About The Post Brewing Company & GoodBird Kitchen

105 W. Emma Street
Lafayette, CO 80026
View Larger Map

The Post Brewing Company brews beers that are gosh darn delicious, memorable, and something you will want to put in your mouth repeatedly. Bryan Selders, Brewmaster, has purposefully designed these beers to pair perfectly with your meal. The GoodBird Kitchen, run by Chef Brett Smith, serves you delicious comfort food cooked with the love of your grandma and the skill of passionately trained chefs that is meant to be shared like a family supper.

Pull up a chair, order some vittles and get after it!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Brewery, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm (Lunch)
4:00pm-10:30pm (Dinner)

Sunday 9:00am-2:30pm (Brunch)
4:00pm-10:00pm (Dinner)

Monday through Friday Happy Hour 4pm-6pm

Cross Street:
South Public Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 593-2066

Website:
http://postbrewing.com/

Parking Details:
Large convenient lot attached to The Post just for your use! Should the lot be full, there are public lots very close. Please help us respect our neighbors and community by not parking in front of houses.

Executive Chef:
Brett Smith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Post Brewing Company & GoodBird Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Boulder Area
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (28)
See All
kid-friendly (24)
fit for foodies (24)
vibrant bar scene (19)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (15)
special occasion (8)
late-night find (3)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Deeee-lish!! We go here specially the UN ...

Dined 3 days ago

Deeee-lish!! We go here specially the UNREAL fried chicken....the recipie was designed with an alternative gluten-free flour just for the flavor profile, and is the best this southern gal has had. Even the cream ir brown gravy is gf!! Amazing, crispy, juicy, better than any colonel. And if gf isnt you, thats just the chicken.... everything there we have tried is amazing. love the coleslaw, ribs and mashers. YUM. Friendly service, our last dinner was served in less than 10min. Great place....make a reservation!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places.

Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite places.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good vittles and decent enough beer. Ju ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good vittles and decent enough beer. Just too pricey.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great fried chicken, but the beers leave ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great fried chicken, but the beers leave a lot to be desired.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Pretty good

Dined on May 8, 2016

The fried chicken and waffles was not served hot- or even warm- and the chicken was dry- the drinks were very good- service friendly and good for a busy night Would like to try it again to see if food is better

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

i get hungry for good fried chicken. so ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

i get hungry for good fried chicken. so i come to the post for fried chicken the best.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Had a great Mother's Day brunch at the P ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great Mother's Day brunch at the Post. Service was above average for them and food was good as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Deviled Eggs

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Must try the deviled eggs. Tasty chicken too. Oh, yes, great place to sample award winning beers. Very kid friendly. Will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A great place for brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We ate at the Post at an early brunch time, 9:30 am, when it was uncrowded and thus fairly quiet, so I can't comment on the noise level or ambiance at busier periods of the day/week. I've only been there the one time, so I also can't comment on any food items except brunch. We thought the brunch food was delicious, and our eggs were still very hot when they arrived at the table. My husband tried a special, sausage bread pudding topped with eggs, which he thought sounded weird but decided to take a leap of faith on the server's recommendation—and he loved it. I had a fried-chicken Benedict, also delicious, though so large I could only eat half of it. I recommend brunch at the Post!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

I was a bit too loud at first, but it se ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was a bit too loud at first, but it settled down but still had great energy. Food was really good and the beer was great too. We will be going back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service4

Simple food done well

Dined on April 8, 2016

Simple food done well

food1
ambience3
service2

The food has gone down hill. Can't belie ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The food has gone down hill. Can't believe how much they charge for the drinks and the size is ridiculously smaller!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best fried chicken, biscuits and coleslaw. A+ Beer

Dined on April 3, 2016

Best chicken, biscuits and coleslaw. A+ Beer. Took Erie residents who had never heard of The Post! We all loved it and will be back. Interested in their brewing classes and special Beer Pairing dinners. Bucket of chicken plenty for five people!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Mediocre Food at best, Great Beer and Ambiance

