About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Macaroni & Cheese
Sweet Potato Soufflé
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye
Hot Slaw
Crab Legs & Shrimp
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008
2009 Darioush Cabernet
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Freddy Salad
Joe Nuxhall Steak
Oscar Robertson Steak
Pepper Steak
Carrot Cake
Dusty Baker Butterflied
Nick Lachey

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
11 More
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (247)
Romantic (163)
Notable Wine List (102)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (86)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for Groups (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Historic (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Scenic View (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a classic venue with top shelf s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a classic venue with top shelf staff. The food, as an aside, is exceptional. The wine list is solid. I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the finest dining experience in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is the finest dining experience in Cincinnati. The staff is superb, food is fantastic. Highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. The service was as exceptional ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing. The service was as exceptional as the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening! We were celebrating my ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing evening! We were celebrating my aunt and now uncle's justice of the peace wedding. Delicious food, outstanding service, cozy ambiance...I could go on and on, but just go and check it out for yourself!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've lived in Cincy for one year and I w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've lived in Cincy for one year and I was looking forward to finally going to this place. I tried 2 times prior to make a reservation, but no one ever called me back. Finally, I was able to make a reservation through Open Table for a 9:15pm reservation on a Friday night. I was on a date and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, Tara. We arrived early and enjoyed a cocktail and thee very crowded and loud bar. Thankfully, we were served our drinks timely and even got sat 15 minutes at our very small two person table. The menu was a standard steak house menu. We started with a bottle of wine, the waiter had good knowledge which helped me to narrow my selection. It was spot on. We had two appetizers, e both enjoyed the super yummy bacon/not healthy salad. I ordered the surf & turf and my date ordered the Rib Eye. My steak arrived medium well when I ordered medium. We both had the creamy garlic mashed potatoes with minimal flavor and shared asparagus. Not knowing to many other steak places in the area, I can only compare this place to my experiences dining in LA and NYC. Based on that, I would rate it a 3+ out of 5. The waiter was fantastic, my steak at $75 for surf & turf was dissapointedly overcooked and our table was so small it did not fit all our plates. I'm thinking this place survives on the hype. After I gain more experience @ comparable steak places in the area, i'll come back to compare once more. For now, my $450 meal for 2 was too much without anything being offered to us as "special." The only thing special about my meal was celebrating the birthday of the special person with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

the food was exceptional, the service wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

the food was exceptional, the service was exceptional, it was really a great place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was fantastic like usual! I had the stea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Was fantastic like usual! I had the steak special for the night and it was great. Chef Cooked it exactly how I like it and was a very nice piece of meat.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a fine experience. Waygu was e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always a fine experience. Waygu was excellent and the table side Fettuccini delicious. I recommend them both. Staff was attentive but unobtrusive, perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent with the except ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Everything was excellent with the exception that both my wife & I felt rush. We were not finished with our salad when the waitress wanted to bring the main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated on time. The staff was gr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were seated on time. The staff was great. And the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner for my one year annivers ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for dinner for my one year anniversary. We had a very nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my girlfriend's favorite restaur ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is my girlfriend's favorite restaurant. We went there for her birthday and had a very enjoyable meal. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to get to the Precinct once a yea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We try to get to the Precinct once a year. We always look forward to the day. This year was a let down. The server was just not the quality that we have had before. He did not do anything particularly bad but he was just not as refined as prior servers. We had the sea bass and one of the filets. The sea bass was OK. The crab and the sauce was very nice. The filet was also OK but the mushrooms and onions were some what bland.

We will be back next year and hope for a better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, but pricey.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What's not to like about the Precinct? F ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

What's not to like about the Precinct? From the unique setting, to the many celebrity photos, the ambiance and atmosphere are superb. The attentive service coupled with the flavorful food, makes for a memorable dining experience. Looking forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely meal - waiter was very fri ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had a lovely meal - waiter was very friendly if a bit over the top. Bottle of wine, two steaks some oysters before and coffee and cheesecake for dessert came to about $200 so certainly not an everyday indulgence. Fiancé really enjoyed it for his birthday and the atmosphere is very cool - a little more fun and eclectic than your average high end steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

While the menu is mostly the same from l ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

While the menu is mostly the same from location to location, The Precinct is the absolute BEST steakhouse in Cincinnati. From the ambiance of the restored police station to the best in dry-aged steaks, this place has it all.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was lovely. Historic buil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely. Historic building and very professional staff however the food was nothing to rave about and prices and meal satisfaction certainly did not align. I can say that I have been there now, but I would recommend several other "fancy restaurants" in the tristate area before the Precinct.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This was our second time coming for our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second time coming for our anniversary! Always spectacular!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was done with excellence. The ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was done with excellence. The food was incredible and the service was just as it should be at a Jeff Ruby's restaurant. The king crab was perfect and a highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very personal place, cozy, dark, best s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

very personal place, cozy, dark,

best service around

food was exceptional

certainly not worth the price we paid

would love to see windows for light, patio are

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

This was my first time visiting The Prec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my first time visiting The Precinct. I grew up in Cincinnati and have heard about it many times, but never been in. My boyfriend loves steak and I thought it would be a fun surprise for his visit. We were not disappointed.

