Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Rabbit Hole

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Cozy (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (22)
Fun (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Casual (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu is limited and so is the alcohol selection, but overall was very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

New menu better than ever! Go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner. Carrot lavender soup was really special, and I do not usually like sweet soups. The only dish that was not special was the rabbit meat loaf, meat was good, tomato sauce was very bleh. But the Buffalo short ribs were very tasty. I highly recommend those.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We drove from Denver basically to come here for dinner, and we were not disappointed we made the trip. We started with the meat and cheese platter and the White Rabbit cocktail. I had the seafood pasta and my boyfriend had the filet. We finished with the cheesecake and the moon pie. Literally every bite was amazing, and very reasonably priced for the quality of the food. It was $100 for the two of us, and we couldn't have wanted another thing. We are already talking about coming back :)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This below ground restaurant is rather unique – eclectic in setting. Our waitress was great and very friendly and helpful. We had caprese salad and buffalo short ribs both very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is a fun quirky resturant with a great menu variety for all taste involved. I my wife an I came for an early dinner escaping our 1.5 year old son for a few hours. Well worth it. I had the seafood pasta dish and my wife had the filet main coarse. Both entrees were perfectly cooked to perfection. Our waitress Leah was very nice, courteous and attentive

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is a unique and fascinating dining venue. We just had drinks and shared 3 appetizers which were very good. I am planning to return to sample some main courses in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great find in Colorado! Very unique atmosphere, with great food and good service. We shared the Butcher's Block and it did not disappoint. Excellently prepared meats and great house wines to go with it. We were late to our reservation because of traffic, but the hostess was prepared for it because of my reservation note and saved our table for us. Excellent customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The Striped Colorado Bass was delicious! The Service was outstanding, and the atmosphere was quaint & comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food, service, ambiance and it was super convenient from our hotel

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Rabbit Hole seems like a place you need to go to once, but I doubt we'll go back. We sat at the bar while waiting for the table and had an awesome time with the great bartenders, but the food wasn't really that amazing. Love the theme and the general vibe, but nothing we tried (and we tried a lot) was really "craveable."

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My new favorite place!! Love the ambience and Alice in Wonderland theme! The drinks were delicious and the food was impeccable! The staff didn't disappoint either! If you have the chance you MUST go!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The Rabbit Hole is a great and unique restaurant with fantastic service and great food. Whether you are going for drinks or an elaborate meal I would highly recommend giving this place a try. I have had the short ribs and filet and both are wonderful. You also must try the Carrot Cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband and I tried The Rabbit Hole based on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed! Service was extremely fast, our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was delicious, great portion sizes and pricing, unique and inventive. The atmosphere was great for groups, casual dining, dates, really just about anything. Highly recommend to anyone whose looking for unique food with a fun atmosphere! Can't wait to go again and try more of their food!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I love this place. Great drinks and amazing food. Always good service

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This place was great! The food was amazing and very unique, especially for Colorado Springs. I only wish there were more options without onions. The only downside was the party of ladies at the next table who got quite loud and annoying once they finished eating. The waitress was nice and attentive, but seemed a bit distracted. I am looking forward to the next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I always suggest going to The Rabbit Hole to tourists. Located in the old morgue under the city; it has an eclectic charm with an unusual menu. Yes, you can get rabbit, as well as bison, salmon and the mundane beef. The food is generally above par and the bar is always full of energy. It is a great place to go with friends; however, if you are looking for an intimate, quiet evening for two, this is not place as the noise level is pretty high. A must for any out-of-towner and for those that want a detour to the wild side of normal; but just not too far of a detour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The service at the restaurant was great. We arrived 30 minutes prior to our actual reservation time and were seated immediately anyway, even though the restaurant was quite busy and had a few people at the bar waiting. Our waitress was timely and made appropriate recommendations and was super low-pressure. She was pretty great.

