About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Oysters - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Macaroni & Cheese - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Sweet Potato Soufflé - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Jumbo shrimp cocktail - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Hot Slaw - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Crab Legs & Shrimp - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008 - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
2009 Darioush Cabernet - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009 - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Freddy Salad - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Joe Nuxhall Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Oscar Robertson Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Pepper Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Carrot Cake - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Dusty Baker Butterflied - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Nick Lachey - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
Good for a Date (111)
See All
Romantic (85)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Historic (69)
Worth the Drive (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Business Meals (53)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Bar Seating (37)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Cozy (34)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Authentic (24)
Private Room (24)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Live Music (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service were exceptiona ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 16 hours ago

The food and the service were exceptional, as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always service food and atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

As always service food and atmosphere was absolutely fantastic 100% worth the hour and a half drive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Precinct has taken a nose dive in th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The Precinct has taken a nose dive in the last year or 2. Have dined here frequently over the past few decades and my most recent experience was disappointing. Salad was too wet with dressing. The sides were not as good as years past. Our server could not handle her station and seemed overwhelmed. Plus, she overcharged for alcoholic beverages that we had. We brought this to her attention and she seemed even more irritated and annoyed. Finally, after a very lengthy wait - a manager rectified the overcharge on our bill and we were able to pay. On the plus side; our steaks were cooked as requested and came out hot and the Hostesses were very friendly and efficient. The Precinct needs some lovin'. Seems to have lost it's MoJo to Jeff Ruby's Downtown & Carlo & Johnny's where the food and service are far superior.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

My daughter and I were celebrating her h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

My daughter and I were celebrating her her recent awards. Arrived early for our reservation , so that we could have a drink at the bar. Very noisy and crowded. Nowhere to stand or talk. Not enjoyable way to start evening of celebration. Should have gone to Hotel Cocington bar for drinks first.

Then, we were seated right next to the private Jeff Ruby Room, which was not occupied when were we seated at 8:30pm. But during dinner staff was removing chairs and moving them right next to our small table with even smallerr corridor. This went on for sometime. Very annoying and definitely affected dining experience. I don't want to watch dining staff move chairs and furniture for at least 20 minutes while I dine. Very disappointing. Jeff Ruby needs to take a message from Disney as to what stays behind "stage". Never even received apology from staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

I have been to Jeff Ruby's downtown and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Jeff Ruby's downtown and wanted to try the precinct its was good but loved the service, food and the butter pie at Jeff Ruby's downtown.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The portions that you get with the appet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The portions that you get with the appetizer was disappointing. The 4 slices of meat were so thin you could see through them. All 4 pieces together really wouldn't make one piece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Have not been to the Precinct for years. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have not been to the Precinct for years. The steaks just were not as good as I remembered. Value is not there for what you get. Much prefer many of the newer and more interesting restaurants in town. Salads were overdressed. I expect relaxed dining here, but wait between salads and main course was forever. Took our son the carnivore in the family before heading back to college, and his comment was that he had enjoyed steaks at Bonefish more than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

As always this place did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always this place did not disappoint. Fantastic food and outstanding service. You get what you pay for here .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fabulous meal and overall exper ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a fabulous meal and overall experience. Brian, the captain, was most helpful with wine selection and referenced the recommended from November when we spoke about how much we enjoyed the wine on that visit. Our waiter was not as attentive as is usuallly the case. He had a party of eight at the next table and seemed a bit overwhelmed with them and us arriving at the same time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service from Sue. We were cel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent service from Sue. We were celebrating the wife's birthday and she was treated very well. Wagyu beef was wonderful choice and the kid loved his Alaskan King crab. Expect to bring out the wallet though, because the prices are a bit steep.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time! Love all the Ruby Rest ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a great time! Love all the Ruby Resteraunts! Miss the Waterfront .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute fabulous location with a ste ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

An absolute fabulous location with a stellar menu, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations for dinner at the P ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We made reservations for dinner at the Precinct my daughter had recently graduated from Miami Oxford so we wanted to do something nice for her and the Precinct did not fall short of spectacular! Our server, John was very helpful in describing menu items and was just super friendly. We all had "The Lachey" we all agreed it was the best steak ever and that cream corn with truffles was amazing. The crab cake and scallops for appetizers were great. The food and the service was awesome and we will be back for sure. Thanks to all the rest of the staff for making a special night really special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and excellent service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was delicious and excellent service. Only small disappointment was the Brussel sprouts were sold out. (8:00 Sun reservation). Filets were perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third visit to the Precinct ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our third visit to the Precinct and unfortunately our steaks were not good. We had the The Lachey dry aged bone-in ribeye and it came out chard (black) and had a very sweet taste to it like someone dumped sugar on it. We are not the type to complain due to our service being outstanding however we probably will not be back anytime soon. I have had better steaks and for the price it was very disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary...the atmosphere was fantastic, with great service and outstanding food. The wait staff, servers and attendants were fantastic particularly Sue. The experience was great and we felt like we were dining with old friends....it is an experience we will remember until the next time.....which I hope is soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After moving away from Cincinnati a few ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

