About The Precinct

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bodenstein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Chris Collinsworth - Filet Topped With Crab & Bernaise
Sweet Potato Soufflé
Macaroni & Cheese
Bone-In (Cowboy) Ribeye
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Hot Slaw
Mick Cronin - Bone In Filet
Crab Legs & Shrimp
Chimney Rock Cabernet 2008
2009 Darioush Cabernet
Caymus Special Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Oscar Robertson Steak
Freddy Salad
Joe Nuxhall Steak
Pepper Steak
Nick Lachey
Carrot Cake
Dusty Baker Butterflied

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
9 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steak
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steak
Cincinnati
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (258)
romantic (168)
fit for foodies (97)
See All
notable wine list (94)
neighborhood gem (78)
good for groups (43)
hot spot (41)
vibrant bar scene (29)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was awesome. Great wine list. Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was awesome. Great wine list. Great service. Very $$$, but was great a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our Anniversary and we had never ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was our Anniversary and we had never been there. It was the perfect spot. The bar area upstairs was very vibrant. The dining area was wonderful. The tables are close together but didn't bother us. Very romantic restaurant. The wait staff were excellent. We even got a free dessert for our anniversary. Superb Jeff Ruby Restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building/venue is outstanding. The ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

The building/venue is outstanding. The food is quite good though a bit too much salt for us. Our server should not be working in a restaurant of this standing. Why is it so difficult to get all elements of a good restaurant working at the same time?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Food and service were great. A bit pric ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were great. A bit pricey, but happy hour cocktails were a good deal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was expecting a top notch dining exper ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was expecting a top notch dining experience and didn't get one. It started with what "appeared" to be confusion at the front desk with the reservation. The waiter did a very good job, He explained the menu and as a result I went with a better steak. I had planned on the NY strip but got the bone-in filet. My wife got a smaller filet. Both of us were happy with the salad, bread and butter. We both felt the garlic mash potatoes were good but nothing special. We were given a complimentary slice of cheese cake for our anniversary which was excellent. The problem was the steaks. Both were ordered medium. Both tasted okay but dry. I would have thought I would have left dinner stating this was one of the best steaks I ever had, but that was not to be. Overall, I would rate this a 6/7 out of 10 and would have expected no less than a 9. DOUBT that I will go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Sorely disappointed as this is the resta ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sorely disappointed as this is the restaurant I've told many was my favorite anywhere.

55 minutes wait for apps. It got no better. Was told by server it takes time. Others around us being served.

Steaks were overcooked but we didn't want to take additional time waiting for corrected ones. Something has changed and I'm kind of sad about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Our dinner at the Precinct was wonderful ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our dinner at the Precinct was wonderful. Our server, Molly, didn't rush us and allowed us to enjoy our bottle of wine and our Anniversary celebration together. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and so tender! An evening at the Precinct is an occasion to remember. Best restaurant in Cincinnati.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service, great pace. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic food and service, great pace. Noise level rose as the dining room filled, but that was expected due to the room layout, proximity of tables and the fact that the Precinct is popular and attracts a great crowd. Everything at our table was exceptional, and I would still consider this the best in Cincinnati.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very friendly and knowable wait ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a very friendly and knowable waiter. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit especially the steaks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening. My wife and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a wonderful evening. My wife and I were late in celebrating our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty. Food was excellent and prepared just right. The service was even better. A great choice - we enjoyed our experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food was t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was great and the food was the best we have had at any of the Jeff Ruby restaurants. Our server,Sue, knew that we were there for our 1st wedding anniversary and brought us a piece of cheesecake to celebrate. She made it a very special night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food exceptional! Just want ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service and food exceptional! Just wanted great food for a Saturday evening out. We were very pleased with the service. Our waiter was very engaging and informative! Everything was done with class! Pleased that the Precinct is in our neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!!!!!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our visit was good, as usual. The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our visit was good, as usual. The food was excellent. The last time we were there we had a great waiter who seemed genuinely thankful we were dining there and gave us dessert for free. This time, our waitress was not as warm and friendly, but the service was good. We will be back to celebrate other special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a date for our 5 year wedding ann ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a date for our 5 year wedding anniversary. The experience began at the bar where we had cocktails before our table was ready. The lounge was upbeat and energetic with live music and extremely hospitable staff. Dinner was prompt and delicious. We had big steaks with huge flavor and fantastic toppings! Thank you for the wonderful service and unforgettable steaks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best. Service and staff was e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

One of the best. Service and staff was excellent. The only negative is some of the seating is very close and some of the patrons did not respect the privacy of others and were very loud with their conversations.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is hands down the best steak around ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is hands down the best steak around. Great atmosphere and staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Precinct is a Cincinnati Staple for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Precinct is a Cincinnati Staple for a reason. Donovan our server was fantastically attentive. The steak might have been the best I have ever had and the ambiance is great. You will not be sorry you spent the money at this fine establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service-extraordinary staff- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding service-extraordinary staff-outstanding food and an overwhelming sense of gratitude for choosing the restaurant. The experience created a wonderful and lasting memory for my family. Thank you!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not like the location of our tabl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We did not like the location of our table. The mirrors are creepy in such a small room. Also, I would suggest you change your bread. The steaks were great as usual and the service outstanding. Cherran was an excellent server.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waiter John and his assistant Griffi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our waiter John and his assistant Griffin gave us the most impeccable service. Best food and service from a Ruby's restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed at the Precinct! The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Never disappointed at the Precinct! The Mac and Cheese is orgasmic!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our son and DIL gave us a gift card and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our son and DIL gave us a gift card and knew we'd enjoy a special evening........Alex, our server, was so professional AND kind, the food......well, I was raised on a farm and have had my share of steaks, but that ribeye was the absolute best I've ever eaten! The Freddy salad was top notch! Our nephew is the one that guided us as to what to order......he takes his wife there about 4 times a year and they love it! We were impressed with the portions of our food, the service was phenomenal, and of course, the food was fabulous! I asked for my leftovers and to my surprise the reusable tote it came in......I will enjoy using it again and again!! The next day I reheated the leftovers and can honestly say, everything again was PERFECTION!!

