About The Pass

807 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
View Larger Map

Bringing the essence of the kitchen to each table, chefs will serve, describe and answer diner's questions, creating an authentic experience for each customer while placing emphasis on the process behind transitioning food to plate. Similar to dining at a chef's table, diners will be able to connect with the local and global inspiration and experience of each chef and behind every dish, in an upscale, casually elegant atmosphere, complimented by a thoughtful international wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Seatings on Tuesday-Friday (6:00pm-9:00pm)
Seatings on Saturday (5:00pm-9:00pm)

Cross Street:
McKinney

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 628-9020

Website:
http://www.passandprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
We offer both self-parking and valet service

Public Transit:
BUS:

DALLAS ST @ TAFT ST on line 018 KIRBY LIMITED NORTHBOUND

Executive Chef:
Terrence Gallivan & Seth Siegel-Gardner

Private Party Contact:
Angela Moore/ events@passandprovisions.com: 7136289020

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Pass Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
American
Houston
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
American
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (27)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal. The only issue we had was wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal. The only issue we had was with the wine. The wine was very good and we were paying $200 a bottle, but the third bottle recommended the price was not disclosed until the bill came it was $500. Not good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite restaurant in Houston!! I'd ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Houston!! I'd go back again and again. Innovative, delicious, beautifully plated. And you could actually have a conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mind blowing

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Mind blowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 9 item tasting menu at The Pass was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The 9 item tasting menu at The Pass was everything that one would want in a very well thought out dining adventure. The food and service were exceptional. It is good to know that there are places in America where craftsmanship, service and creativity can be found in the form of a simple dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time there. The fir ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was our second time there. The first time the dinner had a theme "breakfast" and their food combinations were quite clever plays on the the theme. The food was excellent. No theme this time and the food was not quite as spectacular as the first time, but still 4+ stars. Not an everyday restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The nine-course dinner was uneven. The ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The nine-course dinner was uneven. The opening course I initially thought was too small, but by the end of the nine-courses, we were full, and I have to say it was just right, leaving us wanting more and eager in our expectations. The dinner really peaked, however, around the middle courses, 3 through 5. The sixth course was a halibut that was cooked too long (dry), the seventh course an outstanding duck dish, and the eighth course a lamb shoulder again cooked too long (medium to medium well, whereas it should have been done no more than pink, and preferably medium rare; if they are uncertain as to patrons preferences, they should have asked). The dessert, a frozen buttermilk and berry concoction, that might have pleased some foodies, but I thought was overdone (exotic but lacking in flavor). The rhubarb meringue that followed was much better. The sommelier's and wait staff's suggestions for pairing of wines was spot on and excellent, and excellent value. The menu descriptions of each course were too terse, and did not do justice to the complexity of the dishes' preparation. Meal price was very fair. We'd try it again, but would only recommend it to others with our disappointment toward the meal's conclusion being duly-noted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We went to The Pass for date night. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went to The Pass for date night. The doorway entering the dining room was so unique and special that it immediately gave you the impression you were in for a treat! The waiter we had was outstanding, he knew a lot about each of the dishes and the beer/cocktail pairing that he added an extra element to the experience. The courses all came out continuously but at a pace we could enjoy each one. There was not one dish I didn't eat, but there were a couple of favorites and the cocktail pairings were unique and delicious! We are already scheming an excuse to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. Private, intimate dining room. Dishes are presented well, but not all courses were memorable, as expected as this price level. I would still recommend it for the gastronomic adventure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Would be nice if they have less than 9 c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Would be nice if they have less than 9 course tasting menu for people who can't eat big dinner at night .Generally speaking it is just set dinner- 9 courses , no choice.

Overall food was delicious .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Very small food portions, even though it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very small food portions, even though it was a wine pairing. I have had several wine pairings before. The wines they chose did not compliment the food. Very over priced for what you received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

While some of the dishes in this 9-cours ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

