About The Picnic House

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Picnic House, Portland, OR
  • The Picnic House, Portland, OR
  • The Picnic House, Portland, OR

Report a photo problem

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Seasonal (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Historic (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

During a short visit to Portland, I went ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

During a short visit to Portland, I went to this restaurant twice for lunch. They have soups, salads and sandwiches and them separately or as a combo of two or three. Very reasonably priced with creative options. The mushroom soup and shrimp salad sandwich were my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Cocktails were good b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was amazing!! Cocktails were good but a little pricy! Would definitely recommend Picnic House to friends and family!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was absolutely fantastic. We we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic. We were here on NYE and it wasn't very busy, which was nice for noise.The restaurant is so cute as well. The only problem was the service. It took a good 10 minutes to get water (there was probably only 15 people in the restaurant) Finally someone who wasn't our server came over and apologized about our server going MIA. Beyond that the service was decent at best. But overall, very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great ambiance, staff a bit over-bearing ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great ambiance, staff a bit over-bearing...menu is odd and simplistic needs more entrée options. Value and place all good underwhelmed by odd menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fireplace, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Absolutely amazing grilled cheese with c ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely amazing grilled cheese with caramelized onions. The menu is pretty limited though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Small wine poor. Cold panini sandwich. T ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Small wine poor. Cold panini sandwich. Too loud have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Phillip was our server, and I have had h ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Phillip was our server, and I have had him many times before; always quick, responsive, informative and just over all pleasant. My family of 6 and I decided to eat lunch at the Picnic House and everyone was super impressed with the service, quality of food, and the timeliness of service. Great job!! and Thank you!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived we were told that they d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

When we arrived we were told that they don't take reservations from open table and we would have to wait for a table to become available. This seems odd because they obviously allow people to use open table for reservations. Picnic House needs to get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Met up with an old friend who we had not ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Met up with an old friend who we had not seen in years. We were able to carry on our conversation and it wasn't too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My niece and I both had the fried chicke ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My niece and I both had the fried chicken which was to die for! Chicken was so moist and flavorful. Mixed green salad was okay. Great service. They got us to our event on time. Great space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, this was great. Delicious food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall, this was great. Delicious food.

Drinks took a long time though, including one wait of at least 20 minutes for my wife's second drink. Generally our server seemed rushed too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall good experience. Friendly and he ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall good experience. Friendly and helpful waitress. Food and service was quick and got us to our show at Arlene Schnitzer quickly. Only complaint is the prices were very high especially for portion sizes! $28 for a cheap cut of steak (skirt) and only got a tiny piece of meat. Food tasted great though- just not really worth the cost for the portion sizes! I'd probably give it another try though- I hear lunch is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I've had great experiences at The Picnic ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've had great experiences at The Picnic House before, but tonight was hardly enjoyable. While the food and ambiance were great, the service was terrible. Our server, Butch, largely ignored our table. I was having dinner with my two daughters before a show next door, and given the attention he showed the other tables, it appeared he felt he could neglect a table with a woman and two children. We ordered food and drinks immediately after sitting down, and while our server checked with us once briefly, I had to flag him down 30 minutes into our meal for a glass of wine. Additionally, our empty plates sat in front of us for 30+ minutes after we had finished eating. I do not appreciate being treated differently than other tables simply because I am a woman dinning alone with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

A group of friends had loved PH in the p ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A group of friends had loved PH in the past and thought of it again when it was time to do our holiday exchange. We had reservations at 11:15 am and were the only ones in the restaurant besides one other table. We were seated promptly and our orders were taken. 45 minutes later, our order had not arrived and in that time, the server didn't check in on us. We were told that a lot of people had arrived and the kitchen was back logged. An hour and 15 minutes later, we got our food which was mediocre. The grilled cheeses were mostly bread, the tomato soup was too creamy, the beet salad was drenched in dressing. The mushroom soup was good and the roast beef was also tasty. We never received an apology but the server did thank us for our patience. The consensus of the group was it would not be a place we'd likely go to again. Too bad, great memories and better food from it last year.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was delicious, as usual. The Ch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was delicious, as usual. The Christmas decor was fun and we always love looking at the big wood slab table. We were especially grateful this week as you were open during the snow storm and it was a warm, inviting place to relax before the theater. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible mushroom soup and turkey sand ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Incredible mushroom soup and turkey sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the picnic house. Was a little bit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love the picnic house. Was a little bit loud this time with a large bachelorette party there which was annoying but besides that it was great as usual. It's a good location that's not hard to find parking near, close to the Schnitz if you're going to a show, usually relaxed atmosphere, good food, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived before 5 and were sent next d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We arrived before 5 and were sent next door to the bar until they opened where it took 20 to get waited on. Went back at 5:15 to a very empty restaurant. Again we didn't get immediate service, so we decided to leave as the menu was just too pricey for a pre Ale fest meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Whenever we visit Portland from Bend, we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Whenever we visit Portland from Bend, we always go to the Picnic House for lunch. Their mushroom soup is to die for, lunch specials are always tasty and the help is competent, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun atmosphere, wonderful polenta!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fun atmosphere, wonderful polenta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, close to the Schnitz, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere, close to the Schnitz, would not recommend the fried chicken, it had no zip or flavor, Drinks took a long time from the bar, but were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved that atmosphere and closeness to t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved that atmosphere and closeness to the theater. The food was very good and came quickly. The cocktails were also well done. Main snag was the service. Difficult to get contact with our waiter. Had to literally go get him to place order both times. Waited 20min and no one approach the table. Lots of waitstaff rushing around, looking stressed, but not actually connecting with customers. A bit more training or something is needed. They looked so stressed out, I felt stressed But again the quality and speed of food from the kitchen was excellent

