About the plimoth

2335 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80205
View Larger Map

WE LOVE FOOD

We believe in an eclectic yet approachable love for food. Our chefs draw from foundations in classic French and Italian cuisine, finding inspiration in seasonal and local ingredients that offer a modern twist to each dish. Our ever changing menus reflect the efforts of our collaboration with unique purveyors, local farmers, and artisan producers. Join us for an elevated, unpretentious dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Supper: Monday 4:00pm - 8:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: closed

Cross Street:
Josephine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 297-1215

Website:
http://www.theplimoth.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking all around the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Peter Ryan, Charles MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant and /or the outside can be booked for private events

Private Party Contact:
Adam Knickerbcker: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • the plimoth
the plimoth

the plimoth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Denver
American
Denver
Best Restaurants in Central ›

Fit for Foodies (80)
Neighborhood Gem (75)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chicken was excellent, by far the best ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Chicken was excellent, by far the best dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had tried to come in July to this new ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had tried to come in July to this new spot but had to cancel. Finally made it there this past Friday and it was warm enough to sit on the patio. The service was excellent and the menu, though it wasn't lengthy with tons of options, had something for each of us. My husband had lamb and I had the vegetarian entrée but they offered the chicken on it for protein. (I'm not a vegetarian but preferred those accompaniments rather than the ones that came with the chicken). Both were excellent. Our appetizer was the potted smoked salmon which was way more than 2 of us could eat so we took half home. Presentation of all dishes was excellent and nothing that I could/would make at home. That's the whole point of going out! I recommend this place. Dinner with 2 drinks each was about $135 so not a regular place but a special place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quaint neighborhood restaurant. Excellen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Quaint neighborhood restaurant. Excellent small plate and great wine list. Chef recommend the confit suck for entree which was fabulous! I will definitely be back next time I travel to Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't write many reviews but felt comp ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I don't write many reviews but felt compelled to write one here. I travel a lot and get to eat in NYC, LA, SF etc. and this place has food that rivals the national scene. It is simply a top notch place for food and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very small portions, not worth the hype

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very small portions, not worth the hype

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I have wanted to try this restaurant sin ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have wanted to try this restaurant since it opened. My wife and I thought the staff and food was superb. I have not dined in a restaurant in awhile that had me thinking about the food and the professional staff a few days after visiting. As first time guests, they treated us to a rose sparkling wine - very kind of the wait staff! We started with the liver pate and it was fantastic - smooth and decadent. Their rose wine list by the glass has to be one of the best in Denver. I had the duck with porridge and it was extremely moist and the porridge was a hit with its texture - incredible. My wife had the chicken with the panzanella and it was also very good. I have to say that I felt the quality and price ratio match was spot on. Rarely do I dine and feel that the food and price match so well. This restaurant delivers on all fronts. Our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and gave us distance to have a wonderful conversation. Don't miss this gem. By the way, they are expanding to the next door space. We will be back often. Wow!!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in years. Great staff and serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best meal in years. Great staff and servic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like the food here but it is VERY nois ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I like the food here but it is VERY noisy.

Don't know if they can fix that but the

food is good, service is great and it's

a bit pricy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service as was the food. Reaso ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service as was the food. Reasonable wine choices by the glass, cocktails good but pricy. We elected to sit outside as the noise level for our 'mature' ears' was a bit uncomfortable; but not so much as stopping us from going again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing meal. The service was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing meal. The service was fantastic and the food was incredible. The plimoth was recommended by a friend and I'm glad we listened. Wish I could remember the name of our server because she was wonderful as were the runners. Exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service, good food will keep m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic service, good food will keep me coming back.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent place for a date. Open kitchen i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Decent place for a date. Open kitchen is pretty cool. Food was great. 100 gets a drink, app., 2 mains, & dessert. Tables were extremley close together. Considering the size of the place though, notbad. Would go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My fiancee and I were really impressed w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My fiancee and I were really impressed with the quality (and quantity) of the dishes. We shared two appetizers, then had our main course and finally dessert. Great cocktail menu and a nice wine selection. This small restaurant reminded me of some of the great restaurants in Brooklyn or SoHo, in NYC. The place has an open kitchen so you can see all the action in the kitchen, and outdoor seating to enjoy the great Denver summer/fall weather. I definitely recommend this place to a foodie or any one who enjoys eating good food done in a creative way. Something my fiancee said: "if it was socially acceptable I would lick the plate", after we were finishing our appetizers. Go to the Plimoth you will not regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We got some cocktails to start, a dark a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We got some cocktails to start, a dark and stormy and an old fashioned. Both which were very well prepared. As a starter we got the chicken liver pate which was to die for. It was spread on top of crostini and went down super smoothly. We then ordered the rabbit and lamb which were both very well prepared with in season vegetables and seasonings. They found out it was our anniversary and brought us over a sparkling rosé toast before our delicious dessert. It was a great and quiet place to have a romantic dinner and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated an anniversa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My husband and I celebrated an anniversary here, we have always enjoyed coming to this neighborhood gem with exceptional food and fair pricing. As always, food, wine, and service were incredible. Although we haven't been here in about 6 months, we were a little surprised to see that menu prices seem to have increased significantly. Overall, a great dinner and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We ate outside and it was nice and quiet ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We ate outside and it was nice and quiet on the patio, though I hear it's pretty energetic inside. The staff was absolutely amazing - great recommendations on wine, excellent food and an all round fabulous experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As dedicated foodies and serious cooks o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As dedicated foodies and serious cooks ourselves, Plimoth is now our favorite restaurant in Denver!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff. Informal atmosphere wit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Friendly staff. Informal atmosphere with creative gourmet choices. Everything fresh. One of a kind.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good and we really enj ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was very good and we really enjoyed sitting outside as it was much more quiet than inside. The desserts were good, but we didn't think they would be worth getting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service. We had th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding food and service. We had the duck and the salmon - both delicious!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

