About The Rabbit Hole

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Good for a Date (32)
Fun (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (5)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came here for a birthday dinner and the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Came here for a birthday dinner and the food and service were outstanding. Terrific value

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were expensive. We ordered 3 whit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Drinks were expensive. We ordered 3 white rabbits the server only got 1 marshmallows to light up kinda a let down. Food was great and we came at happy hour so great price on nibbles. Just wish they has martinis on the happy hour menu

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great time! Things just came t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a great time! Things just came together and we look forward to our next meal there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We frequent the Rabbit Hole, and always ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We frequent the Rabbit Hole, and always bring friends and family who visit there. Such a cool atmosphere. The drinks and food are always fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Rabbit Hole is a cool place and popu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Rabbit Hole is a cool place and popular so I made a reservation for 5 PM online. We are quickly led down a long hall to a nondescript backroom with no-one else in it. Ugh. No Thanks I say.Why bother making a reservation. A secluded table in the main room is found and is adequate, too bright but better. We are left with two empty glasses and we wait, and wait, for service. I had to wave a server down to ask what the problem was. Leah was fantastic. She quickly saw to our every need, making good food suggestions and ended up providing an appetizer for free for our poor service and another one because it was our anniversary. The food was great and we ended up having a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I would give it all five stars except th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I would give it all five stars except they sell rabbit on the menu...kinda messed up when there are pictures of rabbits all over the walls. My friends agree. Also, wished the mac and cheese had a vegan option to go with the tofu, which was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a fun themed restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was a fun themed restaurant. The food was good and the service was quick. Our waitress gave good food recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently visited from Texas and was to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I recently visited from Texas and was told about the rabbit hole. I was satisfied with my experience. The atmosphere is awesome and the food was great. We had the filet with truffle sweet potatoes. Also the menu has a pleasantly different selection of meals

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice bar/restaurant with fun atmosphere ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Nice bar/restaurant with fun atmosphere and cool pics on wall!

We had very good service from our waitress, other than when it got busy and we were done eating and trying to pay our bill - had to go looking for her.

Good unique selection of food on the menu with a nice variety to choose from, but we thought it was just ok/good for the money. We would recommend the appetizers and quantity of food served, but would probably only come back for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great theme and menu. Accommodating to d ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great theme and menu. Accommodating to dietary needs. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was decent for a date night wit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ambiance was decent for a date night with my hubby and our server was great. We ordered the truffle Mac and cheese with lobster and the vegetable cous cous dish. Both were tasty but very salty. Both dishes came out almost immediately after we ordered...such that our entire meal was over in 30 mins. We stayed only a few minutes longer to finish our drinks. Can't say we really enjoyed a leisurely dinner. Overall, I wouldn't go back a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was good for the price. The des ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was good for the price. The desserts were amazing, and the potatoes were delicious. I liked the overall idea and look of the restaurant. My server was very rushed and kept taking off while we were attempting to ask questions. That was the only small downfall.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

So delicious. Can't believe I've lived h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

So delicious. Can't believe I've lived here two years and only just tried this place!! In love with the ambiance and the food. Returning soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the rabbit pie and my wife had the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I had the rabbit pie and my wife had the Scallops and risotto, both of which were excellent! Very unique and delicious dishes. The waitress was less than stellar however. She had no smile and was not especially pleasant. She seemed like it was a real bother to have to serve us. We would have stayed longer for drinks and dessert, but she didn't even offer the option. She just brought the check and walked away. I would definitely return for the great food though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Leah was an amazing server. Made the ent ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Leah was an amazing server. Made the entire night perfect. Food was excellent. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May be good for bar area and appetizers ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

May be good for bar area and appetizers but wouldn't go back for dinner. Our original table was not ready so we were sat in the very back room. I think this affected the overall experience but the food was not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

If you are someone who is young or old, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

If you are someone who is young or old, born in the 90's, or just ready for a chill night this is the place to go. the music was great, the food was odd and delicious, and the service was fantabulous. I would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually we have a really great time here ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Usually we have a really great time here- but our service was TERRIBLE last night! Upon asking the waitress if she would recommend any good wines, she stated "I don't drink wine, so no." That was it. After inquiring to taste a wine, she brought a glass that was too full to be a sample, but too low to be an actual glass of wine. Upon asking if this was the sample, she replied, "Oh, I forgot, here, give me that glass and I will pour it back into the bottle. Don't want to waste any." Is that even legal?! Gross. I passed on wine after that--didn't want someone else's "could have been sample" as my own glass. No thanks. Food was ok- but very cold- not normal. Not sure we will ever return. Sad, we used to love this place.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great place for a once in a lifetime exp ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for a once in a lifetime experience. Took our son their and he really enjoyed the quirkiness.

Tags: Fun, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If there is a cooler place in Colorado S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

If there is a cooler place in Colorado Springs you need to show me. Fantabulous grub and even better drinks. This pill makes me larger....just ask Alice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service. Perfect venue for my wife's birthday.

