About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.refectory.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (95)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
See All
Notable Wine List (80)
Quiet Conversation (77)
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (36)
Business Meals (32)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Live Music (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fun (12)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
2732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Would recommend this restaurant if you are in Columbus area . The food is outstanding with great service. We would definitely go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I, regulars for many years, have always been delighted with the superb food, service, and ambiance. The Refectory is by far our favorite place to dine on all counts. The dinner/music events are fabulous, too.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

In our opinion, the best restaurant in Columbus! Elegant but not stuffy, authentic French cuisine. Excellent service and a Wine Spectator list restaurant. Their bistro fixed price menu is probably the best deal in town

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Top notch service from start to finish. I could not have picked a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Went for dinner to celebrate both my daughters and wife's graduations. Food was phenomenal and server was awesome. Only critique I would give is dessert took way too long to be served.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our gracious host greeted us and asked if we would rather eat in the Bistro because my friend had a cane. Nice touch. We usually go regularly when the restaurant has a special menu. Food was very good but I had wanted the Banana Foster but it was for two and my companion doesn't like bananas. My waiter made he desert but I think he was very inexperienced with it's preparation: Couldn't get the fire to start and it had way to much liquor flavor. Very unusual experience for me at this very exquisite restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Traveled from Florida to see my brother and his new wife. Lovely Dinner with excellent Wait and Host staff. Food was very tasty. Setting was perfect for quiet conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful structure and interior. Staff was beyond attentive!! Food was delicious and uncomplicated... simply wonderful. Cannot say enough good things about our server, Eden. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

While we have previously had an outstanding experience this time we were seated at the bar area, the waiter while probably professional and friendly was multitasking as a bartender as well as a waiter so when the bar scene became busier we were kind off orphaned and had to rely on the kindness of other staff that were very nice but also very busy with their own customers.
Also while the food was as always very good and beautifully presented I would think less salt would afford the flavors to be more pronounced (on other occasions the salt was not dominating the many notes of the wonderful sauces.
On overall we love and respect this place a lot and are very proud to take people that come to Columbus there and we hope this place will prosper while maintaining its high standards even on a busy evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were celebrating and could not have asked for a better experience. Sam provided superb service and demonstrated excellent menu knowledge. He suggested a different wine than we picked, let us sample both and we picked his! The food (apps, I had lamb, she had duck) was timed perfectly, cooked perfectly, tasted amazing and had a delightful presentation. Truly couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2017

After the last several years of disappointment with area restaurants...from poor service, sub-par to average food and little to no ambiance, we were delighted with our experience at the Refectory. Everything was lovely, relaxing, beautiful...perfectly done. The waiter was courteous and polite, helpful but never obtrusive. Presentation of our meals was beautiful and the flavors were amazing. This restores our faith in the dining experience. Many thanks for the exceptional job. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great ambiance, awesome service and even better food. Refectory is a rare combination of setting, service and culinary arts all combined in unison to provide a delightful experience that appeals to the palate, eyesight and your mood. I would recommend this place to anybody without a doubt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in central Ohio. Everything is done to perfection - from the food and the extraordinary wine to the service. It is not a casual dining destination, but the formality never comes across as stuffy or overdone. It's just exquisitely genteel. Very much an antidote to the daily craziness. This time I had the mesclun salad with a maple syrup vinaigrette (very lightly dressed, which was perfect), the duck breast (excellent rendering and my leftovers made for a very unique lunch the next day) with a mushroom crepe, and then the passion fruit Bavarian for dessert with the recommended pairing of a very potent (but delicious) port (pay heed to their pairings: you can never go wrong!). My husband had the filet mignon and we were in the mood for a Syrah, so we went with the waiter's recommendation of a very fruity and bold one from Argentina, which was lovely. At first I thought he recommended it because it was the least expensive Syrah on the list and he had sized us up that way, but it really paired beautifully with both our meals. The Refectory has a well earned reputation for its wine inventory, which I'm sure many people assume means they're all $100+ bottles, but their selections run the price range and are always spot on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Columbus, actually in Ohio. The Bistro menu, which is what we had this evening, is a great value at $27.00 for a three course French master chef prepared meal. Chef Richard offers at least three optins for each course. The service is totally customer focused. You can't go wrong with the Refectory!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went to celebrate a special birthday. My girlfriend's 50th. In the special instructions on the reservation, I noted her name and the fact it was her birthday.
We were greeted warmly at the front desk, and got a Happy Birthday wish. Then, we were taken to a quiet corner table, where a card rested, also wishing my girlfriend a happy birthday.
The waiter was just excellent. He helped make the evening very special, informing us about drink and wine choices we couldn't decide on, meal information and recommendations, and a dessert recommendation.
I couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate a special occasion. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My favorite restaurant in town. Don't bother looking at the wine menu, just ask the sommelier to pair for you. You will be delighted by the result. Come with your credit card, it gets pricey. They have great events that are cheaper in price, though, which is a great time to try it out (restaurant week, etc). They also have wine tastings and special functions that are prix fixe, just check the website.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual The Refectory was amazing. They always make you feel welcome and special. This was for my wife's birthday and the chef Richard Blondin is just awesome. He makes art on a plate and has an amazing palate with the pairings that he puts together. On this occasion he made a special dessert for my wife and she was very impressed as usual. We love coming to The Refectory for every special occasion. We've been all over the world and The Refectory is where we always come back to. Thank you to the entire staff and owner for creating an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Recently went to the Refectory for an anniversary celebration. Very disappointed in the food we ordered. I know the Refectory consistently receives the highest of ratings as a Columbus restaurant, but we were not impressed. The outside entrance to the restaurant was perplexing and needs some work. There were 2 small benches which made no sense. I would not return to this restaurant, as the price is definitely is not worth the service or food. It probably appeals to an older, dedicated group of patrons, but won't pass muster with a younger crowd.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dining here is expensive, however staff is friendly and helpful with suggestions. Gluten free friendly options. Ate with friends as we had all recently celebrated birthdays and we were given extra creme brule and dessert wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 3, 2017

