About The Purple Room

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Jenn Town, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (57)
Fun (45)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Historic (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (17)
People Watching (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Dancing (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Go on Thursday and see Sharon. It's a must - lots of fun and food is good. Great cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food and a lot of fun. The atmosphere is campy and wonderful and the live music is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our third visit to Purple Room, but first on Wednesday night when Michael Holmes and his jazz combo performed. Great food, great entertainment. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

John was our attentive server--did not rush us at all. Food was delicious and plentiful, prices were what you'd expect for a supper club with live entertainment. I'd go again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Super fun!:) great atmosphere, amazing service quick, friendly, and reasonable pricing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Love The Purple Room! Ambiance is fun, live music (and/or show) is terrific. Food solid.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at the Purple room. The entertainment was great and we had a great meal. We did the date night which offered choices for the various courses and it was not inexpensive but it was well worth it. Our waiter seemed to magically appear at just the right times and although the place was packed full our service was good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food, ambiance and entertainment are great. The set price menu on Wednesday night is excellent. Good tasting and good value. Would definitely go again

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Even though my husband and I enjoyed the restaurant for the most part, I was VERY disappointed with where we were seated. We are in Palm Desert on vacation and after reading that the Purple Room has live entertainment, I knew we must go. I made a reservation days prior to our dining. When we arrived we were seated at a table at the end of the stage. I could only see half of the stage, even though I could hear the entertainment, I couldn't see it. I didn't say anything when seated assuming all tables were reserved. But as the night went on, I noticed at least 4 tables for 2 that did not have anyone sitting there that had great views of the stage. 2 of the 4 tables became occupied just as we were leaving. I don't think the table where we sat should even be there as it has a horrible view.

We did have a great waiter and Wednesday nights have a very good special menu that is fairly inexpensive. However, the main reason for going was for the experience of dining with live music. Therefore, due to the fact that our table prohibited me from really enjoying the show, I probably wouldn't go again, but would tell others to give it a try, not everyone can be seated at this bad table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

So much fun!

Hey nothing not to like. The food is good, not extraordinary. It is all about the music and shows. I love taking people here for a taste of PS, albeit a bit touristy, still worth an evening.

We had an adorable waiter and I am just sorry I can't recall how name. Very gracious, very tall, and treated us well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Purple Room is a groove and the best night club atmosphere in Palm Springs. Owner Michael Holmes greets his guests at the door or on stage with that million dollar smile. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food is excellent and is served with a beautiful presentation. Entertainment at The Purple room is top shelf. The players are seasoned and every show is new, and exciting with good energy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day special menu with sparkling wine, a great jazz singer, just lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for a throw-back night of jazzy entertainment. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great time with my wife, celebrating Valentine's Day. Everything was amazing.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Two of us went to the Purple Room for Valentine's Day dinner while vacationing in Palm springs. I made the reservation before leaving on our trip and chose this venue as I was looking for a supper club evening, rather than just dinner. The Purple Room did not disappoint. It is an historic location that is staying true to its roots. We were greeted warmly and shown to a table near the stage. Dinner for this day was a prix fixe 3 course meal with a wide variety of selections. The food was excellent and Aaron, our server, was attentive and pleasant. The entertainment was quite enjoyable and exactly what I was looking for. Noise from the bar was a bit loud until the main entertainment began, but not too bad, considering how small this venue is. I would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was there for Valentine's Day with friends from out of town. The fixed price menu was varied and the food was delicious. Singer Pallett made the evening more enchanting with her singing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

great place with daily entertainment....sharon sills is a very special treat on thursdays along with the prime rib special....

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Live Music, Fun, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great fun. Fabulous music. Very good food. Javier was not excellent waiter. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great jazz venue. Friendly and accommodating staff. Decent food and good value. Entertainment was top notch thanks to the proprietor. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This place is outstanding! The food & drinks are excellent . The entertainment is fabulous. What more could you want for a night out?

