About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veggie Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Bannana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ
3 Meat Combination - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Pumpkin Cornbread - The Pit Authentic BBQ
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Appetizer Sampler - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Barbecue Tofu - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Hush Puppies & Biscuit - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Barbecue Fries - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Onion Rings - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Carolina Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ
Banana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh
1 More
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Good for Groups (198)
Great for Lunch (135)
Neighborhood Gem (116)
See All
Fit for Foodies (115)
Special Occasion (111)
Kid-friendly (89)
Hot Spot (88)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Comfort Food (41)
Casual (36)
Authentic (33)
Late-night Find (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Great for Brunch (23)
Family Style (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Historic (9)
Scenic View (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great Beer (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fair. Portions of sides were sm ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 15 hours ago

Food was fair. Portions of sides were small. Felt rushed by staff. Disappointing visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and we were not disappointed! The food, service, and ambiance are quintessential Raleigh greatness. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great NC food fare. Eastern NC bbq. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great NC food fare. Eastern NC bbq. Great for those who want to experience real bbq at a nice atmospher

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a very casual spot with excelle ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a very casual spot with excellent southern BBQ! I loved the brisket and the collard greens were amazing. The counter staff was very friendly.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Barbecue is delicious and the brisket wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Barbecue is delicious and the brisket was not excessively fatty but full of tasty meat.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the fried chicken!!!! This the ki ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love the fried chicken!!!! This the kind of place were you can bring friends to enjoy the food as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful date ni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful date night . The food was AWSOME!!! Their are no other words the wait staff was very friendly and on top of everything.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not as good as prior times.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was not as good as prior times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Excellent service and very tasty eastern ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent service and very tasty eastern Carolina chopped pork.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good came out quickly. My only ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was good came out quickly. My only problem was in route to bath was really bad looking. I thought the bathroom would be nasty. But it was nice and clean.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but not much different fro ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was good but not much different from other BBQ places. Desserts were excellent.

Service was excellent.

A fun place but a bit pricey.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The Pit was good. Definitely hyped up a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Pit was good. Definitely hyped up a little but still good food. The noise level is a bit much but it's more from how the building is rather than actual loud people. We were there on a Sunday afternoon with hardly anyone there and we could still barely hear each other and we were yelling . We were a group of 7 tucked away in a corner with no one else around us but we still had a hard time hearing each other.

Otherwise, great restaurant!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food and great atmosphere. In a re ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere. In a really cool block of Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fast and good. Only had to wait ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was fast and good. Only had to wait a little (15 minutes) to seat out party of 7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at The Pitt five times.I li ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have dined at The Pitt five times.I live approximately an hour away, so when I go to the restaurant, it is for specific occasions. Not some place that I frequent. Three of the five visits were really good (food and service). My first visit was a long time ago with my mom and a friend about 8 months after it opened and it was not good. The food was not good and the portions were very skimpy, so I stayed away for a long time and had vowed not to go back. My boss chose to take his staff there for our Christmas party, and the food was terrific and a great value. I felt like you actually got your monies worth, so from that experience, I immediately (within 2 months) took my mom back again for lunch, and the food and server were great. I was going to a concert at the Red Hat Amphitheater on a Saturday evening with friends and made reservations for dinner. I wanted to share the good food and atmosphere with friends, and again, we had a great experience. Service was great,waiters were attentive to our needs and we felt like our business was appreciated. Recently, me and some friends were going to another concert at the Red Hat and went back to The Pitt because of the convenient location. Wow, were we disappointed. There were 4 waiters working an area. Glasses stayed empty. We had to flag somebody down to get refills, napkins, or anything, and when the food came out, the portions were very small. One of my friends got the brisket. It was dry and tough, and the food was not hot, it was "luke warm", like it was lunch leftovers. Every dining experience will not be memorable, but even if the food sucks, if the service is good, I can forgive the cook. Maybe I am old fashioned, but I like "a" waiter, "one" that I can hold accountable and that is responsible for making my dining experience a pleasure. Don't decide not to try it because of my two bad experiences. Try it for yourself because you may luck up and your experience be like one of the three good one's that I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the food, great service Love the va ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Love the food, great service

