About The Rabbit Hole

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Late-night Find (37)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great idea on paper that fails to transl ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great idea on paper that fails to translate. Really too bad since it's one of the more interesting venues in Colorado Springs (e.g., former morgue with ghosts & a great story). Suggest a complete menu/kitchen overhaul (why is there no cake that says "Eat Me"?). Stick to the drinks at the bar for now

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

It is highly recommended that you make a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

It is highly recommended that you make a reservation here. The novelty of the Alice in Wonderland theme, and the fact that the door to the restaurant just appears suddenly in the sidewalk are what attracted me to this place. The food was excellent, however, I was disappointed that they did not have a regular iced tea available and the raspberry iced tea they did have was like sugar water with raspberry flavor added. I would have preferred an unsweetened non-alcoholic option.

My only other small gripe would be that in such an awesomely decorated and themed restaurant, I thought that would carry over to the restrooms, and they were dismally dated, not all that clean, and certainly not decorated to encompass the rest of the whimsical atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about this place was unique a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this place was unique and different, I love the food I love the ambiance. The only thing I would say is not kid-friendly it's more of an adult setting. Our waitress was a different story, it seemed to take forever for us to get anything ordered and she seemed pretty annoyed at the fact that we actually had kids at our table I don't think once she even smiled. Other than the one waitress everybody else was pretty nice and friendly hope to go here again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Fantastic restaurant! My husband and I c ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here last night and are so glad we chose the Rabbit Hole. First the atmosphere is cute, quaint and cozy. The food is delicious and there is something for everyone. The service was excellent! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This unique and creative Wonderland - es ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This unique and creative Wonderland - esque restaurant is a delightful escape. The themed cocktail menu is a standout feature, and the menu offers creative fare. Reservations are a good idea since this place, like its namesake, is always hopping.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and drinks are always amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and drinks are always amazing. Our waitress was sweet and efficient. This place is pretty pricey, but that is what you get for good quality dining. 10/10 recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There where many items we would like to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There where many items we would like to have tried due to the menu offering many fun items. The scallop entree and stripped bass entree where well prepared. The only item that needs tweaking would be the overdressed caprese salad.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good experience overall. Food was tasty ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good experience overall. Food was tasty and well prepared. Only negatives were that the balsamic vinaigrette was more like a highly acidic red wine vinaigrette, completely devoid of the sweetness of a true balsamic, and our server was not terribly personable. She did a fine job of keeping drinks filled and checking in, but we had to actually tell her to wait a couple of times as we were trying to order additional items and she just brought something and was leaving as the item hit the table. Like she was trying to get us out as quickly as possible, but we were there for a nice dinner, and ordered drinks, apps, entrees and dessert...hardly the ticket you want to hustle along. Good food and ambiance. Music could be quieter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Wanted to enjoy a dinner in the downtown ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wanted to enjoy a dinner in the downtown area of Colorado Springs. One of the bellmen at the Broadmoor highly recommended the Rabbit Hole. My wife really enjoyed the Peach Champagne drinks. The spare ribs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent! Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was excellent! Our waitress was very accommodating and super nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt the food could have been a bit bett ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Felt the food could have been a bit better given the prices but overall it was nice. The bunny bites were rather tough and a bit over cooked. Service was attentive but not particularly friendly. Loved the decor and general feel of the location. Meals came out quickly although didn't have time to finish appetizer first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The location is unique and an interestin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The location is unique and an interesting spot. Food was good. Service was very good. I flet the meat dishes were a bit overcooked but still good overall.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Every time me and my husband go to The R ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Every time me and my husband go to The Rabbit Hole, we are never disappointed. This time we ordered the risotto balls for appetizer and they were amazing. We both ordered the buffalo ribs; it's our favorite dish. It was delicious, and there was no room for desert. Great place for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found previous reviews on yelp interesti ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Found previous reviews on yelp interesting. Decided to try this place out during a business trip to Colorado Springs apparently it used to be the town morgue back in the 1800s. Walking down to the restaurant the smell isn't very pleasant and the ambience when you first enter pretty drab however I was pleasantly pleased with the wine choices as well as the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was really fun and interesting, and the location is really cool.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome place!! Great service, great fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome place!! Great service, great food, decent prices. They get their seafood delivered every other day, so go for it. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a fantastic dining experience! St ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! Starting from going down the rabbit hole and to our nearly private dining corner this place is a adorable! Our waitress was terrific and patient with us as we had a lot of questions. We had to try the bunny bites which were different. Keep in mind rabbits are lean. The grapefruit/champagne martini was delish so I had two:) We ordered the ribs and seafood pasta dishes and they were both incredible. We wished we hadn't ordered the appetizer as our portions were large. Atmosphere is romantic. Neighborhood is a little seedy/rough. Would have been nice to stroll the area after dinner but we did not feel safe. Definitely worth a visit. This place was recommended to usby our white water rafting guide! Thankful we listened!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish was either messed up or made p ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Each dish was either messed up or made poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Br ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Rabbit Hole makes Cauliflower and Brussel Sprouts delectable and delightfully pleasant! We ordered these two separate appetizers and loved them! My wife and I also split the Scallops entree - it was excellent! We found the Rabbit Hole on Yelp and Trip Adviser. We were pleasantly surprised and satisfied and would recommend this place for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughter had been here with friends a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My daughter had been here with friends and she wanted to take her father and I here because she liked it so much. The food was great, awesome cocktails and the atmosphere was very cool! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alice in Wonderland Johnny Depp version art was fabulous. Definitely foodie centric, hipster, downtown spot. Our server was attentive and despite the line out the door didn't rush us - reservations highly recommended. "Drink Me" Cocktail menu was fun and delish; "Eat Me" Entree Menu hit all the groups - suite whatever mood one is in whether it be meat or seafood. Too full for dessert after appetizers and entrees, but the table next to us had a carrot cake to share amongst friends that looked amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unfortunately the food was just okay. Th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Unfortunately the food was just okay. The proteins were good but their risotto was awful. My wife and I had two different kinds and neither were edible. I wish I had sent it back and let them know so they could fix it but we just didn't eat any of it and left. The server never asked how things were so we didn't give any feedback. My fault on that but if the cooks tried their risotto and thought it was good enough to serve I seriously question their skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Both my date and I got food poisoning af ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Both my date and I got food poisoning after eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food and service! Loved it!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu needs updating. I've eaten the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The menu needs updating. I've eaten there many times, and it was great at first, but now it seems mundane and overpriced. The food is decent and the ambience certainly fun - nothing special enough to warrant the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated in the back room annex wh ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were seated in the back room annex which did not have the ambience of the main seating area which was very disappointing. Server told us that seating in the main area requires weeks of advanced booking which I found hard to believe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We truly enjoyed our experience at The R ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We truly enjoyed our experience at The Rabbit Hole. Great care has been taken with the Alice in Wonderland theme without overdoing it. Our food was delicious! The only thing that was just ok was the bunny bites. They tasted like tough chicken nuggets. Everything else was delicious. Our cocktails were fun, too. The service was spot on. I would love to eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, but was less than impr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing, but was less than impressed with our waitress. But I'd definitely come back, because we'd probably get a different waitress :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of multiple recent visits . This for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of multiple recent visits . This for pre-Father's Day. Tried different appetizers, entree and craft beer selections. Very satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our first time service,food and a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was our first time service,food and ambience was spectacular one suggestion PLEASE KEEP THE A.C. ON. When it would shut off it instantly became muggy and uncomfortably hot other than that wewill be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually had very high expectations fo ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I actually had very high expectations for this place due to recommendations. I had a decent experience but it feel way short of what I was expecting. The service and ambiance was great but everything else fell short.

