About The Red Feather

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: (216) 970-5506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Open Kitchen (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fun (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Business Meals (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing as always. Perfect date night!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing as always. Perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fantastic. How ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were fantastic. However the back room is unfit. Red Feather should have paid us to sit there. So crowded and so unbelievably noisy. All dinners were shouting; all noise reverberating. A terrible dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Really close to five stars, four stars s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Really close to five stars, four stars seems a bit low, four and a half would be just right.

Drinks: my guest had two cocktails the French 75 and the Libretto and liked both with a slight preference for the French 75. I had the Perfect Manhattan and I found no faults, so it must have been perfect. We ordered the featured wine, a 2008 Spanish wine, and at $55 for the bottle a very good wine and a very good value.

Food: we ordered the potato gnocchi and at $12 was way over-priced. It tasted delicious but was a very tiny serving. My guest had the short-ribs and absolutely loved them. I had the featured entree, the halibut. It was good but a little dry. It needed a sauce to enhance the dish.

Service: Our server, Steven, was a very personable young man. He knew the menu well and was able to answer any question. However, I did notice that the server serving the table next to us was much more informative and I learned a great deal more about the menu from eavesdropping at her table than I learned from Steven.

The Red Feather is a wonderful restaurant despite my criticism and an oasis of fine dining in the Oakley neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was beautiful and scrumptious, serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was beautiful and scrumptious, service was absolutely lovely, romantic and fun. Wonderful little spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Red Feather is firing on all cylinde ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

The Red Feather is firing on all cylinders. I had heard that it was fantastic, and sometimes this sets me up for a let down, but not this time. It is pricey, but it it worth it. $4/oyster for mignonette! The nerve! Missing Charleston, I had to try the east coast variety. Their briny flavor transported me to the beach for a moment! Their preparation and delicate flavor was remarkable. I didn't think it was possible, but they were worth $4. We tried a little bit of everything and it was all delicious. The grilled bread with ricotta and truffle was divine. The shrimp and grits are great, (though not authentic, if you like the Charleston version). Our waiter told us about a wine special, a Tempranillo from Spain that had some age but was reasonalbly priced. It was sublime! We will make a return trip for this special experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service, good food! Pricey, bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, good food! Pricey, but I'm sure it's because we went on Valentines Day. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Great Valen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service! Great Valentine's day menu for $65

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Red Feather has been a favorite of m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The Red Feather has been a favorite of my wife and me. We enjoy the ambiance, food, wine, and service. At the Red Feather, it all comes together nicely. The service always contributes to the fun and feeling of warmth. The food is always a welcome adventure. And we always leave feeling really good about our evening there. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner on Valentine's Day. Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious dinner on Valentine's Day. The meal was prix fixe for 3 courses. We enjoyed every course. Relatively generous portions for the main course. Highly recommend! Tables are a little close together. You have to make an effort to not overhear the conversation at the next table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Pricey. Good for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service. Pricey. Good for special celebrations for 2-4 people.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service excellent and well informed. oy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service excellent and well informed. oysters very tasty but a little pricy at $4 ea. beet salad very good. scallops excellent. mussels were very good but oddly paired in same bowl with fries which got soggy - would prefer more mussels in a savory broth and skip the fries. extensive wine and drinks menu. bread pudding one of the best ever. tables a little crowded and it got a bit noisy as the rush filled the room. definitely recommend and will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

First time at Redfeather. Booked based o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time at Redfeather. Booked based on Open Table reviews. Nothing here disappoints. A bit pricey, but great dinner for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The absolute best Butternut Squash Soup ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The absolute best Butternut Squash Soup EVER! Simply delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing. We really apprec ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was amazing. We really appreciated our server. Can't remember his name unfortunately. He was very knowledgeable with both the food and wine menu and made great suggestions. Even with pairing our entrees with a bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a fantastic place. I took my girl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a fantastic place. I took my girlfriend for our valentines day celebration and we both thouroughly enjoyed the meal! The only thing better than the meal was the service!!! 5 stars!

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My co-workers and I went out on Friday n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My co-workers and I went out on Friday night for a fancy dinner in Oakley and had a wonderful experience. We had the meat and cheese boards as a starter and ordered different hot plates. We had great cocktails made by Kiki at the bar and Nevarre did an excellent job on service! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back! Thank you to the whole staff!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I emailed the chef before my visit and h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I emailed the chef before my visit and he responded promptly and favorably. I am eating in the paleo style and he gave me suggestions that were compliant with my needs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this restaurant. This was our ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We loved this restaurant. This was our first time there and I would highly recommend it and would definitely go back to The Red Feather. Service was outstanding and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb and our staff was knowledgeable, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Superb and our staff was knowledgeable, friendly and super nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time at Red Feather, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my second time at Red Feather, and it was just as delicious as I had remembered. That being said, both this time and last, we had a dish that was way too salty. Our waitress fixed this immediately, and had a new dish to us in minutes. I would recommend Red Feather to anyone and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Red Feather! Brunch is one ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always love Red Feather! Brunch is one of the best in the city. Don't skip the biscuits with homemade preserves and the bloody mary bar is fantastic! Dinner is equally wonderful. Oysters are always super fresh and they always have a unique variety. You can't go wrong ordering anything off their menu as it is all completely from scratch and delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always great food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chandler, our waiter, was exceptionally ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chandler, our waiter, was exceptionally good. Oyster 2 different varieties from East coast and

