Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About The Picnic House

The Picnic House offers picnic-inspired French-American cuisine, craft cocktails, and a comprehensive wine list in the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon. Located at the crossroads of Portland's Business and Art District and directly across the street from the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, the Picnic House is located in the lobby of the original 1920's Heathman Hotel and has retained the original 30-foot vaulted ceilings and fluted wood columns.

20% gratuity for parties of 8 or larger. One check for parties of 5 or more (up to three forms of payment per check).

723 SW Salmon St.
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00PM (Mon- Sat)
Dinner: 5:00 PM -10:00 PM (Mon - Sat)

Cross Street:
Salmon between Park & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-0705

Website:
http://www.picnichousepdx.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at www.PicnicHousePDX.com for catering information,

Executive Chef:
Casey Gipson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Picnic House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Business Meals (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Had been a couple of years since we'd been here, so game to try again. Service was just right, prompt, cheerful, not over bearing. However, once the place is full you cannot carry on a conversation. The noise level is horrible and the tables are jammed up against one another. Food was just fine, but the noise is a deal breaker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

With a name like "The Picnic House" my party was expecting more of a traditional picnic ambiance or menu. I'm not sure how they came up with "The Picnic House" but the menu is not picnic type items (Burgers, Hotdogs, Steaks, etc...) and is quite a bit more upscale than that. At the very least we were hoping for a atmosphere that was more conducive to a picnic.

If you take the false expectations, from the name, this restaurant was good. The inside reminded me of something that you would see in a 1920's brothel with the standup bar at the end, staircase to it's right and extraordinary paintings. The food was flavorable and delicious although nothing that I would expect to munch on at a picnic, however the available selections on the menu left much to be desired.

Overall it is a good place to eat if you are in the area...just don't expect it to have picnic flair.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Has a beautiful ambiance for shabby chic style. Loud when it fills up and it does quickly for lunch. The menu has great choices for lunch and the half salad sandwich deal is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Family Style, Historic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love this place for lunches! Always a great spot for a quaint lunch for two but they have large tables for larger groups as well. Took my mom and in-laws here for lunch and we loved the soup/sandwich combo - tomato soup was delicious! They loved the ambiance and the service was excellent. Great for a quicker lunch for a lunch meeting or a place to grab a bite while shopping downtown. I've heard dinner is very good too!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great location and service. Right across from the Schnitzer. Food is good too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I have been here many times for business lunches. Food and service are great; love the lunch combos. Portions are ok. I get hungry before 5 if I have lunch here at noon. It can be very noisy here, so be prepared. This is the only place where another guest has ever walked over and told me to talk quieter; there's something about the way noise travels in this space (or perhaps the lady was just uptight). I recommend the restaurant overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Picnic house was wonderful. The option to choose 3 half orders of each (soup, salad & sandwich) was perfect. We got to try a bit of everything and the size was perfect. Would definitely recommend!

We had the

Tomato soup- Very Good
Wild Mushroom Soup-Big mushroom flavor (Obviously, but so delicious for mushroom lovers)
Minestrone
Grilled Tomato sandwich
Muffaleta Sandwich
Gorgonzola Salad
Beet Salad
Brown Rice Salad

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My team and I went for lunch. Really liked the combination options which allowed us to get to a lot of the menu. The service was great and the food was fantastic. We will go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I always sit at one of the booths (only three) between Picnic & Barlow.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love having lunch here. Yummy food and beautiful space.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistently good! You must try their mushroom soup...it's a real winner! Salad portions could be a little larger for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This was my first time at Picnic House. I really enjoyed it. The mushroom soup (made with wine and broth...not cream) was superb as well as the roasted shrimp 1/2 sandwich on a wonderful focaccia roll. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful menu, great waitstaff. Tomatoe soup was very taste. Orange Vanilla cheese cake melted in your mouth! I plan to take other friends soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have eaten at the Picnic House many times and love it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

So disappointing on every level! Over priced, very limited menu so you would think that the very few things on the menu would be excellent. The place wasn't busy but it felt like our waiter was rushed and a bit in interested in our table of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food and service was great . Always a very positive dinning experience with the unique combinations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Good servicet
Limited menu
Food was delivered promptly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had a poor experience at Picnic House the last time, but we used to enjoy it, so gave it another shot. We were sorry we did. It was pretty empty, but they tried to seat us in a dead corner. We asked for a table closer to the center. Our two servers seemed not to talk to one another, and brought the wrong food to the wrong person at the wrong time. The food itself was forgettable. Sorry, Picnic House, we won't try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went for a date night and it was ok, but expensive. The inside is interesting and has some neat charm. My husband ordered the scallops and we were surprised at the small amount of food for the price. Luckily he was not very hungry. I ordered the hamburger and it had a bit of a charred taste although the center indeed seemed medium. It was all ok food, but not fabulous and was quite pricy. There are so many restaurants to choose from in Portland that I don't think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious sandwiches and coffee. Everyone raved about their meal. We were able to have a nice conversation without raising our voices. Superb service as well

