About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.refectory.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (102)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
See All
Good for a Date (92)
Creative Cuisine (84)
Notable Wine List (80)
Quiet Conversation (76)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Historic (58)
Worth the Drive (57)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (36)
Business Meals (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fireplace (22)
Live Music (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Private Room (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Seasonal (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

This place is amazing. Food ,service and the atmosphere was just spectacular.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Good up scale dining for any dinner or special occasion. Delightful tavern in addition to a fine restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Of all of the special occasion places to go in Columbus, The Refectory is by far the most reliable!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always at The Refectory; the food was wonderful, the atmosphere comfortable, and the hospitality unsurpassed!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, excellent service and quite good food; not inexpensive

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is truly a very fine restaurant. Our meals were delicious. The service was impeccable (thanks Ali) and the atmosphere is beyond compare in Columbus Ohio. This restaurant continues to set the standard for the highest quality cuisine and service in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter Brunch was a select prix fixe menu, which afforded a good variety of excellent dishes. It wasn't crowded and we weren't rushed, which is a nice surprise for a holiday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

had the spiced duck and my girlfriend has the filet/bison both were excellent. Pear Torte dessert was out of this world! would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredible food and service. Each course was prepared and served in a timely manner which complemented our dining. Had the bison and filet mignon which was cooked and served to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My spur of the moment decision to drop in for dinner was well rewarded. Despite wearing my gym clothes, I was treated like royalty. The tasting menu recommendation by our server, Joseph Gardina, and his wonderful service made our dinning experience one of the best occasions I can remember. The food by chef Blondin was a phenom of taste sensation. I am looking forward to returning again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Superb venison. Much better than previous similar antelope preparation. Delightful tomato soup preparation and excellent wine pairing by John, daring but well chosen merlot, completed the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The place in Columbus for fine dining. Don't go often but great for my special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our evening at the Refactory was lovely. Our waiter, Steve, was excellent. He had great information about wine. The food was spectacular and the atmosphere was romantic. Great experience. Saving up to go there again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Loved it! Try the skate wing! Everything was delicious in a very pleasant environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We enjoyed the First Friday menu with the 3 encores followed by desert. It was a great way to experience smaller entrée portions, yet enjoy the enrichment of a variety of different foods. Wonder wait staff, always around to answer questions, address needs, etc. We were spoiled and loved every minute of it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My guest and I were celebrating a combined birthday dinner. The experience was a first for her at the Refectory whereas I have dined at least ten times at the restaurant. We ordered different items and tasted each other's choice. We both felt that the food was exceptional and the service was perfect. We intend to eat here at least once a month.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Lovely and quiet dining on a cool wet night. Owner lighted a log fire nearby as wife and I dined. The sole was delicious following a special celery soup; our desserts were sinfully delicious as well. Our waiter, Ali, served us in timely and relaxed fashion.
Summary: great experience, yet again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The usual high standards we expect were met. One nice touch: I asked our waiter his recommendation as to a glass of French red wine for dinner. He recommended the St Emilion and explained his choice. It was perfect with the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was impeccable but the service could have been better. While attentive, it was painfully obvious that the server was more interested in other tables than ours. My guess is it had to do with the fact that we were the youngest table there (late 20s/early 30s vs. 50+ at other tables). It took a long time after we were seated for the server to even ask us our drink orders, offered no suggestions until I specifically asked for it (again, at other tables did this much sooner after the tables were seated and made plenty of suggestions without prompting). I usually like to chat with the serving staff to get their input on the dishes, but by the time the server got around to asking us our meal orders I'd given up trying to ask. The server forgot to bring us butter for our bread and barely checked in on our table during the 2.5+ hours we were there. They did offer a complimentary salad and a shot of dessert wine which was nice, and added a candle to my dessert since I indicated that I was celebrating my birthday. The food was absolutely perfect and I was in good company which made this experience fine. Maybe I need to wait until I'm 30 years older to be treated well here which is a bummer because the Refectory has the best food I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restarant is French and the food is good. An extensive wine list. Knowledgeable wait staff about the food. Classic French with sophisticated sauces. But the restaurant is old and dated. The decor has the feeling of being run down and the booth and table and dishes were old. The waiter insisted we order all at once, we wanted to explore and try and take time. And the servers and dish handlers were rushed. It doesn't have the fresh sophisticated feel you get in other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had the Dine Originals Week menu, which was a bargain. Three of our four had the skate wing entree, and it was stringy, which was a disappointment. However, the establishment gave us free dessert when they heard about the complaint. The presentation at this restaurant is lovely! We always love going there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Both the food and the service were excellent, as usual. The Refectory remains on of our top two places for the celebration of special events.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Yet another excellent dining experience at the Refectory. Our compliments go out the management, wait staff and Chef Richard and his culinary team. The Refectory is truly a fine dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Refectory is the Best restaurant in Columbus, in my opinion. This time we had a slight glitch; my wife received something different from what she ordered but it tasted very good, so she did not send it back. Our waitress handled the situation very professionally. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. They always exceed my expectations. Great service and everything I have ordered has always been cooked to perfection. If you are looking for upscale fine dining, this is most definitely the place to go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Another amazing pre-theatre dinner. $26.95 Bistro Menu is the best deal in town. Always 2-3 appetizers, entrees, and desserts to select from. 5:30 reservations get you out by 7:00 to head downtown for a show. The chocolate roulade dessert was delicious! Refectory Bistro is our go to before every performance we attend downtown!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went to the Refectory on Thursday, March 30, 2017. We ordered off their Restaurant Week menu, which is 3 courses for $39.95. The first course is a choice of appetizers, soup or salad. My wife had a delicious Seafood chowder; while I had a wonderful Seafood strudel. Our main entrees were braised beef short ribs and beef tenderloin. For dessert we had a pecan tart and raspberry chocolate dish. Everything was outstanding, especially the presentation of the food. Dining at the Refectory is a magnificent event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always a great experience. Quick service if you need it before a show or long romantic evening.
Great for anniversaries and other celebrations

