About The Ranch House

102 Besant Rd
Ojai, CA 93023
View Larger Map

The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S Lomita Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 646-2360

Website:
http://theranchhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Spring, Summer and Fall. Friday and/or Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot adjacent to restaurant

Public Transit:
Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Kingsbury

Private Party Contact:
Russ Brunelli: 8056462360x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Ranch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
2 More
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Ojai
Best Restaurants in Ojai ›

romantic (63)
great for outdoor dining (61)
special occasion (55)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
scenic view (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

REMARKABLE

Dined 6 days ago

Our Anniversary was SO SPECIAL because of this restaurant. We were greeted at the door and given a historical background of the property. The wine list is phenomenal and the food is the best I've had in many years. It was worth every penny. We had a private little table to ourselves by candlelight and everything was just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I truly enjoy the experience at The Ranc ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I truly enjoy the experience at The Ranch House every time I go. The food is always remarkable, I never eat steak and The Ranch House is the only place I indulge myself in doing so. This time Russ(I believe that was his name)the manager, personally came out to the table to see how our dinner was . I appreciate that he not only took the time out to talk to us, but continue to tell us some history and legacy about the restaurant and how to enjoy the ambiance of the artwork . I will continue to frequent this fine establishment and recommend to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This place really is cool.

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good but very expensive and so was the wine. IT's really good but not that good.$$$$

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Ranch house

Dined on May 7, 2016

It is a great restaurant with a great outdoor set up and very nice in the evening a very special place and have been open for over 40 yrs. it was sold and new owners need to pay more attention on the manu, and also on the bar. The food was good but the menu have to change, and not have a set menu for three or five chooses for a set price. What happen if you not want the three choices and only want one or two?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Ranch House

Dined on May 2, 2016

Warm friendly service, unusual outdoor dining, Food was interesting and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great romantic spot

Dined on April 28, 2016

The ranch house is a great 5 star dining spot. It primarily has seating outside in its gardens which provides a great ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This place could be so much more.

Dined on April 25, 2016

This place could be so much more. Food was good, service was great, but they are not taking advantage of the best tables in the place. They sat everyone around the building, when there are so many private tables located up along the beautiful landscaping that were empty. The evening was good, but could have been special at one of the romantic private tables. Suggestion... add chandeliers at the tables on the top to create a beautiful atmosphere and you will have a home run! Live music would be nice at the bar area as well. I will be back to give them another try, places like this deserve a chance!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Room with a view

Dined on April 25, 2016

Took my, husband here for a dinner on a stop over from No Calif. Beautiful gardens. I Made reservations in advance, and was disappointed by the seating on a small table on the front deck. I did not want to ask for the larger table as I thought they were saving them for a larger party, however, after seeing 2 separate couples seated at the lager tables, wish I would have asked, I am sure they would have accommodated. I ordered the NY steak which was overcooked ,still good, did not return, again, I think there would not be a problem. Husband had the duck which he said was delicious. Topped off with desert of flourless chocolate cake, which was excellent. Definitely will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first trip to the Ranch Hou ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first trip to the Ranch House. Most of the seating is outside in their garden which is mostly covered. A nice setting with plenty of heaters if necessary. The menu was a 3 or 5 course tasting menu with a good set of options to allow for any palette. My wife had the NY strip steak. I had the short rib which was had a coffee chipotle flavor. Nice. Good food. Reasonable price and great service. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great time after being seated in ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had great time after being seated in one of the remote tables for two. The service was terrific and the ambience was perfet as well as the food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Find this real spot

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is an authentic, lovely well crafted menu that feels like it is made personally for you. I normally don't like eating outside but this spot gives you the beauty of their lovely garden atmosphere while still leaving you with a comforting enclosed feeling. You feel like you have found this wonderful spot, but you don't stay in business this long unless everyone knows you are there. They are down to earth, make everyone feel like a friend, and have delicious food. Thats a good recipe for success.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4

The ambience and garden setting was love ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The ambience and garden setting was lovely. The server and waitstaff were all very nice. The food is really not very good at all. The pre fixed menu for $55 per person left much to be desired. The crab cake was good. The soup was pretty bland I believe it was split pea. The green salad was under dressed and finally the pork chop was small and chewy. Also, our server said the plate was hot but the food was room temperature. We really wanted to like this place and heard so many good things but were left feeling disappointed. If I simply wanted ambience this is a beautiful place however, I'm a total foodie and want every bite to be enjoyable. This place has potential but the food has got to be given a major overhaul.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply superb.

