Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar

The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar offers a fine dining experience to patrons in Gillette, Wyoming, and surrounding areas. Established in 1983, The Prime Rib Restaurant is owned and operated by Ken Barkey. The Prime Rib Restaurant provides excellent quality dishes like steaks, seafood, and prime rib. It also features a comprehensive list of delicious desserts, such as New York cheesecake, chocolate lava cake, and raspberries with Russian cream.

As an upscale yet casual restaurant, The Prime Rib Restaurant in Gillette provides top-quality wines from all over the world. Bottles are kept in a state-of-the-art, glass-enclosed wine case located in the center of the 8,000-square-foot restaurant. to There is great variety of wines starting at under $20 per bottle. Wines are also available "to go" at retail prices.

1205 S Douglas Hwy
Gillette, WY 82716
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
12th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 682-2944

Website:
http://www.primeribgillette.com/

Catering:
The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar can cater your event! From large RV rallies and BBQs up to 5,000 people to more intimate settings, you can trust the experienced staff to handle your event with pride and care. Prime Rib catering's goal is to provide top quality food products and a professionally trained staff so this will be a worry free event for you.

Executive Chef:
Brad Focht

Private Party Contact:
Ken Barkey: (307) 682-2944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
See All
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Onion rings to die for! Steaks were excellent. Salads, potatos and veggies were not fresh and had too much time between fixing and serving. Deserts were excellent. Too bad that more attention was not paid to the "fixins" as they took the edge off an otherwise excellent meal.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Best fine restaurant in 300 miles. Quit, comfortable amazing ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great steak. Our family of five enjoyed the onion rings as a starter which was plentiful and the onion rings thin sliced which we like. Everyone had steak and they all were outstanding. Wouldn't recommend the Caesar Salad (tasted bitter) but everything else was great! Enjoyed the steak the most! Tender, seasoned and cooked to order!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Service was great.
Food was okay nothing special. I don't recommend the ceaser salad, mine tasted like it was made last week.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Has become our go-to place when passing through Gillette. Outstanding food and service. This place could compete with anything we've tried in Denver or Colorado Springs. Especially enjoyed the service from Robyn and Tony. Excellent staff!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came here with our toddler for father's day and it was wonderful! The service was excellent, the food was delicious, and it was a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great time. The food was quite good. Nothing fancy, but good quality and well prepared. The wine list was superb. Hardly what one would expect in eastern Wyoming. In addition to a good selection the wines are priced quite reasonably.
Our server was wonderful and the manager made sure we had a good time,
Would definitely return next time we find ourselves in Gillette.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 22, 2017

every time we go to gillette we try to eat at the prime rib...the food has always been great and the service excellent....

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great Service! Great Food! Best Prime Rib I have had in a while. The waitperson was so helpful in finding the right wine and the right meal. Dessert is a must there! YUMMY!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always great food! Can never miss with this great local restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As I arrived I was quickly taken to my table toward the back of the restaurant in a quiet cove. I ordered the Prime rib, house speciality I was told. I asked for the Caesar salad and baked potato to accompany my medium rare small prime. The salad arrived and from what I could tell was prepared way ahead of time, as the salad was a bit soggy from the dressing and the romaine was what I would call limp. Not sure I would go in that direction again, the house salads looked considerably fresher. Noticed all the other tables where served bread, had to ask for mine. The steak was done as I had ordered and very good. I must say the wine selection was quit good and reasonably priced by the glass and bottle. I was expecting a bit more thus the rating, had the salad and service been better my rating may have been better as well. A bit too casual for me, the waiter constantly called me "captain", sorry the might be okay in Gillette, but I am a customer not your buddy. The meal as I mentioned in my review was very reasonably priced. I will give it another try, hoping for better the next visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was disappointing for the price. Sometimes the food is great but not this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food and waitress was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I went there and enjoyed it so much. Made the reservation on Open Table at 6:35 for 7.pm. We made the short drive to the restaurant and were there by 6:45. When I told them I had a 7 o'clock reservation through Open Table we were seated right away.(even with a line of people.)
Food was delicious and we both recommend the prime rib and cream brûlée for dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was amazing (except for the bread loaf. It was too hard to even cut through). The service was ok. We would have enjoyed it more if the used dishes and trash (straw wrappers, etc) had been removed while we were sitting there. As far as the noise level: our server had one of those loud, annoying (sorry) kind of voices. In a place like Prime Rib, it is our opinion that the tone should be kept quiet and pleasant. Maybe get closer to your guests so you don't have to speak so loudly. Overall not a bad experience, and we would return.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great evening. The food was amazing and staff were helpful and friendly. Our server did and outstanding job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Was looking for a good place to eat and this was it . Ordered onion rings and shrimp cocktail for app and New York strip for dinner ... Wide selection of wine .... Not sure you will find a better restraunt in ne Wyoming . A plus

