About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise
Sweet Potato Soufflé
Macaroni & Cheese
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Hot Slaw
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet
Crab Legs & Shrimp
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008
2009 Darioush Cabernet
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Oscar Robertson Steak
Freddy Salad
Joe Nuxhall Steak
Pepper Steak
Nick Lachey
Carrot Cake
Dusty Baker Butterflied

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
8 More
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (231)
romantic (152)
fit for foodies (90)
See All
notable wine list (89)
neighborhood gem (74)
hot spot (43)
good for groups (37)
vibrant bar scene (30)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect way to celebrate my ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was the perfect way to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th birthday! The staff was fantastic, the food was amazing, and the experience was perfect. We had an amazing evening at The Precinct!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and the food is amaz ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and the food is amazing. The wine list has plenty to choose from.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always

food5
ambience5
service5

Love that all steaks come with salad and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love that all steaks come with salad and mashed or baked potato automatically unlike the other Jeff Ruby establishments which are great but I think that the salad and potato being included is a nice touch. Molly was our server and she was attentive but knew how to keep her distance. Love coming to the Precinct for both small and big occasions. Service, ambiance and food worth the prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents for 80th birthdays-went ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my parents for 80th birthdays-went with brother, his wife, and 3 kids. Brother who was somewhat skeptical for the big prices ended up saying it was the best steak he EVER had! Kids were talking about the steaks they had for days later! We were able to share dishes to significantly cut down on cost. All-around amazing experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited The Precinct several tim ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have visited The Precinct several times over the past years. We are never disappointed with the food, the service, orthe ambiance. If you want a romantic dinner, or if you are celebrating a special occasion, this is the place to go. It is pricey, but the food is outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! The food was de ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was perfect! The food was delicious. The waiter was very friendly, we were impressed when a small error in our ordering happened that he took the blame for it . Like his honesty.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing. The food was am ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was amazing. The food was amazing. I took my husband there for father's day, and he loved it. Thank you, the chefs, the waiters, everyone did a fantastic job. It was a fantastic experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jeff Ruby did not disappoint! The beef ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Jeff Ruby did not disappoint! The beef is extraordinary, the service 5-star, and there is great menu variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Precinct is THE spot for us for a sp ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The Precinct is THE spot for us for a special occasion or entertaining clients.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent food and a great atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great as always. The steak was superb, t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great as always. The steak was superb, the wedge salad excellent. It's a little difficult to pay $60 to $70 for a steak but it sure is tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our anniversary dinner and had ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Went for our anniversary dinner and had an incredible experience! Will most likely spend a majority of special occasions at The Precinct from now on.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 52nd wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went for our 52nd wedding anniversary. Waitress was very kind and gave us a piece of cheesecake with candle after dinner. Very thoughtful.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great treat!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a great treat!

food5
ambience5
service5

High quality experience, worth the money ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

High quality experience, worth the money for such good food and elegant treatment across the board.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite stops in Ohio, great ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

One of my favorite stops in Ohio, great steak nice people.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, dinning at a Jeff Ruby's esta ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

As always, dinning at a Jeff Ruby's establishment is always a delight! Superior service and fantastic food😀😀😀.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire evening was perfect. From Kri ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The entire evening was perfect. From Kris, our waiter, to the food and atmosphere, we loved it. We will return soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous celebration at the Precinct

Dined on June 5, 2016

We took our family to the Precinct to celebrate my son's graduation from high school. We had a great time! He loved his 16 oz. King's Filet, and everyone else enjoyed their more reasonably sized steaks! We love the atmostphere at the Precinct and its convenient location to our home. I can't think of a better place to celebrate!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good food, but not sure worth the expense

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good food. Went there for graduation celebration. Service was a little slow / deliberate, but that's probably the style... but would have appreciated a little quicker movement on the bill. Very good service. Very pricey and not sure it was worth the cost.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value dining

Dined on June 2, 2016

Well worth the money. Chris, our server was fantastic. The entire staff was very courteous and the food top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal! Our waitress was amazing. I ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Phenomenal! Our waitress was amazing. I had the best steak I've ever eaten. She even gave us a dessert on the house because it was our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Precinct never disappoints

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went to the Precinct for our 20th and it was great as usual. Excellent food and service, with one of the best wine lists in town. Our server gave us a great recommendation for a new Cab we'd never tried, and it was perfect with our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Steaks still among the best in the US