Dined on April 18, 2016

There are only positive things to say about our experience. The ambiance, the food, the wine and the service are all 5 star. The spring menu was just introduced and it is amazing. So many wonderful entrees.....we'll definitely be back to try the others. Our service from Kendall, Igor, and everyone else was superb. Overall, a terrific experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful Gem

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went for our anniversary and the place was a gem!!! Loved the outdoor patio seating (with heat lamps). The staff was nice and the food was great! If I am in Ojai again I will come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot

Dined on April 9, 2016

This restaurant is an absolute gem - great food, friendly service, comfortable and a very peaceful setting

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Ranch House is a must-experience res ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The Ranch House is a must-experience restaurant. The food, the people, the ambience… there's nothing like it! We went on a rainy night, and enjoyed the sound of rain through the trees and the warmth of outdoor heating - it was amazing! And, the food was absolutely delicious! A historical restaurant with a colorful history, the Ranch House is a true destination anyone will absolutely love!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"BEST FOOD EVER!"

Dined on April 8, 2016

This Place was Awesome. The foo was delicious, the service was "on point" and the Ambiance was spectacular. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service wasWonderful. The g ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and service wasWonderful. The gardens are starting to look a little unkept. The bathrooms I think could use a really good cleaning! I would hate to see this wonderful restaurant go downhill !I have been coming here for years and it's one of our favorite romantic places!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on March 28, 2016

This was the 3rd time we celebrated our anniversary at the Ranch House and as usual it was an excellent experience. The setting is so beautiful and very romantic. This year our anniversary happened to fall on Easter Sunday so the menu was limited but the food was wonderful. We will return every time we are in Ojai.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We try to visit The Ranch House every time we are in Ojai. The atmosphere is always pleasant and the food never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a beautiful place. Great food and s ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Such a beautiful place. Great food and service. We had a lovely time and were able to visit with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect little jewel!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Restaurant is highly rated for good reason. Tables are among a classic California garden setting with beautiful shade trees. A limited menu of five entree offerings, but when each one is wonderful in their own right there's no nend to offer more. Our server suggested a Pinot that paired perfectly with our meal. I had a garden salad with balsamic dressing, wonderfully fresh. They also served cream of broccoli soup. The steak was served on top of garlic mashed potatoes alongside fresh and perfectly cooked aspargus. Dessert was a flourless chocolate cake served atop of whipped cream with a raspberry coulis. Perfect flavor combination. A wonderful find!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This ranch house is so so beautiful and romantic.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We love the food, service, dinning environment everything! It's fantastic dinning place for a couple ^ v ^

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an amazing (not just a place) ex ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

This is an amazing (not just a place) experience!, I love everything about it, the host and servers are super friendly, the garden ambiance it makes you feel full or peaceful energy and every dish from appetizers to desert were excellent. I found my new favorite spot in Ojai, definitely coming back, tip ask for the pork belly and the salmon :)

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food, Fair Service

Dined on March 6, 2016

It has been many years since I was last at this restaurant. But for our 20 year anniversary my partner went there to celebrate with a nice meal. We were seated quickly, and asked if we had coupons, for it was a different menu. We did not want the wine list since none in the group drank. No one asked if we wanted anything else to drink, we had to ask for the ice tea after we ordered the food. The food was fantastic, and our friend had the vegan spaghetti and said best she ever had. When I made the reservation on Open Table I mentioned the 20 year anniversary, However I guess they do not read the comment section. Anyway great food, mediocre service. Will go back, but not for special occasions, I'll stick to bouchon restaurant in Santa Barbara for that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Special

Dined on February 24, 2016

food was great, service was outstanding and the garden atmosphere was very relaxing and beautiful. The special deal made this a real deal. Great for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal in romantic setting

