Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Porch Kitchen and Bar

The Porch is the place to gather with friends and family to enjoy all that makes this island great. Located at The Beach House Resort, The Porch’s unique outdoor and indoor dining and bar areas highlight the fresh sensations of the Resort’s beachfront setting. Executive Chef Tim Nelson takes care of highlighting the fresh flavors of the region. The Porch menu is rooted in sustainable, artisanal and local ingredients fused together through the goodness of comfort food.

1 S Forest Beach Dr
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Southern, Soul food, American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: 11:00 am- 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm..

Cross Street:
Pope Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-2900

Website:
http://www.theporchhhi.com/

Entertainment:
The vibe at the Porch is driven by our guest and staff through our hand selected vinyl collection. Available to browse while waiting for your table or while enjoying a cocktail at the bar. Just grab a record and we'll put it on for ya! Live Music available nightly at our sister bar "The Tiki Hut" located just next door!

Parking Details:
Located at The Beach House, you can access the porch from South Forest Beach Drive and parking is available at The Beach House Hotel (Seasonally) and ALWAYS at the Coligny public beach parking.

Executive Chef:
Tim Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
Our Ocean room is our private dinning room and is located adjacent to our restaurant. It's perfect for private parties for up to 60 guests seated comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Sol Terrazas: (855) 289-9021

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Porch Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.1

ambience

3.4

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Waterfront (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
See All
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fireplace (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Did not expect The Porch to be a hotel restaurant. "The Porch" offers open air seating and poolside seating with limited shade.
The food was mediocre. Will not return, will not recommend. Definitely disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 3, 2017

When we arrived we were not allowed to park in the lot, rather had to park and walk across a 4 lane road which was the first impression that didn't sit well. Drinks are served in plastic cups which just feels cheap. The chicken and waffles were served over what tasted like Texas Pete sauce which was just terrible. The fish and chips had almost no flavor and the Mac and cheese balls tasted flavorless. The butter for the hush puppies was amazing. The only saving grace to this place was the waitress we had who was simply delightful. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

You can't even park there and it's open air dining since there are no outside walls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. With a reservation for 7 we knew we were a large party and expected service to be a bit slow. They assigned a waiter who told us he had recently moved to the US and had only been employed for 2 weeks. We placed drink and food orders. The drinks came out very slowly, we placed the second round immediately to make sure the wine arrived with the meal. Sadly, we waited for over 1 hour for our food to come out...very simple items...hamburgers and salads. We were very disappointed in the service. The food was not prepared as requested, however, we accepted the poor quality meal. We will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our food took a very long time to get to our table. That being said, it was 4th of July weekend. Other than that, the food was fine. A bit pricy, but what you can expect from a beachfront restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terrible food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had the brisket nachos and they were delicious !! One order is more than enough for two persons. Beer was very cold. Service was fast and friendly. Dined outside with views of the ocean and pool. Large crowd dining same time as us, and everyone seemed to enjoy.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

There were only 3 tables that were occupied inside. It took over a hour to get our food. That's difficult to swallow especially when you have three 6 year olds that are really hungry. When our food was finally brought out we were given an option for drink refills. Also we had no idea that there would be no air conditioning. When we made the reservation we were asked if we would like to sit inside or out. We chose inside since it was very hot and humid on this particular day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food quality was not good. Slow service. Will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great find. Good food at reasonable prices. And it was Margarita Monday--$5 margaritas. Fried chicken was yummy. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were slow to be seated even with a reservation, 7:15p. Our group decided to eat there because of the online menu, upon arriving most of those items were not offered. Took 20 mins to get water and to be recognized. The outdoor seating is nice, however it is next to the hotel's pool and there were kids running around some of the tables while others eat. We left because of the menu error, certainly won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Service was so slow but the meal made up for it. My mom and I split one of the benedicts (the one with the fried chicken) and it was so so good. The downside the wait for food and beverages. We sat down and waited 10 min for our server to approach us. When he finally did, I ordered coffee with baileys first and that took 10-15 minutes. Then we placed our order and still waited 40 min for the food. The place wasn't even packed so that's why I'm confused why the service was so awful. But we enjoyed the ambiance, breeze and meal, so we'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Super place to eat and end a day at the beach with friends! Only difficulty was parking, but not their fault. HH needs to resolve this.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

From the separate menu titled "Quick Bites," I ordered very delicious pulled pork bbq nachos. It was large enough to be a quick bite for 3-4 people Served in an 8" cast iron skillet, nachos on the bottom, pulled pork a couple of inches thick and a thick melted cheese cover, it was a couple of inches taller than the skillet in the center. Delicious, but I hardly made a dent in it. Cocktails were okay, but not as good as their descriptions. Love the open door seating inside coupled with outside seating. Everywhere has a view of the pool and/or ocean except maybe the tables behind the bar. Very cute place, and I would go back but find out the size of the "bite" before I order next time. Very nice servers, helpful, friendly. Fun place!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

LOUD! We had reservations but couldn't sit outside to see the ocean. Our server started by saying the kitchen was 20 minutes behind once we ordered. Not to worry, the drinks took nearly 15 minutes to get and then we could order food.
The fish and chips came and only had 3 small pieces of fish. We asked for tartare sauce and after 10 minutes we were given mayonnaise.
We couldn't get out of there fast enough but then we remembered you have to walk out to the street, cross 4 lanes of traffic before walking to your car in a public parking lot.
For a restaurant who's name is 'Porch' you would expect it to be nice and have tablecloths. If you like loud ruckus crowds go there. Certainly if it's a special occasion go someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Visiting from Oklahoma and we were amazed on how friendly everyone was!!... we enjoyed it and the price was a little much for us (I'm a budgeter)... but I do recommend it and I will return .. 😊