Dined on April 2, 2016

I've dined at the Post a couple times in the past 6 months. I have heard a lot of positive hype since it opened and was very open to having a great experience. Really, everything they do there is amazing...except the food. Great location, great service, beautiful atmosphere and great beer. Its just that the food is not what I would consider "foodie" level. Its over-buttered, over-creamed, over-greased and I just do not believe they are sourcing high quality ingredients. In fact, you would think a place like this would make everything in-house. Not the case. They are not too different than your standard chain restaurant who buys pre-made items from Sysco or the like. The menu is very limited too. There are plenty of restaurant options in the immediate area where you can have a much better meal, especially for the price. Expand that scope to the Front Range and there is simply no reason to go to the Post. Sorry guys. I really want to like you. In fact my company has dropped almost $500 over the course of two meals but that won't be happening anymore. You guys really need to step-up your food game in this market. I wouldn't think it would be too hard. Chef specials, seasonal menu, make everything in-house. You can do it! That said, I'll definitely think of y'all if I'm meeting someone for a drink. You got that part nailed!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant is superb to meet your c ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant is superb to meet your comfort food desires and needs. Flavors are good and varied. Moscow mules are refreshing. Haven't tried the house brewed beer yet. The fried chicken is the staple of food choices, but everything is good! Love the option of small and large side plates. The shredded Brussel-sprouts are delicious. Desserts are also whimsy and fun. The service staff is amazing!! They are friendly, nice and funny. Must try this fantastic place in Lafayette, CO. So yummy!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent spot for fine brews, food, and service.

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Post offers a wide selection of great tasting micro brews to suit just about everyone's desires. I've had the chicken dishes (fried, "hot", & rotisserie), as well as the pork huevos and chile relleno brunch items. The staff is knowledgeable, attentive, and genuinely friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Post is fun

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Great microbrew beers. Friendly staff. A very relaxed atmosphere that is a bit loud but somehow that seems right. The food is excellent for a bar restaurant. The only problem we have is the parking is inadequate and sometimes we have to park down the street. Otherwise, this is one of our favorite kick-back places to have dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The fried chicken is my favorite.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The fried chicken is my favorite.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Waiter

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waiter was way less than average. I would have loved to have a second drink, but he never came by. We ordered dessert and waited 20 minutes to get it, while the dessert chef was doing nothing because the waiter never turned in our order (we were sitting in the booth by th edoor and could watch the dessert chef. Had to ask twice for our biscuits.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reed gave us outstanding service!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was excellent. We were there to celebrate my daughter - in - laws birthday. Even though we had a reservation we still waited 30 minutes. Everyone loved the deviled egg appetizer as well as the chicken and potato fritters. The entree's, side dishes and desserts were loved! I had the Hot Chicken and it was so good. We all had the green chile and macaroni and cheese for our side. The gluten free chocolate pie was the best! My grandson has peanut allergies and it was so nice not to worry about him eating something with peanuts!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, but poor service. Not worth it.

Dined on February 19, 2016

We waited 12 minutes at our table before we saw a waiter (no water or anything). Finally we asked a helpful waiter (who I will requesting there's a next time) and he told our waitress. After that it was okay, but they got our order wrong and no one seemed to know how to fix it (bring the right dish!). Also seems strange that dishes don't come with a side. I get they're trying to be "different", but it really just ends up being expensive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Spot

Dined on February 18, 2016

We had family from out of town and wanted to take them to someplace local and fun. We found it! The service was exceptional. The food was what you'd expect from a brew pub, but with an interesting twist. My father, who is hard to please, said the fried catfish was the best he's ever had. We would have loved to try the deserts, but were too full. The biscuits were wonderful. I'm glad we had reservations. We were there at 5:30 on a Wed and by the time we left, the place was packed. Will go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Fun Place

Dined on February 5, 2016

Our server was attentive and answered all our questions. Was very charming and friendly. Would like to see some more variety on Menu. In two visits have tried everything. Love the the beer. Love the buffaloe wings and blue cheese, but could we have carrot and celery sticks for crunch and dipping?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the third time we've been to Th ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was the third time we've been to The Post, and it has yet to disappoint! The seasonal sides that rotate weekly are my favorite! The food, the beer, the service, it's all just so fantastic! We can't wait to try out the patio this summer!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fried chicken ever!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

I've been to The Post three times now. Every time has been great. The fried chicken, what can I say, crispy outside, delicious inside. My only complaint is that the amazing brussel sprouts we had haven't been available since the first time we went.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

Dined on January 29, 2016

The beer selection, the food, and the exceptional service made a family get together of 10 adults VERY enjoyable. It's very comfortable and is recommended highly!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Excellent quality of food!

