Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 5/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 53 times today

The Picnic House

4.5
652 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Great for Lunch
  • Creative Cuisine
The Picnic House, opened in 2012 by Portland restaurateurs Aaron and Jessica Grimmer across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, has become one of the staples of downtown Portland’s flourishing culinary scene, welcoming guests to enjoy its seasonal, picnic-inspired New American cuisine, historic space, and heartfelt hospitality. The lunch menu consists of a seasonal rotation of artisan sandwiches, inspired salads, and housemade soups, while the Executive Chef Jessica Grimmer's dinner program adds curated meat & cheese boards and bright, savory grilled offerings to the mix. The Grand Room of The Picnic House sits in the nearly century-old lobby of the original Heathman Hotel and retains the original hand-tiled floor and fluted wood columns.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -9:00 PM (Mon - Thur)
Dinner: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM (Fri-Sat)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 227-0705
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andrew Benyo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Salmon between Park & Broadway
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 652 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Great place, delicious cocktails! The food was fantastic, except for the tomato soup... It was very salty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Front service was a little cold. But after that experience everything else was top notch. The food was delicious the owner brought our appetizer and he was awesome. Our waitress was great as well. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

We had dinner before the symphony at the Picnic House. Loved the space, the food and drinks were outstanding. Between the four of us, we enjoyed the salmon (can’t remember when/if I have had salmon this tasty) steak, mushroom soup, beet salad and Mac & Cheese. Loved every bite from every dish. This would be a solid five star review if it weren’t for a major hiccup with the delivery of our entrees. We received two of the four main dishes and didn’t receive the other two until after we flagged down the waiter and had completed the two that arrived. The waiter was apologetic and nice, but this shouldn’t happen in the food industry at this level.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

We returned after a several year absence because they had changed the menu. We both had the gnocchi. My wife had the tomato soup and I the mushroom (the latter being oneof the best mushroom soups I have had). Unlike too often, the soups were served hot (I have been known to return the soup more than once because it is not hot enough. The gnocchi was tasty, and my beet salad quite good. We both realized, however, that there was not a lot of food for the price.

Our reservations were honored, even though it was prom night. My wife was taken to near the bar (I was still parking the car), and because of the excessive noise there, she asked for as quieter spot. We were able to get a table by the window and have a reasonable conversation. We are likely to return, but this time I will have an entree ratehr than the soup, salad, shares.

Also, unlike our last visit, the service was not rushed. The one time, it seemed as though we were just seated before our order arrived.

Repeating a previous paragraph, avoid the back of the restaurant if one wants to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Good food but nothing spectacular. Had the items recommended by the server. Steak was flavorful but not cooked to order and cold as it hit the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

My group were very happy with everything. The service and food was on point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Reasonably priced, great service. Salmon was perfectly grilled, not overcooked.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Quality food at reasonable prices. A good value in Portland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Very friendly staff, very accommodating and great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was tasty and despite the preschoolers crowds we had good service. Maybe avoid the 7 pm slot. By 8 was quiet and lovely. Despite the food being tasting portions we left with leftover and all was delicious. Waiter was fun and did outstanding with numerous tables to juggle

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The look and feel is amazing for those who enjoy seeing modern touches blended well with the look of days gone by. We really loved how this place kept just enough of the old decor to honor it's past. Well done. The food was very good. And even though my husband didn't get the soup he ordered, he still enjoyed the mushroom soup he ended up with. The servers were attentive and the wait for being served and waited on was consistent. It is fairly loud in the dining area (which I guess used to be the lobby of an old hotel), so keep that in mind for dinner conversation. All in all, we'd recommend The Picnic House.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Along with Pastini, The Picnic House is my go-to spot before attend an event at The Schnitz. The front of the restaurant, with it's sky-blue, birch tree wallpaper is feminine, airy and quiet, while the back is dark, funky, and speak-easy-ish. I like the back part for its vibe, but it can be LOUD. Food is pretty good, but despite the lack of razzle-dazzle in that department, I'll keep going back for for the space's atmosphere and great location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We enjoyed the meal sharing style during our double date. The food was really good, comfortable atmosphere and stylish decor.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

A very lackluster experience. Server had the personality of a slurpy salesman. Grilled cheese for the price should have wowed me, did not.

