Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra

Join us for Niagara Culinary Experiences featuring Massimo Capra! New Events just added for 2015-16. Visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for package details.

Situated directly across from Niagara Falls is the most spectacular Falls view restaurant Niagara Falls has to offer. The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located within the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls-Falls view, and features the passion of renowned Chef Massimo Capra. The inspired menu showcases fresh local ingredients, paired with riches from Niagara's award winning wineries. Exceptional fine dining service and breathtaking views result in making The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra the complete Niagara Falls dining experience.



5685 Falls Ave.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00 am - 10:30 am


Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-1:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Falls Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 374-4447 ext. 4134

Website:
http://fallsviewrainbowroom.com/

Parking Details:
The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located on Falls Avenue Resort, which provides guests with onsite parking in the directly connected Casino Niagara parking garage. This is a 24 hour secure parking garage with 7 floors of parking available provided to you free of charge when dinner with us. Just validate with our host upon arrival.

Executive Chef:
John Casciato

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Niagara Culinary Experiences:
Friday November 13, 2015 - A Culinary Tour of Piedmont with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Pio Cesare Winery

Friday March 4, 2016 - A Culinary Tour of Abbruzo with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Masciarelli Winery

Additional 2015-16 Events just announced...Dinner Tickets & Hotel Packages are available now, visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for more information.

Private Dining

Spacious enough to host events for up to 125 guests, the Salon is located adjacent to The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. The flexibility of the Rainbow Salon makes it a great meeting room, or the ideal location for banquets and receptions.

The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Scenic View (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Waterfront (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had high hopes because of the fame of Massimo, but the management does not live up to his reputation. We had planned out a four course tasting menu for the two of us with wine, which would have been pricey but we wanted to splurge a bit. We got everytging sorted with the waitress when she dropped on us that our $40 voucher for dinner from the hotel was not valid with the tasting menu. honestly? arguing with people over such a small amount compared to what we were going to ordee is beyond silly. I felt like leaving just over the premise of it. Instead of having a big meal with wine we had an appetizer and pasta and left. The 87 layer lasagna appetizer was nothing special, and surprisingly bland. The pasta was gummy, and sauce had broken. Maybe not having the tasting menu was a good thing if it was all going to be subpar. The waitress' attitude also changed as soon as the voucher was given to her, I imagine she has had to deal with this often. Poor policy ontop of poor food. nope! not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had high expectations because it was a Massimo Capra restaurant. Disappointed by atmosphere (way too bright and no table cloths) and food. Salmon tasted like it had been thawed from frozen and chicken did not have flavour. Expensive and poor experience, would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It's all about the view. The service was exceptional, the food very median. The noise level from several small children was high - running around our table, blocking the waitstaff. Oils have appreciated the children being seated away from the more intimate seating areas.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the rainbow room and drive 3 hours to get there for our anniversary every year. This year my husband turned 50 and chose the rainbow room as our venue to celebrate with his sister and her husband who flew in from Atlanta for the occasion. The service was outstanding (thank you Christopher) and the food was phenomenal. My in laws were blown away. We can't wait to return again when our anniversary comes around in October.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very impressed with The Rainbow Room. The food was perfectly done and extremely good. The wait staff was very solicitous and gracious. My husband, whose only hobby is gourmet cooking and is a tough audience for a restaurant, absolutely enjoyed his meal. I have already recommended this restaurant to several of my friends and I recommend it to you too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and portions were on the mark. Parking sucked especially the price! Cost as much as the bottle of wine we had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience here was great. Every course was amazing and the service by Christopher was top notch. He explained the dishes we were interested in very thoroughly and gave great recommendations. 4 courses was 69 and each course was a huge serving. Took a lot home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The meal and service was superb. The ambiance however is not up to par. White table clothes are a must. The table setting should reflect some more sophistication especially when a Valentines menu was offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Awesome experience. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The view of the falls was amazing. The food was ok. The presentation of the food was beautiful but the taste was just ok for the price, it didn't blow me away. I would go back if I had a discount or a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Views of the falls were really nice. The atmosphere was nice as well except we were seated by a couple who brought their kids. We politely asked to move as we were looking forward to a night away from our kid, and others... I would suggest making alternate arrangements if you have kids. The menu was fairly extensive, the bolognese was great and you can tell the pasta was homemade which is always as added bonus. Our waitress seemed a bit new and forgot a drink at the bar and by the time it was ready our meals were complete and we were ready to go so we nixed the second round. The main reason for the 3 is everything needed salt, the calamari to my gnocchi. I continued to add salt to both as I ate them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing experience! The food was awesome, the service was spectacular, and the view was beautiful. It was an all around amazing experience and I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This in not fine dining-I have had better meals at Kelsey's. The view, however, was spectacular:
1) No table cloths???-There was not even a place mat and we were force to place our cutlery directly on the table.
2) When our appetizers arrived and the server struggled to put my son's plate down and almost poured his appetizer in his lap-new and poorly trained.
3) I ordered the 4 course meal with wine pairing, my wife ordered the 3 course meal with wine pairing and my son ordered the 3 course meal. We were not 1/2 way through our appetizers and first glass of wine when my second course arrived. When our waitress arrived with my second glass of wine, I informed her that this was far too quick to be receiving my second course and wine pairing as I had not even taken a sip of my first glass. She said the that kitchen sometime surprises her like this and that this way the others will not have long to wait for their main course as I was the only one having the 4 course meal.
4) I did my best to pound back my appetizer and pasta along with 2 glass of wine to be ready for our main course - good thing the servings were small. Our main course arrived and their was mass confusion as an extra meal and asparagus side also arrived at our table. There was an exchange with our server and waitress referring to us by seat number right there in front of us.
5) Unfortunately, my rare tenderloin steak was cooked medium well and it took some time to get our waitress' attention to have it replaced. Thankfully, my wife shared her rack of lamb with me as I waited for my new steak to arrive. Although the second steak was cooked properly, the cut of beef was no more than AA. While the crusting on my wife's lamb was bland, the meat was tender - much better than my steak.
6) Our creme brulee was so under cooked it looked like chocolate milk and was uneatable. We were forced to have the manager come to our table to remove it and the 3% (PF) Promotion Fee, disguised as a tax, from our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With or without the waiter this would have been an excellent experience...but, with the waiter the review must be nothing short of outstanding. Would go back in a flash.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall the experience was good - we really enjoyed our meal. However, for the price point the meal was disappointing.

