Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Post Brewing Company & GoodBird Kitchen

4.4
71 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Kid-friendly

Similar Restaurants

About

The Post Brewing Company & Goodbird Kitchen in Boulder, Colorado is a craft brewery and restaurant that serves gourmet updates on classic bar food. The brewery has won numerous awards for its beers and the kitchen serves dishes made with fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. The atmosphere at The Post Brewing Company & Goodbird Kitchen is relaxed and casual.

The Post Brewing Company & Goodbird Kitchen serves lunch and dinner, as well as happy hour menus. Starters include deviled eggs, warm pimento goat cheese and chicken liver pate. There is also a famous bucket of fried chicken to share. Larger plates include hand-carved roast beef and Mississippi catfish.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Brewery, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm (Lunch)
4:00pm-10:30pm (Dinner)

Sunday 9:00am-2:30pm (Brunch)
4:00pm-10:00pm (Dinner)

Monday through Friday Happy Hour 4pm-6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(303) 593-2066
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brett Smith
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South Public Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Large convenient lot attached to The Post just for your use! Should the lot be full, there are public lots very close. Please help us respect our neighbors and community by not parking in front of houses.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 71 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 3, 2016

Best fried chicken of my life. If you haven't been here, you have to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 1, 2016

They do not accept Open Table reservations! After I made a reservation a week ago I was greeted by the hostess who told me that they do not accept Open Table reservations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Great fried chicken and a minimum of 4-5 beers on tap that are excellent. It's easy to order food but always a tough decision on beer.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Won't be going back it is overrated and it was pretty last year and it is not as good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2016

Fried chicken was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a reservation and got seated out in the heat. Disappointed by seating after making reservation. Cannot tolerate the heat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food. Great time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2016

We were celebrating my sisters birthday and had a very nice visit and the food was very good as well. The chicken is always great there! The gal (I don't remember her name) serving us did an excellent job.
The noise level could be toned down a bit if at all possible as it is difficult to carry on a conversation. I know this is a difficult task being it is a brewery.
But all in all, we had a good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2016

I like The Post, it's a great location, a good building, service is always good. The southern style menu items are fine, but the quantity, and presentation leave something to be desired.

I had the MISSISSIPPI CATFISH with a side of slaw, it arrived, a single fried catfish on one side of the plate, a small cup of slaw, and a lonely set of pickled vegetables. It was all edible, put small, and poorly presented.

I don't expect Egon Ronay or Michelin starred presentation, but a little more Gordon Ramsay would be good. It won't put me off returning, but does remind me that in a small market, you only have to be good enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2016

Really nice, but very spiced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2016

Deeee-lish!! We go here specially the UNREAL fried chicken....the recipie was designed with an alternative gluten-free flour just for the flavor profile, and is the best this southern gal has had. Even the cream ir brown gravy is gf!! Amazing, crispy, juicy, better than any colonel. And if gf isnt you, thats just the chicken.... everything there we have tried is amazing. love the coleslaw, ribs and mashers. YUM. Friendly service, our last dinner was served in less than 10min. Great place....make a reservation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2016

One of our favorite places.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Good vittles and decent enough beer. Just too pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2016

Great fried chicken, but the beers leave a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

The fried chicken and waffles was not served hot- or even warm- and the chicken was dry- the drinks were very good- service friendly and good for a busy night
Would like to try it again to see if food is better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

i get hungry for good fried chicken. so i come to the post for fried chicken the best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great Mother's Day brunch at the Post. Service was above average for them and food was good as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2016

Must try the deviled eggs. Tasty chicken too. Oh, yes, great place to sample award winning beers. Very kid friendly. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2016

We ate at the Post at an early brunch time, 9:30 am, when it was uncrowded and thus fairly quiet, so I can't comment on the noise level or ambiance at busier periods of the day/week. I've only been there the one time, so I also can't comment on any food items except brunch. We thought the brunch food was delicious, and our eggs were still very hot when they arrived at the table. My husband tried a special, sausage bread pudding topped with eggs, which he thought sounded weird but decided to take a leap of faith on the server's recommendation—and he loved it. I had a fried-chicken Benedict, also delicious, though so large I could only eat half of it. I recommend brunch at the Post!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2016

I was a bit too loud at first, but it settled down but still had great energy. Food was really good and the beer was great too. We will be going back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Simple food done well

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2016

The food has gone down hill. Can't believe how much they charge for the drinks and the size is ridiculously smaller!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Best chicken, biscuits and coleslaw. A+ Beer. Took Erie residents who had never heard of The Post! We all loved it and will be back. Interested in their brewing classes and special Beer Pairing dinners.
Bucket of chicken plenty for five people!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2016

I've dined at the Post a couple times in the past 6 months. I have heard a lot of positive hype since it opened and was very open to having a great experience. Really, everything they do there is amazing...except the food. Great location, great service, beautiful atmosphere and great beer. Its just that the food is not what I would consider "foodie" level. Its over-buttered, over-creamed, over-greased and I just do not believe they are sourcing high quality ingredients. In fact, you would think a place like this would make everything in-house. Not the case. They are not too different than your standard chain restaurant who buys pre-made items from Sysco or the like. The menu is very limited too. There are plenty of restaurant options in the immediate area where you can have a much better meal, especially for the price. Expand that scope to the Front Range and there is simply no reason to go to the Post.