Their dessert options could definitely use some work. We were celebrating a birthday and the birthday girl isn't a fan of carrot cake. The other options weren't any better so we went elsewhere to finish our celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent food and good drinks! Great place to meet friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A friend recommended it and figured I'd try it out. And don't let the name fool you. There is rabbit on the menu. But was great. I will be going again.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our waitress wasn't very motivated. A smile would be nice & made a difference

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fun upscale whimsical environment! The bacon wrapped prawns were delicious and the German chocolate cake was second-to-none. Hard to believe cake can be that moist in such a dry state! A "must" for anyone visiting Colorado Springs

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My wife and I have been living in Colorado Springs for the past year and have generally found the restaurants in the area to be of indifferent quality. A number of friends had recommended The Rabbit Hole as being a place with a lively bar scene and above average food. Ever optimistic, we decided to give it a try.

We were impressed with the decor and the cozy basement location. The bar area lived up to its billing. It looked like a nice place for an after work drink. The "Alice in Wonderland" theme, including some fine murals on the walls are a nice touch.

Unfortunately, the food was a disappointment. The carrot bisque did not have any flavor of carrots. My wife's lamb was bland, lacking in seasoning. My bacon wrapped rabbit meatloaf was overwhelmed by the bacon. The meatloaf could have been comprised of any meat and I would not have known the difference. The carrot cake dessert my wife and I shared was dry and the icing was too thick and sweet. I cannot give the food more than two stars.

Our server was pleasant, but lost track of our dessert order. After a long period she returned and upon realizing that she had forgotten our dessert, she did apologize and our dessert was provided gratis. The apology and the free dessert redeemed the service to the level of three stars.

My wife and I were disappointed since we had heard good things about The Rabbit Hole from friends and had noted the many fine reviews on Open Table.

We do not anticipate returning to The Rabbit Hole and cannot recommend it to others.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for dinner and the food was fabulous. The pork taco appetizer was terrific - slaw was crisp, fresh, and perfectly acidic. The pork was moist and beautifully caramelized. The bison short ribs were incredible. And the old fashioned cocktail was generous and satisfying. These people do great work. Go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a mad house to say the least. Not really in a bad way just really busy and really loud. Make a reservation should you go.
I had the seafood pasta. There was no way I could eat much of it due to the 1/4-1/2 cup of olive oil my food was bathing in. My two guests ordered the NY strips medium rare and they were both served well done. Our server was great. The drinks were good. I ordered a flaming martini. The drink was weak but the marshmallow was delicious soaked in 151.
Don't think I'll return. For the price of the food I felt it should've been cooked to a much higher level. We definitely paid for an experience.
Our bill for three adults, 3 meals, 3 drinks and an appetizer was $145.00 leaving this experience costing a total of $175.00 with tip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Delicious food, amazing service, great atmosphere. My favorite spot in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good time, great food. Appetizers and dessert were great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everytime a winner! Great steak, terrific appetizers, great wine! Absolutely love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a lovely evening at The Rabbit Hole, I've passed it several time and finally took the steps down to the subterranean dining experience. Drinks were great, the food was phenomenal. I had the scallops and they were on par with some of the best I've had, and I've lived on both coasts near great seafood ports. Our server was fantastic, offered great insight to the menu. The only thing I would have to knock The Rabbit Hole for is I feel it's slightly overpriced, just by 10% though. If they could bring prices down a little bit, this would be a go to restaurant for me.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Reservations recommended! Menu is fun and offers a great variety. Service is great. The place could be cleaner (micro suede booth seats are badly stained, restrooms could be cleaner). The food and drinks are fantastic! Ambiance needs some attention--this place is loud! Acoustic dampening on the ceilings would really help.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Sat at a great table - really nice evening. Unique location. We'll b back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Everything was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had reservation at 7:45 but did not get seated till 8:30, frustrating becouse got there early

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a very cool place. Food and service was awesome! Only downside was the noise. It was very loud. I would go again in heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We loved the atmosphere and the Alice in Wonderland underground decor. The drink menu was original. I had a White Rabbit which is a vanilla vodka and coconut drink topped with a flaming toasted marshmallow. Delicious. The food was amazing. The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fun evening with my wife - great cocktails, better food. Brussel Sprout appetizers are definitely worth getting. Unique environment - come with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very nice place. The food was good, service was good. We would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, great atmosphere. Many great items on the menu. I'm definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

best happy hour in town. My friends from out of town loved the place. Best part of happy hour is the pork wings. great happy hour prices for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.