Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

I GattiI Gatti
(175)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Los Gatos, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 5 times today
Steamer's GrillhouseSteamer's Grillhouse
(358)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Los Gatos, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 29 times today
La PastaiaLa Pastaia
(754)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 12 times today
Wine Cellar RestaurantWine Cellar Restaurant
(1244)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Los Gatos, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 23 times today
Vin SantoVin Santo
(770)
$$$$
Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 7 times today
Pino's TrattoriaPino's Trattoria
(164)
$$$$
Italian | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 4 times today
Dry Creek GrillDry Creek Grill
(1630)
$$$$
Steak | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 73 times today
Napa Valley BistroNapa Valley Bistro
(575)
$$$$
American | Napa, Wine Country
Booked 6 times today
PalacioPalacio
(653)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Los Gatos, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 4 times today
Loma Brewing CompanyLoma Brewing Company
(70)
$$$$
Brewery | Los Gatos, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 4 times today
Il Fornaio - San JoseIl Fornaio - San Jose
(2523)
$$$$
Italian | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 47 times today
Pacific Catch - CampbellPacific Catch - Campbell
(958)
$$$$
Seafood | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 23 times today
Firehouse No. 1 GastropubFirehouse No. 1 Gastropub
(185)
$$$$
American | San Jose, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 15 times today
Naschmarkt RestaurantNaschmarkt Restaurant
(1029)
$$$$
Austrian | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 25 times today
Pasta MoonPasta Moon
(2000)
$$$$
Italian | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 13 times today

About The Pastaria

49 E Main St
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

The Pastaria has been serving fresh Italian food in the Los Gatos area since 1995. It's a family-owned restaurant where sauces and pastas of all kinds are handmade every day. You will feel right at home when you sit in the bright, active dining room. Whether you're there on a date, with your family or with friends you can expect to have a delicious, authentic Italian meal in a comfortable place.

Cuisine served at The Pastaria includes freshly made tiramisu, fantastic meatballs, classic fettuccine alfredo, gnocchi, seafood and meat dishes. Stuffed pasta dishes like the cheese ravioli and tri-colored tortellini are popular at The Pastaria. If you have dietary restrictions, many meals can be customized to fit your needs. Gluten-free pastas are available and there are a variety of vegetarian and vegan meals on the menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-M 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: T-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Church Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 399-3477

Website:
http://www.thepastaria.com/

Parking Details:
Behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Devon Coen

Private Party Contact:
Donna Novi: 4082023960x

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love everything about this restaurant! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2015

I love everything about this restaurant! Cozy, intimate, amazing food, and great service. The host working (Ruey) was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love me some good Italian comfort food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2015

This was our first time dining here although I had heard good things about it. There were five of us and we all loved the choices we made. The salads were good sized and the appetizers were very good. You will not leave here hungry. Our server helped with recommendations and(I think his name was Ian) was very welcoming which helped make for a great dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food & Atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2015

Restaurant is very small and inviting. Definitely need to make reservations. Food was delicious and service was outstanding. Recommend it highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Date Night

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2015

The Pastaria was an excellent venue for a date night. It is a very small restaurant, and I would not recommend it for families with small children but perfect for a date. The service was just perfect and the food excellent. The small size of the restaurant and the many tables take away from the romance factor, but it was a good choice for a date none the less.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Favorite spot

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2015

This is my go to down to earth pasta restaurant. Love the food. The bread is great, the artichoke dip delicious! Must make a reservation if you plan to get a table as this is a small place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pasteria Los Gatos

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2015

We've been going to Pasteria for many years now and we love it. For the quality that you get, it is exceptionally well priced. It's our go to place for 'special occasions' and even 'not-so-special' occasions. The wine list, though not voluminous, has selections that I like, especially some very good local wines. I am not going to say what they are because I want them to have those in stock when I come in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food always excellent ! Wish they had A/C !!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2015

Our waiter, young man , do not remember his name , was excellent !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pastaria continues to impress...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Pastaria continues to be one of our favorite local places. We cannot get here enough. The food is always outstanding and the service makes you feel like family. We go with and without our kids as the atmosphere is appropriate for both. If you have not been, don't hesitate as you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Los Gatos

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Interesting Italian.

Small dining room, make reservations early.

Great local wine list. Ask your server for advice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is always great! We have never ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2015

The food is always great! We have never had a bad meal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2015

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous, fresh food. Great service. V ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Fabulous, fresh food.

Great service.

