About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: 6144519774x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Restaurant Photos

Warm Brie With Bacon Tarte
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Creme Brulee
Beef and Salmon
Duck Egg Omelette With Sauteed Mushrooms
Roasted Leg Of Lamb With Potato Du Jour And Black Olive Bordelaise
Double Chocolate Entremet With Almond Jaconde
Chocolate
Créme Brulé
flourless chocolate cake
Blueberry Clafoutis
Greek Yoghurt Panna Cotta
Beef tenderloin
Beet Salad
Roasted Beef Culotte with Tarragon Bordelaise
Vegetarian Special
Roasted Goat Cheese
Bacon Bloody Mary
Mahi
PAN SEARED SALMON with horseradish and tomato beurre blanc
CHOCOLATE BREAD PUDDING with vanilla ice cream
Salmon burger
Grilled Beef Shoulder Tenderloin With Cardamom Sauce
Roasted Texas Antelope
Mini Lamb Burger
Garlic Confit And Toulouse Sausage Stuffed Veal Tenderloin
Lemon Merengue Cupcake
Seafood Special
Walleye
Dover Sole
Wild Elk Rack

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
13 More
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

Special Occasion (154)
Romantic (138)
Notable Wine List (113)
See All
Fit for Foodies (95)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always amazing - can't go wrong. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always amazing - can't go wrong. Very nice atmosphere, great service, French style meals - Chef trained in Lyon France. Excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant - food was outstanding ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant - food was outstanding - just like every other time

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The entire experience was top-notch. Loo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

The entire experience was top-notch. Looking forward to coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It has been, and remains, the best fine ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

It has been, and remains, the best fine dining restaurant in central Ohio. The experience from the greeting, seating and dining is superb. The food is excellent and the service is attentive, but you never feel rushed. We can not recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant. terrific food a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding restaurant. terrific food and service - stealthly attentive. Deserves to be known as "best in Columbus".

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's special lamb appetizer was de ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

The chef's special lamb appetizer was delicious, and the sauce a nice departure for him. John's wine pairings spot on as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal meeting all expec ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Another wonderful meal meeting all expectations. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food excellent but service exceedingly s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food excellent but service exceedingly slow. Waited at least 15 minutes between courses and over half an hour for a bottle of wine. Expected and wanted a leisurely served meal but 2.5 hours is too long.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great overall experience it's truly a ge ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great overall experience it's truly a gem that should be experienced by anyone who really enjoys great food that is presented at it's highest level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Refectory provides a true dining exp ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Refectory provides a true dining experience. It is not to be hurried. We are not at a fast-food place. But when we came to celebrate a friend's birthday and to use a gift certificate I purchased at a special fundraiser (and I do thank you for that contribution) it was very busy with a group function on the patio. We felt the service was especially slow. All-in-all, however, the meal was delicious and it is always a real pleasure to experience it. My husband and I spent our last anniversary there five months before he died suddenly so it was, for me, an especially bittersweet evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was overrated, but I think the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food was overrated, but I think the place itself is very beautiful. It's possible that I just got an off-meal though since the other reviews are so high. My food seemed just reheated and a bit on the dry side. (I got the fish of the day.)

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Slow inattentive service. Didn't even ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Slow inattentive service. Didn't even get menus for 25 mins Entree was over an hour wait. No attention or explanation from waiter. Entree cold when arrived. Very disappointed. Obviously understaffed for a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Classic French cuisine. Heavy sauces, b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Classic French cuisine. Heavy sauces, beautiful presentations. The by-the-glass wine selections were lacking the excellence of the rest of the fine wine list. The beet salad was attractive but lacked a standout flavor. Too muted. The duck was appropriately gamey and well prepared. Again, beautiful on the plate. The pecan tarte was good, not great. Overall The Refectory meets but doesn't exceed expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. The waitstaff were wonderful, the food was far beyond our expectations and the wine list was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb prawns and house pasta accompanyi ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Superb prawns and house pasta accompanying were excellent with a nice Montrachet chosen by John.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time to eat at the Ref ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was my first time to eat at the Refectory. It was very good and I will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food and presentation was outstanding. W ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

