About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: 6144519774x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Restaurant Photos

Warm Brie With Bacon Tarte
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Creme Brulee
Beef and Salmon
Duck Egg Omelette With Sauteed Mushrooms
Roasted Leg Of Lamb With Potato Du Jour And Black Olive Bordelaise
Double Chocolate Entremet With Almond Jaconde
Chocolate
Créme Brulé
flourless chocolate cake
Blueberry Clafoutis
Greek Yoghurt Panna Cotta
Beef tenderloin
Beet Salad
Roasted Beef Culotte with Tarragon Bordelaise
Vegetarian Special
Roasted Goat Cheese
Bacon Bloody Mary
Mahi
PAN SEARED SALMON with horseradish and tomato beurre blanc
CHOCOLATE BREAD PUDDING with vanilla ice cream
Salmon burger
Grilled Beef Shoulder Tenderloin With Cardamom Sauce
Roasted Texas Antelope
Mini Lamb Burger
Garlic Confit And Toulouse Sausage Stuffed Veal Tenderloin
Lemon Merengue Cupcake
Seafood Special
Walleye
Dover Sole
Wild Elk Rack

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
13 More
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

Special Occasion (152)
Romantic (133)
Notable Wine List (108)
See All
Fit for Foodies (92)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Historic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (10)
Scenic View (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Live Music (6)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

its was okay. nice servers, good ambianc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

its was okay. nice servers, good ambiance. food was alright. i would have enjoyed texas roadhouse prob just as much for 150 less

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb Food, but Slooooow Service. As a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Superb Food, but Slooooow Service. As always, food was great, but service was at a snail's pace.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Always the best of the best!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always the best of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't go to a restaurant in Columbus ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

You can't go to a restaurant in Columbus that treats you more like you are special than Refectory. You are treated as important. If you are a repeat customer they are likely to remember you. The menu is limited, but what they offer could not be tastier, and the wine list is better than any I know in Columbus. A special place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the BEST restaurant in Columbus! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Simply the BEST restaurant in Columbus! 5 stars in every aspect. I have traveled the US and Europe and feel this is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to the Refectory with my husband ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I went to the Refectory with my husband to celebrate my birthday and they really made my birthday memorable. The food was outstanding and the service was superb. The restaurant was quiet and cozy which was perfect. We will definitely return for the next special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bistro menu is one of the best barg ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Bistro menu is one of the best bargains in the Columbus area. The food, the presentation, and the service never fail our best expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Refectory is the finest restaurant i ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Refectory is the finest restaurant in Columbus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all areas! Provided entree ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent in all areas! Provided entrees that were gluten free and low salt. Even had warm gluten free bread that was delicious. Created a dessert that was gluten free and low sugar -fruit and sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their filet mignon is the best I've ever ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Their filet mignon is the best I've ever had in my life. I loved that they offered 2oz glasses of wine because I'm still learning what I like. The service was exceptional and every detail of the food was made and flavored to perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kudos to Chef Richard Blondin! We chose ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kudos to Chef Richard Blondin! We chose this restaurant for a very special dinner with our 7-year-old granddaughter. In fairness, SHE chose the restaurant. Everything was perfect. We were struck by how quiet it was which made conversation easy. The service was impeccable and the food divine. We shared tastes of each others' selections and all were fabulous, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Our granddaughter wrote a note to Chef Richard that simply said: "Best Meal Ever!" Thank you all for a lovely and memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and knowledgeable staff. Bes ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and knowledgeable staff. Best dinner I've had in ages, and I eat out alot. Would recommend the Refectory to everyone that's interested in a great dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Three of us for dinner. Appetizers and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Three of us for dinner. Appetizers and salads were great. Norwegian salmon entree very good. Bison and rack of lamb entrees under-cooked for our taste. Did not specify doneness, but to us pink centers would have been tastier and better textured than red, despite what Gordon Ramsey might prefer. Lentils were also under-cooked and somewhat hard. Other veggies were fine. Sauces and flavors, overall, were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the finest meals we have had here ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the finest meals we have had here -- start to finish excellent. Delightful amuse Bouche , always-excellent soup, prawns outstanding with excellent pasta, and special local-peach cobbler. Champagne special a great value and well chosen by John. The attentive owner stopped by twice to enhance the evening. Went home happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will ALWAYS be a Columbus FINE DINING es ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Will ALWAYS be a Columbus FINE DINING establishment. Well worth the money. The service and the quality of the food is simply hard to beat. There is a reason this place has been there this long! Plus the website and emails for events and specials are awesome. I hope to heck Kamal owns building so we don't lose another icon in Cols due to a GREEDY landlord.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Refectory is the standard by which w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The Refectory is the standard by which we measure fine dining. The food is incredible and the service is outstanding. We have been going there for years and have always had excellent experiences.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, service, ambience, entertainment - ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food, service, ambience, entertainment - the Refectory is top-shelf in all areas.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 38th wedding ann ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice to dine at the Refectory . The service was outstanding and the food delicious. We had the bison , it was wonderful and the creme brûlée for dessert. Loved it!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my Mom and Grandmother out for our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Took my Mom and Grandmother out for our yearly girl's night out. We love going to tasting menu's and there aren't many of them in Columbus, OH. Overall the food was fantastic and the service was good, but a bit slow. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

