Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About The Patio on Guerra

Our story starts at the turn of the century in 1908, three Guerra Brothers from Starr County went to San Antonio to sell mules. They returned home to the Valley and with the profits, opened a ranching and mercantile store in downtown McAllen. Now, 100 years later, Guerra family descendants have revived this site on 17th street, (originally known as "Guerra Street.") The Patio on Guerra restaurant opened in 2008 in one of the oldest buildings in downtown McAllen. The main dining room is set in the original brick walls of this historic structure. With its comfortable chairs, subtle lighting and linen-topped tables, diners feel the warmth and ambiance of romantic yesteryear. USDA Prime Steaks, seafood and regional favorites and our passion to fine dining and excellent service make for a memorable experience whether you choose our main dining room or lovely outdoor patio surrounded by tall delicate palm trees. Recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2011 to 2015.

116 S 17th St
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 1:00 AM

Cross Street:
Business 83

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 661-9100

Website:
http://www.patioonguerra.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy delicious signature cocktails, including our Akita Mary, winner of the 2011 Absolut Vodka National Bloody Mary Competition, along with great live music indoors and outdoors. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award 2011 to 2015. The Patio on Guerra hosts many of South Texas" best local musicians. Inside the main dining room we feature instrumental music and classic favorites. In our beautiful outdoor patio, guests dance under the stars during our cool Valley evenings to the rhythms of the 70's and 80's on Fridays and to the beats of Salsa and Merengue on Saturdays.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of metered parking in front of the restaurant along 17th Street; after 6:30 PM the parking in front is free. There is a large 60 car public lot directly behind the restaurant where parking is free 24 hours a day. A guest who parks in this area will find easy access to the restaurant using our convenient back entrance.

Public Transit:
We do have free shuttle service available upon request.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jose Luis Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

The Patio on Guerra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food and service. Had not been here in a few months but this place doesn’t disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Every time we come to the valley we make sure we eat here. The steaks are excellent and we love the atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great service! And delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

My wife and I came here along with my mother-in-law to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This was our first visit but most likely will not be our last. Keep in mind we arrived rather early for dinner (5:00 pm) so my ratings in regard to ambiance and level of noise are based upon the fact there were very few patrons in the establishment when we arrived. Our waiter was very attentive but a bit slow on returning to our table to ensure everything was OK and we weren't in need of anything else. Otherwise, he was great.

The food was excellent but not exceptional. We started with an appetizer of lamb chops. They were very well prepared--succulent and grilled to perfection. For the main course, I had the bison grilled medium with a side of lyonnaise potatoes; my wife had the roasted duck with a side of wild rice; and my mother-in-law had the chicken marsala with squash and corn. We ordered additional sides of creamed spinach and baby carrots for the three of us to share. All food items were cooked according to our specifications and were presented well. We couldn't find fault with a single item we ordered. All food was very tasty.

We ended our dining experience with the creme brulee, which was also excellent. To backtrack for a second: My wife and I started off the evening with pina coladas. They were outstanding to say the least--definitely among the best I've ever had. Cudos to the bartender!

Being relatively new to south Texas, I'm not sure of the reputation of various eating establishments in this area so I felt no matter what restaurant I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary, I was taking a chance. This chance paid off quite well as it turned out to be a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Schweiz)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Dinner with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The food, the ambience, the table presentation were perfect! The servers were not so good. The main server was out of mind most of the time. He seemed not pay attention to the guests’ request. 18% gratitude was too high for this type of service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Live Music, Authentic, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Your Lobster bisque was extremely fishy. I did not eat but 1 spoonful, the waiter saw that I didn't like it and did not offer anything in it's place nor did he even care that I didn't like it.
Sea bass was mushy and very, very small portion.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

All was great with the exception that I arrived 2 hours before to provide the table Christmas decorations and when we all arrived for the dinner, the table wasn't ready. Was still as I left, so we were able to go to our table 20 later... Really disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food was very good, the waiter gave us the proper attention and the guitarist added the special touch

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Something has changed ... I heard it before and noticed it myself.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

We had the best time...Loved this place. The rack of lamb and bison tenderloin were simply delicious! Great ambiance and staff. We will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 18, 2017

It’s always great visiting Patio in Guerra. The staff goes above and beyond to meet expectations. The food was great and usual.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Made reservations a week in advance and had no problems with seating. Service was excellent and not overbearing. Drinks were made to perfection and the food was beyond delicious. The food portion was more than expected. We had leftovers for lunch the next day.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Late-night Find, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was absolutely horrible. Salmon appeared to see and taste boiled. Ahi tuna average at best. Steaks below average. Mixed drinks horrible. First and last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great food, well priced, great service. Apart from a very noisy group of diners, I had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We celebrated my son's 23rd birthday, and was a nice option, the service and food were excellent, Thanks!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Top food in entire area and high in Texas overall. Always go there when in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Grew local authentic spot.

