Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

The Press Gang

4.6
1120 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, occupies one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures which dates back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate.
Visit our famous Oyster Bar for a selection of Maritime oysters, succulent appetizers and an extensive list of wines and martinis. Enjoy one of Nova Scotia's largest scotch selections, featuring over 75 single malts and listen to our grand piano played by some of Halifax's finest musicians every Friday and Saturday night, beginning at 7:30pm.

The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open 7 days a week at 5pm. Closed December 24,25,26th, and January 1st.
Due to our liquor conversion license, minors cannot be in the dining room past 9pm.



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 423-8816
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Bolt
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Henry Room
Our 18th century private dining room comfortably accommodates 15 guests. In addition, we offer one semi-private space, suitable for up to 28 guests.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grand Parade & City Hall
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is FREE between 6pm and 8am and on weekends & holidays
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
A proud supporter of local live music, The Press Gang hosts the immensely talented Mike Cowie every Friday and Saturday night.

Acclaimed trumpet player, singer and songwriter, Mike Cowie along with top Halifax musician, Gerry Carruthers on piano perform popular pop songs from the 70’s to present day. Enjoy this talented trio's uniquely arranged versions of songs by Sting, Prince, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, The Beatles and more.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Join us for Whiskey Tuesday, every Tuesday from 7 to 9 p.m at The Press Gang. Learn everything about whiskey from consulting sommelier Wallace Fraser and sample from our extensive selection of over 100 single malts. Each week, two types of whiskey will be featured for your tasting pleasure.

Book your table now!
The Press Gang Restaurant is a perfect venue for a wedding reception, corporate function, and private parties. Please contact Saundra for pricing at 902-423-8816.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Amazing meal! We did the chef’s tasting menu for two, it was incredible!

Beautiful atmosphere and the drink menu is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Simply superb! Service is outstanding. Leave room for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

This restaurant does not fail to deliver ambiance that is only unique to Press Gang. You feel like you are in the old world with delicious, melt-in-your-mouth food. My lovely friends and I were right next to the piano player and singer, it was such a treat to listen. every dish was cooked to perfection!

If I could, I would eat there every night- but be aware that this is high dining with a matching price tag. But oh so worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Please see my review on Trip Advisor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

everything was very tasty, server was very helpful.
Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We love it again, this was our second time & we will definitely go back. Our friends were really impress with the place. Will definitely recommend this location to other people

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great place to go! Food was good, servive was excellent and I love the rustic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I had let the restaurant know it was a significant birthday. We had a table in a charming alcove and a complimentary glass of sparkling wine -very nice! We ordered The Drill -tasting menu for two which was delicious! The service was very attentive. The only downside was the foot stomping coming from upstairs as it was St Patrick’s Day. The staff made efforts to minimize the noise (by speaking to someone upstairs) and it did improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The ambiance and service was amazing. The food was just OK considering the price. The single malt scotch offerings are the best in the city. I would highly recommend this place as a romantic night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Always a great meal when I eat here. Tonight the Halibut was amazing. Loved the choice of vegetables..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Best Halibut dish I’ve ever had, the vegetables were perfectly seasoned as well. The atmosphere is welcoming and overall a great place for special occasions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The food at the Press Gang is fabulous, the service is top notch and the ambiance is great. So why not a five star review? - The problem for me is the wine list - it is rather boring and certainly overpriced. Most restaurants of this caliber will have a wine list filled with unique offerings and arranged by country or overall attributes. I expect to find wines that I can't get any place else and some simple assistance with pairing. The Press Gang wine list looks to be right off the shelf of the NSLC, differentiated only by red or white and with a very high markup. I expect that many places will charge double the store price, but I saw several wines on the list that I were more than 3 times the store price. More and more the trend in high-end restaurants is to make profit from the food and lower the markups on wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

always enjoy the service and superb quality of the food at Press Gang. One of the best in Halifax!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Always amazing food and amazing service. Scotch list is top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Another delicious meal at The Press Gang. Went with a friend over the weekend and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed some oysters to start, lots of variety available. Beautiful, creative, high quality food. I love the atmosphere, the building is old and unique in the most wonderful way. Our server was kind, attentive, and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food was very well cooked
Service was on point and met our needs
We felt rushed, they seemed to be wanting to flip the table. I could see them standing on the corner with our next course waiting for my last bite so they could bring the next course right away.
We had oysters to start, scallops as appy, the mac/cheese and seafood pasta, and a great desert.
It was a cool spot, next time we would book for 8:30 instead of 7:30 as we had a nice surprise when leaving of a good piano player.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

I just love this place and go each time I visit Halifax! the food is always excellent as all of the staff. Mike Cowie delivers awesome music, it’s such a pleasure to listen to his music while there. The atmosphere is absolutely perfect!

