About The Press Gang

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday
5pm - 10pm
Thursday - Saturday
5pm - 11pm

Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie Trio every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musicians, Gerry Carruthers on piano and Larry Bjornson on bass, perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
David Haines

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra Heaslip: 9024238816x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

Restaurant Photos

Trilogy Of Seafood
Press Gang Punch
Press Gang
Butter Poached Lobster And Digby Scallops
Lobster Tasting Platter
Oysters!
Oyster Bar
Tenderloin With Lobster Mac And Cheese
Strawberry Napoleon
Oysters
Salmon
Lobster
Scallops

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
9 More
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Best Overall
Halifax
Best Food
Halifax
Best Service
Halifax
Best Ambiance
Halifax
Best Value
Halifax
Most Booked
Halifax
Best Restaurants in Halifax ›

special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (41)
See All
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic evening! We were sat in the ba ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined a day ago

Fantastic evening! We were sat in the back of the dining room as we did not want to be near the music. The Press Gang honored this request. From start to finish the food and service was outstanding. We were give a great history lesson of the building, and then moved on to oysters. We have never had oysters before, but she walked us through our selection, and even had more later. For dinner we had the steak frites and halibut. Delicious, just wish the halibut portion was larger. Outstanding food with a knowledgable and professional server. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at the Press Gang - l ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Another great meal at the Press Gang - love the food, the service, the scotch and the music - thanks for the music Mike and Gerry and everyone at the Press Gang!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal and a fabulous t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and a fabulous time. We had gathered for a 44th wedding anniversary and were given a secluded table and complimentary champagne! Wahoo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing find! We had our kids and enjoye ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing find! We had our kids and enjoyed the resturant so much and the food was to die for.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From beginning to end....hostess was war ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

From beginning to end....hostess was warm and gracious. The wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable but not overbearing. The good was fantastic....the ambiance is just right if you want a nice meal with family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited The Press Gang on a visit to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We visited The Press Gang on a visit to Halifax from the U.S.A. The historic building is spectacular. The limited menu offered good entree options. The server was pleasant and well informed. If you are a lover of single malts and good food, it is a unique combination of both.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is an absolute piece of nirva ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This place is an absolute piece of nirvana. Food was absolutely outstanding, service was excellent , ambiance amazing and the scene was simple yet luxurious.

I have travelled extensively globally both for business and pleasure , this place rates right alongside the good ones.

Its funny as I found this restaurant on trip advisor and then booked through open table only to discover afterward that my brother dined there three nights in a row when in town for the Canadian Figure Skating Championships this past January as they had enjoyed the first experience so much.

If a travellor has one night to dine in Halifax, The Press Gang is it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the atmosphere, food and servic ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We loved the atmosphere, food and service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We decided to order the drill It was sup ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We decided to order the drill

It was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best food and ambiance on m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The absolute best food and ambiance on my whole trip to Nova Scotia and PEI! Freshest oysters we ever ate! Service was top class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was far and away the best dining ex ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was far and away the best dining experience Ive ever had in Halifax. The "Drill", a tasting menu from the chef's inspiration, was incredible and the service is impeccable. The price point is a splurge but worth it for a special occassion or for out of town guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night. Good food, excellent wine, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great night. Good food, excellent wine, very personable service. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a special occasion dinner at the Pr ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a special occasion dinner at the Press Gang with family from Alberta who were anxious to have seafood. The dinner was great from the oyster platter to the desserts. The wait staff were excellent and service even included a history of the building that was fascinating. Will definitely be recommending that others go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had friends visiting from Florida on ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had friends visiting from Florida on route to golfing in Inverness Cape Breton.Our guest thought the oysters were the best he ever tasted.I split two appetizers with our other friend ,the mussels were amazing and the risotto was beautiful.My husband had the steak which he did not finf as tender as it should be and he eats it medium.All and all a good meal but a bit pricy,I thought there should be more choices on the entres.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was abominable. Prices high. Wai ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Service was abominable. Prices high. Waited for 1.5 hours to get the entry. The entry had been under a heat lamp evidently which dried out a nice piece oh fish. The waitress was detached and unorganized. VERY DISAPPOINTED for one hundred and seventy five dollars it was NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. We dine out regularly and this is the first review I have ever written. Consider another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Only place I always return to in Halifax ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Only place I always return to in Halifax and recommend to others.

Never disappointed with seafood, but land menu can try too hard and comes off heavy handed. Take the same approach with the seafood and the rest of the menu will improve.

The oyster bar is among the best shucks on the planet. Consistent professional service at the oyster bar, unlike most places where bartender is shucking, AND IT SHOWS!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favourite restaurant in Halifax. Ext ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our favourite restaurant in Halifax. Extraordinary service (Ashly I think) and always innovative and delicious food.

Great Oysters. Good Music - Mike Cowie

And good wines too. We hope to be back the next time we are down.

Keep up the good work

J&M

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner, great atmosphere, food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent dinner, great atmosphere, food and service. The live jazz added a lovely component to a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were sat in what seemed to be a cella ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were sat in what seemed to be a cellar, a lot of character but dark and dank. We (my husband and I looking for an intimate dinner) were also sat by a business dinner meeting, despite the fact the dining room was otherwise empty... their party was loud enough for us to easily hear the conversation - discussing business issues like EBITDA shortfalls etc. Dampened the nice quiet evening with my husband. Further, the food was ok but not great - especially for the price; 39$ for skirt steak and mediocre fries, gnocchi that was mushy and watery - lacked over all flavour. Oysters were great, server was pleasant but I would not recommend...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The food was disappointing. The calamar ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was disappointing. The calamari were hard, chewy and had no flavour. The Scallop dish was not much better. The scallops were fine but the bed of unknown starch they were on was overly sweet and was warm as if it was prepared before the dish was ordered. The cost of the meal was totally unreasonable for the meal we were served. Would never recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very pleasant evening

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Solo dinner - was in Halifax for an appointment and stayed overnight.