For our 43rd anniversary dinner this was perfect. My wife was happy so I was happy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 2, 2017

If I could give the Refectory better than 5 stars I would!! Our server Michelle was exceptional in every way! She was knowledgeable, paid close attention to detail, allowed us to enjoy each and every bite of our meal and did so flawlessly! She truly made our experience at the Refectory one that we will not soon forget. The chef provided us with a complimentary amuse bouche which was exquisite as well as a small glass of moscato wine from California to pair well with our complimentary dessert! We were incredibly blown away by the service and friendliness of staff as well as the extraordinary food. The roasted goat cheese was divine, secondly, the butternut squash soup was silky and had the perfect touch of apple, and for my entree I ordered the rack of lamb. It was served with purple potatoes, and summer squash which were cooked to perfection. The rack of lamb was executed flawlessly and the seaweed crust was uniquely delicious! Each element provided a deeper layer of flavor and true dimension to the plate. Lastly, the creme brûlée was fantastic. As anyone might say that has dined at the Refectory! I can honestly say that my husband and I will absolutely come back again and again for the delicious food and phenomenal service provided by Michelle. Thank you! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food presentation was delightful. The appetizers were light and delicious. The main course was so wonderful, it is hard to put in words how enjoyable it was. The pear tart desert is to die for. The staff was wonderful and attentive, but not overly intrusive. I will definitely go back and recommend The Refectory to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our first visit was to celebrate our 40th Anniversary and we were not disappointed. Exceptional cuisine served by knowledgeable and friendly staff. My only concern was it might be challenging for diners with physical disabilities to navigate all the steps in the dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our waiter Justin was amazing. He was kind, knew the menus inside and out and recommended a perfect wine. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful as usual but have never received better service! Food outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great as always! Enjoyed the Restaurant Week menu which is a real bargain. Also bought some very reasonably priced Bordeaux wines at their new retail shop.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful, welcoming service. The food is always beyond excellent. The atmosphere is cozy, dark, and comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2017

今回はレストラン・ウィークに参加していたので、そのメニューを食べにやって来た。プレ・フィックスの3コースメニューで有るが、其々のコースには店の名物も含まれており、しかも其々4〜5種類から選ぶ事が出来る内容であった。私はこの期間中に一度だけ楽しんだが、友人は二回程訪れて違うメニューを楽しんだとの事で有る。有名な店で有り、普段は値段の面で少し躊躇しがちで有るが、このサービスは35ドル(2017年時点)なので家族連れでも楽しめると思う。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I think refractory is awesome.
Really great meal a, coffee and wine.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We went me and my husband Wednesday it was our wedding anniversary so we had our dinner there... I really give 5 stars for this resturant everything was great service,food ,desert was delicious I definitely would return to try more dishes and they do have a good wine also... so I recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Awesome. There was no hurry. Just 2.5 hours to enjoy the dinner and company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were there during Dine Originals Week and the item selection was perfect. Barramundi
Fish was fresh and great white meat. The soup was lobster bisque , hot and best very tasty.
The chocolate was a great dessert choice. The waiter was very attentive and helpful with the menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We returned here to take advantage of their second week of "Restaurant Week". We've always found their presentation and preparation flawless which made our dinners at Restaurant week prices that more of a value. Another plus is their selection of 2 ounce wine tasting pours. Since my wife wasn't drinking ( eliminating the need for a bottle) and I enjoy both red and white I was able to get three different tasting pours substantially for the cost of one normal glass of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our most recent visit was the best yet. The duck breast with mushroom crepe was wonderful, and the warm pear tart with its gorgeous presentation was the best dessert ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

as always excellent food and staff,very informed waiters,very friendly owner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Always fantastic, even over 30 years of dining there!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Stopped in for restaurant week and was not dissapointed. The food was great and the atomsphere itself was great as well. The only draw back was the server. He was very knowledgable on the menu but did not come back to the table very often. Twice we had to ask for the bread or it would have come out after the soups/salads. We also had to ask mutiple times for water refills/new drinks. This would not normally be an issue but at a restaurant of this caliber I expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The very best restaurant in Columbus!!! Excellent food with a perfect ambiance and top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.