About The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra

5685 Falls Ave.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3K7
View Larger Map

Join us for Niagara Culinary Experiences featuring Massimo Capra! New Events just added for 2015-16. Visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for package details.

Situated directly across from Niagara Falls is the most spectacular Falls view restaurant Niagara Falls has to offer. The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located within the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls-Falls view, and features the passion of renowned Chef Massimo Capra. The inspired menu showcases fresh local ingredients, paired with riches from Niagara's award winning wineries. Exceptional fine dining service and breathtaking views result in making The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra the complete Niagara Falls dining experience.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00 am - 10:30 am


Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-1:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Falls Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 374-4447 ext. 4134

Website:
http://fallsviewrainbowroom.com/

Parking Details:
The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located on Falls Avenue Resort, which provides guests with onsite parking in the directly connected Casino Niagara parking garage. This is a 24 hour secure parking garage with 7 floors of parking available provided to you free of charge when dinner with us. Just validate with our host upon arrival.

Executive Chef:
John Casciato

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Niagara Culinary Experiences:
Friday November 13, 2015 - A Culinary Tour of Piedmont with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Pio Cesare Winery

Friday March 4, 2016 - A Culinary Tour of Abbruzo with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Masciarelli Winery

Additional 2015-16 Events just announced...Dinner Tickets & Hotel Packages are available now, visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra
  • Buffet Lunch
  • Shrimp Roll
  • Prime Rib
  • Fettuccine Bolognese
  • Mediterranean Vegetable Filo Wrap
  • Mcmanis Cabernet Sauvignon
The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra
Buffet Lunch
Shrimp Roll
Prime Rib
Fettuccine Bolognese
Mediterranean Vegetable Filo Wrap
Mcmanis Cabernet Sauvignon

Private Dining

Spacious enough to host events for up to 125 guests, the Salon is located adjacent to The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. The flexibility of the Rainbow Salon makes it a great meeting room, or the ideal location for banquets and receptions.

The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Toronto / Ontario
Romantic
Niagara
Scenic View
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara Falls ›

Scenic View (62)
Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Waterfront (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was absolutely delicious! It wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious! It was our special Wedding Anniversary dinner so we really enjoyed the experience! The view from our table of both the American falls and the Canadian falls on a lovely sunny day was outstanding!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food , view and staff were awesome. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food , view and staff were awesome. Every thing was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular! The only fault ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was spectacular! The only fault was that one of the waiters had really bad body odor. If your gonna work in a high end restaurant then invest in some deodorant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful, refreshing view of both sides ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful, refreshing view of both sides of the Falls. Excellent value for the 3-dish course.

All appetizers ordered were delicious but the 87-layer lasagna is just beyond delicious perfection! The entrees were all perfectly prepared, fresh and very delicious- wild halibut, rack of lamb, striploin and tenderloin. The desserts were also good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a visitor to Niagara Falls, I searche ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As a visitor to Niagara Falls, I searched for a special place to celebrate an anniversary with my girlfriend. The Rainbow Room is listed in the top 10 of fine dining for Niagara Falls, so I decided to make a reservation.

I will start by saying that the host staff and wait staff are extremely nice and helpful. The host sat us in a nice spot with a good view of the falls and our waiter was very nice to chat with without being overbearing.

The food on the other had was far from 'fine dining' quality. We started with a cured meat platter and calamari. The cured meat and cheese were not only sweaty when they came out, but the quality of the cured meats was rubbery and chewy. The calamari were overcooked and very much in need of the dipping sauces they came with as they were tasteless.

Hoping the main dishes were going to be better, we were unfortunately let down again with the wild boar agnolotti and the red snapper special. The taste of the angolotti was excellent, but short lived with five of them on the plate. The red snapper was tasteless and overcooked. Sadly the best part of this plate was the accompanying spinach and potatoes on the side.

Desert around the corner we had little hope, but to our surprise it was actually quite good. Until we ordered some espresso to accompany them and were disappointed once again. How can a high end restaurant not know how to make a simple coffee? Add a bottle of affordable red wine and a few post dinner drinks we were out the door for $260 including tax and tip. Never to return.

