About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (106)
Special Occasion (103)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
See All
Good for a Date (91)
Notable Wine List (82)
Quiet Conversation (78)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Historic (56)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Worth the Drive (51)
Authentic (42)
Cozy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Business Meals (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fireplace (19)
Live Music (18)
Private Room (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was okay. Very fancy place, service was great! Desserts were less than impressive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We absolutely LOVE The Refectory, great service, wonderful staff, awesome food, cozy atmosphere, AAA+ each and every visit. Thanks again for making our evening special!💁🏻❤️👍Our special THANK YOU'S to the chef, we have had a terrific food experience every time. You have a REAL gift and special talent and your love of food is tasted in each and every bite👌

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Bison creative and delicious on bistro menu. Apple cake very special

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. A bit pricy but worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Superb Bordeaux wine choice by John. Squab and pheasant delicious as was the minestrone. Meal paired and flowed well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The restaurant itself was stunning with great history. The food was delicious and was fixed as an art. We had wanted to sit in the lounge to appreciate the musical performance, but it was already full. Instead the waiter took us to a booth right next to the lounge and we could hear the music perfectly if not better because it would have been too loud to have a conversation in the lounge. Great place! Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Lovely anniversary dinner. By Columbus standards the Refectory is a bit pricey, but the meal you get here would cost twice as much, and still be well worth the money, in a bigger city. For a luxurious and relaxed dinner it's well worth a little splurge. We love the atmosphere here, and our waiter (Steve) was helpful and attentive without being too much of a presence. The antelope was fantastic, and the special game menu was a treat. The duck Margret and Scottish Partridge were perfectly prepared. Excellent wine choices, even at the lower price points. This really is a go-to place for a special occasion, and we'll certainly be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2017

As always, it was an awesome evening!!! We come often as everyone is so friendly and the food is always good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and ambiance were amazing. My mother really enjoyed her birthday and noted how much she'd like to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience. Love the atmosphere and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We waited FOREVER to eat. Our reservation was at 7:15pm and our dinner didn't come out until 9pm. That kind of killed the evening since we didn't get out of there until 9:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Refectory made the celebration of my daughter’s birthday a fabulous success, with splendid food, excellent service and congratulatory notes at each of our five place settings. Their highly esteemed mussel soup lived up to its reputation, as did the artichoke and arugula salad and we savored the perfectly cooked lamb, sturgeon, shrimp and quail. Delicious desserts ended a marvelous meal which began with complimentary glasses of champagne. Well worth my trip from Manhattan to Columbus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Mardi Gras menu with delicious dishes from gumbo to crawfish etoufee. Everything was a hit with our group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The frog legs were AMAZING!!!
Our waiter Steve was great too!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Pretty pricey, but good. A lot of fancy fish and red meat, but a couple vegetarian options including solid salads.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Ate from the Bistro Menu, a stupendous value and the food was outstanding. The Refectory never disappoints and always makes me feel special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my second time here, and I loved it as much as when I first went. I love the history of the restaurant, the ambience, and the service was great too! We got special seating for the Dinner/Live Music show, and thoroughly enjoyed it. My meal was Monkfish, which was delicious, and my boyfriend had the 4-course special that included leg of lamb, lobster bisque, and pate'. This was our "belated" Valentine Dinner and we loved it!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The usual excellent performance across the board! Always a great evening.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Perfect place to take my special lady for a lovely evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I took my bride to dinner here. What made it interesting is she used to go to church where the Refectory is now located so she pointed out where things used to be.

The service and the food were great; the mussel soup is FANTASTIC! It is definitely a must have.

We will be back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We tend to visit the Refectory for special occasions--the food is consistently outstanding, the service is gracious and the ambiance is elegant. But, going to the Refectory makes any visit a special occasion. It's a Columbus gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It had been a few years since my last visit but the quality of the food and professional staff excels in every way. There is little doubt as to why this restaurant ranks as one of the finest in Ohio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fabulous food and service as always! I had gamba with linguine. Gamba are Spanish shrimp. It's something I've never had before and it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Top shelf restaurant; easy to see why it is in the Top 100 list. The food was fantastic and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food is unbelievable from start to finish. The service is fantastic. We let our waiter make recommendations on food and drink, and he was spot on. It is pretty pricey, but well worth it for an occasional special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Outstanding food and dining experience ! Fantastic wine voices by the glass !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had an amazing time and experience while dining, highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good French food. Went for Valentines Day. When I made my reservations in early January I was unaware that there would be limited choices. I wish I would have known that for the hefty 98 dollars per person fee. Service and ambiance were great though. I will probably try again when I can try the actual menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The meal and the experience was all very good. However, I was very disappointed initially. I am not sure if the responsibility should fall on the Refectory or on Open Table, but I was not aware that there was a special/limited Valentine's Day menu. It was a required 5 course meal for $98 a person. We ended up spending $300 which was about double what I was anticipating. We stayed because I didn't want it to ruin our Valentine's Day and we didn't really have any other options for a meal at that point. But I was very disappointed I was not made aware of the required minimum payment. I've made many reservations through Open Table and this was the first one that I have such an issue. I think it would be nice if Open Table could send a simple email upon reservation that there is a special menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We very much enjoyed our meal at the Refectory Bistro. The menu had plenty of choices for people with different tastes and the food was very well cooked and attractively presented. I had the duck which was done to perfection. We enjoy dining in the main room but on a chilly night the bistro is comfortably cozy.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Music series-music was great! Meal was only "ok" overpriced at $100 for 4 courses. Small appetizer, cup of average lobster bisque. Ok loin, but small quantity. The high quality music saved the evening. Suggest Upscale the meal to match the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience. Whenever we have a special occasion ( Valentine's day this time) and are visiting Columbus we always consider this great option in a city that is developing a number of great eating options.
A quiet retreat with outstanding service, wonderful food selections and an wide selection of wines.
An ever changing menu and new combinations as well perfect preparation combine to make it a unique experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Hadn't been to the Refectory for some time! I'm now reminded of how much I missed. The meal and service was impeccable, still a little pricy but we'll worth it. Looking forward to the next visit.
Thanks to all at the Refectory !

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated an early Valentine's Day dinner. Good and service were spectacular!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect for a romantic evening, and great food to go along with it. Very unique dishes you won't find anywhere else in Columbus.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had an appetizer of pork belly and artichokes in puff pastry. The port belly was tough in part andi only found one real tender piece. I don't think the dish was worth the price; however the mussel soup was delicious. My husband and I split a Caesar salad that was rather skimpy. My lamb saddle was delicious, but accompaniments were lacking. The desserts were delicious, pear tart and pecan tart. I won't say we were disappointed, but felt some things could have been better

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Exceeded our expectations. The service was great and all menu items extraordinary. Will be a place we visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food. My favorite restaurant in Columbus. Presentation of food is wonderful. The servers are always so professional and attentive to detail 😊

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Refectory is always our go-to place for a special occasion. Our oldest son has asked for his special birthday celebration dinner to be at Refectory for years now. We are happy to oblige, as the Refectory is top notch and a perfect evening every year. The service and menu are impeccable! My husband and I are fans, too, for birthday or anniversary celebrations. Highly regarded!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.