The Perfect Caper

4.7
1755 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

We feel the Caper is an extension of your home and that you and your family will feel welcomed at our table. Enjoy life...Eat Good Food!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm
Friday: 4:30pm-10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 505-9009
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Nesbit St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1755 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

After having poor culinary experiences at all the restaurants I tried in Punta Gorda, I decided to give it one more try and went to The Perfect Caper for lunch. Shocked and amazed. The food was excellent. The shrimp with pasta in a lemon sauce was wonderful but you only get 2 shrimp, that was disappointing based on cost of dish. Otherwise it was excellent. For 2 people having ice tea each and one entree each cost was a little over $50 plus tip. It’s NYC pricy for lunch. This will be a repeat for myself and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

As usual the food and service (Gabe) was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We had always loved the Perfect Caper....but the last couple of times we have gone there, we have been disappointed in the food. My husband had a Shrimp Tempura that was not very good. The coating around the shrimp was very doughy and tasteless. I had one of there specials, a grouper dish that was just OK, nothing to brag about...but cost 32.00. Certainly not worth the price. We spent around 125.00 for the 2 of us, which included 2 entree’s, 1 appetizer ( which was good, a pate dish), no dessert & 2 glasses of wine. One would expect for that amount of money, the food would be excellent. So sorry to see this fine restaurant go downhill.
On the other had, the service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

It is always perfect at the caper. We had the prix fixe menu with wine and enjoyed it immensely. Service is always great and everything delicious. A favorite dining destination.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Family favorite! The best “Shrimp n’ Grits” EVER! Lovely ambiance, impeccable food and service. We are so lucky to have “The Perfect Caper” in our community

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Had vegans and food allergies but they were able to prepare great food for all of us. Great dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

The restaurant was awesome. amazing food little pricey but so worth it and I thought the portions were big. I would go back for sure next time I am in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a group of 8 to celebrate my mother's 86th birthday. Everyone enjoyed everything. They were even talking about it the next day. It was perfect for this special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Food was phenomenal! Though my husband’s salad was iceberg with not much flavor, all else was devine. Definitely a great place for a special occasion. We would go back for sure, and recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants in Punta Gorda for really good food. Service is good, you are not rushed at any time. It's one of the more expensive restaurants in Punta Gorda, but worth the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We are retired full time residents of PG and average 4 trips per year (dinner/lunch) to the caper. These we consider an experience and not just going out for dinner. We tend to use the Caper for special occasions and do not "scrimp" when ordering. Our recent dinner for my wife's birthday with wine and tip was over $160. Given the food, service, menu, ambiance, consistency and general uniqueness of the restaurant this is good value for the money. While we would like to eat there more often we are aware that for the same amount of money we can dine-out three times as often. However this is not a fair comparison as the Caper stands somewhat alone among PG eating establishments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The Perfect Caper offers an excellent menu and outstanding service. Our meals were cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

great food, slightly pricey, very accommodating staff.
josh at the bar is the most skilled and conversational bartender I've met in 67 years...make him a partner or give him a raise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

This has been my favorite restaurant for many years.
This is a small town, too many other restaurants have come and gone, The Perfect Caper has continued to outshine and outlast them all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Wonderful meal, great food, attentive service 6 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The soft shell crab and crabby scallops were fantastic - best anywhere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

A nice dining experience with quality service from both the waitress Noel and her assistant. Appetizer Beet and chervil salad right on. My wife's pork chop and sides very good. My scallops were slightly off. Great taste and tenderness except a couple of nights were "chewy" like the cartilage/muscle weren't removed? Chocolate bread pudding delightful. A little pricey, but expected.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Perfection -consistently good! So many good choices. Hard to choose at lunch and dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Amazing food! Everyone we tried was wonderful. My second great experience and I can’t wait to go back. The service was quite slow, but it wasn’t there my previous trip so I don’t think that’s the norm. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We have been to The Caper several times and never disappointed. Can't wait to return to try new items. Punta Gorda'seems gem.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food and service were excellent. However someone from the staff/ ownership talked loudly and nonstop throughout our dinner. Have been to this restaurant and food and service are consistently good. Our expectation is for a refined and low drama experience which affects the value rating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Service was excellent, Gabe did his usual professional job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We enjoyed our appetizers and entrees very much. Each was presented well and the food was fabulous. This restaurant is much better inside than its external appearance and will surprise diners who experience it for the first time . We will definitely return. Service staff was knowledgeable and professional as well as friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Always a treat to come here. Great service and Amazing food. Gabrielle is always so attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We have never had a bad meal at The Perfect Caper. Always very pleased with the full spectrum of the dining experience from appetizers to entrees to dessert and after dinner coffee. The Perfect Caper is perfect for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great place, especially for Punta Gorda. We need more restaurants lie this

