About The Picnic House

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Picnic House, Portland, OR
The Picnic House, Portland, OR

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon

Great for Lunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Historic (8)
Healthy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun atmosphere, wonderful polenta!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fun atmosphere, wonderful polenta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, close to the Schnitz, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere, close to the Schnitz, would not recommend the fried chicken, it had no zip or flavor, Drinks took a long time from the bar, but were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved that atmosphere and closeness to t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved that atmosphere and closeness to the theater. The food was very good and came quickly. The cocktails were also well done. Main snag was the service. Difficult to get contact with our waiter. Had to literally go get him to place order both times. Waited 20min and no one approach the table. Lots of waitstaff rushing around, looking stressed, but not actually connecting with customers. A bit more training or something is needed. They looked so stressed out, I felt stressed But again the quality and speed of food from the kitchen was excellent

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Never disappoints! Great spot for lunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Never disappoints! Great spot for lunch or dinner in downtown Portland. Service exceptional! Outstanding food.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were fine, but the tabl ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food and service were fine, but the tables were uncomfortably close and it was extremely loud. Difficult to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

While the food was good (not great), the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

While the food was good (not great), the table for 4 that they seated our party of 5 at was very uncomfortable due to the crowding. The restaurant is so loud we could not hear each other without shouting. Not a pleasant evening yet high priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Went for a client lunch. Noisy and food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for a client lunch. Noisy and food is nothing special. the presentation and atmosphere is great, but is really a simple half cup of soup ( not even hot) and small sandwich which is overpriced.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was excellent. Quiet enough to have ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Quiet enough to have a conversation in a normal voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is perfect for a pre-play / ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The location is perfect for a pre-play / pre-show dinner at the PCPA or Schnitzer Hall. Good menu; good drinks. And staff is super friendly. (I think many are actors, so when you tell them "we are theater people" at the start of the mean, for timing purposes, that is a well received).

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting that were 4 of us and we all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Interesting that were 4 of us and we all went for the fried chicken, which quite good as was the side of creamed corn. We also had an excellent beet salad and tomato bisque soup, very good. Great location if you are going to the Schnitz. Only have to park your once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my team here for a work dinner/cele ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Took my team here for a work dinner/celebration. Noise level was quiet enough to have pleasant conversation and the prices were fair for the portions you received. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meatloaf was very good. If you like ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The meatloaf was very good. If you like daiquiris get their rum one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best mac and cheese ever! My husband sa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Best mac and cheese ever! My husband said the meatloaf was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Picnic House exceeded my expectation ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Picnic House exceeded my expectations and I couldn't have been more thrilled with the service and accommodations! My party reservation was originally for 15 people for a baby shower, but 5 more people attended unexpectedly. I was feeling a bit nervous about that, but our waitress (I wish I could remember your name- you were so kind and accommodating and patient and gave outstanding service!) eased my nerves and set up three smaller tables. Everyone had a wonderful time! We laughed, and celebrated our friends' soon-to-be newest addition to their family with fun hats, gifts, drinks and great food served for lunch! To top it off, our waitress was kind enough to take a few photos of our large and loving group of friends and family. Thank you, Picnic House! I will definitely be coming back and recommending you to friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am new to the area and selected The Pi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I am new to the area and selected The Picnic House for its proximity to the Arlene Schnitzer hall and generally favorable reviews. Overall, I was disappointed with the choice and will not be going back. The food was decent but overpriced, service was mediocre, and our server was uppity. When we asked her to describe a dish, she responded... "what do you want to know?" . Lastly, I love historic places that have been preserved for their original character, but this one seems to have gone awry. The whimsical eclectic décor just didn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I always enjoy The Picnic House. They ne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I always enjoy The Picnic House. They need to work on their efficiency of seating but over all a great place for lunch

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food and great service staff, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and great service staff, and the food is both inventive, as well as basic at the same time.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Picnic House is a solid choice for pre- ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Picnic House is a solid choice for pre- or post- event at the Schnitz or a business lunch downtown. I could eat soup, salad, and sandwiches there every day and get a different combination for a whole month.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here prior to an event at the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had dinner here prior to an event at the Schnitzer. Cocktails were delicious. Comfort food was amazing. Had the fried chicken. It was so good! One member in my party had the mac and cheese and said it was one of the best she has ever had. Everyone had a great time and we all loved our meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess did not pay us attention when we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Hostess did not pay us attention when we walked in. Continued a conversation about work with a co-worker for a least two minutes. Service was just ok. Didn't leave cheese off my salad as requested. Menu was different than online. Need more gluten free options also.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I was disappointed that there weren't as ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was disappointed that there weren't as many salads on the menu as there were last winter when I had lunch there because that's what I went for, a combination plate of good non-green salads. That was no longer an option.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our board members were very happy with t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our board members were very happy with their meal at The Picnic House. The staff was friendly, and the restaurant was able to accommodate our large group with ease.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for dinner before a show at the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went for dinner before a show at the Schnitz . and it was our first time there. The food was tasty, local, and up fast. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. The noise level was loud at 6pm and it was difficult to hear my companion without raising my voice and losing our privacy. I'd recommend the Salmon and they have fried brussel sprouts here which I love. I thought they could use a tad more seasoning and a tad less oil but that's just my opinion. Good cocktails put us in the right vibe for the show.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to PH a lot but am doubting ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I have been to PH a lot but am doubting if I will return. Took my mom. Service is always lacking and they just never seem to improve it. Soup was luke warm. Coffee was $3.50 for a small cup and no offer for refill. Seems the value if a $30 lunch was just not there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A great restaurant with wonderful health ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

