About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30 Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchsacramento.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Fried Green Tomatoes
Simple Spice
Bbq Pork Benedict
Pineapple Ginger Upside Down Cake
Shrimp Po' Boy
Beignets
Porch Seasoned Popcorn
Steak Sandwich
Fab Five Cocktail
BBQ Pork Sandwich
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy
Biscuit And Jam
Cheesy Grits
Trio of Homemade Ice Cream
Spicy Popcorn
Chicken Pot Pie
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Bayou Burger
Chocolate Brownie Bread Pudding
Pumkin Spiced Cheesecake
Pork Belly Poboy
Pepper Jack Macaroni And Cheese
Sactowne Hot Brown Sandwich
Banana & Butterscotch Pudding
Pork And Potato Tamale
Rocky Jr Chicken Wing
Cajun Chips & Salsa
Cheeseburger
Manhattan
Black Bottom Creme Brulee
Fresh Herb Fries
Irish Parfait
Home Made Ice Cream Sampler
Skillet Mac And Cheese
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Brisket Stroganoff
Sweet Potato Pie With Buttermilk Ice Cream
Shrimp and Grits
Grilled Brie With Garlic Bread And Jam
Porch Burger
Olive Tapenade
Biscuits And Brisket Gravy
Aunt Sassy Cake
Smores Jar
Fried Chicken Po'boy
Banana. Pudding
Crawfish Purloo
Smoked Trout Panini
Tuscaloosa Fried Green Tomatoes
Grilled Brie
Hoppin John
Porch Fried Chicken
Sweet Tea
Porch Salad
Porch B.O.D ( Burger Of The Day)
Pork Belly & Grits
Crab Cakes
Banana Cream Pie
Biscuits & Eggs
Turkey Hash And Eggs
Roasted Onion & Butternut Squash Puree
Iced tea
The Famous Skillet Cookie
Love Me Ginger Cocktail
Riesling Wine
fried chicken
Muffuletta and Crostini
Candied Yams
Peach Tea Crème Brûlée
Macaroni and Cheese
Mac and Cheese
BBQ Brisket Sandwich
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Mac and Cheese Fritters
Honey Hill
Buttermilk Fried Free Range Chicken
5 Point Ranch Flat Iron Steak With Bacon Bleu Cheese Fritters And Roasted Tomato Slaw
Muffaletta
Ginger Snap Julep
buttermilk fried chicken
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Mimosa
Red velvet brownie
Herb Fries
Stuffed Pork Chops
Green In Heart
Southern BLT (w/ Fried Green Tomatoes)
One Burnt Orange
Poppy Seed-Almond Muffin
Fried Chicken And Mac & Cheese
Crawffish Purloo
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cookie
frito pie
Stuffed Sweet Potatoe
Whiskey BBQ Pork Ribs
Braised Short Ribs
blackened trout w/shrimp etouffe
Shrimp Po Boy
Chicken Fried Steak
Beef Brisket And Biscuit

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

fit for foodies (67)
neighborhood gem (52)
great for brunch (46)
See All
special occasion (42)
great for lunch (35)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (32)
kid-friendly (14)
romantic (13)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my birthday, and my husband, my m ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my birthday, and my husband, my mother and I, were treated like royalty. I recommend this to anyone for special occasions or even a night out. They even gave me a special printed menu with my name and the date, as a momento. The food was excellent, it even gave us a little taste New Orleans. The server couldn't have been more accommodating, with our special dietary needs. I thought the food was a little pricey, until I discovered there was ample enough left for another delightful indulgence, the next day...or a midnight romp!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZINGLY GOOD

