Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

The Press Gang

4.5
1137 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open 7 days a week at 5pm. The bar is open until late
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 423-8816
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Bolt
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grand Parade & City Hall
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

What can I say. It was perfect and they gave us the best table for 2 in the house. We both had the Halibut plate. Flourless chocolate desert was exquisite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food in a unique historical setting. The menu is an awesome gateway to locally sourced ingredients with creative preparations. Strongly recommend as part of a Halifax visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience in this wonderful 1759 building, but sadly the food was a bit bland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We were warmly received for our anniversary dinner. They had designated a secluded table so we would be able to chat. They soon returned with flutes of bubbly wine compliments of the house. It was our first visit to this establishment and we loved it. The menu had some variations from the menu posted on line but it was easy to make our selections. The calamari entre was slightly over cooked for my taste. The thick piece of halibut was slightly underdone for the taste of my wife. It may be useful to ask future client how they want it cooked. The presentation of the plates was impressive and was a real pleasure for the palate. Once the jazz entertainment started the music was pleasant to the ears and not overstated adding to the charm old world look. We had a fantastic evening. Thank you to the staff for their pleasant and courteous service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took clients/friends here and was really impressed by the venue, service and food. I would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went here for mother’s day dinner. We had the drill and it was amazing. It was not cheap but well worth the money. The service was excellent. We will be dining here in the future.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The salad my wife ordered had brown lettuce and was not dressed at all. We returned it but yet they billed us for it. The ambience given the price of the meal was not good, we were seated by a noisy kitchen and got to see how truly engaged the staff were in providing service. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Amazing service great food and very beautiful setting

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Service was lacking. The waiter did not engage, or even smile. Not my best experience there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

went for a quality meal and Whiskey... great selection of whiskeys.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was excellent. My only complaint was that my piece of halibut was quite small. My husband ordered the same dish and his looked significantly bigger. Tasted good though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent evening of dining and music. Our server took care of us, she was fabulous. Great crowd Thursday evening, with a special treat as Janet Cull entertained with beautiful songs!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Too loud and too long to get food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Comme toujours, le service et la bouffe sont exceptionnels. De plus, l'ambiance feutrée ajoute au cachet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food was great. Service was friendly and attentive. Really enjoyed the live entertainment. I would have liked a little more time between courses. Other than that, it was a perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

As always, the Press Gang was wonderful. We have the 5 course Drill when we go and it never disappoints. The chefs choices are delicious and creative. There is just something about getting a meal made by the chefs choice. Our server was perfect and very attentive, she never let our wine glasses get empty! We love this restaurant and it is our choice for dining every time we go to Halifax.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Amazing meal! We did the chef’s tasting menu for two, it was incredible!

Beautiful atmosphere and the drink menu is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Simply superb! Service is outstanding. Leave room for dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

This was a dinner event with work colleagues. The food was good and our server was extremely accommodating to our request for a non-menu item (a scallop appetizer). Everyone in my group loved the ambiance of the old building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

This restaurant does not fail to deliver ambiance that is only unique to Press Gang. You feel like you are in the old world with delicious, melt-in-your-mouth food. My lovely friends and I were right next to the piano player and singer, it was such a treat to listen. every dish was cooked to perfection!

If I could, I would eat there every night- but be aware that this is high dining with a matching price tag. But oh so worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Please see my review on Trip Advisor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

everything was very tasty, server was very helpful.
Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We love it again, this was our second time & we will definitely go back. Our friends were really impress with the place. Will definitely recommend this location to other people

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great place to go! Food was good, servive was excellent and I love the rustic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I had let the restaurant know it was a significant birthday. We had a table in a charming alcove and a complimentary glass of sparkling wine -very nice! We ordered The Drill -tasting menu for two which was delicious! The service was very attentive. The only downside was the foot stomping coming from upstairs as it was St Patrick’s Day. The staff made efforts to minimize the noise (by speaking to someone upstairs) and it did improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The ambiance and service was amazing. The food was just OK considering the price. The single malt scotch offerings are the best in the city. I would highly recommend this place as a romantic night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Always a great meal when I eat here. Tonight the Halibut was amazing. Loved the choice of vegetables..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Best Halibut dish I’ve ever had, the vegetables were perfectly seasoned as well. The atmosphere is welcoming and overall a great place for special occasions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The food at the Press Gang is fabulous, the service is top notch and the ambiance is great. So why not a five star review? - The problem for me is the wine list - it is rather boring and certainly overpriced. Most restaurants of this caliber will have a wine list filled with unique offerings and arranged by country or overall attributes. I expect to find wines that I can't get any place else and some simple assistance with pairing. The Press Gang wine list looks to be right off the shelf of the NSLC, differentiated only by red or white and with a very high markup. I expect that many places will charge double the store price, but I saw several wines on the list that I were more than 3 times the store price. More and more the trend in high-end restaurants is to make profit from the food and lower the markups on wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

always enjoy the service and superb quality of the food at Press Gang. One of the best in Halifax!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Always amazing food and amazing service. Scotch list is top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Another delicious meal at The Press Gang. Went with a friend over the weekend and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed some oysters to start, lots of variety available. Beautiful, creative, high quality food. I love the atmosphere, the building is old and unique in the most wonderful way. Our server was kind, attentive, and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food was very well cooked
Service was on point and met our needs
We felt rushed, they seemed to be wanting to flip the table. I could see them standing on the corner with our next course waiting for my last bite so they could bring the next course right away.
We had oysters to start, scallops as appy, the mac/cheese and seafood pasta, and a great desert.
It was a cool spot, next time we would book for 8:30 instead of 7:30 as we had a nice surprise when leaving of a good piano player.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

I just love this place and go each time I visit Halifax! the food is always excellent as all of the staff. Mike Cowie delivers awesome music, it’s such a pleasure to listen to his music while there. The atmosphere is absolutely perfect!

I honestly have nothing but good to say, you’ll definitely enjoy the experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Incredible atmosphere and amazing food!
Beautiful bar...every spirit imaginable and the freshest Oysters.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We considered The Press Gang as our special occasion go to restaurant that has never let us down in the past. On our last visit it was to celebrate Valentine's day and we had been advised that there would be a table d'hote menu rather than the usual for the evening. As mentioned, based on past experience we had confidence in the food and service despite the fact that the $75 per person charge for this menu seemed even more expensive than usual. We ended up being disappointed with the small portions (although well presented), limited selection and the lack of quality service given the main plate was not to my wife's taste to enjoy and no offer to have it corrected. All in all we are sorry to say The Press Gang did not live up to it's otherwise higher standard that you should expect at this price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service and rapport with Brad our Server who was quite professional and informative assisting us in wine choice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service was really good, but the price was much more than expected from looking at the website and dining menu. Still a great place to bring a date or to just have a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful meal guys! Perfectly suited to a dinner date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Always excellent both front and back if the house. Well staffed with very knowledgeable folks, great Scotch selection, fresh oysters always. This is our go-to favorite, and one of the best in the city.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by The Press Gang