Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.37mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About The Pubhouse

New American gastropub located inside Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites. We offer local Alaskan seafood, steaks, soups, salads, pasta and much more. We have an extensive wine list and 20 craft beers on tap. We are a neighborhood establishment located in Downtown Anchorage. Open daily, year-round, and serving breakfast in the summer.

1020 W 12th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501-4265
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Daily: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar
Daily: 4:30pm - Midnight

Daily "Appy" Hour - Half Price Appetizers
4:30pm - 6pm & 9pm - 10pm

Sunday Night King Crab Special

Cross Street:
12th Ave & L St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-8787

Website:
http://www.pubhouseak.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday Nights from 6pm-9pm

Catering:
We offer banquet and meeting space for up to 62 guests in our Frontier Room. Full menu and bar options are available. Please contact: Cassandra Romig @ 222-8722

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with lots of handicap accessible parking.

Public Transit:
Corner of L Street

Executive Chef:
James Davison

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine and beer dinners

Specials

Sunday Night King Crab Special

Sundays from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Night King Crab Special

Sundays from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Half pound for $20, 1 pound for $40. Sides (choose 2): Wild Rice, Cauliflower Mashed, Creamy Polenta, Charred Broccolini or Roasted Asparagus. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come join us! Sunday Night is King Crab Night. Special valid Apr 16, 2017 - May 14, 2017 on Sundays from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The PubHouse has several options for personalized dining, from secluded sections of the restaurant to an elegant private banquet space called the Frontier Room.

The Pubhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I made reservations for the Easter Brunch on 16 April at 1:30 PM. From beginning to end our dining experience was amazing and perfect. The buffet was the best we have ever experienced at any restaurant in Anchorage to include the Hotel Captain Cook. Service was impeccable with experienced staff catering to our every need without delay. We will definitely be regular diners at the Pub House in our future. Thank You to the staff for a perfect meal and dining experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Quite disappointed. I've eaten here before and it was more value/price appropriate. Easter Sunday brunch was very mediocre or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful food; cant wait to go back and try something else off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was our second time visiting. Great food including their specials and their attentive service staff is always appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The menu is diverse, however, I ordered meatloaf and it was delicious. The wine was astronomically expensive. The wait staff are professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This pub focuses on the dining experience. Great food and service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delish and customer service was outstanding. For those who aren't sure about trying the Pubhouse you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We thought our special Valentine's Day Dinner was excellent. The new chef did a great job of selecting the menu and preparing a tasty meal. This is now on the list of our top 5 favorite restaurants in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Exceptional on every level! We will be back for certain. Very unique menu, cozy seating/ambiance, great wait staff, nice dark beer choices/wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I placed my reservation 4 days ahead, clearly stating that I was Vegan. Unfortunately, when I arrived I was told by the server that the chef was "going through the refrigerator trying to come up with something for me as there was nothing on the menu that I could eat." What came out was the Meze plate. I was VERY disappointed. There was clearly more than enough time to come up with a good option. Vegetables and rice? Vegetables and pasta?

I frequently dine at high end restaurants in Anchorage and when the chefs are told in advance they come up with amazing vegan options, often coming out to say they "enjoyed the chance to think outside of the box."

I will say that I did enjoy my grilled salad (minus the cheese) and all of my companions enjoyed their meals a great deal. One of the biggest disappointments is that we live two blocks away from IT and were looking forward to adding it to one of our regular dining establishments. Sadly this doesn't seem likely.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent and efficient service, great food. I had the Braised Short Ribs which was very tender and tasty. My husband had the Fish and Chips, 3 large perfectly cooked pieces of crispy true cod. It's out of the way and quiet in a neighborhood setting. The Key Lime Pie came with a chocolate crust that was unexpected but tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

