Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House, opened in 2012 by Portland restaurateurs Aaron and Jessica Grimmer, has become one of the staples of downtown Portland’s flourishing culinary scene, welcoming guests to enjoy its seasonal, picnic-inspired New American cuisine, historic space, and heartfelt hospitality. The lunch menu consists of a seasonal rotation of artisan sandwiches, inspired salads, and housemade soups, while Executive Chef Drew Benyo’s dinner program features meat & cheese boards, veggie-forward share plates, and bright, savory entrees that emphasize the restaurant's relationships with local purveyors. The Grand Room of The Picnic House sits in the nearly century-old lobby of the original Heathman Hotel and retains the original hand-tiled floor and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.thepicnichouse.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Benyo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great bites, drinks, and ambiance. Server was very attentive and decor was on point. All around great and lovely experience! Thank you and will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved this restaurant, can't wait to go back. Excellent service and delicious food! All the food we ordered was explained to us. Loved it and the kids did too!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved the flexibility of the menu, being able to pick 3 items from the different parts of the menu. It made it very easy for vegetarian dining. And the food was GREAT.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went to this restaurant before a show at the Schnitz. Great location and we brought our 12 year old daughter and her friend. The bartender made them a fantastic mocktail and they felt so special. Food was fabulous and they made sure we got out on time to see our show. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great, fun location. Food was fantastic and the deserts were amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Whent to dinner with a friend and found out we had so many options in ordering, so i picked 3 things and so did my friend.food was good and service was clean, prompt, and funny. Thanks vest guy for making our night fun even though it was busy. Cocktails were fantastic!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great lunch choices with the chance to make combinations from a nice list of salads, sandwiches and soups.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were lucky to sit outside in the shade. Inside, it was very noisy, as is often the case with its high ceilings. The lunch trio is a fine deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Picnic House always has great service and high quality, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

One of my favorite places is The Picnic House. Great atmosphere and delicious food! Came here with co-workers and out of town co-workers for lunch. One in our group loved the grilled cheese so much he asked for another 1/2. Since he ordered the sandwich and soup combo, the sandwich was kind of small. It's on really great bread but it is rather small. Since we were already eating it should have been easy to slip this request in to the cook and get it out fairly quickly. It took a very long time and the server even said there were orders ahead of it. Everyone at the table was done eating before it came out. Either the server was not communicative to the kitchen or the kitchen was not flexible or customer service oriented. Would give 5 stars but for this and that the server was good (smiling, checked back a few times) but a bit robotic (it was very busy). Try the soups, they are all fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I made a reservation about 40 min prior for 7 pm and we were seated right away. The drinks order was taken immediately and within 10 min we order our dinner selections including three appetizers. The food was served promptly and it was excellent. Moderate noise level. Moderate prices. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic and creative menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Both service and food were incredible.
4 of us loved everything we had. Not one disappointment. Thank you Picnic House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great service. Teresa was attentive and friendly. There were only 2 tables of guests in the whole place and we were seated right next to one of them, don't get that. I love the menu, choose 3 different dishes to create your meal. Tomato Soup and the Mushroom Soup are fabulous. Great drinks. Perfect menu , all around fun time for all of us.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Place is awesome. Amazing designer cocktails. Waiter had a really cool shirt. Thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was good, although the menu is pretty limited. Pretty expensive for what it is. Staff was friendly but didn't get much service. Only saw the waiter when we ordered and when it was time for the check.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had dinner on a regular Tuesday night at the Picnic house and it was incredible. Although East Portland has a vibrant dining scene, this place downtown is very much worthwhile. Rachel was taking perfect care of us the whole evening and was just one of the nicest individuals you will ever meet. The lamb and the rose were simply amazing, but the new pastry chef's special smores panna cotta was one of the best desserts we ever had the pleasure of eating. Make your way down there, it's worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Took forever for our food to arrive and it was only sandwiches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Dont go here if you're vegetarian unless you just want a salad. The vegetables are fried with the animal meat. Plus the waiter was rude and snarky and the place was pretty dead on a Saturday night at 830. Good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Nice restaurant for large groups. Friendly service . Rather limited number of main entree options, e..g no pasta, only one steak option, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Tasty food, helpful but not overbearing waiter, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Service was not great and took forever. Prices have gone up and there are way less options. Burger was ordered med rare and very well done. We wanted more than one drink but no one ever came back, missed out on an extra $40! Won't be back, used to be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Liked everything about this restaurant except the wine. Could bring it up a notch. The staff was very friendly and service was good. Had the best mushroom soup!! It is noisy. Good for groups. Made a reservation on open table, easy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Enjoyed the fried chicken. Bruschetta is deconstructed--too much vinegar, generous portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We wish the food matched the ambiance and the service. It is a great, vintage dining room, one you might expect in Portland. Our waiter was very attentive and savvy. Unfortunately, our meal was one disappointment after the next. Stay far, far away from the "BAKED DELICE DE BOURGOGNE EN CROÛTE," a laughable carb-loaded platter that is just begging for a vision. The "roasted stone fruit" was literally a burnt peach with a dab of honey in the empty pit. My dry pork chop was served on a bed of corn that tasted like it came from a can (it probably didn't...but it sure didn't taste fresh). We had at least two other brewery burgers on our trip that were WAY better than the one my wife had at Picnic House. Finally, we thought we were ordering coconut ice cream, but instead got a coconut and sweet potato blend! It was so bad, we've been joking about it ever since. This meal was the only one we reserved on our trip to Portland, yet it was our least favorite of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Third time having lunch at Picnic House, a sign of how much I like it. The combos of half salad, half sandwich, half soup--two of three or three of three--are excellent value. The choices are interesting, and the portions are generous but not overwhelming. The tomato basil soup is superb as is the wild mushroom soup, which is not cream-based, so that what you get to savor is the mushrooms.