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Highly recommended. Not cheap, but well worth the splurge when you’re in the mood. On-site menu is more extensive than what is shown online, plus daily specials. Interior feels a little like a speakeasy; lowered lights, very intimate. Would be a good date restaurant. Food was AMAZING. Wine list could be expanded a bit, but there were some decent bottles that weren’t terribly overpriced. Service is friendly and attentive but not obsequious. Will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Experience on first arrival was short and abrupt..the man “brought” us to the bar after barking at us for being early for our reservations (on purpose to get a drink prior) bar attendant was fair...ask what we would like to drink to then continue what she was doing then asking everyone else around what they would like to drink before serving us our drink order...weird. Topper was the waitress who was athusiastic as a welcoming a bad house guest that she could not wait to see go...no bread offered...I asked..she had the nice young man bring the bed, that felt to us demeaning ...she ask us if we would like more grilled bread to go with our appitizer that came far after we finished .. she only got friendly at end of meal when she expected a great tip.... on the flip side the food was AMAZING... so my final recommendation is they need to rehire staff!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We arrived early and were greeted and seated promptly. Our server approached us quickly to get drink orders. Service seemed a bit slow. Although we were not ready to order upon return with our drinks, it did seem a bit long before he returned to get our order. Salad course was served quickly and was very good ("special salad"). Then we waited. And waited. When our meals did arrive, my husband steak and lobster mac and cheese were hot. My crabby scallops were not hot, but I don't find scallops hold their heat well anyway. The crabby scallops dish was wonderful. We did order dessert - highly recommend the gingerbread ice cream sandwich - and it arrived in a good amount of time. Payment also seemed to take quite long. Our meal took 2 hrs - too long for a restaurant of this size. Although we did enjoy our meals, we will likely not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Goose liver appetizer is outstanding (assuming you like liver)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful meal for my wifes birthday, usual high standards and friendly service. So good we booked again next week. We always come here when vacationing in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our 28th anniversary and it could not have been more perfect. Cocktails, service, food and setting were wonderful. The staff were on their game.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Food and service excellent as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

As always, excellent food and atmosphere. Only compaint was that they were out of lamb which I was really looking forward to. Enjoyed the duck instead.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I've been there many times and have always been impressed with my experience. However, this visit didn't go so well mostly due to being ignored by our waiter. Our dinner took much longer than it should have to come out which I wouldn't have minded if someone would have communicated with us as to what was happening with our meal. I was given water regularly (by the water person) but as I sat there with an empty bread plate (bread guy wasn't very attentive)I felt as though they were running out of bread and rationing it our something as I was only given a small piece each time I asked. My plan was to have a nice anniversary dinner with my wife and to purchase a $200 gift certificate for a contractor that was working on my house. After my experience I wasn't in the mood to give them another $200. I'll go back because of the very good experience I've had in the past but I'll be on the lookout for who my waiter is next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary. Food was very good. A bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our experience was excellent except for when I ordered my drink. I ordered Captain and Coke and when it came, it wasn't Captain. I told our waiter and he said "Oh, we must be out" but when we went to the bartender, she said they don't carry Captain. My point, they obviously knew and didn't tell me hoping I wouldn't know. The rest of the evening was excellent from the service to the food. I would suggest they start carrying Captain Morgan, it is a very popular drink and I'm sure they would have more guests if they did...me being one of them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Had friends come for visit and wanted to impress them with great food and wonderful service . You hit it on all cylinders. Our friends what to come back to visit and hit the perfect Caper AGAIN.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This is one of our favorite places to eat. The food is above average. The grouper size was small for the price. Our server was attentive at the beginning, but was absent at the end of the meal. It is still one of the best in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We went to dinner at The Perfect Caper for our first time on Friday, April 27, 2018. It was a superb meal and outstanding service. We started at the bar for a glass of wine and enjoyed getting to know the bartenders Shannon and Josh. They were very friendly and made us feel welcome. For dinner I had the beet salad and my wife had the special spinnach and pineapple salad. Both were excellent. We both had the grouper special entree and then shared the freshly made blueberry tart wih vanilla ice cream. Everything was excellent, and our server, Gabriel (Gabe) did an excellent job. We thourougly enjoyed our evening and we are looking forward to going back again. The price is higher than most places, but the quality and service made it worth while. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44

Tweets by The Perfect Caper