About The Perfect Caper

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: 941-505-9009x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Chop - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
  • Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
  • Kale Salad - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
  • Duck Salad - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
  • the warm goat - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
  • shrimp appetizer - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL

Report a photo problem

Lamb Chop - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
Gingerbread Ice Cream Sandwich - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
Kale Salad - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
Duck Salad - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
the warm goat - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL
shrimp appetizer - The Perfect Caper, Punta Gorda, FL

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Romantic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Private Room (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great, I just wish that they had ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

It was great, I just wish that they had remembered to do the birthday candle that had been pre requested.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was bland and mediocre at best. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was bland and mediocre at best. A very poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The wait staff was cordial and very atte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The wait staff was cordial and very attentive and prompt to serve and take away finished plates. The food experience was of the highest quality. My husband and I shared two appetizers - foie gras and beet tower. Both were tasty but the foie gras was outstanding, and the portions were generous. I ordered house made gnocchi with braised lamb because I always jump at the chance to sample good gnocchi, a hard-to-find menu option. My husband had the "crabby scallops" on a bed of black rice with bok choy, very delicious. We splurged and ordered the chocolate bread pudding and the gingerbread ice cream cookie for dessert. A lovely ending.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Perfect Caper is the best restaurant ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Perfect Caper is the best restaurant in Punta Gorda. The menu is innovative. The staff is excellent. We have never been disappointed

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and fabulous food. Pr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Impeccable service and fabulous food. Pricy but oh so worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food quality, presentation a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Outstanding food quality, presentation and creativity. Server was was professional yet friendly. Nice selection at the bar with old fashioned steak house like cocktail portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early so it was quiet. Our s ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We arrived early so it was quiet. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable in answering our questions. We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always great food and service at the Per ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always great food and service at the Perfect Caper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is the best we have eaten in th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food is the best we have eaten in this part of Florida. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Awesome food - but be sure to make reser ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Awesome food - but be sure to make reservations. We had a great anniversary dinner w/wine & drinks

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Perfect Caper has been a favorite of ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Perfect Caper has been a favorite of ours for some time. The food quality is high and the preparation and presentation is excellent. I wouldn't mind seeing some changes in the menu or specials from time to time. Our server was upbeat and attentive. We'd made a late reservation for NYE, thinking that there might be some music and dancing in the bar, but there was none. In fact, aside from a party in a private room, everything was seriously winding down at 11:30. As usual, women were dressed appropriately, but there were men in shorts and casual shirts. On NYE?!? This is Florida, but really? Those diners just took sharp casual to a new low.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service...can be nois ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service...can be noisy in the center of the restaurant.

We were a group of four and everyone enjoyed their meal....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Entrees were excellent (Moroccan lamb an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Entrees were excellent (Moroccan lamb and crab cake.). Appetizer of crispy shrimp was slightly overlooked-shrimp was dry. Also more sauce would have helped. House chopped salad was excellent. Brussels sprout salad needed more dressing, would have been better with some other green mixed with sprouts. Desserts were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again The Perfect Caper comes throu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Once again The Perfect Caper comes through with great service, outstanding food preparation and a wonderful atmosphere. The Duck a Deux Facons is unbelievably good and they have a large selection of gluten free offerings for my wife.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the best service, and entrees!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always the best service, and entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Call me a snob, but at the prices, I exp ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Call me a snob, but at the prices, I expect linen table cloths. Service, food presentation and taste excellent. I'll be baaack!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We eat here regularly but usually for di ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We eat here regularly but usually for dinner. This is our second lunch in a couple of weeks and frankly both were disappointing. The food is much better at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was very accommodating wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurant was very accommodating with my special diet requirements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server Gabriel was OUTSTANDING to sa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our Server Gabriel was OUTSTANDING to say the least. We had the Rabbit w/wild mushrooms appetizer that was superb! Definitely recommend to anyone looking for top quality food and impeccable service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoy going to the Perfect Cap ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We really enjoy going to the Perfect Caper... Many of the food choices are inventive and different from the casual restaurant. Is a little pricey but worth going too when you have something to celebrate. They do have specials Monday thru Thursday that are worth trying--choice of appetizer - entree for $25 can add glass of wine for $5. Definitely worth a try. There lunch specials are also worth trying. Overall a really nice restaurant that I would recommend any time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding dining experience as alwa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

An outstanding dining experience as always. Our favorite special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little hard to find, but when you do y ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A little hard to find, but when you do you will be pleasantly surprised! Great food, good cocktails , and our server, Noel was extremely nice and knowledgeable! Will go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went there for the firs ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My husband and I went there for the first time for my birthday. I have been waiting to go to the Perfect Caper for a "special occasion" because I heard it was an upscale restaurant. The restaurant itself was upscale, but not outrageous especially for the quality and the unique food. Outstanding service!

