About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30 Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchsacramento.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento
Beignets
Fried Green Tomatoes
Simple Spice
Bbq Pork Benedict
Pineapple Ginger Upside Down Cake
Shrimp Po' Boy
Porch Seasoned Popcorn
Steak Sandwich
Fab Five Cocktail
Biscuit And Jam
BBQ Pork Sandwich
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy
Cheesy Grits
Trio of Homemade Ice Cream
Spicy Popcorn
Chicken Pot Pie
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Chocolate Brownie Bread Pudding
Pumkin Spiced Cheesecake
Pork Belly Poboy
Cheeseburger
Manhattan
Black Bottom Creme Brulee
Fresh Herb Fries
Irish Parfait
Skillet Mac And Cheese
Home Made Ice Cream Sampler
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Brisket Stroganoff
Sweet Potato Pie With Buttermilk Ice Cream
Shrimp and Grits
Grilled Brie With Garlic Bread And Jam
Olive Tapenade
Porch Burger
Biscuits And Brisket Gravy
Aunt Sassy Cake
Banana. Pudding
Smores Jar
Fried Chicken Po'boy
Crawfish Purloo
Smoked Trout Panini
Tuscaloosa Fried Green Tomatoes
Grilled Brie
Hoppin John
Porch Fried Chicken
Porch Salad
Sweet Tea
Pork And Potato Tamale
Rocky Jr Chicken Wing
Porch B.O.D ( Burger Of The Day)
Pork Belly & Grits
Banana Cream Pie
Crab Cakes
Turkey Hash And Eggs
Biscuits & Eggs
Bayou Burger
Roasted Onion & Butternut Squash Puree
The Famous Skillet Cookie
Iced tea
Riesling Wine
Love Me Ginger Cocktail
fried chicken
Pepper Jack Macaroni And Cheese
Banana & Butterscotch Pudding
Muffuletta and Crostini
Candied Yams
Peach Tea Crème Brûlée
Macaroni and Cheese
Mac and Cheese
BBQ Brisket Sandwich
Sactowne Hot Brown Sandwich
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Mac and Cheese Fritters
5 Point Ranch Flat Iron Steak With Bacon Bleu Cheese Fritters And Roasted Tomato Slaw
Buttermilk Fried Free Range Chicken
Honey Hill
Ginger Snap Julep
Muffaletta
buttermilk fried chicken
Mimosa
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Red velvet brownie
Cajun Chips & Salsa
Herb Fries
Stuffed Pork Chops
Green In Heart
Southern BLT (w/ Fried Green Tomatoes)
One Burnt Orange
Poppy Seed-Almond Muffin
Fried Chicken And Mac & Cheese
Crawffish Purloo
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cookie
frito pie
Stuffed Sweet Potatoe
Whiskey BBQ Pork Ribs
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Fried Steak
Shrimp Po Boy
blackened trout w/shrimp etouffe

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (51)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Brunch (37)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Romantic and very peaceful environment g ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Romantic and very peaceful environment good for duo dates or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Family had a nice meal here on a Sund ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My Family had a nice meal here on a Sunday 2 mos. ago. This time, we went on a week night. Hardly anyone was there but we got seated in the main walk way, on the way to the kitchen instead of a more private side area. The food was very disappointing. 5 of us had appetizers, entrée and a dessert with drinks. The highlights were the Brie Plate and my daughter's hamburger and fruit around the plate. Every thing else didn't feel fresh. The Gumbos tasted old and was not heated up to the right temperature. Both biscuits came to the table pale and turned out to be doughy and undercooked in the center. The Honey butter was good. His meat loaf was clearly warmed up and was burnt on a corner. My fried chicken was good but the green bean where old and tough. Ice cream was a little bland but good enough. The crisp was not crisp on top -the whole top was soggy. Sadly the coffee wasn't even hot enough. By the time I added cream it was barely above room temp. My family gave their first meal here high marks but we were all very sad that it was so mediocre this time. The Kitchen really needs help.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

The service was above and beyond. The st ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was above and beyond. The staff was so gracious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Wonderful

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service and food. Wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really good fried chicken and excellent ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Really good fried chicken and excellent service made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and exceptional service. ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and exceptional service. Great Farm to Fork 3 course meal with excellent pairings. Must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food served by a knowledgable waite ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good food served by a knowledgable waiter.

Pleasurable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Really tasty southern inspired dishes. ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really tasty southern inspired dishes. We had brunch, and the biscuits (a base on many items) were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Porch is a great place to have Brunc ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The Porch is a great place to have Brunch at! My wife and I only come during brunch

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love, love, love this place! One of our ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love, love, love this place! One of our favorite places for brunch the food, staff etc is amazing:)

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peanut slaw was bland and the greasy fri ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Peanut slaw was bland and the greasy fried chicken had little taste as well. The biscuit was very good and the corn on the cob was good. Service was very very good. Won't go back too much of the menu seems fried.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Buttermilk fried chicken.......Wow!

