Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House, opened in 2012 by Portland restaurateurs Aaron and Jessica Grimmer, has become one of the staples of downtown Portland’s flourishing culinary scene, welcoming guests to enjoy its seasonal, picnic-inspired New American cuisine, historic space, and heartfelt hospitality. The lunch menu consists of a seasonal rotation of artisan sandwiches, inspired salads, and housemade soups, while Executive Chef Drew Benyo’s dinner program features meat & cheese boards, veggie-forward share plates, and bright, savory entrees that emphasize the restaurant's relationships with local purveyors. The Grand Room of The Picnic House sits in the nearly century-old lobby of the original Heathman Hotel and retains the original hand-tiled floor and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.thepicnichouse.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Benyo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (23)
Casual (21)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was not great and took forever. Prices have gone up and there are way less options. Burger was ordered med rare and very well done. We wanted more than one drink but no one ever came back, missed out on an extra $40! Won't be back, used to be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Liked everything about this restaurant except the wine. Could bring it up a notch. The staff was very friendly and service was good. Had the best mushroom soup!! It is noisy. Good for groups. Made a reservation on open table, easy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Enjoyed the fried chicken. Bruschetta is deconstructed--too much vinegar, generous portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We wish the food matched the ambiance and the service. It is a great, vintage dining room, one you might expect in Portland. Our waiter was very attentive and savvy. Unfortunately, our meal was one disappointment after the next. Stay far, far away from the "BAKED DELICE DE BOURGOGNE EN CROÛTE," a laughable carb-loaded platter that is just begging for a vision. The "roasted stone fruit" was literally a burnt peach with a dab of honey in the empty pit. My dry pork chop was served on a bed of corn that tasted like it came from a can (it probably didn't...but it sure didn't taste fresh). We had at least two other brewery burgers on our trip that were WAY better than the one my wife had at Picnic House. Finally, we thought we were ordering coconut ice cream, but instead got a coconut and sweet potato blend! It was so bad, we've been joking about it ever since. This meal was the only one we reserved on our trip to Portland, yet it was our least favorite of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Third time having lunch at Picnic House, a sign of how much I like it. The combos of half salad, half sandwich, half soup--two of three or three of three--are excellent value. The choices are interesting, and the portions are generous but not overwhelming. The tomato basil soup is superb as is the wild mushroom soup, which is not cream-based, so that what you get to savor is the mushrooms.

Service is attentive and efficient. You do not feel rushed, but your needs are checked on. Like many restaurants in old downtown buildings, Picnic House has a quiet elegance that adds to the pleasure of the food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful waitress, absolutely delicious lunch & cool decor. Definitely would go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I loved the atmosphere of this place. The server was very friendly but seemed pretty stressed out. Food was ok. I got the fried chicken and it was overdone. I would recommend swinging by here for an evening drink, but probably not dinner. We also ordered an appetizer which never came but was still on our bill when the check came. We didn't have time to stick around so just paid the check the way it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was great but way too expensive for what your getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First visit for dinner. We had previously been for lunch. Dinner menu was a bit limited. Burger was outstanding though. Still prefer lunch menu.(love the mushroom soup and the salads!) Also service was slow but it was pre theater time so that may have been why.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had reserved for a party of 8 for lunch on a Saturday. The tables were ready for us, the service was excellent and the menu choices satisfied 2 teen-age girls, a vegan, and a "meat and potatoes" guy. The ambiance was just perfect and our friends from Illinois were delighted.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We brought out of town family, knowing Picnic House would have a variety of foods, prepared very well, and celebrated our daughter's high school graduation. We were a party of 8, but they can handle much larger parties. Lunchtime was loud, but so are most places.

Inventive soups, and great staff.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The entree options at this restaurant are limited to five fairly heavy options. I would love a wider selection. My friend and I both got the burger, which was good, but the fries were way too salty.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Recently had dinner with family that flew up for my wife's surprise baby shower. No one aside from my wife and myself had eaten here, and it was nothing but praise from everyone. If any of our friends or family want to eat out, but have never been here, we always suggest it. Great place for a quick lunch, or a dinner date before going to a show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious as usual and a great place to catch up with an old friend. Love the lunch options to combine half sandwich, cup of soup, and/or half salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good food just the noise level is too much. Can't have a conversation when it gets busy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The most recent visit to Picnic House yielded a pleasant dinner, but unlike my previous encounters, this one was just about or just slightly above average. We ate there for lunch and had some of the most incredible sandwiches, then tried dinner about 2 months ago and I could not quit raving about how good it was. This time around both dishes (mine and my wife's) were nothing to really write home about. Based on this last experience I would not recommend this to others at this time. I will try again in a few months, hopefully the food is better then. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad at all... just not great like the last few times we have been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had been a couple of years since we'd been here, so game to try again. Service was just right, prompt, cheerful, not over bearing. However, once the place is full you cannot carry on a conversation. The noise level is horrible and the tables are jammed up against one another. Food was just fine, but the noise is a deal breaker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

With a name like "The Picnic House" my party was expecting more of a traditional picnic ambiance or menu. I'm not sure how they came up with "The Picnic House" but the menu is not picnic type items (Burgers, Hotdogs, Steaks, etc...) and is quite a bit more upscale than that. At the very least we were hoping for a atmosphere that was more conducive to a picnic.

