About The Purple Room

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Purple Room Supper Club is a fun, intimate, friendly place where the locals hangout. A destination for foodies and music lovers alike. Owner Michael Holmes, award-winning entertainer, brings you a mix of live music ranging from the best local bands to world renowned artists in a wide variety of performance genres. Chef Jennifer Town creates a fun and creative California menu.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table. Live music is complimentary most weeknights. Special events and dinner show prices vary. The Purple Room…It’s Where Palm Springs Plays.

See you soon,
Michael

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Romantic (6)
Live Music (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sharon Sills is a fantastic singer and e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Sharon Sills is a fantastic singer and entertainer, as are all the entertainment at The Purple Room. Our waiter, John, was professional, friendly, attentive...Love the Purple Room, it's an iconic gem in Palm Springs!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

portions small prices a little high but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

portions small prices a little high but you have to factor in the entertainment ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for my wife's birthday. Food was s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. Food was superb and the show put on by Michael and his band was terrific. What a fun time! My wife was made to feel truly special. Thank you Michael for a truly outstanding evening!

Marty and Andy from Chicago

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best! Food and service are outstandi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The best! Food and service are outstanding! Old school Palm Springs vibe as always!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. Entertainment was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had a great time. Entertainment was audience inclusive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Purple Room it is my go to plac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love the Purple Room it is my go to place. I love bring friends, family, and clients to the Purple Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic entertainment and good food an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic entertainment and good food and reasonable prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, food and drinks were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent service, food and drinks were delicious, live music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live music brought us there and was grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Live music brought us there and was great.Shrimp and Mahi Mahi were well prepared. Creative cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was expecting to be seated at a table ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I was expecting to be seated at a table as I had made a reservation. The hostess insisted on seating me at the bar when there was a small table available which I did not notice on arrival. I do not like eating at the bar because it is too busy at that time and too cramped. The prime rib special is a good value and is prepared very well. We often celebrate birthdays there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was a little slow but the wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was a little slow but the waiter was very friendly. My portion of sea bass was incredibly small considering the price, but it was tasty. The free entertainment was enjoyable (trio).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A true night club in Palm Springs with t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A true night club in Palm Springs with the history and romance of the infamous ratpack. The food is great, due to the talent of the Purple Rooms chef, Jennifer. The night we were there, Rose sang. She and David on piano are consummate entertainers. This place has style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected surprise

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Whatasurprisetofindalocalrestaurantwithgoodfoodandserviceandlocalente

r raimentthatisa10

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Special and unique

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a very special place with a unique vibe that takes you back to the 50s and 60s supper club days. We has excellent food, wonderful service and great musical entertainment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertainment

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The thursdsy night entertainment was fabulous. Sharon Sills has a great voice and band as well as incredible stage presence. Will definitely go again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple "Magic"

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I've been going to the Purple Room for a few years and always rave about it. This year I found out there is a new owner...but....that made it even better because the owner is one of the talent, Michael, and he is WONDERFUL..... not only as a performer, but his passion for the restaurant make him the ideal owner. The chef remained the same and thus so has the superb quality of food.... as well as the cocktails.... I highly recommend the "Dean Martin" and for an appetizer, the crab cake is perfection.

Go for the food.... stay for the entertainment ... and enJOY !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Place was great. Great food, prices wer ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Place was great. Great food, prices were very reasonable. Good cocktails. Good entertainment. Would definitely go back next time I was in town.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great at the Purple Room ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was great at the Purple Room except there were a few people in the audience while the singer was singing that were very annoying and very very loud. Its one thing to show admiration for an entertainer and another thing to make yourself very loud and obnoxious. There were no other tables for us to be seated at.

Also in general the entertainment itself (the singer) was too loud. The purple room is definitely not a place for romance or where you can converse at dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Fun, fun, fun!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great entertainment, nostalgic music, and a very good chef.

