About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
1 More
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Fit for Foodies (58)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (32)
Local Ingredients (32)
Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Open Kitchen (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Brunch (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (7)
Organic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I bought my boyfriend there for his Birt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

I bought my boyfriend there for his Birthday. It was a 1st visit for both of us, and we definitely plan to go back. The food was amazing! The service was excellent and the ambience was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a second visit to the restaurant ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a second visit to the restaurant but our first for brunch. Outstanding menu, great service and a super great bloody mary. We visited with a group of 5 to celebrate a birthday. The candle on the plate of French fries was a nice touch. All food items were terrific, presented well, tasty and perfectly prepared. Outstanding and thoughtful service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 1st time at Red Feather. T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 1st time at Red Feather. The food and service were great. We went for Sunday brunch. It was lovely with unique selections. The quiche was so fluffy it was almost like a soufflé with a crust. We want to go back for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it took a long time to be served, probab ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

it took a long time to be served, probably 40 minutes for eggs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my family for my birthday di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I went with my family for my birthday dinner. I had been to Red Feather before for their brunch (which is fantastic!), but wanted to try their dinner. I'm so glad I did! The food was phenomenal and so was the service! My dad, who has high standards (sometimes embarrassingly so), raved about the food and service. He said it was a 'definite do-againer.'

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Red Feather many times a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Red Feather many times and have always loved the food and the ambiance. The ambiance was there this time, but the food seemed to lack its usual spectacularness (just made up a great word). The service was phenomenal as usual. And we ordered items that we have eaten before, but they seemed a little bland. This will not stop us from going there again, because every other time we have gone the food was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good - kitchen was inordi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was quite good - kitchen was inordinately slow that nite.

Service excellent, but long wait for food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was absolutely excellent. Food w ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was absolutely excellent. Food was delicious. Would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Red Feather is our favorite eatery, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The Red Feather is our favorite eatery, bar none. Keith was a superb waiter, attentive, congenial and efficient. We love the entrée choices and the use of local ingredients. Wine list very good too. Fresh oysters? Who knew? We recommend Red Feather wholeheartedly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poached pear was cold as though it had j ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Poached pear was cold as though it had just been defrosted. The burger bun was charred too long and took away from other flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had brunch, and the choices were uni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had brunch, and the choices were unique. We particularly liked the beignettes (sp?)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Sunday brunch is fantastic, from the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Sunday brunch is fantastic, from the Bloody Mary bar to the made from scratch biscuits and preserve trio. The food is made with local ingredients and is fabulous--especially Sunday Brunch! The waitstaff is exceptional--very attentive, suggesting great food and drink recommendations! I would highly recommend the Red Feather--especially for Brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

this is the 4th time I have been. this ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

this is the 4th time I have been. this is a hidden gem for Cincinnati for sure. good food, unique , good presentation great service whole heartily recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly staff and excellent food.

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very friendly staff and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as it was on the p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent as it was on the previous Sunday we dined there for brunch. Food was excellent, also, just as it was previously. Hope to return as often as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife and I moved to Cincinnati in June 2 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wife and I moved to Cincinnati in June 2013. This was without a doubt the best Sunday Brunch we've had in our time here. This is a scratch kitchen so everything is made fresh and is very delicious. We will be returning here soon. It needs to be a must do on your list of brunch places in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and great food. The pla ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. The place was loud, hard to hear each other talk a few times. Our waiter was awesome, but I felt like we were sitting waiting for our waiter a few times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food, excellent service.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was a letdown. The burger taste ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was a letdown. The burger tasted like meatloaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were blown away by the Bloody Mary ba ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were blown away by the Bloody Mary bar. It has various salts, peppers, horseradish, lemons, limes, celery, okra...and BACON! Fresh biscuits and jelly are wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had never been, and found this place ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had never been, and found this place on Yelp. It had great reviews, so thought we'd give it a try. Outstanding experience for my wife's birthday! She just loved it, especially the cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Red Feather with some friends ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I went to Red Feather with some friends for dinner. This was my second visit (first visit was for brunch - which was also very good). I had the Crispy Skin Salmon ($27), my friends had the Halibut special ($35, I think) and Hanger Steak ($28). Everyone was really happy with their selections. I am curious if anyone has ever ordered the Outlaw Cowboy at $84. Service was exceptional, waiter very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. I love the farm to table concept.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the vibe of this place. It smell ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I love the vibe of this place. It smells divine, it has a laid back feel but with extremely attentive and friendly staff. It's just a great, fun place in Oakley!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely spot. Interesting menu and servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely spot. Interesting menu and service was excellent. Very personable server.

