About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Macaroni & Cheese
Sweet Potato Soufflé
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye
Hot Slaw
Crab Legs & Shrimp
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008
2009 Darioush Cabernet
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Freddy Salad
Joe Nuxhall Steak
Oscar Robertson Steak
Pepper Steak
Carrot Cake
Dusty Baker Butterflied
Nick Lachey

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (259)
Romantic (166)
Notable Wine List (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (86)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Good for Groups (48)
Hot Spot (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too expensive and service no better than ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Too expensive and service no better than normal restaurant 1/3 of the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

First timer, definitely out of my league ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

First timer, definitely out of my league, a bit stiff to start, but finished nicely. Food and service was superb, complimentary dessert for 1st wedding anniversary was a polished touch. Pricey, but I'll be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Donovan was a great server! The Macaroni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Donovan was a great server! The Macaroni & Cheese and Carmel Cheesecake was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the waiters were very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great and the waiters were very attentive. I've never had so much attention! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A unique restaurant with consistently to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

A unique restaurant with consistently top notch food and service. Raw bar is superb and Jeff Ruby steaks are outstanding. The service might be just very good some nights; but, the staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Good bar to wait for your table, good drinks and a good wine list. Great ambiance and the noise level allows you to have a conversation at the table.

Have never had a bad experience here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Every time we visit we have an amazing e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every time we visit we have an amazing experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal, as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Phenomenal, as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place for a great steak and pe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful place for a great steak and perfect ambiance for a date or special occasion. The service was wonderful and made us feel very special. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and decor. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, service and decor. It was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other great meal at The Precinct. The s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Other great meal at The Precinct. The service was very good, and the food was excellent. Highly recommend the beer dishes; always among the best in town. Wine selections are excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I thought the food though it was good wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I thought the food though it was good was highly overpriced. I felt a bit out of place and the wait staff was a bit overly enthusiastic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Steaks always made the perfect temperatu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Steaks always made the perfect temperature. Truffled corn side dish is excellent. Staff is always friendly and has perfect timing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steakhouse in this town or any town ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best steakhouse in this town or any town. I would go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been there for our farewell party. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We've been there for our farewell party. Perfect as always. We've tried Jeff Ruby's Downtown Cincinnati as well as Carlo & Johhny. It doesn't matter. Jeff Ruby will not let you down. Guaranteed. Looking forward to come back...

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very good, but extremely overpr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

food was very good, but extremely overpriced. Atomosphere was cozy- chandeliers could have used a good cleaning

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

5 star service, but overly priced food t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

5 star service, but overly priced food that wasn't very good. And you're required to valet ($5.00). Not worth the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Wonderful treat for a special occasion. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful treat for a special occasion. The service was perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We all had stea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was excellent. We all had steaks and they were all perfect. The Freddie salad is the best. We had selections from the raw bar for an appetizer and everything was delicious especially the king crab legs. The waiter was good. Not as attentive as we have had in the past.

The sommelier was really annoying. He was patronizing and slow. Glasses would get empty and we would wait for a while and then one of us would start filling them and he would rush over and tell us we shouldn't be filling them. The waiter got us the second bottle. Also, the sommelier was patronizing which I can't stand. He had a french accent and my impression was that he thought he was better than this restaurant. Hopefully he finds somewhere else to work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was great, the food was abov ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was great, the food was above average. I have been there several times and the steak seemed different.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My first time visiting and I was blown a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My first time visiting and I was blown away. I've dined at some of the best of the best in San Francisco, Chicago, and New York City and The Precinct is right up there. Everything was top-notch. From the minute we walked in to the lobby until we walked out, the service was impeccable. The overall ambiance of the entire place gives it a unique and fun vibe, you can feel comfortable in business casual to professional dress. Again, the service is amazing. The food was fantastic and the steak was one of the best I've ever had. Now that I live in the Cincinnati area, I will absolutely return and make The Precinct one of my regular stops. Thanks for providing an outstanding experience and an incredible meal. I will return again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Very nice and we all enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great dining experience! I've bee ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Just a great dining experience! I've been many times and it's always been wonderful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks. We did have a vegetari ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent steaks. We did have a vegetarian in our party of four and the dinner options for her were very limited. A member of our party asked for lemon for their water and one of the pieces of lemon was moldy. There were no bread/rolls offered. Ricotta doughnuts were excellent. We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter brought a free dessert for the person celebrating their birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service as good. I was actu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service as good. I was actually expecting a bit more from the experience. Sadly our food took way too long to arrive. It was our first anniversary dinner and I would have liked to fit more into the night, but dinner simply took too long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food (especially Steaks) and servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food (especially Steaks) and service were amazing as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary here and the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here and the staff was very attentive. The food was delicious and it was an enjoyable dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing place, amazing steak, great serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazing place, amazing steak, great service, never disappoints

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Other than the incompetent hostesses, th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Other than the incompetent hostesses, the rest of the experience was very good. The food was very good, and the service from Cody was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The Precinct is our go to steakhouse. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Precinct is our go to steakhouse. The staff is always welcoming and the food is the best in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've heard about the steaks at The Previ ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I've heard about the steaks at The Previnct for years. My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary that night. It wasn't hype. Best steak I've ever eaten. My wife agreed.

Our server, John, was great and recommended a fantastic wine. Everyone was attentive but not overly so.

We can't wait for our next trip to this Cincinnati favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, simply flawless..from the supe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As usual, simply flawless..from the superbly crafted Bullitt Rye Manhattan, to the perfectly cooked filet..and wonderfully fluffy baked potato...the experience was exquisite. I would expect no less from Brandon and his staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Lots of histo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service. Great food. Lots of history. Whether dining in the restaurant or at the bar, The Precinct provides an amazing dining experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun. I was thrilled to see Chris ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always fun. I was thrilled to see Christoph there after moving from JR downtown. He always makes our evenings special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely fantastic. My hu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I both had the small filet with maytag blue cheese, he also had the lobster and we both had Freddie salads. The food is out-of-this- world good. The drinks were also fantastic. Our server was Sue and she was phenomenal. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Perfect for dates or special occasions!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right as you walk in, so ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were seated right as you walk in, so everyone had to pass by us. There were plenty of open tables and we were seated right next to another couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Precinct consistently delivers on ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Precinct consistently delivers on outstanding food, wines and deserts. A very enjoyable spot for a business dinner or special occasions with my friends or family. Our steaks were fantastic and cooked to order and desserts did not disappoint especially the carrot cake. The only con would be the dining areas are looking a bit shop worn and need a bit of updating. This is a great place to dine when out on the town and still one of my favorite spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Precinct is a premier restaurant wit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Precinct is a premier restaurant with impeccable food and was great destination for recruiting dinner. Service was a bit "over the top" as I dont think they read their customers well at our table. We were going to have a nice dinner and spend money--continually suggesting only the most expensive items is not the best way to a good tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As always the food and service were grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

As always the food and service were great. If you want the best steak in Cincinnati you get it at The Precinct. Staff is friendly and management is visible and very accomodating

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Stop here on a business trip and what a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Stop here on a business trip and what a great decision... Place is at a great location, building has a character to it (was built back in 1861?). And most importantly, food was amazing. The stake were cooked to perfection and have to say, salad were amazing. Definitively a place to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Alex was wonderful. Servers v ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our waiter Alex was wonderful. Servers very attentive. Did not lack for anything. Steak was superb.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.