Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Rabbit Hole

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Cozy (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Happy Hour (33)
Romantic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Late-night Find (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fun (26)
Casual (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (12)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great Beer (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Eclectic and trendy
Great place in the heart of Colorado Springs
Denitely a must for all foodies!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for date night with my husband and loved it! Would definitely recommend this place. Make sure to make a reservation, it was rather busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

This was the 4th time I had come here and it did not disappoint me or my guests. The food was good and the drinks were great. We had reservations and were seated almost immediately at 7:30. My only complaint really, and this happens everything I go, we sit for 10-15 mins bf a server ever comes over. But, you look around and there is always waitstaff chatting amongst themselves. But, one our server came over, she was great. We did order the butcher block was is great if you aren’t sure what to order, it would be nice if plates ( med sized) came with it. We had to ask for them and it took a good 10 mins, so we just used our dirty salad plates that were still on our table. But, other than that, we had a great night. Will def be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The uniqueness of the food selection is quite nice. I only ordered the chicken and dumpling soup this time due to recent dental work. The soup was too salty and the dumplings were doughy. However, I have shared the chef's board with my husband and it was remarkable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing! I love the Alice in Wonderland theme! I just wish I could have had the salmon, guess I have an excuse to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Always a wonderful place for dinner. A favorite of ours anytime we are in Colorado Springs

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Waitress never introduced herself. Main course( lamb) tasted very wild with no flavor. The seafood scampi( lobster shrimp) was not fresh.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Coming in to the restaurant, we were greeted with "What can I do for you?". Not even a "hello" or "welcome".
Portion size was small for the price, but quality was good. Limited options on the menu, especially for anyone conscious about carb intake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I was disappointed with our experience at the Rabbit Hole. I had heard that the food was great, but I found it was only average. Although we were seated at a table away from the very crowded bar area, the table was located underneath the entry stairs and was drafty. Every time someone opened the door to enter or leave (which was often) the cold poured down. Our waitress was wonderful, efficient and kind. She provided us with a heater, which helped considerably. We were there on a weekday evening, so I was surprised by the large crowd. If you are planning on dinner rather than appetizers and drinks I recommend that you make a reservation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Asked for a nice table for my boos birthday and we got a very lovely table tucked away. I️ can’t recall our servers name but she was delightful. Gave us our space but very sweet and attentive.
The Rabbit Hole is always a solid go to for a nice night out. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Fantastic experience from arrival to cashing out. The lighting level was perfect for an intimate dinner. The noise level allowed for conversation without worry of eavesdropping. The food was fantastic. My boyfriend’s salmon was cooked to perfection. Both our dishes were delicious! The service was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The Rabbit Hole was definitely a highlight of our trip to Colorado Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Not sure if Wednesday nights is training wheels night it or if the rabbit hole is always this awful - but despite waiting 5 days for a reservation and a lovely night out with friends, hubby and I had a wretched experience. This was uber disappointing since the restaurant itself looks totally amazing - and we had an awesome table tucked back in a niche, isolated from most of the restaurant.

TLDR: phenomenal environment, paltry bartending, mediocre service, and overpriced over glorified food that failed to deliver.

To preface this review - hubby and I both come from a culinary background, with 25 years classic training on his part and almost ten years of high volume food service.

Not going to lie - browsing the online menu filled us with more than a little trepidation. It was ambitious, and promised gastric delights galore! This also meant it set the bar impossibly high, which left tons of pain in falling.

The appetizers were painful - a charcuterie plate that was ice cold - not room temperature - each piece of meat and cheese a different size and thickness, paired with massive crackers so bubbly and rippled nothing could be piled on them. The mussels were amazing - although some weren't opened - the cream sauce was too rich and not a complimentary flavor to the delicate seafood.

Hubby ordered the scallops - another travesty of butchered seafood; scallops seared only on one side because they were too small to be cooked correctly without disappearing completely. Drizzled with balsamic reduction, they spent enough time waiting under a lamp to be completely inedible. And pumpkin risotto? Undercooked rice seasoned with Starbucks pumpkin spice and Libby canned pumpkin would be a better description.

My chicken n biscuit was decent - but completely un-seasoned, lacking the basic fundamentals of salt and pepper. Unfortunately, my...
...
Utterly disappointed and won't ever be back - the price point is not scaled appropriately to the level of the kitchen's ability.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food was served lukewarm. I believe our waitress must have forgot about us. Our check was brought to us without asking if we wanted dessert or anything else. Cocktails were good. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was just ok. Don't order the pumpkin orzo, it is bland and mushy. Salad wilty. Bread dry. Salmon excellent but they left the skin on. Atmosphere was very nice, might give it a second chance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Always a pleasure. I bring every single family member of friends that comes to visit to the rabbit hole. Every time the service is superb and the food is always So good. Very unique menu and a very long drink menu with plenty of tasty options. I also work for Hilton and recommend to guests Amon a daily basis.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The ambience is really interesting, the decor is really fun. The food is interesting and tasty. We had bunny bites as an app. My fiancee had the seared scallops, I had rabbit meatloaf. The cocktails were great. Be prepared for a short wait and delays at the table if you go during the 6-9pm dinner rush. The waitstaff was lovely and helpful, but the place was packed!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Love the Happy Hour, not many restaurants have happy hour anymore

