Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About The Precinct

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (155)
Good for Anniversaries (141)
Good for a Date (114)
See All
Romantic (114)
Good for Birthdays (94)
Worth the Drive (74)
Notable Wine List (66)
Business Meals (65)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Cozy (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Authentic (37)
Bar Seating (31)
Fun (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Hot Spot (23)
Historic (22)
Happy Hour (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Private Room (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
People Watching (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (6)
Live Music (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful evening celebrating my husband's birthday. The Filet Mignon was perfectly prepared and the delicious Dover Sole was filleted table-side. Our salads & side dishes were perfect complements to the meal.
Most of all, one can't forget to mention that our service was outstanding. We always look forward to great service but "Hoagie" makes you enjoy the evening all the more.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The Precinct never disappoints. Food quality is outstanding and steaks are cooked to the temp you order. Service, from the personable, inviting host staff, to the accommodating, prompt and friendly bar staff, to the dining room staff, which is there when you need them yet not obtrusive, is spectacular. You get what you pay for and The Precinct is worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and our close friend had never been to a Ruby restaurant, so I took them here for my boyfriend's birthday. Everything was delicious as it always is and we had a great time. We had our leftovers boxed up to go, and one of the steaks was accidentally left out of the bag. I sent a message around 9:30 (after the restaurant was closed) just notifying someone and not requesting any specific action. 10 minutes later, a manager called and said he was checking emails and noticed my message, found the steak in the kitchen and asked if he could drop it off to my house. I didn't want to put him out but he absolutely insisted. Within an hour or so he was on my doorstep with the steak AND a piece of cake for the trouble. THIS is why I insist on a Ruby restaurant for special occasions. People who haven't been will hem and haw and say 'oh how much better could it be' than a regular steakhouse-- that is how much better. Consistent, impeccable, efficient service, food, and customer service. My boyfriend is now insisting on The Precinct every year for his birthday-- I've created a monster. :)

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a perfect evening. The food & wine were superb and our server, Chris, was outstanding. We appreciated the complimentary cheesecake for the celebration of our Anniversary. Everyone in my group enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

Everyone at The Precinct made our 30th Anniversary special...from the hostesses to the manager. The steaks were outstanding as well as the garlic mashed potatoes, baked potato and Freddie salads. To help us celebrate our anniversary even better, we were served a complimentary piece of cheesecake. That is hands down the best cheesecake we have ever tasted. Thank you for making our night special!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Jeff Ruby's steaks are the best anywhere. I really miss the Waterfront because at the Precinct the tables are so close together. But you can't beat the food or the service. Our server Rachel was great and the food delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I went to The Precinct in a Rolls-Royce limousine with my wife in 1987 for our 10th anniversary. We loved it. She died last November, so I took a companion in her honor.

My companion said it was the best filet she had ever had. I enjoyed the huge Bloody Mary, the Collinsworth filet, and the creme brulee.

I will not wait another 30 years to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Reservation 2 months in advance for our anniversary and we were seated at the worst table in the restaurant. Really disappointing. Finally asked to be moved and we were - another not so great table. But they took a picture of us - complementary! Ha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As usual the precinct was fantastic! Not a single thing to complain about. Steaks were as tasty as ever and all of the sides were just as good! Went for a dual celebration: My wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary. Best place in town!!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great steaks and helpful, attentive service in a former police precinct building made for an excellent dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had an excellent dining experience. Our waiter went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Actually took my seven-year-old to the Precinct to celebrate his excellent grades for past school year. Had not been to the restaurant in about 13 years, so I wasn't sure what to expect. We had a fantastic experience, our waiter was excellent and gave personal attention to my son. The big reason for going was the steak and we were not disappointed. The last time I had a steak this good was, well, 13 years ago. No kid's menu, which I didn't expect, but they split everything we ordered. A nice difference between this restaurant and some of the other high end steakhouses is that you receive salad and a side with your steak.
From start to finish, a great dining experience-you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was perfect, food was some of the best we have had in the Cincinnati area.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Incredible dining experience! Best steak I have ever eaten!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