While some of the dishes in this 9-course, wine-paired meal were good, others, such as burnt tempura and burnt lentils didn't work. The service was clinical, robotic and uninterested in any discussion other than the rote info they shared, impatiently, as they rushed us through our meal. Even asking a question about the courses seemed to be an imposition, and no time was allowed to relish the courses we did enjoy, to discuss the wine-pairing, to even savor what was left of the wine. Nine paired courses crammed into a 2-hour period is unacceptable and left a poor impression of a restaurant we had looked forward to visiting for several months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Elegant, flawless service. The choreogra ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Elegant, flawless service. The choreographed synchronised delivery of dishes, two at a time, is a pleasure to observe. Attractive, intriguing and delicious food with clear explanations of ingredients and their origins. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, it is expensive....however ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First of all, it is expensive....however, you have to think of it as a production. The food was amazing. The entire staff was wonderful. Someone is always waiting on you and making you feel as if you are the only one in the restaurant. Intimate setting. Refreshingly quiet, with the exception of the hurried noise of the kitchen. We even had a lesson on single malt scotch vs blends! In short...go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing, as well ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, as well as the service! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good just not as innov ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was very good just not as innovative as I have had in the past at other restaurants with tasting menus and wine pairings. The wines though paired with the courses were quite good and creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special restaurant -- fit only for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very special restaurant -- fit only for a unique, special occasion. We were celebrating a birthday, and they printed the name of my wife on the menu header. Great service, never a need to nudge or ask for the server, as the meal just keeps coming out. It's a pretty special place, start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pass is a beautiful space with an at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Pass is a beautiful space with an attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff. The set nine-course menu is good, logically assembled and inventive. The whole process is entertaining, but the dishes themselves and the cocktail and wine pairings are far from being well integrated and thought through. The dishes are imaginative and innovative, and some were outstandingly great (example: a subtly spectacular squash and rabbit dish called Zucca, whose blend of flavors and aromas are particularly attention getting)...others really missed the mark. At this price point I would expect a more consistent achievement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Pass is one of my all time favorite ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Pass is one of my all time favorite restaurants. It is a gastronomic dining experience to be enjoyed. Last Friday was no exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three out of ten food courses were excep ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Three out of ten food courses were exceptional, with the rest just OK. Only two or three wine and food pairings were exceptional. The rest were just so-so, with several wines drinking better alone than with their corresponding food course, and one completely undrinkable. Overall, this $400 meal failed to meet expectations. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is excellent. It was innovative, he ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food is excellent. It was innovative, healthy, great taste, and refined. Each dish came out looking like a piece of artwork. Many interesting ingredients. Best Chef in Houston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Houston restaurants. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the best Houston restaurants. The tasting menu was well paired with elegant wines, but we both wished that the menu was more balanced. Seven out of nine courses were paired with white and one rose, leaving only two courses with red. Next time we will not have the wine pairing, just choose from the wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing compared to previous ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very disappointing compared to previous visits, which were outstanding. I love the move to a flat 9 course tasting--but 2 of 8 savory dishes were inedibly fishy smelling/tasting. I ate only half of a very small kohlrabi & pickled shrimp thing, and one bite of the squid "chicharone" was too much. Unacceptable when you're paying over $400 for dinner for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, precision, and flair.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasting menu is always incredible, great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Tasting menu is always incredible, great selection of drinks, and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. The set menu has 9 courses and you can have wine pairings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pass and we would definitely dine again! The food and service was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and it was a f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent and it was a fun place to try but not sure I would necessarily need to go back. Should try this place at least once though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Earned its spot as potentially the top r ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Earned its spot as potentially the top restaurant in Houston. Was a special place to enjoy our 20th anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over priced for average food and very sm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

over priced for average food and very small portions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

An amazing collection of small plates wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

An amazing collection of small plates with interesting flavor combinations and creative plating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent service once again. The waitstaff spaced our courses out perfectly and gave us the time between each one that we prefer. The kitchen worked wonders in creating a vegan meal for my wife, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant evening

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

9 course menu was really a delight ! All dishes well presented, tasteful and the pairing with the wine is great ( one for two is enough !).

Dessert could benefit from some improvement with lighter cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, not great

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for a special occasion. It was listed as #1 restaurant according to Houston Chronicle this past year. This restaurant is actually two restaurants in one--The Pass-- and then Provisions. This review is for The Pass. This is the higher end of the two restaurants. There is a prefixe menu. Depending on the day, it can range from a 5-course meal to an 8-course meal. Tonight it was a 9 course meal for a set amount of dollar. You can order drinks, additional cost. Or for an extra nominal amount, you can have wine pairing with the courses (trust me, not cheap). Each dish is a small, delicate appetizer size plate. But don't worry, you will be full by the end of the meal. Being a foodie and a frequent traveler, I felt the food was okay. I have had better. And for the price, I've definitely had better and cheaper. Even when the food was not cheaper and the cost was more--ie, Alinea--in Chicago, IL--I felt it was worth it. The food here, not so much. The ambience is nice. The noise level is just enough-not too quiet, not too loud. The service, however, was excellent. No complaints there! So in all, I think try it for the experience, but know there are other places with better food for the value. Service, however, is second to none.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a blan ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a bland, afterthought. Have had much better vegetarian tastings elsewhere.

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

So amazing. The four courses was the per ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

So amazing. The four courses was the perfect gastronomic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Not as good as it once was. Food was fine. Nothing as amazing as it once was . We were sad to see that they no longer do the dessert cart at the end. It was also VERY cold.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Superb evening

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food on great menu. 9 course (but small courses) menu that unfortunately we could not finish; we threw in the towel after 6. Highlights of the first 6 were: black truffles, sweet potato, octopus. I'm sure the 3 we didn't have were exceptional also. Wine pairings very good also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very best restaurants in Houston. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly service. Desserts may be not up to the level of the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.