Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Suzanne's CuisineSuzanne's Cuisine
(491)
$$$$
Contemporary European | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 13 times today
Ojai Deer LodgeOjai Deer Lodge
(139)
$$$$
American | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 2 times today
The Oak at Ojai Valley Inn & SpaThe Oak at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
(147)
$$$$
Californian | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 1 time today
AzuAzu
(65)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 1 time today
Olivella - Ojai Valley Inn & SpaOlivella - Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
(125)
$$$$
Californian | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 3 times today
East End Restaurant and BarEast End Restaurant and Bar
(8)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Ojai, Ojai
Booked 1 time today
Sly'sSly's
(489)
$$$$
Steak | Carpinteria, Santa Barbara
Booked 3 times today
Stonehouse at San Ysidro RanchStonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch
(996)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 29 times today
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa BarbaraBella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
(561)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 7 times today
Cava RestaurantCava Restaurant
(334)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 9 times today
Tre LuneTre Lune
(301)
$$$$
Italian | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 12 times today
Montecito Wine BistroMontecito Wine Bistro
(181)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 6 times today
Lucky'sLucky's
(641)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 18 times today
Trattoria MollieTrattoria Mollie
(380)
$$$$
Italian | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 8 times today
Stella Mare'sStella Mare's
(328)
$$$$
French | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 3 times today

About The Ranch House

102 Besant Rd
Ojai, CA 93023
View Larger Map

The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S Lomita Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 646-2360

Website:
http://theranchhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Spring, Summer and Fall. Friday and/or Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot adjacent to restaurant

Public Transit:
Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Kingsbury

Private Party Contact:
Russ Brunelli: 8056462360x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Diver Scallops - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
  • Mushroom Strudel - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
  • Chardonnay - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
  • Brisket Plate - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
  • Tiramisu - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
Grilled Diver Scallops - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
Mushroom Strudel - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
Chardonnay - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
Brisket Plate - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA
Tiramisu - The Ranch House, Ojai, CA

The Ranch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We drove all the way from Los Angeles, w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We drove all the way from Los Angeles, which is over two hours away to spend out anniversary dinner here. When we got there for our reservation (early and waited till our reservation time), we were told that they had a wedding that booked the whole restaurant and that OPEN TABLE messed up our reservation. I booked this months ago and received confirmation of our reservation a week prior to going. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!!!!!! I want to speak to a supervisor/manager from OPEN TABLE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Haven't been to the Ranch House for 8 ye ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Reviewed on October 2, 2016

Haven't been to the Ranch House for 8 years. Always had a great meal, and felt the quality and the grounds were wonderful. We went to the Restaurant on 9/10/16 and the experience was terrible. The food was fair, it took forever for each course to come out, and the table they gave us was so dark we couldn't see our food. We had them pack up out desert because we just couldn't take it anymore. When my Son's entree hit the table it was to salty to eat.

We will never go back again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

It was a wonderful evening. The server c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was a wonderful evening. The server consulted the chef and brought over a menu that the chef had marked with all the gf items. It was great that she remembered to bring a special gf dessert for me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe my expectations were too high but ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Maybe my expectations were too high but I was disappointed. They started poorly with a warm split of Prosecco (they were out of the Blanc de Blanc). We both ordered the $55 price fixed. The bread was outstanding. The first course pork belly was perfectly prepared and plated. The second course salad was well plated but must have been made a bit ahead of time as it was not freshly tossed and kinda flat. The Rack of Lamb was two lamb chops ordered medium. Small without much flavor. Maybe I should have asked what constitutes a rack? The biggest disappointment was the dessert selection (three small desserts on a plate). They too seemed to have been plated a long time before and maybe held in a cooler? The service was very good and the ambiance was nice. With such a rich history it was sad only some of the food had life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We live in Michigan and flew to CA for o ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We live in Michigan and flew to CA for our anniversary dinner........my review in a nutshell,

"It was worth it"

Amazing ambience and incredible food. The diver's scallops are worth the price of admission by themselves.

