About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30 Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchsacramento.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento
Beignets
Fried Green Tomatoes
Simple Spice
Bbq Pork Benedict
Pineapple Ginger Upside Down Cake
Shrimp Po' Boy
Porch Seasoned Popcorn
Steak Sandwich
Fab Five Cocktail
BBQ Pork Sandwich
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy
Biscuit And Jam
Cheesy Grits
Trio of Homemade Ice Cream
Spicy Popcorn
Chicken Pot Pie
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Chocolate Brownie Bread Pudding
Pumkin Spiced Cheesecake
Bayou Burger
Pork Belly Poboy
Cheeseburger
Manhattan
Black Bottom Creme Brulee
Fresh Herb Fries
Irish Parfait
Skillet Mac And Cheese
Home Made Ice Cream Sampler
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Brisket Stroganoff
Sweet Potato Pie With Buttermilk Ice Cream
Shrimp and Grits
Grilled Brie With Garlic Bread And Jam
Olive Tapenade
Porch Burger
Biscuits And Brisket Gravy
Aunt Sassy Cake
Banana. Pudding
Smores Jar
Fried Chicken Po'boy
Crawfish Purloo
Smoked Trout Panini
Tuscaloosa Fried Green Tomatoes
Grilled Brie
Hoppin John
Porch Fried Chicken
Porch Salad
Sweet Tea
Pork And Potato Tamale
Rocky Jr Chicken Wing
Porch B.O.D ( Burger Of The Day)
Pork Belly & Grits
Banana Cream Pie
Crab Cakes
Turkey Hash And Eggs
Biscuits & Eggs
Roasted Onion & Butternut Squash Puree
Iced tea
The Famous Skillet Cookie
Riesling Wine
Love Me Ginger Cocktail
fried chicken
Pepper Jack Macaroni And Cheese
Banana & Butterscotch Pudding
Muffuletta and Crostini
Candied Yams
Peach Tea Crème Brûlée
Macaroni and Cheese
Mac and Cheese
BBQ Brisket Sandwich
Sactowne Hot Brown Sandwich
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Mac and Cheese Fritters
5 Point Ranch Flat Iron Steak With Bacon Bleu Cheese Fritters And Roasted Tomato Slaw
Buttermilk Fried Free Range Chicken
Honey Hill
Ginger Snap Julep
Muffaletta
buttermilk fried chicken
Mimosa
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Red velvet brownie
Cajun Chips & Salsa
Herb Fries
Stuffed Pork Chops
Green In Heart
Southern BLT (w/ Fried Green Tomatoes)
One Burnt Orange
Poppy Seed-Almond Muffin
Fried Chicken And Mac & Cheese
Crawffish Purloo
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cookie
frito pie
Stuffed Sweet Potatoe
Whiskey BBQ Pork Ribs
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Fried Steak
Shrimp Po Boy
blackened trout w/shrimp etouffe

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Great for Brunch (43)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Kid-friendly (13)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Comfortable atmosphere...like you're on ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Comfortable atmosphere...like you're on a porch. We had excellent service. The menu changes everyday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I had dinner on a Saturday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I had dinner on a Saturday night. The restaurant wasn't that busy, which was a blessing. The bartenders suggested the vodka cucumber cocktail. Prefect for a warm summer night. We ordered the Fried Green tomatoes, Skillet Mac and cheese, shrimp & grits and the Buttermilk Fried chicken. All were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was awful. Muddled flavored, nothi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good was awful. Muddled flavored, nothing stood out from a flavor or spice component. I will never return ther for any reason.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was delicious, and our waitress wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious, and our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Price point was high ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good. Price point was high in comparison to similar food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Such good food! Dessert was to die for. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Such good food! Dessert was to die for. Great beer selection on tap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome !! Very attentive. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was awesome !! Very attentive.

I had the chicken and waffles and they were delicious beyond what I was expecting !! Will definitely be visiting again !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second time I had dined at ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the second time I had dined at The Porch and I didn't leave disappointed. The food is amazing and the customer service was great. They even went a step further by customizing the menu to say happy birthday to my sister! I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was super slow. Our young lady w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was super slow. Our young lady was not very attentive and talked too much about nothing instead of getting what we ordered. I will not stop coming because everything else is ALWAYS great but I will ask for another server if I see her again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

I was very pleased with everything at Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was very pleased with everything at The Porch. It was a birthday brunch and the birthday girl was pleased ...and was too.

Food was wonderful and we want to come back again.

We live in Yuba City so coming to Sac is a treat and this was for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. It came out quickly ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was great. It came out quickly, service was always on top of things and I never had an empty water glass. Very enjoyable dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions fit for sharing. Would de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Large portions fit for sharing. Would definitely return and try additional menu items.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

"Winner, winner chicken dinner!" Finger ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

"Winner, winner chicken dinner!" Finger lickin good. Complements to the chef on all our food. Wonderful selection of bourbons, whiskeys and beer. Great place to spend an evening with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a prize find. Incredible seasona ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a prize find. Incredible seasonal, local food cooked into low-country southern fare. So glad we found this place. Great beer, great meal, great services. There are plenty of options for vegetarians/vegans, too, and the fries are some of the best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has amazing food!!!! Love tha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place has amazing food!!!! Love that food..... The only concern is the service. The service is always slow...... Need to improve it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I write this review with some trepidatio ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I write this review with some trepidation. We have been to The Porch three times, the first two times were excellent, this time bordered on poor. The menu was woefully limited. No steaks, closest short ribs, no (swimming) fish, closest scallops. It was so sad we settled on spaghetti (really!!!) and squash nachos. The spaghetti was lackluster, lacking much flavor and the squash nachos were good but mostly chips and not near enough squash, come on. how much is squash! Service was good but not great. We noted it was Saturday night and several empty tables, we hope this formerly great restaurant returns. The meal was inexpensive, but that wasn't our goal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Outstanding food and great service but q ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food and great service but quite noisy. Good wine selection and pricing is average for Sacramento.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my birthday, and my husband, my m ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my birthday, and my husband, my mother and I, were treated like royalty. I recommend this to anyone for special occasions or even a night out. They even gave me a special printed menu with my name and the date, as a momento. The food was excellent, it even gave us a little taste New Orleans. The server couldn't have been more accommodating, with our special dietary needs. I thought the food was a little pricey, until I discovered there was ample enough left for another delightful indulgence, the next day...or a midnight romp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZINGLY GOOD

