About The Pubhouse

1020 W 12th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501-4265
View Larger Map

We offer comfort food, a warm environment, 20 craft beers on tap and an excellent selection of wines and spirits. We are a neighborhood establishment in the center of the South Addition, Westchester and Bootleggers Cove neighborhoods. We have a large, free parking lot.
"What's your local?"
"The Pubhouse."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar

Daily: 5:00pm - 1am

Cross Street:
12th Ave & L St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-8787

Website:
http://www.pubhouseak.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday Nights

Catering:
We offer banquet and meeting space for up to 62 guests in our Frontier Room. Full menu and bar options are available. Please contact: Cassandra Romig @ 222-8722

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with lots of handicap accessible parking.

Public Transit:
Corner of L Street

Executive Chef:
Daniel Shier

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Beer pairing dinners, "Grain and Grape" pairing dinners (coursed wine and spirits).

Private Dining

The PubHouse has several options for personalized dining, from secluded sections of the restaurant to an elegant private banquet space called the Frontier Room.

The Pubhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.5

ambience

3.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dark and dated. Servers dressed in jeans ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dark and dated. Servers dressed in jeans and tee shirts. Steak was tough and full of fat, shrimp was mushy and these were the two specials. Server talked my wife out of shrimp special. Wish she had convinced me as well. They were out of crab poppers and all desserts. Would not go back here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food, but unproffessional staff. We ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food, but unproffessional staff. We had to wait for table, despite the restaurant was empty. In the morning long waiting for simple breakfast in empty restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good but they either need more ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good but they either need more waitresses and cooks or to rethink their use. Everything took way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was absolutely fabulous and the ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was absolutely fabulous and the wait and host staff were very friendly and attentive. We went at a slow time to avoid a long wait and although the restaurant wasn't very busy, the wait for drinks and meal were rather long. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant tries but just can't fig ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant tries but just can't figure out what it wants to be. The food is mediocre at best and horribly overpriced. Our server had no knowledge about the beers they served nor how the food was prepared. After the less then impressive meal, our incredibly disappointing experience was topped off by the server automatically adding a 20% tip to the bill. This was unbelievable as we were a table of two (the menu stated that 20% would be added for parties of five or more) and the service she provided wasn't even worth 10%. I will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was good but my fish was a tad over ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was good but my fish was a tad over done . A bit on the expensive side. Our waitress was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I would recommend the Pub House for a dr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I would recommend the Pub House for a drink and maybe appetizer, but not for dinner. Dinner entrees we ordered were fair. Wait time was a bit longer than average. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

. Prices very reasona for the quality.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Very good food. Interesting variety of small and large plates. Efficient and friendly service. Prices very reasonable for the excellent quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Unexpectedly awesome place

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner and were absolutely surprised by this place: absolutely delicious food, extensive wine list and exceptional service. It was nice and quite there so we were able to carry on with a nice conversation. Dishes are interesting, wonderfully prepared, fresh and delicious. We greatly enjoyed it. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-deserved 5 Stars

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is an all-in-one restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere, amazing food, excellent service. Great for special occasions or just casual dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Dishes from salad to entr ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great dinner! Dishes from salad to entries to dessert (for us that was Key Lime Pie) were excellent & the presentation different from anywhere we've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They Automatically add 20%

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

They don't give you a chance to tip according to food and service. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Not what we expected

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

It took one hour to get two entrees out of three to be served, and my wife's order (chicken dish) showed up 10 minutes after everyone else's and it was over salted! Waiter never came back to ask how our food was and we never got even an offer (which we wouldn't have taken but would have been a nice gesture and acknowledgement of bad service) of any sort of compensation ( such as coffee or dessert) $120 later. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Pleasant Surprise!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The PubHouse was a pleasant surprise. We like to try new places before we attend a show and found this hidden gem. Dinner was outstanding and tasty. It is so nice to have food delivered piping hot to the table. The pork chops melted in your mouth and the grilled romaine salad was a treat. The burger with two patties was filling and had some heat in the sauce. All in all a very enjoyable evening. Music was a nice background to dinner conversation without overpowering. The only suggestion would be to turn the lights up a bit; it was hard to see the menu. Also enjoyed the chef coming out to check on our meal; something easily done in a small place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal here a few da ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here a few days ago during our first visit. Everything was excellent--the IT burger was perfect. The fries w

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was phenomenal, service was just okay. The waiter never did bring my bar drink nor did he refill my boyfriend's soda, meanwhile he absolutely DOTED on the tables beside us and behind us. We had the duck confit poutine fries as an appetizer (outstanding). I had the mushroom ravioli (very good, but small portion for the price) and my boyfriend has the meatloaf (he loved it but said the greens were very bitter). We would have ordered dessert, but couldn't get the waiters attention and by the time he came by, we had to pay and leave to make it to our show.