A great restaurant with wonderful healthy and creative food and superb service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, innovative and delicious food. H ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Fresh, innovative and delicious food. Had the soup, salad, sandwich trio for lunch - fabulous. Phillip our server was attentive and charming. Fun, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was okay. I had the duck ris ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Everything was okay. I had the duck risotto, which was not very good. My colleague had the grilled cheese and liked it. Service was about average (maybe below for this type of establishment). We only had one night in Portland, so I wish I had gone elsewhere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

2% cost of living charge on ticket. Will ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2016

2% cost of living charge on ticket. Will boycott, recommend others do same.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

neat building, but they brought the entr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

neat building, but they brought the entrees out too quickly (before we could finish our starters). Further, the pork shoulder we received was just a miniture version of that served at the table next to us. The risotto was flavorless but the other dishes were passable. Overall, I'd describe the experience as fair. There are much better dinning experiences in Portland (e.g. Andina)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We have eaten here a couple of times for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have eaten here a couple of times for lunch, first time for dinner, we we're not impressed. We had the fried chicken, it wasn't very hot was more like room temp, the baked beans were good but they were also cold. Maybe dinner isn't their best but lunch seems to be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

O. M. G! The food was out of this world! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2016

O. M. G! The food was out of this world!! Mac'n'Cheese w. Bacon + Sirloin w. Goat Cheese and Roasted Beets + Cheese Platter. Having been craving all of these things ever since. :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Whimsical atmosphere, friendly staff and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Whimsical atmosphere, friendly staff and delicious main menu. However, we ordered two desserts (the creme brûlée and s'mores) and found both desserts excessively sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Picnic House is one of my favorite l ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Picnic House is one of my favorite lunch spots, so I was a bit disappointed when my go-to sandwich (the shrimp salad) wasn't as good as usual and the salad looked kind of tired. I'll assume that this was a one-time miss and will be back, for sure. But I'll also be watching. My other experiences here have been 4-5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I really enjoy the Picnic House - great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I really enjoy the Picnic House - great cuisine and great service. A bit too noisy for a business meeting if at the height of the lunch hour.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The location and ambiance of this place ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The location and ambiance of this place is amazing which is why we were so disappointed when our food arrived. 3 in our party had the house special - Fried Chicken. Not sure what we were expecting but $25 bland chicken nuggets was not it. Another in our party had the Risotto, again just bland and tasteless. Would not recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Noisy, need more sound deading to stop r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Noisy, need more sound deading to stop reverberation of acoustics.

A full size bear with eyepatch and bowler, so we can get pictures standing next to it. Then have naming contest for the bear.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really uninspired. The Riso ...

 
 (Baja California)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was really uninspired. The Risotto was really just a massive pile of rice garnished with a few shreds of duck and a pinch of arugula. Everything else tasted fine, but it was overpriced and not very interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good for & service with large quant ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good for & service with large quantities of food and reasonable prices. The half sandwich/half soup or salad was really a full sandwich and half salad. Both the grilled cheese and turkey sandwiches were delicious.

 Picnic House is a comfortable restaurant in downtown Portland, and I look forward to dining here again in the near future.
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've eaten at Picnic House a number of times, and I was surprised at our last visit. Dishes were not up to par (greasy broccoli and cauliflower among other things). What surprised me the most was that our small and large plates to share came out within 10 minutes of ordering, all at exactly the same time. I wasn't sure if they were trying to turn the table (but it wasn't busy), or if the chef just had things waiting so the food wasn't cooked to order. As a dining experience, having six dishes on the table (for 3 people) made it feel very un-special and made it difficult to appreciate any individual dish. Perhaps it was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food prices are inflated for the por ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food prices are inflated for the portions served. The food was not fresh and the mash potatoes had the texture like it was a powder box mix. The ambience was nice though if your not looking for food. It's apparent the owners are trying to squeeze operating costs by offering lower quality food for higher prices. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.