Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Purple Room

The sophistication and glamour of the Rat Pack era comes alive at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room, the desert’s premier supper club. The Purple Room is where Frank, Sammy, Dean, and their pals cavorted on and off the stage in the swinging 60s.

Step in and you’ll be transported back to the elegance of the era: an intimate and inviting room, classic cocktails, world-class cuisine from award-winning chef Alen Badzak, and the best in live entertainment six nights a week. Hobnob with celebrities, locals, and visitors alike at Michael Holmes’ Purple Room — where Palm Springs plays!

Tuesday through Thursday enjoy acclaimed jazz entertainers from 6:30 to 9:30, No cover.

Friday through Sunday join us for dinner and a show (tickets required) featuring nationally-known entertainers.

The Purple Room has been voted #1 on TripAdvisor and one of the top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table.

1900 E. Palm Canyon Rd.
Palm Springs, CA 92264
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours
Tuesday - Sunday | 4 - 10pm
Monday | closed

3 Course Prix Fixe
Tuesday - Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday | Drinks All Night at Bar
Wednesday & Thursday | 4 - 6pm

Please note, only street parking is available

Cross Street:
S. Sunrise Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 322-4422

Website:
http://www.purpleroompalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday - Thursday 6:30 - 9:30 pm
Complimentary Live Entertainment

Friday & Saturday
Renowned International Performers, Ticketed, 7pm

Sundays a
The Judy Show, 7pm

Executive Chef:
Chef Jennifer Town

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Purple Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (15)
Fun (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed dinner and a wonderful show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

a fun place with real home-grown entertainment - had great seats at this intimate little stage - just a totally engaging place with real people - a throwback in time when the entertainers talked and interacted with the audience - had the "date special" which was three courses of very tasty, well presented food

which this place was closer (it's 1200 miles away) as we would be back and bringing others

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

First visit -and had live music on a Wednesday evening. Plan was to have a glass of wine and lite bites and catch live music beginning at 6:30. Great nostalgic supper club feel. Will certainly return.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous entertainment from Rose Mallett and her band / great food and service - a gem for a Tuesday night in Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Live music with Rose was great as usual. Food had to be sent back to kitchen. Difficult to get waiters attention. Water and cocktail glass empty waaay to long. Need to step up their dining experience because I'll go to Woodys to see entertainment for better food at half the price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary with a good meal and entertainment. The food, service and entertainment were very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service, food was good live music also very good no cover charge the night we went it was loud but that was from the entertainment. Had a great time would recommend to anyone who does not mind a loud bar and likes live entertainment

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have wanted to go here for s Long time. Far exceeded expectations. It was great. Singer was wonderful entertainer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 1, 2017

They have changed chefs this season and there are some changes to the menu. Everything we had was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the Jidori chicken - previously a deboned half chicken, now a deboned chicken breast stuffed with sun-dried tomatoes and other goodness, served atop a wonderful creamy mustard sauce, with sautéed spinach and a wonderful risotto. My friends both had the Thursday night prime rib special, and each serving came at the correct degree of doneness; I sampled it and found it to be tender and delicious. Music is always superb at the Purple Room. We were lucky to catch the phenomenal Keisha D in her club debut (she's there Thursdays through Sept. 2017). Fantastic show! Our waiter John was attentive and we felt well taken care of.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Great food, service, and entertainment! Will return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2017

great evening, would love to see some new menu options in the fall. There Thursday nights singer Sharon Sills was fantastic as always.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great live jazz with Rose Mallett!! This was my second time at The Purple Room and the experience was equally as nice as the first.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 20, 2017

