About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth
the plimoth

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
6 More
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
Best Service
Denver
Best Value
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

fit for foodies (98)
neighborhood gem (91)
special occasion (52)
See All
notable wine list (37)
great for outdoor dining (30)
hot spot (27)
romantic (24)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Noise is a challenge and worth it! The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Noise is a challenge and worth it! The best restaurant in Colorado!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is quickly becoming my favorite res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is quickly becoming my favorite restaurant. This evening we ate outdoors on the patio, which was lovely. Tables are spaced nicely among herb and tomato plants, and are shaded by the building.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was a pleasant surprise and very go ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was a pleasant surprise and very good. The dining area is a little crowded, but OK. The wine list yielded some less than good wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing food. Truly all of our dishes we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing food. Truly all of our dishes were done to perfection. The menu was really innovative too. Standouts were white bean hummus, salmon and the garden mint ice cream. Great service. Only downside is that the place is really tiny and tables are as close together as I've ever seen them.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love, love, love this place. A manag ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love, love, love this place. A manageable size menu which NEVER disappoints. Perfect service and a neighborhood vibe. Will be back a.s.a.p.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Plimoth never disappoints! The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The Plimoth never disappoints! The food is as fresh as they come and the cocktails are superb. An extensive wine list - including a separate rose list the night we were there - complements anything you order.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was well executed & laid a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

All the food was well executed & laid a great foundation for an overall positive experience. The salmon, in particular was one of the best composed dishes I've had in the past year. It was dynamic yet also light and quite satisfying. I will be going back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful from start to finish . Amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish . Amazing flavors put together in a unique way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Plimoth is a cool spot, but the pric ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Plimoth is a cool spot, but the pricy food did not really blow me away. I liked the location, the ambiance, and the service.

Also, my soda water was disgusting tasting and flat (I don't know what was going on with that).

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food and service! We will most cer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food and service! We will most certainly be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wanted to try something characteristi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We wanted to try something characteristically "Denver" because we were visiting from out of state. This place stood out as the obvious choice after a little internet research because it's the original "locavore" restaurant. Everything we tried was delicious and beautiful. The cocktails were interesting, unique, and tasty. The service was good but not noteworthy--honestly a little awkward. But nothing that detracted from the experience. Last thing--I think they allow Open Table to take reservations much later than they'd actually like to stay open. That was pretty obvious (we had a 9:15 res on a Saturday but could have made it for 9:30 or 9:45 even), and contributed to the awkwardness.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great food, easy parking, great service, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

great food, easy parking, great service, nice patio

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our absolute favorites. Never dis ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of our absolute favorites. Never disappoints. We actually prefer the tables along the bar in the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is exceptional! Such great fla ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is exceptional! Such great flavors, perfectly cooked everything, and wonderful staff. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining experience. I highly recommend the corn bread! The menu is always changing so it's wonderful to experience the seasonal menu changes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and service.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Terrific food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend the steak.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Highly recommend the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

OUTSTANDING

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant is very much farm to table and the ingredients are very fresh and flavor full. The outdoor patio is a great space and enjoyable as it is not too loud or too close to one another. A definite recommendation to all you foodies.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh far ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh farm to table menu with great complementary flavors in each dish we had. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not Great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our food was good, but not great as I was expecting due to the buzz around the restaurant and the prices we paid. Our server was a bit pushy to get us to have a drink, which we declined several times. I did like the location and that its a very up-and-coming neighborhood. We also got to sit outside and enjoy a pleasant summer evening. I liked the fresh produce they are growing on their patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The menu changes all the time but the ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The menu changes all the time but the chef is a genius. I constantly experience beautiful, unbelievable food with so much heart and flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful meal! My wife and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a wonderful meal! My wife and I went there for our anniversary. Service was knowledgeable and attentive. Courses were well timed. Most of all the food was delicious. We had 3 courses and each had unique approaches to the principal part of the dish, but without going too far into so many competing flavors that the dish was overwhelming. We left full but not stuffed, and the pricing was very fair. Highly recommended for drinks with friends to a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

You can't go wrong here....don't limit yourself. Just choose a number of options and share. There are no bad items on the menu.....choices just vary according to your individual preferences. The servers are terrific at explaining the option and helping you decide. It is always a pleasure to dine here. And there is even parking close by in the neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun night out

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Welcoming host. Yummy cocktail to start the evening. Entree's were delicious. The spaetzel was well balanced and flavorful. The housemade sausage was awesome. Dessert was a peanut butter and chocolate surprise. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful. The place was booming by the end of dinner. Huge wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was flawless in eve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was flawless in every way. It was our 15th anniversary and we felt like royalty in their hands. This is, without a doubt, our favorite restaurant in Denver. And I cannot end this review without mention of the limoncello martini: it was unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. The little per ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was outstanding. The little personal touches were such a nice touch- will definitively be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best service we've had in Denver. This p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Best service we've had in Denver. This place is a Jem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had heard raves about this restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had heard raves about this restaurant and I wasn't disappointed. From the moment we walked in, we were treated as special. All the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly. Our waiter, Mitch, was outstanding! The food was also outstanding. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and not that expensive for th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and not that expensive for the level of food and service. Seriously, I'm going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, as always, was excellent and c ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent and creative.

Mitch is the best.

The only thing I would change is lowering the noise level.

Cheers!

Thank you, Plimoth

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the top restaurants in Denver

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

And many folks we meet have never heard of it. Just as well, I suppose as it's getting tough to book a table. The place is small. They want to seat couples at a counter facing the window. We've managed to get a table each time by requesting in advance. The menu changes often, so a review of specific dishes may not help you choose. The chicken seems to stay on and is a winner. Cocktails are great, wine pairings excellent, service top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down, some of the best food I've h ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Hands down, some of the best food I've had in a long time. When I saw the short menu, I was a bit concerned...not to worry! Split the farmers green salad..fabulous combination of textures, color and tastes. The spaetzle dish was also a party in my mouth. Friend had the steak...the bacon potato hash was a perfect play with the steak. Split the cornmeal cooke & gelato dessert-tried is a lark and fell in love with it. Chefs have created an inspired menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very creative menu

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Menu had a unique take on traditional items. Very tasty. Waitress was incredibly knowledgeable. Noise level was too loud for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wish they had more wine by the glass and the dessert list was a little disappointing. Nothing else at all to complain about though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt and Gray and Chelsea at Cholon both in management roles I think Mitch is the best--he is smooth, friendly, knowledgeable and seemless. He orchestrates a perfect meal--welcome toast, amuse, three courses to follow in the order of his choice. The food was great but do yourself a favor and enjoy the comfort of a meal at the plimoth in Mitch's hands and you will die a happy camper. Kudos!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine and cocktail list. Plentiful options for both carnivores and vegetarians. Small place with limited seating (2 tops will possibly sit at a high bar at the window, so be aware). Excellent food and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both couples. We're headed back next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Plimoth = Phenomenal

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wow!!! What a fabulous dining experience! Creative and deliciously fresh food done perfectly. Staff attentive and happy.. A rarity in Denver dining these days! Bravo to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Service and food both. W ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding. Service and food both. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our waiter should start a waiter school: perfect balance of available and unobtrusive. Cramped, noisy space--first world problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.