About The Rabbit Hole

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Fit for Foodies
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Late-night Find (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We LOVE The Rabbit Hole!!! Every time we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We LOVE The Rabbit Hole!!! Every time we have been there the experience is amazing and the staff is great. We always take friends from out of town there to show it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The music was too loud for a reasonable ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

The music was too loud for a reasonable conversation!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very unique ambiance. Enjoyed food and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very unique ambiance. Enjoyed food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The entrance is a subway-like stairwell ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The entrance is a subway-like stairwell in the middle of the sidewalk on Kiowa between Nevada and Tejon. Very original environment, and very dark. No windows. The food was excellent and there was a large list of cocktails, wines and beer. I went there for date night with my wife. It was very loud which is why it only got 4/5 for ambience. I also gave it 3/5 for value because the food was great and priced fairly, but not cheap. Perfect for drinks and laughs with friends, maybe not the place for a quiet night out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. I wish the staff would of been more friendly as we were coming in the door to be seated and explained the AWESOME food choices since it was our first time there!

LOVED THE FOOD

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The menu looked good, but the preparatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The menu looked good, but the preparation was meh! It wasn't bad just not what I'm used to. Rabbit Bites were like McNuggets with no flavor and just grain mustard for dipping. Missed opportunity! Brussels sprouts were the best thing. Ahi was a little 'fishy' (I know, but flavor was off) and cooked oddly. Looked like striped bacon. Sauce way too sweet. Lamb shanks were extra spare and very tough. Sauce was good but barely any on the plate. Mashers were not very mashed and again little flavor (here is where more sauce would have helped). It sounds bad, but I would give another try. Staff was great and ambiance was enticing and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the butcher block and it was very ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the butcher block and it was very good. The short and rabbit meatloaf can't be beat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After 4 years living in the Springs, we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

After 4 years living in the Springs, we finally got to experience this restaurant. We had tried to come on a whim earlier but you need a reservation. The drinks were creative but not very strong. I got The Dutchess, my husband stuck with a local beer. My chicken that I ordered off the main course menu had a great presentation but lacked in the taste. It was actually a little bland. My husband ordered the prawns that were wrapped in bacon. The bacon was the main meat you tasted. We shared the carrot cake, heard lots about it. It was served with a spoon but better if you ate it with a fork. It was very dense and not the usual cake texture. It was ok. Will we return? Not sure. I thought I would be more excited about this place. I give it a C+

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was top notch. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was top notch. The food was creative and so well prepared.

Tags: Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let's just get to the food...brussel spr ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Let's just get to the food...brussel sprout app is a must. Mac & Cheese another must. Salad (arugula) was a bit dry, but tasty. Tenderloin burger...very good...bun was a distraction. Colorado Mash...yummy. Wine list is spartan, but appropriate for the venue/menu. Christa was excellent...was very willing to make recommendations on the stuff that she liked alot. We will go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time we've been to the Rabbit Hol ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Second time we've been to the Rabbit Hole and it never disappoints. Great drinks, great food, great atmosphere. We'll be back again (and again)!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome bloody Mary. The chef's meat pla ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Awesome bloody Mary. The chef's meat platter was the bomb.comg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't remember the name of our waitres ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I can't remember the name of our waitress but she was awesome! Very nice and friendly! I was visiting from out of town and it was definitely my first time there! It was also my boyfriends first time there! Food was amazing but the best part was the desserts! Carrot cake was to die for!

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Dancing, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing to complain about. Certainly not ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nothing to complain about. Certainly not the cheapest, but fun idea having it underground and I was very happy with my food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding meal and service, best to hi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding meal and service, best to hit it early in the night. My favorite joint in Colorado Springs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the atmosphere, service, food. Gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved the atmosphere, service, food. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great idea on paper that fails to transl ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great idea on paper that fails to translate. Really too bad since it's one of the more interesting venues in Colorado Springs (e.g., former morgue with ghosts & a great story). Suggest a complete menu/kitchen overhaul (why is there no cake that says "Eat Me"?). Stick to the drinks at the bar for now

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

It is highly recommended that you make a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It is highly recommended that you make a reservation here. The novelty of the Alice in Wonderland theme, and the fact that the door to the restaurant just appears suddenly in the sidewalk are what attracted me to this place. The food was excellent, however, I was disappointed that they did not have a regular iced tea available and the raspberry iced tea they did have was like sugar water with raspberry flavor added. I would have preferred an unsweetened non-alcoholic option.

