About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: 941-505-9009x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Southwest Florida
Best Service
Southwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
2 More
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
Most Booked
Punta Gorda
Best Restaurants in Punta Gorda ›

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (92)
romantic (66)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (30)
great for lunch (26)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been going for 6 years

Dined on May 20, 2016

Six years dining @ 15 times a year at Perfect Caper and always satisfied. Food is best in the neighborhood and the bar menu, if eating at the bar, is a special treat, filet tacos are fantastic. Fish specials every day and always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

30th anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

unfortuneately the scallops were overcooked and the filet was tough, but our waiter was great

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was as wonderful as expected! Having been to Ella's in Westerly, RI, I was excited to visit sister restaurant The Perfect Caper. Our party of four was not disappointed!! One special appetizer was a soft shell crab that was out of this world. I chose the duck confit which was perfect. Portion sizes are large. Service was impeccable. A large noisy party of six or eight were seated behind us which was the only negative. It didn't deter us from staying for dessert! We shall return to try more of the delicious sounding menu offerings. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for dinner! Food was deliciou ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great spot for dinner! Food was delicious, service was great & friendly . Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been our go to restauran ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

This has always been our go to restaurant in Punta Gorda. Every time our kids return home this is where they want to dine. The atmosphere is great and service excellent. The food is consistently excellent and the menu is very broad and interesting. Of course our favorites are the Calamari and Shrimp and Grits but everything on the menu is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were greated with a smile and immediately seated by the hostess . Our server Alexandra explained our menu and took our wine order . Found the wine list to hold some great choices . Our food was fantastic...seriously great . I had ordered the duck while my spouse had the lamb . Both outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Mothers Day at Perfect Caper

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered small plates. My wife enjoyed the Guinea hen with pasta, but thought then hen amount was sparse. I had the crab tower. Very hard to find or taste the seafood. The dish was overwhealmed by avacado flavor. The wine seemed pricey-almost all were $9-$12 per glass. The atmosphere and service were excellent. We will probably try it again sometime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. Calamari under portioned for price. Flounder was overcooled. A 44 dollar filet should melt like butter when you bite into it; not tough as eating leather. I had it cooked medium rare. Lobster Mac n cheese was okay. The Mac and cheese was good but the lobster was overcooked. Very disappointed in the food quality. For entrees to come out in 35 minutes which is fine but it better be perfect. The service was okay but they need to be trained on how to serve an entree from the left. Beverages from the right. The owner from CIA SHOULD KNOW BETTER. I have a hotel restaurant management degree from Johnson and Wales and expected more from this establishment. Do not waste your money on this restaurant. You are taking advantage of people who do not understand a fine dining experience. You should be ashamed.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Pricey

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was good, the food was pretty good, at least mine was. The prices were way out of line. The lighting was so dark it took at least 15" to accommodate so we could read the menu. My meal was 32$, a small piece of Tuna, the biggest part of my meal was rice. My husbands was 25$ he got a small piece of salmon and mostly noodles. We won't return unless they drop their prices. There are plenty of other restaurants more reasonably priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in Punta Gorda / Port Charlotte!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My Wife and I Really Enjoyed Everything From The Calamari to The Chocolate Cake For Dessert! My Scallops Were Delicious and The Filet That My Wife Had Melted in (our) Mouths. Yep...I stole a piece! Could Not Ask For Better Service! Thank You For Making A Special Evening, Special!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

we loved the food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had amazing apts, salads and entrees....my scallops were tough, and we had to wait along time for our check. But up until those things happened it would have been a solid 10. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loving the Caper

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went twice in a week and it was so delicious. So well done. My favorite new restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good restaurant

Dined on April 25, 2016

Good restaurant for special occasions and to try gourmet twists on different dishes

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficul ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Did not enjoy the pork chop, to difficult to eat and to close to the open kitchen, it was a distraction to our conversation.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very enjoyable meal. Food is outstanding. Service was great. Nice night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fine dinning

Dined on April 20, 2016

my friends said they would love to go back again ,and thanked me for bring them

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful! Had a great! Beautiful food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We come from Connecticut to visit my parents in Punta Gorda each April and always plan a date night at The Perfect Caper. From always amazing staples like the fois gras to wonderful specials like the Corvina with lobster mashed potatoes, this is foodie heaven. Service is attentive but unobtrusive, cocktails are creative and wine list is well-selected. We'll be back next year! We've also heard that the chef has another restaurant in the NYC metro area and would love information on that if it indeed does exist.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on April 15, 2016

We have been to the Perfect Caper several times over the last few years. This year we didn't feel that the lunch was as good or as creative as it has been in the past.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Fabulous! Food and service excellent! Live Gabe!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Bad Strip

Dined on April 8, 2016

I had a strip steak that was uneatable. When I told our server she said she was sorry and that was the end of it. I have never had a meal like that at The Perfect Caper before so I will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Douglas Staley

