Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Rabbit Hole

American style restaurant. We serve a full menu from 4:00pm until 1:30am 7 days a week. We have won 25 awards from the Independent and Gazette newspaper including best new restaurant. Reservations suggested.

101 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
Kiowa St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(719) 203-5072

Website:
http://rabbitholedinner.com/wordpress/

Parking Details:
Parking is available across Kiowa street in the parking garage for $1.00 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Josh Beemer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Rabbit Hole Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fun (33)
Romantic (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Cozy (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Late-night Find (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Authentic (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Good place to eat, service was a little bit slow. The food was very good both in taste and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a place not to miss in Colorado Springs. Eclectic menu, interesting location and super service. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone was wonderful! I had the mushroom/poblano soup and it was delicious! My colleague had the seafood pasta and was talking about how good it was the next day. I had to have a local show me where the entrance was.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a wonderful time dining with friends. The cocktails, appetizers, service, and ambiance were unmatched.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The hostess was rude and unfriendly. This made the initial ambiance of the dinner very unpleasant. Our waitress was great, which made up for it. We are frequent guests here, and have not had a bad experience until now.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

First tiime visitor can get confused because the address is listed as being on Tejon but it actually is on Kiowa. We liked the variety of meals offered and the service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The hostess needs a little attitude adjustment. She was shirt with us and about 3 other groups throughout the evening. Otherwise, this place doesn't disappoint. Food, drinks and waitress were all on point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The allegedly braised meats (lamb shanks and buffalo short ribs) were dry and tough. Little or no sauce (or gravy) to help these pitiful entrees along as far as moistness. They had either been 'held' under a heat lamp or warming oven too long OR perhaps even done the day before, as both were so dry as to be almost inedible. The service was good and attentive. Ahi Tuna was good. We all should have had the Ahi.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner at The Rabbit Hole last Saturday. Service was awesome, food was incredible, and an overall fun/funky vibe. Love the wonderland references too. We wish we didn't live so far away but will definitely be back whenever we're in the Springs.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was great, space is a little tight and lighting is darker then expected but then again your in a hole of a tall basement, the green beans as veggies would best be replaced by asparagus or other fresh vegetable otherwise it was really good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Was a wonderful place with really great food and very nice staff. Will most definitely be returning in the future!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our group of four visited from Indiana. What a fun and enjoyable dinner! We loved everything from the entrance door to the atmosphere, server and food. Awesome experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Rabbit bites appetizer had little flavor and mustard dip was not complimentary. The rabbit stew (pot pie style) did not have all the ingredients when delivered to the table so then was offered a substitute. The seafood pasta had little to no flavor and was a huge disappointment.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was fantastic. Place was packed and very busy. Service was a little slow and spotty, but waitress was very friendly. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Went for my husbands 50th birthday, unfortunately our night was somewhat ruined by the table of drunk diners next to us cackling like hyenas every few min. Noise level was ridiculous. Will try again earlier in the evening.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Try the mac and cheese. Its really unusual and quite good. I wasn't thrilled with our waitress. She had an attitude and seemed to forget us.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

