Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About the plimoth

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Special Occasion (37)
Local Ingredients (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Authentic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (23)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Seasonal (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Casual (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fun (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Great Beer (7)
Organic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The Plimouth is one of the best restaurants in Denver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been to the plimoth from time to time over the past 3 years or so with my wife (I think pretty much since they opened). This last time certainly wasn't the best. Usually the service is much better (particularly when Mitch is our server, but he was off this night).

In particular, the coordination between the waiter, the bar, and the kitchen seemed to be off, as it took so long to get our cocktails that our first plate came out before our cocktails. This was after the waiter convinced us to order all of our courses up front to help the kitchen time it better (?).

This then threw off our wine order which came after we were almost halfway done eating our entrees. On top of that, our waiter hardly came back to check on us outside of dropping off our tardy drinks.

Another strange thing was that they don't give out popcorn anymore. They used to have popcorn they would flavor in various creative ways, but they apparently did away with that sometime in the past year.

We were also disappointed that the hostess never communicated to our waiter that it was our anniversary (which was in our OpenTable request information), and we had to bring it up to see if there was any sort of celebratory drink or dessert they offer.

The more I think about it, the more disappointed I am in this particular trip to the plimoth. It's hard to give such a great restaurant a mediocre review, but you really expect more when you're paying $150+ for a party of two.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

PLIMOTH IS DENVER'S NEW FINE DINING TREASURE. HIDDEN IN AN UP AND COMING NEIGHBORHOOD NEAR CITY PARK, THE CUISINE IS CREATIVE, BASED ON LOCAL PRODUCE, AND CONSTANTLY CHANGING. THERE IS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE ON THE MENU (EXCEPT PERHAPS VEGANS) AND THE AMBIANCE IS CHIC AND RELAXING. EVERYONE ON THE STAFF IS EXCEPTIONALLY WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY. THE PATIO IS A WONDERFUL DINING OPTION IN SUMMER. FIVE STARS!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service as always. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Very expensive for the product but a fun place. I would recommend it but I think the food is rather over-rated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great neighborhood gem so glad they are expanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was fantastic and delicious, as always. It is one of my favorite places to go when visiting family in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My 6th visit and always another new taste treat. Staff have been there since Plymouth opened and it feels like greeting old friends to come in again. The food is always totally outstanding, fresh new tastes.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food took a little long to come out, but delicious and overall great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Well worth the trip. Dinner, drinks and dessert were all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing food and just the right attentive service, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful! Melody was awesome behind the bar and the food was fantastic. Cracklin' chicken and steak frites - mmmmm....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

VThis restaurant could be a very good place. Very good vibe once you walk in the door as well as good bar service. Unfortunately, that's about where the good experience ends. Not sure whether they need a bigger kitchen (which I believe they are currently adding to) or just a bad Friday night for this trendy place but their signature "steak frites" and grilled mullet should not take one hour and 15 minutes from the time it was ordered until it was brought to the table. I would love to recommend this fashionable neighborhood eatery to friends and colleagues just as my wife and I do for new restaurants in Boulder, LoDo, the Highlands and the Rino areas but this place has some work to do. I may try again but there are too many other great places popping these days. Good luck.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is one of our favorites. For this visit, we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We tend to concentrate on small plates. Each was delicious-not a single miss.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our group had a lovely dinner at the Plimoth. The service was great and food was outstanding. Wine list is well organize with a variety of great options. We especially loved our chicken liver pate appetizer and creative house made sausage appetizer with beet hummus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All was well except for the fact that we had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation time while staring at 2 open tables for 4 because they were holding them for a larger party. When asked they responded with "there are a lot of moving parts" and "perhaps it's the weather". Put a sour note on an otherwise above average but not awesome dinner. They did to their credit give us an order of the pate' on the house. What would have been more appropriate was comping our drinks while we waited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I adore the Plimoth. The food is delicious and the service is delightful. I think that the prices are honest and that they reflect the quality and quantity of the food. I only wish they served bread so that I could sop up every last bit of goodness!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A friend of mine and I met for what was supposed to be a fun "girls night" out. When we arrived, we were taken to a table that was about 6 inches from another 2 top. Way too close for privacy so the very sweet hostess sat us at an available 4 Top. Our server was kind and respectful but was way too hovering. It seemed like he wanted to hurry us through our experience and reminded us at least 4 times that the main dishes take 25 to 30 minutes to prepare. We felt very pressured and very rushed. Not a relaxing dinner as we felt we were on his schedule! After we ordered our main dish it took hardly any time to make it to our table. Not 25 to 30 minutes! When I dine at a restaurant of this caliber I hope to have a relaxing experience and not feel pressured and rushed by a server. In my opinion a server should enhance the experience and not take away from it. Too many other great places in Denver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We love the food, the vibe, the service. Very comfortable, not overdone, but good quality food and drink. Very satisfying!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, personalities, wine list. Definite gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Over the four years we've been going to The Plimoth, one thing has been constant - the food and service are both outstanding!! This time, the sausage small plate was explosively delicious, while the tagliatele was subtly delicious. For our mains, we had the tuna cooked perfectly and served on a very tasty bean mix and the dumpling served in a vegetable broth heavy on fresh peas - if you love peas, this dish is for you! The bourbon gelato was a fine way to end the meal.

