Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 25 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

4.8
3017 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 451-9774
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard Blondin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Just west of Route 315
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Please join us for Mother's Day with reservations from 11:45 until 6:00 pm!
Of course, a Menu available for our younger guests.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 3017 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

First time going and I will be back. A little pricey but well worth it. The food and atmosphere was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Yet another fantastic experience at The Refectory! Not only is the food amazing and inspired but the service is incredible. Thank you for making our anniversary a terrific experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Service was slightly slow. My Bison was gristly and had a lot of fat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We were in the enclosed area right past the entry. I think that there was one server for the whole area--and I think that was too much. There were some lulls in the service and at one point we had our main course but we had not been given silverware so we had to wait until we could catch the server's eye. The sommelier is outstanding! and he provided some paired wines that were a wonderful complement to the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Always a superb experience dining at the Refectory whether bistro, main DR or choir loft!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Salad dressing was amazing duck was the best I've ever had scallops had a great flavor dessert drinks and service were outstanding definitely a good experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

I really don't know what to tell now...This restaurant is always one of my favorites, and I enjoyed my first dinner in Columbus with the Refectory. However, I certainly doubt why its waitor called me at the midnight, just ten minutes before, to ask me if I would like to explore some restaurants with him in the next weekand? Dude, I can tell you this is terrifying and people feel harassed by this type of call. What did he mean?
If this was a warm greeting from the restaurant, how could he ask for a guest's private schedule? I am not paying 100$ to 'help' myself feel offended and worried. Never had such a terrible experience before. Wish the restaurant can give me a fair explanation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

As usual our waiter John made a great meal with friends into a memorable experience. Simply can't say enough about the way the entire staff...from owner Kamal and chef Richard to every other employee you come in contact with, excel at making you feel welcome, special and worthy of exemplary treatment! Any foodie out there in Columbus who hasn't yet experienced this gem is missing the boat and the entire ocean!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is very good and service is too. While the food is great, the atmosphere is in major need of an update. Is way to far out of date and tattered in appearance which takes away from your overall experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

A Columbus Classic for fine dining with everything you should expect from that kind of experience: great wine selection, adventurous dishes made from local ingredients, frequent new dishes, great service, and a hefty bill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

First experience at the restaurant. Dined in the Bistro and chose from that menu. Appetizer, goat cheese, was exceptional. Main course, beef short ribs, were a bit disappointing, a little chewy and dry. Dessert, creme brûlée was as expected. I will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic, amazing ambience and experience personally created by Hamal and Steve. Thank you chef Richard for creating delights that took me back to France. It’s like I was there all over again and it was really just a quick drive down from my home. Unforgettable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our experience was wonderful as usual!! Kamal is the perfect owner, warm, friendly and sincere!! The Refectory is our favorite restaurant in Columbus!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good and because of a special offer very value oriented. Server, though older, seemed inexperienced and less professional than normal outstanding
presentations. Maybe that expectation distorts my review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We love this local gem. We return whenever we can.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We are fortunate to have the Refectory, one of Columbus's finest restaurants, nearby. Their tax relief menu was the special that took us to their Bistro, and we enjoyed everything about the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

An absolutely lovely evening in the Bistro! Everything was done beautifully: food was excellent, nicely presented and tasty, service was excellent; our waitress was knowledgeable of both the food and wine, and the ambience was perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were actually very disappointed with our experience. We were celebrating a birthday and the service was the worst service we had ever had. We considered the Refectory the best special occasion restaurant in Columbus until this dining experience. The food was excellent but the service really detracted from our dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We went to the Refectory for our 34th wedding anniversary, and invited another couple to join us. Although the hostess who seated us was aware it was our anniversary, because we were talking about it and she asked us, there was nothing special done for the special occasion. Other than a mild disappointment in that area, the food was excellent!! No complaints! We all enjoyed our meals and the appetizers. The portions were good size, not huge, but filling. Those who had wine said they enjoyed it. The waiter was attentive. My friend asked about the cheeses she had enjoyed on the cheese symphony platter and the female wait person brought her a hand written card with each cheese name, what it was, and the area it came from. Above and beyond!!
Overall an excellent experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Refectory has great food, and Joseph is outstanding!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Perfection. Impeccable service, a phenomenal wine list (and Sommelier) and food that exceeds expectations. This is a dining experience. My only regret is that I hadn't visited sooner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

What a wonderful evening. Started off with a 10 for $10 wine tasting. Afterwards, joined for the special bistro menu and was in for an absolute treat. Justin took wonderful care of our group and we enjoyed everything served from the 3 course meal.