Very accommodating with food allergies and preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small, intimate neighborhood Italian restaurant.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Make reservations. Excellent place for couples or small groups of six or less.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Truly exceptional

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Who hasn't been to a gazillion Italian restaurants already? Italian food is good. But the restaurants are a dime-a-dozen. Pastaria really stands out because the quality of the food is so obviously exceptional and way ahead of what most of us are used to. Handmade, homemade pastas and gnocchi, rich sauces, delicious sausages...the list goes on. Two of us in our party of four asked for something slightly off menu - add a little spice/kick to this, add some prawns to that, and they delivered nicely with what we were after.

The service is a bit on the slow side - bad if you're in a hurry I suppose or great if you prefer to savor a meal without them trying to move you along and turn your table. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, the specials, and the kitchen's capabilities - somewhat of a rarity these days. Highly recommended. A cozy family place with great service and delicious food. This is what a restaurant should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2015

So good. Pasta is a amazing always for get just how good there food is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

lovely Evening!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2015

We had a memorable evening celebrating my husband's birthday with my parents and our young children. Donna treated us like part of their family. So attentive and sweet. Excellent wine and food. An evening not to be forgotten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like it; my wife does not

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2015

So I go there alone for great, fresh and simple pasta dishes and send the wife to Pici Cafe. Love the pesto, but many dishes are delightful. If you're really into vino, BYO and share with the chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

First disappointment

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Been going there since they opened, but yesterday visit was disappointing. We love this place, so went there with my kids and wife for our anniversary dinner. Everything started great, and was enjoying our visit. We ordered our meals with appetizers and wine without any delay, so once again, enjoying ourself. So, after getting our appetizers and wine, followed shortly by the kids meals ; everything was going fine. Now, here is the problem ... they forgot about us and didn't bring out our adult dishes. We were being nice and waited and waited and waited. But, after the busy boy tried to clear our table, we decided it was long enough. I flag down a waitress and she contacted our waitress and the food quickly arrived. By that time, our kids were already asleep on us laps. We grabbed a few yummy bites of our hot food and decided to go home. So, my final review... it was a very disappointing experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Words cannot express how much I love this place

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2015

My girlfriend and myself have eaten here on many occasions. We eat here every Sunday, every special I have ordered has been amazing every time. I LOVE THIS PLACE. Amazing crew in and out of the kitchen. I have never had 1 issue at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded expectations!

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 23, 2015

For its size I assumed it to be a modest italian food with, at best, 4 star food. It turned out to be the best italian food I've had, ever. It beats outs thany restaurants I've visited in Italy itself as well as any "americanized" italian food. They shamelessly serve the food as it was intended, rich in fat and carbs. I had the mushroom black truffle pasta and literally went into a haze from the pleasure of the food. They also keep their menu breif as to imoly they perfect each dish. I can easily say that this restaurant had unforgettable food with excellent service and excellent, precisely small, wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to place

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Ever since the first time coming here, I have decided to love this place. It is a small restaurant and I really feel you get to know the people. There is a very wonderful man who fills your drink glass and my favorite server is Weston. He is super friendly. Don't try to go without a reservation. I think there are about 15 tables total so be safe instead of sorry. The food is basic in a good way. Its simple no fuss delicious food. The warm artichoke dip is a great starting place! The bread is just delicious too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My only comment is that they are a littl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2015

My only comment is that they are a little understaffed, but it was a Monday night so it made sense that they didn't have too many people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our new favourite neighbourhood restaurant

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2015

We heard reviews about this place through family, friends and the internet and had to try it out for ourselves. We tried to just walk up to get a table one Sunday evening and there was a wait for almost two hours for a table, which is a great sign for a restaurant to be that busy on a Sunday night. So we learned from our mistake and made a reservation for our next visit. We had a great server named, James. He provided excellent service and the food... WOW!!! Starting from the complimentary bread, it was all delicious. The pasta, Seafood Linguine and Chicken & Mushroom truffle pasta was to die for. We had such a great experience that we went back a couple of days later to try out more of their menu. We had Kim as our server the next time and she recommended their special, it was once again simply amazing. The other server, Weston was also great and provided great service. We love this place and will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 15, 2015

We requested a quiee table and were called beforehand to say that one of quietest tables by window wouldn't be available until 7:15 versus our 7pm reservation so we agree to change, good service.

The table in corner by window was certainly quietest which we appreciated but still difficult to hold a conversation 2 feet apart, so loud.

Service was reasonable but we had to keep requesting water. Food was Ok in general although lasagne was incredibly salty and having high cholesterol a nightmare and totally unnecessary.

Despite our better instincts we had a second bottle to dull the pain, should have gone elsewhere.

