About The Press Gang

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday
5pm - 10pm
Thursday - Saturday
5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie Trio every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musicians, Gerry Carruthers on piano and Larry Bjornson on bass, perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
David Haines

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra Heaslip: 9024238816x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

Restaurant Photos

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (47)
romantic (39)
fit for foodies (30)
See All
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place, halibut was fresh and well ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place, halibut was fresh and well cooked. Assistant manager was a true professional the way she handled an issue of someone at my table. Waiter friendly and informative. Would go back in Halifax again.

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Awful

Dined on May 16, 2016

Only good thing is ambiance. Waiter was awful. I ordered the Atlantic lobster dish - 5 or 6 small pieces of lobster smothered in cream sauce with oodles of gnocchi. Wine was overpriced. When plates were served they had to ask who got what dish. For the prices there, they should know. Stay away.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Adequate but over-priced

Dined on May 16, 2016

The two of us went for a special night out. The food was very good. Service ok. We waited nearly an hour before our chowder arrived - good thing we had a snack before leaving home. The chowder was excellent but the rest of the meal was adequate, certainly not as good as their prices would suggest. We were seated near the office door which was used several times during our meal without so much as an "excuse me" or "sorry for bumping into your chair for the third time." Plus we were seated adjacent to a group of quite loud businessmen. Granted, our fault for not requesting another table but considering the prices they charge they should invest in some common sense that romantic dinner conversation shouldn't be drowned out by neighbouring tables.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We reserved a table, and were

Dined on May 13, 2016

We made a reservation, but were seated at a table for 2 next to the door and adjacent to the piano. We asked to be moved, and were, to a more suitable table but that begs the question - what is the point of a reservation when the table you get seated at first is the one you put the walk ins at. We were disappointed at that aspect of the meal at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, friendly, energetically quaint. Foo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fun, friendly, energetically quaint. Food delightfully simple yet complex; taste over bulk. Service perfect; don't hover … but check. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

It was a special night for us; the food ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

It was a special night for us; the food was superb and the wine list, although not up-to-date, was "notable" enough for us. A wine we ordered was not available (no longer carried we supposed as we were told it was delisted) and the wine we did order, although great, was a 2014, not a 2013 as indicated. We will return for special events.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, fun atmosphere

Dined on May 5, 2016

Good food and good service. Fun Old World atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant serves nice food but its ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

This restaurant serves nice food but its pricey and the service does not match the entree price range. Service was very slow. There are better and better value restaurants in Halifax.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best for food, service and environment

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have eaten at all the hot spots across Canada, and let me say that the Press Gang gets food, liquor and SERVICE.... not many place can make that claim. From the moment you step into the amazingly historic space untill you enjoy your last freshly shucked Oyster, youll feel relaxed and at home. Did I mention the live music Friday and Saturdays, amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Top restaurant in Halifax, great ambienc ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Top restaurant in Halifax, great ambience, excellent food, mediocre wine cellar, good service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

A special occasion dinner with family on a Tuesday evening. Most of the tables were full and there was a lively feeling throughout. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable and provided for our every need. The food was tasty, however, everyone found their meal to be quite salty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Food fantastic. Service less than averag ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food fantastic. Service less than average.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great oysters, great scotch menu

Dined on March 1, 2016

Recommended to colleagues who also had a nice experience.

food5
ambience5
service4

Try the whiskey cocktail-- Admiral Nelso ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Try the whiskey cocktail-- Admiral Nelson's Kick. Maybe the best Caesar salad I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of your place.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. The best eating experience since a long while, if not the best ever. All was so tasty and the service very friendly but not invading in our dining experience. We were lucky enough to have a jazz duo playing during our stay (Friday Feb. 26) which was adding to the experience. Without being jazz music fans, we enjoyed all the pieces that were played. On the Saturday evening we went to another restaurant in Halifax. Our reaction was, We should have returned to the Press Gang.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining room is fantastic. Our table was ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Dining room is fantastic. Our table was out back , very quiet and romantic. As was requested . Server was awesome, friendly and knowledgeable. But the food, OMG , had the catch of the day, blackened halibut served on lobster risotto ...most amazing dish ever! Afterwards we sat at the bar with a glass of wine and enjoyed some great jazz and watched the wait staff shuck fresh oysters . Can't wait to go back .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely treat !

