About The Ranch House

102 Besant Rd
Ojai, CA 93023
View Larger Map

The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S Lomita Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 646-2360

Website:
http://theranchhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Spring, Summer and Fall. Friday and/or Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot adjacent to restaurant

Public Transit:
Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Kingsbury

Private Party Contact:
Russ Brunelli: 8056462360x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Diver Scallops
  • Mushroom Strudel
  • Chardonnay
  • Brisket Plate
  • Tiramisu
Grilled Diver Scallops
Mushroom Strudel
Chardonnay
Brisket Plate
Tiramisu

The Ranch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Best Value
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
3 More
Romantic
California Central Coast
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Ojai
Best Restaurants in Ojai ›

Romantic (76)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Scenic View (36)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I bought my husband here for his birthda ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

I bought my husband here for his birthday and it was the first time in a decade I saw him physically and mentally relax. The atmosphere was FANTASTIC! Very romantic with the sun setting and the surrounding lights coming on during dinner. We'd absolutely come back! In fact I sent my parents there the following night for their wedding anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Ranch House for a date ni ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to the Ranch House for a date night and had a great time. The service was great!! The food was yummy!! Loved the grounds. We WILL go back again and tell friends about it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is beautiful and serene. Gard ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This place is beautiful and serene. Garden setting with bamboo trees and a stream that empties into a koi pond. Some tables are in their own little private area.

Food and service are great. Good wine list. An unexpected find that you don't realize until you walk through the front entrance. My wife and I had a very relaxing evening enjoying delicious food on a beautiful summers night in Ojai!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was delicious! We were tucked away at a private table, but never forgotten about. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience! The reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic dining experience!

The reviews speak for themselves (voted one of the most romantic restaurants in the country)

Ambience was lovely & service was perfect.

Food was amazing!

Highly recommend.

We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had not been to the restaurant in about ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

had not been to the restaurant in about 15 years. Place is just as lovely as I remembered and the food has held up well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. We were early and had a very nice table next to a bridge and a pond with fish. It was very romantic. The food was very good. They even made us some special that we didn't even ask them to do. They were very friendly and attentive and quick to serve. The only thing I regret is that we were there at 5 pm and I'm sure it is even more romantic at dark with the lights.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, excellent service, great dive ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious, excellent service, great diversity of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to love this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I really wanted to love this restaurant based on the reviews. Sadly, I didn't. It is located in sort of a down-trodden residential neighborhood. When we first drove up, it appeared that the restaurant was inside of a trailer. We were led inside by a friendly gentleman, it is open to the outside has a nice garden feel. I assumed based on the reviews and menu prices that it was on the nicer side, almost all of the patrons were in shorts, jeans, and flip flops. The food was ok, nothing special. The options were strange and didn't seem to have any cohesive direction. The menu seemed to lack creativity, many of the dishes had balsamic vinegar in some form or another. The steak was overcooked and it doesn't seem possible it could have been filet mignon - dry and stringy. The service was good and clearly the are trying to make this restaurant work - it's just missing the mark. I wish them well but not going back. I really struggled with leaving this review because the staff was very nice, however I don't think the reviews that I read were an accurate representation of this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

this old gem has lost it's shine. Over l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

this old gem has lost it's shine. Over last 10-15yrs we have enjoyed many dinners at the Ranch House during visits to Ojai and the beach but we won't be going back. Just not a good experience overall. Looks like new management has come in since out last visit and changed things up and it's just not what it used to be. If I'm going to spend over $100 for two (without drinks or wine) I expect more. Ojai Valley Inn here I come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We love the Ranch House. When my husband ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love the Ranch House. When my husband and I want to enjoy a romantic dinner it is definitely our go-to restaurant. The ambiance is magical and the food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House is such a very special p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The Ranch House is such a very special place, the service and food are always very very good

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House is a lovely experience w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Ranch House is a lovely experience with a fixed price menu. of either $45 or $55 per person. The choices are varied and excellent. The wait staff is wonderful. It is a gorgeous location. We used a Groupon coupon which ended up only being a dollar less than the menu price, although the claim was that it was worth nearly twice the price. So this was disappointing. But the 3 or 5 course meal is well worth the price. I believe the menu changes seasonally. Lovely!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On our first visit of the Ranch House we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

On our first visit of the Ranch House we knew immediately that we had found something special just outside of Ojai. The service and food were remarkable! The host greeted us graciously and provided a poignant backstory for the Ranch House, which along with the food, will have us coming back for years. Our waiter, Igor, was a very kind, helpful, and attentive - excellent service. Igor was assisted by a great support staff as well, who knew when to be around and when not to, in order to help provide the perfect evening. I will be inviting many others for our countless return trips to come, as this place is truly a hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint is that occasionally bees ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Only complaint is that occasionally bees and hornets attack you at the table. Once they were done the meal was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniversary--and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We didn't like the music (show tunes?) that seemed so out of character with the surroundings but everything else was good. Liked the idea of the greeter out front...he was very engaging and welcoming. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bart ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bartender and receptionist. The waiter was polite, but seem to be very busy.and not very interested. The food was not to our liking: Heavy, unusual combinations, sad looking . The appetizer was shellfish with corn (not a combination appetizing to us) and a heavy sauce with a sad beige color. The pasta was al dente, with a heavy, thick and tasteless sauce.

