Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

The Pot Au Feu

4.3
79 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Great for Lunch
  • Special Occasion
THE KITCHEN - The talented kitchen staff at the Pot Au Feu come together every service to execute a menu prepared with the freshest of ingredients and with french cooking techniques. Chef Roberto A. Espinoza and Sous Chef Richard Mendez, both Le Cordon Bleu trained, collectively bring forth dishes that are comforting yet elegant. They are thoughtful and passionate about the recipes they create and aim to plate you the flavors of the world.

THE DINING ROOM - Life at the Pot Au Feu truly is a family affair. This space was constructed from the ground up by Roberto A. Espinoza, Roberto's father, Roberto Espinoza Jr., and Richard Mendez. The waitstaff have been here since opening day and share in the dedication to provide delicious food and impeccable service.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(915) 503-8158
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Roberto A. Espinoza
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between N Kansas and N Stanton
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 79 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
3.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This place was right around the corner from where we were spending the night. The appearance is as much bar as restaurant and one woman was the hostess, bartender and waitress. She was great at all three. My date had the ratatouille sandwich with onion rings and I had the fish and chips. Excellent food. A couple of Texas golden ales rounded out an excellent meal. Very nice indeed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This place was amazing and all the food was fantastic, from the appetizers to the main courses to the deserts...everything was so good and the staff was awesome too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Loved everything about this place. I will definitely be back for the beef bourguignon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Overall disappointing. Had been once before about 2 yrs ago. It was a much better experience then. The dinning room was run down, crumbs on chairs and table felt sticky. Food was ok, didn’t know how to make a wine cocktail and martini was skimpy. There were only 2 other diners at the time. My friend had Steak and Frites I had Salad Nicoise. Steak a bit undercooked for medium, salad was large and fresh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Love Pot a feu. It has never disappointed. Service is great and food is phenomenal. Kind of old world atmosphere, like a restaurant you might see in Brooklyn. Delicious! I have had pretty much everything there and loved it. Elevated cuisine and comfort food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We were very pleased with the atmosphere, ambiance of the place! The food was really good and the wine list, the service was good, overall I recommend this restaurant without hesitation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

My husband and I were traveling in the El Paso area and staying downtown. We found this restaurant just blocks from our hotel and what a lovely surprise it was! The restaurant is located in a historic building and is nicely remodeled. The service was prompt and gracious - we enjoyed our friendly server. The wine and spirits selection was ample. But by far the best part of our visit was the incredibly delicious food. Everything we ordered just couldn't have been better. I ordered the Caesar side salad with my fettucine alfredo while my husband ordered the beef bourguignon after an appetizer of hummus and naan. The salad had the perfect amount of dressing - I don't like my lettuce drowned in dressing - and topped with perfectly seasoned handmade croutons. We ended our meal with a shared creme brulee that was so delicious I had to order another for just myself! We could not have asked for a better dining experience. This was our favorite restaurant during our nearly week long stay in El Paso.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent food, great atmosphere and best of all it wasn't too expensive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

I was last here several years ago and was disappointed in the signature dish, pot au feu. This time I went for something less ambitious (flank steak and fries) and it was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 19, 2017

We were told most of the menu was old and inaccurate. The daily specials listed on the plaque in center of table were no longer correct. Were told if we wanted something she would tell me if they had it anymore. Restaurant was empty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 13, 2017

The only thing I did not like was how dirty the tables were when we walked in. Very dusty and you could tell they had not been cleaned in a while. The drink menus were also dirty and stained. It was not the best first impression and we seriously considered going next door for pizza instead. However, we decided to give it a chance and the food was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 6, 2017

We were two for four on food. The Bulekas appetizer was excellent and my wife's fettuccine dish was excellent as well. I ordered the bouef bourgignon and it was not good. It was not cooked in wine like it should have been. I didn't want to fuss but couldn't lie when asked how my food was. It was sent back and I got a rushed order of chimichurri ribeye. It was a solid "okay". I will try them again and try different menu items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was fresh and delicious. Good selection for larger diverse group. Good wine selection. Overall nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Brought a colleague here for a business lunch, and as always, we got a great meal with great service. This is my favorite place downtown!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Charming atmosphere and great food. Excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2017

The food and drinks were great, our waitress was awesome and my daughters bday was fun 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Hidden gem. Particularly happy with service. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2017