My only other small gripe would be that in such an awesomely decorated and themed restaurant, I thought that would carry over to the restrooms, and they were dismally dated, not all that clean, and certainly not decorated to encompass the rest of the whimsical atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about this place was unique a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything about this place was unique and different, I love the food I love the ambiance. The only thing I would say is not kid-friendly it's more of an adult setting. Our waitress was a different story, it seemed to take forever for us to get anything ordered and she seemed pretty annoyed at the fact that we actually had kids at our table I don't think once she even smiled. Other than the one waitress everybody else was pretty nice and friendly hope to go here again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Fantastic restaurant! My husband and I c ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here last night and are so glad we chose the Rabbit Hole. First the atmosphere is cute, quaint and cozy. The food is delicious and there is something for everyone. The service was excellent! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This unique and creative Wonderland - es ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This unique and creative Wonderland - esque restaurant is a delightful escape. The themed cocktail menu is a standout feature, and the menu offers creative fare. Reservations are a good idea since this place, like its namesake, is always hopping.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and drinks are always amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and drinks are always amazing. Our waitress was sweet and efficient. This place is pretty pricey, but that is what you get for good quality dining. 10/10 recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There where many items we would like to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There where many items we would like to have tried due to the menu offering many fun items. The scallop entree and stripped bass entree where well prepared. The only item that needs tweaking would be the overdressed caprese salad.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good experience overall. Food was tasty ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good experience overall. Food was tasty and well prepared. Only negatives were that the balsamic vinaigrette was more like a highly acidic red wine vinaigrette, completely devoid of the sweetness of a true balsamic, and our server was not terribly personable. She did a fine job of keeping drinks filled and checking in, but we had to actually tell her to wait a couple of times as we were trying to order additional items and she just brought something and was leaving as the item hit the table. Like she was trying to get us out as quickly as possible, but we were there for a nice dinner, and ordered drinks, apps, entrees and dessert...hardly the ticket you want to hustle along. Good food and ambiance. Music could be quieter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Wanted to enjoy a dinner in the downtown ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wanted to enjoy a dinner in the downtown area of Colorado Springs. One of the bellmen at the Broadmoor highly recommended the Rabbit Hole. My wife really enjoyed the Peach Champagne drinks. The spare ribs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent! Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was excellent! Our waitress was very accommodating and super nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt the food could have been a bit bett ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Felt the food could have been a bit better given the prices but overall it was nice. The bunny bites were rather tough and a bit over cooked. Service was attentive but not particularly friendly. Loved the decor and general feel of the location. Meals came out quickly although didn't have time to finish appetizer first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The location is unique and an interestin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The location is unique and an interesting spot. Food was good. Service was very good. I flet the meat dishes were a bit overcooked but still good overall.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Every time me and my husband go to The R ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Every time me and my husband go to The Rabbit Hole, we are never disappointed. This time we ordered the risotto balls for appetizer and they were amazing. We both ordered the buffalo ribs; it's our favorite dish. It was delicious, and there was no room for desert. Great place for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found previous reviews on yelp interesti ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Found previous reviews on yelp interesting. Decided to try this place out during a business trip to Colorado Springs apparently it used to be the town morgue back in the 1800s. Walking down to the restaurant the smell isn't very pleasant and the ambience when you first enter pretty drab however I was pleasantly pleased with the wine choices as well as the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was really fun and interesting, and the location is really cool.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome place!! Great service, great fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome place!! Great service, great food, decent prices. They get their seafood delivered every other day, so go for it. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic dining experience! St ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! Starting from going down the rabbit hole and to our nearly private dining corner this place is a adorable! Our waitress was terrific and patient with us as we had a lot of questions. We had to try the bunny bites which were different. Keep in mind rabbits are lean. The grapefruit/champagne martini was delish so I had two:) We ordered the ribs and seafood pasta dishes and they were both incredible. We wished we hadn't ordered the appetizer as our portions were large. Atmosphere is romantic. Neighborhood is a little seedy/rough. Would have been nice to stroll the area after dinner but we did not feel safe. Definitely worth a visit. This place was recommended to usby our white water rafting guide! Thankful we listened!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish was either messed up or made p ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Each dish was either messed up or made poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Br ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Brussel Sprouts delectable and delightfully pleasant! We ordered these two separate appetizers and loved them! My wife and I also split the Scallops entree - it was excellent! We found the Rabbit Hole on Yelp and Trip Adviser. We were pleasantly surprised and satisfied and would recommend this place for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughter had been here with friends a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My daughter had been here with friends and she wanted to take her father and I here because she liked it so much. The food was great, awesome cocktails and the atmosphere was very cool! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version art was fabulous. Definitely foodie centric, hipster, downtown spot. Our server was attentive and despite the line out the door didn't rush us - reservations highly recommended. "Drink Me" Cocktail menu was fun and delish; "Eat Me" Entree Menu hit all the groups - suite whatever mood one is in whether it be meat or seafood. Too full for dessert after appetizers and entrees, but the table next to us had a carrot cake to share amongst friends that looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortunately the food was just okay. Th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Unfortunately the food was just okay. The proteins were good but their risotto was awful. My wife and I had two different kinds and neither were edible. I wish I had sent it back and let them know so they could fix it but we just didn't eat any of it and left. The server never asked how things were so we didn't give any feedback. My fault on that but if the cooks tried their risotto and thought it was good enough to serve I seriously question their skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Both my date and I got food poisoning af ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Both my date and I got food poisoning after eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food and service! Loved it!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.