Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Saundra Heaslip: (902) 423-8816

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (17)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Historic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Live Music (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Interesting food, but probably not worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Oustanding food, ambiance & Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is my go to spot in Halifax. Great food with great service. I try other restaurants but keep coming back to this one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The baked oysters were the best ever!!!
Braised ribs was a winner!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought some friends who were visiting from Cape Breton in for late night drinks. They were blown away by the atmosphere and really enjoyed the live music. The drinks were fantastic and the service very friendly and attentive. I love the Press Gang and it's a great spot to bring friends from out of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Order The Drill and you won't be disappointed. Service was the best I have ever experienced at restaurant.
Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went here for our 25th Wedding anniversary. We were seated in a small alcove which was perfect for a romantic evening. We were immediately served champagne on the house as it was our anniversary. Our waitress was very friendly and suggested menu items and drinks. The oysters were fantastik - we tried 3 different varieties. We had the duck entree and the Elk Tenderloin - both magnificent. We had a very enjoyable evening and did not feel like we had to leave. Highly recommend The Press Gang

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Kudos to the waiters and kitchen. They were catering to a large group but the staff made the extra effort to take excellent care of us and to get our meals to us in a timely fashion. Definitely among the top ten places to eat in Halifax.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The oysters were to die for! We wanted them again for dessert! It was only our servers 5th day, but she was outstanding! We had an infant with us since we were traveling, the staff were very accommodating! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We often enjoy oysters and martinis at the press gang, but this time decided to go here with a group (7 people) for a friends birthday. Food and drinks came out in a timely manner, unfortunately both appetizers (the ceviches) were sent back to the kitchen. Tasteless and quite frankly inedible. The special was a butter poached lobster- drenched in a sauce and masked any hint of lobster on the plate. Beef tenderloin was cooked perfectly. We will stick to drinks and oysters in future.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great ambiance, interesting menu but slow and inconsistent delivery. Great service and excellent wines at good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I've been to Halifax twice. I didn't go to the Press Gang the first time and I now hate myself for missing it. Fabulous oysters, drinks, and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great menu, excellent food and service, walking distance to major hotels.,

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 3, 2017

What can I say? This place was amazing! I for one, can not get over how beautiful the space is! Mixed in with the beautiful food and the impeccable service, Amazing! I'll be coming back, thats for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Well this was my first experience in Halifax nova scotia I was part of a larger meeting going on near the press gang and my group wanted to go there so I fallowed along I was not disappointed at all service was great from when we entered the door till are bill came the cocktail list was neat and the scotch and whiskey menu were great lets just say I travel a lot and I eat at various places each to there own but the press gang was something different the food was out of this world and well a bit unexpected great dishes with spectacular plaiting
if ever back this way ill be back do your self a favor and try this place out

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Thanks, fantastic meal, fantastic service, fantastic everything!!

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Historic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 2, 2017

It had been awhile since I booked a table and occasion was business dinner for our foodie customer from away. This time, I personally was very satisfied with quality of food which has shown great improvement from last year. Not only the restaurant offers good meal and atmosphere with Halifax/Canadian charm, in my opinion, I tasted great care, creativities, uniqueness, comfort and surprise in conventional style. Elk Tenderloin, the first time that I tried, was beautifully done with great balance overall. Appetizer dishes (langistine and octopus) and Oyster were also satisfactory. Selection of scotch whiskey always satisfies our foodie guests as well which won't go wrong many many time of visits in the past several years. I am looking forward to be back. Hope to try great lobster dish again during the lobster season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It's an extremely hard way to explain but I would go back and recommend to friends but our particular experience had extreme positive and negatives
Positives
- perfectly plated dishes
- food was out of this world
- elegant and old school fine dining ambiance

Negatives
- our server focused on her other tables with larger bill potentials
- waited 90 minutes for entree
- wobbly table that was not fixed as there was a larger party taking time from the team

All in all it was still a great food experience and busy nights happen and days that are hard so I would always try again

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Generally good although a bit overpriced...$422 for a party of 4 including tip
Wasn't happy that the chowder contained whole clams containing sand that apparently the kitchen was aware of. Instead of removing that item from the bill they added 2 scallops to the halibut entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best dinner during our trip to Halifax! Cozy tavern-y feel. Exquisite and creative plating. Loved it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Favourite restaurant in Halifax... great spot for oysters! :)

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food is truly outstanding. As well rated as it is i still think it is under appreciated in Halifax. Many of the new restaurants seem to get more accolades but in my mind this is the restaurant in town. New chef in the lst year or so has continued the quality and I would say a little more creative which is great as well. Only negative comment is that I was disappointed on a Saturday night to have a table nearby with two young children. One of the reasons we like this place so much has been the ambience and this detracted from the typical ambience on this occasion. Not a place for kids in my opinion, especially on a Saturday night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 27, 2017

loved the oysters, decomposed nicoise, wine - should have eaten at bar - better ambiance! very dark and a little gloomy - but staff was amazing

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Come here every year with clients and get the same server. Sandra is fantastic. If you would like to know the history of this building, she knows her stuff. Tried the new menu and enjoyed the beef tenderloin, my guests had the halibut, all were excellent.Of course, while here, you must try the oysters. So fresh. Thanks for a wonderful night of laughs and just an overall spectacular night.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Dinner was wonderful, the menu was diverse & very well presented. Food was tasteful, service staff was helpful & prompt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Ambience,food,service were all A+. We chose the drill and we're very pleased with the chef's selections for us. We will definitely return to try some of the menu choices. This was a special date night for me and my significant other as it was his birthday. We were very pleased with our choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been to Press Gang many times and this visit was our best. My meal of elk tenderloin and barley and mushroom risotto was simply amazing, with so many wonderful flavours. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The meal was first class. Several years since I had been there, the last time to take My 2 young daughters to show them what date night should look like. Tonight the food was perfect and our evening was lovely. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Our favourite place to dine in Halifax :)

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always great food and good service. The Press Gang is so consistently good, even after 20 years. Best wishes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The charm of the stone walls. The oyster bar was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dinner choices were well suited for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a fabulous meal and were very well taken care of by our servers. The restaurant atmosphere is enchanting and the food was presented well and delicious. I would highly recommend a night out at the Press Gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really enjoyed the inventive cocktails, as well as the impeccable service. We chose from the table d'hote; all three courses were delicious. The smoked salmon and grilled octopus was especially tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food; warm historical ambiance; quiet if you ask to be placed in one
of the back rooms.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We usually do "the drill" a few times a year. This time it was very different from what we've had before. Although it was still great, we did like the way it was setup before. I think it used to be 4-5 courses with 3 tastings per plate. Now it's 6-7 courses with a bit of a jumble of tiny things on the plates. We didn't have a dessert that we liked and really missed the main course that usually had the braised beef, a chicken dish and lamb. Still looks beautiful, but we found the previous way more satisfying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambience is something that is unmistakable at the Press Gang - unfortunately, we were seated too close to the kitchen, so it was busy, noisy and a bit smoky. The food was OK but unremarkable and unimaginative. It was busy, but the service was still good. Disappointing, mostly because I had high expectations of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, prepared extremely well and impeccably served. Love the ambiance of this place which is topped off by the live music. Our favourite spot in Halifax for special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a lovely evening at The Press Gang. Our waitress was friendly and the food was really spectacular. We weren't expecting a live piano, trumpet, and singing but it was enjoyable for a Friday night outing alongside friends, delicious wine, and shareable desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very genuine, with a great ambiance. Very memorable for a date, a wonderful opportunity to be in ones presence and listen to live music!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.