About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30 Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchsacramento.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (76)
great for brunch (66)
neighborhood gem (59)
See All
special occasion (52)
great for lunch (46)
good for groups (40)
great for outdoor dining (36)
hot spot (23)
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (17)
vibrant bar scene (13)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (7)
 (6)
 (3)
 (3)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, Jeremy our waiter was fa ...

Dined 2 days ago

Food was great, Jeremy our waiter was fantastic!! Ambience nice..

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Must do for a great value for home spun ...

Dined 5 days ago

Must do for a great value for home spun southern food. Service great and friendly and the BT , Craig, very good mixologist.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

I had my 25th birthday dinner there with a group of 6. It was great service, perfect ambiance, and wonderful food. Everyone loved everything and the personalized menu was a great touch. Thank you again!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I did not like the breading on the fried ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I did not like the breading on the fried green tomatoes. Beignets were too cake like. Not the delicate ones you get in New Orleans.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The porch

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great and the cocktails were amazing. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

rscherle

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and bar were great but our table was in a isle that seemed more like a walk way then dining area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2

Good biscuits and homemade jam were jamm ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good biscuits and homemade jam were jamming!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food and service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a family group, 4 generations, ce ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a family group, 4 generations, celebrating my graduation from City College, my daughter's engagement, and my dad's birthday. The service was exceptional and the food was delicious! My 8-month-old grandson ate the grits off my husband's plate and when asked if we could get a little for him the waiter brought him his own little portion along with a tiny espresso spoon to feed him with. We felt very well cared for and had a lovely time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Southern hospitality

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was a great combo of texture and sauce thatcomplimented each other.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meatloaf! The vegan meatballs ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful meatloaf! The vegan meatballs are good and very filling. Our vegan chocolate cake and ice cream was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed dining at The Porch because I ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I enjoyed dining at The Porch because I can eat with my friends and family while still being able to satisfy the vegan me. We first ate at the porch for our daughter's 19th birthday and they were wonderful - catered to her special day. The most recent time was lunch with my boss, whom I would be meeting for the first time after over 1 year. I recommended The Porch because I knew the ambiance would be comfortable (and comfortably spacious) enough for us, plus the food and beverages are great. I can't wait to get back to The Porch - maybe this time a romantic dinner with the [vegan] husband.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at The Porch in Mother's Day, wha ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate at The Porch in Mother's Day, what a wonderful restaurant! We order several items in the menu and everything was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is delicious as usual. Definitely n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is delicious as usual. Definitely not a quick meal, especially on a weekend night, it's more a laid back southern style easy off eating.

food4
ambience5
service5

Early Mother's Day dinner with family. W ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Early Mother's Day dinner with family. We started with Mac 'n Cheese and chicken wings. yum!! We are ribs, jumbo crab cakes and Porch BOD for dinner. We shared ice cream sampler and rhubarb/apricot cobbler for dessert. We loved every bring but was a little disappointed in cobbler as it was mainly filled with apricot. Otherwise ,great night and great food. Also, our waiter, Jeremy, was very attentive and helpful throughout our meal. One of our fave places!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and food!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Porch

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had a birthday brunch here with 8 people, thrilled to be seated on the porch where the noise level is much quieter. Catfish Benedict was so scrumptious, topped with avocado and a red pepper hollandaise that had just the right amount of heat. Beignets were tender and generously surrounded by fresh berries. The Southern Mary was a big hit with our group. Service was attentive and meals arrived piping hot. The only thing I missed was a latte as only brewed coffee is served. We've eaten at The Porch and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Almost Southern

Dined on April 30, 2016

As a southerner, born and raised, I would say this is a very California version of southern. $25 for two pieces of fried chicken is silly, and the food just doesn't make me feel like I'm at a southern restaurant. The food is very good, but lacks the traditional southern style it claims to be. Great, friendly service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrating our anniversary

Dined on April 27, 2016

We really enjoyed The Porch. We arrived early, and the manager brought us personalized Menus. The food was delicious and the portion large enough to bring the leftovers home. Service was excellent. What's not to like about The Porch?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot/large portions

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food and ambiance was wonderful. Our server was polite and on top of things

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Massive but tasty portions.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Massive but tasty portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't had shrimp & grits this delici ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I haven't had shrimp & grits this delicious since the last time I was in New Orleans. Outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Saturday Brunch with friends. Ver ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Lovely Saturday Brunch with friends. Very good food with the BOD (Burger of the Day) excellent. This is how a burger should taste. Though full for lunch we got seated right away after using Open Table for our reservation. Shelley our server was attentive and very helpful. Definitely a "Do-Over".

food4
ambience4
service5

I love this restaurant. I had the shrim ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

I love this restaurant. I had the shrimp po boy, which was delicious. Our waiter was excellent. It took a little bit of time for our waiter to take our order, but other than that, it was an excellent dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Unique food, service acceptable but food slow

