About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veggie Plate
Bannana Pudding
3 Meat Combination
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs
Pumpkin Cornbread
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken
Appetizer Sampler
Barbecue Tofu
Hush Puppies & Biscuit
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies
Barbecue Fries
Onion Rings
Carolina Ribs
Banana Pudding

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Good for Groups (223)
Great for Lunch (149)
Fit for Foodies (137)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (121)
Special Occasion (115)
Kid-friendly (105)
Hot Spot (102)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Great for Brunch (33)
Late-night Find (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (11)
Scenic View (9)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate at the bar which had a really coo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

We ate at the bar which had a really cool vibe. High windows brick and plenty of room. Ordering was a little slow, but the food came out quick and was delicious. Nice selection of beers. The crowd was all but gone by 930.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was amazing! Ordered the frie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was amazing! Ordered the fried chicken, baby back ribs and brisket - all were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most traditional / authentic NC BBQ join ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Most traditional / authentic NC BBQ joints are small holes-in-the-wall. The Pit brings a bit more "chic" of an atmosphere but with great Eastern NC-style BBQ!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Pit is a favorite because they have ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Pit is a favorite because they have very good barbecue, baby back ribs, other meats and good vegetables. They also have barbecued tofu, which my vegan wife loves. We went there for Sunday lunch with our two granddaughters and they loved The Pit too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 1st visit to the Pit and it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 1st visit to the Pit and it lived up to all of the reviews. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My absolute favorite place to eat in Ral ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

My absolute favorite place to eat in Raleigh. Always great food, great service and awesome atmosphere! Just love The Pit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pit Authentic BBQ is a good place to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Pit Authentic BBQ is a good place to eat at .There turkey bbq is so good , mac & cheese and collards greens .This is a good place to for business meeting ,dates ,and for family

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was, as always, excellent. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was, as always, excellent. The service, however, not so much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

I've always had great experiences at the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I've always had great experiences at the Pit in the past. However, this time just wasn't up to par. The food was good but my drink was not refilled the whole time I was there nor was my daughter's. We were sat at a table where water was leaking on to us from their cooling system or ceiling, not sure which. Also, my daughter fell while we were there (tripped) and the wait staff/management made no mention of it. I wasn't expecting a big fuss but at least asking if she was okay would've been nice. Like I said great food and the wait staff was friendly, it just wasn't up to my expectations for the Pit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Pit never lets the palate down. Serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Pit never lets the palate down. Servers are attentive and team cover. Terrific beer selection. Take advantage of the free valet service!

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were going to a concert at Red Hat Am ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were going to a concert at Red Hat Amphitheater. This restaurant was about 2 blocks away so we gave it a try and found it not just good, but VERY good and reasonably priced for what we got. 4 of us ate full dinners and with a generous tip it was $107. I felt that we lucked out with something so close (We used Uber to and from hotel). We were debating BBQ or Indian food before the concert and BBQ was a much shorter walk. I am very happy that BBQ was closer, it was very tasty. My son really liked it (he is a Sou Chef at a high end restaurant in Greensboro) and he is a "brisket snob", lol. From the hush puppies to the brisket, everything was prepared very well. The staff was attentive (but not overly so) and the restaurant was near capacity when we ate. No delays for anything we ate or drank, I would definitely go there again and recommend to anyone who likes BBQ and try to convert those that didn't like BBQ, haha

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall The Pit is great for bringing cl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Overall The Pit is great for bringing classic BBQ to guests in town who don't want to go to the classic run down BBQ joints. However, the sides and brisket leave something to be desired. The brisket has always been overcooked every time I've been there, the mac n cheese side is clearly from a powdered mixture and therefore not a true southern dish, the baked beans are good enough just a little too much extra Worcestershire in them, to me baked beans are slightly plain with more brown sugar to them than spice/kick. Of course the cornbread is great and the hush puppies are perfect, the banana pudding is to die for and the BBQ is outstanding. The service might be the worst part of the whole place and I'm not sure why, given that you get three servers to your table. I think maybe have a lead server and the other two can be additional, but giving my drink order to one only to be asked by another then never getting a drink was disappointing. Especially after they clear your dishes and you're still talking and have to repeatedly ask for water. Just because we're done eating and have paid doesn't really mean you're done serving the table. Maybe you want people to leave and that's why the servers stop paying attention to you however we only stayed about ten minutes after paying. It just doesn't seem quite genuine or polite. Overall it's a great place, just have to be picky on what you choose so you don't disappoint your invited dinner guests and be ready to ask for drinks over and over until you get one.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The staff at The Pit couldn't have been ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The staff at The Pit couldn't have been more helpful and friendly -- from checking in to serving the food. A+

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had a 3 course meal and were rushed o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

we had a 3 course meal and were rushed out in 25 minutes. we ordered an appetizer and no more than started tasting that and they brought out our entrees. we ordered a desert and then they brought us the check. Like I said all in 25 minutes.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome great food . Awesome great Servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome great food .

