Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About The Press Gang

The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

5218 Prince St.
Halifax, NS B3J 3X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week at 5pm.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



Cross Street:
Grand Parade & City Hall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 423-8816

Website:
http://www.thepressgang.net/

Entertainment:
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.

Catering:
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.

Parking Details:
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays

Executive Chef:
Chris Bolt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.

The Press Gang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Cozy (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Live Music (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great Beer (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

I hadn’t been in 20 years so I was glad to return when visiting Halifax. A beautiful ambience with exquisite service. I miss all the waxy candles but I guess fire safety comes first!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2017

It was not a good experience at all. We were seated all by ourselves in an area where all we could hear were noises from the kitchen including lots of loud yelling when peoples' food was ready. The food was not very good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Just amazing! Local food, amazing building and atmosphere! Nothing I would change. Amazing staff!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is one of the best restaurant I have been to in a long time. We were comparing it to Raymonds in Newfoundland but price were a lot lower at this place. We were very impress with the atmosphere. There was nobody rushing you to be done, if we wanted to wait for the next course our waiter would make sure it was delayed for us. We asked for a window seat on our reservation & we did get it no problem. Here I find you do get what you pay for, would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and my 1st visit to Halifax was 9 yrs ago and we returned to Halifax for the 2d time to celebrate something special for us at our favourite previous dining experience.
Times change , and unfortunately, this place didn't.
The cellar/catacomb décor is so old and tired...it reminded me of a mushroom factory. Needs a huge re-do.
The food was very good , but the wine by the glass consists of 4 crummy reds and 4 crummy whites. Need to upgrade the number of choices and quality.
We ate early (6:30) and the wait staff didn't seem to be " in full gear" ready to go.
Sorry, food was good but the place needs to take a look in the mirror.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was excellent. Beautiful ambience. Do not go on a Saturday night if you want to be able to talk to anyone at your table - super loud singer. Food was terrible. Super over priced for really bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We've been frequent customers of the Press Gang and make it has turned into our favorite spot to eat for any/all trips to Halifax (from Yarmouth). We have always had amazing food and service; this past Saturday night was a big disappointment. We made reservations for 8, met two friends from NB and expected to treat them to an amazing meal. We were so disappointed. Our halibut and risotto were so salty we couldn't eat it; the halibut eas also SO dry. No sauce. All potatoes on the plate... just filler.

A change in the menu meant very little choice for appetizers, no calamari! :( we didn't opt for dessert and cut our experience short to head elsewhere.

Service was fantastic, and no, we didn't complain to anyone while we were there. Didn't want to damper our evening even more and certainly not looking for anything to be compt.

We hope this isn't the new normal for our once favorite spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Four of us went for drinks and a full dinner. The ambiance is terrific! Allows you to enjoy every minute of your visit with them. The service was impeccable and friedly from the initial greeting right through to when we left. The food was fabulous!! The service and knowledge of the menu and the history of the building itself was without reproach. It was a great experience and as we live in the area, we will most certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Second time there and found the food and staff excellent. Will be back for sure

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great thought has been put into the ambiance for this restaurant. In every corner there is something to see. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food! We had the lobster dinner and it was fantastic. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the restaurant's history. A delightful evening and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Lovely atmosphere in the second-oldest building in town, tasty dishes, and great live music for a Friday night dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great ambience and food but slow kitchen on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our server managed that perfect balance of being present when a need arose and never hovering. Her knowledge of the kitchen met all of our wants/needs. Oysters exceeded expectations, and the presentation of such tasty food was creative and fresh. Go! You'll enjoy it!

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Just fantastic. The food can't be beat, the oysters are the best there is, and the service was professional in the truest sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was great. Overpriced but we had a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food, atmosphere and service were all excellent. We would have liked to stay for dessert but there wasn't much of a selection and nothing that I could see being a crowd favorite or "comfort food". The server mentioned they were about to launch the Fall menu so the desserts were very summery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Chowder was nice but not a lot of fish flavor; mostly cream and sherry. Halibut was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing old building with charm and character. Great food selection. Very delicious. We had a great time. A little pricy but worth it. Will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were recognizing a special occasion - the end of cancer treatment and were catered to in excellent fashion. Service was accommodating, professional, and friendly. Above average wine list for Halifax. Menu was very interesting and food was very well prepared, presented, and served. We were very pleased with everything about The Press Gang...as we always are.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent food (halibut) and service. Ask for Erin. We made a reservation for the following night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

After ordering "The Drill", I have to say that I was blown away by the quality, quantity and overall deliciousness of everything that was served throughout the night. Chef Chris put together a fine assortment of foods that were pleasing to both the palate and the eye, and was even kind enough to come out and meet us after we finished our meal.

