About The Picnic House

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland
Contemporary American
Portland

Great for Lunch (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really uninspired. The Riso ...

 
 (Baja California)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was really uninspired. The Risotto was really just a massive pile of rice garnished with a few shreds of duck and a pinch of arugula. Everything else tasted fine, but it was overpriced and not very interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good for & service with large quant ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good for & service with large quantities of food and reasonable prices. The half sandwich/half soup or salad was really a full sandwich and half salad. Both the grilled cheese and turkey sandwiches were delicious.

Picnic House is a comfortable restaurant in downtown Portland, and I look forward to dining here again in the near future.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of times, and I was surprised at our last visit. Dishes were not up to par (greasy broccoli and cauliflower among other things). What surprised me the most was that our small and large plates to share came out within 10 minutes of ordering, all at exactly the same time. I wasn't sure if they were trying to turn the table (but it wasn't busy), or if the chef just had things waiting so the food wasn't cooked to order. As a dining experience, having six dishes on the table (for 3 people) made it feel very un-special and made it difficult to appreciate any individual dish. Perhaps it was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food prices are inflated for the por ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food prices are inflated for the portions served. The food was not fresh and the mash potatoes had the texture like it was a powder box mix. The ambience was nice though if your not looking for food. It's apparent the owners are trying to squeeze operating costs by offering lower quality food for higher prices. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The restaurant was the only restaurant i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant was the only restaurant in the area that would accommodate 12 people. They also worked with us on paying individually versus on one ticket. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy to converse with my companion ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Too noisy to converse with my companion and it was only a table for 2 - imagine 6 or 8. Did not enjoy the decor. Salmon niscoise salad was plentiful and tasty but severely over-dressed. Nice specialty bar drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value5

Great lunch formula, with fun dishes to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great lunch formula, with fun dishes to chose from. Everything very tasty. The place is noisy, but fun. Great service, our waiter Philip was very friendly and excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was actually disappointi ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was actually disappointing. The food was uninspired, overcooked and under seasoned. Additionally, I feel as though they wanted to jump on the "shared plate" bandwagon to seem more trendy and it was not a good idea. We were seated in the back of restaurant, which was 70% full, while the front was completely empty - this is a backwards model for any restaurant ever, as it makes the place feel empty right off the bat. I don't think that I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This isn't a review, just a comment. O ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This isn't a review, just a comment. Our server reminded us of PeeWee Herman. Very enthusiastic, light-hearted, funny, and also knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great birthday lunch. Service was awesom ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great birthday lunch. Service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken was cocked erlyer and was re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The chicken was cocked erlyer and was reheated . Fod was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food in a cool setting.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food in a cool setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I ate there for lunch and got half sandw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I ate there for lunch and got half sandwich and half salad. It was delicious. The tables were close together so it's not the place if you are looking for private dining. It's a cool atmosphere and the food is delicious! I would definitely recommend this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose The Picnic House for dinner bec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We chose The Picnic House for dinner because we had tickets to the Opera nearby. We arrived as the restaurant opened for dinner (5pm) so it was very quiet and empty, but people steadily arrived throughout our dining experience. The menu is limited, but the food is very good. The macaroni is delicious. Our server (I wish I could remember his name) was very kind, helpful and efficient. I would return again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is my 3rd time here and it was deli ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is my 3rd time here and it was delicious as always. I had the same waiter as last time who was very accommodating and fun! No rushing and no problem when we wanted to go- the check was out promptly and easily split between me and my friend no problems. Over all it's adorable and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time... definitely not my last! ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My first time... definitely not my last! Very personable staff with an all hands approach. The food was creative and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, quirky spot with tasty innovative ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice, quirky spot with tasty innovative dishes. We were in a bit of a rush but our server assured us we would make our concert. Paying took a bit long but that was only a slight negative. I had the Pork Shoulder and Polenta. I loved it. My wife had the meatloaf and said it was good, but I think she would have preferred to get the Pork Shoulder after tasting mine. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good. Not a ton of v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was really good. Not a ton of vegetarian options. Got there for 845 on Saturday night. Might have been 20 people there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

best mushroom soup and turkey sandwiches ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

best mushroom soup and turkey sandwiches ANYWHERE in town!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

All of the staff were extremely nice, up ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

All of the staff were extremely nice, upbeat, and helpful. The food was delicious and was a good price for what we got. I left very satisfied and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended The Picnic House to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A friend recommended The Picnic House to me and since then I have taken many people there. It never disappoints, though the noise at times can be a bit overwhelming. Still, it has good food, good service and a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious but limited menu meant for sha ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious but limited menu meant for sharing. We shared the Caesar Salad which was more than enough for two as a starter. I had the parmesan risotto with duck leg confit and my son had the mac and cheese. While my risotto was quite tasty, I really loved the duck. My son said that his mac and cheese was one of the best he's had at any restaurant. If you need just a bit of sweetness after dinner, try the Salted Caramel Affogato. If you feel you can go a bit heavier on dessert, then by all means indulge in the S'mores Cake. Both desserts were exquisite!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What can you say about this place? It ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