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

AMAZINGLY GOOD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious . Would appreciate kn ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious . Would appreciate knowing how big the dinner plates are ahead of time. Waitress tried to keep us informed about so many things that we felt remembering a take home bag was too hard to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service! The ambiance is great and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service! The ambiance is great and the decor is beautiful. We are visiting from Seattle, I opened open table to see what was close and we chose Porch. The reviews were right, it's good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They such good care of us. My mom is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They such good care of us. My mom is handicapped so they gave us a great table to accommodate her. It was my birthday and the menu was printed especially for me wishing me a happy birthday! So soecial!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was overall happy with my meal--the fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was overall happy with my meal--the fried green tomatoes were delicious, thick and crunchy, but still light. The biscuit egg and potato breakfast was perfectly cooked. However...my waitress (apparently new) did not write down my order and then came back ten or so minutes later to ask what I had ordered. I was also disappointed with the quality of the mimosa--watery and blah. Not once during my meal was I asked if I wanted a second mimosa, or something else to drink. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Although some tasty, some not, the drink ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Although some tasty, some not, the drinks were pretty expensive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a new place for brun ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a new place for brunch that everyone in our group would like. The Porch was perfect!! Great menu selection, fun food and drinks. Definitely coming back!!

Service was awesome - fun server who interacted with our group perfectly. Accommodated our request for multiple tickets without hesitation. Food was served hot and just as described!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here at The Porch is excellent. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food here at The Porch is excellent. There was a good balance of flavors in my Shrimp and Grits. We had the appetizer of corn bread which was amazing. The restaurant is a little noisy but the food and service (Nick was great!) outweighs the noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I like the menu and the libations. Favor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I like the menu and the libations. Favorite item is the fried okra and fried green tomatoes. Service is good but could be better as drinks were not flowing regular. (Water).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Service is always amazing! Debbie is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Service is always amazing! Debbie is so much fun! We tried some new drinks and they were strong and tasty. We always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, but a bit pricey for brunch. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food, but a bit pricey for brunch. Overall it was good and I would come back, but not often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I frequent The Porch as often as possibl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I frequent The Porch as often as possible. The food is OUTSTANDING. On this particular occasion the service was extremely poor. Our table had to ask several of the wait staff, who were more than happy to oblige our requests for drinks, location of our food, location of our server, and an oddity of an under cooked dessert that was merrily reheated and not returned to our table for approximently 20 minutes. I even asked if we could have the lovely waitress we had just the weekend before if she could be our waitress.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was excellent. I would ma ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was excellent. I would make a reservation though because it fills up quickly espescially brunch. This a farm to fork restaurant the menu changes daily. The servings are big and my family really like their meals. We sat out on the porch which was nice but the view is an apartment We will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for Fathers' Day because it has ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for Fathers' Day because it has my husband's favorite fried chicken of all the restaurants in the area. Half of it always goes home. I ordered the fried green tomatoes which comes with a hard-boiled egg and bacon strip. Servings of everything tend to be on the generous side and I'm not a big eater. Both were good. In general, low-country Southern cuisine food choices are good, although heavy on the fried/spicy/salty food if that's not your preference. Prices tend to be on the high-moderate side, partly because of the large servings. Would rather have choices of smaller servings because many of the dishes wouldn't do well as leftovers. Good draft beer choices. Good service. Nice choice when we're looking for something a little different.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating Father's day and my ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating Father's day and my husband was on a special diet which the staff totally accomodated his health needs. We will definitely go back there.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved sitting on the porch! The crab ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved sitting on the porch! The crab eggs benedict was to die for. It was also nice to see some vegan options, albeit the vegan sour cream was a bit odd. Hopefully one day you will make grits using butter instead of lard for us non-pork eaters.

Overall, it was an exceptional experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely dinner at The Porch to c ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at The Porch to celebrate our friend's birthday. They called me the day before to ask if it was for an occasion and asked for the birthday girl's name. We were so surprised to see a birthday greeting for her on our menus when we arrived. It was a very sweet gesture. All the food and drink was delicious! We ordered the Spring in Sac punch bowl which was very refreshing. The cornbread and cajun fried beets were amazing and we loved our Shrimp and Grits and BBQ Pork Belly. I would definitely come back to this restaurant and highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious spinach salad with grilled shr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious spinach salad with grilled shrimp. Shared a mac n cheese and grilled green tomatoes, which were good. A nice dining experience outdoors. Server brought a chipped bottle of wine which she refused to serve. An overall nice dinner, what made it nice was that the four of us could talk and be heard outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plenty of outdoor seating. Great food!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Plenty of outdoor seating. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grits and goodness

