About The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar

1205 S Douglas Hwy
Gillette, WY 82716
View Larger Map

The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar offers a fine dining experience to patrons in Gillette, Wyoming, and surrounding areas. Established in 1983, The Prime Rib Restaurant is owned and operated by Ken Barkey. The Prime Rib Restaurant provides excellent quality dishes like steaks, seafood, and prime rib. It also features a comprehensive list of delicious desserts, such as New York cheesecake, chocolate lava cake, and raspberries with Russian cream.

As an upscale yet casual restaurant, The Prime Rib Restaurant in Gillette provides top-quality wines from all over the world. Bottles are kept in a state-of-the-art, glass-enclosed wine case located in the center of the 8,000-square-foot restaurant. to There is great variety of wines starting at under $20 per bottle. Wines are also available "to go" at retail prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
12th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 682-2944

Website:
http://www.primeribgillette.com/

Catering:
The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar can cater your event! From large RV rallies and BBQs up to 5,000 people to more intimate settings, you can trust the experienced staff to handle your event with pride and care. Prime Rib catering's goal is to provide top quality food products and a professionally trained staff so this will be a worry free event for you.

Executive Chef:
Brad Focht

Private Party Contact:
Ken Barkey: 3076822944

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Energetic

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northeast Wyoming
Best Restaurants in Gillette ›

special occasion (6)
notable wine list (6)
romantic (5)
See All
fit for foodies (4)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! !!

Dined on April 6, 2016

This was our first visit and definitely will not be our last. The food was served hot and with generous portions. The dessert is to die for; the raspberries and Russian cream was amazing! Our server was very attentive and so friendly. The ambience was perfect. The prices are great for the quality of food and dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, a great meal

Dined on February 6, 2016

Fabulous meal, as always. Never fails to be a super dining experience and the food is terrific.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

service

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

Tony is a GOOD GUY and a VERY good waiter. Good service turns good food into a GREAT dinner

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience.

Dined on January 21, 2016

We had a group of eight that did not all arrive together. The waitress was very attentive and greeted each guest as soon as they were seated. She remembered each person's order and checked on us regularly but did not hover.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine for lunch or dinner. ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Great place to dine for lunch or dinner. A menu to fit everyone as well as a great wine selection.

food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent atmosphere

Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent atmosphere service was slow but they were very busy during our dinner. Food was amazing, wine was even better!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant review

Dined on November 12, 2015

Went to Prime Rib Restaurant there was a lot of people waiting to get in as I had called for reservations we were ushered to a table immediately after we got to e place,the staff was on top of our drinks and the meals,the food was very good,the conversation was relaxing,and the service was excellent. I will of course send anybody who is wanting a good dining experience your way, thanks again. Barry Steeg Your nickname review won't accept nicknames ,Bearrunner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The prime rib was excellent.

Dined on October 31, 2015

Our server was attentive and fun. We travel quite a bit and stop for Prime Rib as much as possible. This is definitely one of our favorites. The atmosphere was relaxing.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, extensive wine list. A must ...

Dined on September 17, 2015

Great food, extensive wine list. A must stop when we travel this way.

food3
ambience4
service1

Bad waitress

Dined on August 22, 2015

Food was good for3 out of 4 of us. The prime melt that was ordered came to us cold and the au jus was cold also. Not the sandwich I was looking for. Our waitress however seemed spacey . She checked on us occasionally and the weird part was we asked about dessert and she said she would be right back with dessert options and came back in just two minutes with our bill and brought the dessert menus to a different table that was just starting on salads. So we left. The 3 who had steaks enjoyed their meals but the prime melt was awful.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great Gillette Restaurant!

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

In Gillette for a convention, and the restaurant was so good that we went back a second night! Extensive menu with choices for everyone. Outstanding fast and friendly service, even though they were packed with both locals and conventioneers. Yes the prime rib was outstanding, but had a chicken dish the second night that was great. And the old school escargot was so good that I had it both nights! Highly recommend The Prime Rib if you want a very good meal in Gillette!

food5
ambience4
service4

I got exactly what I expected

Dined on July 28, 2015

service was adequate and the environment for my business lunch was adequate.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

No reservation?

Dined on June 29, 2015

We were lucky to be eated on a busy Saturday night, because they did not have our Open Table reservation in their system, even though we had email confirmation of it. Great steak!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4

The roast beef was good but the chicken dishs not.

Dined on June 25, 2015

The roast beef was good but the chicken Capri was watery and not seasoned well. My two guests both had the chicken capri and weren't happy with it.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and a great, nice place to ...

Dined on May 9, 2015

Great service and a great, nice place to have relax and have a nice meal.

food3
ambience2
service2

a night of bad service

Dined on April 19, 2015

Waitress was very rude. Took an hour to get soup and salads and then she totally forgot one of the guests soups at our table. It took her 15 minutes to bring it. We received our food after 2 hours and my sandwich only had half a burger oN it and it had no mushrooms or onions as ordered. When I told waitress all she said was "ok". I hope to never have her as a waitress again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Revisiting after 8 yrs

Dined on December 11, 2014

We were disappointed to say the least. They have added on since the last time we stopped. It has cheapened the place. Almost like a nice truck stop. Food was decent. Later in evening but not closing time. Waitress was preoccupied. Bottles of wine on the menu for hundreds of dollars but served butter in a plastic cup. Didn't even offer us dessert. We will not come back.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food.

