About The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar

1205 S Douglas Hwy
Gillette, WY 82716
View Larger Map

The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar offers a fine dining experience to patrons in Gillette, Wyoming, and surrounding areas. Established in 1983, The Prime Rib Restaurant is owned and operated by Ken Barkey. The Prime Rib Restaurant provides excellent quality dishes like steaks, seafood, and prime rib. It also features a comprehensive list of delicious desserts, such as New York cheesecake, chocolate lava cake, and raspberries with Russian cream.

As an upscale yet casual restaurant, The Prime Rib Restaurant in Gillette provides top-quality wines from all over the world. Bottles are kept in a state-of-the-art, glass-enclosed wine case located in the center of the 8,000-square-foot restaurant. to There is great variety of wines starting at under $20 per bottle. Wines are also available "to go" at retail prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
12th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 682-2944

Website:
http://www.primeribgillette.com/

Catering:
The Prime Rib Restaurant and Wine Cellar can cater your event! From large RV rallies and BBQs up to 5,000 people to more intimate settings, you can trust the experienced staff to handle your event with pride and care. Prime Rib catering's goal is to provide top quality food products and a professionally trained staff so this will be a worry free event for you.

Executive Chef:
Brad Focht

Private Party Contact:
Ken Barkey: 3076822944

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

The Prime Rib Restaurant & Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northeast Wyoming
Best Restaurants in Gillette ›

Good for a Date (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went there and enjoyed ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I went there and enjoyed it so much. Made the reservation on Open Table at 6:35 for 7.pm. We made the short drive to the restaurant and were there by 6:45. When I told them I had a 7 o'clock reservation through Open Table we were seated right away.(even with a line of people.)

Food was delicious and we both recommend the prime rib and cream brûlée for dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing (except for the bre ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was amazing (except for the bread loaf. It was too hard to even cut through). The service was ok. We would have enjoyed it more if the used dishes and trash (straw wrappers, etc) had been removed while we were sitting there. As far as the noise level: our server had one of those loud, annoying (sorry) kind of voices. In a place like Prime Rib, it is our opinion that the tone should be kept quiet and pleasant. Maybe get closer to your guests so you don't have to speak so loudly. Overall not a bad experience, and we would return.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great evening. The food was amazing and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great evening. The food was amazing and staff were helpful and friendly. Our server did and outstanding job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was looking for a good place to eat and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Was looking for a good place to eat and this was it . Ordered onion rings and shrimp cocktail for app and New York strip for dinner ... Wide selection of wine .... Not sure you will find a better restraunt in ne Wyoming . A plus

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything in this restaurant was great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything in this restaurant was great I would tell anyone to go there

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for dinner because we were ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We went there for dinner because we were traveling and staying the night in town. If we lived there, I would go often. We both had the prime rib and it was perfectly done, the Caesar was not the best I've had but it's hard to find a really good Caesar, the chocolate chip pecan pie was fabulous. Our server was great, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It has the feel of a chain restaurant. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

It has the feel of a chain restaurant. The artichoke dip was good. The chef salad was not. But the soup was pretty good. Extensive wine list, with wines costing well over a $1,000.00 per bottle. I can't, for the life of me, see someone paying $1200 for a wine to go with a $30 steak, but then, I've never won the lottery. Nor did I ask if they even had those pricey bottles in stock. Waiter acted like she was pretty busy. She was nice, but we had the feeling we were not her most important table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Passing through the area- stopped in Gil ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Passing through the area- stopped in Gillette for the night. We both had the prime rib and it was exceptional. The service was quick, friendly and pleasant. There were a couple minor mistakes during the meal but nothing to prevent us from recommending (or returning to) the restaurant. First, we ordered a bottle of pinot noir but I didn't notice that it was actually a cabernet until it was poured. Minor problem because it was very good. We ordered coffee with dessert but it was never delivered (or added to the bill). So, minor issues. I would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is fantastic. Our waiter was t ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food is fantastic. Our waiter was too anxious to do his job. We were not allowed time to look at wine list and once we were ready to order wine, he wanted our dinner order at the same time. No time to visit or enjoy the wine before dinner came. Other staff were very loud in the background talking among themselves which ruined the otherwise quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and good service. Excellent w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and good service. Excellent wine list for a town of Gillettes size. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meat was excellent, cooked just right. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Meat was excellent, cooked just right. Fast and courteous service. Nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always it was a great dinner for my f ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always it was a great dinner for my family. Our waitress, Amy, was so much fun and did a great job as she waited on our every request. The restaurant is always very clean and updated. Our food was delicious and what more can you ask for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Prime Rib is a mainstay in Gillette, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Prime Rib is a mainstay in Gillette, very decent food and great decor, the service is excellent. I will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always delicious food, always excellent ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always delicious food, always excellent service. Guaranteed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waited for over an hour to find out my t ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Waited for over an hour to find out my ticket was lost. 20 minutes later I got my food, manager came over and gave a b.s. apology. She didn't offer any discount or anyway to help. Waiter offered free deserts, they were good. Over all food was pretty good once I recieved it. And no they were not busy during my visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We had prime rib and filet mignon. Both ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had prime rib and filet mignon. Both nicely seasoned and cooked correctly. The sangria was great and our waitress was personable and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious! !!

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 6, 2016

This was our first visit and definitely will not be our last. The food was served hot and with generous portions. The dessert is to die for; the raspberries and Russian cream was amazing! Our server was very attentive and so friendly. The ambience was perfect. The prices are great for the quality of food and dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great meal

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Fabulous meal, as always. Never fails to be a super dining experience and the food is terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

service

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Tony is a GOOD GUY and a VERY good waiter. Good service turns good food into a GREAT dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice experience.

