Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About The Precinct

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (163)
Good for Anniversaries (133)
Good for a Date (116)
See All
Romantic (115)
Good for Birthdays (92)
Worth the Drive (76)
Business Meals (66)
Notable Wine List (62)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Cozy (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Authentic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (19)
People Watching (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great Beer (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Scenic View (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 hours ago

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent steak, great sides, bananas foster for desert what could be better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was wonderful! Service, ambiance-terrific! My husband's filet was to die for-unfortunately my bone in ribeye was not! It was tough and grisly and had no bone! Definitely will get the filet next time! All in all- we had a great time

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were first time diners at The Precinct, but had heard great things about it. We were impressed from the moment we walked in the door. We were celebrating our Anniversary and they went out of their way to make our evening feel special. The steak was incredible, and every course was given time. We never felt rushed and were treated so well that we will assuredly return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The Precinct remains my favorite restaurant. It is a special place where we generally celebrate special occasions. This visit did not disappoint. The food is always excellent. Best steak in the entire tri-state area. I also love their bourbon cocktails. The peach blackberry smash did not disappoint. Our service from Jordan was over the top. The Precinct has wonderful servers working there, but the care and attention we received from Jordan made our meal and evening even more special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary and thought we would go somewhere super nice and we had never been there before. I guess I was expecting more, especially for the amount that was spent. The food was good. We had steak and mashed potatoes. The entrée also came with a salad - I highly recommend the Freddie Salad. The complimentary cheesecake for dinning because of a celebration was a nice touch. I didn't really like where we were seated - a small hallway of mirrors. All you saw was yourself. Our main waiter kept us waiting a few times (I believe it was because his attention was on the larger party in the room behind us). I would recommend the Precinct for a special occasion however if I were to dine again I would be very specific on my seating location.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Its a great place for special occasions but very expensive. We probably would not have gone if we had not had a gift card. Food is excellent but not sure any food is worth some of the prices. Our waiter was nice but did not ask us about appetizers and just started with our dinner order. I did ask for an appetizer (crab cake) but he evidently forgot and brought salads out right away. I decided since the salad was large that I did not need appetizer anyway so I did not mention the error. He also forgot about the complimentary birthday cheesecake until I reminded him. That was a nice treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Every food item was fantastic, however they messed up the temp of my steak (rare vs medium, I don't know how), still tasted good. Love this place, will come back

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We have been here many times and decided to go for our wedding anniversary. The table they sat us at was right between the computer station the waiters used and the entrance to the kitchen. The waiter hurried us through the entire meal. Drinks and appetizers came at the same time and he did not smile the entire evening. I told the waiter I was dairy intolerant, so please do not have them finish my steak with butter. I'd eaten about 1/3 of my steak, when my We have been here many times and decided to go for our wedding anniversary. The table they sat us at was right between the computer station the waiters used and the entrance to the kitchen. The waiter hurried us through the entire meal. Drinks and appetizers came at the same time and he did not smile the entire evening. I told the waiter I was dairy intolerant, so please do not have them finish my steak with butter. I'd eaten about 1/3 of my steak, when my husband remarked how bland his steak was. Turned out, the put butter on mine and not on his. I was ill the entire night. And, to add insult to injury, the waiter brought out a piece of cheesecake for us to share for our anniversary! I had told them I couldn't eat dairy. He plopped it down in front of us and asked our dinner companions what they wanted for dessert. Never even asking if we liked or wanted cheesecake! We spent a very large amount of money to eat here and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I was incredibly happy with having dinner at The Precinct with my wife for her birthday. Chad, our waiter, was fantastic. He made an excellent recommendation on a red wine for us and he listened to our requests for dinner which led to an amazing experience. The restaurant is incredibly clean and the ambience is amazing. A waiter who was walking around near the kitchen saw us from across the room and asked us if he could pour us more wine since our glasses were getting low. We obliged and my wife asked about a chandelier in the adjoining room, he proceeded to give us some history about the restaurant. It was overall an amazing experience and, though the cost of dinner here is high, it really is worth it for the experience. I'm so happy that we got to experience this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Consistently excellent steaks, salads and sides. Service is impeccable, wine list is terrific and attention to every detail is top notch. We live out of town, but make it a point to eat here whenever we are in Cincinnati. One of the best restaurants I have ever been to, in the world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Had an awesome time at our first visit to the Precinct. The service & atmosphere really sold the dining experience. The food was very good as well! The restaurant had been hyped up for a long time by friends & locals prior to our visit, so we had really high expectations and were very pleased. After dinner in the dining room we headed upstairs for a nightcap at the bar. Both areas were decorated in an old school, classic art deco, prohibition era style and the ambiance was great. They also have an outdoor patio area for sitting outside for drinks. The service was amazing, and we're already looking forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always, excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter, Donnie, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable of the food, wine and the history of the restaurant. He raises the bar for the level of service one should expect in a fine dining establishment. The manager and sommelier also spent time at our table to ensure we were thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of our meal. Jeff Ruby has put together a great team at The Precinct!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I am a foodie and this is by far my favorite place to eat in the city. We had a friend visiting from New Zealand and he is getting ready to do a cookbook of famous steak houses in NYC. I was so excited for him to try the Precinct and he said it was the best steak he had ever eaten! The Oysters Rockefeller were also to die for! You never disappoint! We shall see how it stacks up to NYC!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent as always. Pricey, so for me it's only for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great meal. While it can be a pricey night ($150 for two people and a drink or two a piece) there are plenty of reasonable steaks and seafood offerings on the menu. Amazing location in an old police station with great aesthetics. The bar on the second floor is crowded with tables for those looking to sit down quickly. Outdoor cigar lounge is a great addition with propane fire pits and plenty of seating, set off by the white string lights. Great place to go for a late meal and a cocktail on the patio before or after your meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The hostess, table service and meal were fabulous as always. The steaks are just killer! The mac-n-cheese side to share is delicious. We highly recommend The Precinct for any fun or special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great food and drink celebrating a special occasion. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. Had some excellent cocktails and the shrimp cocktail to start. Our server was available without hovering. Dinner was exceptional (my first experience with wagyu) and the Brussels sprouts side was one of the best I've ever had. Spectacular but certainly not an everyday indulgence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful dinner. Our Servers we're all excellent, especially Donald. He was very courteous and knowledgeable of all aspects of the
restaurant and foods, he even arranged for me to go into the kitchen and check out how they grill the steaks (which were awesome) and talk with the chef. Thanks for such a wonderful time, will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

