Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House, opened in 2012 by Portland restaurateurs Aaron and Jessica Grimmer across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, has become one of the staples of downtown Portland’s flourishing culinary scene, welcoming guests to enjoy its seasonal, picnic-inspired New American cuisine, historic space, and heartfelt hospitality. The lunch menu consists of a seasonal rotation of artisan sandwiches, inspired salads, and housemade soups, while the Executive Chef Jessica Grimmer's dinner program adds curated meat & cheese boards and bright, savory grilled offerings to the mix. The Grand Room of The Picnic House sits in the nearly century-old lobby of the original Heathman Hotel and retains the original hand-tiled floor and fluted wood columns.

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.thepicnichouse.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Benyo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Comfort Food (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent lunch spot. Smallish menu but enough options to please everyone 3 teens and their parents. A quick walk to the Portland Art Museum.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Promptly seated at noon for our reservation. The room was about half full. The only negative to the entire event was that it took longer than expected for our server to come to our table and get drinks. Everything was great. The server was very attentive after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Third time to Picnic House should say it all. There menu is tasty, the service is professional and the food comes out PDQ.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great lunch food served quickly enough to accommodate a lunch “hour”.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Have had dinner on several different occasions. It doesn't disappoint. Service is excellent, food prepared and served beautifully and location is great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Overbearing service—-wouldn’t stop being pestered about everything. Primary server said ‘fabulous’ about a million times, ugh. Also did the ‘we’ thing: what are we having tonight? Do we want more drinks’ —- double ugh. Two different people asked us about clearing plates when we’d already just told another not yet. Two different people asked us about dessert, etc etc.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Great for lunch. Have not been for dinner. Had the tomato soup and grilled cheese - yum

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

I ordered the lamb chops and they were delicious. However, nothing came with them. Potatoes and a vegetable would have been nice. I also had potato soup. While, it was good, it didn't have much of a potato flavor and I was expecting something thicker. I had the Pavlova for dessert. I found the merange too sugary and the cream filling a bit bitter. I wish I had a different dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

The service was fantastic!! We had an amazing waiter who took care of us. He was very attentive and made sure that we were happy. The food was good, but nothing to boast about. The menu wasn’t too diverse but it offered a decent sandwich section. I thought for the price that it was a little on the expensive side for a sandwich you could get for $10-$15 instead of $18. The environment was lovely and the noise level was perfect. Nothing but low hums coming from people. Overall, we enjoyed our time but thought the prices were a little expensive for what it was. (Mainly sandwiches and some appetizer-like things). I don’t think I’ll be going back there on my account. I just think the overall food vs price just didn’t end up balancing out in the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Disappointed... Overall, food and service were good until I got charged. Server marked us as a table for 8 when we were clearly 7. This automatically made his tip 20%. Sadly, that's what I would have tipped anyway. It was very unethical and a crappy thing to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2017

As we arrived at the restaurant for our 9:00 pm reservation booked through Open Table they we were turning off the lights and the doors were locked. No one came to the door to talk to us as we stood outside for a few minutes even though they could see us. We walked away annoyed and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Loved the food selection and everything we ordered was prepared excellently! Pleasantly surprised by the combinations and options. Loved that they also noted GF choices. Excellent service as well. Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Excellent lunch spot. Love the soup, sandwich, salad combos. The shrimp salad sandwich is lovely, and the mushroom and tomato soups are very tasty. Nice wine by the glass. Good service, fun ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat whenever we visit Portland! Great food at a great location with great staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2017

I had another great meal at the Picnic House. They were very crowded but we got out food and check promptly. I always have a hard time deciding what to order because there are so many items on the menu I like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Eclectic setting and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Ohhh my gosh..... delicious!! Best lunch experience I’ve had in a while. Food Came out prompt, fresh, and beautiful.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great lunch, but do not order the grilled cheese sandwich...no content or taste! Odd choice of bread as well. Excellent mushroom soup and salad. Helpful waiter willing to give us alternative to the grilled cheese.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2017

