Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 63 times today

The Precinct

4.8
4010 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(513) 321-5454
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nick Ellison
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Columbia Parkway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking - $5
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

View Private Dining Details
What 4010 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my life! Our waiter was absolutely amazing...wish I could remember his name. Whatever his name was (he’s from Kentucky) made us feel very comfortable and shared tons of fun stories! The dessert was outstanding and that’s coming from someone who doesn’t even like cheesecake but it was the best i ever had! It was definitely an all around wonderful experience and I would 10/10 recommend it to anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This was a great and accommodating dinner for our daughter’s college graduation. Attentive service from Jordan made the evening, and the steaks are still some of the best in the country.
Thanks for a great evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Graduation

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The service and food are always top notch at any Ruby’s restaurant. The only drawback was that the bar isn’t open until the restaurant opens so we weren’t able to have a drink before our 430 reservations. It would be nice if it would open a half hour early.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place for special occasions. Very pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Went with another couple and had a fabulous meal. They always laugh at me when I get the Dover sole but it is truly fantastic. They had steak which they loved. Wish the potatoes Augratin where back on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The Precinct delivered a world class experience for my son's graduation dinner. The food, wine and ambiance were all top notch as always. Cory our waiter was fantastic - knowledgeable, courtesy, responsive, friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Best steak i have ever had. Nice place. Good for special occasions and celebrating if you can afford it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent food with recognizable to gourmet menu options for selective foodies. Of course, the steak melts in your mouth, the dishes are wonderfully prepared and presented in a comfortably elegant, exceptionally hospitable environment. The staff is well informed, works in teams and attends to every detail to make the experience remarkable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

A little pricey. Dessert was great. Steak was juicy and cooked perfectly. Ryan our waiter was great. He was friendly,helpful and saw to our every need.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

My wife's favorite restaurant of all time. Have spent many anniversary's there and never have been disappointed. Food and service always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

It was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed celebrating her birthday with dinner at the Precinct. My wife had the Panko Chicken which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the Salmon which had a very interesting and delicious citrus sauce. We definitely will return for dinner in the near future. I also especially enjoyed our service and the history of the Precinct that was shared with us from our waiter Bryan Fristoe. We told Bryan that we would like him to serve us the next time we came to the Precinct. My wife and enjoyed our dinning experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Best service around, by far. The food was incredible, though I do have to say the boardwalk fries were way too salty. But it was a great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day was perfect due in part to the amazing experience at Jeff Rubys Pricinct. The staff and food, as always, were out of this world. Our server Ryan did an amazing job, as well as the rest of the team. The Father Michael Grahm was an amazing choice of a steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My last visit to the Precinct was to celebrate my fiancé's graduation with her master's degree. I ordered the Lachey, a 22 ounce ribeye that is absolutely to die for. Ribeye is one of those cuts of meat that can breath taking when prepared right, and the Precinct doesn't just get it right, they get it perfect.

To go with it, my fiancé ordered the Petite Lily, a 8 oz filet mignon steak. Since we shared a few bites, I can say that it was silky smooth and deliciously tender.

When you go, it will always be worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service and delicious steaks! Love The Precinct!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very pleasant dinner with a very knowledgeable server and great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This was the first time I wasn’t blown away by my meal. My cut of steak (from their recently changed menu) was stringy and not seasoned as well as it usually is.

Everything else was great and this in no way prevents me from coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We were there for our anniversary. Our waiter Kris was outstanding and even brought us a slice of cheesecake to help celebrate. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the garlic mashed potatoes and Mac & cheese were amazing! We will definitely be back to celebrate more occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Precinct was fantastic as always. Our favorite place in the city and have been there regularly for years. My issue is with the opentable side. When we arrived and gave them our name they didn’t have our open table reservation in the system, even though the app still showed confirmed. I’ve never used opentable for the precinct, and they took more than great care accommodating at the Precinct, but it would have been a bigger issue for a busy Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The last time we were at the Precinct we were very disappointed. I followed up with a call to corporate and they offered to compensate me but I didn’t want a free meal I just wanted a great steak because the Precinct is the only restraunt I will order steak.
On Wednesday, we celebrated our anniversary with a very good meal, excellent Freddie salads, two excellent steaks, and a complementary cheese cake. The undercooked bake potato served whole(not split open) wasn’t up to the Precinct’s standard.
The service was very good but slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The Precinct was outstanding once again. Every detail is attended to and the emphasis on customer service is apparent from the moment you walk through the front door. The staff is superb - so polite and conscientious without being intrusive. The food is always just as ordered and is perfect. This is truly the finest restaurant in Cincinnati!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

It was very good as usual. We had a booth in the bar and was taken care of like royalty. They always make sure were taking care of. The macaroni and cheese is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

First class all the way! Great food, amazing service and a fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We had a great night out at the precinct. The food and service was incredible. We went for a good meal, but highly recommend for any special occasion. The downstairs is more quiet, formal dining while the upstairs is a bit louder and more casual. 5 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

The Precinct is rated one of the best steakhouses in the country. If you want the best steak you have ever eaten, this is where to go. It is very pricey, but people know that before they step through the door...it is worth every cent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The steaks are phenomenal. They did bring our table a couple of the wrong sides but we’re replaced within 5 minutes. Excellent wine list but overpriced, cheapest glass is minimum $10. Definitely recommended for special occasion as it will be a $200 tab.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

First time at Precinct for teenage children

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent dining choice!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The server forgot our bread and wine until we reminded him when the entree arrived. The 20oz strip steak was very tough, hard to cut, and hard to chew. For a 45 day aged steak at $72, that should not be the case.

The strawberry salad was good.

Very disappointing and overrated. Other steakhouses I. Town are better.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was very heavily seasoned- sauces were extremely salty, and the fries were heavily salted. My salad was swimming in salad dressing. Brussels sprouts were not good. Overall, other than the steaks, a very disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The Precinct is a winner!! Fabulous all around highly recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wedding Anniversary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Amazing steaks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our server was great -- Molly and Onah did great job also. Food was very good except for the steak my husband had ordered.. what he ate at dinner was fine, but when he tried to eat leftover steak, he could barely cut through 1/3 of it. That was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Food was good. Overall over priced for what it was. Excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great food and service! Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

From the moment we were seated until we the time departed everything was perfect! Our waiter was excellent, even including a bit of the Precinct’s history which we enjoyed. Every bite was absolutely delicious! Looking forward to our next visit :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

One of the best steaks we have ever had! We had great service and all was great! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
101