They gave us the red carpet treatment. We liked the steaks, the complimentary photo and our waiter was outstanding. We also loved the chandeliers and the stain glass windows.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic food and attentive service. Went for wedding anniversary and were thrilled with every aspect of the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was fabulous and our wait staff perfectly attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Jeff Ruby,

VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Background: My brother is getting married and my family wanted to do something special to celebrate his engagement by taking the family out to dinner. We rarely have an opportunity to 'give' to my brother. We had him fly in from out of town and had family from all parts of the US come into town.

Preparation: I made the reservation (local Cincinnati customer). I arranged everything (table for 9 at a round table). I told Jeff Ruby's Precinct what we were up to and everyone at the restaurant was on same page we were celebrating their special occasion. I gave them my credit card first (once I walked in the door) and made sure that they knew the bill would be on us.

What happened: My brother (the husband-to-be, which the waitress and manager both knew we were celebrating his special occasion) received the bill and paid it. Waitress said the manager trumped her and told her to charge the husband-to-be's card and not mine despite all the preparation I did prior. SUPER UPSET!!! This was our one way to treat my brother and it did not happen. Needless to say it put a sour taste in my family's mouth.

Jeff Ruby, if you read this, you need to tell your managers no bride-to-be or husband-to-be should ever pay the bill. Not cool man! You lost a local customer as all your manager could say was sorry.

From,

5:30 reservation for a party of 9 on September 3, 2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Jeff Ruby's Precinct was absolutely fantastic! Starting with the 5 star service, I guarantee your experience will be exceptional. The food is phenomenal, one of the best steaks in Cincinnati!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My son came to visit from out of town and the Precinct was recommended for the best steak in town. For the $$$ I was not impressed. We had a couple vegetarians in our party and the dish they were served was overpriced and bland. My son said the Porterhouse was "OK" although his girlfriend ordered the burger and gave it rave reviews. The decor was outdated, clunky and the atmosphere was depressing. Service was average and the table next to us made rude remarks about vegetarians coming to a steakhouse. Must say I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I think the food was very overrated. I ordered my steak medium well and it was served to me with a very hot pink center. The shrimp in the shrimp cocktail were extremely tough and the mashed potatoes tasted like instant mashed potatoes. Service was not bad but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

very friendly staff, fun and great conversation, steaks very very good, dessert to die for, after dinner drinks great, the staff made it so easy to dine there. special diets, no problem.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was fantastic, as expected. Petite Filet was cooked perfectly, the brussel sprouts are now one of my favorite and the mac & cheese was a great adult version and deserves the awards it has received. The staff was super friendly as well as management. We were surprised from the manager with a special gift.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food and service was awesome as always. The staff took very good care of us and the food was prepared just the way we wanted it. It is a shame that the Precinct has lowered their dress code standards. It's also a wonder that people would wear jeans and gym shoes to a $200 dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great dinner! Only small hiccup was my steak was overcooked. 1st time ever. I frequent The precinct every couple of months and if this is the first overcooked steak I think they are doing well. Love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Another wonderful experience! They made our anniversary a very special night. They even took a picture of us, printed it out, and gave it to us in a Jeff Ruby's frame. It was a great touch. The food was excellent and the service superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I would have given 5 stars for overall, but we were seated at a very small awkward shaped booth that is suitable for two people. We had four in our party, two of which are elderly. When we asked to move, the young hostess was less than accommodating. It was 5:00 p.m. on a Sunday and the restaurant was virtually empty. We asked for a specific table and she said, "No, it's reserved." The table remained empty the entire time we were there. The food was outstanding and service excellent. However, the hostess put a damper on the dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Precinct is my favorite of all Ruby's restaurants for the value. Our waiter, Daniel, was so accommodating for our party of 8. We all had a great time celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner was so delicious!!! The service was outstanding!
All and all a great night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing as always. Best restaurant I have ever been too!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Precinct never ceases to amaze and deliver. Best steaks anywhere and the ambiance to go with it. Great wine list to boot. Well done!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The Precinct is simply the best! Service is impeccable, the food is extremely fine. Nothing comes close.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fantastic meal (5 star)... My girlfriend received a free meal for graduating from The University Of Cincinnati... Thank goodness or we would have never known about The Precinct...! The Collinsworth was worth the hour drive and we will be again (once a month or so)... Our waiter Cory was fantastic as well... We'll see you again... Thank you for a wonderful evening...!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.