Sorry guys. I really want to like you. In fact my company has dropped almost $500 over the course of two meals but that won't be happening anymore. You guys really need to step-up your food game in this market. I wouldn't think it would be too hard. Chef specials, seasonal menu, make everything in-house. You can do it!

That said, I'll definitely think of y'all if I'm meeting someone for a drink. You got that part nailed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant is superb to meet your comfort food desires and needs. Flavors are good and varied. Moscow mules are refreshing. Haven't tried the house brewed beer yet. The fried chicken is the staple of food choices, but everything is good! Love the option of small and large side plates. The shredded Brussel-sprouts are delicious. Desserts are also whimsy and fun. The service staff is amazing!! They are friendly, nice and funny. Must try this fantastic place in Lafayette, CO. So yummy!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2016

The Post offers a wide selection of great tasting micro brews to suit just about everyone's desires. I've had the chicken dishes (fried, "hot", & rotisserie), as well as the pork huevos and chile relleno brunch items. The staff is knowledgeable, attentive, and genuinely friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2016

Great microbrew beers. Friendly staff. A very relaxed atmosphere that is a bit loud but somehow that seems right. The food is excellent for a bar restaurant.

The only problem we have is the parking is inadequate and sometimes we have to park down the street.

Otherwise, this is one of our favorite kick-back places to have dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2016

The fried chicken is my favorite.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 5, 2016

The waiter was way less than average. I would have loved to have a second drink, but he never came by. We ordered dessert and waited 20 minutes to get it, while the dessert chef was doing nothing because the waiter never turned in our order (we were sitting in the booth by th edoor and could watch the dessert chef. Had to ask twice for our biscuits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was excellent. We were there to celebrate my daughter - in - laws birthday. Even though we had a reservation we still waited 30 minutes. Everyone loved the deviled egg appetizer as well as the chicken and potato fritters. The entree's, side dishes and desserts were loved! I had the Hot Chicken and it was so good. We all had the green chile and macaroni and cheese for our side. The gluten free chocolate pie was the best! My grandson has peanut allergies and it was so nice not to worry about him eating something with peanuts!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2016

We waited 12 minutes at our table before we saw a waiter (no water or anything). Finally we asked a helpful waiter (who I will requesting there's a next time) and he told our waitress. After that it was okay, but they got our order wrong and no one seemed to know how to fix it (bring the right dish!). Also seems strange that dishes don't come with a side. I get they're trying to be "different", but it really just ends up being expensive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2016

We had family from out of town and wanted to take them to someplace local and fun. We found it! The service was exceptional. The food was what you'd expect from a brew pub, but with an interesting twist. My father, who is hard to please, said the fried catfish was the best he's ever had. We would have loved to try the deserts, but were too full. The biscuits were wonderful. I'm glad we had reservations. We were there at 5:30 on a Wed and by the time we left, the place was packed. Will go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2016

Our server was attentive and answered all our questions. Was very charming and friendly.
Would like to see some more variety on Menu. In two visits have tried everything. Love the the beer. Love the buffaloe wings and blue cheese, but could we have carrot and celery sticks for crunch and dipping?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2016

This was the third time we've been to The Post, and it has yet to disappoint! The seasonal sides that rotate weekly are my favorite! The food, the beer, the service, it's all just so fantastic! We can't wait to try out the patio this summer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

I've been to The Post three times now. Every time has been great. The fried chicken, what can I say, crispy outside, delicious inside. My only complaint is that the amazing brussel sprouts we had haven't been available since the first time we went.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2016

The beer selection, the food, and the exceptional service made a family get together of 10 adults VERY enjoyable. It's very comfortable and is recommended highly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2016

Everyone loved their entree's and sides. And of course the margarita was great! Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2016

We had brunch recently and everything was great, except the two people that ordered the chicken and waffles did not care for the chicken at all. They felt it was dry and rather tasteless. That said, everyone else loved their food and the drinks and beer were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Good neighborhood watering hole, particularly popular with the 25 to 50 crowd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2016

Food was to die for. Fried chicken of the chain husband had chicken fried steak a Saturday night special so delicious. Biscuits with honey butter scrumptious. Wanted to get dessert but totally no room left. Next time and there will be a next time. Oh yeah and beer real good to.

Report
Helpful
1
2