About The Parrot Club

363 Calle fortaleza
San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

The first OOF restaurant! Established in 1996, quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard.The Parrot Club menu spices up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh local ingredients with modern culinary preparations, resulting in food flavors that are new and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa, and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.
The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don"t miss our world famous Parrot Passion or our tasty variety of classic Mojitos.
The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dinning under the stars.
With live Latin Jazz, fun happy hours, and family friendly lunch, there is always something going on in this happening restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Puerto Rican, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Donnal

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 725-7370

Website:
http://www.oofrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
We have live Latin-Jazz performed by talented local groups, you can spend the evening socializing and sipping cocktails or join in and dance your calories away. As schedules change, please call ahead for details

Catering:
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.
rocana@oofrestaurants.com

Parking Details:
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Hector Crespo

Private Party Facilities:
We have an interior courtyard patio open to the stars,
we can easily reserve the entire area for your group. Or, if you have a large group we can also offer a buy out of the main dinning room. Entertainment is always available for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Ocana rocana@oofrestaurants.com: 787-722-7117x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Parrot Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.9

ambience

3.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
See All
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We heard about it on the program Beach B ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We heard about it on the program Beach Bites. It was well worth going. We enjoyed the empanadas and the veggie chips with ropa vieja and cheese. After drinks and these appertizers we were full and will have to return for a main dish.

Enjoy

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Quick Bite, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cinnamon was my waitress and was persona ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Cinnamon was my waitress and was personable and super friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Parrot Club is apparently closed for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Parrot Club is apparently closed for the season, yet reservations are still accepted. We arrived to a dark, padlocked restaurant. Calls go to voicemail and ask you to leave your information for reservations rather than indicating that they are closed. Should have been a simple fix, yet cost us time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great food. Amazing service. Menu is aut ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food. Amazing service. Menu is authentic. Drinks are tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For me, the quality of a restaurant is b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2016

For me, the quality of a restaurant is based on a combination of service and food. The Parrot Club delivered good food but not so good service. The food is mostly Puerto Rican specialties which are delicious. I had the paella, and we started with the beef empanadas. Both were superb.

The flip side was the service. The waiter was a bit too intrusive on me and my husband's menu selections. The waitress spilled a part of my drink on the table and floor and did not refresh it. We also asked for a second round of their delicious cocktails, but we had to remind them to deliver them to the table. In the end, the waiter clearly had issues operating the software on their register, and we had to wait for an additional 10-15 minutes to checkout.

In the end, I say go for the food, but be prepared for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mgt. on shift was amazing, also poin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The mgt. on shift was amazing, also pointed out where to go after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and delicious food!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Fantastic service and delicious food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FABULOUS!!! Love this place!!! 2 years ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

FABULOUS!!! Love this place!!! 2 years ago I came here for the first time and I have been craving the Cuban sandwich again since!!! I am so glad nothing has changed and the food, drinks and staff are just as WONDERFUL as the last time! This place will ALWAYS be my first stop when in Old San Juan!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The place is festive. The waitstaff very good. Good for kids. Food was ok but not great, it just wasn't. Sorry to say. I'd go back for drinks and apps but probably not dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Way over priced for the quality. Mentio ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Way over priced for the quality. Mentioned to the waiter (twice) that my $28 Mahi Mahi was very dry - his response was "I told the chef".

Too many other restaurants in San Juan - pass this one up.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Fun meal and great service.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a very enjoyable meal. The waitress was terrific. Conversational and added to our enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a large group and the service and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2016

We had a large group and the service and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good eatery in a busy town

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 15, 2016

After the cruise ships leave, this restaurant opens its doors. So it's more for guests staying in town or for locals. The food was excellent and service superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, good cocktails but I was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good, good cocktails but I was stuck on a table by myself surrounded by three large and noisy table, also next to a plant that totally obscured any view of the restaurant and negatively imp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Chicken Mofongo

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good food, good drinks. Recommended as a late afternoon lunch spot for a cool down drink and some grub. Good for kids who want american fries and burgers. Chicken monfongo is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Terrible service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was pretty good but service was awful. Maybe the waiter was new. Took forever to get our food and when we asked for condiments, they never came. The table next to us, they served the lady her appetizer and entre and the man never received his meal before we left. She had completed her meal and he still wasn't served. We were upstairs on the patio. Maybe service in the main restaurant was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We stayed at the Ritz in San Juan and we ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We stayed at the Ritz in San Juan and went to many formal and fine dining establishments, however we searched open table to find a place that was a tab bit more casual and that offered some true local flavor of Puerto Rico and we are so glad we chose The Parrot Club in Old San Juan, defiantly worth the cab fare. The ambiance in the main dining area was vibrant when we arrived, apparently a cruise ship had just arrived so the town was full and so was the restaurant, thank goodness for Open Table and our ability to have a reservation, they seated us up on their outdoor patio. The decor is colorful and bright but please keep in mind it is in a historical building, the top patio where we ate was not at all formal and had a rustic look and feel, if your expecting perfection with interiors maybe this isn't the place for you, however if you are looking for great service, polite and kind staff as well as great authentic food then this is the place for you. We enjoyed the chicken empanadas for an appetizer, unfortunately I cannot spell or even recall the names of the dishes we had, but my husband had Mahi Mahi entree I had the beef with rice and beans, both large delicious portions, the drinks were good, the waiter brought me a sample of their smoothie it is very good, I had been drinking sweet drinks all day and needed to lay off it a bit but otherwise would have ordered one.

We looked around at other diners plates, I don't think they served anything that wasn't good! We truly enjoyed our meal, our waiter was great, very attentive and friendly and made great suggestions, you can tell the wait staff really believes in the food they serve, they know it's good and that really shows.

