Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Maple Leaf TavernMaple Leaf Tavern
(91)
$$$$
Canadian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 18 times today
BaldiniBaldini
(87)
$$$$
Italian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 6 times today
Ascari EnotecaAscari Enoteca
(431)
$$$$
Italian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 15 times today
Brooklyn TavernBrooklyn Tavern
(43)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 10 times today
Il PonteIl Ponte
(57)
$$$$
Italian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 3 times today
Barrio CerveceriaBarrio Cerveceria
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Mexican | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 2 times today
Skin + BonesSkin + Bones
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Canadian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Queen Margherita Pizza - LeslievilleQueen Margherita Pizza - Leslieville
(328)
$$$$
Italian | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 24 times today
LAN RestaurantLAN Restaurant
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Vietnamese | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Globe BistroGlobe Bistro
(865)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Danforth / Greek Town, Toronto
Booked 10 times today
ClunyCluny
(1208)
$$$$
French | Distillery District, Toronto
Booked 63 times today
F'Amelia RistoranteF'Amelia Ristorante
(512)
$$$$
Italian | Cabbagetown, Toronto
Booked 9 times today
Tapas At EmbrujoTapas At Embrujo
(8)
$$$$
Spanish | Danforth / Greek Town, Toronto
Booked 5 times today
El CatrinEl Catrin
(2012)
$$$$
Mexican | Distillery District, Toronto
Booked 39 times today
FUSE Restaurant Entertainment EmporiumFUSE Restaurant Entertainment Emporium
(26)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Leslieville / Riverdale, Toronto
Booked 6 times today

About The Real Jerk Restaurant

842 Gerrard St E
Toronto, ON M4M 1Y7
View Larger Map

The Real Jerk Restaurant has been a landmark restaurant in Toronto for over 25 years. This restaurant has developed a strong following of loyal returning customers and well known name with tourists, celebrities and politicians. The Real Jerk Restaurant recently re-opened in a new location serving Toronto with the best of Caribbean and Jamaican food. This award winning restaurant offers dine-in, take-out and catering options. The Real Jerk restaurant has been able to capture that island vibe with great service and a wide selection of food, rum, wine and cocktail options. This restaurant is a great place to to celebrate with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Caribbean, Jamaican, Soul food

Cross Street:
Gerrard Street East and Carlaw Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 463-6055

Website:
http://www.therealjerk.com/

Entertainment:
Irie-Okee Thursdays

Catering:
We cater to groups of all sizes as we take you and your party to the island in the sun. We offer personalized menus for your event. Party Trays available. Large individual roti orders available Call for catering 416-463-6055 Lily

Executive Chef:
Lilieth Pottinger

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Real Jerk Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 8559782098

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Jerk Chicken With Oxtail - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Half Jerk Chicken With Rice And Beans  - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Jerk Chicken And Oxtail  - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Chicken Roti - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Fried plantain - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Goat Curry And Oxtail Combo - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Appetizer Platter - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Jerk Chicken - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Goat Roti - The Real Jerk Restaurant, Toronto, ON

The Real Jerk Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.5

ambience

5.0

value

5.0

noise

Energetic

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They took a reservation and we went all ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 1, 2016

They took a reservation and we went all the way there and it was closed :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was good as always. We had not ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was good as always. We had not been to the new location, having eaten there last in 2008. Our server "Future" was very friendly, prompt, and knew the menu inside and out. We eat there each time we come to Toronto and will be back. I even took a take out order to a friend back home (Harrisburg, Pa) who could not make the trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was perfect other than our wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was perfect other than our waitress was constantly taking away our empties right at the moment they finished....and one time when we got back from our waitress took our water glasses.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our meal was delicious. Great variety on ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our meal was delicious. Great variety on the menu. I took my three grandchildren to Toronto as a graduation gift and The Real Jerk was tops on one of their lists. My grandson who is 16 yrs old tipped our waiter (Jamaican with braids and great teeth) $20 which he took from the $100 he had to spend on himself for the three days we spent in Toronto. I was touched by his generosity. Our waiter was wonderful and took time to chat and have fun with us. This was one of our most memorable times we spent in Toronto. Loved the atmosphere and even though the food was hotter than the children were used to they loved it and the experience that we all had. I will tell this story many times over. Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place so much. The food is fan ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this place so much. The food is fantastic!

