Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

We feel the Caper is an extension of your home and that you and your family will feel welcomed at our table. Enjoy life...Eat Good Food!

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-4-9pm

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent restaurant celebrated my birthday
Highly worth it !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Perfect Caper is a wonderful place to eat. The food, service and drinks are all good. We highly recommend it for a nice dinner or to celebrate something, anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

My family and I enjoyed the food, service and ambience.
The service was very good. We were all very satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Best meal I have ever ate. Went on Wed for a business dinner and had to take my wife on Friday. Amazing!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent experience. Two for 1 lunch specials with lots of tempting options plus five dollar glasses of wine. Nice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The entire exp was 5star all the way. Food and service were great. Would go back anytime

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It would be nice if the waiter who was excellent (G) would equally fill the wine glasses. Please do not fill my husbands an inch higher than mine and continue pouring all the wine in his glass with an occasional splash in mine - it was weird.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful meal once again, fantastic food, impeccable service (Gabe), great wine and excellent cocktails!
Would just ask that the temperature not be quite so cold.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The Thai mussels were excellent for an appetizer.The squid ink pasta had the perfect spiced sauce with some heat.The special was a burger which had a top layer of macaroni and cheese instead of the top bun. Creative and cooked perfectly medium rare.Dessert was palate cleansing , which was a lemon cheesecake with raspberry sauce and garnished with fresh strawberries.Alexandra, our server was attentive, friendly,and welcoming.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very enjoyable evening, We had the Prix Fixe menu as we do not have big appetites. The portions were good and provided excellent value for money.
We will make a point of returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We like the quality of the food. Some items appear to be over-priced until you actually enjoy them. Be prepred to spend a little more...in our case, $100 and change which included two rounds of drinks and several apps. We also left a nice tip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have never had a bad meal or bad service at the Caper. The food is always exceptional and the service is attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

One member of our party ordered a cocktail which she has ordered hundreds of times in hundred of restaurants--not available here, didn't have a key ingredient. Indifferent and overpriced wine list. All starters including prawns and salads were excellent. Noise level high and got worse. All entrees were excellent except the tenderloin/truffled potatoes. Tenderloin was mushy--perhaps tenderized, and potatoes were flavorless. The presentations varied from OK to really good. Desserts were out of this world. Go for the food--it's well worth it, but not for the ambience unless you like it almost too noisy to talk, nor for the wine. Service was erratic--first rushed, then slow; had to ask twice for bread and then it was one piece along with the starters, with no olive oil, tapenade, or butter. Same with water--one glass, late, and not refreshed. Will come back, and more than once.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Both the food and the service were excellent. It was a special treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Some dishes are good but not all. The lamb and gnocchi was horrible in every aspect: taste, feel, presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

First time dining at the Perfect Caper. Outstanding food quality and presentation. Service was good and solid. Limited wine list not sufficient for my taste. Will return soon and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The quality of the food was outstanding and very tasty, the service was at the right pace and quality And the ambience was very conducive to a quiet conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The calamari is always great. They don't serve it if it isn't fresh. The day's special of flounder was delicious. My friend ordered the scallops which she enjoyed. The only issue I had was that the waitperson twice tried to take my plate while I was still chewing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our server was wonderful and very helpful with menu items. We had The Warm Goat, the salad special which was delicious and the dinner special (pan seared flounder, fried Macaroni and cheese and sauteed spinach). Everything was perfect and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience!
Our server, Gabriel, was the best! I look forward to many more meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 24, 2017

They make sure you are welcomed with great service and recommendations. It's a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

They were very accommodating when we had to change our reservation for an earlier time. The food and service was very good. Friends had recommended it and it was worth the drive. We will go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Asked for a quit table. We were seated next to the loud bar area. Way over priced for the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 20, 2017

New lunch menu items are wonderful.Service was excellent. had the new Squid ink pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Y'all
I never ever post about a restaurant and I travel somewhere different each week...
This for sure the place!!!
Lost in a small FL town!
I am so glad my friends found this JAMES BEARD AWARD WINNING PLACE!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were very impressed, and we will be back! We had the filet salad, the scallops, bread pudding, and creme brulee. Everything was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This is Punta Gorda's finest restaurant. We dine here frequently and are never disappointed. The service by Mary Jane was excellent. The food was wonderful and full of flavor. I had the Shrimp and Grits and my son had the filet la maison. The shrimp and grits is the best I have ever had as is their calamari. My wife had the mussels which were fresh and fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Caper does not disappoint...every time we go there...it just gets better! Jeannie just knows what she's doing. Our waitress Mart Jane was awesome and took care of us like family.
Hint...try The Government Mule! Wow!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food...have been dining there for over15 years...never disappointed

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was very good with just a few adjustments needed- gnocchi dish needed more gnocchi, lemon curd cheesecake needed more lemon tartness. Wine was overpriced- it was good , but a 13 dollar bottle of wine for $48 was a bit much. It was good, but markup needs to be corrected.

We may go back, but not for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Celebrated our 28th anniversary at The Perfect Caper. Very friendly and attentive server. Food was outstanding. Perfect flavors and portion sizes. Excellent choice for a special occasion or a fine dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had read about the restaurant for years and was looking forward to finally having "the experience". It did not disappoint! Have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 6, 2017

As usual we had a great meal. The homemade bread is amazing. The 2 for 1 lunch is the best deal in town. The portions are large, I couldn't finish my sandwich or the salad that came with it. I highly recommend the Perfect Caper.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 5, 2017

Top Notch.
Staff and Food excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Punta Gorda! We were there last month for dinner with a friend and this month for our anniversary. Both visits were top notch. We'll be back when we return in the fall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A hidden gem in Punta Ford's. Worth the drive from Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went for my birthday on Friday. As always the food and service were outstanding. I would never hesitate to recommend the Perfect Caper to anyone wanting a lovely lunch or dinner. You are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 29, 2017

All Waitstaff (Gabriel) very good. Food presentation and taste/textures excellent. Good portion sizes. Crabby scallops delicious. Gluten free chocolate 7 layer dessert just the correct richness. Special cocktails very tasty and unique. Pricey for Punta Gorda but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.