Awesome great Service

Awesome great location

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the soul rolls and my husband lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I loved the soul rolls and my husband loved the chicken wings!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere. Only iss ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. Only issue we encountered was the hostesses were confused and unorganized

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Friends were in from CA and really wante ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Friends were in from CA and really wanted to come here based off yelp reviews. Table was not ready, they didn't have a high chair ready, food took over 1 hour, even kids hot dogs didn't come out. Food was cold and kids feel asleep at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Great ribs, brisket, appetizers, sides!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great ribs, brisket, appetizers, sides!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Great Food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and as usual, the foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service and as usual, the food was great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the food it was all qu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We really enjoyed the food it was all quite tasty. The Martini's were very special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Reserve your tabl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good food and service. Reserve your table on-line, and no need to wait. Go there many more times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my family, who were visiting from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I took my family, who were visiting from out town here, and they were beyond impressed! They said it was one of the best meals they've ever eaten!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great biscuits, hush puppies, mac and ch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great biscuits, hush puppies, mac and cheese, and of course pulled pork. The fried chicken rivals what you would get at Roscoe's House of Chicken and Waffles in Los Angeles. I will definitely return the next time I'm in Raleigh although the parking is pretty tight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always hot, fresh, and pheno ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food is always hot, fresh, and phenomenal. The chopped turkey BBQ is so good, you'd think it was pork. I was craving some southern cuisine and I can always count on this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to better BBQ joints, but no ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I have been to better BBQ joints, but none where the servers are this friendly and helpful. The chopped BBQ was a little too shredded to enjoy and the sweet potato fries were too sweet. The fried chicken though was amazing and the bourbon ice cream should be illegal it was so good. Big downer was the large table with screaming children that no one said anything about...really parents, no one wants to hear little Johnny scream.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I came here for lunch and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My husband and I came here for lunch and LOVED it! They have great gluten free options which is always a huge plus for us. The Brussels sprouts were a delicious side, as were the sweet potato fries (not gluten free) which had sugar sprinkled on them (overkill, maybe...but amazing none the less). I suggest getting an appetizer if you're really hungry as the sides aren't very big (unless you're getting sweet potato fries). Make a reservation if you can, the wait can be pretty long depending on the day and time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Pit is a delicious and fun place to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Pit is a delicious and fun place to take newcomers to Raleigh -- no one has been disappointed yet!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting from out of town and fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and found this place on yelp and it did not disappoint. The food and service were excellent! We will definitely visit again the next time we are in Raleigh.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pit is my favorite Raleigh restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Pit is my favorite Raleigh restaurant. They never disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Love the atmosphere. Make su ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food. Love the atmosphere. Make sure you make a reservation or likely there will be a wait of at least an hour at peak eating times. A little noisy but still able to have a decent conversation. I recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I ate here prior to headi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I ate here prior to heading to a concert. He had the brisket and pulled pork combination. I had the 1/2 rack of baby back ribs so that we could divide the options between us. The two pieces of brisket were more than 1/2 fat and very salty. The pulled pork was bland with no smoke flavor. The ribs were so dry that even after adding sauce from the table we only ate one rib each.

We were excited to try The Pit based off the menu and suggestions from others. However, we left more food on our plate than we ate.

The atmosphere and service was good. We did mention to our server that the meal was not very good when he asked if we wanted a box. There wasn't a reaction to us stating this. He just brought our check and walked away.

Based on this visit it is not anywhere that I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was our first time at The Pit and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our first time at The Pit and we will definitely be back! Loved the southern taste of every food item that I ordered. I am a very picky eater with "plain" tastes and I ate everything that was served to me.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local food gem. Great service. The only ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Local food gem. Great service. The only concern is the food is a bit too salty to our taste.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pit has seen better days. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Pit has seen better days. The food was mediocre and overpriced. The decor has become a little run down. On the plus side, the service team was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I used to love this place. The dining th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I used to love this place. The dining this time was a large disappointment. I ordered a veggie burger and fries -- both the fries and the burger came out cold.

Along with my meal, I ordered and Old Fashioned. It tasted like flavored water.

My wife had the chicken livers which she loved (that's the only reason why the food gets two stars) but the catfish in the catfish & chips dish was really undercooked. She left most of it on her plate.

I used to rave about this place and recommend it to friends. No more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Best BBQ in Raleigh.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best BBQ in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Barbecue and sides were some of the best ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Barbecue and sides were some of the best we've ever had! Service slipped a little during a shift change but everyone was friendly, helpful and spot on with recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We cleaned ourplates. Ribs, fried okra, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We cleaned ourplates. Ribs, fried okra, turkey bbq, regular bbq, mac n cheese, and collards were superb!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.