About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
3 More
Great for Lunch
Raleigh
Hot Spot
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

good for groups (187)
fit for foodies (145)
great for lunch (144)
See All
hot spot (116)
special occasion (112)
neighborhood gem (109)
kid-friendly (84)
great for brunch (43)
vibrant bar scene (32)
romantic (27)
great for outdoor dining (22)
late-night find (20)
notable wine list (13)
scenic view (8)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was authentically Southern and ...

Dined a day ago

The food was authentically Southern and well prepared. Standouts were the cornbread, ribs and BBQ Veggies.

food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service and great food the whol ...

Dined 3 days ago

Friendly service and great food the whole meal. The valets were great as well.

food5
ambience4
service3

Very good food. Ribs, pulled and chopped ...

Dined 3 days ago

Very good food. Ribs, pulled and chopped pork simply amazing. Chicken is really good as well. Our reservation was not handled the best however we got a table and ate good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not visited The Pit in years and d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had not visited The Pit in years and decided to take my Husband to celebrate him receiving his Master's. I'm only mad that it took me so long to revisit The Pit. We will do our best to visit more often. Excellent service and food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JOWL BACON!!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding food. I want to try other restaurants but I keep coming back to The Pit!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fun the host were the best please ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was fun the host were the best please compliment them for me

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

The food is always fantastic. Best mac ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always fantastic. Best mac n cheese anywhere! Our server was great. My only complaint was the hostess. She was not very friendly and in fact made you feel like she was put out by having to get you to your table. Should have someone welcoming as a hostess.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not a good value

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've had good experiences at The Pit before, but this time the portions were very meager, pulled pork was dry, brisket was way too salty and only two slices. I used to enjoy hosting business meals there, but won't any longer.

food4
ambience5
service5

This is a very good restaurant. I am not ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. I am not a fan of BBQs, but this one is really the place I enjoyed and will definitely come back when I return to Raleigh

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience at The Pit. Didn't wait ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great experience at The Pit. Didn't wait too long for anything. Servers were great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Up there with the best BBQ ever

Dined on May 13, 2016

I graduated and needed a great place to go with visiting friends and relatives. My dad didn't want a sloppy BBQ place or a buffet. Everyone was glad I ignored that and took them to the Pit for the family style option. All courses are all you can eat. The table decides on two starters, entrees, and sides and one dessert. All for $18 a person. The ribs fall off the bone and were the favorite. Don't pass up the chopped BBQ or the skillet cornbread. The sweet potato fries were not so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambiance is definitely good...an ups ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The ambiance is definitely good...an upscale BBQ spot. The food is not as good as it was a few years ago...tastes more generic, and the sangria was watered down...looked like strawberry lemonade. But overall it was a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

I haven't visited in a few years. I thin ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I haven't visited in a few years. I think the food quality has gone way down. The baby back ribs were good, not great and the pulled pork was over cooked and stringy. The sides were ok at best. While the pit used to be a cut above it is now on par with Danny's and some of the other much lower cost options. The new City Barbecue blows the pit away in every category.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service! Carolina Barbecue at its finest. Deserts are huge and a total hit as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The food was fantastic! I had the Baby ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fantastic! I had the Baby Back ribs and they were succulent and tender. The meat fell right off of the bone. There seemed to be some challenges with seating customers (long waits even with reservations and slow to clear tables (To their defense, it was Mother's Day), but the hostessing staff was very friendly and professional. I didn't give it outstanding reviews because our server's customer service skills were lacking. If you want to check out their fantastic menu, don't go at peak hours. But this is definitely a great place for foodies or even date night. This is still a jewel.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even great for vegetarians

