About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
6 More
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
Best Service
Denver
Best Value
Denver
Fit for Foodies
Denver
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

fit for foodies (106)
neighborhood gem (99)
special occasion (56)
See All
notable wine list (50)
hot spot (45)
romantic (38)
great for outdoor dining (15)
good for groups (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was flawless in eve ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was flawless in every way. It was our 15th anniversary and we felt like royalty in their hands. This is, without a doubt, our favorite restaurant in Denver. And I cannot end this review without mention of the limoncello martini: it was unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The little per ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was outstanding. The little personal touches were such a nice touch- will definitively be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best service we've had in Denver. This p ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Best service we've had in Denver. This place is a Jem!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had heard raves about this restaurant ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had heard raves about this restaurant and I wasn't disappointed. From the moment we walked in, we were treated as special. All the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly. Our waiter, Mitch, was outstanding! The food was also outstanding. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and not that expensive for th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and not that expensive for the level of food and service. Seriously, I'm going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, as always, was excellent and c ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food, as always, was excellent and creative. Mitch is the best. The only thing I would change is lowering the noise level. Cheers! Thank you, Plimoth

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top restaurants in Denver

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

And many folks we meet have never heard of it. Just as well, I suppose as it's getting tough to book a table. The place is small. They want to seat couples at a counter facing the window. We've managed to get a table each time by requesting in advance. The menu changes often, so a review of specific dishes may not help you choose. The chicken seems to stay on and is a winner. Cocktails are great, wine pairings excellent, service top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, some of the best food I've h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Hands down, some of the best food I've had in a long time. When I saw the short menu, I was a bit concerned...not to worry! Split the farmers green salad..fabulous combination of textures, color and tastes. The spaetzle dish was also a party in my mouth. Friend had the steak...the bacon potato hash was a perfect play with the steak. Split the cornmeal cooke & gelato dessert-tried is a lark and fell in love with it. Chefs have created an inspired menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

very creative menu

Dined on May 15, 2016

Menu had a unique take on traditional items. Very tasty. Waitress was incredibly knowledgeable. Noise level was too loud for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food and reasonably priced. Wish they had more wine by the glass and the dessert list was a little disappointing. Nothing else at all to complain about though.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Denver's best waiter? With Adam at Colt and Gray and Chelsea at Cholon both in management roles I think Mitch is the best--he is smooth, friendly, knowledgeable and seemless. He orchestrates a perfect meal--welcome toast, amuse, three courses to follow in the order of his choice. The food was great but do yourself a favor and enjoy the comfort of a meal at the plimoth in Mitch's hands and you will die a happy camper. Kudos!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

A fantastic meal with an excellent wine and cocktail list. Plentiful options for both carnivores and vegetarians. Small place with limited seating (2 tops will possibly sit at a high bar at the window, so be aware). Excellent food and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a perfect evening enjoyed by both couples. We're headed back next week!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plimoth = Phenomenal

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wow!!! What a fabulous dining experience! Creative and deliciously fresh food done perfectly. Staff attentive and happy.. A rarity in Denver dining these days! Bravo to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Service and food both. W ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding. Service and food both. We will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Creative, elegant, original dishes. Our waiter should start a waiter school: perfect balance of available and unobtrusive. Cramped, noisy space--first world problem.

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food, uncomfortable setting. Bad

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is superb. Very uncomfortable setting. Tried to seat us at a counter (?!?) and then initially sat us at a table for 2 that was 2-3 inches next to another table of 2. At our request moved us to table next to a wall which had some privacy. Despite the tasty food, I would never again come here with only 2 people. I prefer to be in a setting with more space and privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wine and beer selection was subpurb and the food was excellent. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

the meal I had at the plimoth tonight wa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

the meal I had at the plimoth tonight was amazing. the three of us each ordered a starter and an entree, and I can't say there was a single part of any of it that wasn't perfectly prepared, well seasoned and beautifully presented. this is a special place in that it can be so spot on with food and service, but with no pretension or stuffiness at all. a lovely experience in every way.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wort a return

Dined on May 4, 2016

Plymouth combines excellent service with wonderful food. The entrées varied widely, from chicken to halibut to lamb stew, each with fresh ingredients and creative combinations. The old commercial corner store north of City Park golf course is decorated in a hip urban style.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place! Food was delicious, drink ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Amazing place! Food was delicious, drinks were incredibly well made and Mitch our server was so helpful with food choices, wine pairings , and his general demeanor will make me come back and request him.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

first visit

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a new dining experience to celebrate my birthday. The Plimoth was a great find. It is a small gem. The website stated that parties of 2 may be seated at the window counter, and we did not want that for our event. I noted that on my reservation, and on the day of our dinner the hostess called to thoughtfully offer us a glass of champagne as an aperitif. My starter of Pork Rillettes and dinner of Lamb Shoulder were superb. The repurpposed pharmacy is quaint and could be noisey, but the crowd seems not to be a boisterous one and noise was not a problem. The wine list is adequate, varied and reasonably priced. Our waitperson, Mitch, was excellent: informative, attentive and engaging.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food

