Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About the plimoth

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Suppah: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (72)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Romantic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Seasonal (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (25)
Authentic (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Fun (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Casual (14)
Healthy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Thank you Pete and Mitch. Thanks for the app & bubbles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been here a handful of times and really liked it. I've recommended it more than once. But this time the food was disappointing. It all felt too heavy, too rich, not enough light options. And it's pretty expensive....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed the neighborhood find. It is truly a diamond in the rough...but in an area that is safe and comfortable. If you’re looking for a unique casual restaurant with an exquisite menu....this is the place. The food is fantastic. As an added bonus, you will discover the outstanding mixologist (bar tender). Highly recommend the “old fashioned”

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was superior. Bit noisy but comfortable. Say at window on bar stools; not perfect but ok, hate back to rest of place. Great foodie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

What a gem! This place is my new favorite. My husband and I made reservations before going to my holiday party. Everyone was so nice, attentive, and made great recommendations from the menu. The food was delicious and very fresh, just perfect. Our waitress said how much she loved working there and how great the owner/master chef is to work for. You don't hear that often, so I love giving my business to a person who takes care of his people. Well done, Sir. We will definitely be going back. The whole experience was a 10!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We especially loved the pumpkin bread starter and the desserts! Wonderful service! Great dinner with beautiful presentation. The unique flavor combinations were just what we were looking for. Loved the atmosphere too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Loved the food! Didn't love my cocktail but that's ok. Server was a little slow but very nice and knowledgeable. Very cool atmosphere. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

I have been to the Plimoth numerous times as I live in the neighborhood. Service was fantastic as always, as was the wine list and the bubbles list. However for the first time I was a bit disappointed with the quality of food. Duck was over cooked. Pork appetizer not much flavor. And espresso in a coffee cup does not work for me. I will come back as I love the place but hopefully this was just an off night

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Food was delicious with an incredibly creative menu. Many options to choose from completely different from the regular restaurant experience. If you are an adventurous eater this is a not to be missed experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Wonderful. Not to pretentious but still elegant enough to add spice to a special occasion. Food was wonderful and the thoughtfully prepared daily menu was clearly crafted deliberately not just thrown together with the daily sale items from Sysco.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2017

My family visited for Thanksgiving and couldn't stop raving about the freshness and exquisite flavors. We all love to cook and love to eat, and this is definitely one of the best dinners out we've ever had. Ask about the preparation of the dishes, as the stories are unexpectedly detailed and thoughtful. The vegetarian starters were much appreciated. The wine list is deep, and reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We love this place for special occasions; birthdays, anniversaries, close friends in town, etc. The menu perfectly captured the fall season. Lots of duck and root veggies. Even after the expansion, the ambience continues to feel intimate and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This was my third or fourth visit to Plimoth. On my previous visits, I loved the many wonderful choices on the menu, & often had a hard time making a selection, because everything sounded so good. Loved the combinations of the flavors!
This time, not so much ;-( I didn't know what to choose. Nothing stood out to me. I ended up with the monkfish, which came with a sausage. It just didn't seem to go together.
I was disappointed, & so were the other three people in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This was our first time to the Plimoth. We had heard some hype about it before (from foodie friends of ours). Simply put, it was not over hyped. The food was decadent and nuanced. Our server (Elise) was warm, welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. Though it is not a cheap night out...my wife and I walked out of there feeling that the price was justified. In the local area we are blessed with some truly great restaurants. "Tables" and "Into the Wind" are just a few notable locations. I believe that the service and food rightfully place Plimoth up with these amazing eateries.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorites.
It one of Denver's best. We would highly recommend The Plimouth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Elise was wonderful and the food, as always, was magnificent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2017

The food was truly outstanding, original and generous. Our server was so friendly and helpful. This is a great dining experience. Our only complaint is, and this is common in the modern restaurant scene, the tables are really stacked on top of each other so there isn't much privacy or quiet. That's a minor complaint about an otherwise terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2017

I ordered the (massive) pork chop and somehow managed to eat most of it. From the orange cognac cocktail start to the pot de creme dessert finish, I was a happy diner. Will go back. With more friends. And the same serious appetite.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The Plimoth is one of Denver's best. From the unique cocktails to the unbelievably attentive service, and the exquisite cuisine- there wasn't one item on the menu I didn't want to try. Their food is complex yet simple, each morsel a true delight. The duck was cooked to perfection, and the chicken was crispy and tender. Wholesome food you can't find anywhere else.
Thank you Plimoth for setting the bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our reservation was honored immediately but they offered a quieter table for a 5 minute wait which we took. We each had soup and then shared the pork chop and still brought a box home. The cabaret was great and reasonable. Excellent service and a nice cream/jam dessert. Very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I took a gamble. I'd never heard of Plimoth and saw on OpenTable. Wonderful place! Food and drinks were amazing. Staff was knowledgeable and interesting. Will definitely be back!

