About The Purple Room

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Jenn Town, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Purple Room, Palm Springs, CA
The Purple Room, Palm Springs, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy Holiday Jazz with the Mark Kahny Combo paired with Chef Jennifer Town's award winning menu (including her famous Pumpkin Cheesecake with Rum Carmel Sauce) and our delicious Prime Rib Special!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas with Chef Jennifer Town's award winning menu as well as our famous Prime Rib special, all accompanied by the Mark Kahny Jazz Combo swinging holiday favorites!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Three great seatings!
5:00 seating - three course dinner with the Mark Kahny Jazz Trio. 7:30 seating - three course dinner with the Mark Kahny Jazz Trio. 10:00 seating - Three course dinner with complimentary wine, Midnight champagne toast, party favors & the Amazing Sharon Sills and her band!

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Live Music (26)
Special Occasion (19)
Fun (18)
See All
Historic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Dancing (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there as a party of six to see S ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

We were there as a party of six to see Sharon Sills Such a fantastic entertainer. One of our friends got up on stage and did a go go dance beside the sax player. How much fun!! Didn't faze Sharon or the rest of the band and we all just had a fab time. Bigger area to dance is apparently needed! Lol

Everyone with the exception of one person had prime rib and it was delish!

Staff is very accommodating!

We will be back and introduce more friends to this great spot

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The cocktails wer ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was great. The cocktails were great. The entertainment was GREAT. The history of the place is incredible. The food was "pretty good". The short ribs were bland and under-seasoned. The carrots were awfully over-cooked. The pork tenderloins were excellent. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back. Just wish the food would take that "next step" up. Thanks for a great time.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We did make our reservation. Not sure wh ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We did make our reservation. Not sure why we weren't checked in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dreadful food, colorful experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dreadful food, colorful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Really enjoyed the evening. Great music ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening. Great music , food was delicious.

Everyone in the room relaxed and being together.

Definitely will go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just like it is designed .. yesterdays e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Just like it is designed .. yesterdays elegant service at todays reasonable price. Entertainment is out of the ballpark good!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific singer; great prime rib etc. Ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Terrific singer; great prime rib etc. Excellent value. Very special!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Historic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely developed menu with great comfort ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Nicely developed menu with great comfort options and appetizers. Small plate tasting options.

The prawn cocktail is amazing with huge prawns and a great chunky sauce. Chilean sea bass was perfectly cooked and flaky with carrot purée and basil oil. Impressive wine list especially some notable California wines by the glass. Always a fun especially with Michael Holmes entertaining on stage or working the room with his charm.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Historic, Dancing, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I could rate higher, I would. Fantas ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

If I could rate higher, I would. Fantastic food, service, venue and entertainment. What more can one say!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Everything Wonderful. People, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful! Everything Wonderful. People, food, ambiance,entertainment.

What else can I say!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a birthday and wanted ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went to celebrate a birthday and wanted to listen to music. Entertainment was great and had a fun time food was okay and on the expensive side but considering that there was no cover charge for the entertainment, we felt it was worth it. Would go again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Purple Room is a place I return to a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Purple Room is a place I return to again and again. The food is great, service is excellent at the bar and in the dining room, and the music -- whether lounge music or ticketed show -- is always of the highest caliber. Kudos to Michael Holmes for creating a real cabaret showroom in Palm Springs and for paying attention to every detail.

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic setting, one of a kind res ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very romantic setting, one of a kind restaurant. I can't wait to come back again!! Thank you to the jazz group, our server, and the host, you made the night memorable. <3

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for dinner and live entertain ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went there for dinner and live entertainment. The meal was truly amazing , our server John is probably one of the best servers I have ever experienced. I rate restaurants for Trip Advisor and now glad I found you. The entertainment that night was Sharon Stokes, a true performer is the true sense. She was amazing. The whole evening was a complete success

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time seeing Sharon Sills- she is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Second time seeing Sharon Sills- she is fabulous!! Fun & talented and we will be back and bring friends. The food was excellent also- love the prime ribs and everything else. Wine list relatively reasonable for a club of this type.. We had a wonderful evening- thanks!! Server John is terrific too!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again it was a great night. The ent ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Once again it was a great night. The entertainment is always good and fun, service great and owner and managers walk around and talk to guests making you feel at home. Food is good and the Chocolate drop desert which three days later still trying work off is worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, the Risotto was the best. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great Food, the Risotto was the best. Also, the halibut was prepared well with a good proportion of vegetables. Good entertainment with a trio, but if one is looking for conversation, it might be a little hard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Aaron was a great server! Loved the mus ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Aaron was a great server! Loved the music & retro vibe.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food great entertainment !

