Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Porch Kitchen and Bar

The Porch is the place to gather with friends and family to enjoy all that makes this island great. Located at The Beach House Resort, The Porch’s unique outdoor and indoor dining and bar areas highlight the fresh sensations of the Resort’s beachfront setting. Executive Chef Tim Nelson takes care of highlighting the fresh flavors of the region. The Porch menu is rooted in sustainable, artisanal and local ingredients fused together through the goodness of comfort food.

1 S Forest Beach Dr
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Southern, Soul food, American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: 11:00 am- 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm..

Cross Street:
Pope Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-2900

Website:
http://www.theporchhhi.com/

Entertainment:
The vibe at the Porch is driven by our guest and staff through our hand selected vinyl collection. Available to browse while waiting for your table or while enjoying a cocktail at the bar. Just grab a record and we'll put it on for ya! Live Music available nightly at our sister bar "The Tiki Hut" located just next door!

Parking Details:
Located at The Beach House, you can access the porch from South Forest Beach Drive and parking is available at The Beach House Hotel (Seasonally) and ALWAYS at the Coligny public beach parking.

Executive Chef:
Tim Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
Our Ocean room is our private dinning room and is located adjacent to our restaurant. It's perfect for private parties for up to 60 guests seated comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Sol Terrazas: (855) 289-9021

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Porch Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
32 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Visiting from Oklahoma and we were amazed on how friendly everyone was!!... we enjoyed it and the price was a little much for us (I'm a budgeter)... but I do recommend it and I will return .. 😊

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was really good, service wasn't the best, but we were told that they were in the middle of a staff switch and fell between the cracks.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fun atmosphere . Outside dining by by pool, oceanfront . Live music at bar. Food was average. But pork nacho appetizer seriously good ! Service slow but pleasant. Seemed to be moving at a beach pace!😃

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food took forever. Salads and meals all came out together. "That's the way it's done here." Woman next to us received a meal with nuts in it even though she had said explicitly no nuts as she has a nut allergy. There is outdoor seating but there's really no view of the water. Waitress was doing her first dinner but did not compensate for that with appropriate communication. Probably best only for families with little kids as the play area is helpful. Firepit was nice.

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and friendly staff with awesome beach views

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was pretty good. Our appetizer came out at the same time as the rest of our food which was really annoying. We ended up not really eating it. The service was really slow. The location and view is really beautiful.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Atmosphere was wonderful! Beach / ocean view- great decor. Great for dinner with a view. Food was good but took a very long time to be served even though the restaurant was not crowded.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2015

This is a restaurant attached to a hotel looking over the pool. The food is not very good and pricy for what you get. I checked out their menu online before going and the 4 items that looked good were no longer on the menu. It was very loud even though there were not many people there. Our waters were not refilled until I asked which was a good while after the glasses became empty. I will not be going again. There are way better restaurants on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2015

I had to cancel the reservation and was getting an error through Open Table. Called more than ten times over two days -- morning, afternoon and evening -- with no answer and a disabled voicemail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2015

A Southern Kitchen is NOT poolside and next to the beach and attached to a hotel but apparently this one is. First we were served a corked glass of Red wine and a corona in a can with half a lime.
The menu was interesting but ambiance lacking so much and left a disturbing feeling in our stomachs that we paid for the beer and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2015

If you want to eat there from now until labor day, better get $40 ready for parking. Attendant called the manager to see if we can get into the place and park since we had a reservation for Memorial Day Sunday brunch. Was told a big fat: "NO". I understand $10 or even $20 for parking, but $40 to have brunch? Ridiculous. What's worse, the manager knows I go there often to unwind after a long days at work. Everytime I'm there, he says hi to all the patrons and rarely comes down and acknowledges my presence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Went here for mothers day brunch. The buffet brunch has a lot of varied selection, great seafood, mimosas, and omelettes to order. And great desserts. It was somewhat overpriced in my opinion, but it is a seafood brunch on the beach in a touristy location. Two of our party had ordered off of the menu, and it took a while for us to give our order and the food took quite a long time to come out. In addition, we had to wait quite a while for coffee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2015

The food was really good! We really enjoyed the loaded bricket fries...those are a must have!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2015

Waited about 5 minutes before a hostess showed up to seat us (and it was only half full). Had a 7:15 pm reservation for 3 people, food didn't come until 8:30 pm. Ordered salads without nuts and dairy but come out with those items on, didn't want to wait for another salad so just picked them out. The vibe is cool and the food was decent but don't expect quick service. It's at the back of a hotel at the pool so expect swimming kids, on the beach but no actual view because of a wood fence. All in all, I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2015

