Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About the plimoth

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Special Occasion (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (24)
Seasonal (23)
Authentic (23)
Romantic (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Fun (9)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great Beer (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

They make their own ginger beer for the cocktails. I had a dark and stormy and the ginger bite was so good. Staff is very friendly and knows their stuff when it comes to food allergies and what is ok for you to eat and what is not (gluten allergy.) I had the crackling chicken with no roux (gluten) and it was very tasty! We went to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and were greeted with some rose sparkling wine. So nice :) I'll definitely recommend this place to others!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The porgy was difficult to eat and I was not aware until after the meal that the kitchen would have de-boned it for me. All else was spectacular. Loved the falanghina pairing with the cod.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We really loved The Plimoth! The food was great and creative. The service was lacking though. We waited over 20 minutes to get our bottle of wine (after our first cocktails) that we ordered to have with the food that was being delivered. It was very strange. We will go back but hope the service will be better. But the food was great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great food and service. Will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Drinks were great - the food was eh...the entrees were priced near $30 and felt like they were worth 20. It was just ok

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

DOPE AF! Best meal I have had in quite some time, you want to go to there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Plimoth's food is delicious. They have a creative menu and everything I have had there is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I had a wonderful evening with excellent service and delicious food. The staff were all attentive without being too present and offered great suggestions.

Only downside was a very loud patron sitting right behind me. She was really distracting and unpleasant. Perhaps better acoustics would have helped but I think it was really beyond the restaurant's control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had the best time at the Plimouth! The food was interesting, delicious, and beautifully presented. The service was top notch -- our waiter was so nice and professional, and gave great cocktail and menu recommendations. Sit on the patio if you can. I would definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Dinner was great -- some of the best radishes we've ever eaten. But make sure to request sitting in the first room (where the kitchen is). The other room is dark, noisy and lacks the ambiance of the front room.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. So many excellent dishes with exquisite flavors.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Plimoth is one of our favorite restaurants. We live in the foothills, which prevents us for going there as frequently as we would if we lived in closer proximity. The food and service have always been consistently excellent. On this occasion we were dining with friends from Boulder, where there are many fine restaurants, and they loved it. The wine list is also worth mentioning because of its depth and decent pricing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I've been a Chef and Pastry Chef for almost 30 years, so to say I am particular about my food is a major understatement. Going out to dinner is a big deal for me and I usually put a great deal of time into researching a restaurant, it's menu, it's food, etc. before going out for a special meal.

To say that this little, intimate, 30 seat restaurant tucked into a quiet City Park neighborhood totally rocked my (food) world would be an understatement. The food - all of it, from the starters thru to the dessert - was a 10 out of 10, and the service was even better.

We had 3 starters - the Shaved Smoked Pork Loin with Tonnato Sauce, Sieved Eggs & Grilled Bread was, without question, the best thing I've put in my mouth in forever! Unctuous, creamy, exploding with different flavors and textures, it was sensuality & excitement on a plate!! After the first bite of the Homemade Tagliatelle with Spicy Pork Sausage, Tomatoes, Pecorino (& a few other delectables) I just had to close my eyes, sit back and let the flavors have a party in my mouth. The pasta was incredibly delicate and the sauce so flavorful, it was hard to imagine how anything else could compete.
Before the entrée of the most beautiful (& huge!) smoked Pork Loin Chop with Pickled Turnips & a shockingly green, delicate, yet potent Romescu Sauce, we had a startlingly beautiful, palate cleansing salad of Turnips, Persian Cucumbers, Beet Chumus, Cardamom Honey & Sumac - almost too pretty to eat.

Hubby loves pineapple upside-down cake, but the sheer 1950's aura and sugar overload of it has always given me the creeps. Well...not so THIS p.u.d.c.....THIS was sheer PERFECTION!
An individual rich butter cake with chunks of fresh pineapple imbedded in it, a mind-blowing toasted coconut gelato, surrounded by tiny Amarena cherries (oh, yum!), a coffee foam and topped with a rum sphere just begging to be burst!

This was a meal that will be hard to top. I think I need to find something to celebrate in June!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fresh and well prepared food. Enjoyable friendly servers. We've returned already 3 times in a month! Love that they are already expanding...they'll need the extra room.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Plimouth is one of the best restaurants in Denver!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I've been to the plimoth from time to time over the past 3 years or so with my wife (I think pretty much since they opened). This last time certainly wasn't the best. Usually the service is much better (particularly when Mitch is our server, but he was off this night).

In particular, the coordination between the waiter, the bar, and the kitchen seemed to be off, as it took so long to get our cocktails that our first plate came out before our cocktails. This was after the waiter convinced us to order all of our courses up front to help the kitchen time it better (?).

This then threw off our wine order which came after we were almost halfway done eating our entrees. On top of that, our waiter hardly came back to check on us outside of dropping off our tardy drinks.

Another strange thing was that they don't give out popcorn anymore. They used to have popcorn they would flavor in various creative ways, but they apparently did away with that sometime in the past year.

We were also disappointed that the hostess never communicated to our waiter that it was our anniversary (which was in our OpenTable request information), and we had to bring it up to see if there was any sort of celebratory drink or dessert they offer.

