About The Picnic House

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (21)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Seasonal (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location for casual dining before ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Great location for casual dining before the theater. Menu was a little spare, but everyone found something they could eat. My chicken casesar was a little limp, but others found their food well prepared. I've had lunch at PH before, which I found much more appealing.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great everything

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue we had was with our servi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The only issue we had was with our service. It took about 7-8 mins after being seated to get our drinks order taken...another 10 to get the actual drinks. That's almost 20 mins in the restaurant before getting a drink. When the server returned with our drinks we placed our order with a starter and entree. After 35 mins waiting, our entree arrived; no sign of the starter! When we advised that we had not received our starter, we were told it was coming. What? Our starter was coming along with our entree? Odd!

The quality of the food however was very high. So good in fact that it almost makes me not care that the service was that bad but in reality you don't order a starter to have it come a minute or so after your entree and have it be made out to be 'normal'. We ended up getting everything complimentary without complaining so the server at least recognized the fault but with the level of competition in Portland, it's very unlikely we will return here. The starters ended up going home, untouched, in boxes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Our waiter was rude to us and got our or ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter was rude to us and got our order wrong. It took over an hour to get our food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Very limited menu selection, price sligh ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very limited menu selection, price slightly above what I would have expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Picnic House is a great choice for dinne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Picnic House is a great choice for dinner-before-the-Schnitz. It's nothing fancy, but it hits the sweet spot between quick bite to eat and upscale date night. The cuisine is best described as well-executed comfort food - the fried chicken is a standout - but the atmosphere and service elevate the experience. Great overall experience at a modest price point.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great comfort food. Wonderful ambiance. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great comfort food. Wonderful ambiance. A bit loud but a fun nice place.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Went to the Picnic House fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great place! Went to the Picnic House for the first time on a Friday for a business lunch. Liked it so much I had to go again on Monday! Such a cute restaurant, great service and delicious food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. I had the skirt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was very good. I had the skirt steak with mushrooms and it was excellent. We had the homemade hummus and pita for appetizers which was very good and the malted milk ball ice cream merengue for desert was fantastic and very creative. The decor is Art Deco old hotel with some very interesting features. I would definitely go back. The service was very good and the waiter knew the history of the old building.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife had the fried chicken. She said ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My wife had the fried chicken. She said it was delicious and not greasy. It was generous serving. I had the house hamburger. It was cooked perfectly and was quite tasty. The accompanying fries were equally tasty. This restaurant, with its casual ambience and good, and not expensive, entrees is a great addition to the downtown area.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is good and the setting is hist ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food is good and the setting is historic and well done. Noisier place - so best for groups. Good location for pre-Schnitzer and post-Schnitzer concerts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Menue was predictable and uninspired, bu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Menue was predictable and uninspired, but the food tasted good. Our server was a bit snooty. I would rather stand in the cold and eat something that blows my mind than overpay for an atmosphere and location with food that makes me say meh. Cocktails were the best aspect of the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First time at The Picnic House. Wait per ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First time at The Picnic House. Wait person was outstanding, food was wonderful (especially the meat loaf) and love the ambiance, an older building with tons of character and charm. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. I will be back.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drink was good, but a little ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food and drink was good, but a little expensive. Service was satisfactory.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went with my mom. We are not big eaters ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went with my mom. We are not big eaters so we had the cheese board which was excellent. The space is very nice with high ceilings and the original floor and woodwork. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I am from out of town, so I was looking ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I am from out of town, so I was looking for a place to have dinner a short walking distance from my hotel. I saw that Picnic House was very close and made a reservation. I was very pleased with the ambiance and the quality of the food and service. I had the meatloaf and a Caesar Salad, both of which were very tasty. Our server told us the history of the building which was quite interesting. I ended up going back there two night later for dinner. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, , Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the great food. When ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We really enjoyed the great food. When they offer bacon in the Mac and Cheese, just say yes. The cheese tray appetizer was amazing. The ambiance was wonderful, I was there on a date with my girlfriend, and it was a superb choice.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a bit late but our table had ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We arrived a bit late but our table had been held for us. We let the server know that we were trying to make the symphony. He graciously checked with the kitchen and told us our order would be out in plenty of time. He kept an eye on the clock and the food was served promptly, was delicious and the check was quickly delivered. Excellent service! Thank you to our server! We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Picnic House consistently delivers c ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Picnic House consistently delivers creative and delicious scratch-made soups, salads and sandwiches. Personal favorites are the kimchi chicken sandwich, the cold poached shrimp sandwich and the special African peanut soup. Good coffee too. Great lunch option!

