Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra

Join us for Niagara Culinary Experiences featuring Massimo Capra! New Events just added for 2015-16. Visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for package details.

Situated directly across from Niagara Falls is the most spectacular Falls view restaurant Niagara Falls has to offer. The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located within the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls-Falls view, and features the passion of renowned Chef Massimo Capra. The inspired menu showcases fresh local ingredients, paired with riches from Niagara's award winning wineries. Exceptional fine dining service and breathtaking views result in making The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra the complete Niagara Falls dining experience.



5685 Falls Ave.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00 am - 10:30 am


Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-1:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Falls Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 374-4447 ext. 4134

Website:
http://fallsviewrainbowroom.com/

Parking Details:
The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located on Falls Avenue Resort, which provides guests with onsite parking in the directly connected Casino Niagara parking garage. This is a 24 hour secure parking garage with 7 floors of parking available provided to you free of charge when dinner with us. Just validate with our host upon arrival.

Executive Chef:
John Casciato

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Niagara Culinary Experiences:
Friday November 13, 2015 - A Culinary Tour of Piedmont with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Pio Cesare Winery

Friday March 4, 2016 - A Culinary Tour of Abbruzo with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Masciarelli Winery

Additional 2015-16 Events just announced...Dinner Tickets & Hotel Packages are available now, visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for more information.

Private Dining

Spacious enough to host events for up to 125 guests, the Salon is located adjacent to The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. The flexibility of the Rainbow Salon makes it a great meeting room, or the ideal location for banquets and receptions.

The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Scenic View (27)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Waterfront (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

La comida fue muy buena, aunque la atención poco descuidada aún cuando no había mucha gente en el restaurante. Entiendo que no todas las mesas pueden tener ventana pero mi reserva la hice 2 meses antes y no pude acceder a esa ventaja.
El precio me pareció elevado, aún cuando descontaron los KIds menú, 200 CAN x dos adultos en una cena.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was tasty and the service attentive. My salmon came undercooked for my taste but this was promptly addressed. My husband's steak was "the best ever". The prices were at the upper end of what I'm willing to pay.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent food; great service, outstanding environment and breathtaking view of the Falls