Love the valet parking

Disappointed the NC STATE flag hanging out front was terribly faded.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a unique experience. We were sea ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a unique experience. We were seated right away and our order was taken. We received our appetizer fairly quickly. Then nothing. We waited at least 30 minutes, maybe longer for our food. When the waiter came over, he apologized and said the kitchen was backed up and then went on to explain that the printer ran out of paper and our order was lost (huh?) He had to take our order again. I have never had that happen before. It then took a while to get our food. We watched tables around us who arrived much later than we did get there food even after we ordered again. We were told we could have a free dessert. Meanwhile, we stuffed our faces with hushpuppies because we were so hungry. By the time the food came, we weren't that hungry anymore and didn't enjoy the food as much as we would have if we didn't have to wait so long. We were there for two hours. That may not seem like much time but this was not supposed to be a long, drawn out meal. We didn't spend time having drinks before dinner and we all took our desserts to go. I was not only disappointed in the service but thought the compensation for our bad service was inadequate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Brought my in-laws and husband here for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Brought my in-laws and husband here for some authentic NC BBQ--great meal had by all, portions are big enough to share if you order enough. For 4 of us we had 1 appetizer and 2 of the 3 dish plates plus 1 extra side. Food was yummy--service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The combo dish we shared was just right. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The combo dish we shared was just right. Very good biscuits & hush puppies. We had fried okra & collards - both delicious. Friends opted for sides of Brunswick stew & brussel sprouts- neither rated very highly. Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! First visit. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service! First visit. Will do it again in the future.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have now eaten at The Pit two times s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have now eaten at The Pit two times since moving down to NC from CT. Both experiences have been outstanding. The food was excellent and the selection very extensive. The waiter/waitresses that we have had have been extremely polite and courteous. This is a place that I would recommend to anyone and worth the 35 minute drive that we make to get there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, staff, service and everything was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food, staff, service and everything was splendid...an exceptionally enjoyable evening..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all this will be the first revi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First of all this will be the first review I think I have ever written. Service was not good at all! Chad was our main server. He took our order, which he screwed up and NEVER came back to the table to check on us(must have walked by us at least 20 times too). Someone else dropped the food off at our table and didn't ask us if everything was correct or if we needed anything else. We ordered one drink each and they were empty before the food got to our table. No one asked if we wanted another one. The only person that tried to help was the guy that was clearing the dishes from the table. He noticed we weren't very pleased so he brought us out a piece of carrot cake, which was nice. It overall was not a very good experience for my girlfriends birthday. Sorry to complain but I just thought you guys should know.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I enjoyed the Soul Rolls and sweet potat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I enjoyed the Soul Rolls and sweet potato fries. The pulled pork and baby back ribs were average and not as flavorful as expected. Truly overpriced for a meal that can't compete with some of Carolinas smaller BBQ spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Not the same as it once was, the Pit is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Not the same as it once was, the Pit is suitable for the business crowd and those visiting from out of town. For locals, there are better choices. Portion sizes on the side dishes for example were ridiculously small. We won't return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

we had an excellent meal and very fine s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

we had an excellent meal and very fine service by 2 attentive waiters- best baby back ribs I ever had- highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best barbecue in Raleigh, and some of th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best barbecue in Raleigh, and some of the best I have ever had anywhere! Pulled pork is phenomenal, as is the brunswick stew! Beware that the desserts are huge!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great as well as the servic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was great as well as the service. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They seem to run out of certain menu opt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

They seem to run out of certain menu options very early into the night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty straightforward - good BBQ and ab ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pretty straightforward - good BBQ and above average service. In my experience the entrees - ribs, pork, brisket and fried chicken are all I have tried - are very good and the sides are closer to average. This is a pretty solid place to hit in Raleigh... Especially if you are looking for a step above the normal service and dining areas typical to a traditional BBQ joint. You find more in the way of modernistic decor and flair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed with meal. Fried Chicken & ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Disappointed with meal. Fried Chicken & Ribs overcooked and dry. This was a late dinner with visitor from out of town and advised them this was a 'must try' restaurant after several great experiences. Most embarrassing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

I am a huge fan of The Pit in general, b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I am a huge fan of The Pit in general, but I was so so sad tonight as I learned the candied yams were removed from the menu. They were my absolute favorite thing to order at The Pit! Also, my only other comment on tonight's meal was that the biscuits and hush puppies, as well as mine and my friend's mac and cheese, were room temperature upon their arrival to our table. However, this was and has been the only complaint I will give, as the food is always perfect and the service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are from out of state and go to The P ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We are from out of state and go to The Pit each time we are in Raleigh, which is usually once a year! We wouldn't stop in Raleigh and not hit up The Pit. I remember when meatloaf was on the menu! It was great! The BBQ is so good as is the fried chicken. Our sons favorite is the brisket. Nice selection of side dishes, too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much better than expected. Fried chicken ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Much better than expected. Fried chicken a bit greasy and overbreaded for my taste. Barbequed chicken better. Love that it was cooked until falling off bone. Delicious brisket and BBQ. Vegetable sides, hushpuppies and biscuits very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too loud, small portions, too expensive ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Too loud, small portions, too expensive. No one should spend so much money for bbq. Terrible parking. I don't expect to ever go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Not only do my wife and I often visit th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Not only do my wife and I often visit this establishment. Out of town family members and friends look forward to a nite of dining at the Pit when visiting . Never to be disappointed, these evenings of fellowshiping over great meals and courteous service has become a tradition for this Raleigh family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere, value, and overall ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food, atmosphere, value, and overall service were very good. My only regret was to discover entree specials listed on the reverse of the dessert menu which we were given after our meal. We would have appreciated knowing about the entree specials and I at least would have selected the salmon special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service, would absolu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fantastic food and service, would absolutely recommend to anyone to go and try The Pit.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!! Will eat here anytime. Can't ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent!! Will eat here anytime. Can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.