Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm. Closed December 24,25,26th, and January 1st.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Live Music (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. 2nd time we've had reservations for a special occasion and they have seated us in the bar rather than the dining room which is usually a lot quieter. First time, I asked them to move us and they did so right away. This time I didn't ask so I guess it is partly on me. I could understand it if I was in my 20s but I am over 70 so it would seem logical to keep us out of the bar area?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 2, 2018

this is a consistently great restaurant. local ingredients and masterful preparation by the culinary team is second to none. there are many theme nights with live music or scotch tasting. incredible oyster selection and great bar seating. its historic with a modern flair. lots of different seating options from intimate dining to groups to business anniversaries or whatever. in the centre of the city in the heart of biz and entertainment district.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Romantic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Excellent food, great ambiance. Always an enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very pricey but wonderful New Years dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Good food, excellent service, great ambiance. We had our anniversary here and it was a wonderful choice, the staff did their best to make it very special and they succeeded. The Foie Gras sauce was a bit too acidic for our taste but the rest of the meal (especially the Duck) was delicious. I also enjoyed the Elk but wish the portion of meat was more and the blueberry gnocchi that accompanied it was a miss for me. The Creme Brûlée they served which was an egg nog flavor was delicious. I also enjoyed their daily flavored butter. Great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Very nice place with amazing food. We love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2017

What a late night find. Arriving later than expected from a flight it was hard to find a nice place to eat and have a drink. Although the kitchen was closed...the oysters were there to accompany our wine & beer. A delightful treat at 10:45 in the evening. What a spectacular historical property! We will be back.
To top it off there was spontaneous live music & song;-)

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Great service, the chowder was excellent, but I was disappointed in the gnocchi - heavy and gluey like they were made with the wrong potatoes :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Quiet corner for two. Food was delicious from a varied menu.
Robyn was an excellent server, helpful with suggestions and in formation and always smiling,

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Excellent dining experience would definitely recommend this restaurant and go again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were fantastic! This was our first time to Press Gang and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

My meal was way too salty. They were awesome in dealing with it, and didn't charge me. The chef tasted it, agreed with me, and apologized. I think it was a blip; my companion's food was excellent. I would return, because of the attentive and friendly service, and attitude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Food was great.
This was our 6th visit in 5 months, we like the restaurant and atmosphere.
However, it is now very noticeable that the staff are encouraged to pour wine to ridiculous levels in your glasses to squeeze a further bottle out of you. Margins per table are obviously very important to this restaurant. This is either an instruction from above or staff looking to enhance tips.
We drink our fair share of wine with food. There was NO NEED to be so blatant. We would have had a third bottle if it had not been so obvious, but our party went elsewhere to continue.
The food is excellent and that is what we went for. The wine issue I will control moving forward in my own unique way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Beautiful character location with old stone walls, wood floors and lots of nooks and crannies. Very nice menu with multiple oyster varieties, great seafood selection and nice variety of "land" options. Menu includes elk, rabbit, duck and lamb. Very nice presentation. My seafood chowder starter includes one "cold" oyster and a very creamy base with lots of seafood. Followed up with elk which was excellent. My wife enjoyed her oyster Rockefeller and lamb. Nice bottle of red wine from Burrowing Owl in BC.
Highly recommend for a special occasion. Enjoyed the live music that occurs on Fridays and Saturday evening. Will return again.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Back once more for travel and work I find myself seeking out the press gang each time I come to Halifax as it always delivers Had robin Great server lots of knowledge food well ill let you try for yourself and you should Excellent steak Pei blue dot they call it cooked to perfection duck fat potatoes match made in heaven

Thank you Robin
and thank you press gang for always making me feel welcome while I am away


Ps Try the peanut butter pie it is to die for

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 17, 2017

I’ve enjoyed the Press Gang in the past and was looking forward to a return. As the prices tend to be on the higher end this isn’t in my normal restaurant rotation.
The room and atmosphere is fantastic. The wait staff is younger and I was worried as a friend who ate there recently expressed concerns, I however had no issues with this. Wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable.

Starters included the House chowder which was Excellent. The valley salad was drenched in vinegar. The peppers had soaked it up and it was borderline inedible.

The beef tenderloin was supposed to be medium rare and was served medium well. Garnish on that dish included carrots which were overdone to almost being mushy.
The second main was the elk tenderloin. Requested temperature was rare but was served at medium. Again the carrots were beyond cooked. The blueberry gnocchi were nice.

Unfortunately expectations of a wonderful meal never materialized and the food was sub par at best. After the meal, friends who had dined their recently gave me a similar review.

