Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About The Precinct

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Good for a Date (117)
Good for Anniversaries (116)
See All
Romantic (95)
Historic (74)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Notable Wine List (63)
Worth the Drive (53)
Business Meals (47)
Bar Seating (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Private Room (28)
Authentic (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Hot Spot (19)
People Watching (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (8)
Casual (7)
Great Beer (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fireplace (6)
Scenic View (5)
Live Music (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
3367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

It is quite Pricey but the food is very good. The staff is very professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and excellent steaks

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Date night at The Precinct was a success. The Luke was absolutely perfect. The Frankie salad was so good and fresh and the ranch blows other ranch style dressings out of the salad bar. The mushroom and truffle butter for the bread was to die for. I had a glass of Meiomi pinot nor that was so smooth, we purchased a bottle later on. He had a craft IPA and I personally don't like the bitterness of an IPA but this one was nice and fruity and light. Our baked potatoes were so soft I thought for sure they mashed the insides somehow without breaking the skin. We ordered 3 desserts to go: creme brulee , chocolate cake with orange glaze(that should be illegal!) and the cheesecake. Save the brulee for eating there to get the crunchy sugar topping. Overall, my date and I were super pleased and happy!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a great birthday dinner at the Precinct. Charming location, excellent food, charming service, everything to make a great night out. It's still on the pricey side of a fancy night out, but in my opinion, it's worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had an interesting experience at The Precinct. We're Cincinnati natives but this was our first time dining at the Precinct. We were celebrating my husband's promotion. Overall our experience was ok - we were seated at a 4 seat table and I felt like I was hanging out in the walkway and was bumped by everyone walking by. The food was just OK. We each had a salad, I had a crab cake and my husband had the Father Michael Graham strip. At the end of our meal a manager came over (Michael), asked if we were celebrating anything... when we explained the occasion he offered to buy us each a dessert on the house. We were pretty stuffed but thought it would be nice to split one dessert. After ordering the chocolate torte our waitress told us we HAVE to get try the ice scream, so we obliged her. Upon receiving the bill we were surprised to see both desserts on our bill. Plus, multiple charges we didn't anticipate. For instance, when my husband ordered his entree the waitress explained that the Caesar, and Freddie are included, but the wedge salad was an up-charge. Well we were charged for the Caesar. After spending 2 1/2 hours there and dropping $180 (before tip) on a meal we weren't thrilled with - we didn't want to ask Sue (our waitress) about the added items, we were ready to leave. We had a great evening regardless - it just wasn't what we expected. Unfortunately- we won't be coming back to the Precinct.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A great place to dine for any occasion, food, service, atmosphere, always a memorable experience. We will be back.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Took our 15 yr old and 20 yr old for getting good grades. Our waiter Donovan was very good. Just really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I wanted to say thank you to everyone at the Precinct that made my fiancées birthday celebration memorable. We were greeted when we arrived by two friendly faces, got the feeling they were happy to see us. We were seated immediately in the main dining room and presented black napkins, such a nice touch considering our black attire. Our Server, Jordan B, was outstanding! We had the impression that he really enjoys what he does, hints he never stopped smiling:). Also his menu and wine knowledge were spot on, and he guided us through every part of the menu. We ordered the Scallop Appetizer first. The Scallops were cooked perfectly, and the grits on the plate were creamy and savory. The hidden gem on this dish was the Brussel Sprout Slaw. Wow, the acidity was perfect balance with the Scallops and grits. The salads and side dishes were no afterthought either. The salads were generous and crisp, the sides were hot and decadent, you must try the Mac n Cheese. We both ordered the Collinsworth style steak. Amazing! The toppings were fantastic, but the stars of the show were the steaks! Tender, rich, and flavorful, and the best steaks we have ever eaten. The food and service are the best we've experienced in any restaurant, but the most important dynamic was the way the Precinct team made us feel, like a King and Queen. Great job!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Server David Gaunt was excellent. The added touch of BDay photo when we arrived put a Candle on top of the evening. Always the Best Steve Wilger

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have been to Jeff Ruby's downtown before, but not The Precinct. So we decided to go for our anniversary and it was fantastic. Food was great and the service we received from Kris was second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took my husband to dinner for his birthday and really enjoyed the Precinct atmosphere! The bar was nice and drinks were delicious. The food was fantastic and perfectly cooked. We usually go to the 7th street steakhouse, but Precinct will be an option for us now as well. Thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My first visit to The Precinct was for our special anniversary. We were seated in the main dining room at a table for two against the side wall, with a bench seat on one side and an aisle seat opposite. My fiancé's complaint was that there were so many people bumping into the back of her chair as they passed by. These were patrons, servers and the hostess. She was distracted by the repeated jarring.