The more I think about it, the more disappointed I am in this particular trip to the plimoth. It's hard to give such a great restaurant a mediocre review, but you really expect more when you're paying $150+ for a party of two.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

PLIMOTH IS DENVER'S NEW FINE DINING TREASURE. HIDDEN IN AN UP AND COMING NEIGHBORHOOD NEAR CITY PARK, THE CUISINE IS CREATIVE, BASED ON LOCAL PRODUCE, AND CONSTANTLY CHANGING. THERE IS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE ON THE MENU (EXCEPT PERHAPS VEGANS) AND THE AMBIANCE IS CHIC AND RELAXING. EVERYONE ON THE STAFF IS EXCEPTIONALLY WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY. THE PATIO IS A WONDERFUL DINING OPTION IN SUMMER. FIVE STARS!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and service as always. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very expensive for the product but a fun place. I would recommend it but I think the food is rather over-rated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great neighborhood gem so glad they are expanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was fantastic and delicious, as always. It is one of my favorite places to go when visiting family in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My 6th visit and always another new taste treat. Staff have been there since Plymouth opened and it feels like greeting old friends to come in again. The food is always totally outstanding, fresh new tastes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food took a little long to come out, but delicious and overall great service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Well worth the trip. Dinner, drinks and dessert were all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing food and just the right attentive service, as always!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful! Melody was awesome behind the bar and the food was fantastic. Cracklin' chicken and steak frites - mmmmm....

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

VThis restaurant could be a very good place. Very good vibe once you walk in the door as well as good bar service. Unfortunately, that's about where the good experience ends. Not sure whether they need a bigger kitchen (which I believe they are currently adding to) or just a bad Friday night for this trendy place but their signature "steak frites" and grilled mullet should not take one hour and 15 minutes from the time it was ordered until it was brought to the table. I would love to recommend this fashionable neighborhood eatery to friends and colleagues just as my wife and I do for new restaurants in Boulder, LoDo, the Highlands and the Rino areas but this place has some work to do. I may try again but there are too many other great places popping these days. Good luck.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is one of our favorites. For this visit, we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We tend to concentrate on small plates. Each was delicious-not a single miss.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our group had a lovely dinner at the Plimoth. The service was great and food was outstanding. Wine list is well organize with a variety of great options. We especially loved our chicken liver pate appetizer and creative house made sausage appetizer with beet hummus!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All was well except for the fact that we had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation time while staring at 2 open tables for 4 because they were holding them for a larger party. When asked they responded with "there are a lot of moving parts" and "perhaps it's the weather". Put a sour note on an otherwise above average but not awesome dinner. They did to their credit give us an order of the pate' on the house. What would have been more appropriate was comping our drinks while we waited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I adore the Plimoth. The food is delicious and the service is delightful. I think that the prices are honest and that they reflect the quality and quantity of the food. I only wish they served bread so that I could sop up every last bit of goodness!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A friend of mine and I met for what was supposed to be a fun "girls night" out. When we arrived, we were taken to a table that was about 6 inches from another 2 top. Way too close for privacy so the very sweet hostess sat us at an available 4 Top. Our server was kind and respectful but was way too hovering. It seemed like he wanted to hurry us through our experience and reminded us at least 4 times that the main dishes take 25 to 30 minutes to prepare. We felt very pressured and very rushed. Not a relaxing dinner as we felt we were on his schedule! After we ordered our main dish it took hardly any time to make it to our table. Not 25 to 30 minutes! When I dine at a restaurant of this caliber I hope to have a relaxing experience and not feel pressured and rushed by a server. In my opinion a server should enhance the experience and not take away from it. Too many other great places in Denver!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We love the food, the vibe, the service. Very comfortable, not overdone, but good quality food and drink. Very satisfying!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, personalities, wine list. Definite gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Over the four years we've been going to The Plimoth, one thing has been constant - the food and service are both outstanding!! This time, the sausage small plate was explosively delicious, while the tagliatele was subtly delicious. For our mains, we had the tuna cooked perfectly and served on a very tasty bean mix and the dumpling served in a vegetable broth heavy on fresh peas - if you love peas, this dish is for you! The bourbon gelato was a fine way to end the meal.

A hearty recommendation, too, for the smokarita...a very tasty take on a margarita! And as always, the wine recommendation was perfect.

One other thing that my wife and I feel is important and different about The Plimoth - there seems to be very little turnover among staff, which over four years is impressive and we think says something good about this restaurant's owners.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything from the appetizer, drinks and entrees were simply incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not a bite wasted- loved the seared big eye tuna. Superb dining experience from the service to the food quality. Ingredients locally sourced, perfect wine/beer pairings and knowledgeable wait staff.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious and inventive. Its a small space and intimate - I was seated almost elbow to elbow with diner at table next to me, but service was great, drinks were really good and on point. We got a shared appetizer - pork terrine, which was amazingly done and very flavorful, dinner was steak frites and chicken, both prepared and executed really well. Would love to go back again. Parking was easy and location is a bit out there, but overall a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Been meaning to go since they first opened. Finally went there on a date with my husband. The food was amazing and the staff was great. Will definitely go back again and again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The hostess was delightful, so was our server. The level of knowledge of the menu and wine/cocktail/beer list that the staff has is something that made the experience even better. They truly seem to enjoy working here. We look for neighborhood gems like this. The space is cozy, stylish and inviting. The food is imaginative, flavorful and anything but typical fare. What the chef does is art. The presentation, taste, aromas, textures and portion sizes are perfect. I would not have changed anything about our experience. We are moving to Denver in May and can't wait to come back. Even our 13 year old daughter loved it.

Well done.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.