About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth, Denver, CO
the plimoth, Denver, CO

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Denver / Colorado
Best Service
Denver
Neighborhood Gem
Denver
1 More
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Cozy (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Romantic (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Seasonal (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a complete delight. The staff w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a complete delight. The staff was extremely nice without being overly friendly and corny. The food was better than most dinners we have ever had and I absolutely recommend this place to anyone. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Mitch was one of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service. Mitch was one of the best wait staff I have ever had. Wonderful neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food delicious but we waited over an hou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Food delicious but we waited over an hour for the main course. When the chicken was finally put in front of me, another staff member swooped in and removed it, saying 'you ordered thighs' (which I had not) and without waiting for a response, walked away with it. Our server returned it a few moments later, but this was rather weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The gratineing with turnips, mushrooms a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The gratineing with turnips, mushrooms and apple was outstanding. We shared the crackling chicken, another good dish. The service was very friendly without being overbearing. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our first experience at The P ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our first experience at The Plimoth immensely. I will say this, if you are a couple and want to not sit very close to the next table, sit at the bar. One of our biggest pet peeves is when tables are too close to each other and it seems like that is the setup if you are a couple.

The food was fantastic, with only the dessert being so-so. The service was absolutely incredible. We would definitely recommend this to a friend to try out and we will probably try it again, but may not make a special trip to go there.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the plimoth ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to the plimoth restaurant, and it was an excellent experience. The food was delicious and creative. The service was outstanding. My husband and I shared three appetizers and one entree and were looking forward to dessert, but unfortunately, we were just too full. Since we don't live nearby, we'll have to wait until our next trip to Denver to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had never had drum before and highly ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We had never had drum before and highly recommend it. The duck and porkchop were both beautifully cooked though the other components of both these dishes didn't add up for us, nor did the very bland gianduja and banana pot de crème. Our server recommended the cauliflower gratinee as a first course which came with toasted slices of baquette for dipping. Unfortunately it wasn't dippable and the bits of cauliflower fell all over the table. Would return to try a few more of the appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plimoth is a great dinner spot -good foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Plimoth is a great dinner spot -good food and wine, creative menu, and warm and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitstaff is always top notch, food mak ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Waitstaff is always top notch, food makes you feel like you are at a Michelin star hot spot, but ambience is like you are at an old friends house. We love the plimoth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there 3 times now and we ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have been there 3 times now and we have enjoyed each meal we have had. The menu changes based on what's seasonally available. The service is great. We have had the same waiter twice in a year's time. Awesome little neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Plimouth four times aN ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have dined at Plimouth four times aNd find the restaurant a real treasure. However, last Friday I found the pork chop full of fat and gristle, and not very desirable. I was disappointed in the quality of the food at this one time at the restaurant.

Larry O'Donnell

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, as always, and knowledga ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food, as always, and knowledgable and great service from Mitch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience as usual from th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great dining experience as usual from the best kept secret in town. The food is certainly not cheap but the value you get from the price to quality of food is well worth it. Every dish is impeccable and great cocktail/wine list. My favorite place in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, as always. Somewhere between ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous, as always. Somewhere between a restaurant and a bistro - great food and ambience, and friendly managers

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Plimoth twice now and we r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We've been to Plimoth twice now and we really liked it both times. The service is excellent. The food we had was very good. The only complaint I might have is that the menu is small, usually 4 choices for the entree, but we've never been disappointed in what we ordered. Just might like another option or two. The appetizers are awesome, especially the pate'. Good wine and cocktail list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing!! After waiting over ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointing!! After waiting over a hour for our main dishes, the food was horrible. Very under cooked duck, very over cooked mushy pierogies, and barely a grit with the shrimp and grits. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We have been to the plimoth several time ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We have been to the plimoth several times, and they always deliver. The service was good; we were able to get our table right away. The food is always great, and this time was no exception. The one drawback is that this place is almost always packed, so you need a reservation, and it tends to be pretty noisy. However, that's pretty common for similar places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific place, always spot on. Food is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Terrific place, always spot on. Food is sublime and Plumouth is hands down, my favorite restaurant in Denver. The service is impeccable without being pretentious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was good. Didn't real ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Overall everything was good. Didn't really live up to the hype we'd heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice space and vibe, but pricey ($14 for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice space and vibe, but pricey ($14 for a glass of house Chardonnay, really?), crowded and loud. Oasis in the hood, but bring plenty of green.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

