About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
6 More
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

fit for foodies (128)
special occasion (94)
neighborhood gem (90)
See All
notable wine list (65)
romantic (51)
great for brunch (45)
hot spot (28)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for brunch and had a wonderful meal ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Went for brunch and had a wonderful meal. Everything is made from scratch and you can definitely taste it. The menu is on the smaller side but between the group we sampled many of the dishes and they were all outstanding. The downside was the service. Our waiter was not very attentive and consistently up sold us (and never mentioned the additional cost). He was also a little condescending, at times. Overall, the food was great and the atmosphere is nice (they kept the Boca decor and feel).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was recommended to me. Took best ...

Dined 6 days ago

Brunch was recommended to me. Took best friend there for a special occasion for Sunday brunch. Everything was superb! Great experience. Chef specials were terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

There are no words to express how great ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

There are no words to express how great this place is. Best dinner and experience we have had in a long time.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great place for a date

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Great place for a date

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

It's been over a year since we've been t ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

It's been over a year since we've been to Red Feather. The food was excellent as it always has been. However, management really needs to spend a little more time on listening to their customers. I specifically asked for a table that would be more quiet. They seated us in the back room, which is small anyway, but shortly after we were seated a large table of 10 ladies celebrating something were seated next to us that were so loud, the other tables as well as my wife and I had to shout to hear each other over this large party. The waiters also had to shout for the other tables to hear. What was suppose to be a nice evening out resulted in a very unpleasant experience. As stated the food was excellent, but we also ordered the gnocchi as a second course, and the waiter and kitchen forgot it and brought the entrees. We did send the entrees back and they brought the gnocchi 10 minutes later, but this then delayed the entrees ands prolonged the experience of the loud party even longer. I would definitely recommend the restaurant but their attention to detail needs attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to Red Feather f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our first time to Red Feather for dinner. Had been several times previously for brunch. Loved it as much, if not more, for dinner. Service always impeccable. Food was unusual and tasty. Cocktails refreshing. Love Red Feather!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service. Fast and friendly. F ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful service. Fast and friendly. Food was absolutely fantastic! Asparagus soup was a smash hit. A bit pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Delightful menu. Wonderful service. Very ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Delightful menu. Wonderful service. Very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 15 year old chose Red Feather for din ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My 15 year old chose Red Feather for dinner. We are very glad he found this gem! We sat at the chefs table and really enjoyed the experience. The chefs were very nice, informative, and entertaining. Everything we had was cooked well and tasted delicious. Service was great and we will be back. I highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Very knowledgea ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was outstanding. Very knowledgeable about all food and wine on the menu. Incredible. Only complaint was the temperature of the restaurant (hot) but the overall experience eclipsed the heat!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Hamburger is over rated. Not worth it. S ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Hamburger is over rated. Not worth it. Service is great though.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I used to love Red Feather but they must ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I used to love Red Feather but they must have a new chef. The food has really gone down hill.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

OK

Dined on June 2, 2016

While the food was excellent, the service was only tolerable, delays in providing incidentals (bread, water refills) and missing a wine re-order. The prices are commensurate with the quality of food provided but not with the ambiance or attention to customers' comfort or needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1

Arrived a 7:00 for a 7:00 reservation. S ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Arrived a 7:00 for a 7:00 reservation. Seated while waited for another couple and got a wine list. Other couple arrived 5 or 10 minutes later and ordered drinks when waitress came.back and got 2 glasses of wine and 2 diet sodas at 7:50. Finished dinner at 9:45 to 10:00. Couples sat down next to us ordered ate paid and left before we got served. Generally great food and adequate service but disappointing at best this night. Won't be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent choice for our anniversary. ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

An excellent choice for our anniversary. The pork chop was really special.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good but pricey

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was delicious - fresh, local, and interesting, tasty combinations. However, the tab added up quickly to $140 for two people (not including tip), which was a bit of a shock. The wine list leans towards the high end with good choices. We chose one of the less expensive bottles at $40. The staff was attentive, not overly so, and the decor is attractive and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on May 28, 2016

I received a recommendation from a friend for this restaurant and made a reservation. After reading online reviews, I was apprehensive, but I found the food to be quite good. The Foie Gras was amazing, and I always order Foie wherever it is available.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Usually excellent but not this time

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service and always nice to come to RF, but this time I was disappointed in the Halibut. It was bland: too little seasoning perhaps. And it lacked the taste and presentation that usually characterizes entrees here. I usually LOVE halibut, but this was not a treat. The salad was also OK but not inspired.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the pulled mozzarella--you will love it!!!