I will definitely go back and hopefully the service will be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our Return to the Pubhouse Was A Lot of Fun

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Haven't been to the Pubhouse (or by its former name) in 'way too long a time. Menu was excellent, and the resulting food was likewise excellent. Evan did a great job explaining the menu and serving us; presentation was quite nice; the chef even came out to see how we were doing. The only drawback in our minds was that oreo crust and key lime pie just to do not go together that well; we did eat it all - don't worry. The folks in the bar seemed to be having a wonderful time, too, but they were of absolutely no bother to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"My Valentine's Day dinner"

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was awesome, the bar rocks, but the food is horrible! It's beyond anything I would or could recommend to anyone I care about..

We shared the chef Valentine's dinner. The prices were very high, the taste was very bland and poor, and the wine pairing was non professional 👎

Sadly, the chef knew that were were dis-satisfied in his 3 corse meal, but he choose not to come out and talk with us.

Now reflecting, and reviewing other postings, it's obvious that we are not alone!!

Sorry ... OPENTABLE, Please stop promoting this restaurant to your good clientele .. Thumbs down on this one ..

I Hate the thought that we wasted our Valentine's Day dinner here and spent so much money on the dinner. All we really just wanted was to try something different.

Next time, we will go with our gut, and pick from our wonderful past experiences with you all ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

So so

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Menu was write for a suit n tie meal. It didnt describe each item very well. The food that we did order was tasty. Environment was a typical hotel bar/restaurant. Kind of dingy. The waiter needed some work on his service skills. Once we ordered, the menu's sat on our table the whole time. He also reached over my meal to fill my glass while i was eating. It was worth trying once

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Excellent service paired with super delicious food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My fiance and I went to the IT Pubhouse to celebrate our engagiversary and we had a lovely time. Our server Bud was terrific at suggesting specific wine to go perfectly with our entrees and although we could see how many tables he had, he still made us feel like we were his only table. Bud was professional, personable and positive with extensive knowledge on the entree featured items. The food and the service were superb; the atmosphere was just perfect. GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening with a great fixed menu. ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

A great evening with a great fixed menu. They have been up and down over the years, but they are definitely up now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hip place for Ak

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

The restaurant has a very calm atmosphere . The menu had a nice variety . The price point was regular which was nice. The presentation of the food was awesome but the taste and consistency of some things were off. Maybe the chef had an off night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The hot wings were my favorite

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The hot wings were my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Nice Neighborhood restaurant

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Great for walkers and drivers. Easy parking, good food and ambiance. The service staff are helpful and friendly. It still feels rather new and some details need attention. A class in wine service might be useful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Place

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

This is a great little place to have dinner and drinks. The atmosphere is warm and the food is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Pubhouse - Great Alaska Dining

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Great service, good menu, no downsides here. The dining area is small and part of a hotel bar setting, means the drink selection is pretty good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

GOOD BUT PRICEY

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

The food was good but not as good as the check amount insinuated that it should have been. Sara, the waitress was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A hidden downtown Anchorage gem

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

This lovely bistro-style spot in the South Addition/Inlet View neighborhood is rapidly becoming a family favorite. It's a great place to meet friends for dinner after work or to take out-of-town guests who are staying downtown but don't want to fight long lines for a table at one of the big, well-known restaurants. The cocktails are creative and well-crafted, the draft beer and list is thoughtfully selected and the food is adventurous and delicious. High marks all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

I really wanted to like the Pub, but it just didn't deliver.

SERVICE: Very slow, and not in a "we are dining" kind of way.

We waited 10-15 minutes for our server, and upon his arrival we ordered some wine. After another 10 minutes he reappeared with alternatives, so we ordered something else.