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our server was in a very bad mood and reacted really poorly when we asked some questions about the menu. She clearly did not know much about the food and was angry that we wouldn't just go ahead and order. That would be fair if this was a cheap, fast restaurant, but it's not. The food was good, but not amazing, which means it was a bit overpriced. Given the price/ambiance I expected the food to be more creative, but the flavors were mainly salt, sugar and cream. Which are perfectly tasty, just not a special dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Love it. Boss charred tomato sammie. Cool atmosphere and good food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I like the spin on the classic food with a slight flare. The server was excellent and explained all dishes, desserts, and drinks. The ambiance is always excellent with a very different feel that is both semi-casual and slightly formal, as if your in some old Victorian library or coffee house in Paris. The odd but eclectic feel seems to be a perfect Portland fit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We stopped in after a morning at the Portland Art Museum and had lunch. The food was very good, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the service was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went here before a show at the Schnitzer for the first time and enjoyed it. As a vegetarian, I would have liked more than one entree option but that option, the mac and cheese, was delicious! My friend had the fried chicken which he felt had too much cumin but was otherwise pretty good. We also had the brussels and broccoli starter and it was amazing. The host, server and bartender were all really wonderful and the service was quick enough to get us out of there with time to spare before the show. I'd definitely go again and would recommend it to others.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Outstanding service, food was delicious, server was fabulous and understood the menu very well. The chef personally greeted us. A must whenever I am in Portland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I went for Portland Dining Month last Thursday evening w/ two friends I hadn't seen in a while. Everyone in there was very nice. My only regret was not getting the soup over the salad on the PDM menu. The salad was bland, even after putting salt & pepper on it. With that said, my shrimp diablo linguine was very tasty and my dessert was amazing! The dessert was a yogurt mousse with a sugar snap pea sorbet, compressed strawberries & a meyer lemon gel. It's a must have and hopefully they'll put on their regular menu. I would recommend this restaurant to others and I will be going back. Just don't get the butter lettuce, apple, sugar snap and cucumber vinaigrette salad. Not sure what they were thinking with that one. I would have given them the highest marks if it wasn't for that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I set up a reservation online to enjoy Portland Dining Month with a friend. Upon walking in, I was not greeted once despite others stopping in before and after me who were acknowledge (maybe since there was a larger birthday party happening). Although this was an unfortunate start to the evening service wise, it ended up going well. After we were seated we had a great experience with delicious foods and cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I go for lunch. The food is great and the lunch service is fast, which is why I keep coming back. Love the layout too.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have dined at the Picnic House 3 times and each time I have to order the Fried Chicken, it is so good! Jeff was our server last night and made our experience at the restaurant so enjoyable. He was helpful, informative, and funny. He is a real treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Tables are awkwardly close to each other. Served warm water. Mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a great place for friends to meet for lunch. The half sandwich with either soup or salad is a great option. Tomato Basis soup was delicious and their special Reuben sandwich on St. Patrick's Day was yummy. Love their homemade potato chips too.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went there as part of Portland Dining Month. The restaurant was full when we arrived due to an event at the Schnitz. About an hour after we arrived, the restaurant cleared out leaving behind our table and two others. The restaurant went into closing mode even though it was only 7:30. We asked our server about an aperitif, he left to check, and never returned. We never saw him or the drinks again. Someone else delivered our check.

The restaurant seems to suffer from an identity crisis. The front third looks like the outdoors and goes along with the Picnic House name. The back two thirds, which looks like it can be closed off with a curtain, has printing plates on the wall, is dark, crowded, and loud. Checks are delivered in old books. It looks and feels like a completely different restaurant.

The food was pretty good. The spring asparagus soup was delicious. The second course was good but not exceptional. Unfortunately, the chocolate cake with cherries dessert was dry and reminiscent of Little Debbie cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Server forgot about us a few times and there were screaming children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Celebrated corporate work anniversaries at lunch. It was the first time some of our team had been there. We had a variety of entrees, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Service was fast, and we were done in a timely manner.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was good, service was great but when the place got busy, it got dreadfully slow. When out on a business lunch punctuality is important.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good food, good value, good service. But sooooo noisy, even at lunch on a Monday. I want to go here more, but the noise level is a bit of a show-stopper.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was great. Kelsey was engaging and very prompt. The food is good, but very expensive. It doesn't knock your socks off, which is what I'd hope for the price. Wine list is also good but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I can't recommend The Picnic House. The last time we went, about 4 months ago, the food was quite good. This time it was very mediocre. I had the fried chicken served over potato salad. The potato salad was just not good. If I had thought about it, I should have requested mashed potatoes instead. The BBQ sauce that was drizzled over the fried chicken tasted like it came out of a bottle. My husband ordered a cheeseburger, & he was not impressed. Ordered cheesecake for dessert. It was so salty, I could barely eat it. Weird. It was depressing spending that much money for a meal we didn't like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The service was quick but not friendly. The burger was great but not the steak or other food. I don't think we'll return. Not a formula for success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.