If you take the false expectations, from the name, this restaurant was good. The inside reminded me of something that you would see in a 1920's brothel with the standup bar at the end, staircase to it's right and extraordinary paintings. The food was flavorable and delicious although nothing that I would expect to munch on at a picnic, however the available selections on the menu left much to be desired.

Overall it is a good place to eat if you are in the area...just don't expect it to have picnic flair.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Has a beautiful ambiance for shabby chic style. Loud when it fills up and it does quickly for lunch. The menu has great choices for lunch and the half salad sandwich deal is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love this place for lunches! Always a great spot for a quaint lunch for two but they have large tables for larger groups as well. Took my mom and in-laws here for lunch and we loved the soup/sandwich combo - tomato soup was delicious! They loved the ambiance and the service was excellent. Great for a quicker lunch for a lunch meeting or a place to grab a bite while shopping downtown. I've heard dinner is very good too!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great location and service. Right across from the Schnitzer. Food is good too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I have been here many times for business lunches. Food and service are great; love the lunch combos. Portions are ok. I get hungry before 5 if I have lunch here at noon. It can be very noisy here, so be prepared. This is the only place where another guest has ever walked over and told me to talk quieter; there's something about the way noise travels in this space (or perhaps the lady was just uptight). I recommend the restaurant overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Picnic house was wonderful. The option to choose 3 half orders of each (soup, salad & sandwich) was perfect. We got to try a bit of everything and the size was perfect. Would definitely recommend!

We had the

Tomato soup- Very Good
Wild Mushroom Soup-Big mushroom flavor (Obviously, but so delicious for mushroom lovers)
Minestrone
Grilled Tomato sandwich
Muffaleta Sandwich
Gorgonzola Salad
Beet Salad
Brown Rice Salad

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My team and I went for lunch. Really liked the combination options which allowed us to get to a lot of the menu. The service was great and the food was fantastic. We will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I always sit at one of the booths (only three) between Picnic & Barlow.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love having lunch here. Yummy food and beautiful space.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistently good! You must try their mushroom soup...it's a real winner! Salad portions could be a little larger for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This was my first time at Picnic House. I really enjoyed it. The mushroom soup (made with wine and broth...not cream) was superb as well as the roasted shrimp 1/2 sandwich on a wonderful focaccia roll. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful menu, great waitstaff. Tomatoe soup was very taste. Orange Vanilla cheese cake melted in your mouth! I plan to take other friends soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have eaten at the Picnic House many times and love it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

So disappointing on every level! Over priced, very limited menu so you would think that the very few things on the menu would be excellent. The place wasn't busy but it felt like our waiter was rushed and a bit in interested in our table of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food and service was great . Always a very positive dinning experience with the unique combinations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good servicet
Limited menu
Food was delivered promptly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had a poor experience at Picnic House the last time, but we used to enjoy it, so gave it another shot. We were sorry we did. It was pretty empty, but they tried to seat us in a dead corner. We asked for a table closer to the center. Our two servers seemed not to talk to one another, and brought the wrong food to the wrong person at the wrong time. The food itself was forgettable. Sorry, Picnic House, we won't try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went for a date night and it was ok, but expensive. The inside is interesting and has some neat charm. My husband ordered the scallops and we were surprised at the small amount of food for the price. Luckily he was not very hungry. I ordered the hamburger and it had a bit of a charred taste although the center indeed seemed medium. It was all ok food, but not fabulous and was quite pricy. There are so many restaurants to choose from in Portland that I don't think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious sandwiches and coffee. Everyone raved about their meal. We were able to have a nice conversation without raising our voices. Superb service as well

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our server was in a very bad mood and reacted really poorly when we asked some questions about the menu. She clearly did not know much about the food and was angry that we wouldn't just go ahead and order. That would be fair if this was a cheap, fast restaurant, but it's not. The food was good, but not amazing, which means it was a bit overpriced. Given the price/ambiance I expected the food to be more creative, but the flavors were mainly salt, sugar and cream. Which are perfectly tasty, just not a special dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Love it. Boss charred tomato sammie. Cool atmosphere and good food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I like the spin on the classic food with a slight flare. The server was excellent and explained all dishes, desserts, and drinks. The ambiance is always excellent with a very different feel that is both semi-casual and slightly formal, as if your in some old Victorian library or coffee house in Paris. The odd but eclectic feel seems to be a perfect Portland fit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We stopped in after a morning at the Portland Art Museum and had lunch. The food was very good, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the service was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.