About The Picnic House

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Picnic House
The Picnic House

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland

Great for Lunch (47)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was okay. I had the duck ris ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was okay. I had the duck risotto, which was not very good. My colleague had the grilled cheese and liked it. Service was about average (maybe below for this type of establishment). We only had one night in Portland, so I wish I had gone elsewhere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

2% cost of living charge on ticket. Will ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

2% cost of living charge on ticket. Will boycott, recommend others do same.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

neat building, but they brought the entr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

neat building, but they brought the entrees out too quickly (before we could finish our starters). Further, the pork shoulder we received was just a miniture version of that served at the table next to us. The risotto was flavorless but the other dishes were passable. Overall, I'd describe the experience as fair. There are much better dinning experiences in Portland (e.g. Andina)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We have eaten here a couple of times for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have eaten here a couple of times for lunch, first time for dinner, we we're not impressed. We had the fried chicken, it wasn't very hot was more like room temp, the baked beans were good but they were also cold. Maybe dinner isn't their best but lunch seems to be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

O. M. G! The food was out of this world! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

O. M. G! The food was out of this world!! Mac'n'Cheese w. Bacon + Sirloin w. Goat Cheese and Roasted Beets + Cheese Platter. Having been craving all of these things ever since. :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Whimsical atmosphere, friendly staff and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Whimsical atmosphere, friendly staff and delicious main menu. However, we ordered two desserts (the creme brûlée and s'mores) and found both desserts excessively sweet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Picnic House is one of my favorite l ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Picnic House is one of my favorite lunch spots, so I was a bit disappointed when my go-to sandwich (the shrimp salad) wasn't as good as usual and the salad looked kind of tired. I'll assume that this was a one-time miss and will be back, for sure. But I'll also be watching. My other experiences here have been 4-5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I really enjoy the Picnic House - great ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I really enjoy the Picnic House - great cuisine and great service. A bit too noisy for a business meeting if at the height of the lunch hour.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The location and ambiance of this place ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The location and ambiance of this place is amazing which is why we were so disappointed when our food arrived. 3 in our party had the house special - Fried Chicken. Not sure what we were expecting but $25 bland chicken nuggets was not it. Another in our party had the Risotto, again just bland and tasteless. Would not recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Noisy, need more sound deading to stop r ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Noisy, need more sound deading to stop reverberation of acoustics.

A full size bear with eyepatch and bowler, so we can get pictures standing next to it. Then have naming contest for the bear.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really uninspired. The Riso ...

 
 (Baja California)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was really uninspired. The Risotto was really just a massive pile of rice garnished with a few shreds of duck and a pinch of arugula. Everything else tasted fine, but it was overpriced and not very interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good for & service with large quant ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good for & service with large quantities of food and reasonable prices. The half sandwich/half soup or salad was really a full sandwich and half salad. Both the grilled cheese and turkey sandwiches were delicious.

Picnic House is a comfortable restaurant in downtown Portland, and I look forward to dining here again in the near future.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of times, and I was surprised at our last visit. Dishes were not up to par (greasy broccoli and cauliflower among other things). What surprised me the most was that our small and large plates to share came out within 10 minutes of ordering, all at exactly the same time. I wasn't sure if they were trying to turn the table (but it wasn't busy), or if the chef just had things waiting so the food wasn't cooked to order. As a dining experience, having six dishes on the table (for 3 people) made it feel very un-special and made it difficult to appreciate any individual dish. Perhaps it was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food prices are inflated for the por ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food prices are inflated for the portions served. The food was not fresh and the mash potatoes had the texture like it was a powder box mix. The ambience was nice though if your not looking for food. It's apparent the owners are trying to squeeze operating costs by offering lower quality food for higher prices. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

The restaurant was the only restaurant i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant was the only restaurant in the area that would accommodate 12 people. They also worked with us on paying individually versus on one ticket. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy to converse with my companion ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Too noisy to converse with my companion and it was only a table for 2 - imagine 6 or 8. Did not enjoy the decor. Salmon niscoise salad was plentiful and tasty but severely over-dressed. Nice specialty bar drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value5

