About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: 941-505-9009x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Chop
  • Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Kale Salad
  • Duck Salad
  • the warm goat
  • shrimp appetizer
Lamb Chop
Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich
Kale Salad
Duck Salad
the warm goat
shrimp appetizer

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
1 More
Most Booked
Punta Gorda
Best Restaurants in Punta Gorda ›

special occasion (100)
fit for foodies (77)
romantic (62)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high level of service and food quality and innovation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the C ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the Calamari and pork belly appetizers. The pomegranate martini is also a big hit with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. His recommendations were spot on and his attention to our comfort and enjoyment of the meal was much appreciated! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food is always prepared expertly and alw ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is always prepared expertly and always delicious. For the first time (and this is my favorite restaurant), the service was not up-to-par. Waitress had to be reminded several times about requests (refilling glasses/additional bread). However, I am sure this was a fluke and I will continue to be a major fan of the Perfect Caper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer to dessert, and service was personable and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of other cities such as SF and NYC - missing Foodie food and restaurants and definitely missing professional service - found it all at The Perfect Caper. Gabriel made my birthday special and so did the kitchen staff. Appreciate every extra mile you go to make your own sauces, pastas and anything else you do in house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Punta Gorda Fan

Dined on June 10, 2016

Just a great lunch and summer deal. We haven't visited for lunch and felt the food quality and service surpassed our expectations. One of the reviews I read earlier talked about tough tenderloin. I think it was over to top on that because I have never had a tough tenderloin but I have had some bad preparations. The tenderloin tacos for lunch had a wonderful seasoning and yes, they were tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything went well and i was there for ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

everything went well and i was there for my girlfriends birthday, the staff presented a cake for us with a candle and the evening was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well as a pleasure! Perfect halfway meeting place between Naples and Sarasota. I will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food, quiet elega ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Consistently excellent food, quiet elegant ambiance. Small enough to get pampered by your server. Eating in the bar is also lots of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been going for 6 years

Dined on May 20, 2016

Six years dining @ 15 times a year at Perfect Caper and always satisfied. Food is best in the neighborhood and the bar menu, if eating at the bar, is a special treat, filet tacos are fantastic. Fish specials every day and always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

30th anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

unfortuneately the scallops were overcooked and the filet was tough, but our waiter was great

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was as wonderful as expected! Having been to Ella's in Westerly, RI, I was excited to visit sister restaurant The Perfect Caper. Our party of four was not disappointed!! One special appetizer was a soft shell crab that was out of this world. I chose the duck confit which was perfect. Portion sizes are large. Service was impeccable. A large noisy party of six or eight were seated behind us which was the only negative. It didn't deter us from staying for dessert! We shall return to try more of the delicious sounding menu offerings. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for dinner! Food was deliciou ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great spot for dinner! Food was delicious, service was great & friendly . Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been our go to restauran ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

This has always been our go to restaurant in Punta Gorda. Every time our kids return home this is where they want to dine. The atmosphere is great and service excellent. The food is consistently excellent and the menu is very broad and interesting. Of course our favorites are the Calamari and Shrimp and Grits but everything on the menu is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were greated with a smile and immediately seated by the hostess . Our server Alexandra explained our menu and took our wine order . Found the wine list to hold some great choices . Our food was fantastic...seriously great . I had ordered the duck while my spouse had the lamb . Both outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Mothers Day at Perfect Caper

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered small plates. My wife enjoyed the Guinea hen with pasta, but thought then hen amount was sparse. I had the crab tower. Very hard to find or taste the seafood. The dish was overwhealmed by avacado flavor. The wine seemed pricey-almost all were $9-$12 per glass. The atmosphere and service were excellent. We will probably try it again sometime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. Calamari under portioned for price. Flounder was overcooled. A 44 dollar filet should melt like butter when you bite into it; not tough as eating leather. I had it cooked medium rare. Lobster Mac n cheese was okay. The Mac and cheese was good but the lobster was overcooked. Very disappointed in the food quality. For entrees to come out in 35 minutes which is fine but it better be perfect. The service was okay but they need to be trained on how to serve an entree from the left. Beverages from the right. The owner from CIA SHOULD KNOW BETTER. I have a hotel restaurant management degree from Johnson and Wales and expected more from this establishment. Do not waste your money on this restaurant. You are taking advantage of people who do not understand a fine dining experience. You should be ashamed.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Pricey