Cool little place attached to the Hotel Gardner. Outstanding meal in very modest surroundings. Unfortunately, no real desserts available at the time I was there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Great environment and service, food was delicious. Overall great value, definitely we are coming back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Celebrated St Valentines with the wife. Steak and frites were very good. Fettuccine was fantastic. Ended with the crème brûlée. Highly recommended. Overall a great dinner date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was great. Service was good. Very nice atmosphere. Parking was not bad. Going to go back to try more from their small but great menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2016

One of our favorite places in town. We were disappointed that a couple of our favorite dishes were not available, as I had been thinking about that duck for days. However, our second choices were also delish, and overall it was a great meal, as always. We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Went to dinner before a symphony concert. Food was very good. Bonus: Nice jazz group was playing. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2016

Each time I'm in town I endeavor to stop here for dinner. The duck is always great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful! The tea-smoked duck is delicious, and my dinner partners enjoyed the steak with potatoes/plantains and the Pot Au Feu (which she said was even better the second day). The music was a bit loud for our taste; although the selections were fine, we couldn't really carry on a conversation. Must note that, while the staff is willing to pull chairs out of the way, the closest handicap-access parking was a block away at the pay-for-parking lot ... this was a bit of a problem for the lady in a wheelchair and the one with a walker. Be sure to add extra time if you need to circle for a closer parking spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2016

Enjoyed every minute of it. They treated us as royalty, our table was ready and the food was served warm and promptly. Will definitely visit again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried the evening special which was a German schnitzel. Although slightly overcooked, it had great flavor and impressive considering it is not a "German" restaurant. The creme Brule was the bomb! Excellent service from the very attentive young lady who served us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice downtown café-slow in getting our drink order but food was served promptly. Had the
Salmon and it was tasty and cooked as requested. Wife had a martini which she enjoyed, I had
a French malbec that was adequate. Wine list seems limited. Overall a nice experience before the ballgame. Would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Great, original food, pleasant service, and nice Jazz in the background.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2016

No parking, service was slow, humus was dry, "special" was flavorless. Entrées brought out at different times. Way too expensive for mediocre food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2016

but a tad disappointed in the meal. Which is a first. The fried calamari appetizer was ample & cooked properly, but underseasoned. Easy fix with a bit of salt. The cheese ravioli with wilted spinach, mushrooms, cream sauce - the mozzarella filling was a bit chewy, the quartered brown button mushrooms were seemingly uncooked, the spinach & cream sauce were very tasty. The Italian red wine wasn't to my taste - too sweet - but the kicker was that it was served icy cold - too cold for a white wine, even. Although the meal wasn't up to their usual good standards, I'll give them some slack & will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2016

It is hard to give a precise description of my feeling about this place. The food is definitely well prepare with good quality for the price, although there is a bit lack of excitement in the taste. I would say this is a place for a weekend relaxing dinner or a stop before events in plaza theater, but not the kind of place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

By far one El Paso's best kept culinary secrets. Food is amazing. I have literally have had almost everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. From the Fattoush to the Curry and let's not forget their signature dish the pot au feu everything is worth the bite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Went to Pot Au Feu on a Saturday evening. Glad I made a reservation as the place was crowded. No problem with my reservation, though. Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed by the crowd and it took a bit of time to place our initial drink orders. But, drinks came out fairly quickly. Food order was taken and food arrived in a timely fashion. Food was great. Only negative was the band playing that night. Good music but way too loud for the space. Conversations with my companions was quite a challenge. I'll go again, just maybe not when live music is on tap.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2016

As usual the restaurant catered to our needs and requests and let us enjoy a happy get-together.

The only drawback is the parking situation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was good. The prices were OK. I expected more 'stuff' in the yellow curry. It was more like a soup, but it was delicious as was the crème brulee. The waiter was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful food, great wine selection, and attentive service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 8, 2016

A group of five of us had dinner here on Friday evening January 8. I thought the French-themed food was very good and a nice alternative to El Paso's usual fare. The downtown location is ovely and even has a French feel to it. The hummus, the chicken breast, and the cheese cake were all exquisite. The offerings were somewhat pricey, but not exorbitantly so, and you certainly won't complain about the quantity. Overall, a good dining experience and a good ambiance for a group get together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 5, 2015

Our party of three really enjoyed our first visit to Pot Au Feu. food and service were terrific. We'll be going back again soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 30, 2015

Our food was very well prepared and presented. My corned beef hash was great and my wife's Belgium waffles were equally good. The music was more fitting to the marketplace in Algiers and not at all keeping with this restaurants' objective of a pleasing dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by The Pot Au Feu