About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

fit for foodies (133)
special occasion (102)
neighborhood gem (98)
See All
notable wine list (67)
romantic (66)
great for brunch (48)
hot spot (35)
good for groups (25)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first dinner experience at ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first dinner experience at Red Feather and we will definitely go back! We love their wine list and the soft shell crab special was incredible. The lamb rack was a hit for our family too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place for special occasions.

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice place for special occasions.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent, unusual dishes. Excellent service. Turned a regular brunch into a special occasion. The server made several recommendations from wine to appetizers to sides and add-ons. And we took his lead on almost everything. This made for a wonderful meal - but we were so full when we left we could barely move. Best brunch I've had in a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and attentive service. All around an excellent place for a special night out.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

TOP KITCHEN

Dined on May 13, 2016

Unusual menu not to everyone's preference but food was excellent. Superbly prepared. The prices are high for the atmosphere of the facility but perhaps not excessive with the quality coming from the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to the Red Feather before going to the Playhouse in the Park. An interesting, eclectic, and delicious menu. We particularly liked the carcuterie board. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, and enhanced the experience. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food and well presented. The wine recommend was very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather Dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

When I woke up Mother's Day morning, I had only give an A+ to three restaurants in my life. When I went to bed that night, there was four A+ restaurants. Red Feather Kitchen is a classic experience. The service--literally starting at the moment you walk in the door--is the benchmark for restaurant service. The food, especially the appetizers and small plates are divine. (The tuna tartare is the highlight.) The atmosphere is cozy, the menu eclectic, and the price (while not cheap) is worth every penny. Red Feather is an absolute joy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special place.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a very special place.

food5
ambience5
service5

All around excellent and Chef owner Brad ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

All around excellent and Chef owner Brad Bernstein is very creative.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, Great Wine

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always quite good at the Red Feather, and as much as we enjoy the creativity in the kitchen, we keep coming back for the wine. Excellent wine list that always seems to be changing. It's a well thought out list, and we enjoy picking something new.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, limited menu but high qu ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, limited menu but high quality, a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Cincinnati

Dined on May 6, 2016

Red Feather just continues to amaze me. From the perfection that is the whipped ricotta (served with 16 Bricks bread) to the perfectly preprared Hangar Steak, they just flat out do everything well. It would be remiss of me to not mention that they also have THE BEST oysters in Cincinnati. If the food wasn't enough, the cocktails and wine are plentiful and delicious. To top it all off, the staff is phenomenal. Each member from the cooks to the waitstaff care about the food. As always, a great dining experience that I look forward to having avian soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. I had the halibut special.

Dined on May 5, 2016

The summer salad is absolutely beautiful! And delicious! Food was very good, but pricy. Servers should say price of specials so there are no surprises.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Red feather was a fantastic dining exper ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Red feather was a fantastic dining experience. The service was great, and the food was outstanding. I definitely recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love New Finds

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was recommended to us so I booked a reservation for our anniversary. It was every bit what everyone said it would be. The atmosphere was great and the service was spectacular. The menu changes and the night we were there it was full of so many things that we wanted to try. Everything we had was wonderful! We will definitely go back...this is now one of our favorite places, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmosphere and service great, food ok

Dined on April 17, 2016

I read such good things about this place and chose it to celebrate my birthday. It is a really cool spot to get together with friends, not too expensive. The food was ok. I wasn't overly impressed with anything other than the potatoes. I had brunch seafood omlet crab cakes, and pancakes. I should have gotten the biscuits and jelly because I'm not sure the pancakes were done. A couple of other things could have used some work as well. Service was great though and staff kind.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our first Sunday brunch, party of four, was started with the Bloody Mary bar, which is highly recommended. Lots of unique sauces to add and the best baby beets uc had in a long time. Fresh biscuits and jam were outstanding, especially the jams. Everyone's food was good. I was disappointed in the crab cakes with poached eggs. Overall flavor was good but there was hardly any crab meat and lots of filler. I'm originally from MD so used to seeing some lump pieces of crab. These had tiny flecks of crab meat, mostly fm feelers or claw that were in tiny pieces. Overall flavor and presentation was lovely, just needed more crab. Also, the Croque Madam was obscenely huge. With way too much bread. Should have smashed it down. It did taste very good though. Will definitely go back to try other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

I've been there for many enjoyable dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been there for many enjoyable dinners, but this evening was NOT enjoyable! It Was so noisy we had to leave, we couldn't hear each other because of the people yelling at the table behind us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Nice options

