Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Saundra Heaslip: (902) 423-8816

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Historic (11)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Live Music (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely amazing!!!!! Might just be my new favourite dinning spot in Halifax!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Was looking for a great place to take friends accompanying us on a visit to Halifax. This place was highly recommended and the reviews very good. While the ambiance and history of the building were a nice part of the experience, the food was just ok for a fine dining establishment. The seafood chowder was not as good as you would expect to find in NS. The beef carpaccio had so much fat, a third of the dish was left on the plate. The elk was fine as was the bison. The wine selection was poor - nothing you couldn't find at your local LC. And the wine markup was very high. The bill came in at $600+ for 4 of us. We should have come away much more impressed than we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was very tasty, service was very good! Lovely ambiance. A bit pricy but lovely for special occasions! We would recommend The Press Gang as a fine dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Five of us dined at the Press Gang to celebrate the end of a conference. The wait staff quickly took drink orders and the choice of appetizers, then took the entree orders. The two appetizers ordered, the cheese board and the tuna tataki salad, although very good, were small, a surprise given the price of both. Our table ordered a variety of entrees: lobster (the standard lobster appears to be a very big one!), sea bass, scallops, etc. All were prepared well and served in an appealing way. The only negative was the long wait for the entrees to be served. We did not have dessert either because we were too full or the desserts were not appealing. In terms of ambience, the restaurant has an "old" feel to it, which is very pleasant. We were seated near one of the front windows and the noise level was low until the musical entertainment began right in front of us. That ended easily talking among ourselves, so be aware of the location where you may be seated.

The Press Gang is relatively expensive; the entrees were worth the expense. The appetizers were not. The wait staff is personable and generally attentive without being obtrusive. But the restaurant needs to move a bit more quickly on entree preparation especially on busy nights.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were in Halifax on vacation and had dinner our last night at The Press Gang. The food and service were excellent. It is quite expensive, but we were happy to enjoy out last night with such a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great location with delicious food and very good service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 7, 2017

superb location with excellent waiter that added to the dining experience. one of the best restaurants I have eaten in around the world

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent selection of oysters, all extremely fresh. Great food with some very innovative dishes. Tremendous service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My Wife & I came to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and everything was amazing. Ambiance was nice and the live music was very entertaining. Service was top notch. Food was delicious, especially the seafood chowder. We'll definitely be coming back to relax and listen to Mike Cowie.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great ambiance and service, with The Drill exceeding both.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Press gang is consistently terrific. I have been there many times and they never disappoint. Service, Food and ambiance are top-notch and unique.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Superb service, excellent food and beverage list, a must go to restaurant in Halifax. I particularly enjoyed the oysters on the half shell and Quebec elk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Was taken back when the server watched me punch in her tip and her reaction to 20% was less than enthusiastic. I do not like the system in Nova Scotia where the bill is electronically paid at the table while the waiter watches you punch in the gratuity.
The Press Room was over priced,

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Was very satisfied but was surpsirsed that you ran out of lobster at 7:30pm on a Monday?!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great ambiance and oysters, after that, far too overpriced for the quality of food and service provided. Would not recommend this place to anyone. I told our server that if they intend to operate as a 4-star restaurant the food and service quality need vast improvements. Terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We took the 6-course Chef's selection. The presentation was nice but a lot of things we didn't like. Would have been better for us to choose meal a la carte. We would go back but we would not take the Chef's choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Oyster bar was really sweet and the service was awesome. We enjoyed the live music which was a bonus. We tried a few appetizers, dessert and some cocktails. Food was tasty, presented well and fresh. Enjoyed all the cheeses on the charcuterie and in the duck salad. Good oysters and a spicy cesar is one of my favourite combos and press gang didn't disappoint. The orange chocolate tarte was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent evening at The Press Gang! We had a very nice private table in a very romantic setting. We had The Drill where the chef prepares a five course meal. Our server served us wine by the glass to pair with the meal. He did an excellent job! This was a memorable evening. We will definitely come back the next time we are in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our meal was probably the best I have had for a long time. The value was above average and the staff were professional and friendly. Excellent night!