Thank you Ranch House for very special evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant anywhere! Discove ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My favorite restaurant anywhere! Discovered in the '80's and still go whenever we are in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The ranch house is an absolute gem and i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The ranch house is an absolute gem and is a must for anyone looking for a unique dining experience. The ambience is 2nd to none. 5 stars. A+

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience for our first time. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent experience for our first time. Looking forward to going back with other friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House was once a very good res ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Ranch House was once a very good restaurant. The food was luke warm and terribly generic. The wine was also warm, and tasted old. We sent a glass back, but the second was just as bad. I'm not sure what happened to this once great place. Would not recommend to anyone for any reason.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Background music appeared to be a radio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Background music appeared to be a radio station playing kids songs. Although food was still very good, service and overall ambiance has declined noticeably over the last few years. We will probably not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Although the outside of this place feels ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Although the outside of this place feels like a big mobile home, once you make your way through the gate it is lovely. We were greeted even before going inside and made to feel welcomed like family. The same when we left. The service was perfect but we should have said we wanted to take our time between courses. We felt the next course came much too quickly. The food was all done perfectly and we enjoyed our meal as well as the grounds. Take your time there and walk about the grounds in between courses. A bit high priced but for a special treat, good.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

It's always such a special place And th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

It's always such a special place

And the service is unparalleled

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot if you looking to spend a q ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Perfect spot if you looking to spend a quality dinner with your spouse. Great environment and location! Service was awesome! Candle light dinner over looking a koi pound! Outstanding location

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Staff (General Manager and down to t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Staff (General Manager and down to the person washing the dishes) are personable, fun to talk to, are polite and most of all customer oriented. They love their job and they excel in customer service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and so was the am ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was excellent and so was the ambience and the service. We thouroughly enjoyed it and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service, all in an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food, great service, all in an elegant but chill Ojai setting!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I bought my husband here for his birthda ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I bought my husband here for his birthday and it was the first time in a decade I saw him physically and mentally relax. The atmosphere was FANTASTIC! Very romantic with the sun setting and the surrounding lights coming on during dinner. We'd absolutely come back! In fact I sent my parents there the following night for their wedding anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Ranch House for a date ni ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to the Ranch House for a date night and had a great time. The service was great!! The food was yummy!! Loved the grounds. We WILL go back again and tell friends about it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is beautiful and serene. Gard ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This place is beautiful and serene. Garden setting with bamboo trees and a stream that empties into a koi pond. Some tables are in their own little private area.

Food and service are great. Good wine list. An unexpected find that you don't realize until you walk through the front entrance. My wife and I had a very relaxing evening enjoying delicious food on a beautiful summers night in Ojai!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was delicious! We were tucked away at a private table, but never forgotten about. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience! The reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic dining experience!

The reviews speak for themselves (voted one of the most romantic restaurants in the country)

Ambience was lovely & service was perfect.

Food was amazing!

Highly recommend.

We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had not been to the restaurant in about ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

had not been to the restaurant in about 15 years. Place is just as lovely as I remembered and the food has held up well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. We were early and had a very nice table next to a bridge and a pond with fish. It was very romantic. The food was very good. They even made us some special that we didn't even ask them to do. They were very friendly and attentive and quick to serve. The only thing I regret is that we were there at 5 pm and I'm sure it is even more romantic at dark with the lights.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, excellent service, great dive ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Delicious, excellent service, great diversity of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to love this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I really wanted to love this restaurant based on the reviews. Sadly, I didn't. It is located in sort of a down-trodden residential neighborhood. When we first drove up, it appeared that the restaurant was inside of a trailer. We were led inside by a friendly gentleman, it is open to the outside has a nice garden feel. I assumed based on the reviews and menu prices that it was on the nicer side, almost all of the patrons were in shorts, jeans, and flip flops. The food was ok, nothing special. The options were strange and didn't seem to have any cohesive direction. The menu seemed to lack creativity, many of the dishes had balsamic vinegar in some form or another. The steak was overcooked and it doesn't seem possible it could have been filet mignon - dry and stringy. The service was good and clearly the are trying to make this restaurant work - it's just missing the mark. I wish them well but not going back. I really struggled with leaving this review because the staff was very nice, however I don't think the reviews that I read were an accurate representation of this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

