Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi

About The Red Feather

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: (216) 970-5506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (72)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Local Ingredients (41)
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Cozy (35)
Open Kitchen (34)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Authentic (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Fun (19)
Seasonal (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Tapas (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

First time to Red Feather. Went for a date with my wife. Fantastic food, deserts, coffee. Fast service. Great experience. We would go back, for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A delicious meal for Easter Sunday. Chef provided an amuse bouche of fried fritters which were good. Service was excellent.

Overall the restaurant was good, but the temperature was very cold for me. Wish they could
have brought me a jacket or blanket.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great wait staff and menu. Overall very nice dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service for Easter brunch...love dinner there too!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Chef Bernstein has a very modern, locally sourced, inventive menu. Food was excellent, service very good.Prices very good for the food quality. Portion sizes appropriate for the price. I wished I could have. Selected 3-4 more dishes. Server knew the menu well. He gave expert advice,

Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have eaten at the Red Feather many times over the past few years, but the last two times some of the food has been a bit disappointing. The most recent experience included an overcooked pork chop (ordered no more than medium and got well done). And the entrees took quite long to arrive. The other food was great, and the service other than the long wait time for the entrees was very attentive. We will probably be back with the hope that things will be back to normal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was great! We had to wait a bit (20 mins) before getting our table, despite the reservation, but the wait was definitely worth it. We were able to slowly dine and enjoy a variety of foods. We were taken care of very well throughout our entire time there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. I tried it out after many recommendations and definitely go back next time I have something to celebrate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had reservations for Wednesday night to celebrate my daughter's 25th birthday.
While the food was exceptional, albeit slightly over-priced, the highlight of the evening by far was the service. Camille was genuine, friendly and knowledgeable. It was clear to everyone at our table, that she enjoyed what she was doing. My wife and I, both former servers, agreed that this was the best service we have had in years. For that reason alone, we will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We dined the night before at Harvest and had a wonderful meal. We were so impressed with the quality of the food and our overall experience at Harvest that we made brunch reservations at Red Feather, their sister restaurant, for the next day. The brunch was a home run. Everything is made in house and you can feel the care put into every item.
We will definitely go back the next time we visit Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and service. Wonderful experience, never disappoints!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overpriced and unimpressive. Great service though.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was great, our waiter was a gem with a good personality and knowledge. Food was excellent. Great menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We have gone here at least 15 times. Always has been a good experience. Actually I called to tell them that this time it was very strange. Long story at the end of the evening our waitress brought a plain board with a candle to acknowledge our friends birthday. The food is always tasty. This evening our service just changed things

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service has always been excellent, therefore shocked by poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service, great food, great wine, seasonal, great price equals amazing value!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our first time and it was great!!! The atmosphere and food and drink were super. Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was top notch, from the food to the service through the deserts. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was terrific. Striped bass special and short ribs were both superb. Our waiter was very friendly and extremely informative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A new fave for us. Would highly recommend Red Feather. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food, service, wine selection, atmosphere, and so on offer an enjoyable and elegant dining experience while still surrounded by casual friendliness. Much gratitude to all for creating an ambiance of which to be proud. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very enjoyable and unhurried dinner with exquisite food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We new this as Boca, a similarly gifted place. This was truly imaginative food. Proper portions, very flavorful, paired with good cheap wine. Great stuff. Very casual dress, which surprised me a bit. Just great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our meal was amazing. Two of us ordered the pork chops. OMG! They were the best pork chops we have ever eaten. The same was also good, as the burger. We will definitely be back again son. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

In one word GREATEST

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They brought the wrong entree twice. Seemed to be very confused. Not sure if it was the kitchen or server

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The potato gnocchi was absolutely amazing. I ended up getting the rack of lamb and it was pretty good but I will definitely be trying something out the next time I go. My wife got the scallops and she loved them. It has an upscale kind of feel and it was a great location for date night and then we followed it up with going to Mad Tree right down the street. Definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our dinner at Red Feather. The small plates were very good, the sweet potato agnolotti were excellent and the pork belly buns were also good. We also enjoyed the roasted olives. The entrees were less impressive, my wife enjoyed her scallops, but I found the hanger steak to be disappointing. The steak itself was chewy and just alright, and the grilled romaine was overcooked & wilted and was missing the parmesan cheese. For dessert, the ricotta fritters were amazing and went perfectly with the lemon curd. My wife's rum raisin bread pudding was good but nothing special.