A hearty recommendation, too, for the smokarita...a very tasty take on a margarita! And as always, the wine recommendation was perfect.

One other thing that my wife and I feel is important and different about The Plimoth - there seems to be very little turnover among staff, which over four years is impressive and we think says something good about this restaurant's owners.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything from the appetizer, drinks and entrees were simply incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not a bite wasted- loved the seared big eye tuna. Superb dining experience from the service to the food quality. Ingredients locally sourced, perfect wine/beer pairings and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious and inventive. Its a small space and intimate - I was seated almost elbow to elbow with diner at table next to me, but service was great, drinks were really good and on point. We got a shared appetizer - pork terrine, which was amazingly done and very flavorful, dinner was steak frites and chicken, both prepared and executed really well. Would love to go back again. Parking was easy and location is a bit out there, but overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Been meaning to go since they first opened. Finally went there on a date with my husband. The food was amazing and the staff was great. Will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The hostess was delightful, so was our server. The level of knowledge of the menu and wine/cocktail/beer list that the staff has is something that made the experience even better. They truly seem to enjoy working here. We look for neighborhood gems like this. The space is cozy, stylish and inviting. The food is imaginative, flavorful and anything but typical fare. What the chef does is art. The presentation, taste, aromas, textures and portion sizes are perfect. I would not have changed anything about our experience. We are moving to Denver in May and can't wait to come back. Even our 13 year old daughter loved it.

Well done.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

An absolutely spectacular evening. Our waiter was exceptional pointing out suggestions. We even got to sample a new potential wine list addition. Will do it again!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Couldn't have had a better time with the crew at Plimoth!

The waitstaff was attentive, but not over our shoulder. They even amused a friend of mine's harmless prank which ended up making the night even better from all the laughs.

The food was amazing. Warm, fresh, and creatively thought out. This place is a fantastic stop for anyone that values the hard work that goes into making the immaculate dishes we shared throughout the evening. The vegetables were crisp, the sauces carefully crafted, and the fish was as fresh as from where it was caught. With the assistance of our waitress, wine was masterfully paired with our dishes that made the flavors pop even more! Some cold ice cream and a well recommended glass of port wine capped the evening in style.

Thanks again to all at Plimoth that helped make the evening pretty wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and will be back. Had the pork chop which was excellent and the vegetarian meal for the evening again outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was excellent, service was above and beyond and the ambience was great. Definitely a little noisy and a little tight, but well worth it. There appeared to be some type of construction going on next door? Hopefully they will have room to grow soon. One of the best in Denver!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The plimoth does not disappoint. Excellent food, first class service and, good news, they are expanding and will soon be twice the size. They already have added a nice patio on the east side and are knocking out a wall to expand the inside of the restaurant on the west side.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

After seeing The Plimoth on several top 25 Denver restaurants we finally gave it a try and the restaurant did not disappoint. The food was delicious and our server was excellent. The seating is a bit tight and the restaurant is fairly loud but well worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The menu choices were excellent and the presentation of the food was very appealing. The desserts (we shared all three) we're off the charts. Thank you for the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Absolutely stellar food - truly one of the best meals we have had in Denver, as a whole!! Highly recommend. It's a small place, so expect to be close to someone else....but the food makes it SO worth it!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome place. No issues and would highly recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I have eaten there about 6 times now and every time the food is just fabulous! The cocktails are really good as well and the ambiance is lovely! It's a must!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this place. The food was amazing. The service was friendly and impeccable. The beverages were thoughtfully prepared. I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Interesting combinations of wonderful food. Radicchio salad one of the best I've had in ages. Maple panna cotta was to die for. Service friendly and fabulous. We'll be back soon. 👍🏻👍🏻🌟🌟

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

great food and menu. Staff was good and we had a wonderful meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I live in the neighborhood and are so happy this gem exists within walking distance! Service was fantastic and the ever-changing menu does not disappoint. You could pick anything on the menu and be in foodie heaven. You know the ingredients/spices/meats are all going to work together so it helps to just be open minded and trust the chefs to put together an amazing dish you're sure to love.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.