About The Ranch House

102 Besant Rd
Ojai, CA 93023
View Larger Map

The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S Lomita Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 646-2360

Website:
http://theranchhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Spring, Summer and Fall. Friday and/or Saturday nights.

Parking Details:
We have our own parking lot adjacent to restaurant

Public Transit:
Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.

Executive Chef:
Sean Kingsbury

Private Party Contact:
Russ Brunelli: 8056462360x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Diver Scallops
  • Mushroom Strudel
  • Chardonnay
  • Brisket Plate
  • Tiramisu
Grilled Diver Scallops
Mushroom Strudel
Chardonnay
Brisket Plate
Tiramisu

The Ranch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
2 More
Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Ojai
Best Restaurants in Ojai ›

romantic (82)
great for outdoor dining (78)
special occasion (73)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
scenic view (41)
neighborhood gem (37)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Only complaint is that occasionally bees ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

Only complaint is that occasionally bees and hornets attack you at the table. Once they were done the meal was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

A very enjoyable evening--our 30th anniversary--and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We didn't like the music (show tunes?) that seemed so out of character with the surroundings but everything else was good. Liked the idea of the greeter out front...he was very engaging and welcoming. Would definitely dine there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bart ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely and attentive team of owner, bartender and receptionist. The waiter was polite, but seem to be very busy.and not very interested. The food was not to our liking: Heavy, unusual combinations, sad looking . The appetizer was shellfish with corn (not a combination appetizing to us) and a heavy sauce with a sad beige color. The pasta was al dente, with a heavy, thick and tasteless sauce.

The owner is handsome, attentive, delightful and generous in accommodating our small appetites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ifelt the execution on some of the dishes was a bit lacking. The menu also seemed kinda old fashioned and the salad was just boring. The freshness of the ingredients and the beautiful setting were the saving grace of what was otherwise a fairly average dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second visit, the owner is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our second visit, the owner is vey nice, and the atmosphere is very beautiful. I am sorry to say, the food is just ok. The food was overcooked, at our table an the table next to us. I get the feeling the cook is just that, a cook. Supervision of what was being served may serve this restaurant must better. We had a groupon, which I was thankful for since I would not have paid full price, the wine they serves was a $7 bottle of Spanish wine. You get what you pay for I guess, however, sort of false advertising of sorts. Anyways, the grounds are beautiful, so if you go, all will not be lost,

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Very romantic and great food!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very romantic and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food in a very romantic hide-a-way setting. The lamb chops were very good, but the duck my husband ordered was outstanding! Scallop appetizer on risotto was also outstanding. Pick the three course meal for the best value. Trio of desserts were a perfect ending.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my husband for his Birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took my husband for his Birthday dinner. It was amazing. The place is beautiful. The service was very attentive. The food was wonderful. Amazing place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful garden setting.... very romant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful garden setting.... very romantic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was more than dinner--it was an ent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was more than dinner--it was an entirely wonderful dining experience. The food was outstanding, the ambience so romantic, and the service/staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The grounds are gorgeous, with little nooks and areas where tables are nestled for an intimate dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at the Ranch House f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have been dining at the Ranch House for the past 30 years. I have been very pleased with the most recent owner. I think he has done a memorable job keeping the integrity of the old Ranch House while incorporating some new freshness. It is a bit pricey, but I still love going there. I would go more often if it was a bit more affordable, but it will always be at the top of my list as a go to restaurant for my birthday and other special occasions. I have gone there for my birthday dinners probably for the last 10 years at least. It is truly a special place! I love it and so does my family!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic and tranquil outdoor garden se ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic and tranquil outdoor garden seating. Food was exceptionally fresh and delicious. Staff was very friendly. Open Table reservation system worked well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special experience! Spectacularl ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a special experience! Spectacularly delicious meal served in a beautiful setting. The staff were friendly and welcoming, not stuffy, adding greatly to our special evening. I strongly recommend the Ranch House.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch House was perfect as always, f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Ranch House was perfect as always, food just right, servers pleasant and it was a unhurried, leisurely, European style dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming here since the 70's a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been coming here since the 70's and every time the food, service, ambiance has been outstanding!!! I do hope that the Ranch House will bring back the Diver Scallops which are my favorite! You will be seeing us again and my family too since I purchased a gift certificate for my son and daughter-in-law to celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary on June 30 at the famous Ranch House!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Travelzoo special. Had lovely ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Went on a Travelzoo special. Had lovely appetizers, soup & salad. The filet mignon was fabulous & perfect, but the seabass was dry & smothered in tomato paste in an effort to keep it moist, definitely not to my liking, but was recommended by our server, so I thought it was worth a try. My suggestion - pass.