Dined on October 26, 2014

Walking in the atmosphere was wonderful. We were greeted very quickly and seated right away. The menue was impressive, maybe even a a few to many options, but we went with the chicken fried steak. It was cooked very well, the sides were all wonderful. Our server was friendly, but seemed over whelmed and maybe unsure of the menu items. He could have been a recent hire. Over all a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice Higher End Restaurant

Dined on September 9, 2014

Found this place on trip advisor, and the good reviews were accurate. Nice higher end restaurant. Would definitely go back if in the area again. We were just passing through Gillette and staying overnight. Definitely one of our best meals on our trip. They have a MASSIVE wine list that includes reasonably priced wine, to their reserve list that goes into the stratosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Not a Favorite

Dined on August 16, 2014

We had made reservations and were seated immediately upon arriving. The waitress pounced on us before we even opened the menu. This place has an extensive and some very expensive wines ($100-$500-$1000) so we wanted to look it over before choosing beverage. She came back in about 3 minutes and gain we told her we weren't ready. Even though they have expensive wine, they serve choice beef. My prime rib was done perfectly but a little chewy. My husband ordered his au poivre and she didn't even know what that was even though it was a choice on the menu. When our salads came, they had chex cereal on top instead of croutons. Really? Would not go there again.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Perfect for a special occasion

Dined on August 7, 2014

The table, service, and food were absolutely perfect for us to show true Western Hospitality to a special friend from South Carolina. We had blackened Prime Rib and Ribeye dinners all around. Amy C., our server, was very aware of our desire to have a quiet, fun meal with a friend. She kept her distance, was never intrusive, and yet was there instantly for drink refills, etc. I would suggest that you serve more shrimp with your shrimp cocktail because four is just not enough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Server

Dined on August 3, 2014

Our server, JoAnn, was outstanding and we loved her sense of humor. The prime rib was out of this world and the wine list is pages and pages in length with unusual wines. We had a fabulous romantic dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First waitress must have thought we were ...

Dined on July 28, 2014

First waitress must have thought we were not going be good tippers. She pawned is off to another waiter who was from South America. So glad she did, he was fantastic. Ordered drinks, appetizers, steaks, and dessert. We also left a big fat tip. Great food, the only bad taste in our mouth was the first waitress who chose not to keep us as her customers

food2
ambience3
service3

It was ok

Dined on July 19, 2014

If you are looking for a special dinner, pass on Prime Rib. The food is not great. Service was fine, but we were disappointed in most of the meal. The steaks weren't good enough to justify the price.

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Dreadful

Dined on June 18, 2014

If you like salads with rice chex and calamari that has square tentacles (yes, they were square. Perhaps imitation seafood?) this is your place. I had a chicken oscar that featured dry chicken, canned crab meat, and, get this, some white gravy that definitely wasn't bernaise. My wife had walleye that was totally tasteless. Both meals were Inedible. The wine list features spectacular wines at outrageous mark ups. Great wines with this food? It brings into question whether those wines are as advertised as they would be a complete waste of money given the quality of the cuisine. Try McDonalds for a decent meal and save your money.

food5
ambience4
service4

ONE OF THE BEST STEAKS EVER

vip
Dined on June 14, 2014

Seriously good beef. Both ribeye and filet were mouth watering and tasty. Great wine list.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Good Spot

Dined on June 2, 2014

For the price and taste of food here, I say you are getting a fair deal. Service was slow for us, I thought could have been better for a place like his.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service2

Food needs help

Dined on May 26, 2014

At first I was not happy being seated by the door right in front of the kitchen. It was also very warm they need to use the air conditioning. I also expected the food to be better for 20 plus a plate. I could of had the same quality at a Perkins.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Always a good time

vip
Dined on May 15, 2014

The pizza doesn't disappoint. The service is stellar. Great wine selection

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first choice.

Dined on May 14, 2014

Great food and wine list, go casual or formal, go single, couples, or groups. Best restaurant in Gillette, Wy., we've been going there for over 10 yrs..

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Lives up to its name

Dined on April 5, 2014

The prime rib is hands down the best prime rib I've had anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Gillette gem!

Dined on April 5, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious. The service was good. I felt like I was out of a small town and in one of the big city restaurants I use to frequent. This is a great place for families and friends to dine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4

what happened?

Dined on March 23, 2014

I have always had an amazing meal at the restaurant, and this time 2 out of the 3 prime rib was very fatty and we ended up with a small amount of meat and a plate full of fat.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always exceeds expectations!

Dined on February 9, 2014

We know we will always get good, quality food at the Prime Rib, and the service is always great! Never have any doubts about recommending to out of town friends, if they don't already know about it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

amazing

Dined on January 26, 2014

Overall I absolutely enjoyed the atmosphere and quality of food. Although, I've had faster faster service, it wasn't the worst. Great place, great food! Highly recommendable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem!

Dined on January 3, 2014

The service and food was excellent! Friendly, professional waitress who took care of everything; overall an excellent dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A "Must DO" when in Gillette

Dined on December 8, 2013

The Prime Rib is a local treasure featuring great food and beverages at very reasonable prices. Their margaritas are some of the best we've ever had. Service is prompt and professional. The Seniors (over 65) menu is a real bargain. We've tried a lot of entrees and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

great steak house

Dined on December 7, 2013

Good experience, service started out great then as the waiter got busier we got ignored. Were given check before asking us about desserts. I would return for the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good dinner

Dined on September 22, 2013

Prime Rib offers good food with good service, our waitress was very nice and helpful. I would recommend the Prime Rib to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

ok but

Dined on September 16, 2013

Great food. - big empty room, lots of tables, set only other couple right next to us. - had to wait for check !!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.