For drinks, apps and entree plus tip it was by far the most reasonable meal we enjoyed in San Juan but absolutely compared with taste, flavor, wait staff and portions with the more formal upscale places we also visited in the area but paid quite a bit more at.

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a restauarnt in old san juan

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Unfortunately, we were unable to dine at this restaurant. Although we arrived 15 minutes for our 8 pm reservation, the restaurant explained that they were taking care of a group of 51. He apologized and explained that the wait would be one-half hour or more. We moved on and dined at the Dragonfly Too down the street with no wait (restaurant does not take reservations). We dined outside on a beautiful San Juan night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great spot in Old San Juan, had live mus ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Great spot in Old San Juan, had live music on Saturday night. Service was excellent- ask for Ivan to be your server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice old San Juan area

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2016

This is a nice area and the service was great. The food was decent and worth a stop if in old San Juan.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Arroz con Pollo was very good and pl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2016

The Arroz con Pollo was very good and plentiful. I had to take some home. Disappointed that some of the menu option on Open Table were not available - like the house fries and Pernil - but other options were very good. We also had the paella. The vianda nachos con Ropa Vieja was huge and delicious too as was the coco shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Don't miss the nachos they were fantasti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Don't miss the nachos they were fantastic. Served on root vegetable chips with stewed beef...The other must-have would be the Banana empanadas...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting array of Puerto Ricaneno dis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Interesting array of Puerto Ricaneno dishes. The bacalito's are amazing. Great mixed drinks. Mofongo to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious local fare

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I both had delicious local dishes with a gourmet twist. The food look as good as it tasted.

Server was attentive and helpful with describing items and we had fun using our broken Spanish.

We did not stay for dessert simply because the guests at the table next to us were disruptive-parents lecturing there teenager. Teen storming out of the restaurant, parents arguing. It was super unpleasant to watch and hear. The management could have addressed this with these folks! Wished we sat at the bar with adults to fully enjoy this great foodie find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Do not honor reservations. Service is horrible.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Came here with a reservation and was told that all reservations are running 1 hour late. Noticed that they were sitting patrons as they walked in and did not actually hold tables for existing reservations. They are just winging int.

After we were seated and placed our order, food took...not joking..almost 2 hours to come. Food tasted good. Everything tastes good when you plan to dine at 8 and its almost 11 .

Wasted valuable time here out of the 2 nights we had in Old San Juan. Manager does not care. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The restaurant looked cute but that's about it. We sat for 20 min without water or any service. Finally, unable to get anyone's attention, we left with any food. There are so many food places to eat in the area. I wouldn't give this place another look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Pork shank was excellent. Great place. A ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Pork shank was excellent. Great place. Ask to sit out back. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The empanadas are the best in Puerto Ric ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2015

The empanadas are the best in Puerto Rico. The Cerviche is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food especially the Nacos Ser ...

 
 (Bath)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Loved the food especially the Nacos

Service was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Incorrect menu posted on Open Table

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2015

We chose this restaurant based on the menu posted on Open Table, which actually ended up being the menu for the sister restaurant Toro Salao instead. We explained to the waiter and he was kind enough to let us order from the other place and bring the food to us. All we had from the Parrot Club itself were the black bean croquetas and they were not anything special, just ok. Expected better based on reviews but very pleased with our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food, drinks, and service were fantastic.

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2015

It was all great. Since the moment I got in, the service was phenomenal, something you do not get in most restaurants in Puerto Rico.

To my taste, the live jazz was a little too loud, but it was not really that bad.

Everything was very good. Highly recommend everything I ate on the menu, which felt like pretty much everything in there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good lunch spot

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 26, 2015

We had been here before and the food is excellent with attentive and fun wait staff. It is in central San Juan so also a great place to rendezvous with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service from Daniel! Went for my s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Great service from Daniel! Went for my sister's bachelorette party--good food and drinks! Very nice. :-)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Try everything!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2015

We did. It was all amazing. I only wish I could eat more so I could dine there a little longer, but the portions were huge so I eventually had to leave. My family and I always come here for dinner when we're in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the best restaurant we have been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2015

This is the best restaurant we have been to this trip! Everything was top notch. The owner is very friendly and hospitable! There was a great live Latin Jazz band performing. Our waiter was fantastic! The food was delicious. The drinks were on point and everything was reasonably priced. I definitely recommend this fine establishment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun Place

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2015

Fun place, I'd go back again. Server was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth a repeat.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2015

Several years ago we were in Puerto Rico on a business trip and dined at The Parrott Club with a large group . When recently we had an unexpected overnight in San Juan due to airline issues we were called on to suggest a spot for dinner and we recommended The Parrot Club based on our favorable first experience. The did not let us down! This a wonderful spot to take a group in Old San Juan - we had a group of 10. Food is very good, everyone enjoyed their dinner, especially the special plantain nacho appetizer.....DELICIOUS!! Service was friendly and our server was knowledgable about the menu and able to advise. Wine list is satisfactory and we were able to select several perfectly good bottles of wine for the table. It is in a convenient part of Old San Juan and a nice area to walk around after dinner. The owner of The Parrot Club owns two another restaurants in the near vicinity -- one fine dining and another nearby that I believe is also casual. I have heard they are all very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2015

My husband and I chose the Parrot Club for dinner for our last night in Puerto Rico and it was fantastic. Great food, great service and the banana chocolate empanadas for dessert were amazing. A great way to end our trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely awful. We sent ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2015

The food was absolutely awful. We sent back two dishes as they were both overcooked and tough. The server was very kind, but the food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.