Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House, opened in 2012 by Portland restaurateurs Aaron and Jessica Grimmer across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, has become one of the staples of downtown Portland’s flourishing culinary scene, welcoming guests to enjoy its seasonal, picnic-inspired New American cuisine, historic space, and heartfelt hospitality. The lunch menu consists of a seasonal rotation of artisan sandwiches, inspired salads, and housemade soups, while the Executive Chef Jessica Grimmer's dinner program adds curated meat & cheese boards and bright, savory grilled offerings to the mix. The Grand Room of The Picnic House sits in the nearly century-old lobby of the original Heathman Hotel and retains the original hand-tiled floor and fluted wood columns.

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.thepicnichouse.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Benyo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
See All
Fun (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (14)
Healthy (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Organic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My dinner with friends was so wonderful on Wed., I went back for lunch on Thur.
Very friendly yet still professional hostesses and wait staff. Fantastic food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Have been coming here for 4 years! Love it so very much! I always bring my out of town friends and family here! Great great staff!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Took my mom and 8- and 12-year-old daughters (who can be a little finicky) after a morning at the Portland Art Museum right around the corner. Made reservations. It was delicious, convenient, great ambience (stuff to look at), kid-friendly, we could talk and laugh and it was informal but special. Would totally go there again. The finicky among us were quite pleased.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Extremely noisy
Difficult to converse
Love the space
Good great

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Had lunch here with my son and Picnic house filled the bill perfectly.
Tasty sandwich and hearty soup.
Very convenient and excellent service
I would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great service, amazing food at incredibly reasonable prices! Definitely a place we will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A member of my party was unhappy with the noise level at our table, and quite aggressive in complaining about it. The management went out of their way to accommodate us at a different table in a very quiet area. They were gracious and friendly throughout the evening, even when the acquaintance I was dining with was (unfortunately) not. I greatly appreciated the grace they showed under circumstances that I found personally mortifying. Also, the Brussels sprouts/broccoli dish was *ridiculously good.* I’ve been talking about it for two days now. Would definitely return the next time I’m in Portland!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

My colleagues and I love going to Picnic House for birthdays and business lunches. It is fast service and the staff is always friendly. Everyone was dressed up for Halloween which was fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

The ambience and the beautiful old architecture really were great. The food portions were too small. The seating policy is Clumsy. Had to wait until my date arrived before I could be seated. That policy excluded the opportunity to surprise my date, have drinks ready as she walked in. I was disappointed by that. Meanwhile, about 10 other parties were seated while I was waiting. For that reason I would not recommend it for a special occasion. It would’ve been the same had I not made reservations. What’s the point of making a reservation if they make you wait anyway? I would recommend it only for casual occasions. Host was not accommodating at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had such a delightful meal with friends before attending a show at the Schnitz. Our server was delightful, attentive, and made excellent suggestions. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2017

