About The Red Feather

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: (216) 970-5506

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Business Meals (14)
Seasonal (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Organic (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every single thing about this visit was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Every single thing about this visit was top-notch. From the menu to very well chosen and different wines by the glass to immaculately prepared and presented dishes to flawless service.

Well done.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most delicious porkchop we've ever taste ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Most delicious porkchop we've ever tasted! Fresh bread and salads, everything made in-house. Delicious food, great service and cozy atmosphere. The Red Feather is a real gem...we'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good but our server tried too h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but our server tried too hard. Too much explanation where none was needed. Out of Salmon, which is the only entry that my wife was interested in. Seated next to fireplace but it wasn't turned on. Cheeseboard was very good. Beet salad was excellent. Hanger teak was quite good. Not as hot as it should have been. Dinner took way too long. Should have been a 75' dinner, was 90'+ because of service. Our server did send us home with desert to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant was busy but well-staffed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was busy but well-staffed and prepared for the crowd. Our waiter was friendly and attentive and made excellent food and wine recommendations. All our meals were excellent, with the chicken and salmon particularly good, as were the desserts. However, although we had asked for a quiet table to celebrate a special occasion when we made the reservation, we were seated in the back room and the noise level made it very difficult to have a conversation. I would return at a less busy time/day and perhaps request a table in the front room where the noise level appeared much more conducive to a relaxing evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service was completely spot on with a ve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was completely spot on with a very friendly, knowledgeable and informed server. She was timely in stopping by to check on things, refill wine glasses and offer dessert without being intrusive. Food was fantastic - we had the short ribs and the flank steak with a really nice bordeaux they were recommending that evening. Veggie sides were cooked to perfection - nothing was overdone. Restaurant had a great vibe and look, although we were seated in the very back room where the ambiance was lacking compared to the front of the restaurant, but was still quite loud. Overall a big win although I would prefer to sit in the front next time.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicand wonderful!! Will be back!! New ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicand wonderful!! Will be back!! New favorite for brunch with family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. The small plate ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful. The small plate with the ravioli stuffed with a sweet potato mixture was excellent. Scallops were well prepared and a nice portion.

My husband enjoyed the salmon and absolutely loved the soup on the menu, can't remember but it was perfect for fall/winter season.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding experience. Excellent food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding experience. Excellent food and drink. Keith did an awesome job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience, highly recommended ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful experience, highly recommended to everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather is a great special occasion ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Red Feather is a great special occasion restaurant without being stuffy. I like the small plates and excellent wine combinations. I have taken several people there for their first time, and the responses are unanimously positive. They could add or change up the vegetarian options more frequently.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I absolutely loved the gnocchi and the s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I absolutely loved the gnocchi and the scallops! Great wine list and great seasonal foods. The service was wonderful also - our server bought our dessert since it was our anniversary!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on New Years Eve and they had a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined on New Years Eve and they had a wonderful 4 course meal menu for the evening. I had the best meal of my life and it was the most amazing place to spend New Year's Eve and my boyfriend's birthday. Thank you Red Feather for the amazing food, ambience and memories. We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner at The Red Feather this weekend and were so pleased to see the incredible improvements that the restaurant has made under its new(ish) owners and new chefs. I did not expect the level of food that came out of the kitchen - each course was better than the one before, plated beautifully, and with care. Even for a busy night I was impressed with the attention to detail on the plates: a perfectly-cooked diver scallop, beautifully finished filet oscar, and stunning desserts. Huge kudos to the Red Feather team, with gratitude for a delicious ending to 2016!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, great food. Interesting a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service, great food. Interesting and innovative dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! So awesome - best dinner I have had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wow! So awesome - best dinner I have had in years!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at this top notc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time at this top notch restaurant. We went to the Red Feather prior to the New Years concert downtown. It was a five course fixed price menu. My husband and I decided to try different dishes to try as many as possible. We started with the stone crab. It was great. This was followed by a course of butternut squash soup and Bibb salad. Both were delicious. We then had the fantastic scallop and the outstanding potato gnocchi. For our main course my husband had the duck and I had the halibut. OMG! Just the best. For dessert we had the pecan pie and the creme brûlée. My pecan pie was really the best I've ever had and I've had plenty. Overall, we had an exceptional dining experience. Our waiter was Alex. He made the evening so special. Listen to his advice on the wine. We are so lucky to have this restaurant in Cincinnati. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Red Feather for Sunday Bru ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've been to Red Feather for Sunday Brunch and for dinner. It advertises itself as a "scratch kitchen" and does not disappoint. Everything is fresh and flavorful. The menu has plenty of variety, but is mostly filled with top-shelf versions of favorites (pork chop, hanger steak, gnocchi, etc), which won't leave picky eaters balking at unusual ingredients. We've been looking for a regular spot to celebrate special occasions since Enoteca closed, and this is a strong contender. Bonus: they have a very solid bourbon menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here several times and have ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been here several times and have always been very pleased with our experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Red Feather fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I dined at Red Feather for a pre-New Years Eve night out. I'd been wanting to try it after receiving several recommendations. The restaurant decor / setting was very nice and the service was fantastic. The food was outstanding with several new and interesting flavors and techniques. We were just honestly a bit surprised by the size — or lack thereof — of the portions. They were very small, especially in light of the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and drinks were excellent. I w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and drinks were excellent. I would say that our service could have been a little better. The waiter, Keith seemed to be obsessed with table next to us. I don't know if he knew them or if they were "important" but he spent a lot of time chatting with them and their drinks were never empty. My husband didn't have a drink with his dinner because Keith never came and got his request for a second beer. Also, when Keith took our bill Keith went over and chatted with them more - it was a little annoying. We don't mind waiting, in fact I love a dinner where I don't feel rushed, but I do think everyone deserves the same service regardless of who you are or are not.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food, impeccable service- we wil ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing food, impeccable service- we will definitely be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Red Feather has the right mix of cui ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The Red Feather has the right mix of cuisine, atmosphere, and service for us. We have enjoyed this restaurant over the past year or so and every visit has been near perfect. Ordinary evenings become something special at Red Feather.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, truly an exceptional evening. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As always, truly an exceptional evening. Dishes were all prepared perfectly, and Chads excellent service made the evening truly memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great choices, well made drin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food, great choices, well made drink! Priced right . Had a table that was a little noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place is amazing! What a find! It's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place is amazing! What a find! It's a little on the pricey side but definitely worth it. The French toast is insanely good and the biscuits are to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first time dining here and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first time dining here and I will be back, brunch was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was great, left review on yelp...never ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was great, left review on yelp...never had a bad time at red feather...

