About The Rabbit Hole

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Fit for Foodies
Colorado Springs
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Colorado Springs
Romantic
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

fit for foodies (52)
special occasion (48)
romantic (41)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
late-night find (40)
good for groups (31)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (25)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was really fun and interesting, and the location is really cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome place!! Great service, great fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome place!! Great service, great food, decent prices. They get their seafood delivered every other day, so go for it. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic dining experience! St ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! Starting from going down the rabbit hole and to our nearly private dining corner this place is a adorable! Our waitress was terrific and patient with us as we had a lot of questions. We had to try the bunny bites which were different. Keep in mind rabbits are lean. The grapefruit/champagne martini was delish so I had two:) We ordered the ribs and seafood pasta dishes and they were both incredible. We wished we hadn't ordered the appetizer as our portions were large. Atmosphere is romantic. Neighborhood is a little seedy/rough. Would have been nice to stroll the area after dinner but we did not feel safe. Definitely worth a visit. This place was recommended to usby our white water rafting guide! Thankful we listened!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish was either messed up or made p ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Each dish was either messed up or made poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Br ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Brussel Sprouts delectable and delightfully pleasant! We ordered these two separate appetizers and loved them! My wife and I also split the Scallops entree - it was excellent! We found the Rabbit Hole on Yelp and Trip Adviser. We were pleasantly surprised and satisfied and would recommend this place for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughter had been here with friends a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My daughter had been here with friends and she wanted to take her father and I here because she liked it so much. The food was great, awesome cocktails and the atmosphere was very cool! Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version art was fabulous. Definitely foodie centric, hipster, downtown spot. Our server was attentive and despite the line out the door didn't rush us - reservations highly recommended. "Drink Me" Cocktail menu was fun and delish; "Eat Me" Entree Menu hit all the groups - suite whatever mood one is in whether it be meat or seafood. Too full for dessert after appetizers and entrees, but the table next to us had a carrot cake to share amongst friends that looked amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortunately the food was just okay. Th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Unfortunately the food was just okay. The proteins were good but their risotto was awful. My wife and I had two different kinds and neither were edible. I wish I had sent it back and let them know so they could fix it but we just didn't eat any of it and left. The server never asked how things were so we didn't give any feedback. My fault on that but if the cooks tried their risotto and thought it was good enough to serve I seriously question their skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service! Loved it!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu needs updating. I've eaten the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The menu needs updating. I've eaten there many times, and it was great at first, but now it seems mundane and overpriced. The food is decent and the ambience certainly fun - nothing special enough to warrant the prices.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We truly enjoyed our experience at The R ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We truly enjoyed our experience at The Rabbit Hole. Great care has been taken with the Alice in Wonderland theme without overdoing it. Our food was delicious! The only thing that was just ok was the bunny bites. They tasted like tough chicken nuggets. Everything else was delicious. Our cocktails were fun, too. The service was spot on. I would love to eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, but was less than impr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing, but was less than impressed with our waitress. But I'd definitely come back, because we'd probably get a different waitress :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of multiple recent visits . This for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of multiple recent visits . This for pre-Father's Day. Tried different appetizers, entree and craft beer selections. Very satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our first time service,food and a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was our first time service,food and ambience was spectacular one suggestion PLEASE KEEP THE A.C. ON. When it would shut off it instantly became muggy and uncomfortably hot other than that wewill be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually had very high expectations fo ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I actually had very high expectations for this place due to recommendations. I had a decent experience but it feel way short of what I was expecting. The service and ambiance was great but everything else fell short.

We had the rabbit bites, duck wings for apps. Lamb and short ribs for entrees. The food was okay-good but nothing was what I considered great. Prices were very reasonable so that's a plus. I would recommend this place but to keep your expectations reasonable regarding the foods. None of it will blow you away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the Rabbit Hole for our 6 year anniversary. I was super excited to go because of all the rave reviews and the food menu you looked unique and delicious, but sadly it disappointed. The food wasn't bad, it just didn't blow me away and it came out cold. I told our server it came out cold and she asked if I wanted them to reheat it. First, don't ask me if I wanted it reheated, just take it away and say you will take care of it. Even if you are just going to pop in the microwave. Secondly, for 20+ a plate I would hope that you would at least give me the illusion that you were remaking it. It was just overall a disappointing experience especially having gone there on a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Loved it this is the restaurant you must ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Loved it this is the restaurant you must hop to even if you can't go to any others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Will definitely return..a gem. We enjoyed all courses and will recommend this to our friends

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Rabbit Hole is fun and delicious. I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The Rabbit Hole is fun and delicious. I have been here many times with friends and my spouse and not a single time have I been disappointed. My favorite is the Cherry Braised Buffalo Short Ribs. Just saying it makes me want to go immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique food options

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very unique "Coloradoesq" menu. People in my party ordered the bacon wrapped rabbit meatloaf, mac and cheese, chicken and dumpling soup and a beet salad and lastly the burger. All of our food was really good. Decent wine by the glass list with many additional options if ordering a bottle. Service was fast and food was very good. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

No flavor

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

high expectations but the food was very bland. Will try one more time, maybe we just ordered the wrong things.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was good, and the food was b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was good, and the food was better. ( best NY strip I have ever ate). However the overall atmosphere was increadably loud and it was not even that late. 7:00 pm. My suggestion would be to turn down the music in the bar so people don't feel like they have to talk above the music. Or maybe even put up some sound dampening boards the stone walls don't and won't absorbed the noise. This will reduce the over all noise level and allow for a comfortable dining experience. Instead of having to shout across the table.

