About The Purple Room

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Jenn Town, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Purple Room, Palm Springs, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a night of romance and music! Luxurious three course dinner from award winning Chef Jennifer Town (including sparkling wine) and romantic music with Living Legend Jazz Hall of Fame Member, Rose Mallett and her trio, all in the intimate setting of Palm Spring's original Supper Club!$79

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (47)
Fun (37)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Historic (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
People Watching (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Dancing (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My second time there. I had the same ent ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

My second time there. I had the same entree, the lobster was smaller and not as succulent in the lobster shrimp linguini. Still very good. But the crab cakes were still outstanding, the salad was excellent and my friends salmon was perfect. The jazz singer, Rose Mallett was GREAT!

I'll be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place- delicious food, wonderful s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place- delicious food, wonderful service - excellent entertainment - warm and friendly atmosphere

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Complete and very pleasant surprise.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Complete and very pleasant surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic supper club with a long history. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Classic supper club with a long history. The judy garland show is really fun and band backing up singers is great.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Sharon Sills/ come often for the en ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Love Sharon Sills/ come often for the entertainment and prime ribs....

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

michael holms has done a great job with ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 13, 2017

michael holms has done a great job with the purple room....under previous ownership it was noisy, loud, horrible music....but now, it is just right....and of course i go there mainly to hear and see sharon....she is fabulous, sine qua non!.....and, oh, chef jennifer's prime rib tursday is really special....excellent waiters, especially aaron....

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice menu. Great food. Mark Kahny on the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Nice menu. Great food. Mark Kahny on the piano was delightful and he had a very pleasing voice. Daniel the manager made the rounds to the tables and was pleasant and professional. Will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertainment was enjoyable. Service wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Entertainment was enjoyable. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and such a great throw ba ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food and such a great throw back in time! One of our all time favorites from coast to coast!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Purple Room was a treat and the serv ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The Purple Room was a treat and the service outstanding. Daniel really hooked us up with a great table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Service was superb, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a great time. Service was superb, food was better than we expected and the show was really good. It was a fun evening we will do again...everyone seemed to truly enjoy themsrlves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Music was good- they had a guest singer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Music was good- they had a guest singer that was excellent. Food was inedible. Stick with the bar and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server - Ryan- was extremely pleasan ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server - Ryan- was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu. Meal was superb. Music was excellent. High end menu but worth the price. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to the Purple Room twice already an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been to the Purple Room twice already and will keep coming back. Wonderful entertainment, great food, super atmosphere for a get together with friends and to experience authentic Palm Springs!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best NYE I've ever had! Great food, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best NYE I've ever had! Great food, incredible live entertainment, excellent wine selections, generous pours for cocktails , etc. I love this place and will come back over and over!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to run in 2017. Sharon S ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful place to run in 2017. Sharon Sills was WONDERFUL even though battling a sore throat. Had great time and will be back again. Great job on servicing a large crown efficiently. Meal was great and prepared to order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE dinner. We felt like we were herded ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE dinner. We felt like we were herded into the restaurant, through the ordering process and throughout the meal. Could not see the stage from our table which was the whole point of choosing that venue. They have screens but to say that's comparable is ridiculous. Host was completely uninterested in an attempt to seat elsewhere and rushed off to herd the next group. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. Food was ok. Expensive price for an evening that did not go as expected. We will try again on a night that is not as crazy as NYE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a fantastic time on NYE with surpris ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a fantastic time on NYE with surprisingly good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always visit the Purple Room when in Pal ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always visit the Purple Room when in Palm Springs. Lots of fun, great music and entertainment