Since you asked, I find the stuff sitting on shelf at near the ceiling in the main dining room to be out of place with the atmosphere...it adds nothing and nothing there would be better in my opinion...I think it's the wrong look for contemporary dining atmosphere and taste...just my opinion...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Disappointed in the menu changes and qua ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Disappointed in the menu changes and quality of preparation. We have eaten here several times, each time the portions are smaller and smaller and the price higher and higher. Not a place we will go to again which is a shame because we enjoyed the ambience so much.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Red Feather lived up to its reputation! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Red Feather lived up to its reputation! Will be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food, excellent professional s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 14, 2016

excellent food, excellent professional service from Chad, great variety and price is affordable because the quality and presentation are just excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Feather keeps getting better! We at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Red Feather keeps getting better! We attended their opening 3 years ago and were excited to compare experiences. Sat at the Chef's Table and could not have been more pleased...again! Chef Brad Bernstein and staff go out of their ways to make each dish special and the consistency they meet is staggering. Service, food and the delight of observing the kitchen at work as great fun. Highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. It's rare that I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was wonderful. It's rare that I visit a restaurant and don't have any complaints! My hanger steak was perfect, the service was attentive and unobtrusive. It wasn't noisy. It was a little cold for me, seated next to the brick wall. Parking can be an issue for some.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I bought my boyfriend there for his Birt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I bought my boyfriend there for his Birthday. It was a 1st visit for both of us, and we definitely plan to go back. The food was amazing! The service was excellent and the ambience was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a second visit to the restaurant ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is a second visit to the restaurant but our first for brunch. Outstanding menu, great service and a super great bloody mary. We visited with a group of 5 to celebrate a birthday. The candle on the plate of French fries was a nice touch. All food items were terrific, presented well, tasty and perfectly prepared. Outstanding and thoughtful service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 1st time at Red Feather. T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our 1st time at Red Feather. The food and service were great. We went for Sunday brunch. It was lovely with unique selections. The quiche was so fluffy it was almost like a soufflé with a crust. We want to go back for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it took a long time to be served, probab ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

it took a long time to be served, probably 40 minutes for eggs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my family for my birthday di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I went with my family for my birthday dinner. I had been to Red Feather before for their brunch (which is fantastic!), but wanted to try their dinner. I'm so glad I did! The food was phenomenal and so was the service! My dad, who has high standards (sometimes embarrassingly so), raved about the food and service. He said it was a 'definite do-againer.'

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Red Feather many times a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Red Feather many times and have always loved the food and the ambiance. The ambiance was there this time, but the food seemed to lack its usual spectacularness (just made up a great word). The service was phenomenal as usual. And we ordered items that we have eaten before, but they seemed a little bland. This will not stop us from going there again, because every other time we have gone the food was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good - kitchen was inordi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was quite good - kitchen was inordinately slow that nite.

Service excellent, but long wait for food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was absolutely excellent. Food w ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was absolutely excellent. Food was delicious. Would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.