Dined on April 15, 2016

Delicious food. Nice options

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on April 14, 2016

Very sophisticated and unusual menu. Server was superb -- knowledge of items and clear descriptions. Service was attentive without being suffocating....good balance. I had Cobia fresh from gulf, my wife had short ribs and raved about them. We also appreciated that the noise level was low and we could easily carry on a conversation. We will return -definitely. A great restaurant discovery for us. Very highly recommend !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly an enjoyable evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Red Feather is one of Cincinnati's best restaurants in my opinion. The general atmosphere is welcoming. The Ambiance is mellow without being drab. The service is knowledgable, attentive and timely. The food is high quality and satisfying. While the cost of dinner is substantial, the experience is worth the expense. This is probably not a place for everyday dining but excels when you are looking for a nice evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This is the second time that I've been r ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is the second time that I've been ready to leave Red feather half way through the meal. The food quality has seemed to drop and the timing when ordering small plates is all off. The server talked us in to ordering "more" than our original order because he thought we'd want it. Then, we were waiting up to 20 minutes between courses. We ended up having him put our Halibut entree in a box to take with us because we ran out of patience. I really want to like Red Feather, but there are too many good restaurants around. This may be our last attempt...

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful, eclectic dishes

Dined on April 3, 2016

Red Feather is a wonderful fine dining restaurant, casual with very upscale cuisine, and very well prepared. A little loud, but expected when the dining room is full. Pricing is reasonable, similar to other fine dining establishments in the area. Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised with quality food & service.

Dined on April 3, 2016

We will definitely consider coming back...from up here in Dayton.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Somewhat Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We have been here many times and the food is quite good. This time we brought friends, one of whom wanted the salmon entre, a standard menu item. Although we had Saturday 8:00 PM reservations and were seated immediately, after ordering we were told that they had run out of salmon. There is no good excuse for a restaurant to run out of a standard menu item that early into the evening. This is especially true when it is the only fish entre.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Dining Experience Winner!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Fresh ingredients, interesting combinations of flavors, would appreciate additional vegetarian appetizers (not just cheese focused), what you do offer is excellent,however;, grilled bread fabulous, would appreciate two vegetarian entrees,, the atmosphere is inviting and announces quality and upscale, (could use more sound barriers), enjoy the servers, trained well! This was my 4th visit,, and will recommend and return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

If you love great food with thoughtful p ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

If you love great food with thoughtful presentation, this restaurant is for you. Our favorites....the lamb, scallops and the pacific oysters. Terrific food. Great service. (Very contentious on food allergies as well)

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but shoulder to shoulder on banquette

Dined on March 30, 2016

Imaginative cooking served with style but the shoulder-to-shoulder banquette seating left us trapped between a university fundraiser making a big ask & a real estate agent soothing clients. Remove a two-top and spread everyone out a tad?

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good but rushed.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was good as usual, although I think the brunch menu could use a little shaking up. The service was awesome. My only real knock on the meal was that we had the last reservation time slot of the day. Not a problem in itself, but it was pretty clear the staff was in a hurry to get us out the door. We had drinks, appetizers, brunch, and desserts and were completely done in an hour. It was a very rushed meal.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great dining experience. Creati ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a great dining experience. Creative food pairings and attentive service. A nice buzz in the room

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had the salmon, my daughter t ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband had the salmon, my daughter the Honey chicken and I had the ricotta gnudi. All was absolutely fantastic. We shared a great bottle Of wine and had a wonderful time. Thank you!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and drinks at Red Feather

Dined on March 26, 2016

I really enjoyed small plates and desserts at Red Feather. The food was unique and delicious! The location is convenient in Oakley and the ambiance was relaxed. Service is pretty attentive, although sometimes the wait felt a little long. The servers are very knowledgeable about the menu. Overall it's a great neighborhood restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid farm to table menu and resto acros ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Solid farm to table menu and resto across the board.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not quite up to par

Dined on March 25, 2016

We frequent Red Feather at least quarterly and only had a party of 5 this time around. Two meals were cold and my salmon was anything but innovative and exciting. Our server, Alex, was fantastic and attentive to our needs.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on March 25, 2016

First time dining here exceeded our expectations! Food was fresh and presented very well. Our server, Keith, was quietly attentive. Loved it and can't wait to dine there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather Hit It Out of the Park!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife and I dined at Red Feather on Monday. This is a gem in Oakley! Our server Alex was terrific. He was not only knowledgeable about the menu and food preparation, he was very good with pairing wines with our meal and dessert! Their Pork Chop, which apparently takes three days to prepare is probably the best, most favorable chop I have ever eaten. One final note, ask for Alex.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing brunch. Biscuits are the best in ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Amazing brunch. Biscuits are the best in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best breakfast I have ever had!! We ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The best breakfast I have ever had!! We loved everything about this restaurant and can't wait to go back. Good thing our daughter is going to University of Cincinnati this fall. Red Feather will be a family favorite for years to come.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delighted

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food, variety, professional service from Mike, great bar service---everything happened just as we had anticipated!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.