PubHouse is one of our regulars: easy to get in, good service and great food. Highly recommend happy hour appetizers tho full meals are also excellent. Mac and cheese not to be missed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I dined in Pubhouse with couple of my friends and we all had outstanding experience. I would never guess that a hotel restaurant could have such a good food. Service was very friendly, attentive and knew their menu very well. Their mussels with chorizo were delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Zealand)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We visited the Pubhouse with my husband and enjoyed a great dinner. Fresh food from local products, attentive service, great value for money. We recommend the hotel restaurant for a date, special occasion or business lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Very nice ambiance! We took our daily out for their 10 year wedding anniversary. Great choice. We were pleased with the food and service received. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a great time. The staff was amazing, very attentive and nice. We ordered butcher special and the steak was well prepared. Just the way we like it. We will definitely be back and try more stuff on a menu.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dark and dated. Servers dressed in jeans and tee shirts. Steak was tough and full of fat, shrimp was mushy and these were the two specials. Server talked my wife out of shrimp special. Wish she had convinced me as well. They were out of crab poppers and all desserts. Would not go back here!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food, but unproffessional staff. We had to wait for table, despite the restaurant was empty. In the morning long waiting for simple breakfast in empty restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good but they either need more waitresses and cooks or to rethink their use. Everything took way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was absolutely fabulous and the wait and host staff were very friendly and attentive. We went at a slow time to avoid a long wait and although the restaurant wasn't very busy, the wait for drinks and meal were rather long. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant tries but just can't figure out what it wants to be. The food is mediocre at best and horribly overpriced. Our server had no knowledge about the beers they served nor how the food was prepared. After the less then impressive meal, our incredibly disappointing experience was topped off by the server automatically adding a 20% tip to the bill. This was unbelievable as we were a table of two (the menu stated that 20% would be added for parties of five or more) and the service she provided wasn't even worth 10%. I will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was good but my fish was a tad over done . A bit on the expensive side. Our waitress was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I would recommend the Pub House for a drink and maybe appetizer, but not for dinner. Dinner entrees we ordered were fair. Wait time was a bit longer than average. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Very good food. Interesting variety of small and large plates. Efficient and friendly service. Prices very reasonable for the excellent quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner and were absolutely surprised by this place: absolutely delicious food, extensive wine list and exceptional service. It was nice and quite there so we were able to carry on with a nice conversation. Dishes are interesting, wonderfully prepared, fresh and delicious. We greatly enjoyed it. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is an all-in-one restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere, amazing food, excellent service. Great for special occasions or just casual dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great dinner! Dishes from salad to entries to dessert (for us that was Key Lime Pie) were excellent & the presentation different from anywhere we've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 18, 2016

They don't give you a chance to tip according to food and service. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 9, 2016

It took one hour to get two entrees out of three to be served, and my wife's order (chicken dish) showed up 10 minutes after everyone else's and it was over salted! Waiter never came back to ask how our food was and we never got even an offer (which we wouldn't have taken but would have been a nice gesture and acknowledgement of bad service) of any sort of compensation ( such as coffee or dessert) $120 later. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The PubHouse was a pleasant surprise. We like to try new places before we attend a show and found this hidden gem. Dinner was outstanding and tasty. It is so nice to have food delivered piping hot to the table. The pork chops melted in your mouth and the grilled romaine salad was a treat. The burger with two patties was filling and had some heat in the sauce. All in all a very enjoyable evening. Music was a nice background to dinner conversation without overpowering. The only suggestion would be to turn the lights up a bit; it was hard to see the menu. Also enjoyed the chef coming out to check on our meal; something easily done in a small place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here a few days ago during our first visit. Everything was excellent--the IT burger was perfect. The fries w

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was phenomenal, service was just okay. The waiter never did bring my bar drink nor did he refill my boyfriend's soda, meanwhile he absolutely DOTED on the tables beside us and behind us. We had the duck confit poutine fries as an appetizer (outstanding). I had the mushroom ravioli (very good, but small portion for the price) and my boyfriend has the meatloaf (he loved it but said the greens were very bitter). We would have ordered dessert, but couldn't get the waiters attention and by the time he came by, we had to pay and leave to make it to our show.

I will definitely go back and hopefully the service will be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Haven't been to the Pubhouse (or by its former name) in 'way too long a time. Menu was excellent, and the resulting food was likewise excellent. Evan did a great job explaining the menu and serving us; presentation was quite nice; the chef even came out to see how we were doing. The only drawback in our minds was that oreo crust and key lime pie just to do not go together that well; we did eat it all - don't worry. The folks in the bar seemed to be having a wonderful time, too, but they were of absolutely no bother to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was awesome, the bar rocks, but the food is horrible! It's beyond anything I would or could recommend to anyone I care about..

We shared the chef Valentine's dinner. The prices were very high, the taste was very bland and poor, and the wine pairing was non professional 👎

Sadly, the chef knew that were were dis-satisfied in his 3 corse meal, but he choose not to come out and talk with us.

Now reflecting, and reviewing other postings, it's obvious that we are not alone!!

Sorry ... OPENTABLE, Please stop promoting this restaurant to your good clientele .. Thumbs down on this one ..

I Hate the thought that we wasted our Valentine's Day dinner here and spent so much money on the dinner. All we really just wanted was to try something different.

Next time, we will go with our gut, and pick from our wonderful past experiences with you all ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Menu was write for a suit n tie meal. It didnt describe each item very well. The food that we did order was tasty. Environment was a typical hotel bar/restaurant. Kind of dingy. The waiter needed some work on his service skills. Once we ordered, the menu's sat on our table the whole time. He also reached over my meal to fill my glass while i was eating. It was worth trying once

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2016

My fiance and I went to the IT Pubhouse to celebrate our engagiversary and we had a lovely time. Our server Bud was terrific at suggesting specific wine to go perfectly with our entrees and although we could see how many tables he had, he still made us feel like we were his only table. Bud was professional, personable and positive with extensive knowledge on the entree featured items. The food and the service were superb; the atmosphere was just perfect. GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2016

A great evening with a great fixed menu. They have been up and down over the years, but they are definitely up now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 9, 2015

The restaurant has a very calm atmosphere . The menu had a nice variety . The price point was regular which was nice. The presentation of the food was awesome but the taste and consistency of some things were off. Maybe the chef had an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.