Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 0.99mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.46mi

About The Red Feather

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: (216) 970-5506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (41)
Local Ingredients (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Open Kitchen (32)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Great for Brunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Authentic (18)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Seasonal (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (15)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (8)
Tapas (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Organic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, service, wine selection, atmosphere, and so on offer an enjoyable and elegant dining experience while still surrounded by casual friendliness. Much gratitude to all for creating an ambiance of which to be proud. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very enjoyable and unhurried dinner with exquisite food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We new this as Boca, a similarly gifted place. This was truly imaginative food. Proper portions, very flavorful, paired with good cheap wine. Great stuff. Very casual dress, which surprised me a bit. Just great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our meal was amazing. Two of us ordered the pork chops. OMG! They were the best pork chops we have ever eaten. The same was also good, as the burger. We will definitely be back again son. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

In one word GREATEST

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They brought the wrong entree twice. Seemed to be very confused. Not sure if it was the kitchen or server

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The potato gnocchi was absolutely amazing. I ended up getting the rack of lamb and it was pretty good but I will definitely be trying something out the next time I go. My wife got the scallops and she loved them. It has an upscale kind of feel and it was a great location for date night and then we followed it up with going to Mad Tree right down the street. Definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our dinner at Red Feather. The small plates were very good, the sweet potato agnolotti were excellent and the pork belly buns were also good. We also enjoyed the roasted olives. The entrees were less impressive, my wife enjoyed her scallops, but I found the hanger steak to be disappointing. The steak itself was chewy and just alright, and the grilled romaine was overcooked & wilted and was missing the parmesan cheese. For dessert, the ricotta fritters were amazing and went perfectly with the lemon curd. My wife's rum raisin bread pudding was good but nothing special.

The wine selection was very good, and they also have an impressive selection of dessert wines by the glass. The ambiance is great, it feels elegant but still relaxed.

Our server was generally attentive and helpful. He never served us bread and butter though, which we hadn't thought much about until we saw him bring bread to the table next to us.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great! Had heard about this restaurant and was not disappointed. We were a group of four. I ordered the lamb and it was amazing. Great experience with food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was slow coming out. Had the froie gras special and was tasty but not unusual for a $25 app. Sever took cocktail glasses prior to drink being finished without asking. Dinner was good but again nothing worth the cost. Would try again in case we ordered incorrectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was ok but the lobster tail was over cooked . The wine was good and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first visit, but we most certainly will be back! The ambiance of the bar and restaurant are warm and inviting with lots of wood and ambiant lighting. I would be happy to go back, just sit at the bar and enjoy drinks and apps! We were celebrating a birthday with a party of 5 so we had a chance to sample quite a bit of the menu. We started out with the Whipped Ricotta with truffle oil and honey, a big hit with everyone; Fried chicken skins, which were crispy and in a very yummy creamy sauce (someone said if a chicken and calamari had a baby, this would be the result!); the Lobster and chorizo Arancini which came with this amazing chili paste which I enjoyed and then slathered what remained on two pieces of crostini. I could eat that paste every day!!! and finally the Potato gnocchi which was light, tasty and in another amazing sauce. I have to say, their saucework in general is amazeballz!!!! For entries we had: A) the burger, to which I cannot speak because it was ordered "plain" and all of the accompanying ingredients sound like what made it amazing; B) the gargantuan and extremely delicious pork chop (be prepared to make two meals from this bad boy!!!); C) two people split the Outlaw Cowboy steak, which I found to be good but I'm not sure it was worth the $84 price tag even split between two; D) and I had the seafood special which was a bit disappointing in its size for the $27 price tag. While the flavor of the shrimp bisque was excellent, the dish contained only 2 shrimp, 3 (one was missing from the shell) muscles, several baby shrimp and a piece of salmon that was slightly smaller than size of a credit card. The dish itself was flavorful and well cooked, and I was full from all of the apps, but again, disappointing for the price. For dessert we ended with the Tres Leches cake which was delicious; the chocolate torte which was excellent and the finally the Rum Raisen Bread Pudding which was a warm and delicious way to finish the meal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have been for dinner and thought it was great ... so we returned for a great brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have dined here previously and had good experiences, however our experience on Saturday was bad enough that we will likely not be back. The food was bland and not cooked how we requested (meat significantly over or under cooked and requests related to a gluten allergy were not followed). Also, the time between the first course and the second course was over an hour. We sat down at 8:15 and our entrees didn't come until 10:15. Lastly, there was a ventilation issue with the kitchen and all of our coats and clothes wreaked of kitchen smoke when we left and now need to be laundered and or dry cleaned before they are wearable due to the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What an amazing restaurant! We found Red Feather just by searching on the internet for something different to try, and we could not be more pleased. This is definitely now in our top 5 favorite restaurants in Cincinnati! The service was absolutely outstanding. We had requested the chef's table and the group before us was running late. They offered the option to wait or take another table; we waited and it was worth it. What a great experience to see how a top-notch kitchen is run! Everyone from the hostesses to the bar staff to the wait staff were perfect. Then, the food. Oh, the food. Hot fresh bread straight from the oven, refreshed as needed. The beet salad was exquisitely perfect. The foie gras special was excellent, although maybe just a few too many flavors in one dish. Main dishes of trout special and scallops were also completely fabulous, and we finished off with amazing desserts. We are very picky (snobby) restaurant goers who compare everything to our years in Europe, and this restaurant was right up there with the best on the continent. Looking forward to introducing all our friends to Red Feather!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and great service. Food was fast and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I would've given a more favorable review if we would have received an apology for the smoke in the restaurant which was almost too much to stand. It felt awkward that our server didn't even acknowledge the obvious situation. The service was wonderful other than the elephant in the room no one wanted to bring up. Our clothes smelled of smoke well after our dinner. I did write an email and received an apology at that point, but it seemed crazy that we weren't offered an explanation during dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome food. Excellent service. Easy atmosphere and pleasant stafff. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything from appetizer to after dinner drinks were delish! Catherine, our server, was extremely knowledgeable and very attentive. We will definitely be Back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was amazing! The atmosphere was very relaxing. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best food and service in Cincinnati!!! Sit in the kitchen to see how great food comes together! Andrew makes it happen and his team that delivers this exceptional food works like a well oiled machine! So much fun to watch and it is great to be in a kitchen that has nothing to hide!!! Only great pride in what they do and how it is presented!!! Love this place!!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven, Authentic, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had an amazing meal at Red Feather! Our server was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable, and attentive. The pear poached salad was the best salad I have ever had and the gnocchi was delicious! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 1, 2017