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high hopes for The Rabbit Hole ba ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had high hopes for The Rabbit Hole based on our friend's suggestion, but ended up with a bad taste in our mouths. We were visiting our friend who lives in Colorado, and she suggested The Rabbit Hole since she was there before and said the food was amazing. We looked at the website and were excited to go, so we made a reservation. We got there and loved the unique setting and we couldn't wait to try the food. Sadly, the food did not live up to the hype. I ordered the Bacon Wrapped Rabbit Meatloaf. What I got was 2 small slices of dry, burnt meatloaf with a the center of my meatloaf cut out and replaced with a huge, raw carrot chunk. The other baby carrots on my plate looked cooked on the outside but instead were raw. All the carrots on our plates were like this and not pleasant to eat, so we left them. The mash on my plate was fine, but the food I ordered was not worth the $17. One of my friends order thr steak medium rare and received a well done steak and burnt in some sections with the wrong mash. My other friend ordered the lamb shank and said it was dry and incredibly fatty and also had the raw carrotss. We were unable to bring this to our waitress because she rarely came by and we could not find her. If the place was busy, I understand this but it was 6pm on a Sunday and it was pretty dead when we were there. We simply paid out bill and left. If I lived in Colorado Springs, I would not suggest eating here but would suggest to go for a drink and check out the space. My friend living in Colorado said that she will most likely not return because of our experience though. It's a shame because we were incredibly excited to check the space out and have an amazing meal, but instead left underwhelmed.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Waiter was rude about getting me silverw ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Waiter was rude about getting me silverware. Threw one on my plate and took salad fork was using. Food is great, service is substandard

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We visited The Rabbit Hole on our first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We visited The Rabbit Hole on our first night of a girls weekend in Colorado Springs.

The menu was very interesting with options for all, whether you wanted exotic, ie Rabbit, Buffalo, or whether you wanted seafood, or burgers, chicken or mac and cheese. We all enjoyed seafood; shrimp, scallops, striped bass. All were excellent. Cocktails were great as well. The restaurant is underground and it is beautifully decorated and cozy with lots of cave like nooks for seating. It was something different from the usual and we all enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is cool enough. A little to fi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The place is cool enough. A little to find since it's street address is not actually on that street (see for yourself). The drinks and service good but the food was essentially flavorless, very bland. Chef might want to experiment with some spices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent meal, great service, bar staff ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent meal, great service, bar staff was perfect, Fun atmosphere. Traveling from Florida and will always stop when I am in the area. Made us feel like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Ambiance was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent food and service! Ambiance

was cozy. Waitress was very friendly and

able to tell us about each item on menu.

Food was wonderful. We will be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I follow a Paleo lifesty ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My daughter and I follow a Paleo lifestyle diet. Our waitress was super helpful with our modifications and she was honestly the friendliest waitress I think I have ever had. Gave her a generous tip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Funky place. Food was really good. Local ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Funky place. Food was really good. Local craft beers were available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We LOVE The Rabbit Hole!!! Every time we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We LOVE The Rabbit Hole!!! Every time we have been there the experience is amazing and the staff is great. We always take friends from out of town there to show it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The music was too loud for a reasonable ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The music was too loud for a reasonable conversation!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very unique ambiance. Enjoyed food and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very unique ambiance. Enjoyed food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The entrance is a subway-like stairwell ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The entrance is a subway-like stairwell in the middle of the sidewalk on Kiowa between Nevada and Tejon. Very original environment, and very dark. No windows. The food was excellent and there was a large list of cocktails, wines and beer. I went there for date night with my wife. It was very loud which is why it only got 4/5 for ambience. I also gave it 3/5 for value because the food was great and priced fairly, but not cheap. Perfect for drinks and laughs with friends, maybe not the place for a quiet night out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. I wish the staff would of been more friendly as we were coming in the door to be seated and explained the AWESOME food choices since it was our first time there!

LOVED THE FOOD

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The menu looked good, but the preparatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The menu looked good, but the preparation was meh! It wasn't bad just not what I'm used to. Rabbit Bites were like McNuggets with no flavor and just grain mustard for dipping. Missed opportunity! Brussels sprouts were the best thing. Ahi was a little 'fishy' (I know, but flavor was off) and cooked oddly. Looked like striped bacon. Sauce way too sweet. Lamb shanks were extra spare and very tough. Sauce was good but barely any on the plate. Mashers were not very mashed and again little flavor (here is where more sauce would have helped). It sounds bad, but I would give another try. Staff was great and ambiance was enticing and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the butcher block and it was very ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the butcher block and it was very good. The short and rabbit meatloaf can't be beat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After 4 years living in the Springs, we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

After 4 years living in the Springs, we finally got to experience this restaurant. We had tried to come on a whim earlier but you need a reservation. The drinks were creative but not very strong. I got The Dutchess, my husband stuck with a local beer. My chicken that I ordered off the main course menu had a great presentation but lacked in the taste. It was actually a little bland. My husband ordered the prawns that were wrapped in bacon. The bacon was the main meat you tasted. We shared the carrot cake, heard lots about it. It was served with a spoon but better if you ate it with a fork. It was very dense and not the usual cake texture. It was ok. Will we return? Not sure. I thought I would be more excited about this place. I give it a C+

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was top notch. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was top notch. The food was creative and so well prepared.

Tags: Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let's just get to the food...brussel spr ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Let's just get to the food...brussel sprout app is a must. Mac & Cheese another must. Salad (arugula) was a bit dry, but tasty. Tenderloin burger...very good...bun was a distraction. Colorado Mash...yummy. Wine list is spartan, but appropriate for the venue/menu. Christa was excellent...was very willing to make recommendations on the stuff that she liked alot. We will go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time we've been to the Rabbit Hol ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Second time we've been to the Rabbit Hole and it never disappoints. Great drinks, great food, great atmosphere. We'll be back again (and again)!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.