Dined on May 29, 2016

Steaks are consistently great and with a nice salad and potato included, the fairly expensive meal still represents a good value. Service wasn't quite up to their high standards with the very friendly waiter not quite able to get our food to us as quickly as we would have liked.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

service

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the food on the menu and was able to recommend the right steak for each of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have no other words other than our visit was unbelievably outstanding. We had been to Jeff Ruby's downtown but never to The Precinct and we were definitely taken care of. Had a blast and can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing food! Spotty service.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is always incredible at The Precinct. The steaks are consistently perfectly cooked, the sides are decadent, the salads are crisps and flavorful - everything is amazing - even the bread and butter! Usually the service is top notch- never missing a beat and anticipating needs. This past Saturday was a bit spotty though. Probably just an oversight, but when dining in a Ruby restaurant you expect nothing but the best! The bar is an absolute gem. Don't miss it when you go- especially on a beautiful night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I Have Never Met a Ruby's Steak I Didn't Like!

Dined on May 28, 2016

As usual the steak and food was delicious, delicious is an understatement actually but they haven't come up with a word to describe this food yet. My wife and I have made a tradition of coming to the Precinct every year for our anniversary and we don't plan to change that anytime soon. It is a little pricey and we can afford to do it often but it is well worth the money. Great environment, fabulous food and top notch service. The ambiance got a tad lower rating because we were next to the kitchen so the waiters / waitresses were walking by on occasion which could be a little distracting but nothing big. Can't wait until next year!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We went here for our anniversary and the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here for our anniversary and they didn't disappoint as usual. We arrived early and have drinks at the bar and the bartender prepared great drinks. The food was excellent as my 16 oz ribeye was prepared just like I like it. Overall the manager came over and talked to us and gave us a complimentary treat just for dining with them.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

expect to wait a long time...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Came here to celebrate my anniversary with my wife and her parents, and was excited to try out such a well reviewed cincy establishment. Was very disappointed when we arrived for our 7:45pm appt and had to wait 45 minutes to get seated. The server was nice, but left us for almost 15 minutes and we didn't order until 8:50ish. Food after was solid, not amazing, but the amount of waiting put a damper on our meal. They apologized multiple times while we waited, but nothing was ever done to make up for it. No mention of our anniversary and no apologies or even an offer for a dessert. Most good restaurants i frequent make up for a service lapse, but not here. Only go if you are okay waiting a while and aren't coming hungry...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Not as good as in the past. Steaks were ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Not as good as in the past. Steaks were a bit too dry. House red wine was just ok. WG Kitchen & Bar is better these days and 1/2 the price. They haven't kept up with the times.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We like this restaurant when we feel lik ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We like this restaurant when we feel like we have accomplished something and want to reward ourselves. This week it was renovating an old house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Jordan was excellent. Very professional ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Jordan was excellent. Very professional . Great wines. Best steak ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular and so was the ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was spectacular and so was the service! I only have one complaint and that is the bread. It is just awful. I would recommend a soft rosemary bread served warm with your butter. The butter is great...the bread is....well.....not good. Everything else was fantastic! We will be dining here again in the near future!! Jordan and Ryan did a great job serving us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An exquisite dining experience. I will d ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

An exquisite dining experience. I will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

A must try place. Food, venue and servi ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A must try place. Food, venue and service was first class.

food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Bone in ribeye a bit grisly. Disappoint ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Bone in ribeye a bit grisly. Disappointing and Not worth the cost. Service excellent, bar excellent

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Precinct is consistently great in bo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Precinct is consistently great in both food and service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a little louder in there than exp ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a little louder in there than expected - I had to practically yell to have a conversation, and it made it hard to understand our waiter. The waiter spoke so fast that it was hard to keep up with him anyways, so combined with the noise, that made for a confusing greeting and specialty process. The service was great, despite the noise level and the fast talking. It could use just a little more lighting inside, that way you can see a little better in there (it gets dark when the sun goes down). The food is great, top-notch, as expected, but due to the price (which was also expected), I would expect the atmosphere to be a little better than it was, therefore I would ONLY recommend this place to people who are going out for a special occasion such as my wife and I did (1st anniversary). Other than that, there's no way I would consider going here more than once a year. My next Jeff Ruby's restaurant visit will more than likely not be at The Precinct, to be honest.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.