Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Shane Bauer

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Peterkin: (902) 423-8816

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Music (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 6 days ago

Favourite restaurant in Halifax... great spot for oysters! :)

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food is truly outstanding. As well rated as it is i still think it is under appreciated in Halifax. Many of the new restaurants seem to get more accolades but in my mind this is the restaurant in town. New chef in the lst year or so has continued the quality and I would say a little more creative which is great as well. Only negative comment is that I was disappointed on a Saturday night to have a table nearby with two young children. One of the reasons we like this place so much has been the ambience and this detracted from the typical ambience on this occasion. Not a place for kids in my opinion, especially on a Saturday night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 27, 2017

loved the oysters, decomposed nicoise, wine - should have eaten at bar - better ambiance! very dark and a little gloomy - but staff was amazing

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Come here every year with clients and get the same server. Sandra is fantastic. If you would like to know the history of this building, she knows her stuff. Tried the new menu and enjoyed the beef tenderloin, my guests had the halibut, all were excellent.Of course, while here, you must try the oysters. So fresh. Thanks for a wonderful night of laughs and just an overall spectacular night.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Dinner was wonderful, the menu was diverse & very well presented. Food was tasteful, service staff was helpful & prompt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Ambience,food,service were all A+. We chose the drill and we're very pleased with the chef's selections for us. We will definitely return to try some of the menu choices. This was a special date night for me and my significant other as it was his birthday. We were very pleased with our choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been to Press Gang many times and this visit was our best. My meal of elk tenderloin and barley and mushroom risotto was simply amazing, with so many wonderful flavours. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The meal was first class. Several years since I had been there, the last time to take My 2 young daughters to show them what date night should look like. Tonight the food was perfect and our evening was lovely. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Our favourite place to dine in Halifax :)

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always great food and good service. The Press Gang is so consistently good, even after 20 years. Best wishes!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The charm of the stone walls. The oyster bar was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dinner choices were well suited for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a fabulous meal and were very well taken care of by our servers. The restaurant atmosphere is enchanting and the food was presented well and delicious. I would highly recommend a night out at the Press Gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really enjoyed the inventive cocktails, as well as the impeccable service. We chose from the table d'hote; all three courses were delicious. The smoked salmon and grilled octopus was especially tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food; warm historical ambiance; quiet if you ask to be placed in one
of the back rooms.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We usually do "the drill" a few times a year. This time it was very different from what we've had before. Although it was still great, we did like the way it was setup before. I think it used to be 4-5 courses with 3 tastings per plate. Now it's 6-7 courses with a bit of a jumble of tiny things on the plates. We didn't have a dessert that we liked and really missed the main course that usually had the braised beef, a chicken dish and lamb. Still looks beautiful, but we found the previous way more satisfying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambience is something that is unmistakable at the Press Gang - unfortunately, we were seated too close to the kitchen, so it was busy, noisy and a bit smoky. The food was OK but unremarkable and unimaginative. It was busy, but the service was still good. Disappointing, mostly because I had high expectations of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, prepared extremely well and impeccably served. Love the ambiance of this place which is topped off by the live music. Our favourite spot in Halifax for special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a lovely evening at The Press Gang. Our waitress was friendly and the food was really spectacular. We weren't expecting a live piano, trumpet, and singing but it was enjoyable for a Friday night outing alongside friends, delicious wine, and shareable desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very genuine, with a great ambiance. Very memorable for a date, a wonderful opportunity to be in ones presence and listen to live music!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent Overall! Would defiantly go back. What a great restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Late-night Find, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nice atmosphere to take a client from out of town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good.... the Oysters were very fresh and local we did like that. Would liked to have more selection for the main course or even Half plates. The restaurant itself was beautiful very old that made you appreciate the restoration. The most fun was the guys who played the music..... Trumpet and Piano they were outstanding
will be returning for the oysters and the music when in Halifax again..... memorable and totally enjoyable

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious food; excellent and friendly service; warm and cozy atmosphere...would highly recommend this restaurant !!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love table # 30. Was absolutely fabulous evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time there, came recommended by friends. Overall experience is a solid good not outstanding for the following reasons: we were the only folks there yet our food took quite a long time to arrive at the table, and when it did-the dishes were not more than warm/lukewarm- baked brie that is almost back to solid again- not so great, main meal vegetables and fish that is not hot enough- a little disappointing.
But what we ate was delicious despite its temperature.
Thus we felt it was overpriced given the potentially interesting food selections-not served at an ideal temperature.
Also, two of our party found their meals over seasoned (salt/pepper)
But we'd go back and try it again
Nice decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was delicious, well prepared and served. Server was attentive without being in your face. Made excellent recommendations . Sole downside was table was near the door and was chilly when others entered or left

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The music was great and a very good volume. Server sweet and good. Forgot an item ordered so removed price of dessert.
Very, very, cold there. Felt very badly for pianist especially as he had to be FREEZING. Both Gerry Cruthers and Mike Cowie had to have been very cold. We were sitting at the long table against the wall as we had taken four of our restaurant staff there as a thank you from us, and some had to put their coats on. I know you had had heat issues that day, but the cold from the door on the musicians and guest was very bad and was mentioned numerous time throughout the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great; however, we waited almost an hour between the first and second course. We asked to be moved due to the smoke from the kitchen that was burning our eyes. Supposed to be a 5 course dinner, but only had 4 courses. Not the best experience I've had at the Press Gang..

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Atmosphere is amazing but the food isn't all that special.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the great food. The music playing in the background during our meal was very nice.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I love the Press Gang, great food, excellent service, I love the music, and I feel comfortable there, friendly and relaxing! Love it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good atmosphere, and a reasonably good value on the high end. We had "The Drill" and were nonplussed by the lack of vegetables over the seven course tasting menu. There were 10 different meats, including fish but not counting about three different caviars, but only one feble micro-green that showed up on several different plates. The oysters were solid, but most of the other dishes felt imbalanced. So we recommend the restaurant, but not necessarily The Drill. We joked afterwards about how ours could have been called a meat tasting menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good food, friendly service. Appreciate the wine sampling.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

There was nothing wrong with the restaurant, but also nothing spectacular. This restaurant tries to be fine dining, but it's just mediocre overpriced food. The ambience is nice, but the food is just ok, especially for the price. The service is also just ok. My partner ordered the Surf & Turf special, and the server didn't even ask him how he wanted his steak cooked. For a dish that was $60. There are better restaurants in Halifax - go to Shuck, or Gahan - Great service and tasty unpretentious food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I booked this for a retirement dinner. The staff went the extra mile to make the experience/meal memorable. It was an excellent experience! The food was fantastic and if you go, the drill is the way to go.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was outstanding as always but our waitress this time was the worst we have had yet. Unfortunately I feel the wit staff have been going down in quality over the last year or so. On our last evening they were definitely scraping the barrel for staff that evening. For me it kinda ruined it for me. Only 3 stars for this particular evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Incredible dining experience! Loved every part of our meal from the craft cocktails to the last course! Superb.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing, Every part. Staff were funny and so attentive. Food was beyond.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fantastic experience & beautiful setting. Food was delicious and the service was wonderful. Highly recommended for out-of-town guests, special occasions and celebrations.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.