Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Parrot Club

4.1
84 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Puerto Rican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The first OOF restaurant! Established in 1996, quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard.The Parrot Club menu spices up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh local ingredients with modern culinary preparations, resulting in food flavors that are new and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa, and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.
The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don"t miss our world famous Parrot Passion or our tasty variety of classic Mojitos.
The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dinning under the stars.
With live Latin Jazz, fun happy hours, and family friendly lunch, there is always something going on
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Puerto Rican, Latin / Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Closed until June 30th, 2017
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 725-7370
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hector Crespo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.
rocana@oofrestaurants.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
O'Donnal
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have live Latin-Jazz performed by talented local groups, you can spend the evening socializing and sipping cocktails or join in and dance your calories away. As schedules change, please call ahead for details
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 84 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 31, 2017

The food and the service were amazing. Would definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was ok but the service was excellent! Nice spot for lunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Was on vacation in Puerto Rico found the restaurant listed among the tourist information guide visited had dinner made a wonderful waitress who recommended a proper diabetic diet I think her once she realized that I was… Attic she referred to me to pay attention to certain items on the menu I thought that was very thoughtful of her I commend her she make the parrot, club more than just a restaurant thank you Adele I will return if ever in Puerto Rico. And thank you to the parrot,club restaurant for having such a wonderful and caring staff this goes beyond what I call Justin average restaurant. Sincerely Rodney Collins toms River New Jersey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our last night in Old San Juan, we'd had good meals, and wanted to end with a great one, with authentic Puerto Rican food. We got one of the best meals we'd each had in recent memory. With great, attentive service, fun music, and quirky retro decor, it was a hit all around.

I didn't love the black bean cakes appetizer but my husband did. They were good, just not my thing. My entree was awesome - grilled, plantain encrusted dorado, with mashed potatoes and yucca. I love dorado, sometimes called mahi mahi there (though different than mahi mahi here). Adding plantains, which I eat with every meal there, was food heaven. Crispy, tender, juicy, mild (which I like) but not at all bland, just perfect. The mashed/yucca blend was fabulous.
My husband, at the suggestion of our great server, got the short ribs, and said they were incredible.

I was asked how sweet or sour I like my mojito. When it tasted strong and not sweet enough for me, they re-made it.

Dessert was wonderful. The music was great. Great experience, great night. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2017

We wanted to try some Puerto rican food during our brief stay and this restaurant had received good reviews. We went on a very quiet night so our opinion of the noise level is irrelevant, but I can certainly imagine it being a lively spot. Decor was nothing special but on a busy night with good food and cocktails I don't think that I'd really have noticed. My wife and I shared beef-filled empanadas to start and enjoyed them. I have wanted to try mofongo for quite some time, and finally had my chance with their shrimp version. The filling had lots of shrimp and the sauce was quite tasty; the plantain and garlic shell was also good but a little heavy for me, I couldn't eat it all (not for lack of trying). My wife's guava-braised short ribs were tender with good flavour, and the accompanying mash was good as well.
I have no idea how this place compares to other restaurants preparing local dishes, but everything we had was novel to us, the flavours were good, they were nicely presented and the servings were generous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2017

The wait staff was terrific and so was the food. It was our first time in PR. Would be happy to recommend this establishment to any and all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a special meal for our family, and it was just down the block from Hotel Casablanca. We had ribs and fish, the nachos, and drinks. We were too full for desert, servings were generous and tasty. Our waiter was attentive and worked with our children, ages 9 & 12. The meal was delivered timely, but not rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, and great mofongo! Cool tropical vibe and decor. We went there at about 6.30 pm and sat by the window and people watched Fortaleza street. Latin rhythms keep things lively and the rum cocktails are excellent. Try the classic mojito or a rum (Trinidadian) and coke or simple syrup with lemon. We (two) shared the mofongo triple set and a half portion of the arroz con pollo. We asked for the house hot sauce to pep things up a bit and they were excellent compliments. Cinnamon provided warm and cheerful service. Kid, group, or date friendly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2017

The Parrot Club is a tourist trap with mediocre food. Our table was wobbly, the food was bland and the atmosphere was unremarkable. Our server was sweet, but not sweet enough to make it a worthwhile experience. Total waste of money and time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2017

After a long day sightseeing, we really enjoyed the Parrot Club. Our server was fantastic - friendly and courteous but not overbearing - and the food was good. I had the shrimp mofongo and others at my table had the arroz con pollo, ribs, and kid-sized skirt steak. The atmosphere was vibrant but casual and we did not feel out of place in the casual clothes we had on for touring. The kids menu was much appreciated. Drinks were good, although not particularly strong.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2017

We have visited The Parrot Club several times over the years and have generally had a good experience. Last night, however, both the food and the service were off. We started with the coconut shrimp, which was quite good, but the Caesar salad, empanadas, and the paella were not at all up to the standards of previous visits. The paella, in particular, was dry, chewy and had little taste. Unfortunately, we will take this one off our list as a stop in OSJ.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2017

