About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth
the plimoth

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
7 More
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
Best Service
Denver
Best Value
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
Neighborhood Gem
Denver
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

fit for foodies (96)
neighborhood gem (91)
special occasion (53)
See All
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (38)
romantic (28)
great for outdoor dining (17)
good for groups (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food, easy parking, great service, ...

Dined 3 days ago

great food, easy parking, great service, nice patio

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our absolute favorites. Never dis ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

One of our absolute favorites. Never disappoints. We actually prefer the tables along the bar in the window.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is exceptional! Such great fla ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The food is exceptional! Such great flavors, perfectly cooked everything, and wonderful staff. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, fresh fare dining experience. I highly recommend the corn bread! The menu is always changing so it's wonderful to experience the seasonal menu changes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food and service.

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Terrific food and service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Highly recommend the steak.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Highly recommend the steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING

Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant is very much farm to table and the ingredients are very fresh and flavor full. The outdoor patio is a great space and enjoyable as it is not too loud or too close to one another. A definite recommendation to all you foodies.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh far ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Fresh farm to table menu with great complementary flavors in each dish we had. Highly recommended!

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good, but not Great

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our food was good, but not great as I was expecting due to the buzz around the restaurant and the prices we paid. Our server was a bit pushy to get us to have a drink, which we declined several times. I did like the location and that its a very up-and-coming neighborhood. We also got to sit outside and enjoy a pleasant summer evening. I liked the fresh produce they are growing on their patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu changes all the time but the ch ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The menu changes all the time but the chef is a genius. I constantly experience beautiful, unbelievable food with so much heart and flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful meal! My wife and ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a wonderful meal! My wife and I went there for our anniversary. Service was knowledgeable and attentive. Courses were well timed. Most of all the food was delicious. We had 3 courses and each had unique approaches to the principal part of the dish, but without going too far into so many competing flavors that the dish was overwhelming. We left full but not stuffed, and the pricing was very fair. Highly recommended for drinks with friends to a celebratory meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

You can't go wrong here....don't limit yourself. Just choose a number of options and share. There are no bad items on the menu.....choices just vary according to your individual preferences. The servers are terrific at explaining the option and helping you decide. It is always a pleasure to dine here. And there is even parking close by in the neighborhood!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun night out

Dined on June 1, 2016

Welcoming host. Yummy cocktail to start the evening. Entree's were delicious. The spaetzel was well balanced and flavorful. The housemade sausage was awesome. Dessert was a peanut butter and chocolate surprise. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful. The place was booming by the end of dinner. Huge wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was flawless in eve ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was flawless in every way. It was our 15th anniversary and we felt like royalty in their hands. This is, without a doubt, our favorite restaurant in Denver. And I cannot end this review without mention of the limoncello martini: it was unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The little per ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was outstanding. The little personal touches were such a nice touch- will definitively be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best service we've had in Denver. This p ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Best service we've had in Denver. This place is a Jem!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard raves about this restaurant ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I had heard raves about this restaurant and I wasn't disappointed. From the moment we walked in, we were treated as special. All the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly. Our waiter, Mitch, was outstanding! The food was also outstanding. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and not that expensive for th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and not that expensive for the level of food and service. Seriously, I'm going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, as always, was excellent and c ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent and creative. Mitch is the best. The only thing I would change is lowering the noise level. Cheers! Thank you, Plimoth

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top restaurants in Denver

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

And many folks we meet have never heard of it. Just as well, I suppose as it's getting tough to book a table. The place is small. They want to seat couples at a counter facing the window. We've managed to get a table each time by requesting in advance. The menu changes often, so a review of specific dishes may not help you choose. The chicken seems to stay on and is a winner. Cocktails are great, wine pairings excellent, service top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, some of the best food I've h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Hands down, some of the best food I've had in a long time. When I saw the short menu, I was a bit concerned...not to worry! Split the farmers green salad..fabulous combination of textures, color and tastes. The spaetzle dish was also a party in my mouth. Friend had the steak...the bacon potato hash was a perfect play with the steak. Split the cornmeal cooke & gelato dessert-tried is a lark and fell in love with it. Chefs have created an inspired menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very creative menu

