About The Pit Authentic BBQ

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Bannana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
3 Meat Combination - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Pumpkin Cornbread - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Appetizer Sampler - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Barbecue Tofu - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Hush Puppies & Biscuit - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Barbecue Fries - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Onion Rings - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Carolina Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Veggie Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Banana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (83)
Casual (69)
Good for Groups (53)
See All
Authentic (53)
Family Style (49)
Good for a Date (42)
Local Ingredients (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great Beer (27)
Fun (27)
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
People Watching (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Romantic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Historic (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
4327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorites

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is well located. Efficien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant is well located. Efficient service, good food and reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It's Food, nothing magical. 12 in the pa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

It's Food, nothing magical. 12 in the party and service was excellent. Brisket was either non fatty for one in the party, or 50% fat for the other one. Baby backs were a bit salty. Were out of collards; southern BBQ and out of collards? Comped our apps though in response so that was nice. Overall, not worth needing reservations for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Birthday celebration. Place was very bu ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday celebration. Place was very busy. Our server stopped by 3 times - to take our order, deliver the food & inquire about dessert. Server was told about Birthday and told said it was on the house. Bill came and we were charged. Brisket was dry & ribs were salty. Poor for such an iconic restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Use to be great! It has gone down to dec ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Use to be great! It has gone down to decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great as always! The BBQ soy nuggets are ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Great as always! The BBQ soy nuggets are insane and I'm not a vegetarian, they're so flavorful and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BBQ was dry with no taste Chicken was ov ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

BBQ was dry with no taste

Chicken was over cooked

Service was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Very popular place...do the valet parkin ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Very popular place...do the valet parking unless you like to walk a lot.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Usually a good restaurant but food and s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Usually a good restaurant but food and service was TERRIBLE for this visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The servers were very friendly and the f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The servers were very friendly and the food amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BBQ is really good; however, my swee ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The BBQ is really good; however, my sweet potato fries were stale and the baked beans were also subpar with taste. My friend who went with me really liked the macaroni and cheese though.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The Pit was great. Food very good, the " ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The Pit was great. Food very good, the "team" table service approach was terrific. Very attentive and friendly. Definitely going back...

Tags: Family Style, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food Good Atmosphere as always. Con ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good Food Good Atmosphere as always. Convienent that it is right next to BoxCar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business dinner - brisket and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Went for a business dinner - brisket and pork are awesome

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brisket I've ever had and the servi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best brisket I've ever had and the service was just as good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was excellent, as always.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good was excellent, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We have been to the The Pit many times. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to the The Pit many times. However, we didn't have a very good experience this time. We did have a late reservation and felt rushed and food was not the normal quality that we have received in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Had New Year's Eve dinner here. Service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had New Year's Eve dinner here. Service was perfect, food was quick and hot, noise level was reasonable. I've always considered The Pit to be moderately overpriced BBQ but you are paying for the experience. Highly recommended for get togethers and dates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was NYE. The food was fast, the servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was NYE. The food was fast, the service was great. The food was just right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Pit provides real-deal NC barbecue, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Pit provides real-deal NC barbecue, whether you prefer vinegar or tomato. Chopped BBQ was excellent, nice vinegar and pepper spice/heat. Nice selection of craft beer and cocktails as well. IMHO best part of The Pit is the staff; friendly, knowledge, happy to chat about food, beer, wine, just about anything. Overall great place and experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve and the place was packed. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve and the place was packed. Wait staff all had friendly greetings for us and service and food were excellent, as usual. Love this place!

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!! Food was per ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a great experience!! Food was perfectly prepared as usual!! Service always top notch!! Even in New Year's Eve when they were super busy, we never went with out the attention of our servers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Years Eve Perfect Manager - Su ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve Perfect

Manager - Superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eight of us celebrated my retirement the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Eight of us celebrated my retirement there. The food (I had a half rack of ribs, mac&cheese, mashed potatoes) was deemed very good by everyone around the table. This is my favorite rib restaurant in the Triangle and our Friday experience was great!!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Prime rib was tough ! Dinner served just ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Prime rib was tough ! Dinner served just after appetizers delivered. Rushed in/out. Second time visited, first time experience was good, will not return.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was by far the best food I have had ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was by far the best food I have had in my lifetime, all fresh and melt in your mouth bbq. This is a must try if your ever in Raleigh N.C

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The staff is excellent and the table rea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The staff is excellent and the table ready as reserved, even though there was hockey game the restaurant full. The chopped BBQ (pork) and turkey were very good (large portion, and so were the side dishes and biscuits. The brisket, however, was okay at best. It was overly fatty and the end, extra crispy. While I would go again to try the brisket, if the experience is the same, I would not recommend The Pit further.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was memorable. Authentic southern foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was memorable. Authentic southern food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm not really a BBQ fan, but my son wan ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I'm not really a BBQ fan, but my son wanted to go to The Pit for his birthday. I had the beef brisket, which was so tasty. My son had pulled pork and that too was so good and tender. Service was pretty good. The only thing for me was that the noise level was high and the ambiance not what I like - too lit up and big groups. If you just go for the BBQ this is the place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The experience was all in it's name, Aut ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The experience was all in it's name, Authentic Pit BBQ! generous portions, really fast service,

waitress very knowledgeable about the meat options and styles of BBQ. Will be back for more!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had pulled pork which was good altho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had pulled pork which was good although I never had it so had nothing to compare it to. The baby backs were good but too little sauce .

Best part was the home made ice cream . Bourbon and chocolate was yummy . So we're the hush puppies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food but service was incredibl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food but service was incredibly rushed. Felt like they cared more about turning over the table then providing good service. Appetizer arrived before we were served water and adult beverages arrived just as our meal was being put in front of us. Love taking out-of-town guests to this place but now will give it a second thought before we follow through with that idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Just passed through Raleigh and the revi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Just passed through Raleigh and the reviews of this place made it a must-try. We weren't disappointed! Everything was delicious! The staff was so friendly and inviting that a return visit is absolutely necessary! A great value for lunch!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting the area and heard abou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were visiting the area and heard about this place from trip advisor and it was great.

The location is in a cool area that looks like it's trying to be redeveloped .

If you enjoy this type of food it's worth a try.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Valet parking was complimen ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great meal! Valet parking was complimentary- great evening before the Ballet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Good food!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great experience. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After food was served, no one came to se ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

After food was served, no one came to see how the food was and especially if any one needed more water or another beer, only after finishing did someone stop by to see if we wanted desert. Out of town guests of ours not impressed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous experience, great & helpful sta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fabulous experience, great & helpful staff! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food for the most part !! Great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing food for the most part !! Great service. I had the beef brisket and pulled pork which were both great! The mashed potatoes and gravy were terrific however the mac and cheese was dry but the hush puppies and biscuits were amazing. Overall fabulous meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. This is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and service was great. This is the second time I have been there with a large party and both times were excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.