About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veggie Plate
Bannana Pudding
3 Meat Combination
Combo Plate With Chopped Pork And Ribs
Pumpkin Cornbread
4 Item Combo Plate With Brisket, Chopped Pork, Pulled Pork And Chicken
Appetizer Sampler
Barbecue Tofu
Hush Puppies & Biscuit
Baby Back Ribs, Bacon Chees Grits And Fried Okra
Combo Plate With Pulled Pork & Baby Back Ribs
North Carolina Pulled Pork Plate
Coarse Chopped BBQ Plate With Hushpuppies
Barbecue Fries
Onion Rings
Carolina Ribs
Banana Pudding

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Great for Lunch
Raleigh
1 More
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

good for groups (214)
fit for foodies (140)
great for lunch (131)
See All
neighborhood gem (115)
special occasion (111)
hot spot (107)
kid-friendly (93)
vibrant bar scene (37)
late-night find (32)
great for brunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (26)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (13)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
3835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I asked several locals for the best BBQ ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

I asked several locals for the best BBQ place to take a business group, and The Pit came or of nearly everyone's mouth. It's good Eastern Carolina 'Q with unique starters and flavorful sides. The potato fritters were amazing, as were the sprouts. Server Brandon deserves kudos for keeping us on track and making sound reocommendations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the Chopped Pork (some of the best ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the Chopped Pork (some of the best NC style I have had), Carolina Ribs (really good and meaty), Brisket (OK, but I prefer Texas style brisket), and BBQ Chicken (Awesome!). My wife had the Southern Fried Chicken (she really liked it). The service was great and the staff was very nice. The restaurant is very nice. We would recommend The Pit.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was everything you'd want in a more u ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was everything you'd want in a more upscale bbq experience. Highly suggested!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing, the service is grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food is amazing, the service is great, but the noise is unbelievably loud. But the food is worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stopped here after along day of setti ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

We stopped here after along day of setting up our event. It was perfect and just what we needed. Good ol' southern comfort food. We ordered the friend chicken livers, that were delicious and our group of 7 ordered either the ribs or pulled pork. All of which we ate. There was none left over. I would recommend trying this place out if you're in the area!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to The Pit in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit to The Pit in less than a month. Can't wait to go back again. The food and service are wonderful. The best fried chicken, the pork out of this world, the sides ... fried okra, the unbelievable mac and cheese... OMG! Don't walk, RUN to The Pit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very, very loud. Food was OK because o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very, very loud. Food was OK because our brisket was cold. Very hard to find our server and never did see the third person that was assigned to our table. Probably will not be back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The fried chicken was incredible. I tore ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The fried chicken was incredible. I tore into my chicken breast and the meat was so juicy, tender, and flavorful I thought I was dreaming. The skin could be an entrée by itself!

The sides were good, and my daughter raved about the green beans, calling them "the best ever". High praise for something that is usually a decorative throw away at other restaurants.

Biscuits and hush puppies were very good, but all dishes paled by comparison to the fried chicken. Don't miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great beer choices. We got fried chicken ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great beer choices. We got fried chicken. You get a lot of food and it's good! I had leftovers to eat for 2 meals after. There should be a bbq sandwich option on the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was good. This is my second try ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was good. This is my second try here . And my last unless something changes about the food dramatically. How can that much salt get into one dish?!?!?! Really?!?!?? The brisket was cooked and then dredged in salt. And I like salt. This was crazy salty! Average BBQ for the huge price tag.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

was not too excited about the flies.ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

was not too excited about the flies.server didn't seem to care. food was okay.not as great as reviews would make you think.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was outstanding, food was not ho ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was outstanding, food was not hot,

. I personally like my foot hot, so food was just OK.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great but the food was not a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was great but the food was not as good as I remembered. The fried chixken was seasoned well but was overcooked and tough to chew. The chopped turkey bbq has waaaayyy too much vinegar added.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Only decent food was the pulled pork and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Only decent food was the pulled pork and mac and cheese. The brisket was dry and tough, the Brussel Sprouts were overcooked, tasted burnt. Heard and read so many good things about The Pit, will give it a try another day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The place is nice and the service is goo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The place is nice and the service is good. The food is very southern, taste nice.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was quick friendly and knowl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was quick friendly and knowledgable. It was a group of 7 at 6:30 pm on a Sunday they had run out of pulled pork their main item. It was loud !

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic as always. We had not been in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic as always. We had not been in a few years (since the change in ownership) but everything was just as amazingly good and such attentive service as before. It definitely won't be as long this time until we come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone enjoyed their meals. The Ribs w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their meals. The Ribs were fall off the bone good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst food and service ever! Server was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Worst food and service ever! Server was in such a rush and never saw him once he took order. Food came out in 2 minutes, obviously cooked off and sitting around, chicken was cold and had no bbq sauce on it. Beans were inedible due to also being cold and stuck together. Completely disgusting would never, ever, recommended! And I'm a former restaurant manager and critic who is well connected. Oh well!!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The wait staff at our table was amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The wait staff at our table was amazing. The food was great. However, the bar staff and the hostess staff left us feeling like we put them out. We sat at the bar for a drink before our reservation. One bartender was annoyed that we were not ordering food. We paid our tab and went to the hostess stand. Three women were attending it and were very busy with their own conversation to even acknowledge our presence. Thankfully the table staff was awesome and the food was good.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was fantastic. My husband a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was fantastic. My husband and I split a "pick 3" platter and chocolate cake with ice cream for dessert. Hush puppies and biscuits to start, both great. The pulled pork and fried chicken were fantastic. The ribs were only okay. The chocolate cake slice was huge, but unfortunately not that great. We didn't even eat half of it between the two of us. However, the ice cream was very good. Overall, a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambience and Decour is declining ove ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The ambience and Decour is declining over the years. The carpets definitely need to be cleaned because there is a foul odor of dirty carpets once you walk into the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We always enjoy dining at The Pit. The f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We always enjoy dining at The Pit. The food was great, and the servers were nice. The female server with long dark hair in a braid to the side was on top of things. We love the atmosphere, as well. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate 4th of July dinner here before st ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We ate 4th of July dinner here before stepping outside to watch the fireworks downtown. Overall everything was outstanding! The service was excellent, food was great (I had ribs, green beans, and potato salad), and the location is awesome (downtown Raleigh Warehouse district). Surrounded by a couple of fun bars that are in the same block. Tasty Bev (bottle shop), Boxcar (barcade), Crank Arm Brewery. I've dined here a number of times with friends before going out for the night.

