Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

The Porch Kitchen and Bar

3.3
62 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Seasonal
The Porch is the place to gather with friends and family to enjoy all that makes this island great. Located at The Beach House Resort, The Porch’s unique outdoor and indoor dining and bar areas highlight the fresh sensations of the Resort’s beachfront setting. Executive Chef Tim Nelson takes care of highlighting the fresh flavors of the region. The Porch menu is rooted in sustainable, artisanal and local ingredients fused together through the goodness of comfort food.
Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Soul food, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am.
Lunch: Saturday-Sunday 11:00 am- 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm..
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 785-2900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tim Nelson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our Ocean room is our private dinning room and is located adjacent to our restaurant. It's perfect for private parties for up to 60 guests seated comfortably.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sol Terrazas: (855) 289-9021
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pope Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located at The Beach House, you can access the porch from South Forest Beach Drive and parking is available at The Beach House Hotel (Seasonally) and ALWAYS at the Coligny public beach parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The vibe at the Porch is driven by our guest and staff through our hand selected vinyl collection. Available to browse while waiting for your table or while enjoying a cocktail at the bar. Just grab a record and we'll put it on for ya! Live Music available nightly at our sister bar "The Tiki Hut" located just next door!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 62 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.3based on recent ratings
3.3
food
3.4
service
3.5
ambience
3.1
value
Noise · Moderate
33% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This place was great!!! The waitress actually made the stay wonderful!! One of the best waitresses we have had in years!
She made my husband, my daughter and my stay wonderful!!!
The food was great both for dinner and esp the front toast for breakfast ♥️

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Extremely disappointed! Cheap margarita served in a plastic cup! We’re not at the pool! Both of our burgers were completely wrong. We were comped some cornbread and jelly while they were “re-made”. They came back out and my wife’s still wasn’t correct, but we were tired and hungry. Fries were cold - they didn’t even have the courtesy to throw out the $1 worth of fries and make a fresh batch. Waitstaff was somewhat attentive at times but more interested in chatting amongst themselves. We were then charged full price for our sub-par meal. We had planned to take a picture for our house celebration with the pool and beach in the background, but definitely did not want any memories of this meal. We left as soon as we could flag someone down to run my credit card.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We arrived on time for our reservation. No one at hostess stand. 3 different servers asked “how many” and said “just a minute”. Too loud to even talk without shouting. After 20 minutes of being essentially ignored, we left. VERY POOR in all aspects

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We made a reservation and the restaurant was unable to seat us. There was no hostess on duty, nor was there a food runner or someone to bus tables. The restaurant was extremely understaffed which resulted in us waiting two hours for our food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was among the few restaurants available taking reservations for lunch on Easter Sunday. Maybe it’s a bad sign when you take what is left at short notice. I will say the service was great, but we had a few disappointments which I will list here. The reservation was made days before. We kindly received a call the evening before from someone telling us that they would not be serving a special Easter brunch, just the regular menu. We appreciated that since some people had assumed this would be the case. We were fine with just lunch.
1- Our first concern was that we were not allowed to park on the premises but had to park in the Coligny Plaza lot across the street. Not a huge deal, but if you are a restaurant who takes reservations, perhaps there should be some allowance for guests.

Hostess and server were very happy to accommodate seating requests of outdoor or in. Our server was delightful and positive the whole meal.

2- We were unhappy 2 of the meals. I had fish tacos. The small amount of grouper was overly seasoned to the point all I tasted was salt and the seasoning. The corn tortillas were not heated properly prior to serving I believe because they fell apart after first bite (corn tortillas should be warmed in pan first before filling and they change consistency).

3- The second meal we took huge issue with was my son’s popcorn shrimp (on Kids menu). I asked him how he liked it and he said he wished the shrimp were bigger and that there was less breading. He offered us some, and upon biting into several, we realized there was NO shrimp inside any of these bites. They might as well have been hush puppies. We then tore open each of the remaining and the same...we mentioned this to our server and she comped the meal. Thankful for that, but it’s false advertising. We asked to speak to the chef if he wasn’t aware of the problem, but it was discouraged.