food and presentation was outstanding. We enjoyed the Walleye. Service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We had veal Oscar an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent. We had veal Oscar and veal Marsella. Delicious. This is the first time we were disappointed in the service, after all the years we have been going there. . It took us a awhile to order a bottle of wine. After 10 minutes she came back and said the bottle of wine we ordered had to be chilled down. After another 10 minutes, it was served. We asked for bread, which was delivered about 10 minutes later. When our wine glasses were empty we would have to wait awhile again for our server to finally retrieve our bottle , from wherever it was being kept chilled, to fill our glasses. . Food was ordered, and served in a reasonable time. We were celebrating my wife's 80th birthday, which was that day. The person who seated us and the server were made aware of this. When dessert was served there was no candle lit on my wife's dessert. We had seen other tables having their desserts served with a candle for a special occasion that night. Our server did wish my wife a happy birthday, when she delivered our bill.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Joseph provided excellent customer servi ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Joseph provided excellent customer service and the food was wonderful. I highly recommend it. Can't say enough about the service and knowledge of the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal from Chef Blondin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Another wonderful meal from Chef Blondin. Veal and sous vide chicken, escargot appetizer, and creme brulee for dessert. Fantastic, like always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is ordinarily a can't fail choice, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is ordinarily a can't fail choice, however for the first time in decades the Refectory let me down. The food was just OK. First the lamb ribs were wildly under done and then over done when returned. The bison steak was similarly underdone, but not as much. They are ordinarily great with food allergies but this time the food had to be sent back because the kitchen included ingredients that were supposed to be omitted. In case you are counting that means that the Lamb ribs are presented the times to get one mediocre dish I could eat. On the other hand the service was was superb, really outstanding. Frankly, I had a better meal the night before at Lavash, a neighborhood joint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was VERY slow. Had to request b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was VERY slow. Had to request bread. I had rack of lamb...tough. My wife had prawns and requested a steak knife to cut them, Over the years, this has been a very good restaurant, but last Friday was not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

fantastic....we loved it! desert wine ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

fantastic....we loved it! desert wine, mussel soup, extraordinary wine selection. Not the cheapest place to eat by any means, but as with most everything in life, you get what you pay for. The Refectory was truly outstanding. Will most certainly go back again. We were still gloating to/with friends 3-4 days later about how good everything was.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Refectory has lost its luster and is ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The Refectory has lost its luster and is living on its past reputation as a destination spot for fine dining. Overrated and underwhelming.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

One of the best miles around. Great food ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of the best miles around. Great food in a very elegant setting. Dishes are very innovating without going overboard. Techniques are precise. Dishes have visual appeal as well as flavorful. Wine list is outstanding. Service is attentive. Great place for " Dining" as very few still exist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful bistro meal with especially a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Delightful bistro meal with especially attractive presentation. Great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant. Wonderful for special ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great restaurant. Wonderful for special occasions. Plan to take your time and eat well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We gave it a try because it was restaura ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We gave it a try because it was restaurant's wk, turn out to be great. Hostess was not at her best.. service and food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always. Service, ambience, f ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perfect as always. Service, ambience, food, all perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been at the refectory a couple t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been at the refectory a couple times and we always loved the service and food. The refectory is our first restaurant in Columbus!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience, the food w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was an amazing experience, the food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful! ! It was a birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delightful! ! It was a birthday celebration and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special service, from the beginning to t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Special service, from the beginning to the end.i expected perfection, and got it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable dinner at The Refector ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Another enjoyable dinner at The Refectory! The Restaurant Week menu offered plenty of options from across the menu. The monk fish and duck dishes were delicious! We are never disappointed in our meals at The Refectory! And we love the wine list as it has something for everybody!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in town. We usua ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in town. We usually go for special occasions or when there is a restaurant week (otherwise prices are not affordable to do it more often)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go to place for our annivers ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is our go to place for our anniversary and special occasions. Always a wonderful meal, fantastic wine list and impeccable service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Service great food fantastic. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very nice. Service great food fantastic. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food and service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The boudin noir stuffed duck magret was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The boudin noir stuffed duck magret was phenomenal. Make sure to save room for the creme brulee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always. We have been here ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding as always. We have been here several times and plan to continue to return. The seasonal rotation is something to look forward to.

I have a severe tree nut allergy and our server did a wonderful job ensuring I didn't order anything with nuts and informed the chef to reduce cross contamination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.