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, , Organic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. Service less efficient a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good. Service less efficient and less friendly than most places we dine. Rather go to a restaurant that values me a a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

During a short visit to Portland, I went ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

During a short visit to Portland, I went to this restaurant twice for lunch. They have soups, salads and sandwiches and them separately or as a combo of two or three. Very reasonably priced with creative options. The mushroom soup and shrimp salad sandwich were my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Cocktails were good b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was amazing!! Cocktails were good but a little pricy! Would definitely recommend Picnic House to friends and family!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was absolutely fantastic. We we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic. We were here on NYE and it wasn't very busy, which was nice for noise.The restaurant is so cute as well. The only problem was the service. It took a good 10 minutes to get water (there was probably only 15 people in the restaurant) Finally someone who wasn't our server came over and apologized about our server going MIA. Beyond that the service was decent at best. But overall, very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great ambiance, staff a bit over-bearing ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great ambiance, staff a bit over-bearing...menu is odd and simplistic needs more entrée options. Value and place all good underwhelmed by odd menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fireplace, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Absolutely amazing grilled cheese with c ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely amazing grilled cheese with caramelized onions. The menu is pretty limited though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Small wine poor. Cold panini sandwich. T ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Small wine poor. Cold panini sandwich. Too loud have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Phillip was our server, and I have had h ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Phillip was our server, and I have had him many times before; always quick, responsive, informative and just over all pleasant. My family of 6 and I decided to eat lunch at the Picnic House and everyone was super impressed with the service, quality of food, and the timeliness of service. Great job!! and Thank you!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived we were told that they d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

When we arrived we were told that they don't take reservations from open table and we would have to wait for a table to become available. This seems odd because they obviously allow people to use open table for reservations. Picnic House needs to get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Met up with an old friend who we had not ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Met up with an old friend who we had not seen in years. We were able to carry on our conversation and it wasn't too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My niece and I both had the fried chicke ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My niece and I both had the fried chicken which was to die for! Chicken was so moist and flavorful. Mixed green salad was okay. Great service. They got us to our event on time. Great space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, this was great. Delicious food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall, this was great. Delicious food.

Drinks took a long time though, including one wait of at least 20 minutes for my wife's second drink. Generally our server seemed rushed too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall good experience. Friendly and he ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall good experience. Friendly and helpful waitress. Food and service was quick and got us to our show at Arlene Schnitzer quickly. Only complaint is the prices were very high especially for portion sizes! $28 for a cheap cut of steak (skirt) and only got a tiny piece of meat. Food tasted great though- just not really worth the cost for the portion sizes! I'd probably give it another try though- I hear lunch is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I've had great experiences at The Picnic ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've had great experiences at The Picnic House before, but tonight was hardly enjoyable. While the food and ambiance were great, the service was terrible. Our server, Butch, largely ignored our table. I was having dinner with my two daughters before a show next door, and given the attention he showed the other tables, it appeared he felt he could neglect a table with a woman and two children. We ordered food and drinks immediately after sitting down, and while our server checked with us once briefly, I had to flag him down 30 minutes into our meal for a glass of wine. Additionally, our empty plates sat in front of us for 30+ minutes after we had finished eating. I do not appreciate being treated differently than other tables simply because I am a woman dinning alone with children.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

A group of friends had loved PH in the p ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

A group of friends had loved PH in the past and thought of it again when it was time to do our holiday exchange. We had reservations at 11:15 am and were the only ones in the restaurant besides one other table. We were seated promptly and our orders were taken. 45 minutes later, our order had not arrived and in that time, the server didn't check in on us. We were told that a lot of people had arrived and the kitchen was back logged. An hour and 15 minutes later, we got our food which was mediocre. The grilled cheeses were mostly bread, the tomato soup was too creamy, the beet salad was drenched in dressing. The mushroom soup was good and the roast beef was also tasty. We never received an apology but the server did thank us for our patience. The consensus of the group was it would not be a place we'd likely go to again. Too bad, great memories and better food from it last year.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was delicious, as usual. The Ch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was delicious, as usual. The Christmas decor was fun and we always love looking at the big wood slab table. We were especially grateful this week as you were open during the snow storm and it was a warm, inviting place to relax before the theater. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible mushroom soup and turkey sand ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Incredible mushroom soup and turkey sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the picnic house. Was a little bit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love the picnic house. Was a little bit loud this time with a large bachelorette party there which was annoying but besides that it was great as usual. It's a good location that's not hard to find parking near, close to the Schnitz if you're going to a show, usually relaxed atmosphere, good food, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived before 5 and were sent next d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We arrived before 5 and were sent next door to the bar until they opened where it took 20 to get waited on. Went back at 5:15 to a very empty restaurant. Again we didn't get immediate service, so we decided to leave as the menu was just too pricey for a pre Ale fest meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Whenever we visit Portland from Bend, we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Whenever we visit Portland from Bend, we always go to the Picnic House for lunch. Their mushroom soup is to die for, lunch specials are always tasty and the help is competent, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.