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had the pulled mozzarella--it was fantastic!! Get it if you like such things. Menu is a bit odd--shells and bones included chickpeas and somewhat limited, but plenty of choices for us. The beet salad was superb, but a bit on the small size. The asparagus soup was very good, though not quite phenomenal. The burgers and drinks were excellent. I loved the ambiance. The wait staff was excellent; attentive without hovering. We skipped dessert due to being too full, but it looked good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to please

Dined on May 25, 2016

I've been to Red Feather several times and it never fails to please. The service staff is outstanding with a superior attention to detail. Food quality and menu selection are impeccable. The wine selection is deep and very unique. Though, if you aren't feeling wine, the handcrafted cocktails are wonderful. Just overall, a great dining experience, whether a middle of the week get together with friends or a special date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first dinner experience at ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first dinner experience at Red Feather and we will definitely go back! We love their wine list and the soft shell crab special was incredible. The lamb rack was a hit for our family too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place for special occasions.

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice place for special occasions.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent, unusual dishes. Excellent service. Turned a regular brunch into a special occasion. The server made several recommendations from wine to appetizers to sides and add-ons. And we took his lead on almost everything. This made for a wonderful meal - but we were so full when we left we could barely move. Best brunch I've had in a long time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food. Very knowledgeable and attentive service. All around an excellent place for a special night out.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

TOP KITCHEN

Dined on May 13, 2016

Unusual menu not to everyone's preference but food was excellent. Superbly prepared. The prices are high for the atmosphere of the facility but perhaps not excessive with the quality coming from the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to the Red Feather before going to the Playhouse in the Park. An interesting, eclectic, and delicious menu. We particularly liked the carcuterie board. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, and enhanced the experience. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food and well presented. The wine recommend was very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather Dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

When I woke up Mother's Day morning, I had only give an A+ to three restaurants in my life. When I went to bed that night, there was four A+ restaurants. Red Feather Kitchen is a classic experience. The service--literally starting at the moment you walk in the door--is the benchmark for restaurant service. The food, especially the appetizers and small plates are divine. (The tuna tartare is the highlight.) The atmosphere is cozy, the menu eclectic, and the price (while not cheap) is worth every penny. Red Feather is an absolute joy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special place.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a very special place.

food5
ambience5
service5

All around excellent and Chef owner Brad ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

All around excellent and Chef owner Brad Bernstein is very creative.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, Great Wine

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always quite good at the Red Feather, and as much as we enjoy the creativity in the kitchen, we keep coming back for the wine. Excellent wine list that always seems to be changing. It's a well thought out list, and we enjoy picking something new.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, limited menu but high qu ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, limited menu but high quality, a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Cincinnati

Dined on May 6, 2016

Red Feather just continues to amaze me. From the perfection that is the whipped ricotta (served with 16 Bricks bread) to the perfectly preprared Hangar Steak, they just flat out do everything well. It would be remiss of me to not mention that they also have THE BEST oysters in Cincinnati. If the food wasn't enough, the cocktails and wine are plentiful and delicious. To top it all off, the staff is phenomenal. Each member from the cooks to the waitstaff care about the food. As always, a great dining experience that I look forward to having avian soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. I had the halibut special.

Dined on May 5, 2016

The summer salad is absolutely beautiful! And delicious! Food was very good, but pricy. Servers should say price of specials so there are no surprises.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Red feather was a fantastic dining exper ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Red feather was a fantastic dining experience. The service was great, and the food was outstanding. I definitely recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love New Finds

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was recommended to us so I booked a reservation for our anniversary. It was every bit what everyone said it would be. The atmosphere was great and the service was spectacular. The menu changes and the night we were there it was full of so many things that we wanted to try. Everything we had was wonderful! We will definitely go back...this is now one of our favorite places, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmosphere and service great, food ok

Dined on April 17, 2016

I read such good things about this place and chose it to celebrate my birthday. It is a really cool spot to get together with friends, not too expensive. The food was ok. I wasn't overly impressed with anything other than the potatoes. I had brunch seafood omlet crab cakes, and pancakes. I should have gotten the biscuits and jelly because I'm not sure the pancakes were done. A couple of other things could have used some work as well. Service was great though and staff kind.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our first Sunday brunch, party of four, was started with the Bloody Mary bar, which is highly recommended. Lots of unique sauces to add and the best baby beets uc had in a long time. Fresh biscuits and jam were outstanding, especially the jams. Everyone's food was good. I was disappointed in the crab cakes with poached eggs. Overall flavor was good but there was hardly any crab meat and lots of filler. I'm originally from MD so used to seeing some lump pieces of crab. These had tiny flecks of crab meat, mostly fm feelers or claw that were in tiny pieces. Overall flavor and presentation was lovely, just needed more crab. Also, the Croque Madam was obscenely huge. With way too much bread. Should have smashed it down. It did taste very good though. Will definitely go back to try other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

I've been there for many enjoyable dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been there for many enjoyable dinners, but this evening was NOT enjoyable! It Was so noisy we had to leave, we couldn't hear each other because of the people yelling at the table behind us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Nice options

Dined on April 15, 2016

Delicious food. Nice options

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.