About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veggie Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Bannana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
3 Meat Combination - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Pumpkin Cornbread - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Appetizer Sampler - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Barbecue Tofu - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Hush Puppies & Biscuit - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Barbecue Fries - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Onion Rings - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Carolina Ribs - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC
Banana Pudding - The Pit Authentic BBQ, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Comfort Food (80)
Good for Groups (70)
Casual (70)
See All
Great for Lunch (61)
Authentic (56)
Family Style (49)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Kid-friendly (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Business Meals (25)
Fun (24)
Great Beer (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Romantic (11)
Historic (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Spicy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went here for a date ni ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went here for a date night and really enjoyed the food! The services was great and we tried a variety of things that all tasted good. I would definitely recommend for a spot to eat with family, friends, or for business. I'm even going to have The Pit cater my company's holiday party.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Pit is for the best barbecue restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The Pit is for the best barbecue restaurant in Raleigh. It is several steps beyond traditional barbecue restaurants that have only pulled pork and Budweiser. The wide selection of well smoked meats and the full bar make this an excellent destination for barbecue lovers.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our 1st time in downtown Raleigh and the ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 7 days ago

Our 1st time in downtown Raleigh and the restaurant did not disappoint. I highly recommend getting reservations, as we did, since it was Saturday night and people were lined up out the door the entire time we were there. The Carolina BBQ was great and the Brisket was fantastic! Service was outstanding and our waiters were as good as I've had at any restaurant. Very attentive, friendly and just a pleasure to talk to. Highly recommend The Pit for a casual meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, People Watching, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

No wait at all and good came out very qu ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

No wait at all and good came out very quickly! Delicious every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to The Pitt for my husband's bir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We went to The Pitt for my husband's birthday, the food was great and the service was great. They were eager to help us with choices and we had tons of food. Great place!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and Service are excellent, and we c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food and Service are excellent, and we could entertain the guests from other countries with Carolina specials. Should visit again.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meats: Baby Back Ribs, Brisket, Ca ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great meats: Baby Back Ribs, Brisket, Carolina BBQ, BLT