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love this place. Came for the first time for a Sunday morning brunch and it was so good. Service was attentive and friendly. No complaints!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loud Food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

God and service was great. However, I won't be coming back anytime soon as this establishment is noisier than our school lunchroom and my friend and I were having to talk real loud in order to ensure heard. Put up some wall baffles or something.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The fried chicken was amazing! I also lo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The fried chicken was amazing! I also loved the fried green tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Extra Effort on our Extra Special Day

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Porch went above and beyond on my daughters graduation. They surprised us with custom menus with a congratulations on the day. The food was excellent, especially the skillet cornbread and pulled pork sandwich. We also enjoyed the Blueberry Lemondade and Ginger Beer from River City Brewery. Everyone enjoyed the food and celebration made special by the staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A town jewel, the porch has simply amaze ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

A town jewel, the porch has simply amazed me. Best southern food I've had in a long time outside of my kitchen. First time I took my boyfriend for his birthday and we fell in love. We live an hour away and always seem to make a this our weekly ritual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Southern Hospitality

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The Porch offers upscale, modernized southern food. Excellent fried chicken, Gouda grits, and other various treats. Their cocktails are to die for! The servers are friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is classy yet rustic. Overall a fantastic establishment.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the biscuits and gravy, though ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I enjoyed the biscuits and gravy, though I could've been drenched in the yummy goodness! The fruit tray is GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Mid Town Delight

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This was my first time to this restaurant - my vegan friend chose it. We were greeted by our delightful server Shelly who was very helpful in navigating the menu. She provided excellent service throughout the meal. She was also very humorous and entertaining. Her assistant Nick was eager, kind, and attentive; they were a great team. The decor is beautiful and tasteful.

The only disappointment is the wine list. There are few options and none to my liking. They have a huge list of specialty cocktails so you won't be disappointed with the offerings. I reviewed the wine list on line before our meal so came prepared with my own wine from home.

The food was well prepared and eye pleasing. Shelly invited us to return for brunch the next day. Although that time did not work for me, I know I'll be returning soon and I know who I'll request for my server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, Jeremy our waiter was fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was great, Jeremy our waiter was fantastic!! Ambience nice..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the wait

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

had a party of 10 which I made reservations for and was even called and confirmed the day of, so they knew we were coming yet there was confusion over seating, they had two tables next to each other as opposed to one long table. I spoke with the host regarding and again to a wait staffer who tried to give away one of the tables - not awesome, but okay. We had 3 children dining with us, which was why we made reservations so they could eat at a reasonable time, yet we weren't served our meal until an hour and a half after we were seated. At another point we waited more than 20 minutes for drinks. Another large party inside was blamed, yet if you know you have multiple large parties coming in, staff for it. It was beyond ridiculous!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Must do for a great value for home spun ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Must do for a great value for home spun southern food. Service great and friendly and the BT , Craig, very good mixologist.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I had my 25th birthday dinner there with a group of 6. It was great service, perfect ambiance, and wonderful food. Everyone loved everything and the personalized menu was a great touch. Thank you again!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not like the breading on the fried ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I did not like the breading on the fried green tomatoes. Beignets were too cake like. Not the delicate ones you get in New Orleans.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The porch

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great and the cocktails were amazing. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

rscherle

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and bar were great but our table was in a isle that seemed more like a walk way then dining area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good biscuits and homemade jam were jamm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good biscuits and homemade jam were jamming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Very good food and service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a family group, 4 generations, ce ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a family group, 4 generations, celebrating my graduation from City College, my daughter's engagement, and my dad's birthday. The service was exceptional and the food was delicious! My 8-month-old grandson ate the grits off my husband's plate and when asked if we could get a little for him the waiter brought him his own little portion along with a tiny espresso spoon to feed him with. We felt very well cared for and had a lovely time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southern hospitality

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was a great combo of texture and sauce thatcomplimented each other.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful meatloaf! The vegan meatballs ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful meatloaf! The vegan meatballs are good and very filling. Our vegan chocolate cake and ice cream was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.