FOOD: tasty, but nothing to rave about. they were out of my first choice entree, so I ordered the flat iron steak - a nice dish. We had to send the New York strip back - almost raw inside! Second one was very good! I can recommend the bread pudding - light and not overly sweet. But could do without the chocolate drizzles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

NOT Recommended

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was not good. We sent the waffles back and I don't think the second ones were any better. The chicken was bland. The fact that for mothers day the only thing we found on the menu that we'd like was chicken and waffles; imagine that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Expensive and Disappointing - Food was Terrible

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

I was a little shocked and greatly disappointed by the quality of the food that was served when we had dinner at the Pubhouse this past week. We live locally and have been there several times for dinner and it has always been pretty good n the past - that's why we chose it for dinner this past week; an easy walk and typically okay.

However, something has radically changed in the kitchen; we ordered a "Greek Salad", which was essentially big chunks of cucumber, a bunch of cherry tomatoes and olives thrown together on a plate - not very appetizing - and it essentially went unfinished.

There were four of us dining and not one of the entrees that we ordered was really very good. I had the "El Goucho" steak; it was salty beyond belief and the brussel sprouts were not cooked at all. The entire presentation was pretty gross.

To add insult to injury, I ordered a glass of wine to wash it down and it was more like a glass of wine sludge - literally, you couldn't see through it..

Needless to say, we won't be eating there anytime soon - it was a costly mistake, not to be repeated; which is too bad as it was previously okay and very convenient spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Pretheatre meal with friends

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Pleasantly surprised. Interesting flavors and fresh ingredients

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Halibut was excellent. Perfectly cooked. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

Halibut was excellent. Perfectly cooked. Nice and quiet away from the bar. The service was very good. Prices a bit on the high side but I will go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Valentine's Special

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We checked out the Valentine's day special menu online before we made our reservations. It was a 4-course meal; appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. We enjoyed each course with the wine pairing, which was optional. The elk medallions were yummy. Everything was very tasty and the wines nicely complemented the food, as designed. The portions were small (we are average-sized) and we both would have liked each course to have been a bit larger up to twice the size. The atmosphere was quiet and romantic. The service was polite and helpful. We will think of coming back perhaps after an afternoon ice-skate for some appetizers and wine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bland food

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

The food was bland -- not bad, just not good. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, and there was a good energy in the place. That's the good news. But the service was not attentive -- we had to ask twice for bread for the table -- and delivery was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Awesome Food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

The menu was very colorful with lots of delicious choices. The service was great and I will definitely refer people to this fun and laid back Pubhouse. Every item that we ordered came out hot and delicious. Nothing was left on the plates!!! We ate it all with no leftovers :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much improved!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 24, 2014

The Pubhouse has quietly turned into quite the neighborhood gem! I guess the recent management changes have done the job. The food and menu is much improved, I was very happy with everything. The beer selection is also vastly improved, they have 20 taps and all the old stale, same-old-same-old beers are gone and replaced with exciting new beers, mostly from Alaska.

I had the scallops appetizer and it was absolutely great! Perfectly cooked and elegantly executed. For my entree I had the flat iron steak special which was DELICIOUS! Cooked perfectly and so tender and juicy. My friend had the Wagyu beef pub burger, which is heavenly as well.

I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

delicious meal! Great place to meet friends!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

We had a wonderful evening. The lamb meatballs, scallops & blue corn battered calamari were favorites. my friends loved the Cesar salad. They said the scallops were the best they had ever had.

Everything was prepared to perfection. The service was nice and the bar had a cool local vibe. Very comfortable atmosphere. Nice but not stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A Local Restaurant With Food That is Good

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

I like this restaurant. I don't know if I just hit the right night (a weeknight), but the menu has been recently updated and my meal was great. Our meals were flavored correctly, at the right temperature and the wait time was reasonable. The staff kept us apprised of any delays and since this is a local establishment it is not expansive and parking is convenient (not common for downtown). It is only open for dinner, but the menu is sufficiently varied and they were able to accommodate the vegetarian in the party. No complaints, I will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fun atmosphere, great food!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

The food was unique and very delicious! The atmosphere was private near our table, but around the corner was the bar with a vibrant and social vibe. The food was amazing. I'm a huge calamari fan and their take with the blue corn breading was really unique and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.