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 21, 2016

We had a group of eight that did not all arrive together. The waitress was very attentive and greeted each guest as soon as they were seated. She remembered each person's order and checked on us regularly but did not hover.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine for lunch or dinner. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 14, 2015

Great place to dine for lunch or dinner. A menu to fit everyone as well as a great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent atmosphere

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent atmosphere service was slow but they were very busy during our dinner. Food was amazing, wine was even better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Restaurant review

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Went to Prime Rib Restaurant there was a lot of people waiting to get in as I had called for reservations we were ushered to a table immediately after we got to e place,the staff was on top of our drinks and the meals,the food was very good,the conversation was relaxing,and the service was excellent. I will of course send anybody who is wanting a good dining experience your way, thanks again. Barry Steeg

Your nickname review won't accept nicknames ,Bearrunner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The prime rib was excellent.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Our server was attentive and fun. We travel quite a bit and stop for Prime Rib as much as possible. This is definitely one of our favorites. The atmosphere was relaxing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, extensive wine list. A must ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 17, 2015

Great food, extensive wine list. A must stop when we travel this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bad waitress

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Food was good for3 out of 4 of us. The prime melt that was ordered came to us cold and the au jus was cold also. Not the sandwich I was looking for. Our waitress however seemed spacey . She checked on us occasionally and the weird part was we asked about dessert and she said she would be right back with dessert options and came back in just two minutes with our bill and brought the dessert menus to a different table that was just starting on salads. So we left. The 3 who had steaks enjoyed their meals but the prime melt was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great Gillette Restaurant!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 15, 2015

In Gillette for a convention, and the restaurant was so good that we went back a second night! Extensive menu with choices for everyone. Outstanding fast and friendly service, even though they were packed with both locals and conventioneers. Yes the prime rib was outstanding, but had a chicken dish the second night that was great. And the old school escargot was so good that I had it both nights! Highly recommend The Prime Rib if you want a very good meal in Gillette!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I got exactly what I expected

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 28, 2015

service was adequate and the environment for my business lunch was adequate.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

No reservation?

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 29, 2015

We were lucky to be eated on a busy Saturday night, because they did not have our Open Table reservation in their system, even though we had email confirmation of it. Great steak!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The roast beef was good but the chicken dishs not.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 25, 2015

The roast beef was good but the chicken Capri was watery and not seasoned well. My two guests both had the chicken capri and weren't happy with it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great service and a great, nice place to ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 9, 2015

Great service and a great, nice place to have relax and have a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a night of bad service

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Waitress was very rude. Took an hour to get soup and salads and then she totally forgot one of the guests soups at our table. It took her 15 minutes to bring it. We received our food after 2 hours and my sandwich only had half a burger oN it and it had no mushrooms or onions as ordered. When I told waitress all she said was "ok". I hope to never have her as a waitress again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Revisiting after 8 yrs

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2014

We were disappointed to say the least. They have added on since the last time we stopped. It has cheapened the place. Almost like a nice truck stop. Food was decent. Later in evening but not closing time. Waitress was preoccupied. Bottles of wine on the menu for hundreds of dollars but served butter in a plastic cup. Didn't even offer us dessert. We will not come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great food.

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Walking in the atmosphere was wonderful. We were greeted very quickly and seated right away. The menue was impressive, maybe even a a few to many options, but we went with the chicken fried steak. It was cooked very well, the sides were all wonderful. Our server was friendly, but seemed over whelmed and maybe unsure of the menu items. He could have been a recent hire. Over all a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice Higher End Restaurant

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 9, 2014

Found this place on trip advisor, and the good reviews were accurate. Nice higher end restaurant. Would definitely go back if in the area again. We were just passing through Gillette and staying overnight. Definitely one of our best meals on our trip. They have a MASSIVE wine list that includes reasonably priced wine, to their reserve list that goes into the stratosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not a Favorite

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 16, 2014

We had made reservations and were seated immediately upon arriving. The waitress pounced on us before we even opened the menu. This place has an extensive and some very expensive wines ($100-$500-$1000) so we wanted to look it over before choosing beverage. She came back in about 3 minutes and gain we told her we weren't ready. Even though they have expensive wine, they serve choice beef. My prime rib was done perfectly but a little chewy. My husband ordered his au poivre and she didn't even know what that was even though it was a choice on the menu. When our salads came, they had chex cereal on top instead of croutons. Really? Would not go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Perfect for a special occasion

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 7, 2014

The table, service, and food were absolutely perfect for us to show true Western Hospitality to a special friend from South Carolina. We had blackened Prime Rib and Ribeye dinners all around. Amy C., our server, was very aware of our desire to have a quiet, fun meal with a friend. She kept her distance, was never intrusive, and yet was there instantly for drink refills, etc. I would suggest that you serve more shrimp with your shrimp cocktail because four is just not enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Server

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 3, 2014

Our server, JoAnn, was outstanding and we loved her sense of humor. The prime rib was out of this world and the wine list is pages and pages in length with unusual wines. We had a fabulous romantic dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First waitress must have thought we were ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 28, 2014

First waitress must have thought we were not going be good tippers. She pawned is off to another waiter who was from South America. So glad she did, he was fantastic. Ordered drinks, appetizers, steaks, and dessert. We also left a big fat tip. Great food, the only bad taste in our mouth was the first waitress who chose not to keep us as her customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.