About The Rabbit Hole

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Colorado Springs
Fit for Foodies
Colorado Springs
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Colorado Springs
Most Booked
Colorado Springs
Best Restaurants in Colorado Springs ›

special occasion (54)
fit for foodies (50)
romantic (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (46)
late-night find (45)
hot spot (44)
vibrant bar scene (35)
good for groups (33)
notable wine list (18)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience at a hole in the sidewalk

Dined 5 days ago

The Rabbit Hole is a fun, very yummy place for a date, friends or family get together. The underground atmosphere makes the Wonderland menu come alive. Great drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We were seated as soon as we got there b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were seated as soon as we got there but did not get a menu until 20 minutes later. Other than that the food was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Love this place but service is key

Dined on May 12, 2016

Laura was not a great waitress. Been here several times and had much better service. She disappeared for 20 minutes and we were left waiting for drinks and our meal when other guest were receiving their meals much quicker than us. Love the food here and atmosphere. Lobster Mac & cheese, filet, short ribs, Lucy juicy burger, rabbit bits, and pork wings highly recommended! Cross your fingers for a great waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place

Dined on May 9, 2016

Loved the environment. Not kid friendly. But the food was great and the environment made me feel awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

My third visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

The first time I dined at the Rabbit Hole was wonderful. Great food, good service and a very unique atmosphere. The second time I also received good service but the food was not quite as good. The third time I noticed right away that service was lacking. Though the place wasn't that busy, the waitress was in such a hurry trying to get away from us. That when she asked only one of us what we wanted to drink and was gone before my wife and daughter had a chance to speak. This seemed to be a common trait for that dinning experience. Every time she would check on our table it was like she didn't have or want to take the time to hear our requests. At the end of our meal she asked how everything was and if we needed anything else. My wife stated that to go boxes would be nice. My wife then started to say dessert would also be good, but before she could finish her sentence the waitress was gone once again. When the waitress did come back with the boxes my wife ordered two pieces of carrot cake to go. Bring us the bill and what we thought was the last of our order. I paid the bill and against my first instinct I left a 10 percent tip. It wasn't till after arriving home when we realized we only got one slice of cake. Being that our first experience was so wonderful, I am hoping that last one was just an off night. Though I am not sure if or when we may return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here outstanding! We forward to ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food here outstanding! We forward to our next meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a date amazing food and d ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great spot for a date amazing food and drinks

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

Took friends from out of town for dinner. The experience was very enjoyable and the menu is a delightfully fun experience. I had the rabbit meatloaf and was more than happy with it. A lot of times game food like that is dry but it was very juicy and tender. Also enjoyed at the table was the spare ribs (delicious and very well seasoned) and the chicken (moist but not as much flavor as we thought there would be). The environment is fun and whimsical but is more like a bar than a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there before a concert, great date ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went there before a concert, great date night place. Cool, relaxed, funky atmosphere. Great food and service. I can see this not being everyone's cup of tea, but we loved it and definitely will be back.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food=100

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, but it was quite busy considering it was prom season but our waitress did a good job in getting her job done.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

2 for 2

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Rabbit Hole was awesome, just as it had been the one other time I have been. My friend and I both enjoyed that there was nothing mundane on the menu. It was my dates first time at the Rabbit Hole, and he plans to return until he's tried every item on the menu. Thanks for a great night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

menu looked great, but food was poorly executed.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very loud setting, we couldn't really talk to eachother and the food was dissapointing.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Although I enjoy the ambiance, the food ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Although I enjoy the ambiance, the food and drink were not quite what I had hoped for. The majority of the drinks on the menu seem very sweet. And the food items of choice, though novel, were average.

