About The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro

1092 Bethel Road
Columbus, OH 43220
View Larger Map

The Refectory's relaxed and quiet pace presents an evening of elegant dining. At the heart of the dining experience are the culinary creations directed by Chef Richard, a native of Lyon, France, who studied under chef Paul Bocuse.

The exceptional contemporary American cuisine and classic French cuisine is complemented by a world-class wine cellar encompassing over 700 selections.
An experienced and knowledgeable staff and the personal touch of owner Kamal Boulos, complete the gracious yet unpretentious service that enhances a memorable evening.
Our commitment to excellence in presenting each guest with the finest cuisine and service possible makes The Refectory the perfect setting
for an important business dinner, a special celebration, or simply to treat yourself to an elegant dining experience!

Thank you for choosing The Refectory!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens Monday - Friday at 4:30
Dinner Reservations Monday - Thursday from 5:30 pm
Friday - Saturday from 5:00pm
Sunday closed, but we do open for Mother's Day and Easter Sunday

Cross Street:
Just west of Route 315

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 451-9774

Website:
http://www.therefectoryrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Each month,
The Refectory Jazz Dinner Club
presents a Four-Course Dinner with Live Jazz Show.
The seating is very limited;

These events are very popular!

Catering:
The Refectory Catered to your home or office. Each event is personally planned by owner Kamal Boulos and Chef Richard Blondin.
Please call 614-451-9774
ask for Kamal

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in the on-site private lot.

Executive Chef:
Richard Blondin

Private Party Facilities:
The Refectory offers 2 private dining rooms, one seating up to 20 & the other up to 50 guests. A semi-private dining room is also available accommodating up to 16 guests. AV equipment is available.

Private Party Contact:
Kamal Boulos or Jeff Elasky: 6144519774x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Refectory schedules special events every month. These are presented exclusively through our Preferred Email Guest List. We invite you to go to our website Refectory.com and sign up for AMUSE! We will also send you a gift for your birthday!

Restaurant Photos

Warm Brie With Bacon Tarte
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Creme Brulee
Beef and Salmon
Roasted Leg Of Lamb With Potato Du Jour And Black Olive Bordelaise
Duck Egg Omelette With Sauteed Mushrooms
Double Chocolate Entremet With Almond Jaconde
flourless chocolate cake
Blueberry Clafoutis
Beef tenderloin
Greek Yoghurt Panna Cotta
Créme Brulé
Chocolate
Beet Salad
Roasted Beef Culotte with Tarragon Bordelaise
Vegetarian Special
Roasted Goat Cheese
PAN SEARED SALMON with horseradish and tomato beurre blanc
Salmon burger
Bacon Bloody Mary
CHOCOLATE BREAD PUDDING with vanilla ice cream
Mahi
Grilled Beef Shoulder Tenderloin With Cardamom Sauce
Roasted Texas Antelope
Mini Lamb Burger
Garlic Confit And Toulouse Sausage Stuffed Veal Tenderloin
Lemon Merengue Cupcake
Seafood Special
Walleye
Wild Elk Rack
Dover Sole

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
13 More
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

special occasion (141)
romantic (130)
notable wine list (107)
See All
fit for foodies (98)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (22)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the Refectory and the ...

Dined 3 days ago

We always enjoy the Refectory and the choices on the Bistro menu, great place to be with friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best restaurant we have bee ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the best restaurant we have been to in 20 years and we travel extensively and eat out at many fine restaurants. The cuisine was incredibly delicious with a beautiful presentation. The decor beautiful and elegant. The staff was so attentive, well informed. Our waiter Steve was exceptional. Attentive without being annoying and interrupting. Do not miss the opportunity to dine here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Columbus. The ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Columbus. The finest food, French preparation, portion size, you name it. I must say that the bison loin was surprisingly tough for me. However, my wife and I often switch plates mid-meal and she thoroughly enjoyed the bison. So all's well that ends well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely amazing!! We ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing!! We chose to do a "Chef's choice" tasting menu, with wine pairing. Each course was a wonderful surprise! Justin, our server, is a true gem, and is incredibly talented!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience is relaxing, with excelle ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The experience is relaxing, with excellent service and superbly prepared meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to The Refectory to celebrate ou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We went to The Refectory to celebrate our 60th Wedding Anniversary. We were brought to our table just after entering the restaurant. The ambiance and servive provided by the restaurant is excellent. The Caesar salad we shared was excellent as was the wine. The rack of lamb that I had and and the crab-filled dish my wife hadwer both delicious. Since it was our anniversary the management provided free deserts for he two of us. My wife had baked alaska which was very good. My dessert was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first time at the Refectory ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our first time at the Refectory, I wasn't very impressed with those who greeted us at the time of our arrival, they seemed very "cold and reserved." Our server Joseph was outstanding and was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply superb quality of food, service, ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Simply superb quality of food, service, and attention to detail. For every trip you can make