Dined on February 21, 2016

We were at Press Gang for the first time this weekend. Service was exceptional (thanks Allain!) and the food was incredible. It is a very cool restaurant with tons of character. Win, win, win! We did the "drill" where the chef creates a four course meal and it was fantastic. We sampled a great variety and were pleasantly suprised with each course. Wine list was notable as well. We will most definitely be back and we can't wait to try the "drill" again. The music was a little loud for conversation but it was so good that we can't fault them that ! Thanks for the lovely experience in Halifax!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic Food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was incredible! Service was good but the waitress was not very knowledgeable about the wine list. We went on a night they had live entertainment and the ambience along with the music made for a spectacular evening! This is a great place for couples.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a romantic Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was fabulous. It is expensive but is worth every penny. The food just melted in your mouth. Drinks were amazing, service was fantastic. We couldn't have been more pleased and impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The main course is excellent. However, T ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The main course is excellent. However, There is some spices flavor in the vanilla ice cream which I don't like and the pudding is not solid enough.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Meal enjoyed with great company

Dined on February 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, food was fantastic...oysters are a must

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Downtown Halifax Favourite

Dined on February 17, 2016

Can't say enough about the Press Gang. It's actually my favourite restaurant in Halifax. The staff are very attentive and try to make your dining experience as enjoyable as possible. My only hint is when you are making reservations ask to not be placed by the kitchen if you want a little less traffic by your table during your dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TIME WELL SPENT

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our third time at The Press Gang and we are definitely going back. The servers were amazing, friendly and professional and the Jazz n Blues band were put the final touch on a great night. We were there almost 3 hours enjoying the ambience and each other and it felt like 30 minutes...need I say more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal in a unique atmosphere. I ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Excellent meal in a unique atmosphere. I would definitely recommend and hopefully will be back myself.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great oysters. Lovely meal. Romantic

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great oysters. Lovely meal. Romantic

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went here the first time the night we got engaged. This time we went on our 1 year wedding anniversary. I made a note in our opentable.com reservation that it was our anniversary. The staff reserved a secluded private room for us in the back of the restaurant. Before taking our orders, our server brought us each a glass of sparkling wine in congratulations on our anniversary. The food was spectacular and we had the perfect level of service. Our server was always there at the right time. The wine and scotch menu's are enormous. Great restaurant to sample different varieties of scotch that you wouldn't normally purchase a bottle of.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, five star cuisine

Dined on January 26, 2016

We visit Press Gang whenever we're in Halifax. The seafood here is amazingly good and creatively prepared. Be sure to have the fresh oysters.! The seafood bisque I had on my last visit was delicious as was my husbands cod. All the other dishes I've had are great as well including the desserts. The restaurant is set in an old tavern looking space with dark timber ceilings and maritime artifacts. Lots of candle light creates a great ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and great service

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was great. Everything was magical. If I lived in Halifax I would try to get to this restaurant as often as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always

Dined on January 20, 2016

The Press Gang is a must on every visit to Halifax. The food is spectacular and the ambiance and decor are fantastic. We had a great group dinner here and everyone was more than thrilled with how amazing their food tasted, the wine selection and the overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and food

Dined on January 16, 2016

The service was restrained but excellent. The food was excellent although the appetizer portions could have been slightly more generous for the price point. We would go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Knowledgabe and attentative staff. The ...