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Elegant, delicious, great wine list, beautiful presentation, pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We were pleased to have a continued great food experience at the Refectory and Bistro.
We arrived at our our reservation time and was quickly seated.My companion uses a cane, and the owner immediately asked if the Bistro would be more accommodating for her than the main dinning room which has has a few stairs to climb. The little touches!

The waitress was very quick , attentive and lively while also answering all questions about menu items.

Usually I have their Creme Brule , but I had a desire for chocolate. The delicious chocolate satisfied my chocolate cravings completely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Best dining in Columbus. It's always a treat when my husband and I come here. Everything is always spot on.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Joesph is amazing!
He has been our waiter numerous times and it's always a joy to see him and he welcomes us like we are coming home!
Love his recommendations and if you get a chance to go to one of the jazz concerts he books you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were four friends sharing a meal. I was able to sample four different main courses and they were all spectacular. Many restaurants do several dishes well and less well on the rest of the menu. This is a good restaurant to try a food or a preparation you may be unfamiliar with because The Refectory doeoeveryrhing well. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

great service, great meal, great atmosphere. our favorite restaurant in Columbus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a lovely evening with a pleasant ambiance, delicious food and very good service. We would recommend the Refectory to anyone who would like a delightful dining experience. The Refectory is our first choice for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The bistro menu at The Refectory is one of the greatest fine dining values in Columbus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was okay. Very fancy place, service was great! Desserts were less than impressive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We absolutely LOVE The Refectory, great service, wonderful staff, awesome food, cozy atmosphere, AAA+ each and every visit. Thanks again for making our evening special!💁🏻❤️👍Our special THANK YOU'S to the chef, we have had a terrific food experience every time. You have a REAL gift and special talent and your love of food is tasted in each and every bite👌

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Bison creative and delicious on bistro menu. Apple cake very special

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.