About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: 6144519774x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Restaurant Photos

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
13 More
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

special occasion (165)
romantic (157)
notable wine list (122)
See All
fit for foodies (116)
neighborhood gem (32)
good for groups (25)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Asked about special occasion- we answere ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Asked about special occasion- we answered "60th birthday" and then- nothing....

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we do every year, we celebrated our a ...

Dined 6 days ago

As we do every year, we celebrated our anniversary at the Refrectory. We knew that the menu would offer a unique variety of entrees and the service would be excellent. We were not disappointed. I chose the rack of lamb and my wife enjoyed the salmon. Both were prepared and served with perfection. From the moment we entered the Refrectory and were greeted by the owner, Mr. Boulos, to our departure and farewell from Mr. Boulos, it was another memorable and highly enjoyable evening. It was a dining celebration.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional restaurant with great service

Dined 6 days ago

I have been to the Refectory approx. 10 times, and each time the food was great and the service outstanding. Best place to go in Columbus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted as we entered the restau ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were greeted as we entered the restaurant and felt very welcome. We were seated at a comfortable table in a nice location. The server was very formal. He was attentive to our needs and polite. I was somewhat disappointed in the wine list and felt the wines prices were higher than normal. The food was excellent. The atmosphere an ambience is pleasant and not as loud as most restaurants. We had an enjoyable evening and will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local gem!

Dined on May 19, 2016

I cannot say enough wonderful things about The Refectory! The food is one of the most exquisite culinary experiences I've ever had! The owner was serving as the host when I arrived and he was so humble and welcoming. He treated my mom and I like we were the only customers in the entire restaurant, even though he had plenty of other customers to tend to. Although at first glance, prices seem high, they are really more than fair for the food you get. The Bistro side offers a very affordable yet fine dining experience if you're looking to save money. Forget the fancy chain, please go support this local gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 15, 2016

I splurged and decided to go big on a date so I took him to The Refectory. It was hands down the best meal ive ever had. The roasted duck magret was cooked to perfection and the ambience is stunning. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I found The Refectory on a list of best restaurants in Columbus. If you haven't had the pleasure of dining here, you're missing out. My guy and I have been to high-end restaurants across the country, and The Refectory tops the list in all categories. It's an award winner in several categories, and they are all well-deserved. We look forward to our next dining experience at The Refectory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great at this restaurant but wa ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great at this restaurant but was very surprised by the limited menu. It didn't help that both our first entrée choices were not available but we were only told this after ordering. I found the service average which was a surprise since I have dined here before and it is always exceptional!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything--EVERYTHING--was outstanding. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything--EVERYTHING--was outstanding. Given the expected high quality, I was encouraged, when I mentioned the item, to try the antelope and quail selection. I told the server I usually didn't have the gumption to try something that--to me--was "exotic" and he said this was a "no brainer." He was right. After I agreed, another in our group of four changed his selection to the same choice. Our appetizer, which included Brie, was wonderful. Fully enjoyed the mussels and leek soup. And the dessert, which in most other places I would not order, was the perfect finish. The Refectory is well known for having an outstanding wine selection. Full marks there, too. And given the matchless quality of the meal, the prices were very reasonable. For example, the antelope/quail was at least ten dollars less than the price of a prime filet at any of the high ranked steak places in town. For our group, the Refectory is a once or twice a year place of perfection. We hold it in the highest regard. We could not have had a more pleasant dining experience. If you are old enough to remember the Maisonette (in Cincinnati), this is its equal. Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was fantastic! My husband ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was fantastic! My husband were there to move my son back from college and had time in the evening for a "date." Everything was wonderful. The best crème brulee I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

extraordinary food

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was extraordinary and was well worth the price. We went for mother's day and it was a good pick, had not been to the restaurant in years. They gave all of the mother's a begonia in a cute pot to take home which was a nice touch. The atmosphere and service is a little stuffy but the quality of the food makes up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food extensive wine list.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food extensive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

You get what you pay for. Great service ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

You get what you pay for. Great service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The. Best.

