Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper is Southwest Florida's premier dining destination. Located in Punta Gorda, halfway between Sarasota and Naples, on Florida's Gulf Coast. The Caper is a casually elegant neighborhood restaurant, with something for EVERYONE! The Caper offers a truly unique dining experience as well as superior service and atmosphere & craft cocktails....Globally inspired cuisine, locally sourced!

121 E. Marion Ave.
Punta Gorda, FL 33950
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, French American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday- Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner:
Monday-Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10pm
Sunday-Closed

Cross Street:
Nesbit St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 505-9009

Website:
http://www.theperfectcaper.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the private lot that is adjacent to the building.

Executive Chef:
Jeanie Roland-James Beard Semifinalist-2008, 2009, 2011, 2012

Private Party Facilities:
We are always available for private functions. Please inquire with the host for more details

Private Party Contact:
James Roland: (941) 505-9009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Perfect Caper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Worth the Drive (52)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Romantic (35)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (14)
Private Room (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice place in Punta Gorda for dinner. Delicious beet salad tower and steak, duck and brusselsprout salad. Good service and ambience. Prices are high end. A little hard to find, but follow the arrow around the building to the back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal atmosphere, great service and delicious food. Top notch!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

It's always been our favorite restaurant in Punta Gorda. This time the service was poor. We waited for menus, asked for bread, asked twice for water. The menu seems less interesting and our entrees were nothing special. Hopefully it will get back to being what it was but right now, I can't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been many times...never disappointed; always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants. However this year we were shocked at the noise level. In the past year they discontinued the white cloth table cloths (which I really miss) and perhaps the cloths helped cushion some of the conversation. The noise level is so great that my husband and I could hardly carry on a conversation. I hope that something can be done about this! Don't plan on a romantic or intimate dinner (especially during the season).

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. You can't be in a rush when you dine here.
It can be very noisy depending on the amount of people there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent , James Beard food and 2 for 1 menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We loved it. We were there for our 25th anniversary. We are going again next week with friends. One of the best all round restaurants we 'be been to. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Restaurant was nice. Burrata heirloom tomato salad quite good. Mussels nice. Sea bass was on dry side. Alexandra our waitress was great. Friendly, informative and never stopped smiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

If Mary Poppins were to eat there she would say it was perfect in every way!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent in every respect! Will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Love this place. I brought a friend that had never been. She loved it. I will be back. I'm hoping she brings friends to share this place

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 14, 2017

this is our place we go to for great food and great service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Located not far from the Peace River Walk, it is an elegant restaurant with an extensive menu of refined offerings. Everyone raved about their entree. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

If you did not know to ask for the Prix Fixe Menu, they don't offer it ("By request, only"). It is a good value.
The food is delicious (although the whipped potatoes were watery and flat that night) and the regular menu is expensive but you would expect that for fine dining. Like it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Superb as always. Food (tile fish special and crab cake) were excellent. Service was friendly and attentive - thank you Nicole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 13, 2017

we would visit much more often if meals were priced a little lower

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always special no matter how many times we dine
Best in our ton

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Called ahead about my wife's dietary restrictions (vegan, gluten-free) and we spoke to a great guy in the kitchen who was very accommodating, stating that substitutions and customizations would be welcomed. He was very flexible BUT when we arrived and ordered, our waitress ahoy down all those same ideas and seemed confused about how to help us. Ironically, once we pressed her (for inatance insisting she ask about gluten-free bread) she came back from the kitchen amazed to learn what they could do (for instance, they actually did have gluten-free bread after all!). Staff should be trained on what's available and to be accommodating and creative rather that trying to stick rigidly to the menu. The menu should post the possibilities. Thank you for listening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our second time at The Perfect Caper and our meals were outstanding, just like the first time! From appetizers to desserts each course was exceptional. They have creative cocktails which will not disappoint. It was my husband's birthday and without being asked they put a candle in his dessert, which was a sweet surprise for all of us! I highly recommend you try this gem in PGI!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This is my favored Restaurant in Punta Gorda, since I have been in the Business for many years
& have had Restaurant in different areas of the US, I know good food.
Janie Roland thus a great job
Frances