We arrived early and went to the lounge for a drink. The lounge is a hidden gem! Very reasonable "happy hour" with a bartender, Josh, that can make or recommend special and unique drinks. The lounge has a separate, large, unique menu. There is seating at the bar and table seating. The menu items that we observed other patrons order looked more like tapas. We were almost sorry we didn't eat at the bar. The restaurant was excellent too!!!! Will return to the bar for a smaller meal--the restaurant also!

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a perfect meal and great service.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a perfect meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If you want to cheap meal this is not th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 19, 2016

If you want to cheap meal this is not the place if you want to great meal and a great value this is the dining place. You will not find a better meal anywhere within 50 Miles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the whole area by far!!!! Super ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Best in the whole area by far!!!! Super service and food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been eating here for years befor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We have been eating here for years before I became plant based/vegan. Food is consistently great and wait service is as well. However, there is nothing vegan on the menu (dairy in everything on the menu that could be) BUT they have a few items that they will offer if you ask the wait service so you don't have to feel left out and left to pick or become the "special" person at the table. Our waitress Noel is a vegan, which was awesome. Ask for her and she will make recommendations for you. For everyone else, the calamari, mussels, and the mushroom papadella pasta get consistent rave reviews. Wonderful bartender too...the real deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Perfect Caper is my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Perfect Caper is my favorite restaurant in Punta Gorda. The food and service is always outstanding. Always a great time. Lunch or dinner.

The Chef and owner was on the food network's Beat Bobby Flay. And guess what? Chef Jeanie Beat Bobby Flay!

This is certainly the Crown Jewel of restaurants in Punta Gorda.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Authentic, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lunch, always a pleasure!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent lunch, always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were the best part of the mea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Appetizers were the best part of the meal. My entree came out cold as well as another person from my party. Upon letting waitress know I was brought another side-dish that was equal as cold. Waitress never asked if the replacement was sufficient. Nor did the waitress wait on us sufficiently. We had empty water and wine glasses throughout the dinner experience. The main entree for all party members was less then spectacular and I wouldn't return to eat here again unless I was just eating appetizers.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent as the last time we were there ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent as the last time we were there. Being from R.I. originally and finding the Chef/Owner from Rhode Island was quite fascinating. The food is excellent with a very nice atmosphere. We of course will be back for another special occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed because it h ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was a little disappointed because it had been hyped as the best. I had the lobster mac n cheese and the lobster was tough. I was expecting sweet, succulent and it was not. The server was very nice and the atmosphere allowed us to chat easily, not noisy. Had the creme brule for desert and it was good. Not impressed with the bread that they served and only had olive oil for a dipping sauce, no spices. I doubt that I will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

the food as well as the service as alway ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

the food as well as the service as always was wonderful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in the whole worl ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the whole world!! Excellent seafood and presentation !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Perfect Caper never lets us done whe ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Perfect Caper never lets us done whether we eat at the bar or dine in the dining room. We had reservations with some friends and it was a delightful experience for all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Caper always does a good job. We enj ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Caper always does a good job. We enjoy the staff and Gabriel, who always make us feel welcome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's all about the food . . . flawless e ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It's all about the food . . . flawless execution . . beautiful presentation . . . an eating experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meals (tenderloins) were expensive b ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The meals (tenderloins) were expensive but fabulous and the dessert ( apple pie with cinnamon ice cream) was delicious. The service was friendly and smooth.

We were celebrating a birthday and Perfect Caper was a great pick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time at this restaurant. Recom ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant. Recommended by my hairdresser and it was worth the trip from North Port. The food was excellent as well as the service. Very attentive and pleasant waitress!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THE PERFECT CAPER WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 4, 2016

THE PERFECT CAPER WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! WE ENJOYED EVERYTHING FROM THE DRINKS, TO THE FOOD AND WE WILL RETURN AND TELL ALL OUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY!! THE ATMOSPHERE WAS EXCELLENT, OUR JUANERITA'S WERE EXCELLENT, AND OUR FOOD WAS SO PERFECT, WE NOW UNDERSTAND WHERE THE NAME THE PERFECT CAPER CAME FROM!!! OUR SERVER, GABRIEL, WAS ALSO EXCELLENT!! HIS PERSONALITY AND KNOWLEDGE OF ALL THE ITEMS ON THE MENU WAS AMAZING AND HE HELPED US DECIDE WHAT WE WANTED TO CHOOSE TO EAT!! THIS WAS OUR 1ST TIME TO VISIT THE PERFECT CAPER AND WE PROMISE THAT WE WILL RETURN AND WE WILL TELL EVERYONE ALL ABOUT OUR EXPERIENCE AT THE PERFECT CAPER!!! FIVE STARS FOR SURE!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.