Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Saundra Heaslip: (902) 423-8816

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Live Music (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Historic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Great Beer (6)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The tables in the back in front of the open kitchen are very noisy and lack the nice ambisce of the front room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great ambiance and setting. Seafood chowder was amazing. Main entrees were good but nothing to write home about. Go for the ambiance and decent food. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

From street, the Press Gang restaurant would be easy to miss but recommended as food is at fine dining level and it has the old world stone and wood work. Service was above par too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very good. Really enjoyed our meal.
A bit pricey, but we knew that ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Anniversary trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful. Great seafood and amazing service.
1759 building creates very special dining space.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great atmosphere in historic building. Food was great, especially Caesar salad!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. The server was impeccable. He shared recommendations on oysters which my friend enjoyed immensely and after he served our second cocktail allowed us plenty of time without hurrying us into the meal but he was attentive throughout. We had the salmon and the halibut. Both were moist and fabulously fresh. The atmosphere is nice, not noisy but not stuffy either. This is a great place for a celebration or an anniversary or birthday. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at the Press Gang recently and they took great care of us making it a very memorable experience. Super table, service, food, and ambience. Thank You Press Gang!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Press Gang is our go to restaurant for our anniversary. It is. Wry Roma tic and the food and service is never a disappointment. They always treat us extra special as they know we are celebrating. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing food, we got The Drill and it was delicious! Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion (40th birthday) as it was great for a date night with good friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fabulous dinner : great selection of fresh oysters... halibut out this world

Jamie our server and the chef made a beautiful transition for our daughter to the big top here ... the best halifax has to offer !

Great food

Superlative service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Awesome! I wanted to get a mocktail of some sort and the bartender created an amazing drink for me! After my husband tried mine, he asked for one too and got something different that tasted even better! This was our first time here and in Halifax and it was hands down the best food and drink we've had here! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent, imaginative menu in a unique and historic location

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had The Drill which was a huge, delicious meal. They'll do some pairing for you too. We did our own drinks. Fun night, awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food and service. Brilliant Scotch tasting list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Halifax and we ate dinner here both nights and absolutely loved it! We had reservations but sat at the bar and had the same waiter both nights, (I apologize for the probabal incorrect spelling of his name) Trafton, and he was able to recommend great food and drinks and also great things to do/see in the area. He is absolutely amazing and we hope he's still there next time we visit. We travel all the time and are lucky to eat at the greatest places and now Press Gang is at the top of our list. We had lobster, oysters and seafood chowder both nights and I am sad that we are back home in California and can't have it again tonight!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Great Beer, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Very accomoding server.
Outstanding food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Absolutely amazing!!!!! Might just be my new favourite dinning spot in Halifax!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Well done! Exquisite food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Was looking for a great place to take friends accompanying us on a visit to Halifax. This place was highly recommended and the reviews very good. While the ambiance and history of the building were a nice part of the experience, the food was just ok for a fine dining establishment. The seafood chowder was not as good as you would expect to find in NS. The beef carpaccio had so much fat, a third of the dish was left on the plate. The elk was fine as was the bison. The wine selection was poor - nothing you couldn't find at your local LC. And the wine markup was very high. The bill came in at $600+ for 4 of us. We should have come away much more impressed than we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our meal was very tasty, service was very good! Lovely ambiance. A bit pricy but lovely for special occasions! We would recommend The Press Gang as a fine dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a great dinner here watching the open kitchen. Loved it! Amazing oysters, then lobster, then some live music by the bar. Terrific evening!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Five of us dined at the Press Gang to celebrate the end of a conference. The wait staff quickly took drink orders and the choice of appetizers, then took the entree orders. The two appetizers ordered, the cheese board and the tuna tataki salad, although very good, were small, a surprise given the price of both. Our table ordered a variety of entrees: lobster (the standard lobster appears to be a very big one!), sea bass, scallops, etc. All were prepared well and served in an appealing way. The only negative was the long wait for the entrees to be served. We did not have dessert either because we were too full or the desserts were not appealing. In terms of ambience, the restaurant has an "old" feel to it, which is very pleasant. We were seated near one of the front windows and the noise level was low until the musical entertainment began right in front of us. That ended easily talking among ourselves, so be aware of the location where you may be seated.

The Press Gang is relatively expensive; the entrees were worth the expense. The appetizers were not. The wait staff is personable and generally attentive without being obtrusive. But the restaurant needs to move a bit more quickly on entree preparation especially on busy nights.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were in Halifax on vacation and had dinner our last night at The Press Gang. The food and service were excellent. It is quite expensive, but we were happy to enjoy out last night with such a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great location with delicious food and very good service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 7, 2017

superb location with excellent waiter that added to the dining experience. one of the best restaurants I have eaten in around the world

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent selection of oysters, all extremely fresh. Great food with some very innovative dishes. Tremendous service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My Wife & I came to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and everything was amazing. Ambiance was nice and the live music was very entertaining. Service was top notch. Food was delicious, especially the seafood chowder. We'll definitely be coming back to relax and listen to Mike Cowie.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great ambiance and service, with The Drill exceeding both.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Press gang is consistently terrific. I have been there many times and they never disappoint. Service, Food and ambiance are top-notch and unique.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Superb service, excellent food and beverage list, a must go to restaurant in Halifax. I particularly enjoyed the oysters on the half shell and Quebec elk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Was taken back when the server watched me punch in her tip and her reaction to 20% was less than enthusiastic. I do not like the system in Nova Scotia where the bill is electronically paid at the table while the waiter watches you punch in the gratuity.
The Press Room was over priced,

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Was very satisfied but was surpsirsed that you ran out of lobster at 7:30pm on a Monday?!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great ambiance and oysters, after that, far too overpriced for the quality of food and service provided. Would not recommend this place to anyone. I told our server that if they intend to operate as a 4-star restaurant the food and service quality need vast improvements. Terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We took the 6-course Chef's selection. The presentation was nice but a lot of things we didn't like. Would have been better for us to choose meal a la carte. We would go back but we would not take the Chef's choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Oyster bar was really sweet and the service was awesome. We enjoyed the live music which was a bonus. We tried a few appetizers, dessert and some cocktails. Food was tasty, presented well and fresh. Enjoyed all the cheeses on the charcuterie and in the duck salad. Good oysters and a spicy cesar is one of my favourite combos and press gang didn't disappoint. The orange chocolate tarte was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent evening at The Press Gang! We had a very nice private table in a very romantic setting. We had The Drill where the chef prepares a five course meal. Our server served us wine by the glass to pair with the meal. He did an excellent job! This was a memorable evening. We will definitely come back the next time we are in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our meal was probably the best I have had for a long time. The value was above average and the staff were professional and friendly. Excellent night!

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome oysters food and service. One of Halifax's best!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.