Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
Live Music (16)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great Beer (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1045 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, atmosphere and service were all excellent. We would have liked to stay for dessert but there wasn't much of a selection and nothing that I could see being a crowd favorite or "comfort food". The server mentioned they were about to launch the Fall menu so the desserts were very summery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Chowder was nice but not a lot of fish flavor; mostly cream and sherry. Halibut was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing old building with charm and character. Great food selection. Very delicious. We had a great time. A little pricy but worth it. Will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were recognizing a special occasion - the end of cancer treatment and were catered to in excellent fashion. Service was accommodating, professional, and friendly. Above average wine list for Halifax. Menu was very interesting and food was very well prepared, presented, and served. We were very pleased with everything about The Press Gang...as we always are.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent food (halibut) and service. Ask for Erin. We made a reservation for the following night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

After ordering "The Drill", I have to say that I was blown away by the quality, quantity and overall deliciousness of everything that was served throughout the night. Chef Chris put together a fine assortment of foods that were pleasing to both the palate and the eye, and was even kind enough to come out and meet us after we finished our meal.

We had the opportunity to be seated by the kitchen and watch the chef and sous chefs at work. While it was loud, it was definitely worth it for the unique experience we got, which we likened to seeing a live recording of Hell's Kitchen.

I can also speak to the personable and great service we received from our server, Robyn throughout the night. She helped to make it the perfect evening.

Overall, I can't say enough about the excellent experience that we had, and I can only suggest that you give it a try and see for yourself.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Although we loved the old building and the general atmosphere. We were seated beside the kitchen and it was very noisy with the chef yelling to wait staff throughout our dinner. The live music on Friday and Saturday nights is a very nice touch. The food was delicious, although on the price year-end.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 8, 2017

All in all, great atmosphere & experience. Been many times, always great food. Last experience food was good but not overwhelming. Definitely look forward to next visit to see if I can be overwhelmed again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

A gem in Halifax - whether you're going for beer and oysters or a romantic dinner, this would fit the bill. An absolutely incredible atmosphere, amazing service, delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent ambience, historic 1759 building. Wonderful oyster bar with skilled, friendly bartender/shuckers. Excellent wait staff. Fresh ingredients (oysters, halibut, etc.). Great dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Amazing! It was our anniversary, and didn't expect anything extra, but was put in a special area and given two free glasses of champagne. The food was amazing and service was awesome. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We loved it and will be back on our next visit to Halifax! Restaurant was highly recommended and it delivered! Great service, wonderful meal and oh my the oysters! Yumm!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

El ambiente es excelente, los platos y el servicio también. Muy recomendable

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Wonderful meal in a historic setting. Great service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful evening. Service and food were both above standard and we have a high standard!
Thanks to all the folks at the Press Gang!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love this Press Gang...great ambience! Our party had ribs, chowder, oysters, lobster, halibut. Everyone was totally impressed with the creativity and great tastes of the dishes. Live jazz duo provided perfect background for the evening. Can't miss at this place!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is in my opinion best restaurant in Halifax. Waitress was amazing and ambiance and food are like no other spot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

we loved the music and the food. Most cocktails were very good, except one. I ordered a very cold and dry martini, and it was neither. That aside, four of us had a delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at the Press Gang on Friday evening. We were seated at the back right next to the kitchen window where the chef would yell each waitress' name when their plates were ready at such a volume that each time I was startled. I would recommend eating here only if you have a table at the front and can't hear the kitchen staff. It was chaotic, stressful and not romantic to watch the dishwasher come out with his blue plastic apron to replenish dish stock and to hear all the commotion of the kitchen. As a paying customers I believe every table deserves the same ambiance. I would recommend the food here. The seafood chowder was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

we had a wonderfully intimate and excellent dinner to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Everyone made it special for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal meal. Ordered "The Drill", which is a 5-course meal decided by the chef. Absolutely incredible. Will return, 100%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The staff was welcoming and warm. Our female waiter was delightful. Quirky funny and knowledgeable. Extremely accommodating to 2 of our guests with celiac disease, plus a 16 year old. That said, my daughter has eaten in the finest restaurants in Europe and all over North America so I think they were impressed with her questions and choices.
I would highly recommend The Press Gang to my friends and family. Noting that it is pricy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Picked this Restaurant for a great dinner out based on eating and reviews. Was looking forward to a Lobster from Nova Scotia and the delivery was disappointing. It was served not in shell and was very tuff , everything was great until lobster. There was obviously a blip in the kitchen. That being said they still took the lobster off the bill. So illlet you decide. Could be a great place mybe just a bad night for me and my friends.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Exquisite historic restaurant with old stone wall interior. Food is good, but not good enough for foodies. Nothing outstanding or even very good. Go there for history and atmosphere alone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful food and service and the added treat of great live music. And it's such a great looking place with the old stone walls etc., etc..

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had our anniversary and Erin our server was awesome. Love it

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great 1759 building to house this restaurant. Great local food and friendly knowledgeable staff. We loved the scallop and risotto and the halibut in cast iron main dishes. It's a gem of a place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My family of five ate at The Press Gang last week. The food was just ok. I was very surprised that we couldn't get more bread for the table, The bill for supper was $500 with one bottle of very reasonably priced wine. The server actually said" we don't do extras", I would have thought the opposite based on the cost of food.
The appetizers were acceptable as were the entres, just not as good as I would have expected based on pricing.
Overall the food is ok, just not great. The atmosphere is very quaint and cozy. Prices are high, and if you're really hungry bring your own extra's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Incredible everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food. Great service. Live music very pleasant on Saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The tables in the back in front of the open kitchen are very noisy and lack the nice ambisce of the front room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great ambiance and setting. Seafood chowder was amazing. Main entrees were good but nothing to write home about. Go for the ambiance and decent food. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

From street, the Press Gang restaurant would be easy to miss but recommended as food is at fine dining level and it has the old world stone and wood work. Service was above par too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very good. Really enjoyed our meal.
A bit pricey, but we knew that ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Anniversary trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Great seafood and amazing service.
1759 building creates very special dining space.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great atmosphere in historic building. Food was great, especially Caesar salad!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at the Press Gang recently and they took great care of us making it a very memorable experience. Super table, service, food, and ambience. Thank You Press Gang!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. The server was impeccable. He shared recommendations on oysters which my friend enjoyed immensely and after he served our second cocktail allowed us plenty of time without hurrying us into the meal but he was attentive throughout. We had the salmon and the halibut. Both were moist and fabulously fresh. The atmosphere is nice, not noisy but not stuffy either. This is a great place for a celebration or an anniversary or birthday. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Press Gang is our go to restaurant for our anniversary. It is. Wry Roma tic and the food and service is never a disappointment. They always treat us extra special as they know we are celebrating. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.