Our server David was prompt, very courteous and friendly and offered a guided tour of the restaurant after we finished eating dinner. The Mini Filet and the Steak Collinsworth were prepared perfectly as ordered. The wine and Old Fashioned were excellent. Our experience with the Jeff Ruby Culinary Experience is to be remembered fondly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Every time we go to the Precinct the service is wonderful. They waiters are nice and so friendly. Any questions we may have they have an answer.
Willing to go above and beyond.
By far the best steak I have ever had.
Their cheesecake is amazing its very light, even if your full from your food you will make room for it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love the overall feel of the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. We usually go to the Jeff Ruby's downtown and this was our first visit to The Precinct. We will be visiting again.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

ANOTHER GREAT EVENING. OUR SERVER CHAD WAS GREAT!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food cool ambiance. Not quite the same experience as Carlo and Johnny, but good food. I do wish they had a more robust bourbon selection being so close to Kentucky.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My husband took me to the Precinct to celebrate my birthday. The staff was warm and welcoming. Our server was so very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. A wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was our first time there. It will not be our last. Excellent service, excellent food, beautiful on the inside, wonderful greeting when we arrived.

Tags: Wood Oven, Private Room, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I have enjoyed many dinners here and I can say The steak and Lobster tail is the best around, and the price is spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Jeff Ruby always delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed at any of the Jeff Ruby restaurants! We already have extremely high expectations & they continue to set the bar so high that I can't anyone ever coming near them! The Precinct is my favorite of them all! We celebrated my beautiful wife Maria's birthday last night! Food is always the best & then there's the service level which is off the charts! We always feel like a priority & VIP's! Such professionalism & outstanding service in a time it's hard to come by in any industry today! Well done as always!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was excellent. I was very pleased to bring my client from out of town to one of Cincinnati's finest dining experiences.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We usually go here once a year and this year was as good if not better than before. The food is bar none the best I have had in Cincy. The service is great! If I could afford it I would eat here once a week if not more.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic. Great service, food was excellent, and the atmosphere is very cool. Best Ruby restaurant is still The Precinct!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always, great food & service. Last minute Open table reservation for 3 and we got a table on a friday night. Score!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Phenomenal meal. Great bottles of wine, fantastic oyster and steak tartare, the classic freddy salad, perfectly cooked filet, and the best bananas foster around. Im not sure its worth the $300 price tag but truly an exceptional dinner. 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Anthony our server was amazing!!! We enjoyed the cheese cake and as always the foods was exquisite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We split a steak which left room for several of the delicious side dishes. Really nice meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Steak was prepared to a perfect medium, however not worth $57.00. I was excited about getting downtown the Precinct, however, the Environment was grosly overrated. Jeff walked around the dining room in his pin strips. So I guess that was worth an additional $20 a plate? I know being in Cinci you are supposed to bow down to all local fare, but I wasn't overly impressed. Unfortunatly for me, I have actually left Cinci, and experienced St. Elmo's in Indy or a number of Sreakhouses out west.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fantastic meal. My girlfriend and I went for our anniversary. I got the AJ Green and she got the petite lily. The steaks were cooked to perfection and easily the best steak either of us had. The Mac and cheese was good, service was top notch. The only reason I gave service 4 stars is because the waiter had an assistant who bagged our leftovers but forgot the starter salad we asked the waiter to have to go rather than with the meal. Sounds like they didn't communicate that to each other, Not a big deal but had to include it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was great for our business meeting dinner. Food, drink and atmosphere were outstanding. Mr Ruby does it right.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We have always had such a wonderful experience there. We celebrated our twin's 21st birthday and they made it very special💕

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic!! Food was phenomenal! Wait staff went out of their way to be helpful, even took us on a guided tour of the restaurant! Thanks, for a memorable birthday! We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best Fillet in the nation!
Frequent visitor, and I love to introduce The Precinct to friends who haven't had the pleasure...

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was less than attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Definitely a better experience than the last time we were there. I still wish they could find the perfect balance between too attentive and not attentive enough. Regardless we had a superb evening. Steak was absolutely perfect per usual. I highly recommend the precinct for the food and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First visit. Expected better steaks. They were just ok. For just ok, way over-priced.
Disappointed. I guess if you think it's a cool place to be, maybe it's ok for that.
But not overly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went to celebrate 2 birthdays- my husband's and mine! As soon as we walked in, they offered to take our picture to remember this dinner/birthday. We were glad to have it taken. The waiter was so friendly and accommodating. If we hesitated on what to order, he was quick with pertinent suggestions. Then, after our meal, he brought out a piece of cheesecake with 2 birthday candles! Totally delicious and unexpected. Great time!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time at the Precinct and well worth it. Service was the most standout to me, but the food was phenomenal. Surprisingly different and good cheesecake and carrot cake that put it to shame.

Side order of sweet potatoes which were the absolute best thing we had was dropped in the kitchen and had to be remade was late coming out, the manager apologized and took it off our bill and gave us a dessert as well.

Wonderful service, great food. Very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.