About The Press Gang

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday to Saturday at 5pm



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Shane Bauer

Private Party Facilities:
Our 18th century Private Dinning Room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition we offer one-semi private space, suitable for group of 28 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Peterkin: (902) 423-8816

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Historic (15)
Live Music (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner choices were well suited for a fi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner choices were well suited for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal and were very wel ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fabulous meal and were very well taken care of by our servers. The restaurant atmosphere is enchanting and the food was presented well and delicious. I would highly recommend a night out at the Press Gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the inventive cocktails, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed the inventive cocktails, as well as the impeccable service. We chose from the table d'hote; all three courses were delicious. The smoked salmon and grilled octopus was especially tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food; warm historical ambiance ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food; warm historical ambiance; quiet if you ask to be placed in one

of the back rooms.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We usually do "the drill" a few times a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We usually do "the drill" a few times a year. This time it was very different from what we've had before. Although it was still great, we did like the way it was setup before. I think it used to be 4-5 courses with 3 tastings per plate. Now it's 6-7 courses with a bit of a jumble of tiny things on the plates. We didn't have a dessert that we liked and really missed the main course that usually had the braised beef, a chicken dish and lamb. Still looks beautiful, but we found the previous way more satisfying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambience is something that is unmist ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambience is something that is unmistakable at the Press Gang - unfortunately, we were seated too close to the kitchen, so it was busy, noisy and a bit smoky. The food was OK but unremarkable and unimaginative. It was busy, but the service was still good. Disappointing, mostly because I had high expectations of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, prepared extremely well and ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, prepared extremely well and impeccably served. Love the ambiance of this place which is topped off by the live music. Our favourite spot in Halifax for special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening at The Press Gan ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a lovely evening at The Press Gang. Our waitress was friendly and the food was really spectacular. We weren't expecting a live piano, trumpet, and singing but it was enjoyable for a Friday night outing alongside friends, delicious wine, and shareable desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very genuine, with a great ambiance. Ver ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very genuine, with a great ambiance. Very memorable for a date, a wonderful opportunity to be in ones presence and listen to live music!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Overall! Would defiantly go ba ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent Overall! Would defiantly go back. What a great restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Late-night Find, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere to take a client fr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nice atmosphere to take a client from out of town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was good.... the Oysters were v ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good.... the Oysters were very fresh and local we did like that. Would liked to have more selection for the main course or even Half plates. The restaurant itself was beautiful very old that made you appreciate the restoration. The most fun was the guys who played the music..... Trumpet and Piano they were outstanding

will be returning for the oysters and the music when in Halifax again..... memorable and totally enjoyable

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food; excellent and friendly s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious food; excellent and friendly service; warm and cozy atmosphere...would highly recommend this restaurant !!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love table # 30. Was absolutely fabulou ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love table # 30. Was absolutely fabulous evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, came recommended by fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time there, came recommended by friends. Overall experience is a solid good not outstanding for the following reasons: we were the only folks there yet our food took quite a long time to arrive at the table, and when it did-the dishes were not more than warm/lukewarm- baked brie that is almost back to solid again- not so great, main meal vegetables and fish that is not hot enough- a little disappointing.

But what we ate was delicious despite its temperature.

Thus we felt it was overpriced given the potentially interesting food selections-not served at an ideal temperature.

Also, two of our party found their meals over seasoned (salt/pepper)

But we'd go back and try it again

Nice decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was delicious, well prepared and se ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was delicious, well prepared and served. Server was attentive without being in your face. Made excellent recommendations . Sole downside was table was near the door and was chilly when others entered or left

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The music was great and a very good volu ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The music was great and a very good volume. Server sweet and good. Forgot an item ordered so removed price of dessert.

Very, very, cold there. Felt very badly for pianist especially as he had to be FREEZING. Both Gerry Cruthers and Mike Cowie had to have been very cold. We were sitting at the long table against the wall as we had taken four of our restaurant staff there as a thank you from us, and some had to put their coats on. I know you had had heat issues that day, but the cold from the door on the musicians and guest was very bad and was mentioned numerous time throughout the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great; however, we waited almos ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great; however, we waited almost an hour between the first and second course. We asked to be moved due to the smoke from the kitchen that was burning our eyes. Supposed to be a 5 course dinner, but only had 4 courses. Not the best experience I've had at the Press Gang..

