Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Pot Au Feu

THE KITCHEN - The talented kitchen staff at the Pot Au Feu come together every service to execute a menu prepared with the freshest of ingredients and with french cooking techniques. Chef Roberto A. Espinoza and Sous Chef Richard Mendez, both Le Cordon Bleu trained, collectively bring forth dishes that are comforting yet elegant. They are thoughtful and passionate about the recipes they create and aim to plate you the flavors of the world.

THE DINING ROOM - Life at the Pot Au Feu truly is a family affair. This space was constructed from the ground up by Roberto A. Espinoza, Roberto's father, Roberto Espinoza Jr., and Richard Mendez. The waitstaff have been here since opening day and share in the dedication to provide delicious food and impeccable service.

307 E Franklin
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between N Kansas and N Stanton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 503-8158

Website:
http://www.potaufeuelpaso.com/

Executive Chef:
Roberto A. Espinoza

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Pot Au Feu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

3.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
65 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Charming atmosphere and great food. Excellent service

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food and drinks were great, our waitress was awesome and my daughters bday was fun 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Hidden gem. Particularly happy with service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Cool little place attached to the Hotel Gardner. Outstanding meal in very modest surroundings. Unfortunately, no real desserts available at the time I was there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great environment and service, food was delicious. Overall great value, definitely we are coming back

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Celebrated St Valentines with the wife. Steak and frites were very good. Fettuccine was fantastic. Ended with the crème brûlée. Highly recommended. Overall a great dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was great. Service was good. Very nice atmosphere. Parking was not bad. Going to go back to try more from their small but great menu.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One of our favorite places in town. We were disappointed that a couple of our favorite dishes were not available, as I had been thinking about that duck for days. However, our second choices were also delish, and overall it was a great meal, as always. We will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Went to dinner before a symphony concert. Food was very good. Bonus: Nice jazz group was playing. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Each time I'm in town I endeavor to stop here for dinner. The duck is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful! The tea-smoked duck is delicious, and my dinner partners enjoyed the steak with potatoes/plantains and the Pot Au Feu (which she said was even better the second day). The music was a bit loud for our taste; although the selections were fine, we couldn't really carry on a conversation. Must note that, while the staff is willing to pull chairs out of the way, the closest handicap-access parking was a block away at the pay-for-parking lot ... this was a bit of a problem for the lady in a wheelchair and the one with a walker. Be sure to add extra time if you need to circle for a closer parking spot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Enjoyed every minute of it. They treated us as royalty, our table was ready and the food was served warm and promptly. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried the evening special which was a German schnitzel. Although slightly overcooked, it had great flavor and impressive considering it is not a "German" restaurant. The creme Brule was the bomb! Excellent service from the very attentive young lady who served us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice downtown café-slow in getting our drink order but food was served promptly. Had the
Salmon and it was tasty and cooked as requested. Wife had a martini which she enjoyed, I had
a French malbec that was adequate. Wine list seems limited. Overall a nice experience before the ballgame. Would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great, original food, pleasant service, and nice Jazz in the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 16, 2016

No parking, service was slow, humus was dry, "special" was flavorless. Entrées brought out at different times. Way too expensive for mediocre food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2016

but a tad disappointed in the meal. Which is a first. The fried calamari appetizer was ample & cooked properly, but underseasoned. Easy fix with a bit of salt. The cheese ravioli with wilted spinach, mushrooms, cream sauce - the mozzarella filling was a bit chewy, the quartered brown button mushrooms were seemingly uncooked, the spinach & cream sauce were very tasty. The Italian red wine wasn't to my taste - too sweet - but the kicker was that it was served icy cold - too cold for a white wine, even. Although the meal wasn't up to their usual good standards, I'll give them some slack & will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

It is hard to give a precise description of my feeling about this place. The food is definitely well prepare with good quality for the price, although there is a bit lack of excitement in the taste. I would say this is a place for a weekend relaxing dinner or a stop before events in plaza theater, but not the kind of place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 13, 2016

By far one El Paso's best kept culinary secrets. Food is amazing. I have literally have had almost everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. From the Fattoush to the Curry and let's not forget their signature dish the pot au feu everything is worth the bite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Went to Pot Au Feu on a Saturday evening. Glad I made a reservation as the place was crowded. No problem with my reservation, though. Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed by the crowd and it took a bit of time to place our initial drink orders. But, drinks came out fairly quickly. Food order was taken and food arrived in a timely fashion. Food was great. Only negative was the band playing that night. Good music but way too loud for the space. Conversations with my companions was quite a challenge. I'll go again, just maybe not when live music is on tap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 21, 2016

As usual the restaurant catered to our needs and requests and let us enjoy a happy get-together.