One of the best meals in past year. Loo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One of the best meals in past year. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to details and great food. Wha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Attention to details and great food. What else could you want?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Plymouth excels in all categories. I ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The Plymouth excels in all categories. It has the kind of "quaint bistro vibe" that allows a causal night dinner or more intimate date night. The food was superb and, to the delight of my husband, in adequate quantities for a big eater. Our waiter was delightful. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was noisy inside but we sat outside s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was noisy inside but we sat outside so noise no problem. Our waiter was phenomenal, very knowledgeable and friendly. Food was delicious for the most part. Two of us had shrimp with grits and sausage. The sausage was an odd choice in that dish, too spicy for the dish, but the grits and shrimp were wonderful. Needed more of the wonderful grits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great place to go. The food w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was a great place to go. The food was extremely good - great portions and good prices. The server was incredible. Highly recommend it for a date night.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here a couple of times befor ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have been here a couple of times before and this was my least favorite visit. The overall service was okay. Nobody really that friendly that went out of their way to be helpful or conversational. Although, the hostess when we arrived was very nice, letting us know that reservations were running a bit behind. She kept checking in with us keeping us updated. Our food was very average, whereas in the past, there were always a couple of dishes that were incredible. There was nothing that was very memorable from my dinner. Either way, I would come back, but maybe not as soon. I'm always up for another shot. I was just a bit underwhelmed by my recent visit.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Every meal I've eaten at the Plimoth in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Every meal I've eaten at the Plimoth in the last two years - every single one - has been spectacular. The service is top-notch, the drinks are delicious, and the food is lights-out. The accolades the Plimoth routinely receives are well-deserved and always earned; it is our go-to spot for celebrations and a nice dinner out.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had planned for me and my spouse to ce ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I had planned for me and my spouse to celebrate his 65th birthday. He loves Colorado lamb and it was on the menu. I was called the day of the reservation to confirm and was told we would also receive complimentary champagne cocktails upon arrival. All very good. We arrived promptly for our seven pm reservation, were seated promptly, and greeted warmly by our waiter who presented us the promised cocktails. It went downhill from there. We both noticed the excessive noise level. My mistake as I assumed a neighborhood establishment described as "cozy" would have a less vibrant noise level. We could not speak at normal volume and hear each other. As we were discussing our entree options our waiter informed us at about 7:20 that the lamb entree was no longer available that evening. I was quite surprised and dismayed that the restaurant had run out so early in the evening. As I said, my partner loves lamb. This would not have been such an issue if there were more entree choices than five, well four now. The waiter suggested an order of cornbread with our soups. The turnip/apple soup was delicious, but the cornbread was grossly undercooked and looked like a bad attempt at corn pudding. As two Southern gentlemen, we know our cornbread. Cornbread needs to be cooked at least twenty minutes in a oven no hotter than 350. Iron skillet, of course. Our waiter brought another order of cornbread and took this item off the bill. Nice gesture, but the second cornbread order did not yield a better result. Our waiter was very amiable, but seemed burdened with too many tables. Lastly, after discussing entree wine pairings in the early stages of dinner, our waiter failed to suggest wine pairings for the second choice entrees we did order. The duck and fried chicken entrees were tasty but not memorable enough for a return visit at prices in the $20 - $30 entree range. I think this is an OK restaurant experiencing a very off night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our first visit to the plimoth. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first visit to the plimoth. We were celebrating a birthday. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly for the occasion. We shared two small plates an entree, a dessert and a bottle of wine. The food was very delicious - the beets, cornbread, lambchop and walnut panna cotta. Nick was very helpful & perfectly attentive. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very tasty, super nice staff, will be go ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very tasty, super nice staff, will be going back! Got there a little early for our reservation and sat at the bar. Tasty drink and we knew it was going in the right direction. Menu changes perhaps daily? The cornbread was light and fluffy, and we tried the lamb and shrimp and grits, both delicious and filling. We were so happy with everything from this place! Ended up not getting dessert, because our stomachs were just that happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plimoth was recommended by a friend; and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Plimoth was recommended by a friend; and it was a superb suggestion. Environment was cozy but not loud; was easy to talk with my friends. staff were friendly and worked seamlessly together waiting on tables simultaneously; very pleasant. Menu was unique and simply delicious; they also had beverage pairing suggestions for meals which I always appreciate. Definitely a delightful venue with exceptional food.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I dine at Plimoth- the servic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Every time I dine at Plimoth- the service is outstanding, the food delicious and creatively presented.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic and ambiance was perf ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was fantastic and ambiance was perfect. Only minor complaints - small plates were really small. For example the cornbread was some of the best I have ever had, but how about a little more (it doesn't have to be a cheesecake factory portion), but for just how good it was alone (and how much it was) - would have been nice if it was a little larger. My wife's lamb was delicious but for $30 to get two small pieces is not sufficient compared to many other upscale restaurants we have eaten.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great experience. Only comment is that ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great experience. Only comment is that we booked a reservation and were seated at a window counter up against the brick wall. I would think this seating was for walk in traffic or atleast outlined on the reservation detail so we weren't surprised.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My husband and I LOVE the Plimoth! By fa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My husband and I LOVE the Plimoth! By far our favorite spot!

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fourth time in, better than ever. The pe ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fourth time in, better than ever. The people. The food. The space. Love this place. Brought my friends for their first time, they loved it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at this restaurant is fabulous. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food at this restaurant is fabulous. A party in the mouth. The staff is outstanding. They make you feel special from the minute you walk in. The only knock is the noise level. One of my favorite restaurants in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! Pumpkin soup was ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious! Pumpkin soup was some of the best I have ever had.

Portions were a little small. I ordered the lamb, & it came with only on chop. It was adequate for me, but may not be for a hearty eater.

You will not be rushed through your dinner. Lots of time in between courses.

Must try the peach desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this neighborhood restaurant. Gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I love this neighborhood restaurant. Great food and the service is excellent! I highly recommend plimoth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.