worth checking out but not out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

My husband and I are wine members and we have our date night here a few times a month. We love the service and the food. The food is seasonal and always delicious! The view is also gorgeous.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Birthday lunch date. Excellent pizzas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great restaurant! They took great care to go out of their way to celebrate my birthday, and provided exceptional service throughout the meal--and the food was incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Love the place but the cooks seemed to be too busy to pay attention to the little details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2017

I love dining at the Ponte. Food is always delicious and creative. My brother is an extremely finicky vegan and he loved the Verde Pizza that he ordered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2017

My niece was married at Ponte and I have dined there several times since. The food was always excellent but disappointing on 12/28 when I ordered the tomato bisque soup that tasted liked Costco s and a small Cesar salad which was drowning in dressing and not fresh. The Muscato wine is great and my friend liked her pizza. I have had the ravioli and salmon before, both excellent. Perhaps bad menu choices on my part, but not items I thought would be badly prepared.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2017

have eaten here for years. service and atmosphere outstanding Food this time lacking . cool sweet potato fries . two small wine country salads with Very Small portions and uneven ingredients . one with no cranberries or pecans The other overloaded .will return and hope for return to previous quality .

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Good wine. Quiet. Beautifull view.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2017

I am never disappointed when at Ponte. This was the first time my sister had ever been and she thoroughly enjoyed it. She has a small child and the restaurant menu is kid friendly.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for his birthday dinner. The out door dining is romantic around the holidays because they have it decorated with lots of lights. It was very cold that night but the heat lamps did the job. The food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Nice, unique place for sure. It was a little cold outside, even though we were under a heater. The food was fantastic! My only nit was they didn't ask us if we wanted wine (they are a winery!) and the food came out too fast so we felt a little rushed. It was a nice experience and I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Our first time, it turned out to be a hot day. They seated us at a table in the sun, then said they could lower the curtain. I really wanted a table in the shade. Well, the curtain went down, but so did the sun which was shining right on me and very hot. Other than that discomfort, the wine was good; food was delicious; and they brought me a birthday dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Quality food, but always seems to need salt/seasoning. Service depends...servers are always polite but sometimes takes awhile to get served or to have them check in with you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 16, 2017

We were celebrating our 5th year anniversary! Ponte winery was recommended to us by a friend ... I was trying to find a wine for my husband to drink because he doesn't like wine and Jake was amazing ... found 3 different wines for my husband... everything from the Hello to th Goodbye was a phenomenal experience and well worth the drive for us !

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

I have belonged to Ponte Winery for many years, and have never been dissapointed. The
restaurant on this visit was, as always, wonderful. And, their wine, excellent. I always
reccommend people visit Ponte Winery when they are visiting, as well as people who live
in the area. You will never go wrong!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.