Dined on January 20, 2016

Everyone loved their entree's and sides. And of course the margarita was great! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, but disappointed in the chicken....

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had brunch recently and everything was great, except the two people that ordered the chicken and waffles did not care for the chicken at all. They felt it was dry and rather tasteless. That said, everyone else loved their food and the drinks and beer were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

energetic

Dined on January 17, 2016

Good neighborhood watering hole, particularly popular with the 25 to 50 crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried Chicken Supurb

Dined on January 10, 2016

Food was to die for. Fried chicken of the chain husband had chicken fried steak a Saturday night special so delicious. Biscuits with honey butter scrumptious. Wanted to get dessert but totally no room left. Next time and there will be a next time. Oh yeah and beer real good to.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Comfort food and good beer in a fun setting

Dined on January 9, 2016

We've been here a few times and have always enjoyed our meal. This visit did not disappoint. The restaurant was busy as usual, but staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. My wife is gluten-free and we both had the chicken which was excellent. Slaw was just ok. So many restaurants in Boulder County now offer craft beers, and The Post does it right with a great variety of tasty brews including a couple guest taps to add to the local flavor. Usually we come with a group, but this visit just my wife and I. We had a good time and will be back again soon.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummy, but busy. Make reservations!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Always worth the drive when we're craving fried chicken (chicken & waffles-yum!). A few sides for dinner is great too. Plates don't come w/ sides--it's family style. So order a plate of chicken, a couple biscuits and sides, then share and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great chicken and interesting sides

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

Another good dinner at The Post. The chicken and waffles is awesome. Creamed cabbage is my favorite of the side dishes, but I like that there are unique options on the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Calling ahead for reservations was kind of a joke

Dined on January 3, 2016

I don't see what good it is to call ahead and get reservations if 1) you still have to wait 15 minutes and 2) they give you the worst table in the house. We sat at a tiny table next to the bar, where the heater was pouring down on us, making us sweat while we ate! Our server did not seem to care either.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

What a great place! Fun ambiance, reall ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

What a great place! Fun ambiance, really, really good food and excellent brew.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot chicken Cold beer

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We loved the Post from the moment we stepped in the door...best restaurant fried chicken I have tasted in a long time...also great beer and a wonderful wait staff who are very attuned to their customers needs.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Katy776

Dined on December 27, 2015

WOW!! What a glorious experience in every way. There are not adequate words to describe the food! The main dishes, the side dishes and the desserts. Each one was distinctive in flavor and seasoning. Very pleasantly surprising for a neighborhood restaurant. It was interesting to see beers matched to each main dish. Because of medication I no longer drink. My Arnold Palmer was delicious. All members of my party were very impressed

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beer, Chicken, RedZone

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

What more could you want? We ate in the tap room which is 21+ and had a great time on a Sunday afternoon. I had been craving fried chicken for a month and this place did not disappoint. Good beer selection and NFL RedZone on the tv. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Sub-par beer and underwhelming food. Pass.

Dined on December 23, 2015

The beer was below average. Not sure if it was a water quality issue or ingredients, but there was nothing to rave about beer wise. The food was overpriced, and of the four plates ordered, none were exceptional, and 3 of the 4 weren't even average. Would not recommend to a friend, and will not return for dinner.

food5
ambience4
service3

Ooooh the Post.

Dined on December 11, 2015

I love the Post. Seriously. Your fried chicken? Ah-mazing. Your drinks? Delicious. Hostesses? Not so much. I've been to the Post several times, and each time, the hostesses are gossiping, oblivious, or giving the "genuine" smile. It really rubs me the wrong way when they are the first people I see walking in, and set the mood for my dining experience. They also told me when I called in that "The Post doesn't accept reservations." Hmm... that's odd... considering you're on Open Table, and I placed a reservation? What? Thankfully, the servers are always on point, and I come back for the food, but your service? Needs working on.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.