About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: 6144519774x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Restaurant Photos

Warm Brie With Bacon Tarte
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Creme Brulee
Beef and Salmon
Roasted Leg Of Lamb With Potato Du Jour And Black Olive Bordelaise
Duck Egg Omelette With Sauteed Mushrooms
Double Chocolate Entremet With Almond Jaconde
flourless chocolate cake
Blueberry Clafoutis
Beef tenderloin
Greek Yoghurt Panna Cotta
Créme Brulé
Chocolate
Beet Salad
Roasted Beef Culotte with Tarragon Bordelaise
Vegetarian Special
Roasted Goat Cheese
PAN SEARED SALMON with horseradish and tomato beurre blanc
Salmon burger
Bacon Bloody Mary
CHOCOLATE BREAD PUDDING with vanilla ice cream
Mahi
Grilled Beef Shoulder Tenderloin With Cardamom Sauce
Roasted Texas Antelope
Mini Lamb Burger
Garlic Confit And Toulouse Sausage Stuffed Veal Tenderloin
Lemon Merengue Cupcake
Seafood Special
Walleye
Wild Elk Rack
Dover Sole

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
13 More
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

special occasion (169)
romantic (152)
notable wine list (127)
See All
fit for foodies (113)
neighborhood gem (33)
good for groups (26)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always the food and experience was lo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always the food and experience was lovely. The Refectory always delivers the best service and food in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that would succeed ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a restaurant that would succeed in any geographic venue.Meals are prepared in the continental way,that is not too heavy on any one region of France etc. Wine selection is the best in Columbus.As a picky transplanted New Yorker who has dined in the greatest establishments in the country,it is a pleasure to enjoy an adult meal in a lovely setting,complimented by professional.knowledgable,and courteous service.You get what you pay for,and then some.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I wouldn't necessarily say that this res ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

I wouldn't necessarily say that this restaurant is FOR kids, but we had our 8 year old daughter with us they treated her just like any customer. They let her ring the bell and they seemed genuinely pleased to have a well behaved little lady there. (she's not always well behaved, so I was equally pleased!) The staff is extremely friendly and this was a wonderful fine dining experience. The food is outstanding! Make sure you get the crème brulee!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was lovely each dish was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was lovely each dish was plated beautifully. The service, however, was sub par often going more than 30 minutes without even seeing our server enter the room. My entree, although beautiful to look at simply did not have much flavor and both my and my dates cocktails were so bad we almost sent them back. As a plus the dessert was fantastic, but for such a high price i expected the food, drink, and service to blow me away and it instead left a lot to be desired.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This place is absolutely incredible. It ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is absolutely incredible. It's expensive, to be sure, but absolutely the best food I've ever had. It's perfect for a romantic date. There is outdoor dining as well, but I've never used it so I don't know how it is. Start saving now and go here as soon as you can!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and superb service! Thi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and superb service! This will always be a top choice of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party had four different entrees and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our party had four different entrees and everyone raved about their tastiness, preparation, and presentation. We enjoyed having some choices that are not common on most comparable restaurants' menus (duck, monk fish). Appetizers and desserts were also well executed. The service was attentive but unobtrusive. Price point makes this an occasional treat but it is a great place to go for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, this place was amazing. The service ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, this place was amazing. The service was OUTSTANDING! The meal was beyond excellent.

What a gem of a restaurant in the Columbus area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed another spectacular dinner at th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed another spectacular dinner at the Refectory, every bite is focused on flavor, quality over quantity. Wine selection was delicious, bread service could have been better as bread was not that warm and server forgot butter, however the meal was just exquisite.

Great job all-around!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best meals I've had in a rest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a restaurant. The meal was superb and the value during restaurant week was the cherry on top.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A true Columbus gem! We dined during Re ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A true Columbus gem! We dined during Restaurant Week. The front desk staff was very friendly and the waiting area was welcoming. Our wait staff was fantastic and very helpful with explaining items on the menu, wine pairings, etc. The environment and staff made for a very relaxing evening out.

The food was very good. While the restaurant week menu was limited, the selections were a great mix of dishes. The presentation of each course was brilliant and the taste & flavors lived up to the expectations.

Thanks for a great evening out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful presentation of each delicious ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Beautiful presentation of each delicious dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The atmosphere inside The Refectory set ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The atmosphere inside The Refectory set the stage for a fabulous evening! Elegant yet comfortable surroundings, and pleasant staff from the moment you set foot inside the door. Our waiter and server were both well-informed and did an excellent job at describing several dishes we wanted to try which were unique. They checked in at the appropriate time to be certain we were pleased with the dishes. We were! Delicious food, impressive presentation and excellent service combined into a special yet relaxed evening. Thank you!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great stop for Columbus Restaurant Week- ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great stop for Columbus Restaurant Week-$35 for three course-Outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We dined at the Refectory for Restaurant ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We dined at the Refectory for Restaurant Week. The selection was good, and the food and service was outstanding. It was a great opportunity to experience a top level restaurant at a very affordable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food=out of this world! I've ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food=out of this world! I've eaten there before and never a bad or disappointing experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food as always, and the atmosp ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful food as always, and the atmosphere is perfect for dinner conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Loved it. Calmed, food was good, and the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved it. Calmed, food was good, and the server was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again an outstanding dining experie ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Once again an outstanding dining experience with Incredible service. this is hands-down the best restaurant in Columbus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive Wait Staff Unimpressed With Fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Attentive

