Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Romantic (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

We stopped in after a morning at the Portland Art Museum and had lunch. The food was very good, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the service was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We went here before a show at the Schnitzer for the first time and enjoyed it. As a vegetarian, I would have liked more than one entree option but that option, the mac and cheese, was delicious! My friend had the fried chicken which he felt had too much cumin but was otherwise pretty good. We also had the brussels and broccoli starter and it was amazing. The host, server and bartender were all really wonderful and the service was quick enough to get us out of there with time to spare before the show. I'd definitely go again and would recommend it to others.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service, food was delicious, server was fabulous and understood the menu very well. The chef personally greeted us. A must whenever I am in Portland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I went for Portland Dining Month last Thursday evening w/ two friends I hadn't seen in a while. Everyone in there was very nice. My only regret was not getting the soup over the salad on the PDM menu. The salad was bland, even after putting salt & pepper on it. With that said, my shrimp diablo linguine was very tasty and my dessert was amazing! The dessert was a yogurt mousse with a sugar snap pea sorbet, compressed strawberries & a meyer lemon gel. It's a must have and hopefully they'll put on their regular menu. I would recommend this restaurant to others and I will be going back. Just don't get the butter lettuce, apple, sugar snap and cucumber vinaigrette salad. Not sure what they were thinking with that one. I would have given them the highest marks if it wasn't for that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I set up a reservation online to enjoy Portland Dining Month with a friend. Upon walking in, I was not greeted once despite others stopping in before and after me who were acknowledge (maybe since there was a larger birthday party happening). Although this was an unfortunate start to the evening service wise, it ended up going well. After we were seated we had a great experience with delicious foods and cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

I go for lunch. The food is great and the lunch service is fast, which is why I keep coming back. Love the layout too.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined at the Picnic House 3 times and each time I have to order the Fried Chicken, it is so good! Jeff was our server last night and made our experience at the restaurant so enjoyable. He was helpful, informative, and funny. He is a real treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Tables are awkwardly close to each other. Served warm water. Mediocre food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a great place for friends to meet for lunch. The half sandwich with either soup or salad is a great option. Tomato Basis soup was delicious and their special Reuben sandwich on St. Patrick's Day was yummy. Love their homemade potato chips too.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went there as part of Portland Dining Month. The restaurant was full when we arrived due to an event at the Schnitz. About an hour after we arrived, the restaurant cleared out leaving behind our table and two others. The restaurant went into closing mode even though it was only 7:30. We asked our server about an aperitif, he left to check, and never returned. We never saw him or the drinks again. Someone else delivered our check.

The restaurant seems to suffer from an identity crisis. The front third looks like the outdoors and goes along with the Picnic House name. The back two thirds, which looks like it can be closed off with a curtain, has printing plates on the wall, is dark, crowded, and loud. Checks are delivered in old books. It looks and feels like a completely different restaurant.

The food was pretty good. The spring asparagus soup was delicious. The second course was good but not exceptional. Unfortunately, the chocolate cake with cherries dessert was dry and reminiscent of Little Debbie cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Server forgot about us a few times and there were screaming children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Celebrated corporate work anniversaries at lunch. It was the first time some of our team had been there. We had a variety of entrees, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Service was fast, and we were done in a timely manner.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was good, service was great but when the place got busy, it got dreadfully slow. When out on a business lunch punctuality is important.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good food, good value, good service. But sooooo noisy, even at lunch on a Monday. I want to go here more, but the noise level is a bit of a show-stopper.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was great. Kelsey was engaging and very prompt. The food is good, but very expensive. It doesn't knock your socks off, which is what I'd hope for the price. Wine list is also good but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I can't recommend The Picnic House. The last time we went, about 4 months ago, the food was quite good. This time it was very mediocre. I had the fried chicken served over potato salad. The potato salad was just not good. If I had thought about it, I should have requested mashed potatoes instead. The BBQ sauce that was drizzled over the fried chicken tasted like it came out of a bottle. My husband ordered a cheeseburger, & he was not impressed. Ordered cheesecake for dessert. It was so salty, I could barely eat it. Weird. It was depressing spending that much money for a meal we didn't like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The service was quick but not friendly. The burger was great but not the steak or other food. I don't think we'll return. Not a formula for success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Close to the Schnitz for a pre-show dinner, the food was fresh and light, wine was delicious, and the service was perfect! Friendly staff and pleasant ambiance, I will definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is our second visit to Picnic House in the past month. We find the food tasty and service good. In my review in Tripadvisor, I faulted Picnic Hour for fried chicken hat appeared almost as soon as I ordered. The server this time tried to explain why, but still it did not make much sense. What I also did not particularly care for was the stacking of supposed crispy fried chicken on my potatoes. My wife this time had the salad and salmon mousse. The salad was very good and the mousse quite smooth and good. I had the meatloaf. - tasty. This time, the serving on polenta could be excused because that could make sense. Why we will not come often is because of a limited menu. There are three items around $30 and then 4 around $24. Of the lower price ones, why should I have a $19 hamburger (it would have to be made of beef tenderloin to tempt me at that price) and a $17 mac and cheese. Finally, I have had better $9 creme brulees, and that is my favorite dessert

