About The Red Feather

3200 Madison Rd.
Cincinnati, OH 45209
View Larger Map

The Red Feather is a contemporary American farm to table restaurant located in the Oakley neighborhood of greater Cincinnati. We offer an upscale casual dining experience with an emphasis on classic culinary techniques and slow, careful preparations. Enjoy forty wines by the glass, 200+ by the bottle, house made craft cocktails and a comprehensive list of micro-brewed beers. The bar is perfect for an after work drink, meeting friends, sharing a bottle of wine or enjoying one of our innovative bar snacks. Warm woodwork surrounds our three separate dining areas each with its own personality, from cozy and intimate to bright and airy. We also offer an up close and intimate Chefs Table where one can watch the preparation of our food and interact with our Chef/Owners. The Red Feather stands for innovation, rough luxury, and honoring those who worked to bring us the products that we are proud to serve and enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Brazee Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 407-3631

Website:
http://www.redfeatherkitchen.com/

Catering:
We offer on and off site catering for groups large and small. Weddings, private dinners, cocktail parties, and wine tastings are our specialties. At our house or yours we cater to all your needs.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the adjacent public lot to the right of the restaurant, behind Redtree coffee. There is also ample street parking both in front and on the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Brad Bernstein & Brett Crowe

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Feather Social Room is perfect for meetings, presentations, or gatherings. We have on-site multi-media equipment to aid in the effectiveness of your presentations. Prix Fixe menus are available for Pharmaceutical, Financial, and large group meetings. Semi-private rooms are also available for birthdays, anniversaries, rehersal dinners and parties.
We offer private and semi-private wine tastings and education led by a Certified Sommelier from The Court of Master Sommeliers.

Private Party Contact:
Devon Barrett: 2169705506x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Red Feather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Fit for Foodies (128)
Special Occasion (96)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
See All
Notable Wine List (66)
Romantic (57)
Great for Brunch (38)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Groups (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came in with a party of 6 for my husb ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We came in with a party of 6 for my husband's birthday. Service was outstanding, wish I remembered his name (Dark hair in a ponytail I think).

LOVED the house cocktails, I think we tried most of them.

All of the food was delicious. Favorites were the Gnocchi, the scallops and the Short Rib, but seriously, it was all really good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first experience at Red Feat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first experience at Red Feather. What a great find! The food was wonderful. Great oysters! Had the shrimp and grits small plate...good stuff. This will not be my last visit to Red Feather. Go! Go now!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner here to celebrate a friend's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had dinner here to celebrate a friend's birthday. The food was uniquely prepared, and so good.

The staff was not only very informative, but gave us plenty of time for conversation and general fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can not brag more about this place. Gr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I can not brag more about this place. Great food and service! Brunch menu was diverse and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. We got the potat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious. We got the potato gnocchi as an appetizer then I got the beef brisket (daily special) as my entree. Both were delicious. I wanted to lick the sauce from the gnocchi bowl and the brisket was fall-apart tender. The portion on the brisket was large but it was excellent for lunch the next day. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Been there 2x now. Both di ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Been there 2x now. Both dinners excellent. Have had the lamb and the pork chop. Our wine loving friends say the wine list is superb. Love the cheese board. Am returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very disappointed with our recen ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were very disappointed with our recent dinner mainly because of our service from Michael. He was overbearing, hovering and continually trying to up-sell us on items such as truffles in a pushy manner. The food was not on par with $ spent and the menu needs some tweaking in my opinion for a better selection of fish as the only options were salmon or scallops. When our bill arrived, my husband asked our son to check it as it seemed wrong and he didn't have his glasses. Michael had charged me for 5 drinks instead of 1. Michael, seeing our son, an attorney, checking the bill, rudely asked him if he was in the restaurant business. What? His excuse for his error was that I was in seat 5 and he pushed my seat location rather than a one for the drink number. Again what? While I had reserved for 5, RF had a table for 4, and accommodated by shoving a person in a very uncomfortable corner seat. Not a very pleasant evening and a mediocre meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food was very good. Service was outstan ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was very good. Service was outstanding. The style of the restaurant is excellent. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. Noise w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Noise was a bit high, but otherwise very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was unbelievably slow, which had ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was unbelievably slow, which had not been my experience previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was delicious and our new beer and wine selections were very good. We had a very pleasant experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and different. Lots of op ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great and different. Lots of options that were not on the menu. There were too many off menu options that you could not remember. They should consider no more than three. Serve was attentive, friendly and really made the meal enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Red Feather has exceptional service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Red Feather has exceptional service and very good ambiance. The kitchen cooks from scratch and they have some very interesting and unique selections. Whilst the food was quite good, some of the portions were a little on the small side and the price was a little high.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a much more upscale restaurant f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a much more upscale restaurant for us. We wee celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. The food was unique and very flavorful, very much out of our normal palate range. But that's why we chose it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding food, outstanding service. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

outstanding food, outstanding service. First time at Red Feather, definitely will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent as always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service was excellent as always. Food is fresh in a farm to table menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always dining at Red Feather is a tre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always dining at Red Feather is a treat with attentive service and great food and a comprehensive wine list. There is valet parking too.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table for two against the wall in the fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Table for two against the wall in the front dining room was distractingbecause of patrons and servers constantly walking back and forth. Bread was not automatically served. Had to ask for it. When it came it was warm and crisp the way we like it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent flavors, high quality produce, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent flavors, high quality produce, promoting local fresh markets , local breweries, and great wine list.

