Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Purple Room

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Jenn Town, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (45)
Fun (40)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Historic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Dancing (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations to see Sharon Sills after catching her the previous Sunday afternoon at Melvyn's. Very entertaining, enjoyed the old standards. She's a cross between Mar West & Bette Middler. We told our neighbors about our experience and they visited the following evening with some friends.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Definitely got to go to hear Rose Mallett sing on Tuesdays!!! Drinks were spot on. Food is good except for the entree I had that night. Just a poor choice on my part. Don't plan on this venue if you want a night of quiet conversation. Not the appropriate place for kids.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I don't think I would ever come to Palm Springs again without including this place in my must dine at list. Everything was awesome and beyond friendly. Loved it and so did my guests!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This place has it all - good food and great music! Everyone from the host, the servers, even the band are friendly - each taking time to stop by your table to chat and make sure your having the best time. I had the crab salad and the halibut - both were excellent. It's not very big which gives it a very intimate setting. Absolutely good value.

Tags: Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed DATE NIGHT out with the noted Purple Room menu and entertainment. A terrific evening with adult beverages, tasty food and lively music and mischief. We had a blast.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

very good for and the service was excellent, as it always is with Eric. I must say though, there wines are very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food, great entertainment, attentive service from our waiter, John. Lively atmosphere. A lot of fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wanted to showcase Palm Springs dining and entertainment for friends visiting . Decided The Purple Room was the best choice because of several very successful evenings in the past. We were not dissapointed.....great menu and chef, fabulous service in a true small supper club atmosphere. The entertainment and music very professional and lasted over 2 hours! Great value. Book early....they are a busy establishment.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always a great experience...service is great, food is delicious and always the best in entertainment...my favorite place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was great. Entertainment was fantastic. Staff was very friendly. Great value. If you love jazz and the blues, cannot have a better evening then going to the Purple Room!

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 19, 2017

as always great food and wonderful entertainment Tuesday thanks to Rose Mallett

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It's a great place to eat, entertainment was great. Service was great. Met up with friends there. It wasn't so loud that we couldn't chat. Very friendly atmosphere. The lady singing even came to our table and chatted with us

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Purple Room was fine for what we wanted- a dark booth and some cocktails. So we expected-a bit shabby, a bit older crowd and that's what we got. The band was fun and too loud for us to have any conversation whatsoever. But that's what we wanted and that's what we got.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful!
The Purple Room was a perfect surprise for my husband.
Had a great time.
Food was phenomenal. Service was superb.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome old school feel and the food was above expectations.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Purple Room live music was great on a recent Thursday night. Our dinner was very good but the one entree arrived cold and had to be redone so I was done with my entree while my husband's scallops were delayed. I think this is a very nice place to have a good dinner while enjoying live music. Our waiter was excellent and apologized for the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The music review was fantastic and we enjoyed it. However it was loud so not a good spot for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Went here not so much for the show but the food.But the band was good and the jazz singer was funny and entertaining.Everyone seem really friendly.Even when some idiot was complaining at the bar within earshot the manager came over and apologized for the scene.Jidori Chicken was delish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Most enjoyable.......Great service from wait staff and front end staff.

A pleasant unique night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Took my family including teenage daughters. We all loved the dinner and entertainment! A fantastic twist to the normal dinner out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food, entertainment, service and overall atmosphere are first tier. Michael Holmes always makes us feel welcome and our experience on Tuesday was no exception.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I love the Purple Room. It is my favorite "go to" in Palm Springs. Every time we have company we make reservations for a full evening. It's also our favorite happy hour in town for "just us". The food is amazing, the service stellar. The entertainment is the best in town, and 3 nights a week with no cover for live music is perfect. We love the Judy Show as well and take guest whenever we can.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

All around wonderful- food and entertainment were outstanding. Rose Mallett-magnificent

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This is my second time at the Purple Room. I thought going early I would avoid the entertainment - but we hit happy hour and, being in season, it was extremely busy and so loud we could barely have a conversation without shouting! The food was very good but the noise level made it an unpleasant evening. I may return, off season, and give it another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Lots of fun! Really good food and great entertainment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The Purple Room is a wonderful place to be if you love good food, great service and the experience of a supper club from the late 50's/early 60's. We are from Ohio and we make the Purple Room our number one priority whenever we come to Palm Springs. The food is great, but more importantly the music is fantastic!! We love this place and we hope it is open for a long, long time.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a great time- the music was fun and the food was really tasty! Loved the date night menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 23, 2017

First time at the Purple room for date night - food was very good but combined with the entertainment it was a great and fun evening ! and great value with the date night special ...loved it !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I had read about the purple room so look it up and made reservations It did not disappoint We were there on a Tuesday night and it was full. Loved the music. The waiter was very helpful and everyone at the table enjoy their food I would definitely go back

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I (50+) had a great 1st visit to the Purple Room! Our waiter, Leslie, was friendly and attentive, answering our questions with knowledge and enthusiasm. Live trio with singer was a lot of fun! Will definitely return next year when we visit Palm Springs again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I had one of our best nights at the Purple Room. Actually it had to be our best Wednesday night ever. Live music great food abd comedy. We were there celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary. Would love to visit the Purple Room on a Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Crrowed, even with reservations on Open Table, sat us behind a pillar, couldn't see the stage. Old crowd,not necessarily a bad thing but the live entertainment was geared to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wow! From the minute you walk in the Purple Room you're taken back to a long gone era! The food was outstanding, service excellent and the live entertainment was off the charts. Such a fun place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We enjoyed an evening of great food and the fabulous entertainment of Rose Mallet.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fantastic entertainment, food and service. Don't miss this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have been coming to the Palm Springs area for over 20 years. For some reason, we had never really heard about the Purple Room until last year when friends of ours from Irvine suggested that we try it. We saved our visit for our last night and brought our neighbors from "back home". We all had a wonderful evening. The music was incredible and although we sat close to the stage, it was not overly loud. The food was also very good and our server John was very attentive. We will definitely make this one of the places we come to every year when we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Enjoyed it very much. Recommend it if you enjoy live music and entertainment.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and entertainment very enjoyable. Large and boistrous table in front of us hampered our being able to hear Rose Mallet. What can you you do? People have to live.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Was a nice evening with some jazz and good eats, however wasn't pleased about my reservation "disappearing" prior to my arrival, despite the confirmation i received......

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Go on Thursday and see Sharon. It's a must - lots of fun and food is good. Great cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.