About The Pass

807 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
View Larger Map

Bringing the essence of the kitchen to each table, chefs will serve, describe and answer diner's questions, creating an authentic experience for each customer while placing emphasis on the process behind transitioning food to plate. Similar to dining at a chef's table, diners will be able to connect with the local and global inspiration and experience of each chef and behind every dish, in an upscale, casually elegant atmosphere, complimented by a thoughtful international wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Seatings on Tuesday-Friday (6:00pm-9:00pm)
Seatings on Saturday (5:00pm-9:00pm)

Cross Street:
McKinney

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 628-9020

Website:
http://www.passandprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
We offer both self-parking and valet service

Public Transit:
BUS:

DALLAS ST @ TAFT ST on line 018 KIRBY LIMITED NORTHBOUND

Executive Chef:
Terrence Gallivan & Seth Siegel-Gardner

Private Party Contact:
Angela Moore/ events@passandprovisions.com: 7136289020

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Pass Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Houston
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Best Service
Houston
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Tasting Menu (18)
See All
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my 3rd time to dine at The Pass ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my 3rd time to dine at The Pass, but the 1st time in about 3 years. I'm not sure if the chef or management has changed, but the quality of the food has fallen drastically.

We had the 9 course meal. Two courses were excellent, four average and three inedible.

The service was too aggressive ... instead of one waitperson, we had three ... conversation was continually interrupted and they kept trying to take our plates away while we were still eating.

$415 tab for 2 people with no bottles of wine ... much better values out there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

A great evening out! Pairings were spot ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A great evening out! Pairings were spot on. Service great, and the food perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Pass was the best meal of my young l ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Pass was the best meal of my young life. If you have multiple people, I definitely recommend one person get the wine pairing and the other get the mixed beverage pairing. The only let down was the dessert. Everything else was incredible!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fun and delicious at The Pass, th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always fun and delicious at The Pass, the dishes are so creative and flavorful and the beverage pairings are spot on. Not a cheap dinner but the experience really is more than just a meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a expensive meal - $420 for two ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a expensive meal - $420 for two. The food was interesting and the mixed drinks pairings fun. I felt that the tasting menu was brought out rather quickly as I didn't have time to enjoy the drinks and they stacked up in front of me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great evening here. My husband ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great evening here. My husband and I went here to celebrate his birthday as our first time out since our baby was born. Amazing food, wonderful service and such a neat atmosphere with the open kitchen. Overall would definitely go back (budget permitting!) and recommend highly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding in terms of the var ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was outstanding in terms of the variety of tastes and textures. Two "funky" wines in the pairings weren't good. If I come again, I won't get the pairings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular tasting menu and amazing ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Spectacular tasting menu and amazing service. Love the champagne cart. We arrived late and had the place to ourselves on a Wednesday evening. Unforgettable night.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time celebrating our 1st ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had a great time celebrating our 1st anniversary! Nick was an excellent waiter and everyone else provided fantastic service as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our secon ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our second wedding anniversary. We had to been to Pass once before two years prior to celebrate my new job here in Houston. It's been a ride since then, so we decided we wanted to try and repeat the magic from our first experience. We were not disappointed.

We were met with very friendly complementary serving staff before Jeannie (spelling might be off) greeted us to say "Congratulations" on our anniversary. The "Happy Anniversary" menus were a nice touch. Jeannie was awesome all evening. Our wine and champagne service were outstanding, as were the recommendations. Instead of the drink/wine pairing, we opted for a Chateauneuf-du-Pape. It was a beautiful wine.

Then, the food began to arrive. The last time we visited, we were dabbling in vegan ice and ate from the herbivore menu. We were pleased to sample the omnivore sampling this time. Standouts were the lobster and challa, the Koji brisket, the duck, and the lamb. Each course was a whole new flavor experience, and we loved every moment.

As our meal neared its close, we were offered a complimentary glass of merlot, which was robust and flavorful but not overpowering.

It was a memorable, beautiful evening. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was surprised to find the tables prett ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was surprised to find the tables pretty much stayed empty considering we needed to wait over a week for the reservation. Had me wondering if everyone cancels last minute or something. They definitely could have filled at least 5-10 tables while we were there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Only my second time dining at the Pass. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Only my second time dining at the Pass. The experience was better than the last and overall excellent! The food is incredibly creative. The service is excellent. The wine pairings were perfect. One of Houston's finest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

9 course Chef's menu was smart, well exe ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

9 course Chef's menu was smart, well executed and served at a nice pace! Super experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most wonderful evening and be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had the most wonderful evening and beautiful sophisticated and refined meal! Big thank you to the team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most elegant meal in town.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The most elegant meal in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good tasting menu - 9 courses with ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very good tasting menu - 9 courses with pairing options. A little pricy but a good choice for special occasions, quiet ambiance. Servers were very knowledgeable about the food & drinks being offered.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique dining experience with unique dis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Unique dining experience with unique dishes and flavors. But the fish didn't taste fresh and a few of the dishes weren't very impressive. For the price paid, I expected to be impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Menu! Always a surprise in a go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Amazing Menu! Always a surprise in a good way!! This restaurant should be on everyone's short list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been very excited to try the Pass ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I had been very excited to try the Pass as I had enjoyed Oxheart so much with their tasting menu. The Pass was very disappointing. Our waiter introduced himself and then different other people very quickly brought out each course, nicely explaining what it was. We finally had to tell them to slow down with the food. We never really saw our original waiter except at a distance. Waiters were running around all over the place pouring the wine for the different courses. It was just not relaxing with all that moving around. The seating was not comfortable as you felt your table was way too high or the chairs too low. The food was for the most part good, but it seemed they were trying too hard with some of the combinations. The biggest problem is having rich food coming too quickly, course after course. The result was that we did not enjoy our experience. I appreciate the hard work of the chefs and the nice people who brought the different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The most innovative food in Houston. Ex ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The most innovative food in Houston. Excellent attention to service and presentation. Fixed menu for either omnivores or vegetarians should please all. One should go at least four times a year to enjoy the seasonal menu changes. Sophisticated, subdued ambiance keeps the focus on the dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vegan, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a culinary journey. I like to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was a culinary journey.

