About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Macaroni & Cheese - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Sweet Potato Soufflé - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Jumbo shrimp cocktail - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Hot Slaw - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Crab Legs & Shrimp - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008 - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
2009 Darioush Cabernet - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009 - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Freddy Salad - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Joe Nuxhall Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Oscar Robertson Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Pepper Steak - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Carrot Cake - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Dusty Baker Butterflied - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH
Nick Lachey - The Precinct, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
12 More
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (162)
Good for Anniversaries (118)
Romantic (110)
See All
Good for a Date (98)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Notable Wine List (74)
Historic (74)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Business Meals (58)
Worth the Drive (53)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Cozy (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Authentic (32)
Private Room (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Fun (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Hot Spot (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Happy Hour (14)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Live Music (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Scenic View (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steaks were amazing but the sides we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The steaks were amazing but the sides were very subpar. Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious, as always. The Precinct conti ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious, as always. The Precinct continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Despite being quite expensive, it's consistently one of the best meals I've ever had. The steaks are perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love it Favorite restaurant Worth money ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Love it

Favorite restaurant

Worth money best steaks in cincy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Precinct is always a great spot for ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The Precinct is always a great spot for good food, beautiful ambience and exceptional service. They never fail to deliver!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Precinct never fails to disappoint. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Precinct never fails to disappoint. Our server, Anthony, was very attentive, listened to our conversation, then asked my son, by name, what he wanted to order. The manager, Michael, was incredibly friendly and engaging, and stopped by the table on several occasions. The food was outstanding, as usual, and the menu was recently updated. Both my husband and I opted for the blackened sea scallop topper for our filets. I personally wish these were offered as an entree. The balance of flavor between the sweetness of the scallops, and the blackened spiciness was perfect. For us, it's a bit of a drive to get there, but always well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were all spicy. We all scraped th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Steaks were all spicy. We all scraped the spices off. Mine was not good the steak tasted like lighter fluid! I noticed my wife did not finish her steak portion either. After dinner I asked her and she said it didn't seem to taste right .I took a few bites and stopped eating it. Plus everyone at the table said the mash potatoes were cold and tasted like instant mashed potatoes. I'm sure they weren't but they were not as good as I remember them in the past. Seems like prices have increased and quality has decreased. The service did not seem to be on par either. The server seemed not as quick and didn't check on the table much. I understand now why friends are going else where. On a good note the banana foster was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Everyone from valet to hostess was frien ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Everyone from valet to hostess was friendly and helpful. Our wait staff was sensitive to our time constraints and treated us to an enjoyable meal. Jeff Ruby does it right!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love it there. Great everytime! We h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We love it there. Great everytime! We have never had anything but the best food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great steaks. Best steakho ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Consistently great steaks. Best steakhouse in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Awesome Bananas Foster for ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great steaks. Awesome Bananas Foster for dessert.

Caveat: restaurant was rather chilly. This was the second time dining there where the room temp was frustratingly cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Fantastic food, service and ambiance. I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fantastic food, service and ambiance. It's been a few years since center we have been to the Precinct. We will come more often.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Cozy, Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. Our dining e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was impeccable. Our dining experience truly made our anniversary special. The food was exceptional and the steak was the best I've ever had. The fillet mignon melted in my mouth.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was good. It is the per ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service was good. It is the perfect place to be for a Birthday or Anniversary meal. We were there for a Birthday celebration and had told our server when asked. Friends had told us they received a complimentary Birthday dessert when they visited. Unfortunately we were not offered one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing as always. Best steak I've ever ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing as always. Best steak I've ever had. We always come here for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is outstanding. The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This restaurant is outstanding. The food, service, and ambiance could not be better. The Precinct does things with a little more thought than the average restaurant. Steak Collinsworth (medium rare)- FANTASTIC!! Be prepared to spend some money. It is not inexpensive. My wife and I are planning to make this restaurant a place to go for a special occasion. None better!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favourite of mine. The long bone ribey ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A favourite of mine. The long bone ribeye was to die for

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always have a nice time dinning in a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We always have a nice time dinning in a Ruby restaurant. The Precinct has become one of our favorite restaurants. With this new menu launch we will have to make it back even more. We really appreciated the complementary items and we had great service from a young man who has worked with the company for a long time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a party of 7 and everyone was hap ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a party of 7 and everyone was happy with their service and meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time eating at the Precinct wil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My first time eating at the Precinct will definitely be back. Everything a restaurant should be.