2nd time to eat at the Rabbit Hole. This was not as good as the 1st time. Probably had to do with what we ordered. Last time we had the Chicken and Biscuits and the Cauliflower Mac and Cheese which were over the top good. Hence why we were looking forward to another dinner there. Last night we ordered the Ahi tuna and Meatloaf and both were just okay. Not the best cut of tuna and the meatloaf over cooked. The caprese salad was was mediocre as well. Tomatoes were not ripe. Still very firm. The ginger soup though was fabulous so not a total bust. Hopefully this was a one night experience and still look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fun, beautiful, creative artwork, and delicious food - this place has it all. The Alice in Wonderland theme is applied with a sophistication that elevates it above a novelty restaurant, but it's still a comfortable place that is welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fun and very cool place - great food, wine, and value! Open late and as always hoppin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I really wanted this place to be good since Colorado Springs is in need of good restaurants. The Rabbit Hole is a neat place with a cool bar and there menu is fun and creative seeming. I ordered the buffalo short rib with smashed potatoes and charred green beans and my wife ordered the filet with sweet potato purée. My short rib was good but the potatoes were very average and cold with no flavor and the green beans were not fresh but frozen. I have never liked frozen vegetables and I don't think very highly of a restaurant that serves them. I used to own a restaurant and my opinion is you change the vegetable to what you can get fresh or don't serve one at all that night. My wife's filet was small but tasted okay but the sweet potato purée didn't have much flavor and was the texture of baby food. As far as the service the waitress was okay until she tried to force my wife into keeping her dirty fork from the appetizer for her entree. So my wife had to explain that she didn't want her fork that it had fallen on the floor. She finally gave up after that. Not good service in my opinion. To sum it up this is a place for happy hour and possibly appetizers and if you go for dinner keep your expectations low because the food is just okay and if you are a foodie you will be disappointed if you go on a special occasion with high expectations. I was there on my birthday last night and told them when I made the OpenTable reservation plus my wife told them after we arrived and they didn't so much as say happy birthday. Not a big deal to me but not a good business practice. Sorry Colorado Springs I know we don't have many good restaurants and I am not happy to say this is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Terrific cellar atmosphere with excellent food; a bit loud but a good spot for date night.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was by far the worst meal we've had in a long time. We ordered pork belly tacos, chicken wraps and bunny(rabbit) bites. Everything was under seasoned. We should've just left right after the appetizers but unfortunately, we had already put our orders in for entrees. I guess we were still hopeful. We ordered carrot, lavender soup and seared tuna for dinner and it was worse than the appetizers. It was overpriced and underwhelming. Unfortunately we will never return even though the location is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food excellent! Drink choices were excellent. Overall the whole experience was great. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good food, great cocktails! Atmosphere was awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and cocktails were interesting and excellent. The atmosphere is really fun

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great place! Very nice cozy discovery under the streets of Downtown COS (Colorado Springs). The waitstaff was very nice and attentive. They made great mojitos and they actually muddle the mint. The mussels and the creamy sauce was delicious with a pinch of fresh herbs and a pinch of heat. For the entree I had the bacon wrapped and stuffed prawns it was insane the levels of flavors that were inside with the spice of chorizo and the crispy bacon and the creamy cheese to tame the heat and finish the bite. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious food. 1/2 price drinks and appetizers for happy hour make it very reasonable.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

First visit and it was perfect. The staff was friendly and awesome throughout the meal. The food was at a level I didn’t expect for Colorado Springs. Soooo delicious! Drinks were on point too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was also excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I discovered this place on Pinterest in a list of "top 20 places to eat in Colorado"... it looked so unique I had to try it. Did a quiet birthday date here with my husband; We ordered the butcher block and the moon pie for dessert and both were to die for. Make sure you make a reservation! We had reservations for 8:30pm so luckily we were a little past dinner rush and sat in the back room, which made it a little more quiet. Great, unique ambiance and good service. Food overall was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was great. Definitely a good different atmosphere. Will be dining there again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Was a great first experience & the food was uniquely good.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Rachael was an awesome server. Great personality. The food was amazing. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great menu great place a lil noisy but totally worth it. Definitely worth going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great service. If you haven't eaten rabiit try the bunny bites. Nice wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

What a find! You have to check this place out. The experience starts by entering through what looks like a phone booth on the sidewalk. It takes you underground and opens into a world you had no idea was happening below. Hence The Rabbit Hole name. It seems to have an Alice in Wonderland theme. Very eclectic and energetic. The menu has rabbit, bison, duck to go along with the normals, such as steak, chicken, etc. Their items are very creative and super delicious. I highly recommend for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great martinis and a wonderful cheese/meat platter.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Rabbit bites, watermelon beet salad, prawns and sea bass were great! A must try is the chocolate covered bacon. It's fabulous! Great service as well.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our family was looking for a nice meal while in town. We made reservations and were seated immediately. The waitress seemed rushed and was rather rude. When asked for water, she replied "In a minute.. I can only do one thing at a time you know". It was not all that busy and the attitude was just not necessary. The food was good. I loved the corn chowder. The meatloaf which came highly recommended was pretty much all soggy bacon. Overall, a bit underwhelming to be honest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

My wife and I ask our son for a fun and different place for a meal. The Rabbit Hole has excellent food, wine and beer. Ambiance is over the top great, and pricing was very reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.