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Friendly, accommodating staff. Food is excellent! Menu eclectic and interesting. We love the goat appetizer and the crabmeat entree is the best I've had anywhere! Perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We waited 45 minutes for our food. When I asked the waitress where our food was another waiter snapped at us -can't you see the dining room is full and we are busy!!! I replied in a calm voice, you shouldn't book more tables then you can adequately serve. He and our waiter went off in a huff and complained to the kitchen about us. My grilled vegetable salad had two small pieces of roasted red pepper and two tiny pieces of grilled eggplant atop a small bed of greens. The waiter came by and threw down a tiny cup of cheese stating that the kitchen forgot to put it in my salad. My friend could not eat the tough, dry, over cooked chicken on her salad. When we said something we were told "it's two for one day and what do you want us to do about it". More yelling from the kitchen. We could not get out of that place fast enough. This ranks as one of the worst restaurant experienced of our lives!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I have a vacation home in southwest Florida. My wife and I only eat at two restaurants on a regular basis when here in Florida. . One is perfect caper and the other is temptation in boca grande. We are from Philadelphia and eat out often. These two restaurants are superb and as good or better then most back home. Both are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Really good food and drinks with an excellent wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. Prix Fixe weekday menu is a real bargain. Excellent cocktails and
desserts, too.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We have been to the Perfect Caper before and had a good experience, however this time was different. Our visit was "in season" and of course all the restaurants are crowded during this time. The bartender and the waiter both seemed to be overwhelmed by the amount of patrons and could not provide good or even acceptable service. It seems that the owner or manager could easily anticipate this and provide adequate staffing. The food was also mediocre. We will probably not go back to the Perfect Caper; there are many other wonderful places to dine in Punta Gorda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As always everything was awesome. The server was very patient. I was visiting with a girlfriend and we were gabbibg so much we kept forgetting to look at the dinner menu. We were there for over 3 hours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Chop salad and salmon were great as well as the scollops.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Outstanding! My wife;s 50th birthday and we requested that no menu be provided as we would like "Chefs Choice" From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable once we were seated and chose our drinks the courses began. 6 courses were served with flawless execution. Each dish was expertly presented and delicious ... the wine pairings were spot on, we had a great evening. We will absolutely be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Alexandra did an outstanding job as server. Food was excellent as always

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great place, great food. Great for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Lunch at The Perfect Caper is an outstanding experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I had Shrimp and Grits and it was delicious. My husband had Scallops with Crab Meat and it was delicious also. The service was great. The price is high, but is understandable as the quality and presentation was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is one of the best places for diner in all of southwest Florida. Not to be missed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great place for lunch! Best place to eat in Punta Gorda.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Outstanding - again and again. Morrocan spiced lamb is ALWAYS superb. Tower of Beets salad was perfect to begin. ALWAYS impressive to see owner talking to every patron and getting their feedback. Can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Four of us had lunch. Our service was fantastic but have to question the quality of burgers. Two in our group had burgers ordered med rare and med, which came out dry and more on the well done side. The fries, which are normally wonderfully crispy, were soggy and not enjoyable. My pate was as good as always and the salmon eater in the group loved hers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Outstanding food. Attentive owner/chef. Friendly wait staff. Didn't expect the food would be so excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Exceptional restaurant. The best duck we have ever eaten. Very creative menu without any silliness--the tastes are wonderful and emphasize the essential goodness of the main ingredient. Chef Jeanie Roland achieves this with experience and patient preparation. The atmosphere is somewhat elegant without stuffiness. The cocktails tried--a tequila old-fashioned!--are excellent and the wine list is fine and reasonably priced.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.