About The Patio on Guerra

116 S 17th St
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Our story starts at the turn of the century in 1908, three Guerra Brothers from Starr County went to San Antonio to sell mules. They returned home to the Valley and with the profits, opened a ranching and mercantile store in downtown McAllen. Now, 100 years later, Guerra family descendants have revived this site on 17th street, (originally known as "Guerra Street.") The Patio on Guerra restaurant opened in 2008 in one of the oldest buildings in downtown McAllen. The main dining room is set in the original brick walls of this historic structure. With its comfortable chairs, subtle lighting and linen-topped tables, diners feel the warmth and ambiance of romantic yesteryear. USDA Prime Steaks, seafood and regional favorites and our passion to fine dining and excellent service make for a memorable experience whether you choose our main dining room or lovely outdoor patio surrounded by tall delicate palm trees. Recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2011 to 2015.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM

Cross Street:
Business 83

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 661-9100

Website:
http://www.patioonguerra.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy delicious signature cocktails, including our Akita Mary, winner of the 2011 Absolut Vodka National Bloody Mary Competition, along with great live music indoors and outdoors. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award 2011 to 2015. The Patio on Guerra hosts many of South Texas" best local musicians. Inside the main dining room we feature instrumental music and classic favorites. In our beautiful outdoor patio, guests dance under the stars during our cool Valley evenings to the rhythms of the 70's and 80's on Fridays and to the beats of Salsa and Merengue on Saturdays.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of metered parking in front of the restaurant along 17th Street; after 6:30 PM the parking in front is free. There is a large 60 car public lot directly behind the restaurant where parking is free 24 hours a day. A guest who parks in this area will find easy access to the restaurant using our convenient back entrance.

Public Transit:
We do have free shuttle service available upon request.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jose Luis Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
The Patio on Guerra’s beautiful private "Centennial Room" is perfect for business meetings and special events. It is appointed with rich brick walls, gas lights and original regional artwork that reflect the same historic and elegant setting as the main restaurant. The room is also fully equipped with an lcd projector, drop down screen and wireless microphone. It is Webinar-ready with internet access and table speakerphones upon request. The Patio on Guerra's on-site event coordinators will assist you in planning your event. Whether you decide on a sit down dinner or informal mixer, we will develop personalized menus that work with your meeting or special occasion budget. Our table arrangements are also completely flexible and can seat up to 60 guests comfortably. There is no room fee for the use of the private room or the equipment therein. Please visit our website to view our gallery of photos under the heading "private room.”

Private Party Contact:
Becky Guerra or Annette Mata: 9566619100x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Patio on Guerra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

Romantic (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Dancing (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, great service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, attentive service, great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous food, attentive service, great ambience. Came here two nights in a row. On my "must visit" list when I come to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the place, the staff, everythi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food, the place, the staff, everything about this place was simply amazing! Will definitely go back for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Live Music, Dancing, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very professional and courteous staff. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very professional and courteous staff.

Very appealing presentation of meals and delicious on the palette.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When I booked the reservation here when ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 17, 2016

When I booked the reservation here when we got to the restaurant and told them we had a reservation they took us to a table they already had reserved for us with a card celebrating our 24th anniversary. We were there at noon and the lunch menu never had steaks on it so we enquired about a steak and they brought us a dinner menu and were able to order what we wanted. Cooked as we desired and very good. Have already recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food, cocktails, and ambian ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Although the food, cocktails, and ambiance was fantastic, the service was okay. We waited long periods before a server would check up on us. At one point I had to ask another server to get us our server. We had three different servers so not sure who was the one to call on. I'm thinking they were under staffed or the assignment of table service was off.

Again food and cocktails were great you just had to wait longer than usual to get the great stuff. For the price I expected a better overall experience that included service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Incredible evening! Celebrated my wife's ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Incredible evening! Celebrated my wife's birthday and we had an amazing dinner experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience dining at The ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always a great experience dining at The Patio. Excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic atmosphere, wife had a gre ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Very romantic atmosphere, wife had a great birthday dinner and she loved the old music playing in the background. Kind staff and delicious food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Dancing, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great music, great drinks, great time. W ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great music, great drinks, great time. Will come again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The singer was awesome and so was the at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The singer was awesome and so was the atmosphere.