Ordered the 72$ lobster for two. Disappointingly, it was undercooked. Slightly gelatinous, a bit fishy. I didn't say anything because I was on a date (!!). I'm sure they would have cooked it more for me. Rest of meal was good. But very disappointing to spend 72$ on that.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

First time at RF and it was excellent! W ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First time at RF and it was excellent! We will go back and bring others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I have been ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have been to in Cincinnati! Chad is an excellent server and I enjoy the experience every time I am there! A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Value was pretty lame. Probably should h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Value was pretty lame. Probably should have split the burger. Martinis at nine bucks is unfortunately a bargain price compared to other restaurants but it doesn't make it right. Service was great!!!!!! I can't remember her name but she was awesome! Very professional. Would I make a return visit? Not without a gift card. Sorry.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Best burger in the city! Love the varie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Best burger in the city! Love the variety of offerings and different price points. Great, quality food in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second time dining here. O ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was our second time dining here. Our first experience a few weeks ago was great. Tonight's visit started well. Our server Steven was knowledgeable and personable. The appetizers were very good. Unfortunately, my fresh grouper entree was served with shrimp that was spoiled. I pointed out to our server that it had a strong ammonia taste which happens when shrimp is spoiled or spoiling. He thanked me and said he would talk to the chef. That was the last I heard of him regarding the situation; no apology from the kitchen, and no offer to remove or reduce the cost of the entree or even replace the shrimp. I was surprised by the lack of remedy. I still feel this is an innovative and quality restaurant, but the customer service is lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great but my clothes smelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great but my clothes smelled of the kitchen cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Red Feather is outstanding and should be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Red Feather is outstanding and should be ranked as one of the best, if not the best, restaurant in Ohio . The menu is diverse and the specials always exceptional !! Well done !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Those oysters they have from the Puget ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Those oysters they have from the Puget Sound (Pacific Northwest) are incredibly large and delicious. The best I ever had. They almost have a snow white shell!!

The scallop dish was excellent. Service is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit. The food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first visit. The food was delicious and the ambience and service were excellent. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Red Feather has always been a favori ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The Red Feather has always been a favorite. Unfortunately, we had a disappointing dining experience for dinner a few months back. We had specified a food allergy as well as a product that one of us does not eat. The specials listed did not specify these products were present. Nor did our waitress communicate that our dishes would contain these products. They were brought out in a manner that they shouldn't have been. We caught the food allergy concern and sent it back. We did not catch the other product and that product was eaten. We only became aware of the latter when another waiter nearby described the dish to other diners in a way that explained what exactly was in the dish. Had we known we would not have ordered that dish. It was negligence on the restaurants part for not listing all ingredients and it was negligence on the wait staff for not explaining as well. We left and I called the manager so as not to make a scene. He promised to take care of us on our next visit and would note this on our Open Table profile and to make mention of it when we next dined. We went there this morning for brunch today and notified the hostess. We were informed we would be taken care of. While our waiter was exceptional, and the food was excellent, nothing was mentioned to us at all. Our bill came in full and I inquired about it. The waiter said the manager told him to take good care of us (which should be the norm) and the waiter felt satisfied that substituting toast for a biscuit and gravy (which I requested) would be sufficient for what happened with our previous experience. This was incredibly offensive. We were presented with dishes we expressly stated we could not be fed. This is not a small thing and it's a good thing for all that I did not eat what I was allergic to. I said I would just pay the bill and leave. He came back and said the manager offered us dessert. We indicated we did not want dessert as we were there for brunch. I informed him we would not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were looking for a farm to table rest ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were looking for a farm to table restaurant in cincinnati when we decided to give The Red Feather a try for brunch. We were pleasantly surprised. Everything we ordered was fresh and really good. The only thing we didn't appreciate is that our server knew it was our first visit and neglected to inform us that they charge $3.00 for each refill of sofa. It's not about the cost for us. It's about informing guests of this unusual policy of charging $3.00 per glass. Soda and non-alcoholic drinks were NOT listed on the menu either. Most restaurants in cincinnati do not charge for refills. Again, I don't mind if that's the policy but I do mind that's it not clearly written on the menu or orally expressed when ordering a refill. It's just kind to let guests know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried every single one of the small p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We tried every single one of the small plates. The waiter gave a lot of thought as to what order they should be served and they were almost all delicious. The calamari was some of the best I've had, the potato gnocchi was exceptional and the pork ricollete (the "P.I.G") and the pork belly steamed buns were delicious. Only disappointing dish was the first one served - lobster arancini which had no lobster taste at all. The cocktails were excellent (my friend just loved the Firefly, my wife enjoyed her Cosmo, and i had a great bourbon concoction - Dr. J maybe?.)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic!! Best brunch experience I've ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fantastic!! Best brunch experience I've ever had! The food was delicious AND it looked amazing! All food is made from scratch. Delicious biscuits, beignets and eggs benedict! We've already made a reservation to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there for brunch. Terrific food & ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Been there for brunch. Terrific food & friendly service that is not rushed. It comes highly recommended for dinner, so we'll certainly get there for that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Feather never disappoints. The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Red Feather never disappoints. The food is incredible and the service is spot on - you just can't beat it. Hands down one of the best restaurants in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.