About The Press Gang

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday
5pm - 10pm
Thursday - Saturday
5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Shane Bauer

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Peterkin: 9024238816x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

Restaurant Photos

Trilogy Of Seafood
Press Gang Punch
Press Gang
Butter Poached Lobster And Digby Scallops
Lobster Tasting Platter
Oysters!
Oyster Bar
Tenderloin With Lobster Mac And Cheese
Strawberry Napoleon
Oysters
Salmon
Lobster
Scallops

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
11 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Nova Scotia
Best Food
Nova Scotia
Best Service
Nova Scotia
Best Ambiance
Nova Scotia
Best Value
Nova Scotia
Most Booked
Nova Scotia
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Historic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Music (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was an excellent experience. Music ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was an excellent experience. Music was great, food was very pleasing both tastefull and in the presentation. All of the staff were top notch. Helpful and timely. Definitely a place to go

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Restaurant itself, set in one of the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Restaurant itself, set in one of the oldest buildings in town, is amazing. Even if the meals weren't good, I would give them another chance because of the ambience. The different rooms had character with stone and wood beams and low ceilings. As an admirer of Lord Nelson, I was happy to see his portrait and bust in the bar. It is worth going early and sitting in the bar for a drink before your reservation.

My Seafood Risotto was good - my wife judged her Salmon as very good - and the restaurant is pricey but it should be on everyone's list as a must go in Halifax.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time on the East Coast and first t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

First time on the East Coast and first time having Lobster. Our server was outstanding- very knowledgeable , he even showed us how to eat the lobster. The restaurant was beautiful inside lit by candles . Pricey but a very nice treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an amazing time. The food was fan ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had an amazing time. The food was fantastic. We loved the oysters

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic ambiance and superb food. One ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic ambiance and superb food. One of the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing venue. The place just feels righ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing venue. The place just feels right as soon as you walk in. The staff was really professional and great. We did "The Drill". 7 very manageable courses. Each course excellent. We were seated in the room in back which was very nice but we could not hear the very excellent music being played in the main room.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters are why I come here, amazing. Bu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Oysters are why I come here, amazing. But as a non eat meat eater everything on the menu I will look at is really great

The little cation n and ambiance are all the excellent. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the food that we prepa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the food that we prepared perfectly. There was a nice selection of wine to choose from. I highly recommend the Scotch and Raisins dessert. It was enjoyed to the last mouth full. A great experience that I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a visitor to Halifax, I asked for res ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As a visitor to Halifax, I asked for restaurant recommendations from friends. co-workers and TRIPADVISOR/Open table. I was not disappointed! The Press Gang was just around the corner from our hotel. The menu was varied and everything we ordered was delicious! The mussels were beyond wonderful as were the scallops. My husband had the risotto with seafood while I had the special pasta. Both dishes were so good we were sorry when they were eaten. The wine list offered plenty of choices and were reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this restaurant and plan to eat there again when we visit Halifax again next summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere lived up to its ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and atmosphere lived up to its reputation. Oysters were superb and steak was the butteriest we've ever had.

Worth every penny spent to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were a large group of 14. the service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were a large group of 14. the service was awesome especially considering the tight space! This was our 2nd visit to this restaurant and will definitely return when visiting Halifax. The food was great. I had a watermelon salad and the salmon. The live music in the bar is a real nice touch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Due to a large group gathering in the ba ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Due to a large group gathering in the back room where we were originally seated, we requested to be moved and were accommodated immediately. Thereafter, everything was exceptional...notably the attentive, but friendly service and the Chef's Choice which was truly one of our best dining experiences.

Thanks to all!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered the Chefs choice 6 course men ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We ordered the Chefs choice 6 course menu which are typically over the top in restaurants such as this one ....everything from food to service was very average , I will not go back or recommend the value is just not there .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Creative menu and wonderful, friendly st ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Creative menu and wonderful, friendly staff. One of my favourite restaurants that I've experienced since moving to Nova Scotia.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The price we paid are expecting better s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The price we paid are expecting better services. By saying better service, I am not saying the server is not good. The server is smile, providing food etc. To me, that's general service. The price you charged in this restaurant... you guys need to do more, such as understanding different culture needs. Very slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We got engaged immediately after that lo ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We got engaged immediately after that lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed in the food quality ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very disappointed in the food quality on this visit for entrees. We ordered Steak Frites & Halibut. The strip loin was very firm and rubbery lacking flavour. The Halibut was over cooked and had far too much pepper. Service was good & ambiance is always great, but this night wasn't a good one for the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Couple from Toronto enjoyed the experien ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Couple from Toronto enjoyed the experience immensely. We were very happy with the excellent service, great live music that wasn't overwhelming, great wine & great food.