While we don't like to write a somewhat ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

While we don't like to write a somewhat negative review of the Refectory, our dinner last night was simply not up to our expectations. We thought it would be fun to experience some of the "throwback to 40 years ago" menu items, but were disappointed in the food that was on this special menu. Enough said, but we were wishing we had just gone with their regular menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had our wedding anniversary dinner at ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We had our wedding anniversary dinner at the Refectory; the consistent #1 in Columbus year after year. This is a well deserved ranking. They are celebrating their 40th anniversary and have a special extra menu with items that were served in the beginning. Everyone on the staff congratulated us on our anniversary. They had a special notice of the event in our menus and they gave each of us a complementary glass of champagne. Our meals were presented beautifully and was delicious. I could go on. If you want to have a special dinner - The Refectory.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Each time we dine at The Refectory we le ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Each time we dine at The Refectory we leave with one question only "why don't we eat there more often?" The food is superb, the service is exemplary, the dining atmosphere permits a quiet conversation. We are never rushed by the server. The best restaurant in Central Ohio!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here only about once a year as w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We dine here only about once a year as we our from out of town. This time we came for their anniversary special, orange duck. It was very good.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is always amazing - can't go wrong. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food is always amazing - can't go wrong. Very nice atmosphere, great service, French style meals - Chef trained in Lyon France. Excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant - food was outstanding ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great restaurant - food was outstanding - just like every other time

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The entire experience was top-notch. Loo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The entire experience was top-notch. Looking forward to coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It has been, and remains, the best fine ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It has been, and remains, the best fine dining restaurant in central Ohio. The experience from the greeting, seating and dining is superb. The food is excellent and the service is attentive, but you never feel rushed. We can not recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant. terrific food a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. terrific food and service - stealthly attentive. Deserves to be known as "best in Columbus".

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's special lamb appetizer was de ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The chef's special lamb appetizer was delicious, and the sauce a nice departure for him. John's wine pairings spot on as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal meeting all expec ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Another wonderful meal meeting all expectations. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food excellent but service exceedingly s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food excellent but service exceedingly slow. Waited at least 15 minutes between courses and over half an hour for a bottle of wine. Expected and wanted a leisurely served meal but 2.5 hours is too long.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great overall experience it's truly a ge ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great overall experience it's truly a gem that should be experienced by anyone who really enjoys great food that is presented at it's highest level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Refectory provides a true dining exp ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Refectory provides a true dining experience. It is not to be hurried. We are not at a fast-food place. But when we came to celebrate a friend's birthday and to use a gift certificate I purchased at a special fundraiser (and I do thank you for that contribution) it was very busy with a group function on the patio. We felt the service was especially slow. All-in-all, however, the meal was delicious and it is always a real pleasure to experience it. My husband and I spent our last anniversary there five months before he died suddenly so it was, for me, an especially bittersweet evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was overrated, but I think the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food was overrated, but I think the place itself is very beautiful. It's possible that I just got an off-meal though since the other reviews are so high. My food seemed just reheated and a bit on the dry side. (I got the fish of the day.)

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Slow inattentive service. Didn't even ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Slow inattentive service. Didn't even get menus for 25 mins Entree was over an hour wait. No attention or explanation from waiter. Entree cold when arrived. Very disappointed. Obviously understaffed for a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Classic French cuisine. Heavy sauces, b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Classic French cuisine. Heavy sauces, beautiful presentations. The by-the-glass wine selections were lacking the excellence of the rest of the fine wine list. The beet salad was attractive but lacked a standout flavor. Too muted. The duck was appropriately gamey and well prepared. Again, beautiful on the plate. The pecan tarte was good, not great. Overall The Refectory meets but doesn't exceed expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. The waitstaff were wonderful, the food was far beyond our expectations and the wine list was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb prawns and house pasta accompanyi ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Superb prawns and house pasta accompanying were excellent with a nice Montrachet chosen by John.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time to eat at the Ref ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was my first time to eat at the Refectory. It was very good and I will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food and presentation was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

food and presentation was outstanding. We enjoyed the Walleye. Service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.