About The Pot Au Feu

307 E Franklin
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

THE KITCHEN - The talented kitchen staff at the Pot Au Feu come together every service to execute a menu prepared with the freshest of ingredients and with french cooking techniques. Chef Roberto A. Espinoza and Sous Chef Richard Mendez, both Le Cordon Bleu trained, collectively bring forth dishes that are comforting yet elegant. They are thoughtful and passionate about the recipes they create and aim to plate you the flavors of the world.

THE DINING ROOM - Life at the Pot Au Feu truly is a family affair. This space was constructed from the ground up by Roberto A. Espinoza, Roberto's father, Roberto Espinoza Jr., and Richard Mendez. The waitstaff have been here since opening day and share in the dedication to provide delicious food and impeccable service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between N Kansas and N Stanton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 503-8158

Website:
http://www.potaufeuelpaso.com/

Executive Chef:
Roberto A. Espinoza

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ginger and Sesame WIngs
Niçoise salad
Green Tea-Smoked Duck Breast
Corned beef with poached eggs
Pot Au Feu
Lamb Burger With Cesar Salad And A White Grape Mimosa
Beef Bourguignon
Fattoush With Salmon
Yellow Coconut Curry
Trio of Ice Creams and Sorbet
Cheesecake with Root Beer Reduction
Tea Smoked Duck
Escargot
Argentinian Pork Ribs
Fattoush With White Grapr Mimosa

The Pot Au Feu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (2)
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
See All
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
special occasion (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

We tried the evening special which was a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We tried the evening special which was a German schnitzel. Although slightly overcooked, it had great flavor and impressive considering it is not a "German" restaurant. The creme Brule was the bomb! Excellent service from the very attentive young lady who served us.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice downtown café-slow in getting our d ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice downtown café-slow in getting our drink order but food was served promptly. Had the Salmon and it was tasty and cooked as requested. Wife had a martini which she enjoyed, I had a French malbec that was adequate. Wine list seems limited. Overall a nice experience before the ballgame. Would go back.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, original food, pleasant service, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great, original food, pleasant service, and nice Jazz in the background.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on April 17, 2016

No parking, service was slow, humus was dry, "special" was flavorless. Entrées brought out at different times. Way too expensive for mediocre food.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice evening ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

but a tad disappointed in the meal. Which is a first. The fried calamari appetizer was ample & cooked properly, but underseasoned. Easy fix with a bit of salt. The cheese ravioli with wilted spinach, mushrooms, cream sauce - the mozzarella filling was a bit chewy, the quartered brown button mushrooms were seemingly uncooked, the spinach & cream sauce were very tasty. The Italian red wine wasn't to my taste - too sweet - but the kicker was that it was served icy cold - too cold for a white wine, even. Although the meal wasn't up to their usual good standards, I'll give them some slack & will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, limited menu, reasonable price

Dined on February 21, 2016

It is hard to give a precise description of my feeling about this place. The food is definitely well prepare with good quality for the price, although there is a bit lack of excitement in the taste. I would say this is a place for a weekend relaxing dinner or a stop before events in plaza theater, but not the kind of place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Paso's Gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

By far one El Paso's best kept culinary secrets. Food is amazing. I have literally have had almost everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. From the Fattoush to the Curry and let's not forget their signature dish the pot au feu everything is worth the bite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Saturday evening

Dined on January 31, 2016

Went to Pot Au Feu on a Saturday evening. Glad I made a reservation as the place was crowded. No problem with my reservation, though. Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed by the crowd and it took a bit of time to place our initial drink orders. But, drinks came out fairly quickly. Food order was taken and food arrived in a timely fashion. Food was great. Only negative was the band playing that night. Good music but way too loud for the space. Conversations with my companions was quite a challenge. I'll go again, just maybe not when live music is on tap.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Eight women got together

Dined on January 22, 2016

As usual the restaurant catered to our needs and requests and let us enjoy a happy get-together. The only drawback is the parking situation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food tasty. Service Good

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was good. The prices were OK. I expected more 'stuff' in the yellow curry. It was more like a soup, but it was delicious as was the crème brulee. The waiter was attentive.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great wine selection, an ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great wine selection, and attentive service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on January 9, 2016