If you want to have an indoor picnic, this is the place everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We both had cocktails, which were nicely made. The mushroom soup is among the best in town. I had the steak, which was cooked as expected with flavors and sauces that were great. My spouse had the grilled cheese, which was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We've been to the Picnic House a few times. The service has always been great. I was a little disappointed in the food this time. My soup was not hot and the salad greens were a bit on the wilty side. They have great combination options for lunch so no matter what you are in the mood for, you will find something that fits the bill. Becuase of the open atmosphere, it gets quite loud so if you plan on having a business lunch, go early or try and find a table in the corner somewhere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very pleasant ambiance, good service, interesting menu, tasty food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I made reservations for 3, but when I arrived, they said it was for 2. I couldn't be seated, so we went next door to 'the Barlow". We wanted drinks from the picnic house menu but Barlow couldn't. We were very disappointed in the picnic house mistake and the inability of the barlow to fix us their type of drinks when they already get food from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We were delighted to discover that Picnic House had added the wonderful options, many vegetarian, on its lunch menu to its evening fare. A combo of salad, soup, and a side was plenty to share. Picnic House has the best tomato soup I've ever had, just enough basil and creme fraiche, and the rice salad with yams, almonds, arugula, and sweet peas is not to be missed. Service is friendly without being obtrusive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a quick dinner before attending a concert nearby. Service was good, although the appetizer we ordered was very slow to come. However, the waitress comped us on that, so no harm done. the food was good, cocktails imaginative, waitress was very nice. Watch out for the roasted shishito peppers, we have had them many other places and they were never as spicy hot as at The Picnic House. Buyer beware. The associated bar, Barlow, next door was also good for after-concert drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had Saturday night dinner before ballet. Delightful meal. Diverse menu. Gracious and efficient waitress. Cool environment. Really enjoyed and definitely will return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were very happy with our food and service at The Picnic House. I have lived in Portland now for only 3 months and have been to many restaurants. This is one of the best meals I have eaten so far. The wild mushroom soup was delicious, the salmon with maple wasabi glaze was delicious and we loved the sweetcorn spoon bread. Everything was fresh and imaginatively presented. We told them we were going to a show and server and kitchen were very accommodating. Much appreciated! We are looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Service was great! They catered wonderfully to a pre-show dinner. We received our food and check quickly. Food was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Everything was good and the portion sizes weren't outrageously large (this is a positive). Unique and warm decor. Great place to go before seeing a show at The Schnitz.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The menu was different and tasty! Friends got the Brussel Sprouts and Broccoli and raved! I had the muffuletta and would have liked it to be warmer but it was good. The drinks were dandy. And the smashed Yukons were to die for! Yum

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The staff was very nice and accommodating. They were also knowledgeable about their food and drink selections. Unfortunately, the food was not as good. We found the soup to be too thick and the salmon overcooked. We also felt that $18 for a single piece of salmon, about 5x2 inches, way over priced. It comes a la carte, no vegetables/side..just the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Best $12 lunch in town! LOVE the pick-2 or pick-3 combo (mix and match from a large selection of delicious sandwiches, salads and soups)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Very nice casual restaurant serving unique comfort food. It works great for business meals and for a good pre-theatre meal. Quick walk to the Arlene Schnitzer Hall and the other PCPA theatres. The charcuterie and cheese boards are very nice and make for a quick pre-theatre meal. Other menu items are very good as well. Very good comfort food, casual atmosphere and friendly staff make for a great place for all dining occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good service and lovely evening overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

decent food, beautiful presentations, comfy and hip ambiance, and stellar service.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was good not outstanding. Thought the price was high for what you got. Was handy for a before concert dinner though.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Good food, service and atmosphere. Always a nice place to eat.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great bites, drinks, and ambiance. Server was very attentive and decor was on point. All around great and lovely experience! Thank you and will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Waiter was a little too enthusiastic and came by a little too often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had dinner here with my partner. The Picnic House had a welcoming and approachable entrance, with a simple menu outside. Inside, it was very elegant and spacious. The interior design and layout makes for a warm, comfortable feeling. I imagine since this is a new restaurant, not many people know about it, so it was very relaxed inside. Service was very kind and understanding, and the food was served beautifully, and tasted as good as it looked. There is a short menu- a handful of options for lunch and dinner, soups, salads, entrees, desserts, and drinks. There is a bar as well. I recommend this place for the atmosphere, and its simple but delicious menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved this restaurant, can't wait to go back. Excellent service and delicious food! All the food we ordered was explained to us. Loved it and the kids did too!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved the flexibility of the menu, being able to pick 3 items from the different parts of the menu. It made it very easy for vegetarian dining. And the food was GREAT.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went to this restaurant before a show at the Schnitz. Great location and we brought our 12 year old daughter and her friend. The bartender made them a fantastic mocktail and they felt so special. Food was fabulous and they made sure we got out on time to see our show. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great, fun location. Food was fantastic and the deserts were amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Whent to dinner with a friend and found out we had so many options in ordering, so i picked 3 things and so did my friend.food was good and service was clean, prompt, and funny. Thanks vest guy for making our night fun even though it was busy. Cocktails were fantastic!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great lunch choices with the chance to make combinations from a nice list of salads, sandwiches and soups.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.