Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About The Precinct

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (125)
Special Occasion (125)
Good for Anniversaries (121)
See All
Romantic (102)
Historic (74)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Notable Wine List (65)
Worth the Drive (60)
Business Meals (53)
Cozy (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Bar Seating (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Authentic (34)
Private Room (32)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fun (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (7)
Live Music (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
3414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was phenomenal and the service Paul provided was above and beyond!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful meal and service at The Precinct. I would definitely recommend it for a romantic evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a wonderful night out with my husband thank you precinct for hitting it out of the park with little touches that made our evening so special when you have three kids this doesn't happen all the time so having top right service is something that goes down as a must-have when we have our nights out together and the food was excellent as always .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfectly prepared steaks. Outstanding service in a great setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The meal service everything was wonderful

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently great steaks. I particularly love the Collinsworth (bernaise, bordelaise, asparagus, crab meat). Not inexpensive, but a reasonable value with the potato and salad included. Also excellent, friendly service. End the meal with their great bananas Foster.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service and the food was amazing. Easily the BEST steak I've ever had -- and the only cheesecake I've ever eaten that didn't have crust that I loved. Thank you so much! You guys made our anniversary very special. The photo the hostess takes is also a really sweet touch!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was incredibly slow. We had to wait almost 30 minutes for our first drink and the restaurant bar area was only half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was excellent from the hostess to the wait staff and the food. we loved it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was a great place for a date night. Everything was top notch

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food. We went for our anniversary had Great service. If you want quiet seating sit in the back the main dinning room a little noisy but not to bad. You can't go wrong going here we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was 5 star if not more. It was our first time dining there and I assure you it will definitely not be our last. They make you feel like 5 star clientele, and treat you with the up most respect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Precinct is our go-to for special occasions, specifically if we want to celebrate with a great steak. The service is unlike anywhere I've dined. The staff are so helpful, knowledgeable, professional, and there to cater to your every need. I would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Way over priced. Decent steak but not great. Showed up for our reservation and the reception girls talked among themselves and made us wait five minutes until they decided to pick up menus and walk us to our table. There are a lot of places that I would chose over the Precinct for a nice steak dinner. Very expensive for a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food is heavenly, but the prices are sky-high too. Well over $200 for two people. To some, that's not much money for an excellent dining out experience. To others, like myself, that is a once-in-a-year experience at best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Incredible experience! Our Waiter, David was fun and informative as well as attentive to our needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went there for our 33rd Anniversary. Our 1st time. We were treated like we was the only ones there. Got seated at out table right away, our server was very informative on all the food. We never had to ask for anything. You don't wait long for your dinner. They even gave us a complimentary slice of New York Cheesecake for our Anniversary. I've been a baker for over 50 years, everything from scratch to. That Cheesecake was like I was eating mine. And, that's saying something.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went for my son's 28th birthday. I requested a special table by the window and they seated us there. They asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and I told them yes. They asked if we wanted a photo taken and we did.

Then we were seated and our waiter took our drink order. Our drinks arrived quickly. He then took the rest of our order. The salad and bread came out quickly. We never got the appetizer that we ordered and it took our main entree s quite a while to get delivered to the table. After dinner we ordered coffee and dessert. It took quite a while to get coffee and we were finished with our coffee before the carrot cake made it to our table.

The food was excellent, but the server definitely needs to be more focused on his job.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Jeff Ruby's never disappoints. I have been to all 3 restaurants in Cincinnati and they have all been outstanding as far as food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent as always. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Precinct is a classic steakhouse; incredible food, outstanding wine list and professional and attentive service. Our server Sue was perhaps the best I have ever met. She has been with The Precinct 19 years which alone is testimony to her expertise. Her easy demeanor and engaging personality made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The best steak in the world. Small gilet cooked medium with peppercorns.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I am a regular at Jeff Ruby's steak houses and this one was truly a great experience for us all. We went to The Precinct for a business dinner and had a private dining room. We received a great service, fantastic seafood and mouthwatering steaks.

It was truly an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Exceptional place, the Hostesses and Wait Staff are the best, Brian was very friendly and accommodating. As always, the steaks were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was delicious, service was excellent. The only issue was how close the tables are together, it seemed a bit crowded (not so intimate for a date).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best meal of my life. The staff are genuinely friendly people.

Tags: Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Ok experience. Very pricey. Do not believe it quite lives up to the hype. Bar needs more seating for those who just want to have a drink. I had to stand when waiting for table because they even serve meals at the bar. If I'm going to pay $11 for a bourbon and $200 for two to dine, I expect a place to sit while I'm waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Jordan was our server and seemed to place the majority of his focus on the 2 6-top tables that we were seated near us. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were made from instant. As always though, the steak was out of this world. I only wish it was enough to overlook the glaring lack of care that we received from our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I've been to the Restaurant before and the food was perfect. This past April 1 experience one of the steaks was fatty throughout & the other steak was a little dry, disappointing. But everything else was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome food..awesome service, could not have been better! Absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

FABULOUS!! Fantastic food,service and wine list! I would recommend Jeff Ruby's to anyone. Be prepared for your bill, worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fabulous dinner with family. Exquisite for, perfect service, very nice ambience. If you're looking for a higher end meal at the perfect place, you've found it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This was our first trip to the Precinct for my wife's birthday. We had tried previous on short notice and its next to impossible to get reservations on short notice. The building itself was a step back in time and the waiters/servers/hostess were TOP notch and very friendly and accommodating. I tipped 25% because they earned it and not many places can you find this type of service. I would recommend calling on reservation at least 4 to 6 weeks in advanced to get the time you want.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always, the Precinct, like all Jack Ruby restaurants, do what they do perfectly, steaks and additions are cooked to perfection. Appetizers, drinks, sides, and salads are as good as it gets. Tried steaks all over the US, and none are better, including some places that are more famous. If you love Gibsons in Chicago, you'll love the Precinct.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The Precinct was an Excellent place for our 3rd anniversary. Best experience that made our anniversary that much more special. Our server, Donovon was outstanding and made our night out so special.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and I wanted to celebrate birthdays of two family members in a special way and the Precinct certainly made that happen. We were seated in a cozy corner conducive to quiet conversation. Our server, Kris, was wonderful and was especially attentive to our family guests. The food was superb, as we have come to expect from our numerous previous visits. The manager topped off our celebration by arranging for complimentary birthday cheesecake complete with candle for our family guests. Our entire party thoroughly enjoyed the evening experience with Precinct.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best steak around, hands down... Will be back, guaranteed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was close to perfect, although it's not the place to order Oysters Rockefeller

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

While the ambiance and service was outstanding, I was disappointed with the food overall. This was my fourth Jeff Ruby's experience, however my first time at the Precinct. My medium steak was cooked to a solid medium-well, and the mashed potatoes with the meal were pasty. The plating was also messy. My father, and sister-in-law's steak was also over on the cook. It feels odd to have complaints over a perfectly lovely and tasty meal, but it was certainly not the Jeff Ruby's quality I was expecting. There were no specials or seasonal items which was disappointing as well. My family and I had been planning this evening since December. I wish we would have all left a bit more excited about our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.