About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veggie Plate
Bannana Pudding
3 Meat Combination
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs
Pumpkin Cornbread
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken
Appetizer Sampler
Barbecue Tofu
Hush Puppies & Biscuit
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies
Barbecue Fries
Onion Rings
Carolina Ribs
Banana Pudding

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh
2 More
Hot Spot
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

good for groups (211)
great for lunch (147)
fit for foodies (141)
See All
special occasion (110)
hot spot (107)
neighborhood gem (107)
kid-friendly (95)
great for brunch (41)
vibrant bar scene (36)
late-night find (28)
great for outdoor dining (26)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I LOVE The Pit. It's a Eastern Carolina ...

Dined 3 days ago

I LOVE The Pit. It's a Eastern Carolina Country Boy's dream with BBQ, Fried Chicken, and Ribs. The Mac N' Cheese is out of this world and the Brunswick stew is good for the stomach and the soul. I highly recommend to any and all who are around and have the time to stop in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Pit is our go-to place for introduci ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Pit is our go-to place for introducing Northern friends and family to Carolina BBQ. It's not the best BBQ in town, but it's very good, it's well run, and has a nicer atmosphere than most BBQ restaurants. On this occasion we waited less than a minute for our table, service was excellent, and the food was hot and good. Oh, and the brussel sprouts are divine!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was awesome, my husband had a 2 cho ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome, my husband had a 2 choice combo, BBQ and brisket. They were really stingy on the brisket, two little slices. A lot less than expected. I had the prime rib which was the best I ever had!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Took a small group of friends out for my ...

Dined 4 days ago

Took a small group of friends out for my husband's birthday. It was very affordable and the portions were sizeable! Our server, Matt, was very on top of things. He could easily answer our questions and was proficient with his menu knowledge. We did sit at the back of the restaraunt, so it was fairly quite. Though the place was packed! Everyone enjoyed their food, as it was quite delicious. Best brisket my husband and I have ever had! We'd recommend The Pit to anyone who wants some good southern BBQ with all the fixins!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a great place to eat. The ...

Dined 5 days ago

This place is a great place to eat. The service is excellent!! I reserved a table online and I would recommend doing so. This place is busy. You will get your food fast no matter how busy they are. The food is also excellent. Can't wait to go back. You can tell the owner or manger is very detail oriented.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my associates bday. Our se ...

Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated my associates bday. Our server--Amanda or Samantha (Have bad hearing)--was awesome! In fact, seemed like 2 or 3 others pitched in to bring us more water, etc. Always a great experience at The Pit!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait seemed long for having made a r ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The wait seemed long for having made a reservation. But it was great otherwise

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my in-laws for a Father's Day di ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We took my in-laws for a Father's Day dinner. It was their first time at The Pit and the first time eating NC BBQ. They loved it, so did we, as always! Service is great as usual, they food is even better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love The Pit. The food is al ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Love, love, love The Pit. The food is always amazing from the delicious fried chicken to the flavorful turkey barbecue. Highly recommend The Pit for date night, dinner, and for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took husband there for Father's Day as h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took husband there for Father's Day as he loves the food! Everything was very good. Superb brisket! We'd definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to THE PIT, we will return a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit to THE PIT, we will return again. There for Father's Day and Dad enjoyed it. Do have unusual sides to select from the menu (i.e. cabbage collards). Family of five enjoyed everything we sampled on the table. Desserts were very good, particularly the Bourbon Ice Cream.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had the baby back ribs with a salad t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the baby back ribs with a salad that was so fresh and you just knew it wasn't from a bag. The ribs were amazing and the staff was wonderful. It was our first time there and we can't wait to go again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent cannot say eno ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent cannot say enough about the guys who tended to our table. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife really enjoyed tasting both a ha ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife really enjoyed tasting both a half rack of baby back ribs and Carolina style ribs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. Great atmos ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere. My only complaint is having larger portions. The food is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there for all of us. I'm from ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

First time there for all of us. I'm from California and I almost want to move to Raleigh just for the bbq scene. Absolutely the best I've ever had. Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for his birth ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I came here for his birthday after reading reviews online that said how great it was. We were not disappointed! We shared a combo. The Carolina style ribs, fried chicken, and pulled pork were fabulous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for a family outing

Dined on June 10, 2016

We enjoyed a family get together at the Pit, the first time visit for some in our party. The servers and staff were great, very helpful and responsive. The food was terrific and we enjoyed ourselves. We did not feel rushed at all, and had a great time. Thanks to all!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The occasion was the night of Ellie Goul ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The occasion was the night of Ellie Goulding so that the restaurant was full with people waiting. While the bread was a little slow in coming, the entree was delivered to the table quickly. We had ordered the combination plate of fried chicken, pulled pork, and ribs. The ribs were truly falling off the bones and were lightly seasoned. The string beans were fresh and tender. The mashed potato dish tasted as if homemade covered with a tasty gravy. All during the meal, the servers were attentively replacing the drinks. We did have some difficulty in flagging down a server to order desert. Despite the controlled chaos, we were able to finish in time for the concert. Go there for the reasonably priced and excellent food.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The Food and Service were excellent the ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The Food and Service were excellent the Table was ecellent and I will add The Pit as one of me favorite places to dine