Great lunch formula, with fun dishes to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great lunch formula, with fun dishes to chose from. Everything very tasty. The place is noisy, but fun. Great service, our waiter Philip was very friendly and excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was actually disappointi ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was actually disappointing. The food was uninspired, overcooked and under seasoned. Additionally, I feel as though they wanted to jump on the "shared plate" bandwagon to seem more trendy and it was not a good idea. We were seated in the back of restaurant, which was 70% full, while the front was completely empty - this is a backwards model for any restaurant ever, as it makes the place feel empty right off the bat. I don't think that I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This isn't a review, just a comment. O ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This isn't a review, just a comment. Our server reminded us of PeeWee Herman. Very enthusiastic, light-hearted, funny, and also knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great birthday lunch. Service was awesom ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great birthday lunch. Service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken was cocked erlyer and was re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The chicken was cocked erlyer and was reheated . Fod was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food in a cool setting.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food in a cool setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I ate there for lunch and got half sandw ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I ate there for lunch and got half sandwich and half salad. It was delicious. The tables were close together so it's not the place if you are looking for private dining. It's a cool atmosphere and the food is delicious! I would definitely recommend this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose The Picnic House for dinner bec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We chose The Picnic House for dinner because we had tickets to the Opera nearby. We arrived as the restaurant opened for dinner (5pm) so it was very quiet and empty, but people steadily arrived throughout our dining experience. The menu is limited, but the food is very good. The macaroni is delicious. Our server (I wish I could remember his name) was very kind, helpful and efficient. I would return again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is my 3rd time here and it was deli ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is my 3rd time here and it was delicious as always. I had the same waiter as last time who was very accommodating and fun! No rushing and no problem when we wanted to go- the check was out promptly and easily split between me and my friend no problems. Over all it's adorable and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time... definitely not my last! ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My first time... definitely not my last! Very personable staff with an all hands approach. The food was creative and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, quirky spot with tasty innovative ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice, quirky spot with tasty innovative dishes. We were in a bit of a rush but our server assured us we would make our concert. Paying took a bit long but that was only a slight negative. I had the Pork Shoulder and Polenta. I loved it. My wife had the meatloaf and said it was good, but I think she would have preferred to get the Pork Shoulder after tasting mine. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good. Not a ton of v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was really good. Not a ton of vegetarian options. Got there for 845 on Saturday night. Might have been 20 people there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

best mushroom soup and turkey sandwiches ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

best mushroom soup and turkey sandwiches ANYWHERE in town!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

All of the staff were extremely nice, up ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

All of the staff were extremely nice, upbeat, and helpful. The food was delicious and was a good price for what we got. I left very satisfied and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended The Picnic House to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A friend recommended The Picnic House to me and since then I have taken many people there. It never disappoints, though the noise at times can be a bit overwhelming. Still, it has good food, good service and a pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious but limited menu meant for sha ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious but limited menu meant for sharing. We shared the Caesar Salad which was more than enough for two as a starter. I had the parmesan risotto with duck leg confit and my son had the mac and cheese. While my risotto was quite tasty, I really loved the duck. My son said that his mac and cheese was one of the best he's had at any restaurant. If you need just a bit of sweetness after dinner, try the Salted Caramel Affogato. If you feel you can go a bit heavier on dessert, then by all means indulge in the S'mores Cake. Both desserts were exquisite!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What can you say about this place? It ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

What can you say about this place? It has great food. The decor is interesting and the service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. I think the price was a little high for the amount of food you get, but overall it's a place I would go back to on a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really good Brussels sprouts and broccol ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Really good Brussels sprouts and broccoli appetizer. They were out of pork shoulder, which was a bummer. The only item that left me unimpressed was the Lion House rolls. The thyme butter was good, but the rolls were a bit hard and tasteless. My expectations for six bucks were for something fresh and warm at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

went for our anniversary and we were so ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

went for our anniversary and we were so impressed!! Excellent service and amazing food!!! Lovely cocktail! Everything was delicious!!! Love the historic building and cool interiors, hip vibe. Will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner Out

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Enjoyed the relaxed atmopshere and pleasant music. The service was first rate and the food, although slightly expensive for the portion size, was well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First visit was pleasant

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a small place tucked into the middle of the block. It has been open for 3 years but we had never heard of it. It is the old (original) lobby of the Heathman Hotel, complete with original tile on the floors. The space is rather dark, with a bit of an odd layout; the bar is against the back wall and tables stretch clear to the front window (I would think the bar and waiting area would be near the front door). There is a huge mirror on one wall just before a beautiful set of stairs that lead ... nowhere (storage, we were told). I would never sit in front of a mirror reflecting myself eating.

The service was good , at least from our server Rachel, who was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about menu options. The greeter at the door looked bored, didn't acknowledge us and then tried to give us a table next to the stairs. When we asked if we could be seated in the main dining room, she shrugged and just led us over to a different table. About ten minutes later, another couple was seated right next to us, despite the fact that there were at least ten other empty tables in the room.

Food was good; nice options to share the dishes. Small plates/ large plates.

Decor is a little odd: for such an elegant old building , it is a bit of a disconnect to have picnic benches and flat wood square tables.

We found the restaurant on Open Table or Yelp; otherwise would never have known about it. We were on our way to a movie. I would go again in a similar situation; doubt I would make it a destination restaurant .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love it!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great dinner menu! Great ambiance and service! Love the decor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food and Hard Working Staff

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Picnic House may not be for everyone. The decor is not fancy, the seating not terribly comfortable, and the menu does not cover the full breadth of people's interests. But this place is really good. The food was simple yet delicious. The staff was perhaps the hardest working team I have seen in a long time. The bar is small, but the two bartenders were skilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.