About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth
the plimoth

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
2 More
Best Food
Denver
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

Fit for Foodies (92)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Romantic (28)
Hot Spot (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved our experience! They were accommod ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Loved our experience! They were accommodating from start to finish, including us being 20 minutes late for our reservation. We ended up sitting at the bar with bartender Johnny at our service, and he was a great introduction to the city of Denver. Not only does he know his stuff but he was willing to give us tips on the neighborhood, the city, etc., and really made us feel welcome.

Try the chicken and the lamb, and the entire dessert menu looked great, though we didn't partake. We're only here til Wednesday, but hoping we can squeeze in another visit before we head back to the east coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal from beginning to end almost br ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The meal from beginning to end almost brought me to tears I was so delighted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plimoth is on of my favorite places in t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plimoth is on of my favorite places in this city. The staff and food are always on point.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food - go!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service and food - go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always exceptional! I LOVE taking peo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always exceptional! I LOVE taking people who have never been because we never leave disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local food, great knowledge of where foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Local food, great knowledge of where food comes from, great knowledge of drinks, great cocktails, great staff , good timing all with a very comfortable welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place and the food the first ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Loved this place and the food the first few times, but this time it was so loud we couldn't hear our guest or enjoy or meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was amazing. Our party had the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was amazing. Our party had the salmon, rabbit and cracklin chicken -- all were excellent. The chef pairs some really interesting and delicious herbs, vegetables and proteins for a meal that we continually said -- wow, that really tastes great! The wine list could use a few more less expensive by-the-glass options. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Once again the Plimoth has landed! Crazy ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Once again the Plimoth has landed! Crazy great appy of hummus, spices and baby flowers , balanced and complex pasta and the best chicken you can have-crispy breast and drumette so moist on the inside with a spectacular ginger carrot purée. Mitch is denvers best waiter and he orchestrates a perfect meal. Hurry while the weather allows patio dining. Wine list is phenomenal and fairly priced. Kudos!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was blown away with my first dining ex ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was blown away with my first dining experience at plimoth. The menu is amazing with a lot of creative dishes. My server was very knowledgeable about the various offerings and helped to guide my selections. I was thoroughly impressed with all 3 courses. I can not wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to The Plimoth. The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love to go to The Plimoth.

The food is delicious and the service is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Vegetarian Nage was absolutely perfe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Vegetarian Nage was absolutely perfect. All our food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food rocks!!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food rocks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Only complaint was the noise level. Also ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Only complaint was the noise level. Also, it would be nice to be able to reserve a table outside!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was atrocious. Couldn't find ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was atrocious. Couldn't find the waitress a couple times. Apps took 30 minutes. Entrees took an hour and fifteen minutes. The cuisine attempts were also a bit ambitious for this crew.

Next....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We were greeted with glasses of sparklin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were greeted with glasses of sparkling wine for our anniversary. The food was excellent and the service was amazing. I highly recommend the plimoth

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food. Innovative, creative, c ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful food. Innovative, creative, comforting and satisfying. Vibrant, deep flavors. Menu changes frequently; limited to five or so starters; five or so mains...each very different from one another, and each incredibly good. Expert, knowledgeable and low key service. My new Denver favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Left the restaurant hungry. The size of ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Left the restaurant hungry. The size of the entree is just not acceptable. A very mediocre pork belly with 5 tiny gnochi. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Really excited to have another nice dini ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Really excited to have another nice dining choice in the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was terrific, the only except ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything was terrific, the only exception being the lamb entree. The composition and flavor were excellent, but the lamb chop was a single tiny chop, not more than an ounce of meat on it. For the price, I think 2-3 three of those was in order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Noise is a challenge and worth it! The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Noise is a challenge and worth it! The best restaurant in Colorado!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is quickly becoming my favorite res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is quickly becoming my favorite restaurant. This evening we ate outdoors on the patio, which was lovely. Tables are spaced nicely among herb and tomato plants, and are shaded by the building.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was a pleasant surprise and very go ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was a pleasant surprise and very good. The dining area is a little crowded, but OK. The wine list yielded some less than good wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing food. Truly all of our dishes we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing food. Truly all of our dishes were done to perfection. The menu was really innovative too. Standouts were white bean hummus, salmon and the garden mint ice cream. Great service. Only downside is that the place is really tiny and tables are as close together as I've ever seen them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love, love, love this place. A manag ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love, love, love this place. A manageable size menu which NEVER disappoints. Perfect service and a neighborhood vibe. Will be back a.s.a.p.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Plimoth never disappoints! The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The Plimoth never disappoints! The food is as fresh as they come and the cocktails are superb. An extensive wine list - including a separate rose list the night we were there - complements anything you order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was well executed & laid a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

All the food was well executed & laid a great foundation for an overall positive experience. The salmon, in particular was one of the best composed dishes I've had in the past year. It was dynamic yet also light and quite satisfying. I will be going back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful from start to finish . Amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish . Amazing flavors put together in a unique way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Plimoth is a cool spot, but the pric ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Plimoth is a cool spot, but the pricy food did not really blow me away. I liked the location, the ambiance, and the service.

Also, my soda water was disgusting tasting and flat (I don't know what was going on with that).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food and service! We will most cer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food and service! We will most certainly be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wanted to try something characteristi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We wanted to try something characteristically "Denver" because we were visiting from out of state. This place stood out as the obvious choice after a little internet research because it's the original "locavore" restaurant. Everything we tried was delicious and beautiful. The cocktails were interesting, unique, and tasty. The service was good but not noteworthy--honestly a little awkward. But nothing that detracted from the experience. Last thing--I think they allow Open Table to take reservations much later than they'd actually like to stay open. That was pretty obvious (we had a 9:15 res on a Saturday but could have made it for 9:30 or 9:45 even), and contributed to the awkwardness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great food, easy parking, great service, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

great food, easy parking, great service, nice patio

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our absolute favorites. Never dis ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of our absolute favorites. Never disappoints. We actually prefer the tables along the bar in the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is exceptional! Such great fla ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is exceptional! Such great flavors, perfectly cooked everything, and wonderful staff. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining experience. I highly recommend the corn bread! The menu is always changing so it's wonderful to experience the seasonal menu changes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and service.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Terrific food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend the steak.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Highly recommend the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

OUTSTANDING

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant is very much farm to table and the ingredients are very fresh and flavor full. The outdoor patio is a great space and enjoyable as it is not too loud or too close to one another. A definite recommendation to all you foodies.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh far ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh farm to table menu with great complementary flavors in each dish we had. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not Great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our food was good, but not great as I was expecting due to the buzz around the restaurant and the prices we paid. Our server was a bit pushy to get us to have a drink, which we declined several times. I did like the location and that its a very up-and-coming neighborhood. We also got to sit outside and enjoy a pleasant summer evening. I liked the fresh produce they are growing on their patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.