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good food great entertainment !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night. Great food, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

What a great night. Great food, great entertainment, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Purple Room and loved ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 20, 2016

First time at the Purple Room and loved it! We had family from Minnesota/Wisconsin with us and it was their first time to Palm Springs. Absolutely loved the experience!!

Our waiter was terrific, the food was fabulous and the music couldn't have been better if we'd

been in Vegas. We will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Great food, ambience, enterta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Loved it! Great food, ambience, entertainment and service.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, great service. Loved our ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great dinner, great service. Loved our dinner choices. Our waiter was outstanding.

The live music and show was very fun, but not loud(where we sat).

Love the history and stories that go along with this historic and celebrated venue.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the restaurant. Food was wonderfu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Loved the restaurant. Food was wonderful and there service was great! Loved the Jazz music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a little gem. We came to celeb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was a little gem. We came to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary on a Tuesday. Sharon Sills was singing - great voice! Our service was excellent ( thanks, John!). The food was delicious: starters were house salad, Caesar salad and burrata Panna cotta - all good; two had prime rib -they said it was done just right, I had veggie risotto -very good (though a little too salty). Bananas foster bread pudding for dessert- very good. It wasn't too crowded at 8 when we arrived. There were a few large parties and a few couples, all in a festive mood. A memorable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This singe second time my friend and Inh ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This singe second time my friend and Inhave eaten at the purple Room. Both times were very enjoyable. We love the food, service and ambianance and will definitely be returning. We feel so lucky to have a restaurant of this caliber in our neighborhood,

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun entertainments. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fun entertainments. Food was excellent. Our table ordered pork tenderloin & skirt steak. Meat was tender & tasty. Came with sides. Good value. Good wine too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Another wonderful evening at the Purple ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Another wonderful evening at the Purple Room! Food, cocktails and of course, on a Wednesday night, the Michael Holmes Trio. What a beautiful voice and such talented musicians. A must go to in the desert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sharon Sills is a fantastic singer and e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Sharon Sills is a fantastic singer and entertainer, as are all the entertainment at The Purple Room. Our waiter, John, was professional, friendly, attentive...Love the Purple Room, it's an iconic gem in Palm Springs!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

portions small prices a little high but ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2016

portions small prices a little high but you have to factor in the entertainment ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for my wife's birthday. Food was s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. Food was superb and the show put on by Michael and his band was terrific. What a fun time! My wife was made to feel truly special. Thank you Michael for a truly outstanding evening!

Marty and Andy from Chicago

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best! Food and service are outstandi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best! Food and service are outstanding! Old school Palm Springs vibe as always!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. Entertainment was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had a great time. Entertainment was audience inclusive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Purple Room it is my go to plac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love the Purple Room it is my go to place. I love bring friends, family, and clients to the Purple Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic entertainment and good food an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic entertainment and good food and reasonable prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, food and drinks were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent service, food and drinks were delicious, live music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live music brought us there and was grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Live music brought us there and was great.Shrimp and Mahi Mahi were well prepared. Creative cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was expecting to be seated at a table ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I was expecting to be seated at a table as I had made a reservation. The hostess insisted on seating me at the bar when there was a small table available which I did not notice on arrival. I do not like eating at the bar because it is too busy at that time and too cramped. The prime rib special is a good value and is prepared very well. We often celebrate birthdays there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was a little slow but the wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was a little slow but the waiter was very friendly. My portion of sea bass was incredibly small considering the price, but it was tasty. The free entertainment was enjoyable (trio).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A true night club in Palm Springs with t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 15, 2016

A true night club in Palm Springs with the history and romance of the infamous ratpack. The food is great, due to the talent of the Purple Rooms chef, Jennifer. The night we were there, Rose sang. She and David on piano are consummate entertainers. This place has style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.