Wanted to sit outside but it was too warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bison was delicious. Service was excelle ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bison was delicious. Service was excellent. Recommended for a date with you're special someone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can say the service was great, the win ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I can say the service was great, the wine was very good, and the appetizers/ meal was excellent. The place was elegant we plan to be back again

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was terribly disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was terribly disappointed in the food. The service was excellent and the ambiance perfect. However, without good food what difference does that make. My husband had been there before for lunch and thought it was great. He had the stuffed avocado and said the chicken salad was excellent. I had fish for dinner and it was dry with no taste except lots of salt. Even the baked potato was dried out like it had been made way before hand. My husband had a steak and he was satisfied with it but didn't think it was anything out of the ordinary. I had looked forward to this dinner all week and it was really a let down. I hate to write bad reviews.

I wanted nothing more than a good meal, but the Patio didn't even come close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

A very romantic venue with an exquisite ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A very romantic venue with an exquisite menu and large wine list. A great location to celebrate an anniversary. We arrived 30 min earlier than our reservation, yet they accommodated us quite easily.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buena comida, buen ambiente, servicio rá ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Buena comida, buen ambiente, servicio rápido y atentos.. Vuelvo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in a great historical environ ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food in a great historical environment! Exceptional wine list. I love the story behind the Guerra's history at that location and contribution to the Upper Valley history.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in McAllen

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Feels like a gracious South Texas hacienda. Excellent service, good Contentintal menu, full bar and wine list. Historic building.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent all was excellent....nothing to change

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Dinner time was awsome, my wife was graetly srprise with the filet....my patio shrimp not too much at my taste but the beer was cooler...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2016

We arrived with another couple and were seated promptly. The wait staff was very attentive and helped my wife find the perfect wine. It took several tastings to figure out the appropriate wine. The calamari for an appetizer was very good. We had the Chilean Sea bass with a Caesar salad and asparagus for our entree. The bass was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were grilled to perfection. The desert was table side Bananas Foster. It was the only part of the meal that was not perfect. The alcohol was not completely cooked off and thus it was very bitter. The bananas were not carmalized and the desert was not very edible. The atmosphere was great with a roving guitarist. If you get a chance ti is a must eat spot in downtown McAllen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful restaurant

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Great food. and service . Pricey but certainly worth it

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good and the people was n ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was good and the people was nice and help full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Too loud, too cookie cutter (Valentines).

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was not that great, and the bill was high. I don't mind paying for great food, but this was not great. The best thing was my alcohol, but that was from a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

NCB

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went here for Valentines and it was wonderful. The wait staff was attentive without being pushy which is a hard balance to achieve. The wine list is extensive with a number of reasonable priced bottles. The food was very good and the ambiance was special. The building is over a hundred years old and still holds its charm. We had a great experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our waiters recommendation on bo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We took our waiters recommendation on both drinks and food and were very please that we did. Absolutely excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Atmosphere...great patio

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Took my wife to dinner at Patio on Guerra. Food was great. Service was excellent. Great patio and building had lots of character. Nice, quiet atmosphere with great live acoustic music and just the right amount of energy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place place and good food. The wait ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Nice place place and good food. The waiter kindly offered me to swap items around the dish I wanted to order. I did , checking first with him that it was possible at no particular cost or effort, which he did confirm.

As a result, my bill took a $ 10 increase that was unannounced and definitely not appreciated. When I confronted the waiter on this, it was obvious that he did not care and waived the topic out.