This was the one night we let our teenagers pick the restaurant. Bad decision. The beer chick was so salty you could't eat it (they did replace it with something else). Other food was very so so and portion size for the money left a lot to be desired. Too many other good choices on the island to go here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2015

Our server had a great personality and didn't rush us one bit even though we were the last table of the night. He had great recommendations on what to order, the pulled pork nachos and beer can chicken will definitely be enjoyed again sometime soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2015

This restaurant is partially indoor and partially outdoors. It is in the Beach House. There is not much seating inside the restaurant. There are more tables outside, weather permitting. The bar overlooks the swimming pool at the hotel and the beach is directly behind the pool. The food is prepared very unusually. Most of it was exploding with various flovors, spices, sauces and gravies. The corn bread appetizer with pimento cheese was phenomenal. It had pepper jelly over the pimento cheese which gave it a completely different flavor. There are unique choices ont he menu that you won't get everywhere like the warm beet, apple, and goatcheese salad. They take the usual Southern fare and add a twist to it. I thought it was a fun place to try. I liked the food, but if you put too many dishes together your stomach might start flipping from the flavors meshing together. They also have drink specials and you can just hang out at the bar if you choose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2014

The fried and beer can chickens were phenomenal. Some of the we've had.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on October 3, 2014

Loved the buttermilk fried chicken. The portion are very generous. Our server was super - efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. This retaurant is attached to a hotel so hard to find but glad we did!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2014

Mediocre food, slow service, allows cigars on patio, watered down cocktails...bad experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2014

The food was the best we had in Hilton Head! Southern charm with a contemporary twist. Our server, Paige, was great and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 23, 2014

The food was outstanding! Just know there is no indoor air conditioned seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2014

The chef, Tim came out to great us & was delightful. He let us know there is a discount for locals which we really appreciated.
Great fish, fresh food, lovely setting

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 15, 2014

I think my favorite meal of our recent trip to Hilton Head Island came courtesy of The Porch - Southern Kitchen & Bar. This relatively new restaurant sits ocean front as part of the Beach House complex, next to the Tiki Hut Barefoot Beach Bar. There are a couple of large tables inside as well as a handful of smaller ones, and large garage doors open to the spacious patio. Out on the patio, which sits next to a swimming pool, tables can be grouped together to accommodate parties of any size. The food I tasted at The Porch was all outstanding and it is served in one of the best atmospheres I have seen on the island. I look forward to making a return visit on our next trip to Hilton Head.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2014

We wanted typical southern food and found it terrible. Hush puppies were nearly burned, salads overdressed, grits fries tasteless, collards too creamy...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2014

unfortunately we and a terrible experience at the porch. service was terrible, food was bad and slow to come up - couldn't wait to get out of there. kids food was burned and our food was unappetizing as there were nearby plates with flies and brown salad on most of our dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2014

We sat outside and loved the ambiance and decor of this place. The southern menu and presentation was great. We had wonderful service and the shrimp and grits were delicious!! Great new find on the island for us!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 3, 2014

Nice location near beach. Normally I am not a fan of hotel restaurants and I should have stuck with my gut and gone elsewhere. Food was hit or miss. My chicken dish had one leg, a thigh and what appeared to be part of a breast. Did not arrive hot and was somewhat bland. Fried chicken dish was decent. Fish dish was fair. Would not recommend if looking for a special meal based on prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2014

Wasn't expecting much from a hotel restaurant, but this was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2014

The food was excellent and service was great. The restaurant is on the beach with both indoor and outdoor seating. We chose indoors yet the flies were still a problem making it difficult to truly enjoy our meal. Would recommend with caveats.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2014

The Porch Southern Kitchen & Bar was by far the best meal we had on the Island all week!
The décor gave a cool, hip, but comfortable and inviting feel. We sat a banquet that gave us a view of the ocean/pool area.
The staff was extremely friendly and a visit to our table by the Chef confirmed that we made the right choice.
The menu isn’t extensive – but it doesn’t need to be, as there is enough variety and it wasn’t overwhelming. Everything was fabulous!
Over the years, we seem to go to the same restaurants each time we visit HHI. We are so glad that we branched out a bit this year and found this gem! It will certainly become one of our traditions while on the island!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 25, 2014

Excellent food, Allison was great! Been going to Hilton Head for a couple decades each year now and would definitely recommend this place. Fried green tomatoes were delicious and drink specials are awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.