HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Parrot Club

4.1
83 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Puerto Rican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups (54)
  • Neighborhood Gem (43)
  • Fit for Foodies (42)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The first OOF restaurant! Established in 1996, quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard.The Parrot Club menu spices up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh local ingredients with modern culinary preparations, resulting in food flavors that are new and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa, and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.
The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don"t miss our world famous Parrot Passion or our tasty variety of classic Mojitos.
The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dinning under the stars.
With live Latin Jazz, fun happy hours, and family friendly lunch, there is always something going on
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Puerto Rican, Latin / Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Closed until June 30th, 2017
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 725-7370
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 83 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0
Dined on May 31, 2017

The food and the service were amazing. Would definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0
Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was ok but the service was excellent! Nice spot for lunch

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlantic City)
5.0
Dined on May 14, 2017

Was on vacation in Puerto Rico found the restaurant listed among the tourist information guide visited had dinner made a wonderful waitress who recommended a proper diabetic diet I think her once she realized that I was… Attic she referred to me to pay attention to certain items on the menu I thought that was very thoughtful of her I commend her she make the parrot, club more than just a restaurant thank you Adele I will return if ever in Puerto Rico. And thank you to the parrot,club restaurant for having such a wonderful and caring staff this goes beyond what I call Justin average restaurant. Sincerely Rodney Collins toms River New Jersey.

Report
Helpful
judefood (Philadelphia)
4.0
Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our last night in Old San Juan, we'd had good meals, and wanted to end with a great one, with authentic Puerto Rican food. We got one of the best meals we'd each had in recent memory. With great, attentive service, fun music, and quirky retro decor, it was a hit all around.

I didn't love the black bean cakes appetizer but my husband did. They were good, just not my thing. My entree was awesome - grilled, plantain encrusted dorado, with mashed potatoes and yucca. I love dorado, sometimes called mahi mahi there (though different than mahi mahi here). Adding plantains, which I eat with every meal there, was food heaven. Crispy, tender, juicy, mild (which I like) but not at all bland, just perfect. The mashed/yucca blend was fabulous.
My husband, at the suggestion of our great server, got the short ribs, and said they were incredible.

I was asked how sweet or sour I like my mojito. When it tasted strong and not sweet enough for me, they re-made it.

Dessert was wonderful. The music was great. Great experience, great night. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
TheniceCanadianCouple (Toronto)
3.0
Dined on April 24, 2017

We wanted to try some Puerto rican food during our brief stay and this restaurant had received good reviews. We went on a very quiet night so our opinion of the noise level is irrelevant, but I can certainly imagine it being a lively spot. Decor was nothing special but on a busy night with good food and cocktails I don't think that I'd really have noticed. My wife and I shared beef-filled empanadas to start and enjoyed them. I have wanted to try mofongo for quite some time, and finally had my chance with their shrimp version. The filling had lots of shrimp and the sauce was quite tasty; the plantain and garlic shell was also good but a little heavy for me, I couldn't eat it all (not for lack of trying). My wife's guava-braised short ribs were tender with good flavour, and the accompanying mash was good as well.
I have no idea how this place compares to other restaurants preparing local dishes, but everything we had was novel to us, the flavours were good, they were nicely presented and the servings were generous.

Report
Helpful
Kapumaui (Vancouver)
4.0
Dined on April 21, 2017

The wait staff was terrific and so was the food. It was our first time in PR. Would be happy to recommend this establishment to any and all.

Report
Helpful
MKandMK (Caribbean)
5.0
Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a special meal for our family, and it was just down the block from Hotel Casablanca. We had ribs and fish, the nachos, and drinks. We were too full for desert, servings were generous and tasty. Our waiter was attentive and worked with our children, ages 9 & 12. The meal was delivered timely, but not rushed.

Report
Helpful
sdesi2269 (Washington DC)
5.0
Dined on March 29, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, and great mofongo! Cool tropical vibe and decor. We went there at about 6.30 pm and sat by the window and people watched Fortaleza street. Latin rhythms keep things lively and the rum cocktails are excellent. Try the classic mojito or a rum (Trinidadian) and coke or simple syrup with lemon. We (two) shared the mofongo triple set and a half portion of the arroz con pollo. We asked for the house hot sauce to pep things up a bit and they were excellent compliments. Cinnamon provided warm and cheerful service. Kid, group, or date friendly.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
1.0
Dined on March 25, 2017

The Parrot Club is a tourist trap with mediocre food. Our table was wobbly, the food was bland and the atmosphere was unremarkable. Our server was sweet, but not sweet enough to make it a worthwhile experience. Total waste of money and time.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Memphis)
4.0
Dined on March 21, 2017

After a long day sightseeing, we really enjoyed the Parrot Club. Our server was fantastic - friendly and courteous but not overbearing - and the food was good. I had the shrimp mofongo and others at my table had the arroz con pollo, ribs, and kid-sized skirt steak. The atmosphere was vibrant but casual and we did not feel out of place in the casual clothes we had on for touring. The kids menu was much appreciated. Drinks were good, although not particularly strong.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Puerto Rican, Latin / Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Closed until June 30th, 2017
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
O'Donnal
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$31 to $50
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 725-7370
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have live Latin-Jazz performed by talented local groups, you can spend the evening socializing and sipping cocktails or join in and dance your calories away. As schedules change, please call ahead for details
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.
rocana@oofrestaurants.com
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hector Crespo
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine