Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

The Patio on Guerra

4.6
185 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Our story starts at the turn of the century in 1908, three Guerra Brothers from Starr County went to San Antonio to sell mules. They returned home to the Valley and with the profits, opened a ranching and mercantile store in downtown McAllen. Now, 100 years later, Guerra family descendants have revived this site on 17th street, (originally known as "Guerra Street.") The Patio on Guerra restaurant opened in 2008 in one of the oldest buildings in downtown McAllen. The main dining room is set in the original brick walls of this historic structure. With its comfortable chairs, subtle lighting and linen-topped tables, diners feel the warmth and ambiance of romantic yesteryear. USDA Prime Steaks, seafood and regional favorites and our passion to fine dining and excellent service make for a memorable experience whether you choose our main dining room or lovely outdoor patio surrounded by tall delicate palm trees. Recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2011 to 2015.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday thru Thursday, 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday, 11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday, 5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Closed on Sundays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(956) 661-9100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jose Luis Hernandez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Business 83
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is plenty of metered parking in front of the restaurant along 17th Street; after 6:30 PM the parking in front is free. There is a large 60 car public lot directly behind the restaurant where parking is free 24 hours a day. A guest who parks in this area will find easy access to the restaurant using our convenient back entrance.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We do have free shuttle service available upon request.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy delicious signature cocktails, including our Akita Mary, winner of the 2011 Absolut Vodka National Bloody Mary Competition, along with great live music indoors and outdoors. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award 2011 to 2015. The Patio on Guerra hosts many of South Texas" best local musicians. Inside the main dining room we feature instrumental music and classic favorites. In our beautiful outdoor patio, guests dance under the stars during our cool Valley evenings to the rhythms of the 70's and 80's on Fridays and to the beats of Salsa and Merengue on Saturdays.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was really good, the drinks as well, but the service is what really made this restaurant special. Would definitely recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wow - what a lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The ambiance was very nice, the food was great and the service was on point. Will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

I am from Buffalo NY and I was visiting my son who is also new to the area. I wanted to take them out to a very nice upscale restaurant as they have been just visiting chains and that is a No No in Buffalo lol. I looked up on the internet and found your restaurant. We were a little concerned at first because of the area but was pleasantly surprised and the huge parking lot in the back of your restaurant and that is where we entered. I was so impressed when we walked in and through the patio. Although we were seated inside, I can’t wait to come back and have dinner on the patio. Once inside we were seated and our waiter asked us if we would like a cocktail we ordered drinks, and an appetizer (calamari) and that was great. Order dinner and that became a big Fail! I ordered the petite filet and my son ordered the cowboy cut steak. I ordered a bottle of wine and asked that that come when our dinner was ready. Our steaks came out and no wine I waited almost 10 min and had to ask another server where my waiter was so we could get the wine. Finally after 15 min we got our wine and we ate a cold steak...so disappointed wine should be our before the meal...that is a given! Food is great atmosphere is amazing but service definitely need to be improved upon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It is a perfect place for a romatic dinner. My date and I had a great time. Will recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

This was my first poor experience at the Patio in several visits over the past five years. I have previously rated our visits as excellent.

Antonio was our server. After the appetizer course I set my knife and fork together in the centre of the empty plate, clearly to be removed. Antonio came by, picked up the knife and fork, set them down on the linen tablecloth and took away the plate, obviously expecting me to use the knife and fork again for my main course. I put the dirty cutlery on my bread plate and, when he next came by, asked him to remove them and replace them with clean. He did so in a semi-surly manner. Antonio, that is a low cost greasy spoon practice and totally out of place in fine dining. I am surprised that you have not been taught this.

My main course was steak and shrimp, the steak to be cooked medium rare. It arrived tender but medium. the fact that the first bite was tender was the only reason I did not ask for it to be re-done.

I trust that when we come back to McAllen from Canada next winter, normal excellent service will be resumed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

the manager and waiter made everything better by providing excellent service. They catered to whichever food we wanted. The drinks and food were awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food. Fantastic atmosphere. Took my date here and the service and food was good. We will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great place, very beautiful decor and excellent service which is very personal
The only thing is that appetizers are huge and should be much smaller even though we split one and I could not get an entree.
Wonderful evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We were superbly surprised by our reserved table with our names and greeting of Happy anniversary complete with red heart confettis scattered on the table. He was impressed with taste of ribeye as he’s hard to please on steaks. My ahi tuna was excellent. Asparagus spears were on tiny side though compared to big healthy looking ones. The surprise resistance was when we tried to order our dessert waiter brought surprise creme brûlée with happy anniversary and heart on the plate. Such a generous gesture and touch to end our perfect dinner! Definitely will repeat dining and recommend to friends to experience excellent food, ambiance, and service. Thank you !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

As always this was a great spot for our anniversary. A little disappointed that our table was immediately next to a ten person,noisy, hen party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great place for steaks and just simply overall good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Love this place. Food is always excellent (to my tastebuds at least). The service is friendly, timely, and professional. And the live music is always a nice bonus but never invasive to conversation. Great place for those special occasions.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The 6oz filet was covered with Pepper
We sent it back and they served us the same filet, washed and put on the grill again.. so it was totally burn on the outside.
We sent it back and they cut away the burned external part and cooked it in the oven.
It used to be the best restaurant in Mcallen. No more.