We had the opportunity to be seated by the kitchen and watch the chef and sous chefs at work. While it was loud, it was definitely worth it for the unique experience we got, which we likened to seeing a live recording of Hell's Kitchen.

I can also speak to the personable and great service we received from our server, Robyn throughout the night. She helped to make it the perfect evening.

Overall, I can't say enough about the excellent experience that we had, and I can only suggest that you give it a try and see for yourself.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Although we loved the old building and the general atmosphere. We were seated beside the kitchen and it was very noisy with the chef yelling to wait staff throughout our dinner. The live music on Friday and Saturday nights is a very nice touch. The food was delicious, although on the price year-end.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 8, 2017

All in all, great atmosphere & experience. Been many times, always great food. Last experience food was good but not overwhelming. Definitely look forward to next visit to see if I can be overwhelmed again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

A gem in Halifax - whether you're going for beer and oysters or a romantic dinner, this would fit the bill. An absolutely incredible atmosphere, amazing service, delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent ambience, historic 1759 building. Wonderful oyster bar with skilled, friendly bartender/shuckers. Excellent wait staff. Fresh ingredients (oysters, halibut, etc.). Great dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Amazing! It was our anniversary, and didn't expect anything extra, but was put in a special area and given two free glasses of champagne. The food was amazing and service was awesome. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We loved it and will be back on our next visit to Halifax! Restaurant was highly recommended and it delivered! Great service, wonderful meal and oh my the oysters! Yumm!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

El ambiente es excelente, los platos y el servicio también. Muy recomendable

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Wonderful meal in a historic setting. Great service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful evening. Service and food were both above standard and we have a high standard!
Thanks to all the folks at the Press Gang!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love this Press Gang...great ambience! Our party had ribs, chowder, oysters, lobster, halibut. Everyone was totally impressed with the creativity and great tastes of the dishes. Live jazz duo provided perfect background for the evening. Can't miss at this place!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is in my opinion best restaurant in Halifax. Waitress was amazing and ambiance and food are like no other spot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

we loved the music and the food. Most cocktails were very good, except one. I ordered a very cold and dry martini, and it was neither. That aside, four of us had a delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband and I had dinner at the Press Gang on Friday evening. We were seated at the back right next to the kitchen window where the chef would yell each waitress' name when their plates were ready at such a volume that each time I was startled. I would recommend eating here only if you have a table at the front and can't hear the kitchen staff. It was chaotic, stressful and not romantic to watch the dishwasher come out with his blue plastic apron to replenish dish stock and to hear all the commotion of the kitchen. As a paying customers I believe every table deserves the same ambiance. I would recommend the food here. The seafood chowder was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

we had a wonderfully intimate and excellent dinner to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Everyone made it special for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal meal. Ordered "The Drill", which is a 5-course meal decided by the chef. Absolutely incredible. Will return, 100%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The staff was welcoming and warm. Our female waiter was delightful. Quirky funny and knowledgeable. Extremely accommodating to 2 of our guests with celiac disease, plus a 16 year old. That said, my daughter has eaten in the finest restaurants in Europe and all over North America so I think they were impressed with her questions and choices.
I would highly recommend The Press Gang to my friends and family. Noting that it is pricy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Picked this Restaurant for a great dinner out based on eating and reviews. Was looking forward to a Lobster from Nova Scotia and the delivery was disappointing. It was served not in shell and was very tuff , everything was great until lobster. There was obviously a blip in the kitchen. That being said they still took the lobster off the bill. So illlet you decide. Could be a great place mybe just a bad night for me and my friends.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Exquisite historic restaurant with old stone wall interior. Food is good, but not good enough for foodies. Nothing outstanding or even very good. Go there for history and atmosphere alone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.