About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Fit for Foodies (107)
Special Occasion (89)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
See All
Notable Wine List (62)
Romantic (54)
Great for Brunch (33)
Hot Spot (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Local Ingredients (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazingly delicious food and the service ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazingly delicious food and the service was professional, warm and impeccable. Thank you for being such a wonderful place to gather with family and friends to enjoy a superb meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food whether it's for Lunch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always great food whether it's for Lunch, Dinner, or Brunch. I love the house-made donuts they give each table at brunch and I think their Bloody Mary bar with house-made tomato base and pickled garnishes might be the best in the city. Their poutine and burger are some of our faves. But I haven't had anything I didn't like and they usually have great specials. We did a chef's tasting dinner with MadTree there that was superb. Servers and bartenders are always great. They are always really accommodating for my dairy allergy. Quite a gem for Oakley!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect place to take over w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the perfect place to take over where Boca left off. The wine list is amazing - and thankfully there is a sommelier there to help you narrow down the choices. Kudos to him because he literally picked out the PERFECT bottle of wine for us at a good price. Our food actually took quite a while, not sure what happened there, but the waiter was very apologetic and nice, and we were not in a hurry so it wasn't a big deal. We ordered the steamed buns and calamari to start, both were very good. I had the short rib and my husband an enormous pork chop and we were both very happy with our choices. For dessert we had the ricotta fritters. Get these. They are amazing. Overall a nice evening with great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our entire experience was fantastic. Our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our entire experience was fantastic. Our server was well versed and great at guiding us through the menu. The whole staff was attentive to every table in there and not just their own tables. We will be going back for sure. Great gem in Oakley

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, spectacular wine list. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food, spectacular wine list. Excellent service. Knowledgeable and helpful staff far above expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting The Red ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our first time visiting The Red Feather. The food and service was on point. We started with some tasty craft cocktails. The appetizers were excellent and the entrees were extraordinary. Had a fantastic wine pairing that was suggested by the server. My wife and I were very impressed overall. It is pricy, but worth it for a special occasion. Enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it. Michael is best in city.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love it. Michael is best in city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food! Would recomm ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service and food! Would recommend for any occasion, especially dates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit. Great evening Salmon with Cr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

2nd visit. Great evening Salmon with Crispy skin FABULOUS, Pork Chop WAY WAY good,Short Rib fall apart tender smokie goodness. Server Steve knows the menu great at helping make choices. Oysters and Foie Gras best starters of the house... Looking for next reason to return!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered two salmon dinners both the s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We ordered two salmon dinners both the same but came out totally different. One was a nice piece well presentation the other dinner came out as two very small thin pieces of salmon that had no taste and very disappointed. How can you even send that out of the kitchen??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner! Our waiter (Scott) was outstanding, the food was great, service good not be better....

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RF is super reliable for a great meal an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

RF is super reliable for a great meal and excellent service! Not the best choice for a vegetarian. We always enjoy the food and the interesting wine options. On this occasion, disappointed by our cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Red Feather is a jewel of a place. Fanta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Red Feather is a jewel of a place. Fantastic foods and great service !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I found the food very good. The sell oy ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I found the food very good. The sell oysters on the half shell individually. The servers were extremely knowledgeable about the menu selections. There is a 32 ounce steak on the menu for $84 dollars. They should make it smaller so that you don't need 3-4 people to order it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brad and his staff just outdid themselve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Brad and his staff just outdid themselves. I took my wife for her birthday and our 10 year anniversary. Course after course, we were treated to an absolutely phenomenal meal. As incredible as the food is at Red Feather, the level of service equals the passion of those in the kitchen. We look forward for our next visit to Red Feather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was unique and delicious. I don't ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was unique and delicious. I don't like restaurants with only male wait staff though so I won't return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite places to di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine! We love Kit and Keith the waiters . The food is always amazing! We loved the beet salad, burger, salmon! Great wine list too!

We just wish they served lunch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Catfish benefict was a slam dunk! And th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Catfish benefict was a slam dunk! And the biscuits with jam

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very pleased with our experience ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience at Red Feather. Touted as a "scratch" kitchen, they lived up to the billing. You could tell most everything was fresh and almost certainly made on site. We really had fun creating an oyster flight and thought it was cool they were willing to sell oysters individually as opposed to by the dozen or half dozen.

Billed as the dish closest to the chef's heart, the double-bone pork chop was arguably the best one I've ever had. It was truly dynamite. My favorite part was the crispy char on the outside that had a very smokey/bacon flavor. Executed very well and super tasty.

Our only quibble was with the scallops, and they are the reason why I gave 4 stars and not 5. The first one was delicious, but the last two appeared to be a bit past their prime (a fishy aftertaste). We mentioned it to our waitress, who was great, and she gave us dessert on the house. I suspect the scallop issue was more of an anomaly than a reoccurring problem as the rest of our meal was nearly flawless.