Impeccable service, delicious food, and soothing ambiance. Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

My husband and I went to The Refectory for dinner for our 8th anniversary and it was outstanding. Everyone was super accommodating I felt spoiled it was such a wonderful experience. The appetizer I got was the barramundi and mussels, dinner I ordered seared scallops and my husband ordered the beef short ribs. Best meal I can remember having almost ever! Plus the cheesecake and cream brulee was amazing the ambiance was perfect and the wine was suburb I would give this place a 10 out of 10 stars!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I only have a couple of complaints I wanted to mention. We had to wait for nearly a half hour for a table. Our reservation was for 8 pm, but we were not seated until almost 8:30 pm. The waiting area was crowded and stuffy and it left me and my partner in a rather bad head space to stand around so long. Also, I bought a bottle of wine to take with me at the end of the meal. The waiter Joseph priced it too high on the bill and I had to correct him and let him know the right price - I don't like to have to bird dog the bill like that; it was awkward and embarrassing for both of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

After 30 years, still one of our favorite restaurants of all time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Outstanding service. Incredible food. Beautiful ambiance. Couldn’t have been any better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Wonderful meal! The sommelier was very accommodating and offered us a tasting of eight wines for my wife to select her favorite. The mussel soup was outstanding. The salad delicious! The lamb entree was perfectly cooked with wonderful sauce and accompaniments. What can I say? Oh, the pear tart was a perfect ending. Quite an experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The Refectory is our favorite restaurant in Columbus. We have never been disappointed with the food or service in the many times we have been there. Both are outstanding, and the venue is lovely, a converted old church.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Excellent. We really enjoy The Refectory, it's a special occasion every time we go there. Highly recommended for that special dinner, to impress, or to treat someone or some persons. It's the definition of class.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great experience! As usual, I’ve never had a bad or mediocre meal at the Refectory. It’s our destination of choice when we celebrate special occasions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

There is simply no other Columbus restaurant that even comes close to The Refectory. It's the only "special occasion" restaurant in town!
Great Job as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for Easter Dinner and the special menu was very well organized and a lot to choose from which made the selections great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch with sister-in-law and brother-in-law. The Refectory is always a treat, the menu always has something new with every dish prepared just right; service is impeccable. Spent over 2 hours without being rushed. Small details, like keeping water glasses refilled, are the norm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went to the Refectory for Easter and they accommodated our request.
The 3 course meals were amazing and Joe our server was attentive to our needs but a big hand to the server assistant refilling my water and bread ...she did a great job!!!
This is our favorite place but we will be moving out of state and will miss dining here.
Truly a great restaurant!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Outstanding, as usual. Had a wonderful 3-course meal for Easter lunch. Phenomenal service, food, drinks, atmosphere. This place is what you make it: lively with music, quiet and romantic, great for groups, outdoor dining, these people will do whatever needs to be done to please their guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We love to eat at the Refectory. The food is amazing and the service is top of the line. Joseph is incredible!! This is our favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

As always, Kamal and team did a fantastic job making our Easter brunch memorable and delicious. Excellent attention to detail...special cocktails, and the Easter meals were even a notch above their standards. Sophisticated, well thought out, beautiful presentation and phenomenal taste! We loved it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Absolutely wonderful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was outstanding. And the wine and mixed drinks were superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was our anniversary and the Refectory made it very special for us. The food and service was fantastic. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Thank you! We decided we definitely need to come back more often.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
76