Dined on April 10, 2016

Unique food and drinks. Service acceptable, but food delivery very slow. DOnt go here if you on a timeframe.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, good food. Nice staff all a ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great place, good food. Nice staff all around

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, our server was wonderful ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was great, our server was wonderful, however we were celebrating my husband's birthday and I had let the restaurant know both with the online reservation I booked and again when I was contacted over the phone to confirm my reservation that it was my husband's bday and gave his name to the hostess, but there was nothing said or done for him. No mention of his bday at all...I didn't want to say anything at the time being that my husband was sitting right there and i didn't want to make him feel uncomfortable. Food was good, our server was attentive however I would not expect to go back again for a celebration dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner with the family

Dined on April 10, 2016

I've eaten at "The Porch" before and that's why I came back. I now have been there for breakfast and dinner. Both were scrumptious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

I have been for brunch twice, I have yet ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been for brunch twice, I have yet to go for dinner. The food is great, but it is fairly expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing fine southern food...try the shr ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing fine southern food...try the shrimp po boy :) We we very surprised to see such a generous portion of chocolate cake! Our server was very thoughtful and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Night

Dined on April 1, 2016

It was our 6th wedding anniversary, but out 14th year together ❤️. We were great at check in with a happy anniversary! Service was great and the food was very tasty. We were so full there was no room for dessert 😩 Next time. We shall return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect! Best restaurant in Sac!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Always perfect! Best restaurant in Sac!

food2
ambience2
service4

Service was good but food was mediocre ( ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was good but food was mediocre (Brunch). For the price point, I will dine somewhere else next time.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Underwhelmed

Dined on March 27, 2016

After reviewing their menu I was so excited to try out "everything!" So I took my family for Easter brunch. We started with Fried Green Tomatoes. My first time and my last...they are so blah! I ordered biscuits with gravy, bacon and sunny side up eggs and roasted baby red potatoes. The bacon was tasty and the potatoes were cooked well. Those biscuits could have knocked out the hardest head in the Sacramento legislature...dense and hard. The eggs were the smallest yolks I've ever seen, plus the whites were crisp around the edges. The gravy was hard to describe for taste. It was poured over those hard, dense biscuits which could never have soaked in.I was finished after one bite of the biscuits. The rest of my family said they liked their meals and they took home half of their plates. Nobody was raving or commenting they couldn't wait to go back again. How sad. The concept is good and the menu descriptions are succulent, but the food is disappointing. The waiter was adorable, attentive and very good at communicating. Oh, by the way the coffee was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Porch Restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

The freshness of the food was amazing and the chefs did an excellent job in preparing it. I truly enjoyed my experience at The Porch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I would not recommend The Porch for brunch.

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I had brunch at The Porch. The biscuits and gravy had little flavor and poor texture. The grits and ham was also bland. The portions were large, but given the lack luster palate appeal, most of it went to waste. The dinner menu looks interesting and the bar menu also appealing. I will try The Porch for dinner and drinks, but won't return for the breakfast offerings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. We are vegan and appreciat ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great dinner. We are vegan and appreciate there always being a vegan option on the menu. Loved the vegan fritters. Ours favorite is the frito pie. As a suggestion so we wouldn't play hit or miss, consider having a rotating vegan option and one that is a standard maybe even just on weekend so we could have a little choice. We alway bring non-vegan friends but would come more often if little more choice. Just a thought.

food1
ambience2
service2

***If you are craving Chicken & Waffles ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

***If you are craving Chicken & Waffles head to Cafeteria 15L*** My friend and I went to The Porch for Brunch. The restaurant didn't seem busy. Half the tables were empty and I saw at least 3 servers. It took 10 minutes just for the server to acknowledge our table and take our beverage order. I ordered the Chicken & Waffles. It took an HOUR to get our food. My food was COLD! If the chicken is deep-fried/prepared per order, then how can the chicken possibly be dried-out and cold? What was disappointing, is when I made the server aware of the condition of my entree and asked for some heated syrup it didn't click for her to do something to make it right. I left 3/4 of my entree behind and she still didn't take notice. I've been to The Porch several times and had a wonderful dining experience. Sad to see that they have lost their desire to SURPRISE and DELIGHT. 😔

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing!!!!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Enjoyed an impromptu family brunch, that was simply AMAZING! We ordered begniettes, grits with shrimps, mac and cheese, grilled brie, cajun beets, waffle, and every single dish was excellent. Although the place was busy, we got our food quickly and the service was very good. Will definitely return for more soul food. Thank you for wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out first step onto the porch had a welc ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Out first step onto the porch had a welcoming feel. We were early so had a happy hour drink at the bar with pimento fritters, crisp, hot & delish! Our entres were perfect and my short rib meat loaf could not have been better. All the staff we're excellent from the bar tender to our server to the chef 's on the line who were very busy but congenital. It was a wonderful meal and evening!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.