The servers were well trained and this always helps. Overall, I find picnic house to be good with tasty food and very good service.

Now, I said I would recommend it. I would because of its proximity to symphony and because a reservation can be made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The host also busses so you can be standing around for a while waiting to be greeted. We had a reservation but are not regulars, maybe that is why we got dumped at the table that stops the draught from the front door bothering other diners. This is my educated guess as most other tables in the front half of the place were empty. I will take duct tape to secure my napkin, if there is a next time.
The food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite downtown spots. It's perfect for meeting friends, or for business lunches.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

You must try the fried chicken! I didn't order it because I'm not a big fried chicken fan but my sister got it and it was amazing! Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere, not super loud and easy to have conversations with your friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food at Picnic House is consistently excellent. The innovative combinations and ingredients always satisfy. There is something for everyone at a reasonable price. Plus, the décor is so Portland.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great location for casual dining before the theater. Menu was a little spare, but everyone found something they could eat. My chicken casesar was a little limp, but others found their food well prepared. I've had lunch at PH before, which I found much more appealing.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a great dinner, cool space with history, and nice people. My only negative was that once dinner was serviced no one checked back with us. We would of like to ordered one more round of drinks. My main reason for writing this is that i have had lunch there several times and has had the same issue once food was served no follow up.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The only issue we had was with our service. It took about 7-8 mins after being seated to get our drinks order taken...another 10 to get the actual drinks. That's almost 20 mins in the restaurant before getting a drink. When the server returned with our drinks we placed our order with a starter and entree. After 35 mins waiting, our entree arrived; no sign of the starter! When we advised that we had not received our starter, we were told it was coming. What? Our starter was coming along with our entree? Odd!

The quality of the food however was very high. So good in fact that it almost makes me not care that the service was that bad but in reality you don't order a starter to have it come a minute or so after your entree and have it be made out to be 'normal'. We ended up getting everything complimentary without complaining so the server at least recognized the fault but with the level of competition in Portland, it's very unlikely we will return here. The starters ended up going home, untouched, in boxes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter was rude to us and got our order wrong. It took over an hour to get our food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very limited menu selection, price slightly above what I would have expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Picnic House is a great choice for dinner-before-the-Schnitz. It's nothing fancy, but it hits the sweet spot between quick bite to eat and upscale date night. The cuisine is best described as well-executed comfort food - the fried chicken is a standout - but the atmosphere and service elevate the experience. Great overall experience at a modest price point.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great comfort food. Wonderful ambiance. A bit loud but a fun nice place.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great place! Went to the Picnic House for the first time on a Friday for a business lunch. Liked it so much I had to go again on Monday! Such a cute restaurant, great service and delicious food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was very good. I had the skirt steak with mushrooms and it was excellent. We had the homemade hummus and pita for appetizers which was very good and the malted milk ball ice cream merengue for desert was fantastic and very creative. The decor is Art Deco old hotel with some very interesting features. I would definitely go back. The service was very good and the waiter knew the history of the old building.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My wife had the fried chicken. She said it was delicious and not greasy. It was generous serving. I had the house hamburger. It was cooked perfectly and was quite tasty. The accompanying fries were equally tasty. This restaurant, with its casual ambience and good, and not expensive, entrees is a great addition to the downtown area.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food is good and the setting is historic and well done. Noisier place - so best for groups. Good location for pre-Schnitzer and post-Schnitzer concerts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Menue was predictable and uninspired, but the food tasted good. Our server was a bit snooty. I would rather stand in the cold and eat something that blows my mind than overpay for an atmosphere and location with food that makes me say meh. Cocktails were the best aspect of the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First time at The Picnic House. Wait person was outstanding, food was wonderful (especially the meat loaf) and love the ambiance, an older building with tons of character and charm. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food and drink was good, but a little expensive. Service was satisfactory.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went with my mom. We are not big eaters so we had the cheese board which was excellent. The space is very nice with high ceilings and the original floor and woodwork. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.