All of us had such a great time. We left with big smiles on our faces.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thursday nights rock!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great entertainment as always, but Thursday nights are special. Food mostly good. One of the diners did not care for the Crab Cakes. I didn't like the Chilean Sea Bass. (Very flavorless) Short Ribs are still awesome though as was the Jumbo Shrimp and the Pasta Dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful evening with friends!!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Husband and I went for evening together...service and food wonderful...Rose was MOST entertaining as jazz vocalist ...just simply had a wonderful time...live here and try to get to Purple Room as often as we can...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and music

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Outstanding food and music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a ball! Went with 7 girlfriends, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a ball! Went with 7 girlfriends, we sang, laughed ate and drank. What could be better..??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for the music primarily and we love ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Went for the music primarily and we loved it, the food was good not great.....but again not our primary reason for going!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

An awesome find for us!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

An awesome find for us! We chased the sun to Palm Springs, spent the day at a pool, and capped the evening with a great night at The Purple Room. The music swept and carried us back in time. Our meals filled and delighted our senses! Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Number One Spot In Palm Springs!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This restaurant/ cabaret is run by the best small restaurant group in Palm Springs: the chef is well known and awarded, the food always fresh and the atmosphere lively. We live in town and enjoy many nights out here, either as a couple or in a group, and always bring our out of town guests to show off our town. The entertainment varies; something for everyone depending on the night and time. Great bar scene, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum food. Fab entertainment. Reasonably ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Yum food. Fab entertainment. Reasonably priced. Highly recommend👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good but noise level of pe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was very good but noise level of people not there for the show made it difficult to hear and enjoy the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Fun & lively with good food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We went for the entertainment and decided to have dinner there. The food was good, the waiter was attentive. There was a bit of a delay in seating even with a reservation and then they took us to the wrong table. It was sorted out quickly and our group of 6 had a very good time. The Purple Room has to be on your to do list when in the Palm Springs area. If you haven't been yet, you need to go and experience the atmosphere, entertainment, food & drink....!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Sharon Sills was pe ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We had a great time. Sharon Sills was performing. She's so fantastic! Seats were good. Thursday was prime rib night. That was yummy.

Only thing I would change is to see a dance floor there once again.

Hosts at the door are really occomodating!! Well done!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good not great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Went here on a Tuesday. Fellow at front desk extremely nice. We. Had Manhattans which were great! We were given a nice table. Daniel was a great server. My husband liked his pasta with shrimp and lobster. I had sea bass . It was a little bland. Nice piece of fish. Rose sang well. Went to tables to talk to everyone but missed ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our night out

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We've gone to the Purple Room several times. Each time has been a wonderful experience, great service, food great and enjoyed the lounge singer / entertainment. A must for visitors and us locals alike.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Turn back time and enjoy a supper club atmosphere

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Decent food and wonderful wait staff. Had a great evening!! Got 2 shows, happy hour piano and then jazz/pop singer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple Room is my go to place.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Love the Purple Room. It is my favorite place to take out of town friends and clients. Everything is top notch from the food to the entertainment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Place but...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Just a warning to all. If you book for the show or have any other comments, questions or concerns, they are impossible to reach unless you personally come into the restaurant. We tried to update a reservation to combine tables for a show and while both parties left messages, they went unresponded to and when we arrived, they had to scramble to give us one table for 4 instead of 2 tables for 2 (and we were put towards the back of the room).

I had another recent experience where they accepted my money when purchasing the tickets for The Judy Show, but failed to warn me that only bar seats were available.

It's very sad that the place is very wonderful once you get there, but so unorganized outside of that. At the very least, if there was a way to talk to a person over the phone, that would be a great start!

As for the servers, go with John w/ the goatee as he is fun and personable and really adds to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Entertaining

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Unique and friendly. Appreciated the ease of reservation process. Food was well prepared and timely. Entertainment was just the right touch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Music night

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Love seeing Kal David here! Fun Palm Springs night club feel.

Great wait staff! Wonderful food! Highly recommend....

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about The Purple Room is a pl ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Everything about The Purple Room is a pleasure. A wonderful experience that makes going out fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodie Tuesday

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Third time going to a Foodie Tuesday. The food was Italian. It was okay, not fantastic (as were the other two times). But the wine pairings were great and Rose Mallett, the singer every Tuesday night, is terrific. Definitely a nice venue with interesting entertainers. We are regulars!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

What a wonderful night of food and fun!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

We heard the purple room was a fun exciting place to go to hear music with wonderful food ( not often found together in one place ). Well, the reports were true! We had the special prime rib on Thursday, the jumbo shrimp cocktail, charcuterie and crabcakes To start. We ended with the salted caramel chocolate tart, with wonderful cocktails in between. Sharon Sills was The singer and could not have been any better.

All in all, a wonderful night, a great value and we will recommend to all of our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.