I want to thank the front end staff for making the night enjoyable regardless. It is a shame that the kitchen staff doesn't play at this level to keep the customers from returning.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent food and service. The air cond ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. The air conditioning was too cold and drafty. Very accommodating with special food requests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The view of the falls was beautiful. How ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The view of the falls was beautiful. However my boyfriend and I were seated directly in the middle of a group of 20 tourists. These tourists were very loud and the server was very busy with their requests and barely saw us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We celebrated our 11 year anniversary an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We celebrated our 11 year anniversary and my wife's 40th. Great time great food nothing bad to say. Looking forward to eating there next time we're in Niagara. Michael was outstanding for helping with our meal decisions. Compliments to your Staff and the Chef.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding experience you should not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

An outstanding experience you should not miss. The food is only surpassed by the service. The view is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent view of Nia ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food and excellent view of Niagara Falls. We both chose the 3 course meal option with wine pairings and we're delighted with each course. I do not recall ever having had as good lamb chops as we were served. Not cheap but we felt that portion sizes were good, and the view... Wow.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wife and I went for our Anniversary. We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wife and I went for our Anniversary. We had a great table with an awesome view of the Falls. Our server was great, knowledgeable, and very friendly. Our meals were remarkable. It came in a reasonable time and portions were good.

Only mood killer was the Tourist Fee that was automatically added. We live just up the road and are aware that this is a Optional Fee and not a Mandatory Tax. We asked for the fee to be removed but was told that it wasn't possible and that we were required to pay which is NOT true. Even after requesting the manager they wouldn't budge and left the fee on the bill.

Overall though I highly recomend this place, I would go back again but next time I might fight the Tourist Fee battle a little harder.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner and really enjoyed the vie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had dinner and really enjoyed the view, food and service. Very pleased with the view from our table. A special treat was the bread that was served with two different vegetable purees instead of butter. Food was delicious and we will definitely return. An overall great experience. Value was good, two carafes of wine, two beers and dinner for $165.00 including tip. Well worth a visit.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overrated lot of hype Made to pay tax n ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Overrated lot of hype

Made to pay tax not obligated to pay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing view.. Great service. Food was e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing view.. Great service. Food was expensive but at least the portions were fair. Without drinks we spent over $100 on 2 pasta dishes, a salad and 2 desserts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the experience however for som ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I enjoyed the experience however for some reason my friends and I were the only table seated in the isolated, further section alone. No other guests at all. It was quiet granted but removed from the action and furthest from the falls views. Otherwise great restaurant with delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food! Wonderful view!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food! Wonderful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Celebrated 10 year wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Celebrated 10 year wedding anniversary. The window seating over looking the falls at Niagara falls is great!

Very good Italian style dishes. The tomato based onion soup is highly recommended. The bolognese equally good. The taste was subtle and left us wanting more.

The Angus steak was also delicious. Seasoned and cooked properly at medium rare.

We so wanted the squash risotto to be better. Could have have been helped with more stock as it seemed dried out. We were craving water.

Aside from that, the dining experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining at the Ra ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our first time dining at the Rainbow room. MY chicken lambresco was spectacular. The New York steak was very good however not outstanding. The service was second to none and the view was beautiful. We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance was very nice, the view of ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The ambiance was very nice, the view of the falls was outstanding, drinks and food were creative and the bill was reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a great birthday dinner there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed a great birthday dinner there at sunset. Gorgeous views of the falls on the 10th floor. Gary, our waiter, was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at The Rai ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at The Rainbow Room and were delighted with the service, the food and the ambiance!

Matt, our server, was attentive, professional, and very helpful. The recommended local wine pairings with each item helped us immensely.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great view, good food and quality, We st ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great view, good food and quality, We strongly suggest to taste lasagna and the sirloin.

Restaurant suggested if you visit Niagara falls

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing food, Amazing View, and superb s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food, Amazing View, and superb service. We went back a second time on our vacation because we loved it so much!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience with very enthusias ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful experience with very enthusiastic and pleasant waitress who was very knowledgable about wines. Excellent pairings with three course meal we ordered. Wonderful views of the falls would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were staying in the hotel for a weddi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were staying in the hotel for a wedding. The view was nice, the food was good, but a bit overpriced. Plus they hit you with a PF tax that is not required or necessary just because you are staying in a tourist spot. We literally went down the road a couple of blocks and never got this tax.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

View was spectacular ... Food was fair . ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

View was spectacular ... Food was fair ... And a HUGE let down that the restaurant tried to convince us the Niagara Falls pf tax was mandatory!? We live in Toronto and know it is not.