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was really good, service wasn't the best, but we were told that they were in the middle of a staff switch and fell between the cracks.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fun atmosphere . Outside dining by by pool, oceanfront . Live music at bar. Food was average. But pork nacho appetizer seriously good ! Service slow but pleasant. Seemed to be moving at a beach pace!😃

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food took forever. Salads and meals all came out together. "That's the way it's done here." Woman next to us received a meal with nuts in it even though she had said explicitly no nuts as she has a nut allergy. There is outdoor seating but there's really no view of the water. Waitress was doing her first dinner but did not compensate for that with appropriate communication. Probably best only for families with little kids as the play area is helpful. Firepit was nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and friendly staff with awesome beach views

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was pretty good. Our appetizer came out at the same time as the rest of our food which was really annoying. We ended up not really eating it. The service was really slow. The location and view is really beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Atmosphere was wonderful! Beach / ocean view- great decor. Great for dinner with a view. Food was good but took a very long time to be served even though the restaurant was not crowded.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2015

This is a restaurant attached to a hotel looking over the pool. The food is not very good and pricy for what you get. I checked out their menu online before going and the 4 items that looked good were no longer on the menu. It was very loud even though there were not many people there. Our waters were not refilled until I asked which was a good while after the glasses became empty. I will not be going again. There are way better restaurants on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2015

I had to cancel the reservation and was getting an error through Open Table. Called more than ten times over two days -- morning, afternoon and evening -- with no answer and a disabled voicemail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2015

A Southern Kitchen is NOT poolside and next to the beach and attached to a hotel but apparently this one is. First we were served a corked glass of Red wine and a corona in a can with half a lime.
The menu was interesting but ambiance lacking so much and left a disturbing feeling in our stomachs that we paid for the beer and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2015

If you want to eat there from now until labor day, better get $40 ready for parking. Attendant called the manager to see if we can get into the place and park since we had a reservation for Memorial Day Sunday brunch. Was told a big fat: "NO". I understand $10 or even $20 for parking, but $40 to have brunch? Ridiculous. What's worse, the manager knows I go there often to unwind after a long days at work. Everytime I'm there, he says hi to all the patrons and rarely comes down and acknowledges my presence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Went here for mothers day brunch. The buffet brunch has a lot of varied selection, great seafood, mimosas, and omelettes to order. And great desserts. It was somewhat overpriced in my opinion, but it is a seafood brunch on the beach in a touristy location. Two of our party had ordered off of the menu, and it took a while for us to give our order and the food took quite a long time to come out. In addition, we had to wait quite a while for coffee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2015

The food was really good! We really enjoyed the loaded bricket fries...those are a must have!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2015

Waited about 5 minutes before a hostess showed up to seat us (and it was only half full). Had a 7:15 pm reservation for 3 people, food didn't come until 8:30 pm. Ordered salads without nuts and dairy but come out with those items on, didn't want to wait for another salad so just picked them out. The vibe is cool and the food was decent but don't expect quick service. It's at the back of a hotel at the pool so expect swimming kids, on the beach but no actual view because of a wood fence. All in all, I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2015

This was the one night we let our teenagers pick the restaurant. Bad decision. The beer chick was so salty you could't eat it (they did replace it with something else). Other food was very so so and portion size for the money left a lot to be desired. Too many other good choices on the island to go here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2015

Our server had a great personality and didn't rush us one bit even though we were the last table of the night. He had great recommendations on what to order, the pulled pork nachos and beer can chicken will definitely be enjoyed again sometime soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2015

This restaurant is partially indoor and partially outdoors. It is in the Beach House. There is not much seating inside the restaurant. There are more tables outside, weather permitting. The bar overlooks the swimming pool at the hotel and the beach is directly behind the pool. The food is prepared very unusually. Most of it was exploding with various flovors, spices, sauces and gravies. The corn bread appetizer with pimento cheese was phenomenal. It had pepper jelly over the pimento cheese which gave it a completely different flavor. There are unique choices ont he menu that you won't get everywhere like the warm beet, apple, and goatcheese salad. They take the usual Southern fare and add a twist to it. I thought it was a fun place to try. I liked the food, but if you put too many dishes together your stomach might start flipping from the flavors meshing together. They also have drink specials and you can just hang out at the bar if you choose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2014

The fried and beer can chickens were phenomenal. Some of the we've had.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on October 3, 2014

Loved the buttermilk fried chicken. The portion are very generous. Our server was super - efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. This retaurant is attached to a hotel so hard to find but glad we did!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2014

Mediocre food, slow service, allows cigars on patio, watered down cocktails...bad experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 23, 2014

The food was the best we had in Hilton Head! Southern charm with a contemporary twist. Our server, Paige, was great and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 23, 2014

The food was outstanding! Just know there is no indoor air conditioned seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2014

The chef, Tim came out to great us & was delightful. He let us know there is a discount for locals which we really appreciated.
Great fish, fresh food, lovely setting

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 15, 2014

I think my favorite meal of our recent trip to Hilton Head Island came courtesy of The Porch - Southern Kitchen & Bar. This relatively new restaurant sits ocean front as part of the Beach House complex, next to the Tiki Hut Barefoot Beach Bar. There are a couple of large tables inside as well as a handful of smaller ones, and large garage doors open to the spacious patio. Out on the patio, which sits next to a swimming pool, tables can be grouped together to accommodate parties of any size. The food I tasted at The Porch was all outstanding and it is served in one of the best atmospheres I have seen on the island. I look forward to making a return visit on our next trip to Hilton Head.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2014

We wanted typical southern food and found it terrible. Hush puppies were nearly burned, salads overdressed, grits fries tasteless, collards too creamy...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.