I honestly have nothing but good to say, you’ll definitely enjoy the experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Incredible atmosphere and amazing food!
Beautiful bar...every spirit imaginable and the freshest Oysters.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We considered The Press Gang as our special occasion go to restaurant that has never let us down in the past. On our last visit it was to celebrate Valentine's day and we had been advised that there would be a table d'hote menu rather than the usual for the evening. As mentioned, based on past experience we had confidence in the food and service despite the fact that the $75 per person charge for this menu seemed even more expensive than usual. We ended up being disappointed with the small portions (although well presented), limited selection and the lack of quality service given the main plate was not to my wife's taste to enjoy and no offer to have it corrected. All in all we are sorry to say The Press Gang did not live up to it's otherwise higher standard that you should expect at this price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service and rapport with Brad our Server who was quite professional and informative assisting us in wine choice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service was really good, but the price was much more than expected from looking at the website and dining menu. Still a great place to bring a date or to just have a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful meal guys! Perfectly suited to a dinner date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Always excellent both front and back if the house. Well staffed with very knowledgeable folks, great Scotch selection, fresh oysters always. This is our go-to favorite, and one of the best in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Food was great; a little beyond the usual (elk and ostrich).
Our server, Robyn, was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

It was excellent! They had catered to my birthday request and has a dessert brought out for my friend after we finished our meal. Relaxing atmosphere, wonderful staff, and great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Great meal with dedicated staff. Food was fresh and delicious. The oysters !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

I was going to take my wife out to a different place for her birthday, but she liked The Press Gang so well last year that we had to go back. The food was excellent, the service friendly and knowledgable... the one drawback was the noise level, due to a large table of revellers nearby. But even that was not sufficient to ruin a great evening at The Press Gang!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Our service was fantastic. Overall-3 out of 4 were very pleased with their meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Food was great. Nice oyster selection.everyone enjoyed their meals. The server was fun. Service was spot on. Wasn't overly busy so was quite and we had a room all to ourselves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Great food and service. 2nd time we've had reservations for a special occasion and they have seated us in the bar rather than the dining room which is usually a lot quieter. First time, I asked them to move us and they did so right away. This time I didn't ask so I guess it is partly on me. I could understand it if I was in my 20s but I am over 70 so it would seem logical to keep us out of the bar area?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

this is a consistently great restaurant. local ingredients and masterful preparation by the culinary team is second to none. there are many theme nights with live music or scotch tasting. incredible oyster selection and great bar seating. its historic with a modern flair. lots of different seating options from intimate dining to groups to business anniversaries or whatever. in the centre of the city in the heart of biz and entertainment district.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance. Always an enjoyable experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Very pricey but wonderful New Years dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Good food, excellent service, great ambiance. We had our anniversary here and it was a wonderful choice, the staff did their best to make it very special and they succeeded. The Foie Gras sauce was a bit too acidic for our taste but the rest of the meal (especially the Duck) was delicious. I also enjoyed the Elk but wish the portion of meat was more and the blueberry gnocchi that accompanied it was a miss for me. The Creme Brûlée they served which was an egg nog flavor was delicious. I also enjoyed their daily flavored butter. Great experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Very nice place with amazing food. We love it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

What a late night find. Arriving later than expected from a flight it was hard to find a nice place to eat and have a drink. Although the kitchen was closed...the oysters were there to accompany our wine & beer. A delightful treat at 10:45 in the evening. What a spectacular historical property! We will be back.
To top it off there was spontaneous live music & song;-)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Great service, the chowder was excellent, but I was disappointed in the gnocchi - heavy and gluey like they were made with the wrong potatoes :/

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Quiet corner for two. Food was delicious from a varied menu.
Robyn was an excellent server, helpful with suggestions and in formation and always smiling,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Excellent dining experience would definitely recommend this restaurant and go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were fantastic! This was our first time to Press Gang and we will be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28