HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar

4.6
85 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar offers a fine dining experience to patrons in Gillette, Wyoming, and surrounding areas. Established in 1983, The Prime Rib Restaurant is owned and operated by Ken Barkey. The Prime Rib Restaurant provides excellent quality dishes like steaks, seafood, and prime rib. It also features a comprehensive list of delicious desserts, such as New York cheesecake, chocolate lava cake, and raspberries with Russian cream.

As an upscale yet casual restaurant, The Prime Rib Restaurant in Gillette provides top-quality wines from all over the world. Bottles are kept in a state-of-the-art, glass-enclosed wine case located in the center of the 8,000-square-foot restaurant. to There is great variety of wines starting at under $20 per bottle. Wines are also available "to go" at retail prices.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Prime Rib
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(307) 682-2944
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brad Focht
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ken Barkey: (307) 682-2944
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar can cater your event! From large RV rallies and BBQs up to 5,000 people to more intimate settings, you can trust the experienced staff to handle your event with pride and care. Prime Rib catering's goal is to provide top quality food products and a professionally trained staff so this will be a worry free event for you.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
12th Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
What 85 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
DarronB 
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

We frequent the Prime Rib often. We know the food is alway excellent and service superb. Tony has been our waiter on several occasions and it seem like he knows what we want before we ask for it. He is the best.

Report
Helpful
CatherineH (Jackson Hole)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Between the four of us at our table we ordered prime rib, king crab, and lobster. We all agreed that our main protein was well done however a little disappointed to see their high end meals being served with sautéed baby carrots and snap peas.. more time, care, and thought should be placed in the sides of their best dishes!!! Be creative and wow people, especially for special occasions like New Years!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

As always, the food superb, service perfect. We love coming here, the best fine dining around.

Report
Helpful
vipSassey (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on October 31, 2017

A favorite to visit when in Gillette. My return had me here at lunch for the first time and the menu is equally wonderful at this hour. Great and friendly staff and wonderful food. With a fantastic wine list...if your schedule permits a sip or two.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on October 15, 2017

My party was seated right away, our waiter was attentive and friendly, everyone’s meal had good eye appeal and no one was dissatisfied with their meal. Atmosphere was very good

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on October 14, 2017

Neve been disappointed! This place has excellent food and tons of wine to choose from. It is a wonderful place for dates or casual get togethers.

Report
Helpful
JB2go (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 6, 2017

We arrived for an early dinner and the hostess said, "I'll we with you " in a flat voice with her back to us. After a few minutes she still didn't turn around so we told her we would find the bathroom . As we came back, the bartender said to take any seat which we did. Service after that was OK, but could have been friendlier. The food was excellent. We had steaks which were prepared perfectly. The wedge salad was also great as was the bar service. I think the service was just a little off, but I would definitely go back since the food was great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jackson Hole)
1.0  Dined on September 2, 2017

The prime rib, which is supposed to be their specialty, was dry and tasteless. Everything else on the meal was non-descript.

Report
Helpful
vipMJC13 (New England)
5.0  Dined on August 21, 2017

Great prime rib wonderful service and engaging waitress.

Report
Helpful
DaveW (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on August 20, 2017

Very tender prime rib and the half price bottles of wine Sunday & Monday is a great value.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was really good. The portion sizes were better than I expected. Everyone in our group left satisfied.

Report
Helpful
CarolK (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on August 18, 2017

Great Prime Rib dinner! My husband had the filet mignon and it was good too. Server was really nice and attentive. We were a little surprised there wasn't a wine list and there was limited wines by the glass. We shared a dessert and it was just a prefect evening in Gillette.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on August 7, 2017

Onion rings to die for! Steaks were excellent. Salads, potatos and veggies were not fresh and had too much time between fixing and serving. Deserts were excellent. Too bad that more attention was not paid to the "fixins" as they took the edge off an otherwise excellent meal.