We had to go back and forth between the server and manager before they agreed to remove the optional tax! I feel bad for tourists who have no idea this tax is optional. They should be advised and can make a choice!

HUGE let down!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I was pleasantly surprised at the qualit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. The last time I was in Niagara Falls I found the food poor and over priced My recent experience at the Rainbow room has made me put those old memories to rest.

In addition to the excellent food I found the service was very well done.

A great experience and one I will certainly repeat in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great view of the falls. Nice selection ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great view of the falls. Nice selection of local wines. The lasagna appetizer and black truffle gnocchi was delicious! Ended with the chocolate peanut butter tower! Amazing!! Overall very enjoyable meal!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and Great dinner! Thank you w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great view and Great dinner! Thank you we had a great time

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salad was too acidic due to low quality ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Salad was too acidic due to low quality vinegar.

Volintini was flooded with a turmeric and basil base with eggplant and ricotta???

Halibut Fish was frozen, overcooked and smelt awful!

Dessert literally flopped and was too chewy for a good meringue or pavlova??

Great view of theHorshoe Falls.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our experience more than exceeded our ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Our experience more than exceeded our expectations! The view was breathe taking, the food was excellent, and the dining staff were great!! We would definitely visit again, and recommend it to everyone

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lindsey had the assignment of looking af ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lindsey had the assignment of looking after us and that she did. In fact the whole team definitely came to play. Drinks were cold and there when you need them. The suggested wine pairings were delicious. We shall return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went on the Friday night of the Augus ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went on the Friday night of the August long weekend for a 9 pm dinner date. The atmosphere and view was nice, and the servers were attentive and polite. It was a great spot to enjoy our wine and watch the fireworks.

The food was just ok. My partner had the steak, which looked frozen and thawed and was covered in a thick gravy and what tasted like synthetic bacon bits. I had the scallops, which smelled really fishy. They tasted ok, except for the sand. I also ordered a side of kale, which ended up being a plate of wilted spinach. Overall, the food was underwhelming.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food and excellent service. Ve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived a half hour prior to our rese ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We arrived a half hour prior to our reservation and were accommodated immediately. The hostess was friendly and made mention of my seafood allergy that I had added to our reservation notes. We sat in the window overlooking the falls. Our server, Ryan, was second to none. He was professional and attentive, yet not overbearing. Our food was excellent, we tried the tasting option. My husband and I were planning on a long leisurely dining experience as we set out that evening and were not disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would highly recommend this location f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I would highly recommend this location for a romantic evening. It has a good view from the falls, and an excellent view of the summer fireworks (As of summer 2016: Friday, Sundays, and Wednesdays at 10 pm). Very pricey! Cost more than the other meals on our trip combined, but a good one night event.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What's not to like about a great view of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What's not to like about a great view of Niagara Falls? The Rainbow Room is on the 10th floor and offers an excellent view of the American and Canadian Falls. The service was attentive and the food was excellent. I had a rack of lamb done medium rare, just the way I like it. My girlfriend had a steak which she ordered medium well, but which looked more like medium rare. There was no problem getting that corrected.

OK, the reason we were there was to see the falls and to see them as the sunlight disappeared and the colored lights were shone on the falls. When the evening fireworks started, the lights were turned down in the restaurant to provide the best viewing.

The total experience - food, good wine, service and view - was a perfect way to end our Niagara Falls experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated how vegetarian friendly the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Appreciated how vegetarian friendly the menu was! The view of the falls was spectacular and we are very happy that we decided to eat there that evening. I was actually surprised that the place was not more crowded - food was fantastic, views impressive, and service well done. If we ever return to Niagara Falls, we will eat there again. We will also recommend the restaurant to any friend vacationing there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was expensive and below par. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our meal was expensive and below par. I expected much more from Rainbow Room. You're basically paying for the view here.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was amazing, Our server Evan wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was amazing, Our server Evan was so attentive and knowledgable about the food. I highly reccommend doing the wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.