About The Pass

807 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
View Larger Map

Bringing the essence of the kitchen to each table, chefs will serve, describe and answer diner's questions, creating an authentic experience for each customer while placing emphasis on the process behind transitioning food to plate. Similar to dining at a chef's table, diners will be able to connect with the local and global inspiration and experience of each chef and behind every dish, in an upscale, casually elegant atmosphere, complimented by a thoughtful international wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Seatings on Tuesday-Friday (6:00pm-9:00pm)
Seatings on Saturday (5:00pm-9:00pm)

Cross Street:
McKinney

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 628-9020

Website:
http://www.passandprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
We offer both self-parking and valet service

Public Transit:
BUS:

DALLAS ST @ TAFT ST on line 018 KIRBY LIMITED NORTHBOUND

Executive Chef:
Terrence Gallivan & Seth Siegel-Gardner

Private Party Contact:
Angela Moore/ events@passandprovisions.com: 7136289020

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Pass Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Houston
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (44)
romantic (36)
See All
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
Sort By:
Newest
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, precision, and flair.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu is always incredible, great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Tasting menu is always incredible, great selection of drinks, and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. The set menu has 9 courses and you can have wine pairings

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pas ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pass and we would definitely dine again! The food and service was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent and it was a f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent and it was a fun place to try but not sure I would necessarily need to go back. Should try this place at least once though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Earned its spot as potentially the top r ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Earned its spot as potentially the top restaurant in Houston. Was a special place to enjoy our 20th anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Wonderful experience!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

over priced for average food and very sm ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

over priced for average food and very small portions

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing collection of small plates wi ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

An amazing collection of small plates with interesting flavor combinations and creative plating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent service once again. The waitstaff spaced our courses out perfectly and gave us the time between each one that we prefer. The kitchen worked wonders in creating a vegan meal for my wife, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very pleasant evening

Dined on March 31, 2016

9 course menu was really a delight ! All dishes well presented, tasteful and the pairing with the wine is great ( one for two is enough !). Dessert could benefit from some improvement with lighter cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good, not great

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for a special occasion. It was listed as #1 restaurant according to Houston Chronicle this past year. This restaurant is actually two restaurants in one--The Pass-- and then Provisions. This review is for The Pass. This is the higher end of the two restaurants. There is a prefixe menu. Depending on the day, it can range from a 5-course meal to an 8-course meal. Tonight it was a 9 course meal for a set amount of dollar. You can order drinks, additional cost. Or for an extra nominal amount, you can have wine pairing with the courses (trust me, not cheap). Each dish is a small, delicate appetizer size plate. But don't worry, you will be full by the end of the meal. Being a foodie and a frequent traveler, I felt the food was okay. I have had better. And for the price, I've definitely had better and cheaper. Even when the food was not cheaper and the cost was more--ie, Alinea--in Chicago, IL--I felt it was worth it. The food here, not so much. The ambience is nice. The noise level is just enough-not too quiet, not too loud. The service, however, was excellent. No complaints there! So in all, I think try it for the experience, but know there are other places with better food for the value. Service, however, is second to none.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a blan ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a bland, afterthought. Have had much better vegetarian tastings elsewhere. Service was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Not as good...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Not as good as it once was. Food was fine. Nothing as amazing as it once was . We were sad to see that they no longer do the dessert cart at the end. It was also VERY cold.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb evening

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food on great menu. 9 course (but small courses) menu that unfortunately we could not finish; we threw in the towel after 6. Highlights of the first 6 were: black truffles, sweet potato, octopus. I'm sure the 3 we didn't have were exceptional also. Wine pairings very good also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very best restaurants in Houston. We will be back!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly service. Desserts may be not up to the level of the rest of the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Innovative, imaginative food, perfectly executed in a comfortable setting. Some of the dishes (Boudin "noir, sweet potato for example) were astounding and very memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pass 2/19

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our third visit and each visit tops the one before. 9 course food and wine paring...what a wonderful experience. The service is as excellent as the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Special Occasion

Dined on February 17, 2016

Outstanding food and service. A great place to celebrate special occasions. The creativity in the kitchen is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific evening.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyed the wine and cocktail pairings. The presentations were outstanding. It was especially fun to see the food being prepared in the kitchen. I was surprised however that no espresso or cappuccino was available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion restaurant

Dined on February 6, 2016

The Pass has been our restaurant for special occasions since its opening. The food is delicious and always has a special touch. The pairing wines are fabulous too! We like this concept, because that's how we used to celebrate back home in Europe! A few things we do miss though, are some little "amuse-bouches" that usually are served with a nice glass of Champagne (especially at the price it's served!) and it's a pity that The Pass has stopped their sweets cart at the end of the meal to accompany the coffee and tea...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. I mentioned in my ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent experience. I mentioned in my reservation that it was my husband's birthday and they printed a message on the menu. Such a special touch.