this old gem has lost it's shine. Over l ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

this old gem has lost it's shine. Over last 10-15yrs we have enjoyed many dinners at the Ranch House during visits to Ojai and the beach but we won't be going back. Just not a good experience overall. Looks like new management has come in since out last visit and changed things up and it's just not what it used to be. If I'm going to spend over $100 for two (without drinks or wine) I expect more. Ojai Valley Inn here I come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We love the Ranch House. When my husband ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love the Ranch House. When my husband and I want to enjoy a romantic dinner it is definitely our go-to restaurant. The ambiance is magical and the food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House is such a very special p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The Ranch House is such a very special place, the service and food are always very very good

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House is a lovely experience w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Ranch House is a lovely experience with a fixed price menu. of either $45 or $55 per person. The choices are varied and excellent. The wait staff is wonderful. It is a gorgeous location. We used a Groupon coupon which ended up only being a dollar less than the menu price, although the claim was that it was worth nearly twice the price. So this was disappointing. But the 3 or 5 course meal is well worth the price. I believe the menu changes seasonally. Lovely!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On our first visit of the Ranch House we ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2016

On our first visit of the Ranch House we knew immediately that we had found something special just outside of Ojai. The service and food were remarkable! The host greeted us graciously and provided a poignant backstory for the Ranch House, which along with the food, will have us coming back for years. Our waiter, Igor, was a very kind, helpful, and attentive - excellent service. Igor was assisted by a great support staff as well, who knew when to be around and when not to, in order to help provide the perfect evening. I will be inviting many others for our countless return trips to come, as this place is truly a hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only complaint is that occasionally bees ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Only complaint is that occasionally bees and hornets attack you at the table. Once they were done the meal was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniv ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniversary--and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We didn't like the music (show tunes?) that seemed so out of character with the surroundings but everything else was good. Liked the idea of the greeter out front...he was very engaging and welcoming. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bart ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bartender and receptionist. The waiter was polite, but seem to be very busy.and not very interested. The food was not to our liking: Heavy, unusual combinations, sad looking . The appetizer was shellfish with corn (not a combination appetizing to us) and a heavy sauce with a sad beige color. The pasta was al dente, with a heavy, thick and tasteless sauce.

The owner is handsome, attentive, delightful and generous in accommodating our small appetites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Lipstick on my girlfriend's wine glass, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lipstick on my girlfriend's wine glass, hair in my soup and the waitress' tasteless joke about the lipstick and hair made the dinning experience memorable. I would not recommend or return to the ranch house ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishe ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishes was a bit lacking. The menu also seemed kinda old fashioned and the salad was just boring. The freshness of the ingredients and the beautiful setting were the saving grace of what was otherwise a fairly average dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second visit, the owner is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our second visit, the owner is vey nice, and the atmosphere is very beautiful. I am sorry to say, the food is just ok. The food was overcooked, at our table an the table next to us. I get the feeling the cook is just that, a cook. Supervision of what was being served may serve this restaurant must better. We had a groupon, which I was thankful for since I would not have paid full price, the wine they serves was a $7 bottle of Spanish wine. You get what you pay for I guess, however, sort of false advertising of sorts. Anyways, the grounds are beautiful, so if you go, all will not be lost,

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Very romantic and great food!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very romantic and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a-way setting. The lamb chops were very good, but the duck my husband ordered was outstanding! Scallop appetizer on risotto was also outstanding. Pick the three course meal for the best value. Trio of desserts were a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting to celebrate my birthd ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting to celebrate my birthday with lifelong friends

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was absolutely the most romantic re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was absolutely the most romantic restaurant that I have ever been to. My husband and I were greeted at the door by a very friendly gentleman and were seated in a gazebo with a beautiful chandelier. The tables are hidden by tall bamboo shoots and are very private. 10/10/. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.