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Pit is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Pit is one of my favorite places to eat... .hands down. This time was not their best. The banana pudding was stellar as always! The pulled bbq was cold and tough to cut. Normally its warm and tender. My father didn't eat his vegetables saying they were not good. My mac n cheese was awesome. I'll still go back considering this to be an off day. If the entree is cold, I'll speak up next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was wonderful! I definitely will b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was wonderful! I definitely will be back when I am in Raleigh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my best friend to The Pit to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I took my best friend to The Pit to celebrate her birthday. We had fantastic service and amazing food; I couldn't have made a better choice. We will certainly be returning!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is worth the visit. It was incr ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is worth the visit. It was incredible!! The service was good. Great Carolina BBQ!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Went for Thanksgiving day special menu. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving day special menu. Food was great, hot, and served quickly. Service was good with a few exceptions. Server brought second course before removing plates from first course. Overly small table prevented him from setting plates down and full hands prevented him from picking up used plates. I put plates on table next to us so he could set our food down, but then he left our dirty plates on the other table for quite a while. Why didn't he take them with him when he left. Situation was just weird, and a little uncomfortable. But not so much to give a bad review.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to The Pit , ca ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our first visit to The Pit , came to celebrate Thanksgiving day . Didn't have any idea what to expect other than the reviews and menu that we read about online . Surpassed anything we could've hoped for . Service was so superb ! Food was absolutely delicious . Look forward to visiting again . Something that stood out to me that you don't see very often in a restaurant with a casual setting, is the manager constantly moving about the dining rooms and discreetly coaching the staff . I work in the customer service industry and was very appreciative . Not that any of the staff were in need of coaching they all were attentive and professional . Thank you, you have wowed us!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Thanksgiving dinner. Did not get an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner. Did not get any ham, stuffing wasn't good but everything else was delicious. had to have more than one helping of everything else. Deserts were scrumptious. Staff excellent. Did not feel rushed. Will be eating there a lot. Thanks for a very special Holiday for my family.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitstaff were on point. I didn't re ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The waitstaff were on point. I didn't receive my cocktail until the middle of the meal and it was comped. The food was a bit disappointing. It was cold so I didn't know if it had sat for a while then plated. It was also served within minutes of the appetizer. The vibe was a more eat and leave. It is not a take your time and enjoy your meal place. I'd return for a fast meal but not a special occasion. We were out within 40 minutes.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food and even better service! I ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great food and even better service! I had to pick up my husband from RDU when he arrived from his deployment and he requested The Pit before driving back to Ft Bragg. I called the restaurant in advance and let them know it was a special occasion and they made a special appetizer and dessert for us. It was wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BBQ was some of the best I ever had. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The BBQ was some of the best I ever had. The brisket was so tender and flavorful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs were horribly over cooked too toug ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Ribs were horribly over cooked too tough too eat and miserably drenched with sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Not impressed with the BBQ, less than av ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Not impressed with the BBQ, less than average. Had people in from Europe, would not recommend this restaurant for quality of food, service or noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Took my husband here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday. Being from Texas, he is very particular about his barbecue. This is the only brisket that passes the test! Love the hushpuppies, biscuits, deviled eggs, collards.....all really great southern comfort food. We didn't have time for dessert as we had to rush to the Theatre after dinner, but will definitely try dessert next time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the best waiter, and the food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had the best waiter, and the food was great we had family with us from Montana , they loved the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food.............................. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food................................................................!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The Carolina ribs and carrot cake were o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Carolina ribs and carrot cake were out of this world!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not believe bar had no Crown Royal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Could not believe bar had no Crown Royal on a Saturday night. Crazy!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Best ribs I've had in a while! Great cus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best ribs I've had in a while! Great customer service and good drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I will be thinking of their BBQ for many ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I will be thinking of their BBQ for many days/months to come! Was in Raleigh for the first time for a wedding and wanted to try something with local flair. Found "The Pit" because it has been featured on various Food Network shows. We were not let down! Super tasty, a lovely dining experience. The Pit is next door to a fun adult arcade (Box Car) which was a lot of fun while we were waiting for our table. Definitely recommend reservations on the weekends.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good way to experience NC barbecue. Side ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good way to experience NC barbecue. Sides were especially good. I was somewhat disappointed with the add-on sauce for the pulled pork. It was spicey enough for me. I would order the chopped barbecue next time.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Pit is so amazing in every way! Park ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The Pit is so amazing in every way! Parking near is was great. Good was heavenly! Our servers were the best and were so sweet! The atmosphere was great! We got our food so fast!! I love everything about The Pit! Definitely coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing. Sort of expensive, but ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food is amazing. Sort of expensive, but you get a lot of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was there for a business lunch - great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I was there for a business lunch - great service, food was served quickly, brisket melts in your mouth! Excellent food. I've been before and I'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived late, about 20 min before the ki ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Arrived late, about 20 min before the kitchen closed. Service was wonderful - staff was friendly and very attentive and despite their getting ready to close, we didn't feel rushed. Fried mac and cheese was a hit with our four college kids; chopped pork was good; beef brisket just so so but NC is famous for pork bbq, not beef. The provided an abundance of hush puppies and biscuits as our meals were being prepared.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at The Pit and the f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time at The Pit and the food was amazing!! Can't wait to go again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was so delicious! Nothing I w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was so delicious! Nothing I would not recommend! It was very busy and crowded but what can you expect on a Saturday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a wonderful experience. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The food was good and the service outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to eat at the Pit for my wife's ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We came to eat at the Pit for my wife's birthday. We had a table for 2 reservation at 9:30pm. I fpundits it very fitting that we could leave the restaurant and the hostess would have your phone number to text you when your table was ready. So, while we waited we went to hehe bar and had some cocktails. The bartender was great even though he was busy. When our table was ready we were sat in the front of the house. The staff was super friendly, had great recommendations, and were there whenever we needed them. The food was excellent, the service of a team wait staff was superb, and the atmosphere was great. I have never had a bad experience at the Pit. The icing on the "cake" the Pit paid for my wife's birthday dessert. They gave her a Huge piece of carrot cake, bourbon ice cream, and a molasses cookie. Scrumdiddilyumptious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, & great service with complim ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food, & great service with complimentary valet parking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came as a group of 12 for my birthday di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Came as a group of 12 for my birthday dinner. The drinks were always full, the food came out quickly and at the same time, great portions, nice host staff, attentive servers.

Great beer list, tasty food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brisket was a little tough, but the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The brisket was a little tough, but the chopped pork was good. Service was a little slow, even though the place wasn't busy when we got there. We would still return because our previous experiences there have been really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Referred by a friend, and this is a very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Referred by a friend, and this is a very popular place. The service was outstanding. The food was good, not great. I have to assume that the BBQ sauces available on the table are an acquired taste as neither I nor my companion were impressed. The brisket was a little stringy, and the turkey had some gristle. We are willing to try this place again, but not soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Friends and I dined at The Pit for a lat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Friends and I dined at The Pit for a late lunch to celebrate a friends birthday. Our server was fantastic as was the rest of the team. Very friendly, attentive and helpful. Their fried chicken was delicious, and I highly recommend the mac-n-cheese. YUM!!

Overall, we had a wonderful dining experience. They even gave our Birthday girl a complimentary dessert. Great food, great service and attention to detail. What's not to love. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.