A group of five of us had dinner here on Friday evening January 8. I thought the French-themed food was very good and a nice alternative to El Paso's usual fare. The downtown location is ovely and even has a French feel to it. The hummus, the chicken breast, and the cheese cake were all exquisite. The offerings were somewhat pricey, but not exorbitantly so, and you certainly won't complain about the quantity. Overall, a good dining experience and a good ambiance for a group get together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on September 6, 2015

Our party of three really enjoyed our first visit to Pot Au Feu. food and service were terrific. We'll be going back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service3

Great food - loud and lousy music

Dined on August 30, 2015

Our food was very well prepared and presented. My corned beef hash was great and my wife's Belgium waffles were equally good. The music was more fitting to the marketplace in Algiers and not at all keeping with this restaurants' objective of a pleasing dining experience.

food2
ambience5
service5

Some bad, some good

Dined on May 16, 2015

I ordered the curry. Which arrived extremely oily. I was scooping up spoonfuls of oil and discarding into a separate dish. Sadly, there wasn't much else in the curry except the broth with a small sprinkling of sliced potatoes and onions mixed in. Fortunately it came with white rice which helped to break it up a bit. Very disappointing over all. The kids got chicken fingers and fries which were a sad mixture of greasy and dry with enough salt flavor to wither the ocean. Everybody enjoyed the hummus; it was spot on! I wish I would have just ordered a few more rounds of hummus and avoided the main course catastrophes. We had the chocolate cake for dessert and it was devine!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

Can't say enough. The service was attentive and the food was excellent. We had the lamb burger and curry. Both were excellent. I also ordered the poutine as a side dish. Wow! The menu has something for everybody and we plan to come back (often) to sample all we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a Pot of Gold

Dined on February 14, 2015

Great food and great service. Been there many times and the food has always been amazing. Every time I've been there I have ordered a different dish. From their signature dish to the fish and chips everything is legit. Drop in and take a visit.....trust me you'll enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

A great place to dine

Dined on September 20, 2014

Pot Au Feu is an awesome dinning experience! It is small but not crowded and the wait staff was outstanding perfect place to take your loved one on a quick get-away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3

Small friendly hipster downtown bistro w ...

vip
Dined on August 23, 2014

Small friendly hipster downtown bistro with eclectic multinational menu predominantly. The duck confit sandwich with pomme frites (fries) was very tasty & was an ample portion. Smallish selection of interesting wines & beers.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Hutch77

vip
Dined on August 21, 2014

Had a great meal, overall experience was very good. Service was very good as well. First time in El Paso downtown for dinner. I had the duck it was fantastic, there were at least three other items on the menu that I wanted to try. Next time in El Paso, I will return! It was a little loud, but not to bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service5

Great appetizers!

Dined on August 13, 2014

While the appetizers were delicious, two out of five diners did not like their food. One had a steak which tasted bad and was tough and the other had curry which was too watery. The two that ate duck confitte seemed to enjoy their food. I may return sometime.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice find in Downtown El Paso

Dined on August 10, 2014

My partner and I recently had a lovely dinner at Pot Au Feu. Atmosphere was quiet and attractive, service was friendly, and the food was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience2
service5

Downtown Find

Dined on August 8, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a twenty minute drive to downtown on a weekday evening for dinner at Pot au Fue. The parking was easy and the restaurant was sparcely occupiate. We were emmidiately greeted, seated and courtesy attended. Our appetizer, my wife's soup and salad and my duck entree were absolutely excellent. The desert was delicious and our wine selection was perfect. We will definitely return on the weekend with friends and take advantage once more of the weekday dinning.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

amazing food

Dined on May 29, 2014

The food here is amazing. We have gone a couple times now and every dish is very good. they have a nice list of import beers and a decent wine selection. I am partial to Italian wines so I was pleased to find some favorites on the menu. the only down side I have about this place is the noise level. it is VERY loud and even on a small two top table we had difficulty hearing each other all the time. that could easily be fixed with some carpet runners or better yet some fabric loosely draped on the ceiling to help absorb some of the noise. it isn't bad enough that I would stop going. just not a quiet romantic dinner kind of place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service1

No seconds for us

Dined on March 14, 2014

We expected a lot more from the pot, in regards of both; service and the food. Fish and chips was fair for the price, lamb burgher on the other side we were not able to even eat half if it. Very overpowering flavors that make it un-enjoyable. We wanted to like this place but unfortunately we will not. Maybe for a drink but not for food.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent