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Dancing, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went to the Purple Room on Date night. The room is a cosy nightclub with a horseshoe bar in the center . There is not a bad seat in the house,the food was great and service was great,a must do if in the area...reservations are a must..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We just love the Purple Room, always a great evening, and the food is outstanding

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

After years of visiting Palm Springs several times a year we tried the Purple Room. Wish we had visited sooner, a real gem. Intimate, fun, original, cozy, charming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Dancing, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Michael Holmes' Purple Room is simply the best place to go, to eat and to be entertained in Palm Springs!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Dancing, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great experience. Music was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sharon Sills was amazing-Sass-Fab

Atmosphere great

Food pretty good

Service was good

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I looked forward to taking a friend from out of town to this iconic restaurant. We enjoyed the experience - especially the music. But the service and food were another thing. They were clearly understaffed. I knew both the waiter and asst. waiter and they're great servers. But that night they were running around like headless chickens. It took 15 minutes to order drinks, and then they came out with the appetizer. Way too hurry up and wait - and then rush. The food portions were disappointing for the price point. In spite of that, the food was very good.

In the end, it's service, service, service. They clearly need to staff up on a popular night like the jazz trio night. We enjoyed the evening, but there were clearly areas that need improvement.

Tags: Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Terrific Food and Service. The Entertainment is Outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A fun "throw back" experience where the atmosphere and clientele are out of the 60-70's and the food is creatively "today." Worth a visit!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved the lounge singer, the cozy atmosphere and the service and food was wonderful! We really enjoyed our dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

fabulous old-style supper club in a modern tradition.....michael holms has a wonderful venue...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Dinner at the Purple Room Thursday night (Jan 19/17) was wonderful due to the exemplary and very attentive service provided by Javier. He circled by the table and anticipated our every need. He was very friendly and made us us feel very welcome and taken care of. He made our evening very enjoyable. Thank you Javier!! Sharon Sills' entertainment was also wonderful. Only suggestion to others is book early....we were along the back wall and a table closer to the stage would have allowed us to hear the music a bit better. Had such a good time that we booked for next Thursday on our way out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My second time there. I had the same entree, the lobster was smaller and not as succulent in the lobster shrimp linguini. Still very good. But the crab cakes were still outstanding, the salad was excellent and my friends salmon was perfect. The jazz singer, Rose Mallett was GREAT!

I'll be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great place- delicious food, wonderful service - excellent entertainment - warm and friendly atmosphere

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Classic supper club with a long history. The judy garland show is really fun and band backing up singers is great.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Complete and very pleasant surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Love Sharon Sills/ come often for the entertainment and prime ribs....

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 13, 2017

michael holms has done a great job with the purple room....under previous ownership it was noisy, loud, horrible music....but now, it is just right....and of course i go there mainly to hear and see sharon....she is fabulous, sine qua non!.....and, oh, chef jennifer's prime rib tursday is really special....excellent waiters, especially aaron....

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

While visiting Palm Springs, we had to go to the Purple Room to see what it was all about. From the moment we were greeted at the door, we felt very comfortable and confident of our choice. Everyone was very friendly, attentive, and professional. The service was good, the food delicious, and the entertainment was fantastic. We had the privilege of enjoying the Michael Holmes Trio and a woman who joined them on stage for some of the songs (sorry, I forgot her name, but she was great!). We had a wonderful evening and I even got my husband to stay until the end of the show! A must see when in Palm Springs..

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Nice menu. Great food. Mark Kahny on the piano was delightful and he had a very pleasing voice. Daniel the manager made the rounds to the tables and was pleasant and professional. Will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Entertainment was enjoyable. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food and such a great throw back in time! One of our all time favorites from coast to coast!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The Purple Room was a treat and the service outstanding. Daniel really hooked us up with a great table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a great time. Service was superb, food was better than we expected and the show was really good. It was a fun evening we will do again...everyone seemed to truly enjoy themsrlves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Music was good- they had a guest singer that was excellent. Food was inedible. Stick with the bar and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server - Ryan- was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu. Meal was superb. Music was excellent. High end menu but worth the price. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been to the Purple Room twice already and will keep coming back. Wonderful entertainment, great food, super atmosphere for a get together with friends and to experience authentic Palm Springs!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best NYE I've ever had! Great food, incredible live entertainment, excellent wine selections, generous pours for cocktails , etc. I love this place and will come back over and over!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful place to run in 2017. Sharon Sills was WONDERFUL even though battling a sore throat. Had great time and will be back again. Great job on servicing a large crown efficiently. Meal was great and prepared to order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE dinner. We felt like we were herded into the restaurant, through the ordering process and throughout the meal. Could not see the stage from our table which was the whole point of choosing that venue. They have screens but to say that's comparable is ridiculous. Host was completely uninterested in an attempt to seat elsewhere and rushed off to herd the next group. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. Food was ok. Expensive price for an evening that did not go as expected. We will try again on a night that is not as crazy as NYE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.