About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: 941-505-9009x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Chop - The Perfect Caper
  • Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich - The Perfect Caper
  • Kale Salad - The Perfect Caper
  • Duck Salad - The Perfect Caper
  • the warm goat - The Perfect Caper
  • shrimp appetizer - The Perfect Caper
Lamb Chop - The Perfect Caper
Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich - The Perfect Caper
Kale Salad - The Perfect Caper
Duck Salad - The Perfect Caper
the warm goat - The Perfect Caper
shrimp appetizer - The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Southwest Florida
Best Food
Southwest Florida
Best Service
Southwest Florida
4 More
Best Value
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Punta Gorda
Best Restaurants in Punta Gorda ›

Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Romantic (34)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love the Perfect Caper! It is our go ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We love the Perfect Caper! It is our go to for dinner out. Food is creative and delicious. This restaurant is a James Beard winner and Jeanie, the chef/owner, beat Bobby Flay on his own show!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent every time. Have been there o ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent every time. Have been there on several occasions for lunch, dinner and my birthday. Food is creative and visually appealing. Best if all though, deliscious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers were excellent as was the ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The appetizers were excellent as was the wine and service but the entrees were disappointing despite the excellence and freshness of the ingredients.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The Perfect Caper is a great Punta Gorda ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Perfect Caper is a great Punta Gorda, FL restaurant offering fresh ingredients and consistently good food. The Duck A Deux Facons is outstanding! Service is very good and the atmosphere is great for everything from a business lunch or dinner to "date night" or a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been dining here for years now. T ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We've been dining here for years now. The food and service never disappoint! The bar staff make excellent cocktails and the food is always amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately the food was just average ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Unfortunately the food was just average in my opinion. I had heard good reviews so I was disappointed Very pricy for a filet that wasn't very good and was over cooked

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A hidden gem. Always great food and good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

A hidden gem. Always great food and good service. If you can find a better rack of lamb, buy it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great selection, quality ingredients, we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great selection, quality ingredients, well presented plates.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have never had a bad experience .... ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have never had a bad experience .... always great food and service

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fine dining experience. We've ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a fine dining experience. We've been there a number of times and have never had less than a great meal.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for early evening... good fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great place for early evening... good food...good choices on the menus... both in main restaurant and in lounge. We sat at the bar... and had a great time and great discussions with an excellent bartender...made us very welcome

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even with the abbreviated summer menu; P ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Even with the abbreviated summer menu; Perfect Caper still satisfies those looking for upscale food in SW Florida. My favorite is one of the two scallop dishes but this time I branched out with the lamb gnocchi. The boneless lamb was very tasty and the homemade gnocchi was plentiful....maybe too plentiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pate is amazing!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Pate is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were exceptional. We wi ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service were exceptional. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favoriterestaurant to entertainguests ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My favoriterestaurant to entertainguests.Has a nice atmosphere aswellasexcellent food anservice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was delicious.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent gourmet food, superb service a ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent gourmet food, superb service and a pleasing ambiance. My wife and I are huge fans of pan seared scallops, which we order frequently at gourmet restaurants, and these were by far the best we have ever had! The roasted lamb and gnochi dish was also succulent and very creative, as is the entire menu. We have sampled many fine restaurants in Punta Gorda, and this is our favorite. The Perfect Caper is the perfect place for an exciting and deeply satisfying culinary experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the confident staff that know ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

As always, the confident staff that know the quality that they are serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at The Perfect Caper is lovely. T ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dining at The Perfect Caper is lovely. The padded booths are comfortable and roomy. The food is excellent, well prepared and presented beautifully. Service was friendly, attentive and our cute server was very efficient and knowledgeable. A great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Caper was fabulous as usual. Fo ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect Caper was fabulous as usual. Food was outstanding, everyone was very pleased with their selection. Service was attentive but not intrusive, perfect. One of my favorite places to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and drinks. The foo ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always great service and drinks. The food is consistently impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food very good as always, very nice amb ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food very good as always, very nice ambiance, a great place to go when you want to have a good dinner or lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My family and I had the best meal that w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My family and I had the best meal that we have had out in a long time! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, excellent service! It wa ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service! It was our 29th anniversary and we felt like we were in a romantic getaway spot! The food blew our expectations out of the water! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A long time favorite. Our go-to place i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A long time favorite. Our go-to place in Punta Gorda. One of the few restaurants with servers who are well trained!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my Mother-in-law and my wife for th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Took my Mother-in-law and my wife for their birthdays. PC is one of our favorite spots in this area. The service was outstanding. Our server overheard parts of our conversation and realized that both ladies were celebrating birthdays and placed a candle in each of their deserts. Nice unexpected touch. I had the foie gras as an app and the filet as my dinner. Both dishes had no flavor. I don't think they even sprinkled a bit of salt or pepper on either. MIL had the goat salad and scallops and the wife had one of the special salads and the tuna special. They both raved how good it was and in fact I tasted both and they were both very good. My meal not so much. I will be back as we go on a regular basis but I know better not to order the Filet again (first time I ordered it in 5 years of going to PC). I normally love their foie gras, not sure what happened this time. Maybe I will stick with their special list and go with a salad and their fish special next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, and service. Disappointed th ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good food, and service. Disappointed that calamari was all gone at 6:30 seating. Prefix is great quality, choice, and price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high level of service and food quality and innovation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the C ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the Calamari and pork belly appetizers. The pomegranate martini is also a big hit with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. His recommendations were spot on and his attention to our comfort and enjoyment of the meal was much appreciated! We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always prepared expertly and alw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is always prepared expertly and always delicious. For the first time (and this is my favorite restaurant), the service was not up-to-par. Waitress had to be reminded several times about requests (refilling glasses/additional bread).

However, I am sure this was a fluke and I will continue to be a major fan of the Perfect Caper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer to dessert, and service was personable and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of other cities such as SF and NYC - missing Foodie food and restaurants and definitely missing professional service - found it all at The Perfect Caper. Gabriel made my birthday special and so did the kitchen staff. Appreciate every extra mile you go to make your own sauces, pastas and anything else you do in house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Punta Gorda Fan

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Just a great lunch and summer deal. We haven't visited for lunch and felt the food quality and service surpassed our expectations. One of the reviews I read earlier talked about tough tenderloin. I think it was over to top on that because I have never had a tough tenderloin but I have had some bad preparations. The tenderloin tacos for lunch had a wonderful seasoning and yes, they were tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

everything went well and i was there for ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

everything went well and i was there for my girlfriends birthday, the staff presented a cake for us with a candle and the evening was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well as a pleasure! Perfect halfway meeting place between Naples and Sarasota. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently excellent food, quiet elega ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Consistently excellent food, quiet elegant ambiance. Small enough to get pampered by your server. Eating in the bar is also lots of fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going for 6 years

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Six years dining @ 15 times a year at Perfect Caper and always satisfied. Food is best in the neighborhood and the bar menu, if eating at the bar, is a special treat, filet tacos are fantastic. Fish specials every day and always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

30th anniversary

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

unfortuneately the scallops were overcooked and the filet was tough, but our waiter was great

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was as wonderful as expected! Having been to Ella's in Westerly, RI, I was excited to visit sister restaurant The Perfect Caper. Our party of four was not disappointed!! One special appetizer was a soft shell crab that was out of this world. I chose the duck confit which was perfect. Portion sizes are large. Service was impeccable. A large noisy party of six or eight were seated behind us which was the only negative. It didn't deter us from staying for dessert! We shall return to try more of the delicious sounding menu offerings. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.