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to the Rabbit Hole for my birthday and it was great! The food and cocktail options were great. I got their Signature cocktail, the White Rabbit, which was topped with a flaming marshmallow. For food, the seafood pasta was cooked perfectly, although it could have used a little...."more flavor". It was a little bland, but nothing I couldn't easily just ignore. My boyfriend got the burger and it was very good, cooked right, and made like he asked. The only part of the night that was lacking was service. This was a Wednesday night. Our server came to the table multiple times to get our order and we weren't quite ready (indecisive people to the max). However, once we got our food, I think we only saw the food runner who dropped off the food and our server maybe once after that. When the food runner dropped off the food, we asked for a couple things, needing it to eat our food. After waiting 15 minutes with not one employee coming back, we just decided to go ahead and eat it because we were so hungry. That kind of ruined it. Never getting any of the "guest requests" that we asked for, by the time our server came by to drop the bill, it was even far too late to ask her. Overall, I'm not going to complain, the food was good, drinks were good, the place itself is AWESOME. A great little find. I just hope the service was just having a bad night. I would still recommend it and will try again!:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in all regards.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Outstanding in all regards.

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Great spot for drinks and social.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great cool spot for drinks and social. They know how to make a martini! I have been there twice now and the food is sub par. I will still go back though.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Location

Dined on March 26, 2016

The atmosphere says it all here. An Alice in Wonderland-themed restaurant with decor and menu to match. I will be going down the rabbit hole again very soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful birthday

Dined on March 16, 2016

I went with my boyfriend to the rabbit hole for my birthday, and it was wonderful! I recommend the Dutchess, pork"wings", and the rabbit meatloaf!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DELICIOUS FOOD! Great atmosphere!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Well seasoned food combinations I had the bacon wrapped, chorizo stuffed shrimp with cheesey grits and green beans. The bacon was perfectly crisp unlike most wrapped foods I've had before. The grits had excellent flavor. I wanted more. My friend had the filet and it was the most tender, juicy, and flavorful filet I have had. Extensive wine list. White Rabbit Martini is a MUST TRY, flaming marshmallow and all! Atmosphere is unique and intimate. Perfect for romantic dining or special occasions. You really feel like you're down in an elegant rabbit hole. We loved the play on words from Alice in Wonderland such as the "Drink Me" title for their drink list. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A nice place to celebrate special occasions

Dined on March 10, 2016

Had a good dinner with my husband, food is good, nice ambiance. The only negative I can say is we felt rushed. If I am dining I do not like service personnel cleaning up our table while the other diner is still eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good we had seafood dish fo ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was good we had seafood dish forgot the name but o love it it was fresh and flavorful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience on our 20th an ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

We had a great experience on our 20th anniversary! The service, food, and staff were awesome and Matt was exceptional on making sure that we had a pleasant evening! We will be back for sure! VERY impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD & FANTASTIC SERVICE!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server, Krista, was attentive, prompt, and ACCURATELY described the flavors to expect for both the entrees and desserts we ordered. I was extremely impressed; this is the FIRST time I have a server's description deliver 100%. This is now our new favorite restaurant!! I have already booked next reservation. ALSO, I am so glad I made reservations. It was extremely busy. I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot!

Dined on February 19, 2016

It was our first time here. The atmosphere is unique and awesome! I loved going down the stairs to get to the actual restaurant. The decor is great and the food and drinks are even better! The duck wings and escargot were phenomenal and the carrot cake was as delicious as it was HUGE!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3

Maybe some people would think it "fun" o ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Maybe some people would think it "fun" or "unique" to be seated at a half table located at the base of a stairwell directly facing another group of diners, and where every person ascending or descending the stairs of the restaurant can and does look down on you (literally and figuratively) as you dine, but I don't. This ridiculous seating arrangement was all that was offered to us, ruined our experience here and left us with a bad impression of what may be an OK, albeit definitely over priced restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Find!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Rabbit Hole is a hidden gem with amazing food. I made a reservation for 10:30 pm on Valentine's Day. We were running late after a concert was let out and arrived at 11pm. The hostess was more than accommodating to us. We were seated right away. After telling her we were first time diners, she made recommendations on the menu and drinks. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was romantic and comfortable. I give this restaurant, staff and atmosphere 5 stars! We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Casual Downtown Restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

