About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: 941-505-9009x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Chop
  • Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Kale Salad
  • Duck Salad
  • the warm goat
  • shrimp appetizer
Lamb Chop
Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich
Kale Salad
Duck Salad
the warm goat
shrimp appetizer

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
2 More
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Punta Gorda
Best Restaurants in Punta Gorda ›

special occasion (73)
fit for foodies (58)
romantic (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (42)
notable wine list (26)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining at The Perfect Caper is lovely. T ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dining at The Perfect Caper is lovely. The padded booths are comfortable and roomy. The food is excellent, well prepared and presented beautifully. Service was friendly, attentive and our cute server was very efficient and knowledgeable. A great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Caper was fabulous as usual. Fo ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect Caper was fabulous as usual. Food was outstanding, everyone was very pleased with their selection. Service was attentive but not intrusive, perfect. One of my favorite places to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and drinks. The foo ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always great service and drinks. The food is consistently impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food very good as always, very nice amb ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food very good as always, very nice ambiance, a great place to go when you want to have a good dinner or lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My family and I had the best meal that w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My family and I had the best meal that we have had out in a long time! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, excellent service! It wa ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service! It was our 29th anniversary and we felt like we were in a romantic getaway spot! The food blew our expectations out of the water! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A long time favorite. Our go-to place i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A long time favorite. Our go-to place in Punta Gorda. One of the few restaurants with servers who are well trained!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my Mother-in-law and my wife for th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Took my Mother-in-law and my wife for their birthdays. PC is one of our favorite spots in this area. The service was outstanding. Our server overheard parts of our conversation and realized that both ladies were celebrating birthdays and placed a candle in each of their deserts. Nice unexpected touch. I had the foie gras as an app and the filet as my dinner. Both dishes had no flavor. I don't think they even sprinkled a bit of salt or pepper on either. MIL had the goat salad and scallops and the wife had one of the special salads and the tuna special. They both raved how good it was and in fact I tasted both and they were both very good. My meal not so much. I will be back as we go on a regular basis but I know better not to order the Filet again (first time I ordered it in 5 years of going to PC). I normally love their foie gras, not sure what happened this time. Maybe I will stick with their special list and go with a salad and their fish special next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, and service. Disappointed th ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good food, and service. Disappointed that calamari was all gone at 6:30 seating. Prefix is great quality, choice, and price.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great fine-dining restaurant with a high level of service and food quality and innovation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the C ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Spectacular as always!!! Must try the Calamari and pork belly appetizers. The pomegranate martini is also a big hit with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Gabriel and his team were magnificent. His recommendations were spot on and his attention to our comfort and enjoyment of the meal was much appreciated! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always prepared expertly and alw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is always prepared expertly and always delicious. For the first time (and this is my favorite restaurant), the service was not up-to-par. Waitress had to be reminded several times about requests (refilling glasses/additional bread).

However, I am sure this was a fluke and I will continue to be a major fan of the Perfect Caper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was fantastic, from appetizer to dessert, and service was personable and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Moved to the region from DC, formerly of other cities such as SF and NYC - missing Foodie food and restaurants and definitely missing professional service - found it all at The Perfect Caper. Gabriel made my birthday special and so did the kitchen staff. Appreciate every extra mile you go to make your own sauces, pastas and anything else you do in house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Punta Gorda Fan

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Just a great lunch and summer deal. We haven't visited for lunch and felt the food quality and service surpassed our expectations. One of the reviews I read earlier talked about tough tenderloin. I think it was over to top on that because I have never had a tough tenderloin but I have had some bad preparations. The tenderloin tacos for lunch had a wonderful seasoning and yes, they were tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

everything went well and i was there for ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

everything went well and i was there for my girlfriends birthday, the staff presented a cake for us with a candle and the evening was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

2 for 1 lunches made this a deal as well as a pleasure! Perfect halfway meeting place between Naples and Sarasota. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently excellent food, quiet elega ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Consistently excellent food, quiet elegant ambiance. Small enough to get pampered by your server. Eating in the bar is also lots of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going for 6 years

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Six years dining @ 15 times a year at Perfect Caper and always satisfied. Food is best in the neighborhood and the bar menu, if eating at the bar, is a special treat, filet tacos are fantastic. Fish specials every day and always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