The service was impeccable and we really felt cared for. The staff seems to take pride in the restaurant and makes excellent recommendations. While it's not a cheap dinner by any means, it's wonderful that potato and salad is included in the price of the steak. The steaks were delicious, as were the drinks and the celebratory cheesecake for dessert. We will go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had. Wait staff w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best steak I have ever had. Wait staff was fantastic. Price was actually very reasonable for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends wanted to see this former 1901 P ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Friends wanted to see this former 1901 Police Precinct converted to an upscale steak house and the ambience was fantastic. We had a late reservation at 9:15pm and only ordered light meals but these were very well prepared...Shrimp fettucinne, Salmon, and couple of Burgers...not traditional steak house specialties...Desserts were Macadamian Nut Ice Cream Pie and Carrot Cake were awesome. Service was excellent. Burgers were nice on presentation but very light on meat...Jeff Ruby where's the meat in your signature burger ??? All and all, enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great hospitality, great weighter but th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great hospitality, great weighter but the price was outrageous. Probably will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was great, treated very well ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was great, treated very well. Manager visited table to make sure all was well and if we needed anything. Great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Out server Paul was outstanding

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Out server Paul was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice time at the Precinct ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a very nice time at the Precinct on Wednesday. The restaurant was less than full and the noise level was perfect for conversation- a big thing for me. The bread was interesting and crusty, the Freddie salad (Lettuce, tomato, and bacon) reliably good, the steaks great, particularly if you like the dry aged style. We were comped a cheesecake to share for our anniversary, a very nice touch.

Now, if only they would upgrade their wine service. The glassware is fine and I realize they must sell a cellar full of Napa cabs every night. But really, adding a sommelier and a handful of interesting, non-trophy wines would make a world of difference to the wine lovers who want the best steak in town but also something other than a gigantic, high alcohol fruit bomb to go with it. There are fascinating wines from all over the world at all price points- All you need is a somm who is willing to bring in a few and share them with customers who are adventuresome. Then you'll have a complete dining experience at the Precinct.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service and food!!! What a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Outstanding service and food!!! What a lovely pace to relax and enjoy friends, family, or that special someone. Well done!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Predicable and classy. You get what you ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Predicable and classy. You get what you expect. Good steak, good service. A steak house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service, the friendly staff was trul ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service, the friendly staff was truly memorable. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was out of this world. Staff wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was out of this world. Staff was kind and very attentive. Even management took the time to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. The valet parking was a definite plus

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It just does not get better than this. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It just does not get better than this. If you have not dined at a Ruby establishment or treated yourself to a Ruby steak, do yourself the favor. Hands down, best in the country. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but nobody can say this is not one of the best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was disappointed in our meal. The pri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I was disappointed in our meal. The prices had gone up quite a bit since we were there last year. My Freddie salad wasn't as good as in the past, the potato was so so and the steak was kind of tough. Had to saw into it with the steak knife. I had the blackened New York strip medium rare. Not sure I'll be back soon at that price for that quality. It was my birthday and they did give us an excellent piece of New York Cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We were lucky to grab a last minute rese ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were lucky to grab a last minute reservation on Open Table. We always enjoy The Precinct. There is nothing better than a Jeff Ruby steak!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything worked out. This was a re do ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything worked out. This was a re do of a previous anniversary celebration at the Carlo & Johnny restaurant when the entire Montgomery grid had a power failure. Upon finding out that I made a reservation at the Precinct, the manager of the entire Jeff Ruby corporate said he will do something special for us. Upon arriving, a bottle of champagne is waiting at our table.

Food is something you expect to be perfect, day in day out at this establishment and they did not disappoint. Cody our waiter is fantastic.

Nice evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food, service was perfect. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As always the food, service was perfect. Wife's B-day, sent out a free cheesecake, nice. Phone died, they brought me a charger to plug in. Sat next to the Jeff Ruby room, kinda noisy in that back area, will request other area if party going on next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was excellent. The steaks were ama ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Staff was excellent. The steaks were amazing as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have dined at the restaurant several t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have dined at the restaurant several times and love the atmosphere. This occasion, my steak was overdone and I asked the waiter for his opinion. He told me it was fine and thought perhaps it was the lighting. After comparing it to my date's steak, it was evident the two temperatures had been mixed up. Needless to say, two expensive steaks and neither was cooked properly. By the time we found the waiter to make a comment again, we had just decided to suck it up. We got our bill and left. I was shocked though as I know how great of an establishment the precinct is and this is the first I ever came away disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.