About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.refectory.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (73)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
See All
Notable Wine List (58)
Good for a Date (57)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Historic (30)
Authentic (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Live Music (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Seasonal (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fireplace (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (9)
Private Room (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Very professional yet personal. Has become my favorite restaurant in Columbus.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

The best restaurant in Columbus. We especially appreciated the opportunity to speak to one another without load music, others talking loudly and ability to not feel rushed. We wish more restaurants were like this.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We chose the Refectory for my husband's birthday, and he said it was the best birthday dinner he's had in a long time. We were greeted by a lovely young lady who escorted us to our table, then almost immediately two flutes of champagne were delivered in honor of his birthday. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, as well as the history of the unique restaurant. We started with Caesar salads, which boasted a much lighter dressing than most Caesars I've had. Our entrees were superb: my pan-seared scallops with a seafood strudel, and his roast duck breast with wild mushroom crepes. The restaurant did forget to serve my husband's soup course, but when made aware of the omission, the waiter immediately offered to pick up dessert. We had some difficulty choosing between the pear tart and the creme brulee (we were pretty full, so only wanted to share one). Imagine our surprise when BOTH desserts came to the table, complimentary! We felt that the food, atmosphere, and service were all excellent. Well worth the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food entrees were very good. The only exception was the dessert menu, which was
rather limited; the chocolate dome was small; we expected something more flaky and with
more body. The service was outstanding and we were made to feel very accepted and
comfortable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It is very good restaurant. we will visit again next our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

In an era of hard hitting and noisy places to eat, the Refectory is a place where we still can "Dine". Not only is the food creative and delicious, the atmosphere very cozy and service superb. They don't sit on their laurels, but innovate constantly

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Sam provided us extraordinary service and was highly knowledgeable about the preparation of the food, features of the menu, and stories behind the beer selection, but still made us feel right at home with friendly conversation. The maitre'd greeted us by name and even wished my wife a happy birthday on our way out with no reminder or hint from us. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Went here for our Anniversary. Food and service was great. Will repeat! Nice job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Another enjoyable dinner! Brought a friend this time as we all were going to see Beautiful at the Ohio Theatre later that night. Sat on the patio, which was wonderful. Very little noise from Bethel road and a nice breeze was the background for a great dinner. The pork dinner from the Bistro menu was one of the best pork chops I've ever had. So tender and flavorful! Always an amazing dinner at The Refectory!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Stellar cuisine stellar wine list stellar service if you're a foodie this restaurant is an absolute must visit

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

THE finest dining in Ohio, no contest. Every aspect of the evening was beautifully​ done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Excellent food with creative preparation. Professional service. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

取引先の方の接待に利用した。食事、ワイン、サービスのいずれも素晴らしく、先方も満足して頂いた様子。一人100ドル近く掛かるが、それに見合う内容といえる。今度は家族を案内したい。

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service is first class. Dish with scallops accompanied with seafood wrapped in light pastry very good but only 2 scallops. Portion small. The bison was good and was a larger portion than the scallop dish. Our seating preference was honored. We always very much appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 2, 2017

An unusual but very successful First Friday menu. Perhaps the most tender veal I have ever had. Duck done perfectly. Both the veal and duck sauces were flavorful and nice pairings for the dish. Fish course nice composition. Dessert appropriately light and a bit of spring based on strawberries. Excellent wine pairings by John. All in all an outstanding menu much appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Wonderful choice for dinner in Columbus, OH. Great overall experience. Wine choices are amazing, food is beautifully prepared, service is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Outstanding, and likely the best restaurant in Columbus. What else can you say?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Oh my goodness this was our first time and it was for my wife's birthday and I must say they put a big smile on her face. I had noted when making the reservation that it was for a birthday and there was a card on the table wishing a happy birthday.

