About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

fit for foodies (122)
special occasion (89)
neighborhood gem (83)
See All
notable wine list (64)
romantic (49)
great for brunch (43)
hot spot (24)
good for groups (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful dining experience with amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful dining experience with amazing food in an inviting space, with knowledgeable servers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was extremely loud in the "patio" are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was extremely loud in the "patio" area - it gave me a headache. I found the food way over priced! We didn't have appetizers, desert, coffee or sides and our bill was $140 for 2 people. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Dinner with friends. Great time! One o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner with friends. Great time! One of our top 10 restaurants in town!!! Had the short ribs and my wife had the burger. Both are amazing. Love the place. Also had the bourbon cocktail. It was a winner as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambience, but waiter ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and ambience, but waiter was even better

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious we'll be back and we'll tell o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

delicious we'll be back and we'll tell our friends

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food tended to the overcooked for all th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

food tended to the overcooked for all three in my party. service excellent, i would try dinner but not again for brunch. it was so highly rated maybe i was expecting too much but mushroom omelette should have had more mushrooms and chopped so they didn't slide out. a little watery on the inside. potatoes were so overcooked that while not black, they were far too done. the best biscuits in Cincinnati were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Red Feather always delivers a lovely mea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Red Feather always delivers a lovely meal in a comfortable setting. The service is slower than in many restaurants, but the waiter made sure we had our drinks promptly and kept us updated with the arrival of each course. I prefer the leisurely approach to dining rather than rushing to each course. We had the beet salad and special stuffed blossoms for starters, followed by the salmon and chicken entrees and peach cobbler dessert. All were delicious but the starters were the highlight. We eat here often and will be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful. The wine list is ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is wonderful. The wine list is excellent. However, the back section has the ambiance of a First Watch. Put some table clothes on the table and get some blinds so I'm not sharing my dining experience with people coming out of their apartment and getting in their car. I recommend the restaurant, but do not sit in the back section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Had the lamb and vichyssoise. Both were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had the lamb and vichyssoise. Both were excellent. Best vichyssoise I've had in Cincinnati in 20 years. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and made an excellent wine pairing suggestion. The place is a true gem

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the food and service at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Without a doubt, the food and service at Red Feather are impeccable. We chose somewhat eclectic items and they were all amazing. The summer salad and potato gnocchi combination was just as our server suggested - an amazing duo of tastes. The restaurant was especially gracious to us, as we ended up waiting overtly long for our table due to a camped out group. They gave us complimentary desert, soup, and a side - which were all also amazing. Check it out. This is an intimate restaurant you will want to go back to...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time there for brunch. Met a f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My second time there for brunch. Met a friend from the west side there to catch up. Service was excellent. Recent brunch menu additions made deciding much more difficult. Bloody Mary bar exceptional. Always a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The beet ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The beet salad was great and the strip steak was delicious. Our female server was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with the menu. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding ! ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding ! Red Feather has a wonderful menu an execution that excels . The wines and craft cocktails go wonderfully with the food. Squash blossoms, amazing Bibb lettuce salad and Hangar Steak & white bbq sauce chicken were wonderful. The server knew the menu inside and out and was most helpful. It is not cheap but well worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our dinner . The good was deli ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved our dinner . The good was delicious and the atmosphere delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch and had a wonderful meal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for brunch and had a wonderful meal. Everything is made from scratch and you can definitely taste it. The menu is on the smaller side but between the group we sampled many of the dishes and they were all outstanding. The downside was the service. Our waiter was not very attentive and consistently up sold us (and never mentioned the additional cost). He was also a little condescending, at times. Overall, the food was great and the atmosphere is nice (they kept the Boca decor and feel).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Brunch was recommended to me. Took best ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Brunch was recommended to me. Took best friend there for a special occasion for Sunday brunch. Everything was superb! Great experience. Chef specials were terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are no words to express how great ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

There are no words to express how great this place is. Best dinner and experience we have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a date

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place for a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It's been over a year since we've been t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It's been over a year since we've been to Red Feather. The food was excellent as it always has been. However, management really needs to spend a little more time on listening to their customers. I specifically asked for a table that would be more quiet. They seated us in the back room, which is small anyway, but shortly after we were seated a large table of 10 ladies celebrating something were seated next to us that were so loud, the other tables as well as my wife and I had to shout to hear each other over this large party. The waiters also had to shout for the other tables to hear. What was suppose to be a nice evening out resulted in a very unpleasant experience. As stated the food was excellent, but we also ordered the gnocchi as a second course, and the waiter and kitchen forgot it and brought the entrees. We did send the entrees back and they brought the gnocchi 10 minutes later, but this then delayed the entrees ands prolonged the experience of the loud party even longer.