Not worth a spot on Open Table in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Restaurant was just fair. The lobster roll was bland and needed more flavor. I asked for salt and pepper, but it was never brought to our table. We ordered a hamburger to be cooked medium...it came out raw. By the time we realized this no server ever came back to our table until it was time to pay the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We enjoyed dinner here. The service was friendly and the environment was very relaxing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

They had a live band on Sunday. It was so loud I couldn't carry on a conversation. Service was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was good but they forgot our appetizer. Drinks were well priced and they kept them full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We enjoyed dining here. We had to wait a bit to long to be seated considering we had reservations but it was Christmas night. Server was exceptional and made solid suggestions and our food was delicious. Serving and seating six isn’t easy and we had a booster seat and Porch did okay. It’s a neat place with a big fire on the beach and plenty of outdoor seating. We were inside as it was chilly. I’d go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 11, 2017

We dined at the Porch for dinner. The restaurant was short staffed, but overall timing was pretty good. The staff that was there worked their butts off to make sure patrons were being served, and were quite apologetic. The brisket was spectacular, sides were good. We would not recommend for someone with Celiac Disease.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant is inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel, so if it's lot is full, you have to go across the street to park. This is easier said than done, as you must go through a traffic circle then make a left across a busy street to get to the lot, then walk back to the hotel. Food was average. Service was friendly, but slow. The waitress didn't come by to offer another mimosa for a long time and the food took even longer.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 31, 2017

Nice view, decent food, service was okay. A little pricey for the quality of food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food and good service. The cocktails were on point and delicious. The portions were a little small but overall very good. Would go back for another meal of food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Did not expect The Porch to be a hotel restaurant. "The Porch" offers open air seating and poolside seating with limited shade.
The food was mediocre. Will not return, will not recommend. Definitely disappointed!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 3, 2017

When we arrived we were not allowed to park in the lot, rather had to park and walk across a 4 lane road which was the first impression that didn't sit well. Drinks are served in plastic cups which just feels cheap. The chicken and waffles were served over what tasted like Texas Pete sauce which was just terrible. The fish and chips had almost no flavor and the Mac and cheese balls tasted flavorless. The butter for the hush puppies was amazing. The only saving grace to this place was the waitress we had who was simply delightful. I would not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 3, 2017

You can't even park there and it's open air dining since there are no outside walls

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. With a reservation for 7 we knew we were a large party and expected service to be a bit slow. They assigned a waiter who told us he had recently moved to the US and had only been employed for 2 weeks. We placed drink and food orders. The drinks came out very slowly, we placed the second round immediately to make sure the wine arrived with the meal. Sadly, we waited for over 1 hour for our food to come out...very simple items...hamburgers and salads. We were very disappointed in the service. The food was not prepared as requested, however, we accepted the poor quality meal. We will not return to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Our food took a very long time to get to our table. That being said, it was 4th of July weekend. Other than that, the food was fine. A bit pricy, but what you can expect from a beachfront restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Terrible food & service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2017

We had the brisket nachos and they were delicious !! One order is more than enough for two persons. Beer was very cold. Service was fast and friendly. Dined outside with views of the ocean and pool. Large crowd dining same time as us, and everyone seemed to enjoy.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 22, 2017

There were only 3 tables that were occupied inside. It took over a hour to get our food. That's difficult to swallow especially when you have three 6 year olds that are really hungry. When our food was finally brought out we were given an option for drink refills. Also we had no idea that there would be no air conditioning. When we made the reservation we were asked if we would like to sit inside or out. We chose inside since it was very hot and humid on this particular day.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Food quality was not good. Slow service. Will not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2017

Great find. Good food at reasonable prices. And it was Margarita Monday--$5 margaritas. Fried chicken was yummy. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2017

We were slow to be seated even with a reservation, 7:15p. Our group decided to eat there because of the online menu, upon arriving most of those items were not offered. Took 20 mins to get water and to be recognized. The outdoor seating is nice, however it is next to the hotel's pool and there were kids running around some of the tables while others eat. We left because of the menu error, certainly won't go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2017