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome oysters food and service. One of Halifax's best!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our server was very attentive and I took her up on her suggestions for an app and entree. Very pleased with both. We enjoyed the venue enough to stay at the bar after our meal to listen to the live music and enjoy a specialty cocktail. The bartenders were very engaging and the live music was excellent. Will certainly return for another meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent from start to finish: unique cocktails, super-fresh oysters, the best halibut I have ever had, and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 6, 2017

enjoyed the oysters- and the pavlova dessert- the waiter was very nice- and brought the best platter of oysters, and crab roulade, paired with the best wine!
Loved it! will go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fantastic meal last night, and service was outstanding. I had the scallops and my partner the halibut. Both were amazing. Ask your server for a history lesson on The Press Gang, how incredible it is to dine is a kitchen dating back to 1759. The restaurant is unique in so many ways. Will be back later this summer and can't wait to try the new menu as our server mentioned a seafood tasting menu will be on. See you in August!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wonderful meal, visually beautiful from apps to dessert. Brad, our server was extremely knowledgeable, attentive and timed the courses very well. He made us feel very comfortable and cared for. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Staff went out of their way to accommodate our late arrival. Had friends visiting from Europe who enjoyed the food and hospitality. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, delicious food. Pricy, but ok for an especial occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a lovely visit at The Press Gang, but overall we got a distinctly touristy-vibe that tainted our experience. The dishes are significantly overpriced (4 scallops for $33), although the food was good. Tacky little things like blue sea salt under our oysters rockefeller (apparently supposed to be the "ocean") and dusty fake flowers (other restaurants manage to have fresh flowers) definitely cheapened the experience. But the restaurant itself is incredible charming and has an unparalleled ambiance. It is a good place for out-of-towners, for sure - that seems to be what they're catering to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent Chef's choice 5 course tasting menu. Service impeccable. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Interesting food, but probably not worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Oustanding food, ambiance & Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is my go to spot in Halifax. Great food with great service. I try other restaurants but keep coming back to this one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The baked oysters were the best ever!!!
Braised ribs was a winner!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Brought some friends who were visiting from Cape Breton in for late night drinks. They were blown away by the atmosphere and really enjoyed the live music. The drinks were fantastic and the service very friendly and attentive. I love the Press Gang and it's a great spot to bring friends from out of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Order The Drill and you won't be disappointed. Service was the best I have ever experienced at restaurant.
Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went here for our 25th Wedding anniversary. We were seated in a small alcove which was perfect for a romantic evening. We were immediately served champagne on the house as it was our anniversary. Our waitress was very friendly and suggested menu items and drinks. The oysters were fantastik - we tried 3 different varieties. We had the duck entree and the Elk Tenderloin - both magnificent. We had a very enjoyable evening and did not feel like we had to leave. Highly recommend The Press Gang

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Kudos to the waiters and kitchen. They were catering to a large group but the staff made the extra effort to take excellent care of us and to get our meals to us in a timely fashion. Definitely among the top ten places to eat in Halifax.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The oysters were to die for! We wanted them again for dessert! It was only our servers 5th day, but she was outstanding! We had an infant with us since we were traveling, the staff were very accommodating! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We often enjoy oysters and martinis at the press gang, but this time decided to go here with a group (7 people) for a friends birthday. Food and drinks came out in a timely manner, unfortunately both appetizers (the ceviches) were sent back to the kitchen. Tasteless and quite frankly inedible. The special was a butter poached lobster- drenched in a sauce and masked any hint of lobster on the plate. Beef tenderloin was cooked perfectly. We will stick to drinks and oysters in future.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great ambiance, interesting menu but slow and inconsistent delivery. Great service and excellent wines at good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.