Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra

Join us for Niagara Culinary Experiences featuring Massimo Capra! New Events just added for 2015-16. Visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for package details.

Situated directly across from Niagara Falls is the most spectacular Falls view restaurant Niagara Falls has to offer. The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located within the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls-Falls view, and features the passion of renowned Chef Massimo Capra. The inspired menu showcases fresh local ingredients, paired with riches from Niagara's award winning wineries. Exceptional fine dining service and breathtaking views result in making The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra the complete Niagara Falls dining experience.



5685 Falls Ave.
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00 am - 10:30 am


Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-1:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Falls Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 374-4447 ext. 4134

Website:
http://fallsviewrainbowroom.com/

Parking Details:
The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra is located on Falls Avenue Resort, which provides guests with onsite parking in the directly connected Casino Niagara parking garage. This is a 24 hour secure parking garage with 7 floors of parking available provided to you free of charge when dinner with us. Just validate with our host upon arrival.

Executive Chef:
John Casciato

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Niagara Culinary Experiences:
Friday November 13, 2015 - A Culinary Tour of Piedmont with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Pio Cesare Winery

Friday March 4, 2016 - A Culinary Tour of Abbruzo with Massimo Capra
-5-Course dinner with pairings by Masciarelli Winery

Additional 2015-16 Events just announced...Dinner Tickets & Hotel Packages are available now, visit www.NiagaraFallsCrownePlazaHotel.com for more information.

Private Dining

Spacious enough to host events for up to 125 guests, the Salon is located adjacent to The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. The flexibility of the Rainbow Salon makes it a great meeting room, or the ideal location for banquets and receptions.

The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (27)
Scenic View (26)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Waterfront (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to the rainbow room to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary! The minute you step off the elevator you see the breathtaking views of the falls, it is absolutely lovely, our waitress Lindsey was outstanding, we choose to do the three course meal and wine pairing... Lindsey was very knowledgeable about the wines, and gave us interesting facts. The food was amazing! My husband and I would definitely go back! It's a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a phenomenal experience at the Rainbow Room. We ordered the 3 and 4 course meals.
My wife had the calamari to start, the halibut with butternut squash risotto for her entree and banana chocolate molten cake for dessert and said that it was the best meal she ever had! I had the caesar salad to start, the veal & beef bolognese as my entree, the steak as my main and pavlova for dessert and was equally happy. We were blown away by not only the excellent food, but also the stunning view of both Niagara Falls & Horseshoe Falls - as well as the excellent service of our server, Christopher. Would recommend to anyone whose looking for a special spot to have a romantic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered the cauliflower gnocchi and the gnocchi was just mush, there was few to no pieces of gnocchi.
The waiter could tell we weren't happy (I was just going to pay and not complain) but he had the manager come over. She took all our plates and graciously offered us Massimos famous bolognese. It was ok, but noodles were dry like they had been under a heater for a while.
The service and manager was really great and I truly appreciate what they did and them going out of their way to make up for the poor food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great - but restaurant felt like it was riding on the view and chef name alone. Food was ... good. Options were ok, but felt a little posh for the sake of being posh. They didn't play to any favourites or even gourmet take on classic favourites. Restaurant decor could use a dramatic overall to somewhat match the food options & price.

I wouldn't go back. The view was amazing - but not enough to push me to go back. Wine list was meh. Especially for a restaurant so close to SO many amazing VQA options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful gourmet food and a beautiful view of the falls. Our 3rd or 4th time here and it is a must visit when in Niagara Falls!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The BRUNCH was really great. Very nice selection and the hip of beef was freaking huge. Lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers Day weekend dinner. Lovely place, great service, and wonderful food. Very pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food and service!!! Recommend trying a bunch of different options on the
menu! Beautiful view. Will definitely eat there again when I am in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server, Lindsey, was fantastic. Very effective in her presentation and being a repeat customer for longer than Lindsey has been there we truly appreciated her candour. In fact, my wife trust her culinary expertise so much that she takes the 4-course dinner and then tells Lindsey to surprise her. The surprise has always been exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and the staff were fabulous. The view of the falls was spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service, food and view! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Would have liked to see a more updated decor and nice white tablecloths