food1
ambience2
service1

The food was terrible and the waiters we ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was terrible and the waiters were arrogant and inattentive. The wine pairing were horrendous and very unappealing. Was very disappointed and wasted $500. I could have enjoyed 5 to 10 nice dinners at any other restaurant including Provisions for what I wasted on the Pass.

food2
ambience4
service5

I must say, I went about a year ago and ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I must say, I went about a year ago and loved it. But this time I was thoroughly disappointed. Everything looked cool, but nothing tasted particularly good. Real let down now, especially for the price point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

Dined on January 27, 2016

The Pass is really like entering a different world. Quiet with simple decorations make the wine and food the centerpiece. Watching the kitchen is just an extra bonus! Fixed menu is delicious and I appreciate the vegetarian selection as well as the option of 5 or 8 courses. The wine pairing were different and introduced us to new ideas. Waitstaff is exceptional attentive AND very well informed about the food and the wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodies will enjoy

Dined on January 21, 2016

Went for our 26th wedding anniversary and was looking for something different. The service was impeccable with attention from wait staff. Wine list was outstanding. Food was different and perfect portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious, unique, but expensive

Dined on January 17, 2016

Don't get me wrong, I knew what I was getting into before I went. And anyone else going should too. There is a set menu with a set price. The food is very good. The parings with wine or cocktails are fantastic for each course, bringing unique flavors out in every dish and drink. The service was on the mark, not missing a beat the during the 2.5 hour dinner. And despite having nearly every table full the place never felt crowed, loud, or conversely too quiet that you felt like the people at the table next to you could hear everything you said. I thought it was worth the visit, but probably just the one. Despite the good food I will spend that money elsewhere in the future. There are too many other places in Houston with great food for a better value. But, it is well worth the try.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place for an adventurous, perfect evening.

Dined on January 16, 2016

Completely unique dishes, paired with fantastic wines, and served by an outstanding staff! I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular food and service

Dined on January 16, 2016

As always, dinner at The Pass was outstanding. The food never fails to delight, and the service is always spot-on. I had the 8-course tasting menu, whilst my husband had the 8-course tasting menu with paired spirits/beers, and we both came away both full and delighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The art of Just Right

Dined on December 31, 2015

More than great. Rates with best in US. World class. From closed intimate entrance to openness of staff, kitchen. Great surprises. Layers of flavors: subtle to bold. Never too much of anything but a learned, practiced art of the "just right" in flavors, serving size, wine pairings, service, sounds, table pairings of proximate friendly guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pass--Hats off to the chef!

Dined on December 19, 2015

The 8-course tasting menu with wine-pairing was excellent. One, if not the best, of Houston's restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Enjoyed the 5 course pairing with wine. Everyone was knowledgeable and exceptionally attentive We are planning to take our friends back soon. Absolutely a must try!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Really good food

Dined on December 12, 2015

We only go to The Pass in special occasions but my husband loves their food. I also enjoy eating here. It is always interesting to try the different new dishes they come up with. My favorite this time was their Uni dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Finally! Worth the Wait!

Dined on December 6, 2015

Dinner at The Pass was memorable and worthy of many more visits. The servers are well-trained, very knowledgable about the preparation of each course and someone always has an eye on the table. The two menus (vegetarian and non-vegetarian) are served in either 5 or 8 courses with many courses very similar except for the inclusion (or absence) of meat,fish or fowl. The only comment about the menu other than "bravo" is a great similarity of courses in the middle of the meal. Three or four courses in a row were "white" i.e. sauces or pasta. I thought it was too rich and could have benefitted from a lighter dish in the middle. A variation on a very light sorbet is a possibility. The service was exceptional and the best I have ever experienced in Houston. Yes, I've tried every "big deal" restaurant over the last 5 years including those where "reservations are impossible." The Pass wins.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect Until Dessert

Dined on December 5, 2015

Wonderful, innovative meal, with perfect service and amazing wine pairings. Unfortunately, the dessert (along with the intermezzo and the sweet bite at the end) were very disappointing. The yogurt and asian pear granita plate was not good at all. Still, this was a great experience and I would like to try it again, especially if they hire a pastry chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on December 3, 2015

Service, ambiance, presentation and flavours... everything was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The tasting menu changes once a season. ...

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

The tasting menu changes once a season. Very innovative takes on the listed ingredients!

food3
ambience3
service3

Service was attentive but also a little ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Service was attentive but also a little intrusive and a little rushed. Feeling they were impatient and it was showing. Sommelier was wearing a jacket several sizes too small, he may have forgotten his jacket or he was subbing for someone else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

All about the experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

This place is all about the experience. The service is top notch and that had to have been the best part of the whole thing. The food is very creative, interesting, and surprising. The presentation of the food is outstanding but then the taste was slightly disappointing. The food wasn't bad by any means, but I've had a lot better tasting food for much less cheaper. I feel like we were glad to have the experience, but would only eat here again on someone else's dime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.