The quality for the price is excellent.

Great music

I'll be back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sloooow. Had a reservation for 6:00. Unf ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Sloooow. Had a reservation for 6:00. Unfortunately at 7:20 still no food out to us. A party of 2. When we asked our waiter if it would be much longer for our entrees. He replied by saying. " nah, they haven't even started your food yet" I was very disappointed. The thing that bothered me most about this experience was seeing people come in off the street to order take out. And being served within a half hour. Not sure what the problem with this place is. But after my experience I won't be trying it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Service was too slow we had our appointm ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service was too slow we had our appointment at 8:45 pm but the food was served only by 10:00 pm by that time we lost our appetite . Curry goat rice and peas and wings are recommended .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

super slow!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2016

we went there on Friday for dinner. We were seated on time, however, we were not informed that the service in the kitchen was slow that day. We ended up waiting for 2 hours for our food to arrive. I have never waited this long ever and we were so tempted to leave but they kept telling us the food was almost ready. It wasn't just us but every table had no food and people were complaining. The food was good but after that experience I will think twice before recommending this place. They did not even bother to provide any discount because of the delays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Love this place!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Awesome food.. Servers are friendly.... Vibrant easy going place. I eat here once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Chad was a wonderful host. Even though t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Chad was a wonderful host. Even though they were understaffed, we didn't wait an unreasonable amount of time for our food and the portions didn't disappoint. Will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

delicious and friendly as always

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2015

This restaurant is worth driving to the east end for. The goat roti is to die for (we had our extra wet). Staff is friendly and fun

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The best rotisserie and oxtail!!! Try it ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2015

The best rotisserie and oxtail!!! Try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

BEST JAMAICAN FOOD IN CANADA !!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2015

The food was AMAZING ! went for an anniversary dinner with another couple and we all LOVED our food. My bf said it was the best Jamaican food he tasted in Canada... Closest to the real deal in Jamaica! My vegetarian friends LOVED the red peas soup ! ... We all cant wait to return very soon !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic new location!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2015

The new location is fantastic! Lots of parking... There is a lot of seating with a great bar area now. Service was perfect; friendly, not too fast, not too slow, knowledgable and with a polite smile. We both had the Oxtail dinner and it was tasty and large. The wine list is not huge but more than sufficient. Lots of other fancy drinks to be had if that is your leaning. Look forward to returning again and again. Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2014

Had a great time with the family. Food was awesome and the waitstaff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Satisfied

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 6, 2014

1.Food was not warm enough when served.

  1. Appetizer and Meal came all at once.

This is the first sit down Jamaican restaurant with servers that I know of......We will be back love it and enjoy it very much!

thank you and keep up the excellent work

Sophia

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great dining cannot be lost

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2014

We were excited to know The Real Jerk was still around. Every time we dine at The Real Jerk the food is excellent. Our family always enjoy the menu. Glad to have you back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm glad you're back!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2014

We finally got a chance to drive from the West end of the City to the East to satisfy our The Real Jerk cravings and they did not disappoint. I went for Goat Roti and it is still the best in Town! Watch the special drinks - they pack a punch ...all good, that's the way drinks should be :) ...Our server was super friendly - it was like being down in the Islands. Worth the drive !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Caribbean at its best.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2014

... friendly staff, amazing food, fast, courteous service, Caribbean ambiance. Great menu with authentic food & drink options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's day at the Real Jerk

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2014

The food was amazing, the waitress very funny and engaging. I had my son and nephews with me and she was able to suggest things from the menu that would be good portion sizes for the kids. As an added touch all of the mothers and there was three at the table each were given a glass of complimentary wine which was a very nice touch. The music was nice not too loud and the ambience reminiscent of Jamaica. I would definately return to this restuarant again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.