I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Supposed to be a romantic dinner

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Restaurant was ridiculously loud. Food was bland. Lobster Bisque tasted more like tomatoe bisque. The fish my husband ordered was very bland too - even the fruit/veggie topping on it had little flavor. Our server took my husband's plate after asking if he was finished then took my plate without asking even though my girl was still in my hand. Definitely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

amazing Food, Service and Quality.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Went for an Early Valentine's Day Dinner with my Wife and as I asked for a Table under a reservation in my name, there was no Problem and they seated us immediately. Our Waiter was Polite and attentive. It was a Cold night but Lighting and room Temperature was just right. Dinner Selections are great and our Dishes were Amazing and Presentation was a Plus. We will definitely go back for another Romantic Date Night Dinner. I Will Recommend this place to my Family and Friends. Great Experience Overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining at "The Patio on Guerra"

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I would highly recommend this fine restaurant for dinner. The food and service was excellent. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. It was a bit noisy for our taste, we prefer a quieter atmosphere. We could just barely hear the live music. It is also a little bit pricey but I would say the cost is on par with other local fine dining establishments. They were very busy so I would recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, but noted more for ambiance.

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Overall the food and service were pretty good, but not necessarily worth the price. I don't mind paying more if the food is excellent but, again, it was just fine. The atmosphere is nice with romantic lighting and live music, especially for a special occasion. We did order an appetizer but it was never brought out. The server definitely heard us order it as he commented on what a good choice the appetizer was. It wasn't too big of a deal as they didn't charge us for it, but still; those little things make an impression, especially with a fancier place like this.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Celebrated our 15 the Anniversary, servi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Celebrated our 15 the Anniversary, service was excellent. Food was delicious and ambiance was great! Perfect night! Will recommend to family and friends for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt Ignored

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 27, 2015

My girlfriend and I dined there for her birthday. Our server had two big groups to tend to. We were often ignored and rarely actually waited on. I understand that bigger groups usually mean greater tips, but we were paying full price for the food and were expecting full service. We were brought the bill without even being offered dessert; as if they were trying to rush us out of there. Being her birthday, we ignored all of that to keep the evening special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

What a pleasant dining experience. We e ...

vip
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 27, 2015

What a pleasant dining experience. We enjoy the live music. The appetizer list is extensive and delicious as is the wine list. Calamari and a Hoenig Cab are our usual choices. I recommend the wedge salad. Whether steak or seafood, both good choices. We have been here multiple times (drive an hour to get here) and would certainly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Xmas dinner. Awkward Bananas Fost ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great Xmas dinner. Awkward Bananas Foster demo. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Been here for Christmas Eve dinner for s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Been here for Christmas Eve dinner for second time. Food is getting better for second time visit. Good quality and quantity. But our waiter is too busy and missed helping us refill our beverage and we have to remind him for a few times. Desserts is not bad but have more room to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Nice place for upscale lunch downtown

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 24, 2015

Small town old folks from neighboring County, searching internet for a quiet meal in the Big City (McAllen, TX) on our 50th anniversary. Not many upscale restaurants open for lunch, it seems. Happy to find this one. A bit concerned the brick walls would up the noise level, but no problem.

The tuna and the steak salad were cooked just right; sauces on both were rather sweet for our old folks tastes. Enjoyable nonetheless. Thanks, guys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and Service for Lunch too.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2015

We had a great celebration for the birthday of my wife, did not know they had lunch service. Our surprise was that they had a special table for the occasion, have a variety of table wines and food in general is very good and delicious. we ask for tuna dish and my wife Fish tacos both of them were very nice.

We had a wonderful good recommendation for a quiet lunch with a great atmosphere.

The service was very good the waiters always assist us with everything we asked.

We highly recommend the The Patio Of Guerra service also for Lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Noisy

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Everything was very good except the excessive noise in the dining room. We had to shout to hear.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

15th Wedding Anniversary

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 16, 2015

What a wonderful dinner. I made a reservation for our wedding anniversary on OpenTable online and noted that it was our wedding anniversary dinner. When we arrived, table was ready with our name on a card congratulating us, a rose on the table and hearts spread across the table. Our server Angel quickly took our drink and appetizer order. Brooks Ausborn played his guitar for us as we waited. He even took our request to play our wedding song. We started with the Ahi Tuna as the appetizer which was delicious. The Cowboy Cut Bone-in USDA PRIME Ribeye was excellent. Perfectly cooked and juicy. The Chilean Sea bass was excellent as well. To cap off the night, we were given a dessert for our anniversary that had our name with a congratulation written on it in chocolate. It was an excellent experience and one to remember...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.