The manager of the night was very personable as was the bartender . It is a lovely setting - give it a try!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

My husband and I went on a dinner date a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went on a dinner date and loved everything about our evening. The 5 course meal was amazing, cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. You can hear the water falls in the background while being completely surrounded by plant life, the feeling was very enchanting. The atmosphere was relaxing and pleasant. We left feeling very happy and full, we will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read the low reviews but thought I wou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I read the low reviews but thought I would take a chance because I liked their story and fresh, interesting fare seemed like a possibility. The setting is very nice and you can see how this used to be a lovely spot, but it relied on very "packaged' food and only had a pre-set menu ( I thought that was just a sample menu online, but it's their every day standard procedure). The food was not objectionable, but it was far from fresh. So disappointing! Lastly, the manager (owner?) of the restaurant was really odd and made for a strange entrance into the restaurant. Not a professional feeling and felt like he was not representing an upscale restaurant well. A shame-- I wanted to like this spot! Unfortunately I think I must join the choir of people who are disappointed with how the Ranch House has decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The Ranch House was recommended by frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Ranch House was recommended by friends who visit Ojai often. It didn't disappoint. My three course $45 meal with lamb chops and mint jelly was excellent, the lamb cooked perfectly. The wine menu is legendary and for good reason. The staff was friendly and attentive. May it last for 60 more years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the Ranch Hou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This was our first time at the Ranch House celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. It is a very romantic place with lots of beautiful outdoor cubbyholes. Regarding the food, my mushroom appetizer stuffed with artichokes and sundried tomatoes was amazing. My husband's spring soup had a strange taste and lime green color. I don't think we would order that again. The short ribs were tasty but dried up quickly. More sauce would be nice. The asparagus was also amazing as was the date but bread. Dessert was a welcome surprise and perfect. Coffee was a little strong. All in all, I would still return and try another meal. The ambiance is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful time and would certai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it for carnivores 100%.

We are Vegetarians.

We would caution any vegetarians to go there hungry. Limited menu and the night we went a chef who certainly had either apathy or antipathy for vegetarians for what they did to the jackfruit and vegetables.

However, as I said, a beautiful place to dine and we will go back, just not hungry.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant, tables are spaced ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, tables are spaced in and around a series planted areas. Great for a special occasion, such as a birthday, wedding anniversary, etc. Service was exceptional, and the food was very good. Only caveat, it is in Ojai and may get a little hot in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing! Perfect for a dat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is amazing! Perfect for a date night!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, romantic spot for dinner or lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to the Ranch House for many years. Let me say first off that it has declined under the new ownership. However, if I hadn't known what it was like before I would be quite happy with the experience. The food and service was very good and the garden setting was lovely. I didn't give this restaurant an overall excellent because the menu is very limited. There are no choices for desserts - you get a tasting of 3 desserts which you may or may not like. I would recommend this restaurant with these caveats.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing gourmet restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This is without a doubt the best place in Ojai and surrounding areas. The food is creative and absolutely outstanding. Served elegantly with a wonderful outdoor patio. Service by Egor was fantastic. Everything was just the best. And the new pricing of either a 3 or 5 course meal is wonderful...you don't look at prices of individual dishes. Just pick what you want...all the same price. Can't recommend it enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful local poor experience.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Sadly we wanted to come to the Ranch House at for appetizers and cocktails, specifically the pate and pork belly, but they only offer a pre fix menu now which we did not know. When we asked if we could do 2 appetizers and an entree the waiter who was new (as he told us 3 times) said he didn't know. He asked and management said sorry they could not accommodate any changes. So we had a glass of champagne and left hungry. This was our third visit this year and my overall impression is that it remains a a truly beautiful location, but I would not assoicate this any longer with its amazing foodie past. The new menu lends itself to uninspired cuisine.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Enchanting!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This restaurant has a spectatular setting and wonderful food. The service is also first rate. It was a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

