About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (123)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Good for a Date (109)
See All
Romantic (79)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Historic (61)
Notable Wine List (52)
Business Meals (45)
Worth the Drive (45)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Bar Seating (33)
Cozy (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Private Room (24)
Authentic (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
People Watching (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (5)
Live Music (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at the Precinct and well wort ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

First time at the Precinct and well worth it. Service was the most standout to me, but the food was phenomenal. Surprisingly different and good cheesecake and carrot cake that put it to shame.

Side order of sweet potatoes which were the absolute best thing we had was dropped in the kitchen and had to be remade was late coming out, the manager apologized and took it off our bill and gave us a dessert as well.

Wonderful service, great food. Very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience - Anthony was a phenome ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience - Anthony was a phenomenal server

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been to Carlo & Johnny 4-5 times and lik ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Been to Carlo & Johnny 4-5 times and like that dining experience better. Service is more attentive at C&J and tables are spread out so have more privacy. But the food was great as usual and we had a nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing in every sense of the word!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing in every sense of the word!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambiance, food and service! I lo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing ambiance, food and service! I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. As well as the atmosphere! We enjoy coming there and will definitely be coming back!! We loved our server!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding as was the serv ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding as was the service. Above and beyond. It was a beautiful, romantic Valentine's evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As if this place needs another favorable ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

As if this place needs another favorable ranking, it's THE PRECINCT. You know you're getting a phenomenal meal and service for a high dollar and it doesn't disappoint.

Jordan our primary server was phenomenal. Made a fantastic experience that much better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

yum yum yum steak good. yum yummy yummy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

yum yum yum steak good. yum yummy yummy in my tummy

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, efficient, friendly service. Not ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Great, efficient, friendly service. Not slow, and not rushed. Just a great experience, and the steaks, of course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was unbelievable per usual! It's alwa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was unbelievable per usual! It's always a go to!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated a special bi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I celebrated a special birthday. The service was fantastic and the restaurant had a historical charm. Service was outstanding and the steak and homemade cheesecake were spectacular. We are looking forward to becoming more frequent visitors.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Fireplace, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service, as always. Unfor ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great customer service, as always. Unfortunately, the Lachey rib eye steak was much fattier than normal. I was only able to eat half of it. Everything else was tasty though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great valentines dinner with the fam. We ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great valentines dinner with the fam. We love the crème brûlée

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently my favorite place to eat in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Consistently my favorite place to eat in Cincinnati! Steaks and seafood cooked to perfection. Bar and formal dining are fantastic- both have the history of the building providing a great atmosphere. Service is outstanding- attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed with food and service. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very disappointed with food and service. We did complain and the manager was appologetic and we did get a follow-up phone call from them to discuss our experience, They were receptive of the critical observations we made about the food and service problems we encountered and did seem genuine in their desire to fix the issues.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. We dined early on a Thursday night and visited the bar before dinner. Steaks were outstanding, fresh oysters were amazing, snow crab bisque was delicious, and the service was attentive. Dessert was good but not great but the Precinct is known for its steaks not its desserts. The "play" on celebrity names for menu items was a little hokey. A little attentive housekeeping on the collective decanters above the bar may be in order. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite place for dinner. In fact, I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My favorite place for dinner. In fact, I love it so much we were married upstairs 5 years ago. We had an intimate wedding with 24 guests, open bar, appetizers, dinner AND live music and dancing. Would do it all over again! I have to admit I prefer dining in the private rooms; this last visit the noise level was very high. BUT dinner was melt in my mouth delicious! Never disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, , Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed the food. HOWEVER I have alway ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoyed the food. HOWEVER I have always disliked the crowded tables. A table for 2 is not big enough. Although they spaced patrons every other table, The tables are too small for plates, drinks, sides breads, butter, etc.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

My husbands birthday.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husbands birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time at the restaurant for a b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My second time at the restaurant for a business meal within the last four weeks. The food was exceptional and my guests raved about their steaks and the quality of the service. I hope to come back often.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was great

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great time! Wonderful food and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a great time! Wonderful food and service, but you do pay for it!! Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an anniversary dinner for just ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner for just my wife and me. Service was excellent, and our server, Donovan, was very attentive to that. We had a great time. We aren't steak eaters, so going to a superb steakhouse might seem like a poor choice, but the seafood we had was first rate. Prices are steep, but a great locale for a special occasion. Wonderful wine selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Let me start by saying that I love the P ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Let me start by saying that I love the Precinct. This time was not as stellar as expected. All our steaks were dry. Weirdly, they weren't overcooked. I can't explain it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was on point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Paul, was wonderful. He was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server, Paul, was wonderful. He was attentive, polite, funny, on point and overall gave us great service. We were fortunate to be seated in the back room where Chris Collinsworth showed up with his family. We brought our kids with us for the first time. They are emerging adults and they were quite impressed with everything. Thank you!!

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was delicious. Our server was e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our server was exceptional. The personnel always make you feel special. This is our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Tables to c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent service and food. Tables to close together, so crowded. Walk ways are small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There's nothing better than Jeff Ruby's. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

There's nothing better than Jeff Ruby's. All his resturants are at the very top of the scale as far as food, dining experience and service. There's no one better in Cincinnati/northern Kentucky.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal. Lives up to the hype. The se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Phenomenal. Lives up to the hype. The service was above and beyond.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place for special occasio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always a great place for special occasions. They really made our 25th anniversary dinner memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in Greater Cincinnati. Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Best steak in Greater Cincinnati. Great service. We have made it a family tradition to go to The Precinct for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a beautiful dinner experience at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner experience at the Precinct. Best service I've ever experienced. The food was perfectly prepared and presented. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 10th weddin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary here and were thrilled with the experience and food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal was amazing..server was wonderful.. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Meal was amazing..server was wonderful...manager and assistant mangers on task! Highly recommend dining there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always love the precinct! eating in the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 24, 2017

always love the precinct! eating in the bar makes it a bit more vibrant, fun environment! :)

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience! The atmosphere a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Exceptional experience! The atmosphere and service were outstanding and the food was unbelievable. Definitely a date night or special occasion staple-- a MUST do if you're in Cincinnati!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great as you would ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service were great as you would expect. Great recommendation on a bottle of wine and even got a complimentary slice of cheesecake for the birthday we were celebrating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.