The food and staff were fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was awesome! We always ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food and service was awesome! We always enjoy our meals here on special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were fantastic as always!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The steaks were fantastic as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks lived up to their reputation. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The steaks lived up to their reputation. We both got the fillets and neither of us used our knives because they were so tender they cut with a fork.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the Shrimp appetizer which has ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I ordered the Shrimp appetizer which has 3 shrimp and the waitress didn't ask if it was just for me or recommend getting 1 additional shrimp to make it 4 (2 per person). When she brought it out, she brought 6 of them in 1 dish and served them to us. I've never seen that before - however, I thought maybe they changed something so nothing was said and they were good. When served our food, there were onion straws in a separate dish so I assumed it came with "his" meal - I found that neither of us ordered them, nor did we eat them. He paid the bill and after we left he made a comment that it was $42 for the shrimp which then told me she brought 2 orders of shrimp. The waitress didn't ask, didn't question or clarify since there were only 3 in a serving if that was sufficient or if we wanted 2 orders. I've eaten there many times and this was his first visit. Overall, the staff, food and experience was great, however, I believe he paid for food that wasn't ordered and don't believe he will request to go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and location. On ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent food, service and location. One of the best restaurants I have visited. Would definitely come back and refer family and friends. Atmosphere was great, quiet and relaxing. Service was outstanding. Steaks were to die for. Thank you Precinct for making my date night memorable

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice location. Prefer Carlo and Joh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Very nice location. Prefer Carlo and Johnny. Wait staff was decent (forgot a few things). Did not like seat/table against grilling area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our service was excellent and our food w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our service was excellent and our food was good. My husband and I are great cooks, so it's hard to find restaurants that can serve it up better than we do. However, it was an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and great services, it was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing food and great services, it was a great night.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic anniversary experience. Gre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A fantastic anniversary experience. Greeted by everyone, outstanding service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at the Precinc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a great experience at the Precinct. The food is expensive but lives up to their reputation. My steak was cooked a perfect medium and you got large portions of sides which were also delicious. The waiter was very attentive without hovering and was very knowledgeable about the menu and specials. We did not feel rushed and the décor is very inviting and cozy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about The Precinct is fabulou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything about The Precinct is fabulous! Best steaks in town, amazing service, and great attention to detail. We go for special occasions and very nice date nights.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Great food. Pretty e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wonderful service. Great food. Pretty expensive. .............................

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again, Ruby's staff comes through w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Once again, Ruby's staff comes through with an excellent dinner and THE BEST STEAK you'll ever eat. Why go anywhere else?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not the first time nor the last ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was not the first time nor the last time my wife and I will dine at The Precinct. The food is everything you'd expect from a Jeff Ruby establishment. The service was also impeccable. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Cincinnati institution. Great high end ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A Cincinnati institution. Great high end steakhouse experience at a fairly reasonable price and great service. Skip Morton's and hit this instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect !

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything was perfect !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal and service! First time fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Amazing meal and service! First time for our kids 12 and 15. A wonderful surprise was the Brussels sprout dish! Loved tasting our wine before ordering. Only negative were the seat cushions were particularly worn and I felt like I was sinking in my chair throughout the night. However, first rate service and delicious meal all around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though the Precinct was busy, my wi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Even though the Precinct was busy, my wife and felt as if we were the only couple enjoying the ambience. From the time we entered the Precinct until we finished our meal, we were special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brussel sprouts without the apple ci ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Brussel sprouts without the apple cider is better. Don't mess with what works.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We especially enjoyed the ( 2 ) patio fi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We especially enjoyed the ( 2 ) patio fire pits after dinner !!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. The food was spot o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent as always. The food was spot on and Nicole our server was very friendly and attentive. Ruby's has the best steaks in Cincinnati hands down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.