One of our friends read about The Purple room and we were celebrating 2, 50th birthdays and a retirement so we took a chance and booked a reservation. We were pleasantly blessed and surprised by the whole experience. Rose and her band made the evening very memorable and the food was amazing. We will definitely recommend The Purple Room to our friends and will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Rose Mannett makes it the best option.... really the only option for any Tuesday evening out in Palm Springs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great entertainment! The food and service is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were pleasantly greeted at the front and seated immediately. Our waiter, John, provided excellent service and recommendations when asked. The live music was great, and the ambience inside was very fun. We would also highly recommend the Happy Hour as a great bargain with some good food choices. Highly recommended, and we will be back. Thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was good and the entertainment was great. Lots of fun.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was mediocre except for peach burrata salad which was excellent. Music was SO LOUD it spoiled evening

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Exceptional food and music. A perfect supper club atmosphere. The jazz singer was personable and talented. The food was delicious. We were in town for Dine Palm Springs Restaurant Week. Very impressed! We will be back next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

During our vacation to Palm Desert, my husband and I, found a gem called "The Purple Room." The food was delicious, the entertainment was great, and the service was professional. We enjoyed our visit to the "The Purple Room."

The only negative was limited parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Late-night Find, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Cool music by Rose Mallett and great food made a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 1, 2017

5 of us went for girls night, We had so much fun! The music was great and the entertainer interacted with the audience which made it a more personal experience. The food was very very good and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The quality of the food, the uniqueness of the entertainment, and the attentiveness of the servers were all elements of a superb experience. If you're up for something different, we would recommend the Purple Room at Club Trinidad. It made our 40th. anniversary celebration a fantastic and memorable event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We love the Purple Room. Our only complaint this time was that the happy hour ribs were cold.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Live Music, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us. We were on vacation and always look for unique places with great food and atmosphere. Everything was great, the staff, the food and the entertainment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We made reservations to see Sharon Sills after catching her the previous Sunday afternoon at Melvyn's. Very entertaining, enjoyed the old standards. She's a cross between Mar West & Bette Middler. We told our neighbors about our experience and they visited the following evening with some friends.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Definitely got to go to hear Rose Mallett sing on Tuesdays!!! Drinks were spot on. Food is good except for the entree I had that night. Just a poor choice on my part. Don't plan on this venue if you want a night of quiet conversation. Not the appropriate place for kids.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I don't think I would ever come to Palm Springs again without including this place in my must dine at list. Everything was awesome and beyond friendly. Loved it and so did my guests!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This place has it all - good food and great music! Everyone from the host, the servers, even the band are friendly - each taking time to stop by your table to chat and make sure your having the best time. I had the crab salad and the halibut - both were excellent. It's not very big which gives it a very intimate setting. Absolutely good value.

Tags: Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed DATE NIGHT out with the noted Purple Room menu and entertainment. A terrific evening with adult beverages, tasty food and lively music and mischief. We had a blast.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

very good for and the service was excellent, as it always is with Eric. I must say though, there wines are very overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great entertainment, attentive service from our waiter, John. Lively atmosphere. A lot of fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wanted to showcase Palm Springs dining and entertainment for friends visiting . Decided The Purple Room was the best choice because of several very successful evenings in the past. We were not dissapointed.....great menu and chef, fabulous service in a true small supper club atmosphere. The entertainment and music very professional and lasted over 2 hours! Great value. Book early....they are a busy establishment.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always a great experience...service is great, food is delicious and always the best in entertainment...my favorite place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was great. Entertainment was fantastic. Staff was very friendly. Great value. If you love jazz and the blues, cannot have a better evening then going to the Purple Room!

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

as always great food and wonderful entertainment Tuesday thanks to Rose Mallett

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

It's a great place to eat, entertainment was great. Service was great. Met up with friends there. It wasn't so loud that we couldn't chat. Very friendly atmosphere. The lady singing even came to our table and chatted with us

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The Purple Room was fine for what we wanted- a dark booth and some cocktails. So we expected-a bit shabby, a bit older crowd and that's what we got. The band was fun and too loud for us to have any conversation whatsoever. But that's what we wanted and that's what we got.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful!
The Purple Room was a perfect surprise for my husband.
Had a great time.
Food was phenomenal. Service was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Awesome old school feel and the food was above expectations.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.