Also - very nice menu for Gluten Free diners and kids!

Would definitely recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at The Pit. I love th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Another great meal at The Pit. I love their fried chicken and I get it every time. Since it was a special occasion we got the carrot cake. First, it's huge. We also added a scoop of the bourbon ice cream. Be ready to share it. It is so good! The icing isn't too sweet like many carrot cakes and it's super moist. We went to Box Car after dinner to play some old school arcade games and have another drink; it was an awesome date night combo.

Service was great as always. Never had to ask for a refile, but never felt like they were hovering.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fried chicken was surprisingly delic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The fried chicken was surprisingly delicious!

The baby back ribs weren't bad.

The mac n cheese was also pretty good.

The homemade cheesecake ice cream was FANTASTIC!

I think on my next visit I'll pass on the ribs and stick with the fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Show up at 8:30 and they ran out of most ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Show up at 8:30 and they ran out of most items. The brisket was ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Asked for 2 peach sangrias. After 15 min ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Asked for 2 peach sangrias. After 15 mins of waiting they came and said they would have to make another batch. Waited another 15 mins and they told me it has to settle and asked to pick another drink. Ordered 2 red sangrias. After waiting a half hour for a cocktail most places would pick up the drink bill for those 2 drinks. Did not happen. Food was mediocre. I've had better. Poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Kid friendly & good menu options for chi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Kid friendly & good menu options for children. My child LOVE the all beef hot dog & I loved that it truly was all beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Pit is our good to restaurant bbq an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Pit is our good to restaurant bbq and fried chicken.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My family and I were on a family trip fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My family and I were on a family trip from Virginia. I've never eating at a SOUTHERN barbecue restaurant so I researched online, and found 5 Star reviews for The PIT so I had to go.

Before even getting in the restaurant their is a $10.00 parking fee. I told my husband I just knew this was going to be a good restaurant if they have a $10 parking fee.

We sat down at our table and the first thing our waitress told us is she is about to get off and she ready. She took our order and we never saw her again. A new waiter came about 10 minutes later. He didn't introduce himself he just asked if we wanted refills for our drink. Which took forever to get I IMEAN FOREVER. He came back twice to let us know their is a fee for juice. I didn't mind I was just hoping we could get a refill by the time our food got their. When the drinks came back my ice tea was watery, and my son was given the wrong drink. But I didn't complain just told my son to drink it and I should of been drinking water anyway.

When our food arrived we let the waiter know we ordered an appetizer and he told me okay we waited for a while and another waiter walked past ,and I let him know he put a rush order on it. By the time we were done eating dinner our appetizer arrived.

This is the worst service my family and I have ever received especially on a mini vacation. I do not recommend THE PIT to know one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Exceptional and quick service! Wonderfu ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Exceptional and quick service! Wonderful food, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service. Never ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Good food. Family res ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent service. Good food. Family restaurant. Noise level medium. Definitely recommend taking advantage of the valet parking.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Pit is a must if you live in Raleigh ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The Pit is a must if you live in Raleigh or are here for a visit. Both Vinegar and Sweet-based BBQ sauces to choose from and they go great with anything you choose. You have to try their hush puppies! They are some of the best I've had before. There brisket melts in your mouth. Their Brunswick stew is also some of the best I've ever had. I'm yet to try something I simply don't care for. You can't go wrong on their entire menu!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Throughly enjoyed our lunch and will ret ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Throughly enjoyed our lunch and will return next time we are in Raleigh. Seemed to be a great spot for young adults. Bar-b-cue was excellent...Eastern Style.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I LOVE The Pit. It's a Eastern Carolina ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I LOVE The Pit. It's a Eastern Carolina Country Boy's dream with BBQ, Fried Chicken, and Ribs. The Mac N' Cheese is out of this world and the Brunswick stew is good for the stomach and the soul. I highly recommend to any and all who are around and have the time to stop in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Pit is our go-to place for introduci ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The Pit is our go-to place for introducing Northern friends and family to Carolina BBQ. It's not the best BBQ in town, but it's very good, it's well run, and has a nicer atmosphere than most BBQ restaurants. On this occasion we waited less than a minute for our table, service was excellent, and the food was hot and good. Oh, and the brussel sprouts are divine!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was awesome, my husband had a 2 cho ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was awesome, my husband had a 2 choice combo, BBQ and brisket. They were really stingy on the brisket, two little slices. A lot less than expected. I had the prime rib which was the best I ever had!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took a small group of friends out for my ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Took a small group of friends out for my husband's birthday. It was very affordable and the portions were sizeable! Our server, Matt, was very on top of things. He could easily answer our questions and was proficient with his menu knowledge. We did sit at the back of the restaraunt, so it was fairly quite. Though the place was packed!

Everyone enjoyed their food, as it was quite delicious. Best brisket my husband and I have ever had! We'd recommend The Pit to anyone who wants some good southern BBQ with all the fixins!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.