The wine selection was very good, and they also have an impressive selection of dessert wines by the glass. The ambiance is great, it feels elegant but still relaxed.

Our server was generally attentive and helpful. He never served us bread and butter though, which we hadn't thought much about until we saw him bring bread to the table next to us.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great! Had heard about this restaurant and was not disappointed. We were a group of four. I ordered the lamb and it was amazing. Great experience with food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was slow coming out. Had the froie gras special and was tasty but not unusual for a $25 app. Sever took cocktail glasses prior to drink being finished without asking. Dinner was good but again nothing worth the cost. Would try again in case we ordered incorrectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was ok but the lobster tail was over cooked . The wine was good and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first visit, but we most certainly will be back! The ambiance of the bar and restaurant are warm and inviting with lots of wood and ambiant lighting. I would be happy to go back, just sit at the bar and enjoy drinks and apps! We were celebrating a birthday with a party of 5 so we had a chance to sample quite a bit of the menu. We started out with the Whipped Ricotta with truffle oil and honey, a big hit with everyone; Fried chicken skins, which were crispy and in a very yummy creamy sauce (someone said if a chicken and calamari had a baby, this would be the result!); the Lobster and chorizo Arancini which came with this amazing chili paste which I enjoyed and then slathered what remained on two pieces of crostini. I could eat that paste every day!!! and finally the Potato gnocchi which was light, tasty and in another amazing sauce. I have to say, their saucework in general is amazeballz!!!! For entries we had: A) the burger, to which I cannot speak because it was ordered "plain" and all of the accompanying ingredients sound like what made it amazing; B) the gargantuan and extremely delicious pork chop (be prepared to make two meals from this bad boy!!!); C) two people split the Outlaw Cowboy steak, which I found to be good but I'm not sure it was worth the $84 price tag even split between two; D) and I had the seafood special which was a bit disappointing in its size for the $27 price tag. While the flavor of the shrimp bisque was excellent, the dish contained only 2 shrimp, 3 (one was missing from the shell) muscles, several baby shrimp and a piece of salmon that was slightly smaller than size of a credit card. The dish itself was flavorful and well cooked, and I was full from all of the apps, but again, disappointing for the price. For dessert we ended with the Tres Leches cake which was delicious; the chocolate torte which was excellent and the finally the Rum Raisen Bread Pudding which was a warm and delicious way to finish the meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have been for dinner and thought it was great ... so we returned for a great brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have dined here previously and had good experiences, however our experience on Saturday was bad enough that we will likely not be back. The food was bland and not cooked how we requested (meat significantly over or under cooked and requests related to a gluten allergy were not followed). Also, the time between the first course and the second course was over an hour. We sat down at 8:15 and our entrees didn't come until 10:15. Lastly, there was a ventilation issue with the kitchen and all of our coats and clothes wreaked of kitchen smoke when we left and now need to be laundered and or dry cleaned before they are wearable due to the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What an amazing restaurant! We found Red Feather just by searching on the internet for something different to try, and we could not be more pleased. This is definitely now in our top 5 favorite restaurants in Cincinnati! The service was absolutely outstanding. We had requested the chef's table and the group before us was running late. They offered the option to wait or take another table; we waited and it was worth it. What a great experience to see how a top-notch kitchen is run! Everyone from the hostesses to the bar staff to the wait staff were perfect. Then, the food. Oh, the food. Hot fresh bread straight from the oven, refreshed as needed. The beet salad was exquisitely perfect. The foie gras special was excellent, although maybe just a few too many flavors in one dish. Main dishes of trout special and scallops were also completely fabulous, and we finished off with amazing desserts. We are very picky (snobby) restaurant goers who compare everything to our years in Europe, and this restaurant was right up there with the best on the continent. Looking forward to introducing all our friends to Red Feather!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and great service. Food was fast and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I would've given a more favorable review if we would have received an apology for the smoke in the restaurant which was almost too much to stand. It felt awkward that our server didn't even acknowledge the obvious situation. The service was wonderful other than the elephant in the room no one wanted to bring up. Our clothes smelled of smoke well after our dinner. I did write an email and received an apology at that point, but it seemed crazy that we weren't offered an explanation during dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.