About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Seasonal (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (10)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was terrific, esp. curry soup. However, I've never understood why Denver chefs add strong-tasting foods, like bacon, to monkfish, or any fish. Had the monkfish, which was overcooked to firm, then overpowered by the beans, bacon and other additions.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service, our waiter had a good and easy going sense of humor and made some great recommendations. The atmosphere is cozy and best for smaller parties, I was there for a special dinner with my boyfriend. The food was just as good as I had remembered it and it was like going to an all new place since they change the menu regularly. I highly recommend it, it is worth the drive away from the better known restaurant neighborhoods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great night out. Delicious dinner. Top notch service. Lots of smiles. We'll be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant is great. The ambiance is nice, the food is fantastic. The patio is very nice when weather permits. Make reservations, they are always booked.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely excellent service! Excellent food! Top restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

To get a reservation we had to book early in the evening, but liked it because it was a little quieter. it's small room with hard surfaces so noise level can be an issue. But he food was fantastic--and we are foodies. Small kitchen and small menu, but you can't go wrong. Service was very prompt, polite and excellent as well. it's a bit on the pricey side, but absolutely worth it. May be my new favorite in Denver...

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place never disappoints. What great food, drinks and staff. We'll be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great local place with incredible food!!! Great for foodies!!! Spent more than we planned and wines are expensive. The waitress was fabulous!!! The downside of the night was after spending quite a bit we were forced out of table by the manager so he could reseat the table. We were literally told to hang out at the front door with an offer of lemon chello. Sad thing is we were signing the bill and ready to go if he had just waited 2 more minutes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service we received at The Plimoth was above and beyond almost any experience I can recollect. This incredible service was matched by the equally amazing food. Everything is prepared fresh with wonderful ingredients and combinations of textures and flavors. I will absolutely be going back again soon.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant with a unique and delicious menu pairing unusual items in splendid concoctions! Great service too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My daughter took me to the plimouth to celebrate my birthday. We started out with the chicken liver pate on a sliced baguette with an apple cherry confiture which was quite a hearty appetizer, then we shared the chicken & mussels sitting in a bowl of red chili saffron caldo and sprinkled with hominy. Every single ingredient was perfectly cooked and every bite was absolutely delicious. I love that the server explained the ingredients of each dish when they delivered our food. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best places in Denver. It is now my favorite when I need something special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

I came to Plimoth with a couple girlfriends and we were so impressed! The food was fantastic and so was the service! We had one of the best meals ever! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding. Very creative menu. Protein parings that are unexpected: chicken & mussels!!!👍 Great addition to City Park area. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Plimoth was fantastic. The service from the door to the table was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The menu was well crafted by someone who has a true passion for food. This is a must visit if you live in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always fantastic!! Cocktails, food & service have never been anything but spot-on outstanding for us over many visits to our neighborhood favorite. Can't wait for the patio to be back open come spring

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great, great place. The pork rillette was wonderful; the frisee salad was great, and the short-ribs were fall-off-the-bone perfection. Johnny the bartender was great. Great service. Have I mention that it was great?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

This restaurant is excellent! The menu is not your typical menu which makes it very interesting. Anyone who is a foodie would definitely enjoy this place. The drinks are very good also. This is my second visit here and I will return every time I visit Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Had friends in town last minute. The food, as always, was great, service friendly and impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

I took my boyfriend to the Plimouth for his birthday dinner. The entire staff was super welcoming and warm. We were greeted by a man at the door to hang our coats and then took us to our table. Our waiter Nick was amazing! He started our dinner off with complimentary birthday rose; tasted great. He was very insightful about the entire menu and was able to answer all of our questions. The cocktails were delicious and the food was superb. I highly recommend the cracklin' chicken and the monkfish. The cauliflower graitnee had a ton of flavor and was delicious as well. I had the apple manhattan to drink; well....it was so good I actually had two 😊. We left super full and really really satisfied with the whole night. If you are looking for a nice, fancy but not pretentious dinner, this is the place. Thanks Plimouth!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

It's certainly a nice neighborhood restaurant and you feel welcomed there. My main dish is Cracklin Chicken. It is not overcooked and the meat is tender. The sauce is a little too sweat but it is still a good one.

Cauliflower turnip gratinee is not cheesy and I really like it with the oyster mushroom on top.

Pork rillette needs some improvement. About 1/3 of the rillette is just fat. The distribution of the fat and the meat makes the dish unattractive.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous, as always. Key word for every aspect of The Plimoth: generous. Everyone and everything leans toward generosity . . . the food, the staff and their warm welcome, the wish for the patron to enjoy a complete evening of enjoyment on every level. Congrats, Plimoth!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Second time here and once again terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

It's small, so book your table! Delicious food (the crispy chicken), tasty cocktails with fun and attentive service. Just don't expect to walk in and sit down. It's too small for that...