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the loveliest restaurants in Colu ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

One of the loveliest restaurants in Columbus. Never disappointed with the chef's creations. The food is beautifully presented and "very fresh". You are never rushed and the wait staff is charming and attentive. Can't wait for my next visit and hopefully with a concert to enjoy with the delicious food !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is just a great place. It was a bi ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is just a great place. It was a birthday celebration and when we opened the menu, there was a birthday greeting for the honoree. It was so special. The food and service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We have dined at The Refectory for many, many years. We enjoy the Bistro menu about once a month and eat in the main dining room on special occasions. On our recent wedding anniversary, we were treated beautifully, with impeccable and enjoyable service. The food was first-rate, with lovely presentation. Thanks to The Refectory for a lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Graduation celebration/B-day Celebration

Dined on June 4, 2016

Almost every course was a home run. The sashimi, the ratatouille soup, the sea scallops, and the Crème Brule were all way above average. Our server Sam was excellent. My only complaint was that they did not have gluten free bread as advertised for the meal, and this was slightly exacerbated by the fact that I specifically asked for gluten free bread when I made our initial reservation. Other than that, Sam and the kitchen staff were fully able to accommodate my wife's dairy and gluten allergies.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great as usual

Dined on June 3, 2016

Aways the best food. I never had anything I didn't enjoy. The service is top notch. The atmosphere is always romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1

Had another event going that night as we ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Had another event going that night as well and the waitstaff just couldn't accommodate both the main dining area and the event at the same time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the nation's best restaurants

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The Refectory is truly one of the nation's best restaurants, tucked away in unassuming Columbus Ohio. We were in town for a wedding, and took sometime away for a special dinner here. The chef's tasting was truly amazing--every dish was beautifully plated, creatively prepared, and simply delicious. The wine pairings were spot on, and the service was outstanding. This restaurant can stand up to the very best you'd find in any big U.S. city. Definitely not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Asked about special occasion- we answere ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Asked about special occasion- we answered "60th birthday" and then- nothing....

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we do every year, we celebrated our a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

As we do every year, we celebrated our anniversary at the Refrectory. We knew that the menu would offer a unique variety of entrees and the service would be excellent. We were not disappointed. I chose the rack of lamb and my wife enjoyed the salmon. Both were prepared and served with perfection. From the moment we entered the Refrectory and were greeted by the owner, Mr. Boulos, to our departure and farewell from Mr. Boulos, it was another memorable and highly enjoyable evening. It was a dining celebration.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional restaurant with great service

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been to the Refectory approx. 10 times, and each time the food was great and the service outstanding. Best place to go in Columbus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted as we entered the restau ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were greeted as we entered the restaurant and felt very welcome. We were seated at a comfortable table in a nice location. The server was very formal. He was attentive to our needs and polite. I was somewhat disappointed in the wine list and felt the wines prices were higher than normal. The food was excellent. The atmosphere an ambience is pleasant and not as loud as most restaurants. We had an enjoyable evening and will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local gem!

Dined on May 19, 2016

I cannot say enough wonderful things about The Refectory! The food is one of the most exquisite culinary experiences I've ever had! The owner was serving as the host when I arrived and he was so humble and welcoming. He treated my mom and I like we were the only customers in the entire restaurant, even though he had plenty of other customers to tend to. Although at first glance, prices seem high, they are really more than fair for the food you get. The Bistro side offers a very affordable yet fine dining experience if you're looking to save money. Forget the fancy chain, please go support this local gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 15, 2016

