Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Rabbit Hole

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Late-night Find (24)
Fun (24)
Romantic (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great Beer (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (9)
Historic (8)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have been living in Colorado Springs for the past year and have generally found the restaurants in the area to be of indifferent quality. A number of friends had recommended The Rabbit Hole as being a place with a lively bar scene and above average food. Ever optimistic, we decided to give it a try.

We were impressed with the decor and the cozy basement location. The bar area lived up to its billing. It looked like a nice place for an after work drink. The "Alice in Wonderland" theme, including some fine murals on the walls are a nice touch.

Unfortunately, the food was a disappointment. The carrot bisque did not have any flavor of carrots. My wife's lamb was bland, lacking in seasoning. My bacon wrapped rabbit meatloaf was overwhelmed by the bacon. The meatloaf could have been comprised of any meat and I would not have known the difference. The carrot cake dessert my wife and I shared was dry and the icing was too thick and sweet. I cannot give the food more than two stars.

Our server was pleasant, but lost track of our dessert order. After a long period she returned and upon realizing that she had forgotten our dessert, she did apologize and our dessert was provided gratis. The apology and the free dessert redeemed the service to the level of three stars.

My wife and I were disappointed since we had heard good things about The Rabbit Hole from friends and had noted the many fine reviews on Open Table.

We do not anticipate returning to The Rabbit Hole and cannot recommend it to others.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for dinner and the food was fabulous. The pork taco appetizer was terrific - slaw was crisp, fresh, and perfectly acidic. The pork was moist and beautifully caramelized. The bison short ribs were incredible. And the old fashioned cocktail was generous and satisfying. These people do great work. Go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a mad house to say the least. Not really in a bad way just really busy and really loud. Make a reservation should you go.
I had the seafood pasta. There was no way I could eat much of it due to the 1/4-1/2 cup of olive oil my food was bathing in. My two guests ordered the NY strips medium rare and they were both served well done. Our server was great. The drinks were good. I ordered a flaming martini. The drink was weak but the marshmallow was delicious soaked in 151.
Don't think I'll return. For the price of the food I felt it should've been cooked to a much higher level. We definitely paid for an experience.
Our bill for three adults, 3 meals, 3 drinks and an appetizer was $145.00 leaving this experience costing a total of $175.00 with tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Delicious food, amazing service, great atmosphere. My favorite spot in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good time, great food. Appetizers and dessert were great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everytime a winner! Great steak, terrific appetizers, great wine! Absolutely love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a lovely evening at The Rabbit Hole, I've passed it several time and finally took the steps down to the subterranean dining experience. Drinks were great, the food was phenomenal. I had the scallops and they were on par with some of the best I've had, and I've lived on both coasts near great seafood ports. Our server was fantastic, offered great insight to the menu. The only thing I would have to knock The Rabbit Hole for is I feel it's slightly overpriced, just by 10% though. If they could bring prices down a little bit, this would be a go to restaurant for me.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Reservations recommended! Menu is fun and offers a great variety. Service is great. The place could be cleaner (micro suede booth seats are badly stained, restrooms could be cleaner). The food and drinks are fantastic! Ambiance needs some attention--this place is loud! Acoustic dampening on the ceilings would really help.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Sat at a great table - really nice evening. Unique location. We'll b back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Everything was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had reservation at 7:45 but did not get seated till 8:30, frustrating becouse got there early

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a very cool place. Food and service was awesome! Only downside was the noise. It was very loud. I would go again in heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and the Alice in Wonderland underground decor. The drink menu was original. I had a White Rabbit which is a vanilla vodka and coconut drink topped with a flaming toasted marshmallow. Delicious. The food was amazing. The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fun evening with my wife - great cocktails, better food. Brussel Sprout appetizers are definitely worth getting. Unique environment - come with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very nice place. The food was good, service was good. We would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, great atmosphere. Many great items on the menu. I'm definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

best happy hour in town. My friends from out of town loved the place. Best part of happy hour is the pork wings. great happy hour prices for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance was outstanding and the food was great. Service was great. I would recommend the Rabbit Hole to everyone. The nibbles were delicious and had great selection. The main dishes were creative and tasted wonderful as well. The carrot cake was one of the best I had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was amazing. Highly recommend the Brussel sprouts appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made reservations for my birthday, and we got done with our plans early so we called and asked if we could move our reservation up by an hour, it was no problem!

