About The Purple Room

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Alen Badzak, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Please note, only street parking is available

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Enjoy Chef Alen's Traditional Three Course Thanksgiving Dinner accompanied by Mark Kahny Holiday Jazz. Roast Breast of Turkey Dinner with a selection of 5 appetizers and 5 entrees (all including vegetarian) as well as a variety of desserts are included. A 48 hour cancelation is required.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Enjoy Chef Alen's Traditional Holiday menu including Roast Prime Rib of Beef along with Holiday Jazz by Mark Kahny. A selection of five appetizers, 5 entrees (all including vegetarian) and a section of desserts is available. A 48 hour cancelation is required.

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (24)
Fun (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time and everyone’s dinner was delicious.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambience is unmatched. Menu varied and delicious. Entertainment first rate and the staff and owner are extremely attentive. Great for a special evening out or just for the sheer fun of it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fun dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We received an email earlier in the day promoting a specific performer for that evening. We booked a reservation on Open Table and was very disappointed to learn that the performer we wanted to see was out of town. You would have thought they wouldn’t send out an email blast promoting that performer if she wasn’t going to be there. You would have thought that the front desk would advise those showing up that there was a change in performers before seating them. Overall, a huge disappointment that the restaurant could have avoided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Fun and entertaining. Outstanding service and very friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Fun night with great food and music! The short ribs were excellent. We highly recommend an evening out here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

On vacation, we went for the dinner and show. The food was great ( I recommend Prime Rib Thursday, excellent!). The show was exactly what my wife was looking for, 40's, 50's, and 60's dinner show songs. She sang along (I didn't!) .

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, People Watching
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great entertainment. Good food. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Nice music and food. Great old Palm Springs hangout. Give it a try

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Had a great time ! Rose Mallett worked the room in true 60's style. The trio behind her were stylish and hip with occasional solos that caused many to stop eating and applaud their talent. Our server, John, was attentive, knowledable, and guided us through a great dinner service, that was both relaxed and fun. The food was excellent with well sized portions and attractive presentation. The whole vibe was "supper club" and made me wish I could stop by every couple weeks and be a regular. Frank and Dean would have loved it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 13, 2017

So glad we went. The music was amazing, the food and drink were fabulous and the service was perfect. John took great care of us. The whole evening was delightful and I would like to come back again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2017

So glad a friend told us about The Purple Room! We try to visit each time we are in Palm Springs area! We now recommend it to all our friends and family!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The best place to spend an incredible night in Palm Springs

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The entertainment was wonderful. We had an enjoyable evening and Keisha D was stellar.

Tags: Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great experience. Old style dinner club. Way too cool.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything was fantastic. You must go if your in the Palm Springs area! You will be so happy you did!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Took my daughter in law there for her birthday. We all had a ball. The food was amazing (as always) and Rose was the best. Thank you so much for being "consistent" in your high level of service, dining and entertainment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Enjoyed dinner and a wonderful show!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

a fun place with real home-grown entertainment - had great seats at this intimate little stage - just a totally engaging place with real people - a throwback in time when the entertainers talked and interacted with the audience - had the "date special" which was three courses of very tasty, well presented food

which this place was closer (it's 1200 miles away) as we would be back and bringing others

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 21, 2017

First visit -and had live music on a Wednesday evening. Plan was to have a glass of wine and lite bites and catch live music beginning at 6:30. Great nostalgic supper club feel. Will certainly return.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Fabulous entertainment from Rose Mallett and her band / great food and service - a gem for a Tuesday night in Palm Springs

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Live music with Rose was great as usual. Food had to be sent back to kitchen. Difficult to get waiters attention. Water and cocktail glass empty waaay to long. Need to step up their dining experience because I'll go to Woodys to see entertainment for better food at half the price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary with a good meal and entertainment. The food, service and entertainment were very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service, food was good live music also very good no cover charge the night we went it was loud but that was from the entertainment. Had a great time would recommend to anyone who does not mind a loud bar and likes live entertainment

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have wanted to go here for s Long time. Far exceeded expectations. It was great. Singer was wonderful entertainer

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 1, 2017

They have changed chefs this season and there are some changes to the menu. Everything we had was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the Jidori chicken - previously a deboned half chicken, now a deboned chicken breast stuffed with sun-dried tomatoes and other goodness, served atop a wonderful creamy mustard sauce, with sautéed spinach and a wonderful risotto. My friends both had the Thursday night prime rib special, and each serving came at the correct degree of doneness; I sampled it and found it to be tender and delicious. Music is always superb at the Purple Room. We were lucky to catch the phenomenal Keisha D in her club debut (she's there Thursdays through Sept. 2017). Fantastic show! Our waiter John was attentive and we felt well taken care of.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Great food, service, and entertainment! Will return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2017

great evening, would love to see some new menu options in the fall. There Thursday nights singer Sharon Sills was fantastic as always.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 20, 2017

One of our friends read about The Purple room and we were celebrating 2, 50th birthdays and a retirement so we took a chance and booked a reservation. We were pleasantly blessed and surprised by the whole experience. Rose and her band made the evening very memorable and the food was amazing. We will definitely recommend The Purple Room to our friends and will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great live jazz with Rose Mallett!! This was my second time at The Purple Room and the experience was equally as nice as the first.

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Rose Mannett makes it the best option.... really the only option for any Tuesday evening out in Palm Springs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great entertainment! The food and service is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were pleasantly greeted at the front and seated immediately. Our waiter, John, provided excellent service and recommendations when asked. The live music was great, and the ambience inside was very fun. We would also highly recommend the Happy Hour as a great bargain with some good food choices. Highly recommended, and we will be back. Thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was good and the entertainment was great. Lots of fun.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was mediocre except for peach burrata salad which was excellent. Music was SO LOUD it spoiled evening

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Exceptional food and music. A perfect supper club atmosphere. The jazz singer was personable and talented. The food was delicious. We were in town for Dine Palm Springs Restaurant Week. Very impressed! We will be back next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

During our vacation to Palm Desert, my husband and I, found a gem called "The Purple Room." The food was delicious, the entertainment was great, and the service was professional. We enjoyed our visit to the "The Purple Room."

The only negative was limited parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Cool music by Rose Mallett and great food made a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 1, 2017

5 of us went for girls night, We had so much fun! The music was great and the entertainer interacted with the audience which made it a more personal experience. The food was very very good and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The quality of the food, the uniqueness of the entertainment, and the attentiveness of the servers were all elements of a superb experience. If you're up for something different, we would recommend the Purple Room at Club Trinidad. It made our 40th. anniversary celebration a fantastic and memorable event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.