Wait

Staff

Unimpressed

With

Food

Disappointed

But

They

Didn't

Charge

Me

For

The

Meal

I

Didn't

Like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Friends were in town to celebrate their ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friends were in town to celebrate their 55th wedding anniversary. We went to the Refectory and were greeted by the hostess who immediately congratulated them on 55 years. Our meal was wonderful, the service was almost too attentive and intrusive, but much better than to be left alone. Waiter was knowledgeable about wine and the main courses. All were happy with their selections. Had a memorable time. (The Dover sole was fantastic!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Definitely still the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Definitely still the best restaurant in Columbus! Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service as always. "Firs ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great meal and service as always. "First Friday" menu is always exciting and good. Chef Richard always outdoes himself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Refectory is an ambitious restaurant ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Refectory is an ambitious restaurant, which tries to prepare unusual dishes sometimes based on exotic ingredients like alpaca and bison. The appetizers tend to be more interesting than the main dishes, which seem to me to regress to a median. The restaurant is pricey, but the entire experience is worth the price for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I'm a business traveler and this is my f ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I'm a business traveler and this is my favorite restaurant in all of Columbus, despite the trek from downtown. Inam glad I found this establishment as I was having doubts in the Columbus dining scene. Great place to bring clients!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best restaurant in Columbus ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Probably the best restaurant in Columbus: elegant without being stuffy, superb service and food, and a Wine Spectator rated wine cellar. Great for that special occasion. Has a couple of rooms for groups, one of them, a wine cellar. French style cuisine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always considered The Refectory t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have always considered The Refectory to be one of the best, if not the best, restaurants in Columbus even though I don't patronize it very frequently and I continue to have that opinion. This time the main course that I chose fell a bit short of my expectations but the appetizer more or less made up for it. My companion was very pleased with her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent--our waiter was ex ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was excellent--our waiter was extremely knowledgeable of the menu and was extremely courteous and professional. In fact, all employees were very professional!

The food is fantastic--we highly recommend the fixed price menu if you are willing to eat early. All three courses (in our case, the terrine, trout, & choc. bread pudding), which they label their "lighter fare" were delicious, elaborate, and quite the value.

Thanks to the staff for helping us celebrate a special occasion. We highly recommend The Refectory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Refectory & Bistro never disappoints ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Refectory & Bistro never disappoints! Fine French cuisine, world class wine cellar, professional servers, and an unrushed and relaxed atmosphere. Simply the finest dining experience in Ohio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, delicious food. Wonderful delic ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing, delicious food. Wonderful delicacies to choose from and excellent wine. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I live in Pickerington. If ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I live in Pickerington. If we choose to go out for special dining we always select the Refectory. We have recommended the Refectory to our family and friends and all have visited and have the same reaction we have had. We love the food and the service.

We have had Michelle as our server and will continue to choose her area any time we come in the future. Al and Kathy Campbell

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Refectory and the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We always enjoy the Refectory and the choices on the Bistro menu, great place to be with friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Bistro Menu: way cheaper than th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Had the Bistro Menu: way cheaper than the Dinner Menu , it is nicely structured as a 3-course meal, which is what I as a native expect from a French menu. It was delicious.

Will definitely come again, recommend, and even try First Friday Menu for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I loved the refectory. The chef even cam ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved the refectory. The chef even came out to bring our food. The food was amazizng. I deffinately recommend this place. The food is heavenly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the best restaurant we have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the best restaurant we have been to in 20 years and we travel extensively and eat out at many fine restaurants. The cuisine was incredibly delicious with a beautiful presentation. The decor beautiful and elegant. The staff was so attentive, well informed. Our waiter Steve was exceptional. Attentive without being annoying and interrupting. Do not miss the opportunity to dine here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Columbus. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Columbus. The finest food, French preparation, portion size, you name it. I must say that the bison loin was surprisingly tough for me. However, my wife and I often switch plates mid-meal and she thoroughly enjoyed the bison. So all's well that ends well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely amazing!! We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing!! We chose to do a "Chef's choice" tasting menu, with wine pairing. Each course was a wonderful surprise! Justin, our server, is a true gem, and is incredibly talented!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience is relaxing, with excelle ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The experience is relaxing, with excellent service and superbly prepared meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Refectory to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We went to The Refectory to celebrate our 60th Wedding Anniversary. We were brought to our table just after entering the restaurant. The ambiance and servive provided by the restaurant is excellent. The Caesar salad we shared was excellent as was the wine. The rack of lamb that I had and and the crab-filled dish my wife hadwer both delicious. Since it was our anniversary the management provided free deserts for he two of us. My wife had baked alaska which was very good. My dessert was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at the Refectory ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our first time at the Refectory, I wasn't very impressed with those who greeted us at the time of our arrival, they seemed very "cold and reserved." Our server Joseph was outstanding and was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.