Just my thoughts.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Good food, great service, friendly staff ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, great service, friendly staff, and tasty drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Rabbit Hole

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was good and the menu had many unusual choices. It was very noisy, however, and having a conversation was difficult. The atmosphere was interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dining experience at a hole in the sidewalk

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The Rabbit Hole is a fun, very yummy place for a date, friends or family get together. The underground atmosphere makes the Wonderland menu come alive. Great drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated as soon as we got there b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were seated as soon as we got there but did not get a menu until 20 minutes later. Other than that the food was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place but service is key

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Laura was not a great waitress. Been here several times and had much better service. She disappeared for 20 minutes and we were left waiting for drinks and our meal when other guest were receiving their meals much quicker than us. Love the food here and atmosphere. Lobster Mac & cheese, filet, short ribs, Lucy juicy burger, rabbit bits, and pork wings highly recommended! Cross your fingers for a great waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It's aptly named. 😉 Love the food and c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

It's aptly named. 😉 Love the food and customer service made the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Loved the environment. Not kid friendly. But the food was great and the environment made me feel awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My third visit

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The first time I dined at the Rabbit Hole was wonderful. Great food, good service and a very unique atmosphere. The second time I also received good service but the food was not quite as good. The third time I noticed right away that service was lacking. Though the place wasn't that busy, the waitress was in such a hurry trying to get away from us. That when she asked only one of us what we wanted to drink and was gone before my wife and daughter had a chance to speak. This seemed to be a common trait for that dinning experience. Every time she would check on our table it was like she didn't have or want to take the time to hear our requests. At the end of our meal she asked how everything was and if we needed anything else. My wife stated that to go boxes would be nice. My wife then started to say dessert would also be good, but before she could finish her sentence the waitress was gone once again. When the waitress did come back with the boxes my wife ordered two pieces of carrot cake to go. Bring us the bill and what we thought was the last of our order. I paid the bill and against my first instinct I left a 10 percent tip. It wasn't till after arriving home when we realized we only got one slice of cake. Being that our first experience was so wonderful, I am hoping that last one was just an off night. Though I am not sure if or when we may return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The food here outstanding! We forward to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The food here outstanding! We forward to our next meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a date amazing food and d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great spot for a date amazing food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Took friends from out of town for dinner. The experience was very enjoyable and the menu is a delightfully fun experience. I had the rabbit meatloaf and was more than happy with it. A lot of times game food like that is dry but it was very juicy and tender. Also enjoyed at the table was the spare ribs (delicious and very well seasoned) and the chicken (moist but not as much flavor as we thought there would be).

The environment is fun and whimsical but is more like a bar than a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there before a concert, great date ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Went there before a concert, great date night place. Cool, relaxed, funky atmosphere. Great food and service. I can see this not being everyone's cup of tea, but we loved it and definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food=100

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, but it was quite busy considering it was prom season but our waitress did a good job in getting her job done.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

2 for 2

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The Rabbit Hole was awesome, just as it had been the one other time I have been. My friend and I both enjoyed that there was nothing mundane on the menu.

It was my dates first time at the Rabbit Hole, and he plans to return until he's tried every item on the menu.

Thanks for a great night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

menu looked great, but food was poorly executed.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Very loud setting, we couldn't really talk to eachother and the food was dissapointing.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Although I enjoy the ambiance, the food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Although I enjoy the ambiance, the food and drink were not quite what I had hoped for. The majority of the drinks on the menu seem very sweet. And the food items of choice, though novel, were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to the Rabbit Hole for my birthday and it was great! The food and cocktail options were great. I got their Signature cocktail, the White Rabbit, which was topped with a flaming marshmallow. For food, the seafood pasta was cooked perfectly, although it could have used a little...."more flavor". It was a little bland, but nothing I couldn't easily just ignore. My boyfriend got the burger and it was very good, cooked right, and made like he asked. The only part of the night that was lacking was service. This was a Wednesday night. Our server came to the table multiple times to get our order and we weren't quite ready (indecisive people to the max). However, once we got our food, I think we only saw the food runner who dropped off the food and our server maybe once after that. When the food runner dropped off the food, we asked for a couple things, needing it to eat our food. After waiting 15 minutes with not one employee coming back, we just decided to go ahead and eat it because we were so hungry. That kind of ruined it. Never getting any of the "guest requests" that we asked for, by the time our server came by to drop the bill, it was even far too late to ask her. Overall, I'm not going to complain, the food was good, drinks were good, the place itself is AWESOME. A great little find. I just hope the service was just having a bad night. I would still recommend it and will try again!:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Outstanding in all regards.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Outstanding in all regards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.