About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
8 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (237)
romantic (165)
notable wine list (102)
See All
fit for foodies (101)
neighborhood gem (76)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (44)
vibrant bar scene (42)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Jordan was excellent. Very professional ...

Dined 7 days ago

Jordan was excellent. Very professional . Great wines. Best steak ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular and so was the ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was spectacular and so was the service! I only have one complaint and that is the bread. It is just awful. I would recommend a soft rosemary bread served warm with your butter. The butter is great...the bread is....well.....not good. Everything else was fantastic! We will be dining here again in the near future!! Jordan and Ryan did a great job serving us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An exquisite dining experience. I will d ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

An exquisite dining experience. I will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

A must try place. Food, venue and servi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A must try place. Food, venue and service was first class.

food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Bone in ribeye a bit grisly. Disappoint ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Bone in ribeye a bit grisly. Disappointing and Not worth the cost. Service excellent, bar excellent

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Precinct is consistently great in bo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Precinct is consistently great in both food and service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a little louder in there than exp ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a little louder in there than expected - I had to practically yell to have a conversation, and it made it hard to understand our waiter. The waiter spoke so fast that it was hard to keep up with him anyways, so combined with the noise, that made for a confusing greeting and specialty process. The service was great, despite the noise level and the fast talking. It could use just a little more lighting inside, that way you can see a little better in there (it gets dark when the sun goes down). The food is great, top-notch, as expected, but due to the price (which was also expected), I would expect the atmosphere to be a little better than it was, therefore I would ONLY recommend this place to people who are going out for a special occasion such as my wife and I did (1st anniversary). Other than that, there's no way I would consider going here more than once a year. My next Jeff Ruby's restaurant visit will more than likely not be at The Precinct, to be honest.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Loved it.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

steak lover

Dined on May 9, 2016

the best steaks around, every time we have been there!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration of our 8 year wedding anniversary

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I both loved our steak meals. Atmosphere and people were very nice. Enjoyed our entire first experience. We highly recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

No Three-Peat Here

Dined on May 7, 2016

My Fiance and I have been to this Jeff Ruby location three times. The first we were blown away by how nice of a steakhouse it was, which ultimately set it up in our minds to be the place we go for BIG celebrations amongst the two of us. The food was phenomenal and the service was top notch as we had a quite entertaining server and respectful bus boy. The second time we went we experienced that same welcoming atmosphere and had a leisurely meal. However this last time, really changed the way we look at this location. First, they were behind on tables - no big deal- we went to enjoy a nice cocktail in the bar. When we were finally seated, the hostesses daintily tossed my napkin on my lap before I was fully seated (seemed a little rushed) and shoved the menus in our hands then left. Now in our past experience the hostess politely asked if you've been there before and if we were celebrating anything special. We were treated more like an inconvenience. Within 60 seconds our server stopped over and asked those questions, so maybe they changed that in operations. Afterwards he asked if we had chosen a wine, - no, I just sat down- he returned 5 minutes later and we ordered our drinks. After the drinks were delivered, we were debating on the steak we wanted and asked for a recommendation - all were the prime selections- obviously they are all about getting the top dollar from you and flipping the table fast to make more money. However, for a prime piece of meat I was not at all impressed. The flavor was not good as it was more dry and bland than you'd expect a medium rare + to be. The sides weren't as good as we remembered either (we ordered the mac and cheese and brussels sprouts).

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience yet!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Dined here for special occasion. Everything was perfect! The food, particularly the steaks, were the best we have had! Our waiter, Robby, was wonderful! He was on top of everything. He seemed to know what we needed or wanted before we knew. He was not intrusive but spot-on with recommendations, service and friendliness. This is our new favorite restaurant above all others! Thanks for a great evening. We will return many times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Business Dinner

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

People in town for business should have the opportunity to experience The Precinct. We received excellent service from the wait staff. As always, the food was excellent. I was able to find a reasonably priced and very tasty bottle of merlot from the extensive wine list. I look forward to returning.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It's an establishment

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

You are paying to dine in a cool looking building that was once a police precinct. The wine selection was varied. We started with Oysters Rockerfellar, nothing out of the ordinary. The Cesar Salad, which I thought would be house made, tasted like bottled dressing, the waiter asked me if I liked it with anchovies or without, I said with. They placed two anchovies on the side! I had the pepper and bourbon filet, which was over peppered. Overall we enjoyed ourselves because of the occasion, not because it was an exceptional dinner, it was pricey.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Service did not live up to the Jeff Ruby ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service did not live up to the Jeff Ruby standard.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Food was fantastic. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome experience. Food was fantastic. Impeccable service. Great décor. Would definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reviews didn't do it justice.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I made the reservation at the Precinct knowing what a great reputation it had in Cincinnati. We went there for our anniversary. The steaks, salad, dessert and service were second to none. Some of the reviews talked about a dress code. I didn't find this to be the case. Everyone was dressed nice and it certainly isn't a shorts and tshirt kind of place. You can't go wrong with The Precinct.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Need bigger table for 2 people.

