HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Real Jerk Restaurant

21 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants


The Real Jerk Restaurant in Toronto, Ontario has been a city favorite for more than 30 years. Offering authentic Caribbean cuisine in a setting that is distinctly reminiscent of the West Indies, it has a basic concept of good times and good food.

The menu at The Real Jerk Restaurant is full of familiar favorites to those who know about Caribbean cuisine. Appetizers include jerk wings, pepper shrimp, plantain, dumplings and fritters. There are soups and salads, but the centerpiece of the restaurant has to be the different roti options and extensive side dishes that make your dining experience at The Real Jerk Restaurant as authentic as an island holiday.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Caribbean, Jamaican, Soul food
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 463-6055
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lilieth Pottinger
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, The Real Jerk Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Manager: (855) 978-2098
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
We cater to groups of all sizes as we take you and your party to the island in the sun. We offer personalized menus for your event. Party Trays available. Large individual roti orders available Call for catering 416-463-6055 Lily
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gerrard Street East and Carlaw Ave
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Irie-Okee Thursdays
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

News from The Real Jerk Restaurant

What 21 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
1.0Dined on August 1, 2016

They took a reservation and we went all the way there and it was closed :(

4.0Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was good as always. We had not been to the new location, having eaten there last in 2008. Our server "Future" was very friendly, prompt, and knew the menu inside and out. We eat there each time we come to Toronto and will be back. I even took a take out order to a friend back home (Harrisburg, Pa) who could not make the trip.

4.0Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was perfect other than our waitress was constantly taking away our empties right at the moment they finished....and one time when we got back from our waitress took our water glasses.

5.0Dined on July 22, 2016

Our meal was delicious. Great variety on the menu. I took my three grandchildren to Toronto as a graduation gift and The Real Jerk was tops on one of their lists. My grandson who is 16 yrs old tipped our waiter (Jamaican with braids and great teeth) $20 which he took from the $100 he had to spend on himself for the three days we spent in Toronto. I was touched by his generosity. Our waiter was wonderful and took time to chat and have fun with us. This was one of our most memorable times we spent in Toronto. Loved the atmosphere and even though the food was hotter than the children were used to they loved it and the experience that we all had. I will tell this story many times over. Thank you.

5.0Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this place so much. The food is fantastic!
The quality for the price is excellent.
Great music
I'll be back !!!

1.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Sloooow. Had a reservation for 6:00. Unfortunately at 7:20 still no food out to us. A party of 2. When we asked our waiter if it would be much longer for our entrees. He replied by saying. " nah, they haven't even started your food yet" I was very disappointed. The thing that bothered me most about this experience was seeing people come in off the street to order take out. And being served within a half hour. Not sure what the problem with this place is. But after my experience I won't be trying it again.

3.0Dined on February 26, 2016

Service was too slow we had our appointment at 8:45 pm but the food was served only by 10:00 pm by that time we lost our appetite . Curry goat rice and peas and wings are recommended .

1.0Dined on February 26, 2016

we went there on Friday for dinner. We were seated on time, however, we were not informed that the service in the kitchen was slow that day. We ended up waiting for 2 hours for our food to arrive. I have never waited this long ever and we were so tempted to leave but they kept telling us the food was almost ready. It wasn't just us but every table had no food and people were complaining. The food was good but after that experience I will think twice before recommending this place. They did not even bother to provide any discount because of the delays.

4.0Dined on February 23, 2016

Love this place!

4.0Dined on February 12, 2016

Awesome food.. Servers are friendly.... Vibrant easy going place. I eat here once a month.

4.0Dined on December 27, 2015

Chad was a wonderful host. Even though they were understaffed, we didn't wait an unreasonable amount of time for our food and the portions didn't disappoint. Will return soon!

5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

This restaurant is worth driving to the east end for. The goat roti is to die for (we had our extra wet). Staff is friendly and fun

5.0Dined on June 29, 2015

The best rotisserie and oxtail!!! Try it.

5.0Dined on May 24, 2015

The food was AMAZING ! went for an anniversary dinner with another couple and we all LOVED our food. My bf said it was the best Jamaican food he tasted in Canada... Closest to the real deal in Jamaica! My vegetarian friends LOVED the red peas soup ! ... We all cant wait to return very soon !

5.0Dined on January 6, 2015

The new location is fantastic! Lots of parking... There is a lot of seating with a great bar area now. Service was perfect; friendly, not too fast, not too slow, knowledgable and with a polite smile. We both had the Oxtail dinner and it was tasty and large. The wine list is not huge but more than sufficient. Lots of other fancy drinks to be had if that is your leaning. Look forward to returning again and again. Enjoy.

5.0Dined on November 15, 2014

Had a great time with the family. Food was awesome and the waitstaff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

4.0Dined on September 6, 2014

1.Food was not warm enough when served.
2. Appetizer and Meal came all at once.

This is the first sit down Jamaican restaurant with servers that I know of......We will be back love it and enjoy it very much!

thank you and keep up the excellent work


5.0Dined on May 31, 2014

We were excited to know The Real Jerk was still around. Every time we dine at The Real Jerk the food is excellent. Our family always enjoy the menu. Glad to have you back.

4.0Dined on May 18, 2014

We finally got a chance to drive from the West end of the City to the East to satisfy our The Real Jerk cravings and they did not disappoint. I went for Goat Roti and it is still the best in Town! Watch the special drinks - they pack a punch ...all good, that's the way drinks should be :) ...Our server was super friendly - it was like being down in the Islands. Worth the drive !

5.0Dined on May 17, 2014

... friendly staff, amazing food, fast, courteous service, Caribbean ambiance. Great menu with authentic food & drink options.

4.0Dined on May 11, 2014

The food was amazing, the waitress very funny and engaging. I had my son and nephews with me and she was able to suggest things from the menu that would be good portion sizes for the kids. As an added touch all of the mothers and there was three at the table each were given a glass of complimentary wine which was a very nice touch. The music was nice not too loud and the ambience reminiscent of Jamaica. I would definately return to this restuarant again.