Dined on April 8, 2016

We went there for our anniversary and the atmosphere, food, and service was all very good. We had a great evening and the desert was fabulous-Lemon Curd Cheesecake with raspberry drizzle. Thank you Perfect Caper!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great but not as great as it can be.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The Thursday special -- tile fish with boc choy and rice -- just didn't quite come together. Everything, especially the sauces, was excellent on its own; they just didn't quite work together. The service was friendly and helpful. The ambience much as when I've been here before. But things were better when the founding chef was in attendance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

2for 1 lunch specials can't be beat!! S ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

2for 1 lunch specials can't be beat!! Steak tacos were excellent. Service is good as well. Perfect spot between Naples and Sarasota

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Very Dependable

Dined on April 7, 2016

it is most important when you are entertaining to find a restaurant that not only has good food, but one that is dependable. Nothing worse than telling people we are going to a favorite and then finding that for this particular night they step in it. These guys seem to hit it well every time. At least every time we have dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Perfect Caper is all good. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fine dining restaurant in Punta Gorda

Dined on March 31, 2016

Modern ambiance, delicious food options, prix fixe option, moderate prices and great service keep this restaurant at the top of our list year after year. The calimari, duck salad, lobster mac & cheese are perrenial favorites but we've never been disappointed by anything we've eaten here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is absolutely outstanding. The ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The food is absolutely outstanding. The service was very pleasant and professional but very slow. The atmosphere is excellent. Everything about this place is excellent except the speed with which meals are served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our mean was memorable - especially the 7 layer (no flour) chocolate cake

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of the Best

Dined on March 27, 2016

Perfect Caper is a gem in Punta Gorda. Jeanie Roland is an award winning chef who runs a consistently fine restaurant. We have never been disappointed. A fabulous and unique drink menu, a fine wine list and servers who please. There are several choices for nice dining in our area but the Perfect Caper continues to be the Best of the Best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE The Perfect Caper!!!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though it's quite a long drive, we always choose The Perfect Caper for our special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The fillet mignon is excellent. Vegetabl ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The fillet mignon is excellent. Vegetables were delicious. The truffle fries are a great addition. Our friends had the scallops, which they described as the "best they ever had". The chocolate cake & creme brûlée are fabulous.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always tasty

Dined on March 22, 2016

Wonderful meal as always. Excellent service. Crème brulee was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 21, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful from the booking to the server to the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST IN TOWN

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Been here two times during my stay. Each visit was pleasant. Great food. Prepared to perfection. Every restaurant in PG should follow their standard. My only beef is there was one male waiter (not mine) i overheard to use a tone of attitude with guests. If he was mine i would of called him out on it. My female waitperson was pleasant knowledgeable and all around excellant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Incongruous

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The Perfect Caper is in Punta Gorda...about half way between Sarasota and Naples. Unlike many FL port like cities it is not particularly picturesque. My wife and I arrived early so we had a drink a nearby bar. Being New Yorkers we stuck out ... Neither of us has a tattoo, a tee shirt indicating membership in a motor cycle gang...and we both were unarmed...though neither of us felt threatened...unduly. The good news was the natives proved friendly and two drinks came to nine dollars...pre tip..$3.00 because we left alive. The Perfect Caper was packed, congenial, not cheap ( forget the $ 4.50 drink) ...I had a delicious tempura dish...the menu knows no geography nor cuisine...the mussels appetizer was delicious. The waitress apologized for the slow service...and offered us free dessert..delicious "designer" munchkins. We had a fine time and got out of town as quickly as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food and service ever ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Consistently great food and service every time we go. I get the duck a deux facons almost every visit, and the confit leg of duck is packed with flavor. Nice, crispy skin and melting texture to the meat. I also highly recommend the pate as an appetizer. Neat cocktail list, too.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hard to find but worth it !

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Everything was perfect. The Thai mussels ( special) were absolutely outstanding - my husband considered them the best he has ever eaten. The butternut squash soup was delicious . The gnocchi with lamb was also good but suggest a few more gnocchi and somewhat less lamb would be a better balance. Worth finding this place in Punta Gorda.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We took my husbands 83 years young cousin there for dinner. She is a world traveler. She was so very impressed with the food, ambiance, and marvelous service. It was especially memorable that the owner/ chef came to our table to greet us. Lovely night! Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Long wait, Mediocre Food

Dined on March 11, 2016

We arrived early at the restaurant and it was not busy; we were surprised that it took so very long for our food to arrive and then to pay our check. It seems like there was only one waiter for the entire restaurant. The food was not tasty. The shrimp tempura was tasteless and so was the sauce furnished with it; the shrimp itself was of good quality and cooked well but was just tasteless and very, very thickly breaded. About 4 green beans on a pile of lettuce was the completion of the meal. Three other people were with me and they had different dishes; all of the others were not impressed either.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.