Dined on April 29, 2016

We like to go to The Plimoth every few months. I will start off by saying it is a little pricey. The friendliness of the staff and quality of the food makes it worth every cent. Their appetizers a-la-mode and perfect for two people. The staff is well versed in their wines and have not recommended a poor pairing yet. If you are unsure on what wine to get, they will ask questions about what flavors you like and provide a tasting. The menu changes daily, and has a fair number of choices. The restaurant has a lightly romantic atmosphere. The seating is arranged primarily for 2 and 4 people. The bar seating overlooks the quiet neighborhood road. Overall a 10/10 stars. I look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

If you are a twosome they will want to s ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

If you are a twosome they will want to seat you at a counter along the front window. We requested a table in advance and got it. But, it was two inches from another table for two. Service was superb. But the kitchen is small, so orders take some time. We used it to enjoy their terrific cocktails. The food was well worth the wait. Reserve well in advance as this place is small and has a following.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and a great wine se ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was amazing and a great wine selection. The waitress was very knowledgable and helpful

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best servers we've ever had - ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

One of the best servers we've ever had - Mitch! He was great. Food was perfect and had so much thought and love in each dish.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy ourselves at Plimoth, good ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Always enjoy ourselves at Plimoth, good food and service. Mitch is an attentive and very nice waiter who always remembers us.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Restaurant!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Plimoth is a neighborhood gem. My wife and I had dinner there with our parents. The server did a fantastic job of guiding us through the menu and wine list with recommendations that we ultimately selected and thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend the Plimoth to

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Timers

Dined on April 21, 2016

My daughter and I went to Plimoth to celebrate her birthday. We've been trying to get here since it opened and finally made it. Everyone made us feel very welcome. Katie was our waitress and was absolutely the best: helpful, friendly and very professional. Our favorite was the polenta first course. Delicious! We also had the seasonal cauliflower dish and the cracklin chicken. Excellent. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was outstanding, per usual. Meal to ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was outstanding, per usual. Meal took a little longer to come out due to the place being packed. However, the staff brought us a free small app and drinks for the delay. Lamb and lamb marrow was perfectly cooked. Definitely should eat here if you can get a spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was amazing!! I live br ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Food and service was amazing!! I live bringing family here and celebrating special events!

food5
ambience4
service5

It was my first time to The Plimoth & I ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

It was my first time to The Plimoth & I really enjoyed it. Food & service were excellent but the space is small & the tables are close together so at times it was difficult to hear. That is my only complaint. I want to go back this summer & sit outside on their patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Birthday

Dined on April 13, 2016

Delightful mingling of savory delectables served with knowledgable guidance by an outstanding staff. Katie was outstanding in making our dining experience most memorable. Will be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food, but so loud it is very hard to hear.

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great food, but so loud it is very hard to hear. Probably will not go back unless it is at 5:00 pm, but that is not fun

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Having dying to you in the past I love t ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Having dying to you in the past I love this neighborhood gem and want to support the chef and what he is trying to do . I was very disappointed in our entrées I felt like the flavoring was not their attention to detail was not there and the value for what came out on the place was not there given the entrées are anywhere in the $22-$26 range Service was extremely spotty we had to look for our server and asked several times repeatedly for the same items dessert was terrible it was a cookies and cream gelato to tiny scoops and a chocolate cookie wafer very disappointing

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dinner. Great service. Interes ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great service. Interesting dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

Craft cocktails were superbly prepared, ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Craft cocktails were superbly prepared, the waitstaff is very knowledgeable about ingredients, suggestions and pairings for food- everything was excellent and overall a 5 star experience. Definitely a new favorite place! !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Went with family for my birthday. The place was completely full on a Tuesday evening at prime time and was still busy, but had room, by 9:00 when we left. The cauliflower and turnip gratinee was all of our favorite, with wonderful wild mushrooms and perfect crostini. We also loved the chicken liver pate, which was served with grated egg white and an apple-pear compote - a wonderful mix of sweet, gamey, and savory goodness. My daughter and I shared the bean ragout (vegetarian) and the mussels and shrimp. The ragout was probably the least interesting dish we tried. Tasty, but it wasn't particularly interesting or creative, or pretty for that matter. Overall, the meal and service were all excellent, and I appreciated the send-off birthday toast of champagne for the adults and house ginger beer for the under-21s. We will definitely go back and will look forward to tasting a summer menu there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The finest cuisine in town. The chef is magical.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Whether it is a date or you are meeting friends for dinner, The Plimoth consistently delivers. The chef is amazing, the price points are on point and the experience there is inimitable. Cheers

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on March 19, 2016

This small neighborhood bistro is a welcomed addition to this once rundown area of the city. I think it will pull in the much needed demographic that can push that community in the positive direction. The food and drinks were incredible and the ambiance electric. I would recommend anything on the menu and can't wait to make a return visit. The service was impeccable and the wait staff was obviously knowledgeable and conscientious. Everything was done right and no detail was left out.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.