We tried a variety of menu items with no disappointments. The chicken was better than the ribs because, I'm told, the sauce on the ribs was a bit sweet. Salads, potatoes and desserts were outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious! Can't wait for our next meal here, thank you to the chef's and staff of The Plimoth.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

My experience at The Plimouth was wonderful. The staff, ambience and food were truly noteworthy. We went for my husband's birthday and they started us with complimentary pink champagne. At the end of the meal, we also asked for more cookies that came with the gelato and they gave us 2 and did not bill us - very nice. Our server was awesome - though when the "rush" came in I think he wanted us to move on out but we weren't going anywhere! We were having such a good time! That said, he was thoughtful, kind and prompt. The food was delicious. Excellent wine and coffee and the little pot of chocolate with hazelnuts for dessert was my favorite of the night. We will go back again soon for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first time at The Plimoth and we would definitely go back. Everything we ordered was unique and delicious, including wine pairings and cocktails, our waiter (Mitch) was very knowledgable, and pacing of food was excellent. The only thing I would change is that the tables for two are awfully close together so your dining experience isn't very private. Otherwise, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great time and food! Good venue for meeting son's prospective in-laws. Will certainly be back for food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had an awesome experience at Plimoth! Excellent waiter and food! Nice wine list too! We will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very creative and well-prepared starters and entrees. Chorizo starter was quite tasty. Pork loin entree was prepared perfectly -- melted in your mouth with a wonderful array of flavor. Atmosphere was inviting on the Tuesday evening we dined here as restaurant was about 1/2 full most of our meal -- I imagine in would be much more vibrant on a weekend evening given one-room nature of the seating. Wait staff was very friendly and professional. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went for a friend's Birthday. Service was amazing, but not smothering. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a delicious meal!!! What a treat to find this neighborhood gem.

Great service, warm, friendly, and a fun environment. The chef is creative and knows how to pair ingredients, wines, and plates making the entire experience a delight. Try the Apple Strudel!

Thank you!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've read numerous excellent reviews on the plimoth, but it just didn't work for us on this particular evening. Our server was excellent and attentive, but the entrees were relatively bland. My wife ordered the fish and I ordered a pork loin dish, although the descriptions were different the dishes tasted very similar. We did have an excellent cauliflower appetizer that I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Never, ever disappoints. Exceptional service, phenomenal food, extensive wine list. Love it every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 18, 2017

Thank you for making my husbands bday so special!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

A fantastic find while visiting from Dallas. Great attention to detail in the food, great setting and fun wine list . Very attentive service as well, felt like a well taken care of guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a friendly and warm experience with the staff and ambiance at the plimoth. So happy they brought the cauliflower gratin back! Thanks for another lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

So we are using Opentable to find the best 10 restaurants here in Denver Colorado based on reviews and bookings. This restaurant came up on one of those lists. We thought it a great sign that we couldn't get a reservation for several days as an indicator this place was special.

It just didn't live up to our expectations. When we arrived, it was surprising how basic the decor was in the restaurant. It reminded me of an old mountain cafe. The place was slammed but we got a good table and were immediately seated. Thanks Opentable!!!

The restaurant was really busy and we noticed fairly rapidly that service was slow. Our waiter came by to say hello and said he would be back to take our drink orders. That turned out to be 10 to 15 minutes. It also set the tone for how our experience would be the rest of the evening. Not a bad experience, just not a great one either.

The food was a bit basic. As described on the menu and by the waiter I thought my lamb "stew" was something original and sounded incredible. In reality it was a bean soup, the kind your mother made, with chunks of lamb in it. We used to watch Gunsmoke on TV and eat this kind of soup. The fish dish we ordered was similar and was okay but not amazing at all. I mention this because these aren't $10 plate meals they are almost $30 each.

I am sure we just experienced an off night based upon how busy this place is. We probably wont go back but you should give it a try and make up your own mind.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

great food, great service. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to try something new.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

excellent as always. took special care to offer vegetarian added options in addition to the good choices on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

2002 called and it wants it's food back. For me this restaurant was a big let down. I have a gluten allergy, usually I don't have a problem finding a dish I'm happy with but not this time. Seriously who flours lamb before braising it? I had a kale salad that was very simple and average. It was like something I would make at home. If you are putting nuts on a kale salad they should be candied to counter the bitterness of kale. My only entree option was the shrimp and mussels. This dish was so weak! If there were a few more ingredients it could have been a $5 bowl of Gumbo. There was no dessert option for me unless I wanted to take the cookie of my ice cream. If I want plain ice cream I'll eat it at home. I had a glass of Amaro instead. It was Ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a pleasant first time experience. The atmosphere was very local and friendly. For starters the cauliflower turnip gratinée and the kale winter greens were excellent and sharable for 3. The cracklin' chicken was prepared perfectly, tender and juicy. The vegetarian stuffed cabbage was again delicious as was the braised Colorado lamb. (Note the lamb was presented ala cassoulet). They have a large seating area outside for warmer days. The bartender was excellent and could craft a drink based on one of your old standards. Definitely will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing food! I would highly recommend Plimoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love The Plimoth and have been a few times, this time was for my birthday dinner with friends. When we were seated a complimentary round of sparking rose was provided since it was my birthday, which was a pleasant surprise. While enjoying our first drinks, visiting, and looking at the menu, we were approached a couple times to order. It all felt very rushed. Not a whole lot of time had passed since we sat down and the place was not filled up yet, so we were wondering why the rush. (One of our guests even called ahead because she thought she was going to be really late and wanted to make sure we would still be seated without her. We would. But they mentioned that our table wasn't reserved again until 3 hours after our reservation time. So there was plenty of time for us to enjoy a leisurely meal.) We ordered a few apps and entrees and the apps came out pretty much all at the same time, rather than timed to be able to enjoy each one individually. There was a nice pause in between apps and entrees and the waiter did check on us to see if there was anything we needed while we were waiting. The food was wonderful, as always, and the waiter did provide good recommendations. We will be back because we love the place, and hope that our rushed service issue was just a fluke for that night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great time at the Plimoth on New Years Eve. Great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always amazing! Never had a bad meal! Service is always amazing too. Just love this great neighborhood gem!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another outstanding dinner at the Plimoth. This is our 4th or 5th dinner with Mitch as our waiter each time. He is very knowledgeable and professional. The food is delicious and seasonal. Even in the dead of winter the menu was creative and fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant with menu that changes seasonally and always provides excellent flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good was amazing. Great service. We've been multiple times and are impressed every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.