First class food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Muy baja calidad en la comida, me sirvieron pollo de tyson. No pollo de verdad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We celebrated our 36 year wedding anniversary. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent. The table had a lovely anniversary sign made just for us....complete with heart confetti. They brought us a lovely dessert as well. It was a beautiful and special evening. I can't wait to return. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good service. The streak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a 7:15 reservation and were able to park essentially right in front of the restaurant. There were only 5 other tables occupied when we entered but by the time we left almost 2.5 hours later it was about hafl full. It was our first visit so we had tried nothing on the menu before, but were delighted with the crab meat tower appetizer that Angel (our expert waiter) recommended. My wife and I shared the Tomahawk Ribeye which was excellent, despite having the meat cooked medium well for my wife and medium rare for me; the presentation was marvelous too. Angel caught part of our conversation and determined it was my wife's birthday and surprised us with a slice of special coconut flan (complete candle) that arrived at our table just as the solo singer/guitar player providing background music sang happy birthday at just the right volume and tone so as not to disturb the other guests dining. A wonderful experience for us in McAllen that night. Thank you Patio on Guerra and Angel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful place,great ambience. perfect for a date. Great service by the staff. I really enjoyed the food. Thank you

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Been coming for a few years. Service and food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on August 20, 2017

There was soft live romantic Spanish music playing . The volume was nice not to loud where I couldn't hear my date but not to soft. Inside dining is ideal for a nice dinner date. Outside on the patio is more of a drinking dancing atmosphere. We left right after dinner. But wouldn't have minded staying if there for that..

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great Service...great people...great food!!!

SG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The ambience is great, The staff was great, the food was not up to the standards of a pricey meal. The mashed potatoes were dried. We also had two appetizers. The crab cakes were alright and the portobello with lobster could have been better without the chocolate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The atmosphere upon entering is elegant, yet, welcoming. Service attention was prompt, but not pushy. The server was extremely helpful with beverage and food selections and recommendations. (His recommendations were spot on. The drinks were exactly as suggested .

The food presentation was excellent with everything as ordered. The portions were significant and everyone in our party enjoyed their selection. There was a guitarist playing background music at the right sound level. You could here it, yet still have comfortable conversation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been going to El Patio since it first opened. The food is wonderful and the staff is very courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service: best red snapper that I have ever had. I would totally recommend The Patio

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great place and great food, and loved the area as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to celebrate a couple of victories and had a wonderful experience! We loved the food, ambiance & service. Our waiter, Alex was knowledgeable but not pushy. Our last fine dining experience was disappointing (Steak 48 in Houston's River Oaks District). The Patio was a breath of fresh air. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Went for a special occasion with some requests before our reservation.
They took every effort to make things to be a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. They had Pappy Van Winkle Bourbon at the bar, prime steaks in the restaurant, and Bananas Foster flambé tableside for dessert. highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always a favorite. Food, ambiance, service, libations..... All wonderful. Love the historic significance of the venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Maybe the best red snapper in the valley including the beach Wonderful attentive service and a real bargain

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great music by Miguel Abiel and great service from Howard. Awesome food. Tomahawk steak is a must.
Celebrated new beginnings!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were celebrating our 43rd anniversary along with our son and his fiancée at this restaurant, based on a friend's recommendation. The restaurant was unable to meet our desired wine order and substituted another wine. We instead ordered a third wine instead. Food was good; but, one of our appetizers was under cooked and was sent back to the kitchen. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would rate the service a 3. I am not sure if we would return to this restaurant or recommend it to our friends.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and great service. The menu was enticing, food was well executed and very good and portions were ample. The acoustic guitar player was quite good and provided a nice background for a fine dining experience. We were there on a Tuesday night and the noise level was acceptable for discussion at the table of 3 people, though at times the bar patrons were a bit loud and I would expect the restaurant to be very noisy when full of diners.

The entrance to the restaurant was not immediately seen on the patio and we mistakenly walked into a private event being held in a nice room off the patio.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.