I like to be challenged and The Pass did not disappoint. The food was intricate and delicious. The dishes covered the full spectrum of tastes, flavors and textures.

My favorites: the squid, the brisket (still don't know how they did it, but it was perfection).

The pairings (a must-do) were spot on.

The service was meticulous, distinguished and made it truly memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food had no taste and extra small po ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food had no taste and extra small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Any 9 course meal is an adventure. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Any 9 course meal is an adventure. The flavors were great. It was a culinary journey worth taking.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great foodie experience in Houston. Ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great foodie experience in Houston. Very interesting varied diverse wines with pairing. Also has a beer and cocktail pairing. Spare minimal decor which I liked with an open wall to the kitchen, signifying this is all about the food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our third time at the Pass and it always ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our third time at the Pass and it always delivers. Incredible food and I consider the it best restaurant in Houston. The menu is always somewhat playful and that comes through in the beverage pairings too. The staff is very good at what they do and very professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. The only issue we had was wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great meal. The only issue we had was with the wine. The wine was very good and we were paying $200 a bottle, but the third bottle recommended the price was not disclosed until the bill came it was $500. Not good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite restaurant in Houston!! I'd ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Houston!! I'd go back again and again. Innovative, delicious, beautifully plated. And you could actually have a conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mind blowing

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Mind blowing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 9 item tasting menu at The Pass was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The 9 item tasting menu at The Pass was everything that one would want in a very well thought out dining adventure. The food and service were exceptional. It is good to know that there are places in America where craftsmanship, service and creativity can be found in the form of a simple dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time there. The fir ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was our second time there. The first time the dinner had a theme "breakfast" and their food combinations were quite clever plays on the the theme. The food was excellent. No theme this time and the food was not quite as spectacular as the first time, but still 4+ stars. Not an everyday restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The nine-course dinner was uneven. The ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The nine-course dinner was uneven. The opening course I initially thought was too small, but by the end of the nine-courses, we were full, and I have to say it was just right, leaving us wanting more and eager in our expectations. The dinner really peaked, however, around the middle courses, 3 through 5. The sixth course was a halibut that was cooked too long (dry), the seventh course an outstanding duck dish, and the eighth course a lamb shoulder again cooked too long (medium to medium well, whereas it should have been done no more than pink, and preferably medium rare; if they are uncertain as to patrons preferences, they should have asked). The dessert, a frozen buttermilk and berry concoction, that might have pleased some foodies, but I thought was overdone (exotic but lacking in flavor). The rhubarb meringue that followed was much better. The sommelier's and wait staff's suggestions for pairing of wines was spot on and excellent, and excellent value. The menu descriptions of each course were too terse, and did not do justice to the complexity of the dishes' preparation. Meal price was very fair. We'd try it again, but would only recommend it to others with our disappointment toward the meal's conclusion being duly-noted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We went to The Pass for date night. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went to The Pass for date night. The doorway entering the dining room was so unique and special that it immediately gave you the impression you were in for a treat! The waiter we had was outstanding, he knew a lot about each of the dishes and the beer/cocktail pairing that he added an extra element to the experience. The courses all came out continuously but at a pace we could enjoy each one. There was not one dish I didn't eat, but there were a couple of favorites and the cocktail pairings were unique and delicious! We are already scheming an excuse to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. Private, intimate dining room. Dishes are presented well, but not all courses were memorable, as expected as this price level. I would still recommend it for the gastronomic adventure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Would be nice if they have less than 9 c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Would be nice if they have less than 9 course tasting menu for people who can't eat big dinner at night .Generally speaking it is just set dinner- 9 courses , no choice.

Overall food was delicious .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Very small food portions, even though it ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very small food portions, even though it was a wine pairing. I have had several wine pairings before. The wines they chose did not compliment the food. Very over priced for what you received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

While some of the dishes in this 9-cours ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2016

While some of the dishes in this 9-course, wine-paired meal were good, others, such as burnt tempura and burnt lentils didn't work. The service was clinical, robotic and uninterested in any discussion other than the rote info they shared, impatiently, as they rushed us through our meal. Even asking a question about the courses seemed to be an imposition, and no time was allowed to relish the courses we did enjoy, to discuss the wine-pairing, to even savor what was left of the wine. Nine paired courses crammed into a 2-hour period is unacceptable and left a poor impression of a restaurant we had looked forward to visiting for several months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Elegant, flawless service. The choreogra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Elegant, flawless service. The choreographed synchronised delivery of dishes, two at a time, is a pleasure to observe. Attractive, intriguing and delicious food with clear explanations of ingredients and their origins. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, it is expensive....however ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

First of all, it is expensive....however, you have to think of it as a production. The food was amazing. The entire staff was wonderful. Someone is always waiting on you and making you feel as if you are the only one in the restaurant. Intimate setting. Refreshingly quiet, with the exception of the hurried noise of the kitchen. We even had a lesson on single malt scotch vs blends! In short...go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing, as well ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, as well as the service! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good just not as innov ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was very good just not as innovative as I have had in the past at other restaurants with tasting menus and wine pairings. The wines though paired with the courses were quite good and creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.