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The view was excellent. The service was good. I was disappointed with the food. We ordered the four course dinner and in both dishes the risotto was not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waitress at The Keg (also a great restauarant) gave a glowing review of the Rainbow Room and so we just had to go.
Christopher was a great waiter, wine list was amazing and the food was even more amazing.
The view of both falls at night is good.
If you like good food (not just food) and you're in Niagara Falls you must go here!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Probably one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to, especially for the expensive prices! Onion soup was bland, octopus carpaccio barely had any octopus (looked like a child made it), not to mention for being an italian restaurant, it had a horrible wine selection. The view of the falls was nice, however the restaurant is run down, and rugged looking inside. Needs table clothes ! For being Massimos Capra's restaurant I am EXTREMELY disappointed, and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at Massimo's. Our waiter, Christopher was great as usual.
Such a pleasant person. The view is as spectacular as the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Spectacular view of the Falls , food is wonderful and creative . Had a Scallop dish with blood
orange sauce over rosea rosottto...made with beet juice ..wonderful flavor .
Friendly attentive staff .. definitely recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had high hopes because of the fame of Massimo, but the management does not live up to his reputation. We had planned out a four course tasting menu for the two of us with wine, which would have been pricey but we wanted to splurge a bit. We got everytging sorted with the waitress when she dropped on us that our $40 voucher for dinner from the hotel was not valid with the tasting menu. honestly? arguing with people over such a small amount compared to what we were going to ordee is beyond silly. I felt like leaving just over the premise of it. Instead of having a big meal with wine we had an appetizer and pasta and left. The 87 layer lasagna appetizer was nothing special, and surprisingly bland. The pasta was gummy, and sauce had broken. Maybe not having the tasting menu was a good thing if it was all going to be subpar. The waitress' attitude also changed as soon as the voucher was given to her, I imagine she has had to deal with this often. Poor policy ontop of poor food. nope! not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had high expectations because it was a Massimo Capra restaurant. Disappointed by atmosphere (way too bright and no table cloths) and food. Salmon tasted like it had been thawed from frozen and chicken did not have flavour. Expensive and poor experience, would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It's all about the view. The service was exceptional, the food very median. The noise level from several small children was high - running around our table, blocking the waitstaff. Oils have appreciated the children being seated away from the more intimate seating areas.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the rainbow room and drive 3 hours to get there for our anniversary every year. This year my husband turned 50 and chose the rainbow room as our venue to celebrate with his sister and her husband who flew in from Atlanta for the occasion. The service was outstanding (thank you Christopher) and the food was phenomenal. My in laws were blown away. We can't wait to return again when our anniversary comes around in October.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very impressed with The Rainbow Room. The food was perfectly done and extremely good. The wait staff was very solicitous and gracious. My husband, whose only hobby is gourmet cooking and is a tough audience for a restaurant, absolutely enjoyed his meal. I have already recommended this restaurant to several of my friends and I recommend it to you too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and portions were on the mark. Parking sucked especially the price! Cost as much as the bottle of wine we had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience here was great. Every course was amazing and the service by Christopher was top notch. He explained the dishes we were interested in very thoroughly and gave great recommendations. 4 courses was 69 and each course was a huge serving. Took a lot home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The meal and service was superb. The ambiance however is not up to par. White table clothes are a must. The table setting should reflect some more sophistication especially when a Valentines menu was offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Awesome experience. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The view of the falls was amazing. The food was ok. The presentation of the food was beautiful but the taste was just ok for the price, it didn't blow me away. I would go back if I had a discount or a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Views of the falls were really nice. The atmosphere was nice as well except we were seated by a couple who brought their kids. We politely asked to move as we were looking forward to a night away from our kid, and others... I would suggest making alternate arrangements if you have kids. The menu was fairly extensive, the bolognese was great and you can tell the pasta was homemade which is always as added bonus. Our waitress seemed a bit new and forgot a drink at the bar and by the time it was ready our meals were complete and we were ready to go so we nixed the second round. The main reason for the 3 is everything needed salt, the calamari to my gnocchi. I continued to add salt to both as I ate them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing experience! The food was awesome, the service was spectacular, and the view was beautiful. It was an all around amazing experience and I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This in not fine dining-I have had better meals at Kelsey's. The view, however, was spectacular:
1) No table cloths???-There was not even a place mat and we were force to place our cutlery directly on the table.
2) When our appetizers arrived and the server struggled to put my son's plate down and almost poured his appetizer in his lap-new and poorly trained.
3) I ordered the 4 course meal with wine pairing, my wife ordered the 3 course meal with wine pairing and my son ordered the 3 course meal. We were not 1/2 way through our appetizers and first glass of wine when my second course arrived. When our waitress arrived with my second glass of wine, I informed her that this was far too quick to be receiving my second course and wine pairing as I had not even taken a sip of my first glass. She said the that kitchen sometime surprises her like this and that this way the others will not have long to wait for their main course as I was the only one having the 4 course meal.
4) I did my best to pound back my appetizer and pasta along with 2 glass of wine to be ready for our main course - good thing the servings were small. Our main course arrived and their was mass confusion as an extra meal and asparagus side also arrived at our table. There was an exchange with our server and waitress referring to us by seat number right there in front of us.
5) Unfortunately, my rare tenderloin steak was cooked medium well and it took some time to get our waitress' attention to have it replaced. Thankfully, my wife shared her rack of lamb with me as I waited for my new steak to arrive. Although the second steak was cooked properly, the cut of beef was no more than AA. While the crusting on my wife's lamb was bland, the meat was tender - much better than my steak.
6) Our creme brulee was so under cooked it looked like chocolate milk and was uneatable. We were forced to have the manager come to our table to remove it and the 3% (PF) Promotion Fee, disguised as a tax, from our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With or without the waiter this would have been an excellent experience...but, with the waiter the review must be nothing short of outstanding. Would go back in a flash.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall the experience was good - we really enjoyed our meal. However, for the price point the meal was disappointing.

