Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

We feel the Caper is an extension of your home and that you and your family will feel welcomed at our table. Enjoy life...Eat Good Food!

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-4-9pm

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: (941) 505-9009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Creative Cuisine (48)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Worth the Drive (36)
Romantic (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Cozy (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

They make sure you are welcomed with great service and recommendations. It's a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

They were very accommodating when we had to change our reservation for an earlier time. The food and service was very good. Friends had recommended it and it was worth the drive. We will go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Asked for a quit table. We were seated next to the loud bar area. Way over priced for the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

New lunch menu items are wonderful.Service was excellent. had the new Squid ink pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Y'all
I never ever post about a restaurant and I travel somewhere different each week...
This for sure the place!!!
Lost in a small FL town!
I am so glad my friends found this JAMES BEARD AWARD WINNING PLACE!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were very impressed, and we will be back! We had the filet salad, the scallops, bread pudding, and creme brulee. Everything was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This is Punta Gorda's finest restaurant. We dine here frequently and are never disappointed. The service by Mary Jane was excellent. The food was wonderful and full of flavor. I had the Shrimp and Grits and my son had the filet la maison. The shrimp and grits is the best I have ever had as is their calamari. My wife had the mussels which were fresh and fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Caper does not disappoint...every time we go there...it just gets better! Jeannie just knows what she's doing. Our waitress Mart Jane was awesome and took care of us like family.
Hint...try The Government Mule! Wow!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food...have been dining there for over15 years...never disappointed

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was very good with just a few adjustments needed- gnocchi dish needed more gnocchi, lemon curd cheesecake needed more lemon tartness. Wine was overpriced- it was good , but a 13 dollar bottle of wine for $48 was a bit much. It was good, but markup needs to be corrected.

We may go back, but not for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Celebrated our 28th anniversary at The Perfect Caper. Very friendly and attentive server. Food was outstanding. Perfect flavors and portion sizes. Excellent choice for a special occasion or a fine dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had read about the restaurant for years and was looking forward to finally having "the experience". It did not disappoint! Have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 6, 2017

As usual we had a great meal. The homemade bread is amazing. The 2 for 1 lunch is the best deal in town. The portions are large, I couldn't finish my sandwich or the salad that came with it. I highly recommend the Perfect Caper.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Punta Gorda! We were there last month for dinner with a friend and this month for our anniversary. Both visits were top notch. We'll be back when we return in the fall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A hidden gem in Punta Ford's. Worth the drive from Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went for my birthday on Friday. As always the food and service were outstanding. I would never hesitate to recommend the Perfect Caper to anyone wanting a lovely lunch or dinner. You are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 29, 2017

All Waitstaff (Gabriel) very good. Food presentation and taste/textures excellent. Good portion sizes. Crabby scallops delicious. Gluten free chocolate 7 layer dessert just the correct richness. Special cocktails very tasty and unique. Pricey for Punta Gorda but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Love this restaurant. Service was just a little off this time. Our water glasses stayed empty more than full, had to ask several times for bread, I ordered a glass of wine that I never received and we waited for over an hour between our salads and entrees. Nothing disastrous, just not typical for this venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I took my neighbor...who had never been before and he loved the food. After waiting too long for initial service (after we were seated) we asked for the waitress and when she found us she was on top of everything. Shawna...great waitress!
Cannot wait until our next trip to The Caper! Thanks for being in Punta Gorda! Good job!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Went there for our anniversary. It was nice and the food was very good. Also on the pricey side if not a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always terrific and consistently delicious! Thank you Gabe for being such a great asset to the Punta Gorda dining scene.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service and food was over the top. We were disappointed that they chose to remove the table clothes saying they were going green.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great calamari appetizer, great salad special, was excited for entrée over cooked scallops (rubbery) dry swordfish, was expecting more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We have now dined four or five times at The Perfect Caper and each time has been a real delight. The service has been very good, and the food amazing. My wife had scallops with crabs, which she thought were the best scallops she's ever had; my friend had the best looking and tasting lamb rack he's ever had; and his wife and I both had wonderful fillets with an incredible sauce that was to die for. The wine list was great, and the evening a very memorable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Drinks were way to expense food was ok but over priced.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Just outstanding! One of our all time favorites. The food is so good and service attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Gabriel did his usual excellent job with both service and recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is our go to place to meet friends...food is ALWAYS terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 15, 2017

In a sea of restaurants that serve bar food and call it fine dining, the Perfect Caper is truly a great place for great food. The service added to the first class feel too. We talked about the food, the menu and the evening all the way home. What a breath of fresh air!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As usual the service and food were excellent. This is our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had the best service, and delicious meal. It was very relaxing , and wonderful!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food is always good - no, food us always great. Waitress was excellent ; attentive and responsive. I've noticed on recent visits that they are slow to bring the bread so this time I asked for it right off. Also I think they should ask if you want some more. Sometimes during high season I have experienced slow/inattentive service. But again, great food and the two for lunch special is a great deal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 7, 2017

As usual the Meal was perfect. Noel , Gabe & Josh made the evening so enjoyable. First Class !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I am a permanent resident here. Have dined there at least a half a dozen times. Ordered the 2 for 1 lunch. My beef tenderloin salad couldn't have been tenderloin. Most of it was very chewy and 2 pieces were inedible. When I told my server she said she would tell the kitchen. Didn't want to make a fuss as this was supposed to be a fun lunch. Will have second thoughts about going there for lunch again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great food and service. The Moroccan lamb is scrumptious. Also tasted the duck, and scallops . Awesome food.
For starters we had pate, mussels, and mozzarella, prosciutto, and tomato salad.
Desert was an incredible chocolate cake and Woodford Reserve.
One of the best meals I've ever experienced .
The place deserves six stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Nothing like it in the area, it nice to see the area can support a higher end dining experience. Lots of different choices. Great flavors, good presentations. Well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great dining experience. Food was delicious and presented beautifully, wait staff was extremely helpful in making selections. Unusual menu but something for everyone. Well worth the $$$

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always an excellent choice. Definitely still the top dining spot in Punta Gorda, maybe even anywhere between Sarasota and Naples. Great service too; Gabe is wonderful as are the rest of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always, The Perfect Caper is a wonderful place to meet friends for lunch. We live in Naples and they live in Bradenton so it is halfway in between. In many years, we have not even looked for another place. The menu is creative, the food is delicious, and the two-for-one lunch menu makes it a bargain. And, at least at lunch, it is quiet enough for conversation and there is no rush. We are allowed to stay awhile and visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.