Do yourself a favor a pack a home picnic and go across the street to the park blocks instead.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very unique dining concept. We really enjoyed the picnic option which was a choice of 3 different items for a set fee. Loved the Mushroom soup and beet salad. My lamb was tasty, but 1 of the chops was pretty fatty. Probably wouldn't order that particular menu item again, but would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

All seven of us enjoyed our meals. The restaurant has a nice Portland vibe. I recommend the mushroom soup and the broccoli/brussels sprouts with lemon aioli.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great place to go before a show at the Newmark Theater! My family has a variety of diet restrictions, and there was something (delicious) for everyone. In addition, our waiter did not make a fuss about substitutions. Our waiter was very charming, funny and gracious.
Very high ceilings made hearing difficult, but it is such a cool old building, it was worth it.
We will very likely be back before other shows downtown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We made reservations here for a birthday party and the staff went above and beyond to help us make it special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Picnic House is the perfect downtown locale for a lunch that feels like a treat without being over the top expensive. Their pick 3/pick 2 combo option is perfect and comes fast. Do go early or late if if you are attempting to converse with a lunch companion; even the quiet tables there can get extremely loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Picnic House is one of my all-time go-to favorites in downtown Portland. The food is fresh, local, organic, and always delicious. Their soups, salads and sandwiches are all creative and crave-worthy, as are dinner entrees, and the service is friendly, welcoming and professional. Prices are excellent, with "pick two or three" combo options at both lunch and dinner. Great for a solo weekday lunch, afternoon snack, happy hour, or dinner with friends. Perfect for pre-theatre dining (make a reservation though, as performance nights at the Schnitzer, etc., usually fill nearby restaurants very quickly).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Lovely ambiance. Delicious food.
Service so-so:
-Had to wave server down to place food order after 35 minutes.
-One hors d'oeuvre never arrived despite reminding the wait staff.
-By the time birthday desert arrived with sparkler (also after having to prompt server) half the guests had left table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The Wild Boar Bourgingon is a hearty favorite, especially on a cold, rainy night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We were out of townersfor 4 days
after the first time myself with a colleague I took my students back because it was so good
I was not disappointed
Neither were they
Thank you
Another reason to love Portland!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Picnic house was great as always. My favorite lunch spot

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Seemed short staffed with host bussing tables and waiter covering many tables.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food was really good. Fresh tasting and food came up quickly. Restaurant greeter was not friendly, nor helpful. She was quite snooty when I came up to ask for the bill at the end of the meal. She was also rude when we first arrived. Didn't acknowledge me until I had been standing there awhile and then didn't come to seat us until there was a line up at the door. The server was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent sandwiches and the service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

My mom and I dined here before going to Hamilton. It's not too far from the Keller. We didn't mind the walk. We enjoyed our food and drink. We both had the grilled salmon and vegetables, which had great presentation. Mmm! The only problem with our visit was that they were out of the salmon poke that my mom wanted to try, but the grilled salmon was a great second choice. We had the Sharab to drink. So delicious. It was my mom's birthday so she had her choice of ice cream for dessert for free. We shared the red velvet gelato and it was amazing, and even came out with two sparklers in it! We would definitely visit the Picnic House again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was really good, but the service was sub-par. Wait staff were inconsistent and not attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great spot with delicious food, fun menu, and great service. Beautiful dining room and bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Fantastic experience at The Picnic House. Fabulous food, wonderful service, unique ambiance ... we loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Very cute place with amazing ambiance and super fun. Great and helpful staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Went with 4 kids, 3 adults. The kids loved every bite (and so did the adults!). Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Overall I would go here again for meeting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food and outstanding customer service! We loved the selection of menu items. There is something for everyone!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Way to noisy and the service was extremely slow. They didn't appear to have enough servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great food. Fun

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The Picnic House was a wonderful place to dine. Wonderful ambience, great service, and creative, delicious meals. Would highly recommend for everyday dining or special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Best place in town for lunch, love the choices for mix and match sandwiches, soups and salads.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17

Tweets by The Picnic House