About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.refectory.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Romantic (89)
Good for Anniversaries (89)
See All
Notable Wine List (78)
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Historic (54)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Authentic (38)
Cozy (31)
Business Meals (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Live Music (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fireplace (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (15)
Seasonal (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Dinner was exceptional and creative. Sauces were "can-I-lick-the-plate". It made our anniversary special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The experience alone in this converted church and school is well worth the visit. Every course we had was absolutely delicious. If at all possible, when we are in Columbus, we make reservations to have dinner here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'm not sure how many times I should type "perfect." It was an exceptional meal and a perfect brunch atmosphere for Mothers Day! The bison "steak" was absolutely amazing...perfection. This place helps to define "fine dining" in Columbus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Family favorite

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, terrible filet. Too stuffy for us to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent as usual. Without a doubt one of the nicest place to eat in Columbus. Always great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My mom and I had such a wonderful, meaningful, and special night when we were here for her birthday, and we have also had wonderful times here with our family:) I also plan on bringing my fiance here soon because it would also be a very romantic location:)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Sam, the waiter, was very knowledgeable about the menu selection even though the new menu had only been out for a week. He was also super knowledgeable on French cuisine and culture and gave good recommendations to our group. It made for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Superior French cuisine by noted chef. Excellent quality and presentation

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a wonderful date night at the refectory, per usual. Amazing service from Sam, delicious food, and wonderful atmosphere. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A little pricey for the portions, but very delicious. Service was top notch. Reservations via Open Table were without problems. Atmosphere is charming, historic building.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Some fancy restaurants are big on fancy but little on the tasty, high-quality food. The Refectory had the latter in spades. Great food – every course – and great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Every course was distinctive, beautifully presented, and delicious! The wines were also excellent. There were many interesting menu choices.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Great food, great service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had maybe too high expectations going in, but felt a little disappointed. Food plating was lovely and the desserts were pretty and tasty, but the appetizers-entrees were ok. There are other restaurants with comparable reputations that we have enjoyed more. I wish we felt differently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was good, but slower than usual. The portions seemed smaller than usual, but the food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was very impressed with the entire experience. I was also delighted that the vegetarian options were not simple side like you find in most restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

First Friday preparation including quail and wild boar was outstanding, flavor, presentation and detail. Excellent value proposition for a fine meal. John' wine pairing fun as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent service. Food was spectacular. Artful preparation and presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful service. I was there for a special occasion that I mentioned passively to the Host and they brought out a complimentary toast of Champagne to the table. The staff was patient, informative, and kind. The food was excellent, and wine recommendations were much appreciated. One of the best meals I've ever had and the best meal I've had in Columbus. With this level of quality, you expect to pay more but they remain competitive with other high-end restaurants.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a wonderful evening in celebration of my wife's birthday. We will be coming nagain!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was an epic battle, my barramundi versus her veal. We each thought we had won, so we had to declare a tie. Best in the city.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Once again, the service and food was un-comparable. There is no other place to celebrate a special occasion in columbus than the refectory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our go to place for special occasions. We have never been disappointed. The cuisine is fantastic and the service is excellent. The décor is inviting and I can not think of a single flaw in this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely place. Food is amazing and the ambiance is unmatchable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was terrific as always. This place pays attention to the most minute details in every facet of its restaurant. If i could give over 5 stars for the service I would.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Every year we look forward to the Tax Relief Menu, and we were not disappointed! 3 courses from the spring menu for $39. Service was spot on, and all 3 courses were delicious! The duck with the duck bacon and mushroom crepes is my partner's favorite! My short ribs were amazing too! The Refectory is our favorite restaurant in Cbus!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We celebrated my fathers 81st birthday at The Refectory. In the notes on my reservation I noted that exact thing. When we arrived for dinner everyone greeted him with a Happy Birthday and even had 2 cards in the table that said Happy 81st Birthday. It was perfect. The whole evening was more than I could have asked from the food to the excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Have dined there a few times but this was a special experience. My wife and I decided to have separate salad and soup, but then share an entree. It was first time we have done this at The Refectory, but other places we have had to separate the entree ourselves. This come as two separate meals..amazing presentation, equal amounts and delicious. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding Restaurant, elegant , comfortable, and good food

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This place is amazing. Food ,service and the atmosphere was just spectacular.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good up scale dining for any dinner or special occasion. Delightful tavern in addition to a fine restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and was looking for an upscale restaurant. It was above our expectation. The staff was great, the food was great and we were make to feel welcome. Will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Of all of the special occasion places to go in Columbus, The Refectory is by far the most reliable!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and superb food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always at The Refectory; the food was wonderful, the atmosphere comfortable, and the hospitality unsurpassed!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, excellent service and quite good food; not inexpensive

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is truly a very fine restaurant. Our meals were delicious. The service was impeccable (thanks Ali) and the atmosphere is beyond compare in Columbus Ohio. This restaurant continues to set the standard for the highest quality cuisine and service in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter Brunch was a select prix fixe menu, which afforded a good variety of excellent dishes. It wasn't crowded and we weren't rushed, which is a nice surprise for a holiday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.