Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About The Patio on Guerra

Our story starts at the turn of the century in 1908, three Guerra Brothers from Starr County went to San Antonio to sell mules. They returned home to the Valley and with the profits, opened a ranching and mercantile store in downtown McAllen. Now, 100 years later, Guerra family descendants have revived this site on 17th street, (originally known as "Guerra Street.") The Patio on Guerra restaurant opened in 2008 in one of the oldest buildings in downtown McAllen. The main dining room is set in the original brick walls of this historic structure. With its comfortable chairs, subtle lighting and linen-topped tables, diners feel the warmth and ambiance of romantic yesteryear. USDA Prime Steaks, seafood and regional favorites and our passion to fine dining and excellent service make for a memorable experience whether you choose our main dining room or lovely outdoor patio surrounded by tall delicate palm trees. Recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2011 to 2015.

116 S 17th St
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 1:00 AM

Cross Street:
Business 83

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 661-9100

Website:
http://www.patioonguerra.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy delicious signature cocktails, including our Akita Mary, winner of the 2011 Absolut Vodka National Bloody Mary Competition, along with great live music indoors and outdoors. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award 2011 to 2015. The Patio on Guerra hosts many of South Texas" best local musicians. Inside the main dining room we feature instrumental music and classic favorites. In our beautiful outdoor patio, guests dance under the stars during our cool Valley evenings to the rhythms of the 70's and 80's on Fridays and to the beats of Salsa and Merengue on Saturdays.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of metered parking in front of the restaurant along 17th Street; after 6:30 PM the parking in front is free. There is a large 60 car public lot directly behind the restaurant where parking is free 24 hours a day. A guest who parks in this area will find easy access to the restaurant using our convenient back entrance.

Public Transit:
We do have free shuttle service available upon request.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jose Luis Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

The Patio on Guerra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Live Music (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tapas (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Muy baja calidad en la comida, me sirvieron pollo de tyson. No pollo de verdad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We celebrated our 36 year wedding anniversary. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent. The table had a lovely anniversary sign made just for us....complete with heart confetti. They brought us a lovely dessert as well. It was a beautiful and special evening. I can't wait to return. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good service. The streak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a 7:15 reservation and were able to park essentially right in front of the restaurant. There were only 5 other tables occupied when we entered but by the time we left almost 2.5 hours later it was about hafl full. It was our first visit so we had tried nothing on the menu before, but were delighted with the crab meat tower appetizer that Angel (our expert waiter) recommended. My wife and I shared the Tomahawk Ribeye which was excellent, despite having the meat cooked medium well for my wife and medium rare for me; the presentation was marvelous too. Angel caught part of our conversation and determined it was my wife's birthday and surprised us with a slice of special coconut flan (complete candle) that arrived at our table just as the solo singer/guitar player providing background music sang happy birthday at just the right volume and tone so as not to disturb the other guests dining. A wonderful experience for us in McAllen that night. Thank you Patio on Guerra and Angel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautiful place,great ambience. perfect for a date. Great service by the staff. I really enjoyed the food. Thank you

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Been coming for a few years. Service and food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 20, 2017

There was soft live romantic Spanish music playing . The volume was nice not to loud where I couldn't hear my date but not to soft. Inside dining is ideal for a nice dinner date. Outside on the patio is more of a drinking dancing atmosphere. We left right after dinner. But wouldn't have minded staying if there for that..

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great Service...great people...great food!!!

SG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The ambience is great, The staff was great, the food was not up to the standards of a pricey meal. The mashed potatoes were dried. We also had two appetizers. The crab cakes were alright and the portobello with lobster could have been better without the chocolate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The atmosphere upon entering is elegant, yet, welcoming. Service attention was prompt, but not pushy. The server was extremely helpful with beverage and food selections and recommendations. (His recommendations were spot on. The drinks were exactly as suggested .

The food presentation was excellent with everything as ordered. The portions were significant and everyone in our party enjoyed their selection. There was a guitarist playing background music at the right sound level. You could here it, yet still have comfortable conversation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been going to El Patio since it first opened. The food is wonderful and the staff is very courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent service: best red snapper that I have ever had. I would totally recommend The Patio

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great place and great food, and loved the area as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to celebrate a couple of victories and had a wonderful experience! We loved the food, ambiance & service. Our waiter, Alex was knowledgeable but not pushy. Our last fine dining experience was disappointing (Steak 48 in Houston's River Oaks District). The Patio was a breath of fresh air. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Went for a special occasion with some requests before our reservation.
They took every effort to make things to be a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. They had Pappy Van Winkle Bourbon at the bar, prime steaks in the restaurant, and Bananas Foster flambé tableside for dessert. highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always a favorite. Food, ambiance, service, libations..... All wonderful. Love the historic significance of the venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Maybe the best red snapper in the valley including the beach Wonderful attentive service and a real bargain

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great music by Miguel Abiel and great service from Howard. Awesome food. Tomahawk steak is a must.
Celebrated new beginnings!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were celebrating our 43rd anniversary along with our son and his fiancée at this restaurant, based on a friend's recommendation. The restaurant was unable to meet our desired wine order and substituted another wine. We instead ordered a third wine instead. Food was good; but, one of our appetizers was under cooked and was sent back to the kitchen. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would rate the service a 3. I am not sure if we would return to this restaurant or recommend it to our friends.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and great service. The menu was enticing, food was well executed and very good and portions were ample. The acoustic guitar player was quite good and provided a nice background for a fine dining experience. We were there on a Tuesday night and the noise level was acceptable for discussion at the table of 3 people, though at times the bar patrons were a bit loud and I would expect the restaurant to be very noisy when full of diners.

The entrance to the restaurant was not immediately seen on the patio and we mistakenly walked into a private event being held in a nice room off the patio.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful mother's day brunch! I highly recommend it.I recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Chef is accommodating for our picky eaters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food ; friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely ambience but a bit too noisy for my taste. Love the antiquity of the building and surroundings.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with old friends...food and service was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food!!! Great Service!! A very nice location. Great place to take you significant other on a special occasion. A bit pricey and menu is a bit limited but it's well worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, service, music and ambience-as always!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. I would recommend this place for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great dinner! Great service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I ordered the bison loin. It was overdone and was heavily sauced. We weren't offered dessert or coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent and the service what was expected, ambience is nice and romantic and relaxing place for a special night out

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant but this time some the steaks that were ordered were overcooked they did replace them and all worked out fine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food could be improved. Salmon was over cooked even though the instructions was to prepare medium rare. Service was awkward!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best place for a romantic dinner. Pricey but worth it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was very poor and they did not have the items listed on the menu. The waiters would take forever to come to our table and take our orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was quite good for a pre fixe menu. Service was ok except twice we placed used forks on used plates for replacement and they were unceremoniously dropped back on the table - unacceptable for a restaurant at tnjis price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a very nice meal for Valentine's day lunch. We were given a large gift card which made it more affordable but the prices are definitely too high for a retiree budget. We can't afford $55 per person for a meal, as a rule. The food, service and atmosphere were absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food and service was excellent . Highly recommend place for a romantic nice dinner with your loved one. Waiters are very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great restaurant with exceptional customer service and extensive wine list. Food is consistent, never disappoints and the presentation is always on point! I love that they always ask the occasion to personalize the table with a sign!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious food and drink. Great customer service. Look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.