From Westword's 100 Restaurants We Can't Live Without:

Denver clearly has a love for tiny neighborhood eateries that turn out meals on par with the big boys downtown. The Plimoth, under chef Peter Ryan, has captured the hearts of both City Park residents and those willing to take a drive into unfamiliar territory, despite its location in a somewhat ramshackle row of shops in an otherwise residential zone. Classic European technique, local ingredients and regional inspiration (masa gnocchi, puffed amanranth and tomatillos all make appearances) give guests something new to look forward to with each visit to this charming spot. And the Plimoth’s popularity continues to grow, as a recent dining-room expansion proves.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Best vegetarian dish I have ever had: coconut green curry without veg. Truly incredible. Although all of the entrees seemed heavy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

My husband and I have enjoyed the plimoth many times over the last few years. Tonight, we were so offended at the terrible attitude of the manager (middle-aged, overweight, dark hair). He greeted our family with “you need to leave by 7.30, as there is another reservation after you.” Imagine!!! Never have we been given time parameters on our meal! And, believe me, we dine out all the time! Very exclusive restaurants. If that weren’t bad enough, he harassed us throughout our meal! My husband is from the mid west and very kind and patient and he was appalled! Never again. Don’t bother!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2017

The food was great, the service was OK. The noise level was unbearable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had a great time at the Plimoth - five friends connecting over wonderful food and great service. From the hostess to the bar tender to the server to the awesome food prepared by the Chef - it was all great! It is pricey - but worth it! While all the food was wonderful, my favorite was the smoked pork chop with excellent accompaniments. Thank you Plimoth for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food and service from our service was impeccable. What was not so great was I had a reservation at 9 and wasn’t seated until close to 9:30.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I love that Plimoth features fresh local ingredients. It's clear the food is prepared well and ingredients are superior. However, it was so loud we could not wait to leave and that really affected the quality of our meal. It's not just that the diners were yelling at each other to be heard and that the hard surfaces amplify the sound but the kitchen was noise echoed and the music was obtrusive. Though it's a wonderful farm to table concept, the overall experience was disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The Plimoth never fails. Always superior in regard to the menu, the service, and the food. Outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good food in a comfortable environment. Interesting selections. A little noisy. The service was good too.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Fantastic dinner at Plimoth! We especially loved the chicken liver pate starter & cracklin chicken entree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The flavors are original and compliment each other well. It doesn't matter whether it's an appetizer or entree, the chef''s creativity is always on display.

Mitch is the bomb!!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Staff is attentive and the food is great . A local neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We've been to The Plimoth several times and have yet to have anything but a wonderful dining experience. The menu offers sufficient variety for most and importantly, the food listings truly describe the dish you ordered. Each dish is attractively presented and totally appealing. As frequent diners on the Denver restaurant scene, we're tired of "Chef's Interpretation" on the menus of many places, that more often than not thoroughly disguise what is ultimately served.
At the Plimoth, the menu is clear, concise and augmented by an enthusiastic serving staff that appear to be truly interested in the diner's pleasant experience.
As a VIP Open Table reviewer, I can categorically state that The Plimoth is a genuine outstanding dining pleasure and a stand out by any standards.
The décor is not high end but all else more than compensates for that fact.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Mitch was an amazing server. He made amazing recommendations and continued to help us build a wonderful meal throughout the night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 24, 2017

We looked this up on Open Table and it had hundreds of reviews with an average over 4 1/2 stars, so we checked it out. We were not disappointed. We loved the variety of unique, fresh, well-prepared and well-presented dishes from the appetizers all the way through dessert. The service was top notch as well. We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vegan, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Food is phenomenal!! Cute place with incredible food. The filthy martini is the best martini I’ve ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Really excellent dining experience, knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff, artfully prepared and presented dishes, outstanding quality. Not cheap but worth every penny. Great wine and cocktail choices, one of our new favorite restaurants in all of Denver.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our second visit. Both times we weren't disappointed, rather we were greatly pleased. The rabbit and the monkfish were scrumptious, drinks well-priced, salad was creative and delicious.
We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Disappointing. It took a very long time to get drinks, a single appetizer and entrees. Won’t be back despite being offered free drinks.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. Food and service can stand up to any other restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.