We had the rabbit bites, duck wings for apps. Lamb and short ribs for entrees. The food was okay-good but nothing was what I considered great. Prices were very reasonable so that's a plus. I would recommend this place but to keep your expectations reasonable regarding the foods. None of it will blow you away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to the Rabbit Hole for our 6 year anniversary. I was super excited to go because of all the rave reviews and the food menu you looked unique and delicious, but sadly it disappointed. The food wasn't bad, it just didn't blow me away and it came out cold. I told our server it came out cold and she asked if I wanted them to reheat it. First, don't ask me if I wanted it reheated, just take it away and say you will take care of it. Even if you are just going to pop in the microwave. Secondly, for 20+ a plate I would hope that you would at least give me the illusion that you were remaking it. It was just overall a disappointing experience especially having gone there on a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Loved it this is the restaurant you must ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Loved it this is the restaurant you must hop to even if you can't go to any others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Will definitely return..a gem. We enjoyed all courses and will recommend this to our friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Rabbit Hole is fun and delicious. I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The Rabbit Hole is fun and delicious. I have been here many times with friends and my spouse and not a single time have I been disappointed. My favorite is the Cherry Braised Buffalo Short Ribs. Just saying it makes me want to go immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique food options

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very unique "Coloradoesq" menu. People in my party ordered the bacon wrapped rabbit meatloaf, mac and cheese, chicken and dumpling soup and a beet salad and lastly the burger. All of our food was really good. Decent wine by the glass list with many additional options if ordering a bottle. Service was fast and food was very good. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

No flavor

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

high expectations but the food was very bland. Will try one more time, maybe we just ordered the wrong things.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was good, and the food was b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was good, and the food was better. ( best NY strip I have ever ate). However the overall atmosphere was increadably loud and it was not even that late. 7:00 pm. My suggestion would be to turn down the music in the bar so people don't feel like they have to talk above the music. Or maybe even put up some sound dampening boards the stone walls don't and won't absorbed the noise. This will reduce the over all noise level and allow for a comfortable dining experience. Instead of having to shout across the table.

Just my thoughts.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Good food, great service, friendly staff ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, great service, friendly staff, and tasty drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Rabbit Hole

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was good and the menu had many unusual choices. It was very noisy, however, and having a conversation was difficult. The atmosphere was interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.