I splurged and decided to go big on a date so I took him to The Refectory. It was hands down the best meal ive ever had. The roasted duck magret was cooked to perfection and the ambience is stunning. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I found The Refectory on a list of best restaurants in Columbus. If you haven't had the pleasure of dining here, you're missing out. My guy and I have been to high-end restaurants across the country, and The Refectory tops the list in all categories. It's an award winner in several categories, and they are all well-deserved. We look forward to our next dining experience at The Refectory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great at this restaurant but wa ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great at this restaurant but was very surprised by the limited menu. It didn't help that both our first entrée choices were not available but we were only told this after ordering. I found the service average which was a surprise since I have dined here before and it is always exceptional!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything--EVERYTHING--was outstanding. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything--EVERYTHING--was outstanding. Given the expected high quality, I was encouraged, when I mentioned the item, to try the antelope and quail selection. I told the server I usually didn't have the gumption to try something that--to me--was "exotic" and he said this was a "no brainer." He was right. After I agreed, another in our group of four changed his selection to the same choice. Our appetizer, which included Brie, was wonderful. Fully enjoyed the mussels and leek soup. And the dessert, which in most other places I would not order, was the perfect finish. The Refectory is well known for having an outstanding wine selection. Full marks there, too. And given the matchless quality of the meal, the prices were very reasonable. For example, the antelope/quail was at least ten dollars less than the price of a prime filet at any of the high ranked steak places in town. For our group, the Refectory is a once or twice a year place of perfection. We hold it in the highest regard. We could not have had a more pleasant dining experience. If you are old enough to remember the Maisonette (in Cincinnati), this is its equal. Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was fantastic! My husband ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant was fantastic! My husband were there to move my son back from college and had time in the evening for a "date." Everything was wonderful. The best crème brulee I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

extraordinary food

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was extraordinary and was well worth the price. We went for mother's day and it was a good pick, had not been to the restaurant in years. They gave all of the mother's a begonia in a cute pot to take home which was a nice touch. The atmosphere and service is a little stuffy but the quality of the food makes up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food extensive wine list.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food extensive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

You get what you pay for. Great service ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

You get what you pay for. Great service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The. Best.

Dined on May 8, 2016

When you have something to celebrate and you want the best, this is the place to go. Lovely experience every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal at a perfect place. Food an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect meal at a perfect place. Food and service were outstanding. Will definitely be coming back regularly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our booth in the choir loft provided a n ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our booth in the choir loft provided a nice amount of privacy. The wait staff was very prompt. Food was excellent. We will be returning in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent presentation

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great service and food. Chef took our special request very seriously and made great dish with outstanding presentation.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A hidden gem of Columbus! A unique set ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

A hidden gem of Columbus! A unique setting for exquisite French cuisine. The food presentation is elegant and classy. We have visited multiple times and tried different dishes and all have exceeded our expectations. The service is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. They have an extensive wine menu. They also offer beer and other cocktails. If you have food allergies, clarify with your waiter/waitress before ordering. Perfect for a night out to try food you may not find in other restaurants around Columbus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an overall wonderful experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We felt right at home. The staff was so nice and thorough. The food was excellent and the dessert was incredible. Just a great place in general. Not the type of restaurant that would have been on our radar but it will be now!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to the Refectory to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary! Could not have made a better choice. Service was outstanding and the food was great. We love the creative fancy food and the large wine list. Our waiter gave great descriptions of each menu items, so everyone could find an entrée that they would love. I need to make it back there soon to try their bistro menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect food - Great staff - Wonderful environment - The best place we could have chosen for a perfect birthday celebration!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always outstanding quality, exceptional ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always outstanding quality, exceptional presentation, and service at The Refectory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience. The service ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The service, staff knowledge for recommendations and food were all excellent. Very nice place for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delightful Evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

This is hard to review because it was a perfect evening ! It was my husband's 75th birthday. He chose The Refectory. Lovely bottle of white wine perfectly chilled. Most places don't understand about chilling. Dover sole light and melt in your mouth delicious. Joseph our waiter ( familiar from the music events) was on top of everything and added to the "caring" of our evening. No rushing we had plenty of time to visit and enjoy each other's company. Like I've said A Perfect Evening. As you can tell besides excellent food well presented I enjoy a refined atmosphere. The Refectory is all about that in spades !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Refectory never disappoints

Dined on April 23, 2016

My heartfelt thanks to the entire staff of the Refectory for yet another fine dining experience. Chef Richard has simply perfected the art of matching American food products (such as bison) with fine French culinary technique. Bocuse perfected nouvelle cuisine, Richard has perfected continental cuisine. The Refectory never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.