1. The calamari was not lightly dusted, but overly breaded and tasted like it was from frozen.
2. The sauces with the calamari were awful - the creamy sauce, which I assumed should have been a garlic sauce, tasted like sour cream and the spicy sauce was not hot or tangy (tasted like tomato paste).
3. The a la carte sides were "meh". The asparagus was coated with a buttery-creamy sauce, which was not necessary; and cauliflower was over cooked and salty.

BUT, the steak entree and Scallop entree were very good, bordering amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is excellent!!! The scallops are cooked to perfection. Wonderful view while you dine. We have been here twice so far and it will be our main dinner place to go from now on. Everything is just Wonderful!!! The staff go over and above to make your experience memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and the view were fantastic. The staff was very attentive and as busy as they were, we still felt the personal touch. We can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

10 year anniversary. Amazing food and view of the Falls. Order the scallops. Best meal I've ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had our 18 monthiversary here and it couldn't have been more special. It was a 2 ½ hour drive, but well worth it! The view is works-class and the food was both inventive and delicious. We are both eager to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful and amazing. Fantastic wait staff and very attentive. Food was delicious and I have no complaints of my evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Tenderloin with Gorgonzola risotto is the best meal I've ever had! It was my second time getting it. The staff was friendly. I will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food with excellent service. We will be going back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was decent but overpriced. The mushroom bruschetta was underwhelming and the onion soup left much to be desired. The potato gnocchi wth cauliflower was delicious. I would go back just to eat that. Our waitress Tammy was very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I think it's over priced! We had three free kids meals - a group of 3 adults and 4 children. Adults enjoyed a $30 bottle of wine, 1x 8oz glass and 1x 5oz glass of wine. We took part in the 3 course meal at a cost of $65 per person (adults only) and each adult had a baileys coffee at the end of dinner. The server was good. A bit slow but overall fine. And our bill was $360!!! We were not given a copy of our bill as I tried to pay at the bar BUT that's the total for three adults and ONE child! We are wondering if they added an auto gratuity and did not tell us? Not worth the cost at all!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful except kids running around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The view was beautiful with fireworks at 9pm on NYE. The wine list for red wine drinkers needs to be updated. It was disappointing to not find a decent red on the menu and no decent bourbons either. Quite shocking for a restaurant of this alleged calibre. We were not impressed with the lack of finesse of most servers. One manager who dropped our food off stunk of cigarette smoke, which was off putting before eating and just a lack of service etiquette in general. I ordered the frutti de mare...the scallop, and cous cous were great, but the lobster tail was inedible, rock solid. The server saw me clearly struggling to cut it with the knife and asked if I needed a steak knife...which was laughable. Needless to say, I left it on the plate and the server didn't bother to ask if she could get me anything else. My husband's lamb was underwhelming, the black truffle risotto lacked any kind of salt/seasoning and my husband's dessert, the sea salt caramel brownie tasted like a Weight Watcher's brownie that had been left out for a week on the counter. Two positives about eating here...the view and my parmasean mousse fried bread first course. We aren't likely to be back anytime soon...just too many negatives. I can go elsewhere and get a great view in Niagara Falls. My rating is a 3 only due to the view...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This place is in need of some updating. I realize it's in Niagara Falls so you can't really expect much. I haven't really found any restaurant that is superb in this region. If you'd like some good food, you should go to Niagara on the Lake....they have more options. Meal was decent but not great and if it wasn't for the view of the falls, I would have given this restaurant a lower rating....just OK

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful ambiance that overlooks the falls. We sat in a cozy booth and were treated to a fireworks show!! Great memories.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Two adults and two kids at the Rainbow Room over the Holidays was a great time. Excellent Service, wonderful view of the Falls, great food. Nice kids menu. Wine prices not exorbitant. Overall pricey (bill was $250 with wine and tip) so we're talking about Special Occasions. We'll go back next time we vacation in Niagara Falls.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Absolutely disgusted with the way we were treated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall our meal was ok not awesome. Our Bellini taste like grapefruit juice. They may have given us wrong drink. Chicken was good and our view was amazing. Our request by the window was honoured which add to the experience. Beautiful view of the falls. Service was ok. Maybe expecting a bit more as it had Chef Massimo behind the name. Would recommend for the view .

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.