Last minute reservation from the cruise ship which arrived late. An easy walk, even in the rain. Vibrant over-the-top service. We loved the meal and look forward to having more time in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and service. Reasonably priced. Right I. Old San Juan Would definitely recommend and go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was good. Serve was good for a busy place. Wish we could have stayed longer but there was power outage. Wine selection was limited.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2017

Great bartender. The food was tasty and pretty standard fare. I nice low key spot.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Great atmosphere. Good service. Food just wasn't great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2017

Fun restaurant in Old San Juan with good local food. Fun local drinks, varied menu with excellent choices of local cuisine. Mid priced, nicely decorated. We visit this restaurant almost every time that we visit Old San Juan. We have been going to the restaurant for at least 10 years and never have had a bad meal. We enjoy many of their dishes but the thin steak seasoned with local spices is always excellent. If you are looking for a fun place with good food in Old San Juan this is the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Great little place with a more original menu. Wait staff was attentive and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Good location within walking distance in Old San Juan. Waitstaff was very good and attentive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Worst food
Over cooked
Out of 2 items at 7.00 pm
With a small menu thats a problem
Many better options in the area

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Touristy but good food. Nice courtyard and good selection of various puerto rican and latin foods.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 27, 2016

We were excited to go to the Parrot Club to celebrate my birthday with my family tonight. We had gone there a couple of years back on our last visit and loved it. Tonight was a complete disaster. We noticed tables that came after us were getting their food before us. The server checked and she said there was a mix up and our order was not even in yet but it was now a priority. Then my wife's food came first and cold, but she was starving so just ate it. My plate came next but it was stone cold so I turned it back. My teenagers order ribs and my daughter got hers and my son's were "right behind!" And they came 12 minutes later (we timed it). And my daughter asked for a side of spinach. We counted 5 stems all cooked with a ton of salt and it cost $7.50 and they charged us even though we told the server she couldn't eat them. In the end the food when it came was tasty minus the spinach but the whole evening was a bust. We had expected they were going to try and make it up to us but the server, she was pleasant but indifferent to the whole mess. We paid and before we left I spoke to the manager. I should have before I paid but we were exhausted from the experience so I just paid. He offered us a drink to help smooth things over but we had been there over 2 hours, we are not drinkers and just wanted to leave. He tried but the server should have gotten him involved with the mess and it would have been nice if he offered us something for next time. Damage done and there will not be a next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

The Christmas special was roasted pork, which was a little dry (admittedly, we had a late seating at 7:15). The host and server were very friendly and accommodating. The main issue we had was that my husband wasn't feeling well so just wanted a soup or salad, neither of which this restaurant had! If you're a soup and salad person then this restaurant isn't for you, but if you can get over this, the décor and atmosphere are fun and casual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service. Good food. We were happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

I had the Cuban wrap and it was AMAZING!! Great flavors!! Ask the bartender for the chocolate cake shot 😎

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

We heard about it on the program Beach Bites. It was well worth going. We enjoyed the empanadas and the veggie chips with ropa vieja and cheese. After drinks and these appertizers we were full and will have to return for a main dish.

Enjoy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Cinnamon was my waitress and was personable and super friendly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 31, 2016

The Parrot Club is apparently closed for the season, yet reservations are still accepted. We arrived to a dark, padlocked restaurant. Calls go to voicemail and ask you to leave your information for reservations rather than indicating that they are closed. Should have been a simple fix, yet cost us time and money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food. Amazing service. Menu is authentic. Drinks are tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 30, 2016

For me, the quality of a restaurant is based on a combination of service and food. The Parrot Club delivered good food but not so good service. The food is mostly Puerto Rican specialties which are delicious. I had the paella, and we started with the beef empanadas. Both were superb.

The flip side was the service. The waiter was a bit too intrusive on me and my husband's menu selections. The waitress spilled a part of my drink on the table and floor and did not refresh it. We also asked for a second round of their delicious cocktails, but we had to remind them to deliver them to the table. In the end, the waiter clearly had issues operating the software on their register, and we had to wait for an additional 10-15 minutes to checkout.

In the end, I say go for the food, but be prepared for poor service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2016

The mgt. on shift was amazing, also pointed out where to go after.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Fantastic service and delicious food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2016

FABULOUS!!! Love this place!!! 2 years ago I came here for the first time and I have been craving the Cuban sandwich again since!!! I am so glad nothing has changed and the food, drinks and staff are just as WONDERFUL as the last time! This place will ALWAYS be my first stop when in Old San Juan!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2016

The place is festive. The waitstaff very good. Good for kids. Food was ok but not great, it just wasn't. Sorry to say. I'd go back for drinks and apps but probably not dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2016

Way over priced for the quality. Mentioned to the waiter (twice) that my $28 Mahi Mahi was very dry - his response was "I told the chef".

Too many other restaurants in San Juan - pass this one up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal. The waitress was terrific. Conversational and added to our enjoyment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

We had a large group and the service and food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2016

After the cruise ships leave, this restaurant opens its doors. So it's more for guests staying in town or for locals. The food was excellent and service superb.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good, good cocktails but I was stuck on a table by myself surrounded by three large and noisy table, also next to a plant that totally obscured any view of the restaurant and negatively imp

Report
Helpful
1
2
3