Came back for razor clams, but they were out. Foie Gras was executed perfectly, so I was not disappointed.

Great for foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu limited. Not as good since the prio ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Menu limited. Not as good since the prior chef departed. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and outstanding wine by t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding wine by the glass list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My very favorite restaurant ! Food and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My very favorite restaurant ! Food and service always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was great. There were 4 ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This restaurant was great. There were 4 of us and we had cocktails and a bottle of wine so price was reasonable. We had the fish and chips special. Fish was fried in a delicious beer batter . The French fries were the extra brown which means they were sweeter and extra flavorful. So much better than than the light golden brown.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't love it like I expected to. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I didn't love it like I expected to. We had a party of 5 for a special birthday. We were searted at a round table with part of the seating being banquette. So i ended up needing to sit at an angle on the banquette - not right when you're spending this kind of money. Server was trying hard to sell the gourmet image and he was attentive and good. Most of us liked our food but I had the shrimp & grits small plate which is one of my favorite dishes. I didn't especially like it. Beet salad was great though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was by far the best brunch I've eve ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was by far the best brunch I've ever had. The menu had so many delicious sounding options that I ended up ordering 2 meals and taking home left overs (a first in my life).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative plates. Great flavors. Yummy ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Creative plates. Great flavors. Yummy experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All in all it was great place with great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

All in all it was great place with great food. We tried the appetizer special and it was amazing. My co worker wanted lemonade and they made if for her from scratch. I had crispy skin salmon which was cooked perfectly. It is a great place to eat if you are a foodie and like to try new things. The wait staff was attentive. If I have any complaint is was that the tables are so close together that you sometimes needed to yell to be heard or wait until the table next to you quieted down to have a conversation in a normal tone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend introduced me to Red Feathe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My boyfriend introduced me to Red Feather for the first time back in November of 2015. Since then it has become our favorite date night dinner spot. The food is delicious and well prepared, and the atmosphere is aesthetically pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful brunch. Great ambiance and ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Great ambiance and service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best brunches I've h ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Probably one of the best brunches I've had: quality of the food, selection and price. The only knock is that parking is sparse in the area. Would return without hesitation next time I'm in the area. Would also like to try their menu for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved everything - from the delicious sq ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved everything - from the delicious squash blossoms, which rivaled those of my Italian grandmother, to the comforting peach crisp. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience with amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A wonderful dining experience with amazing food in an inviting space, with knowledgeable servers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was extremely loud in the "patio" are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was extremely loud in the "patio" area - it gave me a headache. I found the food way over priced! We didn't have appetizers, desert, coffee or sides and our bill was $140 for 2 people. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Dinner with friends. Great time! One o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner with friends. Great time! One of our top 10 restaurants in town!!! Had the short ribs and my wife had the burger. Both are amazing. Love the place. Also had the bourbon cocktail. It was a winner as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambience, but waiter ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and ambience, but waiter was even better

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious we'll be back and we'll tell o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

delicious we'll be back and we'll tell our friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food tended to the overcooked for all th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

food tended to the overcooked for all three in my party. service excellent, i would try dinner but not again for brunch. it was so highly rated maybe i was expecting too much but mushroom omelette should have had more mushrooms and chopped so they didn't slide out. a little watery on the inside. potatoes were so overcooked that while not black, they were far too done. the best biscuits in Cincinnati were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Red Feather always delivers a lovely mea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Red Feather always delivers a lovely meal in a comfortable setting. The service is slower than in many restaurants, but the waiter made sure we had our drinks promptly and kept us updated with the arrival of each course. I prefer the leisurely approach to dining rather than rushing to each course. We had the beet salad and special stuffed blossoms for starters, followed by the salmon and chicken entrees and peach cobbler dessert. All were delicious but the starters were the highlight. We eat here often and will be back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful. The wine list is ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is wonderful. The wine list is excellent. However, the back section has the ambiance of a First Watch. Put some table clothes on the table and get some blinds so I'm not sharing my dining experience with people coming out of their apartment and getting in their car. I recommend the restaurant, but do not sit in the back section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Had the lamb and vichyssoise. Both were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had the lamb and vichyssoise. Both were excellent. Best vichyssoise I've had in Cincinnati in 20 years. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and made an excellent wine pairing suggestion. The place is a true gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.