The only drawback is the parking situation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was good. The prices were OK. I expected more 'stuff' in the yellow curry. It was more like a soup, but it was delicious as was the crème brulee. The waiter was attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful food, great wine selection, and attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 8, 2016

A group of five of us had dinner here on Friday evening January 8. I thought the French-themed food was very good and a nice alternative to El Paso's usual fare. The downtown location is ovely and even has a French feel to it. The hummus, the chicken breast, and the cheese cake were all exquisite. The offerings were somewhat pricey, but not exorbitantly so, and you certainly won't complain about the quantity. Overall, a good dining experience and a good ambiance for a group get together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Our party of three really enjoyed our first visit to Pot Au Feu. food and service were terrific. We'll be going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Our food was very well prepared and presented. My corned beef hash was great and my wife's Belgium waffles were equally good. The music was more fitting to the marketplace in Algiers and not at all keeping with this restaurants' objective of a pleasing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 16, 2015

I ordered the curry. Which arrived extremely oily. I was scooping up spoonfuls of oil and discarding into a separate dish. Sadly, there wasn't much else in the curry except the broth with a small sprinkling of sliced potatoes and onions mixed in. Fortunately it came with white rice which helped to break it up a bit. Very disappointing over all. The kids got chicken fingers and fries which were a sad mixture of greasy and dry with enough salt flavor to wither the ocean. Everybody enjoyed the hummus; it was spot on! I wish I would have just ordered a few more rounds of hummus and avoided the main course catastrophes. We had the chocolate cake for dessert and it was devine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2015

Can't say enough. The service was attentive and the food was excellent. We had the lamb burger and curry. Both were excellent. I also ordered the poutine as a side dish. Wow!
The menu has something for everybody and we plan to come back (often) to sample all we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 13, 2015

Great food and great service. Been there many times and the food has always been amazing. Every time I've been there I have ordered a different dish. From their signature dish to the fish and chips everything is legit. Drop in and take a visit.....trust me you'll enjoy it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2014

Pot Au Feu is an awesome dinning experience! It is small but not crowded and the wait staff was outstanding perfect place to take your loved one on a quick get-away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2014

Small friendly hipster downtown bistro with eclectic multinational menu predominantly. The duck confit sandwich with pomme frites (fries) was very tasty & was an ample portion. Smallish selection of interesting wines & beers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2014

Had a great meal, overall experience was very good. Service was very good as well. First time in El Paso downtown for dinner. I had the duck it was fantastic, there were at least three other items on the menu that I wanted to try. Next time in El Paso, I will return!

It was a little loud, but not to bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 13, 2014

While the appetizers were delicious, two out of five diners did not like their food. One had a steak which tasted bad and was tough and the other had curry which was too watery. The two that ate duck confitte seemed to enjoy their food. I may return sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 9, 2014

My partner and I recently had a lovely dinner at Pot Au Feu. Atmosphere was quiet and attractive, service was friendly, and the food was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 7, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a twenty minute drive to downtown on a weekday evening for dinner at Pot au Fue. The parking was easy and the restaurant was sparcely occupiate. We were emmidiately greeted, seated and courtesy attended. Our appetizer, my wife's soup and salad and my duck entree were absolutely excellent. The desert was delicious and our wine selection was perfect. We will definitely return on the weekend with friends and take advantage once more of the weekday dinning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 28, 2014

The food here is amazing. We have gone a couple times now and every dish is very good. they have a nice list of import beers and a decent wine selection. I am partial to Italian wines so I was pleased to find some favorites on the menu.

the only down side I have about this place is the noise level. it is VERY loud and even on a small two top table we had difficulty hearing each other all the time. that could easily be fixed with some carpet runners or better yet some fabric loosely draped on the ceiling to help absorb some of the noise. it isn't bad enough that I would stop going. just not a quiet romantic dinner kind of place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 14, 2014

We expected a lot more from the pot, in regards of both; service and the food. Fish and chips was fair for the price, lamb burgher on the other side we were not able to even eat half if it. Very overpowering flavors that make it un-enjoyable. We wanted to like this place but unfortunately we will not. Maybe for a drink but not for food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 13, 2014

The place is nicely decorated, the food is awesome, they could improve the service but overall they were nice and attentive. Great for couples and groups. The food is worth the price, it's delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2014

This was my first time there. I loved the historic feel of the restaurant. The server was attentive, explaining drink specials and what they didn't have. I was disappointed that they didn't have my top 2 choices: the pot au feu (not ready for another 45 minutes) and duck. I ordered the salmon and gnocchi. It was very good! My wife and friends had a combo of burgers, sandwiches, and entrees. Each of them loved their dish, and all of is were happy to say we would go back. The apple cheescake we had for dessert was amazing. Definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2014

A rare very good french restaurant in El Paso Texas. A friend recommended this restaurant and we went right away since there are not many options for french food in our hometown. We ordered the duck (excellent) and the beef burgundy (very good but there were not enough veggies to go with it as we are used to). The wine (a Malbec regular $27) was discounted 25% to $21 due to happy hour so we loved it. We ordered the wings for appetizer (also discounted!) and loved them even though the style was probably not french (chinese?). In summary, we recommend you try this restaurant if you are craving french food.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.