What can you say about this place? It has great food. The decor is interesting and the service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. I think the price was a little high for the amount of food you get, but overall it's a place I would go back to on a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really good Brussels sprouts and broccol ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Really good Brussels sprouts and broccoli appetizer. They were out of pork shoulder, which was a bummer. The only item that left me unimpressed was the Lion House rolls. The thyme butter was good, but the rolls were a bit hard and tasteless. My expectations for six bucks were for something fresh and warm at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

went for our anniversary and we were so ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

went for our anniversary and we were so impressed!! Excellent service and amazing food!!! Lovely cocktail! Everything was delicious!!! Love the historic building and cool interiors, hip vibe. Will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner Out

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Enjoyed the relaxed atmopshere and pleasant music. The service was first rate and the food, although slightly expensive for the portion size, was well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First visit was pleasant

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a small place tucked into the middle of the block. It has been open for 3 years but we had never heard of it. It is the old (original) lobby of the Heathman Hotel, complete with original tile on the floors. The space is rather dark, with a bit of an odd layout; the bar is against the back wall and tables stretch clear to the front window (I would think the bar and waiting area would be near the front door). There is a huge mirror on one wall just before a beautiful set of stairs that lead ... nowhere (storage, we were told). I would never sit in front of a mirror reflecting myself eating.

The service was good , at least from our server Rachel, who was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about menu options. The greeter at the door looked bored, didn't acknowledge us and then tried to give us a table next to the stairs. When we asked if we could be seated in the main dining room, she shrugged and just led us over to a different table. About ten minutes later, another couple was seated right next to us, despite the fact that there were at least ten other empty tables in the room.

Food was good; nice options to share the dishes. Small plates/ large plates.

Decor is a little odd: for such an elegant old building , it is a bit of a disconnect to have picnic benches and flat wood square tables.

We found the restaurant on Open Table or Yelp; otherwise would never have known about it. We were on our way to a movie. I would go again in a similar situation; doubt I would make it a destination restaurant .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love it!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great dinner menu! Great ambiance and service! Love the decor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food and Hard Working Staff

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Picnic House may not be for everyone. The decor is not fancy, the seating not terribly comfortable, and the menu does not cover the full breadth of people's interests. But this place is really good. The food was simple yet delicious. The staff was perhaps the hardest working team I have seen in a long time. The bar is small, but the two bartenders were skilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best Sandwich of My Life

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I made a reservation on a whim and I'm glad I did. The Picnic House has such a fun vibe from the design to receiving your meal ticket in a good book (The Hardy Boys). I ordered the charred tomato sandwich and it was brilliant. The tomatoes, cheese combination, greens and pesto combined together to become the best sandwich I've ever eaten. I ordered the Vogue and could have drank all afternoon. Vodka, cranberry and champagne...For dessert, I selected the grilled angel food cake with almond brittle and berry compote. It was a lovely ending for a wonderful meal.

I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food but...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I really don't understand the wait and the need for reservations. The food is good, and well priced, but I certainly wouldn't call it "amazing". The ambiance is nice, and it is in a great central downtown location. This was my second time here, and enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We where out for a special evening with the family and wanted to try a new restaurant. Upon being seated we waited over 15 minutes for our server. After our drinks came it was another 15 minutes before our order was taken. There was no sharing with our meal as the portion where small. My husband had to leave the table to find the server to pay our bill. I would not bring my child back because I feel there was nothing for him. Our dinner was over 100.00 for three people. That being said we will not be visiting your establishment again.

Joanna

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Cocktail suggestion menu had some intere ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Cocktail suggestion menu had some interesting suggestions to get us laughing - of course the HANKY PANKY made with gin was a good choice - served up. We would rate as a due again! We had three in our party & shared the 3 lion rolls with cashew thyme butter - good balance with the HANKY PANKY. Entrees were risotto, beef, meatloaf. We shared bites and all were well presented and tasted good. Then off to a concert at the Schnitzer. Great location for a before event pre party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent in every way! Good sized porti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent in every way! Good sized portions too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very cute and the ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The restaurant was very cute and the service was great. The food was ok for the price and I would have recommended going until I saw the bill. The living wage fee got me. It wasn't the amount but the principal that the owners would put a fee on the meal to help them pay for their employees living wage. They should either put a note on the menu explaining it or hide it in the price of the meal. I have friends that own restaurants and they explained that it is up to the owners discretion. I went to one other place that did that but at least they told you up front. For that reason I won't be going back there nor will I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great for families on special occasions.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to a musical on Broadway for my daughter's 11th birthday and thought the Picnic House we be a fun place to go afterwards for dinner. My daughter and her friend loved the caesar salad, fried chicken, macaroni and cheese and rolls. My wife and I enjoyed a nice and reasonably priced pinot and the delicious braised beef roast. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant with delicious craft co ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great restaurant with delicious craft cocktails. I enjoyed the old fashion immensely. The tomato basil soup and mushroom soup were very rich and flavorful. The chicken and waffles had a great light batter and the braised beef was super tender. Wonderful meal and drinks in a cute calming environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Found this restaurant searching on phone ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Found this restaurant searching on phone. It's a little out of the way for the show at Keller, but walked was fine. The food was excellent. Mac & cheese was great. Meatloaf was good. Ambiance was great. They can serve picnic style to share with the table or order separate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

how unusual

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant about 10 minutes before our 7:15 reservation. As we walked past the windows, we could see the dining room. There was not a soul there, not a customer, no wait staff, no person at the podium. What an unusual experience. We hesitated to go in, as all the restaurants around the area were teeming with people, both inside and out. We tried to cancel the reservation, as we became very uncomfortable since no one was visible, we did not want to enter into an uncertain situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.