Report
Helpful
Terry (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on August 5, 2017

Best fine restaurant in 300 miles. Quit, comfortable amazing ambiance.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodie (Oklahoma City)
4.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

Great steak. Our family of five enjoyed the onion rings as a starter which was plentiful and the onion rings thin sliced which we like. Everyone had steak and they all were outstanding. Wouldn't recommend the Caesar Salad (tasted bitter) but everything else was great! Enjoyed the steak the most! Tender, seasoned and cooked to order!

Report
Helpful
JayJ (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on July 18, 2017

Service was great.
Food was okay nothing special. I don't recommend the ceaser salad, mine tasted like it was made last week.

Report
Helpful
vipWiley1967 (Denver)
5.0  Dined on July 2, 2017

Has become our go-to place when passing through Gillette. Outstanding food and service. This place could compete with anything we've tried in Denver or Colorado Springs. Especially enjoyed the service from Robyn and Tony. Excellent staff!!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Grand Rapids)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2017

We came here with our toddler for father's day and it was wonderful! The service was excellent, the food was delicious, and it was a great experience!

Report
Helpful
vipJerry (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great time. The food was quite good. Nothing fancy, but good quality and well prepared. The wine list was superb. Hardly what one would expect in eastern Wyoming. In addition to a good selection the wines are priced quite reasonably.
Our server was wonderful and the manager made sure we had a good time,
Would definitely return next time we find ourselves in Gillette.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on April 22, 2017

every time we go to gillette we try to eat at the prime rib...the food has always been great and the service excellent....

Report
Helpful
GranJUJU (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Service! Great Food! Best Prime Rib I have had in a while. The waitperson was so helpful in finding the right wine and the right meal. Dessert is a must there! YUMMY!

Report
Helpful
Lindam (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

Always great food! Can never miss with this great local restaurant!

Report
Helpful
Snowmad63 (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined on February 17, 2017

As I arrived I was quickly taken to my table toward the back of the restaurant in a quiet cove. I ordered the Prime rib, house speciality I was told. I asked for the Caesar salad and baked potato to accompany my medium rare small prime. The salad arrived and from what I could tell was prepared way ahead of time, as the salad was a bit soggy from the dressing and the romaine was what I would call limp. Not sure I would go in that direction again, the house salads looked considerably fresher. Noticed all the other tables where served bread, had to ask for mine. The steak was done as I had ordered and very good. I must say the wine selection was quit good and reasonably priced by the glass and bottle. I was expecting a bit more thus the rating, had the salad and service been better my rating may have been better as well. A bit too casual for me, the waiter constantly called me "captain", sorry the might be okay in Gillette, but I am a customer not your buddy. The meal as I mentioned in my review was very reasonably priced. I will give it another try, hoping for better the next visit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jackson Hole)
3.0  Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was disappointing for the price. Sometimes the food is great but not this time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food and waitress was very friendly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I went there and enjoyed it so much. Made the reservation on Open Table at 6:35 for 7.pm. We made the short drive to the restaurant and were there by 6:45. When I told them I had a 7 o'clock reservation through Open Table we were seated right away.(even with a line of people.)
Food was delicious and we both recommend the prime rib and cream brûlée for dessert.

Report
Helpful
TeMe (Jackson Hole)
3.0  Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was amazing (except for the bread loaf. It was too hard to even cut through). The service was ok. We would have enjoyed it more if the used dishes and trash (straw wrappers, etc) had been removed while we were sitting there. As far as the noise level: our server had one of those loud, annoying (sorry) kind of voices. In a place like Prime Rib, it is our opinion that the tone should be kept quiet and pleasant. Maybe get closer to your guests so you don't have to speak so loudly. Overall not a bad experience, and we would return.

Report
Helpful
BE00 (Jackson Hole)
5.0  Dined on October 1, 2016

Great evening. The food was amazing and staff were helpful and friendly. Our server did and outstanding job!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on September 24, 2016

Was looking for a good place to eat and this was it . Ordered onion rings and shrimp cocktail for app and New York strip for dinner ... Wide selection of wine .... Not sure you will find a better restraunt in ne Wyoming . A plus

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on September 22, 2016

Everything in this restaurant was great I would tell anyone to go there

Report
Helpful
1
2
3