Service is attentive and efficient. You do not feel rushed, but your needs are checked on. Like many restaurants in old downtown buildings, Picnic House has a quiet elegance that adds to the pleasure of the food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful waitress, absolutely delicious lunch & cool decor. Definitely would go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I loved the atmosphere of this place. The server was very friendly but seemed pretty stressed out. Food was ok. I got the fried chicken and it was overdone. I would recommend swinging by here for an evening drink, but probably not dinner. We also ordered an appetizer which never came but was still on our bill when the check came. We didn't have time to stick around so just paid the check the way it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was great but way too expensive for what your getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First visit for dinner. We had previously been for lunch. Dinner menu was a bit limited. Burger was outstanding though. Still prefer lunch menu.(love the mushroom soup and the salads!) Also service was slow but it was pre theater time so that may have been why.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had reserved for a party of 8 for lunch on a Saturday. The tables were ready for us, the service was excellent and the menu choices satisfied 2 teen-age girls, a vegan, and a "meat and potatoes" guy. The ambiance was just perfect and our friends from Illinois were delighted.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We brought out of town family, knowing Picnic House would have a variety of foods, prepared very well, and celebrated our daughter's high school graduation. We were a party of 8, but they can handle much larger parties. Lunchtime was loud, but so are most places.

Inventive soups, and great staff.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The entree options at this restaurant are limited to five fairly heavy options. I would love a wider selection. My friend and I both got the burger, which was good, but the fries were way too salty.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Recently had dinner with family that flew up for my wife's surprise baby shower. No one aside from my wife and myself had eaten here, and it was nothing but praise from everyone. If any of our friends or family want to eat out, but have never been here, we always suggest it. Great place for a quick lunch, or a dinner date before going to a show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious as usual and a great place to catch up with an old friend. Love the lunch options to combine half sandwich, cup of soup, and/or half salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good food just the noise level is too much. Can't have a conversation when it gets busy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The most recent visit to Picnic House yielded a pleasant dinner, but unlike my previous encounters, this one was just about or just slightly above average. We ate there for lunch and had some of the most incredible sandwiches, then tried dinner about 2 months ago and I could not quit raving about how good it was. This time around both dishes (mine and my wife's) were nothing to really write home about. Based on this last experience I would not recommend this to others at this time. I will try again in a few months, hopefully the food is better then. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad at all... just not great like the last few times we have been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had been a couple of years since we'd been here, so game to try again. Service was just right, prompt, cheerful, not over bearing. However, once the place is full you cannot carry on a conversation. The noise level is horrible and the tables are jammed up against one another. Food was just fine, but the noise is a deal breaker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

With a name like "The Picnic House" my party was expecting more of a traditional picnic ambiance or menu. I'm not sure how they came up with "The Picnic House" but the menu is not picnic type items (Burgers, Hotdogs, Steaks, etc...) and is quite a bit more upscale than that. At the very least we were hoping for a atmosphere that was more conducive to a picnic.

If you take the false expectations, from the name, this restaurant was good. The inside reminded me of something that you would see in a 1920's brothel with the standup bar at the end, staircase to it's right and extraordinary paintings. The food was flavorable and delicious although nothing that I would expect to munch on at a picnic, however the available selections on the menu left much to be desired.

Overall it is a good place to eat if you are in the area...just don't expect it to have picnic flair.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Has a beautiful ambiance for shabby chic style. Loud when it fills up and it does quickly for lunch. The menu has great choices for lunch and the half salad sandwich deal is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.