Dined on March 14, 2014

The place is nicely decorated, the food is awesome, they could improve the service but overall they were nice and attentive. Great for couples and groups. The food is worth the price, it's delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner with friends

Dined on March 2, 2014

This was my first time there. I loved the historic feel of the restaurant. The server was attentive, explaining drink specials and what they didn't have. I was disappointed that they didn't have my top 2 choices: the pot au feu (not ready for another 45 minutes) and duck. I ordered the salmon and gnocchi. It was very good! My wife and friends had a combo of burgers, sandwiches, and entrees. Each of them loved their dish, and all of is were happy to say we would go back. The apple cheescake we had for dessert was amazing. Definitely recommend this place!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Very Good Demi-French

Dined on February 27, 2014

A rare very good french restaurant in El Paso Texas. A friend recommended this restaurant and we went right away since there are not many options for french food in our hometown. We ordered the duck (excellent) and the beef burgundy (very good but there were not enough veggies to go with it as we are used to). The wine (a Malbec regular $27) was discounted 25% to $21 due to happy hour so we loved it. We ordered the wings for appetizer (also discounted!) and loved them even though the style was probably not french (chinese?). In summary, we recommend you try this restaurant if you are craving french food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

Dined on February 16, 2014

The food was amazing. It was a little warm in the restaurant, but as soon as we mentioned it the waitstaff had the air conditioner turned on. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food in El Paso!

Dined on January 31, 2014

I had the tea smoked duck which was highly recommended and PERFECTLY cooked. My husband had the salmon, also perfection. Service was fine, and it's a nice place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Attentive staff plus creative chef

Dined on December 29, 2013

We selected this restaurant based solely on the previous reviews. Our reward was an excellent experience. The service was swift and attentive. We selected four items and shared them. Each of the four were excellent including Pot Au Feu. The best was saved for last with a piece of cheesecake that we are talking about one week later. If you like an intimate dining experience with attentive staff and menu selections that are a twist on you favorites then you will like Pot Au Feu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

must try

Dined on November 21, 2013

The food, service and ambiance was excellent! My one complaint would be that the hummus was a tad bland. But toss finger wings, wow!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Cool spot. Food was just OK

Dined on October 13, 2013

Beef burgundy was excellent, steak and frites was average at best. Not a fan of the hanger steak. Wine recommendation was not impressive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

The Pot Au Feu was a delightful

vip
Dined on August 31, 2013

The Pot Au Feu was a delightful restaurant. Ashley was a wonderful waitperson, very knowledgable about menu items, service was friendly and it was a wonderful experience. We ordered an array of delicious dishes, including a hint of dill Caesar Salad, wonderful chicken wings and a most delightful fluffy, tasty omelet. Needless to say, this establishment will be our 'go to' place when visiting El Paso. Job well done...

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Zzzzzz

Dined on August 25, 2013

The reception at the door: "Open table didn't call in your reservation" then made us stand there while he went on about that. I had to interupt him to ask for a table. He offered a postage stamp table. My wife asked for one of the larger tables open tables and he pointed to one and said we could have that table but he had to have it by 8:30 (it was 6 p.m). Drinks - Mojito specks of ground up mint, no garnish, too sweet. The menu is poorly arrranged - small in size and options. Taste - I had the "signature dish" Pot Au Feu. A mix of stewed shanks and vegetables served in a broth. Boring. Salmon served with fried plantains. The Salmon was okay but just, and why the plantains? Still trying to find a decent meal in downtown El Paso.

food4
ambience4
service4

It was really really good.

Dined on August 3, 2013

I was very impressed with the food. It is so tasty and different. The staff is very pleasant and just overall a really good place to eat. I definitely will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Whatta Find!

Dined on July 13, 2013

I always wanted to eat at the restaurant and finally got there. The food was good. Menu is a little limited, but everything was tasty and well presented. The waitress was extremely personable and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious, the

Dined on July 11, 2013

The food was delicious, the service excellent, we were served in a timely manner (important when going for lunch), and there were many good choices on the menu. I would definitely return the next time I am in El Paso and would like to try dinner next time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food and ambiance. Would

Dined on June 30, 2013

Good food and ambiance. Would not recommend the quail, as I think it would have tasted better out of the broth and without the beans. Everything else was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Out of the Ordinary

Dined on June 28, 2013

An awesome menu in a nice atmosphere. Several options for all tastes offered. Quality is superb. Service is very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.