So no won't be back here when in Los Gatos again, shame so many basically false reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Intimate setting-delicious food-awesome staff!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2015

I've never had a dish at Pastaria I didn't enjoy but the black truffle pasta dish is my #1. The Brie appetizer is awesome. The owners is so nice and friendly as well as the staff. We love this little restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and drink.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2015

Friendly waitpeople, good food and wine selection. Small restaurant and you will need reservations! Service was very friendly and great but slow. Look beyond that and you have a very pleasant enening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

The food was amazing! Everyone loved the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2015

The food was amazing! Everyone loved their fresh homemade pasta. The special watermelon soup was delicious, as were their salads. We also shared a roasted garlic & Brie appetizer which was tasty.

The only downside was that it was uncomfortably warm in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Very good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Food was excellent as usual. We had the special "angry pasta" and it was really tasty. Only problem is in the summer it can get a bit hot in the dining area, but the food is excellent. The service is always first class and our server was terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Little Place

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2015

We have been to The Pastaria several times and have always had a great meal. The place is small so make a reservation first. They have a nice selection of salads and entrees, and we have liked all of our choices. I would recommend the kale salad and the butternut squash ravioli, though the cream sauce can be heavy. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty Good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Though not spectacular, our family of four (two adults and two teenagers) all enjoyed our meals.

The service was also pretty good, however my daughter was served the incorrect order. She liked it anyway, so did not make a fuss about it.

The overall atmosphere was inviting, but we happened to have been seated under a vent blowing cool air. I believe the majority of the patrons were comfortable; we kept our coats on though.

The prices seemed on the higher side of moderate, which is to be expected in Los Gatos. Wine corkage is $20, even for a half bottle size. I'm not sure if that is typical, so can't really complain.

Overall, the good qualities outweighed the not-so-good qualities, but not enough to make us feel as though we really need to go back and try other items from the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

What truffle flavor?

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 20, 2015

I ordered the Truffle Paparadelli, one of my usuals, and did not really taste any truffle flavor at all.

Also, unfortunately the service was a bit spotty as well, which is not highly uncommon.

We wish they'd just tidy-up a little (e.g. remove the un-lit neon "Lunch" sign in the window, as they haven't served lunch in over a decade?) and put in just little extra clean ambience and consiststency.

It really could be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Very good food, large portions and great service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pasta!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our date night along with our 10 month old daughter. Great menu, perfect ambiance and overall a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites, outstanding food a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2015

One of our favorites, outstanding food and friendly laid-back service. The dining room is small, so make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, mediocre space

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2015

I went there with my wife. Loved the food. I got the pasta arrabiatta and the sauce was delicious, if you like a little bit of kick and spice in your food. The place was kind of small and perhaps a bit too cozy for a warm summer evening. For whatever reason, they chose not to have air-conditioning. That probably works fine (and in fact sounds great) on a nice spring day, but not in July. The outside tables looked very inviting. Unfortunately there were only 2 of them and we couldn't score one.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Where the locals go

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2015

Its tiny, crowded and hot in the summer but in a good way - like you have been transported to Italy on a hot summer night. The door is open to let any bit of cool breeze in, the wine is flowing, and the tables are full of people laughing and talking as they enjoy dishes like the warm Mediterranean olives appetizer and arugula and peach salad truly a bit of summer in a bowl. At other tables plates overflow with tender fresh pasta dishes. The mushroom and black truffle sauce, butternut squash ravioli, gnocchi salsiccia, house made meatballs with Sunday gravy are local favorites - but get there early before they run out! Reservations are a must - rarely have we been able to just walk in and get a table, even on a week night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Italian Food

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2015

This restaurant is a gem. It only has a dozen tables so reservations are a must. Excellent homemade pasta, generous serving sizes and reasonable prices.. Service was attentive and menu had a variety of items to fit everyone's taste. Would definitely come back,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love this place, one of our families fav'es

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2015

love this place, one of our families fav'es, the food is very good, the pasta is made fresh there at the restaurant and is so good, we go here at least once a month,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Gluten Free Pasta!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2015

Pastaria gets an A+.

I have been twice. Both times excellent food!!! The Gluten Free pasta is by far the BEST that I have tasted in all of Los Gatos and Campbell! I understand that the chef was unhappy with the other Gluten Free pastas that were available, and so now makes his own! YUMMMMMM!

I had the pesto walnut GF pasta with sliced chicken. I wanted to eat only half as I was hoping to take some home for lunch the next day...but couldn't help myself! I also asked for a side of marinara which added zing!

Their service is excellent as well. FUN place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great food but it is extrem the restaurant!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2015

great food but it is extremely hot inside the restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.