Service was so slow but the meal made up for it. My mom and I split one of the benedicts (the one with the fried chicken) and it was so so good. The downside the wait for food and beverages. We sat down and waited 10 min for our server to approach us. When he finally did, I ordered coffee with baileys first and that took 10-15 minutes. Then we placed our order and still waited 40 min for the food. The place wasn't even packed so that's why I'm confused why the service was so awful. But we enjoyed the ambiance, breeze and meal, so we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Super place to eat and end a day at the beach with friends! Only difficulty was parking, but not their fault. HH needs to resolve this.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

From the separate menu titled "Quick Bites," I ordered very delicious pulled pork bbq nachos. It was large enough to be a quick bite for 3-4 people Served in an 8" cast iron skillet, nachos on the bottom, pulled pork a couple of inches thick and a thick melted cheese cover, it was a couple of inches taller than the skillet in the center. Delicious, but I hardly made a dent in it. Cocktails were okay, but not as good as their descriptions. Love the open door seating inside coupled with outside seating. Everywhere has a view of the pool and/or ocean except maybe the tables behind the bar. Very cute place, and I would go back but find out the size of the "bite" before I order next time. Very nice servers, helpful, friendly. Fun place!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2017

LOUD! We had reservations but couldn't sit outside to see the ocean. Our server started by saying the kitchen was 20 minutes behind once we ordered. Not to worry, the drinks took nearly 15 minutes to get and then we could order food.
The fish and chips came and only had 3 small pieces of fish. We asked for tartare sauce and after 10 minutes we were given mayonnaise.
We couldn't get out of there fast enough but then we remembered you have to walk out to the street, cross 4 lanes of traffic before walking to your car in a public parking lot.
For a restaurant who's name is 'Porch' you would expect it to be nice and have tablecloths. If you like loud ruckus crowds go there. Certainly if it's a special occasion go someplace else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Visiting from Oklahoma and we were amazed on how friendly everyone was!!... we enjoyed it and the price was a little much for us (I'm a budgeter)... but I do recommend it and I will return .. 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was really good, service wasn't the best, but we were told that they were in the middle of a staff switch and fell between the cracks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Fun atmosphere . Outside dining by by pool, oceanfront . Live music at bar. Food was average. But pork nacho appetizer seriously good ! Service slow but pleasant. Seemed to be moving at a beach pace!😃

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2017

Food took forever. Salads and meals all came out together. "That's the way it's done here." Woman next to us received a meal with nuts in it even though she had said explicitly no nuts as she has a nut allergy. There is outdoor seating but there's really no view of the water. Waitress was doing her first dinner but did not compensate for that with appropriate communication. Probably best only for families with little kids as the play area is helpful. Firepit was nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and friendly staff with awesome beach views

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was pretty good. Our appetizer came out at the same time as the rest of our food which was really annoying. We ended up not really eating it. The service was really slow. The location and view is really beautiful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2017

Atmosphere was wonderful! Beach / ocean view- great decor. Great for dinner with a view. Food was good but took a very long time to be served even though the restaurant was not crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2017

Great location, great food and service, among the best for beachfront dining, anytime.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 30, 2015

This is a restaurant attached to a hotel looking over the pool. The food is not very good and pricy for what you get. I checked out their menu online before going and the 4 items that looked good were no longer on the menu. It was very loud even though there were not many people there. Our waters were not refilled until I asked which was a good while after the glasses became empty. I will not be going again. There are way better restaurants on the island.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2015

I had to cancel the reservation and was getting an error through Open Table. Called more than ten times over two days -- morning, afternoon and evening -- with no answer and a disabled voicemail.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 1, 2015

A Southern Kitchen is NOT poolside and next to the beach and attached to a hotel but apparently this one is. First we were served a corked glass of Red wine and a corona in a can with half a lime.
The menu was interesting but ambiance lacking so much and left a disturbing feeling in our stomachs that we paid for the beer and left.

Report
Helpful
1
2