The service was great, the food was delicious tasting (and looking), and the vibe was incredible!

So happy we went in!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My very favorite restaurant! It never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great overall except the online menu was different than the menu at the restaurant very disappointing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

What a delightful experience. The ambiance was great, the service attentive, and the food delicious. We certainly enjoyed our dinner at this quaint, hidden gem.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great as usual. Ambience is always perfect. Service speedy and hospitable. Food very tasty and creative. Drinks are amazing!! Well done?!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always a fun place to have dinner with friends. Yummy food and lively atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Friendly staff. Felt rushed. Food just ok, not the usual. Will give one more chance because I use to love it.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I felt rushed during my experience here and My burger was under cooked and this place is overrated

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I just moved to the area from San Francisco, a very foodie city, and this restuarant definitely made me feel like I was right back in the big city. The food was delicious and I truly enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. My mother was in town and we had dinner with two friends. We sat in the back room, it was a lively venue but not so loud that we couldn't hear each other. The main room seemed like it probably could get pretty loud. I would definitely come here again on date or get together with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice ambiance. The booths give privacy. The food was out of this world, and the people who had the signature martinis enjoyed them.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my eleven year old son to The Rabbit Hole and we had a blast! We had to have a quick bite to eat before the play he was in, so the 4pm reservation we had was perfect. We got nibbles off of the happy hour menu and the place was packed by the time we left! Great music, lovely menu selection, and very nice wine list made this visit wonderful. I am going back with my husband (and our son) to celebrate my birthday in two weeks!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Have heard many good things about the RH. It just didn't meet the expectations, the food prices where really fair, though could use a little more explanation on the menus, of what the dish is. Kinda anti climactic.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very creative and unique. Wonderful food and one of a kind menu. Very historic part of the city. Great tourist attraction and awesome place to entertain out of town guests. The only downfall... the "homeless" population late at night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My food was great. I got the ribs. However, my boyfriend's steak was overcooked. So much to the point that we sent it back (he ordered it medium). They said it would take no more than 6 minutes for the new steak to cook. We waited 15 minutes for a steak that was brought out almost completely raw; had to of been intentional from the cook because it wasn't cooked more than 30 seconds on each side. I have worked as a cook and you'd have to be extremely feeble-minded to think that second steak was anywhere near medium. We sent it back again. At this point in the meal, our waitress became nonexistent and when we finally received the steak for a third time, I was done eating and we packed it up and left. After the waitress took another 15 minutes to bring us our check. We didn't see her again after that, the manager had to finish checking us out and get us our boxes. No discount was given on the check, shocking. Service was unprofessional. The last thing you do is ignore a table when they have a problem with their food like we did. Disappointed in how things were handled. Our anniversary dinner was ruined.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing food and a super fun atmosphere! Can't wait for another reason to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

For an honest opinion from a former restaurant owner, call 269-876-2031.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was different than the last time we came, so we were disappointed we weren't able to get some of our faves. The server wasn't very attentive or well experienced (reaching over our plates, giving unwrapped straws with bare hands etc)
The place is so fun and unique, but our first experience was a 5 and this was probably a 2.5 or 3... so I left disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Business meeting and dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, we had a wonderful time at rabbit hole.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It was our 41st anniversery and we wanted to try someplace new. The food was absolutely great. The service was great and the prices were very reasonable. We loved the setting and cuisine. Reminded us of something we might find in Europe. Keep up the good work. We will be back with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful food in a fun and unique setting. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.