Dined on January 7, 2016

Knowledgabe and attentative staff. The food was great and wonderful ambiance, very historical building. I would go back and I would definitely recommend for a special occasion or for a romantic dinner :) I didn't know this existed until a friend recommended it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Fabulous New Year's Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We arrived for our 9:30 reservation, however our table was not ready until 10:15 due to inconsiderate diners lingering from the first seating. We were annoyed with the delay, but thrilled with the recovery by the Manager, who made sure that our bottle of wine was complimentary. The meal was, as always, fantastic. From the Amuse bouche of trout tartar to the 3-dessert sampler tray, everything was top-notch. Our entrees were Beef Tenderloin, and without question was the best we have ever had; prepared to perfection. I must add that the Creme Brulee was superb - it was equal to the one I had in a fine Paris bistro earlier last year. We enjoyed listening to the Mike Cowie Vibe while we dined; their music is the perfect enhancement to the dining experience at Press Gang. The Press Gang is, in our opinion THE place for fine dining in Halifax and it has become our New Year's Eve tradition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

not worth the price

Dined on December 31, 2015

my wife thoroughly enjoyed the evening including the food. I enjoyed the evening with my wife and the atmosphere but the food was very disappointing to me. very limited new year's eve choices. oysters were great,trout was ok,tuna appetizer was overpowering,beef tenderloin was well-underseasoned and cold. dessert had it's highs and lows. overall not worth $330 and half the flavor of epicurious morsels.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beyond Expectations

Dined on December 29, 2015

I went here for a solo dinner and chose it based on reviews I had read. I was far feom disappointed. The food starting with my oyster appetizer then my lobster and scallops on gnochhi was amazing. The flavours were great pronouced smooth and rich but never overpowering the taste of the seafood I was eating. Will definitely be going back with my girlfriend at a later date. Home to the Nova Scotia Whiskey Society they had an amazing selection. I had some amazing single malts, and was pleasantly surprised that it was whisky Tuesday and was introduced to a single malt by the owner who chatted with me about the selecions. The service was great i had just the right amount of friendly and knowledgeable service by the bartender, enough that I was taken care of but not too much where I felt interuppted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great atmosphere

Dined on December 29, 2015

We loved the building and the interior of the restaurant. The service was very good and we were never without an empty glass or for want of any item. The appetizers, we had the seafood chowder and tuna carpaccio were good. Our main courses, lobster and scallops and the halibut, were prepared well - the scallops were tender, flavorful and lightly seasoned. The halibut was good but both my husband and I felt the scallops and lobster was superior but mostly because they let the seafood speak for itself with a rich sauce that complimented the meat and didn't overwhelm it. The dessert was a disappointment - advertised as a napoleon with cracked pepper and strawberries. There was no true pastry at all, but literally a very firm crisp cracker in between the layers which seemed stale. A solid meal overall.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on December 18, 2015

We had a fantastic dinner at The Press Gang . I booked the dinner for a special occasion, it was my boyfriend's birthday. The food was delicious. We had everything from oysters, to calamari, lobster, scallops and steak. Everything was extremely tasty and well presented. I am almost salivating just thinking back about this incredible meal. The jazz musician made for a great atmosphere. It wasn't to loud, just perfect for an intimate setting where you can enjoy the music and still hear each other. I absolutely loved the live jazz musician. The service was perfect from beginning to end. Our server was friendly, pleasant and very attentive to all details. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was excellent! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

Great food and Tuesday was "Wiskey (Scotch) Sampler night"

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

I visit Press Gang every time I'm in Halifax, and it never disappoints. The oysters and boullabaisse are terrific, as is the the service. Small disappointment on the rhubarb sorbet for dessert - could have used some sort of garnish and a bit less liqueur. Other than that - perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely wonderful restaurant. The ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

An absolutely wonderful restaurant. The food quality from the oysters and mussels right up to the scallops and lobster was incredible. The staff was very professional. 10/10 will return.

food5
ambience4
service5

Super food and service

Dined on November 14, 2015

Dined with friends who travel and eat out often and we were all really pleased with the menu selection, quality of the food and the wonderful service. We have been raving about the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.