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

La comida fue muy buena, aunque la atención poco descuidada aún cuando no había mucha gente en el restaurante. Entiendo que no todas las mesas pueden tener ventana pero mi reserva la hice 2 meses antes y no pude acceder a esa ventaja.
El precio me pareció elevado, aún cuando descontaron los KIds menú, 200 CAN x dos adultos en una cena.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was tasty and the service attentive. My salmon came undercooked for my taste but this was promptly addressed. My husband's steak was "the best ever". The prices were at the upper end of what I'm willing to pay.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent food; great service, outstanding environment and breathtaking view of the Falls

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The view was excellent. The service was good. I was disappointed with the food. We ordered the four course dinner and in both dishes the risotto was not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waitress at The Keg (also a great restauarant) gave a glowing review of the Rainbow Room and so we just had to go.
Christopher was a great waiter, wine list was amazing and the food was even more amazing.
The view of both falls at night is good.
If you like good food (not just food) and you're in Niagara Falls you must go here!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Probably one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to, especially for the expensive prices! Onion soup was bland, octopus carpaccio barely had any octopus (looked like a child made it), not to mention for being an italian restaurant, it had a horrible wine selection. The view of the falls was nice, however the restaurant is run down, and rugged looking inside. Needs table clothes ! For being Massimos Capra's restaurant I am EXTREMELY disappointed, and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always enjoy dinner at Massimo's. Our waiter, Christopher was great as usual.
Such a pleasant person. The view is as spectacular as the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Spectacular view of the Falls , food is wonderful and creative . Had a Scallop dish with blood
orange sauce over rosea rosottto...made with beet juice ..wonderful flavor .
Friendly attentive staff .. definitely recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had high hopes because of the fame of Massimo, but the management does not live up to his reputation. We had planned out a four course tasting menu for the two of us with wine, which would have been pricey but we wanted to splurge a bit. We got everytging sorted with the waitress when she dropped on us that our $40 voucher for dinner from the hotel was not valid with the tasting menu. honestly? arguing with people over such a small amount compared to what we were going to ordee is beyond silly. I felt like leaving just over the premise of it. Instead of having a big meal with wine we had an appetizer and pasta and left. The 87 layer lasagna appetizer was nothing special, and surprisingly bland. The pasta was gummy, and sauce had broken. Maybe not having the tasting menu was a good thing if it was all going to be subpar. The waitress' attitude also changed as soon as the voucher was given to her, I imagine she has had to deal with this often. Poor policy ontop of poor food. nope! not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had high expectations because it was a Massimo Capra restaurant. Disappointed by atmosphere (way too bright and no table cloths) and food. Salmon tasted like it had been thawed from frozen and chicken did not have flavour. Expensive and poor experience, would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It's all about the view. The service was exceptional, the food very median. The noise level from several small children was high - running around our table, blocking the waitstaff. Oils have appreciated the children being seated away from the more intimate seating areas.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love the rainbow room and drive 3 hours to get there for our anniversary every year. This year my husband turned 50 and chose the rainbow room as our venue to celebrate with his sister and her husband who flew in from Atlanta for the occasion. The service was outstanding (thank you Christopher) and the food was phenomenal. My in laws were blown away. We can't wait to return again when our anniversary comes around in October.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very impressed with The Rainbow Room. The food was perfectly done and extremely good. The wait staff was very solicitous and gracious. My husband, whose only hobby is gourmet cooking and is a tough audience for a restaurant, absolutely enjoyed his meal. I have already recommended this restaurant to several of my friends and I recommend it to you too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and portions were on the mark. Parking sucked especially the price! Cost as much as the bottle of wine we had!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience here was great. Every course was amazing and the service by Christopher was top notch. He explained the dishes we were interested in very thoroughly and gave great recommendations. 