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Buttermilk fried chicken.......Wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, good ambiance

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food, good ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was very attentive and made g ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive and made great recommendations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal! The fried chicken is ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding meal! The fried chicken is a must. I loved my Porch Linen cocktail as well - so refreshing.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Cajun/low country cuisine - don't ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great Cajun/low country cuisine - don't miss the bacon-infused Bourbon Bloody Marys!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was well prepared and tasty, very e ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was well prepared and tasty, very enjoyable. Service was slow and room was noisy , making conversation difficult. Poor ambience detracted from what might have been a delightful brunch.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

When making a reservation the host alway ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

When making a reservation the host always asks if this is for a special occasion. In this case, it was for a family friend's first visit to California. Since the restaurant prints their menus every day, they included a "welcome to Mike" on the top of the Menu. We sat in their private dining room area which was quiet and great for conversation for our group of 9. Our server Nick was first rate and provided excellent and attentive service throughout. Our guest Mike was given a royal welcome. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the portions are very generous. This was a return visit for me but a first visit for everyone else. The Porch made it a very special occasion indeed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit and we enjoy th ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was our third visit and we enjoy the freshness and variety of the foods. They were accommodating to our dietary needs. Never disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing..highly recommend. ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was amazing..highly recommend. South was my #1 for fried chicken but now #2!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and food to match. Interes ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and food to match. Interesting take on down home southern cuisine. Great atmosphere for almost any accassion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a beautiful presentation ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food with a beautiful presentation. Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Can't wait to try to the whiskeys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable atmosphere...like you're on ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Comfortable atmosphere...like you're on a porch. We had excellent service. The menu changes everyday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I had dinner on a Saturday ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My friend and I had dinner on a Saturday night. The restaurant wasn't that busy, which was a blessing. The bartenders suggested the vodka cucumber cocktail. Prefect for a warm summer night. We ordered the Fried Green tomatoes, Skillet Mac and cheese, shrimp & grits and the Buttermilk Fried chicken. All were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was awful. Muddled flavored, nothi ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good was awful. Muddled flavored, nothing stood out from a flavor or spice component. I will never return ther for any reason.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was delicious, and our waitress wa ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious, and our waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Price point was high ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good. Price point was high in comparison to similar food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Such good food! Dessert was to die for. ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Such good food! Dessert was to die for. Great beer selection on tap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome !! Very attentive. ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was awesome !! Very attentive.

I had the chicken and waffles and they were delicious beyond what I was expecting !! Will definitely be visiting again !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the second time I had dined at ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the second time I had dined at The Porch and I didn't leave disappointed. The food is amazing and the customer service was great. They even went a step further by customizing the menu to say happy birthday to my sister! I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was super slow. Our young lady w ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was super slow. Our young lady was not very attentive and talked too much about nothing instead of getting what we ordered. I will not stop coming because everything else is ALWAYS great but I will ask for another server if I see her again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

I was very pleased with everything at Th ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was very pleased with everything at The Porch. It was a birthday brunch and the birthday girl was pleased ...and was too.

Food was wonderful and we want to come back again.

We live in Yuba City so coming to Sac is a treat and this was for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. It came out quickly ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was great. It came out quickly, service was always on top of things and I never had an empty water glass. Very enjoyable dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions fit for sharing. Would de ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Large portions fit for sharing. Would definitely return and try additional menu items.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

"Winner, winner chicken dinner!" Finger ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

"Winner, winner chicken dinner!" Finger lickin good. Complements to the chef on all our food. Wonderful selection of bourbons, whiskeys and beer. Great place to spend an evening with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a prize find. Incredible seasona ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a prize find. Incredible seasonal, local food cooked into low-country southern fare. So glad we found this place. Great beer, great meal, great services. There are plenty of options for vegetarians/vegans, too, and the fries are some of the best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has amazing food!!!! Love tha ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place has amazing food!!!! Love that food..... The only concern is the service. The service is always slow...... Need to improve it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I write this review with some trepidatio ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I write this review with some trepidation. We have been to The Porch three times, the first two times were excellent, this time bordered on poor. The menu was woefully limited. No steaks, closest short ribs, no (swimming) fish, closest scallops. It was so sad we settled on spaghetti (really!!!) and squash nachos. The spaghetti was lackluster, lacking much flavor and the squash nachos were good but mostly chips and not near enough squash, come on. how much is squash! Service was good but not great. We noted it was Saturday night and several empty tables, we hope this formerly great restaurant returns. The meal was inexpensive, but that wasn't our goal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Outstanding food and great service but q ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food and great service but quite noisy. Good wine selection and pricing is average for Sacramento.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my birthday, and my husband, my m ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was my birthday, and my husband, my mother and I, were treated like royalty. I recommend this to anyone for special occasions or even a night out. They even gave me a special printed menu with my name and the date, as a momento. The food was excellent, it even gave us a little taste New Orleans. The server couldn't have been more accommodating, with our special dietary needs. I thought the food was a little pricey, until I discovered there was ample enough left for another delightful indulgence, the next day...or a midnight romp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.