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at The Purple Room. Made an e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time at The Purple Room. Made an early reservation for the $39 Prix Fixe menu. Three courses plus a complimentary glass of prosecco. Cute decor. Really good live music. Attentive service. Outstanding meal for the price. Recommend the beef short rib and the Scottish salmon. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I can't say enough good things about the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I can't say enough good things about the Purple Room. We drove to Palm Springs for a romantic anniversary getaway and luckily booked a reservation for dinner here. Wow! They gave us a nice table for 2 that was very intimate. A very sweet little jazz trio and vocalist were playing. Service was just impeccable. i say that with several years of experience as a waiter and manager in Hawaii in high end dining. Spot on timing, good recommendations, very pleasant and attentive. The food was excellent with a special tip of my hat to the purple pear salad with the feta mousse. That really lit me up. A surprisingly good Tuscan pinot grigio at a very reasonable price was a true delight. I don't usually talk about wine cuz people have very different tastes but this was exceptional. A full palate adventure, each flavor recognizable, perfectly balanced, and smooth. Like the restaurant - doing a great job effortlessly. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great music.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The Purple Room proved to be a GREAT pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Purple Room proved to be a GREAT place for all of our friends to have an amazing Martini AND a great meal AND a great night of entertainment. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails, great food, great servi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great cocktails, great food, great service. The entertainment is usually very good. Rose Mallet and Charles Herrara are my favorites. The only times we've had a bad experience has been when they tried to seat and serve too many people on New Year's Eve and when famous stars are performing. On regular nights, it's a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the whole thing. The music was gre ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved the whole thing. The music was great, the service was great, and the food was excellent! Will be back there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A really fun venue for Christmas dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A really fun venue for Christmas dinner with great friends. We had a perfect table, not too close, not too far. The food was great and the service OUTSTANDING. I accidentally spilled a glass of wine and within moments, the wait crew had cleaned it and me and replaced the table cloth and the glass of wine, helping me feel not so bad about my clumsiness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very impressed by this little gem. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I was very impressed by this little gem. The 2 hosts at the front counter were truly divine. Jazz music was fabulous and the cocktails were also very good. Excellent service by all!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time listening to Christm ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a great time listening to Christmas jazz and enjoying the tasty food. Everything was quite yummy, and I'd gladly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Love Love

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love Love Love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time and happy hour is a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always a great time and happy hour is a great value.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Live Music, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the band and vocalist as well as ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyed the band and vocalist as well as the meal and will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Rose Mallett was excellent as was the re ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Rose Mallett was excellent as was the rest of the band. Food was delicious. It was a fun night. The service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Spicy, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding from our wai ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service was outstanding from our waiter, Ryan, and Rose and the band played some great sets. The lead singer, Rose, even approached us after her second to last set to thank us personally for coming out. Old fashioned supper clubs like this are awesome and make for a fun night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my friends 85th birthday. She was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was my friends 85th birthday. She was familiar with the Purple Room from when she was young. The entertainment was great! The food and service were a diss appointment. We will be back to enjoy the entertainment, but I doubt we will go back to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were guided there by on line review f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were guided there by on line review for the music and dining. The food and service were excellent and the entertainment, an impromptu combination of pianist Mark Kahny and the backup sax and drummer for the ill Sharon Sills, were fantastic. Intimate setting, not too loud, played requests. It was a memorable night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came across this place from the hotel w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Came across this place from the hotel w stayed at. They recommend it. It was the perfect spot for our date. Great music, friendly wait staff, good menu, fast service. Best night on the town.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Hot Spot, , Comfort Food, Live Music, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Larger Dance floor would be good. Got t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Larger Dance floor would be good. Got the feeling we needed to leave after dinner and one drink as bill was presented so quickly. The place was not full. Did have great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

When I clicked on the reservation reques ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 2, 2016

When I clicked on the reservation request, I didn't realize that it was for the following week, not that night. We arrived to find that we didn't have a reservation. The hosts were very nice and did a bit of juggling, and we ended up with a nice table. They couldn't have been nicer. Kudos to The Purple Room. I take full responsibility for the mix-up.

The menu offers a wide variety of dishes. I had the Jidori chicken which was very flavorful. Served with chard and mashed potatoes, it was a dish I'd definitely order again.

We split the charcuterie board as an appetizer and both decided that we'd probably skip it in the future.

The entertainment was fun; we saw Sharon Sills and she put on a great show. I'd definitely go back for her and to check out some of the other entertainment.

Our waiter was MIA for a good part of the evening which caused long delays in ordering; however, he was very friendly.

All in all, a really fun evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

We were there as a party of six to see S ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were there as a party of six to see Sharon Sills Such a fantastic entertainer. One of our friends got up on stage and did a go go dance beside the sax player. How much fun!! Didn't faze Sharon or the rest of the band and we all just had a fab time. Bigger area to dance is apparently needed! Lol

Everyone with the exception of one person had prime rib and it was delish!

Staff is very accommodating!

We will be back and introduce more friends to this great spot

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The cocktails wer ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The service was great. The cocktails were great. The entertainment was GREAT. The history of the place is incredible. The food was "pretty good". The short ribs were bland and under-seasoned. The carrots were awfully over-cooked. The pork tenderloins were excellent. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back. Just wish the food would take that "next step" up. Thanks for a great time.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.