All in all, I highly recommend The Read Feather.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service was outstand ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service was outstanding. We will be back and our friends loved it too and said they will be back as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather should be on everyone's buck ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Red Feather should be on everyone's bucket list if you like great food. We think Chef Bernstein has the best restaurant in Cincinnati. While not downtown where his competition may be, his Oakley site is creating outstanding food. And the service is wonderful. Valet parking is the icing on the cake !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant a little pricey but a g ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great restaurant a little pricey but a great value. Terrific food. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well, we had Dennis's 39th birthday dinn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Well, we had Dennis's 39th birthday dinner here this past Thursday, and everything about it was phenomenal. Service was fantastic; my Corpse Reviver was on point; the cheese and charcuterie boards were amazing; calamari and fried green tomatoes were prepared perfectly; the whipped ricotta was STUPID good; we were all surprised at how much we all enjoyed the pate; the wine and beer list was spot-on; and my pork chop was TO DIE FOR. Also, the dessert course was a divine finish. The whole family enjoyed the meal tremendously, and I want to thank Mark Knight and Andrew Mersmann for their wonderful food gifts. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed our visit. Our ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our visit. Our meals looked and tasted great. We plan to revisit the Red Feather soon. This restaurant was recommended by a coworker. Aside from the dining area is a bar. Both were appealing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening with fantastic food. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Wonderful evening with fantastic food. This place is great for any occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance and service. Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service. Great that Cincinnati has a growing number of individual very high quality restaurants. Red Feather is one of my favourites.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I dined here for my birthd ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My family and I dined here for my birthday. We had an overall lovely experience, only downside was my fiance's steak was very undercooked, but they sorted that out right away.

I really enjoyed the several appetizers we ordered as well as my entree, I ordered the roasted beets and the mushroom gnocchi. They serve a lot of seafood and were able to accommodate my shellfish allergy, definitely a plus for me.

I will say that the tables are squeezed in pretty tight which can be a little uncomfortable, and it's fairly noisy but not overwhelming. Overall glad I came here, it was a great bday dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One of the most memorable dining experie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had in Cincinnati! The food, the service, the ambience all came together for a perfect evening.

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Small menu but what they do ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. Small menu but what they do offer they do very well. Fried green tomatoes were a hit at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food outstanding good presentation and u ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food outstanding good presentation and unique items service very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came in with a party of 6 for my husb ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came in with a party of 6 for my husband's birthday. Service was outstanding, wish I remembered his name (Dark hair in a ponytail I think).

LOVED the house cocktails, I think we tried most of them.

All of the food was delicious. Favorites were the Gnocchi, the scallops and the Short Rib, but seriously, it was all really good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Red Feat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first experience at Red Feather. What a great find! The food was wonderful. Great oysters! Had the shrimp and grits small plate...good stuff. This will not be my last visit to Red Feather. Go! Go now!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner here to celebrate a friend's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had dinner here to celebrate a friend's birthday. The food was uniquely prepared, and so good.

The staff was not only very informative, but gave us plenty of time for conversation and general fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can not brag more about this place. Gr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I can not brag more about this place. Great food and service! Brunch menu was diverse and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. We got the potat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious. We got the potato gnocchi as an appetizer then I got the beef brisket (daily special) as my entree. Both were delicious. I wanted to lick the sauce from the gnocchi bowl and the brisket was fall-apart tender. The portion on the brisket was large but it was excellent for lunch the next day. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Been there 2x now. Both di ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Been there 2x now. Both dinners excellent. Have had the lamb and the pork chop. Our wine loving friends say the wine list is superb. Love the cheese board. Am returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very disappointed with our recen ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were very disappointed with our recent dinner mainly because of our service from Michael. He was overbearing, hovering and continually trying to up-sell us on items such as truffles in a pushy manner. The food was not on par with $ spent and the menu needs some tweaking in my opinion for a better selection of fish as the only options were salmon or scallops. When our bill arrived, my husband asked our son to check it as it seemed wrong and he didn't have his glasses. Michael had charged me for 5 drinks instead of 1. Michael, seeing our son, an attorney, checking the bill, rudely asked him if he was in the restaurant business. What? His excuse for his error was that I was in seat 5 and he pushed my seat location rather than a one for the drink number. Again what? While I had reserved for 5, RF had a table for 4, and accommodated by shoving a person in a very uncomfortable corner seat. Not a very pleasant evening and a mediocre meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food was very good. Service was outstan ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was very good. Service was outstanding. The style of the restaurant is excellent. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. Noise w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Noise was a bit high, but otherwise very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was unbelievably slow, which had ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was unbelievably slow, which had not been my experience previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.