After moving away from Cincinnati a few years ago, a return visit prompted us to try The Precinct again since it had been a family favorite. Happily, Jeff Ruby has sustained the high standards of his original steakhouse. Despite being full, the clubby atmosphere kept the noise to a moderate level. The menu continued to offer a broad choice of meat and seafood options (but where's the amazing veal chop?). And as before, the meats are absolutely superb, well aged and cooked with precision. Salads and sides never steal the show from the meat, but are also well executed. And that carrot cake! Put all that together with a server who paced our meal to suit us and not him or the kitchen made for as perfect a dinner as one could ask for. Thanks, Jeff!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have Ever had! Wonderful cl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best steak I have Ever had! Wonderful classy place with excellent service and fantastic food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite steak restaurant in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is our favorite steak restaurant in Cincinnati. We travel to Chicago and NY often, but this place is one of the best ever!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lobster tail and it was fabulous. D ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Had lobster tail and it was fabulous. Dinner came with a large salad and baked potato. It was a good price for large portions of delicious food.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had never been, surprised him ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My husband had never been, surprised him for our Anniversary. He said best meal he's ever had!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12oz fillet served rare, then med rare b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

12oz fillet served rare, then med rare before finally getting it med, a bit too much salt on porterhouse steaks - still excellent however! We will continue to return as often as possible

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was awesome, there wasn't a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was awesome, there wasn't a down side to any part of the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service as always. Ou ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food, great service as always. Our waiter Brian was awesome. This is the best steakhouse in Cincinnati. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you want to enjoy an excellent steak.

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had a party of 5. Plan to dine again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve dinner with my daughters ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner with my daughters was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love The Precinct. The steaks are fab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love The Precinct. The steaks are fabulous. We also enjoy the atmosphere of the historic police station. Only negative is that you are seated relatively close to other parties due to limited space. On this particular night there was a large group at the front of the restaurant that had several very loud outbursts, but other than that, the atmosphere was charming, as usual.

The Steak Collinsworth is my favorite, the garlic mashed potatoes were great, as well as the Greek salad. We had two appetizers...the crab cake and the polenta balls. Both were very good. Service was good as well. Friendly and informative staff. I highly recommend The Precinct.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested a bar table in my reservatio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I requested a bar table in my reservation. But when the employee called to confirm the reservation, she stated they could not honor a request for a bar seat. However, when we arrived, Brandon accommodated the request without us even mentioning it. Bar seating was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a premium steak h ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you are looking for a premium steak house experience, this is the place. The beef and sides are exceptional and the service is attentive. If you are looking for a more creative dining experience with a variety of choices, go to Boca. Jean Robert's restaurants, The Palace or Nicola's where you will probably spend less and have an amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the only places in town to dine w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the only places in town to dine where there is never a complaint about the food or the service. Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and service was excellent. I was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dinner and service was excellent. I was disappointed in the corner table we were given, could barely squeeze in it and the outside wall made the temperature very chilly for us. Skipped desert and coffee. Reservations were made well in advance so not sure why we got such a bad table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still one of my favorite restaurants. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Still one of my favorite restaurants. The staff is professional and engaging in the right way. Our steaks were perfect and sides amazing. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp cocktail was great! Best steak I' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Shrimp cocktail was great! Best steak I've ever had! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although very pricey their steaks are th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Although very pricey their steaks are the best ever. Be nice if they also offered some wine bites in the $50 range. only a few under $100 and know in the brands they were naked up substantially.

Still had a great and memorable time, only go there twice or three times a year do to cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Paul our server was fantastic, food was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Paul our server was fantastic, food was amazing! Next time I'll ask to be seated near the private dining area, not in the middle of main dining area. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we had drunk lady with her loud family on one side and "Mr. Complain my steak wasn't cooked properly" on the other side. It became great people watching rather than the romantic dinner I was going for, considering we were in town from Kansas City for the holiday.

Overall, we love this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great dinner, or if your looking to celebrate with your love!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I booked this and purchased a gift card ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I booked this and purchased a gift card for my grandparents' anniversary as they had wanted to go there since the restaurant was built. They both sobbed because of how nice it was inside. They said that each but was more amazing than the last and even brought home the most delicious leftovers that I've ever tasted!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Precinct is not only about fabulous ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Precinct is not only about fabulous food but fabulous service--the kind of service that is well trained and communicated with staff at every level, and executed in a professional manner.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Precinct experience yet. Waiter wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Best Precinct experience yet. Waiter was super and ,when issue with extra charge on bill, manager handled very well and we appreciated his personality. Though we can only afford such a splurge to celebrate our anniversary every other year, we will definitely continue this 23 yeasr tradition!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Christmas Eve experience. Fo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Outstanding Christmas Eve experience. Food was outstanding and service was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience. Sue, our ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Sue, our server was great. A special Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.