30th anniversary

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

unfortuneately the scallops were overcooked and the filet was tough, but our waiter was great

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was as wonderful as expected! Having been to Ella's in Westerly, RI, I was excited to visit sister restaurant The Perfect Caper. Our party of four was not disappointed!! One special appetizer was a soft shell crab that was out of this world. I chose the duck confit which was perfect. Portion sizes are large. Service was impeccable. A large noisy party of six or eight were seated behind us which was the only negative. It didn't deter us from staying for dessert! We shall return to try more of the delicious sounding menu offerings. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot for dinner! Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great spot for dinner! Food was delicious, service was great & friendly . Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This has always been our go to restauran ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This has always been our go to restaurant in Punta Gorda. Every time our kids return home this is where they want to dine. The atmosphere is great and service excellent. The food is consistently excellent and the menu is very broad and interesting. Of course our favorites are the Calamari and Shrimp and Grits but everything on the menu is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were greated with a smile and immediately seated by the hostess . Our server Alexandra explained our menu and took our wine order . Found the wine list to hold some great choices . Our food was fantastic...seriously great . I had ordered the duck while my spouse had the lamb . Both outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day at Perfect Caper

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered small plates. My wife enjoyed the Guinea hen with pasta, but thought then hen amount was sparse. I had the crab tower. Very hard to find or taste the seafood. The dish was overwhealmed by avacado flavor. The wine seemed pricey-almost all were $9-$12 per glass. The atmosphere and service were excellent. We will probably try it again sometime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. Calamari under portioned for price. Flounder was overcooled. A 44 dollar filet should melt like butter when you bite into it; not tough as eating leather. I had it cooked medium rare. Lobster Mac n cheese was okay. The Mac and cheese was good but the lobster was overcooked. Very disappointed in the food quality. For entrees to come out in 35 minutes which is fine but it better be perfect. The service was okay but they need to be trained on how to serve an entree from the left. Beverages from the right. The owner from CIA SHOULD KNOW BETTER. I have a hotel restaurant management degree from Johnson and Wales and expected more from this establishment. Do not waste your money on this restaurant. You are taking advantage of people who do not understand a fine dining experience. You should be ashamed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pricey

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was good, the food was pretty good, at least mine was. The prices were way out of line. The lighting was so dark it took at least 15" to accommodate so we could read the menu. My meal was 32$, a small piece of Tuna, the biggest part of my meal was rice. My husbands was 25$ he got a small piece of salmon and mostly noodles. We won't return unless they drop their prices. There are plenty of other restaurants more reasonably priced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Best Restaurant in Punta Gorda / Port Charlotte!

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My Wife and I Really Enjoyed Everything From The Calamari to The Chocolate Cake For Dessert! My Scallops Were Delicious and The Filet That My Wife Had Melted in (our) Mouths. Yep...I stole a piece! Could Not Ask For Better Service! Thank You For Making A Special Evening, Special!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we loved the food and service

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had amazing apts, salads and entrees....my scallops were tough, and we had to wait along time for our check. But up until those things happened it would have been a solid 10. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loving the Caper

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Went twice in a week and it was so delicious. So well done. My favorite new restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Good restaurant for special occasions and to try gourmet twists on different dishes

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficul ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficult to eat and to close to the open kitchen, it was a distraction to our conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding. Service was great. Nice night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

always fine dinning

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

my friends said they would love to go back again ,and thanked me for bring them

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We come from Connecticut to visit my parents in Punta Gorda each April and always plan a date night at The Perfect Caper. From always amazing staples like the fois gras to wonderful specials like the Corvina with lobster mashed potatoes, this is foodie heaven. Service is attentive but unobtrusive, cocktails are creative and wine list is well-selected. We'll be back next year!

We've also heard that the chef has another restaurant in the NYC metro area and would love information on that if it indeed does exist.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A little disappointed

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We have been to the Perfect Caper several times over the last few years. This year we didn't feel that the lunch was as good or as creative as it has been in the past.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! Live Gabe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad Strip

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I had a strip steak that was uneatable. When I told our server she said she was sorry and that was the end of it. I have never had a meal like that at The Perfect Caper before so I will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.