About The Pass

807 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
View Larger Map

Bringing the essence of the kitchen to each table, chefs will serve, describe and answer diner's questions, creating an authentic experience for each customer while placing emphasis on the process behind transitioning food to plate. Similar to dining at a chef's table, diners will be able to connect with the local and global inspiration and experience of each chef and behind every dish, in an upscale, casually elegant atmosphere, complimented by a thoughtful international wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Seatings on Tuesday-Friday (6:00pm-9:00pm)
Seatings on Saturday (5:00pm-9:00pm)

Cross Street:
McKinney

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 628-9020

Website:
http://www.passandprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
We offer both self-parking and valet service

Public Transit:
BUS:

DALLAS ST @ TAFT ST on line 018 KIRBY LIMITED NORTHBOUND

Executive Chef:
Terrence Gallivan & Seth Siegel-Gardner

Private Party Contact:
Angela Moore/ events@passandprovisions.com: 7136289020

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Pass Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Fit for Foodies
Houston
1 More
Notable Wine List
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (42)
romantic (33)
See All
notable wine list (29)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was absolutely amazing, as well ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, as well as the service! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good just not as innov ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was very good just not as innovative as I have had in the past at other restaurants with tasting menus and wine pairings. The wines though paired with the courses were quite good and creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special restaurant -- fit only for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very special restaurant -- fit only for a unique, special occasion. We were celebrating a birthday, and they printed the name of my wife on the menu header. Great service, never a need to nudge or ask for the server, as the meal just keeps coming out. It's a pretty special place, start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Pass is a beautiful space with an at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Pass is a beautiful space with an attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff. The set nine-course menu is good, logically assembled and inventive. The whole process is entertaining, but the dishes themselves and the cocktail and wine pairings are far from being well integrated and thought through. The dishes are imaginative and innovative, and some were outstandingly great (example: a subtly spectacular squash and rabbit dish called Zucca, whose blend of flavors and aromas are particularly attention getting)...others really missed the mark. At this price point I would expect a more consistent achievement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Pass is one of my all time favorite ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Pass is one of my all time favorite restaurants. It is a gastronomic dining experience to be enjoyed. Last Friday was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three out of ten food courses were excep ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Three out of ten food courses were exceptional, with the rest just OK. Only two or three wine and food pairings were exceptional. The rest were just so-so, with several wines drinking better alone than with their corresponding food course, and one completely undrinkable. Overall, this $400 meal failed to meet expectations. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is excellent. It was innovative, he ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food is excellent. It was innovative, healthy, great taste, and refined. Each dish came out looking like a piece of artwork. Many interesting ingredients. Best Chef in Houston!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Houston restaurants. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the best Houston restaurants. The tasting menu was well paired with elegant wines, but we both wished that the menu was more balanced. Seven out of nine courses were paired with white and one rose, leaving only two courses with red. Next time we will not have the wine pairing, just choose from the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing compared to previous ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very disappointing compared to previous visits, which were outstanding. I love the move to a flat 9 course tasting--but 2 of 8 savory dishes were inedibly fishy smelling/tasting. I ate only half of a very small kohlrabi & pickled shrimp thing, and one bite of the squid "chicharone" was too much. Unacceptable when you're paying over $400 for dinner for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exquisite Cuisine delivered with warmth, precision, and flair.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasting menu is always incredible, great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Tasting menu is always incredible, great selection of drinks, and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fabulous food. Great for a long dinner. The set menu has 9 courses and you can have wine pairings

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at The Pass and we would definitely dine again! The food and service was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and it was a f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was excellent and it was a fun place to try but not sure I would necessarily need to go back. Should try this place at least once though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Earned its spot as potentially the top r ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Earned its spot as potentially the top restaurant in Houston. Was a special place to enjoy our 20th anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over priced for average food and very sm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

over priced for average food and very small portions

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

An amazing collection of small plates wi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

An amazing collection of small plates with interesting flavor combinations and creative plating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent service once again. The waitstaff spaced our courses out perfectly and gave us the time between each one that we prefer. The kitchen worked wonders in creating a vegan meal for my wife, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant evening

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

9 course menu was really a delight ! All dishes well presented, tasteful and the pairing with the wine is great ( one for two is enough !).