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Pit is one of the few BBQ places that truly has something for everyone. Aside from traditional BBQ food, they also offer fish and a truly amazing meat-free dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food not what I remembered - Waiter was great!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I wanted this to be great! Our oldest had just graduated from NCState. This is the restaurant she wanted to go to. We LOVE BBQ! My parents from Canada were looking forward to the whole "Southern Comfort Food experience". I was so disappointed. I will say, the meat is still tasty. This and what our waiter did for us was the saving grace. 1. Ordered sampler of appetizers, decent, but nothing super exciting. (So-so) 2. Dinner came out within 10 minutes of us ordering. What? How can things be cooked fresh that fast? (Boo) 3. Gravy on mashed potatoes had film on it...clearly been sitting out for a while. (Boo) 4. Sweet potato fries burnt. Felt too rushed to talk to waiter about it. (Boo) 5. Brussel sprouts came out 15 minutes later. These were fresh, and delish! (Yay!!) 6. Waiter couldn't convince us to get dessert, but gave us a complimentary taste of the banana pudding...this was the highlight of the night. (Yay!) Sadly, we felt rushed...we were in and out in less than an hour, so I guess we were. Not sure I'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent BBQ & sides

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family loves the Pit. We all have a favorite...my husband loves the bbq, my daughter the fried okra, my son the mac & cheese, and I love the collards and hushpuppies.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Still good

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We have dined at The Pit many times, and we were not disappointed this past weekend when eight of us went there to celebrate our son's graduation. We had pulled pork, a veggie burger, half rack of ribs, fried chicken, and the tofu barbecue. All were good and seasoned perfectly. The only glitch was a distracted and somewhat inattentive server, as well as a parking fiasco. We waited for ages for the valet parking attendants -- both before and after our meal. This led to frustration for some of our party, who were elderly and unable to stand outside waiting for long periods of time. However, parking and server issues aside, the overall experience was very good. The Pit still has "it."

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening...hot excellent meals. Ver ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great evening...hot excellent meals. Very fast service for party of 9.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Busy restaurant, great food!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Restaurant was busy even early in the evening. Moderately loud environment. The ribs and brisket were absolutely delicious. Good selection of beers. Great service.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Always enjoy the Pit

Dined on May 1, 2016

Always enjoy the Pit

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I love this place. Unfortunately, every time I come, I pig out and usually leave at least 5 lbs heavier. ...but the great food is worth the extra weight. I also like the idea of having (3) servers per table. There was always someone checking on us to see if we needed anything. My only challenge (its not really a complaint) is finding a parking space nearby if you choose not to use the valet service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

great dining experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is our second time here and this was def better than the first hands down! All 4 adults loved the food and drinks! Sangria is to my fav! Waiter was awesome and kids had fun! Just nothing for the kids to draw on. So bring your own supplies!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food at The Pit was so good! My husband and I went for date night and really enjoyed ourselves. The old building was really cool and the atmosphere was fun. Our wait staff were on time, and we never were in need of anything for long! I highly recommend this restaurant! Yum yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Was expecting more

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here for date night with the expectation of a top tier in BBQ in the Raleigh area. Service was decent other than none of the workers seem to smile or make you feel like they want you there. Price was reasonable but the food was nothing to write home about. Based on reviews and word of mouth I expected the food to be great, but it was middle of the road compared to other local places. Brisket was the best out of the three we tried. Pulled pork and BBQ chicken was very dry. Offered 2 sauces, house BBQ and vinegar base. Prefer to see a few more, especially something with heat. Very over crowded and you get the sense that they want you in and out quickly.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Special Night

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great NC BBQ. Our group especially enjoyed the variety of craft beers and drink specials. Complimentary valet parking is a plus.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

We were a few minutes late for our reser ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were a few minutes late for our reservations, but they were very accommodating. Service was quick. Portions were perfect (we split a plate).

