Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-4-9pm

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: (941) 505-9009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
See All
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (67)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Romantic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Great for Lunch (34)
Business Meals (31)
Cozy (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Private Room (13)
Casual (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great dining experience. Food was delicious and presented beautifully, wait staff was extremely helpful in making selections. Unusual menu but something for everyone. Well worth the $$$

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Always an excellent choice. Definitely still the top dining spot in Punta Gorda, maybe even anywhere between Sarasota and Naples. Great service too; Gabe is wonderful as are the rest of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, The Perfect Caper is a wonderful place to meet friends for lunch. We live in Naples and they live in Bradenton so it is halfway in between. In many years, we have not even looked for another place. The menu is creative, the food is delicious, and the two-for-one lunch menu makes it a bargain. And, at least at lunch, it is quiet enough for conversation and there is no rush. We are allowed to stay awhile and visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

in a word, "fantastic". What a surprise to find a world class restaurant in Ponta Gorda! The food was extraordinary. Definitely worth the drive from Tampa.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent all around. The bread that they bring to your table is baked fresh daily and it is so delicious. The appetizers were abundant and very tasty. Our dinners were amazing & the desserts were to die for! My husband brought me here for my birthday & it was a wonderful dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

So fantastic! Husband & I celebrated a milestone & the food was amazing. Such a refreshing change to go to a nice dinner & not leave disappointed. Thank you perfect caper crew!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great place to enjoy good food and friends! Service was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Every time we have been to The Perfect Caper, it's always "perfect"!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was very good, waitress was OK but seemed to be in a hurry and was not crowded, waited over 5 minutes for another glass of water, drinks overpriced in my opinion, $14 for Hendricks and Tonic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dinner, as always. Gabe and his crew always seem to make an average Thursday night out as something special. Don't forget to order their house chopped salad and be sure to save room for desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! All four appetizers and all four entrees were outstanding, and that is unusual. Dishes were creative and very flavorful. We're going back soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant serves innovative tasty food and is one of the better restaurants we have visited since moving to Southwest Florida.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My favorite restaurant for good food; great service. Well worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always delightful. The Friday lunch specials are amazing - service by Miss Alexandra was the best!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our table enjoyed the entire experience here. The kitchen cares about presentation which was obvious from the plating. The Salmon with Udon noodles had an authentic asian flavor profile and the Scallops on forbidden rice were delightful with their coconut accent. Chicken liver pate´ was served with crisps and jam, very nice. The room is comfortable with a combination of tables and deep booths in dark colors. Service was attentive and cheerful. I would not hesitate to make a reservation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fabulous dinner as always! We love to get Noel as our server.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My significant other and I had dinner at the Perfect Caper while on
a short get away trip to Punta Gorda. It was a romantic atmosphere, the food and service were impeccable, highly recommended this restaurant and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

great service, food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Overall we enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent. The food was great but the presentation of the Shrimp and Grits was not as good as last time I ate this.
The AC was far too cold (even for a hot and sunny day).
Our bill (for five people) was in excess of $300 and makes me question whether it represents value for money (for a midweek meal) when you consider we only had appetisers and mains. One of our party had dessert and we had one bottle of wine plus 3 glasses of the house wine!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have found in SWFL. The food, service and setting was unbelievable. The staff was so incredibly knowledgeable on their unique menu, even explaining to us how they make a particular dish and where it came from. Our server was so sweet and gave the best recommendations. I loved it from start to finish!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Consistent..concerned service with a clean, modern setting. Nice food and portions. Have been there many times and it never disappoints. During the week, the price fix dinner is perfect, but anytime is a good time there. It is the best restaurant in the vicinity and a great special occasion place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always a fantastic selection of exceptional food. Never dissapoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food with great service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful wait staff. They don't rush you at all. Had a very enjoyable evening. Best food, staff and atmosphere for a special occasion, as it is not inexpensive, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and service. Don't just think of the Caper as a dinner place, great lunch spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 26, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. The special salad however lacked flavor. Otherwise the rest of our meal was great as usual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Special was a tempura soft shell crab that was amazing. Brussels sprout kale salad was a fresh healthy salad loaded with nutrients. Service is first class and wine list pretty good--how did Punta Gorda get so lucky to land Chef Rowland!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was fantastic and our waiter Jim was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the food and allowed us the time to enjoy our anniversary celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Perfect Caper is always a "must go to" - always phenomenal food and service1

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Second time there and this time for lunch. Mary Jane, our requested server, was delightful: refilling drinks and those marvelous bread rounds for our smorgasbord of awesome appetizers. The food was perfection: house pate, warm goat cheese and calamari apps made a perfect lunch for two, finished off with a shared creamed brûlée. Mmmmm- what's not to love?!?

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was delicious. The only negative was that the temperature in the restaurant was very cold.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The one restaurant in our area where you are never disappointed. The kitchen staff are all artists and eager to please. I was ordering a filet medium, yes medium, and since I knew how large and thick it was, I said they could butterfly it. Well, they did not have to. My steak arrived cooked to my exact specification and was the most lovely meal I have had in a long time.

In a small town loaded with restaurants, the Perfect Caper stands head and shoulders above the rest. Jeanie Roland is a Master Chef and everyone in her kitchen is there because they love to cook and they love to please every customer.

Lovely specialty drinks, a fine wine list and a great bar with the greatest burgers made with the trimmings from all those awesome steaks. You can't ask for better.

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner last year when we were here and decdied to visit again thus year. Food and servers are great. We will be back again next year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We come here each year when visiting my parents. It's our go-to foodie date night spot. Amazing to find such a place in Punta Gorda!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our very favorite restaurant in SWFL! Everything is perfect...except the noise level! Please put the white tablecloths back on the tables! Cleans up the clientele a bit. I will never understand why drunk women need to speak so loudly . Maybe alcohol makes them deaf?

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Good was great....Dean was a very good waiter....Missed seeing Gabe!!...His nite off!😇

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We picked this place for our last dinner out in Punta Gorda and we were not disappointed. Great food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best meal in SW Fl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service and food. Too many interesting items on the menu. Hard to make a decision. Calamari appetizer was excellent with their home made Thai Chili Sauce.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an excellent dinner last Saturday evening - one of the best. Our server, Gabriel, was very professional and attentive! And, he was very nice and friendly. He made our overall dining experience most positive! Thank you Gabriel and thank you chef for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.