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Atmosphere is amazing but the food isn't ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Atmosphere is amazing but the food isn't all that special.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the great foo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the great food. The music playing in the background during our meal was very nice.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the Press Gang, great food, excel ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I love the Press Gang, great food, excellent service, I love the music, and I feel comfortable there, friendly and relaxing! Love it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere, and a reasonably good v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good atmosphere, and a reasonably good value on the high end. We had "The Drill" and were nonplussed by the lack of vegetables over the seven course tasting menu. There were 10 different meats, including fish but not counting about three different caviars, but only one feble micro-green that showed up on several different plates. The oysters were solid, but most of the other dishes felt imbalanced. So we recommend the restaurant, but not necessarily The Drill. We joked afterwards about how ours could have been called a meat tasting menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, friendly service. Appreciate ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good food, friendly service. Appreciate the wine sampling.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There was nothing wrong with the restaur ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

There was nothing wrong with the restaurant, but also nothing spectacular. This restaurant tries to be fine dining, but it's just mediocre overpriced food. The ambience is nice, but the food is just ok, especially for the price. The service is also just ok. My partner ordered the Surf & Turf special, and the server didn't even ask him how he wanted his steak cooked. For a dish that was $60. There are better restaurants in Halifax - go to Shuck, or Gahan - Great service and tasty unpretentious food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I booked this for a retirement dinner. T ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I booked this for a retirement dinner. The staff went the extra mile to make the experience/meal memorable. It was an excellent experience! The food was fantastic and if you go, the drill is the way to go.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding as always but our w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was outstanding as always but our waitress this time was the worst we have had yet. Unfortunately I feel the wit staff have been going down in quality over the last year or so. On our last evening they were definitely scraping the barrel for staff that evening. For me it kinda ruined it for me. Only 3 stars for this particular evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Incredible dining experience! Loved ever ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Incredible dining experience! Loved every part of our meal from the craft cocktails to the last course! Superb.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, Every part. Staff were funny an ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing, Every part. Staff were funny and so attentive. Food was beyond.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience & beautiful setting ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fantastic experience & beautiful setting. Food was delicious and the service was wonderful. Highly recommended for out-of-town guests, special occasions and celebrations.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent food, quality servi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 19, 2016

As always, excellent food, quality service and cozy atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Atlantic halibut !!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fantastic Atlantic halibut !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My steak was burnt, no flavor in the mas ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My steak was burnt, no flavor in the mashed potatoes. My husbands seabass and roasted potatoes were burnt. You know its a bad meal when the brocolini is the best thing on the plate. Dessert was bad too, the chocolate was frozen, so we couldn't cut into it and the sponge toffee was only the size of a quarter, hardly enough to mention on the menu. Used to love this place, shame

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

The Press gang never ceases to impress m ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Press gang never ceases to impress me of service , wine list, and food options.

I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place has so much character. Great f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The place has so much character. Great food and service. Started with the mushroom risotto and it was delicious. Followed it with the tenderloin and it was cooked perfectly. Wine was great and the desserts, both the creme brûlée and cheesecake were amazing! Would recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible atmosphere and food.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Incredible atmosphere and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic evening at the Press Gang. Thi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fantastic evening at the Press Gang. This was our first visit and we definitely plan to go back. Cozy atmosphere with lots of exposed stone and candlelight. Out server was very knowledgeable about the menu and never made us feel rushed. The food was incredible featuring fresh local ingredients (I had the seafood risotto and my guest had short ribs). Best meal we've had in quite a while.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been dinning here for many years. staf a ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Been dinning here for many years. staf and swrvuce is excellent as ia thw food and decor. Friend feom Austria came to dine we me two years ago. Loved so much he insisted that I make reservation for Nov. 4th. had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great Beer, People Watching, Historic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Love ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Love the ambiance. The Press Gang remains our favourite restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Oyster Bar in Halifax. The Pres ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Best Oyster Bar in Halifax.

The Pressgang looks a cross inside between a traditional pub and stylish restaurant. A pub it's not, though it can be great for sitting at the Oyster Bar and watch the local Nova Scotian oysters be expertly shucked while having a glass of champagne or a beer. However, more formal dining there is excellent also, with great and attentive wait staff, a good menu of meat and fish courses plus a good wine list. The atmosphere is great, it can be noisy on a weekend but was nicely quite and intimate on the Sunday evening I last went. It's my favorite Halifax restaurant by far. If you like fish and seafood in a great atmospheric setting in the heart of downtown Halifax, it's a must.

Tags: Fun, , Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Press Gang is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Press Gang is the best restaurant in Halifax. There are other gems, Chives probably foremost among them, but none quite compete with this restaurant. The food is always outstanding and the ambiance is unique. Also without a doubt the best oysters in town. Do not miss it.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.