About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.refectory.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: (614) 451-9774

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Romantic (95)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
See All
Notable Wine List (78)
Quiet Conversation (75)
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Worth the Drive (54)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (32)
Business Meals (29)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Live Music (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The service here was outstanding. Everyone is treated with extreme kindness and the food was amazing. The gentleman who served us was great at stopping by frequently and making the night special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent wine pairing with entree and dessert. Beautiful presentation. Friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding! Although the menu does not have a huge selection, all of the dishes are unique and everything we ordered was delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

awesome experience. Great food, service ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Neither of us had been to Refrectory for quite a while, we live in New Albany so tend to stay closer to home. The impetus to come over was that I won a gift card at a Pelotonia golf fundraiser. We were so pleased that we had re acquainted ourselves. It was as if seeing an olde friend! The meal was outstanding, the salmon scallops etc melted in out mouths. we will be back soon, many thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Steve, our attendant, was superb. He educated us on so many culinary things that we will definitely be going back. Their menu was exquisite and wine selection perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Everything is amazing! It is the place to go to try something new because I trust the chef(s) to make even the ordinary taste extraordinary. The warm pear tart is to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It is always a delight to dine at The Refectory. On this visit, my wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. I enjoyed the soupe du jour (lobster bisque), the gravlax appetizer, a classic Caesar salad (with anchovies, of course) and the sous vide veal. Everything was prepared to perfection and the plate presentations were perfect. Owner Kamal Boulos and chef Richard Blondin know how to treat you to a great experience. Be prepared to spent some money, but you will have an extremely memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have dined at The Refectory in the past and really considered it a step above other Columbus restaurants in terms of service, presentation, ambience and food. It was one of our top "go to" restaurants for special occasions. So when we flew my mom out for her 75th birthday AND they fact that she used to be a french teacher and has been to France more times than I can count, this seemed perfect. I hope it was just an off night for the restaurant as EVERYTHING was off. All of the things that previously stood out as exceptional were either poor or fine. We were embarrassed and apologized to our guests for our restaurant selection it was that poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dessert was so good we forgot to take a picture 1st!!! Everyone that works there is so great!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Unusual and tasty First Friday menu. Oxtail terrine very different for American palate, but traditional rural France and tasty. Chef an expert with pheasant. Would be a nice menu item. Likewise the truffled Gambas risotto. Attentive service by John perfect for our evening with guests. Nice wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of the best dinners I’ve ever had. We tried six glasses of different wines, and all of them were spectacular. We even purchased a few bottles to take home with us. If you like classic food prepared perfectly, the Refectory is for you. My Dover sole entree included a cooked “breakfast radish” that blew my mind. The ratatouille soup seemed humble on the menu, but it was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Consider the Refectory vegan friendly. Our outstanding server Joseph mentioned that we could be placed in the hands of the chef for the evening for him to create a multi-course dinner for my wife and me. What better place to be than in his hands! It was an fantastic treat to be catered to when being vegan. We had a four course meal, starting with a fan of white asparagus and mushroom, with vinaigrette emulsion (cold plate,) followed by an heirloom tomato course. Our plat principal was a seasonal vegetable presentation, and a fruit cocktail to finish. All of this with wine pairings! Great evening, thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We celebrated our 59th anniversary there, with a nice bottle of Voigner, and a delicious filet dinner. As an internet subscriber, we received a free dessert for two, which was also delicious. Our server was excellent. Very delightful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Ate in the tavern and enjoyed the bistro menu. Food, service and value were excellent. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service, mussel soup, and Dover sole very good. Unfortunately the beef dish was returned, Tasteless, over cooked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal! And the service was incredible! Perfect experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I come here every time I travel to Ohio. An amazing meal and the atmosphere is perfect! They treat you like a queen or king! An absolute place to stop in Columbus!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing food and service. Not cheap, but not over priced! A very special experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good service, upscale. Not a place to bring the kids.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Exquisite service. Very attentive staff. The food was outstanding both in taste and presentation. Try the veal tenderloin sous-vide. Excellent wine list. Beautiful old church. Highly recommend. We also love the wonderful dinner/music evening packages (jazz, classical).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Another amazing dinner at The Refectory. We were celebrating my parent's anniversary and my mom's birthday. The restaurant printed special celebration greetings that were on our table. Service was spot on, and the food was delicious. We eat at The Refectory often, and my dad said it was one of the best meals ever!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We have enjoyed The Refectory for years. It has always offered superb food and service, an exceptional wine list, and a quiet-elegant ambiance. Perhaps the best restaurant in Columbus, certainly in the top few. This visit was no exception.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We came for the Restaurant Week special and had a great experience - excellent food, exceptional service and ambience. I have also gone for the dinner music series and some of the special dinners - most notably the "Titanic" dinner. These were very entertaining and the food was wonderful. Also, on the last special dinner my family attended - the "Disney" music dinner - I had a guest with strict dietary health restrictions and the chef designed a special menu for her.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A very pleasant evening from the Napa Valley Wine tasting through the dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service and food is the best in Columbus. No one is in a hurry, just relax and enjoy first class atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Refectory was Great as always. My wife says it was the best duck she ever had, and that includes dinners in Lyon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, over the top, outstanding in every way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This is the perfect location for a special celebration or to make an ordinary day very special. The level of service, food and ambience was outstanding. I am already looking forward to the next time we can enjoy the experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful food and service. liked all the different rooms, so it is not one huge, loud dining experience. Ambiance is so nice. It is pricey but overall a great choice. Somewhat limited menu for vegetarian, though. (vegetable plate and sides from other meals).