Dined on May 8, 2016

When you have something to celebrate and you want the best, this is the place to go. Lovely experience every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal at a perfect place. Food an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect meal at a perfect place. Food and service were outstanding. Will definitely be coming back regularly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our booth in the choir loft provided a n ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our booth in the choir loft provided a nice amount of privacy. The wait staff was very prompt. Food was excellent. We will be returning in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent presentation

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great service and food. Chef took our special request very seriously and made great dish with outstanding presentation.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A hidden gem of Columbus! A unique set ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

A hidden gem of Columbus! A unique setting for exquisite French cuisine. The food presentation is elegant and classy. We have visited multiple times and tried different dishes and all have exceeded our expectations. The service is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. They have an extensive wine menu. They also offer beer and other cocktails. If you have food allergies, clarify with your waiter/waitress before ordering. Perfect for a night out to try food you may not find in other restaurants around Columbus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an overall wonderful experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We felt right at home. The staff was so nice and thorough. The food was excellent and the dessert was incredible. Just a great place in general. Not the type of restaurant that would have been on our radar but it will be now!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to the Refectory to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary! Could not have made a better choice. Service was outstanding and the food was great. We love the creative fancy food and the large wine list. Our waiter gave great descriptions of each menu items, so everyone could find an entrée that they would love. I need to make it back there soon to try their bistro menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect food - Great staff - Wonderful environment - The best place we could have chosen for a perfect birthday celebration!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding quality, exceptional ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always outstanding quality, exceptional presentation, and service at The Refectory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience. The service ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The service, staff knowledge for recommendations and food were all excellent. Very nice place for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delightful Evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

This is hard to review because it was a perfect evening ! It was my husband's 75th birthday. He chose The Refectory. Lovely bottle of white wine perfectly chilled. Most places don't understand about chilling. Dover sole light and melt in your mouth delicious. Joseph our waiter ( familiar from the music events) was on top of everything and added to the "caring" of our evening. No rushing we had plenty of time to visit and enjoy each other's company. Like I've said A Perfect Evening. As you can tell besides excellent food well presented I enjoy a refined atmosphere. The Refectory is all about that in spades !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Refectory never disappoints

Dined on April 23, 2016

My heartfelt thanks to the entire staff of the Refectory for yet another fine dining experience. Chef Richard has simply perfected the art of matching American food products (such as bison) with fine French culinary technique. Bocuse perfected nouvelle cuisine, Richard has perfected continental cuisine. The Refectory never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Refectory is a first rate restaurant ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The Refectory is a first rate restaurant. The food presentation was extraordinary; the presentation was only exceeded by the tastiness of the food. We highly recommendthis restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine Originals - amazing menu!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had tickets to Book of Mormon last Friday night, and decided to stop at The Refectory beforehand for dinner. They were offering a Dine Originals menu that evening, and what an amazing menu and dinner we had. Three courses for $39. Appetizers of Alpaca Terrine and Beet salad were wonderful. The braised short rib was delicious, and the roast duck was one of the nicest presentations we've ever seen. Fresh fruit and three sorbets (and a glass of black port) ended the enjoyable meal. We found a nice bottle of wine at a reasonable price. One of my favorite features is that I can spend $50 or $150 on a bottle of wine and both are fantastic! The Refectory is our go-to restaurant for an enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meet the new boss, same as the old boss

Dined on April 21, 2016

We eat at the Refectory only 2 or 3 times per year, but since we've been doing that since it opened, that works out to 60 to 90 times. A couple years ago, I had a less-than-acceptable dining experience and swore off the place. Don't know why, but we went there for our 37th (!) anniversary, and it was exceptional. Great food (lots of foie gras), best wine list in Columbus (reasonably priced, to boot), and impeccable service. It's certainly not trendy, let alone cutting edge, but it was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Original Week meal