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was delicious. I tried a non-BB ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was delicious. I tried a non-BBQ item on the menu (ribs), and the waiter was very helpful about differentiating between the 2 types of ribs. Sometimes the wait staff would disappear for awhile: instead of a team of waiters taking care of us (as mentioned at the beginning), only one really interacted with us.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best selection of traditional NC BBQ, ha ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Best selection of traditional NC BBQ, hands-down. From the hush puppies to brisket - plus a great beer selection!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on June 7, 2016

5 colleagues just visited the Pit for lunch and we really enjoyed ourselves. The servers were attentive and the food was fantastic (the banana pudding is GREAT). I recommend family style for lunch as it offers appetizers, entrees and dessert for a set fee and you can always take home what you can't finish.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We live in California now and this place has the authentic Eastern NC barbecue we've been missing. Great service, amazing sides, and exquisite meats. Great price & Even better pulled pork. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceptional

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was breathtaking.. I am from Virginia and my fiancé and I took a road trip just to go to the pit.. Well worth the drive.. Hats off to the chef!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My long search for good fried chicken ended here

Dined on June 3, 2016

As a lover of fried chicken, I am almost always disappointed by greasy offerings with dried out meat. Not here! The chicken was perfect in every way possible. I was pleasantly surprised that something so good was so inexpensive. Any future visits to the RDU area will most definitely include a return to The Pit!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BBQ? Yes! Fried Chicken? Absolutely yes!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Gotta say the BBQ is really good and the sides are just right (green beans and fried okra) but the fried chicken is great every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

In town for a business meeting so had to get some BBQ and the Pit was the perfect spot. Food was tasty, with sides that were not too large but fit the Southern food perfectly. Had a great meal and banana pudding was perfect! Wait staff was very attentive. A great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The Pit on Memorial Day

Dined on May 30, 2016

I always appreciate the Pit's smoked bbq pork. On this visit, the waitress let us know that they were out of pulled pork which is the meat selection my family usually orders. However, our food was of consistently good quality. I should mention that the banana pudding which I've ordered on more than one occasion, while tasty, is a bit small in its portion. I would suggest that hungrier patrons order the ample carrot cake. The noise level was too loud due to two things. One was the holiday crowd which packed the restaurant at dinnertime. That's a good thing. The other not-so-good thing is that the ceiling is built for show instead of noise buffering. So noise will always be an issue at the Pit. I'll continue to visit the Pit, but I'll likely try to time it to avoid a conversation-challenged ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service.

Dined on May 29, 2016

From the valet parking to the capable wait staff to the delicious food, it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a pleasure

Dined on May 29, 2016

Superbly organized and staffed place. We have never had a bad server, all are friendly and have impeccable timing. We have also never had a bad meal, the food is always reliably tasty and filling. One downside, it can be very loud when it's busy, so we have to end up yelling at each other across the table. Another downside, for some reason it's been pretty common for them to be out of pulled pork whenever we go. It's probably their most popular item, but it's always a disappointment and it happened the last two times we've gone as well as once before. It's mainly a bummer because we'll bring friends or family and tell them "You have to try the pulled pork!" only to have them be out. Maybe we should call ahead to check next time!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was authentically Southern and ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was authentically Southern and well prepared. Standouts were the cornbread, ribs and BBQ Veggies.

food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service and great food the whol ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Friendly service and great food the whole meal. The valets were great as well.

food5
ambience4
service3

Very good food. Ribs, pulled and chopped ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food. Ribs, pulled and chopped pork simply amazing. Chicken is really good as well. Our reservation was not handled the best however we got a table and ate good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not visited The Pit in years and d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had not visited The Pit in years and decided to take my Husband to celebrate him receiving his Master's. I'm only mad that it took me so long to revisit The Pit. We will do our best to visit more often. Excellent service and food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JOWL BACON!!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding food. I want to try other restaurants but I keep coming back to The Pit!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fun the host were the best please ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was fun the host were the best please compliment them for me

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

The food is always fantastic. Best mac ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always fantastic. Best mac n cheese anywhere! Our server was great. My only complaint was the hostess. She was not very friendly and in fact made you feel like she was put out by having to get you to your table. Should have someone welcoming as a hostess.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not a good value

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've had good experiences at The Pit before, but this time the portions were very meager, pulled pork was dry, brisket was way too salty and only two slices. I used to enjoy hosting business meals there, but won't any longer.

food4
ambience5
service5

This is a very good restaurant. I am not ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. I am not a fan of BBQs, but this one is really the place I enjoyed and will definitely come back when I return to Raleigh

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.