The food was excellent and our waiter (Sam) provided excellent service and made us feel like we were the only couple in the restaurant. The attention to detail and occasional peek to see if all was going well made for an outstanding night out. My birthday is coming up and guess where I want to go. :-)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Have always looked forward to dining at the Refectory & have always left excellent feedback. This review will not fare as well. First, even with a reservation, we were seated in the lounge area. Part of what makes the dining experience here so special is the ambiance & decor...that is in the other dining areas of the restaurant. We were seated but not given menus. Our waiter, who had 2 4-tops & 2 2-tops, did not seem to multitask well. Although he had to keep passing our table, he pretended we were not there. Finally, after probably 10 minutes or so, he finally asked for our drink order. We informed him it was difficult to order wine when we had no idea what they offered. So then we continued to wait while he finally grabbed us some menus. Meanwhile, while one of the 4-tops seemed to be finishing up, there was evidently a problem with their bill. This incident involved our waiter plus 2 or 3 other employees while the rest of us continued to wait. By the time our soup (mussel--fantastic) came, it was served by one of the bartenders! He also, incidentally, was the only one who bothered to notice my empty soda glass sitting on the edge of the table & took it upon himself to bring me a new one after about 10 minutes of waiting. Our entrees came out around the same time as another table & our waiter spend quite a bit of time getting them situated. We waited for our covered plates to be rescued, once again, by the bar tenders. (I was not a fan of the duck in general; I'm sure if I loved duck, it would have been wonderful.) The crappy service just shocked us & put a damper on the whole evening. I will think twice before returning.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always, the Refectory delivers. The ambiance is fabulous and the food and service are without peer. For a great dining experience--and I emphasize "great" and "experience"--the Refectory is a must.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing service with fabulous food! Such a great experience, will definitely dine there again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was very good, but our server treated us as if we were a piece of gum stuck to the bottom of his shoe. Not certain why we were considered undesirables....we do know how to mind our manners, were appropriately dressed, and have had prior fine dining experiences....but during the whole meal we felt we were talked down to. And we paid a high price for the pleasure of this experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The Refectory always offers flawless service and outstanding food. The Bistro menu is a good value for the quality, and there are many unique wine dinners and live music events as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Celebrated a birthday-usual excellent food and service but staff added a few extras that made the dining experience especially memorable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent food, it looks like art, but tastes Devine. The wait staff was very attentive .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 23, 2017

My wife's Dover sole was outstanding. Our server expertly filleted and deboned the fish at our table. The rack of lamb was also tender and very good. But I will go for the sole the next time I visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had always wanted to try The Refectory due to its highly rated reviews over the last many years. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable, the food delicious. I have never had a more tender, delicious piece of veal in my life! But all of it could not have happened without the amazing service by all involved at the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Outstanding as always the service and food always are exceptional

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Dinner was exceptional and creative. Sauces were "can-I-lick-the-plate". It made our anniversary special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The experience alone in this converted church and school is well worth the visit. Every course we had was absolutely delicious. If at all possible, when we are in Columbus, we make reservations to have dinner here.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'm not sure how many times I should type "perfect." It was an exceptional meal and a perfect brunch atmosphere for Mothers Day! The bison "steak" was absolutely amazing...perfection. This place helps to define "fine dining" in Columbus!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Family favorite

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, terrible filet. Too stuffy for us to return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent as usual. Without a doubt one of the nicest place to eat in Columbus. Always great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My mom and I had such a wonderful, meaningful, and special night when we were here for her birthday, and we have also had wonderful times here with our family:) I also plan on bringing my fiance here soon because it would also be a very romantic location:)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Sam, the waiter, was very knowledgeable about the menu selection even though the new menu had only been out for a week. He was also super knowledgeable on French cuisine and culture and gave good recommendations to our group. It made for a wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Superior French cuisine by noted chef. Excellent quality and presentation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a wonderful date night at the refectory, per usual. Amazing service from Sam, delicious food, and wonderful atmosphere. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A little pricey for the portions, but very delicious. Service was top notch. Reservations via Open Table were without problems. Atmosphere is charming, historic building.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.