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Everything in this restaurant was great I would tell anyone to go there

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We went there for dinner because we were traveling and staying the night in town. If we lived there, I would go often. We both had the prime rib and it was perfectly done, the Caesar was not the best I've had but it's hard to find a really good Caesar, the chocolate chip pecan pie was fabulous. Our server was great, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

It has the feel of a chain restaurant. The artichoke dip was good. The chef salad was not. But the soup was pretty good. Extensive wine list, with wines costing well over a $1,000.00 per bottle. I can't, for the life of me, see someone paying $1200 for a wine to go with a $30 steak, but then, I've never won the lottery. Nor did I ask if they even had those pricey bottles in stock. Waiter acted like she was pretty busy. She was nice, but we had the feeling we were not her most important table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Passing through the area- stopped in Gillette for the night. We both had the prime rib and it was exceptional. The service was quick, friendly and pleasant. There were a couple minor mistakes during the meal but nothing to prevent us from recommending (or returning to) the restaurant. First, we ordered a bottle of pinot noir but I didn't notice that it was actually a cabernet until it was poured. Minor problem because it was very good. We ordered coffee with dessert but it was never delivered (or added to the bill). So, minor issues. I would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food is fantastic. Our waiter was too anxious to do his job. We were not allowed time to look at wine list and once we were ready to order wine, he wanted our dinner order at the same time. No time to visit or enjoy the wine before dinner came. Other staff were very loud in the background talking among themselves which ruined the otherwise quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and good service. Excellent wine list for a town of Gillettes size. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Meat was excellent, cooked just right. Fast and courteous service. Nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always it was a great dinner for my family. Our waitress, Amy, was so much fun and did a great job as she waited on our every request. The restaurant is always very clean and updated. Our food was delicious and what more can you ask for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Prime Rib is a mainstay in Gillette, very decent food and great decor, the service is excellent. I will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always delicious food, always excellent service. Guaranteed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Waited for over an hour to find out my ticket was lost. 20 minutes later I got my food, manager came over and gave a b.s. apology. She didn't offer any discount or anyway to help. Waiter offered free deserts, they were good. Over all food was pretty good once I recieved it. And no they were not busy during my visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had prime rib and filet mignon. Both nicely seasoned and cooked correctly. The sangria was great and our waitress was personable and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 5, 2016

This was our first visit and definitely will not be our last. The food was served hot and with generous portions. The dessert is to die for; the raspberries and Russian cream was amazing! Our server was very attentive and so friendly. The ambience was perfect. The prices are great for the quality of food and dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Fabulous meal, as always. Never fails to be a super dining experience and the food is terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Tony is a GOOD GUY and a VERY good waiter. Good service turns good food into a GREAT dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 20, 2016

We had a group of eight that did not all arrive together. The waitress was very attentive and greeted each guest as soon as they were seated. She remembered each person's order and checked on us regularly but did not hover.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Great place to dine for lunch or dinner. A menu to fit everyone as well as a great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Excellent atmosphere service was slow but they were very busy during our dinner. Food was amazing, wine was even better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 11, 2015

Went to Prime Rib Restaurant there was a lot of people waiting to get in as I had called for reservations we were ushered to a table immediately after we got to e place,the staff was on top of our drinks and the meals,the food was very good,the conversation was relaxing,and the service was excellent. I will of course send anybody who is wanting a good dining experience your way, thanks again. Barry Steeg
Your nickname review won't accept nicknames ,Bearrunner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Our server was attentive and fun. We travel quite a bit and stop for Prime Rib as much as possible. This is definitely one of our favorites. The atmosphere was relaxing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 16, 2015

Great food, extensive wine list. A must stop when we travel this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Food was good for3 out of 4 of us. The prime melt that was ordered came to us cold and the au jus was cold also. Not the sandwich I was looking for. Our waitress however seemed spacey . She checked on us occasionally and the weird part was we asked about dessert and she said she would be right back with dessert options and came back in just two minutes with our bill and brought the dessert menus to a different table that was just starting on salads. So we left. The 3 who had steaks enjoyed their meals but the prime melt was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.