2 different West coast verities excellent. The salmon was cooked perfectly. The chocolate tart with marshmallow topping and graham cracker crust left much to be desired!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place with creative menu with all ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great place with creative menu with all homemade stuff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent small plates. Small portion of ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent small plates. Small portion of fois gras for the price, but tasty. Great service and good food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful experience. The best service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A wonderful experience. The best service I have had in a long time. The recommendations were spot on! Delightful!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I've been meaning to try this place for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've been meaning to try this place for years! I'm sorry I waited so long. It was fabulous. There was 6 of us. Great food, conversation and service--attentive but not annoying. I would go back in a heart beat. My mouth is watering now...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red Feather consistently delivers creati ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Red Feather consistently delivers creative food, excellent service, and comfortable ambiance. The wine list is extensive and tends to run to the high end, but wines at reasonable prices are definitely available. The presentations are carefully prepared and delicious. The service has always been attuned to our needs; quicker when we are in a hurry and more relaxed when we want to spend a slow evening of dining. Red Feather is not a large restaurant so reservations are recommended. We have enjoyed this restaurant a half dozen times over the past 15 months and have yet to be disappointed. Be assured, we will return soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every single thing about this visit was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Every single thing about this visit was top-notch. From the menu to very well chosen and different wines by the glass to immaculately prepared and presented dishes to flawless service.

Well done.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most delicious porkchop we've ever taste ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Most delicious porkchop we've ever tasted! Fresh bread and salads, everything made in-house. Delicious food, great service and cozy atmosphere. The Red Feather is a real gem...we'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good but our server tried too h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good but our server tried too hard. Too much explanation where none was needed. Out of Salmon, which is the only entry that my wife was interested in. Seated next to fireplace but it wasn't turned on. Cheeseboard was very good. Beet salad was excellent. Hanger teak was quite good. Not as hot as it should have been. Dinner took way too long. Should have been a 75' dinner, was 90'+ because of service. Our server did send us home with desert to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant was busy but well-staffed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was busy but well-staffed and prepared for the crowd. Our waiter was friendly and attentive and made excellent food and wine recommendations. All our meals were excellent, with the chicken and salmon particularly good, as were the desserts. However, although we had asked for a quiet table to celebrate a special occasion when we made the reservation, we were seated in the back room and the noise level made it very difficult to have a conversation. I would return at a less busy time/day and perhaps request a table in the front room where the noise level appeared much more conducive to a relaxing evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service was completely spot on with a ve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was completely spot on with a very friendly, knowledgeable and informed server. She was timely in stopping by to check on things, refill wine glasses and offer dessert without being intrusive. Food was fantastic - we had the short ribs and the flank steak with a really nice bordeaux they were recommending that evening. Veggie sides were cooked to perfection - nothing was overdone. Restaurant had a great vibe and look, although we were seated in the very back room where the ambiance was lacking compared to the front of the restaurant, but was still quite loud. Overall a big win although I would prefer to sit in the front next time.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicand wonderful!! Will be back!! New ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicand wonderful!! Will be back!! New favorite for brunch with family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. The small plate ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful. The small plate with the ravioli stuffed with a sweet potato mixture was excellent. Scallops were well prepared and a nice portion.

My husband enjoyed the salmon and absolutely loved the soup on the menu, can't remember but it was perfect for fall/winter season.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit, and it was si ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second visit, and it was significantly less enjoyable than our first. We were seated near the kitchen, which wasn't a negative by itself; but there were two large groups in the same section, which made the noise level unpleasant. The server had to lean in and yell just so we could hear her. Our first visit, where we were seated in the other, much quieter section, was considerably more pleasant. Food was quite good on both occasions, and the wine list is quite good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding experience. Excellent food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding experience. Excellent food and drink. Keith did an awesome job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience, highly recommended ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful experience, highly recommended to everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather is a great special occasion ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Red Feather is a great special occasion restaurant without being stuffy. I like the small plates and excellent wine combinations. I have taken several people there for their first time, and the responses are unanimously positive. They could add or change up the vegetarian options more frequently.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.