Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Purple Room

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Jenn Town, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (54)
Fun (46)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Historic (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Authentic (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Romantic (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
People Watching (16)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Casual (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Dancing (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Lots of fun! Really good food and great entertainment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

The Purple Room is a wonderful place to be if you love good food, great service and the experience of a supper club from the late 50's/early 60's. We are from Ohio and we make the Purple Room our number one priority whenever we come to Palm Springs. The food is great, but more importantly the music is fantastic!! We love this place and we hope it is open for a long, long time.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time- the music was fun and the food was really tasty! Loved the date night menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

First time at the Purple room for date night - food was very good but combined with the entertainment it was a great and fun evening ! and great value with the date night special ...loved it !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I had read about the purple room so look it up and made reservations It did not disappoint We were there on a Tuesday night and it was full. Loved the music. The waiter was very helpful and everyone at the table enjoy their food I would definitely go back

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I (50+) had a great 1st visit to the Purple Room! Our waiter, Leslie, was friendly and attentive, answering our questions with knowledge and enthusiasm. Live trio with singer was a lot of fun! Will definitely return next year when we visit Palm Springs again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I had one of our best nights at the Purple Room. Actually it had to be our best Wednesday night ever. Live music great food abd comedy. We were there celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary. Would love to visit the Purple Room on a Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Crrowed, even with reservations on Open Table, sat us behind a pillar, couldn't see the stage. Old crowd,not necessarily a bad thing but the live entertainment was geared to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wow! From the minute you walk in the Purple Room you're taken back to a long gone era! The food was outstanding, service excellent and the live entertainment was off the charts. Such a fun place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We enjoyed an evening of great food and the fabulous entertainment of Rose Mallet.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fantastic entertainment, food and service. Don't miss this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have been coming to the Palm Springs area for over 20 years. For some reason, we had never really heard about the Purple Room until last year when friends of ours from Irvine suggested that we try it. We saved our visit for our last night and brought our neighbors from "back home". We all had a wonderful evening. The music was incredible and although we sat close to the stage, it was not overly loud. The food was also very good and our server John was very attentive. We will definitely make this one of the places we come to every year when we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Enjoyed it very much. Recommend it if you enjoy live music and entertainment.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and entertainment very enjoyable. Large and boistrous table in front of us hampered our being able to hear Rose Mallet. What can you you do? People have to live.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Was a nice evening with some jazz and good eats, however wasn't pleased about my reservation "disappearing" prior to my arrival, despite the confirmation i received......

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Go on Thursday and see Sharon. It's a must - lots of fun and food is good. Great cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Very good food and a lot of fun. The atmosphere is campy and wonderful and the live music is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our third visit to Purple Room, but first on Wednesday night when Michael Holmes and his jazz combo performed. Great food, great entertainment. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great time and a true Palm Springs hepcat experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 22, 2017

John was our attentive server--did not rush us at all. Food was delicious and plentiful, prices were what you'd expect for a supper club with live entertainment. I'd go again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Super fun!:) great atmosphere, amazing service quick, friendly, and reasonable pricing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Love The Purple Room! Ambiance is fun, live music (and/or show) is terrific. Food solid.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at the Purple room. The entertainment was great and we had a great meal. We did the date night which offered choices for the various courses and it was not inexpensive but it was well worth it. Our waiter seemed to magically appear at just the right times and although the place was packed full our service was good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food, ambiance and entertainment are great. The set price menu on Wednesday night is excellent. Good tasting and good value. Would definitely go again

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Even though my husband and I enjoyed the restaurant for the most part, I was VERY disappointed with where we were seated. We are in Palm Desert on vacation and after reading that the Purple Room has live entertainment, I knew we must go. I made a reservation days prior to our dining. When we arrived we were seated at a table at the end of the stage. I could only see half of the stage, even though I could hear the entertainment, I couldn't see it. I didn't say anything when seated assuming all tables were reserved. But as the night went on, I noticed at least 4 tables for 2 that did not have anyone sitting there that had great views of the stage. 2 of the 4 tables became occupied just as we were leaving. I don't think the table where we sat should even be there as it has a horrible view.
We did have a great waiter and Wednesday nights have a very good special menu that is fairly inexpensive. However, the main reason for going was for the experience of dining with live music. Therefore, due to the fact that our table prohibited me from really enjoying the show, I probably wouldn't go again, but would tell others to give it a try, not everyone can be seated at this bad table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

So much fun!
Hey nothing not to like. The food is good, not extraordinary. It is all about the music and shows. I love taking people here for a taste of PS, albeit a bit touristy, still worth an evening.
We had an adorable waiter and I am just sorry I can't recall how name. Very gracious, very tall, and treated us well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Purple Room is a groove and the best night club atmosphere in Palm Springs. Owner Michael Holmes greets his guests at the door or on stage with that million dollar smile. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food is excellent and is served with a beautiful presentation. Entertainment at The Purple room is top shelf. The players are seasoned and every show is new, and exciting with good energy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day special menu with sparkling wine, a great jazz singer, just lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for a throw-back night of jazzy entertainment. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great time with my wife, celebrating Valentine's Day. Everything was amazing.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Two of us went to the Purple Room for Valentine's Day dinner while vacationing in Palm springs. I made the reservation before leaving on our trip and chose this venue as I was looking for a supper club evening, rather than just dinner. The Purple Room did not disappoint. It is an historic location that is staying true to its roots. We were greeted warmly and shown to a table near the stage. Dinner for this day was a prix fixe 3 course meal with a wide variety of selections. The food was excellent and Aaron, our server, was attentive and pleasant. The entertainment was quite enjoyable and exactly what I was looking for. Noise from the bar was a bit loud until the main entertainment began, but not too bad, considering how small this venue is. I would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was there for Valentine's Day with friends from out of town. The fixed price menu was varied and the food was delicious. Singer Pallett made the evening more enchanting with her singing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

great place with daily entertainment....sharon sills is a very special treat on thursdays along with the prime rib special....

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Live Music, Fun, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great fun. Fabulous music. Very good food. Javier was not excellent waiter. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great jazz venue. Friendly and accommodating staff. Decent food and good value. Entertainment was top notch thanks to the proprietor. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This place is outstanding! The food & drinks are excellent . The entertainment is fabulous. What more could you want for a night out?

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Dancing, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went to the Purple Room on Date night. The room is a cosy nightclub with a horseshoe bar in the center . There is not a bad seat in the house,the food was great and service was great,a must do if in the area...reservations are a must..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We just love the Purple Room, always a great evening, and the food is outstanding

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

After years of visiting Palm Springs several times a year we tried the Purple Room. Wish we had visited sooner, a real gem. Intimate, fun, original, cozy, charming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Dancing, Special Occasion, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Michael Holmes' Purple Room is simply the best place to go, to eat and to be entertained in Palm Springs!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Dancing, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.