We were seated next to another couple and honestly, I felt too close and wished I'd asked to sit at the next table over.........BUT that is our only regret!

We've shared our pics and our delight with our friends.........they are ready to share our tremendous experience and go to The Precinct!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my dinner and our server Alex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I enjoyed my dinner and our server Alex was exceptional...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. The onl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food and service were great. The only problem was we were seated in a small room with a room full of loud women. It definitely took away from the romantic dinner that we had planned.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We've been celebrating my birthday at Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been celebrating my birthday at The Precinct for many years. We are never disappointed. This year my husband tried the BTO and O salad in place of the Freddie. I had the Caesar salad. We started with shrimp cocktail, a Manhattan and Champagne Wishes cocktail. Steak "Chris" for me, with extra crab (though I understand the regular amount of crab has increased, so maybe that would have been sufficient) strip steak with mushroom and onion topping for my husband. New to us this time was the truffled creamed corn--positively outstanding. Potatoes rounded out the entrée. Bananas Foster and strawberry basil sorbet for dessert. A reasonably priced Cabernet (can't remember the name) completed the meal. This is a once a year occasion so we didn't cut corners :). We did however have enough leftovers for a complete dinner the next night. The corn may bring us back sooner-- for a more moderate meal:)

The service was great as usual--attentive, efficient, and friendly. Very nice to see Mr. Brandon Ruby in the dining room, not to do a quick "how is everything tonight?", but to visit with diners if they engaged him and even assist in serving. Very nice

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were top notch. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and service were top notch. We enjoyed the entire experience. Had we not had a gift certificate we would never spend $175 for dinner and a few glasses of wine. That said, for a very special occasion it is awesome.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual. Great date night spo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic as usual. Great date night spot. Enjoy the bar before and after your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As always, fabulous food, service, wine ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always, fabulous food, service, wine and ambiance. We love this place, and Brandon (GM) is very attentive to all that is happening. Bar is gorgeous, and steaks....are to die for. Don't miss the Freddie salad, and Mac & cheese. I never pass on the raw bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived the first thing I notic ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

When we arrived the first thing I noticed was that the chairs have not been redone since they opened the place. My chair had a cracked vinyl or cheap leather covering and the stuffing was shot

I sank into the seat

Tried 3 other chairs and finally gave up when they were the same. SORRY but with the prices they charge decor should not be an issue.

A small problem with fruit flies as well.

Food was ok. Frankly I should have gone to Mortons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The steak is beyond amazing.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The steak is beyond amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service was great and the food was amazing. The decor is a little dated but nice. The noise level was very high due to a group next to us. I guess they didn't realize it was a Upscale dining experience and had no qualms in ruining everybody elses dinner. That wasn't the restaurants fault though. Overall a very good time with fantastic food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

the manager is awesome! There was a mix- ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

the manager is awesome! There was a mix- up with our reservation ( a couple sneaked in to take our outdoor table) but he went to great lengths to make it right. Exceptional service and food is always quality.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to The Precinct to celebrate our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to The Precinct to celebrate our anniversary. The only thing better than the food was the service. The food was amazing. We both had filets that melted in our mouths. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been awhile since I had been to t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It has been awhile since I had been to the Precinct. I couldn't have had a better steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Alex, our waiter, was great! We sat next ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Alex, our waiter, was great! We sat next to a large group and they were very loud so it was difficult to hear at times but overall I highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class operation. No complaints. On ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First class operation. No complaints.

Only except, parking fees a little on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband took me for my birthday and w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband took me for my birthday and we loved it we will be back for sure!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had been awaiting to visit ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I had been awaiting to visit The Precinct since we moved to the city. Our best friend was in town so we excitedly chose this restaurant as our special occasion to visit. We had Donnie as our server and he was fantastic. Really fed into our interest and excitement there, going in depth into each cut of steak that he was fond of, as well as the signature steak preparation style famous with the Jeff Ruby restaurants. From cocktails to appetizers to wine and entrees, Donnie was very helpful in luring us down the paths we were seeking in each of our experiences. The manager that evening also stopped by our table, which is always a big plus of mine being a restaurant manager, as well as managing in hotels now.

The Precinct was one of the best meals and experiences we have had and will recommend to everyone who comes and visit Cincinnati and are looking for a great steakhouse experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service at the Precinct was Excellent fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service at the Precinct was Excellent from all staff members!

Our food was very, very good. Enjoyed our steaks, salads, bread and complimentary cheesecake for dessert - totally unexpected.

We celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary in style!

Thank You.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.