Good wine list.. but they have the worst glasses to serve it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

This was my wife and my anniversary and our first time here. We really enjoyed the experience. The food, the service, the atmosphere were all very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Perfect except for very loud noisy diners (sad ... no manners)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Celebrating my wedding Anniversary and had a great time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2018

EXCELENTE LUGAR PARA PASARLA MUY AGRADABLE CON UNA PERSONA ESPECIAL . LA COMIDA MUY DELICIOSA; EXCELENTE CORTE DE CARNE Y VEGETABLES FRESCOS Y BIEN ELABORADOS .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

This restaurant has it all! The food was amazing. I could literally cut my steak without a knife, it was so tender. The service was some of the best I have ever had! The atmosphere is fantastic. A guitar player was playing, but you could still talk - it was lovely. They put a wonderful sign and confetti on the table for special occasions. The birthday dessert was a surprise and delicious. I can not say enough great things about Patio on Guerra!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

I found the Patio on Guerra when I was looking for a good steak house. I was a little nervous about going because I was not sure if the price would be worth it, but I had a great time! The food is amazing the view is gorgeous and the staff is so friendly! This man who was working there noticed that I was a little chilly outside so he turned on a heater near my table. I would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Always....always great people...great srrvice...great food!!!

SG

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Server took some time to bring us our check as he was tending the bar too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food and service. Had not been here in a few months but this place doesn’t disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Every time we come to the valley we make sure we eat here. The steaks are excellent and we love the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Great service! And delicious food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

My wife and I came here along with my mother-in-law to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This was our first visit but most likely will not be our last. Keep in mind we arrived rather early for dinner (5:00 pm) so my ratings in regard to ambiance and level of noise are based upon the fact there were very few patrons in the establishment when we arrived. Our waiter was very attentive but a bit slow on returning to our table to ensure everything was OK and we weren't in need of anything else. Otherwise, he was great.

The food was excellent but not exceptional. We started with an appetizer of lamb chops. They were very well prepared--succulent and grilled to perfection. For the main course, I had the bison grilled medium with a side of lyonnaise potatoes; my wife had the roasted duck with a side of wild rice; and my mother-in-law had the chicken marsala with squash and corn. We ordered additional sides of creamed spinach and baby carrots for the three of us to share. All food items were cooked according to our specifications and were presented well. We couldn't find fault with a single item we ordered. All food was very tasty.

We ended our dining experience with the creme brulee, which was also excellent. To backtrack for a second: My wife and I started off the evening with pina coladas. They were outstanding to say the least--definitely among the best I've ever had. Cudos to the bartender!

Being relatively new to south Texas, I'm not sure of the reputation of various eating establishments in this area so I felt no matter what restaurant I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary, I was taking a chance. This chance paid off quite well as it turned out to be a very pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Dinner with my wife

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The food, the ambience, the table presentation were perfect! The servers were not so good. The main server was out of mind most of the time. He seemed not pay attention to the guests’ request. 18% gratitude was too high for this type of service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Your Lobster bisque was extremely fishy. I did not eat but 1 spoonful, the waiter saw that I didn't like it and did not offer anything in it's place nor did he even care that I didn't like it.
Sea bass was mushy and very, very small portion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 14, 2017

All was great with the exception that I arrived 2 hours before to provide the table Christmas decorations and when we all arrived for the dinner, the table wasn't ready. Was still as I left, so we were able to go to our table 20 later... Really disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was very good, the waiter gave us the proper attention and the guitarist added the special touch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Something has changed ... I heard it before and noticed it myself.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We had the best time...Loved this place. The rack of lamb and bison tenderloin were simply delicious! Great ambiance and staff. We will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

It’s always great visiting Patio in Guerra. The staff goes above and beyond to meet expectations. The food was great and usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Made reservations a week in advance and had no problems with seating. Service was excellent and not overbearing. Drinks were made to perfection and the food was beyond delicious. The food portion was more than expected. We had leftovers for lunch the next day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

I had a party of 28 people and the service, food and ambiance was perfect. The mixed drinks, beer and wine selection was outstanding. We will be using them again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was absolutely horrible. Salmon appeared to see and taste boiled. Ahi tuna average at best. Steaks below average. Mixed drinks horrible. First and last visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Great food, well priced, great service. Apart from a very noisy group of diners, I had a great dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5