Dined on February 17, 2016

My husband and I went there for my Birthday dinner. It was amazing from start to finish. We loved the food. Each course was delicious. We had crab cakes, lobster bisque, salad, my husband had the short ribs and said they were the best he ever had. I had the filet and it was cooked to perfection. The flourless chocolate cake was heaven. I look forward to our next meal and we won't wait for a special occasion as ever meal there would be special. The service was the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family birthday

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had wonderful service and fabulous food -especially the plentiful stuffed mushrooms and crab cakes for appetizers and the coffe/chipotle short ribs! The outside setting is relaxing and beautiful and the service was attentive and cheerful-even with our party of 22diners from ages 6-80!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Big Disappointment

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Despite all the negative comments we'd heard about the Ranch House (since it changed hands in recent years), we decided to try this historic, lovely outdoor place, anyway, and sad to say, the rumors were correct. While the physical , mostly outdoor setting was charming and even magical, and the service was friendly and fairly attentive, nothing can save an otherwise-good restaurant from the biggest sin of all: bad food! None of the 4 of us in our party was happy with our food, and this place was one of the biggest disappointments we'd had in years at a California restaurant! I hope someone actually reads these reviews and cares enough to shake up the kitchen there, because an otherwise potentially-wonderful place is really going to waste!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on February 8, 2016

We went for my boyfriend's birthday. We LOVED it! I can't wait to take my family here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfectly marvelous experience

Dined on February 8, 2016

From the moment we were greeted, we knew we were in a special setting. The tables are set amongst foliage that makes for a jungle like experience. It was peaceful, restful and although we were not the only people there, it was like being alone. My husband was celebrating his birthday and the waitress was very kind in helping make the experience very special for both of us. The food was divine. The flavors were orgasmic. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who loves food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable experience, impeccable service ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Memorable experience, impeccable service, great menu....just perfect

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

What a Haven

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The Ranch House has the most delightful ambience. You dine outdoors. You feel transported somewhere tropical and yet still feel like you are in California. It took us a little while to be seated at our table. I suppose the busy staff may have had their hands full. The wait came with a piano player that created a lovely pause before we were seated 20 minutes later. I would say the Blackeyed Pea Fritter was good as well as the Wild Mushroom Streudel. The salad was a bore and the Salmon was pretty good. The short ribs were a bit tough. The wine was quite nice and the typical deserts didn't cap off the evening as we hoped. The service was good. Love the history too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So romantic, and a beautiful garden, too!

Dined on January 11, 2016

Try to get there early enough to walk thru the gardens while there is daylight. Also, they have tango dancing some nights!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the area!

Dined on January 10, 2016

This was our 2nd visit! They never disappoint. Wonderful staff, food, service, and amazing ambiance! One of my favorite places in Ojai.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal cooked to perfection.

Dined on January 7, 2016

This is really farm to table eating-beautiful food-fresh and cooked perfectly. The setting is unbeatable. The garden is magical. We will definitely be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve at the Ranch House

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

we went for NYE and thought it was a wonderful night. The setting is so amazing - much nicer than the pictures do justice. The food was delicious and the service was laid back but very efficient and attentive. We had a large heat lamp to ourself, and the temperature was 36 degrees that night - so we were a little chilly, have to admit - but it was such a cool atmosphere it really made up for the slight discomfort of the cold. Suggest taking a blanket or large coat to drape over your legs if its cold out, otherwise this place is a total MUST DO !!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rustic warmth on a cold winter night

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Chilly fine outdoor dining with a warm host welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Didn't realize this was only outdoors an ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

Didn't realize this was only outdoors and it was 35 degrees give or take. Ate while wearing full coats. Heaters were not working well. Due to the temperature some food probably chilled before we could eat it. Good was good but disappointing given the price even with a coupon. Ambiance is good enough to return in good weather though I'd stick with appetizers, wine and dessert. Expected more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a great gift idea

Dined on December 24, 2015

I gave these Travelzoo vouchers to my kids and their spouses as an early Christmas present, and they came back from dinner with glowing comments on the restaurant. They loved the food and the fact there was a lot of it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.