People were great the staff was very att ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

People were great the staff was very attentive from the moment we walked in. Bit disappointed with the food and presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

With all the hype of this restaurant, I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

With all the hype of this restaurant, I was honestly expecting more. Not that it wasn't good, it was just mediocre. My husband and I are big foodies and we had high hopes. Sad to say that it fell short. The food was just ok - almost seemed like there was something missing - like it wasn't thought out all the way. The service was great, however. It was also very loud in there. I understand it's a very small space, but I couldn't hear my husband across a small table! We like trying different places and we only go back for exceptional food, unfortunately, this will not be the restaurant we go back to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Loved our experience! They were accommod ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved our experience! They were accommodating from start to finish, including us being 20 minutes late for our reservation. We ended up sitting at the bar with bartender Johnny at our service, and he was a great introduction to the city of Denver. Not only does he know his stuff but he was willing to give us tips on the neighborhood, the city, etc., and really made us feel welcome.

Try the chicken and the lamb, and the entire dessert menu looked great, though we didn't partake. We're only here til Wednesday, but hoping we can squeeze in another visit before we head back to the east coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing again! I am always pleasantly s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing again! I am always pleasantly surprised with the creativity and expertise of the chef. Who thinks of Beet Macaroon appetizers? The chef at Plimoth. They are "out of this world." So much so that we placed a second order! In addition, we had the corn bread appetizer that was so delicious. And, of course, our entrees. The rabbit was prepared perfectly with crispy skin and great seasoning. The salmon deliciously prepared and presented. Desserts, of course. A perfect way to end a perfect evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The meal from beginning to end almost br ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The meal from beginning to end almost brought me to tears I was so delighted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plimoth is on of my favorite places in t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plimoth is on of my favorite places in this city. The staff and food are always on point.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food - go!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service and food - go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always exceptional! I LOVE taking peo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always exceptional! I LOVE taking people who have never been because we never leave disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local food, great knowledge of where foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Local food, great knowledge of where food comes from, great knowledge of drinks, great cocktails, great staff , good timing all with a very comfortable welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place and the food the first ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Loved this place and the food the first few times, but this time it was so loud we couldn't hear our guest or enjoy or meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was amazing. Our party had the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was amazing. Our party had the salmon, rabbit and cracklin chicken -- all were excellent. The chef pairs some really interesting and delicious herbs, vegetables and proteins for a meal that we continually said -- wow, that really tastes great! The wine list could use a few more less expensive by-the-glass options. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Once again the Plimoth has landed! Crazy ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Once again the Plimoth has landed! Crazy great appy of hummus, spices and baby flowers , balanced and complex pasta and the best chicken you can have-crispy breast and drumette so moist on the inside with a spectacular ginger carrot purée. Mitch is denvers best waiter and he orchestrates a perfect meal. Hurry while the weather allows patio dining. Wine list is phenomenal and fairly priced. Kudos!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was blown away with my first dining ex ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was blown away with my first dining experience at plimoth. The menu is amazing with a lot of creative dishes. My server was very knowledgeable about the various offerings and helped to guide my selections. I was thoroughly impressed with all 3 courses. I can not wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to go to The Plimoth. The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love to go to The Plimoth.

The food is delicious and the service is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Vegetarian Nage was absolutely perfe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Vegetarian Nage was absolutely perfect. All our food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food rocks!!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food rocks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Only complaint was the noise level. Also ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Only complaint was the noise level. Also, it would be nice to be able to reserve a table outside!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was atrocious. Couldn't find ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was atrocious. Couldn't find the waitress a couple times. Apps took 30 minutes. Entrees took an hour and fifteen minutes. The cuisine attempts were also a bit ambitious for this crew.

Next....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We were greeted with glasses of sparklin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were greeted with glasses of sparkling wine for our anniversary. The food was excellent and the service was amazing. I highly recommend the plimoth

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food. Innovative, creative, c ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful food. Innovative, creative, comforting and satisfying. Vibrant, deep flavors. Menu changes frequently; limited to five or so starters; five or so mains...each very different from one another, and each incredibly good. Expert, knowledgeable and low key service. My new Denver favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.