Ambiance was great- live music and amazing venue.

Service was interesting: my main was brought whilst still eating my starter. But server was otherwise pleasant and efficient.

Oysters!! Amazing variety and presentation.

Had Char for main, and my few requests for additions/ omissions were easily accommodated.

Had a cheese plate which apparently only offered 2 varieties, but arrived with 3!

Overall, I would return. There was much on the menu I wish to try.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pressgang is the bomb!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Amazing food and superb service. The waiters provided great information about the food and wine. Everything went well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible surroundings, okay food

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The building is very interesting. The food is good but overpriced as is the very acceptable wine list. I felt our server took himself a little too seriously - maybe just shy? I would eat here again, just for the surroundings not necessarily the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and atmsophere!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food and atmsophere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My fav

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of my favourite restaurants in Halifax! The food is amazing! Great atmosphere! 😀

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service and food.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Every time we visit Halifax, we make this one of our stops.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Press Gang disappointment

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My wife and I ate here the night before we were leaving for vacation in England. I had the bacon wrapped tenderloin...supposedly medium well done. The bacon was mostly burnt to a charred crisp, as well as the dry, bottom charred black tenderloin steak. The wine was terrible. The only satisfactory part of my meal were the fries or frites as they like to call them. For dessert I had lemon fruit dish, which was actually tasty.

My wife had lamb loin a potato salad. It was just okay, but again not much flavour.

The only part of the meal which had a lot of flavour was the bill which was $151.

The service was excellent...just the food was very lacking.

Sorry to say that this was our first and very definitely our last dining expierence at the Press Gang.

My sister has dined there before and she said she has had a very similar expierence.

Lesson learned and will not return.

I definitely would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was very slow

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Made reservations weeks in advance for a Monday evening. The restaurant was quite busy. We ordered oysters as an appetizer and it took 1 hour to get them. We were served 2 scones shortly after we arrived and nothing else until the oysters arrived 1 hour later. Our server did not even notice how long we waited for our oysters until we pointed it out to her after 30mins. Even then it took another 30 minutes. While this restaurant is a popular spot in Halifax, we were incredibly disappointed by how long the food was delayed and the minimal attention we received from our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Really nice ambiance. Little jazz type m ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Really nice ambiance. Little jazz type music and candlelight. Its a really cute place and the food was good. But wildly overpriced. And tiny portions. We ended up going to a pub after to get more food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Is a great place for a special occassion!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked ahead and we had to change our time and they accomodated us! Great staff! I mentioned I wanted a special table for our evening and it was special! Our server was exceptional and had fun energy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful experience...ordered The Dri ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

A wonderful experience...ordered The Drill for 3 people. Food was fantastic and we did not feel rushed as the courses were well spaced. The server was knowledgeable about beer and wine offerings. The ambiance in this restaurant is amazing: 18th century pub meets fine dining. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, halibut was fresh and well ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place, halibut was fresh and well cooked. Assistant manager was a true professional the way she handled an issue of someone at my table. Waiter friendly and informative. Would go back in Halifax again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Only good thing is ambiance. Waiter was awful. I ordered the Atlantic lobster dish - 5 or 6 small pieces of lobster smothered in cream sauce with oodles of gnocchi. Wine was overpriced. When plates were served they had to ask who got what dish. For the prices there, they should know. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Adequate but over-priced

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The two of us went for a special night out. The food was very good. Service ok. We waited nearly an hour before our chowder arrived - good thing we had a snack before leaving home. The chowder was excellent but the rest of the meal was adequate, certainly not as good as their prices would suggest.

We were seated near the office door which was used several times during our meal without so much as an "excuse me" or "sorry for bumping into your chair for the third time." Plus we were seated adjacent to a group of quite loud businessmen.

Granted, our fault for not requesting another table but considering the prices they charge they should invest in some common sense that romantic dinner conversation shouldn't be drowned out by neighbouring tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We reserved a table, and were

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We made a reservation, but were seated at a table for 2 next to the door and adjacent to the piano. We asked to be moved, and were, to a more suitable table but that begs the question - what is the point of a reservation when the table you get seated at first is the one you put the walk ins at. We were disappointed at that aspect of the meal at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fun, friendly, energetically quaint. Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Fun, friendly, energetically quaint. Food delightfully simple yet complex; taste over bulk. Service perfect; don't hover … but check. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special night for us; the food ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

It was a special night for us; the food was superb and the wine list, although not up-to-date, was "notable" enough for us. A wine we ordered was not available (no longer carried we supposed as we were told it was delisted) and the wine we did order, although great, was a 2014, not a 2013 as indicated.

We will return for special events.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food, fun atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Good food and good service. Fun Old World atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant serves nice food but its ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This restaurant serves nice food but its pricey and the service does not match the entree price range. Service was very slow. There are better and better value restaurants in Halifax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Best for food, service and environment

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I have eaten at all the hot spots across Canada, and let me say that the Press Gang gets food, liquor and SERVICE.... not many place can make that claim. From the moment you step into the amazingly historic space untill you enjoy your last freshly shucked Oyster, youll feel relaxed and at home. Did I mention the live music Friday and Saturdays, amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.