REMARKABLE

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our Anniversary was SO SPECIAL because of this restaurant. We were greeted at the door and given a historical background of the property. The wine list is phenomenal and the food is the best I've had in many years. It was worth every penny. We had a private little table to ourselves by candlelight and everything was just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I truly enjoy the experience at The Ranc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I truly enjoy the experience at The Ranch House every time I go. The food is always remarkable, I never eat steak and The Ranch House is the only place I indulge myself in doing so. This time Russ(I believe that was his name)the manager, personally came out to the table to see how our dinner was . I appreciate that he not only took the time out to talk to us, but continue to tell us some history and legacy about the restaurant and how to enjoy the ambiance of the artwork . I will continue to frequent this fine establishment and recommend to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place really is cool.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good but very expensive and so was the wine. IT's really good but not that good.$$$$

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Ranch house

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It is a great restaurant with a great outdoor set up and very nice in the evening a very special place and have been open for over 40 yrs. it was sold and new owners need to pay more attention on the manu, and also on the bar. The food was good but the menu have to change, and not have a set menu for three or five chooses for a set price. What happen if you not want the three choices and only want one or two?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ranch House

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Warm friendly service, unusual outdoor dining, Food was interesting and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great romantic spot

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The ranch house is a great 5 star dining spot. It primarily has seating outside in its gardens which provides a great ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place could be so much more.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This place could be so much more. Food was good, service was great, but they are not taking advantage of the best tables in the place. They sat everyone around the building, when there are so many private tables located up along the beautiful landscaping that were empty. The evening was good, but could have been special at one of the romantic private tables. Suggestion... add chandeliers at the tables on the top to create a beautiful atmosphere and you will have a home run!

Live music would be nice at the bar area as well.

I will be back to give them another try, places like this deserve a chance!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Room with a view

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Took my, husband here for a dinner on a stop over from No Calif. Beautiful gardens. I Made reservations in advance, and was disappointed by the seating on a small table on the front deck. I did not want to ask for the larger table as I thought they were saving them for a larger party, however, after seeing 2 separate couples seated at the lager tables, wish I would have asked, I am sure they would have accommodated. I ordered the NY steak which was overcooked ,still good, did not return, again, I think there would not be a problem. Husband had the duck which he said was delicious. Topped off with desert of flourless chocolate cake, which was excellent. Definitely will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first trip to the Ranch Hou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first trip to the Ranch House. Most of the seating is outside in their garden which is mostly covered. A nice setting with plenty of heaters if necessary. The menu was a 3 or 5 course tasting menu with a good set of options to allow for any palette. My wife had the NY strip steak. I had the short rib which was had a coffee chipotle flavor. Nice. Good food. Reasonable price and great service. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great time after being seated in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had great time after being seated in one of the remote tables for two. The service was terrific and the ambience was perfet as well as the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Find this real spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This is an authentic, lovely well crafted menu that feels like it is made personally for you. I normally don't like eating outside but this spot gives you the beauty of their lovely garden atmosphere while still leaving you with a comforting enclosed feeling. You feel like you have found this wonderful spot, but you don't stay in business this long unless everyone knows you are there. They are down to earth, make everyone feel like a friend, and have delicious food. Thats a good recipe for success.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and garden setting was love ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The ambience and garden setting was lovely. The server and waitstaff were all very nice. The food is really not very good at all. The pre fixed menu for $55 per person left much to be desired. The crab cake was good. The soup was pretty bland I believe it was split pea. The green salad was under dressed and finally the pork chop was small and chewy. Also, our server said the plate was hot but the food was room temperature. We really wanted to like this place and heard so many good things but were left feeling disappointed. If I simply wanted ambience this is a beautiful place however, I'm a total foodie and want every bite to be enjoyable. This place has potential but the food has got to be given a major overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Simply superb.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

There are only positive things to say about our experience. The ambiance, the food, the wine and the service are all 5 star. The spring menu was just introduced and it is amazing. So many wonderful entrees.....we'll definitely be back to try the others. Our service from Kendall, Igor, and everyone else was superb. Overall, a terrific experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.