We have taken out of town guest there before & never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have to add that the Friday night music ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Have to add that the Friday night music was a wonderful addition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Drill was amazing. Best meal we have ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Drill was amazing. Best meal we have had in months! Wish we didn't live in Alberta so we could go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite place in Halifax

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Favourite place in Halifax

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The oysters and lobster were very tasty, ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The oysters and lobster were very tasty, and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd stop in for oysters and a glass of w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I'd stop in for oysters and a glass of wine, after that the quality doesn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We should have stopped after the oysters ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We should have stopped after the oysters at the bar. It was so overpriced for what we got. Lovely place but a piece of fish with a few mussels and shrimp for $37? Lots of other choices in the city for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Lovely place!!! The dinner was great! Th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lovely place!!! The dinner was great! They apologized for the construction even though we hadn't even noticed the noise and comped us our drinks!!! Wonderful waiter!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice historic building. Menu choice is ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice historic building. Menu choice is limited so check before you go. Service needs polish-I asked to substitute anchovy mashed potato with my entree which was no problem-they gave me risotto instead however the Caesar salad I ordered had anchovy-not mentioned on the menu and waiter knew but didn't warn me-this was after I had told him I couldn't eat it . He apologized but that was it. My son ended up eating half of it and it remained on our bill. Go for a scotch but perhaps choose differently for your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic evening! We were sat in the ba ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fantastic evening! We were sat in the back of the dining room as we did not want to be near the music. The Press Gang honored this request. From start to finish the food and service was outstanding. We were give a great history lesson of the building, and then moved on to oysters. We have never had oysters before, but she walked us through our selection, and even had more later. For dinner we had the steak frites and halibut. Delicious, just wish the halibut portion was larger. Outstanding food with a knowledgable and professional server. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at the Press Gang - l ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Another great meal at the Press Gang - love the food, the service, the scotch and the music - thanks for the music Mike and Gerry and everyone at the Press Gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal and a fabulous t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and a fabulous time. We had gathered for a 44th wedding anniversary and were given a secluded table and complimentary champagne! Wahoo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing find! We had our kids and enjoye ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing find! We had our kids and enjoyed the resturant so much and the food was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From beginning to end....hostess was war ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

From beginning to end....hostess was warm and gracious. The wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable but not overbearing. The good was fantastic....the ambiance is just right if you want a nice meal with family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited The Press Gang on a visit to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We visited The Press Gang on a visit to Halifax from the U.S.A. The historic building is spectacular. The limited menu offered good entree options. The server was pleasant and well informed. If you are a lover of single malts and good food, it is a unique combination of both.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is an absolute piece of nirva ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This place is an absolute piece of nirvana. Food was absolutely outstanding, service was excellent , ambiance amazing and the scene was simple yet luxurious.

I have travelled extensively globally both for business and pleasure , this place rates right alongside the good ones.

Its funny as I found this restaurant on trip advisor and then booked through open table only to discover afterward that my brother dined there three nights in a row when in town for the Canadian Figure Skating Championships this past January as they had enjoyed the first experience so much.

If a travellor has one night to dine in Halifax, The Press Gang is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the atmosphere, food and servic ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We loved the atmosphere, food and service. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We decided to order the drill It was sup ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We decided to order the drill

It was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best food and ambiance on m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The absolute best food and ambiance on my whole trip to Nova Scotia and PEI! Freshest oysters we ever ate! Service was top class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was far and away the best dining ex ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was far and away the best dining experience Ive ever had in Halifax. The "Drill", a tasting menu from the chef's inspiration, was incredible and the service is impeccable. The price point is a splurge but worth it for a special occassion or for out of town guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night. Good food, excellent wine, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great night. Good food, excellent wine, very personable service. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a special occasion dinner at the Pr ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a special occasion dinner at the Press Gang with family from Alberta who were anxious to have seafood. The dinner was great from the oyster platter to the desserts. The wait staff were excellent and service even included a history of the building that was fascinating. Will definitely be recommending that others go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had friends visiting from Florida on ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had friends visiting from Florida on route to golfing in Inverness Cape Breton.Our guest thought the oysters were the best he ever tasted.I split two appetizers with our other friend ,the mussels were amazing and the risotto was beautiful.My husband had the steak which he did not finf as tender as it should be and he eats it medium.All and all a good meal but a bit pricy,I thought there should be more choices on the entres.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.