food4
ambience5
service5

We were going to be in Raleigh overnight ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were going to be in Raleigh overnight. We were craving some good BBQ an this place came highly recommended. We made reservations and I'm glad we did. The restaurant filled up quickly for lunch and that's no small task...the place is quite large. Everything was great. I had brisket and my wife had ribs, both were excellent. Had a chicken liver appetizer. They may not be for everyone, but these were the best I've ever had. My next trip back I'll be having a full order for lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Star Service and Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and servers at The Pit are FANTASTIC! I split a Triple Combo with my mom with the Brisket, Fried Chicken, and Pulled pork. The meat was delicious, but my favorite part of dinner were the free hush puppies and the cole slaw. The server was amazing and was so friendly and engaging throughout dinner. My water cup was never empty and I left feeling extremely satisfied.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome

Dined on April 22, 2016

Incredible BBQ ribs rocked so did the fried chicken. Portions are huge! Service was great

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luscious ribs

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a group of four who'd never been, and we all had a wonderful experience. Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, and funny. My favorite dish was the baby back ribs - they literally fell off the bone, they were so perfectly cooked. The brisket was tender and juicy, but the smokiness was more overpowering than I prefer, so I felt it was difficult to taste the meat. The mac & cheese and the skillet cornbread were excellent sides.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had outstanding service, they were great with the birthday girl! The food was great too, especially the fried green tomatoes.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not comeback tomorrow great

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

I was looking forward to an over the top dining experience here on my first trip into Raleigh. I opted to sit and eat at the bar being a single and the tenders were great. I ordered a Bulleit cocktail and pretty quickly found my holy grail, a two meat combo plate with two sides: Ordered chopped pork and white meat fried chicken with collards and mac and cheese. As I sipped my libation, the food came out in about five minutes. While I know they most likely prepare fried chicken ahead of time and the BBQ too it was a bit unnerving to get my food so quickly. I mean I had to stretch it to make the meal last 40 minutes. The meats were good but not something I could not replicate pretty easily elsewhere. Fried chicken was warm and not out of the fryer hot. (Of course it could not be with 5 minutes serving time). Pork was also good but room temp and fairly pedestrian. Collards and Mac & Cheese were the best dishes and pretty small portions but I might order a veggie/side plate next trip in if I am in town to visit and have gone through the list I have. Overall I felt like I spent $30 on a fast food experience and maybe it was because I was a single eating at the bar. Good food, service was above average. Not a comeback tomorrow experience for me.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nothing special...not sure what the rave is!!

Dined on April 21, 2016

First trip to Raleigh and heard all the rave about The Pit. The food was not what I expected. The service was great and so were the hush puppies but the food. That was another story. I expected the best BBQ around and it was ok at best. The temperature of the food was unsatisfactory, the black eyed peas were disgusting and flavorless and the chicken was just alright. We brought half of our meal home and to the trash it went. Don't waste your time!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raleigh Staple for Lunch

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great place to meet up with other professionals for good food at great prices with a relaxed lunch atmosphere. Everyone ordered the ribs, and they were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and drinks as always and unde ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food and drinks as always and understandably busy, but we had multiple waiters that were at times hard to flag down when we needed something.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ThiS place is amazing. And the servers ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

ThiS place is amazing. And the servers are wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heaven on Earth

Dined on April 17, 2016

My daughter and I planned a small gathering for my husbands 46th birthday. Making reservations were easy and someone from The Pitt's staff called me to confirm my reservations. We were immediately seated and treated as royalty. We had the best servers. Jordan and Amanda were an impeccable team. We tried "Fried mac & cheese". O WOW! It was so divine, like Heaven on Earth. The food was very tasty. One of the few places which serve Turkey BBQ. My husband enjoyed a rack of ribs, with no sauce (because it was great without it). We all enjoyed the apple, banana pudding and carrot cake for birthday dessert! Our servers never ceased to aid us and communicate with genuine smiles and concerns. There was 8 in our party, during lunch time on a Sunday, and we were thoroughly impressed. We will return and we have all shared our experience with others. Open Table reservations helped make the process and surprise easy communicating with others. THANK YOU from us all. We shall see you again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.