About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: (941) 505-9009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Worth the Drive (39)
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Great for Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Business Meals (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Healthy (10)
Private Room (10)
Casual (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time here in four years and it's better than ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

We live in Naples, Florida. Once a year we meet friends who are visiting Sarasota at The Perfect Caper. It is a great halfway point for all of us. The food is always excellent. This time I ordered shrimp tempura and I have to say it was the best shrimp I ever ate. My husband had the duck and thought it was excellent. The atmosphere is perfect for sitting, talking and catching up with friends. You never feel rushed. My only negative was that I felt the main course took too long to be served. We had 6:30 reservations and didn't get our main course until after 8. That usually does not happen. We plan on meeting our friends again there next year.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food and service. Noelle was personable, informative and efficient. Would go again if it weren't so far from PA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an excellent dinner with friends. Reservations are a must. Food was creative (try the calamari appetizer), and the service excellent. Our server was a bit "programmed", but did an excellent job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything about our evening was Perfect.

We arrived early, but were seated right away.

Our server was prompt, professional and attentive.

The food was delicious.

Everyone in our party had been to the Caper before and are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

The best in Punta Gorda fl

The food was good,drink setviceetc..

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Alexandria, was very professional and friendly. We were most impress with her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Consistently good. Gabriel, who has been there for years, runs an excellent front -of-the-house.

Food is always very good as is the bar. I wish I lived closer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions. Noel has been our server several times, always remembers us and is a great server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had heen told that this restaurant was "it". They were right. Menu is large enough to return several times with few repeats. Bring your wallet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Never been disappointed.

Great lunch deals. Favorite for holidays and special occasions (expensive but worth it).

Staff is so well-trained! Food presentation is beautiful.

Love to take visitors here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place - first time for lunch. All three meals were good, but not as special as their dinners. Usually meet here as it's more or less a halfway point between Naples and Venice. Will return, of course!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took Friends out for Valentines Day

Had Great meals and Service

Will definitely be back again

Probably one of the best restaurants In SW Florida

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has become my favorite special place to go. Food is fabulous and so worth the price

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed the experience, but prefer more casual outdoor dining on a beautiful day. The presentation was excellent and so was the food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very disappointed- we have visited this restaurant several times and the food was awesome the service was average. This time the food was average and the service was even worst than the normal poor service. Needless to sat we will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 13, 2017

the Crabby-Scallops with black coconut rice was superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We've never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Perfect Caper never disappoints. The food was outstanding the service efficient and helpful and the ambiance lovely as always. I tend to stay in the area in the winter and will always make a point of dining at the Caper. It's definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to the Perfect Caper several times over the years dating back to the time it was located on Sullivan St. It's a great place for a special dinner. We always order the Warm Goat appetizer regardless of what else we have. We have never been disappointed at the Perfect Caper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Brought my girlfriend here for pre-Valentine's dinner per her request. Food is always good, drinks are always well made and creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been there several times before. Food and service outstanding. Unfortunately this last time was a disappointment because service and seating could have been better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Gets better all the time. Great food and service.always a treat.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

There are many restaurants in Punta Gorda, some with lovely waterfront views and outdoor dining, but I was craving a place with uniquely prepared delicious food. The Perfect Caper fit the bill. The mussels, beet tower salad and creme brûlée were all phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Perfect Caper NEVER disappoints. The menu fits all tastes. Everything is exceptionally plated and the taste is divine. I highly recommend The Perfect Caper for any occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Four of us enjoyed the 2 for 1 menu, the house cabernet and the focaccia. We shared the chocolate bread pudding...excellent. Our waitress was top notch. We were all very pleased with our food choices. We all plan to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is the first time I was disappointed. Food was average but it took over an hour to get average food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was quite disapointed in the fact that reservations were made more than a week in advance for 7:00 and did not get seated untill 7:40.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food good service and good company equals a great lunch

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food. At our table, two had the pork chop, one had salmon, and one had steak--all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As usual we were not disappointed. We usually go to the Caper for special occasions but they are running a 2 for 1 lunch during the week and it was great. We heard about it by e-mail (join the list) You must purchase a beverage each and we went with the house Chardonnay (not great but not bad) 0nly $5 Focaccia and oil to start and then we shared both entrées and had plenty to eat. We decided to splurge for Jeannie's Carrot Cake. It was just right for us to split and very tasty, quite sweet (which is how we like it). It is always enjoyable here and a real find in the little town of Punta Gordo. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Disappointed with the beet salad. First thing that's ever been a disappointment.

Will definitely go again and again. Bartender Josh is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Food is always excellent. Love the Lounge menu as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Probably one of the top 10 gourmet dining experiences we have enjoyed... Fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, excellent service! Fun little place hidden in Punta Gorda. Our guests enjoyed it and were impressed. This was recommended by a friend and she was right - the crabby scallops on coconut rice was amazing. Will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just a lovely spot with very good food and a nice ambience. A bright spot among many lackluster places in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Outstanding food. Excellent quality and great menu choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food is wonderful, Chef Jeanie is very creative and uses only the freshest ingredients in her creations.

I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

First time patron. Outside signage is terrible. We parked on east side of building. Sign directed us to front of building, then down the other side toward the back. We had a physically handicapped person with us with severe breathing difficulties, and he walked (puffed) three-quarters around the perimeter of the building just to find an entrance door. (He ordered shrimp and said it was tough.) We were shown to a table in the middle of the room right next to the kitchen; the noise level was excruciating, and I couldn't hear anything our guests said. Probably would have been quieter in a booth on the side of the room or in another room altogether. A very disappointing dining experience for such an expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent, food and atmosphere were great. Our server Alexandra is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. Great service, really cool decor, the atmosphere was just right. We were so pleasantly surprised. The specialty drinks were just that – special. The timing of food delivery was superb. So nice to have the chef come out and inquire about our experience. We told her that her food was great. She was really nice. Anyway, we will be back next time we're in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Bar served excellent drinks. Highly recommend the harloom tomatoes with prociutto wrapped home made mozzarella. The Moroccan Lamb was excellent!! Definitely a return visit. Beautiful fresh scallops were too salty and over powered by sauce.

Service at bar and table excellent. Jim made it made it a very enjoyable evening. Timing of service was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was a special night and it was at a very special place. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for fantastic food and great service. The calamari was the best I have ever had and the gnocchi was to die for.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I was excited to see a creative Brussels Sprout dish but I think something was off. It was dry and not what I anticipated by the menu's description.

We had a late lunch and were served warm coffee in smallish cups.

The restaurant is handsome and dark. My party enjoyed their dishes very much.

I would go back as the ingredients stress healthy options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very good service. Varied menu. Servers were very helpful and friendly. We left a good-sized tip to show our appreciation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Perfect Caper is wonderful!! Love the food and excellent service! We go for lunch about once a week.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food and service, highly recommend. We will definitely be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We met for dinner with friends at the Perfect Caper on a Monday night. We had an early reservation, so we were seated immediately. Our server was attentive, but not obtrusive. The restaurant offers a Prix Fixe menu in addition to a full menu. The Prix Fixe is an excellent deal, offering an appetizer and main dish for $25. Limited choices, but enough variety to satisfy all tastes. The only negative about our experience was that as the evening progressed, the noise level rose incrementally, and by the time we left, it was almost impossible to carry on a conversation because we could not hear one another. And, that was on a Monday night!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful food and nice service. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.