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Always love the Rabbit Hole!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Thought it was a pretty cool spot had a lot of fun. Good place to take a date for the first time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Fun place. Made a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food and drinks were great! I had the Chicken and Bisquit and would recommend to anyone who loves fried chicken. I also enjoyed a Mad Hatter - expensive but a larger drink than normal. My boyfriend had a burger and sweet potato fries, he enjoyed both! The food came out fairly fast and not. The atmosphere was nice; low light with just the right amount of sound. The waitress we had was rude and unfriendly. She was unhelp when we asked questions and wasn't attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Server was fun and sevice was fast.my wife and I went on a friday night around rush time and was very happy! Coctails were AMAZING. Will return and reccomend. I wish I could remember my servers name bevause she was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

The food was excellent and so was the service. Loved celebrating my friend's birthday here. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Promptly seated. Kaley was an awesome server! Ordered a traditional mojito (had to have a second) and a La Creme Chardonnay--both were good. Appetizers: Brussel Sprouts and Bunny Bites--the poor little bunny tasted so good! The bacon in the sprouts made the dish. Mains: Scallops on risotto with asparagus--oh, so good! Filet Mignon, med rare, with sweet potatoes and asparagus--cooked to perfection! Finished with the German Chocolate cake--shared the huge portion, and it was delish! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We always wanted to try this place out. The location and decor was really fun and unique. The drink menu was awesome and the food was really good and really reasonably priced. It made for a great date night dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Enter the Rabbit Hole through a unique sidewalk level entrance as you descend the stairway into the warm and eclectic space with Alice in Wonderland themed art and decor. We enjoyed the Bunny Bites (breaded rabbit tenderloin bites w/yummy mustard sauce), Mussels were fantastic and the Spinach Salad wonderful also. There is a great Drink menu as well including a good selection of beer, wine and creative cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The rabbit hole is the best restaurant in Colorado Springs. Great food, great atmosphere, great people.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

From the entrance through dessert, every bit and bite down the Rabbit Hole became a delicious memory.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Most everything about our dinner was wonderful, the server was awesome, the atmosphere was very relaxed and fit the feel I believe they were after. It was our 10th anniversary and made a memorable impression. With that said our dinner was 50/50. The beef filet was amazing but the bison was too tough to eat/the flavor was great just inedible. I don't feel this was a fault of the RH but more their supplier.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Burger & waffle fries= AWESOME
Cocktail= ok, but “flaming” marshmallow wasn’t really lit well
Music= TERRIBLE
Birthday......DIDN’T EVEN BRING OUT A DESSERT for my daughter’s 18th b-day??!!!! BAD FORM

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Seems like the restaurant team wants to know what it wants to be when it grows up. Affordable food, happy hour venue, top end entrees? So many of their offerings are good but only are a tweak or two from being great if they're willing to focus. Be great at serving millennials smoking appetizers with amazing drinks, be great at serving over the top entrees with unusual and challenging ingredients, be great at limiting costs - choose what you're going to be great at, instead of trying to be everything to everyone. Me, my seared scallops were tender and flavored perfectly, but not seared and still wet, and served on a bed of oily Forbidden Rice, while my husband had a wonderful seafood pasta with seafood that was obviously previously frozen. Pick a lane and go there, fearlessly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

We have been many times to the rabbit hole. Our first experience was awesome. (Service and food)
The last two times we ate at rabbit hole the food was great but unfortunately the service left a bad taste in our mouth.
We also went this last time and it was for my birthday and they didn't even acknowledge it.
Very disappointed. We have a lot of visitors and probably will not come back. It's unfortunate because the food and ambience is great. The server had an attitude

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was the second time having dinner at the Rabbit Hole. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and evening. So much that we have made reservations for New Year's Eve with my sorority. I know they will really enjoy the dinner there before we head over to Pike's Peak Center.
Steve and Dorothy

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by our local Airb&b hosts. My ideal restaurant has warm and dim lighting, a cozy maze of dining rooms with stone walls and amber lamps. This place checked all those boxes. We are also big foodies and have the added challenge of finding tasty vegan dishes for my husband. Again, the Rabbit Hole menu had various creative amd tasty options for us both. Overall, I loved everything about this restaurant and only wish we had one in our city. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything was fine except I wasn't approached when I watched in. After waiting about 5 mins and being staird down but 4 employees who weren't doing anything just standing there with their hands crossed I was approached by a busy waitress and seated. If it wasn't for her we would have left. She was great unfortually I don't remember her name.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The rabbit bites were like amazing chicken nuggets.
My wife's steak was cooked perfectly.
My short ribs were tender and delicious.
I have no complaints and can't wait until the next time the Rabbit Hole is on the agenda.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Picked this out of the way place for my 20th Anniversary, could have not been happier with my experience. Waitress made the our date just a little more enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Mediocre food, but the price was pretty good. It was pretty loud while we were there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great first time experience! We looked for some thing unique for our anniversary and this for the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.