Dined on May 15, 2016

Menu had a unique take on traditional items. Very tasty. Waitress was incredibly knowledgeable. Noise level was too loud for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wish they had more wine by the glass and the dessert list was a little disappointing. Nothing else at all to complain about though.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt and Gray and Chelsea at Cholon both in management roles I think Mitch is the best--he is smooth, friendly, knowledgeable and seemless. He orchestrates a perfect meal--welcome toast, amuse, three courses to follow in the order of his choice. The food was great but do yourself a favor and enjoy the comfort of a meal at the plimoth in Mitch's hands and you will die a happy camper. Kudos!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine and cocktail list. Plentiful options for both carnivores and vegetarians. Small place with limited seating (2 tops will possibly sit at a high bar at the window, so be aware). Excellent food and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both couples. We're headed back next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plimoth = Phenomenal

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wow!!! What a fabulous dining experience! Creative and deliciously fresh food done perfectly. Staff attentive and happy.. A rarity in Denver dining these days! Bravo to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Service and food both. W ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding. Service and food both. We will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our waiter should start a waiter school: perfect balance of available and unobtrusive. Cramped, noisy space--first world problem.

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food, uncomfortable setting. Bad

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is superb. Very uncomfortable setting. Tried to seat us at a counter (?!?) and then initially sat us at a table for 2 that was 2-3 inches next to another table of 2. At our request moved us to table next to a wall which had some privacy. Despite the tasty food, I would never again come here with only 2 people. I prefer to be in a setting with more space and privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wine and beer selection was subpurb and the food was excellent. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

the meal I had at the plimoth tonight wa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

the meal I had at the plimoth tonight was amazing. the three of us each ordered a starter and an entree, and I can't say there was a single part of any of it that wasn't perfectly prepared, well seasoned and beautifully presented. this is a special place in that it can be so spot on with food and service, but with no pretension or stuffiness at all. a lovely experience in every way.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wort a return

Dined on May 4, 2016

Plymouth combines excellent service with wonderful food. The entrées varied widely, from chicken to halibut to lamb stew, each with fresh ingredients and creative combinations. The old commercial corner store north of City Park golf course is decorated in a hip urban style.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place! Food was delicious, drink ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Amazing place! Food was delicious, drinks were incredibly well made and Mitch our server was so helpful with food choices, wine pairings , and his general demeanor will make me come back and request him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

first visit

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a new dining experience to celebrate my birthday. The Plimoth was a great find. It is a small gem. The website stated that parties of 2 may be seated at the window counter, and we did not want that for our event. I noted that on my reservation, and on the day of our dinner the hostess called to thoughtfully offer us a glass of champagne as an aperitif. My starter of Pork Rillettes and dinner of Lamb Shoulder were superb. The repurpposed pharmacy is quaint and could be noisey, but the crowd seems not to be a boisterous one and noise was not a problem. The wine list is adequate, varied and reasonably priced. Our waitperson, Mitch, was excellent: informative, attentive and engaging.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food

Dined on April 29, 2016

We like to go to The Plimoth every few months. I will start off by saying it is a little pricey. The friendliness of the staff and quality of the food makes it worth every cent. Their appetizers a-la-mode and perfect for two people. The staff is well versed in their wines and have not recommended a poor pairing yet. If you are unsure on what wine to get, they will ask questions about what flavors you like and provide a tasting. The menu changes daily, and has a fair number of choices. The restaurant has a lightly romantic atmosphere. The seating is arranged primarily for 2 and 4 people. The bar seating overlooks the quiet neighborhood road. Overall a 10/10 stars. I look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

If you are a twosome they will want to s ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

If you are a twosome they will want to seat you at a counter along the front window. We requested a table in advance and got it. But, it was two inches from another table for two. Service was superb. But the kitchen is small, so orders take some time. We used it to enjoy their terrific cocktails. The food was well worth the wait. Reserve well in advance as this place is small and has a following.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and a great wine se ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was amazing and a great wine selection. The waitress was very knowledgable and helpful

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best servers we've ever had - ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

One of the best servers we've ever had - Mitch! He was great. Food was perfect and had so much thought and love in each dish.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy ourselves at Plimoth, good ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Always enjoy ourselves at Plimoth, good food and service. Mitch is an attentive and very nice waiter who always remembers us.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.