1. The calamari was not lightly dusted, but overly breaded and tasted like it was from frozen.
2. The sauces with the calamari were awful - the creamy sauce, which I assumed should have been a garlic sauce, tasted like sour cream and the spicy sauce was not hot or tangy (tasted like tomato paste).
3. The a la carte sides were "meh". The asparagus was coated with a buttery-creamy sauce, which was not necessary; and cauliflower was over cooked and salty.

BUT, the steak entree and Scallop entree were very good, bordering amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is excellent!!! The scallops are cooked to perfection. Wonderful view while you dine. We have been here twice so far and it will be our main dinner place to go from now on. Everything is just Wonderful!!! The staff go over and above to make your experience memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and the view were fantastic. The staff was very attentive and as busy as they were, we still felt the personal touch. We can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

10 year anniversary. Amazing food and view of the Falls. Order the scallops. Best meal I've ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had our 18 monthiversary here and it couldn't have been more special. It was a 2 ½ hour drive, but well worth it! The view is works-class and the food was both inventive and delicious. We are both eager to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful and amazing. Fantastic wait staff and very attentive. Food was delicious and I have no complaints of my evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Tenderloin with Gorgonzola risotto is the best meal I've ever had! It was my second time getting it. The staff was friendly. I will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food with excellent service. We will be going back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was decent but overpriced. The mushroom bruschetta was underwhelming and the onion soup left much to be desired. The potato gnocchi wth cauliflower was delicious. I would go back just to eat that. Our waitress Tammy was very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I think it's over priced! We had three free kids meals - a group of 3 adults and 4 children. Adults enjoyed a $30 bottle of wine, 1x 8oz glass and 1x 5oz glass of wine. We took part in the 3 course meal at a cost of $65 per person (adults only) and each adult had a baileys coffee at the end of dinner. The server was good. A bit slow but overall fine. And our bill was $360!!! We were not given a copy of our bill as I tried to pay at the bar BUT that's the total for three adults and ONE child! We are wondering if they added an auto gratuity and did not tell us? Not worth the cost at all!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful except kids running around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The view was beautiful with fireworks at 9pm on NYE. The wine list for red wine drinkers needs to be updated. It was disappointing to not find a decent red on the menu and no decent bourbons either. Quite shocking for a restaurant of this alleged calibre. We were not impressed with the lack of finesse of most servers. One manager who dropped our food off stunk of cigarette smoke, which was off putting before eating and just a lack of service etiquette in general. I ordered the frutti de mare...the scallop, and cous cous were great, but the lobster tail was inedible, rock solid. The server saw me clearly struggling to cut it with the knife and asked if I needed a steak knife...which was laughable. Needless to say, I left it on the plate and the server didn't bother to ask if she could get me anything else. My husband's lamb was underwhelming, the black truffle risotto lacked any kind of salt/seasoning and my husband's dessert, the sea salt caramel brownie tasted like a Weight Watcher's brownie that had been left out for a week on the counter. Two positives about eating here...the view and my parmasean mousse fried bread first course. We aren't likely to be back anytime soon...just too many negatives. I can go elsewhere and get a great view in Niagara Falls. My rating is a 3 only due to the view...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This place is in need of some updating. I realize it's in Niagara Falls so you can't really expect much. I haven't really found any restaurant that is superb in this region. If you'd like some good food, you should go to Niagara on the Lake....they have more options. Meal was decent but not great and if it wasn't for the view of the falls, I would have given this restaurant a lower rating....just OK