Dined on April 20, 2016

Food choices were quite reasonable. Walleye was ordered seared but appeared sauteed but enjoyable anyway. Bread was as usual outstanding. Love the French sauces. Service was excellent but we waited a little to complete the bill( service was busy at that time). Price reasonable but reflected the special diner's week fixed cost. We do not drink wines at restaurants ,but the selections looked "special" and abundant. Never have been disappointed dining at the The Refectory Restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beef tenderloin was superb. My favorite ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Beef tenderloin was superb. My favorite is always the Creme Brûlée though. Had a fantastic dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, excellent service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, romantic atmosphere, outstanding service. Tried some foods on the special Dine Originals Week menu which we would not ordinarily eat, including wild game, duck, and unique preparations of known foods. It was all delicious. Server was knowledgeable. Bread and water were refilled regularly. Great place for a special dinner, even if not celebrating anything in particular. Portion sizes were good and filling, not small as years ago. Went on a regular weekend evening, but they also have music nights, wine tasting events, and other themes. Enjoyed the dinner, will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely time at the Refectory

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a lovely time at the Refectory. It was my husband's birthday and they put a special birthday note in his menu and brought us a flan for desert. I have a dietary restriction that they easily accommodated. The salumi board is highly recommended. They also had a very respectable kid menu -- not the usual kid junk of grilled cheese and nuggets, but filet mignon, pasta and chicken breast. The food was lovely, presentation was amazing, and tasted good. It could use a bit more seasoning, but was otherwise perfect. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Refectory Dine Weekly

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

It was our first dining experience at this restaurant . We decided to go there for Restaurant Week sponsored thru Dine Columbus. The three course meal was a great value. Food wand service excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Continued Excellence

Dined on April 12, 2016

Every time I go to the Refectory there is always fantastic service and wonderful food. The waiters greet the guests with recognition of whatever reason was for dining there based on the reservation to help make it a memorable experience. The food is always pleasing to the eye and the palette. Servings sizes are excellent - you don't walk away feeling too full or underwhelmed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Outstanding service consistently high quality food, and great ambience. This has become my go to restaurant now when I'm hosting visitors from out of town. I have been here several times now and have never been disappointed. The one exception was a few months ago when my wife was to join me for their opera night the maitre de did not escort her to the room, which was difficult to find, as it was tucked away at an elevation from the main room. But otherwise we've been very happy with the service. Ask for Justin. He's fabulous for recommendations and very careful and measured. This is probably one of the top 5 restaurants in the Columbus area and the chef makes an effort to change the menu depending on the local supplies and seasons. If you can find venison or boar on the menu, definitely get it. The chef prepares these meats exceptionally well. The lamb chops are also divine. Probably among the best I've had anywhere in the world! During my last outing I really liked the fois gras as well. The Creme Brûlée is one of my favorites here, although they have many excellent desserts, most of them too beautiful to dig into :). The decor is lovely but make sure they take you into the main room and not the bar area. This is literally a church converted into a restaurant (tall ceilings and wonderful architecture). The tables are spaced out to give you a bit of a private touch. The food and desserts are tastefully decorated so the flavored are enhanced by all your senses. A definite 5 stars and worth many return trips!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The Refactory has been one of the top, if not the No. 1, restaurants in Columbus for many years. The combination of consistently great food and service justifies this preeminent position. We keep coming back for regular dining, as well as many of their special events: wine dinners and intimate chamber concerts. And one more incentive is their bistro dinner menu: $25 for a three course meal - unbeatable! Same food, same service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Wine & Service

Dined on April 2, 2016

Picked Refectory at random for 5-year anniversary dinner... couldn't have been happier. Excellent food, wine, and service. Lots to pick from on both food and drink menus, and impossible to go wrong with any selection. If/when we ever visit Columbus again, we'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've never felt rushed at the Refectory.

Dined on April 1, 2016

The staff of the Refectory is welcoming and professional. I had the rack of lamb and it was excellent. On another occasion I had the walleye and enjoyed it very much as well. My wife is vegetarian and they always have great items for her.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closed the menu and let the chef surprise us!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had never tried this sort of dining adventure before, but when our server told us of the option to just "close the menu" and let the chef delight us, we went for it. Gave a few of our parameters of things we liked, and we were wowed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very well balanced First Friday menu. Un ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Very well balanced First Friday menu. Unusual seafood course including gambas would be a delightful warm weather addition to regular menu. Pear was delicious. Justin gracious and attentive

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.