it was great, 3 friends and we neded to talk and the ambiance allowed us to do that

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not cheap but definitely excellent... 4 starters, 4 mains & 2 desserts enjoyed by all. They make their butter in house! Please slather it all over the bread.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As usual great food. The service was very disappointing: indifferent, slow and poor training as it relates to plate removal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was creative and tasty, service was wonderful. I love the open kitchen, but not the smoky smell the wood oven left in my hair.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was incredible! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the wine and food options, and had just the right amount of attentiveness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service was exceptional. Had the Hanger Steak and my husband had the sea bass special and both were very good. Atmosphere was very energetic. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive with a nice personality. Will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Lovely dining experience but the short rib was a bit dry and bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were looking for a fine dining experience on a once-a-year visit to Cincy. Everyone's meals were incredible. The shrimp and grits small plate was one of the best I've ever had, as was the pork chop. The wine selection is outstanding for a restaurant of this size. We'll certainly be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

John was a great host to us. Food and presentation was excellent⚡

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second time visiting Red Feather, this time it was for dinner. We had the Roasted Olives with charred lemon, and roasted shishito peppers. My middle son and I enjoyed our time by the kitchen there. He aspires to be a great chef one day, which requires knowledge of great food. We would have dined more, but we were full after our cheese board and "shells & bones". He was the only kid (12) in the entire place, and enjoyed every minute of it.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing as always. Perfect date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We dined at Red Feather Saturday, 2/18/17, to celebrate Valentine's. We were seated promptly and greeted quickly by our waitress. They have a large wine list and we were very happy with the bottle we chose. We liked the menu because there was a mix of appetizers, small plates and entrees. We ordered the whipped ricotta appetizer, potato gnocchi small plate and split the scallops entree. All were excellent. The service was very good. This was our first time dining at the Red Feather and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service were fantastic. However the back room is unfit. Red Feather should have paid us to sit there. So crowded and so unbelievably noisy. All dinners were shouting; all noise reverberating. A terrible dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A wonderful dining experience for my wife's birthday. The food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding! Red Feather is an exceptional dining spot near the heart of Oakley.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Really close to five stars, four stars seems a bit low, four and a half would be just right.

Drinks: my guest had two cocktails the French 75 and the Libretto and liked both with a slight preference for the French 75. I had the Perfect Manhattan and I found no faults, so it must have been perfect. We ordered the featured wine, a 2008 Spanish wine, and at $55 for the bottle a very good wine and a very good value.

Food: we ordered the potato gnocchi and at $12 was way over-priced. It tasted delicious but was a very tiny serving. My guest had the short-ribs and absolutely loved them. I had the featured entree, the halibut. It was good but a little dry. It needed a sauce to enhance the dish.

Service: Our server, Steven, was a very personable young man. He knew the menu well and was able to answer any question. However, I did notice that the server serving the table next to us was much more informative and I learned a great deal more about the menu from eavesdropping at her table than I learned from Steven.

The Red Feather is a wonderful restaurant despite my criticism and an oasis of fine dining in the Oakley neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was good but somewhat over priced. Bill was 90 for just 2 entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was beautiful and scrumptious, service was absolutely lovely, romantic and fun. Wonderful little spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.