About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth, Denver, CO

Report a photo problem

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (14)
Seasonal (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you for making my husbands bday so ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Thank you for making my husbands bday so special!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic find while visiting from Dal ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

A fantastic find while visiting from Dallas. Great attention to detail in the food, great setting and fun wine list .

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a friendly and warm experience wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a friendly and warm experience with the staff and ambiance at the plimoth. So happy they brought the cauliflower gratin back! Thanks for another lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So we are using Opentable to find the be ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

So we are using Opentable to find the best 10 restaurants here in Denver Colorado based on reviews and bookings. This restaurant came up on one of those lists. We thought it a great sign that we couldn't get a reservation for several days as an indicator this place was special.

It just didn't live up to our expectations. When we arrived, it was surprising how basic the decor was in the restaurant. It reminded me of an old mountain cafe. The place was slammed but we got a good table and were immediately seated. Thanks Opentable!!!

The restaurant was really busy and we noticed fairly rapidly that service was slow. Our waiter came by to say hello and said he would be back to take our drink orders. That turned out to be 10 to 15 minutes. It also set the tone for how our experience would be the rest of the evening. Not a bad experience, just not a great one either.

The food was a bit basic. As described on the menu and by the waiter I thought my lamb "stew" was something original and sounded incredible. In reality it was a bean soup, the kind your mother made, with chunks of lamb in it. We used to watch Gunsmoke on TV and eat this kind of soup. The fish dish we ordered was similar and was okay but not amazing at all. I mention this because these aren't $10 plate meals they are almost $30 each.

I am sure we just experienced an off night based upon how busy this place is. We probably wont go back but you should give it a try and make up your own mind.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

great food, great service. Would defini ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

great food, great service. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to try something new.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent as always. took special care t ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

excellent as always. took special care to offer vegetarian added options in addition to the good choices on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2002 called and it wants it's food back. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

2002 called and it wants it's food back. For me this restaurant was a big let down. I have a gluten allergy, usually I don't have a problem finding a dish I'm happy with but not this time. Seriously who flours lamb before braising it? I had a kale salad that was very simple and average. It was like something I would make at home. If you are putting nuts on a kale salad they should be candied to counter the bitterness of kale. My only entree option was the shrimp and mussels. This dish was so weak! If there were a few more ingredients it could have been a $5 bowl of Gumbo. There was no dessert option for me unless I wanted to take the cookie of my ice cream. If I want plain ice cream I'll eat it at home. I had a glass of Amaro instead. It was Ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

This was a pleasant first time experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a pleasant first time experience. The atmosphere was very local and friendly. For starters the cauliflower turnip gratinée and the kale winter greens were excellent and sharable for 3. The cracklin' chicken was prepared perfectly, tender and juicy. The vegetarian stuffed cabbage was again delicious as was the braised Colorado lamb. (Note the lamb was presented ala cassoulet). They have a large seating area outside for warmer days. The bartender was excellent and could craft a drink based on one of your old standards. Definitely will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, amazing food! I would ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing food! I would highly recommend Plimoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love The Plimoth and have been a few t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love The Plimoth and have been a few times, this time was for my birthday dinner with friends. When we were seated a complimentary round of sparking rose was provided since it was my birthday, which was a pleasant surprise. While enjoying our first drinks, visiting, and looking at the menu, we were approached a couple times to order. It all felt very rushed. Not a whole lot of time had passed since we sat down and the place was not filled up yet, so we were wondering why the rush. (One of our guests even called ahead because she thought she was going to be really late and wanted to make sure we would still be seated without her. We would. But they mentioned that our table wasn't reserved again until 3 hours after our reservation time. So there was plenty of time for us to enjoy a leisurely meal.) We ordered a few apps and entrees and the apps came out pretty much all at the same time, rather than timed to be able to enjoy each one individually. There was a nice pause in between apps and entrees and the waiter did check on us to see if there was anything we needed while we were waiting. The food was wonderful, as always, and the waiter did provide good recommendations. We will be back because we love the place, and hope that our rushed service issue was just a fluke for that night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a great time at the Plimoth on New Y ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great time at the Plimoth on New Years Eve. Great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always amazing! Never had a bad meal! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always amazing! Never had a bad meal! Service is always amazing too. Just love this great neighborhood gem!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding dinner at the Plimot ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another outstanding dinner at the Plimoth. This is our 4th or 5th dinner with Mitch as our waiter each time. He is very knowledgeable and professional. The food is delicious and seasonal. Even in the dead of winter the menu was creative and fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant with m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant with menu that changes seasonally and always provides excellent flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good was amazing. Great service. We've ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good was amazing. Great service. We've been multiple times and are impressed every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Christmas Eve dinner was just terrif ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was just terrific. Complex and delicious flavors, fresh seafood, wait staff excellent, desserts to die for. Recommend highly! We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere was excellent. Our m ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food and atmosphere was excellent. Our main server was great but as she got busy the backup service wasn't as attentive or as nice as she was and as it should be. I asked either the bartender or the sommelier or just a dude for a coffee and he was a little put off even though he had no customers nor much to do. And we were the first turn. But still a cool place all in all and I would definitely go back but dude in goatee or mustache standing at bar without many clients should be better. And the service in general could be more polished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Always wonderful! Very accommodating and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always wonderful! Very accommodating and super easy going with kids.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a delightful neighborhood gem! The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