We came here for dinner but the bar appeared to be much more of the draw for this place. The food and service were good but it wasn't quite what we were expecting for celebrating a special event.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brought our 11-year old!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Husband, daughter and I dined here for Valentine's Day and we had a great time. True, she was the only kiddo there at the time, but she enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. She ordered a Shirley Temple (to make her feel a bit more grown-up) and my husband and I still had a romantic evening with our daughter in tow. Great food and great drink selection for everyone. Recommend the butterscotch cheesecake and the seafood noodles. Highly recommended! Not for the claustrophobic or someone who needs to see out a window. (There is an area by the entrance that is surrounded by glass that you might request in order to still enjoy this great place. Also, not exactly off Tejon, the entrance can be found off Kiowa.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Drinks and theme. And big peices of seaf ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Drinks and theme. And big peices of seafood in my seafood pasta

food5
ambience5
service5

The ambient, the food and the service wa ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The ambient, the food and the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks here are superior! We've trie ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

The drinks here are superior! We've tried the honey-do and the champagne cocktails - I recommend all of them! Food was great too... We really enjoyed the curry cauliflower and the dip sauce to that is sent straight from heaven. I ordered the filet, which was perfection, and the sweet potato mash was delicious; I subbed the asparagus for string beans (just not an asparagus fan) and it was all really tasty. My only complaint is that I missed the mushroom onion ravioli.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef can accommodate anyone and it tastes awesome

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our supper was so good. We had one with garlic powder allergy, one lactose intolerant, and one willing to hang out with us. The Brussel sprout appetizer is to die for. We had minestrone soup (huge bowl of the tastiest homemade mix of lots of different veggies), the tuna supper with bok choy was very tasty and no lactose, the filet with sides that had no garlic powder was perfect, and the waitress made us feel welcome with all our allergy issues. We will be back. The underground restaurant is great and lots of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A must in Colorado Springs

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

My 2nd visit was as good as the first. The food is inventive and tasty, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere is one of a kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on February 11, 2016

Very unique restaurant. Loved the feeling of being in a rabbit warren once you start walking around. The food was good - had the brussel sprouts and the risotto balls for appetizers and a salad for dinner. We were there for happy hour which is half price drinks on some items. Very wide choice of specialty cocktails. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went there for a birthday celebration. It was perfect. I am glad we made reservations because very busy that night

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent, Unique restaurant

Dined on February 4, 2016

Very unique place - they really follow through on the Alice in Wonderland theme. The decor is nice, and the references to 'Alice' really make for some nice conversation. Being vegetarian, I always appreciate finding nice choices on the menu. The Cauliflower appetizer was excellent, as was the Carrot Risotto/Mushroom entree. The Carrot cake was only mediocre this time around - not moist enough and the icing didn't seem to have the right texture. Do keep in mind that they're VERY generous on their desert portions. So, perhaps just missing perfection, I'll still be back the next time I'm in Colorado Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food ok service

Dined on January 31, 2016

I had the spinach salad that was served with roasted peaches. I bit into a peach slice and there was still some pit left. I informed the server and her reply was " at least you know it's a real peach". I found that to be a poor response. Rabbit meatloaf was good and White Rabbit Martini was fantastic.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food presentation and unique menu

Dined on January 28, 2016

Our group of four ordered four different entrees and each was prepared very well. The tenderloin, bass and ahi tuna were especially good as far as flavor and quality. We appreciated the unique food choices on the menu. Although our server did not have a lot to say, she was as attentive as she needed to be and the drinks and food were served promptly. The drinks are also unique and special (somewhat expensive for what you get) although beer and wine prices are very reasonable. We've been here before but have only had dinner one other time and have wanted to come back again to try more items on the menu. We'd recommend this restaurant for its unique location, menu and tasty food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

excellent service but unexpectedly poor food

Dined on January 27, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Rabbit Hole several times now over the course of the last year - the ambiance is perfect for a date night away from the kids and the food has always been good (if on the expensive side). This last visit, however, was very disappointing. Service was, as always, excellent but the food (lamb shanks and short ribs) was poorly prepared with needle like shards of bone throughout the meat. The short ribs tasted more like a dry, salty pot roast than anything else, and the waffle fries (ordered as an appetizer) were limp and oily. Desserts were excellent and the wait staff was very friendly. Still, it will be some time before we return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best in the springs

Dined on January 15, 2016

2nd visit and everything was wonderful again! it may not be for those with unadventurous taste buds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.