I would definitely recommend the restaurant but their attention to detail needs attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

What a great place to celebrate our anni ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a great place to celebrate our anniversary. Everything about our experience was excellent. I'm not your typical restaurant critic, but the food and service were great. My wife and I truly enjoyed our evening at Red Feather. We have been bragging for a week. I trust this brings more business to this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our first time to Red Feather f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our first time to Red Feather for dinner. Had been several times previously for brunch. Loved it as much, if not more, for dinner. Service always impeccable. Food was unusual and tasty. Cocktails refreshing. Love Red Feather!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Fast and friendly. F ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful service. Fast and friendly. Food was absolutely fantastic! Asparagus soup was a smash hit. A bit pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful menu. Wonderful service. Very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Delightful menu. Wonderful service. Very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My 15 year old chose Red Feather for din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My 15 year old chose Red Feather for dinner. We are very glad he found this gem! We sat at the chefs table and really enjoyed the experience. The chefs were very nice, informative, and entertaining. Everything we had was cooked well and tasted delicious. Service was great and we will be back. I highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Very knowledgea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was outstanding. Very knowledgeable about all food and wine on the menu. Incredible. Only complaint was the temperature of the restaurant (hot) but the overall experience eclipsed the heat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hamburger is over rated. Not worth it. S ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Hamburger is over rated. Not worth it. Service is great though.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I used to love Red Feather but they must ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I used to love Red Feather but they must have a new chef. The food has really gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

OK

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

While the food was excellent, the service was only tolerable, delays in providing incidentals (bread, water refills) and missing a wine re-order. The prices are commensurate with the quality of food provided but not with the ambiance or attention to customers' comfort or needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Arrived a 7:00 for a 7:00 reservation. S ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Arrived a 7:00 for a 7:00 reservation. Seated while waited for another couple and got a wine list. Other couple arrived 5 or 10 minutes later and ordered drinks when waitress came.back and got 2 glasses of wine and 2 diet sodas at 7:50. Finished dinner at 9:45 to 10:00. Couples sat down next to us ordered ate paid and left before we got served. Generally great food and adequate service but disappointing at best this night. Won't be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

An excellent choice for our anniversary. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

An excellent choice for our anniversary. The pork chop was really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good but pricey

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was delicious - fresh, local, and interesting, tasty combinations. However, the tab added up quickly to $140 for two people (not including tip), which was a bit of a shock. The wine list leans towards the high end with good choices. We chose one of the less expensive bottles at $40. The staff was attentive, not overly so, and the decor is attractive and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I received a recommendation from a friend for this restaurant and made a reservation. After reading online reviews, I was apprehensive, but I found the food to be quite good. The Foie Gras was amazing, and I always order Foie wherever it is available.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Usually excellent but not this time

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service and always nice to come to RF, but this time I was disappointed in the Halibut. It was bland: too little seasoning perhaps. And it lacked the taste and presentation that usually characterizes entrees here. I usually LOVE halibut, but this was not a treat. The salad was also OK but not inspired.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Try the pulled mozzarella--you will love it!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had the pulled mozzarella--it was fantastic!! Get it if you like such things. Menu is a bit odd--shells and bones included chickpeas and somewhat limited, but plenty of choices for us. The beet salad was superb, but a bit on the small size. The asparagus soup was very good, though not quite phenomenal. The burgers and drinks were excellent. I loved the ambiance. The wait staff was excellent; attentive without hovering. We skipped dessert due to being too full, but it looked good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to please

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I've been to Red Feather several times and it never fails to please. The service staff is outstanding with a superior attention to detail. Food quality and menu selection are impeccable. The wine selection is deep and very unique. Though, if you aren't feeling wine, the handcrafted cocktails are wonderful.

Just overall, a great dining experience, whether a middle of the week get together with friends or a special date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first dinner experience at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first dinner experience at Red Feather and we will definitely go back! We love their wine list and the soft shell crab special was incredible. The lamb rack was a hit for our family too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place for special occasions.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent, unusual dishes. Excellent service. Turned a regular brunch into a special occasion. The server made several recommendations from wine to appetizers to sides and add-ons. And we took his lead on almost everything. This made for a wonderful meal - but we were so full when we left we could barely move. Best brunch I've had in a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and attentive service. All around an excellent place for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TOP KITCHEN

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Unusual menu not to everyone's preference but food was excellent. Superbly prepared. The prices are high for the atmosphere of the facility but perhaps not excessive with the quality coming from the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.