Dessert could benefit from some improvement with lighter cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, not great

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for a special occasion. It was listed as #1 restaurant according to Houston Chronicle this past year. This restaurant is actually two restaurants in one--The Pass-- and then Provisions. This review is for The Pass. This is the higher end of the two restaurants. There is a prefixe menu. Depending on the day, it can range from a 5-course meal to an 8-course meal. Tonight it was a 9 course meal for a set amount of dollar. You can order drinks, additional cost. Or for an extra nominal amount, you can have wine pairing with the courses (trust me, not cheap). Each dish is a small, delicate appetizer size plate. But don't worry, you will be full by the end of the meal. Being a foodie and a frequent traveler, I felt the food was okay. I have had better. And for the price, I've definitely had better and cheaper. Even when the food was not cheaper and the cost was more--ie, Alinea--in Chicago, IL--I felt it was worth it. The food here, not so much. The ambience is nice. The noise level is just enough-not too quiet, not too loud. The service, however, was excellent. No complaints there! So in all, I think try it for the experience, but know there are other places with better food for the value. Service, however, is second to none.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a blan ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu felt like a bland, afterthought. Have had much better vegetarian tastings elsewhere.

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

So amazing. The four courses was the per ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

So amazing. The four courses was the perfect gastronomic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Not as good as it once was. Food was fine. Nothing as amazing as it once was . We were sad to see that they no longer do the dessert cart at the end. It was also VERY cold.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Superb evening

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food on great menu. 9 course (but small courses) menu that unfortunately we could not finish; we threw in the towel after 6. Highlights of the first 6 were: black truffles, sweet potato, octopus. I'm sure the 3 we didn't have were exceptional also. Wine pairings very good also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding! Definitely one of the very best restaurants in Houston. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, prepared with care. Friendly service. Desserts may be not up to the level of the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place was amazing! Food was out of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This place was amazing! Food was out of this world. Very expensive, but me and my wife love to try new foods so we hit a place like the Pass once a year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Brilliant

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Innovative, imaginative food, perfectly executed in a comfortable setting. Some of the dishes (Boudin "noir, sweet potato for example) were astounding and very memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pass 2/19

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our third visit and each visit tops the one before. 9 course food and wine paring...what a wonderful experience. The service is as excellent as the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Special Occasion

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Outstanding food and service. A great place to celebrate special occasions. The creativity in the kitchen is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific evening.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyed the wine and cocktail pairings. The presentations were outstanding. It was especially fun to see the food being prepared in the kitchen. I was surprised however that no espresso or cappuccino was available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion restaurant

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The Pass has been our restaurant for special occasions since its opening. The food is delicious and always has a special touch. The pairing wines are fabulous too! We like this concept, because that's how we used to celebrate back home in Europe!

A few things we do miss though, are some little "amuse-bouches" that usually are served with a nice glass of Champagne (especially at the price it's served!) and it's a pity that The Pass has stopped their sweets cart at the end of the meal to accompany the coffee and tea...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. I mentioned in my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent experience. I mentioned in my reservation that it was my husband's birthday and they printed a message on the menu. Such a special touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrible and the waiters we ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was terrible and the waiters were arrogant and inattentive. The wine pairing were horrendous and very unappealing.

Was very disappointed and wasted $500.

I could have enjoyed 5 to 10 nice dinners at any other restaurant including Provisions for what I wasted on the Pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

I must say, I went about a year ago and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I must say, I went about a year ago and loved it. But this time I was thoroughly disappointed. Everything looked cool, but nothing tasted particularly good. Real let down now, especially for the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great evening

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The Pass is really like entering a different world. Quiet with simple decorations make the wine and food the centerpiece. Watching the kitchen is just an extra bonus! Fixed menu is delicious and I appreciate the vegetarian selection as well as the option of 5 or 8 courses. The wine pairing were different and introduced us to new ideas. Waitstaff is exceptional attentive AND very well informed about the food and the wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodies will enjoy

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Went for our 26th wedding anniversary and was looking for something different. The service was impeccable with attention from wait staff. Wine list was outstanding. Food was different and perfect portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious, unique, but expensive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Don't get me wrong, I knew what I was getting into before I went. And anyone else going should too. There is a set menu with a set price. The food is very good. The parings with wine or cocktails are fantastic for each course, bringing unique flavors out in every dish and drink. The service was on the mark, not missing a beat the during the 2.5 hour dinner. And despite having nearly every table full the place never felt crowed, loud, or conversely too quiet that you felt like the people at the table next to you could hear everything you said. I thought it was worth the visit, but probably just the one. Despite the good food I will spend that money elsewhere in the future. There are too many other places in Houston with great food for a better value. But, it is well worth the try.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Best place for an adventurous, perfect evening.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Completely unique dishes, paired with fantastic wines, and served by an outstanding staff! I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.