You can always count on the sun coming up, and you can bet your experience at the Precinct will be first class.
I believe it is the best of Jeff Ruby's restaurants.( They are all exceptional)
When I need everything to be perfect, I choose the Precinct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The decor was unique and interesting. The staff was attentive, professional and friendly. The steak was excellent. The large baked potato, salad and dessert were delicious. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful as always. We have been celebrating my birthday here for many years,and it is always great. Being a creature of habit, I have never ordered any entree besides Steak Collinsworth. The steak is alway perfect and the sauces are both wonderful. My husband goes for the A. J. Green. Between the two of us, we easily have another meal at home. Shrimp cocktail, Caesar salad, truffled creamed corn and carrot cake to round out the meal. Except for the shrimp, some of each made it home.
This time I tried a CJ Spritz cocktail and was pleased that it was not too sweet. Very good start with the great bread and truffle butter. Our Justin Justification was definitely justified (sorry, had to say it.)
Our server, Sue, was spot on at all times. She was very knowledgeable about the wine selections, and recognized that I would be taking home a large Precinct bag.
An added treat, we were next to the captain's table and had fun watching the many preparations of Bananas Foster before we watched my husband's being prepared.
All staff was very friendly, professional, and efficient.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It's always a treat when we dine at one of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. Delicious food and wine, impeccable service, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Both my steak and my bananas foster were very disappointing. Don't understand, you have great steaks why you covered up with seasoning and toppings.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love the building and decor. The steak was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Service is unbeatable. Best steaks in the area. Not the cheapest place to eat, so don't do it often, but will still go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Took my parents for their 60th wedding anniversary and they loved it! Jeff Ruby is the KING of steaks in Greater Cincinnati!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great steak. Very pricey. We were there for special occasion and were dressed appropriately nice for Saturday night at 8 PM, so it was disappointing and disconcerting to see a table full of people wearing cut off shorts, t-shirts and gym shoes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Go here every year for our anniversary. They are always accommodating our request for the back, quieter room.
Steaks are always excellent. Service is very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. Both service and food were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good but did not match the hype. Pricy and the mirrors actually take away from what could be a more intimate environment.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great steak, everything else was mediocre for the price. If you want a GREAT steak, this is for you. Just don't get any sides, except mac and cheese, or desserts because they are not worth what you'll pay for them.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere! We loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The bar worth a stop before dinner because it is a very cool looking place to begin. The meal was absolutely delicious and the wait staff attentive but not obtrusive. An overall fine dining spot with ambiance and style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Absolutely amazing steaks, seafood, salad, service, the whole nine yards. A must bucket list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I have been coming here since they opened in 1981. One of the best dining experiences in the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent as always. Good service. Valet service prompt and courteous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was extremely attentive, courteous, engaged, aware of our special occasion and just very pleasant and informative. Wine/drink options were plentiful and the cuisine was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I thought it was very reasonably priced and offered great value. The steaks come with your choice of potato and salad, which is a deal considering the quality of food. Everything was amazing, and by amazing, I mean - some of the best I have ever had in my life! I always put off trying this place because I was afraid of what the price tag would be.. It ran us about $100 a person and we both ordered a large steak, cocktails, steak accompaniments and a side to share. I think now we will be back for every birthday/anniversary. It was that good!! I don't think we'll ever want to go anywhere else!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 26, 2017

this was the first time I have been to the precinct, the steak was simply one the best ive ever eaten. the service was excellent. nice ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Jeff Ruby truly has the best steaks anywhere. Fresh bread was delicious, sides were amazing. Freddie salad even was a winner. Paired with a good glass of wine and you have the ultimate dining experience. The ambience is neat, and the stafff is knowledgeable and attentive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome food and great service. Great touch taking a picture of all us and giving a copy per couple.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sue was excellent! Her recommendations and menu descriptions were spot on. She was perfectly attentive, not too much and never kept us waiting. Very good experience all the way around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

it was an anniversary and from beginning to end it was a real pleasant and fun experience,
I would recommend the precinct for just about anything! Thanks again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Unbelievable service. Food was spectacular. Very healthy wine menu as well. Went for my birthday and got a free cheesecake and a tour of the kitchen as well!! Would HIGHLY recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.