What a delightful neighborhood gem! The food and wine pairings were creative and delicious, and our server, Nick, truly went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed! I suspect we will quickly become regulars at this fabulous spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, ambiance, service!!! Mit ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance, service!!! Mitch and Katie take great care of their customers (as in sure all of the servers do)! They know the dishes and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was excellent. The chef comb ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our dinner was excellent. The chef combined vegetables in an unusual manner which I normally would not have tried. But, the vegetables and meats - the combination was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

As always we had an exceptional meal, go ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always we had an exceptional meal, good wine and loved the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Plimoth. The food is outstanding ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We love Plimoth. The food is outstanding, the restaurant is fun and bustling with energy and the servers are the best in Denver. We have often had Katie/Katy; she is such a delight. She makes the evening so fun with her pleasing and energetic personality, plus no request is too difficult for her to engineer. That combination, a terrific kitchen and delightful servers makes for such a fun evening. We, along with our friends, had a very special evening at Plimoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place. The food is consist ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We love this place. The food is consistently great, vegetarian option is sooo delicious and the menu has a nice selection of starters and main plates. We ordered the broccolini appetizer, crispy chicken, and veggie pierogies. Have had the duck in the past. Always yummy and perfect. The service (Mitch this last visit) has been excellent every time we've been there. Easy to get to and to park. All around a great place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy environment. Warm, inviting staff. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Cozy environment. Warm, inviting staff. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad we chose the plimoth for dinner! ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

So glad we chose the plimoth for dinner!! The food was amazing and unique, service & timing were right on point & the cozy feel of the dining room made the ambiance such that you could zip in & out of or stay and enjoy for a bit.

Make sure you are paying attention when driving through because it's neatly tucked in a neighborhood! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, imaginative food in a great n ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent, imaginative food in a great neighborhood setting with great service. I asked our waiter for a wine recommendation, and he led us to a perfect pairing with our food without steering us toward the higher end of the wine list. Great experience. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a complete delight. The staff w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was a complete delight. The staff was extremely nice without being overly friendly and corny. The food was better than most dinners we have ever had and I absolutely recommend this place to anyone. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious, interesting food.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always delicious, interesting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. Mitch was one of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food and service. Mitch was one of the best wait staff I have ever had. Wonderful neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food delicious but we waited over an hou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food delicious but we waited over an hour for the main course. When the chicken was finally put in front of me, another staff member swooped in and removed it, saying 'you ordered thighs' (which I had not) and without waiting for a response, walked away with it. Our server returned it a few moments later, but this was rather weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The gratineing with turnips, mushrooms a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The gratineing with turnips, mushrooms and apple was outstanding. We shared the crackling chicken, another good dish. The service was very friendly without being overbearing. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the plimoth ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first visit to the plimoth restaurant, and it was an excellent experience. The food was delicious and creative. The service was outstanding. My husband and I shared three appetizers and one entree and were looking forward to dessert, but unfortunately, we were just too full. Since we don't live nearby, we'll have to wait until our next trip to Denver to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our first experience at The P ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We enjoyed our first experience at The Plimoth immensely. I will say this, if you are a couple and want to not sit very close to the next table, sit at the bar. One of our biggest pet peeves is when tables are too close to each other and it seems like that is the setup if you are a couple.

The food was fantastic, with only the dessert being so-so. The service was absolutely incredible. We would definitely recommend this to a friend to try out and we will probably try it again, but may not make a special trip to go there.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We had never had drum before and highly ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had never had drum before and highly recommend it. The duck and porkchop were both beautifully cooked though the other components of both these dishes didn't add up for us, nor did the very bland gianduja and banana pot de crème. Our server recommended the cauliflower gratinee as a first course which came with toasted slices of baquette for dipping. Unfortunately it wasn't dippable and the bits of cauliflower fell all over the table. Would return to try a few more of the appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plimoth is a great dinner spot -good foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Plimoth is a great dinner spot -good food and wine, creative menu, and warm and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitstaff is always top notch, food mak ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waitstaff is always top notch, food makes you feel like you are at a Michelin star hot spot, but ambience is like you are at an old friends house. We love the plimoth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there 3 times now and we ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have been there 3 times now and we have enjoyed each meal we have had. The menu changes based on what's seasonally available. The service is great. We have had the same waiter twice in a year's time. Awesome little neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Plimouth four times aN ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have dined at Plimouth four times aNd find the restaurant a real treasure. However, last Friday I found the pork chop full of fat and gristle, and not very desirable. I was disappointed in the quality of the food at this one time at the restaurant.

Larry O'Donnell

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, as always, and knowledga ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food, as always, and knowledgable and great service from Mitch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.