As it stands, I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2017

I was there with a friend I hadn't seen in a long time. We were able to talk easily and enjoyed some menu items that neither of us had previously tried. The food was superb!

The Wine list had ample selection of all varieties and price ranges.

This was only my second time at this restaurant and it has impressed me both times. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Had the 5 course sur

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had great evening, the food was hot, excellent presentation and tasted awesome. Staff and service was fast and friendly. Lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Loved the food but the wine list was a bit lacking, subpar choices that were over priced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Very noisy until asked to turn it down! Our server was great!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2017

All of courses are way too salty, waitress is good, food is awful. Won’t come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

I hadn't been here in over ten years but I'm glad that I didn't wait another day. The atmosphere feels like an old European restaurant so feel transported back in time while your eating. The staff is confident, friendly and very relaxed. Definitely go for a late night date at a corner table-dessert and digestifs with a S.O.!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Quite disappointing. Have eaten there before but this time over priced and the food was just ok. Terrible wine selection by the glass and again over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I couldn't have been happier with our dinner at Press Gang. This was a very special birthday dinner that we had flown ourselves from Ontario for. We had a party of 6 in total. From the moment we arrived at the restaurant we were met the highest level of friendly service. Not once did we ever feel that we were anything but the center of attention. Every single aspect of the dinner was perfect from the setting to the service and especially the food. This was a night we will always remember and is hands down, the single best dining experience I have ever had. Even though the restaurant closed while we were still dining, we were never once made to feel rushed to finish and leave. I would highly recommend Press Gang for a very memorable and unique dining experience. The food, service and atmosphere are second to none. We are looking forward to returning again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I hadn’t been in 20 years so I was glad to return when visiting Halifax. A beautiful ambience with exquisite service. I miss all the waxy candles but I guess fire safety comes first!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent food. Fresh, innovative and beautiful flavors.
Wine list by the glass is not very good. Overpriced, not so good wines.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2017

It was not a good experience at all. We were seated all by ourselves in an area where all we could hear were noises from the kitchen including lots of loud yelling when peoples' food was ready. The food was not very good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great evening! Staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Just amazing! Local food, amazing building and atmosphere! Nothing I would change. Amazing staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is one of the best restaurant I have been to in a long time. We were comparing it to Raymonds in Newfoundland but price were a lot lower at this place. We were very impress with the atmosphere. There was nobody rushing you to be done, if we wanted to wait for the next course our waiter would make sure it was delayed for us. We asked for a window seat on our reservation & we did get it no problem. Here I find you do get what you pay for, would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and my 1st visit to Halifax was 9 yrs ago and we returned to Halifax for the 2d time to celebrate something special for us at our favourite previous dining experience.
Times change , and unfortunately, this place didn't.
The cellar/catacomb décor is so old and tired...it reminded me of a mushroom factory. Needs a huge re-do.
The food was very good , but the wine by the glass consists of 4 crummy reds and 4 crummy whites. Need to upgrade the number of choices and quality.
We ate early (6:30) and the wait staff didn't seem to be " in full gear" ready to go.
Sorry, food was good but the place needs to take a look in the mirror.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was excellent. Beautiful ambience. Do not go on a Saturday night if you want to be able to talk to anyone at your table - super loud singer. Food was terrible. Super over priced for really bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We've been frequent customers of the Press Gang and make it has turned into our favorite spot to eat for any/all trips to Halifax (from Yarmouth). We have always had amazing food and service; this past Saturday night was a big disappointment. We made reservations for 8, met two friends from NB and expected to treat them to an amazing meal. We were so disappointed. Our halibut and risotto were so salty we couldn't eat it; the halibut eas also SO dry. No sauce. All potatoes on the plate... just filler.

A change in the menu meant very little choice for appetizers, no calamari! :( we didn't opt for dessert and cut our experience short to head elsewhere.

Service was fantastic, and no, we didn't complain to anyone while we were there. Didn't want to damper our evening even more and certainly not looking for anything to be compt.

We hope this isn't the new normal for our once favorite spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Four of us went for drinks and a full dinner. The ambiance is terrific! Allows you to enjoy every minute of your visit with them. The service was impeccable and friedly from the initial greeting right through to when we left. The food was fabulous!! The service and knowledge of the menu and the history of the building itself was without reproach. It was a great experience and as we live in the area, we will most certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Second time there and found the food and staff excellent. Will be back for sure

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great thought has been put into the ambiance for this restaurant. In every corner there is something to see. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food! We had the lobster dinner and it was fantastic. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history. A delightful evening and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Lovely atmosphere in the second-oldest building in town, tasty dishes, and great live music for a Friday night dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great ambience and food but slow kitchen on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.