NOISY! Service, selection, food were fine but mediocre. Ambience was okay; prices in keeping with downtown location. Not recommended for a date or relaxed snack or meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Accommodated our group of 14 no problem. Great food, great location, great service, great value. Glad I found and selected this place for our group.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Good for sharing. Busy before show time but quiet after. Noise level is good for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Waited an hour for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

The restaurant has changed a bit (expanded) over the years. Loved the old, smaller feel when the beautiful large wood table was placed in the front of the restaurant and the nice cozy bar-like area in the back. Came here for wine and small plates before a sold-out show. The shared food was very good. Service was the problem. With a big show and most restaurants packed, would have been nice to see more servers staffed for the evening to minimize the wait. That is my only complaint/issue. Highly doubt will revisit this restaurant again.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Monday night and I had a 7:00 reservation for three. It took 10 minutes to be seated and another 15 before a waitress come by our table. I suggested that they were maybe understaffed but was told, no, it was a "show" night. But throughout the two hours we were there our waitress was tending bar, tables and more, and the tables were all pretty full. The food was very tasty but portions were small. The food is served on wooden "planks" which I can't believe are entirely sanitary. We loved the lamb chops (very tender), the salmon, and the baked yam. The Brussel sprouts were just ok. The craft cocktails were tasty but pricey at $14. The tequila one was very good. We had fun and the decor was interesting.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We have been to Picnic House in the past. We enjoy the ambiance of the place and an overall location, however, I must say food this time was mediocre, nothing special. The brochette plate bread was kind of still and I was not to impressed with the salad either. Perhaps the quality of the food went down. It is hard to say since we are not frequent patrons.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Wonderful lunch spot! Excellent selection of sandwiches, soup and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Have dined at The Picnic House several times and have never been disappointed! Unique entrees and the best mixed greens and berries salad ever. Love the ambiance and great service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The Picnic House is decorated in a delightful "outdoor" way. The food is excellent with seasonal choices. The service was excellent. I would not return with someone with whom I would like to visit. The noise level prohibited conversation, perhaps exacerbated by a loud and noisy crowd just below us.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

My dinner with friends was so wonderful on Wed., I went back for lunch on Thur.
Very friendly yet still professional hostesses and wait staff. Fantastic food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Have been coming here for 4 years! Love it so very much! I always bring my out of town friends and family here! Great great staff!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Took my mom and 8- and 12-year-old daughters (who can be a little finicky) after a morning at the Portland Art Museum right around the corner. Made reservations. It was delicious, convenient, great ambience (stuff to look at), kid-friendly, we could talk and laugh and it was informal but special. Would totally go there again. The finicky among us were quite pleased.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Extremely noisy
Difficult to converse
Love the space
Good great

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Had lunch here with my son and Picnic house filled the bill perfectly.
Tasty sandwich and hearty soup.
Very convenient and excellent service
I would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great service, amazing food at incredibly reasonable prices! Definitely a place we will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A member of my party was unhappy with the noise level at our table, and quite aggressive in complaining about it. The management went out of their way to accommodate us at a different table in a very quiet area. They were gracious and friendly throughout the evening, even when the acquaintance I was dining with was (unfortunately) not. I greatly appreciated the grace they showed under circumstances that I found personally mortifying. Also, the Brussels sprouts/broccoli dish was *ridiculously good.* I’ve been talking about it for two days now. Would definitely return the next time I’m in Portland!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

My colleagues and I love going to Picnic House for birthdays and business lunches. It is fast service and the staff is always friendly. Everyone was dressed up for Halloween which was fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The ambience and the beautiful old architecture really were great. The food portions were too small. The seating policy is Clumsy. Had to wait until my date arrived before I could be seated. That policy excluded the opportunity to surprise my date, have drinks ready as she walked in. I was disappointed by that. Meanwhile, about 10 other parties were seated while I was waiting. For that reason I would not recommend it for a special occasion. It would’ve been the same had I not made reservations. What’s the point of making a reservation if they make you wait anyway? I would recommend it only for casual occasions. Host was not accommodating at all.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had such a delightful meal with friends before attending a show at the Schnitz. Our server was delightful, attentive, and made excellent suggestions. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.