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful ambiance that overlooks the falls. We sat in a cozy booth and were treated to a fireworks show!! Great memories.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Two adults and two kids at the Rainbow Room over the Holidays was a great time. Excellent Service, wonderful view of the Falls, great food. Nice kids menu. Wine prices not exorbitant. Overall pricey (bill was $250 with wine and tip) so we're talking about Special Occasions. We'll go back next time we vacation in Niagara Falls.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Absolutely disgusted with the way we were treated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall our meal was ok not awesome. Our Bellini taste like grapefruit juice. They may have given us wrong drink. Chicken was good and our view was amazing. Our request by the window was honoured which add to the experience. Beautiful view of the falls. Service was ok. Maybe expecting a bit more as it had Chef Massimo behind the name. Would recommend for the view .

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dined at the Rainbow Room on Christmas day 2016 with a large party of 13 (2 tables). The table of 8 had only made the reservation the day of and the restaurant was able of accommodate all of us. They had a childrens menu which pleasantly surprised us. Our food was outstanding and left us talking about it for day's. The service was great. Our server went out of his way to provide a birthday song and lit a candle for my husbands 50th birthday which was the other reason for the celebration. The desserts were fabulous and the portions were perfect. I recommend choosing the 4 course meal to experience the most of the menu offerings. The Rainbow Room was the perfect spot for our celebrations with breathtaking views of the falls. ~a very satisfied tourist from Michigan

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Day dinner at the Rainbow Room was outstanding. It was our preferrred holiday restaurant and a return engagement. Our party of 7 ordered a variety of appetizers, entrees and desserts, wines and cocktails. All were superb in taste. The special feature included traditional turkey with mashed potato, gravy, cranberry stuffing and turnip balls. It was so delicious. The salmon with risotto and a side kale salad was nicely presented, cooked to perfection and an ample sized portion. The gnocchi was tender and hot. The tenderloin, cooked to medium rare, with shredded onion Frits and a side of asparagus was mouth watering . The chocolate banana bread pudding was a lovely comfort food dessert and large enough to share. Our server was very helpful when deciding on preferred food choices and very knowledgeable concerning wine pairings. Staff went out of their way to accommodate a late arrival to dinner. The view was fabulous with the lights on the Falls visible from our table. The ambiance was relaxed; upbeat seasonal music played in the background. I loved the whole experience.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A few errors ... eg raw potatoes and wrong sides served. Also some excellent food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I first tried The Rainbow Room because we were given a $40 gift card, not knowing what it was. When we walked the first time, the service was incredible and the food was the best we've had. We love it so much that we actually come on small getaways to Niagara Falls specifically to visit the rainbow room, coming from near Oshawa that's quite a drive to get dinner, and incredibly worth it. We recommend it to all our friends and family for special occasions, among all the fine dining restaurants we've been to, Rainbow Room is by far the best in service and food quality. Never had a bad experience in the years we've been going

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Booked via Open Table for a double birthday celebration, checked in upon arrival. Server got our name wrong, and even though we corrected them, we still got an email from Open Table asking why we didn't attend. Food presentation was good, service was okay, used local ingredients and suppliers which I liked. My husbands steak was very good, I sent my lamb back as it wasn't cooked enough, and even at the second try I still couldn't eat it. Starters were good, and desserts marginal. View is amazing and more than made up for the lamb. I think I expected a little more...

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Christopher, our server, was attentive and knowledgeable. The food quality and presentation was outstanding. The view of the falls was spectacular. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food quality was good but over cooked or preparation wasn't seasoned properly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our family came to this restaurant for a birthday party. We had a very enjoyable experience, and we will definitely come to this restaurant again when in the Niagara Region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.