The owner is handsome, attentive, delightful and generous in accommodating our small appetites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishes was a bit lacking. The menu also seemed kinda old fashioned and the salad was just boring. The freshness of the ingredients and the beautiful setting were the saving grace of what was otherwise a fairly average dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second visit, the owner is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our second visit, the owner is vey nice, and the atmosphere is very beautiful. I am sorry to say, the food is just ok. The food was overcooked, at our table an the table next to us. I get the feeling the cook is just that, a cook. Supervision of what was being served may serve this restaurant must better. We had a groupon, which I was thankful for since I would not have paid full price, the wine they serves was a $7 bottle of Spanish wine. You get what you pay for I guess, however, sort of false advertising of sorts. Anyways, the grounds are beautiful, so if you go, all will not be lost,

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Very romantic and great food!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very romantic and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a-way setting. The lamb chops were very good, but the duck my husband ordered was outstanding! Scallop appetizer on risotto was also outstanding. Pick the three course meal for the best value. Trio of desserts were a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting to celebrate my birthd ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting to celebrate my birthday with lifelong friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was absolutely the most romantic re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was absolutely the most romantic restaurant that I have ever been to. My husband and I were greeted at the door by a very friendly gentleman and were seated in a gazebo with a beautiful chandelier. The tables are hidden by tall bamboo shoots and are very private. 10/10/. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband for his Birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took my husband for his Birthday dinner. It was amazing. The place is beautiful. The service was very attentive. The food was wonderful. Amazing place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful garden setting.... very romant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful garden setting.... very romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was more than dinner--it was an ent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was more than dinner--it was an entirely wonderful dining experience. The food was outstanding, the ambience so romantic, and the service/staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The grounds are gorgeous, with little nooks and areas where tables are nestled for an intimate dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at the Ranch House f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have been dining at the Ranch House for the past 30 years. I have been very pleased with the most recent owner. I think he has done a memorable job keeping the integrity of the old Ranch House while incorporating some new freshness. It is a bit pricey, but I still love going there. I would go more often if it was a bit more affordable, but it will always be at the top of my list as a go to restaurant for my birthday and other special occasions. I have gone there for my birthday dinners probably for the last 10 years at least. It is truly a special place! I love it and so does my family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic and tranquil outdoor garden se ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic and tranquil outdoor garden seating. Food was exceptionally fresh and delicious. Staff was very friendly. Open Table reservation system worked well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special experience! Spectacularl ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a special experience! Spectacularly delicious meal served in a beautiful setting. The staff were friendly and welcoming, not stuffy, adding greatly to our special evening. I strongly recommend the Ranch House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House was perfect as always, f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Ranch House was perfect as always, food just right, servers pleasant and it was a unhurried, leisurely, European style dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming here since the 70's a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been coming here since the 70's and every time the food, service, ambiance has been outstanding!!! I do hope that the Ranch House will bring back the Diver Scallops which are my favorite! You will be seeing us again and my family too since I purchased a gift certificate for my son and daughter-in-law to celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary on June 30 at the famous Ranch House!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really special evening. Food, service ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A really special evening. Food, service, setting, ambience all 5 Star. Will go back for our next special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Travelzoo special. Had lovely ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Went on a Travelzoo special. Had lovely appetizers, soup & salad. The filet mignon was fabulous & perfect, but the seabass was dry & smothered in tomato paste in an effort to keep it moist, definitely not to my liking, but was recommended by our server, so I thought it was worth a try. My suggestion - pass.

The manager of the night was very personable as was the bartender . It is a lovely setting - give it a try!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

My husband and I went on a dinner date a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went on a dinner date and loved everything about our evening. The 5 course meal was amazing, cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. You can hear the water falls in the background while being completely surrounded by plant life, the feeling was very enchanting. The atmosphere was relaxing and pleasant. We left feeling very happy and full, we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read the low reviews but thought I wou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I read the low reviews but thought I would take a chance because I liked their story and fresh, interesting fare seemed like a possibility. The setting is very nice and you can see how this used to be a lovely spot, but it relied on very "packaged' food and only had a pre-set menu ( I thought that was just a sample menu online, but it's their every day standard procedure). The food was not objectionable, but it was far from fresh. So disappointing! Lastly, the manager (owner?) of the restaurant was really odd and made for a strange entrance into the restaurant. Not a professional feeling and felt like he was not representing an upscale restaurant well. A shame-- I wanted to like this spot! Unfortunately I think I must join the choir of people who are disappointed with how the Ranch House has decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The Ranch House was recommended by frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Ranch House was recommended by friends who visit Ojai often. It didn't disappoint. My three course $45 meal with lamb chops and mint jelly was excellent, the lamb cooked perfectly. The wine menu is legendary and for good reason. The staff was friendly and attentive. May it last for 60 more years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the Ranch Hou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This was our first time at the Ranch House celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. It is a very romantic place with lots of beautiful outdoor cubbyholes. Regarding the food, my mushroom appetizer stuffed with artichokes and sundried tomatoes was amazing. My husband's spring soup had a strange taste and lime green color. I don't think we would order that again. The short ribs were tasty but dried up quickly. More sauce would be nice. The asparagus was also amazing as was the date but bread. Dessert was a welcome surprise and perfect. Coffee was a little strong. All in all, I would still return and try another meal. The ambiance is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful time and would certai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it for carnivores 100%.

We are Vegetarians.

We would caution any vegetarians to go there hungry. Limited menu and the night we went a chef who certainly had either apathy or antipathy for vegetarians for what they did to the jackfruit and vegetables.

However, as I said, a beautiful place to dine and we will go back, just not hungry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant, tables are spaced ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, tables are spaced in and around a series planted areas. Great for a special occasion, such as a birthday, wedding anniversary, etc. Service was exceptional, and the food was very good. Only caveat, it is in Ojai and may get a little hot in the summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing! Perfect for a dat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is amazing! Perfect for a date night!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.