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was 2 of us. If we are paying $200 for dinner, we shouldn't be sitting at the small table. I don't like small tables. I don't feel special at my special occasion dinner, not much room to put anything.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great people!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Made us feel special even though we were underdressed. Food was good but I felt over priced. It was truly the people and service that made the evening.

food4
ambience2
service2

It a nutshell: Had reservations, but sti ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

It a nutshell: Had reservations, but still had to wait about 20 minutes before being seated. Food was very good, however, ordered medium-rare steak, but it was more rare. Other people at my table ordered medium steak, but more like medium-well. Service was slow. Sat at the table for over 15 minutes before any wait staff came to take any kind of orders. Server was doting more over a table of about eight diners. Server offered complimentary onion straws with our dinner out of the blue; not sure why he offered this, but then never brought them. Server made awkward conversation with us. For the menu price, I expected better service. Also, price of wine bottles are marked up 200%. Ordered bottle of Malbec Terrior 2011 for around $45.00; actual average price of bottle is $15.95. Summary: very good food, slow service, overpriced wine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic!!!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was fantastic!!!

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Date night out

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was very good. The oysters, salads, and entrees were good but nothing I would eat again. The place is nice, but overpriced for the overall experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of two or three best dining experien ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

One of two or three best dining experiences of my life! Took my son who was not dressed for the restaurant but we were treated like VIPs. Donnie was our waiter and he was fantastic. He explained every piece of meat on the menu, was helpful in offering recommendations and was just all around friendly and attentive. The food was outstanding.... Everything from the bread and butter to the cheesecake.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Ruby's

Dined on April 27, 2016

I have been to a number of Jeff Ruby's restaurants and The Precinct is definitely my preferred location. The experience is always top notch at any Ruby's, but the environment is just perfect for a special occasion or date night at The Precinct.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had. Will be back

Dined on April 24, 2016

I got the 22 oz bone n ribeye called the lachey and my god was that the best steak I have ever had. My girlfriend got the McCronin 16 oz bone n filet and it was so tender it melted right in my mouth. Overall, very impressed. I work at texas roadhouse and the steaks made at the precinct blow ours away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience. Great foo ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

A wonderful dining experience. Great food and service .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful food, awesome server! We loved our dinner and would definitely go back. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant never disappoints as I c ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints as I can always rely on the service and food to be outstanding. Our waiter was wonderful and friendly.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service Below Standard

Dined on April 21, 2016

We dine at Ruby's restaurant a couple times a year. Unfortunately, this time our service was way below what we have come to expect. Empty glasses and no server there. Nobody filling water. Plates were not cleared in a timely manner. We had a group of four and all of us felt like we did something wrong. We left feeling like our server just must have had more guests buying $250 bottles of wine, which we didn't do. Ribeye had quite a bit of gristle, but still was fantastic. We were shocked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A special evening

Dined on April 20, 2016

The precinct has the best steaks in town. Service is always wonderful. Perfect for a special evening with a special person.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent as always. Howeve ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent as always. However the service was not that great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the dining selections, he just didn't care to keep the drinks flowing ( we had to keep asking for refills)

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Could be better

Dined on April 17, 2016

The waiters were very friendly and the food was good . I really didn't like being seated next to the steps where everyone one was coming in but it was ok. The Hostess's however seemed to me to be not very friendly and a bit uppity and snobbish. The steak tasted funny but I think that it was the kind of steak we ordered and didn't really know what kind of seasoning was used. The atmosphere was great and all of the other food was great. I think that I would try a different steak next time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our meal was wonderful and the service was great. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I have visited all of Mr. Ruby's locations in Cincinnati, have enjoyed each visit with fine service and great food provided. This visit did not disappoint. My AJ Green was the best ever, my wife, who is not much of a steak eater, said the 6 oz filet was wonderful. And the cheesecake was just outstanding. Thank you all for making our evening so pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak I have ever had. The wait ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The best steak I have ever had. The waiting staff was friendly and fast. It is a bit pricey but well worth the money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I doesn't get any better than The Precin ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I doesn't get any better than The Precinct! From being greeted at valet parking, the hostess when we walked in the door, drinks in the bar, our waiter, Bobby, dining at The Precinct is s first class restaurant! Dinner was delicious, service was great, and we had a wonderful evening celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fantastic place

Dined on April 8, 2016

fantastic food and service as always. never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Cincinnati

Dined on April 6, 2016

Anytime I visit Cincinnati from Denver - whether business or pleasure - I make time to have dinner at the Precinct. Spend 150-175 days on the road - in excess of 25 states. This ranks in the top 3 for me. Great wine list - food is spectacular. Service - impeccable. Highly recommend. It's not cheap - with wine expect $100/plate but I love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was fantastic.

Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant wasoutstanding. The chocolate butter pie was off the chain, you've got to try it, enough for 2 to share

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.