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

AMAZINGLY GOOD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious . Would appreciate kn ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious . Would appreciate knowing how big the dinner plates are ahead of time. Waitress tried to keep us informed about so many things that we felt remembering a take home bag was too hard to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service! The ambiance is great and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service! The ambiance is great and the decor is beautiful. We are visiting from Seattle, I opened open table to see what was close and we chose Porch. The reviews were right, it's good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They such good care of us. My mom is ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They such good care of us. My mom is handicapped so they gave us a great table to accommodate her. It was my birthday and the menu was printed especially for me wishing me a happy birthday! So soecial!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was overall happy with my meal--the fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was overall happy with my meal--the fried green tomatoes were delicious, thick and crunchy, but still light. The biscuit egg and potato breakfast was perfectly cooked. However...my waitress (apparently new) did not write down my order and then came back ten or so minutes later to ask what I had ordered. I was also disappointed with the quality of the mimosa--watery and blah. Not once during my meal was I asked if I wanted a second mimosa, or something else to drink. Disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Although some tasty, some not, the drink ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Although some tasty, some not, the drinks were pretty expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a new place for brun ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a new place for brunch that everyone in our group would like. The Porch was perfect!! Great menu selection, fun food and drinks. Definitely coming back!!

Service was awesome - fun server who interacted with our group perfectly. Accommodated our request for multiple tickets without hesitation. Food was served hot and just as described!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here at The Porch is excellent. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food here at The Porch is excellent. There was a good balance of flavors in my Shrimp and Grits. We had the appetizer of corn bread which was amazing. The restaurant is a little noisy but the food and service (Nick was great!) outweighs the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I like the menu and the libations. Favor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I like the menu and the libations. Favorite item is the fried okra and fried green tomatoes. Service is good but could be better as drinks were not flowing regular. (Water).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Service is always amazing! Debbie is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Service is always amazing! Debbie is so much fun! We tried some new drinks and they were strong and tasty. We always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, but a bit pricey for brunch. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food, but a bit pricey for brunch. Overall it was good and I would come back, but not often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I frequent The Porch as often as possibl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I frequent The Porch as often as possible. The food is OUTSTANDING. On this particular occasion the service was extremely poor. Our table had to ask several of the wait staff, who were more than happy to oblige our requests for drinks, location of our food, location of our server, and an oddity of an under cooked dessert that was merrily reheated and not returned to our table for approximently 20 minutes. I even asked if we could have the lovely waitress we had just the weekend before if she could be our waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was excellent. I would ma ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was excellent. I would make a reservation though because it fills up quickly espescially brunch. This a farm to fork restaurant the menu changes daily. The servings are big and my family really like their meals. We sat out on the porch which was nice but the view is an apartment We will go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for Fathers' Day because it has ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for Fathers' Day because it has my husband's favorite fried chicken of all the restaurants in the area. Half of it always goes home. I ordered the fried green tomatoes which comes with a hard-boiled egg and bacon strip. Servings of everything tend to be on the generous side and I'm not a big eater. Both were good. In general, low-country Southern cuisine food choices are good, although heavy on the fried/spicy/salty food if that's not your preference. Prices tend to be on the high-moderate side, partly because of the large servings. Would rather have choices of smaller servings because many of the dishes wouldn't do well as leftovers. Good draft beer choices. Good service. Nice choice when we're looking for something a little different.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating Father's day and my ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating Father's day and my husband was on a special diet which the staff totally accomodated his health needs. We will definitely go back there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved sitting on the porch! The crab ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved sitting on the porch! The crab eggs benedict was to die for. It was also nice to see some vegan options, albeit the vegan sour cream was a bit odd. Hopefully one day you will make grits using butter instead of lard for us non-pork eaters.

Overall, it was an exceptional experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely dinner at The Porch to c ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at The Porch to celebrate our friend's birthday. They called me the day before to ask if it was for an occasion and asked for the birthday girl's name. We were so surprised to see a birthday greeting for her on our menus when we arrived. It was a very sweet gesture. All the food and drink was delicious! We ordered the Spring in Sac punch bowl which was very refreshing. The cornbread and cajun fried beets were amazing and we loved our Shrimp and Grits and BBQ Pork Belly. I would definitely come back to this restaurant and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious spinach salad with grilled shr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious spinach salad with grilled shrimp. Shared a mac n cheese and grilled green tomatoes, which were good. A nice dining experience outdoors. Server brought a chipped bottle of wine which she refused to serve. An overall nice dinner, what made it nice was that the four of us could talk and be heard outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plenty of outdoor seating. Great food!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Plenty of outdoor seating. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grits and goodness

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love this place. Came for the first time for a Sunday morning brunch and it was so good. Service was attentive and friendly. No complaints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loud Food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

God and service was great. However, I won't be coming back anytime soon as this establishment is noisier than our school lunchroom and my friend and I were having to talk real loud in order to ensure heard. Put up some wall baffles or something.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The fried chicken was amazing! I also lo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The fried chicken was amazing! I also loved the fried green tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.