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was good, the food was pretty good, at least mine was. The prices were way out of line. The lighting was so dark it took at least 15" to accommodate so we could read the menu. My meal was 32$, a small piece of Tuna, the biggest part of my meal was rice. My husbands was 25$ he got a small piece of salmon and mostly noodles. We won't return unless they drop their prices. There are plenty of other restaurants more reasonably priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in Punta Gorda / Port Charlotte!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My Wife and I Really Enjoyed Everything From The Calamari to The Chocolate Cake For Dessert! My Scallops Were Delicious and The Filet That My Wife Had Melted in (our) Mouths. Yep...I stole a piece! Could Not Ask For Better Service! Thank You For Making A Special Evening, Special!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

we loved the food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had amazing apts, salads and entrees....my scallops were tough, and we had to wait along time for our check. But up until those things happened it would have been a solid 10. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loving the Caper

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went twice in a week and it was so delicious. So well done. My favorite new restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good restaurant

Dined on April 25, 2016

Good restaurant for special occasions and to try gourmet twists on different dishes

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficul ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficult to eat and to close to the open kitchen, it was a distraction to our conversation.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding. Service was great. Nice night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fine dinning

Dined on April 20, 2016

my friends said they would love to go back again ,and thanked me for bring them

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We come from Connecticut to visit my parents in Punta Gorda each April and always plan a date night at The Perfect Caper. From always amazing staples like the fois gras to wonderful specials like the Corvina with lobster mashed potatoes, this is foodie heaven. Service is attentive but unobtrusive, cocktails are creative and wine list is well-selected. We'll be back next year! We've also heard that the chef has another restaurant in the NYC metro area and would love information on that if it indeed does exist.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on April 15, 2016

We have been to the Perfect Caper several times over the last few years. This year we didn't feel that the lunch was as good or as creative as it has been in the past.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! Live Gabe!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Bad Strip

Dined on April 8, 2016

I had a strip steak that was uneatable. When I told our server she said she was sorry and that was the end of it. I have never had a meal like that at The Perfect Caper before so I will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Douglas Staley

Dined on April 8, 2016

We went there for our anniversary and the atmosphere, food, and service was all very good. We had a great evening and the desert was fabulous-Lemon Curd Cheesecake with raspberry drizzle. Thank you Perfect Caper!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great but not as great as it can be.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The Thursday special -- tile fish with boc choy and rice -- just didn't quite come together. Everything, especially the sauces, was excellent on its own; they just didn't quite work together. The service was friendly and helpful. The ambience much as when I've been here before. But things were better when the founding chef was in attendance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

2for 1 lunch specials can't be beat!! S ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

2for 1 lunch specials can't be beat!! Steak tacos were excellent. Service is good as well. Perfect spot between Naples and Sarasota

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Very Dependable

Dined on April 7, 2016

it is most important when you are entertaining to find a restaurant that not only has good food, but one that is dependable. Nothing worse than telling people we are going to a favorite and then finding that for this particular night they step in it. These guys seem to hit it well every time. At least every time we have dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Perfect Caper is all good. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dining restaurant in Punta Gorda

Dined on March 31, 2016

Modern ambiance, delicious food options, prix fixe option, moderate prices and great service keep this restaurant at the top of our list year after year. The calimari, duck salad, lobster mac & cheese are perrenial favorites but we've never been disappointed by anything we've eaten here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is absolutely outstanding. The ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The food is absolutely outstanding. The service was very pleasant and professional but very slow. The atmosphere is excellent. Everything about this place is excellent except the speed with which meals are served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our mean was memorable - especially the 7 layer (no flour) chocolate cake

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of the Best

Dined on March 27, 2016

Perfect Caper is a gem in Punta Gorda. Jeanie Roland is an award winning chef who runs a consistently fine restaurant. We have never been disappointed. A fabulous and unique drink menu, a fine wine list and servers who please. There are several choices for nice dining in our area but the Perfect Caper continues to be the Best of the Best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.