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Never disappoints! Great spot for lunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Never disappoints! Great spot for lunch or dinner in downtown Portland. Service exceptional! Outstanding food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were fine, but the tabl ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food and service were fine, but the tables were uncomfortably close and it was extremely loud. Difficult to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

While the food was good (not great), the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

While the food was good (not great), the table for 4 that they seated our party of 5 at was very uncomfortable due to the crowding. The restaurant is so loud we could not hear each other without shouting. Not a pleasant evening yet high priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Went for a client lunch. Noisy and food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for a client lunch. Noisy and food is nothing special. the presentation and atmosphere is great, but is really a simple half cup of soup ( not even hot) and small sandwich which is overpriced.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was excellent. Quiet enough to have ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Quiet enough to have a conversation in a normal voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is perfect for a pre-play / ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The location is perfect for a pre-play / pre-show dinner at the PCPA or Schnitzer Hall. Good menu; good drinks. And staff is super friendly. (I think many are actors, so when you tell them "we are theater people" at the start of the mean, for timing purposes, that is a well received).

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting that were 4 of us and we all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Interesting that were 4 of us and we all went for the fried chicken, which quite good as was the side of creamed corn. We also had an excellent beet salad and tomato bisque soup, very good. Great location if you are going to the Schnitz. Only have to park your once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my team here for a work dinner/cele ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Took my team here for a work dinner/celebration. Noise level was quiet enough to have pleasant conversation and the prices were fair for the portions you received. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meatloaf was very good. If you like ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The meatloaf was very good. If you like daiquiris get their rum one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best mac and cheese ever! My husband sa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Best mac and cheese ever! My husband said the meatloaf was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Picnic House exceeded my expectation ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Picnic House exceeded my expectations and I couldn't have been more thrilled with the service and accommodations! My party reservation was originally for 15 people for a baby shower, but 5 more people attended unexpectedly. I was feeling a bit nervous about that, but our waitress (I wish I could remember your name- you were so kind and accommodating and patient and gave outstanding service!) eased my nerves and set up three smaller tables. Everyone had a wonderful time! We laughed, and celebrated our friends' soon-to-be newest addition to their family with fun hats, gifts, drinks and great food served for lunch! To top it off, our waitress was kind enough to take a few photos of our large and loving group of friends and family. Thank you, Picnic House! I will definitely be coming back and recommending you to friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am new to the area and selected The Pi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I am new to the area and selected The Picnic House for its proximity to the Arlene Schnitzer hall and generally favorable reviews. Overall, I was disappointed with the choice and will not be going back. The food was decent but overpriced, service was mediocre, and our server was uppity. When we asked her to describe a dish, she responded... "what do you want to know?" . Lastly, I love historic places that have been preserved for their original character, but this one seems to have gone awry. The whimsical eclectic décor just didn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I always enjoy The Picnic House. They ne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I always enjoy The Picnic House. They need to work on their efficiency of seating but over all a great place for lunch

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food and great service staff, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and great service staff, and the food is both inventive, as well as basic at the same time.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Picnic House is a solid choice for pre- ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Picnic House is a solid choice for pre- or post- event at the Schnitz or a business lunch downtown. I could eat soup, salad, and sandwiches there every day and get a different combination for a whole month.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here prior to an event at the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had dinner here prior to an event at the Schnitzer. Cocktails were delicious. Comfort food was amazing. Had the fried chicken. It was so good! One member in my party had the mac and cheese and said it was one of the best she has ever had. Everyone had a great time and we all loved our meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess did not pay us attention when we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Hostess did not pay us attention when we walked in. Continued a conversation about work with a co-worker for a least two minutes. Service was just ok. Didn't leave cheese off my salad as requested. Menu was different than online. Need more gluten free options also.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I was disappointed that there weren't as ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was disappointed that there weren't as many salads on the menu as there were last winter when I had lunch there because that's what I went for, a combination plate of good non-green salads. That was no longer an option.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.