Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About The Precinct

For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city.
Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.

311 Delta Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbia Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 321-5454

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour in bar Sun-Fri 4:30 - 6:00 pm, Happy Hour not available Saturdays

Catering:
Catering is available as long as the site has proper equipment.

Parking Details:
Valet parking - $5

Public Transit:
There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.

Executive Chef:
Chad Monk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

The Precinct Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Good for Anniversaries (133)
Good for a Date (127)
See All
Romantic (110)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Worth the Drive (70)
Historic (69)
Notable Wine List (66)
Business Meals (59)
Cozy (51)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Authentic (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Private Room (34)
Good for Groups (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fun (28)
Happy Hour (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
People Watching (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Tasting Menu (13)
Casual (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fireplace (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Live Music (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

We've eaten at the Princint before but it's been a while since we've been there. This was a terrible evening. The service was excellent BUT our food was barely warm, one of the steaks was full of gristle & the size of the sides was pathetic for the price they were charging. It cost us $350 for 4 people for a meal that was not worth this price. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience at the Precinct! We missed John, but Molly took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food...wonderful service with attentive but not overbearing servers. Really lovely experience

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

This was not the best Precinct experience. It started fine. The service was a bit off - much slower than in our past experiences. I had the steak Collinsworth (Thanks for lending your name, Chris.) which was as delicious as ever. All of the food was fabulous. Then... I paid the bill. The waiter took our gift card and credit card. He returned to ask if we had not already used our gift card (had not). Then the manager came and said it had been previously used at a different Ruby restaurant (which we have never been to). The shortened version - I produced proof of purchase and the accounting staff was able to resolve the issue - 2 days later. They were all very cordial, but somehow they had sent me an unloaded gift card. Mistakes happen.

The steaks are fantastic - I'm sure we'll be back for another big occasion soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a reservation for our 25th wedding anniversary. We we greeted warmly and seated within 5 minutes of our arrival, considering we were 20 minutes early that was awesome. However I felt the dinning area was too dark and many people were grossly under dressed. Literally saw 4 men wearing t shirts and one girl in yoga pants, not quite what I would call "business casual". One guest was very memorable with the way I could hear her drunkenly cursing and generally being loud and boisterous, basically ruining any smidgen of ambiance. The food was ok, the server was polite, valets were professional but the honest truth is I left disappointed and will not return. There is a certain expectation I have when I spend the same amount of money for a steak dinner with my wife as I do for a weeks worth of groceries. Needless to say that expectation was not met .

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

My family was in town from South Carolina and they had never been before. They all were blown away by every aspect of the restaurant. My father said it was a once in a lifetime greatest dining experience he has ever had. The food was spectacular and our server was hands down the best server I can ever remember having for fine dining service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always consistent high quality

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Food and service were exceptional (as usual). My only comment would be that it might be time for an interior renovation. The wall-size mirrors date the dining room to the 1980's and don't reflect the amazing quality of the food. We still love this place and will definitely return. The service and food is light years above the newer "competition" in the region.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Precinct is a multi decade gem for Cincinnati's dining. Everyone there makes you feel welcome the instant you arrive. Food is excellent and they have a wine selection beyond compare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another great dining experience. The food is always outstanding. Don't think you can get a better steak anywhere unless it would be at another Jeff Ruby restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to The Precinct many times and I have to say this time I was not impressed with the food or service. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Perfect night for celebrating my special birthday.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We come here every year for our anniversary and couldn't be more pleased with the service we recieve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I've dined here once before and enjoyed it . Been to Carlo and Johnnys several times ...This time however I felt crammed into our table , the filets were way way over seasoned and for some reason the mirrors added a sense of classlessness that I hadn't noticed last time around . Will probably stick to Eddie Marlots or Chart House for this type of dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went for our anniversary, staff was awesome, even gave us a cheesecake on the house. Food was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and service. Prices are high and there is limited space between tables.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Precinct. Food was good, service was excellent, atmosphere was good. Great way to end the day!!! Thank you 😊

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We have been to the precinct several times and we continue to return. It is a dining experience like no other. The food is amazing and the service is second to none.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Precinct really lived up to its reputation. Delicious steaks, perfect service, and cozy ambiance. Wait staff very familiar with menu items and made great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent each time we go. Steaks are incredible, but order it one level more done. Since they're so thick, it's hard to get a medium. Next time I'll order medium well. Expensive but so good! The Creme Brûlée is the best part!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A lovely evening once again. Excellent food and service as always. David was a great waiter who was able to answer our questions and converse without being intrusive. He was well supported by Onah who was equally attentive to our table. The Precinct is he top of the line in every way!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. Bring back chocolate ice cream with Reese's peanut butter cups!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Chilean Sea Bass was outstanding . Others in our party had various steaks/ filets all cooked to perfection. This is truly a wonderful restaurant and one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Precinct is the place to go if you are wanting to style and impress. Great food as usual for a Jeff Ruby property, and the service is as always impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great. kris, Our server was fantastic. Portions were good

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely perfect night from the food to the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nicole and Paul were excellent and incredibly attentive and knowledgeable during our visit.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food and service . Our plane was late and we were going to arrive just after closing . They prepared our food in advance. It was ready when we got there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Highly recommend for outstanding food and ambience. The Precinct was recommended to us...now I understand why..a perfect 10!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our server, David, was excellent as was the food. Highly recommend for amazing steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The best dining experience I've had loved it. Great food, excellent service, they even gave us a compliment cheesecake for our anniversary, great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Everything was wonderful as expected. Been dining here off and on for years...keep coming back because it is steady.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Another Great Meal At The Precinct! I still don't know if your deserts are good or not because I'm always to full to order one. The steaks are fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Best Steak EVER!! Service was Awesome.
Was bit pricey but was worth every penny

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, great service and great atmosphere. Took my mother in law for her birthday and she really enjoyed herself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Precinct is a fabulous restaurant with amazing food and beautiful decor. Their steaks are top notch and service outstanding. My salad was delicious. The raw bar appetizers were the best in town. And the mac and cheese side is worthy of its rankings.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The best steak I have ever had in my life! Our server Sue gave us great advice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for just about any occasion. Saturday was celebration of our sons' graduation from college, so the family enjoyed a great meal, nice drinks, superb ambiance and just plain fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The service was not as great as we had heard. The service was very slow. We had a reservation for 745 and didn't get sat until almost 830. We then did not get a drink or food ordered for another almost 30 minutes. I would go again. But plan to be there earlier and have the whole evening to spend there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.