I would recommend and plan to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The only negative thing I have to say is that my husband and I both got the filet mignon and it really wasn't that good. The avenue has a killer filet and I was Hoping for something similar, but everything else was superb!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Bravo! I have never been to The Refectory, but I was interested because of Dine Originals week. Compliments from top to bottom. Thank you Chef, serving staff, everyone... Delicious meal and I will definitely visit again! I recommend the roasted duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Certainly the best restaurant I’ve eaten at in Columbus with imaginative food in the French style.
Some items were not up to snuff
Desserts were flat which is probably why Columbus is home to Pistachio Vera.
White wine , a very interesting Oregon Pinot Gris was served at ‘cellar ‘ eg room temperature and took 30 mins to chill. Service was attentive but very slow. It took close to half an hour for us to get to our main course and we had to ask one of the servers to look into it.
Would certainly dine here again but the style is more country than haute cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The Refectory never disappoints. The food selections were spectacular in taste, presentation, and creativity throughout the meal. Service was outstanding. Our server was attentive and friendly while leaving us to enjoy our meal without unnecessary interruptions. The only minus to the evening was that the location of our table in the dining room was a little noisy due to distractions from a musical performance on the upper level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This is the very best restaurant in Columbus. I took my daughter and her two children, 12 and 14, to introduce the boys to both French cuisine and fine dining. We went during Restaurant Week. They have a lot of restaurant experience and wide food experience. Athough they were hesitant at first, they loved it. One had duck off of regular menu. The rest of us orderred off of Dine Originals menu and enjoyed roasted goat cheese, escargot terrine, Caesar salad, roasted beef shoulder tenderloin, pan seared barramundi, and vanilla creme brulee. A truly wonderful set of meals served by terrific staff. I've eaten from the regular menu, the bistro menu, a wonderful food tasting in the spring, the lounge small plates. I am never disappointed. It is a truly wonderful experience to dine at the Refectory

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Somewhat disappointed with service in the Bistro. It was busy and our waiter was
the only one serving all tables. So we got our desserts and then had to wait quite
a bit for coffee and it was not very hot when it arrived. Not up to the usual
high standards of the Refectory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We have never experienced anything other than exceptional food and exceptional service at the Refectory.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was one of the best meals we've ever eaten and we travel and eat a lot!! Pricey but ever so worth the cost. The Dover sole was so good I didn't want it to end, and the pear tart and pistachio ice cream see picture) was to die for. Heaven.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our waiter seemed very disappointed when we did not order wine or cocktail We ordered off the pre fix menu. We requested to sit in bar area but we accomadated a handicapped woman and at the restaurants request sat in the main dining room. Our waiter was very aloof and very unengaged. He made us feel uncomfortable. We felt like he was disappointed the check would not be larger.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.