4 courses was 69 and each course was a huge serving. Took a lot home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The meal and service was superb. The ambiance however is not up to par. White table clothes are a must. The table setting should reflect some more sophistication especially when a Valentines menu was offered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Awesome experience. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The view of the falls was amazing. The food was ok. The presentation of the food was beautiful but the taste was just ok for the price, it didn't blow me away. I would go back if I had a discount or a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Views of the falls were really nice. The atmosphere was nice as well except we were seated by a couple who brought their kids. We politely asked to move as we were looking forward to a night away from our kid, and others... I would suggest making alternate arrangements if you have kids. The menu was fairly extensive, the bolognese was great and you can tell the pasta was homemade which is always as added bonus. Our waitress seemed a bit new and forgot a drink at the bar and by the time it was ready our meals were complete and we were ready to go so we nixed the second round. The main reason for the 3 is everything needed salt, the calamari to my gnocchi. I continued to add salt to both as I ate them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing experience! The food was awesome, the service was spectacular, and the view was beautiful. It was an all around amazing experience and I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This in not fine dining-I have had better meals at Kelsey's. The view, however, was spectacular:
1) No table cloths???-There was not even a place mat and we were force to place our cutlery directly on the table.
2) When our appetizers arrived and the server struggled to put my son's plate down and almost poured his appetizer in his lap-new and poorly trained.
3) I ordered the 4 course meal with wine pairing, my wife ordered the 3 course meal with wine pairing and my son ordered the 3 course meal. We were not 1/2 way through our appetizers and first glass of wine when my second course arrived. When our waitress arrived with my second glass of wine, I informed her that this was far too quick to be receiving my second course and wine pairing as I had not even taken a sip of my first glass. She said the that kitchen sometime surprises her like this and that this way the others will not have long to wait for their main course as I was the only one having the 4 course meal.
4) I did my best to pound back my appetizer and pasta along with 2 glass of wine to be ready for our main course - good thing the servings were small. Our main course arrived and their was mass confusion as an extra meal and asparagus side also arrived at our table. There was an exchange with our server and waitress referring to us by seat number right there in front of us.
5) Unfortunately, my rare tenderloin steak was cooked medium well and it took some time to get our waitress' attention to have it replaced. Thankfully, my wife shared her rack of lamb with me as I waited for my new steak to arrive. Although the second steak was cooked properly, the cut of beef was no more than AA. While the crusting on my wife's lamb was bland, the meat was tender - much better than my steak.
6) Our creme brulee was so under cooked it looked like chocolate milk and was uneatable. We were forced to have the manager come to our table to remove it and the 3% (PF) Promotion Fee, disguised as a tax, from our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With or without the waiter this would have been an excellent experience...but, with the waiter the review must be nothing short of outstanding. Would go back in a flash.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall the experience was good - we really enjoyed our meal. However, for the price point the meal was disappointing.

1. The calamari was not lightly dusted, but overly breaded and tasted like it was from frozen.
2. The sauces with the calamari were awful - the creamy sauce, which I assumed should have been a garlic sauce, tasted like sour cream and the spicy sauce was not hot or tangy (tasted like tomato paste).
3. The a la carte sides were "meh". The asparagus was coated with a buttery-creamy sauce, which was not necessary; and cauliflower was over cooked and salty.

BUT, the steak entree and Scallop entree were very good, bordering amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is excellent!!! The scallops are cooked to perfection. Wonderful view while you dine. We have been here twice so far and it will be our main dinner place to go from now on. Everything is just Wonderful!!! The staff go over and above to make your experience memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and the view were fantastic. The staff was very attentive and as busy as they were, we still felt the personal touch. We can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

10 year anniversary. Amazing food and view of the Falls. Order the scallops. Best meal I've ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had our 18 monthiversary here and it couldn't have been more special. It was a 2 ½ hour drive, but well worth it! The view is works-class and the food was both inventive and delicious. We are both eager to return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.